Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN LEAF - 2011 NISSAN LEAF Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 36 complaints filed for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 NISSAN LEAF. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (7) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Structure (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/15/2014 - TURLOCK, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2011 NISSAN LEAF IN SEPTEMBER OF 2012 FROM STADIUM NISSAN IN ORANGE, CALIFORNIA. I QUICKLY LEARNED THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT BUILT FOR MY 69 MILE COMMUTE(4.9 MILES PER KWH), BUT WAS ABLE TO ADAPT AND MAKE IT WORK UNTIL A JOB CHANGE IN OCTOBER OF 2013. MY 10 YEAR OLD SON AND I WERE REAR ENDED SHORTLY AFTER OUR MOVE TO TURLOCK, CALIFORNIA. MY NISSAN LEAF HELD UP VERY WELL TO BEING REAR ENDED AT 45MPH BY A FULL SIZED CHEVY SILVERADO; AS I DROVE IT AWAY AND THE CHEVY WAS TOTALED. MY SON AND I BOTH RECEIVED CONCUSSIONS FROM THE ACCIDENT, AND UNFORTUNATELY HE IS STILL FACED WITH MEMORY LOSS. MY LEAF WAS TAKEN TO ALFRED MATTHEWS COLLISION CENTER FOR REPAIRS, AND SENT TO CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN TO HAVE THE BATTERIES REMOVED AND REINSTALLED BEFORE AND AFTER THE BODY REPAIRS. THE REPAIRS TOOK MORE THAN 2 MONTHS TO COMPLETE, AND MY LEAF HAS NEVER BEEN THE SAME. MY LEAF WILL NO LONGER GET THE 69PLUS FREEWAY MILES THAT I DROVE BEFORE THE ACCIDENT, AND WILL NOW ONLY GET 40-50 CITY MILES PER CHARGE (3.8 MILES PER KWH). I HAVE TAKEN MY LEAF BACK TO CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN AT LEAST 6 TIMES IN THE LAST 8 MONTHS, AND EVEN HAD ONE OF THE TWO NISSAN LEAF MECHANICS EVALUATE THE ISSUES. AAA WAS WILLING AND READY TO TOTAL MY LEAF BASED ON THIS DRASTIC PERFORMANCE ISSUE, BUT THEY WERE TOLD BY CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN AND THE LEAF MECHANIC THAT MY LEAF IS PERFORMING WITHIN SPECIFICATIONS FOR A 2011 LEAF WITH 35,000 MILES. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BASED ON YOUR EPA ESTIMATES OF 106 CITY / 92 HIGHWAY (I AM CURIOUS IF OTHER LEAF OWNERS KNOW THAT WHEN THEIR VEHICLE IS 3 YEARS OLD AND HAS 35,000 MILES; THEY WILL ONLY GET 40 MILES PER CHARGE).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/15/2014 - TURLOCK, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2011 NISSAN LEAF IN SEPTEMBER OF 2012 FROM STADIUM NISSAN IN ORANGE, CALIFORNIA. I QUICKLY LEARNED THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT BUILT FOR MY 69 MILE COMMUTE(4.9 MILES PER KWH), BUT WAS ABLE TO ADAPT AND MAKE IT WORK UNTIL A JOB CHANGE IN OCTOBER OF 2013. MY 10 YEAR OLD SON AND I WERE REAR ENDED SHORTLY AFTER OUR MOVE TO TURLOCK, CALIFORNIA. MY NISSAN LEAF HELD UP VERY WELL TO BEING REAR ENDED AT 45MPH BY A FULL SIZED CHEVY SILVERADO; AS I DROVE IT AWAY AND THE CHEVY WAS TOTALED. MY SON AND I BOTH RECEIVED CONCUSSIONS FROM THE ACCIDENT, AND UNFORTUNATELY HE IS STILL FACED WITH MEMORY LOSS. MY LEAF WAS TAKEN TO ALFRED MATTHEWS COLLISION CENTER FOR REPAIRS, AND SENT TO CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN TO HAVE THE BATTERIES REMOVED AND REINSTALLED BEFORE AND AFTER THE BODY REPAIRS. THE REPAIRS TOOK MORE THAN 2 MONTHS TO COMPLETE, AND MY LEAF HAS NEVER BEEN THE SAME. MY LEAF WILL NO LONGER GET THE 69PLUS FREEWAY MILES THAT I DROVE BEFORE THE ACCIDENT, AND WILL NOW ONLY GET 40-50 CITY MILES PER CHARGE (3.8 MILES PER KWH). I HAVE TAKEN MY LEAF BACK TO CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN AT LEAST 6 TIMES IN THE LAST 8 MONTHS, AND EVEN HAD ONE OF THE TWO NISSAN LEAF MECHANICS EVALUATE THE ISSUES. AAA WAS WILLING AND READY TO TOTAL MY LEAF BASED ON THIS DRASTIC PERFORMANCE ISSUE, BUT THEY WERE TOLD BY CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN AND THE LEAF MECHANIC THAT MY LEAF IS PERFORMING WITHIN SPECIFICATIONS FOR A 2011 LEAF WITH 35,000 MILES. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BASED ON YOUR EPA ESTIMATES OF 106 CITY / 92 HIGHWAY (I AM CURIOUS IF OTHER LEAF OWNERS KNOW THAT WHEN THEIR VEHICLE IS 3 YEARS OLD AND HAS 35,000 MILES; THEY WILL ONLY GET 40 MILES PER CHARGE).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/15/2014 - TURLOCK, CA
I PURCHASED MY 2011 NISSAN LEAF IN SEPTEMBER OF 2012 FROM STADIUM NISSAN IN ORANGE, CALIFORNIA. I QUICKLY LEARNED THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT BUILT FOR MY 69 MILE COMMUTE(4.9 MILES PER KWH), BUT WAS ABLE TO ADAPT AND MAKE IT WORK UNTIL A JOB CHANGE IN OCTOBER OF 2013. MY 10 YEAR OLD SON AND I WERE REAR ENDED SHORTLY AFTER OUR MOVE TO TURLOCK, CALIFORNIA. MY NISSAN LEAF HELD UP VERY WELL TO BEING REAR ENDED AT 45MPH BY A FULL SIZED CHEVY SILVERADO; AS I DROVE IT AWAY AND THE CHEVY WAS TOTALED. MY SON AND I BOTH RECEIVED CONCUSSIONS FROM THE ACCIDENT, AND UNFORTUNATELY HE IS STILL FACED WITH MEMORY LOSS. MY LEAF WAS TAKEN TO ALFRED MATTHEWS COLLISION CENTER FOR REPAIRS, AND SENT TO CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN TO HAVE THE BATTERIES REMOVED AND REINSTALLED BEFORE AND AFTER THE BODY REPAIRS. THE REPAIRS TOOK MORE THAN 2 MONTHS TO COMPLETE, AND MY LEAF HAS NEVER BEEN THE SAME. MY LEAF WILL NO LONGER GET THE 69PLUS FREEWAY MILES THAT I DROVE BEFORE THE ACCIDENT, AND WILL NOW ONLY GET 40-50 CITY MILES PER CHARGE (3.8 MILES PER KWH). I HAVE TAKEN MY LEAF BACK TO CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN AT LEAST 6 TIMES IN THE LAST 8 MONTHS, AND EVEN HAD ONE OF THE TWO NISSAN LEAF MECHANICS EVALUATE THE ISSUES. AAA WAS WILLING AND READY TO TOTAL MY LEAF BASED ON THIS DRASTIC PERFORMANCE ISSUE, BUT THEY WERE TOLD BY CENTRAL VALLEY NISSAN AND THE LEAF MECHANIC THAT MY LEAF IS PERFORMING WITHIN SPECIFICATIONS FOR A 2011 LEAF WITH 35,000 MILES. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BASED ON YOUR EPA ESTIMATES OF 106 CITY / 92 HIGHWAY (I AM CURIOUS IF OTHER LEAF OWNERS KNOW THAT WHEN THEIR VEHICLE IS 3 YEARS OLD AND HAS 35,000 MILES; THEY WILL ONLY GET 40 MILES PER CHARGE).

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/29/2014 - EXETER, CA
AFTER STOPPING AT AN INTERSECTION, LOOKING BOTH WAYS AND NOT SEEING ANYBODY, I STARTED GOING THROUGH AND CROSSING THE STREET, THEN I SUDDENLY COME FACE-TO-FACE WITH A PEDESTRIAN ONLY INCHES FROM THE SIDE OF THE CAR! I ALMOST HIT SOMEONE, AND THE EXPERIENCE LEFT ME QUITE RATTLED. THE PROBLEM IS THE PILLAR AT THE FRONT LEFT CORNER IS AT THE WORST POSSIBLE POSITION AS IT COMPLETELY BLOCKS THE VIEW OF THE FAR STREET CORNER, SO I DID NOT SEE THE PEDESTRIAN WHO STARTED CROSSING THE STREET. ALSO, THE PILLAR AT THE FRONT RIGHT SIDE COMPLETELY BLOCKS THE VIEW OF THE NEAR STREET CORNER. I HAVE SINCE TRAINED MYSELF TO CONSCIOUSLY PERFORM A CRAZY-LOOKING MANEUVER TO MOVE MY BODY TO THE LEFT AND TO THE RIGHT AND BACK, AT EVERY INTERSECTION, TO PEEK AROUND THE OBSTACLE. I DON'T HAVE TO DO THIS IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE. THIS CAR HAS EXCEPTIONALLY TERRIBLE VISIBILITY BECAUSE OF THE LOCATION OF THE PILLAR, AND IT IS VERY VERY DANGEROUS. THIS NEEDS TO BE REDESIGNED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE IT RESULTS IN A PEDESTRIAN FATALITY. IT ALMOST DID.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/29/2014 - EXETER, CA
WHILE IN A LINEUP OF CARS AT A STOP SIGN INTERSECTION, I HAD TO START AND STOP REPEATEDLY, AS EACH CAR MOVED FORWARD. VERY SOON, THE BRAKES DEVELOPED A JERKY RESPONSE, GRABBING AND RELEASING. SO THE CAR WAS LURCHING FORWARD AND JERKING TO A STOP. IT WAS QUITE EMBARRASING, AND THE CAR BEHIND ME NEARLY REAR-ENDED ME. THIS WAS THE FIRST OCCURRENCE, AND THE SAME THING HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE. THE BRAKES ARE NOT CONSISTENT - SOMETIMES THEY GRAB COMPLETELY AND A COUPLE OF TIMES I HAVE COMPLETELY LOST BRAKING POWER FOR A FEW MOMENTS. THE ISSUE STILL EXISTS, AND I KNOW SEVERAL OTHER LEAF DRIVERS WHO HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED IT. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS, AND ONE OF THESE DAYS SOMEONE WILL BE KILLED BECAUSE OF NISSAN'S NEGLIGENCE, UNLESS NHTSA FORCES SOME ACTION ON IT. THIS NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO VERY THOROUGHLY AND FIXED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2014 - BELLEVUE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO RESPOND WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,060.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

7/9/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY WOULD DRAIN RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE MILEAGE SPECIFIED FOR THE BATTERY TO BE RECHARGED WAS INACCURATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2014 - MANASSAS, VA
VEHICLE HAS DIGITAL DISPLAY THAT INDICATES HOW MANY MILES OF TRAVEL REMAIN IN THE BATTERY. METER READS AT LEAST TWICE AS HIGH AS MILES ACTUALLY DELIVERED. COULD CAUSE UNAWARE DRIVE TO RUN OUT OF CHARGE AND STOP IN TRAFFIC LANES THUS POTENTIALLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OF BODILY HARM TO OCCUPANTS OF VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/28/2014 - MANASSAS, VA
BRAKES ON THE NISSAN LEAF WERE PULSING ON AND THE WOULD TURN OFF AND A FEW SECONDS LATER WOULD TURN BACK ON. CYCLE WOULD REPEAT EVERY 3 SECONDS TILL THE CAR CAME TO COMPLETE STOP. LOCAL DEALER INVESTIGATED AND INFORMED ME THE DISC BRAKE ROTORS WERE WARPED. CAN'T BELIEVE THE BRAKES WOULD SHUT DOWN IF ROTORS WERE WARPED. COULD HAVE LEAD TO SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2014 - MANASSAS, VA
VEHICLE'S MAIN TRACTION BATTERY LOST 15% OF ITS USABLE CAPACITY AFTER ONLY 1 YEAR AND 3631 MILES OF VEHICLE USE. THIS RAPID LOSS IN BATTERY CAPACITY IS CONTRARY TO NISSAN'S ADVERTISED SERVICE LIFE OF 70%TO 80% CAPACITY AFTER 100,000 MILES. DEFECTIVE BATTERY COULD POTENTIALLY FAIL WHILE THE VEHICLE IS OPERATED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND CAUSE LOSS OF STEERING AND OR BRAKES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds