Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 242 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (99) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (55) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/31/2017 - SHORELINE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE STARTED UP WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AUTO-START FEATURE MAY HAVE MALFUNCTIONED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AGAIN AND SEEMED AS IF IT WOULD STALL. BELL PIERRE CHEVROLET IN SEATTLE, WASHINGTON WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES BY PHONE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 27,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2017 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
MY CHEVROLET SONIC HAS DEVELOPED AN ISSUE WHERE THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFT LEVER BUTTON IS STICKING IN THE +IN+ POSITION. IN THIS POSITION, THE TRANSMISSION GEARS CAN BE CHANGED WITHOUT TOUCHING THE BUTTON IS SUCH A FASHION AS TO MOVE THE TRANSMISSION FROM PARK TO REVERSE, NEUTRAL, DRIVE AND IN THIS MODULE IT HAS A SO CALLED MANUAL MODE. SO ONE COULD BUMP THE GEAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE OR FROM DRIVE TO REVERSE JUST BY TOUCHING THE GEAR SHIFTER. OF COURSE, WITH THIS BUTTON IN THE IN POSITION YOU CANNOT REMOVE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND THUS REPORTING IT AS SUCH. THIS ISSUE CAN HAPPEN BOTH DRIVING AND BEFORE DRIVING. AS IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THE CAR THIS WAY I WILL BE TAKING THIS IN TO A CHEVROLET DEALER TO BE FIXED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/25/2017 - VALLEY VILLAGE, CA
IN HOT WEATHER, CAR ALARM WILL SOUND FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER WHILE VEHICLE IS PARKED -- EVEN AFTER ENGINE HAS COOLED. THIS HAPPENED LAST YEAR AROUND APRIL. I TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. IT JUST BEGAN HAPPENING AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2017 - WESTFORD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE GEAR SHIFTER IN DRIVE, THE TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTED INTO SECOND GEAR. THE VEHICLE THEN DECELERATED TO 30 MPH, JERKED BACK AND FORTH WITH A LOUD UNKNOWN NOISE, AND THEN WENT INTO IDLE MODE. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC (LOWELL AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IN MA), WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBINE FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TOWED TO THE DEALER (LANNAN CHEVROLET LOCATED AT 831 ROGERS ST, LOWELL MA, 01852) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHAFT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2017 - CAMILLUS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SHIFTER BUTTON WOULD DEPRESS, BUT NOT RELEASE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS AND THE KEY BECAME DIFFICULT TO REMOVE FROM THE IGNITION UNTIL THE SHIFTER BUTTON WAS RELEASED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHIFTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE PREVIOUSLY HAD THE SHIFTER REPLACED TWICE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,956.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2017 - FLORENCE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND DECELERATED. THE GEAR FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,200.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/16/2017 - GRANTS PASS, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG OFF INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WHEN THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED WITH AN ADULT WHO WEIGHED 145 POUNDS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2017 - ROCHESTER, NY
CAR ACCELERATED ON IT'S OWN IN DRIVE AND REVERSE CAUSING MY HUSBAND TO HIT A FENCE IN DRIVE AND HITTING A TREE IN REVERSE, HE WAS DRIVING ON A CITY STREET, NO ONE SEEK ANY MEDICAL TREATMENT, CALLED THE POLICE WHEN HE GOT HOME AND MADE A REPORT BUT DO NOT HAVE IT ON HAND.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/26/2017 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC WAS INVOLVED IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT RESULTING IN INJURY TO ME BECAUSE MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE SEVERAL RECALL CAMPAIGNS ON THE VEHICLE THAT DID NOT COME UP UNDER MY VIN.CAMPAIGN ID 12V52200, CAMPAIGN ID 13V023000, CAMPAIGN ID14V315000, CAMPAIGN ID 14V317000 CAMPAIGN ID 11V599000, CAMPAIGN ID, 12V408000. I COLLIDED WITH A VEHICLE THAT HAD BLEW A STOP SIGN AS I PROCEEDED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. MY VEHICLE T-BONE THE OTHER VEHICLE. MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY THE OTHER VEHICLES AIR BAGS DID. MY CAR HAS BEEN SERVICE AT MODERN CHEVROLET UNIVERSITY PARKWAY IN WINSTON SALEM NC SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN NOV. 2012 FROM THAT DEALERSHIP. THE ONLY RECALLS THE DEALERSHIP OR GM HAS NOTIFIED ME ABOUT WERE ONLY GM CAMPAIGN ID 12172 REPLACE SWAYBAR LINKS AND GM CAMPAIGN ID12176. VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/26/2017 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC WAS INVOLVED IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT RESULTING IN INJURY TO ME BECAUSE MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE SEVERAL RECALL CAMPAIGNS ON THE VEHICLE THAT DID NOT COME UP UNDER MY VIN.CAMPAIGN ID 12V52200, CAMPAIGN ID 13V023000, CAMPAIGN ID14V315000, CAMPAIGN ID 14V317000 CAMPAIGN ID 11V599000, CAMPAIGN ID, 12V408000. I COLLIDED WITH A VEHICLE THAT HAD BLEW A STOP SIGN AS I PROCEEDED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. MY VEHICLE T-BONE THE OTHER VEHICLE. MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY THE OTHER VEHICLES AIR BAGS DID. MY CAR HAS BEEN SERVICE AT MODERN CHEVROLET UNIVERSITY PARKWAY IN WINSTON SALEM NC SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN NOV. 2012 FROM THAT DEALERSHIP. THE ONLY RECALLS THE DEALERSHIP OR GM HAS NOTIFIED ME ABOUT WERE ONLY GM CAMPAIGN ID 12172 REPLACE SWAYBAR LINKS AND GM CAMPAIGN ID12176. VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds