Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 106 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (41) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/18/2014 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
ON OCTOBER 14,2013 AS I WAS TRAVELING IN STOP AND START TRAFFIC THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND SURGED FORWARD AT LEAST 5 FEET WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE ALMOST HITTING THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. IT TOOK MUCH EFFORT TO AVOID CRASHING. THIS OCCURRED AGAIN ON MARCH 16,2014 WHILE IN A PARKING LOT LOOKING FOR A PARKING SPOT. AGAIN WHILE MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE THE CAR ACCELERATED AND LUNGED FORWARD 8 TO 10 FEET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2014 - OCEANSIDE , CA
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR ON 4 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS MY VEHICLE HAS SHUT OFF WHILE IN MOTION. THE CAR LOCKS OUT AND I HAVE NO CONTROL OF IT. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE 3 DIFFERENT TIMES TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE REASON FOR THE SHUTDOWN. THIS IS MY FAMILY CAR WHERE 3 SMALL CHILDREN ARE TRANSPORTED IN AND I AM SCARED THAT THIS ISSUE COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE BODILY INJURY OR DEATH TO MYSELF, MY FAMILY OR THE PUBLIC. WHEN THE VEHICLE SHUTS OFF THERE IS NO ADVANCE WARNING. IN ONE OCCASION A VEHICLE HAD TO SWERVE TO PREVENT FROM COLLIDING INTO ME. THE DEALER HAS SIMPLY SAID THAT THEY ARE UNABLE TO FIX A PROBLEM THEY HAVE NO CODES ON. KIA MADE A RECOMMENDATION TO CHANGE THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR TO SEE IF THAT WILL SOLVE THE ISSUE, BUT ARE UNSURE WHAT THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM IS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/27/2014 - SPANAWAY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT SATED THAT WHILE REVERSING FROM A DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID CRASHING INTO A TREE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/23/2014 - KENNESAW, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, GASOLINE BEGAN LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, AN OVERPOWERING GASOLINE ODOR WAS PRESENT. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE OVER A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THE SEAL FROM THE FUEL PUMP TO THE FUEL LINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/13/2014 - MICAVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORRENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE SUN ROOF EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THEY STATED THAT A ROCK HIT THE GLASS AND CAUSED IT TO EXPLODE AND THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2014 - UPLAND, CA
ON 12-25-2013, NOTICED THAT THE SIDE MARKET LIGHTS REMAINED ON FOR SEVERAL HOURS AFTER THE ENGINE WAS SHUT OFF. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, CAR WOULDN'T START AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON START. CAR FINALLY STARTED AFTER SEVERAL PUSH BUTTON ATTEMPTS. NEXT DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T STOP AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY STOP BUTTON. ENGINE FINALLY TURNED OFF AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS BY PLAYING WITH THE GEAR SHIFT KNOB AND DRIVING AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD. "UNABLE TO STOP THE ENGINE BY PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON STOP" PROBLEM CONTINUED, SO IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP COULDN'T DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, SO THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO US W/O A FIX. TOMORROW I WILL BE CONTACTING KIA MAIN OFFICES REGARDING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/7/2014 - UPLAND, CA
ON 12-25-2013, NOTICED THAT THE SIDE MARKET LIGHTS REMAINED ON FOR SEVERAL HOURS AFTER THE ENGINE WAS SHUT OFF. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, CAR WOULDN'T START AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON START. CAR FINALLY STARTED AFTER SEVERAL PUSH BUTTON ATTEMPTS. NEXT DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T STOP AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY STOP BUTTON. ENGINE FINALLY TURNED OFF AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS BY PLAYING WITH THE GEAR SHIFT KNOB AND DRIVING AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD. "UNABLE TO STOP THE ENGINE BY PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON STOP" PROBLEM CONTINUED, SO IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP COULDN'T DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, SO THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO US W/O A FIX. TOMORROW I WILL BE CONTACTING KIA MAIN OFFICES REGARDING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/30/2013 - RICHLAND HILLS, TX
WHILE DRIVING THE SORRENTO, IT SUDDENLY SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS IN TRAFFIC. THERE HAVE BEEN FOUR OTHER INCIDENTS SINCE THEN. ONE DAY THERE WERE TWO OF THE SAME THING HAPPENING IN ONE DAY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/26/2013 - ANTIOCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,000. UPDATED 03/12/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

12/23/2013 - POULTNEY, VT
2012 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ACCELERATOR AND BRAKE PEDALS ARE TOO CLOSE TOGETHER. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE APPLIED THE BRAKE PEDAL, HIS FOOT ALSO HIT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD TRAVEL BELOW THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds