Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 224 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (32) Steering (53) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (63) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (5)
Engine (43) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (49) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - ROBSTOWN, TX
WHILE DRIVING, MY CAR DASH BOARD AND RADIO FLICKER AND I LOST TOTAL POWER/LIGHTS FOR ABOUT 15-20 SECONDS. PANIC, AS I THINK THE CAR HAS STALLED IN TRAFFIC. RADIO AND DASH LIGHTS CAME BACK ON BUT I RECEIVED AN ERROR MESSAGE "SERVICE BRAKES ON" OR SOMETHING SIMILAR (AS IT ONLY DISPLAYS FOR A FEW SECONDS). THIS IS THE 5TH TIME I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE TAKEN IT IN FOR SERVICE 3 TIMES. 1ST SERVICE CALL NO ERROR COULD BE DETECTED. THE 2ND SERVICE CALL I WAS TOLD MY RADIO WAS DEFECTIVE, AND A NEW ONE WAS ORDERED AND INSTALLED. 3RD SERVICE, MY CAR HAS BEEN THERE FOR 2 DAYS, AND I AM BEING TOLD A TECHNICIAN IS WORKING ON IT. I AM WORRIED THIS CAR WILL STALL ON ME AND PLACE ME IN A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION DUE TO NOT HAVING POWER CONTROL DUE TO THIS INTERMITTENT FLICKER. ..UPDATED 08/11/14

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/20/2014 - TROY, MO
BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM A NON-CHEVY DEALER IN JUNE 2014. AFTER ABOUT A MONTH OR SO AND 44000 MPG. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE TIME/TEMP/DATE DISPLAY (ALONG WITH THE RADIO) STARTED BLACKING OUT. THEN A FEW TIMES THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AND WE ACTUALLY LOST OUR POWER STEERING MOMENTARILY SEVERAL TIMES AND TODAY 07-20-2014 WITH ME, MY HUSBAND AND 6YR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE CAR!!!! VERY SCARY. THEN THE "SERVICE STABILITRAK" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AS WELL. AT THE SAME TIME THE TIME/TEMP/DATE BLACKS OUT AGAIN TOO. THE CAR LOSES POWER WHEN TRAVELING AT SPEEDS OVER 50MPH. ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS HAVE FLICKERED ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES ALONG WITH THE POWER STEERING AND STABLITRAK. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CONTACTING A DEALER AND LEGAL ACTION WILL BE TAKEN IF ISSUE ISN'T RESOVLED. PEOPLES LIVES AND SAFTY ARE NOT SOMETHING TO BE TAKEN LIGHTLY.

View Details

STEERING

7/20/2014 - TROY, MO
BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM A NON-CHEVY DEALER IN JUNE 2014. AFTER ABOUT A MONTH OR SO AND 44000 MPG. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE TIME/TEMP/DATE DISPLAY (ALONG WITH THE RADIO) STARTED BLACKING OUT. THEN A FEW TIMES THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AND WE ACTUALLY LOST OUR POWER STEERING MOMENTARILY SEVERAL TIMES AND TODAY 07-20-2014 WITH ME, MY HUSBAND AND 6YR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE CAR!!!! VERY SCARY. THEN THE "SERVICE STABILITRAK" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AS WELL. AT THE SAME TIME THE TIME/TEMP/DATE BLACKS OUT AGAIN TOO. THE CAR LOSES POWER WHEN TRAVELING AT SPEEDS OVER 50MPH. ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS HAVE FLICKERED ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES ALONG WITH THE POWER STEERING AND STABLITRAK. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CONTACTING A DEALER AND LEGAL ACTION WILL BE TAKEN IF ISSUE ISN'T RESOVLED. PEOPLES LIVES AND SAFTY ARE NOT SOMETHING TO BE TAKEN LIGHTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/20/2014 - TROY, MO
BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM A NON-CHEVY DEALER IN JUNE 2014. AFTER ABOUT A MONTH OR SO AND 44000 MPG. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE TIME/TEMP/DATE DISPLAY (ALONG WITH THE RADIO) STARTED BLACKING OUT. THEN A FEW TIMES THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AND WE ACTUALLY LOST OUR POWER STEERING MOMENTARILY SEVERAL TIMES AND TODAY 07-20-2014 WITH ME, MY HUSBAND AND 6YR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE CAR!!!! VERY SCARY. THEN THE "SERVICE STABILITRAK" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AS WELL. AT THE SAME TIME THE TIME/TEMP/DATE BLACKS OUT AGAIN TOO. THE CAR LOSES POWER WHEN TRAVELING AT SPEEDS OVER 50MPH. ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS HAVE FLICKERED ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES ALONG WITH THE POWER STEERING AND STABLITRAK. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I WILL BE CONTACTING A DEALER AND LEGAL ACTION WILL BE TAKEN IF ISSUE ISN'T RESOVLED. PEOPLES LIVES AND SAFTY ARE NOT SOMETHING TO BE TAKEN LIGHTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - OCONOMOWOC, WI
I BOUGHT A 2012 CRUZE IN MARCH. IT RAN GREAT WHEN I TEST DROVE IT AND FOR THE FIRST COUPLE OF MONTHS. THEN AT THE 3RD MONTH WE STARTED TO HAVE PROBLEMS. IT HAS ABOUT 29000 MILES ON IT RIGHT NOW. ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE TIME/TEMP/DATE DISPLAY (ALONG WITH THE RADIO) STARTED BLACKING OUT. THEN A FEW TIMES THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AND WE ACTUALLY LOST OUR POWER STEERING MOMENTARILY. VERY SCARY. THEN THE "SERVICE STABILITRAK" WARNING LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AS WELL. AT THE SAME TIME THE TIME/TEMP/DATE BLACKS OUT AGAIN TOO. OUR CAR IS GM CERTIFIED AND STILL UNDER THE FACTORY WARRANTY, SO WE TOOK IT IN TO OUR LOCAL CHEVY DEALER. (WE DID NOT BUY IT FROM THEM, BUT IT IS CLOSER THAN THE PLACE WE BOUGHT IT) THEY HAVE TRIED AT LEAST 3 TIMES TO FIX IT SINCE THIS STARTED. BUT WHEN THEY DRIVE IT, NOTHING HAPPENS. IT ONLY DOES IT WHEN WE ARE DRIVING!. NOW THE CHEVY DEALER CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG ON THE COMPUTER, THEY CAN'T DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM WHEN THEY DRIVE IT. THEY REPLACED THE BRAKE MODULE. NO LUCK. AFTER ABOUT 3 WEEKS, THEY RETURNED THE CAR TO US LAST NIGHT AND SAID WE SHOULD GET RID OF IT. I AM COMPLETELY SHOCKED. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. THE SERVICE PERSON EVEN TOLD US TO TAKE IT BACK WHERE WE BOUGHT IT AND DEMAND THEY GIVE US A DIFFERENT CAR! I PICKED UP THE CAR LAST NIGHT AND THIS MORNING DROVE IT ABOUT 1 MILE AND THE TIME/TEMP DISPLAY WENT OUT AGAIN, EVEN LONGER THAN BEFORE. CAN'T HEAR THE BLINKER BLINK AND, THE "SERVICE STABILITRAK" LIGHT WENT ON AGAIN. PLEASE HELP! FORCE GM TO RECALL THESE. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. PART OF THE FRUSTRATION IS THAT THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE PERSONNEL SAID THEY CALLED GM AND THE ENGINEERS, AND OTHER DEALERSHIPS AND THEY SAID NONE OF THEM HAD EVER HAD THIS HAPPEN. I DON'T BELIEVE THEM.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2014 - HOLLYWOOD , CA
PURCHASED USED 2012 CRUZE FROM LOCAL CHEVY DEALER. STEERING HAS NO FREE PLAY IN THE STEERING WHEEL, CAUSING CONSTANT BACK AND FORTH CORRECTIONS AND SWERVING IN LANE ESPECIALLY AT HIGH WAY SPEEDS. GOT PULLED OVER BY POLICE THINKING I WAS DRUNK. ALSO TAKES A LOT OF EFFORT TO KEEP THE CAR CENTERED DOWN THE LANE, AND IF YOU STOP FOCUSING ON THE STEERING FOR EVEN A SECOND THE CAR IS SWERVING OUT OF THE LANE. CONGRATULATIONS TO CHEVY FOR PRODUCING SUCH A FINE PRODUCT. APPARENTLY THEY NEVER THOUGHT TO DRIVE THE PROTOTYPE TO SEE IF THE STUPID THING WORKS. DUHHHH THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/11/2014 - HUDSON, WI
ON THIS PARTICULAR OCCURRENCE THE LIGHTS ON THE RADIO DISPLAY BEGAN TO FLICKER AND THEN ALL ELECTRICAL POWER TO THE DASHBOARD, AIRBAGS, AND THE ELECTRICALLY ASSISTED POWER STEERING WENT OUT. IT REMAINED OFF FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 SECONDS. AS A RESULT I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. THE ELECTRICAL CAME BACK ON AND THE DASH DISPLAY DEPICTED THE WARNING MESSAGE CHECK STABLTRACK, OR WORDS TO THAT EFFECT. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT NOTHING SHOWED UP ON THE SCOPE AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THIS HAS ALSO HAPPENED TO MY GRAND DAUGHTER ON 07/09/2014 OUT IN COLORADO AS SHE IS USING THE VEHICLE FOR SCHOOL AND WORK. AGAIN THE DEALER STATES THERE IS NOTHING SHOWING UP ON THE SCOPE AND THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ISSUE EVEN THOUGH SHE HAD HER FRIEND RECORD THE EVENT WITH THEIR CELL PHONE. DURING THIS EVENT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE RESTARTED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF IN A PARKING LOT. AFTER AN HOUR WAIT THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED.

View Details

STEERING

7/11/2014 - HUDSON, WI
ON THIS PARTICULAR OCCURRENCE THE LIGHTS ON THE RADIO DISPLAY BEGAN TO FLICKER AND THEN ALL ELECTRICAL POWER TO THE DASHBOARD, AIRBAGS, AND THE ELECTRICALLY ASSISTED POWER STEERING WENT OUT. IT REMAINED OFF FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 SECONDS. AS A RESULT I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. THE ELECTRICAL CAME BACK ON AND THE DASH DISPLAY DEPICTED THE WARNING MESSAGE CHECK STABLTRACK, OR WORDS TO THAT EFFECT. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT NOTHING SHOWED UP ON THE SCOPE AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THIS HAS ALSO HAPPENED TO MY GRAND DAUGHTER ON 07/09/2014 OUT IN COLORADO AS SHE IS USING THE VEHICLE FOR SCHOOL AND WORK. AGAIN THE DEALER STATES THERE IS NOTHING SHOWING UP ON THE SCOPE AND THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ISSUE EVEN THOUGH SHE HAD HER FRIEND RECORD THE EVENT WITH THEIR CELL PHONE. DURING THIS EVENT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE RESTARTED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF IN A PARKING LOT. AFTER AN HOUR WAIT THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2014 - HUDSON, WI
ON THIS PARTICULAR OCCURRENCE THE LIGHTS ON THE RADIO DISPLAY BEGAN TO FLICKER AND THEN ALL ELECTRICAL POWER TO THE DASHBOARD, AIRBAGS, AND THE ELECTRICALLY ASSISTED POWER STEERING WENT OUT. IT REMAINED OFF FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 SECONDS. AS A RESULT I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. THE ELECTRICAL CAME BACK ON AND THE DASH DISPLAY DEPICTED THE WARNING MESSAGE CHECK STABLTRACK, OR WORDS TO THAT EFFECT. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THAT NOTHING SHOWED UP ON THE SCOPE AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THIS HAS ALSO HAPPENED TO MY GRAND DAUGHTER ON 07/09/2014 OUT IN COLORADO AS SHE IS USING THE VEHICLE FOR SCHOOL AND WORK. AGAIN THE DEALER STATES THERE IS NOTHING SHOWING UP ON THE SCOPE AND THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ISSUE EVEN THOUGH SHE HAD HER FRIEND RECORD THE EVENT WITH THEIR CELL PHONE. DURING THIS EVENT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE RESTARTED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF IN A PARKING LOT. AFTER AN HOUR WAIT THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2014 - GREELEY, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V360000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,500.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds