Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 203 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (21)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (82) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (17) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/23/2016 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE VEHICLE FELT LOOSE FROM UNDERNEATH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT THERE WAS NO FAILURE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FAILURE RECURRED FIVE MONTHS LATER AND IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE MADE A HUMMING NOISE WHEN MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STABILIZER LINKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDOW WASHER FLUID DRAINED ON THE ENGINE, AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE HOSE CONNECTED TO THE FLUID CONTAINER WAS DISCONNECTED AND NEEDED TO RECONNECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2016 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE VEHICLE FELT LOOSE FROM UNDERNEATH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT THERE WAS NO FAILURE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FAILURE RECURRED FIVE MONTHS LATER AND IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE MADE A HUMMING NOISE WHEN MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STABILIZER LINKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDOW WASHER FLUID DRAINED ON THE ENGINE, AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE HOSE CONNECTED TO THE FLUID CONTAINER WAS DISCONNECTED AND NEEDED TO RECONNECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/17/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT, THE GEAR BECAME STUCK INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE WASHER FLUID WAS NOT OPERATING ON THE WINDSHIELD. THE CONTACT HAD TO CONSTANTLY ADD WIPER FLUID TO THE WASHER HOSE. THE DEALER COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A MONTH LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V408000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT, THE GEAR BECAME STUCK INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE WASHER FLUID WAS NOT OPERATING ON THE WINDSHIELD. THE CONTACT HAD TO CONSTANTLY ADD WIPER FLUID TO THE WASHER HOSE. THE DEALER COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A MONTH LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V408000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2016 - QUEENS VILLAGE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, SMOKE EMERGED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND A BEEPING NOISE STARTED. ALSO, THE TEMPERATURE CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LEFT IT THERE FOR TWO DAYS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT FOUR HOSES ATTACHED TO THE RADIATOR FAILED AND THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING WAS DAMAGED. IN APRIL, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BECAUSE IT WAS EXPERIENCING A FAILURE WITH THE HEATER SYSTEM. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT ANTIFREEZE WAS LEAKING FROM THE RADIATOR TO THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,856.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2016 - WEST JORDAN, UT
IN 2015, MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC HAD TO HAVE THE FUEL PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE CAR WORKED FOR A WHILE AFTER THIS. HOWEVER, A FEW MONTHS AGO, IT STARTED HAVING A ROUGH IDLE, WITH THE RPMS DIPPING UP AND DOWN. THE PROBLEM GOT WORSE RECENTLY, WHEN THE CAR ACTUALLY COMPLETELY DIED WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN, ALMOST CAUSING ME TO GET HIT. NOW, IT IS EVEN WORSE. NOW, IN ADDITION TO THE ROUGH IDLE, TRACTION CONTROL RANDOMLY ENGAGES EVEN WHEN I AM NOT SLIPPING, CAUSING ME TO LOSE ALL POWER FOR BRIEF PERIODS OF TIME, WHILE IN MOTION. THE TRACTION CONTROL IS GLITCHING SO BAD THAT IT EVEN RANDOMLY ENGAGES WHEN I AM COMPLETELY STOPPED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE, AND THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD ME THE CAR WANTS $113 JUST TO TELL ME WHAT IS CAUSING IT, AND HOW MUCH IT WILL COST TO ACTUALLY FIX. THERE ARE NO ACTIVE RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE, BUT FURTHER RESEARCH ON THE MODEL I OWN, SHOWS OTHER OWNERS HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES. CHEVROLET HAS BEEN NO HELP

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2016 - WEST JORDAN, UT
IN 2015, MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC HAD TO HAVE THE FUEL PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE CAR WORKED FOR A WHILE AFTER THIS. HOWEVER, A FEW MONTHS AGO, IT STARTED HAVING A ROUGH IDLE, WITH THE RPMS DIPPING UP AND DOWN. THE PROBLEM GOT WORSE RECENTLY, WHEN THE CAR ACTUALLY COMPLETELY DIED WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN, ALMOST CAUSING ME TO GET HIT. NOW, IT IS EVEN WORSE. NOW, IN ADDITION TO THE ROUGH IDLE, TRACTION CONTROL RANDOMLY ENGAGES EVEN WHEN I AM NOT SLIPPING, CAUSING ME TO LOSE ALL POWER FOR BRIEF PERIODS OF TIME, WHILE IN MOTION. THE TRACTION CONTROL IS GLITCHING SO BAD THAT IT EVEN RANDOMLY ENGAGES WHEN I AM COMPLETELY STOPPED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE, AND THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD ME THE CAR WANTS $113 JUST TO TELL ME WHAT IS CAUSING IT, AND HOW MUCH IT WILL COST TO ACTUALLY FIX. THERE ARE NO ACTIVE RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE, BUT FURTHER RESEARCH ON THE MODEL I OWN, SHOWS OTHER OWNERS HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES. CHEVROLET HAS BEEN NO HELP

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds