Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 821 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (82) Steering (497) Unknown Or Other (40)
Electrical System (70) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (4) Structure (46) Vehicle Speed Control (57)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Seats (7) Suspension (10) Visibility (2)
Engine (69) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (19) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/14/2017 - NOTTINGHAM, NH
2012 FORD FUSION PURCHASED FROM AUTOFAIR FORD 08/11 2.5LTR , 6 SPEED MANUAL, 62K MILES ORIGINAL OWNER. ON 02/09/2017 ABOUT 2 PM UPON APPROACHING A RURAL STOP SIGN EXPERIENCED AN ABS BRAKE ACTION DUE TO VERY SLIPPERY SNOW CONDITIONS. I STOPPED VERY SLOWLY AND WAS SURPRISED THE ABS ACTIVATED, IN FACT I DON'T THINK I HAVE EVER HAD THEM ACTIVATE LIKE THIS. 5 VERY LOUD BANGING SOUNDS AS SOMEONE WAS HITTING THE FRONT UNDERSIDE OF CAR WITH A LARGE HAMMER. I IMMEDIATELY LET OFF THE BRAKES AND SLOWLY RE-APPLIED TO FIND I HAD NO BRAKES AT ALL. BRAKE PEDAL SANK TO FLOOR AND I WENT THROUGH INTERSECTION OUT INTO CONNECTING ROAD. I USED THE E-BRAKE TO STOP AND LUCKILY NO ON COMING CARS. DROVE CAR HOME VIA E-BRAKE AS HAD NO BRAKES. WHEN HOME CHECKED FLUID THEN DID SOME RESEARCH ON LINE AND FOUND OTHER PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THIS. READ ON LINE TO DISCONNECT THE ABS FUSE AND BRAKES MAY WORK AGAIN WHICH THEY DID BUT AS ABS FUSE IS OUT AND I HAVE BRAKES, I DO NOT HAVE ABS OR TRACTION CONTROL. I HAVE READ THAT I CAN PUT THE ABS FUSE BACK IN BUT IF I EXPERIENCE ANOTHER ABS DEPLOYMENT, THE SAME RESULT OF LOSS OF BRAKE PEDAL WILL HAPPEN, NOT A SAFE RIDE I WOULD SAY. I HAVE HAD AN ON-GOING TYPE OF SITUATION HAPPENING WHEN MAKING HARD RIGHT TURNS IN TO TRAFFIC AND HAVING TO ACCELERATE FAST. ( THE CAR APPEARS TO BE SOMEHOW FOOLED AND THE TRACTION CONTROL OVER REACTS AND CAR STARTS BUCKING HARD AND ALMOST STALLS OUT. I HAVE TO PUSH IN CLUTCH TO STOP IT AND AVOID STALLING AND GETTING HIT. NOT SAFE. I HAD ACTUALLY GOT IN THE HABIT OF SHUTTING OFF TRACTION CONTROL IN THESE TYPE OF TURNS PRIOR TO THE EVENT ORIGINALLY STATED HERE. I HAVE READ THAT THERE IS SOME TYPE OF ABS VALVE BODY COMING INTO SUSPECT AS THE ISSUE AND NO RECALLS HAVE BEEN ORDERED AND ITS ALSO AN EXPENSIVE FIX. WHICH AS BEING SAFETY RELATED DEFECT I FEEL IT SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO.

View Details

SEATS

2/10/2017 - VERNDALE, MN
I PURCHASED MY FUSION IN SEPTEMBER AND IN NOVEMBER STARTED USING THE HEATING OPTION ON THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT. IT WOULD GET SO HOT I HAD TO SHUT IT OFF AS IT FELT LIKE IT WAS BURNING ME, MY SKIN WAS EXTREMELY SORE AFTER USING THE HEATER FOR A SHORT TIME.EN IN DECEMBER IT QUIT WORKING COMPLETELY. I TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP RECENTLY AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD COST AROUND $500 TO FIX AND MY EXTENDED WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER IT. I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET ABOUT THIS AND AM HOPING FORR A RECALL OR ASSISTANCE IN PAYING TO HAVE THIS FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

1/17/2017 - WHITE BEAR LAKE, MN
MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT AS I WAS DRIVING TO WORK, I WENT TO SEE IF THERE WERE RECALLS AND CALLED THE DEALER SHIP WHERE I PURCHASED MY CAR AND THEY SAID NO RECALL, EVEN THOUGH I FOUND ON YOUR SIGHT A RECALL FOR (RECALL # 15V340000) AND THEY SAID THAT IS ALL DEPENDING ON WHERE YOUR CAR WAS MANUFACTURED. BOY I AM COMPLETEY DUMB FOUNDED. PLEASE HELP! CAR MILEAGE IS ONLY 93300

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2017 - CHAMPLIN, MN
DRIVING ON CITY STREET, WARNING LIGHT CAME ON THAT SAID THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSIST WAS NOT WORKING. MAKING TURNING THE VEHICLE VERY DIFFICULT AND UNSAFE. CAR HAS 72,000 MILES ON IT. DEALER SAID THERE WAS A RECALL (15S18) FOR THIS VERY PROBLEM BUT THAT MY FUSION WAS NOT PART OF IT. (RECALL COVERS CARS BUILT BETWEEN SEP 7, 2010 AND FEB 28, 2012) FORD OBVIOUSLY DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM ON THESE LATER ASSEMBLED CARS (MINE WAS BUILT MAY 25, 2012), AS THIS PROBLEM CONTINUES TO HAPPEN. AGAIN THE DEALER WANTS $2300 TO REPAIR.

View Details

STEERING

1/7/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST SYSTEM INTERMITTENTLY SHUTS DOWN. FIRST, WHILE DRIVING, A SERIES OF SENSOR LIGHTS COME ON. AFTER THIS, IF THE ENGINE IS SHUT OF AND THEN BACK ON, THERE IT A TOTAL LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THIS PROBLEM APPEARS TO BE SIMILAR TO THAT IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000. THIS HAPPENED TWICE AND COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/3/2017 - VICTORVILLE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE 15 N AT ABOUT 70 MPH. THE STEERING WHEEL VEERED TO THE LEFT AND LOCKED. AT THIS TIME, THE POWER STEERING WAS LOST. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND HE SAID THAT THE RACK AND PINION WAS NO RESPONDING TO ANY INPUT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

1/3/2017 - VICTORVILLE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE 15 N AT ABOUT 70 MPH. THE STEERING WHEEL VEERED TO THE LEFT AND LOCKED. AT THIS TIME, THE POWER STEERING WAS LOST. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND HE SAID THAT THE RACK AND PINION WAS NO RESPONDING TO ANY INPUT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/1/2017 - HIGHLAND, UT
THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR LATCH. DOOR LATCH HANDLE AND LOCK POPPED OUT TOWARDS STEERING WHEEL AND DOOR SWUNG OPEN IN TRAFFIC ON 12/31/2016. WHEN DOOR FINALLY LATCHED, IT WOULD NOT LOCK. REMOTE CANNOT ACTUATE LOCK. INSIDE DOOR HANDLE AND LOCK STILL OUT OF POSITION.

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2016 - APPLETON, WI
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST SYSTEM INTERMITTENTLY SHUTS DOWN. FIRST, WHILE DRIVING, A SERIES OF SENSOR LIGHTS COME ON. AFTER THIS, IF THE ENGINE IS SHUT OF AND THEN BACK ON, THERE IT A TOTAL LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THIS PROBLEM APPEARS TO BE SIMILAR TO THAT IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000. HOWEVER, MY VEHICLE IS NOT COVERED BY THAT RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/28/2016 - PARK RIDGE, NJ
THE BLOWER MOTOR HAS FAILED 3 TIMES ON MY 2012 FUSION. THE FIRST WAS WHILE UNDER WARRANTY IN 2013, THE SECOND WAS JUST OFF WARRANTY IN 2015, AND THE LAST TIME WAS MAY 27, 2016. THE BLOWER MOTOR FAILED ON THE DAY OF MY SON'S HS SENIOR PROM. WHILE SCHULTZ FORD PROVIDED PRIORITY SERVICE TO HAVE THE REPAIR DONE IN 6 HOURS, IT COST ME OVER $700. THIS IS A CHRONIC PROBLEM THAT FORD SHOULD REPAIR AS A RECALL. I'M CROSSING MY FINGERS WHEN I NEED THE AC IN THE LAST SPRING OF 2017.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds