Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 180 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (31) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (6) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (74) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/7/2015 - TOWNSEND, MA
MY 2012 KIA SORENTO WAS RUNNING FINE, NO WARNING WHATSOEVER. I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN I HEARD A FLUTTER NOISE THAT TURNED INTO A KNOCKING SOUND. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO DEALER. TOW TRUCK DRIVER STARTED THE CAR AND DROVE IT APPROXIMATELY 60 FT TO A PARKING SPOT. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER I HAD CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE AND THAT THE ENGINE WAS SEIZED TIGHT (WHICH WAS NOT TRUE AT ALL) DUE TO NEGLECT. I HAVE PROVIDED KIA CORP. AND THE DEALER WITH ALL OF THE SERVICE RECORDS AS WELL AS THE OIL PURCHASE RECEIPTS, OIL FILTER RECEIPTS AND OIL CHANGE RECORDS. OIL CHANGES WERE PERFORMED TO WHAT KIA'S MANUAL SUGGESTS. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH AND HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS KIA OWNERS WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE I HAD. THEIR COMPLAINTS ARE ALMOST EXACTLY WORD FOR WORD WHAT HAPPENED TO MY KIA. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS...MOST KIA OWNERS HAD THIS CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY OR WHEN THEIR TEENAGERS WERE DRIVING. KIA HAS A CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT AGAINST THEM FOR THIS VERY REASON. PLEASE DO SOMETHING BEFORE SOMEONE REALLY GETS HURT. I WAS VERY LUCKY THERE WAS NOT A LOT OF TRAFFIC AND WAS ABLE TO GET OFF OF THE HIGHWAY. IF THERE WERE TRAFFIC AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO GET OFF OF THE HIGHWAY.. IT COULD GAVE RESULTED IN MUCH WORSE. PLEASE I AM BEGGING YOU TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. I HAVE CAME ACROSS SO MANY PEOPLE IN STORES, RESTAURANTS, AND DEALERS WHILE LOOKING FOR ANOTHER CAR TO BE ABLE TO GET MY CHILD TO AND FROM SCHOOL, FOOTBALL, ETC. I STILL HAVE A LOAN ON MY KIA AND NOW HAVE ANOTHER LOAN BECAUSE THIS ISSUE. KIA HAS BASED MY WARRANTY REPAIR ON PICTURES THE DEALER TOOK. THEY ABSOLUTELY REFUSE TO LISTEN TO ME NOR HELP ME. I BEGGED AND PLEADED WITH THEM TO LOOK FURTHER INTO IT AND THEY WANTED NOTHING TO DO WITH IT. THEN I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE THEY COULD DO AND I NEEDED TO GET MY CAR OFF OF THEIR LOT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2015 - GRANDVALLEY, PA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY AT 55 MILES PER HOUR WITH A SEMI TRACTOR TRAILER BEHIND ME. MY KIA SORENTO JUST SHUT OFF. I JUST PULLED OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY IN TIME SO I WOULDN'T GET HIT BY THE SEMI. IT TOOK ME ABOUT 6 HOURS TO GET MY CAR HOME. I WAS OUT IN WHERE THERE WASN'T A GARAGE OR NOTHING AROUND. AFTER GETTING IT HOME AND JUMP START THE BATTERY IT STARTED. THEN ON 4/22/15 I WAS TAKING MY WIFE TO A APPOINTMENT AND IT DID THE SAME THING AND THE ENGINE IS KNOCKING BEFORE IT SHUT OFF GOING DONE HIGHWAY. I BOUGHT THIS KIA USED WITH 52,000 MILES ON IT IN JULY 2014. HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR 6 MONTHS OR 36000. WELL 6 MONTHS IS PASSED AND NOW I AM STRUCK WITH THIS PROBLEM. CALLED DEALER WHERE I GOT IT. THEY WONT HELP. I HOPE THAT YOU CAN HELP ME WITH THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE IT IS A DANGEROUS THING THAT THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY. I AM PAYING FOR A CAR THAT IS FAULTY AND THEY MISLEAD YOU ON THE MILEAGE TO. ONLY GET 20-23 AT 55 MILES PER HOUR. NOT NOW 30 OR SO LIKE THEY SAY. I HOPE YOU CAN HELP ME. I STILL HAVE TO GET MY CAR YET. IT IS GETTING PRICEY TO KEEP A CAR THAT SUPPOSE TO BE GOOD CAR. THANK YOU [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE ONLY OCCURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THERE WAS NO FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/14/2015 - ANNANDALE, MN
DRIVING ON A TWO LANE STATE HIGHWAY IN MINNESOTA (HWY 55) ON A SUNNY, 60 DEGREE DAY, I HEARD AN EXPLOSION ON THE SUN ROOF DIRECTLY OVER MY HEAD. AS I GLANCED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR, I NOTICED THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME SLOWING DOWN AND DEBRIS FLYING TOWARD THAT CAR. THERE WAS CRACKING AND THE SOUNDS OF DEBRIS HITTING MY CAR, LUCKILY THE INTERIOR COVER WAS ON SO THE GLASS DID NOT GET INSIDE MY VEHICLE. I PULLED OVER AS SOON AS I COULD AND FOUND THE SUN ROOF GLASS ENTIRELY SHATTERED, MANY PIECES HAVING BLOWN OFF AND SOME HANGING ON TO THE SIDE RAILS. I DON'T RECALL HEARING ANY ROCK OR OBJECT HITTING THE SUN ROOF BEFORE THE EXPLOSION SO AM WONDERING IF THE GLASS WAS FAULTY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2015 - MIDLAND, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE ENGINE SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER FOR UNKNOWN REPAIRS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,381.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2015 - CRAWFORDVILLE, FL
HAVE TO REPLACE THE BULB IN MY HEADLIGHT. USED TO BE EVERY 4-5 MONTHS. NOW, IT'S 3 TIMES IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. AFTER TAKING IT TO SHOP, WIRING IS SHORTING OUT, MELTING PLASTIC AROUND BULB AND CONNECTION TO CAR. CAN NOT JUST REPLACE LITTLE SOCKET, LIKE IN MOST CARS, KIA WANTS YOU TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE WIRING HARNESS, TO THE TUNE OF OVER $500 FOR THE PART ALONE, NOT COUNTING LABOR. AFTER SEARCHING ONLINE, FOUND THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE FOR THE LAST 9-10 YEARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/29/2015 - SARASOTA, FL
THE FIRST INCIDENT OCCURRED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. I WENT TO ACCELERATE AND REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD SHUT ITSELF OFF. I PUT IT IN PARK, AND RESTARTED IT WITHOUT INCIDENT. WHEN I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND THAT I SHOULD BRING IT IN AS SOON AS IT HAPPENS NEXT TIME. THE SECOND TIME, MARCH 28, 2015, I WAS TRYING TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT WHEN I WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. AGAIN, I REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD STALLED, SO I PUT IT INTO PARK, AND RESTARTED IT. WHILE THERE WAS NO HARM DONE, MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS WILL HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING AT A HIGHER SPEED, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE SEEN THIS SAME OCCURRENCE IN OTHER REVIEWS AND WONDER WHY THIS IS NOT MORE OF A CONCERN FOR THE MANUFACTURERS. WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR A RECALL?

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2015 - SARASOTA, FL
THE FIRST INCIDENT OCCURRED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. I WENT TO ACCELERATE AND REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD SHUT ITSELF OFF. I PUT IT IN PARK, AND RESTARTED IT WITHOUT INCIDENT. WHEN I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND THAT I SHOULD BRING IT IN AS SOON AS IT HAPPENS NEXT TIME. THE SECOND TIME, MARCH 28, 2015, I WAS TRYING TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT WHEN I WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. AGAIN, I REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD STALLED, SO I PUT IT INTO PARK, AND RESTARTED IT. WHILE THERE WAS NO HARM DONE, MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS WILL HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING AT A HIGHER SPEED, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE SEEN THIS SAME OCCURRENCE IN OTHER REVIEWS AND WONDER WHY THIS IS NOT MORE OF A CONCERN FOR THE MANUFACTURERS. WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR A RECALL?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ON MONDAY, MARCH 23 AT 8 PM, I ARRIVED HOME AND PARKED MY CAR IN OUR DRIVEWAY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. I LOVED UP AND WENT INSIDE. AT 4:30 AM WEDNESDAY MORNING, MY SON CAME INTO OUR BEDROOM SAYING BE THOUGHT SUNSHINE WAS TRYING TO BREAK INTO MY CAR BECAUSE THE CAR ALARM WAS GOING OFF. I WENT TO THE WINDOW TO LOOK OUT, AND IMMEDIATELY SEE THAT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FLAMES APPEARED TO BE COMING FROM THE LEFT DRIVER'S SIDE TAIL LIGHT. WE CALLED 911. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED THE WHOLE BACK HALF OF THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE WAS ROARING. THE CAR WAS TOTALED. AN ARSON INVESTIGATOR ROLLED OUT ARSON. IT WAS THE CRAZIEST THING I HAVE EVER WITNESSED AND IT WAS TERRIFYINGLY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. THE FIRE WAS ALREADY IN OUR YARD WHEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. I SHUTTER TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF MY SON HAD NOT WOOLEN UP WHEN HE HAD. THE FIRE WAS SO CLOSE TO THE GAS TANK, WE ARE LUCKY THERE WANT A FULL ON EXPLOSION. THE WEATHER WAS MILD AND DRY WHEN IT HAPPENED AND THERE WAS NO DEFERRED MAINTENANCE ON THE CAR. I SIMPLY CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FIRE. MY BEST GUESS IS THAT SOMETHING SET OF THE CAR ALARM WHICH ON TURN SHORTED AND SPARKED THE FIRE IN THE FLASHING REAR LIGHTS. IT WAS A CERTIFIED USED VEHICLE AND IN PERFECT CONDITION THAT I PURCHASED IN SEPTEMBER 2014.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/27/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ON MONDAY, MARCH 23 AT 8 PM, I ARRIVED HOME AND PARKED MY CAR IN OUR DRIVEWAY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. I LOVED UP AND WENT INSIDE. AT 4:30 AM WEDNESDAY MORNING, MY SON CAME INTO OUR BEDROOM SAYING BE THOUGHT SUNSHINE WAS TRYING TO BREAK INTO MY CAR BECAUSE THE CAR ALARM WAS GOING OFF. I WENT TO THE WINDOW TO LOOK OUT, AND IMMEDIATELY SEE THAT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FLAMES APPEARED TO BE COMING FROM THE LEFT DRIVER'S SIDE TAIL LIGHT. WE CALLED 911. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED THE WHOLE BACK HALF OF THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE WAS ROARING. THE CAR WAS TOTALED. AN ARSON INVESTIGATOR ROLLED OUT ARSON. IT WAS THE CRAZIEST THING I HAVE EVER WITNESSED AND IT WAS TERRIFYINGLY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. THE FIRE WAS ALREADY IN OUR YARD WHEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. I SHUTTER TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF MY SON HAD NOT WOOLEN UP WHEN HE HAD. THE FIRE WAS SO CLOSE TO THE GAS TANK, WE ARE LUCKY THERE WANT A FULL ON EXPLOSION. THE WEATHER WAS MILD AND DRY WHEN IT HAPPENED AND THERE WAS NO DEFERRED MAINTENANCE ON THE CAR. I SIMPLY CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FIRE. MY BEST GUESS IS THAT SOMETHING SET OF THE CAR ALARM WHICH ON TURN SHORTED AND SPARKED THE FIRE IN THE FLASHING REAR LIGHTS. IT WAS A CERTIFIED USED VEHICLE AND IN PERFECT CONDITION THAT I PURCHASED IN SEPTEMBER 2014.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds