Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN LEAF - 2011 NISSAN LEAF Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 NISSAN LEAF. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Structure (3)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (13) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/5/2017 - KANEOHE, HI
SO, APPARENTLY THE 2012 - 2014 NISSAN LEAF HAD AN ISSUE WITH THE PASSENGER AIRBAG SENSOR AND IS COVERED BY RECALL, BUT NOT THE FIRST YEAR MODELS, 2011. IS THIS TO ASSUME THAT THE SENSOR IS DIFFERENT FROM THE FIRST TO THESE SUBSEQUENT YEARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/5/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
I BELIEVE THE BATTERY WAS RIGGED INTO RUNNING LOW RIGHT AFTER THE WARRANTY RAN OUT

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2017 - CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH
INTERMITTENTLY, LITTLE OR NO BRAKING FORCE MAYBE BE AVAILABLE WHEN THE CAR IS PUT IN GEAR AFTER INITIAL KEY-ON FOLLOWING ABOUT 10 MINUTE KEY-OFF AFTER A 20-30 MINUTE DRIVE CYCLE. THE FAULT IS MORE LIKELY TO OCCUR IN WARM WEATHER. PUMPING THE BRAKES ONCE BEFORE PUTTING THE CAR IN GEAR WILL CLEAR THE PROBLEM. IF THE BRAKES ARE NOT PUMPED THE CAR WILL CONTINUE TO ROLL DUE TO THE RESIDUAL TORQUE FROM THE ELECTRIC DRIVE THAT EXISTS EVEN WHEN THE ACCELERATOR IS NOT DEPRESSED. I TOOK THE CAR TO A NISSAN DEALER WHO CHARGED $209 FOR ANALYSIS AND TO APPLY A, "SOFTWARE UPGRADE," TO THE CAR'S COMPUTER SYSTEM. IT S NOT YET KNOWN IF THE SOFTWARE RESOLVED THE ISSUE DUE TO INTERMITTENT NATURE. THIS ISSUE COULD POSE A HAZARD FOR ITINERANT DRIVERS OF LEAFS WITHOUT SOFTWARE UPGRADE BECAUSE THOSE DRIVERS WOULD NOT KNOW BRAKE PUMPING ALLEVIATES THE PROBLEM. THE NORMAL REACTION IS TO PRESS THE BRAKES HARDER WITHOUT LIFTING, WHICH HAS NO EFFECT ON RESTORING BRAKE FORCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/15/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
2011 NISSAN LEAF PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANT SENSOR OFF WHEN PASSENGER IS IN SEAT. I TOOK IT TO DEALER WHO INSPECTED HARNESS AND CONNECTIONS UNDER FRONT SEAT FOR WEAR OR DAMAGE. NO FINDINGS. FOLLOWED INSPECTION PROCEDURES IN ESM. I WAS TOLD THAT VEHICLE WILL REQUIRE A SEAT CUSHION REPLACEMENT WITH OCCUPANT DETECTION CONTROL UNIT. COST APPROXIMATELY $2,900 AND NO GUARANTEE OF FIX. MAY NEED AIR BAG CONTROL UNIT REPLACEMENT. SEEMS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE 2013 - 2016 RECALL, BUT 2011 DID NOT GET RECALLED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/2/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER (COGGIN NISSAN ON ATLANTIC IN JACKSONVILLE 10600 ATLANTIC BLVD, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32225 (904) 302-8231) DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS AN OCS ERROR FAILURE, IN WHICH THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG COULD DEACTIVATE OFF OR FAIL TO FUNCTION. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER VERIFIED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO AN AIR BAG RECALL, BUT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/1/2017 - TALLADEGA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN CHARGED THE ENTIRE NIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT DUE TO THE VEHICLE BEING INVOLVED IN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT, THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 36,769.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2016 - UPLAND, CA
I HAVE HAD THE CAR INTO THE DEALER TWICE IN THE PAST 1 1/2 YEARS TO 'REPROGRAM' THE GRABBY BRAKES. THEY GET VERY SENSITIVE WHEN BRAKING BELOW 25 MPH. THEY GRAB, LET GO, GRAB, AND LET GO. I AM NOW BEING TOLD THAT IT WILL COST ME OVER $100 JUST FOR THEM TO LOOK AT THEM A THIRD TIME. I AM TIRED OF THE BANDAID APPROACH AND WANT IT FIXED BUT SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY A PENNY FOR IT. THE CAR JUST TURNED 40,000 MILES. I LOVE IT EXCEPT THIS ANNOYING AND POSSIBLY DANGEROUS BRAKING PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/27/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I ECHO SO MANY OTHERS WHO HAVE HAD THE EXPERIENCE OF THE BRAKES BEING OUT OF ONE'S CONTROL AT LOW SPEEDS. INSTEAD OF ALLOWING FOR A SMOOTH, SLOW DECELERATION, THE BRAKES ACTIVATE HARD END END UP JERKING THE CAR. THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHEN THIS HAS BEEN REALLY FRIGHTENING. ENOUGH PEOPLE HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS THAT IT SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO! IT'S HARD TO RECALL EXACTLY THE CONDITIONS UNDER WHICH THIS HAPPENS, BECAUSE IT'S INTERMITTENT, BUT MOSTLY AT LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/4/2016 - PLANTATION, FL
WHEN DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE GOES FROM A SOFT BRAKING TO A JOLTING STOP AT SPEEDS BELOW 20 MPH. THE VEHICLE JERKS SEVERLY WHEN BRAKING AND I AM ALSO VERY CONCERNED THIS WILL BE A PROBLEM ON WET ROADS AND I'M WORRIED ABOUT BEING REAR-ENDED AS IT STOPS SUDDENLY. I EXPERIENCE THIS EVERYDAY THAT I DRIVE IT. NOW, THE BRAKES HAVE ALSO BEEN RELEASING WHEN I'M TRYING TO STOP AT HIGHER SPEEDS, GIVING THE FEELING THAT I MAY NOT GET STOPPED IN TIME. AND THIS IS ONLY GETTING WORSE. THE CAR ESPECIALLY JOLTS WHEN CREEPING FORWARD AT A LIGHT OR INTO A PARKING SPOT. THE RELEASING, WHERE I FELT LIKE I COULD NOT STOP THE CAR, I HAVE EXPERIENCED RECENTLY ALSO HAPPENED IN THE SAME SITUATIONS. THE CAR WILL ALSO OCCASIONALLY CREEP FORWARD WHEN THE CAR WAS STOPPED, AND THE BRAKE PEDAL IS STILL DEPRESSED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
PASSENGER AIRBAG TURNED OFF. CANNOT TURN BACK ON. NOW HAVE FLASHING RED WARNING LIGHT. SEEMS RIDICULOUS TO HAVE THIS SAFETY FAILURE FAIL ON A CAR BOUGHT IN AUGUST 2011. NISSAN DEALER (ELK GROVE, CA) SAYS THEY'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS. I DON'T BELIEVE THEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds