Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX350 - 2012 LEXUS RX350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2012 LEXUS RX350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 LEXUS RX350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 LEXUS RX350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (10)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2016 - VANCLEAVE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 LEXUS RX350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKES FELT ABNORMAL AND THE TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. TWO WEEKS LATER, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A U TURN, THE BRAKES SEIZED AND THE VEHICLE WAS INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE ACTUATOR MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V054000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 74,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/2/2016 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 LEXUS RX350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER SHIFTING INTO PARK AND POWERING OFF THE VEHICLE, SHE ATTEMPTED TO EXIT WHEN SUDDENLY THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ROLLED AWAY. AS A RESULT, THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE TIRE ROLLED OVER HER BUTTOCKS. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,450.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/13/2015 - AUBURN, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 LEXUS RX350. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND ATTEMPTING TO TURN OFF THE ENGINE, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO A GARAGE DOOR AND INTO A WALL. THE VEHICLE HAD EXTENSIVE DAMAGES TO THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE DRIVER AND THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED WHIP LASH THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED AND THE DAMAGES WERE REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,878.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/13/2015 - AUBURN, WA
INITIALLY FELT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LURCH FOWARD ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AFTER BACKING OUT OF PARKING SPACE AT WORK AND SHIFTING INTO DRIVE. HAD TO HIT BRAKES, BRING THE VEHICLE TO A COMPLETE STOP, AND THEN SLOWLY START FORWARD AGAIN. ACCIDENT OCCURRED IN THE DRIVEWAY OF A PRIVATE RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN PARK AND FULLY STOPPED.. DRIVER WAS ABOUT TO TURN OFF ENGINE AND, WITH PASSENGER, EXIT THE VEHICLE WHEN IT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FOR NO REASON, PLOWING STRAIGHT INTO THE GARAGE DOOR OF RESIDENCE. GARAGE DOOR WAS COMPLETELY TORN OFF AND THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP AFTER SMASHING AN INTERIOR WALL AND DOORFRAME. THANKFULLY, NO INJURIES BUT COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE IF THE WINDSHIELD HAD BROKE. THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED ON 3 SIDES AND THE PROPERTY SUSTAINED DAMAGE TO THE GARAGE DOOR, INTERIOR DRYWALL, DOOR AND DOORFRAME. AGAIN, THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY STOPPED AND IN PARK WHEN IT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/20/2015 - WINDSOR MILL, MD
THE TRACTION LIGHT AND SKID CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON EVEN WHEN VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

3/20/2015 - WINDSOR MILL, MD
THE TRACTION LIGHT AND SKID CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON EVEN WHEN VEHICLE IS NOT MOVING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
FIRST PART OF COMPLAINT JUST IN CASE IT DID NOT GO THRU THE FIRST TIME. DEAR SIRS, I'M WRITING TO YOU ON BEHALF OF THE OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE. THEY HAVE CONTRACTED ME AS A VEHICLE ACCIDENT RECONSTRUCTIONIST IN PUERTO RICO. I NEED TO KNOW IF YOU HAVE MADE ANY INQUIRIES IN THE FUEL DELIVERY AND PROPULSION SYSTEM. MY CONCERN IS THAT THIS TOYOTA, LEXUS AND HONDA VEHICLES THAT I KNOW OF SO FAR, ARE HAVING SOME KIND OF SUDDEN ACCELERATION ISSUES AND THE COMPUTER DOES NOT CATCH THE PROBLEM. THIS ACCELERATION SURGES THAT I HAVE FOUND OUT ABOUT, ALL HAVE OCCURRED AROUND HIGH ELECTRICITY AREAS. SO FAR THAT I KNOW OFF, THREE OF THESE SURGES HAVE OCCURRED NEXT TO THE ELECTRICAL PLANT CENTER IN PALO SECO PUERTO RICO AND ONE CAUSED TWO DEATHS. THE OTHER ONE IS THE ONE I'M REPRESENTING WHICH OCCURRED IN THEIR HOME TWICE. THE FIRST TIME WAS ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE THIS ACCIDENT BUT THE DRIVER HAD THE CHANCE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. AT THAT TIME THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A CHECKUP AND NOTHING STRANGE SHOWED ON THEIR SYSTEM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). UPDATED 3/13/15

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
FIRST PART OF COMPLAINT JUST IN CASE IT DID NOT GO THRU THE FIRST TIME. DEAR SIRS, I'M WRITING TO YOU ON BEHALF OF THE OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE. THEY HAVE CONTRACTED ME AS A VEHICLE ACCIDENT RECONSTRUCTIONIST IN PUERTO RICO. I NEED TO KNOW IF YOU HAVE MADE ANY INQUIRIES IN THE FUEL DELIVERY AND PROPULSION SYSTEM. MY CONCERN IS THAT THIS TOYOTA, LEXUS AND HONDA VEHICLES THAT I KNOW OF SO FAR, ARE HAVING SOME KIND OF SUDDEN ACCELERATION ISSUES AND THE COMPUTER DOES NOT CATCH THE PROBLEM. THIS ACCELERATION SURGES THAT I HAVE FOUND OUT ABOUT, ALL HAVE OCCURRED AROUND HIGH ELECTRICITY AREAS. SO FAR THAT I KNOW OFF, THREE OF THESE SURGES HAVE OCCURRED NEXT TO THE ELECTRICAL PLANT CENTER IN PALO SECO PUERTO RICO AND ONE CAUSED TWO DEATHS. THE OTHER ONE IS THE ONE I'M REPRESENTING WHICH OCCURRED IN THEIR HOME TWICE. THE FIRST TIME WAS ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE THIS ACCIDENT BUT THE DRIVER HAD THE CHANCE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. AT THAT TIME THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A CHECKUP AND NOTHING STRANGE SHOWED ON THEIR SYSTEM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). UPDATED 3/13/15

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
CONTINUATION OF MY REPORT. ABOUT A MONTH LATER THE SAME SUDDEN ACCELERATION OCCURRED BUT IN REVERSE AS THE DRIVER WAS LEAVING HER HOME AND THIS TIME SHE COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE, GOING THRU THE CONCRETE FENCE OF HER FRONT NEIGHBOR TAKING A SIDE OF THE NEIGHBOR HOUSE, DOWN A HILL AND HITTING TWO AIR CONDITIONER UNITS AND AN ELECTRICAL GENERATOR, DAMAGING THE WHOLE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND THE REAR, BRAKING THE REAR DRIVE TRAIN AND GETTING STUCK IN A CONCRETE WALL WHICH SAVE THEIR LIFE. IF THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE GONE 10 MORE FEET IT WOULD HAVE DROP IN AN APPROXIMATELY 800 TO 900 FEET CLIFF AND PROBABLY WOULD HAVE LOST THEIR LIVES. THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER SHE PUT ON HER BRAKES AND THEY DID NOT WORK. ACCORDING TO THE WITNESSES THERE WAS ONLY ONE TIRE BRAKE TRACK ON THE ROAD WHICH IT WAS GONE BY THE TIME I WENT TO INVESTIGATE. MY THEORY IS THAT ELECTRIC SURGES FROM THIS HIGH INTENSITY CABLES INTERFERE WITH THE THROTTLE CONTROL AND ACCELERATE THIS VEHICLES. IT IS THE ONLY LOGICAL EXPLANATION. IF THERE IS A WAY TO TEST THIS THEORY I SURE WOULD APPRECIATE IT. PLEASE ANSWER ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). UPDATED 3/13/15

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
CONTINUATION OF MY REPORT. ABOUT A MONTH LATER THE SAME SUDDEN ACCELERATION OCCURRED BUT IN REVERSE AS THE DRIVER WAS LEAVING HER HOME AND THIS TIME SHE COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE, GOING THRU THE CONCRETE FENCE OF HER FRONT NEIGHBOR TAKING A SIDE OF THE NEIGHBOR HOUSE, DOWN A HILL AND HITTING TWO AIR CONDITIONER UNITS AND AN ELECTRICAL GENERATOR, DAMAGING THE WHOLE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND THE REAR, BRAKING THE REAR DRIVE TRAIN AND GETTING STUCK IN A CONCRETE WALL WHICH SAVE THEIR LIFE. IF THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE GONE 10 MORE FEET IT WOULD HAVE DROP IN AN APPROXIMATELY 800 TO 900 FEET CLIFF AND PROBABLY WOULD HAVE LOST THEIR LIVES. THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER SHE PUT ON HER BRAKES AND THEY DID NOT WORK. ACCORDING TO THE WITNESSES THERE WAS ONLY ONE TIRE BRAKE TRACK ON THE ROAD WHICH IT WAS GONE BY THE TIME I WENT TO INVESTIGATE. MY THEORY IS THAT ELECTRIC SURGES FROM THIS HIGH INTENSITY CABLES INTERFERE WITH THE THROTTLE CONTROL AND ACCELERATE THIS VEHICLES. IT IS THE ONLY LOGICAL EXPLANATION. IF THERE IS A WAY TO TEST THIS THEORY I SURE WOULD APPRECIATE IT. PLEASE ANSWER ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). UPDATED 3/13/15

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds