Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (3) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Power Train (24) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (9) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (60) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/24/2014 - BURNS, TN
WHILE DRIVING 75MPH FOR 25MILES THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEAT LIGHT CAME ON AND THE PATRIOT STARTED SLOWING ITSELF DOWN, ON THE INTERSTATE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, I READ IN THE MANUAL TO PULL OVER PUT IN NEUTRAL TILL IT COOLS OFF OR JUST DRIVE SLOW, I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN 10 TIMES SINCE REACHING 38,000 I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AND THEY ADVISED I HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC DONE AT DEALER, I DID AND THE DEALER SAID IT SHOWED NOTHING. THE DEALER SAID THERE ISN'T ANYTHING I CAN DO BECAUSE IT IS DOING WHAT IT IS DESIGNED TO DO. THEY ALSO ADDED THAT THEY HAVE HAD SEVERAL SIMILAR CVT COMPLAINTS FROM PATRIOT OWNERS. DRIVING 75 MPH SHOULD NOT OVERHEAT A TRANSMISSION. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS TO BE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE PATRIOT SLOWS ITSELF DOWN, I HAVE ALMOST GOT RUN OVER SEVERAL TIMES..I NEED CHRYSLER TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS PROBLEM AND FIND A SOLUTION BEFORE I HAVE AN ACCIDENT FROM IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/24/2014 - BURNS, TN
WHILE DRIVING 75MPH FOR 25MILES THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEAT LIGHT CAME ON AND THE PATRIOT STARTED SLOWING ITSELF DOWN, ON THE INTERSTATE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, I READ IN THE MANUAL TO PULL OVER PUT IN NEUTRAL TILL IT COOLS OFF OR JUST DRIVE SLOW, I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN 10 TIMES SINCE REACHING 38,000 I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AND THEY ADVISED I HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC DONE AT DEALER, I DID AND THE DEALER SAID IT SHOWED NOTHING. THE DEALER SAID THERE ISN'T ANYTHING I CAN DO BECAUSE IT IS DOING WHAT IT IS DESIGNED TO DO. THEY ALSO ADDED THAT THEY HAVE HAD SEVERAL SIMILAR CVT COMPLAINTS FROM PATRIOT OWNERS. DRIVING 75 MPH SHOULD NOT OVERHEAT A TRANSMISSION. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS TO BE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE PATRIOT SLOWS ITSELF DOWN, I HAVE ALMOST GOT RUN OVER SEVERAL TIMES..I NEED CHRYSLER TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS PROBLEM AND FIND A SOLUTION BEFORE I HAVE AN ACCIDENT FROM IT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/22/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE ENGINE STALLED WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE I-25 WITHOUT WARNING, VEHICLE WOULD NOT RE-START, HAD TO PULL OFF OF INTERSTATE AND WAIT FOR A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/22/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE ENGINE STALLED WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE I-25 WITHOUT WARNING, VEHICLE WOULD NOT RE-START, HAD TO PULL OFF OF INTERSTATE AND WAIT FOR A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

ENGINE

7/15/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON AN INTERSTATE IN HOUSTON, TEXAS AT 71 MPH AND SUDDENLY MY ENGINE STALLED AND I COULD NOT CONTROL MY VEHICLE. SEVERAL VEHICLES BEHIND ME HAD TO SWERVE AROUND ME AND NEARLY HIT MY VEHICLE. MY VEHICLE EVENTUALLY CAME TO A STOP AND I WAS ABLE TO RE-START THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE I WAS DRIVING IS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT WITH 42,700 MILES ON IT. I HAVE HAD 2 PREVIOUS WARRANTY RECALLS FIXED ON THIS VEHICLE - ONE RELATED TO A FUEL TRANSFER TUBE AND THE OTHER FOR A VEHICLE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON AN INTERSTATE IN HOUSTON, TEXAS AT 71 MPH AND SUDDENLY MY ENGINE STALLED AND I COULD NOT CONTROL MY VEHICLE. SEVERAL VEHICLES BEHIND ME HAD TO SWERVE AROUND ME AND NEARLY HIT MY VEHICLE. MY VEHICLE EVENTUALLY CAME TO A STOP AND I WAS ABLE TO RE-START THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE I WAS DRIVING IS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT WITH 42,700 MILES ON IT. I HAVE HAD 2 PREVIOUS WARRANTY RECALLS FIXED ON THIS VEHICLE - ONE RELATED TO A FUEL TRANSFER TUBE AND THE OTHER FOR A VEHICLE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/8/2014 - GREEN BAY, WI
I WAS DRIVING MY JEEP AND IT SEEMED TO SOUND REALLY LOUD, LIKE A MOTORCYCLE, AND WHEN I'D ACCELERATE IT WASN'T SMOOTH, IT'S ALMOST LIKE SOMETHING WAS STUCK. I WAS RUNNING ERRANDS AND WHEN I WENT TO PUT SOME GROCERIES IN THE BACK, I NOTICED MY BUMPER LOOKED FUNNY AND I COULD NOT SEE THE TAIL PIPE. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP (I HAD CALLED EARLIER TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THIS NOISE, BEFORE I NOTICED THE BUMPER). HE TOLD ME TO COME IN AND THEY'D FIX IT. THE TAIL PIPE GOT LODGED UP IN MY BUMPER, BURNED A HOLE IN THE BUMPER, AND STARTED BURNING THE FRAME OF MY JEEP. IT WAS EXTREMELY HOT AND HAD I NOT NOTICED IT, WOULD HAVE STARTED ON FIRE. THE GUY AT THE DEALERSHIP SAID HE HAD SEEN THIS ONE TIME BEFORE WHEN SOMEONE HIT A SNOW BANK. WE HAVEN'T HAD SNOW IN MONTHS, AND THAT WEEKEND I DROVE MY JEEP TO MY MOM'S AND IT WAS PARKED ALL WEEKEND. I DID NOT HIT ANYTHING, AND NO CAR COULD HIT ME THAT LOW TO LODGE THAT UP. I NOW CHECK EVERY TIME I GET IN THE CAR TO MAKE SURE I CAN SEE THE TAILPIPE SINCE I'M NOT SURE IF BUMPY ROADS CAN CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2014 - SOUTHGATE, MI
WAS TRAVELING DOWN A CITY STREET. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 100 FEET PAST AN INTERSECTION, THE WARNING CHIME AND CHECK ENGINE CAME ON APPROXIMATELY A FEW SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY STALLED. I LOST BRAKES AND POWER STEERING. ATTEMPTING TO SWITCH TRANSMISSION TO PARK AND NEUTRAL WHILE VEHICLE WAS COASTING BUT COULD NOT. I HAVE A BAD BACK SO I DID NOT UTILIZE THE PARKING/EMERGENCY BRAKE. ONCE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP I WAS ABLE TO FORCE THE TRANSMISSION TO PARK AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS. TRIED RESTARTING VEHICLE AND IT WOULD JUST CONTINUOUSLY CRANK, BUT WOULD NOT TURN OVER. HAD PUBLIC ASSISTANCE TO HELP GET IT IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH THE VEHICLE OFF THE BUSY ROADWAY. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED TO HAVE IT TOWED IN. CALLED FOR TOW, WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. DEALER REPLACED CRANK SENSOR AND UPDATED PCM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/3/2014 - SOUTHGATE, MI
WAS TRAVELING DOWN A CITY STREET. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 100 FEET PAST AN INTERSECTION, THE WARNING CHIME AND CHECK ENGINE CAME ON APPROXIMATELY A FEW SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY STALLED. I LOST BRAKES AND POWER STEERING. ATTEMPTING TO SWITCH TRANSMISSION TO PARK AND NEUTRAL WHILE VEHICLE WAS COASTING BUT COULD NOT. I HAVE A BAD BACK SO I DID NOT UTILIZE THE PARKING/EMERGENCY BRAKE. ONCE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP I WAS ABLE TO FORCE THE TRANSMISSION TO PARK AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS. TRIED RESTARTING VEHICLE AND IT WOULD JUST CONTINUOUSLY CRANK, BUT WOULD NOT TURN OVER. HAD PUBLIC ASSISTANCE TO HELP GET IT IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH THE VEHICLE OFF THE BUSY ROADWAY. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED TO HAVE IT TOWED IN. CALLED FOR TOW, WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. DEALER REPLACED CRANK SENSOR AND UPDATED PCM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/16/2014 - MEMPHIS , TN
WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE, I WAS IN THE FAST LANE ATTEMPTING TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN I STARTED TO HEAR THIS STRANGE NOISE AND I BEGAN TO LOSE ACCELERATION AND THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT WITH THE CIRCLE AROUND IT CAME ON. IT WAS A VERY SCARY THING BECAUSE I HAD A CAR BEHIND ME THAT WAS VERY CLOSE. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER. I PULLED OUT MY OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON. I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS BY PUTTING IT IN NEUTRAL AND IDLING IT FOR A FEW MINUTES. IT EVENTUALLY STOPPED MAKING THAT NOISE AND THE LIGHT WENT OUT AND I STARTED OUT ON MY WAY AGAIN. I STILL HAD A 2 HOUR DRIVE LEFT ON MY TRIP AND I WAS SCARED IT WOULD HAPPEN AGAIN BEFORE I COULD GET HOME. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP THIS MORNING AND BASICALLY WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO SENSORS LIGHTING UP AND THEY COULDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM IF THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE IT. SO I'M LEFT WITH A CAR THAT I CAN'T TRUST.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds