Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 449 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (59) Steering (84) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (125) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (64) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (104) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (84) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/1/2016 - SARDINA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE AT A STOP, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CAM COVER WAS LEAKING AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2016 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I WAS TAKING MY WIFE TO WORK WHICH IS ONLY 10 MNUTES AWAY, ON MY WAY HOME I HAD A DISPLAY ON MY DIGITAL DISPLAY SAYING ENGINE OVER HEAT/AC OFF SO I PANICKED AND SEEN THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AND IT WAS SUPER HOT AND PANICKED MORE! I HAD MY 15 MONTH OLD IN THE CAR SO I DIDNT STOP BUT I GET HOME AND CHECK THE COOLANT AND ITS COMPLETELY EMPTY BUT I JUST FILLED IT A WEEK OR 2 BEFORE THIS INCIDENT. LATER ON AFTER THE CAR IS COOLED DOWN I FILL UP THE COOLANT, I THEN PICK MY WIFE UP FROM WORK AND CHECK THE COOLANT AFTER BUT IT WAS ALMOST COMPLETELY EMPTY WHEN I HAD JUST FILLED IT UP. CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME $125 AN HOUR JUST TO FIND THE PROBLEM AND I KNOW IM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH THIS PROBLEM THEY SENT OUT A LETTER ABOUT THIS BEFORE BUT IS TECHNICLLY NOT A RECALL AND THAT NEEDS TO CHANGE! I TAKE CARE OF OUR VEHICLE AND TO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH IT THAT EVERYONE ELSE IS HAVING AND NOT DO A RECALL IS JUST TERRIBLE! HOPE SOMETHING GETS DONE ABOUT THIS IF NOT ILL BE SURE TO BE ANTI GM WHEN TALKING TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY AND WILL NEVER BUY GM PRODUCTS AGAIN!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2016 - SANDY RIDGE, NC
THE CAR WILL NOT TURN OFF WHEN THE KEY IS TURNED OFF AND REMOVED. IT WILL JUST SIT THERE AND RUN UNTIL IT DECIDES TO QUIT ON IT'S OWN. I WOULD REALLY HATE TO HAVE TO SHUT IT DOWN IN AN EMERGENCY AND NOT BE ABLE TO. THAT COULD GET SOMEONE SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED! ALSO, THE VAPOR CANISTER VENT/PURGE VENT VALVE IS DEFECTIVE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL CAR AND IF THAT IS THE CASE, THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/12/2016 - HAZELWOOD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE AND IT OVERHEATED. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO RESPOND AND THE BRAKES MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THERMOSTAT AND WATER PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2016 - HAZELWOOD, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE AND IT OVERHEATED. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO RESPOND AND THE BRAKES MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THERMOSTAT AND WATER PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/2/2016 - LEXINGTON, KY
MY DAD AND I NOTICED THAT AFTER MY CAR HAD BEEN DRIVEN FOR AWHILE THAT THE FAN BEGAN RUNNING REALLY HARD THEN I NOTICED ABOUT A MONTH AGO THAT MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I HAD A MECHANIC CHECK IT AND HE TOLD ME THAT IT WAS CODE P0599 WHICH IS THE THERMOSTAT CONTROL CIRCUIT. HE SD THAT HE BELIEVED THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL AT ONE TIME BUT FOR ME TO CONTACT THE DEALER. I CALLED ROD HATFIELD HERE IN LEXINGTON, KY AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE HAS BEEN SEVERAL CARS OF MY YEAR AND MODEL WITH THESE ISSUES BUT THERE WAS NOT A RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO GET IT FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/24/2016 - MACOMB TOWNSHIP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 TO 35 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A RED LIGHT, IT SHOOK VIOLENTLY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE VALVE COVER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN AN UNKNOWN RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
MY ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. I PUT GAS IN MY VEHICLE AND WHEN I TURN THE KEY TO START IT, IT HESITATES TO START THEN WHEN PULLING OFF IT BEGINS TO JERK.... WHEN AT LIGHTS IT SOMETIMES HESITATES TO TAKE OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
MY ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. I PUT GAS IN MY VEHICLE AND WHEN I TURN THE KEY TO START IT, IT HESITATES TO START THEN WHEN PULLING OFF IT BEGINS TO JERK.... WHEN AT LIGHTS IT SOMETIMES HESITATES TO TAKE OFF.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/20/2016 - ONEONTA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AT A RED LIGHT, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO MOVE FORWARD WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V360000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds