Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 557 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (77) Steering (89) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electrical System (144) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (81) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (138) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (104) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/22/2017 - MANHATTAN, KS
WHILE BREAKING, USING THE BLINKER, TURNING, OR JUST DRIVING THE CAR WILL LOOSE POWER, SLOW THE CAR DOWN, THE RADIO LOOSES POWER, AND MY SERVICE STABLITKY TRACK, SERVICE POWER STEERING, ALONG WITH TRACTION CONTROL, ANTI-BREAKING LIGHTS, AND A FEW OTHER LIGHT WILL ALL COME BACK ON. IT WILL DO THIS RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING, IT SEEMS TO DO IT MORE FREQUENTLY WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR ACCELERATING. I HAD THIS SERVICED BACK IN FEBRUARY OF 2017 AND THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I HAD ACID FROM MY BATTERY LEAKING INTO THE POSITIVE CABLE, SO I HAD ALL THE BATTERY AND BATTERY WIRES REPLACED. THIS TOOK CARE OF THE PROBLEM UNTIL A FEW WEEKS AGO. THIS IS HAPPENING MORE AND MORE OFTEN AND THE PROBLEM IS BECOMING WORSE. THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVY CRUZES FROM THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE AND CHEVY SEEMS TO BE DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2017 - MELBOURNE, FL
ECO 1.4L MODEL. ENGINE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO RUN ROUGH, MOST NOTICEABLE AT IDLE. SHORT TIME LATER CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. AFTER TURNING CAR OFF COOLING FAN STAYED ON SEVERAL MINUTES, WHICH IT HAD NEVER DONE BEFORE. DEALER REPLACED VALVE COVER, AND INTAKE MANIFOLD FOR $1100, OUT OF WARRANTY. ONLY 36,200 MILES. FAILURE OF A NON-MOVING PART AT SUCH LOW MILEAGE IS CLEARLY A DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/14/2017 - AUSTELL, GA
CAR SLOW TO CRANK, CHECK POWER STEERING COMES ON OR CHECK ANTI THEFT SYSTEM OCCASIONALLY. SOMETIMES THE WIPERS, EMERGENCY LIGHTS OR TRUNK POPS OPEN. NO ON CAN GIVE ME AN ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON WITH MY 2012 CRUZ. THIS HAPPENS WHILE THE CAR IS STATIONARY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2017 - AUSTELL, GA
CAR SLOW TO CRANK, CHECK POWER STEERING COMES ON OR CHECK ANTI THEFT SYSTEM OCCASIONALLY. SOMETIMES THE WIPERS, EMERGENCY LIGHTS OR TRUNK POPS OPEN. NO ON CAN GIVE ME AN ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON WITH MY 2012 CRUZ. THIS HAPPENS WHILE THE CAR IS STATIONARY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/14/2017 - AUSTELL, GA
CAR SLOW TO CRANK, CHECK POWER STEERING COMES ON OR CHECK ANTI THEFT SYSTEM OCCASIONALLY. SOMETIMES THE WIPERS, EMERGENCY LIGHTS OR TRUNK POPS OPEN. NO ON CAN GIVE ME AN ANSWER AS TO WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON WITH MY 2012 CRUZ. THIS HAPPENS WHILE THE CAR IS STATIONARY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/14/2017 - SCARBOROUGH, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SLOW DOWN AND THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY EXCESSIVE PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER SWITCH HAD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/2/2017 - MADISON HEIGHTS, VA
VALVE COVER REPLACEMENT - MY CAR HAS HAD VARIOUS CODES GOING FOR MONTHS. THESE VARIOUS CODES ALL POINT TO AN EMISSIONS LEAK FROM THE VALVE COVER AND NOW I HAVE TO REPLACE THIS AND IT IS ONE ENTIRE UNIT. I SEE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THESE SPRINGS AND VALVE COVERS. IF CHEVROLET KNEW IT WAS A PROBLEM, WHY WOULDN'T THEY RECALL THESE AND FIX THIS BEFORE MAKING A SINGLE MOM LIKE ME WHOSE TRYING TO GO BACK TO SCHOOL, PAY FOR THIS! I HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT PULLING OUT IN FRONT SOMEONE AND THE CAR STALLING AND RISKING MY AND MY CHILDREN'S LIVES ALL BECAUSE CHEVY USED A CHEAP, POORLY DESIGNED PART FOR THIS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/29/2017 - LAKE PARK, GA
THE BRAKE PEDAL IN MY CRUZE WILL NOT LET YOU PUSH IT DOWN. IT FEELS THAT THERE IS SOMETHING BLOCKING IT WHICH WILL NOT ALLOW YOU TO BRAKE WHEN NEEDED. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS IN 2015 IN WHICH WE LEARNED OF A RECALL (13V360000) FOR THE MICROSWITCH IN THE POWER BRAKE VACUUM PIPE ASSEMBLY. WE TOOK IT TO A CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP & WAS TOLD THE SWITCH WAS REPLACED. IN 2016 THE SAME THING HAPPENED, WHILE ACCELERATING SOMEONE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME & WHEN I WENT TO STOP THERE WAS NO BRAKES BECAUSE THE PEDAL WOULD NOT PUSH. NO ACCIDENT OCCURRED AS I WAS ABLE TO AVOID THE OTHER VEHICLE. TOOK THE CAR BACK TO DEALERSHIP WHERE NO ONE THERE WAS ABLE TO GET IT TO HAPPEN AGAIN SO THEREFORE WAS TOLD NOTHING WAS WRONG, BUT I DIDNT PUSH THE BRAKES HARD ENOUGH IN JULY 2017, WHILE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT, WENT TO STOP TO PUT THE CAR INTO DRIVE, THERE WAS AGAIN NO BRAKES. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK AGAIN TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE ONCE AGAIN THE BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING & THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE STOMPED ON TO GET IT TO EVEN MOVE A LITTLE BIT. WAS TOLD THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER HAD GONE OUT IN THE CAR AND THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER MAY ALSO NEED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL. WE THEN HAD THE MASTER CYLINDER REPLACED. THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. SO THEN WE HAD THE BRAKE BOOSTER REPLACED. WE PICKED UP THE VEHICLE ONLY TO FIND OUT WHEN ACCELERATING BUT NEED TO STOP THERE IS AGAIN NO BRAKES. THE CAR IS BACK AT THE DEALERSHIP WHO IS NOW STATING THAT IT COULD POSSIBLY BE THE BREAK BOOSTER CHECK VALUE BUT ARE NOT 100% SURE THAT THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEM BUT DID STATE THAT IF THE ORIGINAL RECALL HAD BEEN DONE THAT WE WOULD NOT BE HAVING ANY OF THE PROBLEMS WE ARE HAVING NOW. I INFORMED THEM THAT THE RECALL WAS DONE AT ANOTHER CHEVY DEALERSHIP. SO AFTER ALMOST 2 YEARS $2,500 LATER WE STILL HAVE A VEHICLE WITHOUT BREAKS WE ARE UNABLE TO DRIVE THAT IS IN THE SHOP ONCE AGAIN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/28/2017 - MCDONOUGH, GA
WHEN I TRY AND START MY CAR SOMETIME IT STALLS LIKE IT DOESN'T WANT TO CRANK UP AND WHEN I FINALLY DO GET IT CRANK THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS FLASH, POWER STEERING COMES ON THE SCREEN AND THEN WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON. I HAD THIS PROBLEM PREVIOUS A COUPLE MONTHS AGAIN TO WHERE WHEN I CRANK IT THE TRUNK CAME OPEN AND THE STABILITAK AND JERK AND OTHER THINGS WOULD POP UP. THEY PUT IT ON THE MACHINE AND IT SAID IT WAS MISFIRES SO I WENT AND GOT IT FIXED NOW IT'S HAPPENING AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2017 - MCDONOUGH, GA
WHEN I TRY AND START MY CAR SOMETIME IT STALLS LIKE IT DOESN'T WANT TO CRANK UP AND WHEN I FINALLY DO GET IT CRANK THE EMERGENCY LIGHTS FLASH, POWER STEERING COMES ON THE SCREEN AND THEN WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON. I HAD THIS PROBLEM PREVIOUS A COUPLE MONTHS AGAIN TO WHERE WHEN I CRANK IT THE TRUNK CAME OPEN AND THE STABILITAK AND JERK AND OTHER THINGS WOULD POP UP. THEY PUT IT ON THE MACHINE AND IT SAID IT WAS MISFIRES SO I WENT AND GOT IT FIXED NOW IT'S HAPPENING AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds