Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 251 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (37) Steering (136) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (29) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (2) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/11/2014 - ELKRIDGE, MD
THE ADVANCE TRAC POWER STEERING ON MY 2012 FORD FUSION CUT OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF A LEFT HAND TURN LEAVING A TRAFFIC LIGHT. IT HAD DONE THIS ONCE BEFORE, A YEAR PRIOR AT AROUND 34000 MILES WHILE IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, AND THE DEALERSHIP SENT ME AWAY TELLING ME IT WAS AN ISOLATED INCIDENT AS THE STEERING RECOVERED WHEN I TURNED THE VEHICLE ON AND OFF. THIS TIME, WHEN I RESET IT, IT CUT OUT AGAIN DRIVING THROUGH THE PARKING LOT AT THE SHOPPING CENTER I WAS AT LESS THAN 500 YARDS TRAVELLED LATER. THIS TIME WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE ISSUE WAS REAL AND CLAIM THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN NEEDS REPLACED OR THIS WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN. THEY WILL NOT COVER IT UNDER WARRANTY DESPITE THE FACT I HAD MADE A CLAIM RELATED TO THIS EXACT ISSUE WHILE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY PREVIOUSLY. THE STEERING HAS THANKFULLY ONLY CUT OUT FOR ME AT LOW SPEEDS AND IN PLACES I WAS ABLE TO QUICKLY AND EASILY PULL OVER EVEN WITHOUT POWER STEERING. IF THIS WERE TO OCCUR AT HIGHER SPEEDS OR IN PLACES I WAS LESS ABLE TO PULL OVER I AM NOT SURE I COULD HAVE MANEUVERED THE VEHICLE SAFELY FOR ANY EXTENDED AMOUNT OF TIME.

View Details

STEERING

7/11/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE , NC
DRIVING DOWN A BUSY HIGHWAY ONE EVENING, AN INDICATOR RECOMMENDING SERVICE ON THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM LIT UP. THERE WERE NO EXTREME SPEEDS OR ACCIDENTS. CAR BECAME TOO DIFFICULT TO STEER. FORD DEALERSHIPS HAVE MENTIONED THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE, REQUIRING A REPLACEMENT RACK AND PINION SYSTEM. SHOULD BE A RECALL- SINCE STEERING IS ESSENTIAL IN ORDER TO AVOID ACCIDENTS, DAMAGE AND INJURY.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2014 - JORDAN, MN
THE CAR LOST POWER STEERING WHILE MERGING WITH TRAFFIC ON THE FREEWAY. A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" & "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC" ERROR SHOWED UP ON THE DASHBOARD. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION LOSING POWER STEERING IN TRAFFIC. TOOK TO DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THEY NEEDED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING RACK FOR $1,813. DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT SEEM THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. SEVERAL OTHER MODELS WERE RECALLED FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM BUT NOT THE FUSION. SEEMS LIKE THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM THAT SHOULD BE THE MANUFACTURER'S RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE REPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2014 - KAYSVILLE, UT
DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT 65MPH AND SUDDENLY POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT CAME ON WITH MESSAGE SAYING SERVICE REQUIRED. DROVE HOME SAFELY, BUT AFTER STOPPING AND RESTARTING, POWER STEERING DID NOT WORK AT ALL. TOOK IT INTO MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD POWER STEERING GEAR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. HAD THE SAME WORK DONE LAST YEAR AS WELL AS REPLACING CONTROL ARMS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. CAR NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO DRIVE WHEN POWER STEERING SHUTS DOWN.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2014 - JEFFERSON, GA
I PURCHASED MY 2012 FORD FUSION ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO FROM A FAMILY MEMBER WHO HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR SINCE OWNING IT NEW. SINCE THAT TIME I HAVE HAD AN ALERT COME ON WHEN I AM DRIVING THAT READS "POWER STEERING FAILURE" AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES REALLY HARD TO TURN. IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE AND MY WIFE ONCE. WHEN I STOP THE CAR AND TURN THE IGNITION SWITCH OFF AND THEN START THE CAR BACK UP THE SYSTEM IS RESET AND THE WARNING IS NOT DISPLAYED ANY LONGER AND THE POWER STEERING WORKS ONCE AGAIN. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AS MY WIFE HAD A VERY HARD TIME TURNING THE WHEEL TO GET THE CAR OFF THE INTERSTATE WHEN IT HAPPENED TO HER. I TOOK THE CAR INTO MY REGULAR MECHANIC WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM (HE DROVE IT AROUND A LONG TIME) AND HE RECOMMENDED THAT I TAKE IT IN TO THE FORD DEALER. THE FORD DEALER TOLD ME THAT IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE RACK AND PINION AND THAT IT WOULD COST $1700 TO GET IT REPLACED. I REFUSED THE REPAIR BECAUSE I READ ON THIS BOARD THAT THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WITH THE 2012 FUSIONS AND THAT OTHERS THAT HAVE TAKEN THEIR CAR IN TO GET THIS PROBLEM FIXED, PAID THE MONEY FOR THE REPAIR, BUT STILL HAD THE SAME ALERT COME ON AFTER THE "REPAIR." IT SOUNDS LIKE AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM TO ME THAT IS RESET WHEN THE CAR IS TURNED BACK ON. I EXPECT THERE TO BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM AS THIS COULD BE VERY DANGEROUS. MY CAR ONLY HAS 81,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STEERING

7/4/2014 - ARLINGTON, MA
WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY 2012 FORD FUSION, I LOST CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL SUDDENLY. A MESSAGE SHOWING "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" POPPED UP ON THE DASHBOARD. THE WHEEL BECAME STIFF AND UNABLE TO TURN. I HAD TO STOP MY CAR AND RESTARTED IT. THE MESSAGE WAS GONE AND I WAS ABLE TO DROVE IT BACK HOME. LUCKILY IT HAPPENED WHEN THERE WAS NO OTHER CARS. I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IF IT HAD HAPPENED ON AN EXPRESSWAY. IT IS DEFINITELY A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND REQUIRES A RECALL!

View Details

STEERING

7/2/2014 - VALLEY, AL
I WAS APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, WHEN I HEARD A "POP" AND SUDDENLY I COULD NOT STEER MY CAR ANYMORE. I WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR, BUT I WAS STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD BLOCKING TRAFFIC. THE CAR COULD ONLY BE MOVED BY A TOW TRUCK. AFTER ACCESSING THE SITUATION, IT TURNED OUT TO BE MY POWER STEERING UNIT HAD JUST SNAPPED INTO. THE GOOD LORD WAS WITH ME!!!! HAD I BEEN ON THE INTERSTATE WHERE I WOULD HAVE BEEN MOVING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED, MY WIFE AND SON MIGHT POSSIBLY BE ATTENDING MY FUNERAL RIGHT NOW!!!!

View Details

STEERING

7/1/2014 - SEMINOLE, FL
I PURCHASED A NEW 2012 FORD FUSION SEL CAR IN AUGUST 2011. I NOW HAVE 55K MILES, MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES, SO THE STANDARD WARRANTY DOES NOT APPLY, EVEN THOUGH I HAVE NOT EXCEEDED THE 3 YEARS. I DID NOT BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY DUE TO ADVICE THAT FORD FUSIONS ARE HIGHLY RELIABLE. WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, THE ADVANCETRAC INDICATOR LIGHT ON THE DASH AND ADVANCETRAC SERVICE MESSAGE HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. I WAS EVEN LEAVING THE FORD SERVICE WHEN THE SERVICE ADVANCETRAC INDICATOR LIT UP AND MESSAGE OCCURRED. I IMMEDIATELY RETURNED AND SHOWED IT TO THE SERVICE PERSON. THEY CHECKED IT OUT AND SAID IT CAN OCCUR IF ONE TIRE TURNS MORE THAN ANOTHER SO IT WAS NOT A PROBLEM. RECENTLY, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING 25 MPH WHEN THE STEERING SUDDENLY BECAME DIFFICULT AND POWER STEERING FAILURE MESSAGES AND ADVANCETRAC POPPED UP. SHE SAID SHE ALMOST HIT A PARKED VEHICLE ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY INDICATED THE RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THAT IS A $1,375.00 REPAIR PLUS THE $225.00 THEY CHARGED ME ALIGNMENT. THE FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT INDICATED THAT THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR THIS PROBLEM ON THE FORD FUSION. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND HAVE FOUND MANY POSTING OF RECALLS ON MULTIPLE MODELS OF FORD FOR THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - JACKSON, WY
THIS MODEL IS AN AWD MODEL. VEHICLE EMITS A FOUL 'NATURAL GAS' ODOR WHEN VEHICLE COMES TO A COMPLETE STOP AFTER ANY PERIOD OF DRIVING. THIS ODOR SMELLS EXACTLY LIKE THE FLUID INSIDE THE RDU. AFTER SEVERAL TRIAL AND ERROR ATTEMPTS, I BELIEVE THE SMELL IS BEING SUCKED IN THROUGH THE HVAC SYSTEM. HOWEVER WHEN THE SYSTEM IS PUT IN RE-CIRCULATION MODE, THE SMELL IS NOT PRESANT. THIS PROVES THAT THE SMELL IS BEING SUCKED IN FROM OUTSIDE, FROM A VENT CONNECTED TO THE RDU. I CANT BELIEVE FORD HAS NOT HAD ANY OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. ITS EMBARASSING TO HAVE ANYBODY RIDE IN THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds