Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (11) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2013 - BROADVIEW HTS, OH
STOPPED MY 2012 PATRIOT AT A LIGHT TO TURN LEFT. I STEPPED ON GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE FORWARD BUT NO ACCELERATION/REVVING OCCURRED. WHEN THE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED NO RESISTANCE WAS FELT BUT RATHER THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING TWICE. I REPEATED THIS AGAIN WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING. ON THE THIRD ATTEMPT THE PATRIOT ACCELERATED FORWARD. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID TO TURN OFF ENGINE AND RESTART THE VEHICLE TO GET THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN SYNC. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ON HIGHWAY FOR 30 MINUTES THEN 15 CITY TRAFFIC, AIR TEMP 38 DEGREES, PAVEMENT DRY TO WET (MELTING SNOW).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/7/2013 - SPRING GREEN, WI, WI
WE HAVE NOW HAD 2 EPISODES OF OUR 2012 JEEP PATRIOT SUDDENLY LOSING POWER WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AT BETWEEN 65 TO 70 MPH. THE FIRST TIME WAS ON I39 IN SOUTHERN ILLINOIS WHEN THE TEMPERATURE WAS IN THE 90S. WE WERE ABLE TO PULL OFF ON TO THE SHOULDER. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS WE WERE ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AND GOT TO THE NEAREST GAS STATION. THE INDICATOR SHOWED ALMOST 1/2 TANK OF GAS BUT AFTER FILLING UP THE CAR RAN WELL. WE WERE LISTENING TO THE RADIO AND HEARD A REPORT THAT SEVERAL GAS STATIONS IN SOUTHERN WI HAD GOTTEN GAS CONTAMINATED WITH WATER. SINCE WE LIVE IN THAT AREA WE DECIDED THAT THIS HAD BEEN THE PROBLEM. WE DID NOT REPORT THE INCIDENT. ON SUNDAY, 2/3/13, I WAS TRAVELING ON I94 IN WI, TEMP 6 DEGREES, BETWEEN 1/4 AND 1/2 TANK. . AGAIN, THE CAR BEGAN TO LOSE POWER. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD, BARELY, CALLED JEEP FOR ASSISTANCE. THE JEEP WOULD NOT RESTART AT FIRST, THEN, AFTER 10 MINUTES DID RESTART BUT WOULDN'T KEEP RUNNING. I WAS TOWED 45 MILES TO THE NEAREST DEALER. IN THE MORNING, THE CAR STARTED, THE JEEP GARAGE CHECKED IT ON THE COMPUTER AND FOUND NOTHING. THEY THOUGHT THAT THE GAS LINE MIGHT HAVE FROZEN UP. THIS DID NOT SEEM LOGICAL, BUT HE DID GIVE ME VERIFICATION THAT IT HAD BEEN CHECKED OUT AND FELT THE CAR WAS SAFE TO DRIVE . I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS HAPPENING AGAIN. WE WERE LUCKY, BUT THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/5/2013 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE WHEEL WOULD SPIN FASTER THAN THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO PULL TO THE RIGHT WITH FORCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO ADVISED THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE WHEEL THAT WAS SPINNING FASTER THAN THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL WAS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THAT COULD NOT BE COMPROMISED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS MILEAGE 11,632.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/3/2013 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ON INTERSTATE 5 NEAR BAKERSFIELD CALIFORNIA, AND UNDER CRUISE CONTROL, MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT STALLED AND LOST POWER TO THE TIRES. AT THAT MOMENT, THE CHECK ENGINE, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, AND ELECTRIC SYSTEMS (RED LIGHTNING BOLT) LIGHTS ALL BEGAN TO FLASH. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY SAFELY. BEING ONLY A FEW MILES FROM MY EVENTUAL DESTINATION, I ATTEMPTED TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE IN GEAR AT VERY LOW RPMS (SUB 2500). AT RPMS OVER 2500, HOWEVER, THE ENGINE WOULD MISFIRE AND I WOULD EXPERIENCE NO ACCELERATION. WITH THE VEHICLE STILL PARTIALLY DISABLED, I WAS ABLE TO REACH MY DESTINATION. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF, UNLOADED MY LUGGAGE, AND THEN RETURNED TO INSPECT THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. SEEING THAT ALL BELT, HOSE, AND CABLE CONNECTIONS WERE SECURE, AND ALL FLUIDS AT THEIR PROPER LEVELS, I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND DROVE THE VEHICLE SUCCESSFULLY FOR ABOUT A MILE, WITH NO EVIDENCE OF THE RECENT SYMPTOMS. BEING THAT THE VEHICLE IS STILL SO NEW, AND WELL MAINTAINED, THIS PARTICULAR INCIDENT WAS PARTICULARLY ALARMING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2013 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ON INTERSTATE 5 NEAR BAKERSFIELD CALIFORNIA, AND UNDER CRUISE CONTROL, MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT STALLED AND LOST POWER TO THE TIRES. AT THAT MOMENT, THE CHECK ENGINE, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, AND ELECTRIC SYSTEMS (RED LIGHTNING BOLT) LIGHTS ALL BEGAN TO FLASH. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY SAFELY. BEING ONLY A FEW MILES FROM MY EVENTUAL DESTINATION, I ATTEMPTED TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE IN GEAR AT VERY LOW RPMS (SUB 2500). AT RPMS OVER 2500, HOWEVER, THE ENGINE WOULD MISFIRE AND I WOULD EXPERIENCE NO ACCELERATION. WITH THE VEHICLE STILL PARTIALLY DISABLED, I WAS ABLE TO REACH MY DESTINATION. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF, UNLOADED MY LUGGAGE, AND THEN RETURNED TO INSPECT THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. SEEING THAT ALL BELT, HOSE, AND CABLE CONNECTIONS WERE SECURE, AND ALL FLUIDS AT THEIR PROPER LEVELS, I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND DROVE THE VEHICLE SUCCESSFULLY FOR ABOUT A MILE, WITH NO EVIDENCE OF THE RECENT SYMPTOMS. BEING THAT THE VEHICLE IS STILL SO NEW, AND WELL MAINTAINED, THIS PARTICULAR INCIDENT WAS PARTICULARLY ALARMING.

View Details

ENGINE

2/3/2013 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ON INTERSTATE 5 NEAR BAKERSFIELD CALIFORNIA, AND UNDER CRUISE CONTROL, MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT STALLED AND LOST POWER TO THE TIRES. AT THAT MOMENT, THE CHECK ENGINE, ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, AND ELECTRIC SYSTEMS (RED LIGHTNING BOLT) LIGHTS ALL BEGAN TO FLASH. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY SAFELY. BEING ONLY A FEW MILES FROM MY EVENTUAL DESTINATION, I ATTEMPTED TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE IN GEAR AT VERY LOW RPMS (SUB 2500). AT RPMS OVER 2500, HOWEVER, THE ENGINE WOULD MISFIRE AND I WOULD EXPERIENCE NO ACCELERATION. WITH THE VEHICLE STILL PARTIALLY DISABLED, I WAS ABLE TO REACH MY DESTINATION. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF, UNLOADED MY LUGGAGE, AND THEN RETURNED TO INSPECT THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. SEEING THAT ALL BELT, HOSE, AND CABLE CONNECTIONS WERE SECURE, AND ALL FLUIDS AT THEIR PROPER LEVELS, I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND DROVE THE VEHICLE SUCCESSFULLY FOR ABOUT A MILE, WITH NO EVIDENCE OF THE RECENT SYMPTOMS. BEING THAT THE VEHICLE IS STILL SO NEW, AND WELL MAINTAINED, THIS PARTICULAR INCIDENT WAS PARTICULARLY ALARMING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/25/2013 - JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL
THE FOLLOWING INCIDENT HAS OCCURRED TWICE WITHIN THE LAST WEEK AND A HALF: TODAY, WHILE DRIVING (LUCKILY COMING TO A STOP) MY JEEP BEGAN SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. IT RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. LAST WEEKEND, WHILE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED AND I IMMEDIATELY LOST STEERING (SOON REALIZING THAT THE VEHICLE HAD SHUT OFF). AGAIN, IT RESTARTED AND DROVE NORMALLY. HAD THIS OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AT A HIGHER SPEED I'M SURE THE CONSEQUENCES COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE THAT CAUSING CONCERN. HOWEVER, I HAVE READ ON THE JEEP FORUM THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN OCCURRING IN 2011 AND 2012 JEEP PATRIOTS AT HIGHER SPEEDS, ONE WITH A FATALITY. THAT ALONE IS VERY DISHEARTENING. MY JEEP CURRENTLY HAS 10, 430 MILES ON IT, I BOUGHT IT IN APRIL OF 2012.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2013 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,500 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 7,500.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2013 - CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY WITH CRUSE CONTROL ON DOING 70 MILES PER HOUR, THE ENGINE IN MY JEEP PATRIOT STALLED OUT COMPLETELY. THE ELECTRONIC PARTS OF THE VEHICLE STAYED ON, AND I STILL HAD POWER STEERING. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I COULD NOT START THE VEHICLE FOR ROUGHLY 20 MINUTES. THEN IS FINALLY STARTED UP. I DROVE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT IT. THE DEALERSHIP KEPT IT FOR THREE DAYS, AND SAID THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. THEY HAVE INSISTED EVERYTHING IS FINE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/27/2012 - EL PASO, TX
ENGINE STOPPED SUDDENLY AT 75 MPH - NEAR-MISS REAR-END COLLISION WITH OVERTAKING TRAFFIC. CONDITIONS: AFTER 3 1/2 HRS HIGHWAY DRIVING, SAME TANK OF GAS, GENTLE LEFT-HAND CURVE, JUST AFTER SUNSET, AIR TEMPERATURE 39 DEGREES, ALBUQUERQUE, NM. ENGINE WOULD NOT RESTART. RETURNED 2 HRS LATER WITH TOW TRUCK, ENGINE CAUGHT, STARTED, STUTTERED, STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES. TOWED TO DEALER. ENGINE STARTED NORMALLY NEXT MORNING. STILL AT DEALER FOR EVALUATION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds