Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 52 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (10) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/2/2013 - LITCHFIELD, OH
PURCHASED 2012 HONDA PILOT JULY 2012. WENT ON A TRIP A FEW DAYS LATER AND NOTICED A VIBRATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL, SEAT AND FLOOR. AS TIME WENT ON I FIGURED OUT IT WAS HAPPENING WHEN THE ECO MODE WAS ENGAGED. AT APPROX. 45 MPH THE TRANSMISSION SHUDDERS BADLY LIKE IT DOESN'T KNOW WHAT GEAR TO SHIFT INTO. EVEN AT LOWER (30-40 MPH) AND HIGHER (50-70) SPEEDS I CAN FEEL WHEN THE ECO MODE KICKS IN AND THE VIBRATION / SHUDDERING STARTS. I'VE BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THEY COULD FEEL THE VIBRATION BUT NOTHING WAS WRONG. EVEN BROUGHT IN A REGIONAL HONDA REPRESENTATIVE WHO TOLD ME THAT'S THE WAY THE VEHICLE WORKS AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY WOULD DO ABOUT IT. WHAT I CAN SEE HAPPENING IS MY WARRANTY RUNS OUT AND THE SYSTEM FAILS AND I'M STUCK WITH A BIG REPAIR BILL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/19/2013 - EASTON, PA
CAR IS HAVING VIBRATIONS COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHILE GOING IN AND OUT OF VCM - VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT SYSTEM. HAPPENS REGULARLY AT 70 MPH WHILE ON CRUISE CONTROL, ON FLAT HIGHWAY GOING UP A SLIGHT HILL THE VIBRATION STARTS. THIS COMES AND GOES, AND I COULD NOT YET REPLICATE WITH THE DEALER. MANY PEOPLE WITH V6 ENGINES WITH VCM IN IT FROM HONDA ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS ISSUE. LOOKS LIKE IT STARTED IN THE PILOT AND IS HAPPENING WITH THE ODYSSEY AS WELL. HONDA WOULD BE FORCED TO LOOK INTO WHAT IS CAUSING THIS VIBRATION AS IT APPEARS PRETTY WIDE SPREAD.

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2013 - EASTON, PA
CAR IS HAVING VIBRATIONS COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHILE GOING IN AND OUT OF VCM - VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT SYSTEM. HAPPENS REGULARLY AT 70 MPH WHILE ON CRUISE CONTROL, ON FLAT HIGHWAY GOING UP A SLIGHT HILL THE VIBRATION STARTS. THIS COMES AND GOES, AND I COULD NOT YET REPLICATE WITH THE DEALER. MANY PEOPLE WITH V6 ENGINES WITH VCM IN IT FROM HONDA ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS ISSUE. LOOKS LIKE IT STARTED IN THE PILOT AND IS HAPPENING WITH THE ODYSSEY AS WELL. HONDA WOULD BE FORCED TO LOOK INTO WHAT IS CAUSING THIS VIBRATION AS IT APPEARS PRETTY WIDE SPREAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

9/10/2013 - HIGHLANDS, NC
FROM A DEAD STOP OR SLOW ROLL, THE ENGINE FAILS TO RESPOND IMMEDIATELY TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THERE IS A SLIGHT DELAY FROM THE PRESSING OF THE ACCELERATOR TO THE ENGINE RESPONDING, CREATING A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN TRYING TO CLEAR INTERSECTIONS, TURNING ON TO A HIGHWAY, TURNING FROM A BLIND CURVE AND MANY OTHER SITUATIONS. I HAVE EXPERIENCED SEVERAL NEAR CRASHES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A COMPUTER UPDATE BUT THE PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN CORRECTED, LEAVING THE VEHICLE IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2013 - HIGHLANDS, NC
FROM A DEAD STOP OR SLOW ROLL, THE ENGINE FAILS TO RESPOND IMMEDIATELY TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THERE IS A SLIGHT DELAY FROM THE PRESSING OF THE ACCELERATOR TO THE ENGINE RESPONDING, CREATING A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN TRYING TO CLEAR INTERSECTIONS, TURNING ON TO A HIGHWAY, TURNING FROM A BLIND CURVE AND MANY OTHER SITUATIONS. I HAVE EXPERIENCED SEVERAL NEAR CRASHES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A COMPUTER UPDATE BUT THE PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN CORRECTED, LEAVING THE VEHICLE IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/10/2013 - HIGHLANDS, NC
FROM A DEAD STOP OR SLOW ROLL, THE ENGINE FAILS TO RESPOND IMMEDIATELY TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THERE IS A SLIGHT DELAY FROM THE PRESSING OF THE ACCELERATOR TO THE ENGINE RESPONDING, CREATING A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN TRYING TO CLEAR INTERSECTIONS, TURNING ON TO A HIGHWAY, TURNING FROM A BLIND CURVE AND MANY OTHER SITUATIONS. I HAVE EXPERIENCED SEVERAL NEAR CRASHES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A COMPUTER UPDATE BUT THE PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN CORRECTED, LEAVING THE VEHICLE IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/22/2013 - GRAND TERRACE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REFUELING, FUEL SPEWED FROM THE FILLER NECK. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 12V063000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 12,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/16/2013 - WORCESTER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKES, SHE FELT A VIBRATION WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS ADVISED THAT THE BRAKE ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,500 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/9/2013 - ORLANDO, FL
EVERY SINCE I PURCHASED THIS NEW CAR - THE A/C IS SO SO LOUD!!! YOU CAN HEAR IT CLICK ON AND IT ALMOST SOUNDS LIKE ITS GOING TO BLOW UP!!! I TOOK MY NEW CAR FOR ITS 1ST OIL CHG ON 7/14/2012 AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK IT OUT. THEY DID AND SAID THAT NOISE IS NORMAL. ITS SO LOUD - I SHUT IT OFF AT TIMES - BECAUSE ITS COMPETING WITH THE RADIO WITH VOLUME!! THIS IS NOT NORMAL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/26/2013 - MIAMI, FL
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE FROM BRICKELL HONDA IN MIAMI WITH 7,000 MILES. I HAD TRADED MY 2012 HONDA PILOT SO I WAS VERY FAMILIAR WITH THIS VEHICLE IN GENERAL. IMMEDIATELY, I FELT A HESITATION WHEN I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL. AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT WAS MY IMAGINATION. HOWEVER, AFTER DRIVING IT FOR A WEEK IT BECAME APPARENT THAT THIS WAS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AS IT CONTINUALLY HESITATED WHEN ACCELERATING IN TRAFFIC. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND EXPRESSED MY SAFETY CONCERNS. THEY DROVE THE CAR AND TOLD ME THAT THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEIR "MASTER MECHANIC" EXPLAINED THAT IT WAS A NEW FEATURE WITH THE PILOT'S TO SAVE GAS! I SAID, WELL THIS IS VERY FRIGHTENING WHEN YOU PRESS THE GAS AND THE GAR DOES NOT MOVE! THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AS THAT IS THE WAY THE CAR WAS MADE TO RUN?! I HAVE SINCE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS IDENTICAL TO MINE WITH THE 2012 HONDA PILOT. FRANKLY, I AM NOT SURE WHAT TO DO BUT I WANTED TO BE SURE OTHER OWNERS KNEW OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds