Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 321 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (43) Steering (67) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (91) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electronic Stability Control (37) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (67) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (58) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2015 - MACOMB , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO INTERMITTENTLY OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE AND GENERATOR STARTER CABLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2015 - PLACITAS, NM
2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO POWER STEERING MALFUNCTION. CONSUMER HAS DIFFERENT VEHICLE COMPLAINTS LISTED IN ARTEMIS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED, IN THE MIDST OF DRIVING. AN ALERT DISPLAYED TRACTION CONTROL ERROR AND POWER STEERING MALFUNCTION. THE DRIVE TRAIN WAS DISABLED AND APPARENTLY LOCKED DOWN. THE SHIFT LEVER MOVED FREELY FROM PARK, REVERSE AND THE DRIVE POSITION. THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT MOVE. HYDRAULIC RESISTANCE WAS APPARENT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN LEFT AND RIGHT. THREE HOURS LATER, THE ALERT DISAPPEARED AND THE VEHICLE PERFORMED AS IT WAS DESIGNED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - LENORE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE MAP SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO PASS INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE BACKING UP, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A HEART CONTUSION, THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN THUMB AND A CONCUSSION, THE REAR MIDDLE SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN NOSE AND THE REAR DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER SUSTAINED INTERNAL STOMACH BLEEDING WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,500.

View Details

ENGINE

2/14/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
FOR THE PAST SEVERAL MONTHS SINCE JUNE 2014, I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING THE VEHICLE ACCELERATION PERFORMANCE DECREASE. ONCE AT A STOP OR STOP LIGHT, IT TAKES THE VEHICLE BETWEEN 10 TO 40 SECONDS TO FULLY PICK UP SPEED UPON PRESSING ON THE ACCELERATION. TODAY (02/14/2015) THE VEHICLE STOPPED WITH ENGINE LIGHT ON WHILE I WAS TRYING TO MOVE FROM A STOP SIGN. THIS WAS SCARY. I IMAGINED THIS WOUND HAVE BEEN TERRIBLE IF I WAS IN THE MIDST OF FAST MOVING VEHICLES. I WENT ONLINE TO CHECK IF THERE WAS A TREND IN THE CHEVY CRUZE ACCELERATION AND RANDOM ENGINE SHUT DOWN; SADLY I CAME ACROSS SEVERAL COMPLAINTS FROM THE FOLLOWING LINK: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/CHEVROLET/CRUZE/2012/ENGINE/ENGINE.SHTML THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE, AND I URGE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT TO INVESTIGATE THESE COMPLAINTS AND NOTIFY GM TO TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION UPON COMPLETION OF THE FED INVESTIGATION. IT IS SAD THAT WE CANNOT EVEN RELY ON HOME MADE PRODUCTS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2015 - HASTINGS, MN
VERY STRONG SMELL OF BURNING OIL WHEN CAR COMES TO A STOP. OIL SPRAYED ALL OVER THE TOP REAR OF ENGINE AND DOWN BACK OF ENGINE. DEALER REPLACED PCV VALVE AND MANIFOLD COVER AT 44,678 MILES DUE TO RECURRING ANTIFREEZE LEAK AND LEAN FUEL / LOW VACUUM CONDITION. GOING BACK TO DEALER AGAIN I GUESS BEFORE IT BURSTS INTO FLAMES.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2015 - HASTINGS, MN
STRONG SMELL OF ANTIFREEZE WHILE DRIVING, STRONG SMELL OF ANTIFREEZE UNDER THE HOOD, ANTIFREEZE LEAKING ON SERPENTINE BELT AND SPRAYED AROUND ENGINE COMPARTMENT. DEALER REPLACED WATER PUMP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/7/2015 - PICO RIVERA, CA
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK I WAS SIGNALING TO SWITCH LANES FOR MY EXIT OFF THE FREEWAY. BEGAN TO MERGE AND MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. LUCKILY IT'S WASN'T FOR LONG AND THE FREEWAY WAS NOT BUSY. HOWEVER THE FACT THAT MY NEWLY PURCHASED VEHICLE HAS A GLITCH IS SADDENING. WHAT'S EVEN WORSE THEIRS NO MAINTENANCE LIGHT OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SOMETHING TO MAKE THE DEALERSHIP BELIEVE THEIR IS A PROBLEM. ONLY A FLASHING LIGHT THAT SAYS CHECK STABILITRACK, TRACTION CONTROL, POWERING STEERING AND AT THE SAME TIME MY ABS SERVICE LIGHT BEGINS TO FLASH. REALLY HOPE CHEVY PUTS OUT A RECALL..

View Details

STEERING

2/7/2015 - PICO RIVERA, CA
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK I WAS SIGNALING TO SWITCH LANES FOR MY EXIT OFF THE FREEWAY. BEGAN TO MERGE AND MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. LUCKILY IT'S WASN'T FOR LONG AND THE FREEWAY WAS NOT BUSY. HOWEVER THE FACT THAT MY NEWLY PURCHASED VEHICLE HAS A GLITCH IS SADDENING. WHAT'S EVEN WORSE THEIRS NO MAINTENANCE LIGHT OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SOMETHING TO MAKE THE DEALERSHIP BELIEVE THEIR IS A PROBLEM. ONLY A FLASHING LIGHT THAT SAYS CHECK STABILITRACK, TRACTION CONTROL, POWERING STEERING AND AT THE SAME TIME MY ABS SERVICE LIGHT BEGINS TO FLASH. REALLY HOPE CHEVY PUTS OUT A RECALL..

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/7/2015 - PICO RIVERA, CA
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK I WAS SIGNALING TO SWITCH LANES FOR MY EXIT OFF THE FREEWAY. BEGAN TO MERGE AND MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. LUCKILY IT'S WASN'T FOR LONG AND THE FREEWAY WAS NOT BUSY. HOWEVER THE FACT THAT MY NEWLY PURCHASED VEHICLE HAS A GLITCH IS SADDENING. WHAT'S EVEN WORSE THEIRS NO MAINTENANCE LIGHT OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, SOMETHING TO MAKE THE DEALERSHIP BELIEVE THEIR IS A PROBLEM. ONLY A FLASHING LIGHT THAT SAYS CHECK STABILITRACK, TRACTION CONTROL, POWERING STEERING AND AT THE SAME TIME MY ABS SERVICE LIGHT BEGINS TO FLASH. REALLY HOPE CHEVY PUTS OUT A RECALL..

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds