Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 206 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (22)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (82) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/10/2016 - OMAHA, NE
I NOTICED THE BUTTON ON MY GEAR SHIFT WOULD ALWAYS STICK WHEN I EITHER WENT TO PUT THE CAR INTO GEAR OR INTO PARK. I COULD NOT SHUT THE CAR COMPLETELY OFF UNTIL I GOT THE BUTTON UNSTUCK. THEN, I NOTICED THAT THE BUTTON WAS BROKE. THIS WOULD HAPPEN ANYTIME I USED THE BUTTON. IT HAD BEEN STICKING ON ME FOR A WHILE, BUT I NOTICED IT WAS BROKE ON 6/9/2016.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/5/2016 - MILLERSPORT, OH
THEY KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION, AND THE GEAR SHIFT KEEPS GETTING STUCK. THE KEY WILL RELEASE AFTER THE CAR HAS SET FOR OVER 15 MINUTES. GETS STUCK AFTER I SHUT OFF THE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2016 - JUPITER, FL
AUTOMATIC GEAR SHIFT BUTTON STICKS. SHIFT LEVER CAN MOVE FROM DRIVE TO NEUTRAL TO REVERSE TO PARK WITHOUT LOCKING AS THE BUTTON IS STUCK DEPRESSED. KEYS CANNOT BE REMOVED WHEN CAR IS IN PARK. STATIONARY AND IN MOTION. MULTIPLE TIMES. SITUATION IS GETTING PROGRESSIVELY WORSE, I.E. BUTTON IS STICKING MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/23/2016 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE VEHICLE FELT LOOSE FROM UNDERNEATH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT THERE WAS NO FAILURE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FAILURE RECURRED FIVE MONTHS LATER AND IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE MADE A HUMMING NOISE WHEN MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STABILIZER LINKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDOW WASHER FLUID DRAINED ON THE ENGINE, AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE HOSE CONNECTED TO THE FLUID CONTAINER WAS DISCONNECTED AND NEEDED TO RECONNECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2016 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH OVER A BUMP, THE VEHICLE FELT LOOSE FROM UNDERNEATH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT THERE WAS NO FAILURE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FAILURE RECURRED FIVE MONTHS LATER AND IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE MADE A HUMMING NOISE WHEN MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STABILIZER LINKS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDOW WASHER FLUID DRAINED ON THE ENGINE, AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE HOSE CONNECTED TO THE FLUID CONTAINER WAS DISCONNECTED AND NEEDED TO RECONNECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/17/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT, THE GEAR BECAME STUCK INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE WASHER FLUID WAS NOT OPERATING ON THE WINDSHIELD. THE CONTACT HAD TO CONSTANTLY ADD WIPER FLUID TO THE WASHER HOSE. THE DEALER COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A MONTH LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V408000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT, THE GEAR BECAME STUCK INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE WASHER FLUID WAS NOT OPERATING ON THE WINDSHIELD. THE CONTACT HAD TO CONSTANTLY ADD WIPER FLUID TO THE WASHER HOSE. THE DEALER COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A MONTH LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V408000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2016 - CHINO, CA
TAKATA RECALL I WAS DRIVING AND I TRIED TO BRAKE AT AN INTERSECTION DUE TO A RED LIGHT AND THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS UNABLE TO USE THE BRAKES BECAUSE THE PAD GOT STIFF AND IT DIDN'T ALLOW ME TO BRAKE, I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE BUT I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME .

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds