Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2012 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 84 complaints filed for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (13) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2013 - FLORENCE, MS
THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED APPROXIMATELY TWO WEEKS PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT WITH JUST SHY OF 15000 MILES ON IT. TWO SEPARATE TWO TO THREE HOUR TRIPS WERE MADE IN THE VEHICLE BEFORE THE INCIDENT WITH NO PROBLEMS. ON THE TAIL END OF A TWO AND A HALF HOUR TRIP, AFTER CRUISING BETWEEN 70 TO 75 MPH ON A MAJOR INTERSTATE, ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE'S RPMS SHOT UP AND THE ENGINE LOST POWER. THE VEHICLES BEHIND ME NEARLY REAR ENDED ME. I COASTED TO THE SHOULDER, PUT THE VEHICLE INTO PARK, AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF. I THEN CRANKED THE VEHICLE AND CONTINUED DRIVING. THE SAME INCIDENT HAPPENED AGAIN APPROXIMATELY FIFTEEN MILES FURTHER. I PULLED OVER, TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF, AND THEN TURNED IT BACK ON, ATTEMPTING TO REACH MY DESTINATION IF POSSIBLE. THIS INCIDENT THEN HAPPENED A THIRD TIME, APPROXIMATELY 5 TO 10 MILES FURTHER, ONCE AGAIN ON THE SAME INTERSTATE, BUT THIS TIME IN THE MIDDLE OF CITY TRAFFIC. I COASTED TO THE SHOULDER AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. AT THIS POINT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. WE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED AND SENT TO A DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY COULD NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. THE CPU DID NOT REPORT ANY ERROR CODES. EACH TIME THIS HAPPENED, I WAS NEARLY REAR ENDED AS I WAS CRUISING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE IS STILL BEING INSPECTED, BUT THE DEALERSHIPS CANNOT SEEM TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM, WHICH IS A BIG PROBLEM BECAUSE I WILL BE MOVING ACROSS COUNTRY IN TWO MONTHS AND CANNOT RISK THIS HAPPENING AGAIN. THIS VEHICLE AS IT STANDS IS A DANGER NOT ONLY TO THE DRIVER BUT FOR OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD NEAR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2013 - TOWSON, MD
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK, I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO STOP BEHIND A BUS BUT THEN HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO PASS THE BUS. AS I TRIED TO SWITCH LANES, MY CAR STALLED AND I WAS STUCK IN BETWEEN TWO LANES. I HAD TO SLOWLY DRIFT MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND COULD HARDLY STEER IT. ONCE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD I TRIED TO RESTART BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. AFTER SITTING FOR FIVE MINUTES, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE WITHOUT A PROBLEM. THE FIRST DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IT COULD HAVE STALLED BECAUSE IT WAS WET OUTSIDE, WHICH IS COMPLETELY UNREASONABLE. AT THE SECOND DEALERSHIP, I DIDN'T RECEIVE A MUCH BETTER EXPLANATION. THEY SAID THAT IT COULD HAVE BEEN STATIC ELECTRICITY WHICH CAUSED IT TO TURN OFF. AS OF RIGHT NOW, IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN BUT IT HAS NOT BEEN A WEEK SINCE THE INCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2013 - TOWSON, MD
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK, I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO STOP BEHIND A BUS BUT THEN HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO PASS THE BUS. AS I TRIED TO SWITCH LANES, MY CAR STALLED AND I WAS STUCK IN BETWEEN TWO LANES. I HAD TO SLOWLY DRIFT MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND COULD HARDLY STEER IT. ONCE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD I TRIED TO RESTART BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. AFTER SITTING FOR FIVE MINUTES, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE WITHOUT A PROBLEM. THE FIRST DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IT COULD HAVE STALLED BECAUSE IT WAS WET OUTSIDE, WHICH IS COMPLETELY UNREASONABLE. AT THE SECOND DEALERSHIP, I DIDN'T RECEIVE A MUCH BETTER EXPLANATION. THEY SAID THAT IT COULD HAVE BEEN STATIC ELECTRICITY WHICH CAUSED IT TO TURN OFF. AS OF RIGHT NOW, IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN BUT IT HAS NOT BEEN A WEEK SINCE THE INCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

3/5/2013 - TOWSON, MD
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK, I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO STOP BEHIND A BUS BUT THEN HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO PASS THE BUS. AS I TRIED TO SWITCH LANES, MY CAR STALLED AND I WAS STUCK IN BETWEEN TWO LANES. I HAD TO SLOWLY DRIFT MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND COULD HARDLY STEER IT. ONCE PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD I TRIED TO RESTART BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. AFTER SITTING FOR FIVE MINUTES, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE WITHOUT A PROBLEM. THE FIRST DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IT COULD HAVE STALLED BECAUSE IT WAS WET OUTSIDE, WHICH IS COMPLETELY UNREASONABLE. AT THE SECOND DEALERSHIP, I DIDN'T RECEIVE A MUCH BETTER EXPLANATION. THEY SAID THAT IT COULD HAVE BEEN STATIC ELECTRICITY WHICH CAUSED IT TO TURN OFF. AS OF RIGHT NOW, IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN BUT IT HAS NOT BEEN A WEEK SINCE THE INCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/2/2013 - SELLERSBURG, IN
ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AT HIGHWAY SPEED ON CRUISE CONTROL. INSTANT ENGINE STALL. FUEL GAUGE READS 3/8 FULL. THIS HAPPENED TWICE IN THE SPAN OF 5 HOURS. FIRST STALL - TOWED TO DEALERSHIP IN BOWLING GREEN KY. THE ENGINE STARTED RIGHT UP AT THE DEALERSHIP. NO ENGINE FAULT CODES WERE AVAILABLE. DEALERSHIP BLAMED IT ON BAD GAS. SECOND STALL - SAME CONDITIONS NEAR MEMPHIS TN. AAA ADDED ONE GALLON OF FUEL, THE ENGINE STARTED RIGHT UP. WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE THE TRIP AS LONG AS WE KEPT THE FUEL ABOVE 1/2 TANK FULL. BOTH INCIDENTS COULD HAVE BEEN A CRASH HAD THERE BEEN TRAFFIC, FORTUNATELY WE COASTED TO THE SHOULDER.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2013 - SELLERSBURG, IN
ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AT HIGHWAY SPEED ON CRUISE CONTROL. INSTANT ENGINE STALL. FUEL GAUGE READS 3/8 FULL. THIS HAPPENED TWICE IN THE SPAN OF 5 HOURS. FIRST STALL - TOWED TO DEALERSHIP IN BOWLING GREEN KY. THE ENGINE STARTED RIGHT UP AT THE DEALERSHIP. NO ENGINE FAULT CODES WERE AVAILABLE. DEALERSHIP BLAMED IT ON BAD GAS. SECOND STALL - SAME CONDITIONS NEAR MEMPHIS TN. AAA ADDED ONE GALLON OF FUEL, THE ENGINE STARTED RIGHT UP. WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE THE TRIP AS LONG AS WE KEPT THE FUEL ABOVE 1/2 TANK FULL. BOTH INCIDENTS COULD HAVE BEEN A CRASH HAD THERE BEEN TRAFFIC, FORTUNATELY WE COASTED TO THE SHOULDER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/22/2013 - AURORA, IL
DRIVING SOUTH ON I57 IN ILLINOIS AND VEHICLE STALLED. THIS HAPPENED PREVIOUSLY AT 6000 MILES IN MARCH WHILE I WAS ON I55, AND THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT THE SECONDARY FUEL PUMP WAS BAD. IT WAS REPLACED AND NOW I AM AT 26,000 MILES AND IT HAS STALLED AGAIN. EACH INCIDENT THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED WITH APPROXIMATELY 3/8 OF A TANK OF GAS. IT CAUSES ME TO HAVE TO MANEUVER THROUGH TRAFFIC TO PULL TO THE SIDE WHILE THE VEHICLE IS RAPIDLY SLOWING AND VEHICLES BEHIND ME DON'T KNOW HOW TO REACT. LUCKILY, NEITHER INCIDENT HAS RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT BUT CLEARLY THE FUEL PUMP NEEDS TO BE REDESIGNED, RECALLED AND REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2013 - BROADVIEW HTS, OH
STOPPED MY 2012 PATRIOT AT A LIGHT TO TURN LEFT. I STEPPED ON GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE FORWARD BUT NO ACCELERATION/REVVING OCCURRED. WHEN THE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED NO RESISTANCE WAS FELT BUT RATHER THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING TWICE. I REPEATED THIS AGAIN WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING. ON THE THIRD ATTEMPT THE PATRIOT ACCELERATED FORWARD. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID TO TURN OFF ENGINE AND RESTART THE VEHICLE TO GET THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN SYNC. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ON HIGHWAY FOR 30 MINUTES THEN 15 CITY TRAFFIC, AIR TEMP 38 DEGREES, PAVEMENT DRY TO WET (MELTING SNOW).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/10/2013 - BROADVIEW HTS, OH
STOPPED MY 2012 PATRIOT AT A LIGHT TO TURN LEFT. I STEPPED ON GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE FORWARD BUT NO ACCELERATION/REVVING OCCURRED. WHEN THE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED NO RESISTANCE WAS FELT BUT RATHER THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING TWICE. I REPEATED THIS AGAIN WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING. ON THE THIRD ATTEMPT THE PATRIOT ACCELERATED FORWARD. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID TO TURN OFF ENGINE AND RESTART THE VEHICLE TO GET THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN SYNC. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ON HIGHWAY FOR 30 MINUTES THEN 15 CITY TRAFFIC, AIR TEMP 38 DEGREES, PAVEMENT DRY TO WET (MELTING SNOW).

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2013 - BROADVIEW HTS, OH
STOPPED MY 2012 PATRIOT AT A LIGHT TO TURN LEFT. I STEPPED ON GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE FORWARD BUT NO ACCELERATION/REVVING OCCURRED. WHEN THE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED NO RESISTANCE WAS FELT BUT RATHER THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING TWICE. I REPEATED THIS AGAIN WITH NO ACCELERATION/REVVING. ON THE THIRD ATTEMPT THE PATRIOT ACCELERATED FORWARD. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID TO TURN OFF ENGINE AND RESTART THE VEHICLE TO GET THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IN SYNC. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ON HIGHWAY FOR 30 MINUTES THEN 15 CITY TRAFFIC, AIR TEMP 38 DEGREES, PAVEMENT DRY TO WET (MELTING SNOW).

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds