Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX350 - 2012 LEXUS RX350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2012 LEXUS RX350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 LEXUS RX350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 LEXUS RX350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Structure (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Power Train (2)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

11/12/2013 - HONOLULU, HI
I HAD REPORTED ROUGH RIDE TO SALES SPECIALIST AND SERVICE DEPT. IT WAS ATTRIBUTED TO NEW SUSPENSION SPECIFICATIONS AND POSSIBLE TIRE PRESSURE. TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOWERED HOWEVER ROUGH RIDE PERSISTED. DURING THE 12 MONTH 10K FULL MAINTENANCE SERVICE OF RX350 BOTH REAR SHOCKS WERE FOUND LEAKING AND REPLACED (UNDER WARRANTY). SINCE I HAD BEEN MONITORING ROUGH RIDE ISSUES OF OTHER RX350'S ON LEXUS FORUM I REPORTED THE SUSPENSION REPLACEMENT INCIDENT TO SALES SPECIALIST AND I HAD RECOMMENDED ADDRESSING WITH THOSE WHO MAY NEED TO KNOW TO INVESTIGATE POTENTIAL SUSPENSION PROBLEM (S). THERE WAS NO FOLLOW UP TO MY EMAILED CONCERN. SUBSEQUENTLY ON ANOTHER ONLINE FORUM A PARTICIPANT MENTIONED HAVING SUSPENSION REPLACED ON RAV4 (TOYOTA BRANDED AUTO). PERHAPS THERE MAY HAVE BEEN AN ISSUE WITH A SPECIFIC PRODUCTION RUN WITH ONE OF THEIR SUSPENSION SUPPLIERS AND MAY NEED TO BE ADDRESSED SINCE IT MAY RESULT IN HANDLING AND / OR CONTROL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/8/2013 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
AFTER EXITING A PARKING LOT BY BACKING OUT, LEXUS RX 350 DRIVER PRECEDED TO THE PARKING LOT EXIT. UPON MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN TOWARDS THE EXIT, THE CAR IMMEDIATELY LURCHED FORWARD AND DESPITE THE DRIVERS ATTEMPT TO STOP THE CAR BY APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE CAR HIT ANOTHER PARKED CAR. THE RX 350 CAME TO A STOP ONLY AFTER HITTING THE CURBING OF THE PARKING LOT. THE CAR THAT WAS HIT WAS UNOCCUPIED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES TO THE DRIVER OF THE RX 350.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/25/2013 - NEW YORK , NY
I WISH TO INFORM YOU ABOUT A SERIOUS INCIDENT THAT OCCURRED ON SEPTEMBER 21, 2013 WHILE DRIVING MY LEXUS 350 AWD 2012. I WAS PARKING THE CAR. MY FOOT WAS ON THE BREAK PEDAL AND I WAS ABOUT TO REVERSE WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY SELF ACCELERATED AND WENT UP A 45 DEGREE EMBANKMENT. THE CAR DROVE OVER VERY LARGE BOULDERS THAT WERE AT THE HEAD OF THE PARKING SPACE. THE UNDERBELLY OF THE CAR RAMMED INTO A VERY LARGE BOULDER THAT RAISED THE LEFT REAR WHEEL OFF THE GROUND AND STOPPED THE CAR FROM CONTINUING UP THE INCLINE. THE ACCELERATION OVER THE BOULDERS AND UP THE EMBANKMENT WAS CONSISTENTLY FAST MOVING AND THE BREAK PEDAL WAS USELESS. LEXUS WAS INFORMED AND ADVISED THAT WOULD SEND AN INSPECTOR. THE LIFE ON MYSELF AND THE PASSENGERS WERE SERIOUSLY PUT AT RISK. I DO NOT WANT TO DRIVE THE CAR AGAIN BECAUSE OF THE UNPREDICTABILITY AND LIFE THREATENING RISK THE CAR POSES BECAUSE OF THE SELF ACCELERATION ISSUE. I KINDLY REQUEST YOUR OFFICE REVIEW THIS SERIOUS MATTER. I AM SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FOR MY UP-FRONT FINANCIAL COMMITMENT OR A TRADE-IN FOR A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE. UPDATED 1/8/2013

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/22/2013 - TRINITY, FL
I HAD AN ACCIDENT WITH MY 2012 LEXUS ON 5/1/13. I PULLED OUT OF A GAS STATION UNTO THE ROAD AND STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT BEHIND A CAR CARRIER WHICH WAS STOPPED ALREADY. WHEN I STOPPED, MY CAR ACCELERATED AND HIT THE BACK OF THE TRUCK. WHEN THE POLICE CAME, THEY CITED ME BECAUSE I HIT THE TRUCK. WHEN WE BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED, HE SAID HE HAD A SIMILAR CASE A MONTH BEFORE. WITH THAT, I SEARCHED GOOGLE AND REALIZED THAT I WASN'T LOOSING MY MIND AND THAT MY CAR ACCELERATED UNINTENTIONALLY. I CALLED LEXUS AND THEY SENT A REPRESENTATIVE TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND AFTER EXAMINING THE CAR, HIS FINDINGS WERE THAT IT DIDN'T HAPPEN. I CALLED TWO ATTORNEYS AND THEY HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING BUT BECAUSE I WASN'T HURT, THEY WOULDN'T TAKE MY CASE. I CALLED "8 ON YOUR SIDE" AND THEY SAID TO EMAIL YOU AND THAT A GENTLEMAN FROM THERE "MIGHT" GET IN TOUCH WITH ME. I AM OUT $4,500 FOR THE REPAIRS AND NOW MY CAR DEPRECIATED $5,000 BECAUSE IT WAS HIT. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN BUT I WORRY EVERY TIME I COME TO A STOP. IS THERE ANYTHING YOU CAN DO SO I COULD GET REIMBURSED FROM LEXUS OR TRADE MY CAR IN AND NOT LOSE THIS SUBSTANTIAL AMOUNT. I HAVE HAD LEXUS SINCE 1996 AND I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR REPLY!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/29/2013 - MIDDLE VILLAGE, NY
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE AT APPROX. 3 MPH AND BEING LESS THAN A FOOT FROM WHERE I WOULD HAVE FULLY STOPPED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UNCONTROLLABLY AS THE ENGINE RACED AT A VERY HIGH RPM. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY WHEEL QUICKLY TO THE LEFT TO AVOID HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. AT THAT SAME TIME WITH MY FOOT THAT WAS ALREADY ON THE BRAKE AND I BRAKED VERY HARD, THEN SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. I HAD A SMALL PIECE OF WOOD FLOORING ON THE BACK SEAT WHICH CAME FLYING TO THE FRONT AND CUT THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD. I JUST REPORTED THE ISSUE TO LEXUS AND THEY SUGGEST I BRING THE VEHICLE TO A DEALERSHIP ASAP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2013 - N/A, FL
HI, I WOULD LIKE TO INFORM YOU ABOUT A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE I DISCOVERED IN THE LEXUS RX350, THE CAR IS KEYLESS AND YOU JUST NEED TO PUSH A BUTTON TO START AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE. THE SAFETY PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR WILL SHUT OFF WHEN PUSHING THE BUTTON EVEN IF THE CAR IS STILL IN D=DRIVE AND THE CAR WILL ROLL BACK IF PARKED ON A SLOPE LIKE A DRIVEWAY ETC. IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS KIDS CAN BE BEHIND THE CAR. PLEASE CHECK THIS SAFETY ISSUE. THANK YOU

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2013 - COLUMBIA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 LEXUS RX350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR HATCH AUTOMATICALLY CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THERE WAS NO REMEDY FOR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/9/2012 - SALEM, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 LEXUS RX 350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER STOPPING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT SHE ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE MOVED FORWARD A FEW FEET BUT THEN DECCELERATED AND DRIFTED THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON THREE OCCASIONS AND EACH TIME THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20 MILES AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 5,800.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/30/2012 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
ON 6/25/2012- AT 7:10 AM, I WAS PULLING INTO THE PARKING SPOT FOR MY VEHICLE IN MY HOSPITAL PARKING LOT FOR A SCHEDULED SURGICAL CASE, WHERE I WORK AS AN OB/GYN PHYSICIAN/SURGEON . AS I TURNED TO THE PARKING SPOT AT THE USUAL, APPROXIMATELY 2-4 MILES /HR SPEED ( THE SPEED AT WHICH NORMALLY ONE PARKS THE CAR), I NOTICED THAT MY ACCELERATOR PEDAL DID NOT BOUNCE BACK TO ITS ORIGINAL POSITION AS IT NORMALLY SHOULD OR WOULD. THEN MY RT FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKES TO JUST STOP THE VEHICLE IN MY PARKING SPOT. THEN JUST INSTANTLY THE VEHICLE HAD INCREASED SPEED AND BEFORE I COULD STOP THE VEHICLE, IT RAN FORWARD UNCONTROLLABLY AND CLIMBED UP THE CEMENT PATHWAY AND HIT THE TREE JUST IN FRONT OF THAT PARKING SPOT. I WAS PRESSING ON THE BRAKES AND IT DID NOT STOP THE ENGINE RAVING AND I STOPPED THE ENGINE BY TURNING IT OFF. THE FRONT OF THE CAR IS SEVERELY DAMAGED INCLUDING BENT FRAME AND THE ENGINE IS PUSHED INSIDE ACCORDING TO THE BODY SHOP. I FELT I HAD NO CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND IT RAN ON ITS OWN. IT WAS THE SCARIEST FEELING. IMAGINE THE DAMAGE AND CASUALTY IT COULD HAVE CAUSED IF IT HAPPENED AT THE SIGNAL CROSSING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/4/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE CAR, A 2012 LEXUS RX350, WAS PURCHASED NEW FROM A CALIFORNIA LEXUS DEALER ON JANUARY 30, 2012. THE PROBLEM, WHICH MANIFESTS EVERY TWO OR THREE DAYS, IS A DELAY OF SEVERAL SECONDS BETWEEN PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND ACTUAL ACCELERATION OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN ACCELERATION EVENTUALLY OCCURS, IT DOES SO WITH A SURGE OR JOLT. THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED IN A VARIETY OF CIRCUMSTANCES. SEVERAL TIMES I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO ACCELERATE SAFELY FROM A FREEWAY ON-RAMP INTO FASTER-MOVING FREEWAY TRAFFIC. ON AT LEAST TWO OTHER OCCASIONS THE VEHICLE HAS FAILED TO ACCELERATE AS I DROVE UP A HILL. MOST RECENTLY, AS I BEGAN A LEFT TURN FROM A STOPPED POSITION, THE DELAY IN ACCELERATION NEARLY RESULTED IN MY BEING BROADSIDED. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TWICE TO AN AUTHORIZED LEXUS DEALER. ON BOTH OCCASIONS I WAS ADVISED THAT BECAUSE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM DURING A SHORT DRIVE, THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. I RAISED WITH THE TECHNICIAN THE FACT THAT THERE WERE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE VERY SAME PROBLEM. HE SAID THAT THE ISSUE, WHICH APPARENTLY RELATES TO THE POWERTRAIN, HAD BEEN ADDRESSED WITH RESPECT TO EARLIER LEXUS MODELS BUT HAD BEEN "FIXED" FOR SUBSEQUENT MODELS THROUGH REDESIGN OF THE POWERTRAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds