Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 350 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes (6) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (37) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (205) Unknown Or Other (14) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (45)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/14/2014 - GOLDEN, MS
I WAS DRIVING AT A SPEED OF NO MORE THAN 40 MPH. I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM PICKING Y CHILDREN UP FROM SCHOOL WHEN THE PIWER STEERING WENT COMPLETELY OUT ON MY CAR. THERE IS A WARNING LIGHT ON IN MY VEHICLE THAT SAYS SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW AND SERVICE ADVANTRAC. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED. I HAD MY TWO YOUNG CHILDREN WITH ME THE TIME IT WENT OUT. THE STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY HARD TO CONTROL HOWEVER NO ACCIDENT OCCURED. THE BRAKES BECAME HARD TO APPLY. IF I HAD BEEN GOING A FASTER SPEED WHEN IT HAPPENED I FEEL AS THOUGH A WRECK WOULD HAVE OCCURED. I HAVEN'T TRIED THE RESTART METHOD BECAUSE OF STORMS. THERE IS LESS THAN 70,000 MILES ON MY CAR AND THIS IS MESSED UP. I HAVE READ OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS AND I THINK ITS SOMETHING FORD SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL FOR. I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS CAR ABOUT ABOUT 5 MONTHS. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PUT 1500-2000 DOLLARS INTO A REPAIR FOR IT. THANKS FOR INVESTIGATING THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/14/2014 - GOLDEN, MS
I WAS DRIVING AT A SPEED OF NO MORE THAN 40 MPH. I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM PICKING Y CHILDREN UP FROM SCHOOL WHEN THE PIWER STEERING WENT COMPLETELY OUT ON MY CAR. THERE IS A WARNING LIGHT ON IN MY VEHICLE THAT SAYS SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW AND SERVICE ADVANTRAC. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED. I HAD MY TWO YOUNG CHILDREN WITH ME THE TIME IT WENT OUT. THE STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY HARD TO CONTROL HOWEVER NO ACCIDENT OCCURED. THE BRAKES BECAME HARD TO APPLY. IF I HAD BEEN GOING A FASTER SPEED WHEN IT HAPPENED I FEEL AS THOUGH A WRECK WOULD HAVE OCCURED. I HAVEN'T TRIED THE RESTART METHOD BECAUSE OF STORMS. THERE IS LESS THAN 70,000 MILES ON MY CAR AND THIS IS MESSED UP. I HAVE READ OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS AND I THINK ITS SOMETHING FORD SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL FOR. I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS CAR ABOUT ABOUT 5 MONTHS. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PUT 1500-2000 DOLLARS INTO A REPAIR FOR IT. THANKS FOR INVESTIGATING THIS.

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - FRANKLIN, TN
I WENT OUT TO START MY CAR IN MY DRIVEWAY AND THE STEERING WAS COMPLETELY LOCKED UP. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THIS HAD BEEN HAPPENING A LOT ON THE 2012 FUSIONS. THE TOTAL COST TO REPAIR MY STEERING WAS $1,846. THE RECEIPT STATES THE FOLLOWING: "OWNER REPORTS NO POWER STEERING AND SERVICE ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT ON. TOWED IN. DIAGNOSED AND REPLACED INOPERABLE EPAS STEERING GEAR. RE-TEST. OK." THE PARTS REPLACED WERE AE5Z-3504-CE GEAR ASY - STEERING

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - FREMONT, CA
BOUGHT THE CAR 7/12/2013 ABOUT 3 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE. BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY ON BUSY STREET, POWER STEERING WENT OUT RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET , THANK GOD THERE WASNT A CAR COMING UP ON ME,, COULD BARRLY TURN IT TO PULL TO THE SIDE, SHUT IT OF AND ON AND THE POWER ASSIST WAS OK.. TILL ABOUT 3 MONTHS LATTER WAS ON THE FREEWAY AND WITHOUT WARNING, BOOM,, NO POWER STEERING. WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF TO THE SIDE, TURNED IT OFF, THEN ON THEN IT WORKED AGAIN,, TOOK IT TO THE DEALER 4/14/2014 THEY SAID IT WOULD COST ALMOST 1,800.00 TO FIX AND ITS NOT COVERED ON THE WARRENTY,,, DROVE OFF, BECAUSE IM A SINGLE DAD WITH 2 DAUGHTERS, NOW A CANT TRUST DRIVING THAT CAR ANY MORE , BECAUSE I DONT KNOW WHEN THE STEERING IS GOING OUT,, LAST TIME IT WENT OUT AND STAYED OUT,, STILL MAKING PAYMENT AND HAVENT DRIVEN CAR IN 2 MONTHS,, DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO,, DONT HAVE THE MONEY TO FIX IT,, THIS CAR SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR SAFETY REASONS,,, CONTACTED FORD AND THEY SAID TUFF- SHIT,,,

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - FORT COLLINS, CO
THE CAR HAD NO POWER STEERING UPON STARTING IT FOR AN AFTERNOON TRIP. WORKED FINE IN THE MORNING, NO INDICATION OF ANY ISSUES. 2 WARNING ITEMS APPEARED. "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC SYSTEM" "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" DRIVEN TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP (SPRADLEY BARR) TODAY, MONDAY, OCTOBER 14TH AND WAS CALLED BACK 4 HOURS LATER WITH A DIAGNOSIS. THE POWER STEERING ASSIST SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO THE TUNE OF $2,150. HE WAS GOING TO THROW IN THE ALIGNMENT FOR FREE. THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM. A FACTORY RECALL NEEDS TO BE ISSUED. NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS EXACT TOPIC WITH THE 2010-2012 FORD FUSIONS CAN BE FOUND ONLINE. THIS CAR IS 6,000 MILES OUTSIDE OF POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. THERE IS NO REASON YOU SHOULD HAVE TO SPEND $2,100 ON A 2 YEAR OLD CAR. IT'S NOT GETTING FIXED ON MY DIME AND IT CAN SIT IN THE GARAGE NOT BEING DRIVEN UNTIL A BETTER SOLUTION IS FIGURED OUT. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN ABLE TO DRIVE MY CAR 100K MILES WITH REGULAR SERVICE BEING DONE BEFORE ANY MAJOR REPAIRS WERE NECESSARY

View Details

STEERING

10/12/2014 - LINCOLN, IL
WHILE TRAVELING HOME ON THE INTERSTATE WITH MY SPOUSE AND CHILD, THE CAR WARNING SYSTEM SUDDENLY FLASHED "POWER STEERING FAILURE" AND "AUTO TRACTION FAILURE" AND I LOST POWER STEERING IN THE VEHICLE. IN THIS FRIGHTENING MOMENT, THE CAR WAS DIFFICULT TO DRIVE AS WE SLOWED TO A SAFE SPEED AND RETURNED TO OUR HOME. ON OCTOBER 1, 2014 MY WIFE ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE THE CAR BUT WAS PHYSICALLY UNABLE TO BACK THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE DRIVE AS THE POWER STEERING FAILED. I CONTACTED OUR DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT COULD BE A VERY EXPENSIVE PART (THE RACK) COSTING $1800.00 AS ANOTHER FUSION WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP AT THAT TIME WITH 73,000 MILES HAVING THAT PART REPLACE. I WAS ASTOUNDED. ON OCTOBER 2ND, I CAREFULLY WITH GREAT DIFFICULTY NAVEGATED THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, HERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. IN CONVERSATION WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER I WAS INFORMED THAT I HAD DONE NOTHING WRONG AND THAT THERE WAS NO PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE THAT COULD HAVE BEEN PERFORMED, BUT THAT THE PART SIMPLY FAILED. IT IS MY CONTENTION THAT THE PART WAS NOT MADE PROPERLY AND THAT IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE CALLED FORD TWICE ON 10/02 AND 10/10 AND HAVE RECEIVED ABSOLUTELY NO HELP OR SATISFACTION. I HAVE CALLED THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NOT RECEIVED SATISFACTION TO THIS POINT. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION WITH A DEFECTIVE PART THAT FORD HAS PRODUCED, BUT IS UNWILLING TO REPLACE. I RESPECTFULLY REQUEST THAT THE NHTSA INTERVENE IMMEDIATELY AND ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION BEFORE LIFE IS LOST.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/12/2014 - LINCOLN, IL
WHILE TRAVELING HOME ON THE INTERSTATE WITH MY SPOUSE AND CHILD, THE CAR WARNING SYSTEM SUDDENLY FLASHED "POWER STEERING FAILURE" AND "AUTO TRACTION FAILURE" AND I LOST POWER STEERING IN THE VEHICLE. IN THIS FRIGHTENING MOMENT, THE CAR WAS DIFFICULT TO DRIVE AS WE SLOWED TO A SAFE SPEED AND RETURNED TO OUR HOME. ON OCTOBER 1, 2014 MY WIFE ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE THE CAR BUT WAS PHYSICALLY UNABLE TO BACK THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE DRIVE AS THE POWER STEERING FAILED. I CONTACTED OUR DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT COULD BE A VERY EXPENSIVE PART (THE RACK) COSTING $1800.00 AS ANOTHER FUSION WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP AT THAT TIME WITH 73,000 MILES HAVING THAT PART REPLACE. I WAS ASTOUNDED. ON OCTOBER 2ND, I CAREFULLY WITH GREAT DIFFICULTY NAVEGATED THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, HERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. IN CONVERSATION WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER I WAS INFORMED THAT I HAD DONE NOTHING WRONG AND THAT THERE WAS NO PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE THAT COULD HAVE BEEN PERFORMED, BUT THAT THE PART SIMPLY FAILED. IT IS MY CONTENTION THAT THE PART WAS NOT MADE PROPERLY AND THAT IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I HAVE CALLED FORD TWICE ON 10/02 AND 10/10 AND HAVE RECEIVED ABSOLUTELY NO HELP OR SATISFACTION. I HAVE CALLED THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NOT RECEIVED SATISFACTION TO THIS POINT. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION WITH A DEFECTIVE PART THAT FORD HAS PRODUCED, BUT IS UNWILLING TO REPLACE. I RESPECTFULLY REQUEST THAT THE NHTSA INTERVENE IMMEDIATELY AND ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION BEFORE LIFE IS LOST.

View Details

STEERING

10/11/2014 - FREMONT, CA
TWO FAILURES RESET BY TURNING CAR OFF AND ON. ONE, PERMANENT, STILL NOT WORKING. WORST FAILURE WAS THE SECOND ONE WHILE ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2014 - BOILING SPRINGS , PA
AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE CHURCH PARKING LOT AFTER SUNDAY SERVICES, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY FAILED AND I SAW AN ERROR MESSAGE ON THE DASH READOUT INDICATING A POWER STEERING "FAULT." I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE SIX MILES HOME WITH EXTREME DIFFICULTY STEERING THE CAR. AFTER PARKING THE CAR AT HOME FOR A FEW HOURS, I RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE POWER STEERING THEN WORKED OK. I TOOK CAR NEXT DAY TO FORD DEALER WHO REPLACED THE POWER STEERING MODULE UNDER WARRANTY. POWER STEERING HAS WORKED OK SINCE THEN.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2014 - BENTON CITY, WA
FAILURE OF POWER STEERING ASSIST, WARNING LIGHT APPEARED, RESTARTED CAR AND PROBLEM RESOLVED. REOCCURRED A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER AND WILL NOT RESOLVE ITSELF. FORD DEALER SAYS IT WILL COST $1800 TO FIX(STEERING GEAR REPLACEMENT). CAR HAS LESS THAN 60000 MILES AND SHOULD BE UNDER WARRANTY???

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds