Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS RX350 - 2012 LEXUS RX350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 15 complaints filed for the 2012 LEXUS RX350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 LEXUS RX350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 LEXUS RX350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Power Train (2) Structure (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
FIRST PART OF COMPLAIN JUST IN CASE IT DID NOT GO THRU THE FIRST TIME. DEAR SIRS, I'M WRITING TO YOU ON BEHALF OF THE OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE. THEY HAVE CONTRACTED ME AS A VEHICLE ACCIDENT RECONSTRUCTIONIST IN PUERTO RICO. I NEED TO KNOW IF YOU HAVE MADE ANY INQUIRIES IN THE FUEL DELIVERY AND PROPULSION SYSTEM. MY CONCERN IS THAT THIS TOYOTA, LEXUS AND HONDA VEHICLES THAT I KNOW OF SO FAR, ARE HAVING SOME KIND OF SUDDEN ACCELERATION ISSUES AND THE COMPUTER DOES NOT CATCH THE PROBLEM. THIS ACCELERATION SURGES THAT I HAVE FOUND OUT ABOUT, ALL HAVE OCCURRED AROUND HIGH ELECTRICITY AREAS. SO FAR THAT I KNOW OFF, THREE OF THESE SURGES HAVE OCCURRED NEXT TO THE ELECTRICAL PLANT CENTER IN PALO SECO PUERTO RICO AND ONE CAUSED TWO DEATHS. THE OTHER ONE IS THE ONE I'M REPRESENTING WHICH OCCURRED IN THEIR HOME TWICE. THE FIRST TIME WAS ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE THIS ACCIDENT BUT THE DRIVER HAD THE CHANCE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. AT THAT TIME THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A CHECKUP AND NOTHING STRANGE SHOWED ON THEIR SYSTEM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
FIRST PART OF COMPLAIN JUST IN CASE IT DID NOT GO THRU THE FIRST TIME. DEAR SIRS, I'M WRITING TO YOU ON BEHALF OF THE OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE. THEY HAVE CONTRACTED ME AS A VEHICLE ACCIDENT RECONSTRUCTIONIST IN PUERTO RICO. I NEED TO KNOW IF YOU HAVE MADE ANY INQUIRIES IN THE FUEL DELIVERY AND PROPULSION SYSTEM. MY CONCERN IS THAT THIS TOYOTA, LEXUS AND HONDA VEHICLES THAT I KNOW OF SO FAR, ARE HAVING SOME KIND OF SUDDEN ACCELERATION ISSUES AND THE COMPUTER DOES NOT CATCH THE PROBLEM. THIS ACCELERATION SURGES THAT I HAVE FOUND OUT ABOUT, ALL HAVE OCCURRED AROUND HIGH ELECTRICITY AREAS. SO FAR THAT I KNOW OFF, THREE OF THESE SURGES HAVE OCCURRED NEXT TO THE ELECTRICAL PLANT CENTER IN PALO SECO PUERTO RICO AND ONE CAUSED TWO DEATHS. THE OTHER ONE IS THE ONE I'M REPRESENTING WHICH OCCURRED IN THEIR HOME TWICE. THE FIRST TIME WAS ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE THIS ACCIDENT BUT THE DRIVER HAD THE CHANCE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. AT THAT TIME THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A CHECKUP AND NOTHING STRANGE SHOWED ON THEIR SYSTEM. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
CONTINUATION OF MY REPORT. ABOUT A MONTH LATER THE SAME SUDDEN ACCELERATION OCCURRED BUT IN REVERSE AS THE DRIVER WAS LEAVING HER HOME AND THIS TIME SHE COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE, GOING THRU THE CONCRETE FENCE OF HER FRONT NEIGHBOR TAKING A SIDE OF THE NEIGHBOR HOUSE, DOWN A HILL AND HITTING TWO AIR CONDITIONER UNITS AND AN ELECTRICAL GENERATOR, DAMAGING THE WHOLE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND THE REAR, BRAKING THE REAR DRIVE TRAIN AND GETTING STUCK IN A CONCRETE WALL WHICH SAVE THEIR LIFE. IF THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE GONE 10 MORE FEET IT WOULD HAVE DROP IN AN APPROXIMATELY 800 TO 900 FEET CLIFF AND PROBABLY WOULD HAVE LOST THEIR LIVES. THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER SHE PUT ON HER BRAKES AND THEY DID NOT WORK. ACCORDING TO THE WITNESSES THERE WAS ONLY ONE TIRE BRAKE TRACK ON THE ROAD WHICH IT WAS GONE BY THE TIME I WENT TO INVESTIGATE. MY THEORY IS THAT ELECTRIC SURGES FROM THIS HIGH INTENSITY CABLES INTERFERE WITH THE THROTTLE CONTROL AND ACCELERATE THIS VEHICLES. IT IS THE ONLY LOGICAL EXPLANATION. IF THERE IS A WAY TO TEST THIS THEORY I SURE WOULD APPRECIATE IT. PLEASE ANSWER ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/8/2014 - SAN JUAN, PR
CONTINUATION OF MY REPORT. ABOUT A MONTH LATER THE SAME SUDDEN ACCELERATION OCCURRED BUT IN REVERSE AS THE DRIVER WAS LEAVING HER HOME AND THIS TIME SHE COULD NOT STOP THE VEHICLE, GOING THRU THE CONCRETE FENCE OF HER FRONT NEIGHBOR TAKING A SIDE OF THE NEIGHBOR HOUSE, DOWN A HILL AND HITTING TWO AIR CONDITIONER UNITS AND AN ELECTRICAL GENERATOR, DAMAGING THE WHOLE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND THE REAR, BRAKING THE REAR DRIVE TRAIN AND GETTING STUCK IN A CONCRETE WALL WHICH SAVE THEIR LIFE. IF THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE GONE 10 MORE FEET IT WOULD HAVE DROP IN AN APPROXIMATELY 800 TO 900 FEET CLIFF AND PROBABLY WOULD HAVE LOST THEIR LIVES. THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. ACCORDING TO THE DRIVER SHE PUT ON HER BRAKES AND THEY DID NOT WORK. ACCORDING TO THE WITNESSES THERE WAS ONLY ONE TIRE BRAKE TRACK ON THE ROAD WHICH IT WAS GONE BY THE TIME I WENT TO INVESTIGATE. MY THEORY IS THAT ELECTRIC SURGES FROM THIS HIGH INTENSITY CABLES INTERFERE WITH THE THROTTLE CONTROL AND ACCELERATE THIS VEHICLES. IT IS THE ONLY LOGICAL EXPLANATION. IF THERE IS A WAY TO TEST THIS THEORY I SURE WOULD APPRECIATE IT. PLEASE ANSWER ME AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/12/2013 - HONOLULU, HI
I HAD REPORTED ROUGH RIDE TO SALES SPECIALIST AND SERVICE DEPT. IT WAS ATTRIBUTED TO NEW SUSPENSION SPECIFICATIONS AND POSSIBLE TIRE PRESSURE. TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOWERED HOWEVER ROUGH RIDE PERSISTED. DURING THE 12 MONTH 10K FULL MAINTENANCE SERVICE OF RX350 BOTH REAR SHOCKS WERE FOUND LEAKING AND REPLACED (UNDER WARRANTY). SINCE I HAD BEEN MONITORING ROUGH RIDE ISSUES OF OTHER RX350'S ON LEXUS FORUM I REPORTED THE SUSPENSION REPLACEMENT INCIDENT TO SALES SPECIALIST AND I HAD RECOMMENDED ADDRESSING WITH THOSE WHO MAY NEED TO KNOW TO INVESTIGATE POTENTIAL SUSPENSION PROBLEM (S). THERE WAS NO FOLLOW UP TO MY EMAILED CONCERN. SUBSEQUENTLY ON ANOTHER ONLINE FORUM A PARTICIPANT MENTIONED HAVING SUSPENSION REPLACED ON RAV4 (TOYOTA BRANDED AUTO). PERHAPS THERE MAY HAVE BEEN AN ISSUE WITH A SPECIFIC PRODUCTION RUN WITH ONE OF THEIR SUSPENSION SUPPLIERS AND MAY NEED TO BE ADDRESSED SINCE IT MAY RESULT IN HANDLING AND / OR CONTROL OF VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/8/2013 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
AFTER EXITING A PARKING LOT BY BACKING OUT, LEXUS RX 350 DRIVER PRECEDED TO THE PARKING LOT EXIT. UPON MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN TOWARDS THE EXIT, THE CAR IMMEDIATELY LURCHED FORWARD AND DESPITE THE DRIVERS ATTEMPT TO STOP THE CAR BY APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE CAR HIT ANOTHER PARKED CAR. THE RX 350 CAME TO A STOP ONLY AFTER HITTING THE CURBING OF THE PARKING LOT. THE CAR THAT WAS HIT WAS UNOCCUPIED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES TO THE DRIVER OF THE RX 350.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/25/2013 - NEW YORK , NY
I WISH TO INFORM YOU ABOUT A SERIOUS INCIDENT THAT OCCURRED ON SEPTEMBER 21, 2013 WHILE DRIVING MY LEXUS 350 AWD 2012. I WAS PARKING THE CAR. MY FOOT WAS ON THE BREAK PEDAL AND I WAS ABOUT TO REVERSE WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY SELF ACCELERATED AND WENT UP A 45 DEGREE EMBANKMENT. THE CAR DROVE OVER VERY LARGE BOULDERS THAT WERE AT THE HEAD OF THE PARKING SPACE. THE UNDERBELLY OF THE CAR RAMMED INTO A VERY LARGE BOULDER THAT RAISED THE LEFT REAR WHEEL OFF THE GROUND AND STOPPED THE CAR FROM CONTINUING UP THE INCLINE. THE ACCELERATION OVER THE BOULDERS AND UP THE EMBANKMENT WAS CONSISTENTLY FAST MOVING AND THE BREAK PEDAL WAS USELESS. LEXUS WAS INFORMED AND ADVISED THAT WOULD SEND AN INSPECTOR. THE LIFE ON MYSELF AND THE PASSENGERS WERE SERIOUSLY PUT AT RISK. I DO NOT WANT TO DRIVE THE CAR AGAIN BECAUSE OF THE UNPREDICTABILITY AND LIFE THREATENING RISK THE CAR POSES BECAUSE OF THE SELF ACCELERATION ISSUE. I KINDLY REQUEST YOUR OFFICE REVIEW THIS SERIOUS MATTER. I AM SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FOR MY UP-FRONT FINANCIAL COMMITMENT OR A TRADE-IN FOR A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE. UPDATED 1/8/2013

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/22/2013 - TRINITY, FL
I HAD AN ACCIDENT WITH MY 2012 LEXUS ON 5/1/13. I PULLED OUT OF A GAS STATION UNTO THE ROAD AND STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT BEHIND A CAR CARRIER WHICH WAS STOPPED ALREADY. WHEN I STOPPED, MY CAR ACCELERATED AND HIT THE BACK OF THE TRUCK. WHEN THE POLICE CAME, THEY CITED ME BECAUSE I HIT THE TRUCK. WHEN WE BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED, HE SAID HE HAD A SIMILAR CASE A MONTH BEFORE. WITH THAT, I SEARCHED GOOGLE AND REALIZED THAT I WASN'T LOOSING MY MIND AND THAT MY CAR ACCELERATED UNINTENTIONALLY. I CALLED LEXUS AND THEY SENT A REPRESENTATIVE TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND AFTER EXAMINING THE CAR, HIS FINDINGS WERE THAT IT DIDN'T HAPPEN. I CALLED TWO ATTORNEYS AND THEY HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING BUT BECAUSE I WASN'T HURT, THEY WOULDN'T TAKE MY CASE. I CALLED "8 ON YOUR SIDE" AND THEY SAID TO EMAIL YOU AND THAT A GENTLEMAN FROM THERE "MIGHT" GET IN TOUCH WITH ME. I AM OUT $4,500 FOR THE REPAIRS AND NOW MY CAR DEPRECIATED $5,000 BECAUSE IT WAS HIT. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN BUT I WORRY EVERY TIME I COME TO A STOP. IS THERE ANYTHING YOU CAN DO SO I COULD GET REIMBURSED FROM LEXUS OR TRADE MY CAR IN AND NOT LOSE THIS SUBSTANTIAL AMOUNT. I HAVE HAD LEXUS SINCE 1996 AND I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR REPLY!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/29/2013 - MIDDLE VILLAGE, NY
WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE AT APPROX. 3 MPH AND BEING LESS THAN A FOOT FROM WHERE I WOULD HAVE FULLY STOPPED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED UNCONTROLLABLY AS THE ENGINE RACED AT A VERY HIGH RPM. I WAS ABLE TO TURN MY WHEEL QUICKLY TO THE LEFT TO AVOID HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. AT THAT SAME TIME WITH MY FOOT THAT WAS ALREADY ON THE BRAKE AND I BRAKED VERY HARD, THEN SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. I HAD A SMALL PIECE OF WOOD FLOORING ON THE BACK SEAT WHICH CAME FLYING TO THE FRONT AND CUT THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD. I JUST REPORTED THE ISSUE TO LEXUS AND THEY SUGGEST I BRING THE VEHICLE TO A DEALERSHIP ASAP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2013 - N/A, FL
HI, I WOULD LIKE TO INFORM YOU ABOUT A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE I DISCOVERED IN THE LEXUS RX350, THE CAR IS KEYLESS AND YOU JUST NEED TO PUSH A BUTTON TO START AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE. THE SAFETY PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR WILL SHUT OFF WHEN PUSHING THE BUTTON EVEN IF THE CAR IS STILL IN D=DRIVE AND THE CAR WILL ROLL BACK IF PARKED ON A SLOPE LIKE A DRIVEWAY ETC. IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS KIDS CAN BE BEHIND THE CAR. PLEASE CHECK THIS SAFETY ISSUE. THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds