Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 125 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Power Train (24) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (6) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (60) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/3/2014 - SOUTHGATE, MI
WAS TRAVELING DOWN A CITY STREET. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 100 FEET PAST AN INTERSECTION, THE WARNING CHIME AND CHECK ENGINE CAME ON APPROXIMATELY A FEW SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY STALLED. I LOST BRAKES AND POWER STEERING. ATTEMPTING TO SWITCH TRANSMISSION TO PARK AND NEUTRAL WHILE VEHICLE WAS COASTING BUT COULD NOT. I HAVE A BAD BACK SO I DID NOT UTILIZE THE PARKING/EMERGENCY BRAKE. ONCE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP I WAS ABLE TO FORCE THE TRANSMISSION TO PARK AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS. TRIED RESTARTING VEHICLE AND IT WOULD JUST CONTINUOUSLY CRANK, BUT WOULD NOT TURN OVER. HAD PUBLIC ASSISTANCE TO HELP GET IT IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH THE VEHICLE OFF THE BUSY ROADWAY. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED TO HAVE IT TOWED IN. CALLED FOR TOW, WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. DEALER REPLACED CRANK SENSOR AND UPDATED PCM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2014 - SOUTHGATE, MI
WAS TRAVELING DOWN A CITY STREET. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 100 FEET PAST AN INTERSECTION, THE WARNING CHIME AND CHECK ENGINE CAME ON APPROXIMATELY A FEW SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY STALLED. I LOST BRAKES AND POWER STEERING. ATTEMPTING TO SWITCH TRANSMISSION TO PARK AND NEUTRAL WHILE VEHICLE WAS COASTING BUT COULD NOT. I HAVE A BAD BACK SO I DID NOT UTILIZE THE PARKING/EMERGENCY BRAKE. ONCE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP I WAS ABLE TO FORCE THE TRANSMISSION TO PARK AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS. TRIED RESTARTING VEHICLE AND IT WOULD JUST CONTINUOUSLY CRANK, BUT WOULD NOT TURN OVER. HAD PUBLIC ASSISTANCE TO HELP GET IT IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH THE VEHICLE OFF THE BUSY ROADWAY. CALLED DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED TO HAVE IT TOWED IN. CALLED FOR TOW, WAS TAKEN TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. DEALER REPLACED CRANK SENSOR AND UPDATED PCM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/16/2014 - MEMPHIS , TN
WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE, I WAS IN THE FAST LANE ATTEMPTING TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN I STARTED TO HEAR THIS STRANGE NOISE AND I BEGAN TO LOSE ACCELERATION AND THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT WITH THE CIRCLE AROUND IT CAME ON. IT WAS A VERY SCARY THING BECAUSE I HAD A CAR BEHIND ME THAT WAS VERY CLOSE. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER. I PULLED OUT MY OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON. I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS BY PUTTING IT IN NEUTRAL AND IDLING IT FOR A FEW MINUTES. IT EVENTUALLY STOPPED MAKING THAT NOISE AND THE LIGHT WENT OUT AND I STARTED OUT ON MY WAY AGAIN. I STILL HAD A 2 HOUR DRIVE LEFT ON MY TRIP AND I WAS SCARED IT WOULD HAPPEN AGAIN BEFORE I COULD GET HOME. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP THIS MORNING AND BASICALLY WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO SENSORS LIGHTING UP AND THEY COULDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM IF THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE IT. SO I'M LEFT WITH A CAR THAT I CAN'T TRUST.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/16/2014 - MEMPHIS , TN
WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE, I WAS IN THE FAST LANE ATTEMPTING TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN I STARTED TO HEAR THIS STRANGE NOISE AND I BEGAN TO LOSE ACCELERATION AND THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT WITH THE CIRCLE AROUND IT CAME ON. IT WAS A VERY SCARY THING BECAUSE I HAD A CAR BEHIND ME THAT WAS VERY CLOSE. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER. I PULLED OUT MY OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON. I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS BY PUTTING IT IN NEUTRAL AND IDLING IT FOR A FEW MINUTES. IT EVENTUALLY STOPPED MAKING THAT NOISE AND THE LIGHT WENT OUT AND I STARTED OUT ON MY WAY AGAIN. I STILL HAD A 2 HOUR DRIVE LEFT ON MY TRIP AND I WAS SCARED IT WOULD HAPPEN AGAIN BEFORE I COULD GET HOME. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL JEEP DEALERSHIP THIS MORNING AND BASICALLY WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO SENSORS LIGHTING UP AND THEY COULDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM IF THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE IT. SO I'M LEFT WITH A CAR THAT I CAN'T TRUST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/14/2014 - GLENDALE, AZ
WHILE ON THE MOUNTAINOUS INTERSTATE WE LOST OUR ACCELERATION AND DIDN'T KNOW WHY. WE WERE IN A DANGEROUS LOCATION JUST BEGINNING TO CROSS A BRIDGE AND WE PULLED OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS WE COULD. WE DID KNOW THAT STOPPING ON THE BRIDGE WAS A VERY DANGEROUS LOCATION. AT THIS POINT I WAS SHAKING AND VERY SCARED. AFTER A FEW MINUTES, I PUT THE VEHICLE IN 1ST GEAR, AND WE ACTUALLY MOVED. AT THIS POINT I WAS JUST TRYING TO GET US PAST THE BRIDGE TO A SAFER LOCATION. BUT AS I WENT FROM 1 GEAR TO ANOTHER, WE WERE SLOWLY GAINING MOMENTUM, SO I KEPT GOING. THEN JUNE 9, 2014 WE LOST ACCELERATION WHILE TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE AGAIN GOING THROUGH MOUNTAINOUS ROADS IN NM. WE WERE ABLE TO MOVE SLOWLY TILL WE GOT TO AN OFF RAMP AND PULLED INTO A GAS STATION. I FIGURED MY FLUID LEVELS WERE GOOD DUE TO JUST HAVING A $300 SERVICE PERFORMED WITH OIL, ETC. 2 WEEKS PRIOR JUST BEFORE LEAVING ON VACATION. I THEN PULLED OUT THE OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE JUST WHAT THAT LIGHT WAS FOR. IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION FLUID OVERHEATING DUE TO THE MOUNTAINOUS TERRAIN WE WERE IN. I HAD NEVER HEARD OF THAT BEFORE, SO I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE AREA AT JEEP IN W. BELL RD IN PEORIA, AZ. THE GENTLEMAN I TALKED TO HAD NO GOOD ANSWERS FOR ME. THEN HE MENTIONED THAT THE CERTAIN TYPE OF TRANSMISSION THAT WAS IN THE JEEP PATRIOT CAN OVERHEAT. WE JUST NEEDED TO FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS IN THE MANUAL AND SIT IN NEUTRAL TILL THE TEMPERATURE DROPPED. THE VEHICLE LOSES ACCELERATION AS A PROTECTION FOR THE TRANSMISSION SO IT DOESN'T OVERHEAT AND CAUSE DAMAGE. WELL, THEN... WHAT ABOUT TO THE OCCUPANTS THAT ARE IN THE VEHICLE BEING SUDDENLY STRANDED IN VERY UNSAFE LOCATIONS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/14/2014 - GLENDALE, AZ
WHILE ON THE MOUNTAINOUS INTERSTATE WE LOST OUR ACCELERATION AND DIDN'T KNOW WHY. WE WERE IN A DANGEROUS LOCATION JUST BEGINNING TO CROSS A BRIDGE AND WE PULLED OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS WE COULD. WE DID KNOW THAT STOPPING ON THE BRIDGE WAS A VERY DANGEROUS LOCATION. AT THIS POINT I WAS SHAKING AND VERY SCARED. AFTER A FEW MINUTES, I PUT THE VEHICLE IN 1ST GEAR, AND WE ACTUALLY MOVED. AT THIS POINT I WAS JUST TRYING TO GET US PAST THE BRIDGE TO A SAFER LOCATION. BUT AS I WENT FROM 1 GEAR TO ANOTHER, WE WERE SLOWLY GAINING MOMENTUM, SO I KEPT GOING. THEN JUNE 9, 2014 WE LOST ACCELERATION WHILE TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE AGAIN GOING THROUGH MOUNTAINOUS ROADS IN NM. WE WERE ABLE TO MOVE SLOWLY TILL WE GOT TO AN OFF RAMP AND PULLED INTO A GAS STATION. I FIGURED MY FLUID LEVELS WERE GOOD DUE TO JUST HAVING A $300 SERVICE PERFORMED WITH OIL, ETC. 2 WEEKS PRIOR JUST BEFORE LEAVING ON VACATION. I THEN PULLED OUT THE OWNERS MANUAL TO SEE JUST WHAT THAT LIGHT WAS FOR. IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION FLUID OVERHEATING DUE TO THE MOUNTAINOUS TERRAIN WE WERE IN. I HAD NEVER HEARD OF THAT BEFORE, SO I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE AREA AT JEEP IN W. BELL RD IN PEORIA, AZ. THE GENTLEMAN I TALKED TO HAD NO GOOD ANSWERS FOR ME. THEN HE MENTIONED THAT THE CERTAIN TYPE OF TRANSMISSION THAT WAS IN THE JEEP PATRIOT CAN OVERHEAT. WE JUST NEEDED TO FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS IN THE MANUAL AND SIT IN NEUTRAL TILL THE TEMPERATURE DROPPED. THE VEHICLE LOSES ACCELERATION AS A PROTECTION FOR THE TRANSMISSION SO IT DOESN'T OVERHEAT AND CAUSE DAMAGE. WELL, THEN... WHAT ABOUT TO THE OCCUPANTS THAT ARE IN THE VEHICLE BEING SUDDENLY STRANDED IN VERY UNSAFE LOCATIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2014 - WATERFORD, PA
HAD DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY 8 MILES AND WAS ON DOWNWARD SLOPE WHEN VEHICLE SHUT OFF. WAS ABLE TO CRANK IT THEN WAS DRIVING IT THE 8 MILES BACK HOME WHEN IT SHUT OFF AGAIN, THIS TIME ON A FLAT ROADWAY. WAS UNABLE TO CRANK IT THIS TIME AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS AND 45 MINUTES. WHEN THIS HAPPENED, VEHICLE COMPLETELY STOPPED AND LOST POWER STEERING. HAD IT TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND VEHICLE CRANKED FOR THEM. NO ERRORS ON THE COMPUTER. AFTER TESTING IT AND DRIVING IT 13 MILES, NO DETERMINATION MADE ON WHAT CAUSED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/5/2014 - APO, AE
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT SPORT 4X4 DOWN THE AUTOBAHN AT AROUND 120KM(74 MPH) MY JEEP STARTED MAKING A DEEP WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND. WHILE ACCELERATING IT IS A LOW DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND, WHILE DECELERATING THE WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND BECOMES LOUDER DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING. I TRIED CALLING THE JEEP DEALERSHIP HERE IN GERMANY BUT WAS BASICALLY TOLD THEY COULD NOT BE OF ANY HELP DO TO MY JEEP BEING AMERICAN SPEC. ALSO, I FIND IT ABSURD THAT MY JEEP HAS RECALLS AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED AND OF COURSE I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT I CANNOT GET THEM FIXED OVER HERE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2014 - APO, AE
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT SPORT 4X4 DOWN THE AUTOBAHN AT AROUND 120KM(74 MPH) MY JEEP STARTED MAKING A DEEP WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND. WHILE ACCELERATING IT IS A LOW DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND, WHILE DECELERATING THE WHIRLING/HUMMING SOUND BECOMES LOUDER DEEP SOUNDING WHIRLING/HUMMING. I TRIED CALLING THE JEEP DEALERSHIP HERE IN GERMANY BUT WAS BASICALLY TOLD THEY COULD NOT BE OF ANY HELP DO TO MY JEEP BEING AMERICAN SPEC. ALSO, I FIND IT ABSURD THAT MY JEEP HAS RECALLS AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED AND OF COURSE I'VE BEEN TOLD THAT I CANNOT GET THEM FIXED OVER HERE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - HIGHLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT WITH 54,000 MILES. THE STATED THAT HE HAD A RECALL DONE ON HIS VEHICLE FOR THE FUEL SYSTEM. A YEAR LATER AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR WAS DONE THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE SAFETY FLAP ON THE FILLER PIPE WAS MISSING. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds