Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (65) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (15) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (8) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (39) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/6/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, OH
CAR WILL START BY ITSELF AFTER KEY IS PARTIALLY INSERTED INTO IGNITION AND CAR WILL TRY TO START OVER AND OVER IF LEFT IN IGNITION WHEN TURNING OFF. TOOK TO DEALER THEY BLAMED ON AFTERMARKET RADIO. HOWEVER, I AM PRETTY SURE HAS DONE ALMOST FROM THE POINT PURCHASE. DISCONNECTED RADIO STUFF AND STILL DOES SAME THING. CAR IS STATIONARY IN PARK. NO SAFETY ISSUE OTHER THAN WHAT IS STATED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/16/2015 - EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND POWERED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE EVENTUALLY SHIFTED INTO THE NEXT GEAR. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/16/2015 - EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND POWERED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE VEHICLE EVENTUALLY SHIFTED INTO THE NEXT GEAR. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/5/2015 - MUSKEGON, MI
THE CONSOLE GEAR SHIFT HAS A BUTTON THAT MUST BE DEPRESSED TO SHIFT. BUTTON STICKS IN DEPRESSED POSITION. CANNOT REMOVE KEYS IN PARK POSITION. VEHICLE IS 2012, 28,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2015 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
CAR WITH 21,000 MILES OVERHEATED WHILE USING THE AC. ENGINE COOLANT ALARM CAME ON AND I TURNED THE AC OFF AND LIGHT SHUT OFF ALSO. TOOK IT TO AN AUTO SERVICE CHAIN AND THEY DIAGNOSED THAT THE RADIATOR FAN MOTOR HAD TO BE REPLACED. COST: $463.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/20/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
FOR 2 MONTHS MY CHECK EMISSIONS LIGHT WAS COMING ON AND GOING OFF. ACCORDING TO MY OWNERS MANUAL THE GAS CAP OR AIR FILTER NEED FIXING. I WENT TO AUTOZONE TO GET A FREE DIAGNOSTICS READING. AT THE END OF AUGUST MY CAR STARTED TO HESITATE , WON'T ACCELERATE AT TAKE OFF. THEN STARTED HEAVY JERKING AT TAKE OFF AND WHEN SITTING STILL. I BOUGHT SOME LIQUID AND CHANGED AIR FILTER, SAME RESULTS. I CALLED CHEVY DEALER TO HAVE CAR CHECKED UNDER MY POWERTRAIN AND MY EMISSIONS WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET HELP SO I COULD GET MY CAR CHECKED NEXT FRIDAY ON THE 23RD. TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT MY CAR. BUT ON THE 16TH OF OCTOBER I'M LEAVING WORK I BACKED OUT OF STALL AND PULLED FORWARD CAR WAS DRAGGING ROUGHLY. I WAS WAITING TO PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC WHEN CAR STARTED JUTTING FORWARD. I PRESS ON THE GAS WENT FORWARD ABOUT 5 TO 8 FEET AND THEN NOTHING. I WAS STUCK INMID TRAFFIC. THE REVERSE WORKED SO I WAS ABLE TO ROLL OUT HARMS WAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/20/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
FOR 2 MONTHS MY CHECK EMISSIONS LIGHT WAS COMING ON AND GOING OFF. ACCORDING TO MY OWNERS MANUAL THE GAS CAP OR AIR FILTER NEED FIXING. I WENT TO AUTOZONE TO GET A FREE DIAGNOSTICS READING. AT THE END OF AUGUST MY CAR STARTED TO HESITATE , WON'T ACCELERATE AT TAKE OFF. THEN STARTED HEAVY JERKING AT TAKE OFF AND WHEN SITTING STILL. I BOUGHT SOME LIQUID AND CHANGED AIR FILTER, SAME RESULTS. I CALLED CHEVY DEALER TO HAVE CAR CHECKED UNDER MY POWERTRAIN AND MY EMISSIONS WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET HELP SO I COULD GET MY CAR CHECKED NEXT FRIDAY ON THE 23RD. TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT MY CAR. BUT ON THE 16TH OF OCTOBER I'M LEAVING WORK I BACKED OUT OF STALL AND PULLED FORWARD CAR WAS DRAGGING ROUGHLY. I WAS WAITING TO PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC WHEN CAR STARTED JUTTING FORWARD. I PRESS ON THE GAS WENT FORWARD ABOUT 5 TO 8 FEET AND THEN NOTHING. I WAS STUCK INMID TRAFFIC. THE REVERSE WORKED SO I WAS ABLE TO ROLL OUT HARMS WAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/20/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
FOR 2 MONTHS MY CHECK EMISSIONS LIGHT WAS COMING ON AND GOING OFF. ACCORDING TO MY OWNERS MANUAL THE GAS CAP OR AIR FILTER NEED FIXING. I WENT TO AUTOZONE TO GET A FREE DIAGNOSTICS READING. AT THE END OF AUGUST MY CAR STARTED TO HESITATE , WON'T ACCELERATE AT TAKE OFF. THEN STARTED HEAVY JERKING AT TAKE OFF AND WHEN SITTING STILL. I BOUGHT SOME LIQUID AND CHANGED AIR FILTER, SAME RESULTS. I CALLED CHEVY DEALER TO HAVE CAR CHECKED UNDER MY POWERTRAIN AND MY EMISSIONS WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET HELP SO I COULD GET MY CAR CHECKED NEXT FRIDAY ON THE 23RD. TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT MY CAR. BUT ON THE 16TH OF OCTOBER I'M LEAVING WORK I BACKED OUT OF STALL AND PULLED FORWARD CAR WAS DRAGGING ROUGHLY. I WAS WAITING TO PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC WHEN CAR STARTED JUTTING FORWARD. I PRESS ON THE GAS WENT FORWARD ABOUT 5 TO 8 FEET AND THEN NOTHING. I WAS STUCK INMID TRAFFIC. THE REVERSE WORKED SO I WAS ABLE TO ROLL OUT HARMS WAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/17/2015 - ARDMORE, OK
STARTING MARCH 28, 2015, WHILE PARKED IN SEVERAL PUBLIC AND PRIVATE PARKING AREA'S, THE KEY COULD NOT BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION FOR FROM 20 MINUTES TO SEVERAL HOURS. ON APRIL 1, 2015, THE DEALER, SETH WADLEY, IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM AS "55729 FOUND SHIFTER TO BE BINDING INTERNALLY". THEY EXPLAINED THAT THE BUTTON THAT RELEASES THE AUTOMATIC GEAR SHIFT WAS GETTING STUCK. THIS KEPT THE KEY FROM BEING RELEASED FROM THE IGNITION. WHILE WAITING FOR THE PROBLEM TO BE EVALUATED, THE CAR HAD TO BE LEFT, UNLOCKED WITH THE KEYS IN THE IGNITION, IN SEVERAL PRIVATE AND PUBLIC PARKING AREAS WHERE CHILDREN COULD HAVE TAKEN THE CAR. THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD NOT LOCK INTO PARK WHILE THE BUTTON WAS STUCK. I HAVE THE SHIFTER THAT WAS REPLACED FOR $448.49 ON APRIL 3, 2015, AND WILL PROVIDE IT AT YOUR REQUEST. ATTACHED ARE PHOTOS OF THE INVOICE AND THE OLD SHIFTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2015 - DECATUR, TX
POWER STEERING WAS NOT WORKING AS I WAS LEAVING THE HOUSE, SO I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER. MECHANIC SAID THE VOLTAGE FROM THE BATTERY WAS SPORADIC AND PRONE TO SPIKING. THIS SPIKING CAUSED THE POWER STEERING TO FAIL, AS THIS VEHICLE HAS NO SURGE PROTECTOR TO PROTECT ELECTRONIC CHIPS. BATTER ACID HAD ALSO SPILLED OUT OF BOTH HEAD MOUNTS CAUSING MINOR DAMAGE TO OTHER PARTS UNDER THE HOOD.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds