Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 214 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (31) Steering (51) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (56) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (5)
Engine (41) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (47) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/3/2014 - PERRY, NY
SEVERAL TIMES NOW (USUALLY AFTER IT RAINS BUT PERSISTING LONG AFTER) I HAVE BEEN HAVING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE. AT RANDOM, THE RADIO LOSES POWER AND MAY COME BACK ON AUTOMATICALLY OR FLICKER CONTINUOUSLY. IT OCCASIONALLY HAPPENS WHEN I PRESS THE BRAKE, USE THE TURN SIGNAL, OR ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW. ABOUT EVERY 3RD TIME ON AVERAGE THAT I HAVE NOTICED THIS I ALSO SEE A MESSAGE COME ACROSS THE DISPLAY THAT SAYS "SERVICE STABILITRAK" OR OTHER RANDOM MESSAGES OR DASH LIGHTS. ONCE THE "POWER STEERING" NOTIFICATION CAME ON AND I COULD FEEL THE CAR LOSE POWER STEERING FOR ONLY A MOMENT. ONE OTHER THING THAT HAS HAPPENED WAS THAT MY HORN SOUNDED ALL ON IT'S OWN WHEN THE RADIO FLICKERED. I CALLED MY DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAD ME BRING MY CAR IN FOR TESTING AFTER THIS FIRST HAPPENED. THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR, AND AFTER THEY PERFORMED THESE TESTS MY CAR DID NOT MALFUNCTION AGAIN FOR QUITE A WHILE. IT IS SCARY DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THIS HAPPENS BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW IF I AM LOSING POWER TO THE HEADLIGHTS/TAIL LIGHTS WHEN THIS IS HAPPENING, AND SINCE IT HAPPENS AT RANDOM I CAN'T JUST ASK SOMEONE IF IT IS HAPPENING. GLAD TO SEE OTHER PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM, BECAUSE THE PEOPLE AT THE CAR DEALERSHIP LOOKED AT ME LIKE I WAS INSANE :/ PLEASE HELP GM, PLEASE FIND WHAT IS CAUSING THESE SHORT CIRCUITS AND ISSUE A RECALL!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2014 - BEAUMONT, TX
I AM FILING A COMPLAINT ON A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZ LS, THAT I PURCHASED AT COWBOY MOTORS. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON JUNE 07, 2013,IT HAD 46211 MILES AND IT NOW HAS 49789 MILES. RECENTLY, MY WIFE NOTICED THE RADIO WOULD CUT OFF AND A MONTH AGO SHE TOLD ME ABOUT AN ISSUE DEALING WITH THE STEERING. SHE SAID IT WOULD GET HARD TO CONTROL AND SOMETIMES ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE. ALSO, THE DASH INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON SYMBOLIZING THAT WE NEEDED TO CHECK THE STEERING. I BEGIN TO DRIVE THE CAR TO SEE WHAT WAS HAPPENING, NOTHING HAPPENED, UNTIL ABOUT 10 DAYS AGO IT HAPPEN TO ME. I HAVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND ASKED IF THERE HAS BEEN ANY PROBLEMS LISTED WITH THE STEERING, I WAS TOLD NO BUT I SHOULD BRING IT IN SINCE I HAD A EXTENDED WARRANTY AND IT WOULD COST A $50 DEDUCTIBLE IF THE WARRANTY COVERED IT. I GOT ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE IS A LIST OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AS OURS. I AM FEARFUL FOR MY WIFE AND GRANDCHILDREN. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A DEFECT IN THE AUTOMOBILE AND SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE BY THE DEALER OR MANUFACTURE, TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM AND FROM WHAT I READ, NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS EXACTLY. THIS IS A SAFETY FACTOR ISSUE AND MY CONCERN IS WHAT CAN I DO TO GET MY CAR FIX WITHOUT IT COSTING ME.

View Details

STEERING

7/1/2014 - BEAUMONT, TX
I AM FILING A COMPLAINT ON A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZ LS, THAT I PURCHASED AT COWBOY MOTORS. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON JUNE 07, 2013,IT HAD 46211 MILES AND IT NOW HAS 49789 MILES. RECENTLY, MY WIFE NOTICED THE RADIO WOULD CUT OFF AND A MONTH AGO SHE TOLD ME ABOUT AN ISSUE DEALING WITH THE STEERING. SHE SAID IT WOULD GET HARD TO CONTROL AND SOMETIMES ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE. ALSO, THE DASH INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON SYMBOLIZING THAT WE NEEDED TO CHECK THE STEERING. I BEGIN TO DRIVE THE CAR TO SEE WHAT WAS HAPPENING, NOTHING HAPPENED, UNTIL ABOUT 10 DAYS AGO IT HAPPEN TO ME. I HAVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND ASKED IF THERE HAS BEEN ANY PROBLEMS LISTED WITH THE STEERING, I WAS TOLD NO BUT I SHOULD BRING IT IN SINCE I HAD A EXTENDED WARRANTY AND IT WOULD COST A $50 DEDUCTIBLE IF THE WARRANTY COVERED IT. I GOT ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THAT THERE IS A LIST OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AS OURS. I AM FEARFUL FOR MY WIFE AND GRANDCHILDREN. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A DEFECT IN THE AUTOMOBILE AND SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE BY THE DEALER OR MANUFACTURE, TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM AND FROM WHAT I READ, NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS EXACTLY. THIS IS A SAFETY FACTOR ISSUE AND MY CONCERN IS WHAT CAN I DO TO GET MY CAR FIX WITHOUT IT COSTING ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/1/2014 - FLUSHING, MI
LOSS OF POWER BRAKE ASSIST, REQUIRING EXCESSIVE FORCE TO STOP VEHICLE. BARELY STOPPED IN TIME TO AVOID COLLISION WITH VEHICLE AHEAD. SECOND INCIDENT. FIRST INCIDENT WAS APPROXIMATELY 2-3 WEEKS AGO WHEN BACKING UP IN DRIVEWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2014 - SEABROOK, TX
C/S SES LIGHT WAS ON. I TOOK CAR TO NORMAN FREDE CHEVROLET FOR REPAIRS. THE DETERMINED THAT THERE WAS A VACUUM LEAK AT THE ENGINE CAM COVER AND REPLACED IT - OR SO THEY SAID. HERE IS THE INVOICE STATEMENT: "PO171 VAC LEAK AT ENGINE CAM COVER 4060930/0.6 REPLACE ENGINE CAM COVER. CLEAR CODE 6061" AFTER GETTING THE CAR BACK, I WENT TO NBT AND HAD THE OIL CHANGED. THE NEXT MORNING I DROVE TO DALLAS FROM HOUSTON. ON THE WAY, I HAD ANOTHER CODE LIGHT AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I GOT BACK FROM DALLAS ON SUNDAY JUNE 29, 2013, I DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS OIL ON THE BACK OF MY CAR BUMPER AND TRUNK. I TOOK IT TO NBT AND THEY INSPECTED IT AND CONFIRMED THAT THEY DID NOTHING WRONG TO CAUSE THE OIL LEAK. NBT CONFIRMED THAT THE ENGINE WAS LEAKING OIL AT THE CAM COVER. I DROPPED THE VEHICLE AT NORMAN FREDE ON SUNDAY AND AM IN THE PROCESS OF GETTING TO THE BOTTOM OF THE PROBLEM. THE NBT PERSON WAS SURPRISED THAT THE CAM COVER WAS PLASTIC. THIS OIL LEAK COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ENGINE FIRE. I AM ALSO CONCERNED ABOUT A PLASTIC CAM COVER. SHOULD NOT A CAM COVER BE METAL? IS THIS A CHRONIC PROBLEM?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/26/2014 - ZANESVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD MAKE A VERY LOUD SQUEALING NOISE WHEN ENGAGING THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE SHOE KIT AND REAR PASSENGER BRAKE DRUM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,700 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 10,765.

View Details

STEERING

6/25/2014 - KITTRELL, NC
SINCE 11/13 TO PRESENT, I'VE BEEN EXPERIENCING INSTANCES WITH THE STABILITY TRAK ISSUES WITH THE RADIO TURNING ON/OFF FOR A FEW MINS; THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS WOULD BLINK AND GO DIM; IT HAPPENED OFTEN WHEN I'D USE THE DEFOGGER AND TRY TO LET THE WINDOW UP/DOWN AND IT WOULD ALSO DIM MY HEADLIGHTS (I NOTICED THAT IN THE EVENINGS) OR EVEN JUST USING THE TURN SIGNAL. RECENTLY I WAS HITTING THE HIGHWAY & THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT, THE DOORS UNLOCKED & THE MESSAGES WERE ON MY DASH. THERE'S ALSO A DARK RING AROUND MY STEERING WHEEL FOR THE AIRBAG THAT I BELIEVED TRIED TO OPEN. I HAD TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WITH A LOT OF FORCE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID GETTING HIT FROM BEHIND. I TURNED THE CAR OFF & WAITED A FEW MINUTES & TURNED IT BACK ON. IT CAME BACK ON WITH NO ISSUES. THE NEXT DAY THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN BUT THIS TIME I WAS IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER ARRIVING HOME. BOTH TIMES THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED, I WAS USING MY AC. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP & WAS TOLD THAT THE CODES MAY NOT COME UP SINCE IT HAD ONLY HAPPENED 2 TIMES. I TOOK IT TO ADVANCE AUTO AND THEY PUT IT ON THEIR COMPUTER AND NO CODES SHOWED UP. I WAS TOLD BY THE PLACE THAT I PURCHASED MY CAR FROM TO WAIT FOR THE RECALL. I'VE BEEN CHECKING EVERY DAY SINCE THEN TO SEE IF THERE IS A RECALL FOR MY CAR BECAUSE I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR REPAIRS THAT SHOULD ALREADY BE ON THE RECALL LIST! I'M TOO AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR A LONG DISTANCE FOR FEAR OF GETTING HIT OR EVEN KILLED BY OTHER VEHICLES IF & WHEN MY CAR DOES IT AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/25/2014 - KITTRELL, NC
SINCE 11/13 TO PRESENT, I'VE BEEN EXPERIENCING INSTANCES WITH THE STABILITY TRAK ISSUES WITH THE RADIO TURNING ON/OFF FOR A FEW MINS; THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS WOULD BLINK AND GO DIM; IT HAPPENED OFTEN WHEN I'D USE THE DEFOGGER AND TRY TO LET THE WINDOW UP/DOWN AND IT WOULD ALSO DIM MY HEADLIGHTS (I NOTICED THAT IN THE EVENINGS) OR EVEN JUST USING THE TURN SIGNAL. RECENTLY I WAS HITTING THE HIGHWAY & THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT, THE DOORS UNLOCKED & THE MESSAGES WERE ON MY DASH. THERE'S ALSO A DARK RING AROUND MY STEERING WHEEL FOR THE AIRBAG THAT I BELIEVED TRIED TO OPEN. I HAD TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WITH A LOT OF FORCE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID GETTING HIT FROM BEHIND. I TURNED THE CAR OFF & WAITED A FEW MINUTES & TURNED IT BACK ON. IT CAME BACK ON WITH NO ISSUES. THE NEXT DAY THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN BUT THIS TIME I WAS IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER ARRIVING HOME. BOTH TIMES THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED, I WAS USING MY AC. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP & WAS TOLD THAT THE CODES MAY NOT COME UP SINCE IT HAD ONLY HAPPENED 2 TIMES. I TOOK IT TO ADVANCE AUTO AND THEY PUT IT ON THEIR COMPUTER AND NO CODES SHOWED UP. I WAS TOLD BY THE PLACE THAT I PURCHASED MY CAR FROM TO WAIT FOR THE RECALL. I'VE BEEN CHECKING EVERY DAY SINCE THEN TO SEE IF THERE IS A RECALL FOR MY CAR BECAUSE I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR REPAIRS THAT SHOULD ALREADY BE ON THE RECALL LIST! I'M TOO AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR A LONG DISTANCE FOR FEAR OF GETTING HIT OR EVEN KILLED BY OTHER VEHICLES IF & WHEN MY CAR DOES IT AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2014 - KITTRELL, NC
SINCE 11/13 TO PRESENT, I'VE BEEN EXPERIENCING INSTANCES WITH THE STABILITY TRAK ISSUES WITH THE RADIO TURNING ON/OFF FOR A FEW MINS; THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS WOULD BLINK AND GO DIM; IT HAPPENED OFTEN WHEN I'D USE THE DEFOGGER AND TRY TO LET THE WINDOW UP/DOWN AND IT WOULD ALSO DIM MY HEADLIGHTS (I NOTICED THAT IN THE EVENINGS) OR EVEN JUST USING THE TURN SIGNAL. RECENTLY I WAS HITTING THE HIGHWAY & THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT, THE DOORS UNLOCKED & THE MESSAGES WERE ON MY DASH. THERE'S ALSO A DARK RING AROUND MY STEERING WHEEL FOR THE AIRBAG THAT I BELIEVED TRIED TO OPEN. I HAD TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WITH A LOT OF FORCE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID GETTING HIT FROM BEHIND. I TURNED THE CAR OFF & WAITED A FEW MINUTES & TURNED IT BACK ON. IT CAME BACK ON WITH NO ISSUES. THE NEXT DAY THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN BUT THIS TIME I WAS IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER ARRIVING HOME. BOTH TIMES THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED, I WAS USING MY AC. I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP & WAS TOLD THAT THE CODES MAY NOT COME UP SINCE IT HAD ONLY HAPPENED 2 TIMES. I TOOK IT TO ADVANCE AUTO AND THEY PUT IT ON THEIR COMPUTER AND NO CODES SHOWED UP. I WAS TOLD BY THE PLACE THAT I PURCHASED MY CAR FROM TO WAIT FOR THE RECALL. I'VE BEEN CHECKING EVERY DAY SINCE THEN TO SEE IF THERE IS A RECALL FOR MY CAR BECAUSE I DON'T WANT TO PAY FOR REPAIRS THAT SHOULD ALREADY BE ON THE RECALL LIST! I'M TOO AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR A LONG DISTANCE FOR FEAR OF GETTING HIT OR EVEN KILLED BY OTHER VEHICLES IF & WHEN MY CAR DOES IT AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/25/2014 - PHILIPSBURG, MT
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, ABOUT 15 MILES ON THE FREEWAY AT THE SPEED LIMIT WHICH IS 75 MPH. THE CAR WITH NO WARNING COMPLETELY SHUT ITSELF OFF. AS A RESULT, I LOST THE ABILITY TO STEER OR BREAK. I WOULD ESTIMATE IT STAYED OFF FOR APPROXIMATELY 5 SECONDS BEFORE KICKING BACK ON, WITHOUT MY HAVING TO RESTART. I TREATED THIS AS AN ANOMALY. LAST WEEK ON MY WAY TO WORK, WHICH IS IN THE DARK AT 3AM, IT SHUT ITSELF OF 3 TIMES WITHIN 10 MILES OF A 70 MILE DRIVE. EACH TIME GIVING ME A SERVICE INDICATOR LIGHT OF SOME SORT ( SERVICE STABILITRAK, SERVICE ANTI THEFT...) I HAD NO STEERING, NO BREAKS AND NO LIGHTS. AGAIN THIS IS IN THE DARK!! I NOTICED THAT THERE ARE 43 OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WITH NO RESOLUTION FROM THIS SITE , THE DEALERSHIPS OR THE MANUFACTURER. IS IT GOING TO TAKE A DEATH OR HORRIFYINGLY BAD ACCIDENT TO GET THIS ADDRESSED???

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds