Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1175 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (211) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (95) Steering (608) Unknown Or Other (60)
Electrical System (84) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (6) Structure (63) Vehicle Speed Control (68)
Electronic Stability Control (40) Fuel Propulsion System (40) Seats (7) Suspension (17) Visibility (3)
Engine (84) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (23) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/3/2018 - CEDAR PARK, TX
I WAS ON THE ROAD PACK SADDLE IN JONESTOWN TX 78645, WHEN I PULLED ON TO ROAD 1431. A LARGE TRUCK WITH A CRASH GUARD HIT ME ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE @ 60MPH. THE ACCIDENT TURNED MY CAR INTO A HORSE SHOE, AND SENJT ME INTO ON COMING TRAFIC. ALL OF THE AIR BAGS WERE ACTIVATED AND SAVED BOTH ME AND MY WIFE BUT, THE RESIDUE THAT CAME WITH THE ACTIVATION PEPPERD ME IN THE FACE AND RUINED MY GLASSES. IF I HAD NOT HAD MY GLASSES ON,I WOULD HAVE LOST MY VISION DUE TO SUCH. WE WERE ON A COUNTY ROAD.TURNING LEFT AND MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2018 - CEDAR PARK, TX
I WAS ON THE ROAD PACK SADDLE IN JONESTOWN TX 78645, WHEN I PULLED ON TO ROAD 1431. A LARGE TRUCK WITH A CRASH GUARD HIT ME ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE @ 60MPH. THE ACCIDENT TURNED MY CAR INTO A HORSE SHOE, AND SENJT ME INTO ON COMING TRAFIC. ALL OF THE AIR BAGS WERE ACTIVATED AND SAVED BOTH ME AND MY WIFE BUT, THE RESIDUE THAT CAME WITH THE ACTIVATION PEPPERD ME IN THE FACE AND RUINED MY GLASSES. IF I HAD NOT HAD MY GLASSES ON,I WOULD HAVE LOST MY VISION DUE TO SUCH. WE WERE ON A COUNTY ROAD.TURNING LEFT AND MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2018 - SALISBURY, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE REVERSING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. ALSO, THE POWER TRAIN WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED BUT, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE ABOVE 5 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE CONTACT+S DRIVEWAY. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/2/2018 - MARIETTA, GA
CLIENT APPROACHED AN INTERSECTION WITH A LEFT TURN, APPLIED THE BRAKES. THEY WENT TO THE FLOOR, VEHICLE NEVER STOPPED OR SLOWED DOWN UNTIL RUNNING THROUGH A SIGN, INTO AN EMBANKMENT. CLIENT WAS SEVERELY INJURED AS A RESULT. VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY STORED AT A TOW YARD. WE HAVE 30 DAYS TO GET THE VEHICLE INSPECTED BY THE NHTSA. PLEASE CONTACT MY OFFICE TO GET THE ADDRESS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/2/2018 - KENTWOOD, MI
PURCHASED A 2012 FUSION SEL WITH 35XXX MILES IN FEB16. DURING THE SUMMER OF 2016, THE A/C BLOWER BEGAN TO FUNCTION INTERMITTENTLY + MANIPULATION OF THE WIRE HARNESS SUPPLYING POWER TO THE RESISTOR WOULD CAUSE THE BLOWER TO TURN ON/OFF. THE BLOWER ONLY RAN AT ONE SPEED (I.E. THE RESISTOR WAS BAD). THE BLOWER AND RESISTOR WERE REPLACED. THE ISSUE IS ONCE AGAIN OCCURRING AT ~80,000 MILES. THIS IS A WELL-DOCUMENTED COMPLAINT (BLOWER PULL TOO MUCH CURRENT AND FRIES THE RESISTOR) WITH THIS VEHICLE AND, OFTENTIMES, FORD DEALERS ARE ONLY REPLACING/REPAIRING THE BLOWER AND RESISTOR. HOWEVER, IN MY EXPERIENCE (AND LIKELY MANY OTHERS), THE WIRE HARNESS ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO CORRECT THE ISSUE AS CONTINUITY THROUGH THE WIRING IS ALSO AFFECTED WHEN THIS ISSUE FIRST OCCURS. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT FORD IS NOT ADDRESSING. FURTHERMORE, THEIR DEALERSHIPS/SERVICE CENTER PERSONNEL ARE NOT ADEQUATELY EDUCATED ON HOW TO PERMANENTLY CORRECT THIS ISSUE (THIS IS EVIDENT BY THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS THAT REFERENCE THE ISSUE RECURRING AFTER ONLY THE BLOWER MOTOR AND RESISTOR ARE REPLACED). THEY ARE CHARGING FUSION OWNERS $500+ TO PUT A TEMPORARY BAND AID ON AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE WELL UNDERSTOOD BY NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/2/2018 - KENTWOOD, MI
PURCHASED A 2012 FUSION SEL WITH 35XXX MILES IN FEB16. DURING THE SUMMER OF 2016, THE A/C BLOWER BEGAN TO FUNCTION INTERMITTENTLY + MANIPULATION OF THE WIRE HARNESS SUPPLYING POWER TO THE RESISTOR WOULD CAUSE THE BLOWER TO TURN ON/OFF. THE BLOWER ONLY RAN AT ONE SPEED (I.E. THE RESISTOR WAS BAD). THE BLOWER AND RESISTOR WERE REPLACED. THE ISSUE IS ONCE AGAIN OCCURRING AT ~80,000 MILES. THIS IS A WELL-DOCUMENTED COMPLAINT (BLOWER PULL TOO MUCH CURRENT AND FRIES THE RESISTOR) WITH THIS VEHICLE AND, OFTENTIMES, FORD DEALERS ARE ONLY REPLACING/REPAIRING THE BLOWER AND RESISTOR. HOWEVER, IN MY EXPERIENCE (AND LIKELY MANY OTHERS), THE WIRE HARNESS ALSO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO CORRECT THE ISSUE AS CONTINUITY THROUGH THE WIRING IS ALSO AFFECTED WHEN THIS ISSUE FIRST OCCURS. THIS IS AN OBVIOUS MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT FORD IS NOT ADDRESSING. FURTHERMORE, THEIR DEALERSHIPS/SERVICE CENTER PERSONNEL ARE NOT ADEQUATELY EDUCATED ON HOW TO PERMANENTLY CORRECT THIS ISSUE (THIS IS EVIDENT BY THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS THAT REFERENCE THE ISSUE RECURRING AFTER ONLY THE BLOWER MOTOR AND RESISTOR ARE REPLACED). THEY ARE CHARGING FUSION OWNERS $500+ TO PUT A TEMPORARY BAND AID ON AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE WELL UNDERSTOOD BY NOW.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM

5/1/2018 - TUCSON, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN MADE AN ABNORMAL POPPING NOISE WHILE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS BEING TURNED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO JIM CLICK FORD LINCOLN EAST TUCSON (6244 E 22ND ST, TUCSON, AZ) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONTROL ARMS NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 83,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/1/2018 - TUCSON, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN MADE AN ABNORMAL POPPING NOISE WHILE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS BEING TURNED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO JIM CLICK FORD LINCOLN EAST TUCSON (6244 E 22ND ST, TUCSON, AZ) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CONTROL ARMS NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 83,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/28/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THIS IS OUR COMPLAINT BEFORE THE SERIOUS INJURY/DEATH OCCURS. OUR PASSENGER AIRBAG REQUIRES REPLACEMENT BUT NOW OUR VIN HAS BEEN DROPPED FROM YOUR CURRENT LISTING. FORD RELEASE MARCH 2017, +A RUPTURED INFLATOR MAY RESULT IN METAL FRAGMENTS STRIKING VEHICLE OCCUPANTS CAUSING SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH.+ I CAN'T DRIVE OUR FINE CAR ON THE FREEWAY AND RISK MY WIFE'S LIFE. THE BAG NEEDS REPLACEMENT NOW TO FORESTALL A FUTURE COMPLAINT OF INJURY OR DEATH AND RESULTING LAWSUIT!

View Details

STEERING

4/26/2018 - LEHIGHTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING ABILITY SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LEHIGHTON FORD (54 BLAKESLEE BLVD DR E, LEHIGHTON, PA 18235) WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT IT WAS INCLUDED IN AN UNKNOWN RECALL FOR THE STEERING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds