Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 252 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (35) Steering (56) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (71) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (5)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (53) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/23/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
2012 CHEVY CRUZE ECO 1.4L TURBO HAS ISSUES WITH SERVICE STABILITRAK MESSAGE, SERVICE POWER STERRING, SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, THESE MESSAGES APPEAR WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. ACTIVATED USUALLY BE TURN SIGNAL CAR RADIO AND INSTRUMENT CLUSTER SEEMS LIKE IT SHUTS OFF FOR A SECOND TURN SIGNAL BLINKS BUT NO CLICKING NOISE AFTER 2-3 BLINKS THEN CLICKS. AT TIMES WHEN ON CRUISE CONTROL THE STEP ON BRAKES TO SLOW DOWN WOULD ACTIVATE THE ELECTRICAL GLITCH SPEEDING UP AND SLOWING DOWN ALSO BUT NOT AT MUCH. CAR SEEMS LIKE IT HAS A DECREASE IN POWER. MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH DEALER TO CHECK OUT BUT ITS NOT A RECALL ISSUE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - DONORA, PA
THE RADIO WOULD GO OFF, AS WELL AS THE DASH LIGHTS AND A WRENCH WOULD APPEAR BUT NO ENGINE CODE WOULD APPEAR. THIS WOULD OCCUR SEVERAL MORE TIMES THEN THE ENTIRE CAR WOULD STALL OUT, OR TURN ITS SELF OFF BASICALLY. THE KEY REMAINS STUCK IN THE IGNITION UNABLE TO TURN THE CAR ON OR REMOVE IT. ALL POWER IS LOST. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO MY CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP MANY TIMES BUT THERE IS NOTHING THAT THEY CAN DO BECAUSE IT DOES NOT ACT UP FOR THEM. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/22/2014 - WORCESTER, MA
WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH ON THE HIGHWAY. I ALREADY SUBMITTED A COMPLAINT ABOUT MY BRAKES NOT WORKING PROPERLY AT TIME OF CRASH, SEE FILE #10637987. MY BRAKES DID NOT STOP PROPERLY AND RESULTED IN ME HITTING THE BACK OF ANOTHER VEHICLE IN THE FAST LANE OF INTERSTATE 495. DURING COLLISION, NONE OF MY AIRBAGS DEPLOYED EVEN THOUGH THE FRONT BUMPER ON RIGHT SIDE OF VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY SMASHED IN. INSURANCE HAS PAID ALMOST $8,000 TO REPAIR THE DAMAGE. SHOULDN'T MY AIRBAGS HAVE DEPLOYED?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/22/2014 - WORCESTER , MA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, AT A SAFE AND REASONABLE DISTANCE FROM THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME, THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME BRAKED. I STEPPED ON MY BRAKES, AND MY VEHICLE DID NOT STOP PROPERLY. I PRESSED ON MY BRAKES FIRMLY AND MY VEHICLE CONTINUED NOT TO BRAKE/SLOW PROPERLY AND MY VEHICLE CONTINUED GOING FORWARD. THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF MY STOPPED AND MY CAR CONTINUED TO GO FORWARD, CRASHING INTO THE BACK END OF THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I PRESSED ON MY BRAKES AND THEY DIDN'T WORK. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY VEHICLE TOWARDS THE LEFT TRYING TO AVOID CRASHING INTO THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY VEHICLE LEFT AND AVOID CRASHING HEAD ON, BUT ENCOINTERED SEVERE FRONT END DAMAGE TO THE RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE OF MY VEHICLE. ALL I CAN SAY IS, MY BRAKES DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. I PRESSED ON THEM AND MY VEHICLE DID NOT STOP LIKE IT NORMALLY DOES. (THIS VEHICLE IS MY MOTHER'S CAR. I HAVE DRIVEN IT IN THE PAST AND BRAKES WORKED FINE)

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/8/2014 - VILLA RIDGE, MO
2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO COOLANT SMELL IN VEHICLE. ACCORDING TO THE INVOICE, THE SURGE TANK AND HEATER CORE OUTLET AND WATER PUMP WERE LEAKING. THE CONSUMER HAS SINCE TRADED THE VEHICLE.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

9/4/2014 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATE 65 MPH, THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENTAL PANEL BECAME INOPERABLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE.THE VIN WAS UNABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,300.

View Details

STRUCTURE

9/3/2014 - SAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE DOOR LATCH BECAME INOPERABLE. AS A RESULT, THE DOORS FAILED TO OPEN AT VARIOUS TIMES AND NO WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. THE VIN NUMBER WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - LOS ANGELES , CA
I PURCHASED MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE BACK IN AUGUST 2012 AT THE CHEVY DEALER IN MONTEBELLO WITH "0" MILES. TWO WEEKS AFTER I PURCHASED THE CAR IT BEGAN TO GIVE ME PROBLEMS. IT BEGAN TO MAKE THIS VERY LOUD NOICE LIKE IF I WAS DRIVING A TRAILOR. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AN I WAS TOLD IT WAS NORMAL WHICH IS BS BECAUSE IVE NEVER HEARD A SMALL CAR THAT MAKES NOISE LIKE THAT. I WASN'T ALLOWED TO GET REFUNDED I WAS JUST GIVEN A BUNCH OF BS. A MONTH LATER IT KEPT DOING THE SAME THING BUT THIS TIME THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE HOOD, TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND NOTHING. 3RD TIME I FILED A COMPLAINT AND SAID I WAS GOING TO FILE A LAWSUIT AND THE TOOK MY CAR IN AN APPARENTLY THEY HAD TO CHANGE MY RADIATOR, FAN, BRAKES ALONG WITH THE DISK. EVEN AFTER ALL THIS MY CAR CONTINUED DOING THE SAME THING BUT NOW IT TURNS OFF!! I TRIED TO TURN ON MY CAR THIS SATURDAY AND IT JUST WOULDNT START. IT SAID SOMETHING ABOUT THEFT, I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY AND THEN IT GAVE A MESSAGE ABOUT CHECK POWER STEERING! THIS WILL BE MY 5TH TIME TAKING IT IN! I THINK I HAVE GOTTEN RIPPED OFF!! I REGREAT PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE!! NOW IM STUCK WITH A JACKED UP CAR AND A VERY HIGH CAR PAYMENT THAT IS NOT EVEN WORTH PAYING FOR. AND TO TOP IT OFF THE DEALER I PURCHASED IT FROM IS NO HELP!! THEY SEEM TO GET UPSET EVERY TIME YOU TAKE THE CAR AND TELL THEM THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH IT. IM A MOTHER OF 3 AND MY BIGGEST FEAR IS SOMETHING HAPPENING TO MY CHILDREN BECAUSE OF THIS. I PURCHASE THIS CAR BECAUSE I NEEDED SOMETHING RELIABLE SINCE IM ALWAYS ON THE ROAD. ONE THING FOR SURE, IF ANY OF MY CHILDREN GET HURT BECAUSE OF THIS I WILL FILE A LAWSUIT BECAUSE YOU GUYS ARE RECEIVING MANY COMPLAINTS AND YOU ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT.!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/24/2014 - MARYVILLE, TN
FROM THE BEGINNING I HAD A RECALL FOR THE OIL PAN A WEEK AFTER PURCHASING THE CAR. THERE HAS BEEN NUMEROUS TIMES THE HEATING HAD TO BE WORKED ON AND STILL NOT FIXED. IT STILLS SMELLS LIKE ANTIFREEZE WHEN ITS ON. THE RIGHT BRAKE CYLINDER WENT BAD A FEW MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASED. THE WINDSHIELD SOMETIMES WHISTLES WHEN YOU GO DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. NOW AFTER MY LAST OIL CHANGE THE OTHER DAY, THEY SAID I NEED TO TAKE IT BACK BECAUSE THERE IS A TRANSMISSION LEAK. NOT TO MENTION WHERE I GOT THE CAR FROM, THEY ACT LIKE THEY DON'T CARE TO HELP FIX THE PROBLEM. VERY FRUSTRATED!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2014 - MARYVILLE, TN
FROM THE BEGINNING I HAD A RECALL FOR THE OIL PAN A WEEK AFTER PURCHASING THE CAR. THERE HAS BEEN NUMEROUS TIMES THE HEATING HAD TO BE WORKED ON AND STILL NOT FIXED. IT STILLS SMELLS LIKE ANTIFREEZE WHEN ITS ON. THE RIGHT BRAKE CYLINDER WENT BAD A FEW MONTHS AFTER THE PURCHASED. THE WINDSHIELD SOMETIMES WHISTLES WHEN YOU GO DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH. NOW AFTER MY LAST OIL CHANGE THE OTHER DAY, THEY SAID I NEED TO TAKE IT BACK BECAUSE THERE IS A TRANSMISSION LEAK. NOT TO MENTION WHERE I GOT THE CAR FROM, THEY ACT LIKE THEY DON'T CARE TO HELP FIX THE PROBLEM. VERY FRUSTRATED!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds