Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 330 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (44) Steering (69) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (94) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (38) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (67) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (60) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
I WAS DRIVING, AND THE RADIO DASH BEGAN TO FLASH ON AND OFF. THEN THE STEERING BECAME VERY DIFFICULT, AND THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON, THE WORDS "SERVICE POWER STEERING" CAME ON, THEN THE CAR BEGAN TO PULSE, AND THEN "SERVICE TRACTION" CAME ON, THEN THE CAR SHUT OFF COMPLETELY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/17/2015 - HAZLE TOWNSHIP , PA
DROVE MY CAR ABOUT 70 MILES ON THE INTERSTATE ONCE I GOT INTO TOWN AND STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT THE CAR BEGAN TO SPUTTER, WHEN I ACCELERATED THE CAR WAS HESITANT. MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, I COULD HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED. ALSO, WHEN MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN ONTO A BUSY STATE ROUTE THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE IT WAS VERY HESITANT MAKING THE TURN TO A POINT I THOUGHT THE CAR WAS GOING TO STALL, IN FRONT OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THE CAR IS AT THE DEALER TODAY GETTING THE COOLANT RECALL COMPLETED AND IT WILL BE COMPUTER CHECKED FOR THE ENGINE LIGHT. FROM WHAT I WAS TOLD BY ANOTHER MECHANIC, THE CAR IS LOOSING VACUUM PRESSURE AND THE VALVES OR VALVE COVER IS LEAKING.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2015 - AURORA, IL
WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, ENGINE SUDDENLY LOST POWER, WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON, "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" MESSAGE DISPLAYED. BROUGHT CAR TO A STOP, ACCELERATOR PEDAL DID NOTHING, ENGINE WOULD ONLY IDLE. SHUT ENGINE OFF FOR 20 SECONDS, RESTARTED, AND PEDAL WORKED, CAR WOULD ACCELERATE. RETURNED HOME, SCANNED ENGINE CONTROL MODULE FOR CODES, FOUND P2135 FOR THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR. TOOK TO DEALER FOR REPAIRS UNDER WARRANTY, THEY CLEANED THROTTLE BODY. HAD CAR BACK FOR 2 DAYS AND PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN. FOUND SAME CODE, RETURNED CAR TO DEALER. CHEVY DEALER WAS RELUCTANT TO REPLACE THROTTLE BODY, DIDN'T EVEN MENTION THE MALFUNCTION AND WANTED TO INSTEAD REPLACE A COOLANT SENSOR. I WAS ABLE TO CONVINCE THEM TO REPLACE THROTTLE BODY, AND THE REPAIR ORDER STATES THAT THEY UPDATED THE ECM SOFTWARE LEVEL. I BELIEVE THERE IS A TSB WHICH SHOULD BE A RECALL. SUDDEN LOSS OF ENGINE POWER IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN PULLING INTO TRAFFIC, MERGING, ETC.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/6/2015 - MABLETON, GA
REDUCED ENGINE POWER. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES TO THIS VEHICLE TEMPORARILY, THEN AUTOMATICALLY RESETS. THIS IS UNSAFE BECAUSE YOU NEED THE ENGINE POWER IN MAKING TURNS, AND ESPECIALLY ON THE HIGHWAY IN THE CITY OF ATLANTA. THE ENGINE THROTTLE FAILED AND I HAD TO COME OUT OF POCKET FOR THAT, AND FOR A FAILED WHEEL BEARING AND FOR A TURBO EXPLOSION ON THE HIGHWAY. THAT IS A LOT FOR A CAR THAT IS 3 YEARS OLD, AND PURCHASED BRAND NEW. THIS CAR HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR AIR BAGS, BRAKES, AND THE OIL PAN. I CONSIDER IT LEMON AND WOULD LIKE TO REPORT THIS. I WON'T BUY AMERICAN AGAIN UNTIL I SEE SOME MAJOR PROGRESS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/3/2015 - LAPLATA, MD
WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 40 MPH, VEHICLE STALLED, TRACTION STABILITY AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, AND STEERING LOCKED. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE RADIO SCREEN/ ENV CONTROL PANEL FLICKERED ON AND OFF CONTINUOUSLY. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR SINCE I WAS A SHORT DISTANCE FROM HOME. CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND ALL SEEMED TO BE TIGHT. DROVE CAR TO WORK TODAY BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE ISSUE. I LITERALLY JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR A WEEK AGO AND IT PASSED MD STATE INSPECTION. I AM WONDERING NOW IF THE INSPECTION INCLUDED A OBD CHECK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/3/2015 - LAPLATA, MD
WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 40 MPH, VEHICLE STALLED, TRACTION STABILITY AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, AND STEERING LOCKED. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE RADIO SCREEN/ ENV CONTROL PANEL FLICKERED ON AND OFF CONTINUOUSLY. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR SINCE I WAS A SHORT DISTANCE FROM HOME. CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND ALL SEEMED TO BE TIGHT. DROVE CAR TO WORK TODAY BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE ISSUE. I LITERALLY JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR A WEEK AGO AND IT PASSED MD STATE INSPECTION. I AM WONDERING NOW IF THE INSPECTION INCLUDED A OBD CHECK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2015 - LAPLATA, MD
WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 40 MPH, VEHICLE STALLED, TRACTION STABILITY AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, AND STEERING LOCKED. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE RADIO SCREEN/ ENV CONTROL PANEL FLICKERED ON AND OFF CONTINUOUSLY. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR SINCE I WAS A SHORT DISTANCE FROM HOME. CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND ALL SEEMED TO BE TIGHT. DROVE CAR TO WORK TODAY BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE ISSUE. I LITERALLY JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR A WEEK AGO AND IT PASSED MD STATE INSPECTION. I AM WONDERING NOW IF THE INSPECTION INCLUDED A OBD CHECK.

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2015 - NEW WINDSOR, NY
REPORTED OIL PRESSURE DROP ALERT ON MY CAR, STRONG RUBBER BURNING SMELL AND SMOKE COMING FROM ENGINE. OIL WAS SPRAYING OUT ON ENGINE, REPORTED THE ISSUE TO CHEVY, HOWEVER THEY STATE NOTHING CAN BE DONE UNTIL MID APRIL. WAS SENT HOME DRIVING CAR IN THIS CONDITION AND WAS NOT OFFERED HELP NOR WAS MY CAR SERVICED OR FIXED DURING THE APPOINTMENT I MADE AT THE SUNRISE CHEVROLET LOCATION.

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2015 - MACOMB , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO INTERMITTENTLY OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE AND GENERATOR STARTER CABLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2015 - MACOMB , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO INTERMITTENTLY OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE AND GENERATOR STARTER CABLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds