Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN LEAF - 2011 NISSAN LEAF Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 28 complaints filed for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 NISSAN LEAF. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (16) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Structure (1)
Engine (2) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/12/2014 - MIDLAND, TX
THE NISSAN LEAF REPRESENTATIVE SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH A LEAF MECHANIC HERE IN MIDLAND. I ARRIVED AT MY APPOINTMENT AND ASK THE MECHANIC IF HE WAS THE LEAF MECHANIC THAT I HAD THE APPOINTMENT WITH. HE ANSWERED YES. I TOOK HIM FOR A TEST DRIVE WHERE HE EXPERIENCED THE FRONT END PROBLEM. WHEN WE GOT BACK, THE SHOP MANAGER WANTED TO SEE THE PROBLEM FOR HIMSELF. THEN I TALKED TO THE GENERAL MANAGER WHO TOLD ME THAT NEITHER WAS A CERTIFIED LEAF MECHANIC. WHEN I CALLED THE LEAF REPRESENTATIVE HE AGAIN TALKED TO ME. AFTER SEVERAL MORE CALLS TO HIM HE SAID THAT THE MECHANIC AND MANAGER SAID THAT IT WAS MY FAULT BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING ERRATIC EVEN WHEN I TOOK IT OUT ON THE LOOP AND THE HIGHWAY. THAT WAS A PURE LIE BY SOMEONE. I DID NEITHER. I ONLY DROVE IT AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD FOR THE TEST DRIVE. THEN THE LEAF REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT I NEEDED TO DRIVE TO ODESSA TO HAVE A LEAF MECHANIC TO CHECK IT OUT. THAT IS WHAT THEY ORIGINALLY TOLD ME ABOUT GOING TO MIDLAND FOR MY APPOINTMENT. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT MY CAR WILL NO LONGER MADE IT TO ODESSA AND BACK ON A CHARGE. THEY TOLD ME THAT I WOULD HAVE TO DRIVE OVER THERE AND RENT A CAR TO GET BACK TO MIDLAND AND THEN I COULD DRIVE BACK TO ODESSA THE NEXT DAY. I SUGGESTED THAT THEY SEND THE LEAF MECHANIC OVER TO MIDLAND TO CHECK MY CAR. THEY WOULD NOT DO IT. IT IS OK FOR THEM TO HAVE ME SPEND TWO DAYS OF MY TIME BUT IT IS NOT OK FOR THEM TO SPEND A HALF DAY. NOW THEY SAY THAT THEY WILL DO NOTHING ELSE UNLESS I DO IT THEIR WAY. I DO NOT KNOW IF THEY EVER FIXED THE STEERING PROBLEMS BUT I KNOW THAT I HAVE ALMOST HAD AN ACCIDENT SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE OF THE STEERING. I NOW HAVE TO DRIVE EXTREMELY CAREFUL. I DO NOT KNOW IF I COULD AVOID AN ACCIDENT IF I HAVE TO SWERVE FAST TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT. NOW THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO FIX THE 2011 AND 2012 MODELS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/5/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
TWO MONTHS AGO I WAS BRAKING MODERATELY WHEN THE CAR SHUTTERED, THERE WAS A BUMP AND THE CAR BEGAN COASTING. I SAW THAT IT HAD POPPED INTO N (NEUTRAL) EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEAR SHIFT. I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK INTO D (DRIVE) BUT IT WOULDN'T RESPOND. I PUSHED THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO SHUT IT DOWN. FINALLY, IT RESPONDED, THEN RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. AFTER THAT, THERE WOULD BE INTERMITTENT SHUTTERING AND BUMPING WHILE BRAKING. THE RECHARGING LIGHTS WILL PULSE AND I CAN FEEL THE REGENERATIVE FEATURE GRAB AND THEN RELEASE. ONE MORNING RECENTLY, ALONG WITH THESE SYMPTOMS THE RANGE PLUMMETED QUICKLY, BY ABOUT 1 MILE PER SECOND. AFTER DRIVING ONLY 20 MILES I HAD 17 MILES OF INDICATED RANGE. THEN, YESTERDAY, THE FIRST PROBLEM REAPPEARED: THE CAR WENT INTO NEUTRAL AND BRIEFLY WOULDN'T RESPOND. THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
TWO MONTHS AGO I WAS BRAKING MODERATELY WHEN THE CAR SHUTTERED, THERE WAS A BUMP AND THE CAR BEGAN COASTING. I SAW THAT IT HAD POPPED INTO N (NEUTRAL) EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEAR SHIFT. I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK INTO D (DRIVE) BUT IT WOULDN'T RESPOND. I PUSHED THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO SHUT IT DOWN. FINALLY, IT RESPONDED, THEN RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. AFTER THAT, THERE WOULD BE INTERMITTENT SHUTTERING AND BUMPING WHILE BRAKING. THE RECHARGING LIGHTS WILL PULSE AND I CAN FEEL THE REGENERATIVE FEATURE GRAB AND THEN RELEASE. ONE MORNING RECENTLY, ALONG WITH THESE SYMPTOMS THE RANGE PLUMMETED QUICKLY, BY ABOUT 1 MILE PER SECOND. AFTER DRIVING ONLY 20 MILES I HAD 17 MILES OF INDICATED RANGE. THEN, YESTERDAY, THE FIRST PROBLEM REAPPEARED: THE CAR WENT INTO NEUTRAL AND BRIEFLY WOULDN'T RESPOND. THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/5/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
TWO MONTHS AGO I WAS BRAKING MODERATELY WHEN THE CAR SHUTTERED, THERE WAS A BUMP AND THE CAR BEGAN COASTING. I SAW THAT IT HAD POPPED INTO N (NEUTRAL) EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEAR SHIFT. I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK INTO D (DRIVE) BUT IT WOULDN'T RESPOND. I PUSHED THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO SHUT IT DOWN. FINALLY, IT RESPONDED, THEN RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. AFTER THAT, THERE WOULD BE INTERMITTENT SHUTTERING AND BUMPING WHILE BRAKING. THE RECHARGING LIGHTS WILL PULSE AND I CAN FEEL THE REGENERATIVE FEATURE GRAB AND THEN RELEASE. ONE MORNING RECENTLY, ALONG WITH THESE SYMPTOMS THE RANGE PLUMMETED QUICKLY, BY ABOUT 1 MILE PER SECOND. AFTER DRIVING ONLY 20 MILES I HAD 17 MILES OF INDICATED RANGE. THEN, YESTERDAY, THE FIRST PROBLEM REAPPEARED: THE CAR WENT INTO NEUTRAL AND BRIEFLY WOULDN'T RESPOND. THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2013 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
BATTERY CAPACITY HAS DROPPED 1 BAR. NISSAN CASE NUMBER [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/4/2013 - SEATTLE, WA
THE INTELLIGENT KEY SYSTEM ALLOWED THE VEHICLE TO BE DRIVEN OFF WITHOUT THE KEY PRESENT (IT WAS IN THE POCKET OF A PERSON STANDING OUTSIDE THE CAR). THE DRIVER AND PASSENGERS THEN WENT ON A 15 MILE TRIP, WHEREIN THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED (SAFELY). AFTER AWHILE THE VEHICLE WAS RE-ENTERED, BUT THE DRIVER COULD NOT START THE CAR BECAUSE THE KEY WAS NOT PRESENT. 2 YOUNG CHILDREN WERE LEFT WAITING IN THE HOT SUN, BUT WERE NOT INJURED. EVENTUALLY ANOTHER PERSON RETRIEVED THE KEYS AND BROUGHT THEM TO THE DISABLED CAR AND DRIVER USING A SECOND VEHICLE. IT WAS VERY INCONVENIENT AND STRESSFUL FOR ALL PARTIES INVOLVED AND LUCKILY NO ONE WAS INJURED. NOTE: LATER ON, AFTER TESTING THE VEHICLE IN A CONTROLLED SITUATION, THE WARNING SYSTEM DID NOT INDICATE THAT THE KEY WAS NOT PRESENT AS THE OWNER'S MANUAL STATES IT SHOULD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/1/2013 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
MY NISSAN LEAF HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT OF ANY SORT, AND HAS NEVER EVEN BEEN DRIVEN OVER A CURB. IT IS LESS THAN 18 MONTHS, AND LESS THAN 15,000 MILES. FRONT THE DAY I GOT IT, I FELT THAT AT TIMES WHEN I PRESSED THE BRAKES ON IT, THAT THEY WOULD SLIP, OR NOT GRAB FOR A 1/2 SECOND, BUT THOUGHT THIS MIGHT HAVE BEEN ME. THE CAR FAILED COMPLETELY 10 DAYS AGO, AND WILL NOT START, TELLING ME THAT MY FOOT WAS NOT ON THE BRAKE! (A CONDITION FOR STARTING). COMBINED WITH THE FACT THAT IT CANNOT SEE THE BRAKES BEING HEAVILY DEPRESSED (FOR STARTING) AND ITS COMPUTER CONTROLLED BRAKES SLIPPING FOR 1/2 SECOND, IT MAKES ME THINK THAT THE COMPUTER HAS SOME REASON FOR NOT SEEING THE BRAKES WORKING. THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP, AND NISSAN USA HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS, AND AFTER 10 DAYS NISSAN USA HAS NOT GOTTEN ANY CLOSER TO A RESOLUTION. IS THIS A COMPUTER/BRAKING DEFECT? IS IT COMMON? IT CERTAINLY AFFECTS THE SAFETY OF THOSE RIDING IN A CAR, AS BRAKE FAILURE IS CERTAINLY AS IMPORTANT AS AN ACCELERATOR STICKING. HAS A RECALL BEEN ORDERED FOR THIS, AND HOW MANY CARS ARE INVOLVED IN IT?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2013 - TUCSON , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRICAL AND BATTERY SYSTEM FAILED NUMEROUS TIMES AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM DISCHARGED NUMEROUS TIMES AT LOW SPEED OF 35 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE FAILURE. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THEY COULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND THAT IT WAS PERFORMING ACCORDING TO THE ELECTRICAL SPECIFICATIONS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE 6,130 WAS AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 6,900.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2012 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE BATTERY AND RAPID RANGE CAPACITY BARS DISAPPEARED, MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO DECIPHER HOW MUCH FURTHER THE VEHICLE COULD ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WERE NOT ALLOWED TO DIAGNOSE, REPAIR OR ADMIT THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE DUE TO COMPANY POLICY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND DENIED ANY ASSISTANCE TO THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,232 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 17,025.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

9/6/2012 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE NISSAN LEAF WE PURCHASED FROM ABC NISSAN (PHOENIX, AZ) IN MARCH, 2011 BEGAN EXPERIENCING A RAPID DECREASE IN RANGE BEGINNING IN MARCH, 2012. FOR 5 MONTHS, DURING MULTIPLE PHONE CALLS, VISITS TO DEALERS, AND AMONG 2 WEEKS OF TESTING AT THE PROVING GROUNDS, WE ARE BEING TOLD THAT THE 30% REDUCTION IN DRIVING RANGE WE HAVE EXPERIENCED IS NORMAL, GRADUAL CAPACITY LOSS AND IS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. WE BELIEVE THAT THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE DESIGN OF THE LEAF BATTERY CAUSING IT TO RAPIDLY DEGRADE FASTER IN WARMER CLIMATES, ALTHOUGH OWNERS IN CALIFORNIA ARE STARTING TO SEE RANGE LOSS AS WELL. WE HAVE BEEN GIVEN TEST REPORTS BY OUR DEALERSHIP THAT OUR TREATMENT OF THE CAR ?IS VERY GOOD FOR YOUR BATTERY.? THE USABILITY AND VALUE OF THE CAR HAS BEEN IRREVOCABLY DIMINISHED DUE TO THIS NONCONFORMIST, DESPITE THE CARE GIVEN TO THE BATTERY AS CONFIRMED BY THE EV BATTERY USAGE REPORTS. OWNERS APPEAR TO HAVE NO RECOURSE AT THIS TIME. ONE OWNER TRIED TO TRADE-IN HIS LEAF TO 11 LOCAL CAR DEALERS, AND 10 REFUSED TO MAKE ANY TRADE-IN OFFER FOR A MINT-CONDITION CAR, NO CAPACITY LOSS, NO FLAWS, LESS THAN 10,000 MILES. WE ARE STUCK WITH A $35,000 CAR THAT WE CAN NO LONGER USE ON A DAILY BASIS. OWNERS HAVE BEGUN TO COLLECT SELF-REPORTED COMPLAINTS ONLINE(1), AND RANGE-LOSS IS EXPERIENCED BY AT LEAST 46 CARS IN ARIZONA (OUT OF 400 TOTAL SOLD), 18 CARS IN TEXAS, AND 12 CARS IN CALIFORNIA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds