Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2012 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 266 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (34) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (126) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (13)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/10/2017 - MILWAUKEE, WI
MY ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE IN MOTION. THE FRONT END POPS DURING BRAKING, AND A BOLT HEAD BROKE OFF THE AWD HOUSING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/10/2017 - MILWAUKEE, WI
MY ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE IN MOTION. THE FRONT END POPS DURING BRAKING, AND A BOLT HEAD BROKE OFF THE AWD HOUSING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2017 - TOWNSEND, MA
I USED MOBILE ONE 5W30, I USED KIA OIL FILTERS (2 GENERIC), I HAD 44,516K MILES ON IT ON AUGUST 7, 2014. I DID 8 OIL CHANGES. MY CAR WAS RUNNING PERFECTLY FINE. NO WHITE OR BLACK SMOKE, NO DASHBOARD LIGHTS, NOT SLUGGISH, NOTHING AND THE ENGINE SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY DOING ABOUT 65 WHEN I HEARD A FLUTTERING NOISE THAT VERY QUICKLY TURNED INTO A KNOCKING NOISE. I COULD BARELY PULL OVER WITHOUT ALMOST GETTING HIT TWICE. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID I NEVER DID ANY OIL CHANGES AND THERE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20K MILES WORTH OF SLUDGE IN MY ENGINE. MY OIL WAS CHANGED AROUND MARCH 7, 2014. KIA MOTORS DOWN RIGHT REFUSED TO EVEN LOL AT IT. I HIRED AND ATTORNEY WHO WROTE A DEMAND LETTER AND 4 MONTHS LATER THEY DOWN RIGHT REFUSED TO FIX IT UNDER THE WARRANTY. MY CAR SAT IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR OVER 15 MONTHS. I REPORTED THIS TO NHTSA BACK IN LATE 2012 EARLY 2013. I WORE A LETTER TO THE OWNER OF THE DEALERSHIP AND SHE PUT A USED ENGINE IN IT AND PAID FOR HALF. NEEDLESS TO SAY I'M HAPPY I HAVE MY CAR BACK BUT I DON'T TRUST IT. I HAVE THE TOP OF THE LINE SX AWD AND I ALSO ADDED THE AMBIENT LIGHTING AND TINTED THE FRONT WINDOWS. I LOVE MY CAR BUT FEEL I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR THE SHEAR HELL AND HUGE FINANCIAL BURDEN IT HAS CAUSED MY FAMILY. I'VE HAD IT BACK SINCE NOVEMBER 12, 2016 AND THE FINANCIAL BURDEN IS STILL HAUNTING MY FAMILY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2017 - SPANAWAY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE ENGINE SUDDENLY SHUT OFF. THE CHECK ENGINE AND THE CHECK OIL SENSOR LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. AFTER RESTARTING, THE ENGINE SHUT OFF A SECOND TIME. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2017 - BLUE SPRINGS, MO
RECEIVED LETTER FROM KIA 'EXTENDING' THE WARRANTY TO 120,000 MILES TO COVER CONNECTING ROD PROBLEM THAT COULD RESULT IN ENGINE FAILURE. SEVERAL MONTHS AFTER RECEIVING LETTER AND CAR AT 147K THE ENGINE FAILED FAILED WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, KIA DEALER SAID IT WAS FAILED CONNECTION ROD. NOW KIA DENIES CLAIM SINCE PAST 120K. THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL!! VERY UPSET THAT KIA KNEW OF DEFECT AND IS NOT WILLING TO TAKE OWNERSHIP.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2017 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE. WHILE PASSING A LARGE TRUCK ON A NARROW TWO LANE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN MIDWAY THROUGH THE PASS. MOMENTUM ALLOWED THE CAR TO COMPLETE THE PASS, BUT DUE TO THE SPEED AND WITHOUT POWER STEERING IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. FORTUNATELY I WAS FAMILIAR WITH THE ROAD AND ABLE TO MAKE IT SAFELY TO A PULL OFF. MY LOCAL REPAIR GARAGE DETERMINED THE ENGINE IS SEIZED, WITH METAL FRAGMENTS IN THE OIL. HAVE MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT THE DEALER WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED. TO DATE, NO RESPONSE. CAR IS CURRENTLY NOT DRIVABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2017 - MIAMI, FL
VEHICLE WAS ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, READY TO GET OFF OFF RAMP WHEN VEHICLE STARTED RUNNING ROUGH AND TURNED OFF, ON 2-28-17 IN THE MORNING. WE TOWED IT TO THE KIA SERVICE. THEY DIAGNOSED SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE AND THAT IT HAS TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS 84K MILES AND THE OIL CHANGES HAVE BEEN DONE EVERY 3 TO 4 K. THEY REQUESTED ALL THE OIL SERVICE RECORDS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/22/2017 - DUBLIN, OH
HAVE A 2012 SORENTO THAT CONSTANTLY NEEDS LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS REPLACED BECAUSE OF A SHORT THAT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CAN'T FIGURE OUT. I HAVE FOUND THAT SHORTLY AFTER REPLACING ONE BULB THE OTHER BURNS OUT WITHIN A WEEK OR LESS. I HAVE REPLACED BOTH AT THE SAME TIME AND THEY WILL ONLY LAST ONE MONTH BEFORE BURNING OUT. I HAVE A SIMILAR ISSUE WITH THE BRAKE LIGHTS BURNING OUT AS WELL. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AND KIA HAS SAID THAT REPLACEMENT WITH OEM BULBS SHOULD FIX IT. THIS IS NOT THE CASE FOR ME, AS I HAVE TRIED OEM AND AFTERMARKET BOTH WITH SAME ISSUE. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT MANY OWNERS HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH VIA FORUMS ONLINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/31/2017 - MARYSVILLE, IN
LETTER FROM KIA SAYING AIRBAG MAY BE ISSUE. WHEN I CALLED DEALER I TOLD THEM AIRBAG LIGHT WAS ON AND THEY SAID I'D BE CHARGED IF NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT. THIS WAS NOT A RECALL ACCORDING TO KIA. AFTER LOOKING ONLINE MANY OTHER KIA OWNERS HAVE FACED SAME ISSUE WITH THE SORENTO AND OTHER KIA MODELS. UNDER WARRANTY, DEALERS HAVE CHANGED OUT SEATS AND RESOLVED THE AIRBAG ISSUE. MOST CASES THOUGH, DEALER WANTS TO CHARGE TO CORRECT THIS VERY IMPORTANT SAFETY ISSUE! THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED AND MADE A RECALL FOR KIA OWNERS. IF YOUR DEPARTMENT WOULD INVESTIGATE THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE, I'M SURE YOU'D AGREE THAT A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND I HOPE YOU WILL ADDRESS THIS ISSUE ASAP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/15/2017 - JUPITER, FL
ON 12/27 THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE FELL OFF WHEN MY 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR AND IT WAS FIXED BY THE DEALER WITH A COST OF ALMOST $300. THE HANDLE WAS IN HER HAND. YESTERDAY THE REAR DRIVER DOOR HANDLE FELL OFF WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOOR. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS IN THAT WITHOUT THE HANDLE YOU CANNOT OPEN THE DOORS FROM THE OUTSIDE, AND AS SUCH EMERGENCY RESPONDERS WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO REACH THE REAR PASSENGER IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION. WE HAVE CANALS NEXT TO THE ROAD IN SOUTH FLORIDA. THUS I AM REPORTING THIS. TWO DIFFERENT DOOR HANDLES IN TWO WEEKS. VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds