Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 99 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (35) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (2)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/18/2014 - CAMARILLO, CA
1. TOOK CAR IN TO DEALERSHIP IN AUG FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND COOLANT IS LOW, CAR OVERHEATS. CAR WAS IN SHOP FOR ALMOST 2 WEEKS (P/U SEPT 5TH). THEY REPL. RADIATOR, THERMOSTAT, SEPT 10 CAR STALLS AT MAJOR STOP LIGHT AND AGAIN AT A STOP SIGN. ENGINE STARTS MAKING A LOUD NOISE AND RUNS ROUGH. KEEPS STALLING AT IDLE. TAKE CAR BACK TO DEALER NEXT DAY SEPT 11. THEY HAVE THE CAR FOR 3 WEEKS. P/U OCT 7TH AFTER THEY REPL THE ENGINE AND SOME BOLTS. SALES AGENT ASSURES ME THAT THERE WILL BE NO MORE PROBLEMS ITS FIXED. 5 MINS ON THE FWY AT 70MPH IN FAST LANE AT LUNCH HOUR CAR JUST TURNS OFF ALMOST HAD A MAJOR ACCIDENT TRYING TO GET OVER FOUR LANES. STOPS COMPLETELY IN THE MIDDLE OF SLOW LANE BY ON-RAMP ALMOST WAS HIT TWICE STARTED THE KEY AND IT TURNED ON GOT OFF FWY AND TOOK DIRECTLY BACK TO DEALER WHO CALLED ME THREE DAYS LATER AND STATED THAT A CONNECTOR WAS BAD AND THATS WHY IT TURNED OFF AND THEY ORDERED THE PART AND THAT SHOULD TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM P/U CAR IN THREE DAYS. SALES AGENT CALLED BACK DAY I WAS TO P/U AND SAID THEY WERE STILL WORKING ON IT AND I TOLD HIM I WANT TO TALK WITH A SUPERVISOR I WILL NOT DRIVE THE CAR OFF LOT, COME TO FIND OUT THAT DAY ON THE FWY THAT IT HAD NEVER BEEN TEST DRIVEN. CONTACTING BUSINESS BUREAU AND ATTORNEY AT THIS POINT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2014 - CAMARILLO, CA
1. TOOK CAR IN TO DEALERSHIP IN AUG FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND COOLANT IS LOW, CAR OVERHEATS. CAR WAS IN SHOP FOR ALMOST 2 WEEKS (P/U SEPT 5TH). THEY REPL. RADIATOR, THERMOSTAT, SEPT 10 CAR STALLS AT MAJOR STOP LIGHT AND AGAIN AT A STOP SIGN. ENGINE STARTS MAKING A LOUD NOISE AND RUNS ROUGH. KEEPS STALLING AT IDLE. TAKE CAR BACK TO DEALER NEXT DAY SEPT 11. THEY HAVE THE CAR FOR 3 WEEKS. P/U OCT 7TH AFTER THEY REPL THE ENGINE AND SOME BOLTS. SALES AGENT ASSURES ME THAT THERE WILL BE NO MORE PROBLEMS ITS FIXED. 5 MINS ON THE FWY AT 70MPH IN FAST LANE AT LUNCH HOUR CAR JUST TURNS OFF ALMOST HAD A MAJOR ACCIDENT TRYING TO GET OVER FOUR LANES. STOPS COMPLETELY IN THE MIDDLE OF SLOW LANE BY ON-RAMP ALMOST WAS HIT TWICE STARTED THE KEY AND IT TURNED ON GOT OFF FWY AND TOOK DIRECTLY BACK TO DEALER WHO CALLED ME THREE DAYS LATER AND STATED THAT A CONNECTOR WAS BAD AND THATS WHY IT TURNED OFF AND THEY ORDERED THE PART AND THAT SHOULD TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM P/U CAR IN THREE DAYS. SALES AGENT CALLED BACK DAY I WAS TO P/U AND SAID THEY WERE STILL WORKING ON IT AND I TOLD HIM I WANT TO TALK WITH A SUPERVISOR I WILL NOT DRIVE THE CAR OFF LOT, COME TO FIND OUT THAT DAY ON THE FWY THAT IT HAD NEVER BEEN TEST DRIVEN. CONTACTING BUSINESS BUREAU AND ATTORNEY AT THIS POINT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/16/2014 - MILWAUKEE, WI
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO A TRANSMISSION RECALL. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THE PARTS WOULD HAVE TO BE ORDERED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/15/2014 - WILLIAMSON, WV
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES TO EXPRESS A COMPLAINT CONCERNING THE SERVICE RECEIVED FOR A SAFETY RECALL. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, THE PARTS NEEDED TO BE ORDERED. RECALL # 14V315000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/4/2014 - ROMEOVILLE, IL
PULLED INTO MY WORK PARKING LOT AND GEAR SHIFTER WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO PARK. AFTER TRYING MULTIPLE TIMES AND BEATING ON IT I FINALLY GOT IT INTO PARK BUT KEY WOULD NOT TURN OFF OR COME OUT OF IGNITION. PUT BACK INTO DRIVE AND WENT THROUGH ALL GEARS (NEUTRAL, REVERSE AND DRIVE) BEFORE I COULD FINALLY PUT IT IN PARK AND TURN OFF THE KEY AND TAKE KEY OUT OF IGNITION. HAPPENED AGAIN THE FOLLOWING WEEK, HAD IT TOWED TO DEALER. THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT. HE COULD NOT TOW IT WITHOUT GETTING IT INTO NEUTRAL. THEY HAD TO BREAK THE SHIFTER IN ORDER FOR ME TO DRIVE IT UNTIL THE NEW SHIFTER CAME IN. DEALER WOULD NOT REPLACE WITHOUT CHARGE. SO, I WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO REPLACE THE SHIFTER EVERY THREE YEARS TO THE TUNE OF $400.00. ALSO, AIR INTAKE HOSE HAS BROKEN AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF. CAN ONLY ORDER THROUGH DEALER. DUCK TAPED IT UNTIL YOU RECALL IT FOR ENGINEERING DESIGN DEFECT. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO REPLACE THIS HOSE EVERY THREE YEARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/1/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SAFETY RECALL CONCERNING THE TURBINE SHAFT. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. RECALL # 14V315000. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED, IT TOOK A NUMBER OF DAYS FOR THE DEALER TO CORRECT AN OUTSIDE WATER LEAK ON THE RIGHT, FRONT PASSENGER OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/1/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SAFETY RECALL CONCERNING THE TURBINE SHAFT. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. RECALL # 14V315000. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED, IT TOOK A NUMBER OF DAYS FOR THE DEALER TO CORRECT AN OUTSIDE WATER LEAK ON THE RIGHT, FRONT PASSENGER OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - YUMA, AZ
AS I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN IN AN INTERSECTION AT 5:30AM MY REAR GLASS WINDOW BURST AND ALL THE GLASS SHATTERED LEAVING GLASS ON THE FOUR SIDES ONLY. INEXPLICABLE HOW IT HAPPENED, MY FIRST REACTION WAS TOO LOOK BACK AND SEE IF ANYBODY HAD HIT US, BUT WHEN I LOOKED THROUGH THE REAR/SIDE MIRRORS THERE WAS NO CARS BEHIND US OR NEAR US. THE SAME MORNING I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOWED MY VEHICLE TO THE SHOP FOR A TRANSMISSION RECALL, PER THE DEALER THEY WOULD NOT COVER IT UNDER THE WARRANTY DUE TO GENERAL MOTORS HAD NO OTHER VEHICLES REPORTING THE SAME INCIDENT. I FEEL IT SHOULD BE LOOKED AT BECAUSE I'M SURE MANY 2012 CHEVY SONICS HAVE IT AS A DEFECT. WITH SO MANY RECALLS I WOULDN'T DOUBT THAT THE WINDOWS ARE BEING RECALLED AS WELL.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

9/16/2014 - MUSKOGEE, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON FIVE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RELAY BOX NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND GEAR BOX WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE, REVERSE, OR PARK. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEARS WERE DIFFICULT TO SHIFT DURING THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE INTAKE DUCT AND BOOT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds