Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 237 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (96) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (38) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (55) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2017 - CAMILLUS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SHIFTER BUTTON WOULD DEPRESS, BUT NOT RELEASE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS AND THE KEY BECAME DIFFICULT TO REMOVE FROM THE IGNITION UNTIL THE SHIFTER BUTTON WAS RELEASED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHIFTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE PREVIOUSLY HAD THE SHIFTER REPLACED TWICE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,956.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2017 - FLORENCE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND DECELERATED. THE GEAR FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,200.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/16/2017 - GRANTS PASS, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG OFF INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WHEN THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED WITH AN ADULT WHO WEIGHED 145 POUNDS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2017 - ROCHESTER, NY
CAR ACCELERATED ON IT'S OWN IN DRIVE AND REVERSE CAUSING MY HUSBAND TO HIT A FENCE IN DRIVE AND HITTING A TREE IN REVERSE, HE WAS DRIVING ON A CITY STREET, NO ONE SEEK ANY MEDICAL TREATMENT, CALLED THE POLICE WHEN HE GOT HOME AND MADE A REPORT BUT DO NOT HAVE IT ON HAND.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/26/2017 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC WAS INVOLVED IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT RESULTING IN INJURY TO ME BECAUSE MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE SEVERAL RECALL CAMPAIGNS ON THE VEHICLE THAT DID NOT COME UP UNDER MY VIN.CAMPAIGN ID 12V52200, CAMPAIGN ID 13V023000, CAMPAIGN ID14V315000, CAMPAIGN ID 14V317000 CAMPAIGN ID 11V599000, CAMPAIGN ID, 12V408000. I COLLIDED WITH A VEHICLE THAT HAD BLEW A STOP SIGN AS I PROCEEDED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. MY VEHICLE T-BONE THE OTHER VEHICLE. MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY THE OTHER VEHICLES AIR BAGS DID. MY CAR HAS BEEN SERVICE AT MODERN CHEVROLET UNIVERSITY PARKWAY IN WINSTON SALEM NC SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN NOV. 2012 FROM THAT DEALERSHIP. THE ONLY RECALLS THE DEALERSHIP OR GM HAS NOTIFIED ME ABOUT WERE ONLY GM CAMPAIGN ID 12172 REPLACE SWAYBAR LINKS AND GM CAMPAIGN ID12176. VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/26/2017 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC WAS INVOLVED IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT RESULTING IN INJURY TO ME BECAUSE MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE SEVERAL RECALL CAMPAIGNS ON THE VEHICLE THAT DID NOT COME UP UNDER MY VIN.CAMPAIGN ID 12V52200, CAMPAIGN ID 13V023000, CAMPAIGN ID14V315000, CAMPAIGN ID 14V317000 CAMPAIGN ID 11V599000, CAMPAIGN ID, 12V408000. I COLLIDED WITH A VEHICLE THAT HAD BLEW A STOP SIGN AS I PROCEEDED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. MY VEHICLE T-BONE THE OTHER VEHICLE. MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY THE OTHER VEHICLES AIR BAGS DID. MY CAR HAS BEEN SERVICE AT MODERN CHEVROLET UNIVERSITY PARKWAY IN WINSTON SALEM NC SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN NOV. 2012 FROM THAT DEALERSHIP. THE ONLY RECALLS THE DEALERSHIP OR GM HAS NOTIFIED ME ABOUT WERE ONLY GM CAMPAIGN ID 12172 REPLACE SWAYBAR LINKS AND GM CAMPAIGN ID12176. VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2017 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC WAS INVOLVED IN AN AUTOMOBILE ACCIDENT RESULTING IN INJURY TO ME BECAUSE MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE SEVERAL RECALL CAMPAIGNS ON THE VEHICLE THAT DID NOT COME UP UNDER MY VIN.CAMPAIGN ID 12V52200, CAMPAIGN ID 13V023000, CAMPAIGN ID14V315000, CAMPAIGN ID 14V317000 CAMPAIGN ID 11V599000, CAMPAIGN ID, 12V408000. I COLLIDED WITH A VEHICLE THAT HAD BLEW A STOP SIGN AS I PROCEEDED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. MY VEHICLE T-BONE THE OTHER VEHICLE. MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY THE OTHER VEHICLES AIR BAGS DID. MY CAR HAS BEEN SERVICE AT MODERN CHEVROLET UNIVERSITY PARKWAY IN WINSTON SALEM NC SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE IN NOV. 2012 FROM THAT DEALERSHIP. THE ONLY RECALLS THE DEALERSHIP OR GM HAS NOTIFIED ME ABOUT WERE ONLY GM CAMPAIGN ID 12172 REPLACE SWAYBAR LINKS AND GM CAMPAIGN ID12176. VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/18/2017 - DALLAS, TX
MY ANTIFREEZE PRESSURE HOSE BUSTED,I TOOK IT TO THE DEALLERSHIP THEY SAID THAT I HAD AITIFREEZE IN THE ENGINE. THEY SAY IT WILL ONLY COST ME AROUND $400.00 DOSE THIS SOUND RIGHT .I THINK A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CAUSE THE HOSE TO BURST AN IT ALL SHOULD.IS THERE A RECALL ON THIS.THE HOSE BUSTED WHILE THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN ON THE HIGHWAY

View Details

ENGINE

1/18/2017 - DALLAS, TX
MY ANTIFREEZE PRESSURE HOSE BUSTED,I TOOK IT TO THE DEALLERSHIP THEY SAID THAT I HAD AITIFREEZE IN THE ENGINE. THEY SAY IT WILL ONLY COST ME AROUND $400.00 DOSE THIS SOUND RIGHT .I THINK A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CAUSE THE HOSE TO BURST AN IT ALL SHOULD.IS THERE A RECALL ON THIS.THE HOSE BUSTED WHILE THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN ON THE HIGHWAY

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/8/2017 - KINGSFORD, MI
ON 1/31/2016 A VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME. THE FIRST AND BIGGEST ISSUE WAS THE AIRBAG NEVER WENT OFF AND THE SEAT BELT TENSIONERS DID NOT LOCK THE BELTS EITHER. I WENT FORWARD AND HIT MY HEAD ON THE STEERING WHEEL RENDERING ME UNCONSCIOUS!!! ALMOST THE WHOLE FRONT END HAD TO BE REPLACED E.G.: GRILL AND FRONT PANEL, LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT QUARTER PANELS, RADIATOR, BOTH WHEEL WELLS, SUSPENSION ON BOTH SIDES AND EVERYTHING THAT GOES WITH THOSE PLUS A WHOLE LOT OF OTHER THINGS LIKE THE RADIATOR, COOLANT AND WASHER TANKS ETC. ETC.... THIS WAS A FULL-FRONTAL WRECK AND NOT A SINGLE AIRBAG WENT OFF!!! SECONDLY ARE THE ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL. THE ROADS WERE A LITTLE SLICK SO I HAD THE TC ON. WHEN I HIT MY BRAKES ALL THEY DID, HAVE DONE SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR, AND CONTINUE TO DO TO THIS DAY, IS IMMEDIATELY LOCK UP! I HAD ZERO CONTROL OF MY CAR. THIS CAR HAS, BY FAR, THE WORST ABS SYSTEM I HAVE EVER USED. THE TC IS COMPLETE [XXX], TOO!!! THIRDLY, EVERY TIME I START THE CAR THE ENGINE SEEMS TO MISFIRE OR SOMETHING! IT RATTLES AND SHAKES THE WHOLE CAR, HARD!!! AFTER A FEW SECONDS IT SEEMS TO FIND IT'S GROOVE AND IDLES NORMALLY. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR TO ADDRESS THESE PROBLEMS. ALL THEY TELL ME IS THEY ARE DESIGN AND/OR MANUFACTURING FLAWS. THEY SAID I CAN PAY TO FIX THESE ISSUES WITH MY OWN MONEY OR WAIT AND SEE IF THE ISSUES BECOME RECALLS. WHICH, ACCORDING TO MY RESEARCH, HAVE NOT YET. TO ME, THESE ARE SOME PRETTY BIG SAFETY ISSUES THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE ADDRESSING!!! AND WHY AREN'T THEY????? I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE ACCIDENT, BUT CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THEM ANYWHERE. I'LL COME BACK IF I FIND THEM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds