Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 140 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (56) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (24) Exterior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine (31) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/8/2015 - OLYMPIA, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO JERK AND THE TRACTION CONTROL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS APPEARED. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS COASTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

6/8/2015 - OLYMPIA, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO JERK AND THE TRACTION CONTROL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS APPEARED. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS COASTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/2/2015 - PLYMOUTH , MI
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP TO DIAGNOSE PROBLEM. DEALER CODES: P0101, P0171, THROTTLE BODY INTAKE TUBE TORN ALLOWING UNMETERED AIR TO ENTER ENGINE. REPAIR COST ABOUT $450 PLEASE ADVISE IF THIS IS FREQUENT OCCURRENCE IN CHEVY SONIC MY 12. ARE THERE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS SUBJECT TO RECALL?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/2/2015 - PLYMOUTH, MI
GEAR SHIFTER BUTTON GETS STUCK, NOT ALLOWING RELEASING KEY FROM IGNITION. DRIVER HAS TO HAVE LUBRICANT ON HAND AT ALL TIMES, TO GET SHIFTER BUTTON UNSTUCK. HOWEVER LATELY IT IS GETTING SOMEWHAT HARDER TO GET IT TO WORK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/2/2015 - PLYMOUTH, MI
GEAR SHIFTER BUTTON GETS STUCK, NOT ALLOWING RELEASING KEY FROM IGNITION. DRIVER HAS TO HAVE LUBRICANT ON HAND AT ALL TIMES, TO GET SHIFTER BUTTON UNSTUCK. HOWEVER LATELY IT IS GETTING SOMEWHAT HARDER TO GET IT TO WORK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/31/2015 - EDGEWATER, FL
I AM OWNER OF 2012 CHEVY SONIC, YESTERDAY AGAIN - WHEN I SHUT OFF MY CAR ...IT STARTED BACK UP AGAIN JUST AFTER I SHUT THE KEY OFF CAR WAS IN PARK. PLZE DO H E L P - M E !!!

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2015 - EDGEWATER, FL
I AM OWNER OF 2012 CHEVY SONIC, YESTERDAY AGAIN - WHEN I SHUT OFF MY CAR ...IT STARTED BACK UP AGAIN JUST AFTER I SHUT THE KEY OFF CAR WAS IN PARK. PLZE DO H E L P - M E !!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/28/2015 - LYNDONVILLE, NY
DURING THE LAST WEEK HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE KEY NOT RELEASING FROM STEERING COLUMN. THE LAST TWO DAYS GEAR SHIFTER GETTING VERY HARD TO SHIFT AND BUTTON STICKS AND KEY WILL NOT RELEASE, AND WHEELS WILL NOT LOCK. HAVE HAD TO LEAVE THE KEY IN CAR WHICH IS NOT A VERY SAFE THING TO DO. HAVE NOTICED TODAY THAT THE BUTTON AFTER AWHILE WILL POP OUT AND THEN THE KEY WILL RELEASE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BEFORE THINGS GET WORSE WHICH APPARENTLY IS GOING TO HAPPEN..

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/28/2015 - LYNDONVILLE, NY
DURING THE LAST WEEK HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE KEY NOT RELEASING FROM STEERING COLUMN. THE LAST TWO DAYS GEAR SHIFTER GETTING VERY HARD TO SHIFT AND BUTTON STICKS AND KEY WILL NOT RELEASE, AND WHEELS WILL NOT LOCK. HAVE HAD TO LEAVE THE KEY IN CAR WHICH IS NOT A VERY SAFE THING TO DO. HAVE NOTICED TODAY THAT THE BUTTON AFTER AWHILE WILL POP OUT AND THEN THE KEY WILL RELEASE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BEFORE THINGS GET WORSE WHICH APPARENTLY IS GOING TO HAPPEN..

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/20/2015 - DOUGLASVILLE , GA
I WAS GOING DOWN DENTON ROAD AND HIT A DEER GOING 55 MPH. THE FRONT OF MY CAR WAS DAMAGED REALLY BAD ALMOST $5,000.00 OF DAMAGE. I HAVE TWO SLIPPED DISK IN MY BACK BECAUSE OF THE INCIDENT. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds