Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 109 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Power Train (19) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (53) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2013 - TUCSON, AZ
WHILE TRAVELING AT 75 MPH ON LEVEL SURFACE THE TACHOMETER BRIEFLY SPIKED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS, THE VEHICLE'S ELECTRIC ACCESSORIES REMAINED ON, BUT THERE WAS NO THROTTLE RESPONSE. THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE WAS IN THE UPPER 90S, THE FUEL TANK WAS ABOVE 1/4 FULL AND THE DRIVER WAS 2.5 HOURS INTO A 3.25 HOUR TRIP. THE VEHICLE COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP TECHNICIAN WAS ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE AND REPORTED NO DIAGNOSTIC ERRORS OR CODES. THE DRIVER COLLECTED THE VEHICLE, FILLED THE FUEL TANK AND BEGAN THE 3.25 HOUR RETURN TRIP. WHILE TRAVELING AT 75 MPH, APPROX 2.75 HOURS INTO THE RETURN TRIP THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AGAIN. AFTER SITTING AT THE EDGE OF THE HIGHWAY FOR ALMOST 20 MIN, THE DRIVER HEARD A RELAY CLICK FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO START THE CAR. THE VEHICLE STARTED AND RAN NORMALLY FOR AN ADDITIONAL 10 MINUTES BEFORE STALLING AGAIN WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS THE PREVIOUS TWO INSTANCES: A BRIEF SPIKE FROM THE TACH THEN NO THROTTLE RESPONSE. THE DRIVER AGAIN WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER A 15-20 REST AND CONTINUED OFF THE HIGHWAY AND ONTO SIDE STREETS WITH NO FURTHER OCCURRENCES. THE ISSUE RECURRED ON A SUBSEQUENT LONG TRIP APPROX ONE MONTH LATER WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS. UPON GETTING THE VEHICLE BACK INTO THE CITY IT WAS AGAIN TAKEN TO A DIFFERENT DEALER WHO DISCOVERED NO DIAGNOSTIC CODES OR ERRORS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/1/2013 - TUCSON, AZ
AFTER FILLING UP VEHICLE WITH GAS AND DRIVING FOR AT LEAST 30 MINUTES, WHEN PARKED IN THE GARAGE THE SMELL OF GAS FUMES WOULD PERMEATE THE ENTIRE HOUSE. WE REPLICATED THIS SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FUMES WERE SO STRONG THAT WE WOULD HAVE TO LEAVE THE HOUSE FOR SEVERAL HOURS WITH THE WINDOWS OPEN TO VENTILATE. I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE VAPORS CAUSING AN EXPLOSION WITH THE GAS WATER HEATER IN THE GARAGE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY INSISTED NOTHING WAS WRONG AFTER HAVING CHECKED IT TWICE. I REFUSED TO TAKE IT BACK SINCE IT WAS A SAFETY RISK TO MY FAMILY TO BE AT THE HOUSE. CHRYSLER RESPONDED THE DEALERSHIP'S REQUEST FOR ASSISTANCE WITH THIS ISSUE BY REPLACING THE FUEL TANK AND VAPOR CANISTER. THERE WAS NO PUDDLE OR APPARENT LEAK UNDER THE VEHICLE AT ANY TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/14/2013 - CALEDONIA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER RECEIVING A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V120000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE), THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALER THAT THEY WOULD NOT HAVE THE PART TO REMEDY THE RECALL FOR SEVEN WEEKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SEVEN WEEKS WAS TO LONG TO WAIT TO REPAIR A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/8/2013 - ELMIRA, NY
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE SEVERAL MONTHS AGO (I DO NOT HAVE THE EXACT DATE AS THE NOTICES ARE NOT DATED NOR POSTMARKED) REGARDING THE FUEL TANK TRANSFER TUBE. I CALLED THE DEALER AS SOON AS I RECEIVED THE NOTICE, AND WAS TOLD THAT CHRYSLER/JEEP HAD NOT RELEASED A PART NUMBER YET. WHEN I CALLED SEVERAL WEEKS LATER, I WAS TOLD THAT THE DEALER NOW HAS A PART NUMBER AND IS ORDERING THE PART. TODAY, WHEN I CALLED AGAIN, I WAS TOLD THAT JEEP IS ONLY SENDING ONE PART EVERY 2 WEEKS AND THAT THE DEALER IS WORKING OFF OF A WAITING LIST AND I MAY NOT BE CALLED FOR ANOTHER MONTH. THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE. IF THE VEHICLE MALFUNCTIONS IN THE WAY THAT IT IS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL NOTICE, MY CAR COULD STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF A HIGHWAY WHICH PUTS ME AT RISK OF BEING HIT BY OTHER VEHICLES AND KILLED. I HOPE THAT SOMETHING CAN BE DONE TO EXPEDITE THESE PARTS GETTING TO ALL OF THE OWNERS OF THESE JEEPS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/5/2013 - CARSON CITY, NV
2012 JEEP PATRIOT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO FUEL TANK TRANSFER RECALL NOTICE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE RECALL ISSUE, HAS NOT BEEN REMEDIED, AND IT HAS BEEN SIX MONTHS. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE WENT TO THE DEALER, THE VEHICLE SAT ALL DAY AND THE FOLLOWING DAY, WHEN HE WENT TO THE DEALER, THEY WERE NO WHERE NEAR SERVICING THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 08/15/13

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2013 - BELTON, MO
ENGINE STALLS OUT AND LOSS OF POWER STEERING, BRAKE, AT HIGHWAY SPEED CAUSED ME TO VEER OFF THE ROAD SEVERAL TIMES. COULDN'T STOP DURING ONE ENGINE STALL IN TOWN AND TURNED INTO A CVS PHARMACY LOT AND CRASHED INTO AND ISLAND CURB, ENGINE STALL PULLED OF HWY INTO A CEMETERY AND HIT A POST DURING A STALL WHILE TURNING BECAUSE OF LOSS OF POWER STEERING. WHILE PULLING TO SHOULDER JEEP SWAYED AND PULLED INTO DITCH WHEN ENGINE STALLED AT HWY SPEED. WHILE TRYING TO CORRECT THE VEHICLE WENT AIR BORN AT NIGHT...

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/1/2013 - BELTON, MO
ENGINE STALLS OUT AND LOSS OF POWER STEERING, BRAKE, AT HIGHWAY SPEED CAUSED ME TO VEER OFF THE ROAD SEVERAL TIMES. COULDN'T STOP DURING ONE ENGINE STALL IN TOWN AND TURNED INTO A CVS PHARMACY LOT AND CRASHED INTO AND ISLAND CURB, ENGINE STALL PULLED OF HWY INTO A CEMETERY AND HIT A POST DURING A STALL WHILE TURNING BECAUSE OF LOSS OF POWER STEERING. WHILE PULLING TO SHOULDER JEEP SWAYED AND PULLED INTO DITCH WHEN ENGINE STALLED AT HWY SPEED. WHILE TRYING TO CORRECT THE VEHICLE WENT AIR BORN AT NIGHT...

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/1/2013 - BELTON, MO
ENGINE STALLS OUT AND LOSS OF POWER STEERING, BRAKE, AT HIGHWAY SPEED CAUSED ME TO VEER OFF THE ROAD SEVERAL TIMES. COULDN'T STOP DURING ONE ENGINE STALL IN TOWN AND TURNED INTO A CVS PHARMACY LOT AND CRASHED INTO AND ISLAND CURB, ENGINE STALL PULLED OF HWY INTO A CEMETERY AND HIT A POST DURING A STALL WHILE TURNING BECAUSE OF LOSS OF POWER STEERING. WHILE PULLING TO SHOULDER JEEP SWAYED AND PULLED INTO DITCH WHEN ENGINE STALLED AT HWY SPEED. WHILE TRYING TO CORRECT THE VEHICLE WENT AIR BORN AT NIGHT...

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/31/2013 - BECKLEY, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 13V120000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) OVER A MONTH AGO AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE ABOUT THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2013 - LAKEWOOD , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WERE TWO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBERS 13V120000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) AND 13V233000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , SEAT BELTS) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY COULD NOT PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE REMEDY PARTS. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds