Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN LEAF - 2011 NISSAN LEAF Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 32 complaints filed for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 NISSAN LEAF. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (19) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Structure (1)
Engine (2) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

7/9/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY WOULD DRAIN RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE MILEAGE SPECIFIED FOR THE BATTERY TO BE RECHARGED WAS INACCURATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2014 - MANASSAS, VA
VEHICLE HAS DIGITAL DISPLAY THAT INDICATES HOW MANY MILES OF TRAVEL REMAIN IN THE BATTERY. METER READS AT LEAST TWICE AS HIGH AS MILES ACTUALLY DELIVERED. COULD CAUSE UNAWARE DRIVE TO RUN OUT OF CHARGE AND STOP IN TRAFFIC LANES THUS POTENTIALLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OF BODILY HARM TO OCCUPANTS OF VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/28/2014 - MANASSAS, VA
BRAKES ON THE NISSAN LEAF WERE PULSING ON AND THE WOULD TURN OFF AND A FEW SECONDS LATER WOULD TURN BACK ON. CYCLE WOULD REPEAT EVERY 3 SECONDS TILL THE CAR CAME TO COMPLETE STOP. LOCAL DEALER INVESTIGATED AND INFORMED ME THE DISC BRAKE ROTORS WERE WARPED. CAN'T BELIEVE THE BRAKES WOULD SHUT DOWN IF ROTORS WERE WARPED. COULD HAVE LEAD TO SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2014 - MANASSAS, VA
VEHICLE'S MAIN TRACTION BATTERY LOST 15% OF ITS USABLE CAPACITY AFTER ONLY 1 YEAR AND 3631 MILES OF VEHICLE USE. THIS RAPID LOSS IN BATTERY CAPACITY IS CONTRARY TO NISSAN'S ADVERTISED SERVICE LIFE OF 70%TO 80% CAPACITY AFTER 100,000 MILES. DEFECTIVE BATTERY COULD POTENTIALLY FAIL WHILE THE VEHICLE IS OPERATED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND CAUSE LOSS OF STEERING AND OR BRAKES.

View Details

STEERING

3/12/2014 - MIDLAND, TX
THE NISSAN LEAF REPRESENTATIVE SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH A LEAF MECHANIC HERE IN MIDLAND. I ARRIVED AT MY APPOINTMENT AND ASK THE MECHANIC IF HE WAS THE LEAF MECHANIC THAT I HAD THE APPOINTMENT WITH. HE ANSWERED YES. I TOOK HIM FOR A TEST DRIVE WHERE HE EXPERIENCED THE FRONT END PROBLEM. WHEN WE GOT BACK, THE SHOP MANAGER WANTED TO SEE THE PROBLEM FOR HIMSELF. THEN I TALKED TO THE GENERAL MANAGER WHO TOLD ME THAT NEITHER WAS A CERTIFIED LEAF MECHANIC. WHEN I CALLED THE LEAF REPRESENTATIVE HE AGAIN TALKED TO ME. AFTER SEVERAL MORE CALLS TO HIM HE SAID THAT THE MECHANIC AND MANAGER SAID THAT IT WAS MY FAULT BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING ERRATIC EVEN WHEN I TOOK IT OUT ON THE LOOP AND THE HIGHWAY. THAT WAS A PURE LIE BY SOMEONE. I DID NEITHER. I ONLY DROVE IT AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD FOR THE TEST DRIVE. THEN THE LEAF REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT I NEEDED TO DRIVE TO ODESSA TO HAVE A LEAF MECHANIC TO CHECK IT OUT. THAT IS WHAT THEY ORIGINALLY TOLD ME ABOUT GOING TO MIDLAND FOR MY APPOINTMENT. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT MY CAR WILL NO LONGER MADE IT TO ODESSA AND BACK ON A CHARGE. THEY TOLD ME THAT I WOULD HAVE TO DRIVE OVER THERE AND RENT A CAR TO GET BACK TO MIDLAND AND THEN I COULD DRIVE BACK TO ODESSA THE NEXT DAY. I SUGGESTED THAT THEY SEND THE LEAF MECHANIC OVER TO MIDLAND TO CHECK MY CAR. THEY WOULD NOT DO IT. IT IS OK FOR THEM TO HAVE ME SPEND TWO DAYS OF MY TIME BUT IT IS NOT OK FOR THEM TO SPEND A HALF DAY. NOW THEY SAY THAT THEY WILL DO NOTHING ELSE UNLESS I DO IT THEIR WAY. I DO NOT KNOW IF THEY EVER FIXED THE STEERING PROBLEMS BUT I KNOW THAT I HAVE ALMOST HAD AN ACCIDENT SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE OF THE STEERING. I NOW HAVE TO DRIVE EXTREMELY CAREFUL. I DO NOT KNOW IF I COULD AVOID AN ACCIDENT IF I HAVE TO SWERVE FAST TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT. NOW THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO FIX THE 2011 AND 2012 MODELS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
TWO MONTHS AGO I WAS BRAKING MODERATELY WHEN THE CAR SHUTTERED, THERE WAS A BUMP AND THE CAR BEGAN COASTING. I SAW THAT IT HAD POPPED INTO N (NEUTRAL) EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEAR SHIFT. I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK INTO D (DRIVE) BUT IT WOULDN'T RESPOND. I PUSHED THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO SHUT IT DOWN. FINALLY, IT RESPONDED, THEN RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. AFTER THAT, THERE WOULD BE INTERMITTENT SHUTTERING AND BUMPING WHILE BRAKING. THE RECHARGING LIGHTS WILL PULSE AND I CAN FEEL THE REGENERATIVE FEATURE GRAB AND THEN RELEASE. ONE MORNING RECENTLY, ALONG WITH THESE SYMPTOMS THE RANGE PLUMMETED QUICKLY, BY ABOUT 1 MILE PER SECOND. AFTER DRIVING ONLY 20 MILES I HAD 17 MILES OF INDICATED RANGE. THEN, YESTERDAY, THE FIRST PROBLEM REAPPEARED: THE CAR WENT INTO NEUTRAL AND BRIEFLY WOULDN'T RESPOND. THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/5/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
TWO MONTHS AGO I WAS BRAKING MODERATELY WHEN THE CAR SHUTTERED, THERE WAS A BUMP AND THE CAR BEGAN COASTING. I SAW THAT IT HAD POPPED INTO N (NEUTRAL) EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEAR SHIFT. I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK INTO D (DRIVE) BUT IT WOULDN'T RESPOND. I PUSHED THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO SHUT IT DOWN. FINALLY, IT RESPONDED, THEN RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. AFTER THAT, THERE WOULD BE INTERMITTENT SHUTTERING AND BUMPING WHILE BRAKING. THE RECHARGING LIGHTS WILL PULSE AND I CAN FEEL THE REGENERATIVE FEATURE GRAB AND THEN RELEASE. ONE MORNING RECENTLY, ALONG WITH THESE SYMPTOMS THE RANGE PLUMMETED QUICKLY, BY ABOUT 1 MILE PER SECOND. AFTER DRIVING ONLY 20 MILES I HAD 17 MILES OF INDICATED RANGE. THEN, YESTERDAY, THE FIRST PROBLEM REAPPEARED: THE CAR WENT INTO NEUTRAL AND BRIEFLY WOULDN'T RESPOND. THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/5/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
TWO MONTHS AGO I WAS BRAKING MODERATELY WHEN THE CAR SHUTTERED, THERE WAS A BUMP AND THE CAR BEGAN COASTING. I SAW THAT IT HAD POPPED INTO N (NEUTRAL) EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEAR SHIFT. I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK INTO D (DRIVE) BUT IT WOULDN'T RESPOND. I PUSHED THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO SHUT IT DOWN. FINALLY, IT RESPONDED, THEN RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. AFTER THAT, THERE WOULD BE INTERMITTENT SHUTTERING AND BUMPING WHILE BRAKING. THE RECHARGING LIGHTS WILL PULSE AND I CAN FEEL THE REGENERATIVE FEATURE GRAB AND THEN RELEASE. ONE MORNING RECENTLY, ALONG WITH THESE SYMPTOMS THE RANGE PLUMMETED QUICKLY, BY ABOUT 1 MILE PER SECOND. AFTER DRIVING ONLY 20 MILES I HAD 17 MILES OF INDICATED RANGE. THEN, YESTERDAY, THE FIRST PROBLEM REAPPEARED: THE CAR WENT INTO NEUTRAL AND BRIEFLY WOULDN'T RESPOND. THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2013 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
BATTERY CAPACITY HAS DROPPED 1 BAR. NISSAN CASE NUMBER [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/4/2013 - SEATTLE, WA
THE INTELLIGENT KEY SYSTEM ALLOWED THE VEHICLE TO BE DRIVEN OFF WITHOUT THE KEY PRESENT (IT WAS IN THE POCKET OF A PERSON STANDING OUTSIDE THE CAR). THE DRIVER AND PASSENGERS THEN WENT ON A 15 MILE TRIP, WHEREIN THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED (SAFELY). AFTER AWHILE THE VEHICLE WAS RE-ENTERED, BUT THE DRIVER COULD NOT START THE CAR BECAUSE THE KEY WAS NOT PRESENT. 2 YOUNG CHILDREN WERE LEFT WAITING IN THE HOT SUN, BUT WERE NOT INJURED. EVENTUALLY ANOTHER PERSON RETRIEVED THE KEYS AND BROUGHT THEM TO THE DISABLED CAR AND DRIVER USING A SECOND VEHICLE. IT WAS VERY INCONVENIENT AND STRESSFUL FOR ALL PARTIES INVOLVED AND LUCKILY NO ONE WAS INJURED. NOTE: LATER ON, AFTER TESTING THE VEHICLE IN A CONTROLLED SITUATION, THE WARNING SYSTEM DID NOT INDICATE THAT THE KEY WAS NOT PRESENT AS THE OWNER'S MANUAL STATES IT SHOULD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds