Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 55 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (11) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (15) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2013 - SUNRISE, FL
I PURCHASED MY SONIC IN APRIL OF THIS YEAR. I WAS INITIALLY WOWED BY THE AVG MPG I WAS ATTAINING BASED ON THE AVG REPORTED BY THE CAR'S COMPUTER. AFTER A FEW FILL UPS I REALIZED I WAS ADDING MORE GAS THAN THE MPG WOULD INDICATE. SINCE 6/21 I BEGAN RECORDING THE DIFFERENCE REPORTED BY THE COMPUTER AT EACH FILL UP & MY MANUAL CALCULATIONS. THE DIFFERENCE THRU 10/17 AVERAGED 5.6MPG (A LOW OF 2.3 & A HIGH OF 8.4 MPG) ALWAYS HIGHER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER & WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO & THAT THE SVC MGR'S CADILLAC HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. IN FACT, I WAS TOLD BY HIM THAT THE COMPUTER'S FIGURE WAS THE "MPG THE CAR WAS GETTING AT THE MOMENT, NOT THE AVG SINCE LAST FILL UP. I'VE CALLED CHEVROLET, TOLD NUMEROUS PEOPLE ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I WAS PROMISED CALLBACKS & HAVE NEVER GOTTEN THEM.

View Details

ENGINE

10/12/2013 - PALATINE, IL
I BROUGHT MY CAR IN BECAUSE THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE STEERING. I ASKED THAT AN OIL CHANGE BE DONE AND WHEN I PICKED IT UP THE CAR HAD WHITE SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE ENGINE AND HAD A STRONG BURNING SMELL. THERE WAS A LOT OF SMOKE I WAS ONLY GONE 10 MINUTES FROM THE DEALER BEFORE I HAD TO BRING IT BACK. BROUGHT IT BACK DEALER SAID THEY SMELLED BURNING AND SPRAYED A DEODORIZER IN VENTS TO MASK IT, BUT THEY DID NOT ADDRESS THE SMOKING THAT IS STILL HAPPENING. FILED COMPLIANT WITH GM REQUESTING A BUY BACK OF VEHICLE. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE THE FIRST YEAR IT WAS OUT,AND HAVE ALSO HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH THE FRONT END, AIR CONDITIONER NOT TO MENTION THAT THE DEALER DROPPED CAR OFF RACK AND CAUSED DAMAGED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/12/2013 - PALATINE, IL
I BROUGHT MY CAR IN BECAUSE THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE STEERING. I ASKED THAT AN OIL CHANGE BE DONE AND WHEN I PICKED IT UP THE CAR HAD WHITE SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE ENGINE AND HAD A STRONG BURNING SMELL. THERE WAS A LOT OF SMOKE I WAS ONLY GONE 10 MINUTES FROM THE DEALER BEFORE I HAD TO BRING IT BACK. BROUGHT IT BACK DEALER SAID THEY SMELLED BURNING AND SPRAYED A DEODORIZER IN VENTS TO MASK IT, BUT THEY DID NOT ADDRESS THE SMOKING THAT IS STILL HAPPENING. FILED COMPLIANT WITH GM REQUESTING A BUY BACK OF VEHICLE. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE THE FIRST YEAR IT WAS OUT,AND HAVE ALSO HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH THE FRONT END, AIR CONDITIONER NOT TO MENTION THAT THE DEALER DROPPED CAR OFF RACK AND CAUSED DAMAGED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/15/2013 - SANTA ROSA, CA
REAR NOISE COMING FROM THE BRAKE AREA. GM TOLD ME THEY HAVE TO RE-DESIGN THE REAR BRAKE DRUMS, THEY WOULDN'T GIVE ME A FIX DATE AND WOULDN'T SAY IF IT WAS A SAFETY PROBLEM. NOISE IS GETTING LOUDER. GM PRODUCED A DOCUMENT #3213219 NOV 2012 SAYING THEY WERE WORKING ON THE PROBLEM AND DIDN'T SEE IT AS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/4/2013 - SANTA ROSA, CA
WHEN I APPLY MY BRAKES AT LOW SPEED THERE IS A ROTATIONAL NOISE IN THE REAR END. I FOUND OUT ON MY LAST RECALL VISIT THAT GM KNOWS OF THIS ISSUE AND SENT OUT A DOCUMENT, #PICA DATED 11/19/2012 SAYING THEY WERE WORKING ON THE PROBLEM. I HAVE CONTACTED GM TO SEE IF THEY HAVE RESOLVED THIS ISSUE. THEY REPORTED BACK TO ME, AFTER 3 WEEKS OF PHONE CONVERSATIONS AND TALKING TO MULTIPLE PERSONS, THAT THE REAR DRUMS HAVE TO BE RE-DESIGNED AND THAT THEY ARE WORKING ON THE FIX. I ASKED FOR A LETTER OR EMAIL SHOWING ME THE DATE MY CAR WILL BE FIXED AND THAT IT IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE EVEN THOUGH THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE BRAKES. THEY REFUSED ME A LETTER OR EMAIL ON THIS ISSUE AND I ONLY TALK TO SOMEONE WITH A FIRST NAME. I HAVE HEARD THIS SAME NOISE SINCE 5/12/2012 BUT NOW IT IS GETTING LOUDER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2013 - HUNTINGTON, WV
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVY SONIC LT AUTOMATIC WITH THE 1.8 LITER. THE CAR STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS AROUND 45,000 MILES AND HAS GOTTEN WORSE OVER TIME.THE CAR ON COLD START UPS HAS A GRINDING SOUND. THIS GRINDING MOST OF THE TIME ONLY HAPPENS ON COLD START UPS BUT DOES AT TIMES HAPPENS ON WARM START UPS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE METAL AGAINST METAL AND IT RATTLES. THIS SEEMS TO HAPPEN UNTIL THE CAR IS FULLY STARTED AND RUNNING. I AM GETTING CONCERNED BECAUSE IT IS GETTING WORSE AND LOUDER.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2013 - HUNTINGTON, WV
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVY SONIC LT AUTOMATIC WITH THE 1.8 LITER. THE CAR STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS AROUND 45,000 MILES AND HAS GOTTEN WORSE OVER TIME.THE CAR ON COLD START UPS HAS A GRINDING SOUND. THIS GRINDING MOST OF THE TIME ONLY HAPPENS ON COLD START UPS BUT DOES AT TIMES HAPPENS ON WARM START UPS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE METAL AGAINST METAL AND IT RATTLES. THIS SEEMS TO HAPPEN UNTIL THE CAR IS FULLY STARTED AND RUNNING. I AM GETTING CONCERNED BECAUSE IT IS GETTING WORSE AND LOUDER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/15/2013 - HUNTINGTON, WV
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVY SONIC LT AUTOMATIC WITH THE 1.8 LITER. THE CAR STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS AROUND 45,000 MILES AND HAS GOTTEN WORSE OVER TIME.THE CAR ON COLD START UPS HAS A GRINDING SOUND. THIS GRINDING MOST OF THE TIME ONLY HAPPENS ON COLD START UPS BUT DOES AT TIMES HAPPENS ON WARM START UPS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE METAL AGAINST METAL AND IT RATTLES. THIS SEEMS TO HAPPEN UNTIL THE CAR IS FULLY STARTED AND RUNNING. I AM GETTING CONCERNED BECAUSE IT IS GETTING WORSE AND LOUDER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/24/2013 - HANOVER, PA
PULLING OUT FROM A STOP SIGN THE VEHICLE WAS STRUCK DRIVER'S SIDE FROM LEFT ONTO FRONT BUMPER/FRONT FENDER AREA BY AN ONCOMING VEHICLE. VEHICLE THAT STRUCK SONIC TRAVELING 50+ MPH IMPACTED ENTIRE FRONT OF VEHICLE FROM LEFT SIDE DAMAGING FENDERS, HOOD, BUMPER(NO LIGHT CASINGS OR BULBS BROKEN), MOVED RADIATOR. NONE OF THE DRIVER'S FRONT, SIDE, OR HEAD AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AT ALL. CAR WAS DETERMINED TO BE A TOTAL LOSS BY INSURANCE COMPANY. I REQUESTED A DETAILED LISTING OF THEIR FINDINGS AND NONE WAS GIVEN TO ME. THE CAR WAS TAKEN QUICKLY NOT ALLOWING ME TO INVESTIGATE THE AIRBAG FAILURE. REASONS FOR TOTALING IT. I FEEL THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE LOST THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS THAT I WILL HAVE TO MAKE UP TO REPLACE THE VEHICLE WHICH I PURCHASED ONLY 54 WEEKS PRIOR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/14/2013 - COLLINSVILLE, OK
THE RUMBLING/RUBBING NOISE BEGAN ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE FRONT END OF THE CAR. WITH ONLY 3,000+ MILES ON THE CAR IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS TAKEN TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY FOUND A LEAKING RF STRUT AND NOISY MOUNT AND REPLACED BOTH PARTS. THE REPLACED PART SEEMED TO REMEDY THE RUMBLING PROBLEM BUT THE FRONT END STILL SEEMED UNFORGIVING WHEN IT WAS DRIVEN ON ROUGH PAVEMENT. WE BEGAN HEARING A GROANING/ RUBBING/ GRINDING NOISE WHEN THE CAR WAS TURNING CORNERS OR WHILE TURNING ON AN INCLINE ESPECIALLY TO THE RIGHT AND AT 8,000 MILES WE RETURNED THE CAR AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID IT WAS OPERATING OKAY. THE NOISE CONTINUED AND AT 13,000+ MILES WE RETURNED THE CAR AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOUND THE MOUNT TO BE BINDING ON TURNS AND REPLACED THE RF STRUT MOUNT. AGAIN, THE PROBLEM REMAINED AND FINALLY A SERVICE TECHNICIAN RODE WITH US AND HEARD THE NOISE AND AGREED THAT IT WAS NOT SUPPOSED TO BE THERE. SO AT 15,000 MILES THE CAR WAS IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOR TWO AND A HALF WEEKS. THEY REPLACED THE RF STRUT AND MOUNT BECAUSE THE STRUT WAS NOT SETTING FLUSH IN THE MOUNT. DURING THE TIME THE CAR WAS IN THE SHOP THE TECHNICIAN CALLED AND SAID THEY WERE ABLE TO FIX THE ISSUE BUT THERE WAS STILL ANOTHER NOISE THEY HEARD AND THEY NEEDED MORE TIME TO WORK ON IT. WE REQUESTED A RIDE ALONG WITH THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN AND THE NOISE WAS ABSENT ON TURNING RIGHT AT A SLOW SPEED BUT VERY APPARENT NOW IN THE FRONT END OF THE CAR WHEN TURNING IN TO PARK AT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. AT THAT TIME WE REQUESTED TO SPEAK WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER AND ARE IN THE PROCESS OF NEGOTIATING A DEAL FOR A DIFFERENT CAR AS THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ON-GOING ISSUE. WE LOVED THE GREAT GAS MILEAGE AND SPORTY LOOK BUT THE SUSPENSION SEEMS TO BE TROUBLED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds