Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 436 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (51) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seats (3) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (7) Unknown Or Other (17) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (263)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/11/2014 - SHREVEPORT, LA
FIRST INCIDENT WAS IN 2013, DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY AND ADVANCE TRAC LIGHT CAME ON THEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON CAR. TOOK IN FOR REPAIRS AND COST ME 2054.00 FOR REPAIRS, WAS TOLD NOT UNDER WARRANTY. PAID FOR REPAIR AND HERE IT IS LESS THAN ON YEAR LATER AND I HAVE SAME FAILURES ON MY VEHICLE AS MY HUSBAND, SON AND GRANDSON WERE COMING BACK FROM A TRIP. THANK GOD NO ONE WAS HURT. FIRST ADVANCE TRAC LIGHT CAME ON FOLLOWED BY POWER STEERING FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND THEY LOST THE POWER STEERING TO THE CAR. TRIED TO TURN CAR OFF AND RESTART CAR AGAIN AND STILL NO POWER STEERING AVAILABLE. THIS IS BECOMING QUITE COMMON FOR THIS MODEL CAR BECAUSE MY DAUGHTER HAS THE SAME CAR AND HAD THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE, BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. ALWAYS AFTER THE ISSUE HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING CAR THE ENGINE SHIFTS REALLY HARD, RPM'S GO UP AND THEN SLAMS INTO GEAR!!!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/11/2014 - SHREVEPORT, LA
FIRST INCIDENT WAS IN 2013, DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY AND ADVANCE TRAC LIGHT CAME ON THEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON CAR. TOOK IN FOR REPAIRS AND COST ME 2054.00 FOR REPAIRS, WAS TOLD NOT UNDER WARRANTY. PAID FOR REPAIR AND HERE IT IS LESS THAN ON YEAR LATER AND I HAVE SAME FAILURES ON MY VEHICLE AS MY HUSBAND, SON AND GRANDSON WERE COMING BACK FROM A TRIP. THANK GOD NO ONE WAS HURT. FIRST ADVANCE TRAC LIGHT CAME ON FOLLOWED BY POWER STEERING FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND THEY LOST THE POWER STEERING TO THE CAR. TRIED TO TURN CAR OFF AND RESTART CAR AGAIN AND STILL NO POWER STEERING AVAILABLE. THIS IS BECOMING QUITE COMMON FOR THIS MODEL CAR BECAUSE MY DAUGHTER HAS THE SAME CAR AND HAD THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE, BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. ALWAYS AFTER THE ISSUE HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING CAR THE ENGINE SHIFTS REALLY HARD, RPM'S GO UP AND THEN SLAMS INTO GEAR!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

12/11/2014 - LAUDERHILL, FL
VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING PROBABLY 45 MPH IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. I HIT THE GAS, THE CAR KEPT SLOWING DOWN. I HAD TO PUT MY EMERGENCY SIGNALS ON. THE CAR TURNED OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. I HAD TO SWITCH TO PARK AND RESTART THE CAR AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/9/2014 - LAKESIDE, CA
RECENTLY I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR IN FOR REPAIRS, THE INSIDE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR HANDLE CEASED TO OPEN. WE PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY, BUT WERE TOLD BY THE FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THIS WAS CONSIDERED TO BE A COSMETIC REPAIR AND WAS NOT COVERED. I HAVE HAD 2 FORD FUSIONS A 2008 AND THIS 2012. BOTH CARS HAD THE INSIDE DRIVERS DOOR HANDLE BREAK. I DO NOT USE EXCESSIVE FORCE TO OPEN THE DOOR. I HAVE CHECKED ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR THESE CARS. I DON'T SEE HOW THIS CAN BE A COSMETIC ISSUE, WHEN IT IS CLEARLY A FAULTY PIECE OF EQUIPMENT. ALSO IT COULD BE VERY DANGEROUS IF I WERE IN AN ACCIDENT BEFORE I COULD GET THE HANDLE FIXED, AS THERE WOULD BE NO WAY TO EXIT THE VEHICLE FROM THE DRIVER'++S DOOR. I FEEL THIS MODEL CAR SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR FAULTY DANGEROUS DOOR HANDLE FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

12/9/2014 - HARTVILLE, OH
WHILE DRIVING OUR 2012 FORD FUSION AT APPROXIAMTELY 45 MPH THE DASHBOARD WARNING MESSAGE "SERVICE POWER STEERING SOON". WITHIN ABOUT 5 MILES THE STEERING BECAME VERY DIFFICULT AND IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE POWER STEERING HAD FAILED. THE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,600 MILES. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND WERE TOLD THAT THE RACK AND PINION SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, AND THAT THE COST WAS OVER $1,700. FORTUNATELY THE INCIDENT DID NOT LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/5/2014 - EASTDALE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS 2012 FORD FUSION HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATES THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED A FAULTY WIRING OF THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

12/5/2014 - EASTDALE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS 2012 FORD FUSION HYBRID. THE CONTACT STATES THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE BRAKE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED A FAULTY WIRING OF THE ANTI-THEFT SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/2/2014 - CLARKSDALE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AS THE ADVANCE TRACK WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,001. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2014 - IMLER, PA
THE TRANSMISSION IN MY 2012 FORD FUSION (2.5L 4 CYLINDER, 6 SPEED SPORT SHIFT TRANSMISSION) WILL SHIFT EXTREMELY HARD AND UNEXPECTEDLY AT BOTH LOW AND HIGHWAY SPEEDS. AT LOW SPEEDS WHEN BEGINNING TO SLOW, THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY DROP INTO A LOW GEAR, THUS CAUSING A LOUD "CLUNK" SOUND AND THE CAR TO SUDDENLY SLOW (AS IF HITTING THE BRAKES HARD). AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY WHEN CLIMBING STEEP HILLS, THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION WILL HOLD AT A HIGH RPM AND NOT RELEASE, EVEN AFTER REACHING THE TOP OF THE HILL AND/OR ON THE DOWNWARD GRADE. I MUST BRAKE IN ORDER TO FOR THE CAR TO RELEASE FROM HITS HIGH REVELATIONS. I HAVE HAD THE CAR TO DIFFERENT FORD DEALERSHIPS ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, AND EACH TIME, I AM TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE IS OPERATING NORMALLY, AS MY CONCERNS APPARENTLY CANNOT BE REPLICATED. THE CAR IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY, AND THE PROBLEMS CONTINUE. I FEAR THAT AN ACCIDENT MAY OCCUR AS A RESULT OF THIS TRANSMISSION'S SUDDEN, UNPREDICTABLE ACTIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - WAGSWORTH, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE TRACTION LIGHT AND POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTART BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds