Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 128 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (52) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (2)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/10/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
A FEW MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING MY 2012 CHEVY SONIC, I'VE NOTICED A DECEASE IN POWER AND HESITATION IN ITS AUTOMATIC SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. I'VE TAKEN IT IN SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, AND EACH TIME THE SERVICE TECHS (EVEN THE SERVICE MANAGER) HAS TOLD ME AND EXPLAINED THAT IT IS BEHAVING "NORMAL" AND "TO DESIGN". IF IT WERE "NORMAL" WHY HADN'T IT DONE THAT DRIVING RIGHT OFF THE LOT??? AND WHY IS IT, YEARS LATER, ITS SHIFTING HESITATION HAS GOTTEN WORSE TO THE POINT OF SEVERE JERKING AS IT SHIFTS FROM ONE GEAR TO ANOTHER, AS IF SOMEONE WERE LEARNING HOW TO DRIVE STICK FOR THE FIRST TIME?????? THERE IS NOTHING "NORMAL" ABOUT HOW MY VEHICLE IS PERFORMING. IT IS COMPLETE[XXX] THAT I'VE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR YEARS. AND THEY REFUSE TO ADMIT THERE'S A PROBLEM, NOR WILL THEY SERVICE IT, WHICH MAKES MY VEHICLE INELIGIBLE TO BE CLAIMED AS A LEMON, WHICH IT OBVIOUSLY IS!!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/10/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
A FEW MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING MY 2012 CHEVY SONIC, I'VE NOTICED A DECEASE IN POWER AND HESITATION IN ITS AUTOMATIC SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. I'VE TAKEN IT IN SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, AND EACH TIME THE SERVICE TECHS (EVEN THE SERVICE MANAGER) HAS TOLD ME AND EXPLAINED THAT IT IS BEHAVING "NORMAL" AND "TO DESIGN". IF IT WERE "NORMAL" WHY HADN'T IT DONE THAT DRIVING RIGHT OFF THE LOT??? AND WHY IS IT, YEARS LATER, ITS SHIFTING HESITATION HAS GOTTEN WORSE TO THE POINT OF SEVERE JERKING AS IT SHIFTS FROM ONE GEAR TO ANOTHER, AS IF SOMEONE WERE LEARNING HOW TO DRIVE STICK FOR THE FIRST TIME?????? THERE IS NOTHING "NORMAL" ABOUT HOW MY VEHICLE IS PERFORMING. IT IS COMPLETE[XXX] THAT I'VE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR YEARS. AND THEY REFUSE TO ADMIT THERE'S A PROBLEM, NOR WILL THEY SERVICE IT, WHICH MAKES MY VEHICLE INELIGIBLE TO BE CLAIMED AS A LEMON, WHICH IT OBVIOUSLY IS!!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
A FEW MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING MY 2012 CHEVY SONIC, I'VE NOTICED A DECEASE IN POWER AND HESITATION IN ITS AUTOMATIC SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. I'VE TAKEN IT IN SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, AND EACH TIME THE SERVICE TECHS (EVEN THE SERVICE MANAGER) HAS TOLD ME AND EXPLAINED THAT IT IS BEHAVING "NORMAL" AND "TO DESIGN". IF IT WERE "NORMAL" WHY HADN'T IT DONE THAT DRIVING RIGHT OFF THE LOT??? AND WHY IS IT, YEARS LATER, ITS SHIFTING HESITATION HAS GOTTEN WORSE TO THE POINT OF SEVERE JERKING AS IT SHIFTS FROM ONE GEAR TO ANOTHER, AS IF SOMEONE WERE LEARNING HOW TO DRIVE STICK FOR THE FIRST TIME?????? THERE IS NOTHING "NORMAL" ABOUT HOW MY VEHICLE IS PERFORMING. IT IS COMPLETE[XXX] THAT I'VE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR YEARS. AND THEY REFUSE TO ADMIT THERE'S A PROBLEM, NOR WILL THEY SERVICE IT, WHICH MAKES MY VEHICLE INELIGIBLE TO BE CLAIMED AS A LEMON, WHICH IT OBVIOUSLY IS!!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/5/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
AS THE ONLY DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE, I AM MAD THAT MY DOOR MALFUNCTIONED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/29/2015 - EAST MORICHES, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT SPORADICALLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

1/22/2015 - TAMPA, FL
THE BUTTON TO RELEASE THE CAR OUT OF GEAR, AND ONCE IN PARK THAT RELEASES THE KEY CAME APART. IT HAS BEEN STICKING FOR AWHILE THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN, SOMETHING SHARP STARTED POKING OUT OF THE BOTTOM OF THE BUTTON, AND IT HAS CUT MY HUSBAND'S HAND. NOW THE BUTTON BARELY PUSHES IN AND THE CAR IS VERY HARD TO GET OUT OF PARK.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/19/2015 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR, BUT THE LATEST IS THE ENGINE LIGHT, REDUCED POWER LIGHT, AND THE GAS CAP. WHILE DRIVING THE ENGINE LIGHT, AND REDUCED POWER LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR IMMEDIATELY SLOWED DOWN WHICH ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE I WAS GOING 45 MPH. TOOK THE CAR TO CASEY, AND THEY COULDN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. THEY DECIDED TO REPLACE THE COMPUTER SYSTEM ON THE CAR BECAUSE IT WAS STILL COVERED BY WARRANTY. THE LIGHT CAME BACK ON FIVE DAYS LATER, BUT THIS TIME I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE IN THE TUNNEL. I BARELY MADE IT OUT WITHOUT CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. LASTLY, I WENT TO THE GAS STATION AND COULDN'T GET THE GAS CAP OFF. I HAD TO USE A WRENCH TO GET THE GAS CAP OFF. BOUGHT ANOTHER GAS CAP AND IT DID THE SAME THING. I ONLY HAVE 40,000 MILES ON THIS CAR.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

1/19/2015 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
WHEN I PLACE THE CAR IN PARK THE GEAR SHIFT WILL NOT COMPLETELY RELEASE OR REGISTER THE CAR IS IN PARK. MY KEY WILL NOT RELEASE, AND I HAVE TO PLACE THE CAR IN DRIVE THEN PARK SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE KEY WILL RELEASE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/9/2015 - BROWNSVILLE, TX
GEAR SHIFT KNOB STICKS PREVENTING REMOVAL OF KEY. 2. GEAR SHIFT KNOB WILL NOT RETURN TO NORMAL POSITION PREVENTING STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK WHEN VEHICLE IS UNOCCUPIED, THIS SEEMS TO BE COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS OF SIMILAR NATURE ON WEB FORUMS.

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2015 - BROWNSVILLE, TX
GEAR SHIFT KNOB STICKS PREVENTING REMOVAL OF KEY. 2. GEAR SHIFT KNOB WILL NOT RETURN TO NORMAL POSITION PREVENTING STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK WHEN VEHICLE IS UNOCCUPIED, THIS SEEMS TO BE COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS OF SIMILAR NATURE ON WEB FORUMS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds