Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FUSION - 2012 FORD FUSION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1175 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FUSION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FUSION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FUSION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (211) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (95) Steering (608) Unknown Or Other (60)
Electrical System (84) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (6) Structure (63) Vehicle Speed Control (68)
Electronic Stability Control (40) Fuel Propulsion System (40) Seats (7) Suspension (17) Visibility (3)
Engine (84) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (23) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (11)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/25/2018 - DANVILLE, VA
4/19/18 I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE AND THE STEERING ASSIST FAULT MESSAGE CAME UP AND STEERING LOCKED UP. ( SO I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE TO THE DRIVEWAY- LESS THAN 10 MILES /HOUR) DEALERSHIP SAID THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM AND THERE HAD BEEN SOME KIND OF EXTENSION ON THE WARRANTY BUT MINE WAS NOT COVERED B/C IT WAS TOO OLD OR TOO MANY MILES. I HAD TO SPEND OVER $1300 TO REPAIR THIS. I CALLED FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO COMPLAIN AND TRY TO GET AN EXPLANATION AS TO WHY IF SOMETHING LIKE THIS WAS ALREADY A PROBLEM WHY WOULD THE NOT COVER IT. THEY SAID THEY DID HAVE A RECALL AND I HAD TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN IN AUGUST OF 2015 FOR THE FIX SO THE SAID IT HAD BEEN MORE THAN A YEAR FROM THAT DATE AND NOW NOT COVERED AGAIN. HOWEVER, SINCE THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM THAT THEY FIXED BEFORE, I FEEL THERE IS STILL AND ISSUE WITH THE STEERING OUT THERE SINCE IT WAS THE SAME PART THAT WENT BAD AND IS A VERY DANGEROUS THING TO GO BAD IN SUCH A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. FORD STATED THAT THIS WOULD BE REPORTED AND TO SAVE MY RECEIPT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2018 - AGAWAM, MA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL FELT SOFT. AS A RESULT OF THE FAILURE, THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE TO A SALVAGE YARD WHERE IT WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/24/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
I OWN A FORD FUSION AND SEVERAL MONTHS AGO THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE STOPPED WORKING. IT APPEARS THAT THE HINGES BROKE AND THE DOORS COULD NOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE AND THEN 2 MONTHS AGO THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR DID THE SAME THING. I WENT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT IS COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE FUSIONS AND SEVERAL CUSTOMERS HAS BEEN COMING IN WITH THE EXACT ISSUE, AND FORD WON+T OFFER A RECALL. JUST TO HAVE ONE DOOR HANDLED FIXED US COSTING ME $345. THIS IS 1/3 OF MY SALARY EVERY TWO WEEKS. 2 YEARS AGO THE ENGINE STALLED ON THE HIGHWAY WHILE DRIVING NOW I HAVE TO PUT UP WITH NOT BEING ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE CAR FROM THE INSIDE. I HAVE TO ROLL THE WINDOW DOWN AND OPEN THE CAR FROM THE OUTSIDE IN ORDER TO GET OUT OF MY CAR. IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO EXIT THE VECHUCLE. FORD NEEDS TO OFFER A RECALL ON THESE PARTS.

View Details

STEERING

4/23/2018 - PALM COAST, FL
I TOOK MY CAR IN FOR THE RECALL #15S18 WHICH IS FOR A LOSS OF POWER STEERING. I WAS QUOTED BY FORD THAT IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECALL AND THAT I NEEDED A NEW STEERING GEAR. THEY QUOTED ME $2000 TO FIX IT. COME TO FIND OUT THE PART IS PART OF THAT RECALL, HOWEVER I+M JUST PAST THE MILEAGE LIMIT. I HAVE 152,000 MILES ON MY CAR, AND THE LIMIT IS 150K. FORD WON+T BUDGE WITH THE REPAIR. WON+T GIVE ME A BREAK SINCE IT+S LITERALLY 2,000 MILES OVER. THIS STEERING ISSUE IS A MASSIVE SAFETY HAZARD....AND DOESN+T NEED TO HAVE A MILEAGE LIMIT APPLIED TO IT. THE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR RECALLS IS 10 YEARS. MY CAR IS ONLY 6 YEARS OLD. RECALLS NEEDS TO BE GOOD FOR THAT 10 YEARS, REGARDLESS OF MILEAGE. IF THE NTHSA COULD LOOK INTO THIS AND MAYBE GET FORD TO CHANGE THE RECALL BY ELIMINATING THE MILEAGE LIMIT FOR SAFETY REASONS, I WOULD APPRECIATE IT. I CALLED FORD CORPORATE AND ASKED THEM TO GIVE ME A BREAK SINCE IT+S ONLY 2,000 MILES OVER, AND THEY REFUSED. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER FORD AGAIN. CLEARLY THEY ARE MORE CONCERNED WITH PROFITS THAN THEY ARE FIXING A DEFECTIVE PROBLEM WITH THEIR OWN VEHICLES.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

4/17/2018 - BERWYN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. UPON EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR FAILED TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MCCARTHY FORD OF NORTH RIVERSIDE (2100 HARLEM AVE, NORTH RIVERSIDE, IL 60546, (708) 422-7000) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DOOR LATCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2018 - BREMEN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PULL OFF OF THE ROADWAY, THE VEHICLE DRIFTED TO THE RIGHT. THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED ALL THE WAY TO THE LEFT AND SEIZED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A GUARDRAIL. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING). NEITHER THE DEALER NOR THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/11/2018 - JONESBORO, GA
THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON I 85 IN ALABAMA TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 70MILES PER HOUR.I NOTICED THE VEHICLE STARTED JERKING,THE SPEEDOMETER STARTED FLUCTUATING, UNTIL I LOST SPEED CONTROL.THE WRENCH LIGHT WAS ON. MY VEHICLE HAD 70,000 MILES;DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES A DAY. I MADE THE DECISION TO TURN AROUND AND GO HOME DRIVING IN THE RIGHT LANE WITH NO SPEEDOMETER OR A SPEEDOMETER THAT WOULD START FLUCTUATING WHILE MY CAR WAS JERKING. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY LOCAL FORD DEALER.THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES WERE 070/071/072.THEY TOLD ME NO WARRANTY AND IT WOULD BE $1,000 TO FIX THE TRANSMISSION SPEED SENSOR. UNFORTUNATELY I DID NOT HAVE $1000 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. MY CAR OPERATED OK UNTIL A FEW DAYS WHEN IT STARTED JERKING,SPEEDOMETER FLUCTUATED UNTIL IT WENT TO READING 0 MPH. AT THIS TIME I WAS ON I 20 IN ATLANTA. THIS TIME I WAS AFRAID OF BEING REAR ENDED WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT DUE TO NOT PICKING UP ENOUGH SPEED. I FEEL THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND FORD SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO REPLACE TRANSMISSION SPEED SENSORS. CASE IN POINT CONCERNING FORD DEALER QUOTING $1000-I FOUND SOMEONE TO REPAIR FOR UNDER $100. I WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO FIX MY CAR THE PREVIOUS YEAR. DEALER SAID THEY WOULD HAVE TO SPEND 4 PLUS HOURS LABOR DUE TO WHERE THE TRANSMISSION SPEED SENSOR IS LOCATED. PERSON FIXING MY CAR SAID THE TRANSMISSION SPEED SENSOR IS EXTERNAL EASILY ACCESSIBLE. I+M VERY DISAPPOINTED IN FORD AND THE DEALER IN THIS VERY SCARY ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2018 - HOUGHTON LAKE HEIGHTS, MI
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FUSION. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V024000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DEAN ARBOR FORD (3382 W M-55 WEST BRANCH, MICHIGAN 48661) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2018 - ANACORTES, WA
CAR STALLED WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THEN IT STARTED IMMEDIATELY. NEXT DAY STARTED, THEN STALLED IMMEDIATELY AND WOULD NOT START. THE FIRST TIME WE WERE ON TRAFFIC CIRCLE, AND SECOND TIME IN GARAGE

View Details

STEERING

3/28/2018 - TUCSON, AZ
RECALL 15S18 STEERING GEAR, WHILE DRIVING THE STEERING WHILE TURNING THE MAKE A NOISE . TOOK IT TO JIM CLICK FORD BECAUSE A CODE DIDN'T SHOW ON DASH FORD WILL NOT COVER THE COST TO REPLACE THE STEERING GEAR WHICH IS THE ISSUE WITH THE CAR. SO WE ARE UNABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR IT IS DANGEROUS/ UNSAFE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE STEERING MAKE NOISE WHEN IN MOTION, STATIONARY ON STREET AND HIGHWAY WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL. NHTSA #1227804 /FORD CASE#14458165

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds