Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 221 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (32) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (7) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (99) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (13) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/13/2016 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM DRIVETIME IN LAUREL MD ON 5/9/16. ON 5/10/16 I HEARD A KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE AREA AND THE VEHICLE STARTED PULLING WILE RADDLING. ON 5/10/16 & 5/11/16 I MADE THE DEALER AWARE OF THE KIA HAVING ENGINE ISSUES. ON 5/13/2016 THE CAR STARTED DRAGGING AND WOULDN'T GO ABOVE 60MPH. THEN THE CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF 95N GOING TOWARDS EX 43. THIS WAS VERY SCARY, THE WHEEL LOCKED UP AND THE CAR LOST POWER SO I ENDED UP DRIFTING OUT OF CONTROL TO THE RIGHTS SIDE OF THE ROAD IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC... I+M SO LUCKY TO BE ALIVE TODAY...THIS VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY... IT SAD TO KNOW THAT MARYLAND INSPECTED AND PASSED THAT DEATH TRAP

View Details

STEERING

4/29/2016 - TURTLE CREEK, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT 45MPH MY CAR SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD (CITY.) NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO CHECK OIL LIGHT...NOTHING. I COULD NOT STEER IT NOR RESTART IT. MY LIGHTS ALL DIMMED. HAD IT TOWED TO A GARAGE AND THEY SAID THEY'VE HAD 3 OF THE SAME CARS WITH THE SAME ISSUE IN THEIR SHOP. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NO OIL IN IT , BUT NO LEAK. THEY PUT OIL IN IT AND JUMPED IT, THEN TOOK IT FOR A TEST RUN AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE OIL BECAME THICK AND DIRTY, WITH METAL IN IT AS WELL. I WAS LUCKY THAT I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AT MIDNIGHT AND THERE WASN'T MUCH TRAFFIC. I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT NOW, ESPECIALLY SINCE I HAVE A 150 MILE DRIVE IN A FEW WEEKS. CALLED KIA AND THEY TOLD ME I NEED DOCUMENTATION OF ALL OIL CHANGES...FINE, I CAN GET THAT. FROM WHAT I'VE BEEN READING THOUGH I DON'T FEEL KIA WILL PROVIDE A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM THAT HAS, FROM WHAT I'VE READ, PLAGUED MANY OWNERS. I BOUGHT MY CAR NEW IN 2011. IT HASN'T EVEN HIT THE 5 YEAR MARK YET, THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AND VERY DANGEROUS. WHAT IF I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY WITH A TRACTOR-TRAILER BEHIND ME? TOO SCARY. CONSIDERING ALL THE PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE...WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/29/2016 - TURTLE CREEK, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT 45MPH MY CAR SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD (CITY.) NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO CHECK OIL LIGHT...NOTHING. I COULD NOT STEER IT NOR RESTART IT. MY LIGHTS ALL DIMMED. HAD IT TOWED TO A GARAGE AND THEY SAID THEY'VE HAD 3 OF THE SAME CARS WITH THE SAME ISSUE IN THEIR SHOP. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NO OIL IN IT , BUT NO LEAK. THEY PUT OIL IN IT AND JUMPED IT, THEN TOOK IT FOR A TEST RUN AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE OIL BECAME THICK AND DIRTY, WITH METAL IN IT AS WELL. I WAS LUCKY THAT I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AT MIDNIGHT AND THERE WASN'T MUCH TRAFFIC. I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT NOW, ESPECIALLY SINCE I HAVE A 150 MILE DRIVE IN A FEW WEEKS. CALLED KIA AND THEY TOLD ME I NEED DOCUMENTATION OF ALL OIL CHANGES...FINE, I CAN GET THAT. FROM WHAT I'VE BEEN READING THOUGH I DON'T FEEL KIA WILL PROVIDE A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM THAT HAS, FROM WHAT I'VE READ, PLAGUED MANY OWNERS. I BOUGHT MY CAR NEW IN 2011. IT HASN'T EVEN HIT THE 5 YEAR MARK YET, THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AND VERY DANGEROUS. WHAT IF I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY WITH A TRACTOR-TRAILER BEHIND ME? TOO SCARY. CONSIDERING ALL THE PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE...WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/29/2016 - TURTLE CREEK, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT 45MPH MY CAR SHUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD (CITY.) NO WARNING WHATSOEVER, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO CHECK OIL LIGHT...NOTHING. I COULD NOT STEER IT NOR RESTART IT. MY LIGHTS ALL DIMMED. HAD IT TOWED TO A GARAGE AND THEY SAID THEY'VE HAD 3 OF THE SAME CARS WITH THE SAME ISSUE IN THEIR SHOP. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NO OIL IN IT , BUT NO LEAK. THEY PUT OIL IN IT AND JUMPED IT, THEN TOOK IT FOR A TEST RUN AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE OIL BECAME THICK AND DIRTY, WITH METAL IN IT AS WELL. I WAS LUCKY THAT I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK AT MIDNIGHT AND THERE WASN'T MUCH TRAFFIC. I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT NOW, ESPECIALLY SINCE I HAVE A 150 MILE DRIVE IN A FEW WEEKS. CALLED KIA AND THEY TOLD ME I NEED DOCUMENTATION OF ALL OIL CHANGES...FINE, I CAN GET THAT. FROM WHAT I'VE BEEN READING THOUGH I DON'T FEEL KIA WILL PROVIDE A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM THAT HAS, FROM WHAT I'VE READ, PLAGUED MANY OWNERS. I BOUGHT MY CAR NEW IN 2011. IT HASN'T EVEN HIT THE 5 YEAR MARK YET, THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AND VERY DANGEROUS. WHAT IF I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY WITH A TRACTOR-TRAILER BEHIND ME? TOO SCARY. CONSIDERING ALL THE PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE...WHY HASN'T THERE BEEN A RECALL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/22/2016 - LANCASTER, NY
WHEN DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, ROUGH IDLING BETWEEN GEARS THE CAR STALLED AS I WAS DRIVING UNDER 30 MPH AND DASHBOARD LIGHTS ALL CAME ON, STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP, COULDN'T TURN ONTO SIDE STREET UNBEKNOWNST TO ME SO I WAS DRIVING INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. WHEN IDLING AT A RED LIGHT, THE CAR STALLS AND ALL DASHBOARD LIGHTS TURN ON. VEHICLE WON'T MOVE AFTER STALLING. HAVE TO PUT IT IN PARK, SHUT VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART VEHICLE. BEEN TO DEALERSHIP TWICE FOR THIS, RAN DIAGNOSTICS, CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2016 - ADGER, AL
I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 60 MPH DOWN 269 HIGHWAY WHEN ALL AT ONCE I HEARD A LOUD POP LIKE SOUND AND THEN SMOKE STARTED GOING OUT THE TAIL PIPE AND THEN UNDER THE HOOD THE CAR LOST ALL POWER AND STOPPED. I GOT OUT AND RASISED THE HOOD AND IT WAS ON FIRE . LUCKELY SOMEONE ONE WAS BEHIND ME AND HAD A FIRE EXSTINQUER AND PUT IT OUT. CALLED POLICE THEY WOULD NOT COME OUT CALLED INSURANCE AND THEY SENT A TOW TRUCK. WE BOUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW IN 2011 AND ALWAYS KELPT IT SERVICED, THEY TOOK IT TO THE KIA LOT WE BOUGHT IT FROM AND SAID IT WAS A FIRE IN THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE AND IT WOULD COST $10,000 TO FIX IT WE WERE STILL PAYING ON IT. SO THE INSURANCE CALLED IT A LOSS. NOW WE ARE OUT CAR AND NO MONEY TO BOOT. I HAD JUST TOOK MY GRANDBABY HOME IT COULD OF BEEN REALLY BAD. I GOT ON THE ENTERNET AND FOUND SEVERAL OTHER 2012 KIA SORENTOS THAT HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2016 - KINGSPORT, TN
HAVE A 2012 KIA SORENTO. TOOK IT IN TO HAVE A RECALL REPAIRED. DEALER HAD IT FOR 3 HOURS AND WHEN WE GOT IT BACK THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE CONTROL PANEL WAS ON. THEY CLAIM THAT THEY DID NOTHING THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THE LIGHT TO COME ON. FOR 67,000 MILES NO PROBLEM. THEY HAVE IT FOR 3 HOURS AND NOW THERE'S A PROBLEM. THEY SAID THEY WOULD REPAIR IT FOR $700-$800. I ASKED IF THERE WAS A POSSIBILITY OF THE BAG NOT DEPLOYING OR DEPLOYING FOR NO REASON WHILE I'M DRIVING. THEY SAID THERE WAS NO WAY OF KNOWING UNTIL IT WAS REPAIRED. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND DOZENS AND DOZENS OF WEB-SITES OF OTHERS (SORENTO AS WELL AS OTHER KIA MODELS) THAT HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. FOR A SAFETY DEVICE TO HAVE SO MANY PROBLEMS, THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE DEVICE. I THINK THERE SHOULD BE AN INVESTIGATION INTO THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. NOT JUST ON MINE BUT ALL KIA VEHICLES.

View Details

SEATS

2/15/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
ON MY SECOND ROW SEAT, THE LATCH THE MAKE THE SEAT RECLINE BACK AND TO FOLD DOWN HAS BROKEN FOR THE 4TH TIME. WHEN I WENT TO PULL THE LATCH IT DID NOT MOVE THE SEAT THE LATCH WAS STUCK AND THEN IT SEEMED AS THO IT IS JUST NOT CATCHING ONTO ANYTHING TO MOVE THE SEAT. MY VEHICLE WAS PARKED BECAUSE I WAS TRYING TO GET MY KIDS INTO THE THIRD ROW SEAT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2016 - NRH, TX
I FIRST BOUGHT MY VEHICLE FROM A USED LOT STILL VERY WELL CONDITION ALL SERVICE RECORDS CAR FAX, ETC A FEW MONTHS LATER I HAD ISSUES WITH THE SYSTEM TURNING LIGHTS ON AN A WEIRD ENGINE NOISE, I BROUGHT IT INTO A KIA DELARESHIP ONLY TO BE LAUGHED AT BY THE SERVICE TEAM OVER THE PHONE BECAUSE THEY HADN'T REALIZED I HAD PICKED UP THE LINE, THEY TOLD ME THIS WAS ALL NORMAL FIXED THE "PROBLEMS", AND SENT ME ON MY WAY OUT. I CALLED SEVERAL TIMES AFTER THAT TO TELL THEM I DIDN'T THINK THE ENGINE NOISE WAS CORRECT AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR, A FEW MONTHS LATER MY ENTIRE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE ON AN EXPRESSWAY WITH MY SELF PREGNANT AND MY 2 YEAR OLD SON. IT IS NOW AT THE SHOP AND THEY ARE ASKING FOR EXTENSIVE INFORMATION AND SERVICE RECORDS WHICH I HAVE AND ARE BEING VERY ODD ABOUT MY VEHICLE AND WHEN THEY WILL KNOW THE PROBLEM. PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHEN BUYING FROM KIA, I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED WITH MY CHILDREN. TRADING IN ONCE THE ISSUE OR ENGINE IF IT EVEN GETS FIXED. SCARED TO DEATH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/1/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WE WERE TOLD WE HAD A 10 YR, 100000 MILE WARRANTY BUMPER TO BUMPER IN JAN 2012 WHEN WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. LAST WEEK THE AIRBAG LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE WARRANTY DIDN'T COVER CHECK ENGINE OR AIRBAG PROBLEMS, EVEN THOUGH THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT SAID THEY WOULD BE COVERED IF THE UNIT WAS UNDER 5 YEARS OLD. THEY WANT $1000+ TO FIX THE ENGINE LIGHT PROBLEM ON THE INTAKE MANIFOLD AND $1400 TO FIX THE AIRBAG PROBLEM. BOTH UNITS SHOULD BE UNDER WARRANTY. WE HAD A SPARE TIRE PROBLEM A MONTH AFTER GETTING THE CAR. THE SPARE TIRE WAS BAD AND THEY WANTED US TO BUY A NEW TIRE. NOTHING WE HAVE IS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY IT SEEMS. WE WERE TOLD THE ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM ON THE CAR WOULD NOT OPERATE UNLESS WE PAID THE $1400 TO REPAIR THE AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds