Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 130 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (25) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (24) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (48) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/29/2014 - DENTON, TX
FOR THE THIRD TIME IN A 2 MONTH SPAN, MY 2012 KIA SORENTO HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN AS WE HAVE BEEN DRIVING IT. WE ARE AT THE 60K MILES MARK. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. TWO OF THE THREE TIMES WE HAVE BEEN DOING AROUND 40 MPH ON VERY BUSY STREETS AND THANK GOD, WE DID NOT HIT ANOTHER CAR OR GET HIT. THE VEHICLE WITH ZERO WARNING, WILL JUST DIE AND WE WILL LOSE ALL POWER STEERING, WE CAN'T SHIFT GEARS, AND THE BRAKES DO NOT WORK LIKE THEY NORMALLY DO. THE FIRST TIME I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A BATTERY, SO I REPLACED IT. BUT SINCE THEN WE HAVE HAD IT AT THE DEALERSHIP TWICE AND THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. THEY WILL GET IT RUNNING AGAIN AND THEN A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, IT WILL DIE AGAIN. I HAVE TWO BABIES THAT RIDE IN THIS VEHICLE AND I AM LOOKING AT MY OPTIONS TO GETTING RID OF IT. THIS VEHICLE IS VERY DANGEROUS!!

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2014 - DENTON, TX
FOR THE THIRD TIME IN A 2 MONTH SPAN, MY 2012 KIA SORENTO HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN AS WE HAVE BEEN DRIVING IT. WE ARE AT THE 60K MILES MARK. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. TWO OF THE THREE TIMES WE HAVE BEEN DOING AROUND 40 MPH ON VERY BUSY STREETS AND THANK GOD, WE DID NOT HIT ANOTHER CAR OR GET HIT. THE VEHICLE WITH ZERO WARNING, WILL JUST DIE AND WE WILL LOSE ALL POWER STEERING, WE CAN'T SHIFT GEARS, AND THE BRAKES DO NOT WORK LIKE THEY NORMALLY DO. THE FIRST TIME I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A BATTERY, SO I REPLACED IT. BUT SINCE THEN WE HAVE HAD IT AT THE DEALERSHIP TWICE AND THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. THEY WILL GET IT RUNNING AGAIN AND THEN A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, IT WILL DIE AGAIN. I HAVE TWO BABIES THAT RIDE IN THIS VEHICLE AND I AM LOOKING AT MY OPTIONS TO GETTING RID OF IT. THIS VEHICLE IS VERY DANGEROUS!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/29/2014 - DENTON, TX
FOR THE THIRD TIME IN A 2 MONTH SPAN, MY 2012 KIA SORENTO HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN AS WE HAVE BEEN DRIVING IT. WE ARE AT THE 60K MILES MARK. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. TWO OF THE THREE TIMES WE HAVE BEEN DOING AROUND 40 MPH ON VERY BUSY STREETS AND THANK GOD, WE DID NOT HIT ANOTHER CAR OR GET HIT. THE VEHICLE WITH ZERO WARNING, WILL JUST DIE AND WE WILL LOSE ALL POWER STEERING, WE CAN'T SHIFT GEARS, AND THE BRAKES DO NOT WORK LIKE THEY NORMALLY DO. THE FIRST TIME I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A BATTERY, SO I REPLACED IT. BUT SINCE THEN WE HAVE HAD IT AT THE DEALERSHIP TWICE AND THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. THEY WILL GET IT RUNNING AGAIN AND THEN A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, IT WILL DIE AGAIN. I HAVE TWO BABIES THAT RIDE IN THIS VEHICLE AND I AM LOOKING AT MY OPTIONS TO GETTING RID OF IT. THIS VEHICLE IS VERY DANGEROUS!!

View Details

ENGINE

5/26/2014 - MILLER PLACE, NY
WIFE DRIVING FROM NY TO CONN, VEHICLE LOSING POWER, EXTREME SHAKING, GRINDING/RATTLE NOISE, ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, STAYED ON, THEN BLINKING ON AND OFF, VEHICLE REALLY RUNNING BAD AT THIS TIME. FOLLOWING DAY, ENGINE LIGHT STILL ON, NEED TO PUMP GAS PEDDLE TO GET STARTED. IDLE VERY ROUGH. 2012 KIA SORENTO WITH 38;000 MILES. VERY CONCERNED THAT VEHICLE WILL SHUT OFF COMPLETELY, AS IS COMMON PER NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS, AT SPEED ON THE HIGHWAY. WILL BRING TO DEALERSHIP TOMORROW, HOWEVER, HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING KIA SORENTO ENGINE PROBLEMS THIS AFTERNOON AND IT DOES NOT LOOK GOOD. 1) DEALERSHIP TECHS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE PROBLEMS. (COMMON) 2) RECALL TO REPLACE ECM BUT CUSTOMERS NOT NOTIFIED AS DEEMED NOT A SAFETY ISSUE BY KIA. REALLY???? 3) THROTTLE ACTUATOR FAILURE PART OF PROBLEM BUT NOT WIDELY KNOWN BY CONSUMERS.(COMMON) IMPORTANT FOR 2012-TO 2014 OWNERS. NEW YORK HAS LEMON LAWS. IF YOUR VEHICLE IS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD OR HAS LESS THAN 18,000 MILES AND YOU HAVE HAD TO TAKE IT BACK FOR REPAIRS SEVERAL TIMES, THERE ARE ATTORNEYS WHO LIVE FOR THIS TYPE OF THING. I AM IN THIS GROUP AND SENT E-MAIL TODAY TO JUST THOSE TYPE OF SHARKS. BE PRO-ACTIVE, NOT RE-ACTIVE. I PLAN ON HAVING PLAN B IN PLACE IF I FIND MYSELF GOING DOWN THE PATH OF "WE DON,T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG, THE COMPUTER SAYS YOUR CAR IS FINE, JUST BECAUSE YOU NEED TO RENT A ROOM AT THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE YOU ARE THERE SO MUCH DOES NOT MEAN WE DON,T CARE". WHAT WE REALLY MEAN IS WE REALLY DON,T CARE!! REALITY CHECK.. FYI CHECK THIS OUT...........HTTP://ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2013/KIA/SORENTO/ENGINE/PROBLEM.ASPX PS IN NY DON,T FORGET CLASS ACTION LAW-SUIT THAT IS CURRENTLY GOING ON, DOES NOT COST ANYTHING TO ADD YOUR NAME TO THE LIST OF PLAINTIFFS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2014 - MOORPARK, CA
A FEW MONTHS AGO I WAS DRIVING MY DAUGHTER TO HER VOLLEYBALL PRACTICE AND UPON LEAVING THE PARKING LOT AND DRIVING INTO THE STREET I LOST ALL POWER AND CONTROL OF MY CAR INCLUDING MY POWER STEERING ETC. I ALMOST CRASHED THE CAR INTO THE SIDE OF A HOUSE BUT LUCKY I WAS ABLE TO PRESS THE BRAKES HARD ENOUGH TO FINALLY GET THE CAR TO STOP. I THEN PUSHED THE POWER BUTTON AND ALL OF THE LIGHTS CAME ON THE DISPLAY BUT NO POWER TO THE CAR. I PRESSED THE POWER AGAIN AND THE CAR STARTED. THEN THREE DAYS AGO I WAS IN THE CAR PICK UP LINE PICKING UP ANOTHER DAUGHTER FROM SCHOOL. I HAD THE POWER OF THE CAR OFF AND WHEN I WENT TO START THE CAR IT WOULD NOT START. I PUSHED THE POWER BUTTON AND AGAIN ALL OF THE LIGHT ON THE DISPLAY CAME ON. THEN I PUSHED IT AGAIN AND IT STARTED. I BELIEVE THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE. IF MYSELF OR MY HUSBAND ARE DRIVING ANY OF OUR 4 CHILDREN ON THE FREEWAY AT 65-70 MILES AND HOUR AND THE CAR DECIDES TO POWER ITSELF OFF IT COULD BECOME A CATASTROPHE ONE OF WHICH I AM NOT WILLING TO RISK. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND SEVERAL OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THESE EXACT ISSUES HOWEVER NOTHING IS EVER DONE ABOUT. IT'S THE SAME OLD STORY YOU TAKE IT INTO YOUR DEALER AND THEY RUN THE DIAGNOSTIC AND IT DOESN'T SHOW ANYTHING WRONG. WHICH IS WHAT HAPPENED TO ME BOTH TIMES I TOOK MY KIA IN. THIS AUTOMOBILE HAS A DEFECT, WHICH IS TERRIBLY DANGEROUS TO DRIVERS AND PASSENGERS, AND WHICH THE AUTOMOBILE MANUFACTURER APPEARS TO BE IGNORING, MUCH IN THE MANNER THAT GM IGNORED SERIOUS, DANGEROUS, AND SOMETIMES FATAL DEFECTS IN ONE OR MORE OF ITS MODELS. I TRULY DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THIS SAME EXACT PROBLEM CAN KEEP HAPPENING AND KIA IS CHOOSING NOT TO IGNORE IT RATHER THAN ISSUE A RECALL ON THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2014 - WEST NEW YORK, NJ
ON 3/25/14, MY 2012 SORENTO JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR WAS PUT IN PARK AND IT STARTED FINE. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND IT SPENT 2 DAYS AT THE DEALER. THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE RECREATED , NO FIX, NO ISSUE THEY KEPT STATING & THERE WAS NOTHING TO FIX. NOW WE'RE IN MAY 2014 AND THE CAR SHUT OFF AGAIN. I WAS AT A LIGHT AND THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND IT STARTED AGAIN. THE IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AND KIA IS TAKING NO ACTION FOR THIS AND THERE SEEMS TO BE ALOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ON YOUR WEBSITE. I THINK AN INVESTIGATION SHOULD BE OPENED AND SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE FOR KIA SORENTO OWNERS. WE ARE PAYING FOR CARS WITH A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AND OBVIOUSLY NEED THE CARS WE ARE PAYING FOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/15/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
INCIDENT #1: I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE EAST BOUND ON A ST IN THE DOWNTOWN SAN DIEGO AREA, APPROACHING FRONT STREET (EXACT STREET INTERSECTION UNKNOWN). I WAS IN THE CENTER LANE WHEN THE CAR, WITHOUT ANY WARNING OF IMMINENT FAILURE (NOT EVEN AN ODD NOISE OR ELECTRICAL GLITCH BEFOREHAND) JUST COMPLETELY SHUT OFF AND STOPPED ABRUPTLY. I HAD NO WAY TO EVEN MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL TO TRY TO MOVE OUT OF THE WAY. I PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK, TURNED ON MY WARNING LIGHTS, TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND THEN TRIED TO RE-START THE VEHICLE. IT RESTARTED WITHOUT ANY COMPLICATION AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED. INCIDENT #2: ON 05/13/2014, AFTER APPROXIMATELY 6 WEEKS OR 550 MILES OF USE (MY PERSONAL ESTIMATE), THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS TIME, I WAS DRIVING WEST BOUND ON CEDAR STREET IN DOWNTOWN SAN DIEGO, AT APPROXIMATELY 15-20 MPH (DECREASING SPEED TO STOP AT A LIGHT) WHEN AT THE CORNER OF 5TH STREET AND CEDAR ST., THE CAR SHUT OFF COMPLETELY AGAIN WITHOUT WARNING OR ANY PRIOR INDICATION OF IMMINENT FAILURE. I WAS ABLE TO VEER THE CAR OFF TO THE SIDE A BIT BECAUSE OF THE MOMENTUM AND ANGLE OF THE STREET BUT COULD NOT MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL MUCH. I PLACED THE CAR IN PARK, TURNED ON MY WARNING SIGNALS, AND TURNED OF THE IGNITION. I THEN SHIFTED THE VEHICLE TO NEUTRAL THEN BACK TO PARK, AND THEN TRIED TO TURN ON THE CAR AGAIN AND IT DID WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS. THE FOLLOWING DAY, I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY TOLD ME THEY RAN DIAGNOSTICS AND WERE NOT ABLE TO IDENTIFY THE PROBLEM AND THAT THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE CONCERN. THEIR ONLY RECOMMENDATION WAS TO TAKE THE CAR IN IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

5/15/2014 - PARKLAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HARD TO TURN. THE FAILURE RECURRED FOUR TIMES OVER A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. RK

View Details

STEERING: ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

5/15/2014 - PARKLAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HARD TO TURN. THE FAILURE RECURRED FOUR TIMES OVER A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. RK

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2014 - SPRING, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, THROUGH TRAFFIC, MY VEHICLE SEIZED UP ON ME. I WAS GOING ABOUT 30-35MPH AND THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. THE MUSIC WAS PLAYING, BUT WHEN I LOOKED DOWN AT THE DASHBOARD ALL THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS WHERE ON, I LOST CONTROL OF MY POWERSTEERING AND BRAKES. I HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND PRESS THE START BUTTON AGAIN. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME ON THE FREEWAY IT HAS DONE IT, IN ADDITIONAL TO THE 4-7 TIMES IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD. ALL WHILE GOING ABOUT 35MPH AND UNDER. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP REPETITIVELY AND THEY HAVE BEEN UNSUCCESSFUL IN LOCATING THE PROBLEM. THE 2ND TIME I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY REPLACED THE FULL THROTTLE BODY, BUT EXACTLY ONE WEEK OF HAVING IT BACK IN MY POSSESSION THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WHILE DRIVING AGAIN. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, SEVERAL TIMES, BUT FROM THE LOOK OF THIS WEBSITE, I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THAT PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds