Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 183 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (74) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (17) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (9) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/23/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
SHIFT GEAR CRACKED ABOUT A MONTH AGO...TWO MONTHS AGO KEYS BROKE,TODAY SITTING AT STOP LIGHT COULDN'T GET CAR INTO GEAR. EVERY GEAR WENT TO REVERSE. HAD TO HAVE CAKE TOWED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2016 - DUNDALK, MD
WHEN I PRESS THE GAS PEDAL THE RPMS SHOOT UP BUT CAR EXCELERATES SLOWLY. IT JERKS HARD WHEN SWITCHING TO ANOTHER GEAR AND TAKES SEVERAL MINUTES TO FINALLY GET TO A SAFE SPEED. SOMETIMES THE CAR STRUGGLES TO GO UPHILL AND HARDLY ABLE TO REVERSE. DEALERSHIP CLEARED MY ENGINE CODES DURING MY LAST OIL CHANGE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON A WEEK LATER, AUTOZONE PULLED 3 CODES (P0700, P0300 AND P0717). CHANGED MY SPARK PLUGS, USED LUCAS OIL/5.25 OZ. FUEL TREATMENT TWICE BUT STILL NO CHANGE. SOMETIMES I CAN SMELL BURNING RUBBER. THIS PROBLEM MAKES IT HARD TO SAFELY MERGE ONTO HIGHWAYS AND GET THROUGH TRAFFIC LIGHTS FAST ENOUGH. NOW AUTOZONE HAS ACCIDENTALLY CLEARED MY CODES SO I CAN'T SEE IF ANY OF THE ABOVE LISTED CODES HAVE BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2016 - DUNDALK, MD
WHEN I PRESS THE GAS PEDAL THE RPMS SHOOT UP BUT CAR EXCELERATES SLOWLY. IT JERKS HARD WHEN SWITCHING TO ANOTHER GEAR AND TAKES SEVERAL MINUTES TO FINALLY GET TO A SAFE SPEED. SOMETIMES THE CAR STRUGGLES TO GO UPHILL AND HARDLY ABLE TO REVERSE. DEALERSHIP CLEARED MY ENGINE CODES DURING MY LAST OIL CHANGE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON A WEEK LATER, AUTOZONE PULLED 3 CODES (P0700, P0300 AND P0717). CHANGED MY SPARK PLUGS, USED LUCAS OIL/5.25 OZ. FUEL TREATMENT TWICE BUT STILL NO CHANGE. SOMETIMES I CAN SMELL BURNING RUBBER. THIS PROBLEM MAKES IT HARD TO SAFELY MERGE ONTO HIGHWAYS AND GET THROUGH TRAFFIC LIGHTS FAST ENOUGH. NOW AUTOZONE HAS ACCIDENTALLY CLEARED MY CODES SO I CAN'T SEE IF ANY OF THE ABOVE LISTED CODES HAVE BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/13/2016 - DUNDALK, MD
WHEN I PRESS THE GAS PEDAL THE RPMS SHOOT UP BUT CAR EXCELERATES SLOWLY. IT JERKS HARD WHEN SWITCHING TO ANOTHER GEAR AND TAKES SEVERAL MINUTES TO FINALLY GET TO A SAFE SPEED. SOMETIMES THE CAR STRUGGLES TO GO UPHILL AND HARDLY ABLE TO REVERSE. DEALERSHIP CLEARED MY ENGINE CODES DURING MY LAST OIL CHANGE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME BACK ON A WEEK LATER, AUTOZONE PULLED 3 CODES (P0700, P0300 AND P0717). CHANGED MY SPARK PLUGS, USED LUCAS OIL/5.25 OZ. FUEL TREATMENT TWICE BUT STILL NO CHANGE. SOMETIMES I CAN SMELL BURNING RUBBER. THIS PROBLEM MAKES IT HARD TO SAFELY MERGE ONTO HIGHWAYS AND GET THROUGH TRAFFIC LIGHTS FAST ENOUGH. NOW AUTOZONE HAS ACCIDENTALLY CLEARED MY CODES SO I CAN'T SEE IF ANY OF THE ABOVE LISTED CODES HAVE BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2016 - ROYAL OAK, MI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET (STRAIGHT AND FLAT, NO TURNS OR HILLS) AT 25 MPH AND WENT TO USE MY BRAKES. TO MY SURPRISE THERE WAS NO POWER ASSIST. THE CAR ONLY HAS 48K MILES ON IT AND HAD NEVER DISPLAYED BRAKING PROBLEMS PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT. THE CAR DID NOT HAVE ISSUES AT THE STOP SIGN JUST A BLOCK BEFORE. AS IT HAPPENED A FEW BLOCKS FROM MY HOUSE, I DROVE IT HOME AND PARKED IT. BESIDES THE LACK OF POWER ASSIST, THE MOTOR STARTED TO IDLE ROUGH-- IT WOULD SURGE TO 2500 RPM AND THEN SLOW DOWN TO 700 RPM, ALL WITH NO THROTTLE INPUT. WHEN I POPPED THE HOOD, TO LOOK FOR AN OBVIOUS LOOSE HOSE, I DID NOT SEE ANYTHING THAT LOOKED OUT OF THE NORM. HOWEVER, THERE WAS QUITE A BIT MORE NOISE THAN NORMAL-- IT WAS A COMBINATION OF HISSING AND WHIRRING. NOT THE NORMAL SOUND THE ENGINE WOULD MAKE WHILE RUNNING WITH THE HOOD OPEN. THERE WERE SOME NOISES COMING FROM THE BRAKE BOOSTER AREA (DRIVER'S SIDE BY THE FIREWALL) THAT I HAD NEVER HEARD PRIOR TO THAT DAY. THE CAR HAS A 1.8 FOUR CYLINDER AND A 5 SPEED MANUAL. THE ISSUES DID NOT IMPACT THE CLUTCH PEDAL IN ANY WAY, SO I DOUBT IT IS THE MASTER CYLINDER. AS I NOTED IT SEEMS TO BE A BRAKE BOOSTER ISSUE... HOWEVER, I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO GET IT TO A GARAGE YET AS THE ISSUE JUST HAPPENED. (I AM NO MECHANIC, BUT HAVE A DECENT UNDERSTANDING OF HOW CARS WORK.) EITHER WAY, IT WAS QUITE A SURPRISE. WHILE I AM A MALE IN GOOD PHYSICAL SHAPE, EVEN I NEEDED TO STAND ON THE BRAKES TO GET THE CAR TO SLOW DOWN FROM ONLY 25 MPH-- HAD I BEEN GOING FASTER, I WOULD HAVE LIKELY NEEDED TO USE THE E-BRAKE TO SLOW THE CAR. AGAIN, AT THIS TIME THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED, BUT THE ISSUE HAPPENED JUST YESTERDAY. FOR WHAT IT IS WORTH, THE TEMPERATURE WAS COLD AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT (15 F), BUT THERE WAS NO SNOW OR ICE ON THE ROAD, AND IT WAS SUNNY OUT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2016 - DUNDALK, MD
I HAVE AN AUTOMATIC CAR. WHEN I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, I BELIEVE ITS CALLED THE GEAR SHIFT BUTTON, GETS STUCK FOR SEVERAL MINUTES AND I CANNOT REMOVE MY KEY FROM THE IGNITION UNTIL IT POPS OUT. REPORTED THIS TO MY DEALERSHIP AND THEY SPAYED SOME OIL AROUND THE BUTTON BUT THAT DID NOT HELP. THIS HAPPENS DAILY. SOMETIMES IT TAKES A FEW SECONDS FOR THE BUTTON TO POP AND OTHER TIMES IT HAS TAKEN UP TO 10 MINUTES FOR THE BUTTON TO RELEASE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/11/2016 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 73,581.

View Details

ENGINE

1/29/2016 - GREENEVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC COMMUTING MY GRANDCHILD TO PRE-K,PULLING OUT FROM STOP SIGN ONTO STRAIGHTAWAY STREET CROSSING IN FRONT OF DISTANT ONCOMING TRAFFIC,AND MY CAR STALLED,VERY SCARY AS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY BAD WRECK WITH MY GRANDCHILD BEING HURT AS MYSELF! FORTUNATELY I LET COAST TO SIDE OF STREET AS I WAS ONLY GOING 10 MILES OR LESS AN HOUR WHEN IT SHUT OFF! IT WOULDN'T START RIGHT OFF! IT FINALLY STARTED AFTER A FEW SECONDS,MAYBE 5 OR MORE WENT BY! THIS IS VERY DISTURBING AS IT RISKS MY LIFE ,PLUS ANOTHER ALSO,AS HE IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD! I NEED TO KNOW IF CAR IS EVEN SAFE TO KEEP DRIVING!

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/20/2016 - BLAINE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE STABILIZER SHAFT LINK JOINT WAS LOSE AT THE BAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE STABILIZER SHAFT LINK THREE TIMES. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,272.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/12/2016 - NORTH EAST, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT LATCH THAT ATTACHES THE SEAT BELT TO THE VEHICLE SEAT FRACTURED ON THE DRIVER SIDE AND BECAME DETACHED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT EXPERIENCED THE SAME FRACTURE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,573.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds