Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 391 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (49) Steering (77) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (111) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (48) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (6)
Engine (83) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (74) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2015 - SHAWNEE, KS
MY RADIO FLICKERS ON AND OFF, MY ABS LLIGHT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND OTHER LIGHTS FLICKER OFF AND ON REAL FAST AND ON MY ODOMETER I GET A READING "TRACTION CONTROL" AND SOMETHING ABOUT STABILITRAK CONTROL. EVERYTHING FLICKERS SO FAST IT'S HARD TO SEE EVERYTHING THAT LIGHTS UP. APPARENTLY MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THE EXACT SAME ISSUES.

View Details

ENGINE

11/4/2015 - EAST ORANGE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THERE WAS A STRONG OIL ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS EXCESSIVE SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS AN OIL LEAK, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/3/2015 - HONAKER, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. AFTER FILLING THE VEHICLE WITH FUEL, THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE AND IT MADE A SPUTTERING NOISE AND BEGAN TO SHAKE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR WAS CONSISTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TURNED THE KEY TO THE OFF POSITION; HOWEVER, THE ENGINE DID NOT POWER OFF. IT TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO POWER THE ENGINE OFF. THE CONTACT RELEASED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND KEPT THE VEHICLE PARKED FOR APPROXIMATELY FIVE MINUTES UNTIL THE SHAKING AND SPUTTERING CEASED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHEN FUELING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT AN UNKNOWN SENSOR WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2015 - HONAKER, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. AFTER FILLING THE VEHICLE WITH FUEL, THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE AND IT MADE A SPUTTERING NOISE AND BEGAN TO SHAKE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR WAS CONSISTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TURNED THE KEY TO THE OFF POSITION; HOWEVER, THE ENGINE DID NOT POWER OFF. IT TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO POWER THE ENGINE OFF. THE CONTACT RELEASED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND KEPT THE VEHICLE PARKED FOR APPROXIMATELY FIVE MINUTES UNTIL THE SHAKING AND SPUTTERING CEASED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHEN FUELING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT AN UNKNOWN SENSOR WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/29/2015 - AUBURN HILL, MI
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR IT CONTINUOUSLY JERK FORWARD, AND IT SEEMS TO BE GETTING WORSE, THE CAR IS IN MOTION , ON A REGULAR STREET. IT'S UNKNOWN WHY THE CAR IS DOING THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2015 - GLEN ELLYN, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE ELECTRICAL FUNCTIONS SUCH AS RADIO AND INSTRUMENT PANEL WILL START TO FLASH ON AND OFF WITH THE RADIO DISPLAY REBOOTING AT INTERMITTENT TIMES, AND SOMETIMES CONSTANTLY. POWER HAS ON OCCASION BEEN LOST COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING. SOMETIMES THE SYMPTOMS ARE ONLY THE RADIO AND CONSOLE BELOW IT LOSING POWER, BUT WHEN IT GETS REALLY FREQUENT, A COUPLE OF THE INSTRUMENT WARNING LIGHTS REGARDING ABS AND ANOTHER ONE I CANNOT REMEMBER OFF HAND FLASH, AND THE STABILITRAC WARNING IS DISPLAYING "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL". THIS CAN LAST FOR 5 MINUTES OR AS LONG AS A DAY OR MORE. I NOTICED ON AT LEAST TWO OCCASIONS, THE PROBLEMS STARTED ON VERY HUMID DAYS AT BOTH EARLY MORNING AND EVENING TIME FRAMES, AND NECESSARILY WHILE DRIVING IN RAIN. WHEN PROBLEM GETS EXTREMELY BAD, I USUALLY PULL OVER SOMEWHERE AND TAKE OFF THE "NEGATIVE" BATTERY CABLE FOR ABOUT 20 SECONDS USING A WRENCH I MUST CARRY IN THE VEHICLE, FORCING THE CONTROL MODULE OF THE VEHICLE TO RESET. THIS TEMPORARILY FIXES THE PROBLEM FOR AN UNDETERMINED AMOUNT OF TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO THE CHEVY DEALER AND THEY CLAIMED THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING NOR HAVE THEY EVER HEARD OF THE PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM OCCURS WHILE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR STATIONERY. THIS PROBLEM ALSO OCCURS ON EXPRESSWAYS OR CITY STREETS. THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURED IN MULTIPLE STATES(NORTH CAROLINA ALONG THE COAST AND IN CHICAGO AREA. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR AT LEAST TWO YEARS . THE LAST TIME WAS ON SEPT. 30, 2015. I DO HAVE VIDEOS THAT I CAPTURED WITH MY PHONE BUT IT DOESN'T APPEAR THAT YOUR WEBSITE CAN SUPPORT THEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/22/2015 - HILLIARD, OH
MY WIFE PULLED INTO MY DAUGHTER'S DRIVEWAY TOOK HER FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL AND WAS GOING TO PUT HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE WHEN THE CAR ACCELERATED AND RAN INTO MY DAUGHTER'S SUV, MY WIFE PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE AND WENT TO STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL BUT SHE COULD NOT FEEL IT, SHE LOOK DOWN AND FOUND THE GAS PEDAL AND ABOUT 4 INCHES OF THE STEM ON THE FLOOR COMPLETELY BROKEN OFF

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2015 - LOTHIAN, MD
TWICE I HAVE WALKED BACK TO MY CAR & FOUND THAT THE ENGINE HAS REMAINED ON. AFTER PARKING, I PRESS THE ENGINE ON/OFF BUTTON, EXIT THE CAR, LOCK ALL DOORS WITH THE FOB AND WALK AWAY. THIS TIME, I PARKED IN A VERY LARGE, CROWDED PUBLIC PARKING LOT. I WAS AT LEAST 6 BLOCKS AWAY FROM THE CAR FOR 2 HOURS. THANKFULLY, THIS HAS OCCURRED WHEN THE CAR IS OUTSIDE, NOT IN MY GARAGE. IN RECENT LIGHT OF PEOPLE SUCCUMBING TO CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING DUE TO THIS VERY SITUATION OCCURRING WITH CARS IN CLOSED GARAGES, I WOULD EXPECT A VOLUNTARY OR FORCED RECALL TO REMEDY THIS GM ADMITTED DESIGN DECISION.

View Details

STEERING

10/19/2015 - NORTHLAKE, TX
DRIVING THE RADIO CUTS IN AND OUT MEANWHILE SERVICE STABILITRAC WARNING COMES ON. DOES THIS AROUND 6-12 TIMES IN A 30 MINUTE DRIVE TO AND FROM WORK. ON A FEW INSTANCES THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER WHILE DRIVING. THIS OCCURES ON A DAILY BASIS. THIS HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING AND AT A STAND STILL. ALSO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON NUMEROUS TIMES. IT IS A P0597 CODE STATING TEMP SENSOR IS INOPERABLE. NON OF THESE ISSUES SHOULD BE GOING ON IN A 2012 WITH LESS THAN 45,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/19/2015 - NORTHLAKE, TX
DRIVING THE RADIO CUTS IN AND OUT MEANWHILE SERVICE STABILITRAC WARNING COMES ON. DOES THIS AROUND 6-12 TIMES IN A 30 MINUTE DRIVE TO AND FROM WORK. ON A FEW INSTANCES THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER WHILE DRIVING. THIS OCCURES ON A DAILY BASIS. THIS HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING AND AT A STAND STILL. ALSO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON NUMEROUS TIMES. IT IS A P0597 CODE STATING TEMP SENSOR IS INOPERABLE. NON OF THESE ISSUES SHOULD BE GOING ON IN A 2012 WITH LESS THAN 45,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds