Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 231 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (33) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (7) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (107) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (13) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (13)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/24/2016 - WINSLOW, ME
ON MAY 6TH, 2016 I WAS DRIVING TO WORK (BACK ROADS WITH A SPEED LIMIT OF 55 OR LESS), JUST A FEW MILES FROM MY PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT WHEN I HEARD A TICKING/CLICKING TYPE OF NOISE. EACH TIME I PRESSED THE GAS THE NOISE GOT LOUDER AND THE VEHICLE GOT SLUGGISH. I STOPPED AT ONE TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WAS ABLE TO GO THROUGH WITH LITTLE PROBLEM OTHER THAN THE SOUND GETTING LOUDER. AS I STOPPED AT ANOTHER TRAFFIC LIGHT THE CAR STALLED, I WAS ABLE TO TURN IT OVER AND AGAIN GOT THROUGH THE LIGHT BUT THE POWER WAS EVEN MORE SLUGGISH AS I PRESSED THE GAS AND THE NOISE GOT EVEN LOUDER. THE VEHICLE FINALLY DIED AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE CURB OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC. THE ENGINE WAS CEASED BECAUSE A ROD BROKE AN DROVE ITSELF INTO THE OIL PUMP RESULTING IN THE NEED TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. THE FIRST REPLACEMENT ENGINE DID NOT WORK PROPERLY THUS THEY HAD TO FIND A SECOND ENGINE TO REPLACE THE REPLACEMENT. I WAS TOLD BECAUSE I WAS NOT THE ORIGINAL OWNER THE WARRANTEE DID NOT TRANSFER WITH THE VEHICLE, THE REPLACEMENT AND ALL RELATED EXPENSES COST ME OVER $8,000. AS I HAVE FOUND SO MANY COMPLAINTS HERE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT BROUGHT AGAINST KIA MOTORS. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD HAVE A RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE DIES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/19/2016 - TITUSVILLE, FL
2012 KIA SORENTOS ARE JUNK!! IN OCT I WILL HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS, MY FIRST NEW CAR PURCHASE OR AT LEAST IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE, FEEL TOTALLY SHAFTED BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD ME A MORE EXPENSIVE OLDER CAR WITH LOADS OF MILES BUT THAT'S NOT THE POINT. ANYWAY THE THE CAR IS JUNK, AFTER PAYING $85 A DOOR TO CHANGE 3 DOORS I JUST SUPERGLUED THEM THINGS BACK ON AND TADA NO MORE HANDLES POPPING OFF. DRIVING MY CAR TODAY NORMAL JUST LIKE ANY OTHER DAY, SPEND A COUPLE HOURS IN THE OFFICE, COME OUT TO GO HOME AND NOTICE THE RED AIRBAG LIGHT ON. THIS CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD, IT MUST BE A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG! SO NOW I GET TO DRIVE AROUND AND WORRY ABOUT MY AIRBAG GOING OFF BECAUSE I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET IT FIXED OR EVEN LOOKED AT. HOW DOES A 4 YEAR OLD CAR HAVE AIRBAG ISSUES?? THEY SHOULD DEFINITELY PULL A RECALL, ESPECIALLY AFTER THAT ONE COMPANY HAD METAL SHRAPNEL SHOOTING OUT OF THEIR AIRBAGS AND KILLING AN INJURING PEOPLE! I AM TERRIFIED, I DRIVE WITH MY DAUGHTER ABOUT AN HOUR A DAY AT THE LEAST. THIS CAR HAS AIRBAGS EVERYWHERE, WHAT IF THEY GO OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY? AND THE DOOR HANDLES!?!? PLASTIC!! WHAT A JOKE! TRYING TESTING THEM IN A CONSTANTLY SUNNY STATE LIKE FLORIDA!!! RIDICULOUS JUNK!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/19/2016 - TITUSVILLE, FL
2012 KIA SORENTOS ARE JUNK!! IN OCT I WILL HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS, MY FIRST NEW CAR PURCHASE OR AT LEAST IT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE, FEEL TOTALLY SHAFTED BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD ME A MORE EXPENSIVE OLDER CAR WITH LOADS OF MILES BUT THAT'S NOT THE POINT. ANYWAY THE THE CAR IS JUNK, AFTER PAYING $85 A DOOR TO CHANGE 3 DOORS I JUST SUPERGLUED THEM THINGS BACK ON AND TADA NO MORE HANDLES POPPING OFF. DRIVING MY CAR TODAY NORMAL JUST LIKE ANY OTHER DAY, SPEND A COUPLE HOURS IN THE OFFICE, COME OUT TO GO HOME AND NOTICE THE RED AIRBAG LIGHT ON. THIS CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD, IT MUST BE A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG! SO NOW I GET TO DRIVE AROUND AND WORRY ABOUT MY AIRBAG GOING OFF BECAUSE I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET IT FIXED OR EVEN LOOKED AT. HOW DOES A 4 YEAR OLD CAR HAVE AIRBAG ISSUES?? THEY SHOULD DEFINITELY PULL A RECALL, ESPECIALLY AFTER THAT ONE COMPANY HAD METAL SHRAPNEL SHOOTING OUT OF THEIR AIRBAGS AND KILLING AN INJURING PEOPLE! I AM TERRIFIED, I DRIVE WITH MY DAUGHTER ABOUT AN HOUR A DAY AT THE LEAST. THIS CAR HAS AIRBAGS EVERYWHERE, WHAT IF THEY GO OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY? AND THE DOOR HANDLES!?!? PLASTIC!! WHAT A JOKE! TRYING TESTING THEM IN A CONSTANTLY SUNNY STATE LIKE FLORIDA!!! RIDICULOUS JUNK!!

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2016 - PECULIAR, MO
WHILE DRIVING 70MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, NO WARNING WHAT SO EVER. WE HAD A NEAR MISS WITH THE PERSON BEHIND US BUT WERE ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. AFTER WAITING 15 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO START, IT NOW HAS A LOUD CLANK COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND STILL NO POWER. WE WERE STRANDED UNABLE TO DRIVE IT. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT LOOKED AT IT AND FOUND METAL SHAVINGS IN THE MOTOR, SAID HE HAS HAD TO FIX MANY OF THESE ISSUES ON THIS PARTICULAR MOTOR, GDI 2.4 L AND THAT IT IS A MANUFACTURING ISSUE NOTHING WE DID. THE CAUSE WAS FROM METAL SHAVINGS BLOCKING OIL PASSAGE TO THE RODS AND THE ROD BEARINGS WENT OUT CAUSING A CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2016 - BRONX, NY
THE CAR WOULD LOSE POWER WHILE DRIVING THEN ACCELERATE TO SPEED. THIS WAS FOLLOWED BY SMOKE FROM THE TAIL PIPE. I HAVE RETURNED TO THE YONKERS KIA DEALERSHIP ON CENTRAL PARK AVENUE IN YONKERS NY ON AUGUST 5TH, 2016 TO LOOK INTO A PROBLEM. A DIAGNOSTIC WAS DONE AND IT WAS DETERMINED THE ENGINE WAS RUINED DO TO SLUG BUILD UP. I WAS TOLD THAT A REPLACEMENT WOULD COAST ABOUT $10,000. ODD FOR ME BECAUSE MY WIFE AND I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND NO INDICATION OF ENGINE ISSUES DISPLAYED ON THE DASHBOARD. AFTER SPEAKING TO A SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE HE STATED THAT I WOULD HAVE TO SUPPORT PROOF OF MAINTENANCE ON MY CAR WHICH WOULD ALLOW MY REPAIRS DONE UNDER OUR WARRANTY. I BECAME EXTREMELY DISILLUSIONED AFTER BRINGING THE CAR INTO KIA DUE TO AN ISSUE THAT CAN BE TIED TO THE MANUFACTURER. WE WERE DENIED SERVICE UNDER THE WARRANTY WHICH WE ARE STILL UNDER. OUR CAR IS FAIRLY NEW WITH LESS THAN 25K MILES. WE CARRIED OUT ALL OF THE STEPS THUS FAR INCLUDING TAKING CARE OF OUR INVESTMENT, PROVING OUR CAR HAS BEEN TAKEN CARE OFF INCLUDING KEEPING METICULOUS ANNOTATIONS (KEPT IN THE LOG PROVIDED BY KIA) AND RECEIPTS TO DATE. THIS IS ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF BIG COMPANIES LOOKING FOR LOOPHOLES AND USING TACTICS TO SWINDLE PEOPLE OF THEIR HARD EARNED PAYCHECKS. HOWEVER, KIA DOES NOT WANT TO HONOR US. OUR PAPERWORK/LOG/RECEIPTS ARE BEING TAKEN APART WITH PREJUDICE IN ORDER TO NOT PROVIDE SERVICES AND RECTIFY THIS ISSUE THAT IS PROVEN TO BE A DEFECT. WE ARE CONCLUDING THAT BASED ON THE POOR HANDLING OF OUR CASE AND MANY OTHERS LIKE OURS, KIA AND ITS AFFILIATES /DEALERS AND CORPORATE, ARE NOT ABOUT SAFETY AND CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. ALL WE ASK IS THAT KIA HONORS ITS WARRANTY RATHER THAN FINAGLE USE ON THE FABRICATED NOTION THAT WE ARE AT FAULT RATHER THAN POOR ENGINEERING.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2016 - ROCKY RIVER, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE RANDOMLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN DUE TO THE FAILURE AND WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE ENGINE FRACTURED AND FRAGMENTS ENTERED INTO OTHER AREAS OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER REPLACED THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000. UPDATED 09/23/16

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2016 - MIDDLETOWN, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A KNOCKING NOISE FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE RODS WERE TWISTING AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2016 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2016 - ELK GROVE, CA
DRIVING 80MPH ON HIGHWAY, HEARD PINGING NOISE FROM ENGINE, CAR SLOWED DOWN AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 60MPH. CAR SUDDENLY LOST ALL POWER, POWER STEERING AND BRAKES, RESULTING IN A DANGEROUS SUDDEN STALL EVENT. TOWED CAR TO DEALERSHIP, WAS TOLD ENGINE SEIZED AND NEEDED A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/16/2016 - MARION, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING OUT OF A PARKING LOT AT 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds