Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X3 - 2013 BMW X3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 87 complaints filed for the 2013 BMW X3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BMW X3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BMW X3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (12) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (17) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/19/2019 - MCMURRAY, PA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AROUND 70 MPH, DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION MESSAGE CAME ON MONITOR WITHIN A FEW SECONDS ANOTHER MESSAGE SAYING LOW OIL PRESSURE PULL TO SIDE AND CALL FOR SERVICE. MANGED TO PULL TO THE SIDE, BUT POTENTIAL WAS THERE AFTER LOSING POWER TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT. I WAS 300 MILES FROM HOME ON JULY 4, 2019 NO SHOP WAS OPEN, SO HAD AAA TOW THE VEHICLE TO BMW DEALER, MET WITH THEM THE NEXT DAY AND FOUND OUT IT WAS A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE AND NEEDED A NEW ENGINE, HE ALSO INFORMED THIS WAS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THE BMW HAD EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 70K MILES, BUT SINCE I HAD 115K IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. CALLED CORPORATE BMW AND INFORMED THEM THAT THIS IS THE KNOWN ISSUE OF TIMING CHAIN AND THEY SHOULD PROVIDE ASSISTANCE, I HAVE BEEN DRIVING BMW FOR OVER 10 YEARS AND CURRENTLY OWN 2. THEY CAME BACK AND SAID THEY WILL NOT BE GIVING ANY GOODWILL OR ANYTHING TO HELP WITH THE REPAIR. THEY WOULD NOT STAND BY THEIR VEHICLE ON A KNOWN ISSUE WITH A LOYAL CUSTOMER. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I WON'T BUY A VEHICLE FROM A COMPANY THAT DOES NOT STAND BY THEIR VEHICLE. I HAVE LOOKED AT THE DATABASE AND FOUND MANY VEHICLES WITH THE SAME EXACT ISSUE, ENOUGH FOR BMW TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY FOR THIS ISSUE BUT CURRENTLY NOT ENOUGH FOR AN INVESTIGATION OR RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/30/2019 - SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ
THE PASSENGER SENSOR MAT LINKED TO THE AIR BAG SYSTEM IS REPEATEDLY MALFUNCTIONING. IT IS OF THE SAME DESIGN AS PREVIOUSLY RECALLED SENSORS IN OTHER BMW MODELS. IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD ALSO BE RECALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/2/2019 - CERRITOS, CA
FAULTY PLASTIC TIMING CHAIN GUIDE THAT FAILS PREMATURELY. AT 113,000, MY MECHANIC IS TELLING ME TO EITHER REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN AND COMPONENTS, OR GET RID OF THE VEHICLE, AS THE ENGINE WILL EVENTUALLY FAIL IF THIS IN NOT ADDRESSED. AT NEARLY 5K OR MORE IN REPAIRS, THAT IS BASICALLY 50% OF THE VEHICLE'S RESALE VALUE. BMW IS AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL FOR A BAD DESIGN AND FAULTY COMPONENTS. MANY OTHERS WITH THE BMW N20 ENGINE HAVE HAD THEIR ENGINE FAIL COMPLETELY, OR HAD TO PAY ASTRONOMICAL REPAIR COSTS TO CORRECT BMW'S DESIGN ERROR. A MULTI-BILLION DOLLAR COMPANY SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR SELLING A PROBLEMATIC ENGINE, NOT THE OWNER.

View Details

ENGINE

5/29/2019 - OSSINING, NY
DRIVING WEST ON I84 IN CT. JUST EAST OF EXIT 33 BEFORE RT 72 MERGE LOW OIL PRESSURE MESSAGE COMES ON. WITHIN 30 SECONDS DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION MESSAGE APPEARS AND THE ENGINE STARTS TO POWER DOWN. BARELY MADE IT ACROSS THE 2 LANES MERGING ON THE RIGHT AND ONTO THE SHOULDER BEFORE THE ENGINE LOST POWER ENTIRELY AND SHUT DOWN. COULD HAVE BEEN A TOTAL DISASTER GIVEN THE HIGH SPEED MERGE AND VOLUME OF TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2019 - CLIFTON, NJ
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A BUSY ROAD, MOVING AT ABOUT 25 MPH AND RECEIVED THE DRIVE TRAIN WARNING AND AS I WAS PULLING OVER, IR, THEN STUDENTLY I GOT A MESSAGE, ENGINE LOSS POWER, AND THE CAR SUDDENLY STOP NOT HAVE A CHANCE TO PULL OVER ..HOW DANGEROUS IS THIS I WAS WITH MY GRAND KIDS IN THE CAR . THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART AND HAD TOW TO THE DEALER .. WAITING FOR ESTIMATED ..DANGEROUS SITUATION PULLING INTO TRAFFIC SPECIALLY ON A HIGHWAY WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS "ULTIMATE DRIVING MACHINE" TO ANYONE! THEY WAITING FOR A FATAL CRASH TO TAKE ACTIONS ??????

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2019 - VICTORIA, TX
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY BRAKING TO SLOWDOWN AT A LIGHT AS I WAS COMING INTO TOWN. MESSAGE CAME ON THAT OIL PRESSURE WAS LOW AND TO CALL ROADSIDE ASSIST. MOVED OFF HIGHWAY AND CUT ENGINE ON AND OF TWICE. MESSAGE CLEARED BUT DECIDED TO DRIVE HOME. MESSAGE CAME ON DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION DRIVE MODERATELY SO I CONTINUED ON FOR ABOUT 1.5 MILES AT SLOW SPEED. A CLICKING SOUND COULD BE HEARD. THE CAR JUMPED INTO NEUTRAL SO I COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT AND TRIED TO PUT CAR IN DRIVE UNSUCCESSFULLY. TURNED ENGINE OFF AND WOULD NOT RESTART. TOW TRUCK PUT ON FLATBED TO MECHANIC WHO THEN RAN A A SCAN. HE SAID THE ENGINE IS RUINED AND WILL NEED REPLACING. THE DEALER IN SAN ANTONIO, TX REPLACED THE TURBOCHARGER TWICE WITH THE LAST BEING IN THE FALL OF 2017. NOTHING WAS MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS SUCH A PROBLEM WITH THIS THAT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY HAD BEEN GIVEN. OUR CAR HAS 94,000 MILES. WE HAD JUST DRIVEN THROUGH HOUSTON IN A STORM. THIS COULD HAVE COST US OUR LIVES IF WE HAD BEEN STRANDED IN THE FLOODING HIGHWAY BLOCKING TRAFFIC LET ALONE OTHER LIVES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2019 - VICTORIA, TX
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY BRAKING TO SLOWDOWN AT A LIGHT AS I WAS COMING INTO TOWN. MESSAGE CAME ON THAT OIL PRESSURE WAS LOW AND TO CALL ROADSIDE ASSIST. MOVED OFF HIGHWAY AND CUT ENGINE ON AND OF TWICE. MESSAGE CLEARED BUT DECIDED TO DRIVE HOME. MESSAGE CAME ON DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION DRIVE MODERATELY SO I CONTINUED ON FOR ABOUT 1.5 MILES AT SLOW SPEED. A CLICKING SOUND COULD BE HEARD. THE CAR JUMPED INTO NEUTRAL SO I COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT AND TRIED TO PUT CAR IN DRIVE UNSUCCESSFULLY. TURNED ENGINE OFF AND WOULD NOT RESTART. TOW TRUCK PUT ON FLATBED TO MECHANIC WHO THEN RAN A A SCAN. HE SAID THE ENGINE IS RUINED AND WILL NEED REPLACING. THE DEALER IN SAN ANTONIO, TX REPLACED THE TURBOCHARGER TWICE WITH THE LAST BEING IN THE FALL OF 2017. NOTHING WAS MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS SUCH A PROBLEM WITH THIS THAT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY HAD BEEN GIVEN. OUR CAR HAS 94,000 MILES. WE HAD JUST DRIVEN THROUGH HOUSTON IN A STORM. THIS COULD HAVE COST US OUR LIVES IF WE HAD BEEN STRANDED IN THE FLOODING HIGHWAY BLOCKING TRAFFIC LET ALONE OTHER LIVES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2019 - MONTVILLE, OH
DRIVING AT NORMAL SPEED. NOTIFICATION APPEARED OF DRIVETRAIN MALFUNCTION. I STOPPED THE CAR ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND THE NOTIFICATION WAS OFF. STARTED DRIVING AGAIN AND NOTIFICATION CAME ON LOW OIL PRESSURE. THE ENGINE STARTED TO MAKE A LOUD TICKING NOISE WHILE I PULLED OFF THE ROAD. CAR WAS TOWED TO MY HOME. CONTACTED THE DEALER FOR SERVICE. THEY STATED THAT IT WAS LIKELY A TIMING CHAIN ISSUE WHICH THEY HAVE EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO COVER. MY CAR HAS 88K MILES. WHEN I TOLD THEM THE MILEAGE THEY TOLD ME IT WASN'T COVERED OVER 70K MILES. THEY SAID THAT IT SOUNDED LIKE THE DAMAGE WOULD LIKELY RUIN THE ENGINE AND REQUIRE POSSIBLY A NEW ENGINE. EITHER WAY, IT WOULD BE AT LEAST $1000 FOR THE INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSIS. I HAVE HAD REGULAR SERVICE AT THE DEALER AND THEY NEVER MENTIONED NO CHECKED FOR THIS POTENTIAL PROBLEM WHILE MY VEHICLE WAS IN FOR SERVICE WHEN THE MILEAGE WAS UNDER 70K.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2019 - MESA, AZ
VEHICLE STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND SENSORS LITE UP AND VEHICLE STALLED. MECHANIC DETERMINED IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN, WARRANTY COMPANY DEMANDED ENGINE BE OPENED UP TO CHECK VALUES, FOUND TIMING CHAIN BOLT BROKEN OFF IN THE ENGINE NOT TO BE FOUND. WARRANTY COMPANY BLAMED BOLT AND REFUSED TO PAY REPAIRS, NEW ENGINE REQUIRED SINCE BOLT COULD NOT BE FOUND. NONE ISSUE WITH BMW

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/26/2019 - LEANDER, TX
THERE IS A FAULTY CHIP IN THE TAIL LIGHT. THIS CAUSES A FAILURE OF THE TAIL LIGHT WITH NO ADVANCED WARNING. TYPICALLY WHEN A BULB GOES OUT THE DRIVER WILL GET A WARNING IN THE GAUGE CLUSTER. THIS FAULTY CHIP PREVENTS THE WARNING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds