Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 596 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (83) Steering (92) Unknown Or Other (44)
Electrical System (149) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (90) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (153) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (106) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/24/2018 - PHOENIX, NY
MY CARS OVER HEATING SIGNAL COMES ON AND TELLS ME TO SHUT OFF THE CAR ALL THE TIME WHILE DRIVING, ALSO THE POWER STEERING LOCKS UP WHILE TURNING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/24/2018 - PHOENIX, NY
MY CARS OVER HEATING SIGNAL COMES ON AND TELLS ME TO SHUT OFF THE CAR ALL THE TIME WHILE DRIVING, ALSO THE POWER STEERING LOCKS UP WHILE TURNING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/18/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
WHILE DRIVING, ON AT LEAST FOUR OCCASIONS, I HAVE LOST POWER COMPLETELY, CAUSING ALL ELECTRICAL FUNCTIONINGS TO STOP, MAKING ME LOSE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE, CAUSING MY LIGHTS TO SHUT OFF, AND ALL OTHER FUNCTIONALITIES OF THE CAR, BESIDES STEERING AND USING INERTIA, RESULTING IN PULLING OVER WITHOUT ENDANGERING MYSELF OR OTHER DRIVERS. THERE ALSO SEEMS TO BE A SKIPPING OR JUMPING INVOLVING THE FUEL INJECTION WHEN ACCELERATING, WHICH MAKES SPEED REGULATION IRREGULAR, SPORADIC, AND DOES NOT ALLOW THE DRIVER TO MAKE ACCURATE JUDGEMENTS ON THE CARS CAPABILITIES CONCERNING TIMING AND DISTANCE TO OTHER DRIVERS. RECENTLY, I WAS IN MOTION DRIVING THROUGH CHATANOOGA, TN, WHERE IT IS MOUNTAINOUS AND HAS STEEP HILLS, DURING NIGHTTIME, SO VISIBILITY WAS LESSENED, AND DANGER, DUE TO THE TYPE OF ROAD IT WAS, WAS INCREASED. WHILE GOING DOWNHILL, LUCKILY, WITH OTHER CARS AROUND ME TRAVELING AT 70 MPH, MY CAR JUST SHUT OFF, COMPLETELY. I LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE, MY LIGHTS SHUT OFF, ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CARS AROUND ME. LUCKILY, I PULLED ONTO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT ANY DAMAGES. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN, ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO, AT A STOP LIGHT. I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE, AND IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION, MY CAR SHUT OFF, I HAD TO COAST OFF OF THE ROAD, LOST ALL ACCELERATION, AND AGAIN ALMOST WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/18/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
WHILE DRIVING, ON AT LEAST FOUR OCCASIONS, I HAVE LOST POWER COMPLETELY, CAUSING ALL ELECTRICAL FUNCTIONINGS TO STOP, MAKING ME LOSE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE, CAUSING MY LIGHTS TO SHUT OFF, AND ALL OTHER FUNCTIONALITIES OF THE CAR, BESIDES STEERING AND USING INERTIA, RESULTING IN PULLING OVER WITHOUT ENDANGERING MYSELF OR OTHER DRIVERS. THERE ALSO SEEMS TO BE A SKIPPING OR JUMPING INVOLVING THE FUEL INJECTION WHEN ACCELERATING, WHICH MAKES SPEED REGULATION IRREGULAR, SPORADIC, AND DOES NOT ALLOW THE DRIVER TO MAKE ACCURATE JUDGEMENTS ON THE CARS CAPABILITIES CONCERNING TIMING AND DISTANCE TO OTHER DRIVERS. RECENTLY, I WAS IN MOTION DRIVING THROUGH CHATANOOGA, TN, WHERE IT IS MOUNTAINOUS AND HAS STEEP HILLS, DURING NIGHTTIME, SO VISIBILITY WAS LESSENED, AND DANGER, DUE TO THE TYPE OF ROAD IT WAS, WAS INCREASED. WHILE GOING DOWNHILL, LUCKILY, WITH OTHER CARS AROUND ME TRAVELING AT 70 MPH, MY CAR JUST SHUT OFF, COMPLETELY. I LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE, MY LIGHTS SHUT OFF, ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CARS AROUND ME. LUCKILY, I PULLED ONTO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT ANY DAMAGES. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN, ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO, AT A STOP LIGHT. I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE, AND IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION, MY CAR SHUT OFF, I HAD TO COAST OFF OF THE ROAD, LOST ALL ACCELERATION, AND AGAIN ALMOST WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/18/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
WHILE DRIVING, ON AT LEAST FOUR OCCASIONS, I HAVE LOST POWER COMPLETELY, CAUSING ALL ELECTRICAL FUNCTIONINGS TO STOP, MAKING ME LOSE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE, CAUSING MY LIGHTS TO SHUT OFF, AND ALL OTHER FUNCTIONALITIES OF THE CAR, BESIDES STEERING AND USING INERTIA, RESULTING IN PULLING OVER WITHOUT ENDANGERING MYSELF OR OTHER DRIVERS. THERE ALSO SEEMS TO BE A SKIPPING OR JUMPING INVOLVING THE FUEL INJECTION WHEN ACCELERATING, WHICH MAKES SPEED REGULATION IRREGULAR, SPORADIC, AND DOES NOT ALLOW THE DRIVER TO MAKE ACCURATE JUDGEMENTS ON THE CARS CAPABILITIES CONCERNING TIMING AND DISTANCE TO OTHER DRIVERS. RECENTLY, I WAS IN MOTION DRIVING THROUGH CHATANOOGA, TN, WHERE IT IS MOUNTAINOUS AND HAS STEEP HILLS, DURING NIGHTTIME, SO VISIBILITY WAS LESSENED, AND DANGER, DUE TO THE TYPE OF ROAD IT WAS, WAS INCREASED. WHILE GOING DOWNHILL, LUCKILY, WITH OTHER CARS AROUND ME TRAVELING AT 70 MPH, MY CAR JUST SHUT OFF, COMPLETELY. I LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE, MY LIGHTS SHUT OFF, ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CARS AROUND ME. LUCKILY, I PULLED ONTO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT ANY DAMAGES. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN, ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO, AT A STOP LIGHT. I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE, AND IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION, MY CAR SHUT OFF, I HAD TO COAST OFF OF THE ROAD, LOST ALL ACCELERATION, AND AGAIN ALMOST WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/14/2018 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS HAD STOPPED WORKING COMPLETELY NO MOVEMENT AT ALL, THEY WERE MAKING A NOISE WHENEVER YOU TOGGLED THE WIPER CONTROL INSIDE THE CAR. SO I MAD AN APPOINTMENT FOR JAN 5TH, 2018 SO THAT IT COULD BE LOOKED AT AND FIXED. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN WHICH I KNEW I HAD BEEN RESEARCHING BEFORE HAND NEEDED TO BE SURE . AUTO SHOP TOLD ME THAT IT WOULD BE $149 FOR THE PART THAT I WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR, AND THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF THE LABOR AND, THEN SHE SAID NO IT WOULD BE $74.00 FOR PART AND I TOLD THEM TO GO AHEAD. THEY SAID THEY NEEDED TO ORDER THE PART AND IT MAY NOT BE THERE THAT DAY. SO I THEN MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THEM MONDAY JANUARY 8,2018 WHEN THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO HAVE THE PART DROPPED MY CAR OFF ON THAT SUNDAY JANUARY 7,2018 AND THEY CALLED ME MONDAY@9:30 TELLING ME MY CAR WAS READY SO I PICKED IT UP AFTER WORK.. SKIP FORWARD TO FRIDAY JANUARY 12,2018 I GET READY TO LEAVE FOR WORK AND GO OUTSIDE I CLEAR MY CAR OFF AND MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS AREN'T WORKING.. I SPRAY DE-ICER ON THEM PUT MY DEFROST ON REMOVE ICE AND ALL AND THEY ARE NOT WORKING... IT HAS ONLY BEEN 3 DAYS THAT I'VE HAD MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION REPAIRED AND I'M STILL HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE.... I NEED ANSWERS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2018 - GREENVILLE, MS
"TAKATA RECALL" I AM THE OWNER OF A 2012 CHEVY CRUZE AND IT ONLY HAS 44,000 MILES THIS IN WHICH THE TRANSMISSION HAS WENT OUT. IT STARTED OF DOWN SHIFTING HARD WHEN TAKING OFF AND JERKING. AS I SEARCHED ONLINE I FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM IN THESE CARS

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2018 - PEWAUKEE, WI
THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON ONE EVENING AND WITH A MESSAGE TO SERVICE THE STABILTRACK. I DID GET THE CAR HOME. NEXT MORNING, STARTED THE CAR, WAS STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION NEAR MY HOME WHEN THE ENGINE LOST POWER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR HOME BY TURNING IT OFF AND RESTARTING IT, BUT IN TRYING TO DRIVE THE CAR TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WAS NOT ABLE TO GET ANY ACCELERATION AND HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED FROM MY DRIVEWAY. DIAGNOSTICS REVEALED THE THROTTLE BODY HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THE SENSOR CLEARED. WAS TOLD BY MY MECHANIC THAT THERE IS A SERVICE BULLETIN OUT FOR THIS ISSUE FROM GM. THIS IS A CAR WITH 41,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/8/2018 - PEWAUKEE, WI
THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON ONE EVENING AND WITH A MESSAGE TO SERVICE THE STABILTRACK. I DID GET THE CAR HOME. NEXT MORNING, STARTED THE CAR, WAS STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION NEAR MY HOME WHEN THE ENGINE LOST POWER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR HOME BY TURNING IT OFF AND RESTARTING IT, BUT IN TRYING TO DRIVE THE CAR TO THE REPAIR SHOP, WAS NOT ABLE TO GET ANY ACCELERATION AND HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED FROM MY DRIVEWAY. DIAGNOSTICS REVEALED THE THROTTLE BODY HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THE SENSOR CLEARED. WAS TOLD BY MY MECHANIC THAT THERE IS A SERVICE BULLETIN OUT FOR THIS ISSUE FROM GM. THIS IS A CAR WITH 41,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STEERING

1/5/2018 - NASHVILLE, TN
HELLO, MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE LTZ'S KEY FOB ISN'T BEING DETECTED BY MY VEHICLE. I'VE LOOKED IT UP AND ASKED AROUND AND EITHER NOBODY'S HEARD OF THE ISSUE OR DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO OTHER THAN TAKE IT TO A MECHANIC. THIS DOESN'T HAPPEN ALL THE TIME, BUT IT'S PAINSTAKING WHEN I CAN'T EVEN USE THE KEY FOB ONE MINUTE AND THEN THE NEXT IT WORKS FINE. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN STATIONARY SINCE THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds