Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK ENCORE - 2013 BUICK ENCORE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BUICK ENCORE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BUICK ENCORE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Seats (2) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine (12) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/11/2018 - CHICAGO, IL
STILL HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE THROTTLE BODY TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 2/9/2018 PAID OUT $545.00 TO HAVE PURGE SOLENOID AND EVAP FLOW CHANGED AND TO HAVE THE THROTTLE BODY CLEANED AND ADJUSTED. WELL 4 1/2 HOURS LATER THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES BACK ON AND IT STARTS WITH THIS REDUCE POWER TO THE ENGINE AGAIN. THE REDUCE POWER TO THE ENGINE DID THIS 3 TIMES AND EACH TIME I HAD TO SHUT THE CAR OFF WAIT 30 SECONDS AND RESTART THE CAR AND EACH TIME IT DID THIS I HAD TO RESTART THE CAR 4 TIME BEFORE IT WOULD GO OFF AND THE CAR WAS ABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON FOR 4 HOURS BEFORE IT WENT OFF, WELL THAT DIDN'T LAST LONG BEFORE I START HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN ON 2/11/2018 LETTING THE CAR WARM UP THE REDUCE POWER TO THE ENGINE CAME ON AND I WAS STILL IN THE GARAGE, THAT WAS 7:30 AM THEN AGAIN AT 8:05 THEN AGAIN AT 8:37 SO NOW AGAIN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. I WANT GET ON THE EXPRESSWAY CAUSE OF THIS FOR I MIGHT GET KILLED OR INJURED, GM REALLY NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS AND SOMEONE NEEDS TO MAKE THEM REPAIR THIS PROBLEM

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/8/2018 - IRONTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO NOTICED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO MINUTES, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND IT OPERATED NORMALLY. THE DEALER (GLOCKER BUICK OF IRONTON, 911 S 3RD ST, IRONTON, OH 45638) INFORMED THE CONTACT OF AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR WHEN THE ENGINE MAY GO INTO REDUCE ENGINE POWER MODE. THERE WERE NO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE DEALER ALSO INFORMED THE CONTACT OF A THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, WHICH DID NOT FALL UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILURE WAS NOT A PART OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY; THEREFORE, BUICK DID NOT HAVE TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/8/2018 - IRONTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO NOTICED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO MINUTES, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, AND IT OPERATED NORMALLY. THE DEALER (GLOCKER BUICK OF IRONTON, 911 S 3RD ST, IRONTON, OH 45638) INFORMED THE CONTACT OF AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR WHEN THE ENGINE MAY GO INTO REDUCE ENGINE POWER MODE. THERE WERE NO RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE DEALER ALSO INFORMED THE CONTACT OF A THROTTLE BODY FAILURE, WHICH DID NOT FALL UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILURE WAS NOT A PART OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY; THEREFORE, BUICK DID NOT HAVE TO REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2018 - CHICAGO, IL
LATELY I'M HAVING A ISSUE WITH THIS CAR, FIRST MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IS STILL ON AND NOW ALL OF A SUDDEN I CAN BE AT A LIGHT OR DRIVING DOWN THE STREET AND THE ENGINE POWER REDUCE WARNING COMES ACROSS MY DISPLAY SCREEN, I CAN'T ACCELERATE SO I HAVE TO COAST IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SHUT IT OFF, WAIT 30 SECONDS AND RESTART THE CAR. SOMETIMES I HAVE TO DO THIS 2 OR 3 TIMES BEFORE IT DRIVES RIGHT AGAIN, SO I WENT ON THE BUICK FORUM AND SEE A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE, THAT THEY HAVE HAD THE THROTTLE BODY CHANGED AND IT MAKES NO DIFFERENT, THAT IT COULD HAPPEN AGAIN. SO NOW I WANT GET ON THE EXPRESSWAY JUST IN CASE IT WANTS TO DO IT AGAIN, AND I'M GETTING SCARED TO DRIVE IT ON THE STREETS CAUSE IT KEEPS HAPPENING. SOME SAY CAUSE IT'S COLD WHERE THE LIVE BUT I FEEL IT SHOULDN'T BE HAPPENING ALL, LIKE ON 1/8/2018 IT HAPPENED THIS MORNING AND THE TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE IS 35 F AND THAT'S ABOVE FREEZING. WHAT CAN BE DONE ABOUT THIS CAUSE GM IS NOT REPORTING IT TO THE NHTSA, SO IF YOU DON'T GO ON THERE FORUM YOU DON'T KNOW.....HELP SCARED TO DRIVE MY CAR

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/26/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO LOOSE POWER AND THE ACCELERATION DECREASED EVEN WHEN ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE HOUSE AT A VERY SLOW SPEED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO COGGINS BUICK IN JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA APPROXIMATELY FOUR TIMES AND THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2017 - CONROE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING IN THE PARK POSITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2017 - HACKETTSTOWN, NJ
THE WARNING LIGHT CONNECTED TO THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG INTERMITTENTLY DISPLAYS THE OFF SIGN EVEN WHEN AN ADULT PASSENGER IS IN THE SEAT. IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH THE AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IF THE WARNING LIGHT READS OFF EVEN IF A PASSENGER IS IN THE SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/2/2017 - LENOIR, NC
PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR DETECTS PASSENGER ABOUT 60% OF TIME, AT RANDOM OCCASIONS SETTING IN DRIVEWAY OR DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. THE 40% AIRBAG IS OFF AND OUT OF SERVICE. WE HAVE DEALT WITH GMC BUICK AND THEY HAVE RUN TEST AT DEALERSHIP COULD NOT COME UP A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM. IF THE AIRBAG IS OFF AT ANYTIME THE PASSENGER IS AT RISK OF GREATER INJURY IN AN ACCIDENT, WHY IS 60% ACCEPTABLE WITH BUICK MANAGEMENT. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2017 - STARKVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 BUICK ENCORE. WHILE THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING 40-50 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO AVOID A DEER, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO FLIP OVER AND EVENTUALLY LANDED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER RECEIVED INJURIES TO THE CHEST AND SHOULDER, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND DEEMED TOTALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - ASHBURN, VA
EXHAUST SMELL IN CAR ESPECIALLY WHEN AIR RECYCLE BUTTON ON. SMELL IS WORSE AT STOPS AND AFTER CAR IS RETURNED TO GARAGE. HAVE COMPLAINED TO GM BUICK FOR THREE YEARS. NO CAUSE FOUND.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds