Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 142 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Exterior Lighting (3) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Power Train (24) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (61) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

11/11/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
THIS PROBLEM WAS REPORTED IN THE FIRST MONTH OF VEHICLE PURCHASE THROUGH A SURVEY, THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT BELTS DO NOT WORK CONSISTENTLY, SOMETIMES IT LOCKS, MOST OF THE TIME IT DOESN'T. I HAD SOME INCIDENTS WHEN I NEEDED TO MAKE A SUDDEN STOP AND THE SEAT BELTS DID NOT LOCK. MY PASSENGER COMPLAINED ABOUT IT TOO. I HAVE A CONCERN THAT, IF AN ACCIDENT OCCURS, THE SEAT BELTS WILL NOT RESPOND.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/20/2014 - CYPRESS, TX
ON 8/19/14 MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT HAD 30,666 MILES. I MADE A RIGHT TURN ONTO THE HIGHWAY OUT OF A SHOPPING CENTER PARKING LOT AND AS SOON AS I HAD MADE THE TURN MY CAR STALLED OUT. I COASTED A BIT AND PULLED INTO THE PARKING LOTS NEXT ENTRANCE. I PARKED MY JEEP AND TURNED MY KEY AS IF I WAS SHUTTING MY CAR OFF AND THEN TRIED TO TURN IT BACK ON. TO MY SURPRISE IS TURNED ON AND I DROVE AROUND THE PARKING LOT A LITTLE WITHOUT ANOTHER ISSUE.. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED A JEEP DEALER BUT THEY TOLD ME UNLESS THE ISSUE HAPPENED AGAIN THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I WAS LUCKY NO ONE REAR ENDED ME. IT'S A VERY BUSY HIGHWAY. I BOUGHT A JEEP BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT'D BE A SAFE VEHICLE TO DRIVE MYSELF, MY HUSBAND AND MY 1 YEAR OLD BABY AROUND IN. AFTER THIS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY I HAVE BEEN EXTRA CAUTIOUS BECAUSE I'M AFRAID IT WILL STALL AGAIN AND WE MAY NOT BE AS LUCKY THE NEXT TIME. I HOPE THEY WILL RECALL ALL CHRYSLER VEHICLES MADE WITH THIS FAULTY FUEL PUMP. WE ALL DESERVE A SAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2014 - CYPRESS, TX
ON 8/19/14 MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT HAD 30,666 MILES. I MADE A RIGHT TURN ONTO THE HIGHWAY OUT OF A SHOPPING CENTER PARKING LOT AND AS SOON AS I HAD MADE THE TURN MY CAR STALLED OUT. I COASTED A BIT AND PULLED INTO THE PARKING LOTS NEXT ENTRANCE. I PARKED MY JEEP AND TURNED MY KEY AS IF I WAS SHUTTING MY CAR OFF AND THEN TRIED TO TURN IT BACK ON. TO MY SURPRISE IS TURNED ON AND I DROVE AROUND THE PARKING LOT A LITTLE WITHOUT ANOTHER ISSUE.. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED A JEEP DEALER BUT THEY TOLD ME UNLESS THE ISSUE HAPPENED AGAIN THEY COULDN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I WAS LUCKY NO ONE REAR ENDED ME. IT'S A VERY BUSY HIGHWAY. I BOUGHT A JEEP BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT'D BE A SAFE VEHICLE TO DRIVE MYSELF, MY HUSBAND AND MY 1 YEAR OLD BABY AROUND IN. AFTER THIS HAPPENED ON THE HIGHWAY I HAVE BEEN EXTRA CAUTIOUS BECAUSE I'M AFRAID IT WILL STALL AGAIN AND WE MAY NOT BE AS LUCKY THE NEXT TIME. I HOPE THEY WILL RECALL ALL CHRYSLER VEHICLES MADE WITH THIS FAULTY FUEL PUMP. WE ALL DESERVE A SAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/2/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT WAS STRUCK ON THE DRIVER SIDE BY A VAN. THE STATE PATROL OFFICER ESTIMATED THE SPEED ON IMPACT WAS AROUND 25 MPH FROM THE VEHICLE THAT HIT MINE BUT MAY HAVE BEEN UNDERESTIMATED BECAUSE THE CRUSH DAMAGE AND DISTANCE THE JEEP WAS PUSHED SEEMS TO INDICATE A HIGHER IMPACT/SPEED. I WAS STRUCK MY DRIVER SIDE FRONT PANEL AND DRIVER DOOR. BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED, BUT I HAD NO PASSENGER TRAVELING WITH ME. AFTER EVERYTHING SETTLED FROM BEING KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS I REALIZED THAT THE SIDE CURTAIN AND SIDE IMPACT AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. IT LOOKS LIKE IT MAY HAVE TRIED BUT FAILED AS PART OF THE AIRBAG WAS EXPOSED. I WAS TRANSPORTED TO A HOSPITAL. THEY FOUND MULTIPLE INTERNAL INJURIES AND STILL LOOKING INTO ROTATOR CUFF AREA AND TRAUMA TO IT. OTHER INJURIES INCLUDED BLEEDING/KIDNEYS BY BLOOD IN URINE, PARTIAL COLLAPSED LUNG WITH MAJOR BRUISED RIBS, CONCUSSION. THE VEHICLE WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS...UPDATED 09-09-14 UPDATED 12/16/2014

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/2/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT WAS STRUCK ON THE DRIVER SIDE BY A VAN. THE STATE PATROL OFFICER ESTIMATED THE SPEED ON IMPACT WAS AROUND 25 MPH FROM THE VEHICLE THAT HIT MINE BUT MAY HAVE BEEN UNDERESTIMATED BECAUSE THE CRUSH DAMAGE AND DISTANCE THE JEEP WAS PUSHED SEEMS TO INDICATE A HIGHER IMPACT/SPEED. I WAS STRUCK MY DRIVER SIDE FRONT PANEL AND DRIVER DOOR. BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED, BUT I HAD NO PASSENGER TRAVELING WITH ME. AFTER EVERYTHING SETTLED FROM BEING KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS I REALIZED THAT THE SIDE CURTAIN AND SIDE IMPACT AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. IT LOOKS LIKE IT MAY HAVE TRIED BUT FAILED AS PART OF THE AIRBAG WAS EXPOSED. I WAS TRANSPORTED TO A HOSPITAL. THEY FOUND MULTIPLE INTERNAL INJURIES AND STILL LOOKING INTO ROTATOR CUFF AREA AND TRAUMA TO IT. OTHER INJURIES INCLUDED BLEEDING/KIDNEYS BY BLOOD IN URINE, PARTIAL COLLAPSED LUNG WITH MAJOR BRUISED RIBS, CONCUSSION. THE VEHICLE WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS...UPDATED 09-09-14 UPDATED 12/16/2014

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - OWINGS, MD
2012 JEEP PATRIOT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIRBAGS MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD-ON COLLISION, AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2014 - HOLLOMAN AFB, NM
MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DRIVING FROM NEW MEXICO TO WYOMING. THE AVERAGE SPEEDS WERE BETWEEN 65 AND 75. AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 5 HOURS, WITH STOPS EVERY 2 HOURS TO REST AND GET GAS, THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT CAME ON AND THE JEEP LOST POWER. WE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LET IT SIT FOR ABOUT 10 MIN UNTIL THE LIGHT WENT OFF. WE DROVE THE REST OF THE WAY AT MUCH LOWER SPEEDS. BETWEEN 50 AND 60 MPH. THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEATED AGAIN ON THE WAY BACK AFTER 6 HOURS OR SO, WITH STOPS EVERY 2 HOURS. THE DEALERSHIP WE TOOK IT TO TOLD US THAT THERE WERE NO ERROR CODES, AND NO PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION OR ITS FLUID. THERE WAS NOTHING FOR THEM TO FIX. THEY ADVISED US TO STOP OFTEN IF WE WERE PLANNING ON TRAVELING FOR LONG DISTANCES. THANKFULLY (BUT VERY SCARY) WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE WHEN IT HAPPENED AND NOT IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2014 - HOLLOMAN AFB, NM
MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DRIVING FROM NEW MEXICO TO WYOMING. THE AVERAGE SPEEDS WERE BETWEEN 65 AND 75. AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 5 HOURS, WITH STOPS EVERY 2 HOURS TO REST AND GET GAS, THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT CAME ON AND THE JEEP LOST POWER. WE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LET IT SIT FOR ABOUT 10 MIN UNTIL THE LIGHT WENT OFF. WE DROVE THE REST OF THE WAY AT MUCH LOWER SPEEDS. BETWEEN 50 AND 60 MPH. THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEATED AGAIN ON THE WAY BACK AFTER 6 HOURS OR SO, WITH STOPS EVERY 2 HOURS. THE DEALERSHIP WE TOOK IT TO TOLD US THAT THERE WERE NO ERROR CODES, AND NO PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION OR ITS FLUID. THERE WAS NOTHING FOR THEM TO FIX. THEY ADVISED US TO STOP OFTEN IF WE WERE PLANNING ON TRAVELING FOR LONG DISTANCES. THANKFULLY (BUT VERY SCARY) WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE WHEN IT HAPPENED AND NOT IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/25/2014 - HOLLOMAN AFB, NM
MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DRIVING FROM NEW MEXICO TO WYOMING. THE AVERAGE SPEEDS WERE BETWEEN 65 AND 75. AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 5 HOURS, WITH STOPS EVERY 2 HOURS TO REST AND GET GAS, THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT CAME ON AND THE JEEP LOST POWER. WE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LET IT SIT FOR ABOUT 10 MIN UNTIL THE LIGHT WENT OFF. WE DROVE THE REST OF THE WAY AT MUCH LOWER SPEEDS. BETWEEN 50 AND 60 MPH. THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEATED AGAIN ON THE WAY BACK AFTER 6 HOURS OR SO, WITH STOPS EVERY 2 HOURS. THE DEALERSHIP WE TOOK IT TO TOLD US THAT THERE WERE NO ERROR CODES, AND NO PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION OR ITS FLUID. THERE WAS NOTHING FOR THEM TO FIX. THEY ADVISED US TO STOP OFTEN IF WE WERE PLANNING ON TRAVELING FOR LONG DISTANCES. THANKFULLY (BUT VERY SCARY) WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE WHEN IT HAPPENED AND NOT IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/24/2014 - BURNS, TN
WHILE DRIVING 75MPH FOR 25MILES THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEAT LIGHT CAME ON AND THE PATRIOT STARTED SLOWING ITSELF DOWN, ON THE INTERSTATE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, I READ IN THE MANUAL TO PULL OVER PUT IN NEUTRAL TILL IT COOLS OFF OR JUST DRIVE SLOW, I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN 10 TIMES SINCE REACHING 38,000 I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AND THEY ADVISED I HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC DONE AT DEALER, I DID AND THE DEALER SAID IT SHOWED NOTHING. THE DEALER SAID THERE ISN'T ANYTHING I CAN DO BECAUSE IT IS DOING WHAT IT IS DESIGNED TO DO. THEY ALSO ADDED THAT THEY HAVE HAD SEVERAL SIMILAR CVT COMPLAINTS FROM PATRIOT OWNERS. DRIVING 75 MPH SHOULD NOT OVERHEAT A TRANSMISSION. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS TO BE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE PATRIOT SLOWS ITSELF DOWN, I HAVE ALMOST GOT RUN OVER SEVERAL TIMES..I NEED CHRYSLER TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS PROBLEM AND FIND A SOLUTION BEFORE I HAVE AN ACCIDENT FROM IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds