Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 501 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (56) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electrical System (40) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seats (3) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (19) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (317)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/27/2015 - HILLSBORO, TX
POWER STEERING DEFAULT ALERT LIGHT WAS NOTED WHEN CAR WAS STARTED. CAR RESTARTED AND ALERT WENT OFF. AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MILES, ALERT RETURNED ALONG WITH LOSS OF POWER STEERING (DIFFICULTY IN STEERING). CAR WAS STOPPED AND RESTARTED, AND RETURNED TO HOME. ALERT REMAINED OFF. DIAGNOSIS AT FORD DEALER SAID SOME FAILURE OF POWER STEERING GEAR (EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE). NOTED ON INTERNET THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND SUBJECT OF A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT.

View Details

STEERING

4/24/2015 - JEFFERSON CITY, TN
I PULLED INTO A STORE AFTER EXITING I40, WHEN I GOT BACK IN THE VEHICLE I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE TO BACK OUT OF THE PARKING LOT AND BELLS STARTED GOING OFF AND AN ERROR MESSAGE POPPED UP ON THE MILEAGE SCREEN THAT READ "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND MY POWER STEERING WAS COMPLETELY GONE. I STILL HAD ABOUT 25 MILES TO DRIVE TO MY HOME. I NURSED THE CAR A FEW MILES AND CALLED MY BOYFRIEND (BRYAN WHATLEY) WHO GOOGLED THE ISSUE TO SEE IF ANYONE ELSE HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. I WAS AMAZED AT HOW MANY PEOPLE HAD THE EXACT SAME ISSUE WITH THE EXACT SAME CAR. MANY PEOPLE WERE SAYING THAT THEY SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND IT HAD TEMPORARILY RESOLVED THE ISSUE. I PULLED INTO ANOTHER PARKING LOT TO TRY - ALMOST HITTING A POLE BECAUSE IT WAS VERY HARD TO TURN THE WHEEL AND TOOK A GREAT DEAL OF DISTANCE TO TURN. I SHUT THE CAR OFF FOR A COUPLE MINUTES, TURNED IT BACK ON, THE POWER STEERING STARTED WORKING AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. THE INCIDENT THEN HAPPENED AGAIN THE FOLLOWING DAY (4/24/2015) 3 TIMES -AND AND THEN AGAIN ON 4/25/2015 WITHOUT PUTTING THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE AND AT WHICH TIME THE POWER STEERING WOULD NOT COME BACK NO MATTER HOW MANY TIMES I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/22/2015 - CERES, CA
INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE BROKE. I WAS JUST OPENING MY DOOR TO GET OUT AND IT JUST QUIT OPENING AND NOT ENGAGING. I HAVE TO ROLL MY WINDOW DOWN TO OPEN MY DOOR TO GET OUT OF THE CAR EVERY-TIME. I HEARD THAT THIS WAS PART OF A RECALL BUT WHEN I CALL THE FORD DEALER HERE IN TOWN THEY SAID THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM BUT I DID HERE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM AND ON THIS MODEL CAR ON THE NEWS RECENTLY. THE DEALER AT PATCHETTS FORD IN TURLOCK, CA SAID I NEEDED A RECALL NUMBER. PLEASE IF I CAN GET SOME HELP WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2015 - CERES, CA
INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE BROKE. I WAS JUST OPENING MY DOOR TO GET OUT AND IT JUST QUIT OPENING AND NOT ENGAGING. I HAVE TO ROLL MY WINDOW DOWN TO OPEN MY DOOR TO GET OUT OF THE CAR EVERY-TIME. I HEARD THAT THIS WAS PART OF A RECALL BUT WHEN I CALL THE FORD DEALER HERE IN TOWN THEY SAID THAT THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM BUT I DID HERE THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM AND ON THIS MODEL CAR ON THE NEWS RECENTLY. THE DEALER AT PATCHETTS FORD IN TURLOCK, CA SAID I NEEDED A RECALL NUMBER. PLEASE IF I CAN GET SOME HELP WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/20/2015 - BOONSBORO, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH GOING DOWN A HILL, THE ANTI-SWAY AND POWER STEERING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO TURN AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF THERE WERE ANY INJURIES SUSTAINED OR IF THERE WAS A POLICE REPORT FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

4/20/2015 - BOONSBORO, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH GOING DOWN A HILL, THE ANTI-SWAY AND POWER STEERING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO TURN AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF THERE WERE ANY INJURIES SUSTAINED OR IF THERE WAS A POLICE REPORT FILED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

4/14/2015 - HOHENWALD, TN
I WAS DRIVING WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET 59 MPH ERROR LIGHT AND MESSAGE CAME ON SAID STEERING ASSIST FAULT AND THE CAR LOST ALL POWER STEERING. THE LITTLE ICON WITH THE CAR WITH THE CURVY LINES UNDERNEATH ALSO CAME ON. I PULLED OVER AS SOON AS I HAD A SAFE SPOT AND TURNED THE CAR AND GOT OUT MY OWNERS MANUAL TO CONSULT. IT ADVISED ME TO RESTART THE CAR AFTER 10 SECONDS AND IT HAD BEEN WELL PAST THAT TIME THAT I WAS PULLED OVER WITH THE CAR OFF. WHEN I RESTARTED THE ERROR MESSAGE WAS GONE AND THE POWER STEERING WAS FUNCTIONAL AGAIN. THE NEXT DAY WHEN I STARTED THE CAR THE SAME ERROR MESSAGE CAME ON BEFORE I EVEN PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND WAITED FOR MORE THAN A MINUTE AND RESTARTED AND THE ERROR MESSAGE WAS GONE AGAIN. THIS HAS ONLY BEEN A WEEK, BUT SO FAR THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING NOR THE MESSAGE HAS RETURNED.

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
ON 4/9/15 A "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" MESSAGE ON MY 2012 FORD FUSION WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE CAR'S MESSAGE CENTER WHEN THE CAR WAS PUT INTO REVERSE. THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING. THE OWNERS MANUAL SAYS TO TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART IT AND IT MAY SOLVE THE PROBLEM AND IT DID. ON 4/10/15 AFTER DRIVING THE CAR ABOUT 8 MILES I STOPPED AT A STORE AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED WHEN THE CAR WAS PUT IN REVERSE. THE CAR WAS SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED SEVERAL TIMES BUT THE MESSAGE REMAINED AND THE POWER STEERING NEVER CAME BACK ON. I DROVE THE CAR HOME WITHOUT THE POWER STEERING AS I WAS ONLY 2 BLOCKS FROM HOME. THE OWNERS MANUAL SAYS "IF THE MESSAGE RETURNS, OR RETURNS WHILE DRIVING, TAKE THE VEHICLE TO YOUR DEALER TO HAVE IT CHECKED.". THE FORD DEALERSHIP I CALLED SAID TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED TO THEM RATHER THAN DRIVE IT IN. THE CAR HAS 19,985 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2015 - WAUSAU, WI
AFTER BEING PARKED AT MY DAUGHTER'S SCHOOL, I STARTED THE CAR AND THE SERVICE STEERING WARNING AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR NO LONGER HAD ANY TYPE OF POWER STEERING AND DRIVING THE CAR BECAME VERY CHALLENGING. IF THIS WOULD HAVE GONE OUT WHILE I WAS DRIVING ESPECIALLY IF I WAS DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS, IT COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS IF NOT FATAL CRASH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/10/2015 - WAUSAU, WI
AFTER BEING PARKED AT MY DAUGHTER'S SCHOOL, I STARTED THE CAR AND THE SERVICE STEERING WARNING AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR NO LONGER HAD ANY TYPE OF POWER STEERING AND DRIVING THE CAR BECAME VERY CHALLENGING. IF THIS WOULD HAVE GONE OUT WHILE I WAS DRIVING ESPECIALLY IF I WAS DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS, IT COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS IF NOT FATAL CRASH.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds