Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 277 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (37) Steering (60) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (80) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (57) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (54) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/4/2014 - EAU CLAIRE, WI
MY PROBLEMS STARTED WITH MY TRUNK POPPING OPEN ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING AND WHILE PARKED. THIS IS CONCERNING NOT ONLY TO MY LOSS OF FOCUS ON THE ROAD BECAUSE OF THIS, I ALSO WORRY ABOUT WHO EVER IS DRIVING BEHIND ME SHOULD SOMETHING FLY OUT OF MY TRUNK. ALSO MY WINDSHIELD WIPER BLADE ON THE DRIVER SIDE COMES OFF THE MOTOR CLIP THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS WHILE RAINING I HAVE TO DRIVE WITH OUT VISIBILITY. MY CAR THEN DECIDED NOT TO START AND WHEN I FINALLY GOT IT TO START IT TOLD MY AIRBAGS NEEDED SERVICING, MY POWER STEERING, ABS BRAKES, TRACTION CONTROL, AND STABILITRACK. THERE WAS NO CONTROL OF THE CAR. THAT HAD WENT AWAY AND WAS ABLE TO GET CAR SAFELY TO THE DEALERSHIP TO GET IT SERVICED TODAY. THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH OTHER 2012 CHEVY CRUZE'S IN WHICH I HAVE DONE RESEARCH. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THESE ELECTRICAL ISSUES BEFORE SOMEONE ENDS UP GETTING KILLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

10/31/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE RADIO WOULD SHUT OFF AND ON INDEPENDENTLY, AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES WOULD FLICKER. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WOULD RANDOMLY ILLUMINATE AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED CAUSING HER TO USE EXTREME FORCE TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WOULD RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. IN ADDITION, THE KEY FAILED TO RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE CONTACT HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE JUMP STARTED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT ALL THE ELECTRICAL CORDS WERE CORRODED. HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE RADIO WOULD SHUT OFF AND ON INDEPENDENTLY, AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES WOULD FLICKER. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WOULD RANDOMLY ILLUMINATE AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED CAUSING HER TO USE EXTREME FORCE TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WOULD RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. IN ADDITION, THE KEY FAILED TO RELEASE FROM THE IGNITION AND THE CONTACT HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE JUMP STARTED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT ALL THE ELECTRICAL CORDS WERE CORRODED. HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/26/2014 - EFFINGHAM, SC
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE RADIO DISPLAY GOES BLANK. THIS INCLUDES THE RADIO- TEMPERAUIRE CONTROLS,ETC- OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE DIGITAL INFO CENTER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/21/2014 - MUSKEGON, MI
I HAVE A VERY STRONG COOLANT SMELL INSIDE THE CAR WHEN HEAT IS ON AND A STRONG COOLANT SMELL OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. I BROUGHT IT IN TO MY DEALERSHIP AND THEY DETERMINED THE WATER PUMP WAS LEAKING AND THEY REPLACED IT. I'VE HAD MY CAR BACK FOR A WEEK NOW AND AGAIN I HAVE THE STRONG COOLANT SMELL INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF MY CAR. THE SMELL IS ACTUALLY MAKING ME NAUSEOUS. I HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED ISSUES WITH MY DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW NOT GOING DOWN. I'VE HAD THE DEALERSHIP LOOK AT IT AND THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. MY FINAL ISSUE I'VE BEEN EXPERIENCING IS MY VEHICLE DOES NOT SHIFT RIGHT. I HAVE AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION AND SOMETIMES IT SHIFTS VERY HARD OUT OF FIRST AND INTO TO SECOND GEAR, THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT'S JERKING. OTHER TIMES MY CAR HESITATES WHILE SHIFTING GEARS. I HAVE NOT BROUGHT IT IN FOR THAT ISSUE YET BUT I WILL BE BRINGING IT IN THIS WEEK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2014 - LIVE OAK, FL
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 10 WHEN ELECTRICAL LIGHTING, RADIO, ETC START BLINKING ON AND OFF. I WAS ON MY WAY FROM FLORIDA TO NORTH CAROLINA WHEN IT HAPPENED, I TURNED AROUND AND WENT TO CHEVROLET DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT IT, WAS CHECKED OUT AND MECHANIC SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. DROVE TO NORTH CAROLINA AND WHEN I ARRIVED AT MY SON'S HOME THE SAME THING HAPPENED TWICE. WE TOOK IT TO CHEVROLET DEALER IN MOORESVILLE,NC, THEY FOUND OUT THROUGH GM IT WAS THE ELECTRICAL BOX CAUSING ALL THE PROBLEMS AND THEY REPLACED IT WITH A NEW ONE. I WASN'T IN AN ACCIDENT BUT IT MADE ME SCARED TO DRIVE IT. I FEEL AS THOUGH GM SHOULD HAVE RECALLED IT AND NOT MAKE THE CONSUMER WONDERING. I WOULD LIKE GM TO BE NOTIFIED ABOUT THIS AND TO ALSO HEAR FROM THEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/21/2014 - LIVE OAK, FL
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 10 WHEN ELECTRICAL LIGHTING, RADIO, ETC START BLINKING ON AND OFF. I WAS ON MY WAY FROM FLORIDA TO NORTH CAROLINA WHEN IT HAPPENED, I TURNED AROUND AND WENT TO CHEVROLET DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT IT, WAS CHECKED OUT AND MECHANIC SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. DROVE TO NORTH CAROLINA AND WHEN I ARRIVED AT MY SON'S HOME THE SAME THING HAPPENED TWICE. WE TOOK IT TO CHEVROLET DEALER IN MOORESVILLE,NC, THEY FOUND OUT THROUGH GM IT WAS THE ELECTRICAL BOX CAUSING ALL THE PROBLEMS AND THEY REPLACED IT WITH A NEW ONE. I WASN'T IN AN ACCIDENT BUT IT MADE ME SCARED TO DRIVE IT. I FEEL AS THOUGH GM SHOULD HAVE RECALLED IT AND NOT MAKE THE CONSUMER WONDERING. I WOULD LIKE GM TO BE NOTIFIED ABOUT THIS AND TO ALSO HEAR FROM THEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/21/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
AIR BAG INDICATOR CAME ON 1 MONTH AFTER I BOUGHT THE CAR AND CALLED TO SEE IF IT WAS CPVERED BY THE MILLION RECALLS BUT WAS TOLD MY VIN NUMBER ISNT ON THE RECALL LIST. HOW IS IT THAT MY CAR IS DOING THE VERY THING THE OTHER 40,000 RECALLS FROM CHEVY BUT MINE ISNT COVERED. WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHEVY AND I AM COUNTING DOWN THE DAYS TIL I CAN TRADE IT IN!!!!+

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - KENNESAW, GA
SINCE PURCHASE AS USED, SLOW START SPEED WITH THE ENGINE ALMOST CUTTING OUT. RADIO FLICKERING ON AND OFF. ENGINE CUTTING OUT WHEN IDLING. ENGINE LIGHT FOR MASS AIR FLOW (MAF) SENSOR REPLACEMENT. REPLACED MAF SENSOR AND PROBLEM REMAINS. ENGINE FAN STAYING ON LONG AFTER ENGINE HAS SHUT OFF AND COOLED. SERVICE LIGHTS COMING OF FOR STABILITRACK AND OTHER RANDOM ISSUES. FRONT CIGARETTE LIGHTER WON'T CHARGE DEVICES. TIRE AIR PRESSURE SENSORS BACKWARDS ON DISPLAY, I.E. DISPLAY RIGHT FRONT TIRE IS ACTUALLY LEFT FRONT TIRE PRESSURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/13/2014 - KENNESAW, GA
SINCE PURCHASE AS USED, SLOW START SPEED WITH THE ENGINE ALMOST CUTTING OUT. RADIO FLICKERING ON AND OFF. ENGINE CUTTING OUT WHEN IDLING. ENGINE LIGHT FOR MASS AIR FLOW (MAF) SENSOR REPLACEMENT. REPLACED MAF SENSOR AND PROBLEM REMAINS. ENGINE FAN STAYING ON LONG AFTER ENGINE HAS SHUT OFF AND COOLED. SERVICE LIGHTS COMING OF FOR STABILITRACK AND OTHER RANDOM ISSUES. FRONT CIGARETTE LIGHTER WON'T CHARGE DEVICES. TIRE AIR PRESSURE SENSORS BACKWARDS ON DISPLAY, I.E. DISPLAY RIGHT FRONT TIRE IS ACTUALLY LEFT FRONT TIRE PRESSURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds