Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 168 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (30) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (6) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (64) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - DELMAR, NY
I WAS DRIVING AT 55 MPH WHEN MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. WITHIN SEVERAL MINUTES EVERY WARNING SYMBOL LIGHT BEGAN TO LIGHT UP. MY RADIO EVENTUALLY SHUT DOWN AND THE FRONT DASH LIGHTING WENT OUT. I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE FOR ANOTHER COUPLE OF MILES, BUT THE ENGINE POWER WAS DWINDLING. I EVENTUALLY LOST ACCELERATION AND POWER BRAKES AND STEERING. MY CAR HAS A PUSH BUTTON START AND I WAS UNABLE TO SHUT IT OFF. THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING VERY ROUGHLY. I WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE CAR INTO PARK- ONLY DRIVE OR NEUTRAL AND COULD NOT GET MY FLASHERS TO COME ON. AFTER 5-7 MINUTES, THE CAR FINALLY DIED AND I COULD SHIFT IT INTO PARK AND THE HAZARD LIGHTS CAME ON. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS DAY THAT MY BATTERY WAS COMPLETELY DEAD AND WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED BEFORE ANYTHING ELSE COULD BE CHECKED. AFTER THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED I WAS TOLD THE ALTERNATOR WAS WORKING FINE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THIS INCIDENT AS IT CREATED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - LENOIR CITY, TN
AT DEALERSHIP TO POSSIBLY PURCHASE USED 2012 KIA SORENTO. VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. DEALER HAD TO JUMP START. EVERYTHING SEEMED OK AND DROVE TO NEARBY PARKING LOT TO LOOK OVER THE CAR. LEFT THE CAR RUNNING IN PARK AND AFTER 5 MINUTES VARIOUS DASH LIGHTS BEGAN TO LIGHT UP, ENGINE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE, AND THE STOP BUTTON WOULD NOT SHUTDOWN THE CAR. EVENTUALLY THE ENGINE LABORED AND THEN STOPPED. CALLED DEALER AND WE JUMP STARTED THE ENGINE. ON THE WAY BACK TO DEALERSHIP (LESS THAN A MILE) THE ENGINE LABORED, THROTTLE WOULD NOT RESPOND, POWER STEERING GOT VERY HEAVY, AND THEN THE ENGINE QUIT. THIS HAPPENED TWICE REQUIRING JUMP STARTS. IT DIED AGAIN ENTERING THE DEALERSHIP. BATTERY HAD BEEN REPLACED BY DEALERSHIP BUT TROUBLESHOOTING DETERMINED THE ALTERNATOR WAS NOT CHARGING. SENT TO KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

11/23/2014 - DARLINGTON, SC
TODAY, SUNDAY NOVEMBER 23, 2014 I WENT TO OPEN MY TRUNK...IT FELT REALLY HEAVY AS I WENT TO LIFT IT...TO MY AMAZEMENT THE STRUTS THAT HOLDS UP THE TRUNK WOULD NOT KEEP THEM UP. I'M GLAD IT DID NOT COME DOWN ON ME WHILE I WAS GETTING MY GROCERY OUT OF THE TRUNK...NOW WHAT DO I DO TO GET THIS FIXED...I ONLY HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR FOUR MONTHS AND NOW THIS HAS HAPPENED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION!!! IT COULD HAVE COME DOWN ON MY BACK AS I WAS REACHING INTO THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/18/2014 - SALISBURY, VT
VEHICLE BEGAN LEAKING OIL, OIL LIGHT CAME ON. REFILLED WITH OIL TO TRY AND FIND THE LEAK WITHOUT SUCCESS. MECHANIC FOUND A BAD OIL PRESSURE SWITCH. THE OIL POOLED UP IN A VALLEY IN THE ENGINE. THIS VALLEY HAD A MANUFACTURED HOLE IN THE TOP OF IT AND THAT'S WERE THE OIL WAS DUMPING OUT ONTO THE GROUND. MADE IT APPEAR THAT IT WAS A REAR MAIN SEAL LEAK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/18/2014 - SALISBURY, VT
VEHICLE BEGAN LEAKING OIL, OIL LIGHT CAME ON. REFILLED WITH OIL TO TRY AND FIND THE LEAK WITHOUT SUCCESS. MECHANIC FOUND A BAD OIL PRESSURE SWITCH. THE OIL POOLED UP IN A VALLEY IN THE ENGINE. THIS VALLEY HAD A MANUFACTURED HOLE IN THE TOP OF IT AND THAT'S WERE THE OIL WAS DUMPING OUT ONTO THE GROUND. MADE IT APPEAR THAT IT WAS A REAR MAIN SEAL LEAK.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/14/2014 - WEST BABYLON, NY
I WAS IN A STOPPED POSITION WHEN I WAS REAR ENDED BY A VEHICLE WHO WAS REAR-ENDED BY A 3RD VEHICLE. I WATCHED MY 9 YEAR OLD WHO WAS BUCKLED IN THE 2ND ROW PASSENGER SIDE GET THROWN AROUND FORWARDS AND BACKWARDS DURING THE FIRST IMPACT, I THEN PUT THE CAR INTO PARK AS WE WERE HIT A SECOND TIME AND I WATCHED HER GET THROWN AROUND FORWARD AND BACKWARD AGAIN. THE SEATBELT DID NOT ENGAGE AT EITHER POINT OF IMPACT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2014 - GAYLORD, MN
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AT 55 MPH AND ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH CAME ON AND MY HEAD LIGHTS SHUT OFF. MY CAR RESTARTED RIGHT AFTER THAT AND NOW IT HAS DONE IT THREE TIMES SINCE THEN. I AM NERVOUS WHEN I DRIVE BECAUSE, I FEAR I WILL BE STALLED SOMEWHERE AND IT WILL BE WINTER. I DRIVE 47 MILES ONE WAY TO WORK. I AM SERIOUSLY THINKING OF TRADING THE CAR OFF. I KNOW I WON'T GET ANYTHING FOR IT BUT, AT LEAST I WILL BE SAFE. WE WERE TOLD BY KIA THAT IF THE CAR SHUTS OFF IT IS RESETTING THE COMPUTER AND THEY WILL BE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE IF A DUMMY LIGHT DOESN'T STAY ON. I SEE THERE ARE MORE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE I AM HAVING WITH MY KIA AND I THINK KIA SHOULD DO A RECALL ON THEM. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE AND I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED ASAP.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2014 - GAYLORD, MN
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK AT 55 MPH AND ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH CAME ON AND MY HEAD LIGHTS SHUT OFF. MY CAR RESTARTED RIGHT AFTER THAT AND NOW IT HAS DONE IT THREE TIMES SINCE THEN. I AM NERVOUS WHEN I DRIVE BECAUSE, I FEAR I WILL BE STALLED SOMEWHERE AND IT WILL BE WINTER. I DRIVE 47 MILES ONE WAY TO WORK. I AM SERIOUSLY THINKING OF TRADING THE CAR OFF. I KNOW I WON'T GET ANYTHING FOR IT BUT, AT LEAST I WILL BE SAFE. WE WERE TOLD BY KIA THAT IF THE CAR SHUTS OFF IT IS RESETTING THE COMPUTER AND THEY WILL BE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE IF A DUMMY LIGHT DOESN'T STAY ON. I SEE THERE ARE MORE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE I AM HAVING WITH MY KIA AND I THINK KIA SHOULD DO A RECALL ON THEM. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE AND I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED ASAP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2014 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT IS PERMANENTLY ON. HAVE BEEN TOLD ITS THE CLOCK SPRING, AND WANT $400 TO REPLACE. IT IS JUST OUT OF WARRANTY. I HAVE NOTED RECALLS WITH KIA OTHER MODELS. OBVIOUSLY A WEAK POINT IN THIS MANUFACTURER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2014 - MASON, OH
MY 10-YEAR OLD SON, WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE, WAS PLAYING IN OUR 2012 KIA SORENTO ONE SUNDAY AFTERNOON. IT'S THE PUSHBUTTON START TYPE AND HE DIDN'T HAVE THE KEY FOB. THAT WAS IN THE HOUSE. REGARDLESS, WITHOUT THE CAR STARTED AND WITHOUT HIS FOOT ON THE BRAKE, HE WAS ABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE OUT OF PARK AND INTO NEUTRAL. BECAUSE THE SORENTO WAS PARKED ON AN INCLINE, IT BEGAN TO COAST BACKWARD DOWN THE DRIVEWAY. OUR SON TRIED TO PUT THE SUV BACK INTO PARK. BECAUSE IT WAS MOVING, HE WAS UNABLE TO DO THIS. SO, IN A PANIC, HE JUMPED OUT OF THE TRUCK AND TRIED TO STOP IT BY GETTING BEHIND IT AND TRYING TO SLOW IT DOWN. HE WAS UNSUCCESSFUL AND ENDED UP BEING CRUSHED BETWEEN THE SORENTO AND A TREE IN THE YARD. THIS RESULTED IN A HUGE LACERATION IN HIS KNEE, SERIOUS BRUISING TO HIS LUNGS, 4 CRACKED RIBS AND A CRACKED PELVIS. HE SPENT NEARLY 3 WEEKS IN THE HOSPITAL INCLUDING 10 DAYS IN THE PEDIATRIC INTENSIVE CARE UNIT AT CHILDREN?S HOSPITAL. AFTER THE INCIDENT, I TRIED TO RECREATE WHAT HAPPENED. I WAS ABLE TO SHIFT IN AND OUT OF PARK WITHOUT MUCH FORCE AT ALL. THIS IS WITHOUT A KEY FOB IN THE CAR, WITHOUT THE CAR BEING ON, WITHOUT MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND WITH THE DRIVER?S SIDE DOOR OPEN. OUR SON WAS VERY SERIOUSLY INJURED, BUT THIS COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH WORSE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds