Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (10) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/1/2014 - YONKERS , NY
VEHICLE PULL TO ONE SIDE ON FLAT SURFACE. HONDA DEALER CLAIM THAT IT IS DUE TO ROAD CURVE. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN DRIVING AND HIT A BUMP, VEHICLE SHIFT FROM LEFT TO RIGHT OR RIGHT TO LEFT. THE BLAME THE TIRE IS BAD BUT THE VEHICLE IS LESS THEN 1.5 YEARS OLD. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE. I CAN TURN THE WHEEL MORE THAN 3 INCHES BEFORE THE WHEEL TURN. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. KNOCKING NOISE IN FRONT OF VEHICLE WHEN ROCKING THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT AND RIGHT. DEALER APPLY GREASE. VEHICLE VIBRATION AT AROUND 40-45 MPH AND 20-25 MPH. FEEL LIKE SOMETHING WITH THE DRIVE TRAIN. THEY STATED IT WAS A COMMON PILOT ALL OF THESE ISSUE THE DEALER DISMISS BECAUSE THEY STATED IT WAS ALL IN HONDA SPECIFIC. I BELIEVE THAT FOR A VEHICLE THAT IS LESS THAN 1.5 YEARS OLD, THIS IS JUST [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2014 - YONKERS , NY
VEHICLE PULL TO ONE SIDE ON FLAT SURFACE. HONDA DEALER CLAIM THAT IT IS DUE TO ROAD CURVE. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN DRIVING AND HIT A BUMP, VEHICLE SHIFT FROM LEFT TO RIGHT OR RIGHT TO LEFT. THE BLAME THE TIRE IS BAD BUT THE VEHICLE IS LESS THEN 1.5 YEARS OLD. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE. I CAN TURN THE WHEEL MORE THAN 3 INCHES BEFORE THE WHEEL TURN. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. KNOCKING NOISE IN FRONT OF VEHICLE WHEN ROCKING THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT AND RIGHT. DEALER APPLY GREASE. VEHICLE VIBRATION AT AROUND 40-45 MPH AND 20-25 MPH. FEEL LIKE SOMETHING WITH THE DRIVE TRAIN. THEY STATED IT WAS A COMMON PILOT ALL OF THESE ISSUE THE DEALER DISMISS BECAUSE THEY STATED IT WAS ALL IN HONDA SPECIFIC. I BELIEVE THAT FOR A VEHICLE THAT IS LESS THAN 1.5 YEARS OLD, THIS IS JUST [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

1/10/2014 - CLARKSBURG, MD
MY VEHICLE VIBRATES WHEN I AM DRIVING. IT DOES NOT BEHAVE THIS WAY ALL THE TIME. HOWEVER, WHEN THE VEHICLE VIBRATES, IT SEEMS AS THOUGH IT WANTS TO SHUT OFF. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FREQUENTLY SINCE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE. IT USUALLY HAPPENS WHEN I SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A TURN OR WHILE I AM CRUISING AT HIGHWAY SPEED. WHEN THIS HAPPEN, THE ECO LIGHT ON MY DASH GOES ON AND ON... THE VIBRATION SEEMS LIKE I AM DRIVING A MANUAL TRANSMISSION VEHICLE, AND FAILED TO SHIFT TO THE APPROPRIATE GEAR. I AM NOT SURE IF IT IS THE VCM IN MY VEHICLE BEING FAULTY. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS AND THEY MECHANIC TELLS ME IT IS NORMAL. THIS IS NOT NORMAL. I AM AFRAID MY VEHICLE MAY STALL IN TRAFFIC AND CAUSE ACCIDENT. THE OTHER ISSUE I AM HAVING IS I OCCASIONALLY SMELL A STRONG GASOLINE FUMES IN MY VEHICLE CABIN WHEN I AM DRIVING. IT SEEMS THE GASOLINE FUME IS ENTERING MY VEHICLE FROM THE ENGINE. CAN'T TELL WHERE IT IS COMING FROM. PERHAPS THROUGH THE AC VENT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/9/2014 - KATY, TX
DRIVING BACK FROM ILLINOIS TO TEXAS AND STARTED TO FEEL VIBRATION WHEN THE ENGINE'S VCM WOULD ACTIVATE. I WAS GOING ABOUT 65MPH AND SLOWLY EASED OFF OF THE GAS, WHEN I SLOWLY PUSHED ON THE GAS TO SPEED UP AGAIN I FELT A VIBRATION ON THE FLOOR BOARD THAT WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I GAVE IT MORE GAS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON EVER SINCE. EVEN YESTERDAY WHEN I DROVE TO SAN ANTONIO AND TODAY WHEN I DROVE BACK TO HOUSTON, I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP 4 TIMES IN 2013.IT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED EVEN THOUGH THE HEAD MECHANIC DID A RIDE ALONG AND AGREED THERE WAS VIBRATION. THE DEALERSHIP STATES THEY CANNOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY SAY THEY ARE WAITING ON HONDA TO GIVE THEM INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO FIX IT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/9/2014 - KATY, TX
DRIVING BACK FROM ILLINOIS TO TEXAS AND STARTED TO FEEL VIBRATION WHEN THE ENGINE'S VCM WOULD ACTIVATE. I WAS GOING ABOUT 65MPH AND SLOWLY EASED OFF OF THE GAS, WHEN I SLOWLY PUSHED ON THE GAS TO SPEED UP AGAIN I FELT A VIBRATION ON THE FLOOR BOARD THAT WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I GAVE IT MORE GAS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON EVER SINCE. EVEN YESTERDAY WHEN I DROVE TO SAN ANTONIO AND TODAY WHEN I DROVE BACK TO HOUSTON, I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP 4 TIMES IN 2013.IT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED EVEN THOUGH THE HEAD MECHANIC DID A RIDE ALONG AND AGREED THERE WAS VIBRATION. THE DEALERSHIP STATES THEY CANNOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY SAY THEY ARE WAITING ON HONDA TO GIVE THEM INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO FIX IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/9/2014 - KATY, TX
DRIVING BACK FROM ILLINOIS TO TEXAS AND STARTED TO FEEL VIBRATION WHEN THE ENGINE'S VCM WOULD ACTIVATE. I WAS GOING ABOUT 65MPH AND SLOWLY EASED OFF OF THE GAS, WHEN I SLOWLY PUSHED ON THE GAS TO SPEED UP AGAIN I FELT A VIBRATION ON THE FLOOR BOARD THAT WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I GAVE IT MORE GAS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON EVER SINCE. EVEN YESTERDAY WHEN I DROVE TO SAN ANTONIO AND TODAY WHEN I DROVE BACK TO HOUSTON, I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP 4 TIMES IN 2013.IT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED EVEN THOUGH THE HEAD MECHANIC DID A RIDE ALONG AND AGREED THERE WAS VIBRATION. THE DEALERSHIP STATES THEY CANNOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THEY SAY THEY ARE WAITING ON HONDA TO GIVE THEM INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO FIX IT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/1/2014 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH A STRANGE ENGINE VIBRATION AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. I EMAILED HONDA 3 TIMES AND NEVER RECEIVED ANY RESPONSE. I FINALLY CALLED HONDA AND WAS TOLD I HAVE TO CONTACT A LOCAL DEALER. I HAVE BROUGHT MY VEHICLE IN TO HONDA 3 TIMES AND IT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED. THE SECOND TIME I DROPPED IT OFF I WAS TOLD THEY "DID SOME ADJUSTMENTS", BUT THEY DID NOT INDICATE WHAT THEY DID AND IT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE LAST TIME I BROUGHT IT IN AND TOOK THE MAIN MECHANIC ON THE FREEWAY TO SHOW HIM THE NOISE. HE ACKNOWLEDGED THE NOISE AND SAID THAT IT WAS VIBRATION FROM THE MOTOR MOUNTS AND THAT THE MOTOR MOUNTS ARE MANAGED ELECTRONICALLY SO THEY CAN NOT FIX IT. HE TOLD ME THAT I WILL HAVE TO WAIT UNTIL HONDA HOPEFULLY COMES OUT WITH A SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT WILL FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/9/2013 - ASHLAND, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ENTERING A PARKING SPOT, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO DECELERATE BUT THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT THEN CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 15,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2013 - GREENWOOD, IN
2012 HONDA PILOT TOURING- VEHICLE IS HAVING VIBRATIONS COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHILE GOING IN AND OUT OF VCM - VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT SYSTEM. HAPPENS REGULARLY AT VARIOUS SPEEDS.THE VIBRATION/SHUTTERING IS BOTH FELT AND HEARD. THE DEALER HAS SAID THIS IS NORMAL WITH THIS ENGINE AND VCM TECHNOLOGY. I HAD A 2005 PILOT WITHOUT THE VCM SYSTEM AND WAS VERY HAPPY, I BOUGHT THIS ONE WITHOUT A TEST DRIVE. HAD I KNOWN THIS PROBLEM EXISTED, I WOULD NOT HAVE PURCHASED IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2013 - IDAHO FALLS, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FOB WOULD NOT FUNCTION WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCESS ANY OF THE DOORS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,200.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds