Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by FORD

There are 250 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (37) Steering (136) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (29) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/5/2014 - BREMEN, GA
NHTSA #14V286 RECALLS FORD EXPLORERS FOR LOSS OF ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST, BUT THIS SHOULD INCLUDE OTHER MODELS. MY DAUGHTER'S 2012 FORD FUSION HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AND NEARLY CAUSED TWO ACCIDENTS WHEN SHE WAS TURNING AT INTERSECTIONS.

View Details

STEERING

6/4/2014 - WEYMOUTH, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO MAKE A COMPLETE TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO PROVIDED A TROUBLE CODE OF (C200D). THE APPROXIMATE SPEED AT TIME OF FAILURE WAS 15 MPH. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE AT TIME OF FAILURE WAS 60,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/2/2014 - CARTERVILLE, IL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE CAR WENT INTO POWER STEERING ASSISTED DEFAULT SETTING, RENDERING THE POWER STEERING TO LITTLE MORE THAN 15% USAGE WHILE MESSAGING AN SERVICE ADVANCETRAK MESSAGE. THE AUTOMOBILE USERS GUIDE MENTIONS A 10 SECOND WAIT IN BETWEEN STARTS. I PERFORMED THE TROUBLESHOOTING ACTIVITY TO NO AVAIL. THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED WHILE I WAS TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AND COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS INCIDENT WHILE TRAVELING THE RECOMMENDED SPEED LIMIT. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED AT A LOCAL DEALERSHIP (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MISSOURI) ON 3/18/2014 AND HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE OCCUR ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. MY HOPE IS THAT YOU FOLKS LOOK AT RENDERING THE SITUATION IN A TIMELY MANNER CONSIDERING THE SAFETY OF MYSELF AND OTHERS WHOM HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE. I APPRECIATE YOUR HELP AND LOOK FORWARD TO CONTINUED BUSINESS WITH YOUR COMPANY, SCOTT BAKER

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2014 - VANCOUVER, WA
WHILE BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE, THE WARNING CHIME CAME ON, THE WARNING MESSAGE ABOUT THE POWER ASSIST STEERING FAILURE CAME ON, AND THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING. THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE THAN 5 TIMES PREVIOUSLY. IT USUALLY HAPPENS WHEN BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, BUT IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE AT FREEWAY SPEED ONCE. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY INDICATED THAT THERE WERE NO CODES AND THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEY SUGGESTED DRIVING IT TO THE SERVICE CENTER THE NEXT TIME THE POWER STEERING FAILS. THAT IS NOT A SAFE IDEA!

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2014 - MOORE, OK
AFTER RUNNING ERRANDS CAME HOME AND PARKED CAR. RESTARTED CAR TO GO SOMEWHERE ELSE AND POWER ASSIST FAULT MESSAGE APPEARED AND COULD NOT TURN STEERING WHEEL. TURNED CAR OFF AND READ MANUAL. RESTARTED CAR AND CONTINUED ON MY WAY. 5-19-2014 DROVE TO BALL PARK. TURNED ON CAR TO LEAVE. POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT MESSAGE. TURNED CAR OFF AND SAT THERE A FEW MINUTES, TURNED IT ON AN CONTINUED ON MY WAY. MILEAGE 16, 760. 5-21-2014. DRIVING TO WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES AN HOUR. POWER STEERING FAULT AND ADVANTRAC TRAC WARNING CAME ON. (MILEAGE 17,403) BARELY ABLE TO GET THE CAR TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT. SAT THERE A WHILE UNTIL CAR STARTED AND DROVE TO DEALERSHIP. THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET THE CAR IN THAT DAY AND MADE APPOINTMENT FOR 5-22-2014. AT DEALERSHIP, I WAS FIRST TOLD THEY DIDN'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS HAPPENING TO THIS MODEL CAR. I RESEARCHED AND FOUND MANY INCIDENCES OF THIS AND TOOK THE INFORMATION TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY REPLACED RACK AND PINION. DEALERSHIP DID NOT HAVE PART IN STOCK AND HAD TO KEEP CAR OVERNIGHT. IT SEEMS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND THE DEALERSHIPS SHOULD HAVE THESE PARTS IN THEIR INVENTORY AT ALL TIMES. ALSO, THE DEALERSHIPS DO NOT HIRE ENOUGH MECHANICS TO SERVICE ALL THE VEHICLES IN A TIMELY MANNER. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH FORD MOTOR CO. I PURCHASED THIS CAR THINKING I WAS BUYING A SAFE CAR TO DRIVE. IT IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD WITH LESS THAN 18,000 MILES ON IT AND SOMETHING AS SERIOUS AS THIS OCCURS. I AM NOW WONDERING WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT OR EVEN IF THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

5/22/2014 - TOLUCA, IL
THE POWER STEERING QUIT WITHOUT WARNING, LUCKILY THE CAR WAS JUST GETTING UNDER WAY. THE CAR HAD PREVIOUSLY INDICATED A FAULT WITH THE SYSTEM (THE WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASH WOULD FLASH FOR A MOMENT, THEN GO OUT) THE DEALER SAID 'NO CODE HAD BEEN STORED' SO THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE ANY FURTHER. MY CONCERNS ARE 1) THE STEERING COULD HAVE FAILED ON THE HIGHWAY AND CAUSED HARM OR DEATH 2) WITH THE AVAILABLE TECHNOLOGY TODAY, WHY DOESN'T THE COMPUTER 'STORE A CODE' SO THE DEALER CAN DIAGNOSE AND REPAIR BEFORE A DEADLY INCIDENT OCCURS?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/20/2014 - NORTH HALEDON, NJ
DRIVING ALONG ROUTE 80, NJ, THE CAR BECAME UNRESPONSIVE TO THE GAS PEDAL AS IF IT WERE IN NEUTRAL. THE WRENCH SYMBOL CAME ON AND THE CAR BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. I HAD TO CUT ACROSS THE MIDDLE AND RIGHT LANES TO GET TO THE SHOULDER SO I COULD STOP SAFELY. I TURNED THE ENGINE OF AND RESTARTED THE CAR; IT WORKED FINE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2014 - BONITA SPRINGS, FL
VEHICLE LURCHED THEN LOST POWER AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AFTER LOSING POWER. SINCE THE REPAIRS, THE VEHICLE WILL OCCASIONALLY LURCH WHEN THE CAR IS IN GEAR AND THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED.

View Details

STEERING: ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

5/19/2014 - NAZARETH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT FOUND IT DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER THE STEERING WHEEL. DURING EACH INCIDENT, THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CHECKED THE TIRE PRESSURE AND DISCOVERED THAT IT WAS NORMAL. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE SERVICE POWER STEERING AND ADVANCE TRAC SENSORS ILLUMINATED AS THE POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,500.

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2014 - NAZARETH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT FOUND IT DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER THE STEERING WHEEL. DURING EACH INCIDENT, THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CHECKED THE TIRE PRESSURE AND DISCOVERED THAT IT WAS NORMAL. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE SERVICE POWER STEERING AND ADVANCE TRAC SENSORS ILLUMINATED AS THE POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,500.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds