Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 249 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (103) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (39) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (58) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/3/2017 - TUSCALOOSA, AL
12/23/16, I PURCHASED A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. 4/6/17, I WAS AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT WHEN SMOKE COME IN THE VENTS FROM THE HOOD OF THE CAR. I CALLED ONSTAR & TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC. THE DIAGNOSTIC DIDN+T RETURN ANY INFORMATION & I CONTACTED THE DEALER & TOOK THE VEHICLE FOR SERVICE ON 4/9/17. I WAS TOLD THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING WAS LEAKING AND CAUSED THE SMOKING. THE COOLANT SYSTEM WAS FLUSHED & FILLED & A GM OIL, LUBE, FILTER CHANGE WAS DONE. THE VEHICLE WAS READY FOR PICK ON 4/19/17. A FEW WEEKS LATER THE CAR WAS SMOKING AGAIN. I CALLED THE DEALER, I WAS TOLD IT WAS PROBABLY JUST FLUID ON THE ENGINE. THE CAR CONTINUED TO SMOKE PERIODICALLY. 6/7/17, THERE WAS A LARGE POOL OF OIL UNDER THE CAR, I TOOK THE CAR TO A LOCAL SHOP. THEY SAID THAT THE OIL HAD BEEN OVERFILLED & THAT IT BLEW A SEAL. I CALLED THE DEALER, I WAS TOLD THEY DID NOT OVERFILL THE OIL & MADE ANOTHER SERVICE APPOINTMENT. I WAS TOLD AGAIN THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE COOLANT SYSTEM & THE OIL & THAT WAS THE REASON FOR THE SMOKING. REPAIRS COMPLETED 7/10/17. 9/27/17, WHILE DRIVING THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, SO I CALLED ONSTAR FOR A DIAGNOSTIC & THEY GAVE ME AN ERROR CODE P0299. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS AN AIRFLOW PROBLEM. I CALLED THE DEALER & ASKED FOR THE SERVICE MANAGER & GAVE HER THE ERROR CODE. SHE SAID THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE TURBO & THAT I NEEDED TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN. I TOOK THE CAR TO THEM 10/3/17. 10/4/17, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CALLED ME & TOLD ME THAT THE TURBO ON THE CAR WAS BAD. THE REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED ON 10/12/17. 10/13/17 THE CAR OVERHEATED. THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING COOLANT IN TWO PLACES. I TOOK IT TO A DIFFERENT DEALER & THEY SAID THE T-JOINT IN THE COOLANT SYSTEM WAS LEAKING. THE REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED ON 10/18/17. 11/3/17 AN EMAIL FROM ON-STAR SAID THERE WAS AN ENGINE PROBLEM. I CONTACTED ON-STAR FOR A DIAGNOSTIC & THEY SAID SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE COOLANT SYSTEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/22/2017 - DURANGO, IA
AUTOMATIC SHIFT BUTTON GETS STUCK CAUSING THE ABILITY FOR THE VEHICLE TO ACCIDENTALLY COME OUT OF GEAR. WHEN THE SHIFT BUTTON IS STUCK IN, I THEN NEED TO PRY THE SHIFT BUTTON OUT TO PUT IT INTO PARK IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE KEY. WE HAVE BEEN DRIVING THE CAR FOR A COUPLE OF YEARS THINKING IT IS NOT A BIG DEAL TO PRY THE BUTTON OUT (RATHER THAN PAY $400 TO GET IT FIXED), UNTIL WE FIGURED OUT THAT WHEN THE BUTTON IS STUCK IN, IT CAN EASILY BE BUMPED INTO DIFFERENT GEARS BY ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/3/2017 - READING, PA
IN 2014 THE SHIFT GEAR WAS REPLACED DUE TO A RECALL. IT HASN'T BEEN 3YRS, AND THE SHIFT GEAR IS DAMAGED AGAIN. WHEN I SHIFT GEAR FROM PARK THE RELEASE BUTTON STAYS STUCK, POSING A SAFETY HAZARD, IF BY ACCIDENT THE SHIFT GETS PUSHED WHILE THE CAR IS ON DRIVE. UPON PARKING THE CAR, THE RELEASE BUTTON STAYS STUCK AND THE KEYS WILL NOT COME OFF UNTIL THAT BUTTON IS RELEASE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/30/2017 - CITRUS SPRINGS, FL
I CAN BE DRIVING MY CAR NORMAL WHEN OUT OF NOWHERE IT ALMOST COMPLETELY LOSES POWER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD (TO THE POINT IT IS VERY DANGEROUS TO BE DRIVING). THE TCS LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE AS WELL AS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WITH 2 CODES. I WAS IN TRAFFIC AND MY CAR LITERALLY WOULD NOT PICK UP SPEED/ACCELERATE (EVEN WITH PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO FLOOR). THIS IS A VERY SCARY SITUATION THAT SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING WITH A CAR THAT ISN+T EVEN THAT OLD AND ONLY JUST HIT 60,000 MILES. I+M GUESSIMG ON THE FIRST DATE I NOTICED THE ISSUE, AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON SEPTEMBER 29, 2017. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE I HAVE INVESTED IN AND FEEL MY TRANNY SHOULD HAVE BEEN ONE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, ESPECIALLY WITH IT FAILING BEFORE 60,000 MILES. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/28/2017 - FREDERICK, MD
AIRBAG PROBLEMS: ABOUT 1YR AGO, HAD CAR LOOKED AT BECAUSE PASSENGER SEAT WAS NOT SENSING OCCUPANTS, AIRBAG READINESS LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF FOR FEW WKS ABOUT 2 MTHS AGO, NOW IT'S CONTINUOUSLY ON, WAS TOLD AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY IN ACCIDENT IF PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR NOT REPLACED. WAS ALSO SIDE SWIPED ABOUT 1YR AGO GOING ABOUT 45 MPH AND NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, HAVE PICS FROM ACCIDENT BUT NO POLICE REPORT FILED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2017 - UNIONTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FOR APPROXIMATELY TEN MINUTES IN THE MORNING, THE CONTACT REMOVED THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ATTEMPTED TO CRANK ON ITS OWN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE ONLY OCCURRED IN THE MORNING AFTER THE KEY WAS REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED FOR APPROXIMATELY SIX MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (CENTENNIAL CHEVROLET IN UNIONTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA), BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,642.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE VEHICLE'S ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS MALFUNCTIONING, CAUSING THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAY NOT TO SHOW UP WHEN THE CAR TURNS ON. IT'S ALSO CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO REV UP AND DOWN WHILE THE CAR IS IDLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/15/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE VEHICLE'S ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS MALFUNCTIONING, CAUSING THE SPEEDOMETER DISPLAY NOT TO SHOW UP WHEN THE CAR TURNS ON. IT'S ALSO CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO REV UP AND DOWN WHILE THE CAR IS IDLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2017 - WARWICK, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL EXHAUST SOUND. THE CONTACT CHECKED THE OIL AND AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE OIL. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 66,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/8/2017 - WARWICK, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL EXHAUST SOUND. THE CONTACT CHECKED THE OIL AND AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE OIL. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 66,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds