Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES C250 - 2012 MERCEDES C250 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCEDES

There are 11 complaints filed for the 2012 MERCEDES C250

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 MERCEDES C250. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 MERCEDES C250, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/4/2016 - DUBLIN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 MERCEDES-BENZ C250. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD CLANKING NOISE WHEN IT WAS STARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE EXHAUST CAMSHAFT ADJUSTER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,219.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/30/2015 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
CAR SHOWED SIGNS WELL BEFORE VEHICLE STARTED SHOWING CODES. WHEN I WOULD START IT UP THE VEHICLE SOUNDED LIKE A ROCKET SHIP WAS ABOUT TO TAKE OFF AND SHORTLY AFTER THE NOISE WOULD GO AWAY. WITH NO CODES MERCEDES TRIED REPLACING THE SOME AC PARTS BUT IT DIDN'T HELP. I JUST ASSUMED THE NOISE WAS HARMLESS IF MERCEDES SAYS NOTHING'S WRONG THAN IT MUST BE OKAY. THEN ONE DAY I WENT TO TURN THE CAR ON AND IT HESITATED MAKING ALL KINDS OF NOISE BUT ALWAYS STARTED AFTER HOLDING THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION AND PUSHING FORWARD. CAR SEEMS TO WORK WELL ONCE STARTED BUT I AM USING MORE GAS WHICH MIGHT BE RELATED.THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AFTERWARDS AND WOULD TURN ITSELF OFF. AFTER BRINGING IT TO MERCEDES THEY STATE I NEED A NEW INTAKE VARIABLE CAMSHAFT ADJUSTOR AND IT'S A GOOD IDEA TO REPLACE THE EXHAUST AS WELL SINCE THERE'S NO CHARGE FOR ADDITIONAL LABOR SINCE THE EXHAUST ADJUSTOR IS GOING TO BE ACCESSIBLE. MY CAR IS AT 68,000 MILES AND WELL KEPT THIS IS A MECHANICAL ISSUE WITH MERCEDES IN MULTIPLE MODELS AND YEARS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/30/2015 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
CAR SHOWED SIGNS WELL BEFORE VEHICLE STARTED SHOWING CODES. WHEN I WOULD START IT UP THE VEHICLE SOUNDED LIKE A ROCKET SHIP WAS ABOUT TO TAKE OFF AND SHORTLY AFTER THE NOISE WOULD GO AWAY. WITH NO CODES MERCEDES TRIED REPLACING THE SOME AC PARTS BUT IT DIDN'T HELP. I JUST ASSUMED THE NOISE WAS HARMLESS IF MERCEDES SAYS NOTHING'S WRONG THAN IT MUST BE OKAY. THEN ONE DAY I WENT TO TURN THE CAR ON AND IT HESITATED MAKING ALL KINDS OF NOISE BUT ALWAYS STARTED AFTER HOLDING THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION AND PUSHING FORWARD. CAR SEEMS TO WORK WELL ONCE STARTED BUT I AM USING MORE GAS WHICH MIGHT BE RELATED.THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AFTERWARDS AND WOULD TURN ITSELF OFF. AFTER BRINGING IT TO MERCEDES THEY STATE I NEED A NEW INTAKE VARIABLE CAMSHAFT ADJUSTOR AND IT'S A GOOD IDEA TO REPLACE THE EXHAUST AS WELL SINCE THERE'S NO CHARGE FOR ADDITIONAL LABOR SINCE THE EXHAUST ADJUSTOR IS GOING TO BE ACCESSIBLE. MY CAR IS AT 68,000 MILES AND WELL KEPT THIS IS A MECHANICAL ISSUE WITH MERCEDES IN MULTIPLE MODELS AND YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON I-5 NORTH COMING FROM LA JOLLA, MY VEHICLE STOPPED ACCELERATING, AND SUDDENLY STOPS IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY FREEWAY. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, THEN RESTARTED AFTER FIVE SECOND. AFTER RESTARTING MY VEHICLE IT STARTED RUNNING AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES ALREADY, AND HAVE BROUGHT MY VEHICLE TO THE SERVICE CENTER (ON EACH OCCASION). SERVICE REPORT INDICATE TRANSMISSION ERROR. AT TIMES, THE "SLIPPERY ROAD" SIGN ON MY DASHBOARD WOULD BLINK EVEN THOUGH THE WEATHER IS HOT OR HAS NOT RAIN FOR AGES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/4/2015 - SAN DIEGO, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON I-5 NORTH COMING FROM LA JOLLA, MY VEHICLE STOPPED ACCELERATING, AND SUDDENLY STOPS IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY FREEWAY. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, THEN RESTARTED AFTER FIVE SECOND. AFTER RESTARTING MY VEHICLE IT STARTED RUNNING AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES ALREADY, AND HAVE BROUGHT MY VEHICLE TO THE SERVICE CENTER (ON EACH OCCASION). SERVICE REPORT INDICATE TRANSMISSION ERROR. AT TIMES, THE "SLIPPERY ROAD" SIGN ON MY DASHBOARD WOULD BLINK EVEN THOUGH THE WEATHER IS HOT OR HAS NOT RAIN FOR AGES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2015 - MIAMI, FL
REF: NHTSA ID NUMBER: 10676804 SUMMARY: CAMSHAFT INTAKE ADJUSTER REPLACED THERMOSTAT SEALS REPLACED CHAIN TENSIONER REPLACED MY 2012 MB C250, WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY BY YEAR AND MILEAGE, WAS DECLINED TO BE SERVICE BY MERCEDES BENZ OF CUTLER BAY, FLORIDA. THERE REASONING IS THAT I DID NOT USE A MB OIL FILTER; THEY HAVE CANCELLED MY WARRANTY. EVEN THOUGH I HAVE DONE ALL THE PROPER OIL CHANGES SOONER THAT THE MB RECOMMENDATIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
CAMSHAFT INTAKE ADJUSTER REPLACED THERMOSTAT SEALS REPLACED CHAIN TENSIONER REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

1/12/2015 - CAMBRIA, CA
THE STEERING WHEEL ,HAS ALUMINUM PLATING OR COVERING, THAT WAS PEELING OFF AND CUT MY FINGER AS I WAS DRIVING, THIS HAPPENED LAST YEAR AND WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, AND DEALER REPLACED, THIS IS HAPPENING AGAIN, AND THE DEALER HAS AGREED TO REPLACE EVEN THOUGH THE WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED. I THOUGHT YOU GUYS SHOULD KNOW.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/11/2013 - CAMP HILL, PW
ON MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES THE VEHICLE HAS STARTED TO MISFIRE AT RANDOM TIMES AND SPEEDS RANGING FROM 45-70 MPH RESULTING IN "LIMP MODE" OR A STALLING CONDITION. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT WILL NOT BE ON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS RESTARTED. THE DEALERSHIP ON NO OCCASION HAS BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE MY CONCERN ALTHOUGH OTHERS HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR TO WITNESS. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AS WHEN IT STALLS ON THE HIGHWAY, I LOSE STEERING AND BRAKES AS WELL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/11/2013 - CAMP HILL, PW
ON MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES THE VEHICLE HAS STARTED TO MISFIRE AT RANDOM TIMES AND SPEEDS RANGING FROM 45-70 MPH RESULTING IN "LIMP MODE" OR A STALLING CONDITION. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT WILL NOT BE ON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS RESTARTED. THE DEALERSHIP ON NO OCCASION HAS BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE MY CONCERN ALTHOUGH OTHERS HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR TO WITNESS. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AS WHEN IT STALLS ON THE HIGHWAY, I LOSE STEERING AND BRAKES AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds