Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 230 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (93) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (34) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (52) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/18/2017 - DALLAS, TX
MY ANTIFREEZE PRESSURE HOSE BUSTED,I TOOK IT TO THE DEALLERSHIP THEY SAID THAT I HAD AITIFREEZE IN THE ENGINE. THEY SAY IT WILL ONLY COST ME AROUND $400.00 DOSE THIS SOUND RIGHT .I THINK A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CAUSE THE HOSE TO BURST AN IT ALL SHOULD.IS THERE A RECALL ON THIS.THE HOSE BUSTED WHILE THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN ON THE HIGHWAY

View Details

ENGINE

1/18/2017 - DALLAS, TX
MY ANTIFREEZE PRESSURE HOSE BUSTED,I TOOK IT TO THE DEALLERSHIP THEY SAID THAT I HAD AITIFREEZE IN THE ENGINE. THEY SAY IT WILL ONLY COST ME AROUND $400.00 DOSE THIS SOUND RIGHT .I THINK A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CAUSE THE HOSE TO BURST AN IT ALL SHOULD.IS THERE A RECALL ON THIS.THE HOSE BUSTED WHILE THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN ON THE HIGHWAY

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2017 - KINGSFORD, MI
ON 1/31/2016 A VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME. THE FIRST AND BIGGEST ISSUE WAS THE AIRBAG NEVER WENT OFF AND THE SEAT BELT TENSIONERS DID NOT LOCK THE BELTS EITHER. I WENT FORWARD AND HIT MY HEAD ON THE STEERING WHEEL RENDERING ME UNCONSCIOUS!!! ALMOST THE WHOLE FRONT END HAD TO BE REPLACED E.G.: GRILL AND FRONT PANEL, LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT QUARTER PANELS, RADIATOR, BOTH WHEEL WELLS, SUSPENSION ON BOTH SIDES AND EVERYTHING THAT GOES WITH THOSE PLUS A WHOLE LOT OF OTHER THINGS LIKE THE RADIATOR, COOLANT AND WASHER TANKS ETC. ETC.... THIS WAS A FULL-FRONTAL WRECK AND NOT A SINGLE AIRBAG WENT OFF!!! SECONDLY ARE THE ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL. THE ROADS WERE A LITTLE SLICK SO I HAD THE TC ON. WHEN I HIT MY BRAKES ALL THEY DID, HAVE DONE SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR, AND CONTINUE TO DO TO THIS DAY, IS IMMEDIATELY LOCK UP! I HAD ZERO CONTROL OF MY CAR. THIS CAR HAS, BY FAR, THE WORST ABS SYSTEM I HAVE EVER USED. THE TC IS COMPLETE SHIT, TOO!!! THIRDLY, EVERY TIME I START THE CAR THE ENGINE SEEMS TO MISFIRE OR SOMETHING! IT RATTLES AND SHAKES THE WHOLE CAR, HARD!!! AFTER A FEW SECONDS IT SEEMS TO FIND IT'S GROOVE AND IDLES NORMALLY. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR TO ADDRESS THESE PROBLEMS. ALL THEY TELL ME IS THEY ARE DESIGN AND/OR MANUFACTURING FLAWS. THEY SAID I CAN PAY TO FIX THESE ISSUES WITH MY OWN MONEY OR WAIT AND SEE IF THE ISSUES BECOME RECALLS. WHICH, ACCORDING TO MY RESEARCH, HAVE NOT YET. TO ME, THESE ARE SOME PRETTY BIG SAFETY ISSUES THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE ADDRESSING!!! AND WHY AREN'T THEY????? I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE ACCIDENT, BUT CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THEM ANYWHERE. I'LL COME BACK IF I FIND THEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/8/2017 - KINGSFORD, MI
ON 1/31/2016 A VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME. THE FIRST AND BIGGEST ISSUE WAS THE AIRBAG NEVER WENT OFF AND THE SEAT BELT TENSIONERS DID NOT LOCK THE BELTS EITHER. I WENT FORWARD AND HIT MY HEAD ON THE STEERING WHEEL RENDERING ME UNCONSCIOUS!!! ALMOST THE WHOLE FRONT END HAD TO BE REPLACED E.G.: GRILL AND FRONT PANEL, LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT QUARTER PANELS, RADIATOR, BOTH WHEEL WELLS, SUSPENSION ON BOTH SIDES AND EVERYTHING THAT GOES WITH THOSE PLUS A WHOLE LOT OF OTHER THINGS LIKE THE RADIATOR, COOLANT AND WASHER TANKS ETC. ETC.... THIS WAS A FULL-FRONTAL WRECK AND NOT A SINGLE AIRBAG WENT OFF!!! SECONDLY ARE THE ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL. THE ROADS WERE A LITTLE SLICK SO I HAD THE TC ON. WHEN I HIT MY BRAKES ALL THEY DID, HAVE DONE SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR, AND CONTINUE TO DO TO THIS DAY, IS IMMEDIATELY LOCK UP! I HAD ZERO CONTROL OF MY CAR. THIS CAR HAS, BY FAR, THE WORST ABS SYSTEM I HAVE EVER USED. THE TC IS COMPLETE SHIT, TOO!!! THIRDLY, EVERY TIME I START THE CAR THE ENGINE SEEMS TO MISFIRE OR SOMETHING! IT RATTLES AND SHAKES THE WHOLE CAR, HARD!!! AFTER A FEW SECONDS IT SEEMS TO FIND IT'S GROOVE AND IDLES NORMALLY. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR TO ADDRESS THESE PROBLEMS. ALL THEY TELL ME IS THEY ARE DESIGN AND/OR MANUFACTURING FLAWS. THEY SAID I CAN PAY TO FIX THESE ISSUES WITH MY OWN MONEY OR WAIT AND SEE IF THE ISSUES BECOME RECALLS. WHICH, ACCORDING TO MY RESEARCH, HAVE NOT YET. TO ME, THESE ARE SOME PRETTY BIG SAFETY ISSUES THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE ADDRESSING!!! AND WHY AREN'T THEY????? I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE ACCIDENT, BUT CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THEM ANYWHERE. I'LL COME BACK IF I FIND THEM.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/8/2017 - KINGSFORD, MI
ON 1/31/2016 A VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME. THE FIRST AND BIGGEST ISSUE WAS THE AIRBAG NEVER WENT OFF AND THE SEAT BELT TENSIONERS DID NOT LOCK THE BELTS EITHER. I WENT FORWARD AND HIT MY HEAD ON THE STEERING WHEEL RENDERING ME UNCONSCIOUS!!! ALMOST THE WHOLE FRONT END HAD TO BE REPLACED E.G.: GRILL AND FRONT PANEL, LEFT AND RIGHT FRONT QUARTER PANELS, RADIATOR, BOTH WHEEL WELLS, SUSPENSION ON BOTH SIDES AND EVERYTHING THAT GOES WITH THOSE PLUS A WHOLE LOT OF OTHER THINGS LIKE THE RADIATOR, COOLANT AND WASHER TANKS ETC. ETC.... THIS WAS A FULL-FRONTAL WRECK AND NOT A SINGLE AIRBAG WENT OFF!!! SECONDLY ARE THE ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL. THE ROADS WERE A LITTLE SLICK SO I HAD THE TC ON. WHEN I HIT MY BRAKES ALL THEY DID, HAVE DONE SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR, AND CONTINUE TO DO TO THIS DAY, IS IMMEDIATELY LOCK UP! I HAD ZERO CONTROL OF MY CAR. THIS CAR HAS, BY FAR, THE WORST ABS SYSTEM I HAVE EVER USED. THE TC IS COMPLETE SHIT, TOO!!! THIRDLY, EVERY TIME I START THE CAR THE ENGINE SEEMS TO MISFIRE OR SOMETHING! IT RATTLES AND SHAKES THE WHOLE CAR, HARD!!! AFTER A FEW SECONDS IT SEEMS TO FIND IT'S GROOVE AND IDLES NORMALLY. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR TO ADDRESS THESE PROBLEMS. ALL THEY TELL ME IS THEY ARE DESIGN AND/OR MANUFACTURING FLAWS. THEY SAID I CAN PAY TO FIX THESE ISSUES WITH MY OWN MONEY OR WAIT AND SEE IF THE ISSUES BECOME RECALLS. WHICH, ACCORDING TO MY RESEARCH, HAVE NOT YET. TO ME, THESE ARE SOME PRETTY BIG SAFETY ISSUES THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE ADDRESSING!!! AND WHY AREN'T THEY????? I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE ACCIDENT, BUT CAN'T SEEM TO FIND THEM ANYWHERE. I'LL COME BACK IF I FIND THEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2016 - SOUTH CHESTERFIELD, VA
THERE IS NO HEAT IN MY 2012 SONIC, THE HEAT IS TURN TO THE HIGHEST POSITION BUT ONLY BLOWS COLD AIR. OCCATIONALLY THE HEAT WILL START BUT WHEN THE CAR IS NOT IN MOTION THERE IS NO HEAT AND ONLY COLD AIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/6/2016 - EL CAJON, CA
TRANSMISSION RECALL14V315000. MY SON AND WIFE WERE DRIVING IN FREEWAY TRAFFIC WHEN SUDDENLY, THE VEHICLE LOST SPEED AND WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO THIRD OR HIGHER GEARS. THE VEHICLE SPEED WAS LIMITED TO ABOUT 25-35MPH. IT WAS A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE WHICH COULD HAVE CAUSED A CRASH AS MY SON WAS TRYING TO WEAVE OUT OF HIGH SPEED FREEWAY TRAFFIC. THE FAILURE IS RELATED TO A BROKEN WAVE PLATE IN THE TRANSMISSION WHICH PREVENTS 3-6 GEARS FROM ENGAGING. THE SYMPTOMS EXPERIENCED ARE VERY SIMILAR TO A RECALL GM HAS ON SOME 2012 SONICS WHERE THE VEHICLE HAS LIMITED SPEED AND WON'T SHIFT PAST 3 GEAR. RESEARCH REVEALS THERE ARE HUNDREDS, IF NOT THOUSANDS OF THESE TRANSMISSIONS WITH THE WAVE PLATES BREAKING AND POSING A SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/5/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG HESITATION WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN FIRST AND SECOND GEAR, AS WELL AS WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE VEHICLE JERKED EXCESSIVELY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 01/11/2017

View Details

STEERING

11/29/2016 - TARBORO, NC
SOON AFTER I PURCHASE MY CAR I NOTICE WHEN I'M ON THE BYPASS ITS LIKE A FEATHER WOBBLING . THEN RECENTLY I'M DRIVING AND MY STEERING WHEEL COME UP, AND WONT LOCK BACK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/18/2016 - PRESCOTT, AZ
FRONT SEAT RIGHT AND LEFT DOOR HANDLES , CHROME COVERING SPLIT CAUSING SHARP EDGE RESULTING CUT HAND FOR DRIVER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds