Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (12) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/24/2014 - LAS VEGAS , NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ANOTHER VEHICLE TRAVELING 60-70 MPH CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE WAS PUSHED INTO AN INTERSECTION, WHICH THEN CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND NECK. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE BACK, NECK, FACE AND RIBS. THERE WERE TWO REAR SEAT PASSENGERS WHO ALSO SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE RIBS. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED UNDER AN AIR BAG RECALL (CAMPAIGN NUMBER 13V016000 -AIR BAGS) BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED AFTER THE CRASH TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE AIR BAG FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 21,000. UPDATED 05/12/14

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/28/2014 - MARINGOUIN, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE EXITED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE FOG LIGHTS WERE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THE FOG LIGHT ASSEMBLY AND THE LIGHT BULB NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE MORE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,000. UPDATED 04/14/14 UPDATED 04/18/2014

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/21/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO DECELERATE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO VIBRATE AND LOSE POWER BEFORE RESPONDING NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT NO DIAGNOSIS WAS DETERMINED. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIBRATION WAS CAUSED BY THE MOTOR MOUNTS, WHICH THE DEALER ADVISED WAS NORMAL. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/19/2014 - CALABASAS, CA
POWER WENT DOWN, ALL DOORS NOT OPERATIVE, TRUNK ALSO NON OPERATIVE, COULD TRAP PASSENGER AND DRIVER AND CAUSE DEATH. ALL WINDOWS ARE NOT OPERATIVE, ALL DOORS ARE NON OPERATIVE, TRUNK IS NOT OPERATIVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2014 - CALABASAS, CA
POWER WENT DOWN, ALL DOORS NOT OPERATIVE, TRUNK ALSO NON OPERATIVE, COULD TRAP PASSENGER AND DRIVER AND CAUSE DEATH. ALL WINDOWS ARE NOT OPERATIVE, ALL DOORS ARE NON OPERATIVE, TRUNK IS NOT OPERATIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/18/2014 - WOODBURY, MN
VEHICLE SHUDDERS/VIBRATES WHEN VCM (ECO) ENGAGES/DISENGAGES. SHUDDERING/VIBRATING IS VERY PRONOUNCED. TRANSMISSION 'CLUNKS' DURING ENGAGE/DISENGAGE OF VCM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2014 - FISHERS, IN
I HAVE A 2012 HONDA PILOT- I PURCHASED USED WITH 9K MILES. I HAVE PUT APPROXIMATELY 5K MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND IMMEDIATELY NOTICED AN ENGINE VIBRATION SIMILAR TO BEING IN THE WRONG GEAR IN A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK THE TRANSMISSION- AS I INITIALLY THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A "HUNTING" ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION- THE DEALER INDICATED THAT IT WAS NORMAL. THE MORE I DRIVE THE VEHICLE, THE MORE IT APPEARS TO BE RELATED TO THE ENGINE AND NOT THE TRANSMISSION. THE VIBRATION IS VERY ANNOYING AND NOT NORMAL. HONDA NEEDS TO STEP-UP AND TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM. TOO MANY ISSUES OUT THERE WITH OTHERS WITH SAME COMPLAINTS. IF HONDA DOES NOT CORRECT SOON IT WILL TELL ME A LOT ABOUT THE QUALITY STATUS OF THEIR BRAND. THIS IS MY 4TH HONDA AND WILL CERTAINLY BE MY LAST THAT IF HONDA FAILS TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. LET'S SEE IT HONDA- CLOCK IS TICKING...

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2014 - FISHERS, IN
I HAVE A 2012 HONDA PILOT- I PURCHASED USED WITH 9K MILES. I HAVE PUT APPROXIMATELY 5K MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND IMMEDIATELY NOTICED AN ENGINE VIBRATION SIMILAR TO BEING IN THE WRONG GEAR IN A MANUAL TRANSMISSION. I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK THE TRANSMISSION- AS I INITIALLY THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A "HUNTING" ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION- THE DEALER INDICATED THAT IT WAS NORMAL. THE MORE I DRIVE THE VEHICLE, THE MORE IT APPEARS TO BE RELATED TO THE ENGINE AND NOT THE TRANSMISSION. THE VIBRATION IS VERY ANNOYING AND NOT NORMAL. HONDA NEEDS TO STEP-UP AND TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM. TOO MANY ISSUES OUT THERE WITH OTHERS WITH SAME COMPLAINTS. IF HONDA DOES NOT CORRECT SOON IT WILL TELL ME A LOT ABOUT THE QUALITY STATUS OF THEIR BRAND. THIS IS MY 4TH HONDA AND WILL CERTAINLY BE MY LAST THAT IF HONDA FAILS TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. LET'S SEE IT HONDA- CLOCK IS TICKING...

View Details

WHEELS

2/1/2014 - YONKERS , NY
VEHICLE PULL TO ONE SIDE ON FLAT SURFACE. HONDA DEALER CLAIM THAT IT IS DUE TO ROAD CURVE. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN DRIVING AND HIT A BUMP, VEHICLE SHIFT FROM LEFT TO RIGHT OR RIGHT TO LEFT. THE BLAME THE TIRE IS BAD BUT THE VEHICLE IS LESS THEN 1.5 YEARS OLD. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE. I CAN TURN THE WHEEL MORE THAN 3 INCHES BEFORE THE WHEEL TURN. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. KNOCKING NOISE IN FRONT OF VEHICLE WHEN ROCKING THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT AND RIGHT. DEALER APPLY GREASE. VEHICLE VIBRATION AT AROUND 40-45 MPH AND 20-25 MPH. FEEL LIKE SOMETHING WITH THE DRIVE TRAIN. THEY STATED IT WAS A COMMON PILOT ALL OF THESE ISSUE THE DEALER DISMISS BECAUSE THEY STATED IT WAS ALL IN HONDA SPECIFIC. I BELIEVE THAT FOR A VEHICLE THAT IS LESS THAN 1.5 YEARS OLD, THIS IS JUST [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2014 - YONKERS , NY
VEHICLE PULL TO ONE SIDE ON FLAT SURFACE. HONDA DEALER CLAIM THAT IT IS DUE TO ROAD CURVE. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN DRIVING AND HIT A BUMP, VEHICLE SHIFT FROM LEFT TO RIGHT OR RIGHT TO LEFT. THE BLAME THE TIRE IS BAD BUT THE VEHICLE IS LESS THEN 1.5 YEARS OLD. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE. I CAN TURN THE WHEEL MORE THAN 3 INCHES BEFORE THE WHEEL TURN. THEY PERFORM THE FOLLOWING: WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TIRE ROTATION. DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. KNOCKING NOISE IN FRONT OF VEHICLE WHEN ROCKING THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT AND RIGHT. DEALER APPLY GREASE. VEHICLE VIBRATION AT AROUND 40-45 MPH AND 20-25 MPH. FEEL LIKE SOMETHING WITH THE DRIVE TRAIN. THEY STATED IT WAS A COMMON PILOT ALL OF THESE ISSUE THE DEALER DISMISS BECAUSE THEY STATED IT WAS ALL IN HONDA SPECIFIC. I BELIEVE THAT FOR A VEHICLE THAT IS LESS THAN 1.5 YEARS OLD, THIS IS JUST [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds