Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 255 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (35) Steering (56) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (72) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (5)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (53) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2014 - SAVANNAH, GA
SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT ABOUT 29,000 MILES, SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER DIAGNOSTIC IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE THERMOSTAT HAD GONE BAD, SO THEY REPLACED THE THERMOSTAT AND THE HOLDING MOUNT. THEN SATURDAY ON THE WAY TO WORK THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON. I STOPPED FOR GAS THEN THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE CAM SHAFT SENSOR ALSO WENT BAD. THE CAR ALSO HESITATES WHEN SHIFTING GEARS IN LOW SPEEDS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/23/2014 - ROXIE, MS
I BOUGHT THIS CAR FOR MY DAUGHTER, THE SECOND OR THIRD WEEK AFTER SHE GOT IT SHE STARTED TO NOTICE THE RADIO FLICKERING ON AND OFF WHILE DRIVING FOR NO REASON, WHICH EVENTUALLY LED TO THE RADIO FLICKERING CONTINUOUSLY AFTER USING BLINKERS &WINDOWS. "SERVICE STABILITRAK" FLASHES ON THE DISPLAY OFTEN BUT VERY QUICKLY AND GOES OFF. DOESN'T OCCUR EVERY TIME I DRIVE, BUT IT DOES IT MORE TIMES THAN NOT. NOW THE RADIO WILL FLICKER AND I WILL OCCASIONALLY LOSE CRUISE CONTROL AND POWER STEERING. I ALSO HAVE NO BLINKERS/RADIO WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT USUALLY ONLY HAPPENS BRIEFLY AND WILL RETURN TO NORMAL SOON AFTER, BUT IT CONTINUES TO DO IT OFF AND ON UNTIL I PARK. I HAVE ALSO NOTICED THIS OCCURRING WHEN I SHIFT GEARS TO PARK. MOST RECENTLY I WENT TO START MY CAR AND IT JUST CLICKED AND WOULDN'T START. I GOT IT TO START AND IT SAID "SERVICE ANTI THEFT DETERRENT," THEN CHANGED TO "SERVICE POWER STEERING" JUST AS I LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING. "SERVICE STABILITRAK QUICKLY FLASHED NEXT ALL WHILE I LOST BLINKERS, POWER STEERING, AND RADIO. I PARKED, TURNED MY CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT WAS JUST FINE. IT HAS BEEN TO THE CHEVY DEALER ONCE BUT THEY COULD NOT GET A CODE TO READ BECAUSE THEY CAN'T GET THE RADIO TO FLICKER, ETC BECAUSE IT ONLY HAPPENS EVERY SO OFTEN BUT WHEN IT DOES HAPPEN IT IS SCARY! SO THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO FIX IT. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT AS I DO NOT FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR HER TO DRIVE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND I DO NOT FEEL LIKE THIS CAR IS RELIABLE WHICH IS THE REASON I BOUGHT IT! THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING THAT CAN BE DONE AS I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS THAT ARE EXTREMELY SIMILAR TO MINE! I ALSO HAVE COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT THE PROBLEMS ARE GOING TO CONTINUE TO WORSEN AFTER READING THE OTHER COMPLAINTS.IT IS A MAJOR PROBLEM. PLEASE DON'T WAIT UNTIL SOMETHING TRAGIC HAPPENS BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS! PLEASE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2014 - ROXIE, MS
I BOUGHT THIS CAR FOR MY DAUGHTER, THE SECOND OR THIRD WEEK AFTER SHE GOT IT SHE STARTED TO NOTICE THE RADIO FLICKERING ON AND OFF WHILE DRIVING FOR NO REASON, WHICH EVENTUALLY LED TO THE RADIO FLICKERING CONTINUOUSLY AFTER USING BLINKERS &WINDOWS. "SERVICE STABILITRAK" FLASHES ON THE DISPLAY OFTEN BUT VERY QUICKLY AND GOES OFF. DOESN'T OCCUR EVERY TIME I DRIVE, BUT IT DOES IT MORE TIMES THAN NOT. NOW THE RADIO WILL FLICKER AND I WILL OCCASIONALLY LOSE CRUISE CONTROL AND POWER STEERING. I ALSO HAVE NO BLINKERS/RADIO WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT USUALLY ONLY HAPPENS BRIEFLY AND WILL RETURN TO NORMAL SOON AFTER, BUT IT CONTINUES TO DO IT OFF AND ON UNTIL I PARK. I HAVE ALSO NOTICED THIS OCCURRING WHEN I SHIFT GEARS TO PARK. MOST RECENTLY I WENT TO START MY CAR AND IT JUST CLICKED AND WOULDN'T START. I GOT IT TO START AND IT SAID "SERVICE ANTI THEFT DETERRENT," THEN CHANGED TO "SERVICE POWER STEERING" JUST AS I LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING. "SERVICE STABILITRAK QUICKLY FLASHED NEXT ALL WHILE I LOST BLINKERS, POWER STEERING, AND RADIO. I PARKED, TURNED MY CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT WAS JUST FINE. IT HAS BEEN TO THE CHEVY DEALER ONCE BUT THEY COULD NOT GET A CODE TO READ BECAUSE THEY CAN'T GET THE RADIO TO FLICKER, ETC BECAUSE IT ONLY HAPPENS EVERY SO OFTEN BUT WHEN IT DOES HAPPEN IT IS SCARY! SO THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO FIX IT. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT AS I DO NOT FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR HER TO DRIVE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND I DO NOT FEEL LIKE THIS CAR IS RELIABLE WHICH IS THE REASON I BOUGHT IT! THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING THAT CAN BE DONE AS I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS THAT ARE EXTREMELY SIMILAR TO MINE! I ALSO HAVE COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT THE PROBLEMS ARE GOING TO CONTINUE TO WORSEN AFTER READING THE OTHER COMPLAINTS.IT IS A MAJOR PROBLEM. PLEASE DON'T WAIT UNTIL SOMETHING TRAGIC HAPPENS BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS! PLEASE!

View Details

STEERING

9/23/2014 - ROXIE, MS
I BOUGHT THIS CAR FOR MY DAUGHTER, THE SECOND OR THIRD WEEK AFTER SHE GOT IT SHE STARTED TO NOTICE THE RADIO FLICKERING ON AND OFF WHILE DRIVING FOR NO REASON, WHICH EVENTUALLY LED TO THE RADIO FLICKERING CONTINUOUSLY AFTER USING BLINKERS &WINDOWS. "SERVICE STABILITRAK" FLASHES ON THE DISPLAY OFTEN BUT VERY QUICKLY AND GOES OFF. DOESN'T OCCUR EVERY TIME I DRIVE, BUT IT DOES IT MORE TIMES THAN NOT. NOW THE RADIO WILL FLICKER AND I WILL OCCASIONALLY LOSE CRUISE CONTROL AND POWER STEERING. I ALSO HAVE NO BLINKERS/RADIO WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT USUALLY ONLY HAPPENS BRIEFLY AND WILL RETURN TO NORMAL SOON AFTER, BUT IT CONTINUES TO DO IT OFF AND ON UNTIL I PARK. I HAVE ALSO NOTICED THIS OCCURRING WHEN I SHIFT GEARS TO PARK. MOST RECENTLY I WENT TO START MY CAR AND IT JUST CLICKED AND WOULDN'T START. I GOT IT TO START AND IT SAID "SERVICE ANTI THEFT DETERRENT," THEN CHANGED TO "SERVICE POWER STEERING" JUST AS I LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING. "SERVICE STABILITRAK QUICKLY FLASHED NEXT ALL WHILE I LOST BLINKERS, POWER STEERING, AND RADIO. I PARKED, TURNED MY CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT WAS JUST FINE. IT HAS BEEN TO THE CHEVY DEALER ONCE BUT THEY COULD NOT GET A CODE TO READ BECAUSE THEY CAN'T GET THE RADIO TO FLICKER, ETC BECAUSE IT ONLY HAPPENS EVERY SO OFTEN BUT WHEN IT DOES HAPPEN IT IS SCARY! SO THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO FIX IT. PLEASE LOOK INTO IT AS I DO NOT FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR HER TO DRIVE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 3 MONTHS NOW AND I DO NOT FEEL LIKE THIS CAR IS RELIABLE WHICH IS THE REASON I BOUGHT IT! THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING THAT CAN BE DONE AS I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS THAT ARE EXTREMELY SIMILAR TO MINE! I ALSO HAVE COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT THE PROBLEMS ARE GOING TO CONTINUE TO WORSEN AFTER READING THE OTHER COMPLAINTS.IT IS A MAJOR PROBLEM. PLEASE DON'T WAIT UNTIL SOMETHING TRAGIC HAPPENS BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS! PLEASE!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/23/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
2012 CHEVY CRUZE ECO 1.4L TURBO HAS ISSUES WITH SERVICE STABILITRAK MESSAGE, SERVICE POWER STERRING, SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, THESE MESSAGES APPEAR WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. ACTIVATED USUALLY BE TURN SIGNAL CAR RADIO AND INSTRUMENT CLUSTER SEEMS LIKE IT SHUTS OFF FOR A SECOND TURN SIGNAL BLINKS BUT NO CLICKING NOISE AFTER 2-3 BLINKS THEN CLICKS. AT TIMES WHEN ON CRUISE CONTROL THE STEP ON BRAKES TO SLOW DOWN WOULD ACTIVATE THE ELECTRICAL GLITCH SPEEDING UP AND SLOWING DOWN ALSO BUT NOT AT MUCH. CAR SEEMS LIKE IT HAS A DECREASE IN POWER. MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH DEALER TO CHECK OUT BUT ITS NOT A RECALL ISSUE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - DONORA, PA
THE RADIO WOULD GO OFF, AS WELL AS THE DASH LIGHTS AND A WRENCH WOULD APPEAR BUT NO ENGINE CODE WOULD APPEAR. THIS WOULD OCCUR SEVERAL MORE TIMES THEN THE ENTIRE CAR WOULD STALL OUT, OR TURN ITS SELF OFF BASICALLY. THE KEY REMAINS STUCK IN THE IGNITION UNABLE TO TURN THE CAR ON OR REMOVE IT. ALL POWER IS LOST. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO MY CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP MANY TIMES BUT THERE IS NOTHING THAT THEY CAN DO BECAUSE IT DOES NOT ACT UP FOR THEM. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/22/2014 - WORCESTER, MA
WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH ON THE HIGHWAY. I ALREADY SUBMITTED A COMPLAINT ABOUT MY BRAKES NOT WORKING PROPERLY AT TIME OF CRASH, SEE FILE #10637987. MY BRAKES DID NOT STOP PROPERLY AND RESULTED IN ME HITTING THE BACK OF ANOTHER VEHICLE IN THE FAST LANE OF INTERSTATE 495. DURING COLLISION, NONE OF MY AIRBAGS DEPLOYED EVEN THOUGH THE FRONT BUMPER ON RIGHT SIDE OF VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY SMASHED IN. INSURANCE HAS PAID ALMOST $8,000 TO REPAIR THE DAMAGE. SHOULDN'T MY AIRBAGS HAVE DEPLOYED?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/22/2014 - WORCESTER , MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, AT A SAFE AND REASONABLE DISTANCE FROM THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME, THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME BRAKED. I STEPPED ON MY BRAKES, AND MY VEHICLE DID NOT STOP PROPERLY. I PRESSED ON MY BRAKES FIRMLY AND MY VEHICLE CONTINUED NOT TO BRAKE/SLOW PROPERLY AND MY VEHICLE CONTINUED GOING FORWARD. THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF MY STOPPED AND MY CAR CONTINUED TO GO FORWARD, CRASHING INTO THE BACK END OF THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I PRESSED ON MY BRAKES AND THEY DIDN'T WORK. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY VEHICLE TOWARDS THE LEFT TRYING TO AVOID CRASHING INTO THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY VEHICLE LEFT AND AVOID CRASHING HEAD ON, BUT ENCOINTERED SEVERE FRONT END DAMAGE TO THE RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE OF MY VEHICLE. ALL I CAN SAY IS, MY BRAKES DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. I PRESSED ON THEM AND MY VEHICLE DID NOT STOP LIKE IT NORMALLY DOES. (THIS VEHICLE IS MY MOTHER'S CAR. I HAVE DRIVEN IT IN THE PAST AND BRAKES WORKED FINE)

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/8/2014 - VILLA RIDGE, MO
2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO COOLANT SMELL IN VEHICLE. ACCORDING TO THE INVOICE, THE SURGE TANK AND HEATER CORE OUTLET AND WATER PUMP WERE LEAKING. THE CONSUMER HAS SINCE TRADED THE VEHICLE.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

9/4/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATE 65 MPH, THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL BECAME INOPERABLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE.THE VIN WAS UNABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,300.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds