Auto Recalls for Consumers

VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY - 2011 VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VICTORY

There are 11 complaints filed for the 2011 VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Equipment (2) Power Train (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (5) Visibility (1)
Fuel Propulsion System (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT

11/13/2014 - EARLETON, FL
2011 VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO MOTORCYCLE LOCK AND RIDE SAFETY RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE CONSUMER STATED HE RETURNED THE BACK REST/LUGGAGE RACK COMBINATION TO HIS LOCAL DEALER ON JUNE 27, 2014 AND HE HAS NOT HEARD FROM THE DEALER, SINCE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/14/2014 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
I HAVE A 2011 VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY MOTORCYCLE. THE SADDLEBAG LATCH ON THE RIGHT SIDE IS WEARING IMPROPERLY DUE TO IMPROPER ALIGNMENT. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS MOTORCYCLE. MY DEALER, VICTORY MOTORCYCLES, AND POLARIS HAVE REFUSED TO ISSUE A REPLACEMENT. WITHOUT REPAIR, THE LATCH WILL WEAR THROUGH AND THE SADDLEBAG LID WILL NOT BE ABLE TO BE SECURED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - SCITUATE, MA
THE LATCH ON THE RIGHT SIDE SADDLE BAG IS WEARING ITS WAY THROUGH THE LATCH BRACKET. SEVERAL VICTORY CROSS COUNTRY OWNERS HAVE SITED THAT THEIR BRACKET HAS SHEARED RIGHT THROUGH THUS ALLOWING THE SADDLEBAG LID TO FLY OPEN WHEN VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. MY BRACKET HAS NOT SHEARED THROUGH YET BUT THE CUT IS 1/2 WAY THROUGH. VICTORY'S RESPONSE TO THE PROBLEM IS THAT I MUST BUY A WHOLE NEW LOCK SET AT AN ASTRONOMICAL COST. THE PROBLEM DOES NOT EXIST ON THE LEFT SADDLE BAD BECAUSE THE BRACKET IS REVERSED ON THAT SIDE AND WILL NOT SUFFER THE VIBRATION RELATED WEAR THAT THE RIGHT SIDE DOES. SEVERAL WEBSITES, I.E. WWW.BUYWITCHDOCTORS.COM HAVE OFFERED ONLINE VIDEO CLIPS THAT SHOW YOU HOW TO RECTIFY THIS PROBLEM THAT SEEMS TO PLAGUE THE RIGHT SIDE SADDLE BAG LATCH BRACKET. I FEEL VICTORY SHOULD OWN UP TO ITS DESIGN FLAW AND ISSUE REPLACEMENT PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - SCITUATE, MA
REGARDING POLARIS/VICTORY RECALL CAMPAIGN 13E-048 THAT VICTORY ISSUED IN AUGUST OF 2013: THE OFFICIAL LETTER CAME OUT IN THE SPRING OF 2013 AND STATED THAT PARTS WILL BE AVAILABLE AFTER APRIL 2013, I HAVE CALLED MY DEALERSHIP EVERY WEEK SINCE MAY OF 2013 TO SEE WHEN PARTS WILL BE AVAILABLE. THEY CONTINUE TO TELL ME THAT VICTORY HAS MOVED UP THE SHIPPING DATES OF THE PARTICULAR TWO PARTS (CHROME LOCK-N-GO BACKREST AND CHROME LOCK-N-GO LUGGAGE RACK) THAT I AM HAVING TO REPLACE. I HAVE PLACED TWO PHONE CALLS TO VICTORY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ALWAYS GET A RUN AROUND. IT IS NOW OCTOBER 2014 AND ONCE AGAIN VICTORY HAS DELAYED THE SHIPPING DATES OF THE EXPECTED PARTS. MY DEALERSHIP CANNOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP AS THIS IS TOTALLY IN VICTORY'S HANDS. I AM APPALLED AT HOW BAD THIS SAFETY RECALL IS BEING HANDLED. OVER A YEAR SINCE THE RECALL WAS ANNOUNCED AND PARTS ARE STILL NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/30/2014 - WICHITA , KS
LATCH ON THE RIGHT SADDLE BAG IS WORN ALMOST TO THE POINT OF NOT HOLDING, IF THIS WAS NOT FOUND BEFORE WEARING ALL THE WAY THROUGH. THIS WOULD HAVE CAUSED THE BAGGAGE DOOR TO OPEN AND LOOSE THE CONTENTS OF THE BAG ON THE ROAD CAUSING UNDUE ROAD HAZARD FOR OTHER MOTORCYCLES AND CARS, WHICH WOULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS .

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/24/2014 - LISBON, IA
WHILE AT ROAD SPEED I HIT A MODERATE BUMP IN THE ROAD CAUSING THE PLASTIC FACTORY INSTALLED MOLDED PLASTIC PART TO SHEAR OFF AT THE TANK PLATE FACE. THIS CAUSED GASOLINE TO POUR OUT THE GAS NIPPLE BETWEEN MY LEGS AND ON TO THE HOT PIPES BELOW. THANKFULLY I WAS SMART AND QUICK ENOUGH TO SHUT DOWN THE BIKE AND STEP AWAY FROM IT TILL A TOW TRUCK ARRIVED. ONE SPARK OR THE PIPES BE A LITTLE HOTTER AS I HAD JUST STOPPED ABOUT 1 MILE BEFORE FOR LUNCH SO THE PIPES WERE NOT AS HOT AS THEY COULD HAVE BEEN. THIS IS IN MY MIND A DEFECTIVE CHEAP PLASTIC PART IN A CRITICAL CONNECTION. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN TO KEEP FROM BEING A ROLLING FIRE BALL ON OUR NATIONS HIGHWAYS. POLARIS FROM MY DISCUSSIONS THUS FAR HAVE NO REPLACEMENT PART FOR THIS BIKE THAT ISNT A DUPLICATE OF THE PART THAT BROKE TO BEGIN WITH. I HAVE REFUSED TO REPLACE MY BIKE PART FOR ONE OF THEIR PARTS AND HAVE CHOSEN TO HAVE THE PART FABRICATED ON MY OWN TO REPLACE IT. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE POLARIS LINE OF MOTORCYCLES AS THEY HAVE THIS SAME PART IN ALL THEIR NEW BIKES. SO YOU HAVE HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF POTENTIAL ROLLING FIRE BALLS ON OUR ROADS TODAY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/26/2012 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, MY RIGHT SIDE SADDLE BAG BECAME SEPARATED FROM MY MOTORCYCLE. THERE ARE TWO QUICK RELEASE PINS THAT CAME OFF CAUSING THE SADDLE BAG TO FALL OFF. THIS COULD BE A DANGER TO THE MOTORCYCLE RIDER AS A DISTRACTION AND IS A DANGER TO ANY MOTOR VEHICLE TRAVELING BEHIND THE MOTORCYCLE. THIS PROBLEM HAS SINCE HAPPENED AGAIN. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE WITH THE VICTORY OWNERS GROUP, I HAVE FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE AMONGST VICTORY OWNERS. CONTACT TO THE COMPANY AND THE DEALERSHIP HAVE BEEN IGNORED...

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/26/2012 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, MY RIGHT SIDE SADDLE BAG BECAME SEPARATED FROM MY MOTORCYCLE. THERE ARE TWO QUICK RELEASE PINS THAT CAME OFF CAUSING THE SADDLE BAG TO FALL OFF. THIS COULD BE A DANGER TO THE MOTORCYCLE RIDER AS A DISTRACTION AND IS A DANGER TO ANY MOTOR VEHICLE TRAVELING BEHIND THE MOTORCYCLE. THIS PROBLEM HAS SINCE HAPPENED AGAIN. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE WITH THE VICTORY OWNERS GROUP, I HAVE FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE AMONGST VICTORY OWNERS. CONTACT TO THE COMPANY AND THE DEALERSHIP HAVE BEEN IGNORED...

View Details

VISIBILITY

8/29/2011 - RENO, NV
2011 VICTORY KINGPIN 8-BALL MODEL MOTORCYCLE HAS CHRONIC RANDOM PREMATURE CANCELLATION OF TURN SIGNALS. OCCURS DOZENS OF TIMES DAILY. SOMETIMES ONE BLINK, THREE OR FIVE THEN SHUTS DOWN. NEW COMPUTER AND FLASHER WAS REPLACED. BETTER THAN IT WAS, BUT STILL OCCURS BELOW 50 MILES PER HOUR WHICH IS DANGEROUS TO HAVE SIGNALS SHUT OFF RANDOMLY LIKE THIS. HALF-WAY INTO A INTERSECTION TURN THE FLASHER CAN SHUT OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

7/13/2011 - WARNERS BAY, 00
MOTORCYCLE IS A 2011 VICTORY VEGAS MADE BY POLARIS. COULD NOT WRITE CORRECT MODEL IN THE APPROPRIATE SECTION! ST COASTING ON MOTORCYCLE, GEAR WOULD DROP DOWN INTO LOWER GEAR UNEXPECTEDLY THUS MOMENTARILY LOCKING UP REAR WHEEL. WAS NOT ABUSING MOTORCYCLE.THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE AND AFTER SERVICE AND THEY WERE(THE COMPANY) NOTIFIED OF ISSUE. ALSO DROPPED OUT OF GEAR ENTERING ROUNDABOUT AND WAS FORCED TO RUN WIDE DUE TO NIL TRACTION AND TRANSMISSION JUST RATTLING AWAY! (NOT IN ANY GEAR) VERY SCARY AND DANGEROUS TO MYSELF AND PUBLIC. COMPANY SAID THEY WILL REPLACE CLUTCH HOWEVER MY MANY YEARS OF EXPERIENCE TELL MYSELF IT IS THE TRANSMISSION AND I ALSO TOLD THEM IT IS GEAR PROBLEM NOT CLUTCH! THIS IS A NEW DESIGNED TRANSMISSION FOR THIS YEAR AND PROBLEMS ARE SURFACING ABROAD AS WELL AS HERE ALTHOUGH MINE APPEARS TO BE A WORSE CASE SCENARIO. BIKE WILL ALSO JUMP OUT OF GEAR FROM FIRST INTO NEUTRAL WHEN ABOUT TO LEAVE INTERSECTIONS CAUSING TRAFFIC AT REAR TO HAVE MORE CHANCES OF REAR ENDING ME! MOTORCYCLE IS AT MY GARAGE STILL WAITING FOR CLUTCH EVEN THOUGH IT IS A TRANSMISSION ISSUE. BRAND NEW MOTORCYCLE WITH 1100MILES ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds