Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 629 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (68) Steering (396) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (51) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (50)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Seats (4) Suspension (7) Visibility (2)
Engine (57) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (9) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/17/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND TWO WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO RESTART THE VEHICLE TO LOOSEN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE RECURRED FIVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BALL JOINTS AND TIE ROD NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2015 - MONROE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE CHECK POWER STEERING FLUID LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/25/2015 - VALLEY MILLS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING GEAR MIGHT NEED TO BE REPLACED AND THE CODE NEEDED TO BE CLEARED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/24/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
STICKY, NOTCHY STEERING ACCOMPANIED WITH LOUD GRINDING SOUNDS. THIS STARTED FOR NO REASON. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THE CAR HAS A BAD STEERING RACK AND IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. NO ERROR CODE IS SHOWING, SO FORD IS NOT REPLACING THE PART.

View Details

STEERING

11/20/2015 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,071.

View Details

STEERING

11/18/2015 - DUBLIN, GA
DEVELOP A CLUNKING NOISE IN STEERING SYSTEM AT 82000 MILES. TOOK THE CAR TO A ASE MECHANIC IN MY TOWN AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A FAILED EPAS (POWER STEERING RACK.) THE BILL FOR THIS IS GOING TO BE BETWEEN 1400-1600! I HAVE READ ELSEWHERE ONLINE OF FORD RECALLING THE FUSION FOR TROUBLE CODES IN THE SAME STEERING RACK FOR FAILED SENSORS AND LOSS OF POWER ASSIST SUDDENLY MAKING THE CAR DIFFICULT TO STEER AND RISKING A CRASH AS A RESULT. MY CONCERN IS COMPLETE MECHANICAL FAILURE DUE TO THE CLUNKING LIKE SOMETHING IS EITHER BROKEN OR ABOUT TO BREAK. THIS WOULD RESULT IN COMPLETE LOSS OF CONTROL OF VEHICLE AND A POSSIBLE CRASH. I REALIZE THINGS BREAK OUT OF WARRANTY BUT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FIRST AND FOREMOST. MY DAUGHTER DRIVES THE CAR AND MY CONCERN IS FOR HER SAFETY. IF THERE IS NO RECALL ISSUED I WILL BE FORCED TO REPAIR OR TRADE THE CAR AND LOSE WHAT LITTLE EQUITY I HAD IN THE CAR BECAUSE OF ITS REPAIR BILL. THE CAR HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED. THIS IS NOT AN ABUSE ISSUE. MY OPINION IS THAT THIS A FAULTY PART. WHEN I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL FORD DEALER, I WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE CAR AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY THE BILL OUT OF POCKET.

View Details

STEERING

11/16/2015 - SHREVEPORT, LA
I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AND IN THE MIDDLE OF ACCELERATION WHEN MY 2012 FUSION SEL BEGAN TO MAKE NOTIFICATION SOUNDS. I READ TWO NOTIFICATIONS. THE FIRST ONE INCLUDED A WARNING LIGHT FOR "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC". THE SECOND NOTIFICATION READ "SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW". I CONTINUED TO DRIVE NORTHBOUND TO THE HIGHWAY. UPON TURNING AND BREAKING TO BOARD THE FREEWAY, I REALIZED THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY TIGHT. IT WAS NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO STEER MY CAR TOWARDS THE FREEWAY WITH SEVERAL OTHER CARS DRIVING AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 35-50 MPH BEHIND US. I HAD TO USE BOTH ARMS AND BODY WEIGHT TO TURN RIGHT TO GET ON THE FREEWAY. I WAS AFRAID TO CONTINUE ON THE HIGHWAY AS I HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THIS BEFORE AND MY TWO DAUGHTERS WERE IN THE BACKSEAT. I WENT TO A DEALERSHIP TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. I WAS TOLD THE STEERING GEAR WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. I RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE. THERE ARE RECALLS ON FUSIONS MADE BETWEEN 2011-2013 FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. HOWEVER, MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE FORD RECALLS. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR MYSELF AND OTHERS, ESPECIALLY WHEN I AM ON THE HIGHWAY OFTEN. FORD MOTOR CO. HAS TOLD ME THREE TIMES THAT MY CAR WASN'T INCLUDED IN THE RECALLS, IT WAS NOT MADE IN THE SAME FACTORY AS THOSE RECALLED, AND IT WAS MADE MONTHS AFTER THE RECALL. THE CARS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL WERE MADE IN FEBRUARY 2012 WHILE MY CAR WAS MADE IN JUNE 2012. THIS IS A HORRIBLE WAY TO HANDLE CONSUMERS. SAFETY OF CONSUMERS DOES NOT APPEAR RELEVANT TO FORD MOTOR COMPANY. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL FOR THOUSANDS MORE 2012 FORD FUSIONS... THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY CONCERN FOR EVERYONE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/16/2015 - WARRENTON, VA
TRANSMISSION SLAMS INTO GEAR FROM FIRST TO SECOND, THEN SECOND TO THIRD OCCASIONALLY. I'VE HAD 3 BRAKE CALIPERS SEIZE AND 3 ROTORS REPLACED AS A RESULT. BRAKE WEAR IS BEYOND PATHETIC. REAR TURNING SIGNAL/BRAKE LIGHT BULB GOT SO HOT THAT IT MELTED MY ACTUAL TAILLIGHT. PAINT FLAKES OFF FENDERS FROM JUST WASHING WITH A BRAND NEW SPONGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/16/2015 - WARRENTON, VA
TRANSMISSION SLAMS INTO GEAR FROM FIRST TO SECOND, THEN SECOND TO THIRD OCCASIONALLY. I'VE HAD 3 BRAKE CALIPERS SEIZE AND 3 ROTORS REPLACED AS A RESULT. BRAKE WEAR IS BEYOND PATHETIC. REAR TURNING SIGNAL/BRAKE LIGHT BULB GOT SO HOT THAT IT MELTED MY ACTUAL TAILLIGHT. PAINT FLAKES OFF FENDERS FROM JUST WASHING WITH A BRAND NEW SPONGE.

View Details

STEERING

11/16/2015 - WARRENTON, VA
TRANSMISSION SLAMS INTO GEAR FROM FIRST TO SECOND, THEN SECOND TO THIRD OCCASIONALLY. I'VE HAD 3 BRAKE CALIPERS SEIZE AND 3 ROTORS REPLACED AS A RESULT. BRAKE WEAR IS BEYOND PATHETIC. REAR TURNING SIGNAL/BRAKE LIGHT BULB GOT SO HOT THAT IT MELTED MY ACTUAL TAILLIGHT. PAINT FLAKES OFF FENDERS FROM JUST WASHING WITH A BRAND NEW SPONGE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds