Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 308 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (37) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (45) Exterior Lighting (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (19) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (9) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (146) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (15) Tires (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (18)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/16/2017 - GREENSBORO, NC
ON 08/10/12017 WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 KIA SORENTO ON I-40. I HEARD A "RATTLING NOISE" FROM THE ENGINE. AS I SLOWED DOWN THE SOUND GOT LOUDER. I TURNED ON A SIDE STREET INTO A SAFE AREA AND PARKED MY VEHICLE. THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER MY HOOD. I OPENED THE HOOD AND SAW 2 SMALL PATCHES OF FIRE. I WAS ABLE TO PUT THEM OUT, THEN RAN TO A BEST WESTERN HOTEL AND ASKED FOR A FIRE EXTINGUISHER IN CASE A FIRE WOULD ERUPT AGAIN. I RESEARCHED AND DISCOVERED THAT ON 03/17/2017 KIA ANNOUNCED A RECALL FOR 2012 SORENTOS. KIA'S RECALL: SC147: " BEARING WEAR MAY RESULT IN ENGINE SEIZURE" THIS IS ON KIA'S, NHTSA'S , PBS AND FORBES WEBSITES. [ NHTSA CAMPAIGN # 17V224000 "MACHINING ERRORS DURING THE ENGINE MANUFACTURING PROCESS MAY CAUSE PREMATURE BEARING WEAR WITHIN THE ENGINE"] I CONTACTED KIA'S CONSUMER AFFAIRS # AND THE PERSON TOLD THAT MY 2012 KIA SORENTO WAS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE RECALL. HE SAID MY VIN # WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. I HAD JUST RETURNED WITH MY FAMILY 1 DAY PRIOR FROM A TRIP TO MOBILE, AL. (1500 MILES ROUND TRIP). ON 08/12/17 I HAD MY VEHICLE TOWED TO BATTLEGROUND KIA WHERE THE ADVISOR & TECHNICIAN SHOWED ME THE PROBLEM A "THROWN ROD".THIS HOLE IS 3" TO 4" DIAMETER. (PICTURES ATTACHED). I ASKED WHAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE ROD TO BE THROWN? I HAD MY OIL CHANGED ON SCHEDULE THE LATEST WAS 07/26/2017. THIS VEHICLE HAS 123,937 MILES ON IT. HE REPLIED HE DIDN'T KNOW WHAT CAUSED IT. ON 08/15/2017 I WAS INFORMED THAT TO REPLACE THE ENGINE WITH A USED ONE WITH 99,000 MILES WAS $6400 PLUS LABOR. [THAT IS ABOUT 24,000 MILES LESS THAN MINE CURRENT MILEAGE WITH THE SAME POTENTIAL PROBLEM LINGERING TO HAPPEN AGAIN] IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE PROBLEMS WITH THE RECALL ENGINES ARE IDENTICAL WITH MINE. I WOULD LIKE KIA MANUFACTURING TO REPLACE MY DEFECTIVE ENGINE WITH A NEW ENGINE AND RENTAL VEHICLE AT NO COST TO ME. I'LL LIKE TO PARTNER WITH THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP TO RECTIFY THIS. UPDATED 08/31/2017

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/10/2017 - HAYSVILLE, KS
WE ARE CHANGING THE 3RD HEAD LIGHT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE IN A MONTH. WE HAD A STORM KNOCKING OUT ALL STREET LIGHTS AND IT WAS HARD TO SEE..ANSMD I KEEP GETTING PULLED OVER. I FEEL LIKE I NEED TO CARRY A BACK UP. PLUS MY PLASTIC POS DOOR PANELS DETACH AND TRAP MY KIDS IN THE CAR..WE HAVE TO BEAT THEM DOWN SO SO WE CAN OPEN DOORS. OH AND WE HAD TO CUT THE GAS COVER OFF CAUSE IT WOULDNT OPEN...AND THE SEATS WONT GO DOWN ANYMORE, HATCH WONT STAY UP..AND MY BLUTOOTH SYSTEM ONLY WORKS ABOUT 20 PERCENT OF TIME! NEVER AGAIN KIA!

View Details

SEATS

8/10/2017 - HAYSVILLE, KS
WE ARE CHANGING THE 3RD HEAD LIGHT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE IN A MONTH. WE HAD A STORM KNOCKING OUT ALL STREET LIGHTS AND IT WAS HARD TO SEE..ANSMD I KEEP GETTING PULLED OVER. I FEEL LIKE I NEED TO CARRY A BACK UP. PLUS MY PLASTIC POS DOOR PANELS DETACH AND TRAP MY KIDS IN THE CAR..WE HAVE TO BEAT THEM DOWN SO SO WE CAN OPEN DOORS. OH AND WE HAD TO CUT THE GAS COVER OFF CAUSE IT WOULDNT OPEN...AND THE SEATS WONT GO DOWN ANYMORE, HATCH WONT STAY UP..AND MY BLUTOOTH SYSTEM ONLY WORKS ABOUT 20 PERCENT OF TIME! NEVER AGAIN KIA!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/10/2017 - HAYSVILLE, KS
WE ARE CHANGING THE 3RD HEAD LIGHT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE IN A MONTH. WE HAD A STORM KNOCKING OUT ALL STREET LIGHTS AND IT WAS HARD TO SEE..ANSMD I KEEP GETTING PULLED OVER. I FEEL LIKE I NEED TO CARRY A BACK UP. PLUS MY PLASTIC POS DOOR PANELS DETACH AND TRAP MY KIDS IN THE CAR..WE HAVE TO BEAT THEM DOWN SO SO WE CAN OPEN DOORS. OH AND WE HAD TO CUT THE GAS COVER OFF CAUSE IT WOULDNT OPEN...AND THE SEATS WONT GO DOWN ANYMORE, HATCH WONT STAY UP..AND MY BLUTOOTH SYSTEM ONLY WORKS ABOUT 20 PERCENT OF TIME! NEVER AGAIN KIA!

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2017 - NEWNAN, GA
AS I CAME AROUND A BEND AT ABOUT 20 MPH, MY 2012 KIA SORENTO DIED. THERE WAS NO WARNING, AND NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I WAS ON A CITY STREET, AND HAD JUST PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW DOWN FOR THE TURN. THANKFULLY I WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A PARKING LOT, AND NOT DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH MY CHILDREN. I TRIED TO CRANK THE CAR AGAIN, AND IT STARTED, RAN FOR A BRIEF MOMENT, SOUNDED NORMAL, THEN DIED. I TRIED TWICE MORE WITH THE SAME RESULT, THEN CALLED A TOW TRUCK TO GET HOME. WE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY TO NOTIFY THEM OF THE ISSUE, AND THEY SENT OUT A TOW TRUCK. WHEN THEY TRIED TO CRANK IT, IT RAN ROUGH AND THEN DIED. WE ARE AWAITING APPROVAL FROM CORPORATE KIA, AS WE BELIEVE THAT THIS IS RELATED TO THE ENGINE RECALL THEY HAVE ISSUED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/3/2017 - SPRINGVILLE, UT
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWNHILL ON I-15 JUST 3 MILES SOUTH OF SCIPIO, UT, I BEGAN TO NOTICE ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES AND ACCELERATOR. I GOT INTO THE FAR RIGHT LINE OF THE HIGHWAY AND NOTICED THAT SMOKE AND FLAMES CAME FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THICK BLACK SMOKE CAME THROUGH THE AIR VENT. AS WE GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE, I BREATHED IN A LITTLE BIT OF THE THICK SMOKE THAT CAME THROUGH THE AIR VENT, BUT MY WIFE DID NOT BREATHE ANY OF THE SMOKE. THE HOOD AREA WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES AFTER WE ESCAPED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT PUT OUT THE FIRE ABOUT 20 MINUTES AFTER THIS INCIDENT STARTED. EVERYTHING FROM THE FRONT OF THE CAR TO ABOUT HALF OF THE TRUNK AREA WAS DESTROYED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/3/2017 - SPRINGVILLE, UT
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWNHILL ON I-15 JUST 3 MILES SOUTH OF SCIPIO, UT, I BEGAN TO NOTICE ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES AND ACCELERATOR. I GOT INTO THE FAR RIGHT LINE OF THE HIGHWAY AND NOTICED THAT SMOKE AND FLAMES CAME FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THICK BLACK SMOKE CAME THROUGH THE AIR VENT. AS WE GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE, I BREATHED IN A LITTLE BIT OF THE THICK SMOKE THAT CAME THROUGH THE AIR VENT, BUT MY WIFE DID NOT BREATHE ANY OF THE SMOKE. THE HOOD AREA WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES AFTER WE ESCAPED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT PUT OUT THE FIRE ABOUT 20 MINUTES AFTER THIS INCIDENT STARTED. EVERYTHING FROM THE FRONT OF THE CAR TO ABOUT HALF OF THE TRUNK AREA WAS DESTROYED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2017 - SPRINGVILLE, UT
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWNHILL ON I-15 JUST 3 MILES SOUTH OF SCIPIO, UT, I BEGAN TO NOTICE ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES AND ACCELERATOR. I GOT INTO THE FAR RIGHT LINE OF THE HIGHWAY AND NOTICED THAT SMOKE AND FLAMES CAME FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD. AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THICK BLACK SMOKE CAME THROUGH THE AIR VENT. AS WE GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE, I BREATHED IN A LITTLE BIT OF THE THICK SMOKE THAT CAME THROUGH THE AIR VENT, BUT MY WIFE DID NOT BREATHE ANY OF THE SMOKE. THE HOOD AREA WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES AFTER WE ESCAPED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT PUT OUT THE FIRE ABOUT 20 MINUTES AFTER THIS INCIDENT STARTED. EVERYTHING FROM THE FRONT OF THE CAR TO ABOUT HALF OF THE TRUNK AREA WAS DESTROYED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/1/2017 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
I OWN A 2012 KIA SORENTO SX. 9PM TEMPERATURE ABOUT 70 ALL DAY. TURNED OFF MAIN BUSINESS STREET IN DES PLAINS IL DROVE ABOUT 100 FEET WHEN REAR PANEL OF PANORAMIC SUN ROOF SHATTERED. FIRST THOUGHT WAS GUN SHOT. THERE WERE NO VEHICLES BEHIND OR IN FRONT OF ME, SIDEWALK WAS EMPTY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/26/2017 - UTICA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT HEAD LIGHT FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER, COOPER KIA 5056 COMMERCIAL DRIVE, YORKVILLE NY, 13495, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LIGHTING HOUSING UNIT MELTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY AND THERE WERE NO RECALLS UNDER THE VIN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 89,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds