Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN LEAF - 2011 NISSAN LEAF Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 NISSAN LEAF. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 NISSAN LEAF, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Structure (3)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (12) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/2/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER (COGGIN NISSAN ON ATLANTIC IN JACKSONVILLE 10600 ATLANTIC BLVD, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32225 (904) 302-8231) DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS AN OCS ERROR FAILURE, IN WHICH THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG COULD DEACTIVATE OFF OR FAIL TO FUNCTION. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER VERIFIED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO AN AIR BAG RECALL, BUT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/1/2017 - TALLADEGA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 NISSAN LEAF. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN CHARGED THE ENTIRE NIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT DUE TO THE VEHICLE BEING INVOLVED IN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT, THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 36,769.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2016 - UPLAND, CA
I HAVE HAD THE CAR INTO THE DEALER TWICE IN THE PAST 1 1/2 YEARS TO 'REPROGRAM' THE GRABBY BRAKES. THEY GET VERY SENSITIVE WHEN BRAKING BELOW 25 MPH. THEY GRAB, LET GO, GRAB, AND LET GO. I AM NOW BEING TOLD THAT IT WILL COST ME OVER $100 JUST FOR THEM TO LOOK AT THEM A THIRD TIME. I AM TIRED OF THE BANDAID APPROACH AND WANT IT FIXED BUT SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY A PENNY FOR IT. THE CAR JUST TURNED 40,000 MILES. I LOVE IT EXCEPT THIS ANNOYING AND POSSIBLY DANGEROUS BRAKING PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/27/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I ECHO SO MANY OTHERS WHO HAVE HAD THE EXPERIENCE OF THE BRAKES BEING OUT OF ONE'S CONTROL AT LOW SPEEDS. INSTEAD OF ALLOWING FOR A SMOOTH, SLOW DECELERATION, THE BRAKES ACTIVATE HARD END END UP JERKING THE CAR. THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHEN THIS HAS BEEN REALLY FRIGHTENING. ENOUGH PEOPLE HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS THAT IT SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO! IT'S HARD TO RECALL EXACTLY THE CONDITIONS UNDER WHICH THIS HAPPENS, BECAUSE IT'S INTERMITTENT, BUT MOSTLY AT LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/4/2016 - PLANTATION, FL
WHEN DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE GOES FROM A SOFT BRAKING TO A JOLTING STOP AT SPEEDS BELOW 20 MPH. THE VEHICLE JERKS SEVERLY WHEN BRAKING AND I AM ALSO VERY CONCERNED THIS WILL BE A PROBLEM ON WET ROADS AND I'M WORRIED ABOUT BEING REAR-ENDED AS IT STOPS SUDDENLY. I EXPERIENCE THIS EVERYDAY THAT I DRIVE IT. NOW, THE BRAKES HAVE ALSO BEEN RELEASING WHEN I'M TRYING TO STOP AT HIGHER SPEEDS, GIVING THE FEELING THAT I MAY NOT GET STOPPED IN TIME. AND THIS IS ONLY GETTING WORSE. THE CAR ESPECIALLY JOLTS WHEN CREEPING FORWARD AT A LIGHT OR INTO A PARKING SPOT. THE RELEASING, WHERE I FELT LIKE I COULD NOT STOP THE CAR, I HAVE EXPERIENCED RECENTLY ALSO HAPPENED IN THE SAME SITUATIONS. THE CAR WILL ALSO OCCASIONALLY CREEP FORWARD WHEN THE CAR WAS STOPPED, AND THE BRAKE PEDAL IS STILL DEPRESSED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
PASSENGER AIRBAG TURNED OFF. CANNOT TURN BACK ON. NOW HAVE FLASHING RED WARNING LIGHT. SEEMS RIDICULOUS TO HAVE THIS SAFETY FAILURE FAIL ON A CAR BOUGHT IN AUGUST 2011. NISSAN DEALER (ELK GROVE, CA) SAYS THEY'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS. I DON'T BELIEVE THEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2016 - BONNEY LAKE, WA
VEHICLES ELECTRIC WINDOWS MALFUNCTION. WINDOW WILL NOT OPEN OR CLOSE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE, BUT THE OTHERS WILL. MANY LEAF OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2016 - BONNEY LAKE, WA
VEHICLES ELECTRIC WINDOWS MALFUNCTION. WINDOW WILL NOT OPEN OR CLOSE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE, BUT THE OTHERS WILL. MANY LEAF OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/12/2016 - BERKELEY, CA
BRAKES DID NOT WORK AFTER ENGAGING DRIVE FROM STATIONARY POSITION. AFTER A FEW MOMENTS, NORMAL BRAKE ACTIVITY RESUMED. BELIEVED TO BE RELATED TO DEPLETED 12 V BATTERY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/20/2015 - LINCOLN, NE
THE BRAKES GO FROM A SOFT BRAKING TO A JOLTING STOP AT SPEEDS BELOW 20 MPH. I HAVE SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR, AND THEIR HEADS ARE BEING JOLTED AROUND WHEN THE CAR BRAKES THIS WAY. I AM CONCERNED THIS WILL BE A PROBLEM ON SLICK ROADS AND I'M WORRIED ABOUT BEING REAR-ENDED WHEN IT STOPS SO SUDDENLY. IT DOES THIS EVERYDAY THAT I DRIVE IT, HOWEVER THE DEALERSHIP CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. LATELY, THE BRAKES HAVE ALSO BEEN RELEASING WHEN I'M TRYING TO STOP, GIVING THE FEELING THAT I MAY NOT GET STOPPED IN TIME. I WOULD SAY IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR CANNOT SMOOTHLY TRANSITION BETWEEN REGULAR AND REGAIN BRAKES. I HAVE HAD IT AT THE DEALERSHIP TWICE, AND THEY PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. IT IS ONLY GETTING WORSE. THE CAR ESPECIALLY JOLTS WHEN CREEPING FORWARD AT A LIGHT OR INTO A PARKING SPOT. THE RELEASING, WHERE I FELT LIKE I COULD NOT STOP THE CAR, I HAVE EXPERIENCED RECENTLY ALSO HAPPENED IN THE SAME SITUATIONS. THE CAR WILL ALSO OCCASIONALLY CREEP FORWARD WHEN THE CAR WAS STOPPED, AND THE BRAKE PEDAL IS STILL DEPRESSED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds