Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 274 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seats (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (32) Power Train (39) Steering (152) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/16/2014 - KENNEDY , NY
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT A NORMAL RATE OF SPEED BETWEEN 35 AND 65 MPH THE POWER STEERING JUST STOPS WORKING. NO WARNING OF ANY KIND. THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST TWO YEARS. LUCKILY WE WERE ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT INCIDENT SHUT THE CAR OFF , AND WHEN YOU RESTART THE CAR ALL THE LIGHTS IN THE DASH WOULD GO OUT AND POWER STEERING WOULD PRESUME. FINALLY ON AUG. 9 2014 IT STOPPED WORKING ALL TOGETHER AND HAD TO HAVE THE ELECTRONIC STEERING RACK REPLACED. THE DEALER TOLD ME THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2014 - ALVARADO, TX
I WAS CHECKING OUT YARD SALES. AS I WAS PULLING OVER TO THE CURB TO PARK MY CAR, THE CAR KILLED. THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP. THE DISPLAY READ: POWER ASSIST STEERING FAULT. I MANAGED TO GET THE CAR IN PARK AND RESTARTED THE CAR. THE DISPLAY WAS GONE. I DID NOT EXPERIENCE THIS BEFORE TODAY.

View Details

STEERING

8/13/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE FIRST TIME, I SUDDENLY LOST POWER STEERING BUT WAS LUCKILY IN A PRIVATE PARKING AREA AND WAS ABLE TO STOP IMMEDIATELY. RESTARTING THE CAR SOLVED THE PROBLEM. THE SECOND TIME, I WAS EXITING A HIGHWAY ONTO A MAIN ROAD THAT WAS STRAIGHT. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE UNTIL I WAS AT A RED LIGHT AND I RESTARTED THE CAR TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. THE THIRD TIME WAS SCARY. I WAS ON A CURVY, BUSY ROAD WHEN ONCE AGAIN, I SUDDENLY LOST STEERING. I COULDN'T STOP AND STRUGGLED TO MANEUVER THE CAR THROUGH A CURVE WHEN I LUCKILY CAME TO A RED LIGHT. I ONCE AGAIN RESTARTED THE CAR TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I IMMEDIATELY DROVE MY CAR TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I DID NOT FEEL MY CAR WAS SAFE TO DRIVE. THIS DEFECT COULD EASILY LEAD TO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE REPAIR COST ME $1980.80 AND UPON COMPLAINING TO BOTH THE DEALERSHIP AND FORD, I COULD NOT RECOUP ANY OF THIS COST WHICH IS DUE TO A DEFECT OF THE VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD TO WAIT AND SAVE MY PAPERWORK IN CASE THERE IS A FUTURE RECALL. HOWEVER, THIS IS A SERIOUS, DANGEROUS DEFECT. WILL THEY WAIT UNTIL SOMEONE IS KILLED? THE AVERAGE MILEAGE ON THESE CARS FOR THIS TO HAPPEN SEEMS TO BE ABOUT 36,000 MILES WHICH MANY 2012 DON'T HAVE YET. I FEEL I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR MY REPAIR AND I FEAR OTHERS MAY NOT BE A LUCKY AS I WAS. PLEASE URGE FORD TO RECALL THIS DEFECT BEFORE THESE CARS ARE INVOLVED IN ACCIDENTS WHICH MAY CAUSE BODILY INJURY OR DEATH.

View Details

STEERING

8/12/2014 - TACOMA, WA
2012 FORD FUSION. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO POWER STEERING FAILURE. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THE ENTIRE POWER STEERING UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

8/7/2014 - CALEDONIA, MS
I WAS LEAVING WORK ON AUG 4, 2014. WHEN BACKING OUT OF MY PARKING SPACE I LOST POWER STEERING AND THE POWER STEERING FAULT MESSAGE APPEARED ON MY DASH. I PULLED BACK INTO MY PARKING SPOT, TURNED OFF MY CAR AND RESTARTED. EVERYTHING RESET AND WAS FINE. THIS MORNING, AUG 7, 2014, THE SAME THING HAPPENED AS I WAS BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT AT DAYCARE FROM DROPPING MY TWO CHILDREN OFF BEFORE WORK. AS I PUT MY CAR IN REVERSE AND STARTED BACKING UP THE STEERING ONCE AGAIN WENT OUT AND I HAD TO REPARK, SHUT OFF MY CAR, AND RESET. THANKFULLY MY INCIDENTS OCCURED AT A VERY LOW RATE OF SPEED, BUT NOW I'M SCARED THAT THIS WILL HAPPEN WHILE I HAVE MY CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND I'M DRIVING IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - CROWN POINT, IN
LEFT FOR WORK THIS MORNING AND FIRST TIME I USED MY RIGHT TURN SIGNAL, THE SIGNAL MADE THAT FAST CLICKING SOUND INDICATING THE VEHICLE HAD A BULB THAT NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. AFTER WORK I STOPPED BY AUTOZONE TO BUY A REPLACEMENT BULB. I REMOVED THE SOCKET FROM THE LENSE, AND NOTICED THAT THE BULB IS MELTED INTO THE SOCKET. THE BULB CANNOT BE REMOVED FROM THE SOCKET. I THEN CHECKED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR TAIL LIGHT BULB, AND THAT BULB IS ALSO MELTED INTO THE SOCKET. I TOOK MY CAR TO ART HILL FORD DEALERSHIP (WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR), AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS WOULD NOT BE COVERED ON MY WARRANTY. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT IT. I ASKED TO HAVE A TECHNICIAN PLEASE LOOK AT IT NOW BECAUSE I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE VEHICLE SAFETY. THE SERVICE REP SAID THAT COULD NOT HAPPEN BECAUSE THE TECHNICIANS WOULD HAVE TO BE PAID $56 JUST TO LOOK. I WAS SHOCKED, DISAPPOINTED, AND WORRIED. I MADE THE APPT. I ONLY HAVE APPROX 38500 MILES ON MY VEHICLE. THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/6/2014 - CROWN POINT, IN
LEFT FOR WORK THIS MORNING AND FIRST TIME I USED MY RIGHT TURN SIGNAL, THE SIGNAL MADE THAT FAST CLICKING SOUND INDICATING THE VEHICLE HAD A BULB THAT NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. AFTER WORK I STOPPED BY AUTOZONE TO BUY A REPLACEMENT BULB. I REMOVED THE SOCKET FROM THE LENSE, AND NOTICED THAT THE BULB IS MELTED INTO THE SOCKET. THE BULB CANNOT BE REMOVED FROM THE SOCKET. I THEN CHECKED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR TAIL LIGHT BULB, AND THAT BULB IS ALSO MELTED INTO THE SOCKET. I TOOK MY CAR TO ART HILL FORD DEALERSHIP (WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR), AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS WOULD NOT BE COVERED ON MY WARRANTY. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT IT. I ASKED TO HAVE A TECHNICIAN PLEASE LOOK AT IT NOW BECAUSE I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE VEHICLE SAFETY. THE SERVICE REP SAID THAT COULD NOT HAPPEN BECAUSE THE TECHNICIANS WOULD HAVE TO BE PAID $56 JUST TO LOOK. I WAS SHOCKED, DISAPPOINTED, AND WORRIED. I MADE THE APPT. I ONLY HAVE APPROX 38500 MILES ON MY VEHICLE. THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/6/2014 - CROWN POINT, IN
LEFT FOR WORK THIS MORNING AND FIRST TIME I USED MY RIGHT TURN SIGNAL, THE SIGNAL MADE THAT FAST CLICKING SOUND INDICATING THE VEHICLE HAD A BULB THAT NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. AFTER WORK I STOPPED BY AUTOZONE TO BUY A REPLACEMENT BULB. I REMOVED THE SOCKET FROM THE LENSE, AND NOTICED THAT THE BULB IS MELTED INTO THE SOCKET. THE BULB CANNOT BE REMOVED FROM THE SOCKET. I THEN CHECKED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR TAIL LIGHT BULB, AND THAT BULB IS ALSO MELTED INTO THE SOCKET. I TOOK MY CAR TO ART HILL FORD DEALERSHIP (WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR), AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS WOULD NOT BE COVERED ON MY WARRANTY. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE A TECHNICIAN LOOK AT IT. I ASKED TO HAVE A TECHNICIAN PLEASE LOOK AT IT NOW BECAUSE I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE VEHICLE SAFETY. THE SERVICE REP SAID THAT COULD NOT HAPPEN BECAUSE THE TECHNICIANS WOULD HAVE TO BE PAID $56 JUST TO LOOK. I WAS SHOCKED, DISAPPOINTED, AND WORRIED. I MADE THE APPT. I ONLY HAVE APPROX 38500 MILES ON MY VEHICLE. THIS SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

8/5/2014 - ST LOUIS PARK, MN
WAS DRIVING ON FREEWAY, GOING ON A CURVE (CURVING TO THE RIGHT) AT ABOUT 60 MPH, AND THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT. BELL SOUNDED, WARNING LIGHT LIT UP. I WAS ABLE TO GET OFF THE FREEWAY. TURNED OFF THE CAR AND TRIED TO FIND INFO/ADVICE IN OWNERS MANUAL-NONE. AFTER I RESTARTED, IT SEEMED FINE. HAPPENED AGAIN ABOUT A MONTH LATER, THIS TIME, WHILE CURVING TO THE LEFT. TURNED OFF, RESTARTED, SEEMS OKAY TODAY. SCARED TO DRIVE AND WON'T LET DAUGHTER DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2014 - SPRING VALLEY, NY
WHILE DRIVING MY NEW FORD FUSION, ONLY 5 MONTHS SINCE PURCHASE, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STALLED. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG AND SAID WHAT'S THE ISSUE IT STARTED DIDN'T IT? THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN IN MAY AND JULY OF 2014. IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH FORD AND A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION WAS ISSUED TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY, BUT THE DEALERSHIP WON'T DO SO BECAUSE NO CODE SHOWS UP WHEN I'VE TAKEN THE CAR IN AFTER EACH EPISODE. THIS IS A SAFETLY ISSUE AND A KNOWN ISSUE. WHY NHTSA ALLOWED THEM TO GET AWAY WITH NOT DOING A RECALL IS BEYOND ME. IT IS UNSAFE DRIVING A VEHICLE THAT SUDDENLY LOSES POWER. IT SHOULD NOT MATTER THAT A CODE DOESN'T SHOW UP. WHAT HAPPENED BEFORE COMPUTERS? IT'S A KNOWN ISSUE AND IS HAPPENING SO IT SHOULD GET REPLACED. THANKFULLY I WASN'T DRIVING OVER 35 WHEN THIS OCCURRED, BUT WHAT ABOUT THE NEXT TIME IF I'M ON A HIGHWAY GOING 60? WHAT WILL IT TAKE - PEOPLE TO GET SERIOUSLY INJURED TO GET A TRUE RECALL?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds