Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (32) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (13) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (6) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (85) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2015 - FAIRFAX, VA
ON AUGUST 23, 2015, A 2013 KIA SORENTO WAS PARKED ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND STATIONARY AFTER BEING INVOLVED IN A MINOR ACCIDENT. WITHOUT THE DRIVER+S KNOWLEDGE AND WITHOUT THE DRIVER TAKING ANY INTENTIONAL ACTION, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED OUT OF PARK AND INTO NUETRAL OR REVERSE, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO MOVE BACKWARDS. AS IT MOVED BACKWARDS, IT KNOCKED OVER AND DRAGGED THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE, WHO AT THE TIME WAS STANDING NEXT TO THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN STRUCK A PERSON STANDING BEHIND THE VEHICLE, PINNING THAT PERSON BETWEEN THE VEHICLE AND ANOTHER VEHICLE, RESULTING IN SERIOUS INJURIES. THE CAUSE OF THIS INCIDENT APPEARS TO BE RELATED TO NHTSA RECALL NUMBER 15V626 FOR 2011-2013 KIA SORENTO VEHICLES INVOLVING WIDESPREAD FAILURE OF THE BRAKE-SHIFT INTERLOCK MECHANISM.

View Details

ENGINE

12/17/2015 - EDMONTON, KY
I BOUGHT MY KIA NEW FROM THE DEALERSHIP WITH AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. IT CURRENTLY HAS 83000MI ON IT. WHEN I START IT, IT IS MAKING A RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE THAT ONLY LAST A FEW SECONDS. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY ARE SAYING IT NEEDS A NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THERE ARE SHARDS OF METAL IN THE OIL PAN. THE COST TO REPLACE IS $6000. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS NOT COME ON AT ANY POINT WHILE OWNING THE SUV, NOR HAS ANY OTHER LIGHT. WE HAVE MAINTAINED OIL CHANGES AT EVERY 4000MI OR LESS BUT WE COMPLETED ALL OIL CHANGES AND FILTER CHANGES OUR SELF. THE MASTER MECHANIC STATED THAT THERE WAS NO SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE AND THE ENGINE LOOKED TO BE WELL TAKEN CARE OF. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY IS NOT WANTING TO COVER THE COST OF THE REPAIR. WE ARE STILL WAITING TO SEE WHAT THE DEALERSHIP IS GOING TO DO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/14/2015 - GALLATIN, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE ROLLED AWAY INDEPENDENTLY CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A FRONT GATE. THE CONTACT ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP THE VEHICLE FROM CONTINUING TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LEG AND KNEE INJURIES THAT NEEDED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V626000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 106,927.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/3/2015 - GRAND SALINE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE COMING THE A STOP, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE TO CRASHED INTO A RESTAURANT. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL AT THE LOCATION OF THE CRASH AT THE TIME OF THE CALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,741.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/3/2015 - GRAND SALINE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE COMING THE A STOP, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE TO CRASHED INTO A RESTAURANT. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL AT THE LOCATION OF THE CRASH AT THE TIME OF THE CALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,741.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2015 - RIVIERA BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. ..UPDATED 02/01/16

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2015 - WEST ROXBURY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, A LOUD BANGING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE. AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND LIFTING UP THE HOOD, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED SMOKE, OIL AND A SMALL FLAME COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE FLAME SELF EXTINGUISHED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED A CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURED WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 02/02/16

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/23/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
AFTER SITTING FOR TWO DAYS, THE UNIT WOULDN'T RESPOND TO SMART KEY. INITIALLY THOUGHT SMART KEY BATTERY WAS DEAD. I REPLACED BATTERY IN SMART KEY, BUT THE VEHICLE STILL WOULDN'T RESPOND. I HAD TO USE MECHANICAL KEY TO UNLOCK AND ENTER UNIT WHEN I NOTICED THAT NEITHER THE INTERIOR LIGHTS WERE WORKING NOR WOULD THE 'START' BUTTON ACTIVATE ENGINE OR ANY AUXILIARY FUNCTIONS. BOOSTED UNIT AND TOOK TO A NEARBY SHOP. SHUT OFF ENGINE AND WAITED A FEW SECONDS, AND IT DID RESTART; BUT LEFT WITH SHOP TO SEE IF BATTERY HAD A BAD CELL (THE REASON IT WOULDN'T START). THE SHOP INDICATED THAT BOTH THE ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY NEEDING REPLACING. THE SHOP SUPERVISOR STATED THAT THE ALTERNATOR WASN'T PROPERLY CHARGING THE BATTERY. I MENTIONED THAT THE ALTERNATOR/CHARGE LIGHT NEVER CAME ON WITH ME; BUT HE STATED THAT IT WILL NOT ALWAYS COME ON UNLESS THE ALTERNATOR HAS REALLY GOTTEN BAD. REPLACEMENT ALTERNATOR COST $500 (EXCLUDING LABOR) FOR A UNIT THAT IS ONLY JUST OVER 4.25 YEARS OLD, AND WITH ONLY 83,700 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/7/2015 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
THE RED AIRBAG DASHBOARD LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK IT IN TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THE CLOCK SPRING NEEDED REPLACING. THEY WANTED TO CHARGE ME $458 DOLLARS TO FIX IT. I PURCHASED THIS CAR LESS THAN A YEAR AGO. IT'S A 2012 SO THIS PART SHOULD NOT BE FAULTY AFTER THIS LENGTH OF TIME. THE CAR HAS 65,000 MILES ON IT, AND SINCE I PURCHASED IT USED IT'S OUT OF WARRANTY AS OF 60,000. NOW I AM WITHOUT AIRBAGS BECAUSE I CAN'T AFFORD THIS REPAIR. I FEEL THAT KIA SHOULD TAKE CARE OF THIS AT NO CHARGE SINCE THIS PART SHOULD NOT FAIL AFTER 3 YEARS WITH NO ACCIDENTS OR STEERING COLUMN ISSUES THAT WOULD ESCALATE THE PART FAILING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
FRIDAY 9/18/15 10:40 AM, BACKING OUT OF PARKING SPOT SLOWLY INTO A ROAD. ENGINE SUDDENLY FAILED, ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE BRAKES COMPLETELY FAILED. WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AND PARK IT AGAIN, BUT BRAKES STILL FAILED AND HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND THE CURB AND TREE AT CURB TO STOP VEHICLE. TOWED TO ED VOYLES KIA ON PEACHTREE INDUSTRIAL BLVD IN ATLANTA WHO FOUND NO RECORD OF THE INCIDENT IN COMPUTER AND THAT ALL DIAGNOSTICS WERE NORMAL AND THEY COULDN'T REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM, SO THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. I SENT THEM THIS LINK WITH OTHERS EXPERIENCING SIMILAR ISSUES AND TOLD REP ABOUT OTHERS' EXPERIENCES:HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/KIA/SORENTO/2012/ENGINE/ENGINE.SHTML. THEN HAD IT TOWED TO COBB COUNTY KIA IN KENNESSAW, GA. THEY MAINTAINED NEGLECT ON OUR PART B/C OIL LEVEL WAS AT 0 (PREVIOUS DEALERSHIP SAW NO PROBLEM HERE), ENGINE HAD MAJOR SLUDGE AND PARTICLES OF METAL IN IT, NEEDED FULL ENGINE REPLACEMENT FOR $6500 DIDN'T MAKE SENSE WITH OUR REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND DIDN'T EXPLAIN THE BRAKE FAILURE, THOUGH REP SAID IT DID. HAD IT TOWED TO AAA CAR CARE PLUS IN MARIETTA. COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE ISSUE AND SAID THE CAR, INCLUDING THE ENGINE, WAS IN GREAT SHAPE, WAS FULL OF ALL FLUIDS. MECHANIC ALSO SAID THAT THERE WERE 0 RECORDS ON COMPUTER AND THAT ONE OF DEALERSHIPS LIKELY WIPED IT COMPLETELY CLEAN. HAVE RENTED A CAR IN MEANTIME BECAUSE MY, MY HUSBAND'S, MY TWO KIDS' AND OTHER DRIVERS AND PEDESTRIANS SAFETY WOULD BE COMPROMISED. OTHER COMMENTS ONLINE MENTION PROBLEM MORE THAN ONCE, SOME ON THE HIGHWAY. ALSO REMEMBERED THAT MY HUSBAND HAD HAD TROUBLE STARTING THE CAR A COUPLE OF MONTHS BACK, WITH NO LIGHTS COMING ON AT ALL. HE GOT THE BATTERY CHECKED OUT, AND HE WAS TOLD IT WAS FINE. WE RELAYED THIS TO THE MECHANICS TOO, BUT THEY SEEMED NOT TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE INFO. WE CANNNOT AND WILL NOT DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL IT'S RESOLVED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds