Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCORE - 2013 BUICK ENCORE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 12 complaints filed for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BUICK ENCORE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Power Train (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (5) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/18/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 80 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STALLED. THE "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE THROTTLE COLLAR, WHICH CONTROLLED ALL THE FUEL THAT FEEDS TO THE ENGINE, WAS DEFECTIVE. THE THROTTLE COLLAR WAS REPLACED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,561.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/18/2014 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER DOES NOT LIGHT UP ENOUGH ON A SUNNY DAY TO BE ABLE TO CHECK SPEED, FUEL OR THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE. THESE SHOULD BE EASILY READ AT A GLANCE SO AS TO KEEP EYES ON THE ROAD. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO DO SO ON THE ENCORE. ONE ONE OCCASION, I ACTUALLY HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD IN ORDER TO CHECK THE FUEL GAUGE. I HAVE COMPLAINED TO THE DEALER AND ALSO TO BUICK AND THEY TELL ME THAT EVERYTHING IS OPERATING ACCORDING TO SPECIFICATION. THIS IS AN UNSAFE AUTOMOBILE TO NOT BE ABLE TO QUICKLY CHECK SPEED ETC.

View Details

TIRES

7/14/2014 - GRAND BLANC, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. THE VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI PRO CONTACT TIRES, SIZE 215/55R18 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR TIRES CONTINUOUSLY FLATTENED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC PATCHED UP THE TIRES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND DOT NUMBER WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE AND TIRE FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 11,800. UPDATED 8/22/14

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2014 - HUBERT , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER DRIVING IN REVERSE, SHE SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 7,776. ...UPDATED 06/25/14 UPDATED 06/30/2014

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - WESTBOROUGH, MA
I WAS DRIVING A BUICK ENCORE, RENTAL CAR, AND AFTER USING THE WIPERS, MY HAND TOUCHED THE IGNITION KEY (BARELY TOUCHED IT) AND THE ENGINE TURNED OFF LEAVING ME WITH NO POWER STEERING OR POWER BRAKES. I MANAGED TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PUT IT INTO PARK TO RESTART THE CAR. I RETURNED IT TO THE RENTAL PLACE RIGHT AWAY AND REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO THEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/26/2014 - ELDRED, PA
2013 BUICK ENCORE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ABS AND ALL WHEEL DRIVE TRANSMISSION SYSTEM ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BRAKES WOULD SQUEAK, RUB AND GRAB. ON THANKSGIVING DAY, WHILE DRIVING DOWN HIS DRIVEWAY, ON SNOWY DAY, THE ABS LOCKED UP AND THE VEHICLE WENT OFF THE ROAD INTO A PLOWED SNOW BANK, IN WHICH THE BUMPER WAS CRACKED. ALSO, AS HE WIFE WAS DRIVING, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE RIGHT, AS SHE BRAKED. ON TWO OCCASIONS, THE AWD DRIVE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/26/2014 - ELDRED, PA
2013 BUICK ENCORE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ABS AND ALL WHEEL DRIVE TRANSMISSION SYSTEM ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BRAKES WOULD SQUEAK, RUB AND GRAB. ON THANKSGIVING DAY, WHILE DRIVING DOWN HIS DRIVEWAY, ON SNOWY DAY, THE ABS LOCKED UP AND THE VEHICLE WENT OFF THE ROAD INTO A PLOWED SNOW BANK, IN WHICH THE BUMPER WAS CRACKED. ALSO, AS HE WIFE WAS DRIVING, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE RIGHT, AS SHE BRAKED. ON TWO OCCASIONS, THE AWD DRIVE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE DASHBOARD.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2014 - PINE RIVER, MN
I LIVE IN MINNESOTA. ON A -30 DEGREE DAY IN JANUARY I DROVE TO WORK (30 MILES ONE WAY). WHEN I LEFT FOR LUNCH I DROVE ABOUT A QUARTER MILE AND STARTED SMELLING A BURNING SMELL SIMILAR TO WHEN FOLLOWING A VEHICLE THAT IS BURNING OIL. MY CAR WAS NEW SO I DIDN'T THINK IT WAS ME. I WENT ABOUT 2 MILES AND STOPPED FOR A STOP LIGHT AT WHICH POINT MY ENGINE STARTED TO SPUTTER. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN SHIFTED BACK INTO DRIVE. I MANAGED TO PULL OUT OF TRAFFIC AND WITH BLACK SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE TAILPIPE, THE CAR DIED. IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND STRANGELY IT WAS THE SECOND ENCORE THAT DAY WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. AFTER SITTING IN THE WARM GARAGE OVER NIGHT, THE TECHNICIANS COULD NOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM. THE DIAGNOSTICS SHOWED NOTHING. I PICKED THE CAR UP AFTER A FEW DAYS AND IT WAS FINE FOR TWO WEEKS. THEN ON ANOTHER BITTERLY COLD DAY, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THE CAR STARTED TO SMELL, BLEW BLACK SMOKE AND DIED. AGAIN IT WAS TOWED. AT THAT POINT A GM ENGINEER OUT OF MINNEAPOLIS CAME UP TO ASSESS MY CAR AS WELL AS SOME OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS TIME PARTS WERE REPLACED INCLUDING THE THROTTLE BODY SENSOR AND SOME AIR INTAKE PARTS. IT APPEARS AS THOUGH IT IS NOT UNCOMMON IN COLDER CLIMATES. I HAVE BEEN ON THE BUICK FORUMS AND HAVE FOUND OTHER INCIDENCES DOCUMENTED. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE REPLACEMENT PARTS ARE THE SAME PARTS THAT FAILED BEFORE SO THIS IS A PATCH NOT A FIX. NEXT WINTER THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN. IT IS AWFUL TO HAVE A NEW CAR THAT I CAN'T TRUST. I'M NERVOUS EVERY TIME I DRIVE IT WHEN IT'S REALLY COLD. NEXT TIME IT COULD DIE WHILE I'M IN TRAFFIC ON AN INTERSTATE OR I COULD BE STRANDED SOMEWHERE IN DANGEROUSLY COLD TEMPERATURES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
CAR RAN GREAT THEN I STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT. WHEN IT TURNED GREEN THE TRACTION CONTROL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. ENGINE POWER REDUCED CAME ACROSS DASH AND THE CAR FAILED TO ACCELERATE, THE CAR, RADIO AND LIGHTS WERE STILL ON. ALMOST CAUSED 3 DIFFERENT ACCIDENTS TRYING TO GET OUT OF TRAFFIC.SCAN CHECK SYSTEM, P2101, PER DOCUMENT ID:[XXX] DIAGNOSIS WAS TO REPLACE THROTTLE BODY AND PERFORM JDLE RELEARN PROCEDURE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
CAR RAN GREAT THEN I STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT. WHEN IT TURNED GREEN THE TRACTION CONTROL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. ENGINE POWER REDUCED CAME ACROSS DASH AND THE CAR FAILED TO ACCELERATE, THE CAR, RADIO AND LIGHTS WERE STILL ON. ALMOST CAUSED 3 DIFFERENT ACCIDENTS TRYING TO GET OUT OF TRAFFIC.SCAN CHECK SYSTEM, P2101, PER DOCUMENT ID:[XXX] DIAGNOSIS WAS TO REPLACE THROTTLE BODY AND PERFORM JDLE RELEARN PROCEDURE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds