Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (17) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (18) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

4/1/2014 - GRAND CANYON, AZ
ON OR AROUND DECEMBER, 2014, THE SHIFT COVER WOULD NOT ATTACH PERMANENTLY. ON OR AROUND MARCH 10, 2014, THE ELECTRICAL ACCESS PLUG DID NOT OPERATE. ON OR AROUND MARCH 6, 2014, MY MOTHER WAS DRIVING AROUND 45MPH, AND WE HIT AN ELK. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - GRAND CANYON, AZ
ON OR AROUND DECEMBER, 2014, THE SHIFT COVER WOULD NOT ATTACH PERMANENTLY. ON OR AROUND MARCH 10, 2014, THE ELECTRICAL ACCESS PLUG DID NOT OPERATE. ON OR AROUND MARCH 6, 2014, MY MOTHER WAS DRIVING AROUND 45MPH, AND WE HIT AN ELK. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2014 - GRAND CANYON, AZ
ON OR AROUND DECEMBER, 2014, THE SHIFT COVER WOULD NOT ATTACH PERMANENTLY. ON OR AROUND MARCH 10, 2014, THE ELECTRICAL ACCESS PLUG DID NOT OPERATE. ON OR AROUND MARCH 6, 2014, MY MOTHER WAS DRIVING AROUND 45MPH, AND WE HIT AN ELK. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2014 - ALTOONA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, A CHIME SOUNDED WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE ENGINE OIL PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR. THE FAILURE ALSO RECURRED UPON STARTING THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE INDICATOR SWITCH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,500.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - ALTOONA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, A CHIME SOUNDED WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE ENGINE OIL PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR. THE FAILURE ALSO RECURRED UPON STARTING THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE INDICATOR SWITCH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/17/2014 - VANDENBERG AFB, CA
I WAS IN A TBONE ACCIDENT WHERE THE DRIVER WAS GOING WELL OVER MY SPEED. AFTER THE HIT, MY HEAD HIT THE DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW. THE IMPACT SENT ME SPINNING ACROSS THE ROAD INTO A WOODED AREA WHERE MY PASSENGERS SIDE STRUCK A TREE. I WAS OUT FOR A LITTLE WHILE (NOT SURE HOW LONG). WHEN I CAME TO MY SENSES MEDICAL WAS ON SCENE AND I HAD A MAJOR HEADACHE AND MY LEFT KNEE WAS PRETTY SORE. I WENT TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM THAT DAY TO BE INFORMED THAT I SUFFERED HEAD AND BACK INJURIES. AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE INSPECTED I WAS TOLD THAT MY PARTICULAR VEHICLES HAD MORE AIRBAGS THAN THE STANDARD VEHICLE AND MY AIRBAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/13/2014 - NORTH GROSVENORDALE, CT
WHEN TRYING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION, I HAD NO POWER WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS PEDAL. THE ENGINE JUST REVVED. WE SLOWLY MOVED FORWARD AND WERE VERY NEARLY HIT BY BOTH SIDES OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND PUT ON FLASHERS. I DROVE ON THE SIDE OF ROAD UNTIL THE GEARS ENGAGED A FEW SECONDS LATER. EVER SINCE I STILL HAVE ISSUES MERGING ON HIGHWAYS ON IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/29/2013 - COUNTRYSIDE, IL
AFTER MANUALLY TURNING OFF THE RADIO, TURNING OFF THE CAR, REMOVING THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION, EXITING THE CAR, LOCKING AND ARMING THE CAR'S ALARM, THE RADIO WILL TURN ITSELF BACK ON. IN SOME CASES IT HAS DONE THIS BEFORE WE HAVE EVEN WALKED 20 FEET FROM THE CAR, IN OTHER CASES IT HAPPENS UP TO 2 HOURS AFTER EXITING (AND LOCKING) THE CAR. IT HAPPENS MORE THAN 75% OF THE TIME. SHORTLY AFTER THE FIRST TIME WE OBSERVED THE SYMPTOM, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON, BUT THE DEALERSHIP CLAIMED IT WAS NO LONGER ON AFTER I DROPPED THE CAR OFF (AND IT WAS DEFINITELY ON WHEN I EXITED THE STILL RUNNING CAR FOR THEM TO DRIVE INSIDE) AND THAT THERE ARE NO ERROR CODES IN THE HISTORY. THEY CLAIM THEY CANNOT REPRODUCE THE RADIO ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

11/11/2013 - CANTON, MI
DURING AN CONTINUOUS LEFT HAD TURN IN A PARKING LOT THE STEERING LOCKED UP NOT ALLOWING FOR THE STEERING WHEEL TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO CENTER CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL AND COLLISION WITH A CURB INSIDE OF A PARKING LOT. ONCE IMPACT WITH RIGHT FRONT TIRE WAS MADE AND DAMAGE SUSTAINED, MINIMAL STEERING WAS REGAINED ALLOWING FOR CAR TO BE MANEUVERED TO A SAFE LOCATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2013 - SUNRISE, FL
I PURCHASED MY SONIC IN APRIL OF THIS YEAR. I WAS INITIALLY WOWED BY THE AVG MPG I WAS ATTAINING BASED ON THE AVG REPORTED BY THE CAR'S COMPUTER. AFTER A FEW FILL UPS I REALIZED I WAS ADDING MORE GAS THAN THE MPG WOULD INDICATE. SINCE 6/21 I BEGAN RECORDING THE DIFFERENCE REPORTED BY THE COMPUTER AT EACH FILL UP & MY MANUAL CALCULATIONS. THE DIFFERENCE THRU 10/17 AVERAGED 5.6MPG (A LOW OF 2.3 & A HIGH OF 8.4 MPG) ALWAYS HIGHER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER & WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO & THAT THE SVC MGR'S CADILLAC HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. IN FACT, I WAS TOLD BY HIM THAT THE COMPUTER'S FIGURE WAS THE "MPG THE CAR WAS GETTING AT THE MOMENT, NOT THE AVG SINCE LAST FILL UP. I'VE CALLED CHEVROLET, TOLD NUMEROUS PEOPLE ABOUT THE PROBLEM. I WAS PROMISED CALLBACKS & HAVE NEVER GOTTEN THEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds