Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN LEAF - 2011 NISSAN LEAF Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 44 complaints filed for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 NISSAN LEAF. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Structure (3)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (9) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/26/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
PASSENGER AIRBAG TURNED OFF. CANNOT TURN BACK ON. NOW HAVE FLASHING RED WARNING LIGHT. SEEMS RIDICULOUS TO HAVE THIS SAFETY FAILURE FAIL ON A CAR BOUGHT IN AUGUST 2011. NISSAN DEALER (ELK GROVE, CA) SAYS THEY'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS. I DON'T BELIEVE THEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2016 - BONNEY LAKE, WA
VEHICLES ELECTRIC WINDOWS MALFUNCTION. WINDOW WILL NOT OPEN OR CLOSE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE, BUT THE OTHERS WILL. MANY LEAF OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2016 - BONNEY LAKE, WA
VEHICLES ELECTRIC WINDOWS MALFUNCTION. WINDOW WILL NOT OPEN OR CLOSE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE, BUT THE OTHERS WILL. MANY LEAF OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/12/2016 - BERKELEY, CA
BRAKES DID NOT WORK AFTER ENGAGING DRIVE FROM STATIONARY POSITION. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS, NORMAL BRAKE ACTIVITY RESUMED. BELIEVED TO BE RELATED TO DEPLETED 12 V BATTERY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/20/2015 - LINCOLN, NE
THE BRAKES GO FROM A SOFT BRAKING TO A JOLTING STOP AT SPEEDS BELOW 20 MPH. I HAVE SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR, AND THEIR HEADS ARE BEING JOLTED AROUND WHEN THE CAR BRAKES THIS WAY. I AM CONCERNED THIS WILL BE A PROBLEM ON SLICK ROADS AND I'M WORRIED ABOUT BEING REAR-ENDED WHEN IT STOPS SO SUDDENLY. IT DOES THIS EVERYDAY THAT I DRIVE IT, HOWEVER THE DEALERSHIP CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. LATELY, THE BRAKES HAVE ALSO BEEN RELEASING WHEN I'M TRYING TO STOP, GIVING THE FEELING THAT I MAY NOT GET STOPPED IN TIME. I WOULD SAY IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR CANNOT SMOOTHLY TRANSITION BETWEEN REGULAR AND REGAIN BRAKES. I HAVE HAD IT AT THE DEALERSHIP TWICE, AND THEY PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. IT IS ONLY GETTING WORSE. THE CAR ESPECIALLY JOLTS WHEN CREEPING FORWARD AT A LIGHT OR INTO A PARKING SPOT. THE RELEASING, WHERE I FELT LIKE I COULD NOT STOP THE CAR, I HAVE EXPERIENCED RECENTLY ALSO HAPPENED IN THE SAME SITUATIONS. THE CAR WILL ALSO OCCASIONALLY CREEP FORWARD WHEN THE CAR WAS STOPPED, AND THE BRAKE PEDAL IS STILL DEPRESSED.

View Details

SEATS

10/20/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG ON/OFF SWITCH SENSOR NEEDS REPLACEMENT ACCORDING TO NISSAN DEALER. PASSENGER AIRBAG "OFF" LIGHT IS FLASHING EVEN WITH 125 POUND PASSENGER IN SEAT. NISSAN COULDN'T TELL ME WHETHER OR NOT PASSENGER AIRBAG WAS REALLY ON OR OFF. QUOTED $2400 TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SWITCH AND SEAT ASSEMBLY BECAUSE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY ACCORDING TO NISSAN. THIS APPEARS TO BE EXACTLY THE PROBLEM COVERED BY 2013 LEAF RECALL FOR HARDWARE MANUFACTURING PROBLEM IN SAME SENSOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/20/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG ON/OFF SWITCH SENSOR NEEDS REPLACEMENT ACCORDING TO NISSAN DEALER. PASSENGER AIRBAG "OFF" LIGHT IS FLASHING EVEN WITH 125 POUND PASSENGER IN SEAT. NISSAN COULDN'T TELL ME WHETHER OR NOT PASSENGER AIRBAG WAS REALLY ON OR OFF. QUOTED $2400 TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SWITCH AND SEAT ASSEMBLY BECAUSE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY ACCORDING TO NISSAN. THIS APPEARS TO BE EXACTLY THE PROBLEM COVERED BY 2013 LEAF RECALL FOR HARDWARE MANUFACTURING PROBLEM IN SAME SENSOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2015 - REDMOND, WA
THIS IS NOT RELATED TO ANYTHING SPECIFIC THAT HAPPENED TO MY VEHICLE, BUT IT IS RELATED TO CONSUMER SAFETY AND PROTECTION. NISSAN SETTLED A CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT AND AMENDED THEIR BATTERY REPLACEMENT/REPAIR WARRANTY SHORTLY AFTER THEY INTRODUCED THE LEAF TO THE US. VERY SOON AFTER THIS AMENDED WARRANTY WENT INTO EFFECT NISSAN SENT A LETTER TO ALL LEAF OWNERS AND ASKED US TO BRING OUR CAR IN FOR A "SOFTWARE UPGRADE" THAT WOULD GIVE US A BETTER RANGE DISPLAY. I SUSPECT THAT THIS "UPGRADE" ACTUALLY KEEPS THE CAPACITY (RANGE) DISPLAY ABOVE THE THRESHOLD THAT WOULD OTHERWISE OBLIGATE NISSAN TO REPAIR/REPLACE THE BATTERY. IS YOUR AGENCY THE APPROPRIATE ON TO BRING THIS SUSPICION/COMPLAINT TO AND REQUEST AN INVESTIGATION OR SHOULD I CONTACT SOMEONE ELSE. I DO NOT HAVE EVIDENCE, BUT IT IS MORE THAN A HUNCH. BEFORE THIS ALLEGED ""FIX" MY CAR HAD LOST 2 BARS OF DISPLAY, AFTER, ONLY 1, YET IT HAS BEEN DRIVEN AND RECHARGED MUCH MORE EXTENSIVELY THAN BEFORE THE "FIX". ALSO, NISSAN HAS BEEN UNWILLING TO SHARE DATA ON THE LEAF OR ITS BATTERY, AND INSISTS THAT THEY ARE THE ONLY COMPANY WHO CAN DIAGNOSE THE BATTERY, AND THEREFORE, THE ONLY COMPANY WHO CAN DECIDE IF THE WARRANTY SHOULD BE HONORED IN ANY CASE. THIS IS TROUBLING. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF ANY RESOURCES COULD BE DEVOTED TO LOOKING INTO THIS SOFTWARE "FIX" - THOUGH I UNDERSTAND BUDGET AND PERSONNEL CONSTRAINTS MAY INHIBIT THIS WITHOUT EVIDENCE BEYOND MY CIRCUMSTANTIAL EXPERIENCE AND MY GUT FEELING. STILL, IT BEARS CONTACTING YOU TO ASK, AS WE HAVE SEEN HOW OTHER MAJOR AUTO MAKERS ARE WILLING TO BEND RULES AND LAWS IN ORDER TO PAD THE BOTTOM LINE. THANK YOU!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/7/2015 - REDMOND, WA
THIS IS NOT RELATED TO ANYTHING SPECIFIC THAT HAPPENED TO MY VEHICLE, BUT IT IS RELATED TO CONSUMER SAFETY AND PROTECTION. NISSAN SETTLED A CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT AND AMENDED THEIR BATTERY REPLACEMENT/REPAIR WARRANTY SHORTLY AFTER THEY INTRODUCED THE LEAF TO THE US. VERY SOON AFTER THIS AMENDED WARRANTY WENT INTO EFFECT NISSAN SENT A LETTER TO ALL LEAF OWNERS AND ASKED US TO BRING OUR CAR IN FOR A "SOFTWARE UPGRADE" THAT WOULD GIVE US A BETTER RANGE DISPLAY. I SUSPECT THAT THIS "UPGRADE" ACTUALLY KEEPS THE CAPACITY (RANGE) DISPLAY ABOVE THE THRESHOLD THAT WOULD OTHERWISE OBLIGATE NISSAN TO REPAIR/REPLACE THE BATTERY. IS YOUR AGENCY THE APPROPRIATE ON TO BRING THIS SUSPICION/COMPLAINT TO AND REQUEST AN INVESTIGATION OR SHOULD I CONTACT SOMEONE ELSE. I DO NOT HAVE EVIDENCE, BUT IT IS MORE THAN A HUNCH. BEFORE THIS ALLEGED ""FIX" MY CAR HAD LOST 2 BARS OF DISPLAY, AFTER, ONLY 1, YET IT HAS BEEN DRIVEN AND RECHARGED MUCH MORE EXTENSIVELY THAN BEFORE THE "FIX". ALSO, NISSAN HAS BEEN UNWILLING TO SHARE DATA ON THE LEAF OR ITS BATTERY, AND INSISTS THAT THEY ARE THE ONLY COMPANY WHO CAN DIAGNOSE THE BATTERY, AND THEREFORE, THE ONLY COMPANY WHO CAN DECIDE IF THE WARRANTY SHOULD BE HONORED IN ANY CASE. THIS IS TROUBLING. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF ANY RESOURCES COULD BE DEVOTED TO LOOKING INTO THIS SOFTWARE "FIX" - THOUGH I UNDERSTAND BUDGET AND PERSONNEL CONSTRAINTS MAY INHIBIT THIS WITHOUT EVIDENCE BEYOND MY CIRCUMSTANTIAL EXPERIENCE AND MY GUT FEELING. STILL, IT BEARS CONTACTING YOU TO ASK, AS WE HAVE SEEN HOW OTHER MAJOR AUTO MAKERS ARE WILLING TO BEND RULES AND LAWS IN ORDER TO PAD THE BOTTOM LINE. THANK YOU!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/21/2015 - PASADENA, CA
2011 NISSAN LEAF, HAVE TAKEN IT MULTIPLE DEALERS AND DONE THE UPDATE(S) REQUIRED BY NISSAN, WHICH ACTUALLY MADE MATTERS WORSE, REGEN IS NOT WORKING LIKE HAD PRIOR TO THE P3227 UPDATE. THE BIGGEST ISSUE WITH THE NISSAN LEAF IS THE BATTERY CAPACITY AND ADVERTISED CLAIMS. CURRENTLY CHARGING 100% AND GETTING LESS THAN 60 MILES RANGE. THE WARRANTY APPARENTLY AFTER TWO CLASS ACTIONS IS 5 YEARS 60,000 MILES WHICHEVER COMES FIRST. ALL ANYONE AT NISSAN OR THE DEALERS CAN SAY IS TO WAIT UNTIL WE DROP THE 9TH BAR. BUT FROM WHAT THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP TOLD ME, I NEEDED TO DROP BELOW 70% , WHICH ACCORDING TO MY CALCULATIONS I HAVE. BUT NISSAN DOES NISSAN MATH, EACH BAR IS WEIGHTED AND THE SOFTWARE UPDATE MADE ADJUSTMENTS THAT ARE MYSTERIOUS TO MOST. NISSAN MISREPRESENTED THE LEAF AND WITH THE POOR BATTERY CHEMISTRY FAILED TO DELIVER AS PROMISED, AND NOW THESE CARS ARE PRACTICALLY BEING GIVEN AWAY. NISSAN DOES NOT COOL THE BATTERIES PROPERLY AND THERE COULD BE A DANGER THAT THEY ARE NOT DISCLOSING. THIS NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED FURTHER BY NHTSA/DOT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds