Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 389 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (48) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seats (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (40) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (232)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/28/2014 - GAINESVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING BECAME INOPERABLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER SYSTEM ASSISTED MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - BRIDGEWATER, NJ
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING HAS FAILED ABOUT 6 TIMES SINCE I RECEIVED THE CAR NEW AT THE END OF 2011. EACH TIME THE POWER STEERING FAILED A MESSAGE WOULD APPEAR ON THE DASH STATING THAT THE POWER STEERING HAS FAILED, THEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES VERY, VERY HARD TO TURN. SHUTTING THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTING IT CORRECTS THE PROBLEM UNTIL THE NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS - THIS COULD BE 10 MONTHS OR AS SHORT A 2 DAYS. THE FAILURES HAVE OCCURRED IN DIFFERENT DRIVING ENVIRONMENT - PARKING LOTS TWICE, TOWN ROADS, AND HIGHWAYS. WHEN THE POWER STEERING FAILS THE FORCES REQUIRED TO STEER THE CAR ARE EXTREME. I'M AN AVERAGE PERSON (5'8" 180LBS) AND HAVE BARELY ENOUGH STRENGTH TO TURN THE WHEEL IN A FAILURE CONDITION. MY SISTER (5' 2" 105 LBS) WILL LIKELY CRASH. TOOK THE CAR TO THE FORD DEALER TODAY TO HAVE THE PROBLEM REPAIRED, AND AFTER $148.00 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE THEY SAID THEY FOUND NO FAULT CODES IN THE CAR COMPUTER INDICATING THERE HAD BEEN ANY POWER STEERING FAILURES, AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO ABOUT UNTIL THEY PHYSICALLY SAW THE PROBLEM. NO FAULT CODE REGISTRATION FOR SUCH A SERIOUS PROBLEM IS UNBELIEVABLE - A SERIOUS DEFECT IN ITSELF. I CONCEDER THIS CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - ALGONAC, MI
TAKING OFF FROM BEING STOPPED AT RED LIGHT. POWER STEERING ASSIST LIGHT CAME ON AND MY POWER STEERING FAILED. I PULLED TO SAFE SPOT OFF ROAD WHILE MY WIFE CHECKED VEHICLE MANUAL. IT INSTRUCTED TO TURN OFF ENGINE AND WAIT 10 SECONDS. WE DID AND VEHICLE STEERING WAS FINE. SINCE MY CAR WAS DUE FOR A 60,000 MILE INSPECTION I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED AND THEY SAID IT MAY BE A COMPUTER MODULE THAT WOULD COST ABOUT $125 ON TOP OF THE ROUTINE INSPECTION CHARGES. I WAS QUITE SURPRISED AND VERY ANGRY WHEN THE DEALER CALLED AND SAID IT WOULD COST ABOUT $2200.00. WHAT REALLY MADE ME ANGRIER WAS THAT THE CAR WAS 1000 MILES OR SO OUT OF WARRANTY AND I JUST MADE THE LAST CAR LOAN PAYMENT. THE DEALER SAID THEY SEE IT WITH FUSIONS BUT USUALLY AFTER THEY HAVE HIT POT HOLES. THE FACT THAT THEY SAID, IT WAS SOMETHING THEY SEE ON FUSIONS MADE ME WONDER WHY THE COMPANY CAN'T GET OUT AHEAD OF THE PROBLEM, AND RECALL THEM. I ALSO HAD A TRANSMISSION SLIPPAGE PROBLEM WHEN WE FIRST BOUGHT THE CAR AND THEY SAID WE HAD A KIT TO FIX IT SINCE IT HAPPENS ON THE "NEW FUSIONS". BECAUSE OF THESE PROBLEMS I AM DONE WITH FORDS. MY FIRST ONE AND LAST ONE!! SORRY TO SAY THIS HAS ONCE AGAIN SOURED ME ON AMERICAN CARS. I AM GOING BACK TO IMPORTS WHICH I HAVE NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH IN 40 ODD YEARS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER AND I WILL LOOK FORWARD TO PROGRESS ON THIS ISSUE IN THE FUTURE.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - RHOME, TX
I HAVE BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY 2012 FORD FUSION FOR APPROX 6-7 MONTHS NOW. WHEN I START THE CAR I GET A MESSAGE SAYING "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE" AND THE CAR IS VERY HARD TO STEER. I WILL TURN IT OFF AND THE RE-START, SOMETIMES HAVING TO DO THIS 3 OR 4 TIMES BEFORE IT FINALLY WORKS. AS OF TODAY, THE MESSAGE APPEARED, THE POWER STEERING WILL NOT RESET REGARDLESS OF HOW MANY TIMES I RE-START. IT ALSO GIVES A DIFFERENT MESSAGE ABOUT SERVICE REQUIRED TO THE STABILITRAC.

View Details

STEERING

10/25/2014 - ROSWELL, GA
WITHIN JUST A COUPLE OF MILES AFTER 36000 WARRANTY EXPIRED THE POWER STEERING DEVELOPED A CLUNK SOUND EVERY TIME I WAS TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT FROM DEAD CENTER, AND IT WAS FELT IN THE STEERING WHEEL. IT FELT LIKE THE SOMETHING WAS LOOSE IN THE POWER STEERING MECHANISM. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE TOLD ME THE IT WAS SO BAD THAT HE WAS SURPRISED I MADE IT TO HIS SHOP WITHOUT AN ACCIDENT. HE TOLD ME THAT THE POWER STEERING HAD TO BE REPLCED.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

10/24/2014 - FRANKFORT, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE INTERNAL DOOR HANDLE FAILED TO OPEN THE DOOR. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT HAD TO ROLL THE WINDOW DOWN AND OPEN THE DOOR USING THE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

10/24/2014 - FRANKFORT, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE INTERNAL DOOR HANDLE FAILED TO OPEN THE DOOR. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT HAD TO ROLL THE WINDOW DOWN AND OPEN THE DOOR USING THE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/22/2014 - PERKASIE, PA
ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER, THE VEHICLE WAS PUT INTO REVERSE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT, THEN WHEN THE CAR WAS PUT INTO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP GAINING HIGH SPEEDS UP TO 50MPH. THE ENGINE RPMS WERE HIGH AND THE CAR WAS "OUT OF CONTROL" AS THE DRIVER HAD THEIR FOOT PRESSED ON THE BRAKE. THE FUSION STRUCK A FEW PARKED CARS AND EVENTUALLY HIT A VEHICLE HEAD ON COMING THE OPPOSITE WAY IN A PARKING LOT. THERE WAS ONE FATALITY AS A RESULT OF THE CRASH AND OTHER MINOR INJURIES FROM THE VICTIMS. ACCORDING TO FORD A NOTICE WAS SENT OUT IN JANUARY OF 2014, FIELD SERVICE ACTION NUMBER: 13N03, WHICH THEY OFFERED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THE DEFECTIVE PART BUT NEVER EXPLICITLY STATED A THROTTLE BODY COULD STAY OPEN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SURGE OR RUNAWAY CAUSING A FATAL ACCIDENT. SEE ALSO 10649298.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/22/2014 - PERKASIE, PA
ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER, THE VEHICLE WAS PUT INTO REVERSE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT, THEN WHEN THE CAR WAS PUT INTO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP GAINING HIGH SPEEDS UP TO 50MPH. THE ENGINE RPMS WERE HIGH AND THE CAR WAS "OUT OF CONTROL" AS THE DRIVER HAD THEIR FOOT PRESSED ON THE BRAKE. THE FUSION STRUCK A FEW PARKED CARS AND EVENTUALLY HIT A VEHICLE HEAD ON COMING THE OPPOSITE WAY IN A PARKING LOT. THERE WAS ONE FATALITY AS A RESULT OF THE CRASH AND OTHER MINOR INJURIES FROM THE VICTIMS. ACCORDING TO FORD A NOTICE WAS SENT OUT IN JANUARY OF 2014, FIELD SERVICE ACTION NUMBER: 13N03, WHICH THEY OFFERED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THE DEFECTIVE PART BUT NEVER EXPLICITLY STATED A THROTTLE BODY COULD STAY OPEN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SURGE OR RUNAWAY CAUSING A FATAL ACCIDENT. SEE ALSO 10649298.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/22/2014 - PERKASIE, PA
ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER, THE VEHICLE WAS PUT INTO REVERSE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT, THEN WHEN THE CAR WAS PUT INTO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP GAINING HIGH SPEEDS UP TO 50MPH. THE ENGINE RPMS WERE HIGH AND THE CAR WAS "OUT OF CONTROL" AS THE DRIVER HAD THEIR FOOT PRESSED ON THE BRAKE. THE FUSION STRUCK A FEW PARKED CARS AND EVENTUALLY HIT A VEHICLE HEAD ON COMING THE OPPOSITE WAY IN A PARKING LOT. THERE WAS ONE FATALITY AS A RESULT OF THE CRASH AND OTHER MINOR INJURIES FROM THE VICTIMS. ACCORDING TO FORD A NOTICE WAS SENT OUT IN JANUARY OF 2014, FIELD SERVICE ACTION NUMBER: 13N03, WHICH THEY OFFERED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THE DEFECTIVE PART BUT NEVER EXPLICITLY STATED A THROTTLE BODY COULD STAY OPEN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SURGE OR RUNAWAY CAUSING A FATAL ACCIDENT. SEE ALSO 10649298.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds