Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 276 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (34) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (131) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (13)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/16/2017 - COATESVILLE, PA
I HAVE CONTACTED THE KIA DEALERSHIP THREE TIMES ABOUT THIS CAR BURNING OIL. THEY TOLD ME THIS IS NORMAL FOR A VEHICLE THAT HAS 90,000 MILES ON IT. ONE TIME I HAD TO PUT 2 QUARTS OF OIL IN IT AND THEN AFTER DRIVING 400 MILES I HAD TO PUT ANOTHER 1 QUART OF OIL IN IT. I UNDERSTAND THEY COULD BE A PROBLEM WITH THE 2.4 ENGINE IN THIS VEHICLE. ALL I AM ASKING IS FOR THEM TO DO A COMBUSTION TEST ON THE ENGINE WHILE IT IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - BRADFORD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER WHEN APPLYING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE DRIVER NOTICED THAT SMOKE WAS EMITTING UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND A FIRE ERUPTED UNDER THE HOOD. A PASSERBY STAYED WITH THE DRIVER UNTIL A STATE TROOPER WAS PRESENT AS THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE AND THE FLAMES WENT OUT OVER TIME. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC YARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE CONTACT WAS WAITING TO DETERMINE A RESPONSE FROM THE MANUFACTURER TO DIAGNOSE HOW THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000. ..UPDATED 06/27/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2017 - MANCHESTER, NH
CAR PURCHASED IN NOVEMBER 2014. DRIVER'S SIDE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON A WEEK AGO ABOUT 81,700 MILES. TOOK TO KIA DEALER ON 5-4-17 AND WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW AIR BAG COSTING $1,032 AS EXTENDED WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER IT. WARRANTY SHOULD COVER COST OF REPLACING AIRBAG AS IT IS PART OF THE VEHICLE AND IS FAULTY THROUGH NO FAULT OF MY OWN. I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT SIMILAR ISSUES. I AM NOT ABLE TO REPLACE AIRBAGS AT THIS TIME DUE TO COST. PLEASE HELP. SHOULDN'T THERE BE A RECALL FROM MANUFACTURER ON THIS. SAFETY IS A PRIORITY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2017 - RALEIGH, NC
CAR NEVER GAVE A WARNING THAT ANYTHING WAS WRONG, TOOK IT TO GET REGULAR OIL CHANGES AS NEEDED AND SUDDENLY IN TRAFFIC WHILE MOVING FORWARD, THE CAR BEGAN BUCKING AND JUMPING, THE NOISE SOUNDED LIKE A CLUCK. I THOUGHT SOMETHING HAD FALLEN OFF AS THE CAR WAS ORIGINALLY DRIVING SMOOTHLY. I HAD IT TOWEDT TO KIA AND IT WAS SAID THE ENGINE WAS NO GOOD. NO WARNING LIGHTS OR ENGINE LIGHTS EVER CAME ON TO FOREWARN OF ANY ISSUES EVER WITH THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2017 - LAAKE HAVASU CITY, AZ
TOOK THE CAR 6 WEEKS LEFT ON MY WARRANTY. STARTING COLD, ENGINE MAKING NOISE ( LIKE TAPPATS, LOUD} THE SERVICE MAN AND KIA TECH. HEARD THE SOUND AGREED BUT THE WORK ORDER STATED LIKE SIMULAR ENGINE. NOW NO WARRANTY. EXPIRED . KIA REP. STATED MUST BRING THE CAR TO DEALER ( 70 MILES EACH WAY} AND HAVE $300 FOR TAKEN THE ENGINE APART AND DRIVE ROD IS ONLY UNDER WARRANTY IF NEEDED. TRANPORTATION I ON MY OWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/21/2017 - VERONA, MS
TRUCK STARTED MAKING A KNOCKING NOISE. TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND TO MY SURPRISED, WAS TOLD THAT I NEED AN ENGINE. IT WAS SHOCKING BECAUSE THERE WERE NO SIGNS PRIOR TO THE KNOCKING TO INDICATE A PROBLEM. NO LIGHTS ON THE PANEL LIT UP, NO OIL LEAKS OR ANYTHING OF THAT NATURE. THE MOST APPALLING THING IS THAT THEY QUOTED SEVERAL PRICES FOR REPLACING THE ENGINE? IT WAS NOTHING THAT I DID WRONG TO CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. IN RESEARCHING, I FOUND THAT SHAVINGS FROM THE ENGINE COULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS A MANFACTURE DEFECT. MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING IT WHEN IT FINALLY STALLED. HE SUFFERED A HEART ATTACK ONE YEAR AGO AND IS NOT ABLE TO PNYSICALL PUSH THE TRUCK OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC. FINALLY, HE WAS ABLE TO COAST IT OFF THE HIGHWAY. ALTHOUGH IT HAS ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND MILES, IT WAS SERVICED REGULARLY AND SHOWED NO SIGNS OF A PROBLEM. IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM, IT WAS NOT CAUGHT OR IT WAS IGNORED DURING SERVICE APPOINTMENTS. WHAT OPTIONS DO I HAVE? I DO HAVE A LAWYER WAITING TO HELP ME WITH THIS PROBLEM. I WAS NOT GIVEN INFORMATION THAT SUPPORTED THE NEED OF A NEW ENGINE AT THE COST OF $8,000.00 WHICH IS MORE THAN THE VALUE OF THE TRUCK.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2017 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
LAST YEAR MY CAR STALLED AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP AND WE WERE TOLD IT WAS THE ALTERNATER (WHICH WAS REPLACED AT THIS TIME) MY CAR SINCE THEN HAS HAD OFF AND ON TIMES WHERE IT WOULD START TO STALL BUT NOT SHUT OFF AND IT HAS BECOME MORE FREQUENT OVER THE PAST FEW WEEKS. THERE IS A RECALL FROM KIA COMING OUT IN MID MAY FOR THIS PROBLEM WHICH HAS CAUSED SERVERAL ACCIDENTS IN OTHER CARS, AND WE HAVE BEEN TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP AND CUSTOMER RELATIONS THAT I WOULD HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE RECALL TO COME OUT BEFORE ANYTHING CAN BE DONE SINCE THEY CANNOT FIND WHERE IT IS COMING FROM WHILE IT HAS BEEN IN THERE POSSESSION MULTIPLE TIMES AND THE KNOCKING THAT CAN BE BARELY HEARD IS "WITHIN REASON". I WAS ALSO TOLD BY THE KIA CUSTOMER RELATIONS THAT IF MY ENGINE DIED BEFORE THE RECALL THEN THEY WOULD REPLACED IT. I TOLD THEM MY MAIN CONCERN IS I HAVE FOUR CHILDREN THAT I DRIVE AROUND WITH AND DON'T WANT TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT DUE TO MY ENGINE DYING WHILE DRIVING AND THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO ANOTHER DEALER TO HAVE THEM CHECK IT OUT, WHICH I WILL BUT I AM PUTTING THIS IN IN THE MEAN TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2017 - MILWAUKEE, WI
MY ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE IN MOTION. THE FRONT END POPS DURING BRAKING, AND A BOLT HEAD BROKE OFF THE AWD HOUSING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/10/2017 - MILWAUKEE, WI
MY ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE IN MOTION. THE FRONT END POPS DURING BRAKING, AND A BOLT HEAD BROKE OFF THE AWD HOUSING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/10/2017 - MILWAUKEE, WI
MY ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE IN MOTION. THE FRONT END POPS DURING BRAKING, AND A BOLT HEAD BROKE OFF THE AWD HOUSING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds