Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES C250 - 2012 MERCEDES C250 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCEDES

There are 5 complaints filed for the 2012 MERCEDES C250

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 MERCEDES C250. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 MERCEDES C250, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1)


 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/11/2013 - CAMP HILL, PW
ON MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES THE VEHICLE HAS STARTED TO MISFIRE AT RANDOM TIMES AND SPEEDS RANGING FROM 45-70 MPH RESULTING IN "LIMP MODE" OR A STALLING CONDITION. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT WILL NOT BE ON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS RESTARTED. THE DEALERSHIP ON NO OCCASION HAS BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE MY CONCERN ALTHOUGH OTHERS HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR TO WITNESS. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AS WHEN IT STALLS ON THE HIGHWAY, I LOSE STEERING AND BRAKES AS WELL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/11/2013 - CAMP HILL, PW
ON MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES THE VEHICLE HAS STARTED TO MISFIRE AT RANDOM TIMES AND SPEEDS RANGING FROM 45-70 MPH RESULTING IN "LIMP MODE" OR A STALLING CONDITION. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, BUT WILL NOT BE ON WHEN THE VEHICLE IS RESTARTED. THE DEALERSHIP ON NO OCCASION HAS BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE MY CONCERN ALTHOUGH OTHERS HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR TO WITNESS. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AS WHEN IT STALLS ON THE HIGHWAY, I LOSE STEERING AND BRAKES AS WELL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/9/2013 - HERCULES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 MERCEDES BENZ C250. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, HE ATTEMPTED TO ENGAGE THE BRAKES BUT IT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE VACUUM WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/19/2012 - INDIAN LAND, SC
THIS WAS NOT AN ACCIDENT, IT IS, IN MY OPINION, A POSSIBLE SAFETY PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE - TURBO LAG; THROTTLE LAG; TRANSMISSION LAG. I ALMOST HAD TWO ACCIDENTS DUE TO THE LAG PROBLEMS, AND HAVE ATTACHED A MORE DETAILED ANALYSIS FOR YOUR REVIEW. TURBO LAG: THIS IS THE TIME IT TAKES FOR THE CAR TO GO FROM ITS NATURALLY ASPIRATED POWER TO THE FULL POWER OF THE CAR AT FULL BOOST/ PEAK BOOST IS REACHED RELATIVELY LOW IN THE REVERSE RANGE, BUT IT IS NOT INSTANTANEOUS POWER LIKE A NATURALLY ASPIRATED ENGINE. THROTTLE LAG: THE DRIVE BY WIRE SYSTEM HAS A BIT OF LAG. UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, I MEASURED IT AT .2 OF A SECOND OR SO. WHATEVER THE VALUE, THERE IS ALWAYS LAG THERE, AND WE ARE VERY SENSITIVE TO IT. HOWEVER, DRIVING INS MODE VS E MODE DOES MAKE SOMEWHAT OF A DIFFERENCE. NONETHELESS, THE CAR ALWAYS STARTS OUT IN E MODE WHEN I GET IN AND START THE CAR. WE DIDN'T PURCHASE THE CAR TO ALWAYS DRIVE IN S MODE. TRANSMISSION LAG: THIS I NOTICE SIGNIFICANTLY AND IT IS, IN MY OPINION, PROBABLY THE MOST ANNOYING TO ME. YOU'LL NOTICE THIS WHEN STOMPING THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THEN DOING THE WAIT... WAIT... WAIT.. DOWNSHIFT. EVEN IF THIS ENGINE WAS RUNNING ONLY ON ITS NATURALLY ASPIRATED FOUR CYLINDERS, THE TRANSMISSION SHOULD RESPOND IMMEDIATELY TO A SURE FOOTED STOMP TO THE FLOOR WITH THE QUICKNESS, AS DOES MY FOUR CYLINDER RAV-4. HOWEVER, THE MB C-250 DOES NOT! IN MY OPINION, YOU CAN RESET THE TCU ALL YOU WANT, THE DELAY WILL REMAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/19/2012 - INDIAN LAND, SC
THIS WAS NOT AN ACCIDENT, IT IS, IN MY OPINION, A POSSIBLE SAFETY PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE - TURBO LAG; THROTTLE LAG; TRANSMISSION LAG. I ALMOST HAD TWO ACCIDENTS DUE TO THE LAG PROBLEMS, AND HAVE ATTACHED A MORE DETAILED ANALYSIS FOR YOUR REVIEW. TURBO LAG: THIS IS THE TIME IT TAKES FOR THE CAR TO GO FROM ITS NATURALLY ASPIRATED POWER TO THE FULL POWER OF THE CAR AT FULL BOOST/ PEAK BOOST IS REACHED RELATIVELY LOW IN THE REVERSE RANGE, BUT IT IS NOT INSTANTANEOUS POWER LIKE A NATURALLY ASPIRATED ENGINE. THROTTLE LAG: THE DRIVE BY WIRE SYSTEM HAS A BIT OF LAG. UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, I MEASURED IT AT .2 OF A SECOND OR SO. WHATEVER THE VALUE, THERE IS ALWAYS LAG THERE, AND WE ARE VERY SENSITIVE TO IT. HOWEVER, DRIVING INS MODE VS E MODE DOES MAKE SOMEWHAT OF A DIFFERENCE. NONETHELESS, THE CAR ALWAYS STARTS OUT IN E MODE WHEN I GET IN AND START THE CAR. WE DIDN'T PURCHASE THE CAR TO ALWAYS DRIVE IN S MODE. TRANSMISSION LAG: THIS I NOTICE SIGNIFICANTLY AND IT IS, IN MY OPINION, PROBABLY THE MOST ANNOYING TO ME. YOU'LL NOTICE THIS WHEN STOMPING THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THEN DOING THE WAIT... WAIT... WAIT.. DOWNSHIFT. EVEN IF THIS ENGINE WAS RUNNING ONLY ON ITS NATURALLY ASPIRATED FOUR CYLINDERS, THE TRANSMISSION SHOULD RESPOND IMMEDIATELY TO A SURE FOOTED STOMP TO THE FLOOR WITH THE QUICKNESS, AS DOES MY FOUR CYLINDER RAV-4. HOWEVER, THE MB C-250 DOES NOT! IN MY OPINION, YOU CAN RESET THE TCU ALL YOU WANT, THE DELAY WILL REMAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

5/4/2012 - SCOTTSDALE , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 MERCEDES BENZ C250. WHILE DRIVING, THE TURN SIGNAL WAS ACTIVATED WHEN A WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT SLIGHTLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR INSPECTION, WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE DIMNESS OF THE TURN SIGNAL WAS COMMON FOR THE MODEL YEAR VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 320. UPDATED 07/25/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBLEM WAS WITH THE TURN SIGNAL CONTROL LIGHT. IT WAS HARDLY VISIBLE IN THE DAY LIGHT AND IN THE SUN. THE SERVICE DEPT STATED THE NEW MODEL HAS A NEW ELECTRONIC DASH WHICH COMES IN ONE NEW CIRCUIT PANEL . UPDATED 07/25/12

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/4/2012 - SCOTTSDALE , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 MERCEDES BENZ C250. WHILE DRIVING, THE TURN SIGNAL WAS ACTIVATED WHEN A WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT SLIGHTLY ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR INSPECTION, WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE DIMNESS OF THE TURN SIGNAL WAS COMMON FOR THE MODEL YEAR VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 320. UPDATED 07/25/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBLEM WAS WITH THE TURN SIGNAL CONTROL LIGHT. IT WAS HARDLY VISIBLE IN THE DAY LIGHT AND IN THE SUN. THE SERVICE DEPT STATED THE NEW MODEL HAS A NEW ELECTRONIC DASH WHICH COMES IN ONE NEW CIRCUIT PANEL . UPDATED 07/25/12

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/1/2012 - SAN DIEGO, CA
2012 MERCEDES C250 SPORT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ISSUES WITH LEVERS ON THE STEERING COLUMN THE CONSUMER STATED HE WAS UNABLE TO SEE THE LEVER, WHICH WAS HIDDEN BEHIND THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONSUMER STATED HE HAD TO LEAN FORWARD TO LOOK OVER TOP OF THE STEERING WHEEL TO REACH THE LEVER. HE ALSO STATED THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS IN A HIDDEN AREA AS WELL.

View Details
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds