Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 176 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (31) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (6) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (70) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/10/2015 - MIDLAND, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE ENGINE SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER FOR UNKNOWN REPAIRS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,381.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2015 - CRAWFORDVILLE, FL
HAVE TO REPLACE THE BULB IN MY HEADLIGHT. USED TO BE EVERY 4-5 MONTHS. NOW, IT'S 3 TIMES IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. AFTER TAKING IT TO SHOP, WIRING IS SHORTING OUT, MELTING PLASTIC AROUND BULB AND CONNECTION TO CAR. CAN NOT JUST REPLACE LITTLE SOCKET, LIKE IN MOST CARS, KIA WANTS YOU TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE WIRING HARNESS, TO THE TUNE OF OVER $500 FOR THE PART ALONE, NOT COUNTING LABOR. AFTER SEARCHING ONLINE, FOUND THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE FOR THE LAST 9-10 YEARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/29/2015 - SARASOTA, FL
THE FIRST INCIDENT OCCURRED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. I WENT TO ACCELERATE AND REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD SHUT ITSELF OFF. I PUT IT IN PARK, AND RESTARTED IT WITHOUT INCIDENT. WHEN I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND THAT I SHOULD BRING IT IN AS SOON AS IT HAPPENS NEXT TIME. THE SECOND TIME, MARCH 28, 2015, I WAS TRYING TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT WHEN I WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. AGAIN, I REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD STALLED, SO I PUT IT INTO PARK, AND RESTARTED IT. WHILE THERE WAS NO HARM DONE, MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS WILL HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING AT A HIGHER SPEED, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE SEEN THIS SAME OCCURRENCE IN OTHER REVIEWS AND WONDER WHY THIS IS NOT MORE OF A CONCERN FOR THE MANUFACTURERS. WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR A RECALL?

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2015 - SARASOTA, FL
THE FIRST INCIDENT OCCURRED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. I WENT TO ACCELERATE AND REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD SHUT ITSELF OFF. I PUT IT IN PARK, AND RESTARTED IT WITHOUT INCIDENT. WHEN I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND THAT I SHOULD BRING IT IN AS SOON AS IT HAPPENS NEXT TIME. THE SECOND TIME, MARCH 28, 2015, I WAS TRYING TO PULL INTO A PARKING SPOT WHEN I WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL. AGAIN, I REALIZED THAT THE CAR HAD STALLED, SO I PUT IT INTO PARK, AND RESTARTED IT. WHILE THERE WAS NO HARM DONE, MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT SOMETHING LIKE THIS WILL HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING AT A HIGHER SPEED, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE SEEN THIS SAME OCCURRENCE IN OTHER REVIEWS AND WONDER WHY THIS IS NOT MORE OF A CONCERN FOR THE MANUFACTURERS. WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR A RECALL?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/27/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ON MONDAY, MARCH 23 AT 8 PM, I ARRIVED HOME AND PARKED MY CAR IN OUR DRIVEWAY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. I LOVED UP AND WENT INSIDE. AT 4:30 AM WEDNESDAY MORNING, MY SON CAME INTO OUR BEDROOM SAYING BE THOUGHT SUNSHINE WAS TRYING TO BREAK INTO MY CAR BECAUSE THE CAR ALARM WAS GOING OFF. I WENT TO THE WINDOW TO LOOK OUT, AND IMMEDIATELY SEE THAT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FLAMES APPEARED TO BE COMING FROM THE LEFT DRIVER'S SIDE TAIL LIGHT. WE CALLED 911. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED THE WHOLE BACK HALF OF THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE WAS ROARING. THE CAR WAS TOTALED. AN ARSON INVESTIGATOR ROLLED OUT ARSON. IT WAS THE CRAZIEST THING I HAVE EVER WITNESSED AND IT WAS TERRIFYINGLY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. THE FIRE WAS ALREADY IN OUR YARD WHEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. I SHUTTER TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF MY SON HAD NOT WOOLEN UP WHEN HE HAD. THE FIRE WAS SO CLOSE TO THE GAS TANK, WE ARE LUCKY THERE WANT A FULL ON EXPLOSION. THE WEATHER WAS MILD AND DRY WHEN IT HAPPENED AND THERE WAS NO DEFERRED MAINTENANCE ON THE CAR. I SIMPLY CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FIRE. MY BEST GUESS IS THAT SOMETHING SET OF THE CAR ALARM WHICH ON TURN SHORTED AND SPARKED THE FIRE IN THE FLASHING REAR LIGHTS. IT WAS A CERTIFIED USED VEHICLE AND IN PERFECT CONDITION THAT I PURCHASED IN SEPTEMBER 2014.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ON MONDAY, MARCH 23 AT 8 PM, I ARRIVED HOME AND PARKED MY CAR IN OUR DRIVEWAY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. I LOVED UP AND WENT INSIDE. AT 4:30 AM WEDNESDAY MORNING, MY SON CAME INTO OUR BEDROOM SAYING BE THOUGHT SUNSHINE WAS TRYING TO BREAK INTO MY CAR BECAUSE THE CAR ALARM WAS GOING OFF. I WENT TO THE WINDOW TO LOOK OUT, AND IMMEDIATELY SEE THAT THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FLAMES APPEARED TO BE COMING FROM THE LEFT DRIVER'S SIDE TAIL LIGHT. WE CALLED 911. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED THE WHOLE BACK HALF OF THE CAR WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE WAS ROARING. THE CAR WAS TOTALED. AN ARSON INVESTIGATOR ROLLED OUT ARSON. IT WAS THE CRAZIEST THING I HAVE EVER WITNESSED AND IT WAS TERRIFYINGLY CLOSE TO OUR HOUSE. THE FIRE WAS ALREADY IN OUR YARD WHEN THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED. I SHUTTER TO THINK WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF MY SON HAD NOT WOOLEN UP WHEN HE HAD. THE FIRE WAS SO CLOSE TO THE GAS TANK, WE ARE LUCKY THERE WANT A FULL ON EXPLOSION. THE WEATHER WAS MILD AND DRY WHEN IT HAPPENED AND THERE WAS NO DEFERRED MAINTENANCE ON THE CAR. I SIMPLY CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FIRE. MY BEST GUESS IS THAT SOMETHING SET OF THE CAR ALARM WHICH ON TURN SHORTED AND SPARKED THE FIRE IN THE FLASHING REAR LIGHTS. IT WAS A CERTIFIED USED VEHICLE AND IN PERFECT CONDITION THAT I PURCHASED IN SEPTEMBER 2014.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/27/2015 - ELGIN, SC
I PURCHASED CAR AROUND SEPTEMBER 2013. I STARTED TO NOTICED SOMETIME LATER IN 2013. AS I PULL OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, GET TO THE END OF DRIVEWAY AND STOP TO WAIT ON TRAFFIC. I NOTICED THIS GRINDING LIKE SOUND WHEN I APPLY MY BRAKES. HOWEVER I ALSO NOTICED THIS SOUND WHEN I APPLIED MY FOOT FROM THE BRAKE TO GAS PEDAL. SO WHEN I TOOK CAR IN FOR SERVICE I ASKED IF MY BRAKES WOULD BE CHECKED, THEY SAID YES. TOLD ME BRAKES WERE FINE. CONTINUED TO HEAR THIS NOISE. EXPLAINED THE NOISE ON ONE OCCASION AT THE DEALERSHIP WHILE GETTING SERVICE AND THEY STILL SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. IT IS NOW JANUARY 2015 AND I STILL HERE THAT SAME NOISE. I DECIDED TO CHECK ONLINE TO SEE IF OTHERS WERE HAVING THIS SAME ISSUES AND SINCE I WAS ABLE TO FIND AT LEAST 2 OTHER CASES REPORTED. I THOUGHT MAYBE I SHOULD REPORT WHAT WAS HAPPENING TO ME TO AND HOPEFULLY IT WOULD BE LOOKED AT SOONER RATHER THAN LATER. THEY CALLED IT BRAKE HYDRAULIC PROBLEMS. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT OR IF ANY SOLUTIONS ARE BEING LOOKED AT BECAUSE THESE PEOPLE REPORTED THIS BACK IN 2012 AND HERE IT IS 2015 AND I HAVEN'T HEARD ANYTHING ABOUT ANY RECALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - DELMAR, NY
I WAS DRIVING AT 55 MPH WHEN MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. WITHIN SEVERAL MINUTES EVERY WARNING SYMBOL LIGHT BEGAN TO LIGHT UP. MY RADIO EVENTUALLY SHUT DOWN AND THE FRONT DASH LIGHTING WENT OUT. I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE FOR ANOTHER COUPLE OF MILES, BUT THE ENGINE POWER WAS DWINDLING. I EVENTUALLY LOST ACCELERATION AND POWER BRAKES AND STEERING. MY CAR HAS A PUSH BUTTON START AND I WAS UNABLE TO SHUT IT OFF. THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING VERY ROUGHLY. I WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE CAR INTO PARK- ONLY DRIVE OR NEUTRAL AND COULD NOT GET MY FLASHERS TO COME ON. AFTER 5-7 MINUTES, THE CAR FINALLY DIED AND I COULD SHIFT IT INTO PARK AND THE HAZARD LIGHTS CAME ON. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS DAY THAT MY BATTERY WAS COMPLETELY DEAD AND WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED BEFORE ANYTHING ELSE COULD BE CHECKED. AFTER THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED I WAS TOLD THE ALTERNATOR WAS WORKING FINE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THIS INCIDENT AS IT CREATED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - LENOIR CITY, TN
AT DEALERSHIP TO POSSIBLY PURCHASE USED 2012 KIA SORENTO. VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. DEALER HAD TO JUMP START. EVERYTHING SEEMED OK AND DROVE TO NEARBY PARKING LOT TO LOOK OVER THE CAR. LEFT THE CAR RUNNING IN PARK AND AFTER 5 MINUTES VARIOUS DASH LIGHTS BEGAN TO LIGHT UP, ENGINE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE, AND THE STOP BUTTON WOULD NOT SHUTDOWN THE CAR. EVENTUALLY THE ENGINE LABORED AND THEN STOPPED. CALLED DEALER AND WE JUMP STARTED THE ENGINE. ON THE WAY BACK TO DEALERSHIP (LESS THAN A MILE) THE ENGINE LABORED, THROTTLE WOULD NOT RESPOND, POWER STEERING GOT VERY HEAVY, AND THEN THE ENGINE QUIT. THIS HAPPENED TWICE REQUIRING JUMP STARTS. IT DIED AGAIN ENTERING THE DEALERSHIP. BATTERY HAD BEEN REPLACED BY DEALERSHIP BUT TROUBLESHOOTING DETERMINED THE ALTERNATOR WAS NOT CHARGING. SENT TO KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

11/23/2014 - DARLINGTON, SC
TODAY, SUNDAY NOVEMBER 23, 2014 I WENT TO OPEN MY TRUNK...IT FELT REALLY HEAVY AS I WENT TO LIFT IT...TO MY AMAZEMENT THE STRUTS THAT HOLDS UP THE TRUNK WOULD NOT KEEP THEM UP. I'M GLAD IT DID NOT COME DOWN ON ME WHILE I WAS GETTING MY GROCERY OUT OF THE TRUNK...NOW WHAT DO I DO TO GET THIS FIXED...I ONLY HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR FOUR MONTHS AND NOW THIS HAS HAPPENED. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION!!! IT COULD HAVE COME DOWN ON MY BACK AS I WAS REACHING INTO THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds