Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 165 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Exterior Lighting (3) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Power Train (26) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (24) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (68) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/16/2016 - CALEDONIA, NY
ON OCTOBER 28, 2015 WITH ABOUT 50,000 MILES ON IT, MY JEEP WENT INTO LIMP MODE WHILE I WAS DRIVING 55 MPH. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SHOULDER BEFORE GETTING REAR-ENDED. MULTIPLE LIGHTS TURNED ON INCLUDING THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL, CHECK ENGINE, AND TRACTION CONTROL. I UNHOOKED THE BATTERY AND WAITED A FEW MINUTES. HOOKED IT BACK UP AND IT SEEMED TO BE FINE. UNTIL MARCH 13, 2016 WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY DAUGHTER TO THE MALL FOR HER BIRTHDAY. I WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY 4 LANE ROAD WHEN MY CAR SEEMED TO TURN OFF OR LOOSE ALL POWER WHILE CLIMBING A HILL. AGAIN, I JUST AVOIDED BEING REAR ENDED AND PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE. I TURNED THE KEY OFF, TOOK IT OUT, WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND STARTED IT AGAIN AND IT WORKED. WE WENT SHOPPING AND WENT BACK HOME WITHOUT A PROBLEM, UNTIL THE NEXT DAY. MARCH 14, 2016 WHILE DRIVING MY DAUGHTERS TO SCHOOL MY JEEP WENT INTO LIMP MODE. LUCKILY I WAS IN THE VILLAGE AND ONLY GOING 30 MPH, BUT ALL OF THE LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN-ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL, TRACTION CONTROL, AND CHECK ENGINE. I DROVE IT BACK HOME AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THEY DID NOT KNOW WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT. THAT AFTER RESETTING THE BATTERY AND PERFORMING A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, ONLY A VAC LEAK WAS DETECTED. THEY PERFORMED A CHECK AND CONFIRMED (ACCORDING TO MY INVOICE) THAT THERE WERE "NO VACUUM LEAKS AT THIS TIME PER CODE" AND THAT "COULD BE MANY THINGS." AND THEY "CLEARED CODES AND ROAD TESTED OK AT THIS TIME." SO I DROVE IT HOME FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND TO WORK TODAY WITH NO PROBLEMS. WHEN I WENT TO GO HOME, ALL THE LIGHTS CAME ON AGAIN. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE AND I FEEL STUCK. NO ONE SEEMS TO WANT TO FIX IT BECAUSE THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO FIX... AND THIS IS PATHETIC WHEN EVEN THE DEALERSHIP THAT I BOUGHT IT FROM CAN NOT HELP. I AM AFRAID SOMEONE WILL BE KILLED IF A SOLUTION IS NOT FOUND TO THIS COMMON PROBLEM WITH JEEP PATRIOTS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/23/2016 - AKRON, OH
ENGINE STALLED AT 45 MILES/HOUR AT THREE DIFFERENT OCCASIONS OVER A 3 DAY TIME FRAME. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 5 MINUTE THE ENGINE COULD BE STARTED UP AGAIN. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED A CRANKSHAFT SENSOR AS A SUPPOSED FIX. AFTER DRIVING THE VEHICLE FOR 15 TO 20 MILES THE ENGINE WOULD SHUT DOWN AGAIN WITHOUT WARNING. THIS TIME THE ENGINE STARTED AND STALLED 6 CONSECUTIVE TIMES OVER A DISTANCE OF LESS THEN ONE MILE. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE PROBLEMS DESCRIBED OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON STATE ROAD AND NORTH MEDINA LINE ROAD, WEST OF AKRON, OHIO. THE CONDITION DESCRIBED IS DANGEROUS AS THE LOSS OF ENGINE OPERATION RENDERS CAR HANDLING (STEARING AND BRAKING) VERY DIFFICULT. ENGINE STALL AT THE THIRD TIME STATED ABOVE HAPPENED AT A SHARP RIGHT CURVE WITH ON-COMMING TRAFIC. A COLLISSION WAS NARROWLY AVOIDED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/6/2016 - PASADENA, MD
WHILE I AM DRIVING IF I OR MY PASSENGER WHO IS DRIVING BESIDE ME IN THE FRONT SEAT ACCIDENTLY HITS THE GEAR SHIFTER WHILE I AM DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY OR ANY ROAD AND IT HAS ALMOST CAUSED ME TO GET REAR ENDED SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE WHEN ACCIDENTLY HIT IT GETS KNOCKED INTO 1RST,2ND AND SOMETIMES 3RD GEAR WHICH CAUSES THE CAR TO DECREASE IMMEDIATELY AND BECAUSE OF THIS CAUSES ME TO ALMOST GET INTO AN ACCIDENT THIS HAS HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES THE GEAR SHIFTER IS BARELY TOUCHED AND IT KICKS INTO A DOWNSHIFT GEAR. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED SO IT DOESN'T MOVE SO EASILY. I WAS IN PENNSYLVANIA ON A BUSY 2 LANE ROAD THAT BIG FLAT BED AND TRUCKS GO DOWN AND I WAS TRAVELING AT A ABOUT 65 MPH AND I HAD MY TEENAGE DAUGHTER IN THE CAR WITH WHO WAS SLEEPING AND MOVED HER LEG IN HER SLEEP CAUSING HER TO HIT MY GEAR SHIFTER WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE AND MY CAR JUST SLOWED DOWN AND WHEN I LOOKED QUICKLY TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON IT WAS THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS ACCIDENTLY HIT KNOCKING THE CAR INTO A LOWER GEAR. I HAD THIS TRUCK HOT ON MY BUMPER HE HAD TO TAP ON HIS BREAKS A LITTLE CAUSING HIM TO SMOKE SOME WITH HIS TIRES AND I WAS ABLE TO FIND A SMALL OPENING SO I COULD HURRY AND PULL OVER. THIS HAS HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/11/2015 - CONCORD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND THE FUEL INJECTION SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANFUCTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2015 - FRANKFORT, IL
I WAS DRIVING AT A SPEED OF 50MPH AROUND A CURVE IN THE ROAD AND THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TRIED TO PUT TIN NEUTRAL AND RESTART IT, IT DID NOT TURN OVER. I PUT IT IN PARK AND AFTER 3 TRIES IT STARTED. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR. THIS HAPPENED ONCE BEFORE ON A SATURDAY AND WHEN I TOOK IT IN ON MONDAY THEY TOLD ME WITHOUT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THEY COULD NOT KNOW WHAT WAS WRONG.

View Details

WHEELS

12/2/2015 - FRANKFORT, IL
I WAS DRIVING AT A SPEED OF 50MPH AROUND A CURVE IN THE ROAD AND THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TRIED TO PUT TIN NEUTRAL AND RESTART IT, IT DID NOT TURN OVER. I PUT IT IN PARK AND AFTER 3 TRIES IT STARTED. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR. THIS HAPPENED ONCE BEFORE ON A SATURDAY AND WHEN I TOOK IT IN ON MONDAY THEY TOLD ME WITHOUT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THEY COULD NOT KNOW WHAT WAS WRONG.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/30/2015 - PLANTERSVILLE, MS
WHEN I WOULD ACCELERATE, THE CAR WOULD NOT GO. THE ETS LIGHT WOULD FLASH ON AND EVEN THOUGH YOU PRESS THE GAS PEDAL IT WOULD NOT GO. IT WOULD BE WORKING FINE ONE MINUTE - THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN STOP MOVING. IT DID THIS IS HEAVY CITY TRAFFIC WHEN I PULLED OUT WHICH TERRIFIED ME TO THE POINT I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO GET HIT. IT ALSO HAPPENED ON THE INTERSTATE IN TRAFFIC GOING 70 MPH. WAS NEARLY REAR ENDED WHEN IT ALL OF A SUDDEN DECIDED TO STOP ACCELERATING. I NEVER HAD ISSUES BEFORE SO I THOUGHT IT MAY BE BAD FUEL. I DID A FUEL TREATMENT AND THE SAME ISSUE OCCURED. JEEP DEARLERSHIP CHARGED ME A FORTUNE TO FIX WHAT THEY SAID WAS A BAD ELECTRONIC THROTTLE SYSTEM THAT WAS NOT COVERED BY RECALL IN THIS MODEL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/18/2015 - TACOMA, WA
SEVERAL INCIDENTS OCCURRED WHERE WHEN DRIVING I WOULD BE IN DRIVE MODE, BUT WHILE ON THE FREEWAY GOING 60 MPH, OUT OF NO WHERE, MY TRANSMISSION WOULD SWITCH INTO LIMP MODE GOING 0 MPH OR 5-10 MPH. I WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEMI TRUCK. ANOTHER INCIDENT OCCURRED WHEN I WAS DRIVING, AND STOPPED BY THE RED LIGHT, SOON AS I PUT THE FOOT ON THE GAS, IT WENT ON LIMP MODE AGAIN AND MY CAR COMPLETELY STOPPED AT THE INTERSECTION DRIVING IN CITY, THE LIGHT TURNED RED, AND SOMEONE FROM THE INTERSECTING DIRECTION HAD TO SWERVE BEHIND MY CAR TO AVOID ME. THE SYMPTOMS SEEN WAS THE ALL THE GEARS "P, R, N, D" WOULD BE SELECTED, THE ANTI-ROLL OVER LIGHT, ENGINE LIGHT AND TRANSMISSION HEATING LIGHT WOULD BE ON. THE RPMS WOULD REV, BUT MOST OFTEN THE MPH STILL WOULD BE '0'. AT THE SHOP AFTER RUNNING DIAGNOSTICS, THEY FOUND OCCASIONS WHERE THEY FOUND "TCM LOST COMMUNICATION WITH COMPUTER" SEVERAL TIMES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2015 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND DECELERATED. IN ADDITION, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AS AN ABNORMAL NOISE CAME FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE AND STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AFTER A WHILE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM), AND BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,846.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/16/2015 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND DECELERATED. IN ADDITION, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AS AN ABNORMAL NOISE CAME FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE AND STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AFTER A WHILE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM), AND BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,846.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds