Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 803 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (80) Steering (488) Unknown Or Other (40)
Electrical System (70) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (3) Structure (46) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Seats (7) Suspension (10) Visibility (2)
Engine (67) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (19) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/3/2017 - VICTORVILLE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE 15 N AT ABOUT 70 MPH. THE STEERING WHEEL VEERED TO THE LEFT AND LOCKED. AT THIS TIME, THE POWER STEERING WAS LOST. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND HE SAID THAT THE RACK AND PINION WAS NO RESPONDING TO ANY INPUT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/1/2017 - HIGHLAND, UT
THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR LATCH. DOOR LATCH HANDLE AND LOCK POPPED OUT TOWARDS STEERING WHEEL AND DOOR SWUNG OPEN IN TRAFFIC ON 12/31/2016. WHEN DOOR FINALLY LATCHED, IT WOULD NOT LOCK. REMOTE CANNOT ACTUATE LOCK. INSIDE DOOR HANDLE AND LOCK STILL OUT OF POSITION.

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2016 - APPLETON, WI
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST SYSTEM INTERMITTENTLY SHUTS DOWN. FIRST, WHILE DRIVING, A SERIES OF SENSOR LIGHTS COME ON. AFTER THIS, IF THE ENGINE IS SHUT OF AND THEN BACK ON, THERE IT A TOTAL LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THIS PROBLEM APPEARS TO BE SIMILAR TO THAT IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000. HOWEVER, MY VEHICLE IS NOT COVERED BY THAT RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - PARK RIDGE, NJ
THE BLOWER MOTOR HAS FAILED 3 TIMES ON MY 2012 FUSION. THE FIRST WAS WHILE UNDER WARRANTY IN 2013, THE SECOND WAS JUST OFF WARRANTY IN 2015, AND THE LAST TIME WAS MAY 27, 2016. THE BLOWER MOTOR FAILED ON THE DAY OF MY SON'S HS SENIOR PROM. WHILE SCHULTZ FORD PROVIDED PRIORITY SERVICE TO HAVE THE REPAIR DONE IN 6 HOURS, IT COST ME OVER $700. THIS IS A CHRONIC PROBLEM THAT FORD SHOULD REPAIR AS A RECALL. I'M CROSSING MY FINGERS WHEN I NEED THE AC IN THE LAST SPRING OF 2017.

View Details

STEERING

12/28/2016 - PARK RIDGE, NJ
APRIL, 2016: I WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVE WAY WITH THE MOTOR OFF. WHEN I STARTED THE CAR I COULD BARELY TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. I WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY DRIVE IT TO SCHULTZ FORD IN NANUET, NEW YORK. THE PROBLEM WAS THAT THE ELECTRONIC GEARBOX HAD FAILED. THE REPAIR COST $2000. THE SCHULTZ FORD SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED ME THAT CERTAIN MODELS OF 2012 FUSIONS WERE RECALLED FOR THE PROBLEM AND THEY WERE REPAIRED FOR FREE. UNFORTUNATELY, MY FUSION WAS NOT ONE OF THOSE MODELS. I APPEALED TO THE REGIONAL SERVICE MANAGER. SHE REPEATED THE SAME INFORMATION AS SCHULTZ FORD. SHE ADVISED ME TO REPORT THE PROBLEM TO THE NHTSA IN HOPE THAT IF ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAINED FORD WOULD ISSUE A RECALL AND REIMBURSE ME FOR THIS REPAIR AT THAT TIME. I AM CONFUSED AS TO WHY A PROBLEM THAT AROSE WITHOUT WARNING, AND WAS THE SUBJECT OF A RECALL NOTICE ON A SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT MODEL, WAS NOT TREATED AS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND REPAIRED FOR FREE BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/28/2016 - SCHENECTADY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED EXCESSIVE PRESSURE WAS NEEDED WHEN DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE ABLE TO STOP SAFELY AT ANY SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/26/2016 - WESTFIELD, NJ
"POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" MESSAGE APPEARED AND STEERING WAS LOCKED. LUCKILY, BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/20/2016 - ST. LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. AFTER THE CONTACT PLACED THE VEHICLE IN THE PARK POSITION AND EXITED, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ROLL. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO GET BACK INTO THE VEHICLE AND STOP IT FROM MOVING. THE KEY WAS REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE 'VEHICLE NOT IN PARK' WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/13/2016 - WESTLAND, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE SERVICE TRACTION INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, THE SERVICE POWER STEERING SYSTEM NOW INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/7/2016 - NEW HARTFORD, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING LESS THAN 20 MPH AND TURNING INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE MOMENTARILY SURGED OR RACED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,000. UPDATED 02/07/2017

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds