Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 116 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (24) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (43) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/15/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN ABOUT 15 MPH MAKING A RIGHT TURN. AT THE TIME OF TURNING THE VEHICLE'S STEERING WHEEL THE CAR SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY SHUTTING THE ENGINE OFF. LOSS OF CONTROL THEN OCCURRED OF THE STEERING WHEEL (TO STIFF TO TURN) ALONG WITH A DIFFICULT BREAKING PROCESS CAUSING THE CAR TO VEER OFF THE ROADWAY. FORTUNATELY, THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO A STOP BY PLACING AN EXTREME AND INCREASED FORCE ONTO THE BREAK PEDAL BEFORE A BRICK PILLAR WAS STRUCK HEAD ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/15/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN ABOUT 15 MPH MAKING A RIGHT TURN. AT THE TIME OF TURNING THE VEHICLE'S STEERING WHEEL THE CAR SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY SHUTTING THE ENGINE OFF. LOSS OF CONTROL THEN OCCURRED OF THE STEERING WHEEL (TO STIFF TO TURN) ALONG WITH A DIFFICULT BREAKING PROCESS CAUSING THE CAR TO VEER OFF THE ROADWAY. FORTUNATELY, THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO A STOP BY PLACING AN EXTREME AND INCREASED FORCE ONTO THE BREAK PEDAL BEFORE A BRICK PILLAR WAS STRUCK HEAD ON.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN ABOUT 15 MPH MAKING A RIGHT TURN. AT THE TIME OF TURNING THE VEHICLE'S STEERING WHEEL THE CAR SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY SHUTTING THE ENGINE OFF. LOSS OF CONTROL THEN OCCURRED OF THE STEERING WHEEL (TO STIFF TO TURN) ALONG WITH A DIFFICULT BREAKING PROCESS CAUSING THE CAR TO VEER OFF THE ROADWAY. FORTUNATELY, THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO A STOP BY PLACING AN EXTREME AND INCREASED FORCE ONTO THE BREAK PEDAL BEFORE A BRICK PILLAR WAS STRUCK HEAD ON.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2014 - STOUGHTON, WI
ON MARCH 14, 2014 WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH ON A HIGHWAY I HEARD A NOISE IN MY ENGINE. I WAS ATTEMPTING TO MANEUVER OFF THE HIGHWAY SO I COULD HAVE MY VEHICLE TOWED TO THE LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE LANE OF A THREE LANE HIGHWAY DURING RUSH HOUR WHEN MY ENGINE SHOT ONE OF THE ENGINE RODS THROUGH THE BOTTOM OF MY ENGINE BLOCK. THIS CAUSED A LARGER THAN A SILVER DOLLAR SIZED HOLE IN THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE BLOCK AND SEPARATED THE ENGINE FROM WHERE IT IS SECURED TO THE VEHICLE. KIA AND THE DEALERSHIP HAVE YET TO BE ABLE TO FIX MY VEHICLE WHICH IS COMPLETELY COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURES WARRANTY AS I HAVE HAD ALL OF MY ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND SERVICE PERFORMED AT A LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP. THEY REPLACED A REMANUFACTURED SHORT BLOCK ASSEMBLY IN MY VEHICLE ON 3/28/14 I WAS TOLD TO PICK UP MY VEHICLE LATER THAT AFTERNOON. I RECEIVED A CALL BACK THAT THE MECHANIC WAS ON THE PHONE WITH ONE OF KIA'S ENGINEERS BECAUSE OF A NOISE COMING FROM MY ENGINE. THEY ARE NOW RE-REPLACING A REMANUFACTURED SHORT BLOCK ASSEMBLY IN MY VEHICLE WHICH IS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME BECAUSE OF ALL OF THE ISSUES KIA IS HAVING WITH THEIR ENGINES. I STILL DO NOT HAVE AN ETA AS OF 4/9/14 OF WHEN I WILL HAVE MY VEHICLE REPAIRED AS I AM UNSURE THEY HAVE EVEN DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM CORRECTLY BECAUSE OF ALL OF THE FORCE BEHIND THE ENGINE FAILURE AND THEY ARE UNSURE WHEN ANOTHER REMANUFACTORED ENGINE WILL BE AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/26/2014 - WEST NEW YORK, NJ
MY 2012 KIA SORENTO COMPLETELY STALLED IN A PARKING LOT. I HAD JUST GOTTEN OFF THE HIGHWAY(SPEEDS OF 55-60) PULLED INTO MY JOBS PARKING LOT AND ALL THE LIGHTS ELECTRONICS STAYED ON BUT THE BRAKES LOCKED UP, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND THE CAR WOULD NOT DRIVE. PUT THE CAR IN PARK AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND IT TURNED ON FINE. NOW ITS AT THE DEALER AND THEY CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND THE CAR IS DRIVING FINE. THEY CLAIM NO CODES ON DIAGNOSTICS AND SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AFTER TEST DRIVING IT. THERE WERE NO REPAIRS DONE ON THE CAR BECAUSE NOTHING COULD BE FOUND. THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE AND A WORRISOME ONE. LETS GET ON KIA ABOUT THIS TO SOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - WEST NEW YORK, NJ
MY 2012 KIA SORENTO COMPLETELY STALLED IN A PARKING LOT. I HAD JUST GOTTEN OFF THE HIGHWAY(SPEEDS OF 55-60) PULLED INTO MY JOBS PARKING LOT AND ALL THE LIGHTS ELECTRONICS STAYED ON BUT THE BRAKES LOCKED UP, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND THE CAR WOULD NOT DRIVE. PUT THE CAR IN PARK AFTER A FEW MINUTES AND IT TURNED ON FINE. NOW ITS AT THE DEALER AND THEY CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND THE CAR IS DRIVING FINE. THEY CLAIM NO CODES ON DIAGNOSTICS AND SEE NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AFTER TEST DRIVING IT. THERE WERE NO REPAIRS DONE ON THE CAR BECAUSE NOTHING COULD BE FOUND. THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE AND A WORRISOME ONE. LETS GET ON KIA ABOUT THIS TO SOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - HERMOSA BEACH, CA
THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES! WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN, ENGINE DIES, POWER STEERING OUT, POWER BRAKES OUT. AFTER SHIFTING INTO PARK OR NEUTRAL, CAR WILL IMMEDIATELY RESTART, AND FUNCTION WITHOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR WEEKS. KIA DEALERSHIP FINDS NOTHING WRONG AND NO "CODES" TO INDICATE THE CAR HAS HAD PROBLEMS.

View Details

STEERING

3/26/2014 - HERMOSA BEACH, CA
THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES! WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN, ENGINE DIES, POWER STEERING OUT, POWER BRAKES OUT. AFTER SHIFTING INTO PARK OR NEUTRAL, CAR WILL IMMEDIATELY RESTART, AND FUNCTION WITHOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR WEEKS. KIA DEALERSHIP FINDS NOTHING WRONG AND NO "CODES" TO INDICATE THE CAR HAS HAD PROBLEMS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/26/2014 - HERMOSA BEACH, CA
THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES! WHILE COMING TO A STOP SIGN, ENGINE DIES, POWER STEERING OUT, POWER BRAKES OUT. AFTER SHIFTING INTO PARK OR NEUTRAL, CAR WILL IMMEDIATELY RESTART, AND FUNCTION WITHOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR WEEKS. KIA DEALERSHIP FINDS NOTHING WRONG AND NO "CODES" TO INDICATE THE CAR HAS HAD PROBLEMS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
THE FIRST TIME I WAS DRIVING AT 35-45 MPH AND SLOWED TO TURN AND MY ENGINE SPONTANEOUSLY STALLED AND STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP. LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS AROUND ME SO I BRAKED, AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND CAR SEEMED TO REBOOT FINE. TODAY, IT HAPPENED AGAIN EXCEPT I WAS DRIVING AT A MUCH SLOWER SPEED, 15 MPH. I WAS READY TO TAKE A TURN AND THE WHEEL LOCKED UP IN THE TURNED POSITION (BUT NOT FULLY TURNED) AND THE ENGINE STALLED. I BRAKED THE CAR AGAIN AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION. THIS IS COMPLETELY DANGEROUS FOR ALL PASSENGERS OF THE CAR AND EVERYONE WHO'S DRIVING AROUND ME!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds