Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCORE - 2013 BUICK ENCORE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 36 complaints filed for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BUICK ENCORE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Seats (2) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (9) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/22/2017 - CONROE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING IN THE PARK POSITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2017 - HACKETTSTOWN, NJ
THE WARNING LIGHT CONNECTED TO THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG INTERMITTENTLY DISPLAYS THE OFF SIGN EVEN WHEN AN ADULT PASSENGER IS IN THE SEAT. IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH THE AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IF THE WARNING LIGHT READS OFF EVEN IF A PASSENGER IS IN THE SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/2/2017 - LENOIR, NC
PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR DETECTS PASSENGER ABOUT 60% OF TIME, AT RANDOM OCCASIONS SETTING IN DRIVEWAY OR DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. THE 40% AIRBAG IS OFF AND OUT OF SERVICE. WE HAVE DEALT WITH GMC BUICK AND THEY HAVE RUN TEST AT DEALERSHIP COULD NOT COME UP A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM. IF THE AIRBAG IS OFF AT ANYTIME THE PASSENGER IS AT RISK OF GREATER INJURY IN AN ACCIDENT, WHY IS 60% ACCEPTABLE WITH BUICK MANAGEMENT. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2017 - STARKVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING 40-50 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO AVOID A DEER, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO FLIP OVER AND EVENTUALLY LANDED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER RECEIVED INJURIES TO THE CHEST AND SHOULDER, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND DEEMED TOTALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - ASHBURN, VA
EXHAUST SMELL IN CAR ESPECIALLY WHEN AIR RECYCLE BUTTON ON. SMELL IS WORSE AT STOPS AND AFTER CAR IS RETURNED TO GARAGE. HAVE COMPLAINED TO GM BUICK FOR THREE YEARS. NO CAUSE FOUND.

View Details

TIRES

12/13/2016 - MOLINE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 (NA) BUICK ENCORE EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI PRO CONTACT TIRES, SIZE: P215/55/R18 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT TWO OF THE FOUR TIRES CONTINUED TO LOSE AIR PRESSURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE TIRES WERE ROTATED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE AND TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000. THE VIN AND DOT NUMBER WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS

10/11/2016 - LAGRANGEVILLE, NY
THERE ARE TOXIC FUMES AND AN ODOR EMANATING FROM THE INTERIOR OF MY 2013 BUICK ENCORE. THE UPHOLSTERY SEEMS TO BE THE MOST LIKELY SOURCE. THE FUMES HAVE BEEN CAUSING A CHRONIC BURNING SENSATION IN OUR EYES, NOSE, THROAT, AND WHICH OCCASIONALLY RESULTS IN STOMACH DISCOMFORT AND NAUSEA. THE FUMES AND ODOR INTENSIFY ON SUNNY DAYS AND WHEN TAKING EXTENDED TRIPS. THE ISSUE HAS BEEN REPORTED TO THE GM DEALER, WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR, OVER THE PAST TWO YEARS, HOWEVER THEY HAVE NOT TAKEN ACTION TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE, NOR HAVE THEY TAKEN THIS MATTER SERIOUSLY. WE WOULD LIKE TO GET THE CAR TESTED FOR TOXIC INTERIOR EMISSIONS, AND WOULD LIKE HELP FINDING THE PROPER TESTING FACILITY OR COMPANY THAT PERFORMS THIS TEST. COULD YOU PLEASE RECOMMEND SOMEONE, WHETHER A PRIVATE COMPANY OR GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY THAT PERFORMS THIS SERVICE. ANY DIRECTION OR IDEA WOULD BE EXTREMELY HELPFUL AT THIS POINT. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR ATTENTION AND ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/11/2016 - LAGRANGEVILLE, NY
THERE ARE TOXIC FUMES AND AN ODOR EMANATING FROM THE INTERIOR OF MY 2013 BUICK ENCORE. THE UPHOLSTERY SEEMS TO BE THE MOST LIKELY SOURCE. THE FUMES HAVE BEEN CAUSING A CHRONIC BURNING SENSATION IN OUR EYES, NOSE, THROAT, AND WHICH OCCASIONALLY RESULTS IN STOMACH DISCOMFORT AND NAUSEA. THE FUMES AND ODOR INTENSIFY ON SUNNY DAYS AND WHEN TAKING EXTENDED TRIPS. THE ISSUE HAS BEEN REPORTED TO THE GM DEALER, WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR, OVER THE PAST TWO YEARS, HOWEVER THEY HAVE NOT TAKEN ACTION TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE, NOR HAVE THEY TAKEN THIS MATTER SERIOUSLY. WE WOULD LIKE TO GET THE CAR TESTED FOR TOXIC INTERIOR EMISSIONS, AND WOULD LIKE HELP FINDING THE PROPER TESTING FACILITY OR COMPANY THAT PERFORMS THIS TEST. COULD YOU PLEASE RECOMMEND SOMEONE, WHETHER A PRIVATE COMPANY OR GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY THAT PERFORMS THIS SERVICE. ANY DIRECTION OR IDEA WOULD BE EXTREMELY HELPFUL AT THIS POINT. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR ATTENTION AND ASSISTANCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/6/2016 - WASHOUGAL, WA
HESITATION WHEN ACCELERATING TO ENTER FREEWAY OR PASS

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/31/2016 - LENOIR, NC
PURCHASED A USED 2013 BUICK ENCORE WITH 21,115 MILES. AFTER TWO (2) MONTHS THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT STARTING SHOWING OFF WHEN MY WIFE WAS SEATED IN THE CAR, SHE WEIGHS 110 LBS. IT WOULD COME ON THEN GO OFF OR NOT COME ON AT ALL. TOOK CAR TO NEARBY DEALERSHIP, THEY STATED "NO PROBLEM, WE CAN ADJUST THE SENSOR ALL THE WAY DOWN TO 85 LBS." ABOUT HALF WAY HOME THE PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF LIGHT CAME BACK ON. AFTER SIX (6) TRIPS BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHICH INCLUDED REPLACING THE SEAT SENSOR AND THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE, THE ASSISTANT SERVICE MANAGER HOOKED UP A COMPUTER TO THE CAR WITH MY WIFE IN THE SEAT AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT OFF. HE SAID THE COMPUTER WAS SHOWING THE SEAT OCCUPIED BUT THE AIRBAG DISABLED. HE THEN STATED HE WOULD HAVE TO KEEP THE CAR AND TALK TO THE ENGINEERS AT DETROIT. THE NEXT DAY I RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE SERVICE DEPT. SAYING MY WIFE WOULD HAVE TO WEIGH 125 LBS BEFORE THE AIRBAG SENSOR WOULD ACTIVATE AND IT WAS NORMAL FOR THE AIRBAG TO BE OFF AND THAT IT WOULD ACTUALLY BE BETTER FOR MY WIFE IF IT THE AIRBAG DIDN'T WORK. I FIND THIS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds