Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 251 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (34) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (38) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (120) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/31/2017 - MARYSVILLE, IN
LETTER FROM KIA SAYING AIRBAG MAY BE ISSUE. WHEN I CALLED DEALER I TOLD THEM AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON AND THEY SAID I'D BE CHARGED IF NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT. THIS WAS NOT A RECALL ACCORDING TO KIA. AFTER LOOKING ONLINE MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS HAVE FACED SAME ISSUE WITH THE SORENTO AND OTHER KIA MODELS. UNDER WARRANTY, DEALERS HAVE CHANGED OUT SEATS AND RESOLVED THE AIRBAG ISSUE. MOST CASES THOUGH, DEALER WANTS TO CHARGE TO CORRECT THIS VERY IMPORTANT SAFETY ISSUE! THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND MADE A RECALL FOR KIA OWNERS. IF YOUR DEPARTMENT WOULD INVESTIGATE THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE, I'M SURE YOU'D AGREE THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND I HOPE YOU WILL ADDRESS THIS ISSUE ASAP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/15/2017 - JUPITER, FL
ON 12/27 THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE FELL OFF WHEN MY 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR AND IT WAS FIXED BY THE DEALER WITH A COST OF ALMOST $300. THE HANDLE WAS IN HER HAND. YESTERDAY THE REAR DRIVER DOOR HANDLE FELL OFF WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS IN THAT WITHOUT THE HANDLE YOU CANNOT OPEN THE DOORS FROM THE OUTSIDE, AND AS SUCH EMERGENCY RESPONDERS WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO REACH THE REAR PASSENGER IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION. WE HAVE CANALS NEXT TO THE ROAD IN SOUTH FLORIDA. THUS I AM REPORTING THIS. TWO DIFFERENT DOOR HANDLES IN TWO WEEKS. VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/6/2017 - SUGAR GROVE, IL
I NOTICED THAT UPON STARTING , MY KIA LET OUT BLUE SMOKE. I SAW NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO OIL ON THE GROUND, NO INDICATION OF A SERIOUS PROBLEM OTHER THAN THE SMOKE. I HAVE A LITTLE OVER 95,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND A 100,000 MILE WARRANTY I MADE AN APPOINTMENT TO SERVICE THE CAR AND HAVE IT LOOKED AT. EVERYTHING WAS RUNNING FINE AND DRIVING FINE. THREE DAYS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. NO OTHER INDICATORS WERE PRESENT. I DROVE THE CAR A SHORT DISTANCE AND IT SEIZED UP WHILE I WAS TRAVELING AT ABOUT 45 MPH. I CHANGED THE OIL ON A REGULAR BASIS & DID THE NORMAL SERVICE WORK. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE CAR AND SAID IT NEEDED A NEW ENGINE AND REAR END. THE REAR END WOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE ENGINE WOULD NOT. I DID NOT HAVE MY RECEIPTS FOR OIL CHANGES. I AM TRYING TO GET KIA TO HONOR THE WARRANTY. THEY WILL COVER THE REAR END BUT NOT THE ENGINE AT THIS POINT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/6/2017 - SUGAR GROVE, IL
I NOTICED THAT UPON STARTING , MY KIA LET OUT BLUE SMOKE. I SAW NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO OIL ON THE GROUND, NO INDICATION OF A SERIOUS PROBLEM OTHER THAN THE SMOKE. I HAVE A LITTLE OVER 95,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND A 100,000 MILE WARRANTY I MADE AN APPOINTMENT TO SERVICE THE CAR AND HAVE IT LOOKED AT. EVERYTHING WAS RUNNING FINE AND DRIVING FINE. THREE DAYS LATER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. NO OTHER INDICATORS WERE PRESENT. I DROVE THE CAR A SHORT DISTANCE AND IT SEIZED UP WHILE I WAS TRAVELING AT ABOUT 45 MPH. I CHANGED THE OIL ON A REGULAR BASIS & DID THE NORMAL SERVICE WORK. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE CAR AND SAID IT NEEDED A NEW ENGINE AND REAR END. THE REAR END WOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE ENGINE WOULD NOT. I DID NOT HAVE MY RECEIPTS FOR OIL CHANGES. I AM TRYING TO GET KIA TO HONOR THE WARRANTY. THEY WILL COVER THE REAR END BUT NOT THE ENGINE AT THIS POINT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2016 - HOMESTEAD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY DECELERATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER, ATTEMPTED TO CHECK UNDER THE HOOD, AND FOUND THAT THE ENGINE WAS ON FIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/11/2016 - MILWAUKEE, WI
THE ENGINE STARTED BURNING OIL, THE ENGINE HAD 65,707 MILES WHEN WE NOTIFY THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. WE ASKED THE DEALERSHIP PEOPLE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE ENGINE AND THEY ONLY REBUILD IT. WE'RE SO UPSET AND NOT SUPPORTED SINCE WE ARE STILL PAYING A LOT OF MONEY FOR THIS VEHICLE AND NOT HAVING GUARANTEE O HOW LONG THIS FIX WILL WORK.

View Details

ENGINE

12/9/2016 - WAUPACA, WI
CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE, STATIONARY, ENGINE SEIZED UP AFTER OWNING IT FOR 10 MONTHS. 104,000 MILES, OIL CHANGES REGULAR, METAL SHAVINGS IN OIL, NO OIL LIGHTS OR ENGINE LIGHTS ON.

View Details

WHEELS

11/21/2016 - MAGNOLIA, TX
WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MILES PER HOUR ON A PAVED CITY ROAD, THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT WHEEL CAVED INTO THE VEHICLE (DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE). THE VEHICLE HAD NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT NOR HIT ANY SIGNIFICANT HOLES. THE INCIDENT WAS SPONTANEOUS WITHOUT ANY APPARENT CAUSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A KIA DEALER, WHO FOUND THAT THE BOTTOM BOLT OF THE STRUT HAD BROKEN AND FALLEN OUT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/21/2016 - MAGNOLIA, TX
WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MILES PER HOUR ON A PAVED CITY ROAD, THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT WHEEL CAVED INTO THE VEHICLE (DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE). THE VEHICLE HAD NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT NOR HIT ANY SIGNIFICANT HOLES. THE INCIDENT WAS SPONTANEOUS WITHOUT ANY APPARENT CAUSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A KIA DEALER, WHO FOUND THAT THE BOTTOM BOLT OF THE STRUT HAD BROKEN AND FALLEN OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/16/2016 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
DRIVING ON A CITY HIGHWAY AT APPROX 40MPH, ENGINE DIED, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. LOST POWER STEERING ETC. COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD, CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. HAD TO CALL TOWING COMPANY TO GET IT TO KIA MAIN DEALER. ENGINE HAD COMPLETELY SEIZED (SPUN MAIN BEARING). IT HAS HAD REGULAR MAINTENANCE USING MOBIL 1 SYNTHETIC OIL. ENGINE WAS AT 111,000 MILES AND IS BEING REPLACED UNDER KIA 120K MILE EXTENDED ENGINE WARRANTY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds