Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 203 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (32) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (2) Structure (13) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (6) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (89) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/20/2016 - GEORGETOWN, SC
AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON DASH AT APPROX. 71,000 MILES. KIA DEALERSHIP SERVICE SAYS "PASSENGERS SEAT CUSHION ASSEMBLY SETTING CODE" ESTIMATED COST TO FIX IS $2,306.00. CAR IN EXCELLENT SHAPE. CAR NEVER IN ANY ACCIDENTS, ALL MAINTENANCE DONE AT KIA DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/11/2016 - CROMWELL, CT
WE OWN 2012 KIA SORENTO SX, PURCHASED NEW. THE CAR HAS 79643 MILES. OUR FAMILY WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 84 FROM BOSTON TO CONNECTICUT. THE CAR WAS DRIVING AT 60~65 MPH. SUDDENLY, THE CAR TPM (TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING) CAME ON AND WITHIN 5~10 SECOND ALL LIGHTS ( TRACTION CONTROL/ BATTERY/ ALL WHEEL DRIVE) STARTED FLASHING. IT WAS RAINING AND WIPER STOPPED IN MIDDLE. ALL OF THESE EVENTS OCCURRED WITHIN 10~15 SECONDS. I PULLED OVER FROM LEFT LANE TO CENTER LANE. I FELT CAR IS LOSING POWER WITH NO WIPERS RUNNING. I THAN PULLED OVER TO THE BREAKDOWN LANE + THE CAR STARTED SHAKING AND ENGINE TUNED OFF. THE BREAKS WERE HARD TO PRESS. AFTER THE CAR WAS TURNED OFF - I CANNOT EVEN MOVE THE SHIFTER FROM DRIVE MODE TO PARKING. WE CALLED THE TOW TRUCK AND TOWED THE CAR TO KIA OF EAST HARTFORD ( KIA+S DEALER IN CT) I WAS LUCKY TO PULL OVER WITHOUT ANY ACCIDENT OR TRAGIC. THIS KIND OF SUDDEN DEATH OF CAR WITHOUT WARNING IS VERY DANGEROUS. I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM TO REPORT THIS INCIDENCE AND THEY WERE NOT EVEN CONCERNED. I REVIEWED THE COMMENT/ COMPLAIN FROM OTHER CUSTOMER ABOUT THE SIMILAR INCIDENCE THEY EXPERIENCED AS WELL. I REQUEST WANT NHTSA TO INVESTIGATE THE MATTER.

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2016 - CROMWELL, CT
WE OWN 2012 KIA SORENTO SX, PURCHASED NEW. THE CAR HAS 79643 MILES. OUR FAMILY WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 84 FROM BOSTON TO CONNECTICUT. THE CAR WAS DRIVING AT 60~65 MPH. SUDDENLY, THE CAR TPM (TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING) CAME ON AND WITHIN 5~10 SECOND ALL LIGHTS ( TRACTION CONTROL/ BATTERY/ ALL WHEEL DRIVE) STARTED FLASHING. IT WAS RAINING AND WIPER STOPPED IN MIDDLE. ALL OF THESE EVENTS OCCURRED WITHIN 10~15 SECONDS. I PULLED OVER FROM LEFT LANE TO CENTER LANE. I FELT CAR IS LOSING POWER WITH NO WIPERS RUNNING. I THAN PULLED OVER TO THE BREAKDOWN LANE + THE CAR STARTED SHAKING AND ENGINE TUNED OFF. THE BREAKS WERE HARD TO PRESS. AFTER THE CAR WAS TURNED OFF - I CANNOT EVEN MOVE THE SHIFTER FROM DRIVE MODE TO PARKING. WE CALLED THE TOW TRUCK AND TOWED THE CAR TO KIA OF EAST HARTFORD ( KIA+S DEALER IN CT) I WAS LUCKY TO PULL OVER WITHOUT ANY ACCIDENT OR TRAGIC. THIS KIND OF SUDDEN DEATH OF CAR WITHOUT WARNING IS VERY DANGEROUS. I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM TO REPORT THIS INCIDENCE AND THEY WERE NOT EVEN CONCERNED. I REVIEWED THE COMMENT/ COMPLAIN FROM OTHER CUSTOMER ABOUT THE SIMILAR INCIDENCE THEY EXPERIENCED AS WELL. I REQUEST WANT NHTSA TO INVESTIGATE THE MATTER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/23/2015 - VALDOSTA, GA
PURCHASED NEW 2012 KIA SORENTO SX 3.5 IN MAY 2012. IT NOW HAS 54K MILES. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE HEADLIGHT BULBS BOTH SIDES ON 3 OCCASIONS AND HIGH INTENSITY DRIVING LIGHTS (OEM) 2 TIMES EACH SIDE. THE LAST TIME 12/23/15 THE DEALER (LANGDALE KIA, VALDOSTA GA) STATED THAT THE SOCKET ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DRIVING LIGHT WAS DEFECTIVE, CAUSING THE BULB TO EXPLODE, AND THE INTENSE HEAT AND DEBRIS CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE REFLECTOR AND INTERIOR OF THE LENS HOUSING, MAKING IT NOT REPAIRABLE. THE REPLACEMENT COST INCLUDING 1.5 HR. LABOR IS OVER $300, AND THE SERVICE WRITER STATED IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BE CAUSE OF AGE, MILEAGE, AND THE BULB THAT CAUSED THE DAMAGE WAS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY?? I HAVE ALSO HAD TO REPLACE INTERIOR COURTESY LIGHT BULBS AND ALSO TAG LIGHT BULBS. I HAVE SPENT APPROX. $200 SINCE PURCHASING THE VEHICLE! THIS IS RIDICULOUS FOR A $38000 VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2015 - FAIRFAX, VA
ON AUGUST 23, 2015, A 2013 KIA SORENTO WAS PARKED ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND STATIONARY AFTER BEING INVOLVED IN A MINOR ACCIDENT. WITHOUT THE DRIVER+S KNOWLEDGE AND WITHOUT THE DRIVER TAKING ANY INTENTIONAL ACTION, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED OUT OF PARK AND INTO NUETRAL OR REVERSE, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO MOVE BACKWARDS. AS IT MOVED BACKWARDS, IT KNOCKED OVER AND DRAGGED THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE, WHO AT THE TIME WAS STANDING NEXT TO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN STRUCK A PERSON STANDING BEHIND THE VEHICLE, PINNING THAT PERSON BETWEEN THE VEHICLE AND ANOTHER VEHICLE, RESULTING IN SERIOUS INJURIES. THE CAUSE OF THIS INCIDENT APPEARS TO BE RELATED TO NHTSA RECALL NUMBER 15V626 FOR 2011-2013 KIA SORENTO VEHICLES INVOLVING WIDESPREAD FAILURE OF THE BRAKE-SHIFT INTERLOCK MECHANISM.

View Details

ENGINE

12/17/2015 - EDMONTON, KY
I BOUGHT MY KIA NEW FROM THE DEALERSHIP WITH AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. IT CURRENTLY HAS 83000MI ON IT. WHEN I START IT, IT IS MAKING A RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE THAT ONLY LAST A FEW SECONDS. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY ARE SAYING IT NEEDS A NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THERE ARE SHARDS OF METAL IN THE OIL PAN. THE COST TO REPLACE IS $6000. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS NOT COME ON AT ANY POINT WHILE OWNING THE SUV, NOR HAS ANY OTHER LIGHT. WE HAVE MAINTAINED OIL CHANGES AT EVERY 4000MI OR LESS BUT WE COMPLETED ALL OIL CHANGES AND FILTER CHANGES OUR SELF. THE MASTER MECHANIC STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE AND THE ENGINE LOOKED TO BE WELL TAKEN CARE OF. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY IS NOT WANTING TO COVER THE COST OF THE REPAIR. WE ARE STILL WAITING TO SEE WHAT THE DEALERSHIP IS GOING TO DO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/14/2015 - GALLATIN, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE ROLLED AWAY INDEPENDENTLY CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A FRONT GATE. THE CONTACT ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP THE VEHICLE FROM CONTINUING TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LEG AND KNEE INJURIES THAT NEEDED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V626000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 106,927.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/3/2015 - GRAND SALINE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE COMING THE A STOP, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE TO CRASHED INTO A RESTAURANT. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL AT THE LOCATION OF THE CRASH AT THE TIME OF THE CALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,741.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/3/2015 - GRAND SALINE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE COMING THE A STOP, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE TO CRASHED INTO A RESTAURANT. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL AT THE LOCATION OF THE CRASH AT THE TIME OF THE CALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,741.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2015 - RIVIERA BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. ..UPDATED 02/01/16

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds