Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 420 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (54) Steering (82) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (119) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (58) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (95) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (78) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2016 - HUMBLE, TX
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS MY VEHICLE HAS LOST POWER STEERING SERVICE. I HAVE ALMOST CRASHED INTO A METRO RAIL AND INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE I AM UNABLE TO TURN MY WHEEL. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, I WAS ABOUT TO PARK AND THE CAR TURNED OFF ON ME; THE KEY WAS LOCKED INTO THE IGNITION AND I COULDN'T TURN IT, THE DOORS LOCKED AND NOTHING WORKED. I WAS STUCK INSIDE UNTIL AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES, THE CAR UNLOCKED EVERYTHING AND THE ECU TURNED BACK ON. I'VE HAD TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THEY HAVE TOLD ME IT'S COVERED UNDER A "SPECIAL SERVICE" BUT THESE INCIDENTS HAPPENED ALMOST A YEAR APART. I DO NOT BELIEVE THE CAR IS FIXED. ALSO, THE SERVICE STABILITRAK AND OTHER LIGHTS FLASH ON AND OFF AND SO DO MY RADIO.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/8/2016 - HUMBLE, TX
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS MY VEHICLE HAS LOST POWER STEERING SERVICE. I HAVE ALMOST CRASHED INTO A METRO RAIL AND INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE I AM UNABLE TO TURN MY WHEEL. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, I WAS ABOUT TO PARK AND THE CAR TURNED OFF ON ME; THE KEY WAS LOCKED INTO THE IGNITION AND I COULDN'T TURN IT, THE DOORS LOCKED AND NOTHING WORKED. I WAS STUCK INSIDE UNTIL AFTER ABOUT 5 MINUTES, THE CAR UNLOCKED EVERYTHING AND THE ECU TURNED BACK ON. I'VE HAD TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THEY HAVE TOLD ME IT'S COVERED UNDER A "SPECIAL SERVICE" BUT THESE INCIDENTS HAPPENED ALMOST A YEAR APART. I DO NOT BELIEVE THE CAR IS FIXED. ALSO, THE SERVICE STABILITRAK AND OTHER LIGHTS FLASH ON AND OFF AND SO DO MY RADIO.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/7/2016 - LEICESTER, NC
CAR SUDDENLY SHIFTED INTO 4TH GEAR WHILE GOING 70 MPH. SQUALLED LEFT FRONT TIRE, AND VIOLENTLY SNATCHED STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. AFTER SHUTTING CAR OFF, THE PROBLEM WAS GONE. SHORTLY AFTER, STABILITRACK, AND STEERING ALARM APPEARED ON MESSAGE DISPLAY. THAT CLEARED ONCE SHUT-OFF. THREE WEEKS LATER IT OCCURRED AGAIN. THIS TIME, ON A TRIP, IT DID THE EXACT SAME PROBLEMS FOUR TIMES IN A ROW. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. IF I HAD NOT HAD A FIRM GRIP ON THE WHEEL, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HURT. I PITY THE FOOL WHO TAILGATES ME! I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER, AND HAD THE CALIFORNIA FLASH "RECALL" DONE. SENSE THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAS NOT SHIFTED DOWN WHILE AT HIGH SPEEDS, BUT NOW, THE STABILITRACK, AND ABS LIGHTS ARE STAYING ON.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/7/2016 - LEICESTER, NC
CAR SUDDENLY SHIFTED INTO 4TH GEAR WHILE GOING 70 MPH. SQUALLED LEFT FRONT TIRE, AND VIOLENTLY SNATCHED STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. AFTER SHUTTING CAR OFF, THE PROBLEM WAS GONE. SHORTLY AFTER, STABILITRACK, AND STEERING ALARM APPEARED ON MESSAGE DISPLAY. THAT CLEARED ONCE SHUT-OFF. THREE WEEKS LATER IT OCCURRED AGAIN. THIS TIME, ON A TRIP, IT DID THE EXACT SAME PROBLEMS FOUR TIMES IN A ROW. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. IF I HAD NOT HAD A FIRM GRIP ON THE WHEEL, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HURT. I PITY THE FOOL WHO TAILGATES ME! I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER, AND HAD THE CALIFORNIA FLASH "RECALL" DONE. SENSE THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAS NOT SHIFTED DOWN WHILE AT HIGH SPEEDS, BUT NOW, THE STABILITRACK, AND ABS LIGHTS ARE STAYING ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2016 - LEICESTER, NC
CAR SUDDENLY SHIFTED INTO 4TH GEAR WHILE GOING 70 MPH. SQUALLED LEFT FRONT TIRE, AND VIOLENTLY SNATCHED STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT. AFTER SHUTTING CAR OFF, THE PROBLEM WAS GONE. SHORTLY AFTER, STABILITRACK, AND STEERING ALARM APPEARED ON MESSAGE DISPLAY. THAT CLEARED ONCE SHUT-OFF. THREE WEEKS LATER IT OCCURRED AGAIN. THIS TIME, ON A TRIP, IT DID THE EXACT SAME PROBLEMS FOUR TIMES IN A ROW. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. IF I HAD NOT HAD A FIRM GRIP ON THE WHEEL, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HURT. I PITY THE FOOL WHO TAILGATES ME! I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER, AND HAD THE CALIFORNIA FLASH "RECALL" DONE. SENSE THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAS NOT SHIFTED DOWN WHILE AT HIGH SPEEDS, BUT NOW, THE STABILITRACK, AND ABS LIGHTS ARE STAYING ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/22/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE RECALLED FOR BRAKE FAILURE AT LOW SPEED. IT WAS ALLEGEDLY REPAIRED AT BACHARODT CHEVROLET, POMPANO BEACH, FL. SUBSEQUENTLY, THE BRAKES AGAIN FAILED AND A CRASH RESULTED AGAINST A WALL AT LOW SPEED IN MY APARTMENT PARKING LOT. AFTER COMPLAINT TO GM WAS SENT TO AUTO NATION CHEVROLET, DELRAY BEACH FL AND THEY DETERMINED THAT THE RECALLED REPLACEMENT SENSOR FOR THE BRAKES WAS NOT PUT ON CORRECTLY BY BACHRODT, AND THAT THEY FAILED AGAIN AND THAT CAUSED THE CRASH, NO INJURIES. GM PICKED UP COST OF REPAIR IN FULL INCLUDING BODY DAMAGE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/17/2016 - BUSSERON, IN
VEHICLE HAS 29,980 APPROXIMATE MILES. VEHICLE HAD A LEAKING TORQUE CONVERTER SEAL. WHILE DEALERSHIP WAS REMOVING TRANSMISSION, A STRAY BOLT FELL FROM THE INTERIOR OF THE MOTOR. BOLT DOES NOT BELONG TO CAR. IT HAS DAMAGED THE BELL HOUSING. NO OTHER DAMAGE HAS BEEN REPORTED AT THIS MOMENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2016 - BUSSERON, IN
VEHICLE HAS 29,980 APPROXIMATE MILES. VEHICLE HAD A LEAKING TORQUE CONVERTER SEAL. WHILE DEALERSHIP WAS REMOVING TRANSMISSION, A STRAY BOLT FELL FROM THE INTERIOR OF THE MOTOR. BOLT DOES NOT BELONG TO CAR. IT HAS DAMAGED THE BELL HOUSING. NO OTHER DAMAGE HAS BEEN REPORTED AT THIS MOMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2016 - NORTH ANDOVER, MA
I PURCHASED A NEW 2012 CRUZE ECO NEW AND CURRENTLY HAVE 48K MILES ON IT. THIS WEEKEND THE CRUZE TWICE HAD THE FOLLOWING PROBLEMS: 1. DIC ERROR - ENGINE POWER REDUCED 2. DIC ERROR - SERVICE STABILITRAK 3. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ENGINE POWER WAS REDUCED TO PEAK OUT AT 10 MPH. LUCKILY THE POWER STEERING WAS UNAFFECTED AND I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CRUZE HOME WITHOUT ACCIDENT. LETTING THE CRUZE SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES IN THE OFF POSITION SEEMED TO CLEAR THE ISSUE, BUT IT WAS STILL SCARY TO HAVE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN LIKE IT DID. LOCAL DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY WAS JUNK AND REPLACED IT BUT NOT UNDER ANY WARRANTY. TOTAL COST WAS $400. DEALER CONFIRMED THAT SIMILAR ISSUE IS OCCURRING WITH SIERRA PICKUPS AND THE TB IS COVERED UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT THE TB WAS NOT COVERED AS AN ENGINE COMPONENT. MANY CRUZE OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM...LOOK ON CRUZETALK.COM. THE TB SHOULD NOT BE WEARING OUT AT 48K...OR 100K.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/11/2016 - NORTH ANDOVER, MA
I PURCHASED A NEW 2012 CRUZE ECO NEW AND CURRENTLY HAVE 48K MILES ON IT. THIS WEEKEND THE CRUZE TWICE HAD THE FOLLOWING PROBLEMS: 1. DIC ERROR - ENGINE POWER REDUCED 2. DIC ERROR - SERVICE STABILITRAK 3. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ENGINE POWER WAS REDUCED TO PEAK OUT AT 10 MPH. LUCKILY THE POWER STEERING WAS UNAFFECTED AND I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CRUZE HOME WITHOUT ACCIDENT. LETTING THE CRUZE SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES IN THE OFF POSITION SEEMED TO CLEAR THE ISSUE, BUT IT WAS STILL SCARY TO HAVE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN LIKE IT DID. LOCAL DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY WAS JUNK AND REPLACED IT BUT NOT UNDER ANY WARRANTY. TOTAL COST WAS $400. DEALER CONFIRMED THAT SIMILAR ISSUE IS OCCURRING WITH SIERRA PICKUPS AND THE TB IS COVERED UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT THE TB WAS NOT COVERED AS AN ENGINE COMPONENT. MANY CRUZE OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM...LOOK ON CRUZETALK.COM. THE TB SHOULD NOT BE WEARING OUT AT 48K...OR 100K.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds