Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X3 - 2013 BMW X3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2013 BMW X3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BMW X3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BMW X3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (12) Unknown Or Other (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (31) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (9) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (15) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/12/2018 - PALM HARBOR, FL
DRIVING THE CAR ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE SCREEN ON THE CAR FLASHES A +DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION ERROR+, NO PRIOR ISSUES OR WARNINGS AND IT SAID TO DRIVE MODERATELY, NO OTHER WARNING OR TO STOP. I PULLED INTO THE NEAREST DEALER WHICH WAS LESS THAN A MILE AWAY AND TURNED THE CAR OFF, THE SERVICE MANAGER CAME OUT AND TRIED TO TURN THE CAR BACK ON AND COULDN+T, SO THEY REPLACED THE BATTERY AND WERE ABLE TO START IT EXCEPT THEY COULDN+T GET THE CAR OUT OF PARK, THE CAR WAS FLAT BEDDED TO THE BMW DEALER AND AFTER A MONTH THEY LET ME KNOW THAT MY CAR HAD COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE DUE TO THE TIMING CHAIN BREAKING WHICH CAUSED THE +CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE+. I HAVE READ HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF OTHER STORIES THAT MIRROR MY EXPERIENCE TO A TEE, SOME HOWEVER WERE NOT AS LUCKY AS I WAS TO BE ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY/ROAD BEFORE THEIR CAR COMPLETELY LOCKED UP AND DID NOT MOVE. BMW ADMITS THAT THESE CARS HAVE ISSUES WITH THE TIMING CHAIN MATERIAL THEY USED, WHICH HAPPENS TO BE PLASTIC; HOWEVER, DUE TO THE COST OF REPLACING ALL OF THESE PARTS IN THE KNOWN CARS THAT THEY WOULD COST BMW NA MORE $500 MILLION. IF THE NHTSA DOES NOT STEP IN AND FORCE THEM TO FIX THESE FAULTY PARTS THEY WILL END UP HAVING ONE OF THESE BMW+S WITH THE N20 OR N26 ENGINES FAIL WHILE DRIVING ON A ROAD AND SOMEONE IS GOING TO END UP GETTING KILLED BECAUSE OF IT. BMW IS HIDING THE SEVERITY OF THESE FAILURES IN THEIR PARTS AND BECAUSE NOBODY HAS DIED OR FACED AN INJURY THEY WILL NOT TAKE THE INITIATIVE AND ISSUE A RECALL, THEY JUST EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THESE PARTS FOR AN ADDITIONAL 10K MILES BECAUSE THEY KNOW THE PLASTIC TIMING CHAIN LASTS ON AVERAGE TO ABOUT 70K WHICH IS WHY THE WARRANTY IS NOW FOR 7 YEARS/70K MILES OR WHICHEVER COMES FIRST. IN CLOSING, MY CAR ENGINE FACED ENGINE FAILURE AND COMPLETELY SEIZED AT 77K MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/11/2018 - KANSAS CITY, MO
FAULTY TIMING CHAIN AND GUIDES. BMW IS ALREADY AWARE OF THIS ISSUES WITH THE N20 TYPE OF ENGINE AND EXTENDED OUT A WARRANTY MANY OF THE VEHICLES BUT MOST OF THE TIMING CHAIN FAIL JUST AFTER THE 70K MILE LIMIT IMPOSED IN THE EXTENSION. BMW OFFERED ME NO HELP IN THIS MATTER AND I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR A REPAIR ON A VEHICLE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

11/11/2018 - KANSAS CITY, MO
FAULTY TIMING CHAIN AND GUIDES. BMW IS ALREADY AWARE OF THIS ISSUES WITH THE N20 TYPE OF ENGINE AND EXTENDED OUT A WARRANTY MANY OF THE VEHICLES BUT MOST OF THE TIMING CHAIN FAIL JUST AFTER THE 70K MILE LIMIT IMPOSED IN THE EXTENSION. BMW OFFERED ME NO HELP IN THIS MATTER AND I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR A REPAIR ON A VEHICLE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2018 - MELVILLE, NY
DRIVE TRAIN LIGHT CAME ON AS I WAS ON PARKWAY AND CAR LOST POWER GOING FROM 55 TO 30 MPH. INFORMED THAT THERE IS A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/2/2018 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN IN A RESIDENTIAL AREA, WARNING LIGHT CAME ON INDICATING A DRIVERTRAIN PROBLEM, CAR LOST POWER. RESTARTED CAR; WOULD ONLY MOVE SLOWLY (AT 20-30MPH). COMPUTER RECOMMENDED DRIVING MODERATELY. LATER GOT THE PROBLEM FIXED BY LOCAL DEALER. ABOUT 5 MONTHS LATER, SAME ISSUE OCCURRED. STARTED CAR AT WORK TO DRIVE HOME. SAME WARNING LIGHT CAME ON INDICATING THE SAME ISSUE. CAR WOULD MOVE ONLY AT UP TO 30MPH. LUCKY BOTH TIMES THE PROBLEM CAME UP AT LOCAL STREETS. IF ON HIGHWAY, CATASTROPHIC CONSEQUENCES WOULD OCCUR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
AT APPROX. 60,200 MILES, I WAS DRIVING DOWN A SECONDARY ROAD, MOVING AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND RECEIVED THE DRIVE TRAIN WARNING AND AS I WAS PULLING OVER, I RECEIVED THE LOW ENGINE PRESSURE WARNING. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND HAVE MY VEHICLE TOWED.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
AT APPROX. 60,200 MILES, I WAS DRIVING DOWN A SECONDARY ROAD, MOVING AT ABOUT 45 MPH AND RECEIVED THE DRIVE TRAIN WARNING AND AS I WAS PULLING OVER, I RECEIVED THE LOW ENGINE PRESSURE WARNING. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND HAVE MY VEHICLE TOWED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2018 - ISLE OF PALMS, SC
I HAVE A 2013 BMW X3 WITH 85K MILES AND WAS DRIVING ON A 4-LANE HIGHWAY AT 55 MPH WHEN A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON INDICATING A DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION AND THAT I SHOULD +DRIVE MODERATELY+. WITHIN SECONDS, A SECOND WARNING LIGHT CAME ON INDICATING LOW OIL PRESSURE AND THAT I SHOULD +ADD A QUART OF OIL+. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE CAR SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL WITHOUT ME TOUCHING THE GEAR SHIFT. I TURNED THE CAR OFF TO CHECK THE OWNER+S MANUAL ABOUT THE DRIVETRAIN WARNING LIGHT, AND THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. THE ENTIRE SCENARIO LASTED ABOUT 10-15 SECONDS, AND PRIOR TO THIS, I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AND WAS DILIGENT ABOUT PERFORMING ROUTINE SERVICE ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURER+S INSTRUCTIONS. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE CLOSEST BMW DEALERSHIP. I RECEIVED A CALL THE FOLLOWING DAY NOTIFYING ME THAT CATASTROPHIC DAMAGE HAD OCCURRED TO THE ENGINE AND THAT I NEEDED A NEW ENGINE! APPARENTLY, THE TIMING CHAIN GUIDE BROKE, THE PIECES FELL INTO THE OIL PAN AND LODGED AGAINST THE SCREEN THAT KEEPS DEBRIS OUT OF THE ENGINE, AND STARVED THE ENGINE OF OIL. WHILE I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE $12,000 REPAIR BILL, I AM EQUALLY CONCERNED ABOUT THE DANGER THAT IS POSED BY THE SUDDEN AND COMPLETE DISABLEMENT OF THE VEHICLE THAT COULD RESULT IN INJURY OR DEATH TO THE CAR OWNER OR TO ANOTHER DRIVER WHO ENCOUNTERS THE DISABLED CAR ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. I SPOKE WITH 3 SERVICE ADVISORS AT 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS, AND THE SERVICE ADVISORS SAID +IT IS A RECURRING PROBLEM+. I ALSO REVIEWED NHTSA AND CARCOMPLAINTS.COM WEBSITES AND FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM. I ANTICIPATE MORE INCIDENCES OF TIMING CHAIN GUIDE FAILURE MORE DRIVERS REACH 75K PLUS MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2018 - ISLE OF PALMS, SC
I HAVE A 2013 BMW X3 WITH 85K MILES AND WAS DRIVING ON A 4-LANE HIGHWAY AT 55 MPH WHEN A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON INDICATING A DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION AND THAT I SHOULD +DRIVE MODERATELY+. WITHIN SECONDS, A SECOND WARNING LIGHT CAME ON INDICATING LOW OIL PRESSURE AND THAT I SHOULD +ADD A QUART OF OIL+. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE CAR SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL WITHOUT ME TOUCHING THE GEAR SHIFT. I TURNED THE CAR OFF TO CHECK THE OWNER+S MANUAL ABOUT THE DRIVETRAIN WARNING LIGHT, AND THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. THE ENTIRE SCENARIO LASTED ABOUT 10-15 SECONDS, AND PRIOR TO THIS, I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AND WAS DILIGENT ABOUT PERFORMING ROUTINE SERVICE ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURER+S INSTRUCTIONS. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE CLOSEST BMW DEALERSHIP. I RECEIVED A CALL THE FOLLOWING DAY NOTIFYING ME THAT CATASTROPHIC DAMAGE HAD OCCURRED TO THE ENGINE AND THAT I NEEDED A NEW ENGINE! APPARENTLY, THE TIMING CHAIN GUIDE BROKE, THE PIECES FELL INTO THE OIL PAN AND LODGED AGAINST THE SCREEN THAT KEEPS DEBRIS OUT OF THE ENGINE, AND STARVED THE ENGINE OF OIL. WHILE I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE $12,000 REPAIR BILL, I AM EQUALLY CONCERNED ABOUT THE DANGER THAT IS POSED BY THE SUDDEN AND COMPLETE DISABLEMENT OF THE VEHICLE THAT COULD RESULT IN INJURY OR DEATH TO THE CAR OWNER OR TO ANOTHER DRIVER WHO ENCOUNTERS THE DISABLED CAR ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. I SPOKE WITH 3 SERVICE ADVISORS AT 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS, AND THE SERVICE ADVISORS SAID +IT IS A RECURRING PROBLEM+. I ALSO REVIEWED NHTSA AND CARCOMPLAINTS.COM WEBSITES AND FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM. I ANTICIPATE MORE INCIDENCES OF TIMING CHAIN GUIDE FAILURE MORE DRIVERS REACH 75K PLUS MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2018 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
VARIOUS FAILURES IN POWER TRAIN INCLUDING TRANSFER CASE, TURBO, HIGH PRESSURE FUEL INJECTION, AND TRANSMISSION. FAILURES HAVE HAPPENED WHILE TRAVELING ON CALIFORNIA FREEWAYS. FAILURES SOMETIMES REQUIRE TOWING. SOMETIMES CAUTION DRIVER TO PROCEED AT LOWER SPEEDS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds