Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 188 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (30) Steering (85) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (27) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/12/2013 - LARGO, FL
I HAVE HAD SEVERAL ISSUES LEADING UP TO THIS AND THE DEALER WOULD SAY NOTHING IS WRONG. CAR JUMPS FORWARD WHEN IDLING, CAR LOOSES POWER WHEN ACCELERATING ON HIGHWAY. LASTLY WAS COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER AND NEARLY HIT BY BUS WITH KIDS IN CAR. THEY REPLACED THROTTLE BODY, A/C MOTOR ETC....TWO WEEKS GONE BYE AND IT IS STARTING AGAIN. I NEED TO GIVE THIS CAR TO MY DAUGHTER TO DRIVE BUT IT IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2013 - LARGO, FL
I HAVE HAD SEVERAL ISSUES LEADING UP TO THIS AND THE DEALER WOULD SAY NOTHING IS WRONG. CAR JUMPS FORWARD WHEN IDLING, CAR LOOSES POWER WHEN ACCELERATING ON HIGHWAY. LASTLY WAS COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER AND NEARLY HIT BY BUS WITH KIDS IN CAR. THEY REPLACED THROTTLE BODY, A/C MOTOR ETC....TWO WEEKS GONE BYE AND IT IS STARTING AGAIN. I NEED TO GIVE THIS CAR TO MY DAUGHTER TO DRIVE BUT IT IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/5/2013 - MADISON HEIGHTS, MI
AS MY WIFE ACCELERATED THE VEHICLE UP TO 35MPH THE ENGINE SEEMED TO CEASE FUNCTIONING OR SHUT ITSELF DOWN RESULTING IN AN INABILITY TO ACCELERATE. A WRENCH WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND SHE WAS FORCED TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. SHE SHUT DOWN THE VEHICLE AND RESTARTED IT WITH NO FURTHER COMPLICATIONS AT THIS TIME. THIS HAPPENED UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE, THE THROTTLE BODY IS SAID TO BE THE CULPRIT. I WILL BE TAKING THE CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW IN AN ATTEMPT TO GET THIS KNOWN PROBLEM REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. HOWEVER, WILL THEY BE REPLACING ONE DEFECTIVE PART FOR ANOTHER? HAS THERE BEEN AN APPLIED FIX? THIS COULD BE A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR A DRIVER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/3/2013 - BETHLEHEM , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE WRENCH WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY LUNGED FORWARD. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIBRATE VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. UPON RESTARTING, THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN WITH CAUTION TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,445. ...UPDATED 03/07/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD AND LOST POWER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY AND MOTOR ASSEMBLY. UPDATED 03/13/14

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/3/2013 - RAHWAY , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN REVERSE, THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED AS THE VEHICLE LUNGED IN REVERSE, CAUSING THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/2/2013 - KARNES CITY, TX
TRIP HOME FROM WORK, APPROX 45 MILES INTO MY TRIP, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL GOING 72 MPH AND STALLS, THE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON. I CANNOT ACCELERATE USING THE GAS PEDAL. PULL TO SHOULDER, CAR IDLES ROUGH. TURN OFF AND BACK ON. CONTINUED TRIP WITHOUT PROBLEM. NOV. 14. 2013: CAR TAKEN TO LOCAL FORD DEALER AND THEY CANNOT RETRIEVE ANY ERROR CODES. MENTION THROTTLE BODY BUT THEY DIDN'T SEE ANY NEED TO CHECK THIS BUT REPLACED A SUPPOSED DEAD BATTERY. NOV. 15, 2013: ON DRIVE BACK HOME FROM WORK, ABOUT 20 MILES INTO MY DRIVE, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL AT SET AT 70 MPH STALLED AGAIN WITH WRENCH LIGHT. HAVE NO REACTION AT ALL WITH GAS ACCELERATOR. PULLED OVER TO STOP. CAR IDOLS ROUGH. TURNED AND BACK ON AGAIN. NOV. 15, 2013:STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. AS I WENT TO PRESS THE GAS TO MAKE THE LEFT HAND TURN, I NOTICED THAT MY CAR HAD DIED. THIS WAS A SECOND INSTANCE WITH MY CAR ON NOVEMBER 15TH. NOV. 20, 2013: ON DRIVE HOME , APPROX. 20 MILES OUT, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL AT ABOUT 75 MPH, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PASS A CAR,THE CAR STALLED. AGAIN NO REACTION USING THE GAS PEDAL. HAD TO HIT BREAK TO GET BEHIND VEHICLE DUE TO INCOMING TRAFFIC. VERY BAD SITUATION. NOV. 22, 2013: IN AM APPROX 20 MILES FROM HOME HEADING TO WORK, NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL GOING APPROX. 70 MPH, CAR STALLS. NOV. 27: CAVENDER DEALERSHIP (SELMA,TX) ALSO WAS NOT ABLE TO GET AN ERROR CODE ON THE CAR BUT FOUND RESEARCH INFORMATION ON THE THROTTLE BODY ON 2012 FOR FUSIONS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AS MY CAR. CAVENDAR DOES NOT WANT TO REPLACE THE PART AND IT NOT BEING THE ACTUAL PROBLEM. WE HAD NO INCIDENT TO OR FROM WITH THIS TRIP. NOV. 28: WE WERE EXACTLY 100 MILES INTO OUR TRIP, WHEN THE CAR STALLED. THE CAR WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL AT 70 MPH. STOPPED THE CAR, IDOLS HIGH. NOTE: I DRIVE 120 MILES DAILY TO/FROM WORK AND ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/2/2013 - KARNES CITY, TX
TRIP HOME FROM WORK, APPROX 45 MILES INTO MY TRIP, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL GOING 72 MPH AND STALLS, THE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON. I CANNOT ACCELERATE USING THE GAS PEDAL. PULL TO SHOULDER, CAR IDLES ROUGH. TURN OFF AND BACK ON. CONTINUED TRIP WITHOUT PROBLEM. NOV. 14. 2013: CAR TAKEN TO LOCAL FORD DEALER AND THEY CANNOT RETRIEVE ANY ERROR CODES. MENTION THROTTLE BODY BUT THEY DIDN'T SEE ANY NEED TO CHECK THIS BUT REPLACED A SUPPOSED DEAD BATTERY. NOV. 15, 2013: ON DRIVE BACK HOME FROM WORK, ABOUT 20 MILES INTO MY DRIVE, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL AT SET AT 70 MPH STALLED AGAIN WITH WRENCH LIGHT. HAVE NO REACTION AT ALL WITH GAS ACCELERATOR. PULLED OVER TO STOP. CAR IDOLS ROUGH. TURNED AND BACK ON AGAIN. NOV. 15, 2013:STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. AS I WENT TO PRESS THE GAS TO MAKE THE LEFT HAND TURN, I NOTICED THAT MY CAR HAD DIED. THIS WAS A SECOND INSTANCE WITH MY CAR ON NOVEMBER 15TH. NOV. 20, 2013: ON DRIVE HOME , APPROX. 20 MILES OUT, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL AT ABOUT 75 MPH, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PASS A CAR,THE CAR STALLED. AGAIN NO REACTION USING THE GAS PEDAL. HAD TO HIT BREAK TO GET BEHIND VEHICLE DUE TO INCOMING TRAFFIC. VERY BAD SITUATION. NOV. 22, 2013: IN AM APPROX 20 MILES FROM HOME HEADING TO WORK, NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL GOING APPROX. 70 MPH, CAR STALLS. NOV. 27: CAVENDER DEALERSHIP (SELMA,TX) ALSO WAS NOT ABLE TO GET AN ERROR CODE ON THE CAR BUT FOUND RESEARCH INFORMATION ON THE THROTTLE BODY ON 2012 FOR FUSIONS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AS MY CAR. CAVENDAR DOES NOT WANT TO REPLACE THE PART AND IT NOT BEING THE ACTUAL PROBLEM. WE HAD NO INCIDENT TO OR FROM WITH THIS TRIP. NOV. 28: WE WERE EXACTLY 100 MILES INTO OUR TRIP, WHEN THE CAR STALLED. THE CAR WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL AT 70 MPH. STOPPED THE CAR, IDOLS HIGH. NOTE: I DRIVE 120 MILES DAILY TO/FROM WORK AND ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/2/2013 - KARNES CITY, TX
TRIP HOME FROM WORK, APPROX 45 MILES INTO MY TRIP, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL GOING 72 MPH AND STALLS, THE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON. I CANNOT ACCELERATE USING THE GAS PEDAL. PULL TO SHOULDER, CAR IDLES ROUGH. TURN OFF AND BACK ON. CONTINUED TRIP WITHOUT PROBLEM. NOV. 14. 2013: CAR TAKEN TO LOCAL FORD DEALER AND THEY CANNOT RETRIEVE ANY ERROR CODES. MENTION THROTTLE BODY BUT THEY DIDN'T SEE ANY NEED TO CHECK THIS BUT REPLACED A SUPPOSED DEAD BATTERY. NOV. 15, 2013: ON DRIVE BACK HOME FROM WORK, ABOUT 20 MILES INTO MY DRIVE, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL AT SET AT 70 MPH STALLED AGAIN WITH WRENCH LIGHT. HAVE NO REACTION AT ALL WITH GAS ACCELERATOR. PULLED OVER TO STOP. CAR IDOLS ROUGH. TURNED AND BACK ON AGAIN. NOV. 15, 2013:STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. AS I WENT TO PRESS THE GAS TO MAKE THE LEFT HAND TURN, I NOTICED THAT MY CAR HAD DIED. THIS WAS A SECOND INSTANCE WITH MY CAR ON NOVEMBER 15TH. NOV. 20, 2013: ON DRIVE HOME , APPROX. 20 MILES OUT, CAR ON CRUISE CONTROL AT ABOUT 75 MPH, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PASS A CAR,THE CAR STALLED. AGAIN NO REACTION USING THE GAS PEDAL. HAD TO HIT BREAK TO GET BEHIND VEHICLE DUE TO INCOMING TRAFFIC. VERY BAD SITUATION. NOV. 22, 2013: IN AM APPROX 20 MILES FROM HOME HEADING TO WORK, NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL GOING APPROX. 70 MPH, CAR STALLS. NOV. 27: CAVENDER DEALERSHIP (SELMA,TX) ALSO WAS NOT ABLE TO GET AN ERROR CODE ON THE CAR BUT FOUND RESEARCH INFORMATION ON THE THROTTLE BODY ON 2012 FOR FUSIONS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AS MY CAR. CAVENDAR DOES NOT WANT TO REPLACE THE PART AND IT NOT BEING THE ACTUAL PROBLEM. WE HAD NO INCIDENT TO OR FROM WITH THIS TRIP. NOV. 28: WE WERE EXACTLY 100 MILES INTO OUR TRIP, WHEN THE CAR STALLED. THE CAR WAS ON CRUISE CONTROL AT 70 MPH. STOPPED THE CAR, IDOLS HIGH. NOTE: I DRIVE 120 MILES DAILY TO/FROM WORK AND ISSUE IS NOT RESOLVED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/1/2013 - CORBIN, KY
SERVICE ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING DISABLED AND TRACTION CONTROL DISABLED. MAKING TURN ONTO SIDE STREET INCIDENT OCCURRED. NO ACCIDENT INVOLVED. FIRST TIME A SIMPLE TURN OF THE KEY FIXED THE PROBLEM NOW IT IS COMPLETELY DISABLED. TOOK TO DEALER THEY CONFIRMED IT AS THE POWER STEERING GEAR ASSEMBLY ON THE ADVANCE TRACK SYSTEM. PART COST FROM FORD $900. OUTRAGEOUS FOR A WELL MAINTAINED 2012 WITH 40,000 MILES. PLEASE RESEARCH DEALER SAID THEY HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THIS... THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

12/1/2013 - CORBIN, KY
SERVICE ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING DISABLED AND TRACTION CONTROL DISABLED. MAKING TURN ONTO SIDE STREET INCIDENT OCCURRED. NO ACCIDENT INVOLVED. FIRST TIME A SIMPLE TURN OF THE KEY FIXED THE PROBLEM NOW IT IS COMPLETELY DISABLED. TOOK TO DEALER THEY CONFIRMED IT AS THE POWER STEERING GEAR ASSEMBLY ON THE ADVANCE TRACK SYSTEM. PART COST FROM FORD $900. OUTRAGEOUS FOR A WELL MAINTAINED 2012 WITH 40,000 MILES. PLEASE RESEARCH DEALER SAID THEY HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THIS... THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds