Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 275 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seats (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (32) Power Train (39) Steering (153) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

7/29/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
HAIL DAMAGE, PAINTLESS DENT REPAIR, COULD BE REASON FOR UNEXPLAINED TIRE TREAD WEAR, AND/OR KNOCKING SOUND WHEN BACKING UP AND TURNING. MY FUSION IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. PLEASE ADVISE WITH ANY INFORMATION THAT MAY BE HELPFUL.

View Details

STEERING

7/29/2014 - DOWNINGTOWN, PA
ON TWO OCCASIONS THE POWER STEERING ON OUR 2012 FORD FUSION HAS FAILED WITH NO WARNING. EACH TIME THE SPEED HAS BEEN UNDER 35 MPH, AFTER COMPLETING A TURN, AND IT WAS NOT DIFFICULT TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC WHILE COASTING TO A STOP. EACH TIME THE ADVANCE TRACK WARNING LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH A SIMILAR MESSAGE FOLLOWED ALMOST IMMEDIATELY BY AN ENGINE SHUT DOWN. ON RESTARTING THE ENGINE EVERY THING RETURNED TO NORMAL. THE FORD DEALER SAID THEY DID NOT KNOW WHAT WAS WRONG BUT COULD REPLACE THE STEERING GEAR ($1575.00 FOR PARTS). THIS IS A DANGEROUS ISSUE WITH A MAJOR COMPONENT OF THE VEHICLE THAT FORD SHOULD EXCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR. IF THIS HAD HAPPENED AT HI WAY SPEED WITH OUR GRANDCHILDREN IN THE BACK SEAT THE INCIDENT MAY HAVE ENDED DIFFERENTLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/28/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. WHEN THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE CONTACT HAD TO TURN OFF AND RESTART THE VEHICLE IN ORDER FOR IT TO RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2014 - GENESEO, IL
WHILE ACCELERATING ONTO HIGHWAY, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD CAME ON SAYING "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC." CAR WAS PULLED OVER TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURNED IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED CAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES TOTAL, TWICE WITHIN THE LAST 48 HOURS. THE OTHER TIMES WERE AT LOWER SPEEDS WHILE TURNING INTO PARKING SPOTS. EACH TIME ONCE THE CAR WAS RESTARTED, THE STEERING BEGAN WORKING AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK THIS MORNING, GOING 65MPH WHEN A CHIME GOES OFF. THERE IS AN AMBER LIGHT ON THE DASH AND WORDS ARE UNDER THE SPEEDOMETER SAYING "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" AND THEN "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC". I WAS ON A STRAIGHT STRETCH OF I-35, SO I DIDN'T REALIZE HOW BAD IT WAS UNTIL I CAME TO MY EXIT RAMP. IT WAS VERY STIFF. AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RAMP I NEEDED TO MAKE A SERIES OF MUCH SHARPER TURNS AND THAT'S WHEN I REALIZED HOW BAD IT WAS. I STOPPED AT A LIGHT AND PULLED OUT MY PHONE AND TOOK PICTURES OF WHAT IT WAS SHOWING. WHEN I GOT INTO WORK, I SENT THE PICTURE TO MY DEALER, WHO SAID THEY COULD LOOK AT IT, BUT THAT WAS AS FAR AS THEY WOULD COMMIT. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR 20 DAYS AND OF COURSE THE 3/36,000 EXPIRED 2000 MILES AGO. I TURNED TO THE INTERNET AND FOUND QUITE A FEW COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME THING WITH NUMEROUS YEARS OF THE FUSION. IT APPEARS THAT A SHORT TERM FIX IS TO SHUT OFF THE CAR AND WHEN STARTED AGAIN, THE PROBLEM DISAPPEARS, BUT MAY OR MAY NOT POP UP AGAIN. NOT EXACTLY REASSURING, FORD MOTOR COMPANY. HOW MANY COMPLAINTS DOES IT TAKE FOR SOMETHING TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS? A CAR WITH 38,000 MILES HAVING AN ISSUE THAT COULD BE LIFE THREATENING SEEMS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE IN THIS DAY OF CAR COMPANIES KNOWING ABOUT PROBLEMS, YET DOING NOTHING AND THEN PAYING THE CONSEQUENCES LATER. DO THE RIGHT THING, FORD MOTOR COMPANY, AND FIX THIS FOR THOSE OF US WHO CHOSE TO BUY YOUR PRODUCT AND PUT OUR FAITH INTO YOU DELIVERING A QUALITY, RELIABLE AND SAFE VEHICLE. I OWNED A 2005 HYUNDAI THAT I PUT OVER 270,000 MILES ON AND THE ONLY ISSUE WAS TO REPLACE A CLUTCH. I WAS GOING TO GO WITH HYUNDAI AGAIN, BUT I THOUGHT SINCE FORD DIDN'++T PARTICIPATE IN THE BAILOUT, I WOULD GO AMERICAN. AM I GOING TO REGRET THAT DECISION?

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2014 - FORT BRAGG, NC
I BOUGHT THE CAR WITH 59000 MILES ON IT USED SO IN THE COURSE OF 10000 MILES I'VE HAD THIS PERSISTENT PROBLEM HAPPEN MULTIPLE TIMES. THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND AN ALERT SOUNDED AND LIGHTED UP SAYING "ADVANCETRAC" AND "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" EVERYTHING I'VE RESEARCHED HAS INDICATED ALOT OF WORK AND MONEY SHOVED INTO THIS VERY DANGEROUS ISSUE. THERE'S SO MANY COMPLAINTS I'VE SEEN WITH THIS ONE PROBLEM THAT IT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED. IT'S INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS, IT'S LOCKED UP ON AN OFF RAMP MULTIPLE ROADWAYS AND MY DRIVEWAY. I HAVE A 1 YEAR OLD BABY IN THE CAR AT ALL TIMES AS WELL. GET THIS PROBLEM FIXED FORD. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO FORK OVER TWO GRAND IN A BRAND NEW CAR BECAUSE OF AN ISSUE THIS BIG. MY WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED LESS THEN A YEAR AGO AND AS SOON AS IT DID I HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2014 - CLARKSTON, MI
I WAS WEARING MY SEAT BELT HIT HEAD ON DRIVER FRONT BY ANOTHER DRIVER GOING APPROX 45MPH, CLEAR CONDITIONS. COLLISION FORCED OFF ROAD AND I HIT PARKED SUV WITH MY FRONT PASSENGER FRONT. NO AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT OCCURRED DURING EITHER HIT, SELF BELT DID NOT LOCK, I WAS FORCED UPWARD HITTING MY HEAD ON INSIDE ROOF HANDLE ABOVE DRIVER DOOR, THEN THROWN FORWARD HITTING MY CHIN ON STEERING WHEEL. I WAS KNOCK UNCONSCIOUS FOR 3-4 MINUTES, FRACTURED FRONT TOOTH, DISLOCATED JAW, SUFFERED OPTIC NERVE INJURY, CONCUSSION, BACK AND NECK INJURIES. I WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL. THE INITIAL BODY SHOP REPORT DID INDICATE THE AIR BAG MODULES HAD TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED AFTER IT WAS DETERMINED THE REPAIRS COST MORE THAN THE VEHICLE WAS WORTH. DAMAGE INCLUDE ENTIRE FRONT END, HOOD, BROKEN, WINDSHIELD, RADIATOR, ENGINE, UNDERBODY, DRIVER DOOR, REAR DOOR REAR BUMPER AND ROOF. AIR BAGS WERE STILL INTACT. PICTURES WERE TAKEN AT ACCIDENT SCENE, TOWING FACILITY AND AT SALVAGE YARD. I STILL SUFFER FROM THE INJURIES AND AM CURRENTLY ON SSI UNABLE TO WORK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/17/2014 - CLARKSTON, MI
I WAS WEARING MY SEAT BELT HIT HEAD ON DRIVER FRONT BY ANOTHER DRIVER GOING APPROX 45MPH, CLEAR CONDITIONS. COLLISION FORCED OFF ROAD AND I HIT PARKED SUV WITH MY FRONT PASSENGER FRONT. NO AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT OCCURRED DURING EITHER HIT, SELF BELT DID NOT LOCK, I WAS FORCED UPWARD HITTING MY HEAD ON INSIDE ROOF HANDLE ABOVE DRIVER DOOR, THEN THROWN FORWARD HITTING MY CHIN ON STEERING WHEEL. I WAS KNOCK UNCONSCIOUS FOR 3-4 MINUTES, FRACTURED FRONT TOOTH, DISLOCATED JAW, SUFFERED OPTIC NERVE INJURY, CONCUSSION, BACK AND NECK INJURIES. I WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL. THE INITIAL BODY SHOP REPORT DID INDICATE THE AIR BAG MODULES HAD TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED AFTER IT WAS DETERMINED THE REPAIRS COST MORE THAN THE VEHICLE WAS WORTH. DAMAGE INCLUDE ENTIRE FRONT END, HOOD, BROKEN, WINDSHIELD, RADIATOR, ENGINE, UNDERBODY, DRIVER DOOR, REAR DOOR REAR BUMPER AND ROOF. AIR BAGS WERE STILL INTACT. PICTURES WERE TAKEN AT ACCIDENT SCENE, TOWING FACILITY AND AT SALVAGE YARD. I STILL SUFFER FROM THE INJURIES AND AM CURRENTLY ON SSI UNABLE TO WORK.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/17/2014 - CLARKSTON, MI
I WAS WEARING MY SEAT BELT HIT HEAD ON DRIVER FRONT BY ANOTHER DRIVER GOING APPROX 45MPH, CLEAR CONDITIONS. COLLISION FORCED OFF ROAD AND I HIT PARKED SUV WITH MY FRONT PASSENGER FRONT. NO AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT OCCURRED DURING EITHER HIT, SELF BELT DID NOT LOCK, I WAS FORCED UPWARD HITTING MY HEAD ON INSIDE ROOF HANDLE ABOVE DRIVER DOOR, THEN THROWN FORWARD HITTING MY CHIN ON STEERING WHEEL. I WAS KNOCK UNCONSCIOUS FOR 3-4 MINUTES, FRACTURED FRONT TOOTH, DISLOCATED JAW, SUFFERED OPTIC NERVE INJURY, CONCUSSION, BACK AND NECK INJURIES. I WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL. THE INITIAL BODY SHOP REPORT DID INDICATE THE AIR BAG MODULES HAD TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED AFTER IT WAS DETERMINED THE REPAIRS COST MORE THAN THE VEHICLE WAS WORTH. DAMAGE INCLUDE ENTIRE FRONT END, HOOD, BROKEN, WINDSHIELD, RADIATOR, ENGINE, UNDERBODY, DRIVER DOOR, REAR DOOR REAR BUMPER AND ROOF. AIR BAGS WERE STILL INTACT. PICTURES WERE TAKEN AT ACCIDENT SCENE, TOWING FACILITY AND AT SALVAGE YARD. I STILL SUFFER FROM THE INJURIES AND AM CURRENTLY ON SSI UNABLE TO WORK.

View Details

STEERING

7/16/2014 - NEWARK, DE
WHILE HIGHWAY DRIVING AS I WAS ATTEMPTING TO SWITCH LANES ON A CONGESTED AREA, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND A WARNING SAYING ELECTRIC POWER STEERING FAULT LIT UP AND I WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. AFTER I MANAGED TO MAKE IT ONTO THE SHOULDER AND TURNED THE CAR OFF AND THEN ON AGAIN, THE FAULT HAD RESET AND I WAS ABLE TO ONCE AGAIN TURN THE WHEEL. TOOK TO DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO CODE AND THAT I HAD TO COME BACK IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds