Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 253 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (38) Steering (137) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (29) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (2) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/4/2014 - ARLINGTON, MA
WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY 2012 FORD FUSION, I LOST CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL SUDDENLY. A MESSAGE SHOWING "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" POPPED UP ON THE DASHBOARD. THE WHEEL BECAME STIFF AND UNABLE TO TURN. I HAD TO STOP MY CAR AND RESTARTED IT. THE MESSAGE WAS GONE AND I WAS ABLE TO DROVE IT BACK HOME. LUCKILY IT HAPPENED WHEN THERE WAS NO OTHER CARS. I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IF IT HAD HAPPENED ON AN EXPRESSWAY. IT IS DEFINITELY A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND REQUIRES A RECALL!

View Details

STEERING

7/2/2014 - VALLEY, AL
I WAS APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, WHEN I HEARD A "POP" AND SUDDENLY I COULD NOT STEER MY CAR ANYMORE. I WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR, BUT I WAS STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD BLOCKING TRAFFIC. THE CAR COULD ONLY BE MOVED BY A TOW TRUCK. AFTER ACCESSING THE SITUATION, IT TURNED OUT TO BE MY POWER STEERING UNIT HAD JUST SNAPPED INTO. THE GOOD LORD WAS WITH ME!!!! HAD I BEEN ON THE INTERSTATE WHERE I WOULD HAVE BEEN MOVING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED, MY WIFE AND SON MIGHT POSSIBLY BE ATTENDING MY FUNERAL RIGHT NOW!!!!

View Details

STEERING

7/1/2014 - SEMINOLE, FL
I PURCHASED A NEW 2012 FORD FUSION SEL CAR IN AUGUST 2011. I NOW HAVE 55K MILES, MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES, SO THE STANDARD WARRANTY DOES NOT APPLY, EVEN THOUGH I HAVE NOT EXCEEDED THE 3 YEARS. I DID NOT BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY DUE TO ADVICE THAT FORD FUSIONS ARE HIGHLY RELIABLE. WHILE UNDER WARRANTY, THE ADVANCETRAC INDICATOR LIGHT ON THE DASH AND ADVANCETRAC SERVICE MESSAGE HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. I WAS EVEN LEAVING THE FORD SERVICE WHEN THE SERVICE ADVANCETRAC INDICATOR LIT UP AND MESSAGE OCCURRED. I IMMEDIATELY RETURNED AND SHOWED IT TO THE SERVICE PERSON. THEY CHECKED IT OUT AND SAID IT CAN OCCUR IF ONE TIRE TURNS MORE THAN ANOTHER SO IT WAS NOT A PROBLEM. RECENTLY, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING 25 MPH WHEN THE STEERING SUDDENLY BECAME DIFFICULT AND POWER STEERING FAILURE MESSAGES AND ADVANCETRAC POPPED UP. SHE SAID SHE ALMOST HIT A PARKED VEHICLE ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY INDICATED THE RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THAT IS A $1,375.00 REPAIR PLUS THE $225.00 THEY CHARGED ME ALIGNMENT. THE FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT INDICATED THAT THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR THIS PROBLEM ON THE FORD FUSION. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND HAVE FOUND MANY POSTING OF RECALLS ON MULTIPLE MODELS OF FORD FOR THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - JACKSON, WY
THIS MODEL IS AN AWD MODEL. VEHICLE EMITS A FOUL 'NATURAL GAS' ODOR WHEN VEHICLE COMES TO A COMPLETE STOP AFTER ANY PERIOD OF DRIVING. THIS ODOR SMELLS EXACTLY LIKE THE FLUID INSIDE THE RDU. AFTER SEVERAL TRIAL AND ERROR ATTEMPTS, I BELIEVE THE SMELL IS BEING SUCKED IN THROUGH THE HVAC SYSTEM. HOWEVER WHEN THE SYSTEM IS PUT IN RE-CIRCULATION MODE, THE SMELL IS NOT PRESANT. THIS PROVES THAT THE SMELL IS BEING SUCKED IN FROM OUTSIDE, FROM A VENT CONNECTED TO THE RDU. I CANT BELIEVE FORD HAS NOT HAD ANY OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. ITS EMBARASSING TO HAVE ANYBODY RIDE IN THE CAR.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

6/27/2014 - RANCH CUCAMONGA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE POWER STEERING AND LOW TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/27/2014 - RANCH CUCAMONGA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE POWER STEERING AND LOW TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/27/2014 - CAMERON, MO
WAS ACCELERATING TO GET ON THE INTERSTATE AND THE CAR DELAYED IN ACCELERATING. SINCE IT WAS A NEW CAR (PURCHASED IN JUNE ON 2012) I REALLY DIDN'T THINK MUCH ABOUT IT. OVER THE LAST TWO YEARS, THIS PROBLEM HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY WITH A DELAY/HARSH SHIFT, A GRUMBLING/VIBRATION IN THE CAR WHEN SHIFTING IN LOWER GEARS FROM 2ND TO 3RD. THIS ALSO OCCURS DURING DOWN SHIFT BETWEEN 3RD AND 2ND GEARS CAUSING THE CAR TO "LURCH FORWARD" AS IF YOU HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED. I NOW HAVE 69,000 MILES ON MY CAR AND THE WARRANTY IS GONE AND EVERY TIME I ASK FORD TO LOOK AT THE PROBLEM THEY CAN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM (TRYING TO TELL ME THAT THE WAY I DRIVE MY CAR IS TOO HARSH) THEY DID REPROGRAM THE TCS AND THE LAST TIME I TRIED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT BEFORE MY WARRANTY EXPIRED, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CALLED ME BACK STATING THE FOLLOWING: "IT SOUNDS LIKE YOU ARE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH YOUR TRANSMISSION AND IT WILL BE 6-8 WEEKS BEFORE WE CAN GET THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE".

View Details

STEERING

6/27/2014 - TOCCOA, GA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND ALL THE SUDDEN THE POWER STEERING FAILED. CAR IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN. CAR ALARMS "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE" AND "ADVANCETRAC MAINTAINENCE NEEDED". WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF SIDE OF ROAD, CUT THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT--POWER STEERING RETURNED. HAS HAPPENED TWICE NOW. TOOK CAR TO FORD DEALERSHIP, THEY SCANNED IT AND FOUND NO SERVICE CODES. HAVE BEEN TOLD IT IS MOST LIKELY IN NEED OF A NEW STEERING MOTOR BUT WITHOUT THE "CODE" THEY CAN'T REPLACE IT UNDER MY WARRANTY??!?!?? SO FAR THIS HAS OCCURRED ON STRAIGHT ROADS--IF IT WERE TO OCCUR WHILE NAVIGATING A CURVE THE RESULTS COULD BE DEADLY/CATASTROPHIC! THERE IS NO WARNING, NO NOTHING--YOU JUST CAN'T STEER THE CAR ALL THE SUDDEN. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND APPARENTLY A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR MODEL CAR--WHY IS THERE NO RECALL YET?!?!!?? DO I HAVE TO WRECK MY CAR OR POTENTIALLY HURT MYSELF OR OTHERS BEFORE THIS IS ADDRESSED?!!!

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2014 - WARRENSBURG, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THEY STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/19/2014 - WEYMOUTH, MA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A BUSY STREET AT 35MPH. ALL OF A SUDDEN OUT OF NOWHERE I LOST MY POWER STEERING AND A MESSAGE CAME ACROSS MY DASH THAT SAID "POWER STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT, SERVICE REQUIRED" I SHUT MY CAR OFF AND STARTED IT BACK UP AGAIN. A FEW DAYS LATER SAME THING HAPPENED. DEALER TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHIN THEY COULD DO, AND TO JUST DRIVE MY CAR UNTIL IT HAPPENS AGAIN. IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds