Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (22)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (84) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (12) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2016 - GARLAND, TX
THE BUTTON THAT IS DEPRESSED TO PUT THE CAR IN AND OUT OF GEAR STICKS IN PLACE, ALLOWING FOR THE GEAR SHIFT TO BE PUSHED OUT OF PLACE. I HAVE HAD TROUBLE NUMEROUS TIMES GETTING MY CAR INTO PARK BECAUSE THE STUCK BUTTON CAUSES THE GEAR SHIFT TO GET CAUGHT IN REVERSE, AND TODAY I ACCIDENTALLY PUSHED THE GEAR SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL WHILE SITTING AT A RED LIGHT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/30/2016 - OMAHA, NE
THE BUTTON ON THE GEAR SHIFT STICKS. WHEN THE BUTTON WON'T POP OUT AFTER BEING PUT INTO GEAR, IT CAN BE BUMPED AND MOVED INTO ANOTHER GEAR CAUSING A SAFETY RISK. THE GEAR SHIFT SHOULD BE RECALLED! ALSO WHEN I'M IN PARK AND IT WON'T POP OUT, MY CAR WILL NOT LET ME REMOVE THE KEYS. AND WHEN THE KEYS ARE IN THE IGNITION, THE CAR WON'T LOCK. MY CAR IS ALSO NOW LIKELY TO BE STOLEN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/19/2016 - OMAHA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V300000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,985.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - DOWNEY, CA
THIS CAR HAS GIVEN ME SO MANY PROBLEMS. THE RADIATOR, THE MOTOR EVERYTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2016 - FRIENDSWOOD, TX
AIR INTAKE HOSE HAS BEEN REPLACED DUE TO CRACKING ONLY 3 YEARS OLD AT THAT TIME ABOUT 45K MILES. NOW THE SHIFT KNOB STICKS AND THE BUTTON TAKES FOREVER TO RELEASE, OR I HAVE TO POP IT BACK OUT SO I CAN TAKE THE KEY OUT OTHERWISE THE KEY GETS STUCK. GETTING WORSE...NOW IT IS BECOMING HARDER TO SHIFT INTO PARK. ALL THESE PROBLEMS OCCUR WHEN STATIONARY...I HAVE NOT ATTEMPTED TO MOVE THE CAR INTO OTHER GEARS WHILE IN MOTION BUT I KNOW IT WILL HAPPEN IF IT IS PUSHED WHILE THAT BUTTON IS NOT RELEASED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2016 - FRIENDSWOOD, TX
AIR INTAKE HOSE HAS BEEN REPLACED DUE TO CRACKING ONLY 3 YEARS OLD AT THAT TIME ABOUT 45K MILES. NOW THE SHIFT KNOB STICKS AND THE BUTTON TAKES FOREVER TO RELEASE, OR I HAVE TO POP IT BACK OUT SO I CAN TAKE THE KEY OUT OTHERWISE THE KEY GETS STUCK. GETTING WORSE...NOW IT IS BECOMING HARDER TO SHIFT INTO PARK. ALL THESE PROBLEMS OCCUR WHEN STATIONARY...I HAVE NOT ATTEMPTED TO MOVE THE CAR INTO OTHER GEARS WHILE IN MOTION BUT I KNOW IT WILL HAPPEN IF IT IS PUSHED WHILE THAT BUTTON IS NOT RELEASED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/10/2016 - OMAHA, NE
I NOTICED THE BUTTON ON MY GEAR SHIFT WOULD ALWAYS STICK WHEN I EITHER WENT TO PUT THE CAR INTO GEAR OR INTO PARK. I COULD NOT SHUT THE CAR COMPLETELY OFF UNTIL I GOT THE BUTTON UNSTUCK. THEN, I NOTICED THAT THE BUTTON WAS BROKE. THIS WOULD HAPPEN ANYTIME I USED THE BUTTON. IT HAD BEEN STICKING ON ME FOR A WHILE, BUT I NOTICED IT WAS BROKE ON 6/9/2016.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/5/2016 - MILLERSPORT, OH
THEY KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION, AND THE GEAR SHIFT KEEPS GETTING STUCK. THE KEY WILL RELEASE AFTER THE CAR HAS SET FOR OVER 15 MINUTES. GETS STUCK AFTER I SHUT OFF THE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2016 - JUPITER, FL
AUTOMATIC GEAR SHIFT BUTTON STICKS. SHIFT LEVER CAN MOVE FROM DRIVE TO NEUTRAL TO REVERSE TO PARK WITHOUT LOCKING AS THE BUTTON IS STUCK DEPRESSED. KEYS CANNOT BE REMOVED WHEN CAR IS IN PARK. STATIONARY AND IN MOTION. MULTIPLE TIMES. SITUATION IS GETTING PROGRESSIVELY WORSE, I.E. BUTTON IS STICKING MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/23/2016 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE VEHICLE FELT LOOSE FROM UNDERNEATH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT THERE WAS NO FAILURE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FAILURE RECURRED FIVE MONTHS LATER AND IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE MADE A HUMMING NOISE WHEN MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STABILIZER LINKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDOW WASHER FLUID DRAINED ON THE ENGINE, AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE HOSE CONNECTED TO THE FLUID CONTAINER WAS DISCONNECTED AND NEEDED TO RECONNECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds