Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 771 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (79) Steering (472) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electrical System (66) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (3) Structure (43) Vehicle Speed Control (55)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (5) Suspension (10) Visibility (2)
Engine (67) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (17) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/4/2016 - DAVIE, FL
POWER STEERING CUTS OUT WHILE DRIVING, EITHER TURNING OR DRIVING STRAIGHT. NO ADVANCE WARNING, BUT GET ERROR MESSAGE WHEN IT FAILS. I CAN FIX IT BY TURNING THE CAR OFF AND THEN BACK ON. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER IN MAY 2015. THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. WHEN THE RECALL CAME OUT IN JUNE 2015, I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED, DESPITE HAVING JUST BEEN AT THE DEALER WITH THAT VERY PROBLEM. JUST HEARING ABOUT IT ON THE NEWS YESTERDAY. THE POWER STEERING PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED ABOUT A DOZEN TIMES. SOMETIMES 2 OR 3 DAYS IN A ROW, SOMETIMES EVERY FEW MONTHS. COULD BE ON A CITY STREET OR IN A PARKING LOT. COULD BE MOVING FAST OR SLOW. VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

STEERING

10/3/2016 - COLLEGE STATION, TX
WHILE TRYING TO REVERSE OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, THE "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT: SERVICE IMMEDIATELY " MESSAGE CAME ON, AND IT WAS VERY HARD FOR ME TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. BY NOT BEING ABLE TO DRIVE IT COMPLETELY...I JUST DROVE IT BACK IN THE DRIVEWAY WHICH WAS VERY DIFFICULT DUE TO ME HAVING TO TURN THE WHEEL. I DID TAKE IT TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP, AND I WAS TOLD THAT I NEED A STEERING GEAR ASSEMBLY. I WAS TOLD THAT RESETTING THE CODES WOULD NOT WORK. I DID INFORM THE WORKER ABOUT THAT PART BEING RECALLED FOR MY VEHICLE, BUT HE DENIED ANY TYPE OF RECALL FOR THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS CAR FOR TWO YEARS, AND THIS HAPPEN OUT OF THE BLUE. IF THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS PART ON THIS PARTICULAR MODEL...I DESERVE TO GET IT FIXED, FREE OF CHARGE AS STATED IN THE NHTSA. THEY ARE TRYING TO CHARGE ME $1, 944.50 TO REPLACE THIS. I JUST NEED TO KNOW IF THIS PART WAS RECALLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/3/2016 - NEW BRAUNFELS, TX
THE DRIVERS SIDE INSIDE DOOR HANDLE BROKE.THIS WAS INSIDE THE DOOR.THIS WOULD NOT LET ME LOCK THE DOOR .WHILE TRAVELING THE DOOR WOULD NOT LOCK AND IT CAME OPEN.THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM THAT OTHER FORD VEHICLES ARE BEING RECALLED NOW.I REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO YOU 06,2015.I RECED. NO REPLY FROM YOU AND FORD MADE ME PAY FOR THE REPAIR.THIS WAS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR ME.IN MAY,2016 THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM HAPPENED AGAIN WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR.I COMPLAINED TO FORD AND THEY COVERED THE REPAIR FOR THIS DOOR ONLY.I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THE FUSION IS NOT COVERED LIKE THE OTHER FORDS THAT ARE BEING RECALLED FOR THE SAME PROBLEM!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/1/2016 - OMAHA, NE
MY 2012 FORD FUSION WITH 36K MILES LOSES ACCELERATION AND IDLES ROUGH UNTIL IT IS SHUT OFF AND RE-STARTED. A WRENCH SYMBOL IS DISPLAYED WHEN THIS HAPPENS. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS DISPLAYED. DOES NOT MATTER AT WHAT SPEED. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN ON INTERSTATE HWY. A CAR THAT LOSES POWER IN 2016? UNACCEPTABLE, UNFORGETTABLE AND UNFORGIVING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/1/2016 - OMAHA, NE
MY 2012 FORD FUSION WITH 36K MILES LOSES ACCELERATION AND IDLES ROUGH UNTIL IT IS SHUT OFF AND RE-STARTED. A WRENCH SYMBOL IS DISPLAYED WHEN THIS HAPPENS. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS DISPLAYED. DOES NOT MATTER AT WHAT SPEED. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN ON INTERSTATE HWY. A CAR THAT LOSES POWER IN 2016? UNACCEPTABLE, UNFORGETTABLE AND UNFORGIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/29/2016 - SHELTON, NE
DRIVING OVER 65 MPH ON INTERSTATE AND CAR LOSES POWER GOING IN TO LIMP MODE. CARS START HONKING AT ME AS I AM SLOWING IN FRONT OF THEM AND ALMOST CAUSE ACCIDENT, TAKE TO FORD DEALERSHIP AFTER READING INFO ON RECALL. THEY REPLACE THROTTLE BODY. HAPPENS AGAIN DRIVING ON INTERSTATE SO TAKE BACK AND THEY GIVE ME ESTIMATE FOR $892.10 FOR $100 DIAGNOSTIC AND THE REST FOR VAPOR CANISTER PURGE SOLENOID AND VAPOR CANNISTER. FROM WHAT I READ THIS WILL NOT TAKE CARE OF PROBLEM SO DON'T KNOW WHERE TO GO NEXT. AFRAID TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

9/26/2016 - FESTUS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE SERVICE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/25/2016 - STAYTON, OR
WHILE SITTING STILL OR DRIVING THE STEERING WILL MAKE AN AUDIBLE "CLUNK" YOU CAN HEAR AND FEEL WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT FROM THE CENTERED POSITION. NO CODE PRESENT UPON FIRST TRIP TO DEALER WHO RECOMMENDED RACK AND PINION REPLACEMENT. THEY "UPDATED" THE SOFTWARE PER THE RECALL SPECS. SERVICE ADVANCETRAC WARNING CAME ON ABOUT A WEEK LATER AND DEALER SAID CODE C1278 APPEARED AND RECOMMENDED RACK AND PINION REPLACEMENT. SEEMS LIKE THIS SHOULD FALL UNDER THE RECALL OF THE RACK AND PINION, BUT THE SERVICE DEPT SAID IT DOESN'T.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2016 - WINSTED, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. DURING THE FAILURE, THE "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" WARNING MESSAGE DISPLAYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A COMPUTER FAILURE AND IT NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/20/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
BOTH THE FRONT LEFT AND RIGHT SWAY BARS HAVE COME LOOSE CAUSING SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE RESULTING IN BOTH COMPONENTS NEEDING TO BE REPLACED AFTER 51,700 MILES. THIS IS A CAR HAS MET ALL REGULAR MAINTENANCE SCHEDULES AND IS WELL CARED FOR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 78
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds