Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (29) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (59) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

10/24/2014 - APO, AE
THE STRUTS ON MY BACK LIFT GATE ARE ALREADY WORN OUT ON A 2012 KIA SORENTO. I HAD A 2007 KIA SPORTAGE PRIOR TO THIS VEHICLE AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE BACK STRUTS ON THE LIFT GATE. ON THE SPORTAGE THE GLASS OPENED SEPARATELY FROM THE BOTTOM HALF OF THE LIFT GATE. HOWEVER, THIS NEWER VEHICLE WORE OUT THE BACK LIFT GATE STRUTS IN JUST OVER 2 YEARS WITH ONLY 35,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. THE BACK LIFT GATE IS NOT SEPARATED BETWEEN THE DOOR AND THE GLASS SO THE ENTIRE BACK LIFT DOOR IS EXTREMELY HEAVY TO OPEN AND HOLD WITHOUT THE STRUTS TO KEEP THE TRUNK DOOR LIFTED AND HAS THE POTENTIAL TO HURT SMALL CHILDREN OR EVEN ADULTS WHO ARE NOT ANTICIPATING A SUDDEN FAILURE OF THE STRUTS ON A VEHICLE WITH SUCH LOW MILEAGE. AT THIS POINT, THE ENTIRE TRUNK AREA CANNOT BE USED UNTIL THE PROBLEM IS FIXED, BUT REPAIR SHOPS WANT OVER $500 TO FIX A PART THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE WORN OUT THIS QUICKLY TO BEGIN WITH. I WILL ATTEMPT SEEK REMEDY FROM KIA DIRECTLY, BUT WANTED TO BRING THE ISSUE UP IN CASE OTHERS ARE EXPERIENCING SIMILAR PROBLEMS FOR TREND ANALYSIS AND POTENTIAL RECALL.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

10/24/2014 - APO, AE
THE STRUTS ON MY BACK LIFT GATE ARE ALREADY WORN OUT ON A 2012 KIA SORENTO. I HAD A 2007 KIA SPORTAGE PRIOR TO THIS VEHICLE AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE BACK STRUTS ON THE LIFT GATE. ON THE SPORTAGE THE GLASS OPENED SEPARATELY FROM THE BOTTOM HALF OF THE LIFT GATE. HOWEVER, THIS NEWER VEHICLE WORE OUT THE BACK LIFT GATE STRUTS IN JUST OVER 2 YEARS WITH ONLY 35,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. THE BACK LIFT GATE IS NOT SEPARATED BETWEEN THE DOOR AND THE GLASS SO THE ENTIRE BACK LIFT DOOR IS EXTREMELY HEAVY TO OPEN AND HOLD WITHOUT THE STRUTS TO KEEP THE TRUNK DOOR LIFTED AND HAS THE POTENTIAL TO HURT SMALL CHILDREN OR EVEN ADULTS WHO ARE NOT ANTICIPATING A SUDDEN FAILURE OF THE STRUTS ON A VEHICLE WITH SUCH LOW MILEAGE. AT THIS POINT, THE ENTIRE TRUNK AREA CANNOT BE USED UNTIL THE PROBLEM IS FIXED, BUT REPAIR SHOPS WANT OVER $500 TO FIX A PART THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE WORN OUT THIS QUICKLY TO BEGIN WITH. I WILL ATTEMPT SEEK REMEDY FROM KIA DIRECTLY, BUT WANTED TO BRING THE ISSUE UP IN CASE OTHERS ARE EXPERIENCING SIMILAR PROBLEMS FOR TREND ANALYSIS AND POTENTIAL RECALL.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/23/2014 - STILLWATER, MN
ON FRIDAY, OCT 17, 2014 I DROVE OVER 600 MILES WITH MY SON TO AN EVENT AND RETURNED HOME. THE NEXT MORNING I DISCOVERED THE SUNROOF WAS SHATTERED. THE CAR WAS PARKED NEXT TO OUR HOUSE IN OUR DRIVEWAY AT THE TIME. IT WAS VERY STRANGE AS NOTHING HAD FALLEN ON THE CAR AND THERE APPEARED TO BE NO CAUSE. WHEN I CALLED THE KIA DEALERSHIP THEY INITIALLY DENIED KNOWING OF ANY SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH SUNROOFS SHATTERING. AFTER I GOOGLE - RESEARCHED IT AND TALKED TO THEM ON MONDAY, OCT 20, THEY THEN SAID THEY WOULD NOT PAY FOR IT AND I SHOULD JUST SUBMIT IT AS A CLAIM TO MY INSURANCE COMPANY. I HAVE 100 % GLASS COVERAGE BUT THIS SEEMS LIKE A DEFECT AND COULD HAVE BEEN A BIG PROBLEM IF IT HAD HAPPENED WHEN MY SON & I WERE DRIVING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/6/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ALL DASHBOARD INSTRUMENTATION, A/C AND HEADLIGHTS WERE LOST. IT WAS LATER DETERMINED THAT A SHORT IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT WIRING HARNESS HAD BLOWN THE FUSE FOR CONTROL MODULE #2 RESULTING IN THE AFOREMENTIONED INSTRUMENTATION AND SAFETY EQUIPMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ALL DASHBOARD INSTRUMENTATION, A/C AND HEADLIGHTS WERE LOST. IT WAS LATER DETERMINED THAT A SHORT IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT WIRING HARNESS HAD BLOWN THE FUSE FOR CONTROL MODULE #2 RESULTING IN THE AFOREMENTIONED INSTRUMENTATION AND SAFETY EQUIPMENT.

View Details

SEATS

10/6/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS ALL DASHBOARD INSTRUMENTATION, A/C AND HEADLIGHTS WERE LOST. IT WAS LATER DETERMINED THAT A SHORT IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT WIRING HARNESS HAD BLOWN THE FUSE FOR CONTROL MODULE #2 RESULTING IN THE AFOREMENTIONED INSTRUMENTATION AND SAFETY EQUIPMENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

9/23/2014 - OTIS, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, THE VEHICLE STOPPED ABRUPTLY WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE ONLY OCCURRED WHEN DRIVING IN RAINY WEATHER CONDITIONS AND SNOW COVERED ROADS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE INTERIOR BRAKE PAD BECAME STUCK. IN ADDITION, THE TEXTURE OF THE FRONT ROTOR WAS SMOOTH AND SHINY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

9/23/2014 - OTIS, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, THE VEHICLE STOPPED ABRUPTLY WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE ONLY OCCURRED WHEN DRIVING IN RAINY WEATHER CONDITIONS AND SNOW COVERED ROADS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE INTERIOR BRAKE PAD BECAME STUCK. IN ADDITION, THE TEXTURE OF THE FRONT ROTOR WAS SMOOTH AND SHINY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/12/2014 - YORK, SC
MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING ON I-85 NORTH OUTSIDE OF DURHAM, NC. THERE WERE NO CARS AROUND OR IN FRONT OF US FOR AT LEAST 1/4 MILE. THERE WAS A LOUD BANG AND THEN WIND NOISE. THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED FOR NO REASON.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

9/12/2014 - YORK, SC
MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING ON I-85 NORTH OUTSIDE OF DURHAM, NC. THERE WERE NO CARS AROUND OR IN FRONT OF US FOR AT LEAST 1/4 MILE. THERE WAS A LOUD BANG AND THEN WIND NOISE. THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED FOR NO REASON.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds