Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 118 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Power Train (22) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (57) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/5/2014 - APO, AE
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT SPORT 4X4 DOWN THE AUTOBAHN AT AROUND 120KM(74 MPH) MY JEEP STARTED MAKING A DEEP WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND. WHILE ACCELERATING IT IS A LOW DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND, WHILE DECELERATING THE WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND BECOMES LOUDER DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING. I TRIED CALLING THE JEEP DEALERSHIP HERE IN GERMANY BUT WAS BASICALLY TOLD THEY COULD NOT BE OF ANY HELP DO TO MY JEEP BEING AMERICAN SPEC. ALSO, I FIND IT ABSURD THAT MY JEEP HAS RECALLS AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED AND OF COURSE I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT I CANNOT GET THEM FIXED OVER HERE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/5/2014 - APO, AE
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT SPORT 4X4 DOWN THE AUTOBAHN AT AROUND 120KM(74 MPH) MY JEEP STARTED MAKING A DEEP WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND. WHILE ACCELERATING IT IS A LOW DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND, WHILE DECELERATING THE WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND BECOMES LOUDER DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING. I TRIED CALLING THE JEEP DEALERSHIP HERE IN GERMANY BUT WAS BASICALLY TOLD THEY COULD NOT BE OF ANY HELP DO TO MY JEEP BEING AMERICAN SPEC. ALSO, I FIND IT ABSURD THAT MY JEEP HAS RECALLS AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED AND OF COURSE I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT I CANNOT GET THEM FIXED OVER HERE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - HIGHLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT WITH 54,000 MILES. THE STATED THAT HE HAD A RECALL DONE ON HIS VEHICLE FOR THE FUEL SYSTEM. A YEAR LATER AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR WAS DONE THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE SAFETY FLAP ON THE FILLER PIPE WAS MISSING. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - HIGHLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V120000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE ). THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED AGAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/10/2014 - MCLEAN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO DECELERATE, THE ENGINE RPMS REMAINED OVER 4,000. THE CONTACT THEN SMELLED A BURNING CLUTCH ODOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/28/2014 - REVERE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V120000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE ) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT FELT THAT SINCE THE FAILURE WAS REPORTED IN APRIL OF 2013, THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN A REMEDY AVAILABLE BEFORE JANUARY OF 2014. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/14/2013 - POTTSVILLE, PA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHILE PASSING A TRACTOR TRAILER UP A MODERATE INCLINE WHEN THE ENGINE OF MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT LATITUDE FAILED. UPON PASSING THE TRACTOR TRAILER, ALL OF THE INDICATORS ON THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO LIGHT UP - THEN THE INDICATORS, AS WELL AS MY HEADLIGHTS, COMPLETELY DIED. WHEN THE LIGHTS WENT OUT, THE ENGINE FAILED, AND MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET INTO A SMALL SPACE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY BEFORE A TRACTOR TRAILER VERY NEARLY TOOK MY LIFE. AT FIRST, I THOUGHT IT WAS THE CAR BATTERY. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 13 DAYS AGO, SO PERHAPS THE BATTERY HAD GOTTEN WEAK ON THE DEALER LOT IN THE WINTER MONTHS. AND, AFTER MY CAR WAS JUMPED, IT BEGAN TO WORK. HOWEVER, THE CAR COULD ONLY BE STARTED ONCE, AND THE ENGINE WILL NO LONGER TURN OVER. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. I DRIVE EXTENSIVELY FOR A LIVING, AND I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN THIS JEEP PATRIOT BECAUSE THE CAR FAILED COMPLETELY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS A PROBLEM WITH 2011-2012 JEEP PATRIOTS. PLEASE ENFORCE A RECALL!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/14/2013 - POTTSVILLE, PA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHILE PASSING A TRACTOR TRAILER UP A MODERATE INCLINE WHEN THE ENGINE OF MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT LATITUDE FAILED. UPON PASSING THE TRACTOR TRAILER, ALL OF THE INDICATORS ON THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO LIGHT UP - THEN THE INDICATORS, AS WELL AS MY HEADLIGHTS, COMPLETELY DIED. WHEN THE LIGHTS WENT OUT, THE ENGINE FAILED, AND MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET INTO A SMALL SPACE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY BEFORE A TRACTOR TRAILER VERY NEARLY TOOK MY LIFE. AT FIRST, I THOUGHT IT WAS THE CAR BATTERY. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 13 DAYS AGO, SO PERHAPS THE BATTERY HAD GOTTEN WEAK ON THE DEALER LOT IN THE WINTER MONTHS. AND, AFTER MY CAR WAS JUMPED, IT BEGAN TO WORK. HOWEVER, THE CAR COULD ONLY BE STARTED ONCE, AND THE ENGINE WILL NO LONGER TURN OVER. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. I DRIVE EXTENSIVELY FOR A LIVING, AND I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN THIS JEEP PATRIOT BECAUSE THE CAR FAILED COMPLETELY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS A PROBLEM WITH 2011-2012 JEEP PATRIOTS. PLEASE ENFORCE A RECALL!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/14/2013 - POTTSVILLE, PA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHILE PASSING A TRACTOR TRAILER UP A MODERATE INCLINE WHEN THE ENGINE OF MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT LATITUDE FAILED. UPON PASSING THE TRACTOR TRAILER, ALL OF THE INDICATORS ON THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO LIGHT UP - THEN THE INDICATORS, AS WELL AS MY HEADLIGHTS, COMPLETELY DIED. WHEN THE LIGHTS WENT OUT, THE ENGINE FAILED, AND MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET INTO A SMALL SPACE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY BEFORE A TRACTOR TRAILER VERY NEARLY TOOK MY LIFE. AT FIRST, I THOUGHT IT WAS THE CAR BATTERY. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 13 DAYS AGO, SO PERHAPS THE BATTERY HAD GOTTEN WEAK ON THE DEALER LOT IN THE WINTER MONTHS. AND, AFTER MY CAR WAS JUMPED, IT BEGAN TO WORK. HOWEVER, THE CAR COULD ONLY BE STARTED ONCE, AND THE ENGINE WILL NO LONGER TURN OVER. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. I DRIVE EXTENSIVELY FOR A LIVING, AND I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN THIS JEEP PATRIOT BECAUSE THE CAR FAILED COMPLETELY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS A PROBLEM WITH 2011-2012 JEEP PATRIOTS. PLEASE ENFORCE A RECALL!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2013 - NORCROSS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH UPHILL, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATED TO 35 MPH. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds