Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 351 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Service Brakes (6) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (37) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (206) Unknown Or Other (14) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (45)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/9/2014 - BENTON CITY, WA
FAILURE OF POWER STEERING ASSIST, WARNING LIGHT APPEARED, RESTARTED CAR AND PROBLEM RESOLVED. REOCCURRED A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER AND WILL NOT RESOLVE ITSELF. FORD DEALER SAYS IT WILL COST $1800 TO FIX(STEERING GEAR REPLACEMENT). CAR HAS LESS THAN 60000 MILES AND SHOULD BE UNDER WARRANTY???

View Details

STEERING

10/8/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
I SAW ON NEWS THAT YOU WERE INVESTIGATING POWER STEERING ISSUES ON THE FORD FUSION 2012. THIS IS A PROBLEM I HAVE BEEN HAVING WITH MY FUSION 2012 ALMOST FROM THE BEGINNING. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH LESS THAN 10 MILES ON IT AND THE ISSUE STARTED HAPPENING AROUND THE SECOND MONTH. I HEAR A DING AND THEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT, THE BRAKES PADDLE REQUIRES A LOT OF PRESSURE TO ENGAGE, AND THE ACCELERATOR PADDLE IS NOT AS RESPONSIVE. TWO ERROR MESSAGES APPEAR ON THE DISPLAY, "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC." I MENTIONED IT TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE FORD DEALER AND HE ASK ME TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THE MESSAGES NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS AND BRING THEM IN. I TOOK PICTURES AND BROUGHT THEM IN, I'M THEN TOLD THAT I HAVE TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN WHILE THE ERROR MESSAGES ARE SHOWING IN ORDER FOR THE MECHANIC TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THIS WILL BE ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO DO BECAUSE AFTER A RESTART THE ERRORS GO AWAY. I'M GLAD TO SEE THAT THIS ISSUE IS FINALLY BEING INVESTIGATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/8/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
I SAW ON NEWS THAT YOU WERE INVESTIGATING POWER STEERING ISSUES ON THE FORD FUSION 2012. THIS IS A PROBLEM I HAVE BEEN HAVING WITH MY FUSION 2012 ALMOST FROM THE BEGINNING. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH LESS THAN 10 MILES ON IT AND THE ISSUE STARTED HAPPENING AROUND THE SECOND MONTH. I HEAR A DING AND THEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT, THE BRAKES PADDLE REQUIRES A LOT OF PRESSURE TO ENGAGE, AND THE ACCELERATOR PADDLE IS NOT AS RESPONSIVE. TWO ERROR MESSAGES APPEAR ON THE DISPLAY, "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC." I MENTIONED IT TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE FORD DEALER AND HE ASK ME TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THE MESSAGES NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS AND BRING THEM IN. I TOOK PICTURES AND BROUGHT THEM IN, I'M THEN TOLD THAT I HAVE TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN WHILE THE ERROR MESSAGES ARE SHOWING IN ORDER FOR THE MECHANIC TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THIS WILL BE ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO DO BECAUSE AFTER A RESTART THE ERRORS GO AWAY. I'M GLAD TO SEE THAT THIS ISSUE IS FINALLY BEING INVESTIGATED.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

10/8/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
I SAW ON NEWS THAT YOU WERE INVESTIGATING POWER STEERING ISSUES ON THE FORD FUSION 2012. THIS IS A PROBLEM I HAVE BEEN HAVING WITH MY FUSION 2012 ALMOST FROM THE BEGINNING. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH LESS THAN 10 MILES ON IT AND THE ISSUE STARTED HAPPENING AROUND THE SECOND MONTH. I HEAR A DING AND THEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT, THE BRAKES PADDLE REQUIRES A LOT OF PRESSURE TO ENGAGE, AND THE ACCELERATOR PADDLE IS NOT AS RESPONSIVE. TWO ERROR MESSAGES APPEAR ON THE DISPLAY, "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC." I MENTIONED IT TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE FORD DEALER AND HE ASK ME TO TAKE A PICTURE OF THE MESSAGES NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS AND BRING THEM IN. I TOOK PICTURES AND BROUGHT THEM IN, I'M THEN TOLD THAT I HAVE TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN WHILE THE ERROR MESSAGES ARE SHOWING IN ORDER FOR THE MECHANIC TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THIS WILL BE ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO DO BECAUSE AFTER A RESTART THE ERRORS GO AWAY. I'M GLAD TO SEE THAT THIS ISSUE IS FINALLY BEING INVESTIGATED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/8/2014 - GROVE CITY, PA
THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MY 2012 FORD FUSION TWICE. I JUST GOT MY CAR BACK FROM THE FORD DEALERSHIP REPAIR CENTER AND A WEEK LATER THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT WHILE I AM DRIVING. THE ROD AND PINION WAS REPLACED THE FIRST TIME MY 2012 FORD FUSION WAS PUT IN THE SHOP. THE SERVICE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT CAME ON BOTH TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

10/8/2014 - GROVE CITY, PA
THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MY 2012 FORD FUSION TWICE. I JUST GOT MY CAR BACK FROM THE FORD DEALERSHIP REPAIR CENTER AND A WEEK LATER THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT WHILE I AM DRIVING. THE ROD AND PINION WAS REPLACED THE FIRST TIME MY 2012 FORD FUSION WAS PUT IN THE SHOP. THE SERVICE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT CAME ON BOTH TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

10/8/2014 - CLIFTON, NJ
2012 FORD FUSION. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO POWER STEERING FAILURE, WITH LOW MILEAGE. THE ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR WAS REPLACED

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2014 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
WHEN MY WIFE STARTED THE CAR AND BEGAN TO BACK STRAIGHT OUT OF THE GARAGE SHE NOTICED A WARNING THAT THE POWER STEERING HAD FAILED AND WAS NOT WORKING AND DID FIND THAT IT WAS NOT WORKING. SHE DROVE THE CAR BACK INTO THE GARAGE AND PARKED IT. LATER, WHEN I STARTED THE CAR THE PROBLEM HAD CLEARED. NO FAULT CODES WERE PRESENT IN THE OBD II MONITOR.

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2014 - CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH
FORD FUSION 2012 ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING FAILURE AT LOW SPEED. THE POWER STEERING OF THE FUSION JUST COMPLETELY FAILED WHILE BRINGING THE CAR TO A STOP. THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT OR IMPACT. THE CAR COULD STILL BE STEERED MANUALLY WITH DIFFICULTY IN MAKING TURNS. TOOK CAR TO THE DEALER AND RECEIVED AN ESTIMATE OF 1800 TO REPAIR A MAJOR PART (COMPLETE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSEMBLY) ON A 2 YEAR OLD CAR THAT SHOULD NOT FAIL ON IT'S OWN. I HAVE REPORTED THE ISSUE TO FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND IT ESCALATED QUICKLY WITHIN THE COMPANY. I'M CURRENTLY WAITING FOR A REGIONAL MANAGER TO GET BACK TO ME REGARDING THE ISSUE IN THE NEXT BUSINESS DAY. THERE ARE NO RECALLS BUT THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE WELL DOCUMENTED ON THE WEB AS A PROBLEM WITH THE FUSION BETWEEN THE YEARS 2010 AND 2012. THIS CAR IS IN EXCELLENT SHAPE AND THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THIS IS JUST A PART FAILURE(?) - A VERY EXPENSIVE ONE THAT SHOULD NOT BE DEFECTIVE AFTER ONLY A COUPLE OF YEARS. FAILURE COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS AT HIGHER SPEEDS, HIGHWAYS OR WHEN TRYING TO MAKE A TURN.

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 10 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED AS MAKING A LEFT TURN AND EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS USED TO STEER THE VEHICLE. THE PROBLEM RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE THE COMPUTER PROGRAM WAS RESET. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND DIAGNOSED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY AS A SERVICE DEFECT ON THE POWER STEERING. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,786. JB

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds