Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Structure (7) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (40) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/7/2014 - UPLAND, CA
ON 12-25-2013, NOTICED THAT THE SIDE MARKET LIGHTS REMAINED ON FOR SEVERAL HOURS AFTER THE ENGINE WAS SHUT OFF. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, CAR WOULDN'T START AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON START. CAR FINALLY STARTED AFTER SEVERAL PUSH BUTTON ATTEMPTS. NEXT DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T STOP AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY STOP BUTTON. ENGINE FINALLY TURNED OFF AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS BY PLAYING WITH THE GEAR SHIFT KNOB AND DRIVING AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD. "UNABLE TO STOP THE ENGINE BY PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON STOP" PROBLEM CONTINUED, SO IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP COULDN'T DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, SO THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO US W/O A FIX. TOMORROW I WILL BE CONTACTING KIA MAIN OFFICES REGARDING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/7/2014 - UPLAND, CA
ON 12-25-2013, NOTICED THAT THE SIDE MARKET LIGHTS REMAINED ON FOR SEVERAL HOURS AFTER THE ENGINE WAS SHUT OFF. COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, CAR WOULDN'T START AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON START. CAR FINALLY STARTED AFTER SEVERAL PUSH BUTTON ATTEMPTS. NEXT DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T STOP AFTER PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY STOP BUTTON. ENGINE FINALLY TURNED OFF AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS BY PLAYING WITH THE GEAR SHIFT KNOB AND DRIVING AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD. "UNABLE TO STOP THE ENGINE BY PUSHING ON THE KEY-LESS ENTRY PUSH BUTTON STOP" PROBLEM CONTINUED, SO IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP COULDN'T DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, SO THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO US W/O A FIX. TOMORROW I WILL BE CONTACTING KIA MAIN OFFICES REGARDING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/30/2013 - RICHLAND HILLS, TX
WHILE DRIVING THE SORRENTO, IT SUDDENLY SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS IN TRAFFIC. THERE HAVE BEEN FOUR OTHER INCIDENTS SINCE THEN. ONE DAY THERE WERE TWO OF THE SAME THING HAPPENING IN ONE DAY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/26/2013 - ANTIOCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER BUT WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,000. UPDATED 03/12/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

12/23/2013 - POULTNEY, VT
2012 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ACCELERATOR AND BRAKE PEDALS ARE TOO CLOSE TOGETHER. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN HE APPLIED THE BRAKE PEDAL, HIS FOOT ALSO HIT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD TRAVEL BELOW THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL.

View Details

STEERING

12/19/2013 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, THERE WAS A LOT OF TRAFFIC SO WE WEREN'T DRIVING VERY FAST, AND THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF, THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. I WAS ABLE TO PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND THEN I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND TRIED RESTARTING IT. THE CAR STARTED WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS AND DROVE NORMAL AFTER THAT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/19/2013 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, THERE WAS A LOT OF TRAFFIC SO WE WEREN'T DRIVING VERY FAST, AND THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF, THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON AND THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. I WAS ABLE TO PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND THEN I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND TRIED RESTARTING IT. THE CAR STARTED WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS AND DROVE NORMAL AFTER THAT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

12/15/2013 - PUEBLO WEST, CO
THIS PAST FRIDAY AT ABOUT 2 PM I WAS DRIVING MY 2012 KIA SORENTO DOWN HIGHWAY 50 WHEN SUDDENLY AND FOR NO APPARENT REASON MY SUNROOF VIOLENTLY EXPLODED. I PULLED OVER IMMEDIATELY BECAUSE I WASN'T SURE AT THAT MOMENT WHAT HAD ACTUALLY HAPPENED. WHEN I CLIMBED UP TO LOOK I FOUND THAT THE FRONT PORTION OF MY PANORAMIC SUNROOF WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. I LOOKED THROUGH THE GLASS BUT FOUND NO ROCK OR ANY OTHER KIND OF OBJECT THAT MAY HAVE CAUSED THIS TO HAPPEN. FORTUNATELY THE SUNROOF SHADE WAS CLOSED OTHERWISE I WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED IN GLASS. I CALLED THE KIA SERVICE DEPT. WHERE I HAD BOUGHT THE VEHICLE AND SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE MGR. I EXPLAINED TO HIM WHAT HAD HAPPENED AND HE TOLD ME A ROCK MUST HAVE FLOWN UP AND HIT IT. NOW I FIND THAT HIGHLY UNLIKELY. IT WAS A BEAUTIFUL DAY, 57 DEGREES AND VISIBILITY WAS GREAT. I WAS ON AN OPEN STRETCH OF ROAD DOING ABOUT 50 MILES PER HOUR. THERE WASN'T ANY BUILDINGS ON EITHER SIDE OF ROAD AND ONLY A FEW CARS SCATTERED IN FRONT AND BEHIND ME. I?M PRETTY FOCUSED WHEN I DRIVE SO I THINK IF SOMETHING WOULD HAVE FLOWN UP IN FRONT OF ME THAT COULD HAVE COME DOWN AND SMASHED MY SUNROOF IN I?M ALMOST CERTAIN I WOULD HAVE SEEN IT. I PERSONALLY BELIEVE THIS HAS TO BE SOME KIND OF MANUFACTURER DEFECT. I THEN ASKED HIM IF THIS WAS COVERED UNDER MY BASIC 5 YEAR/ 60,000 MILE WARRANTY AND HE SAID IT WAS NOT. SO NOW I?M STUCK PAYING A $500 DEDUCTIBLE FOR MY INSURANCE TO COVER THE DAMAGE. YOUR AGENCY REALLY NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THIS BECAUSE THIS ISN'T FAIR TO CONSUMERS LIKE MYSELF WHO HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR SOMETHING THAT TO ME AT LEAST SEEMS TO BE A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. THE CONSUMER DECIDED TO WITHDRAW HIS COMPLAINT. UPDATED 01/14/13

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/13/2013 - MESA, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PANORAMIC MOON ROOF BECAME SHATTERED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE MOON ROOF. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2013 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING WHEN TRAVELING AT LOW SPEEDS. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE BATTERY WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED BUT THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds