Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (80) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (17) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (48) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT, THE GEAR BECAME STUCK INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE WASHER FLUID WAS NOT OPERATING ON THE WINDSHIELD. THE CONTACT HAD TO CONSTANTLY ADD WIPER FLUID TO THE WASHER HOSE. THE DEALER COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A MONTH LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V408000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2016 - QUEENS VILLAGE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, SMOKE EMERGED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND A BEEPING NOISE STARTED. ALSO, THE TEMPERATURE CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LEFT IT THERE FOR TWO DAYS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT FOUR HOSES ATTACHED TO THE RADIATOR FAILED AND THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING WAS DAMAGED. IN APRIL, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BECAUSE IT WAS EXPERIENCING A FAILURE WITH THE HEATER SYSTEM. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT ANTIFREEZE WAS LEAKING FROM THE RADIATOR TO THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PROCESS OF BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,856.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2016 - WEST JORDAN, UT
IN 2015, MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC HAD TO HAVE THE FUEL PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE CAR WORKED FOR A WHILE AFTER THIS. HOWEVER, A FEW MONTHS AGO, IT STARTED HAVING A ROUGH IDLE, WITH THE RPMS DIPPING UP AND DOWN. THE PROBLEM GOT WORSE RECENTLY, WHEN THE CAR ACTUALLY COMPLETELY DIED WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN, ALMOST CAUSING ME TO GET HIT. NOW, IT IS EVEN WORSE. NOW, IN ADDITION TO THE ROUGH IDLE, TRACTION CONTROL RANDOMLY ENGAGES EVEN WHEN I AM NOT SLIPPING, CAUSING ME TO LOSE ALL POWER FOR BRIEF PERIODS OF TIME, WHILE IN MOTION. THE TRACTION CONTROL IS GLITCHING SO BAD THAT IT EVEN RANDOMLY ENGAGES WHEN I AM COMPLETELY STOPPED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE, AND THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD ME THE CAR WANTS $113 JUST TO TELL ME WHAT IS CAUSING IT, AND HOW MUCH IT WILL COST TO ACTUALLY FIX. THERE ARE NO ACTIVE RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE, BUT FURTHER RESEARCH ON THE MODEL I OWN, SHOWS OTHER OWNERS HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES. CHEVROLET HAS BEEN NO HELP

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/3/2016 - WEST JORDAN, UT
IN 2015, MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC HAD TO HAVE THE FUEL PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE CAR WORKED FOR A WHILE AFTER THIS. HOWEVER, A FEW MONTHS AGO, IT STARTED HAVING A ROUGH IDLE, WITH THE RPMS DIPPING UP AND DOWN. THE PROBLEM GOT WORSE RECENTLY, WHEN THE CAR ACTUALLY COMPLETELY DIED WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN, ALMOST CAUSING ME TO GET HIT. NOW, IT IS EVEN WORSE. NOW, IN ADDITION TO THE ROUGH IDLE, TRACTION CONTROL RANDOMLY ENGAGES EVEN WHEN I AM NOT SLIPPING, CAUSING ME TO LOSE ALL POWER FOR BRIEF PERIODS OF TIME, WHILE IN MOTION. THE TRACTION CONTROL IS GLITCHING SO BAD THAT IT EVEN RANDOMLY ENGAGES WHEN I AM COMPLETELY STOPPED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE, AND THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD ME THE CAR WANTS $113 JUST TO TELL ME WHAT IS CAUSING IT, AND HOW MUCH IT WILL COST TO ACTUALLY FIX. THERE ARE NO ACTIVE RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE, BUT FURTHER RESEARCH ON THE MODEL I OWN, SHOWS OTHER OWNERS HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES. CHEVROLET HAS BEEN NO HELP

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2016 - WEST JORDAN, UT
IN 2015, MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC HAD TO HAVE THE FUEL PURGE VALVE REPLACED. THE CAR WORKED FOR A WHILE AFTER THIS. HOWEVER, A FEW MONTHS AGO, IT STARTED HAVING A ROUGH IDLE, WITH THE RPMS DIPPING UP AND DOWN. THE PROBLEM GOT WORSE RECENTLY, WHEN THE CAR ACTUALLY COMPLETELY DIED WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN, ALMOST CAUSING ME TO GET HIT. NOW, IT IS EVEN WORSE. NOW, IN ADDITION TO THE ROUGH IDLE, TRACTION CONTROL RANDOMLY ENGAGES EVEN WHEN I AM NOT SLIPPING, CAUSING ME TO LOSE ALL POWER FOR BRIEF PERIODS OF TIME, WHILE IN MOTION. THE TRACTION CONTROL IS GLITCHING SO BAD THAT IT EVEN RANDOMLY ENGAGES WHEN I AM COMPLETELY STOPPED. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE, AND THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD ME THE CAR WANTS $113 JUST TO TELL ME WHAT IS CAUSING IT, AND HOW MUCH IT WILL COST TO ACTUALLY FIX. THERE ARE NO ACTIVE RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE, BUT FURTHER RESEARCH ON THE MODEL I OWN, SHOWS OTHER OWNERS HAVING SIMILAR ISSUES. CHEVROLET HAS BEEN NO HELP

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/3/2016 - BURBANK, CA
WHEN CAR IS PLACED IN PARK, IGNITION KEY CANNOT BE REMOVED.

View Details

STEERING

4/26/2016 - DOWELL, MD
MAJOR CONCERN: MY POWER STEERING FAILED. THE DEALER SAID THE POWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ($1,300). THE CAR HAS HIGH MILEAGE (EXCESS OF 150,000). I HAVE HAD SEVERAL CARS WITH SIMILAR MILEAGE BUT NEVER HAD THE POWER STEERING FAIL. SINCE THIS IS ELECTRONIC STEERING THERE DOESN'T APPEAR TO BE ANY WARNING/NO PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE. FORTUNATELY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY AT THE TIME THIS OCCURRED BUT IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER HAVING DRIVEN SEVERAL HOURS THE SAME DAY. WE CHECKED FOR RELAYS IN THE FUSE BOX BUT NONE ARE MARKED FOR THE POWER STEERING. THERE WERE AT LEAST TWO PREVIOUS TIMES WHEN BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY THAT THE POWER STEERING LOCKED UP BUT THEN STARTED WORKING FINE. DEALER COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM FOR THE FIRST TWO INCIDENTS. MY CAR HAS BEEN SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY SINCE JUNE 2015 BECAUSE I DIDN'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING IF EVEN IT WAS FIXED. I'VE ALWAYS OWNED GM VEHICLES (FOR 36 YEARS) BUT THE LACK OF CONCERN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM PROMPTED ME TO PURCHASE A SUBARU. AT THE TIME OF THE STEERING FAILURE I STILL OWED 2 YEARS ON MY LOAN. THE SECOND PROBLEM WHICH I'VE COMPLAINED ABOUT SINCE THE CAR WAS NEW WAS THE TRANSMISSION. THERE WAS ALWAYS SLOW RESPONSE WHEN PULLING AWAY FROM A STOP. IT WORSENED AFTER THE CAR HAD BEEN DRIVEN SEVERAL HOURS. AGAIN, NOTHING WAS DIAGNOSED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds