Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 694 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (74) Steering (431) Unknown Or Other (31)
Electrical System (59) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (3) Structure (29) Vehicle Speed Control (51)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel Propulsion System (30) Seats (5) Suspension (7) Visibility (2)
Engine (61) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (15) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/16/2016 - SABETHA, KS
THE CAR WAS PARKED ON IGNITION ON. MY MOTHER, ALICE, WENT OUT IN THE EVENING TO CLOSE THE SUNROOF. THE SUNROOF DID NOT LOOK LIKE IT WAS CLOSING, SO MY MOTHER REACHED UP HER HAND TO FEEL. HER FINGERS WERE THEN CLOSED AND LOCKED INTO THE SUNROOF. THE OPEN BUTTON WOULD NOT WORK TO RELEASE HER HAND. NEIGHBORS CAME TO HELP, TURNED OF THE CAR AND TURNED IT BACK ON AGAIN TO TRY AND OPEN THE ROOF, BUT IT WOULD NOT OPEN TO RELEASE HER FINGERS. CROWBARS WERE USED TO TRY AND RELEASE THE FRAME FROM HER HAND, BUT IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. POLICE HAD TO BREAK THE GLASS OF THE SUNROOF TO RELEASE THE FRAME FROM HER HAND. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN. IF A CHILD'S HAND WOULD HAVE BEEN CAUGHT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN CRUSHED. THEY NEED TO HAVE AN EMERGENCY SENSER TO NEVER CLOSE AND LOCK IN PLACE IF THERE IS AN OBSTRUCTION, OR AN EMERGENCY RELEASE. NOW, MY MOTHER HAS TO FACE MEDICAL AND INSURANCE COSTS. I TYPE THIS IN HER PRESENCE ON HER BEHALF, DUE TO HER RIGHT FINGERS BEING INJURED. WITH THE GRACE OF GOD, NO BONES WERE BROKEN. ANYONE CAN RELATE TO HOW PAINFUL AND TRAUMATIZING IT WAS FOR HER TO HAVE HER HAND CLAMPED AND LOCKED IN PLACE WITH NO RELEASE.

View Details

STEERING

6/14/2016 - BENLD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL REQUIRED MORE FORCE TO MANEUVER. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING COLUMN FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/14/2016 - BENLD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL REQUIRED MORE FORCE TO MANEUVER. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING COLUMN FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2016 - TAMARAC, FL
POWER STEERING FAILED NOTICE DISPLAYED UPON STARTING PARKED VEHICLE.. 2012 FORD FUSION DISPLAY PANEL SAID "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE" AND " SERVICE ADVANCETRAC." WHEN I LOGGED IN ON FORD OWNER WEBSITE, IT ADVISED ME OF "FIELD SERVICE ACTION" TITLED "EPAS STEERING EFFORTS" AND FIELD SERVICE ACTION NUMBER "15N01." DATE THIS BEGAN APPROXIMATE, AND HAS REPEATED AND FINALLY REMAINS FAILED. MILEAGE IS APPROXIMATE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/9/2016 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE VEHICLE WILL STOP RUNNING WHILE SITTING STILL (AT LIGHT, STOP SIGN), I TOOK IT IN AND TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID OH YEAH THERE'S A COMPUTER UPDATE. I WAS NEVER ADVISED OF THE UPDATE AND HAD TO HAVE MY CAR DIE IN THE MIDDLE OF SEVERAL BUSY ROADS. AFTER THE UPDATE THE CAR DID NOT DIE ANY LONGER BUT THAT WAS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED I HAD TO COME IN. THE CAR WILL BOG DOWN WHEN YOU PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, IT WILL BOG DOWN THEN LURCH FORWARD. THE ISSUE IS WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP OR ANY TIME YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. THE SHIFTING OF GEARS SEEMS TO BE SLOW TO CHANGE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER AND I AM TOLD THEY CAN NOT REPEAT THE "ISSUE". I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH BRAKING AS WELL. THE CAR WHEN IN REVERSE ON AN INCLINE DID NOT WORK AND I ROLLED DOWN INTO THE STREET. I HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED AND AGAIN WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO "REPEAT THE ISSUE". THE AIR CONDITIONER WILL ONLY WORK WHEN IT WANTS TO. SOMETIMES IT BLOWS COLD AIR SOMETIMES IT BLOWS HOT AIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/9/2016 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE VEHICLE WILL STOP RUNNING WHILE SITTING STILL (AT LIGHT, STOP SIGN), I TOOK IT IN AND TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID OH YEAH THERE'S A COMPUTER UPDATE. I WAS NEVER ADVISED OF THE UPDATE AND HAD TO HAVE MY CAR DIE IN THE MIDDLE OF SEVERAL BUSY ROADS. AFTER THE UPDATE THE CAR DID NOT DIE ANY LONGER BUT THAT WAS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED I HAD TO COME IN. THE CAR WILL BOG DOWN WHEN YOU PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, IT WILL BOG DOWN THEN LURCH FORWARD. THE ISSUE IS WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP OR ANY TIME YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. THE SHIFTING OF GEARS SEEMS TO BE SLOW TO CHANGE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER AND I AM TOLD THEY CAN NOT REPEAT THE "ISSUE". I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH BRAKING AS WELL. THE CAR WHEN IN REVERSE ON AN INCLINE DID NOT WORK AND I ROLLED DOWN INTO THE STREET. I HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED AND AGAIN WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO "REPEAT THE ISSUE". THE AIR CONDITIONER WILL ONLY WORK WHEN IT WANTS TO. SOMETIMES IT BLOWS COLD AIR SOMETIMES IT BLOWS HOT AIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/9/2016 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE VEHICLE WILL STOP RUNNING WHILE SITTING STILL (AT LIGHT, STOP SIGN), I TOOK IT IN AND TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID OH YEAH THERE'S A COMPUTER UPDATE. I WAS NEVER ADVISED OF THE UPDATE AND HAD TO HAVE MY CAR DIE IN THE MIDDLE OF SEVERAL BUSY ROADS. AFTER THE UPDATE THE CAR DID NOT DIE ANY LONGER BUT THAT WAS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED I HAD TO COME IN. THE CAR WILL BOG DOWN WHEN YOU PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, IT WILL BOG DOWN THEN LURCH FORWARD. THE ISSUE IS WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP OR ANY TIME YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. THE SHIFTING OF GEARS SEEMS TO BE SLOW TO CHANGE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER AND I AM TOLD THEY CAN NOT REPEAT THE "ISSUE". I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH BRAKING AS WELL. THE CAR WHEN IN REVERSE ON AN INCLINE DID NOT WORK AND I ROLLED DOWN INTO THE STREET. I HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED AND AGAIN WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO "REPEAT THE ISSUE". THE AIR CONDITIONER WILL ONLY WORK WHEN IT WANTS TO. SOMETIMES IT BLOWS COLD AIR SOMETIMES IT BLOWS HOT AIR.

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2016 - WORCESTER, MA
2015 HAD THROTTLE BODY REPLACED BY FORD FOR NOTHING ..8 MONTHS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN 6/3/16..FORD PAID FOR THE FIRST WONT DO THE SECOND WITHOUT ME PAYING FOR IT..THIS CAN BE DANGEROUS AS IT JUST STOPS , YOU HAVE NO POWER TO MOVE, THEN IT SHAKES AND DIES. I DID START IT RIGHT AFTER AND GOT HOME BOTH TIMES. JUST SAYING IF THIS IS A FAULTY PART..WHY ARENT THEY FIXING IT, NOT US. I F YOUR GOING FASDT I WOULD HATE TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAPPEN ON A BIG HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/4/2016 - LONG BEACH, CA
I AM FACING ELECTRICAL ISSUE IN MY CAR VERY FREQUENTLY. THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEM OCCURS TWO WAYS, 1) WHILE RUNNING 2) WHILE STARTING THE CAR WHILE RUNNING:- WHEN THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE COME WHILE CAR IS RUNNING THEN THE BELOW PROBLEM OCCURS, 1. TRANSMISSION SHOULD NOT BE SET TO PARKING, IF SET TO PARKING THEN WE CANNOT MOVE TO NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. IT WILL BE STUCK AND TOW IS THE ONLY OPTION. 2. TURN LIGHTS WILL NOT WORK. 3. HEAD LIGHTS WILL NOT WORK. 4. DOOR GLASS SLIDING WILL NOT WORK. 5. AC WILL NOT WORK 6. CAR DISPLAY WILL NOT WORK FOR CLOCK AM/FM 2) WHILE STARTING THE CAR:- IF THE PROBLEM OCCURS WHILE STARTING THE CAR THEN I WILL BE ABLE TO ONLY START THE CAR AND THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WILL NOT WORK. WE CANNOT MOVE THE TRANSMISSION FROM PARKING TO NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. TOWING THE VEHICLE IS THE ONLY OPTION. THIS IS DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, I GOT THIS ISSUE ONE TIME AT NIGHT AND I GOT THE TOUGH TIME IN TOWING THE CAR AND GETTING TO SERVICE CENTRE. AS THE SERVICE CENTRE IS ALWAYS BUSY THEY WONT GET THE TIME TO DIAGNOSIS IMMEDIATELY AND AT THE TIME OF THEY CHECK IT WORK PROPERLY. ANY WAY THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO FIND ANY ISSUES WITH ME CAR. BUT WHEN I TAKE THE CAR BACK TO HOME THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE OFTEN OCCURS. NO ONE ASSURE OF THE SAFETY, AND I AM TRYING MY BEST TO DRIVE AT NIGHT AND HIGHWAYS. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/4/2016 - LONG BEACH, CA
I AM FACING ELECTRICAL ISSUE IN MY CAR VERY FREQUENTLY. THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEM OCCURS TWO WAYS, 1) WHILE RUNNING 2) WHILE STARTING THE CAR WHILE RUNNING:- WHEN THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE COME WHILE CAR IS RUNNING THEN THE BELOW PROBLEM OCCURS, 1. TRANSMISSION SHOULD NOT BE SET TO PARKING, IF SET TO PARKING THEN WE CANNOT MOVE TO NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. IT WILL BE STUCK AND TOW IS THE ONLY OPTION. 2. TURN LIGHTS WILL NOT WORK. 3. HEAD LIGHTS WILL NOT WORK. 4. DOOR GLASS SLIDING WILL NOT WORK. 5. AC WILL NOT WORK 6. CAR DISPLAY WILL NOT WORK FOR CLOCK AM/FM 2) WHILE STARTING THE CAR:- IF THE PROBLEM OCCURS WHILE STARTING THE CAR THEN I WILL BE ABLE TO ONLY START THE CAR AND THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WILL NOT WORK. WE CANNOT MOVE THE TRANSMISSION FROM PARKING TO NEUTRAL OR DRIVE. TOWING THE VEHICLE IS THE ONLY OPTION. THIS IS DANGEROUS WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, I GOT THIS ISSUE ONE TIME AT NIGHT AND I GOT THE TOUGH TIME IN TOWING THE CAR AND GETTING TO SERVICE CENTRE. AS THE SERVICE CENTRE IS ALWAYS BUSY THEY WONT GET THE TIME TO DIAGNOSIS IMMEDIATELY AND AT THE TIME OF THEY CHECK IT WORK PROPERLY. ANY WAY THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO FIND ANY ISSUES WITH ME CAR. BUT WHEN I TAKE THE CAR BACK TO HOME THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE OFTEN OCCURS. NO ONE ASSURE OF THE SAFETY, AND I AM TRYING MY BEST TO DRIVE AT NIGHT AND HIGHWAYS. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds