Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seats (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (35) Power Train (40) Steering (165) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/27/2014 - FREMONT, CA
POWER STEERING ASSIST COMES ON ONCE A MONTH . FORD SAYS MY WARRANTY DOESN'T COVER IT ,,,, NOW I HAVE NO POWER STEERING,, AND DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO .. PAY OFF MY LOAN AND TAKE THIS CAR BACK TO THE JUNK YARD...I CANT TRUST DRIVING MY KIDS IN THIS DEATH TRAP....

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN A CITY ROAD AT 35 MPH ON AUGUST 10, 2014, MY POWER STEERING LIGHTS CAME ON AND MY VEHICLE STATED THERE WAS A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT". I DROVE TWO MORE MILES HOME WITH MY HAZARDS ON BECAUSE THE WHEEL WOULD BARELY TURN. WHEN I GOT HOME, I TURNED OFF MY CAR AND READ THE MANUAL, WHICH STATES TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND EVERYTHING WORKED. ON AUGUST 27, 2014, I WAS ON THE FREEWAY GOING 65 MPH, AND MY POWERING STEERING LIGHTS CAME ON AND MY VEHICLE STATED THAT THERE WAS A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT". I PULLED OFF AT THE NEAREST RAMP, AND TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT SO THAT I COULD PARK AND RESTART MY CAR. I DIDN'T EVEN GET INTO THE PARKING STALL BECAUSE MY WHEEL WOULD NO LONGER TURN. I RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE POWER STEERING CAME BACK ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I AM THE OWNER OF A 2012 FORD FUSION AND JUST THIS PAST FRIDAY, MY TEENAGE SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR TO COLLEGE AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IT STOPPED ON HIM IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD (BUSY INTERSECTION). HE WAS ABLE TO TURN IT BACK ON AND MAKE IT TO A PARKING LOT ON CAMPUS. WHEN TRYING TO BACK OUT OF THE PARKING LOT, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT BUDGE AND THE INDICATOR LIGHTS CAME ON FOR SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC AND SERVICE POWER STEERING. NEEDLESS TO SAY, HE WAS STRANDED AS I WAS 5 HOURS AWAY. I IMMEDIATLEY CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP I BROUGHT THE CAR FROM AND THEY VERIFIED THAT I HAD PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR MY VEHICLE. ONE WOULD BE DELIGHTED TO HEAR THAT, ONLY THAT I AM STILL WAITING ON THE INSURANCE COMPANY TO SAY THAT THEY WILL PAY OUT ON THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR MAINTENANCE. WE ALL KNOW HOW MUCH OF A HASSEL IT CAN BE DEALING WITH INSURANCE COMPANIES. NEVERTHELESS, I HAD MY CAR TOWED BY MY PERSONAL INSURANCE COMPANY TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP (BY THE WAY IT+ó-+-+S CLOSED ON WEEKENDS) SO I HAD TO LET IT SIT IN THE PARKING LOT FOR 2 DAYS. I GOT A CALL FROM THE DEALERSHIP TODAY, THAT THE EPAS ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR IS BAD AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. IMAGINE ME HEARING THAT THE BILL IS $1800+ DOLLARS. I AM WAITING TO HEAR THE FINAL VERDICT ON PAYOUT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND WILL UPDATE AS IT BECOMES AVAILABLE. I AM BLESSED THAT MY SON IS ALIVE AND WELL AND THAT HE DID NOT GET INTO AN ACCIDENT, BUT WHO KNOWS WHAT WILL HAPPEN THE NEXT TIME THIS PART GOES OUT UNEXPECTEDLY ! PRAISE GOD.

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I AM THE OWNER OF A 2012 FORD FUSION AND JUST THIS PAST FRIDAY, MY TEENAGE SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR TO COLLEGE AND ALL OF A SUDDEN IT STOPPED ON HIM IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD (BUSY INTERSECTION). HE WAS ABLE TO TURN IT BACK ON AND MAKE IT TO A PARKING LOT ON CAMPUS. WHEN TRYING TO BACK OUT OF THE PARKING LOT, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT BUDGE AND THE INDICATOR LIGHTS CAME ON FOR SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC AND SERVICE POWER STEERING. NEEDLESS TO SAY, HE WAS STRANDED AS I WAS 5 HOURS AWAY. I IMMEDIATLEY CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP I BROUGHT THE CAR FROM AND THEY VERIFIED THAT I HAD PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR MY VEHICLE. ONE WOULD BE DELIGHTED TO HEAR THAT, ONLY THAT I AM STILL WAITING ON THE INSURANCE COMPANY TO SAY THAT THEY WILL PAY OUT ON THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR MAINTENANCE. WE ALL KNOW HOW MUCH OF A HASSEL IT CAN BE DEALING WITH INSURANCE COMPANIES. NEVERTHELESS, I HAD MY CAR TOWED BY MY PERSONAL INSURANCE COMPANY TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP (BY THE WAY IT+ó-+-+S CLOSED ON WEEKENDS) SO I HAD TO LET IT SIT IN THE PARKING LOT FOR 2 DAYS. I GOT A CALL FROM THE DEALERSHIP TODAY, THAT THE EPAS ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR IS BAD AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. IMAGINE ME HEARING THAT THE BILL IS $1800+ DOLLARS. I AM WAITING TO HEAR THE FINAL VERDICT ON PAYOUT FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND WILL UPDATE AS IT BECOMES AVAILABLE. I AM BLESSED THAT MY SON IS ALIVE AND WELL AND THAT HE DID NOT GET INTO AN ACCIDENT, BUT WHO KNOWS WHAT WILL HAPPEN THE NEXT TIME THIS PART GOES OUT UNEXPECTEDLY ! PRAISE GOD.

View Details

STEERING

8/27/2014 - ANDOVER, MN
POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON A NUMBER OF OCCASIONS. AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF AND ON IT WAS ABLE TO REBOOT AND THE STEERING STARTED WORKING OK. ON 8/26/14 THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND WILL NOT WORK. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AS THE CAR IS VERY HARD TO DRIVE WITHOUT IT (IT IS MUCH MORE DIFFICULT THAN OLD CARS WITHOUT POWER STEERING). TOOK THE CARE TO GOODYEAR WHO SAID THEY DIDN'T WANT TO TRY TO FIX IT. THEN TO ELK RIVER FORD WHO EXPLAINED THE POWER STEERING GEAR NEEDED REPLACED AT A COST OF $2200. THE ELECTRONICS WENT OUT AND THEY HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE THING. THAT IS WAY TOO MUCH MONEY FOR A RELATIVELY NEW CAR THAT HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED. THIS STARTED AT APPROXIMATELY 45,000 MILES (MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES). FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO TO HELP WITH THE EXPENSE. AFTER TALKING WITH THEM I NOTED THERE WERE MANY COMPLAINTS OUT ON THE INTERNET ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. IT IS HARD TO BELIEVE FORD CAN GET AWAY WITH NOT TAKING CARE OF A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE LIKE THIS WITHOUT CHARGING THE CUSTOMER. THIS DOES NOT MEET REASONABLE EXPECTATIONS FOR WHAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE A GOOD CAR. IF NOT CORRECTED BY FORD, THIS WILL BE THE LAST ONE I WILL EVER PURCHASE ... YOU CAN PROBABLY INCLUDE ANY FAMILY MEMBER OR ANYONE WHO'S EAR I CAN GET.

View Details

STEERING

8/25/2014 - WOODWAY, TX
STOPPED AT STORE ON THE WAY BACK FROM A TRIP AND WHEN I STARTED THE CAR THE POWER ASSIST FAILURE ALERT WAS ON THE DISPLAY. THE CAR HAD NO POWER STEERING. THE MANUAL SAID TO SHUT OFF AND RESTART BUT STILL HAD NO STEERING. THIS IS DANGEROUS . I COULD NOT TURN THE STEERING EFFECTIVELY AND THUS COULD NOT DRIVE IT. MY SONINLAW WHO IS A TRUCK DRIVER CAME UP TO GET ME AND THE CAR. HE DROVE IT THE 65 MILES HOME. EMERGENCY ROADSIDE SERVICE TOWED IT TO THE DEALER TODAY,. IT HAS BEEN THERE 9HOURS AND STILL WAITING TO HEAR THE FIX AND COST. POWER STEERING CANNOT GO OUT IN CARS THIS NEW. MANY COMPLAINTS ARE BEING SEEN ONLINE BUT NO RECALLS. .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/20/2014 - RIVERDALE, GA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHEN SUDDENLY MY VEHICLE LOST POWER. I ATTEMPTED TO PRESS THE ACCELERATOR BUT THE CAR JUST JERKED VIOLENTLY. I WAS FORCED TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. I WAS ALMOST REAR-ENDED 3 TIMES DO TO THE SPEED OF TRAFFIC AND MY CAR SUDDENLY LOSING POWER. WHEN THE VEHICLE LOST POWER, A "WRENCH" SYMBOL APPEARED ON THE DASH. I PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND SAT FOR A FEW SECONDS AND ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE. ONCE STARTED I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. THE CAR WAS RUNNING FINE SO I DECIDED TO DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY AGAIN. AFTER ABOUT 1/2 A MILE, THE CAR STOPPED SUDDENLY AGAIN, THIS TIME I WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE MEDIAN BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING IN THE SLOW LANE. THIS CONTINUED FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL I FINALLY PULLED OVER AND CALLED A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2014 - RIVERDALE, GA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHEN SUDDENLY MY VEHICLE LOST POWER. I ATTEMPTED TO PRESS THE ACCELERATOR BUT THE CAR JUST JERKED VIOLENTLY. I WAS FORCED TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. I WAS ALMOST REAR-ENDED 3 TIMES DO TO THE SPEED OF TRAFFIC AND MY CAR SUDDENLY LOSING POWER. WHEN THE VEHICLE LOST POWER, A "WRENCH" SYMBOL APPEARED ON THE DASH. I PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND SAT FOR A FEW SECONDS AND ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE. ONCE STARTED I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. THE CAR WAS RUNNING FINE SO I DECIDED TO DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY AGAIN. AFTER ABOUT 1/2 A MILE, THE CAR STOPPED SUDDENLY AGAIN, THIS TIME I WAS ABLE TO COAST ONTO THE MEDIAN BECAUSE I WAS DRIVING IN THE SLOW LANE. THIS CONTINUED FOR SEVERAL MILES UNTIL I FINALLY PULLED OVER AND CALLED A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

STEERING

8/20/2014 - BLUE SPRINGS, MO
BACKED OUT OF GARAGE, AND UPON HITTING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, POWER STEERING STOPPED SUDDENLY AND COULD NOT STEER. THERE WERE SEVERAL ALERT SOUNDS, AND DASH LIGHT CAME ON INDICATED "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT." TURNED OFF AND BACK ON - TOOK 3 ATTEMPTS TO GET POWER STEERING TO COME BACK. HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS EXACT SAME ISSUE ON THE EXACT SAME MODEL AND YEAR VEHICLE, AND WHEN I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE, THEY EXPLAINED THAT THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF IT, EVEN THOUGH HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE HAVE COMPLAINED. THE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS THAT ADDRESS THIS ISSUE ALL STATE THAT POWER STEERING EITHER GOES AWAY COMPLETELY OR COMES AND GOES NEARLY DAILY. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!!! WHAT IF YOU ARE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY STOPS WHEN ROUNDING A CURVE??? MY CAR HAS 63,000 MILES ON IT. THIS IS NOT A WEAR ISSUE, THIS IS A DESIGN OR PART DEFECT!!!

View Details

STEERING

8/19/2014 - BEAUFORT, SC
ABOUT A MONTH AGO MY CARS POWER STEERING LOCKED UP AND I BARELY MADE IT TO A GARAGE THAT HAPPEN TO BE DOWN THE ROAD FROM MY WORK. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME HE DIDN'T HAVE THE FORD EQUIPMENT TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT ALSO LET ME KNOW THAT ALL HE COULD AND THEY(FORD DEALERSHIP) WOULD DO WAS TO RESET THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT SYSTEM AND I WOULD RUN INTO THIS PROBLEM AGAIN. ABOUT TWO DAYS AGO MY GIRLFRIEND WAS DRIVING MY CAR AND THE STEERING WHEEL SUDDENLY LOCKED UP MID-TURN AND SHE BARELY MADE IT TO A PARKING LOT. SHE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND AFTER A FEW MINUTES TURNED THE CAR ON AND IT WORKED (THE LIGHT WAS OFF AND THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED EASILY). SHE MADE IT HOME SAFELY. THIS MORNING WHEN I WENT TO TURN MY CAR ON, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT BUDGE. I READ IN THE MANUAL THAT THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM GETS TURNED OFF WHEN THERE IS A PROBLEM AND WILL NOT TURN ON AGAIN UNTIL TAKEN TO MECHANIC. CURRENTLY MY CAR IS SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY GOING NOWHERE. I ALSO DID SOME RESEARCH AND TRIED TO RESET THE SYSTEM MYSELF, BUT DETACHING THE BATTERY PLUGS, WAITING AWHILE AND THEN REATTACHING THEM TO TRY TO "RESET" THE SYSTEM. THIS DID NOT WORK AS WELL. I ALSO READ AND FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM WITH POWER STEERING IS TOO COMMON AMONG OTHER FORD FUSIONS, YET THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALL MADE. THIS NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO IMMEDIATELY. THERE ARE OTHER FORD CARDS THAT ARE HAVING RECALLS ON THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds