Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 401 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (49) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (42)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Seats (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (46) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (7) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (237)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/4/2014 - WOODBURY, TN
I WAS TRAVELING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT APPOX. 70MPH AND THE SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW, AND SERVICE ADVANCTRAC SIGNAL CAME ON, AND I LOST ALL POWER STEERING. LUCKILY I DID NOT WRECK, BUT WHEN I CALLED THE FORD DEALERSHIP TODAY THEY WANTED TO CHARGE ME $100.00 PER MESSAGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2014 - STEELVILLE, MO
I HAVE A FORD FUSION WHEN TAKING OFF IT SHIFTS REALLY HARD, OR AT TIMES IT WONT SHIFT UNTIL YOU LET OFF OF GAS AN LET RPMS GO DOWN THEN GIVE IT GAS AGAIN. IT ALSO DOWN SHIFT HARD AT TIMES NOT AS MUCH AS IT DOES WHEN GOING UP. I FEEL IT CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT IF NOT AWARE WHEN IT HAPPENS. SOME TIMES WHEN IT SHIFTS IT SHIFTS HARD ENOUGH IT FEEL LIKE THE BACK TIRES COME OFF OF GROUND. I THINK IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD I SEEN WHERE OTHER FORDS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. I ALSO SEEN WHERE THAT SAME PROBLEM HAS CAUSED AN ACCIDENT AS WELL. THANKS, BRAD

View Details

STEERING

11/1/2014 - ROCHESTER, MN
WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND WITHIN THE NEXT 3 MILES, STEERING FAILED, RESULTING IN LOSS OF CONTROL AND SIGNIFICANT INCREASED EFFORT IN STEERING IN ORDER TO GET TO SAFETY.

View Details

STEERING

10/31/2014 - WILTON, CT
MY CARS LOST POWER-ASSISTED STEERING, CAUSING INCREASED STEERING EFFORT. THE FOLLOWING MESSAGES APPEARED WHEN I LOST THE POWER STEERING "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE" AND "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC." THIS HAPPENED WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET. WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR THE POWER-ASSISTED STEERING WAS FUNCTIONING, ENABLING ME TO DRIVE THE CAR TO THE DEALER. THE CAR IS NOW AT THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER EXPERIENCED THE SAME ISSUE WHEN TAKING THE CAR OUT FOR A TEST RIDE. THEY ARE ORDERING A RACK AND PINION IN HOPES TO REPAIR THE CAR.

View Details

TIRES: VALVE

10/30/2014 - NEEDHAM, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE VALVES WERE CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2014 - VILLA RICA , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE AND THE CLUTCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/29/2014 - ABBEVILLE, SC
2012 FORD FUSION. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO LOSS OF POWER STEERING ON FOUR OCCASIONS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE POWER STEERING WOULD RESUME NORMAL OPERATION, AFTER TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND RE-STARTING IT.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - GAINESVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE POWER STEERING BECAME INOPERABLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER SYSTEM ASSISTED MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - BRIDGEWATER, NJ
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING HAS FAILED ABOUT 6 TIMES SINCE I RECEIVED THE CAR NEW AT THE END OF 2011. EACH TIME THE POWER STEERING FAILED A MESSAGE WOULD APPEAR ON THE DASH STATING THAT THE POWER STEERING HAS FAILED, THEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES VERY, VERY HARD TO TURN. SHUTTING THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTING IT CORRECTS THE PROBLEM UNTIL THE NEXT TIME IT HAPPENS - THIS COULD BE 10 MONTHS OR AS SHORT A 2 DAYS. THE FAILURES HAVE OCCURRED IN DIFFERENT DRIVING ENVIRONMENT - PARKING LOTS TWICE, TOWN ROADS, AND HIGHWAYS. WHEN THE POWER STEERING FAILS THE FORCES REQUIRED TO STEER THE CAR ARE EXTREME. I'M AN AVERAGE PERSON (5'8" 180LBS) AND HAVE BARELY ENOUGH STRENGTH TO TURN THE WHEEL IN A FAILURE CONDITION. MY SISTER (5' 2" 105 LBS) WILL LIKELY CRASH. TOOK THE CAR TO THE FORD DEALER TODAY TO HAVE THE PROBLEM REPAIRED, AND AFTER $148.00 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE THEY SAID THEY FOUND NO FAULT CODES IN THE CAR COMPUTER INDICATING THERE HAD BEEN ANY POWER STEERING FAILURES, AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO ABOUT UNTIL THEY PHYSICALLY SAW THE PROBLEM. NO FAULT CODE REGISTRATION FOR SUCH A SERIOUS PROBLEM IS UNBELIEVABLE - A SERIOUS DEFECT IN ITSELF. I CONCEDER THIS CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

10/28/2014 - ALGONAC, MI
TAKING OFF FROM BEING STOPPED AT RED LIGHT. POWER STEERING ASSIST LIGHT CAME ON AND MY POWER STEERING FAILED. I PULLED TO SAFE SPOT OFF ROAD WHILE MY WIFE CHECKED VEHICLE MANUAL. IT INSTRUCTED TO TURN OFF ENGINE AND WAIT 10 SECONDS. WE DID AND VEHICLE STEERING WAS FINE. SINCE MY CAR WAS DUE FOR A 60,000 MILE INSPECTION I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED AND THEY SAID IT MAY BE A COMPUTER MODULE THAT WOULD COST ABOUT $125 ON TOP OF THE ROUTINE INSPECTION CHARGES. I WAS QUITE SURPRISED AND VERY ANGRY WHEN THE DEALER CALLED AND SAID IT WOULD COST ABOUT $2200.00. WHAT REALLY MADE ME ANGRIER WAS THAT THE CAR WAS 1000 MILES OR SO OUT OF WARRANTY AND I JUST MADE THE LAST CAR LOAN PAYMENT. THE DEALER SAID THEY SEE IT WITH FUSIONS BUT USUALLY AFTER THEY HAVE HIT POT HOLES. THE FACT THAT THEY SAID, IT WAS SOMETHING THEY SEE ON FUSIONS MADE ME WONDER WHY THE COMPANY CAN'T GET OUT AHEAD OF THE PROBLEM, AND RECALL THEM. I ALSO HAD A TRANSMISSION SLIPPAGE PROBLEM WHEN WE FIRST BOUGHT THE CAR AND THEY SAID WE HAD A KIT TO FIX IT SINCE IT HAPPENS ON THE "NEW FUSIONS". BECAUSE OF THESE PROBLEMS I AM DONE WITH FORDS. MY FIRST ONE AND LAST ONE!! SORRY TO SAY THIS HAS ONCE AGAIN SOURED ME ON AMERICAN CARS. I AM GOING BACK TO IMPORTS WHICH I HAVE NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH IN 40 ODD YEARS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER AND I WILL LOOK FORWARD TO PROGRESS ON THIS ISSUE IN THE FUTURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds