Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCORE - 2013 BUICK ENCORE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 17 complaints filed for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BUICK ENCORE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine (5) Seats (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Power Train (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

10/20/2014 - SANTA MONICA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V488000 (SEATS). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/12/2014 - MURRAY, KY
WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR LAST YEAR THE DEALER TOOK $1900 OF MY MONEY IN A RUSE - I WILL DIE BEFORE EVER STEPPING FOOT IN DWAIN TAYLORS EVER AGAIN. I WILL NOT TAKE THIS VEHICLE IN FOR ANY SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/9/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
IN A LINE OF TRAFFIC GETTING READY TO MAKE A LEFT TURN AND WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE RACED CAUSING THE CAR TO ACCELERATE AND SLAM INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER CAR CAUSING OVER $5K WORTH OF DAMAGE TO THE ENCORE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF. THE IMPACT WAS SO INTENSE THAT THE REAR GLOVE BOX OPENED TOSSING THE CONTENTS OUT INTO THE TRUNK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
IN A LINE OF TRAFFIC GETTING READY TO MAKE A LEFT TURN AND WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE RACED CAUSING THE CAR TO ACCELERATE AND SLAM INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER CAR CAUSING OVER $5K WORTH OF DAMAGE TO THE ENCORE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF. THE IMPACT WAS SO INTENSE THAT THE REAR GLOVE BOX OPENED TOSSING THE CONTENTS OUT INTO THE TRUNK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
IN A LINE OF TRAFFIC GETTING READY TO MAKE A LEFT TURN AND WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE RACED CAUSING THE CAR TO ACCELERATE AND SLAM INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER CAR CAUSING OVER $5K WORTH OF DAMAGE TO THE ENCORE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF. THE IMPACT WAS SO INTENSE THAT THE REAR GLOVE BOX OPENED TOSSING THE CONTENTS OUT INTO THE TRUNK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/7/2014 - NORTH ROYALTON, OH
* ACCIDE* SINCE THE PURCHASE DATE OF MY CAR I HAVE HAD TROUBLE SLIDING THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION. IT NORMALLY TAKES AT LEAST A FEW ATTEMPTS AND CAN REQUIRE SOME LIGHT FORCE TO INSERT THE KEY. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE, MY LOCAL BUICK DEALERSHIP WILL BE REPLACING THE IGNITION DURING MY APPOINTMENT THIS WEEK. AS WELL, THE LAST TIME I WAS AT THE DEALER, ANOTHER CUSTOMER HAD THE SAME COMPLAINT WITH THE BUICK ENCORE. I AM REPORTING THIS ISSUE SIMPLE OUT OF CONCERN DUE TO ALL OF THE IGNITION ISSUES GM HAS RECENTLY HAD. AS THIS IS ANOTHER POTENTIAL ISSUE I STRONGLY FEEL IT SHOULD BE RESEARCHED. THANK YOU!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/3/2014 - HAMILTON, NJ
PREMIUM TRIM LEVEL HAS FORWARD COLLISION WARNING. ON AT LEAST SIX OCCASIONS BEGINNING NOVEMBER OF LAST YEAR (2013), THE FORWARD COLLISION WARNING HAS COME ON WITH NO VEHICLE IN FRONT FOR HUNDREDS OF FEET AND HAS DISENGAGED THE CRUISE CONTROL, ESSENTIALLY CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO COAST UNTIL THE ACCELERATOR WAS MANUALLY DEPRESSED. FOUR INCIDENTS OCCURRED WHILE TRAVELING ON THE NEW JERSEY TURNPIKE AT 65 TO 68 MPH; ONE INCIDENT OCCURRED ON A LOCAL ROAD AT 45 MPH; AND ONE INCIDENT OCCURRED ON A LOCAL ROAD TRAVELING AT 35 MPH (POLICE PATROLLED AREA, USE CRUISE TO NOT EXCEED SPEED LIMIT). DURING EACH EPISODE, ROAD CONDITIONS WERE DRY AND CALM (NO DEBRIS FLYING IN FRONT OF THE CAMERA TO TRIGGER THE FEATURE, NOR WINDSHIELD WIPER IN USE). AFTER THE FIRST TWO INCIDENTS, IT WAS BROUGHT UP VERBALLY WITH SERVICE TECH WHEN VEHICLE WAS IN FOR ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, AND MOST RECENTLY LAST MONTH WHEN VEHICLE WAS CHECKED FOR SEAT TRACK SAFETY RECALL. THIS COMPLAINT WAS NOT PUT ON THE SERVICE RECORD EITHER TIME. BOTH TIMES I WAS TOLD THAT SOMETHING MUST HAVE TRIGGERED THE CAMERA. NOTHING WENT ACROSS MY WINDSHIELD TO TRIGGER THIS FEATURE. CRUISE CONTROL DISENGAGING AT HIGHWAY SPEED IS UNSAFE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/18/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 80 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND STALLED. THE "REDUCED ENGINE POWER" WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE THROTTLE COLLAR, WHICH CONTROLLED ALL THE FUEL THAT FEEDS TO THE ENGINE, WAS DEFECTIVE. THE THROTTLE COLLAR WAS REPLACED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,561.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/18/2014 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER DOES NOT LIGHT UP ENOUGH ON A SUNNY DAY TO BE ABLE TO CHECK SPEED, FUEL OR THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE. THESE SHOULD BE EASILY READ AT A GLANCE SO AS TO KEEP EYES ON THE ROAD. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO DO SO ON THE ENCORE. ONE ONE OCCASION, I ACTUALLY HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD IN ORDER TO CHECK THE FUEL GAUGE. I HAVE COMPLAINED TO THE DEALER AND ALSO TO BUICK AND THEY TELL ME THAT EVERYTHING IS OPERATING ACCORDING TO SPECIFICATION. THIS IS AN UNSAFE AUTOMOBILE TO NOT BE ABLE TO QUICKLY CHECK SPEED ETC.

View Details

TIRES

7/14/2014 - GRAND BLANC, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. THE VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI PRO CONTACT TIRES, SIZE 215/55R18 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR TIRES CONTINUOUSLY FLATTENED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC PATCHED UP THE TIRES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND DOT NUMBER WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE AND TIRE FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 11,800. UPDATED 8/22/14

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds