Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 421 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (49) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seats (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (7) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (255)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/9/2014 - LAKESIDE, CA
RECENTLY I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR IN FOR REPAIRS, THE INSIDE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR HANDLE CEASED TO OPEN. WE PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY, BUT WERE TOLD BY THE FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THIS WAS CONSIDERED TO BE A COSMETIC REPAIR AND WAS NOT COVERED. I HAVE HAD 2 FORD FUSIONS A 2008 AND THIS 2012. BOTH CARS HAD THE INSIDE DRIVERS DOOR HANDLE BREAK. I DO NOT USE EXCESSIVE FORCE TO OPEN THE DOOR. I HAVE CHECKED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR THESE CARS. I DON'T SEE HOW THIS CAN BE A COSMETIC ISSUE, WHEN IT IS CLEARLY A FAULTY PIECE OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO IT COULD BE VERY DANGEROUS IF I WERE IN AN ACCIDENT BEFORE I COULD GET THE HANDLE FIXED, AS THERE WOULD BE NO WAY TO EXIT THE VEHICLE FROM THE DRIVER'++S DOOR. I FEEL THIS MODEL CAR SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR FAULTY DANGEROUS DOOR HANDLE FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

12/9/2014 - HARTVILLE, OH
WHILE DRIVING OUR 2012 FORD FUSION AT APPROXIAMTELY 45 MPH THE DASHBOARD WARNING MESSAGE "SERVICE POWER STEERING SOON". WITHIN ABOUT 5 MILES THE STEERING BECAME VERY DIFFICULT AND IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE POWER STEERING HAD FAILED. THE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,600 MILES. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND WERE TOLD THAT THE RACK AND PINION SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, AND THAT THE COST WAS OVER $1,700. FORTUNATELY THE INCIDENT DID NOT LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

12/5/2014 - EASTDALE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS 2012 FORD FUSION HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATES THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED A FAULTY WIRING OF THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/5/2014 - EASTDALE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS 2012 FORD FUSION HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATES THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED A FAULTY WIRING OF THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/2/2014 - CLARKSDALE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AS THE ADVANCE TRACK WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,001. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2014 - IMLER, PA
THE TRANSMISSION IN MY 2012 FORD FUSION (2.5L 4 CYLINDER, 6 SPEED SPORT SHIFT TRANSMISSION) WILL SHIFT EXTREMELY HARD AND UNEXPECTEDLY AT BOTH LOW AND HIGHWAY SPEEDS. AT LOW SPEEDS WHEN BEGINNING TO SLOW, THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY DROP INTO A LOW GEAR, THUS CAUSING A LOUD "CLUNK" SOUND AND THE CAR TO SUDDENLY SLOW (AS IF HITTING THE BRAKES HARD). AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHEN CLIMBING STEEP HILLS, THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION WILL HOLD AT A HIGH RPM AND NOT RELEASE, EVEN AFTER REACHING THE TOP OF THE HILL AND/OR ON THE DOWNWARD GRADE. I MUST BRAKE IN ORDER TO FOR THE CAR TO RELEASE FROM HITS HIGH REVELATIONS. I HAVE HAD THE CAR TO DIFFERENT FORD DEALERSHIPS ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, AND EACH TIME, I AM TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE IS OPERATING NORMALLY, AS MY CONCERNS APPARENTLY CANNOT BE REPLICATED. THE CAR IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY, AND THE PROBLEMS CONTINUE. I FEAR THAT AN ACCIDENT MAY OCCUR AS A RESULT OF THIS TRANSMISSION'S SUDDEN, UNPREDICTABLE ACTIONS.

View Details

STEERING

11/24/2014 - WAGSWORTH, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE TRACTION LIGHT AND POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTART BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - WAGSWORTH, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE TRACTION LIGHT AND POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTART BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2014 - ARLINGTON , MA
VEHICLE EXHIBITED EXTREME HESITATION WHEN ACCELERATING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. ENGINE RAN ROUGHLY, AND DID NOT RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUTS, AND POWERTRAIN 'WRENCH' LIGHT ILLUMINATED. PULLED INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT, STOPPED AND PLACED INTO PARK, WHILE THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN ROUGHLY. ENGINE WAS SWITCHED OFF, AND RAN NORMALLY WHEN RESTARTED. THE TOTAL ELAPSED TIME OF THE ANOMALY WAS APPROXIMATELY 5-10 SECONDS. LATER THAT DAY A SCAN OF THE OBD II PORT INDICATED NO ANOMALIES, AND AN ON-BOARD 'VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR' WAS RUN VIA FORD SYNC . THIS REPORT ALSO INDICATED NO ANOMALIES. WHILE LOOKING UP THE VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR RESULTS ON THE OWNER WEBSITE, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A 'CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM' 13N03 WHICH EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE THROTTLE BODY. RESEARCH ON THIS 13N03 PROGRAM VIA MULTIPLE ON-LINE SOURCES REVEALED NUMEROUS FAILURES OF THE THROTTLE BODY, WITH BEHAVIOR IDENTICAL TO THAT OBSERVED IN THIS VEHICLE. CAR WAS DRIVEN (CAREFULLY) FOR A FEW DAYS UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO VISIT LOCAL FORD DEALER. SERVICE ADVISOR INDICATED THAT FORD WOULD ONLY REPLACE THROTTLE BODY IF THERE WERE STORED CODES CONSISTENT WITH THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, AND THAT DIAGNOSTIC COSTS ($159) WERE MY RESPONSIBILITY IF NO CODES WERE FOUND. AFTER DISCUSSING THE NEGATIVE RESULTS OF OBD II SCAN AND VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR, HIS OPINION WAS THAT THERE WAS A VERY HIGH PROBABILITY THAT THEIR DIAGNOSTICS WOULD ALSO SHOW NO CODES. BASED ON THIS INFORMATION, I DECLINED TO HAVE DEALER EXAMINE THE CAR, AND REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY WITH UPDATED PART MYSELF (TOTAL COST $125), AS A MORE EFFECTIVE APPROACH TO PREVENTING RECURRENCE. MY OPINION IS THAT THE 13N03 PROGRAM NEEDS TO BE A FULL RECALL, AS THIS FAILURE IS COMMON, UNPREDICTABLE, AND CAN HAVE VERY SERIOUS CONSEQUENCES SHOULD IT OCCUR DURING HIGH SPEED MERGING OR CROSSING TRAFFIC.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/22/2014 - ARLINGTON , MA
VEHICLE EXHIBITED EXTREME HESITATION WHEN ACCELERATING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. ENGINE RAN ROUGHLY, AND DID NOT RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUTS, AND POWERTRAIN 'WRENCH' LIGHT ILLUMINATED. PULLED INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT, STOPPED AND PLACED INTO PARK, WHILE THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN ROUGHLY. ENGINE WAS SWITCHED OFF, AND RAN NORMALLY WHEN RESTARTED. THE TOTAL ELAPSED TIME OF THE ANOMALY WAS APPROXIMATELY 5-10 SECONDS. LATER THAT DAY A SCAN OF THE OBD II PORT INDICATED NO ANOMALIES, AND AN ON-BOARD 'VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR' WAS RUN VIA FORD SYNC . THIS REPORT ALSO INDICATED NO ANOMALIES. WHILE LOOKING UP THE VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR RESULTS ON THE OWNER WEBSITE, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A 'CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM' 13N03 WHICH EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE THROTTLE BODY. RESEARCH ON THIS 13N03 PROGRAM VIA MULTIPLE ON-LINE SOURCES REVEALED NUMEROUS FAILURES OF THE THROTTLE BODY, WITH BEHAVIOR IDENTICAL TO THAT OBSERVED IN THIS VEHICLE. CAR WAS DRIVEN (CAREFULLY) FOR A FEW DAYS UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO VISIT LOCAL FORD DEALER. SERVICE ADVISOR INDICATED THAT FORD WOULD ONLY REPLACE THROTTLE BODY IF THERE WERE STORED CODES CONSISTENT WITH THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, AND THAT DIAGNOSTIC COSTS ($159) WERE MY RESPONSIBILITY IF NO CODES WERE FOUND. AFTER DISCUSSING THE NEGATIVE RESULTS OF OBD II SCAN AND VEHICLE HEALTH MONITOR, HIS OPINION WAS THAT THERE WAS A VERY HIGH PROBABILITY THAT THEIR DIAGNOSTICS WOULD ALSO SHOW NO CODES. BASED ON THIS INFORMATION, I DECLINED TO HAVE DEALER EXAMINE THE CAR, AND REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY WITH UPDATED PART MYSELF (TOTAL COST $125), AS A MORE EFFECTIVE APPROACH TO PREVENTING RECURRENCE. MY OPINION IS THAT THE 13N03 PROGRAM NEEDS TO BE A FULL RECALL, AS THIS FAILURE IS COMMON, UNPREDICTABLE, AND CAN HAVE VERY SERIOUS CONSEQUENCES SHOULD IT OCCUR DURING HIGH SPEED MERGING OR CROSSING TRAFFIC.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds