Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 474 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (55) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electrical System (39) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seats (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (19) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (294)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/6/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW AND THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRACK WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING GEAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2015 - JONESVILLE, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AT ABOUT 40 MPH WHEN I FELT MY STEERING WHEEL PULL VERY SLIGHTLY, AND THEN I NOTICED THE "POWER ASSIST FAIL" MESSAGE CAME UP ON THE VEHICLE. BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT ROAD I DIDN'T REALLY NOTICE ANY MAJOR DIFFERENCE UNTIL I GOT TO WHERE I WAS GOING TO TURN OFF, AND THEN IT WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER. AFTER PARKING, I LOOKED IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL, AND READ THAT I NEEDED TO WAIT FOR A BIT AND THEN RESTART. WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR IT DROVE FINE. AFTER RETURNING HOME, I CALLED THE SERVICE CENTER AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED, AND ASKED IF I SHOULD COME IN. I WAS ADVISED TO COME IN. THEY CHARGED ME ABOUT $130.00 TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST, AND THEY ESTIMATED THAT IT WAS GOING TO BE ABOUT $1800.00 TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM. MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE NOT DECIDED WHETHER TO HAVE THE CAR REPAIRED (WE BOTH HAVE READ ABOUT PEOPLE GETTING THE PART REPLACED ONLY TO HAVE THE PROBLEM OCCUR AGAIN) OR TO JUST REPLACING THE CAR ALTOGETHER. EITHER WAY, WE ARE NOT PLEASED AT FORD'S FAILURE TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR AN ISSUE THAT IS THE RESULT OF A DEFECTIVE PART THEY USED TO MANUFACTURE THE FUSION. FURTHERMORE, HAD THIS HAPPENED WHEN I HAD BEEN ON A CURVY ROAD OR IN A HIGH TRAFFIC SITUATION, I COULD HAVE WRECKED AND POSSIBLY BEEN KILLED OR COULD HAVE COLLIDED WITH SOMEONE ELSE AND THEY COULD HAVE BEEN EITHER SEVERELY INJURED OR KILLED. FORD NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, CONSIDERING BOTH THE POSSIBLE OUTCOMES AND THAT MY EXPERIENCE IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENCE (AS EVIDENCED BY READING ABOUT A LOT OF OTHERS WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED OR WHO ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEMS).

View Details

STEERING

4/2/2015 - BROWNSBURG, IN
I AM UNSURE OF THE FATE THE FIRST TIME BUT APPROXIMATELY A YEAR AGO I WAS DRIVING AND THE SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW WARNING CAME ON AND POWER STEERING WAS LOST. AGAIN TODAY APRIL 2, 2015 I WAS DRIVING APPROX 33 MILES PER HOUR AND THE SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW WARNING CAME ON AND ALL POWER STEERING WAS LOST. DEALERSHIP FIXED IT THE FIRST TIME UNDER WARRANTY MY CAR IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY AND I AM TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/30/2015 - MIDDLETON, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALER FOR A CHECK-UP AND IT WAS FOUND THAT THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE BRAKE PADS WERE METAL ON METAL. THE BRAKE PADS WERE REPLACED; HOWEVER, 5,000 MILES LATER, THE BRAKES STARTED TO MAKE A GRINDING SOUND AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED BECAUSE OF THE SNOW, BUT THE CONTACT STATED THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE IN FLORIDA WITH NICE WEATHER. THE CONTACT SPOKE TO THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THIS WAS NORMAL WEAR FOR THE BRAKE PADS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. EACH BRAKE CHANGE LASTED LESS THEN 14,000 MILES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,233.

View Details

STEERING

3/29/2015 - MIAMI, FL
I HAVE HAD TWO INCIDENTS WITH THE POWER STEERING. FIRST INCIDENT WHILE DRIVING ON THE I95 THE WHEEL LOCKED ON ME, FORTUNATELY I WAS EXITING THE HIGHWAY AT THE TIME. SECOND TIME MY CAR WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVE WAY AND ON MY WAY OUT THE WHEEL LOCKED AGAIN AND GAVE ME A ERROR REPORT OF POWER STEERING FAULT ASSIST. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO NEXT. AFTER READING THE STORIES ABOUT THIS BEING A PROBLEM WITH THE FORD FUSIONS. HELP!!!

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - QUINCY, IL
MY 17 YR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING THE CAR AT 30 MPH WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO BUCK AND JERK AND SHE IMMEDIATELY BROUGHT IT TO A STOP. IT WOULD NOT TAKE ANY MORE POWER OR ACCELERATION. WHILE STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD SHE CALLED ME AND NOTED THE TEMP GAUGE SHOWED HOT WITH A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. WE HAD IT TOWED. TECHNICIAN WHO DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM FOUND A FAULTY TEMP SENSOR THAT SHOWED THE ENGINE WAS OVERHEATING AND CAUSING THE ENGINE TO GO INTO FAIL-SAFE SHUT-DOWN MODE. APPARENTLY THIS HAS HAPPENED OFTEN ENOUGH THAT FORD HAS A SERVICE BULLETIN OUT ON THE PROBLEM, BUT NO RECALL. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER IF SHE HAD STILL BEEN ON THE ROAD WHERE SHE PARKED IT. THERE SHOULD BE A MANUFACTURER RECALL TO HAVE THESE PARTS CHECKED OUT. THERE IS A KNOWN CORROSION ISSUE WITH THE SENSOR AND WIRING.

View Details

STEERING

3/25/2015 - OREGON, OH
WHILE I WAS DRIVING TO FLORIDA THE ABS INDICATOR COME ON, I PARKED MY CAR. AFTER READING THE MANUAL, FOUND THAT THE POWER STEERING WAS LISTED FOR PROBLEM, ONCE I RESTARTED THE CAR IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. THERE WAS NO OTHER WARNING NOR IS THERE ANYTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR. COME TO FIND OUT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS BUT HAD TO REPLACE BOTH FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARMS AND EPAS STERRING GEAR. AFTER READING AND FINDING MAY PROBLEMS WITH THE STEERING THERE NEED TO BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2015 - MAPLE SHADE, NJ
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE INDICATOR READ SERVICE POWER STEERING, I PARKED MY CAR. ONCE I RESTARTED THE CAR IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. THERE WAS NO OTHER WARNING NOR IS THERE ANYTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR. IT WAS SERVICED BY FORD FOR A ROUTINE CHECK UP AND NO PROBLEMS OCCURED. THIS HAPPENED OUT OF THE BLUE, I AM HAPPY I WASNT DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT THE TIME WITH MY 4 YEAR OLD SON. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL!!!

View Details

STEERING

3/23/2015 - PASADENA, MD
WAS DRIVING TO DROP MY 7 MONTH OLD DAUGHTER OFF AT MY MOM'S HOUSE ON WAY TO WORK AND STEERING WHEEL SUDDENLY GOT TIGHT. SERVICE ACTIVETRAC LIGHT CAME ON AND I FOUGHT TO GET CAR TO MOM'S HOUSE - VERY UNCOMFORTABLE FEELING WITH MY INFANT IN THE CAR, ESPECIALLY WITH NO WARNING SIGNS. WENT TO LEAVE HOUSE AND WHEN I STARTED THE CAR, THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW" LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASH AND THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING AT ALL. CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY SUGGESTED TO HAVE IT TOWED. THEY ENDED UP HAVING TO REPLACE ENTIRE STEERING RACK DUE TO STEERING MOTOR FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2015 - AUGUSTA, MI
I ENTERED THE DATE FOR THE 3RD OCCURRENCE BECAUSE I CAN'T REMEMBER THE DATES OF THE FIRST 2 OCCURRENCES. EVERY TIME I HAVE A FLAT TIRE/LOW TIRE PRESSURE THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. AFTER THE TIRE IS FIXED/INFLATED, THE POWER STEERING IS STILL OUT. I THEN HAVE TO TAKE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THE CODES RESET - POWER STEERING THEN WORKS. I COULD SEE THIS BEING A BIG ISSUE IF YOU ARE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN IT HAPPENS - ALTHOUGH THAT SCENARIO HASN'T HAPPENED TO ME YET. OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW IN THE TPMS AND POWER STEERING ELECTRONICS THAT CAUSES POWER STEERING TO SHUT DOWN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds