Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 401 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (49) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (42)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seats (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (46) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (7) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (237)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/2/2014 - CLARKSDALE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AS THE ADVANCE TRACK WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,001. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2014 - IMLER, PA
THE TRANSMISSION IN MY 2012 FORD FUSION (2.5L 4 CYLINDER, 6 SPEED SPORT SHIFT TRANSMISSION) WILL SHIFT EXTREMELY HARD AND UNEXPECTEDLY AT BOTH LOW AND HIGHWAY SPEEDS. AT LOW SPEEDS WHEN BEGINNING TO SLOW, THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY DROP INTO A LOW GEAR, THUS CAUSING A LOUD "CLUNK" SOUND AND THE CAR TO SUDDENLY SLOW (AS IF HITTING THE BRAKES HARD). AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHEN CLIMBING STEEP HILLS, THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION WILL HOLD AT A HIGH RPM AND NOT RELEASE, EVEN AFTER REACHING THE TOP OF THE HILL AND/OR ON THE DOWNWARD GRADE. I MUST BRAKE IN ORDER TO FOR THE CAR TO RELEASE FROM HITS HIGH REVELATIONS. I HAVE HAD THE CAR TO DIFFERENT FORD DEALERSHIPS ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, AND EACH TIME, I AM TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE IS OPERATING NORMALLY, AS MY CONCERNS APPARENTLY CANNOT BE REPLICATED. THE CAR IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY, AND THE PROBLEMS CONTINUE. I FEAR THAT AN ACCIDENT MAY OCCUR AS A RESULT OF THIS TRANSMISSION'S SUDDEN, UNPREDICTABLE ACTIONS.

View Details

STEERING

11/24/2014 - WAGSWORTH, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE TRACTION LIGHT AND POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTART BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - WAGSWORTH, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE TRACTION LIGHT AND POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTART BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/22/2014 - ARLINGTON , MA
VEHICLE EXHIBITED EXTREME HESITATION WHEN ACCELERATING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. ENGINE RAN ROUGHLY, AND DID NOT RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUTS, AND POWERTRAIN 'WRENCH' LIGHT ILLUMINATED. PULLED INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT, STOPPED AND PLACED INTO PARK, WHILE THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN ROUGHLY. ENGINE WAS SWITCHED OFF, AND RAN NORMALLY WHEN RESTARTED. THE TOTAL ELAPSED TIME OF THE ANOMALY WAS APPROXIMATELY 5-10 SECONDS. LATER THAT DAY A SCAN OF THE OBD II PORT INDICATED NO ANOMALIES, AND AN ON-BOARD 'VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR' WAS RUN VIA FORD SYNC . THIS REPORT ALSO INDICATED NO ANOMALIES. WHILE LOOKING UP THE VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR RESULTS ON THE OWNER WEBSITE, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A 'CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM' 13N03 WHICH EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE THROTTLE BODY. RESEARCH ON THIS 13N03 PROGRAM VIA MULTIPLE ON-LINE SOURCES REVEALED NUMEROUS FAILURES OF THE THROTTLE BODY, WITH BEHAVIOR IDENTICAL TO THAT OBSERVED IN THIS VEHICLE. CAR WAS DRIVEN (CAREFULLY) FOR A FEW DAYS UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO VISIT LOCAL FORD DEALER. SERVICE ADVISOR INDICATED THAT FORD WOULD ONLY REPLACE THROTTLE BODY IF THERE WERE STORED CODES CONSISTENT WITH THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, AND THAT DIAGNOSTIC COSTS ($159) WERE MY RESPONSIBILITY IF NO CODES WERE FOUND. AFTER DISCUSSING THE NEGATIVE RESULTS OF OBD II SCAN AND VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR, HIS OPINION WAS THAT THERE WAS A VERY HIGH PROBABILITY THAT THEIR DIAGNOSTICS WOULD ALSO SHOW NO CODES. BASED ON THIS INFORMATION, I DECLINED TO HAVE DEALER EXAMINE THE CAR, AND REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY WITH UPDATED PART MYSELF (TOTAL COST $125), AS A MORE EFFECTIVE APPROACH TO PREVENTING RECURRENCE. MY OPINION IS THAT THE 13N03 PROGRAM NEEDS TO BE A FULL RECALL, AS THIS FAILURE IS COMMON, UNPREDICTABLE, AND CAN HAVE VERY SERIOUS CONSEQUENCES SHOULD IT OCCUR DURING HIGH SPEED MERGING OR CROSSING TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2014 - ARLINGTON , MA
VEHICLE EXHIBITED EXTREME HESITATION WHEN ACCELERATING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. ENGINE RAN ROUGHLY, AND DID NOT RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUTS, AND POWERTRAIN 'WRENCH' LIGHT ILLUMINATED. PULLED INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT, STOPPED AND PLACED INTO PARK, WHILE THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN ROUGHLY. ENGINE WAS SWITCHED OFF, AND RAN NORMALLY WHEN RESTARTED. THE TOTAL ELAPSED TIME OF THE ANOMALY WAS APPROXIMATELY 5-10 SECONDS. LATER THAT DAY A SCAN OF THE OBD II PORT INDICATED NO ANOMALIES, AND AN ON-BOARD 'VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR' WAS RUN VIA FORD SYNC . THIS REPORT ALSO INDICATED NO ANOMALIES. WHILE LOOKING UP THE VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR RESULTS ON THE OWNER WEBSITE, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A 'CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM' 13N03 WHICH EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE THROTTLE BODY. RESEARCH ON THIS 13N03 PROGRAM VIA MULTIPLE ON-LINE SOURCES REVEALED NUMEROUS FAILURES OF THE THROTTLE BODY, WITH BEHAVIOR IDENTICAL TO THAT OBSERVED IN THIS VEHICLE. CAR WAS DRIVEN (CAREFULLY) FOR A FEW DAYS UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO VISIT LOCAL FORD DEALER. SERVICE ADVISOR INDICATED THAT FORD WOULD ONLY REPLACE THROTTLE BODY IF THERE WERE STORED CODES CONSISTENT WITH THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, AND THAT DIAGNOSTIC COSTS ($159) WERE MY RESPONSIBILITY IF NO CODES WERE FOUND. AFTER DISCUSSING THE NEGATIVE RESULTS OF OBD II SCAN AND VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR, HIS OPINION WAS THAT THERE WAS A VERY HIGH PROBABILITY THAT THEIR DIAGNOSTICS WOULD ALSO SHOW NO CODES. BASED ON THIS INFORMATION, I DECLINED TO HAVE DEALER EXAMINE THE CAR, AND REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY WITH UPDATED PART MYSELF (TOTAL COST $125), AS A MORE EFFECTIVE APPROACH TO PREVENTING RECURRENCE. MY OPINION IS THAT THE 13N03 PROGRAM NEEDS TO BE A FULL RECALL, AS THIS FAILURE IS COMMON, UNPREDICTABLE, AND CAN HAVE VERY SERIOUS CONSEQUENCES SHOULD IT OCCUR DURING HIGH SPEED MERGING OR CROSSING TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2014 - EAST AMHERST, NY
A FEW MONTHS AFTER I PURCHASED THE CAR AND AS I WAS SLOWED DOWN DUE TO TRAFFIC, COASTING AT 5-10 MPH, THE CAR ACCELERATED WITH A ROAR AND TO AVOID THE ACCIDENT I SWERVED TO RIGHT, APPLIED THE BREAKS HARD TO STOP THE CAR.YESTERDAY,11/20/14, IT REPEATED THE INCIDENT ON MY DRIVE WAY WHILE I WAS ENTERING THE GARAGE AND HIT THE STORAGE OBJECTS THERE AND ALSO I HAD TO APPLY THE BREAKS HARD TO STOP THE CAR. MANY TIMES DURING THE PAST TWO YEARS THE CAR HAS BEHAVED SIMILARLY AT STOP SIGNS BUT WITH MUCH LESS FURY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/20/2014 - NASHVILLE, TN
AFTER STOPPING VEHICLE, DRIVERS DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/18/2014 - ARLINGTON, VA
THE FIRST TIME I EXPERIENCED THE PROBLEM, I WAS MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN AND IT FELT LIKE THE CAR WAS RUNNING ON A COUPLE OF CYLINDERS, VERY LOW POWER. I STOPPED AS SOON AS I COULD AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, RESTARTED IT AND EVERYTHING SEEM TO BE OK. EVERYTHING WAS FINE FOR ABOUT A MONTH, BUT WHILE ON A TRIP, I EXPERIENCE A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND UNRESPONSIVE THROTTLE. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND EXPLAINED WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND THAT IT SOUNDED LIKE THE SAME PROBLEM MY SISTER-IN-LAW HAD EXPERIENCED WITH HER 2010 FUSION AND THAT AFTER A NUMBER OF TRIP AND PROBLEM REPEATED PROBLEMS THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY WHICH RESOLVED THE PROBLEM. IN MY CASE THE DEALER, EVEN THOUGH I EXPLAINED WHAT I HAD EXPERIENCED AND THAT I WAS AWARE OF A SERVICE BULLETIN FROM FORD FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, SAID MY PROBLEM WAS A BAD BATTERY, WHICH THEY REPLACED AND RETURNED THE CAR TO ME. A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER I EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM A COUPLE OF TIMES AND IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AND THIS TIME THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. I HAVE SINCE DRIVEN THE CAR ABOUT 1500 MILES IN THE LAST TWO MONTHS WITHOUT A PROBLEM. MY SON IS NOW GOING THROUGH THE SAME PROBLEM WITH A 2011 ESCAPE HYBRID. HIS DEALER DID NOT REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY WHEN HE TOOK IT WITH THE SAME PROBLEM A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO, INSTEAD THEY CHARGED HIM A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS TO "REMOVE CARBON BUILDUP" OR SOMETHING. TODAY THE ESCAPE EXPERIENCE THE SAME PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ON AN INTERSTATE. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO HIS DEALER THIS AFTERNOON AND TOLD THEM OF MY EXPERIENCE, THE SERVICE REP SAID THEY WOULD LOOK INTO IT. WE'LL SEE. I AM A LONG TIME LOYAL FORD OWNER BUT FEEL THEY ARE WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BE KILLED BEFORE THEY FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

11/18/2014 - ARLINGTON, VA
THE FIRST TIME I EXPERIENCED THE PROBLEM, I WAS MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN AND IT FELT LIKE THE CAR WAS RUNNING ON A COUPLE OF CYLINDERS, VERY LOW POWER. I STOPPED AS SOON AS I COULD AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, RESTARTED IT AND EVERYTHING SEEM TO BE OK. EVERYTHING WAS FINE FOR ABOUT A MONTH, BUT WHILE ON A TRIP, I EXPERIENCE A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND UNRESPONSIVE THROTTLE. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND EXPLAINED WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND THAT IT SOUNDED LIKE THE SAME PROBLEM MY SISTER-IN-LAW HAD EXPERIENCED WITH HER 2010 FUSION AND THAT AFTER A NUMBER OF TRIP AND PROBLEM REPEATED PROBLEMS THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY WHICH RESOLVED THE PROBLEM. IN MY CASE THE DEALER, EVEN THOUGH I EXPLAINED WHAT I HAD EXPERIENCED AND THAT I WAS AWARE OF A SERVICE BULLETIN FROM FORD FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, SAID MY PROBLEM WAS A BAD BATTERY, WHICH THEY REPLACED AND RETURNED THE CAR TO ME. A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER I EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM A COUPLE OF TIMES AND IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AND THIS TIME THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY. I HAVE SINCE DRIVEN THE CAR ABOUT 1500 MILES IN THE LAST TWO MONTHS WITHOUT A PROBLEM. MY SON IS NOW GOING THROUGH THE SAME PROBLEM WITH A 2011 ESCAPE HYBRID. HIS DEALER DID NOT REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY WHEN HE TOOK IT WITH THE SAME PROBLEM A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO, INSTEAD THEY CHARGED HIM A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS TO "REMOVE CARBON BUILDUP" OR SOMETHING. TODAY THE ESCAPE EXPERIENCE THE SAME PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING ON AN INTERSTATE. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO HIS DEALER THIS AFTERNOON AND TOLD THEM OF MY EXPERIENCE, THE SERVICE REP SAID THEY WOULD LOOK INTO IT. WE'LL SEE. I AM A LONG TIME LOYAL FORD OWNER BUT FEEL THEY ARE WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BE KILLED BEFORE THEY FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds