Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 116 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Power Train (21) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (56) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/14/2013 - POTTSVILLE, PA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHILE PASSING A TRACTOR TRAILER UP A MODERATE INCLINE WHEN THE ENGINE OF MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT LATITUDE FAILED. UPON PASSING THE TRACTOR TRAILER, ALL OF THE INDICATORS ON THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO LIGHT UP - THEN THE INDICATORS, AS WELL AS MY HEADLIGHTS, COMPLETELY DIED. WHEN THE LIGHTS WENT OUT, THE ENGINE FAILED, AND MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET INTO A SMALL SPACE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY BEFORE A TRACTOR TRAILER VERY NEARLY TOOK MY LIFE. AT FIRST, I THOUGHT IT WAS THE CAR BATTERY. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 13 DAYS AGO, SO PERHAPS THE BATTERY HAD GOTTEN WEAK ON THE DEALER LOT IN THE WINTER MONTHS. AND, AFTER MY CAR WAS JUMPED, IT BEGAN TO WORK. HOWEVER, THE CAR COULD ONLY BE STARTED ONCE, AND THE ENGINE WILL NO LONGER TURN OVER. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. I DRIVE EXTENSIVELY FOR A LIVING, AND I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN THIS JEEP PATRIOT BECAUSE THE CAR FAILED COMPLETELY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS A PROBLEM WITH 2011-2012 JEEP PATRIOTS. PLEASE ENFORCE A RECALL!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/14/2013 - POTTSVILLE, PA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHILE PASSING A TRACTOR TRAILER UP A MODERATE INCLINE WHEN THE ENGINE OF MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT LATITUDE FAILED. UPON PASSING THE TRACTOR TRAILER, ALL OF THE INDICATORS ON THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO LIGHT UP - THEN THE INDICATORS, AS WELL AS MY HEADLIGHTS, COMPLETELY DIED. WHEN THE LIGHTS WENT OUT, THE ENGINE FAILED, AND MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET INTO A SMALL SPACE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY BEFORE A TRACTOR TRAILER VERY NEARLY TOOK MY LIFE. AT FIRST, I THOUGHT IT WAS THE CAR BATTERY. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 13 DAYS AGO, SO PERHAPS THE BATTERY HAD GOTTEN WEAK ON THE DEALER LOT IN THE WINTER MONTHS. AND, AFTER MY CAR WAS JUMPED, IT BEGAN TO WORK. HOWEVER, THE CAR COULD ONLY BE STARTED ONCE, AND THE ENGINE WILL NO LONGER TURN OVER. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. I DRIVE EXTENSIVELY FOR A LIVING, AND I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN THIS JEEP PATRIOT BECAUSE THE CAR FAILED COMPLETELY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS A PROBLEM WITH 2011-2012 JEEP PATRIOTS. PLEASE ENFORCE A RECALL!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/14/2013 - POTTSVILLE, PA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHILE PASSING A TRACTOR TRAILER UP A MODERATE INCLINE WHEN THE ENGINE OF MY 2012 JEEP PATRIOT LATITUDE FAILED. UPON PASSING THE TRACTOR TRAILER, ALL OF THE INDICATORS ON THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO LIGHT UP - THEN THE INDICATORS, AS WELL AS MY HEADLIGHTS, COMPLETELY DIED. WHEN THE LIGHTS WENT OUT, THE ENGINE FAILED, AND MY CAR BEGAN TO SLOW TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET INTO A SMALL SPACE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY BEFORE A TRACTOR TRAILER VERY NEARLY TOOK MY LIFE. AT FIRST, I THOUGHT IT WAS THE CAR BATTERY. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 13 DAYS AGO, SO PERHAPS THE BATTERY HAD GOTTEN WEAK ON THE DEALER LOT IN THE WINTER MONTHS. AND, AFTER MY CAR WAS JUMPED, IT BEGAN TO WORK. HOWEVER, THE CAR COULD ONLY BE STARTED ONCE, AND THE ENGINE WILL NO LONGER TURN OVER. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. I DRIVE EXTENSIVELY FOR A LIVING, AND I AM AFRAID THAT I WILL DIE IN A CAR ACCIDENT IN THIS JEEP PATRIOT BECAUSE THE CAR FAILED COMPLETELY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS AND HAVE FOUND THAT IT IS A PROBLEM WITH 2011-2012 JEEP PATRIOTS. PLEASE ENFORCE A RECALL!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2013 - NORCROSS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH UPHILL, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATED TO 35 MPH. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2013 - MARINA, CA
I HAVE A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, I PURCHASED NEW ABOUT A YEAR 9 MOUTHS AGO, IT HAVE 13000.00 MILES, I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY ABOUT 60 MPH AND THE ENGINE QUIT RUNNING AS IF IT RAN OUT OF GAS, I PULLED OVER IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC AND TRIED STARTING AFTER CHECKING FUSES AND ALL POSSIBILITIES. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER AND NOW THE FUN BEGINS. AFTER 2 HOURS AND DROPPING THE CAR AT THE DEALER THE CAR STARTED, I LEFT THE CAR AT THE DEALER AND THEY SAID NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. AFTER INVESTIGATING THE WEB I FOUND THIS SITE AND WE PRESENT THE INFORMATION I FOUND HERE TO THE DEALER, THE DEALER WANTS TO RETURN TO CAR AND AT THIS TIME I AM NOT WILLING TO EXCEPT THE CAR WITH THIS UNSAFE CONDITION. JEEP SHOULD RECALL THESE CARS AND FIX ASAP BEFORE A FATALITY TAKES PLACE. THE JEEP DEALER WILL NOT DO ANYTHING AT THIS POINT. I WOULD LIKE A SUGGESTION BECAUSE THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

10/31/2013 - VINELAND, NJ
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR FELT LIKE IT PULLED BACK THEN JUST SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD THANKFULLY THERE WASN'T A CAR BEHIND ME OR THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AFTER A FEW TRIES THE CAR STARTED, SO I DROVE IT HOME THEN THE NEXT MORNING I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THEY STATED AFTER GETTING IT BACK TO ME 2 DAYS LATER THAT THERE WASN'T A CODE, SO THEY'D CLEARED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND GAVE IT BACK TO ME. THE FOLLOWING WEEK I'M DRIVING DOWN THE MAIN ROAD ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AND THE CAR DOES THE SAME THING. THIS TIME IT WAS REALLY SCARY, BECAUSE IT WAS RUSH HOUR AND I ALMOST GOT HIT BY A CAR. I ATTEMPTED TO START IT SEVERAL TIMES THEN SAT FOR A BIT WITH THE FOUR WAYS THEN TRIED IT AGAIN. IT STARTED UP AND I DROVE IT RIGHT TO THE DEALER. I WAS SO SHAKEN IT TOOK A FEW MINUTES BEFORE I FINALLY LET THEM KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AGAIN. I LEFT THE CAR WITH THEM THEN THE NEXT DAY THEY CALLED ME TO COME GET IT. I WENT IN WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT IT HAD BEEN THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR THAT HAD CAUSED THE PROBLEM. I'M TRULY AFRAID TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE I KEEP WONDERING IF IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. I NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY USED CARS, BUT I GOT A NEW CAR THINKING I WOULDN'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING AND NOW I HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THIS CAR TURNING OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/31/2013 - VINELAND, NJ
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR FELT LIKE IT PULLED BACK THEN JUST SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD THANKFULLY THERE WASN'T A CAR BEHIND ME OR THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AFTER A FEW TRIES THE CAR STARTED, SO I DROVE IT HOME THEN THE NEXT MORNING I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THEY STATED AFTER GETTING IT BACK TO ME 2 DAYS LATER THAT THERE WASN'T A CODE, SO THEY'D CLEARED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND GAVE IT BACK TO ME. THE FOLLOWING WEEK I'M DRIVING DOWN THE MAIN ROAD ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AND THE CAR DOES THE SAME THING. THIS TIME IT WAS REALLY SCARY, BECAUSE IT WAS RUSH HOUR AND I ALMOST GOT HIT BY A CAR. I ATTEMPTED TO START IT SEVERAL TIMES THEN SAT FOR A BIT WITH THE FOUR WAYS THEN TRIED IT AGAIN. IT STARTED UP AND I DROVE IT RIGHT TO THE DEALER. I WAS SO SHAKEN IT TOOK A FEW MINUTES BEFORE I FINALLY LET THEM KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AGAIN. I LEFT THE CAR WITH THEM THEN THE NEXT DAY THEY CALLED ME TO COME GET IT. I WENT IN WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT IT HAD BEEN THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR THAT HAD CAUSED THE PROBLEM. I'M TRULY AFRAID TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE I KEEP WONDERING IF IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. I NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY USED CARS, BUT I GOT A NEW CAR THINKING I WOULDN'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING AND NOW I HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THIS CAR TURNING OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/31/2013 - VINELAND, NJ
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CAR FELT LIKE IT PULLED BACK THEN JUST SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD THANKFULLY THERE WASN'T A CAR BEHIND ME OR THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AFTER A FEW TRIES THE CAR STARTED, SO I DROVE IT HOME THEN THE NEXT MORNING I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THEY STATED AFTER GETTING IT BACK TO ME 2 DAYS LATER THAT THERE WASN'T A CODE, SO THEY'D CLEARED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND GAVE IT BACK TO ME. THE FOLLOWING WEEK I'M DRIVING DOWN THE MAIN ROAD ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AND THE CAR DOES THE SAME THING. THIS TIME IT WAS REALLY SCARY, BECAUSE IT WAS RUSH HOUR AND I ALMOST GOT HIT BY A CAR. I ATTEMPTED TO START IT SEVERAL TIMES THEN SAT FOR A BIT WITH THE FOUR WAYS THEN TRIED IT AGAIN. IT STARTED UP AND I DROVE IT RIGHT TO THE DEALER. I WAS SO SHAKEN IT TOOK A FEW MINUTES BEFORE I FINALLY LET THEM KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AGAIN. I LEFT THE CAR WITH THEM THEN THE NEXT DAY THEY CALLED ME TO COME GET IT. I WENT IN WHERE THEY TOLD ME THAT IT HAD BEEN THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR THAT HAD CAUSED THE PROBLEM. I'M TRULY AFRAID TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE I KEEP WONDERING IF IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. I NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY USED CARS, BUT I GOT A NEW CAR THINKING I WOULDN'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING AND NOW I HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THIS CAR TURNING OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2013 - TUCSON, AZ
WHILE TRAVELING AT 75 MPH ON LEVEL SURFACE THE TACHOMETER BRIEFLY SPIKED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS, THE VEHICLE'S ELECTRIC ACCESSORIES REMAINED ON, BUT THERE WAS NO THROTTLE RESPONSE. THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE WAS IN THE UPPER 90S, THE FUEL TANK WAS ABOVE 1/4 FULL AND THE DRIVER WAS 2.5 HOURS INTO A 3.25 HOUR TRIP. THE VEHICLE COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE AND REPORTED NO DIAGNOSTIC ERRORS OR CODES. THE DRIVER COLLECTED THE VEHICLE, FILLED THE FUEL TANK AND BEGAN THE 3.25 HOUR RETURN TRIP. WHILE TRAVELING AT 75 MPH, APPROX 2.75 HOURS INTO THE RETURN TRIP THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AGAIN. AFTER SITTING AT THE EDGE OF THE HIGHWAY FOR ALMOST 20 MIN, THE DRIVER HEARD A RELAY CLICK FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO START THE CAR. THE VEHICLE STARTED AND RAN NORMALLY FOR AN ADDITIONAL 10 MINUTES BEFORE STALLING AGAIN WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS THE PREVIOUS TWO INSTANCES: A BRIEF SPIKE FROM THE TACH THEN NO THROTTLE RESPONSE. THE DRIVER AGAIN WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER A 15-20 REST AND CONTINUED OFF THE HIGHWAY AND ONTO SIDE STREETS WITH NO FURTHER OCCURRENCES. THE ISSUE RECURRED ON A SUBSEQUENT LONG TRIP APPROX ONE MONTH LATER WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS. UPON GETTING THE VEHICLE BACK INTO THE CITY IT WAS AGAIN TAKEN TO A DIFFERENT DEALER WHO DISCOVERED NO DIAGNOSTIC CODES OR ERRORS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/1/2013 - TUCSON, AZ
AFTER FILLING UP VEHICLE WITH GAS AND DRIVING FOR AT LEAST 30 MINUTES, WHEN PARKED IN THE GARAGE THE SMELL OF GAS FUMES WOULD PERMEATE THE ENTIRE HOUSE. WE REPLICATED THIS SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FUMES WERE SO STRONG THAT WE WOULD HAVE TO LEAVE THE HOUSE FOR SEVERAL HOURS WITH THE WINDOWS OPEN TO VENTILATE. I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE VAPORS CAUSING AN EXPLOSION WITH THE GAS WATER HEATER IN THE GARAGE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY INSISTED NOTHING WAS WRONG AFTER HAVING CHECKED IT TWICE. I REFUSED TO TAKE IT BACK SINCE IT WAS A SAFETY RISK TO MY FAMILY TO BE AT THE HOUSE. CHRYSLER RESPONDED THE DEALERSHIP'S REQUEST FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS ISSUE BY REPLACING THE FUEL TANK AND VAPOR CANISTER. THERE WAS NO PUDDLE OR APPARENT LEAK UNDER THE VEHICLE AT ANY TIME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds