Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (33) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (2)
Engine (22) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

10/1/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SAFETY RECALL CONCERNING THE TURBINE SHAFT. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. RECALL # 14V315000. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED, IT TOOK A NUMBER OF DAYS FOR THE DEALER TO CORRECT AN OUTSIDE WATER LEAK ON THE RIGHT, FRONT PASSENGER OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/1/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SAFETY RECALL CONCERNING THE TURBINE SHAFT. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. RECALL # 14V315000. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED, IT TOOK A NUMBER OF DAYS FOR THE DEALER TO CORRECT AN OUTSIDE WATER LEAK ON THE RIGHT, FRONT PASSENGER OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - YUMA, AZ
AS I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN IN AN INTERSECTION AT 5:30AM MY REAR GLASS WINDOW BURST AND ALL THE GLASS SHATTERED LEAVING GLASS ON THE FOUR SIDES ONLY. INEXPLICABLE HOW IT HAPPENED, MY FIRST REACTION WAS TOO LOOK BACK AND SEE IF ANYBODY HAD HIT US, BUT WHEN I LOOKED THROUGH THE REAR/SIDE MIRRORS THERE WAS NO CARS BEHIND US OR NEAR US. THE SAME MORNING I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOWED MY VEHICLE TO THE SHOP FOR A TRANSMISSION RECALL, PER THE DEALER THEY WOULD NOT COVER IT UNDER THE WARRANTY DUE TO GENERAL MOTORS HAD NO OTHER VEHICLES REPORTING THE SAME INCIDENT. I FEEL IT SHOULD BE LOOKED AT BECAUSE I'M SURE MANY 2012 CHEVY SONICS HAVE IT AS A DEFECT. WITH SO MANY RECALLS I WOULDN'T DOUBT THAT THE WINDOWS ARE BEING RECALLED AS WELL.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

9/16/2014 - MUSKOGEE, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON FIVE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RELAY BOX NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND GEAR BOX WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE, REVERSE, OR PARK. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEARS WERE DIFFICULT TO SHIFT DURING THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE INTAKE DUCT AND BOOT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND GEAR BOX WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE, REVERSE, OR PARK. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STALLED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEARS WERE DIFFICULT TO SHIFT DURING THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE INTAKE DUCT AND BOOT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/8/2014 - MAPLEWOOD, MO
WHEN I AM SLOWING AND THERE IS A GRATE IN THE STREET, MY VEHICLE HAS PROBLEMS BRAKING. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES EVERY TIME I AM ON A GRATE, WHICH IS FAIRLY COMMON IN THE CITY. I TOLD JIM BUTLER AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES (THEY WERE DOING AN OIL CHANGE AND SAID THEY CHECKED THE BRAKES). WHEN I DRIVE OVER ICE, IT MAKES A LOUD NOISE AND THERE APPEARS TO BE A PROBLEM BRAKING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/27/2014 - ALFRED, ME
I'M EXPERIENCING SOME ISSUES WITH THE AIRBAG PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR WHICH IS IN RED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER. SAME DESCRIPTION OF THE AIRBAG RECALL MADE ON THE CHEVROLET SONIC, BUT MINE IS NOT INCLUDED. I DID RECEIVED A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION, BUT I DO BELIEVE THAT AIRBAGS IS A LIFE HAZARD FOR ANY DRIVER. I CALLED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE, WAS TOLD NO RECALLS ON MY MODEL, BUT NOT INTEREST SHOWN IN FINDING OUT ABOUT THOSE ISSUES. TO BE HONEST THERE ARE A LOT OF THINGS WRONG WITH THE CAR, BUT FOR NOW I'M INTEREST IN MAKING SURE MY AIRBAG IS WORKING AND I'M MORE SECURE ON THE TIME OF AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/26/2014 - ENGLAND, AR
I WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT AND IT WAS WARM OUTSIDE.....SO BUGS CAKED ONTO THE WINDSHIELD. WHEN THE BUGS CAKED ONTO THE WINDSHIELD I TRIED TO USE MY WINDSHIELD CLEANER AND NOTHING WOULD COME OUT AND I ENDED UP SMEARING THE BUGS. I ABSOLUTELY COULD NOT SEE....SO I MADE IT TO THE NEAREST GAS STATION AND CHECKED THE RESERVOIR TO FIND IT EMPTY. I WENT INTO THE GAS STATION AND BOUGHT A CHEAP BOTTLE OF CLEAN AND PUT IT INTO THE RESERVOIR, AND AS SOON AS I PUT IT IN A PUDDLE DRAINED FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR. I FOUND THAT THE RESERVOIR COULD NOT HOLD THE LIQUID AND I FIGURED THAT A HOSE MUST BE LOOSE.

View Details

STEERING: COLUMN

8/25/2014 - NITRO, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO NOTIFY THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER ABOUT HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION), BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE CONTACT ALSO HEARD A POPPING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AND NOTICED A STRONG PERSISTENT ODOR OF FUEL COMING THROUGH THE VENTILATION SYSTEM. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN, FUEL PUMP, AND CALIPER PINS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURES RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds