Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 98 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (3) Service Brakes (8) Structure (18)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (57) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1)
Engine (41) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (7) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2016 - GIG HARBOR, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, A BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE REQUIRED A LONGER DISTANCE TO STOP. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND NOTICED BRAKE FLUID LEAKING BENEATH THE VEHICLE. FUMES OF SMOKE WERE SEEN BENEATH THE SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V386000(SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER AND BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR WERE MELTED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2015 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ABOUT THE ELEVATED TEMPERATURE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT ON FEBRUARY 26, 2015. IN THE SAFETY RECALL NOTICE I WAS ADVISED TO CONTACT BRP DEALERSHIP, WHICH I DID IMMEDIATELY. I WAS TOLD THE PART WAS ON BACK ORDER AND TO CALL BACK IN APRIL I CONTACTED THEM AGAIN IN APRIL, WAS TOLD THE STATES WITH THE HOTTEST TEMPERATURE WAS FIRST CALL BACK IN A MONTH. I CALL IN MAY, WAS TOLD AGAIN, THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. CALLED BACK IN JUNE WAS TOLD THE TOOL TO FIX THE PROBLEM WAS NOT AVAILABLE. MEANWHILE IN OHIO THE SUMMER MONTHS ARE HERE, AND THIS STILL HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. I CONTACTED BRP IN CANADA, NO RESPONSE. THIS CAN AM WAS PURCHASED NEW OFF THE SHOW ROOM FLOOR IN 2014, AND I AM ADVISED TO NOT RIDE IT WHEN ITS HOT, OR IN TRAFFIC. I AM NOT A HAPPY CAMPER RIGHT NOW, I PURCHASED THE BIKE TO ENJOY THE SUMMER MONTHS, RIDE WITH THE LEGION RIDERS AND IT SITS IN THE GARAGE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/11/2015 - MARSEILLES, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE); HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURER'S REMEDY WAS INCOMPLETE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD BE REPLACING THE BODY PANEL WITH NEW IMPROVED BODY PANELS AND AN UPGRADED FUEL SYSTEM KIT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED TEMPLATES TO USE TO CUT OUT PIECES OF THE BODY PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THIS WAS THE ONLY AVAILABLE REPAIR FOR THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. .. .UPDATED 07/21/15

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/11/2015 - MARSEILLES, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE); HOWEVER, THE MANUFACTURER'S REMEDY WAS INCOMPLETE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WOULD BE REPLACING THE BODY PANEL WITH NEW IMPROVED BODY PANELS AND AN UPGRADED FUEL SYSTEM KIT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED TEMPLATES TO USE TO CUT OUT PIECES OF THE BODY PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THIS WAS THE ONLY AVAILABLE REPAIR FOR THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. .. .UPDATED 07/21/15

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/9/2015 - GLENNVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE HEAT EMITTING FROM THE TOP OF THE VEHICLE MEASURED 169 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT HAD TO CONTINUOUSLY STEER THE VEHICLE IN ORDER TO KEEP IT IN POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000. MA 08/05/15 UPDATED 9/24/2015

View Details

STEERING

6/9/2015 - GLENNVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE HEAT EMITTING FROM THE TOP OF THE VEHICLE MEASURED 169 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT HAD TO CONTINUOUSLY STEER THE VEHICLE IN ORDER TO KEEP IT IN POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000. MA 08/05/15 UPDATED 9/24/2015

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/3/2015 - NEWARK, DE
WHILE RIDING MY CAN AM SPYDER FOR APPROXIMATELY 30 MINUTES, I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT FOR OVER A MINUTE. I THEN BEGAN TO FEEL EXCESSIVE HEAT FROM THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE BIKE, WHERE MY LOWER THIGH AND KNEE TOUCHES THE PANEL OF THE BIKE. I ALSO BEGAN TO SMELL A STRONG ODOR OF BURNING PLASTIC (SORT OF LIKE WHEN A RESISTER OR COMPUTER CHIP GETS FRIED). I IMMEDIATELY DROVE HOME WHERE I CHECKED THE BIKE FOR BURNT PLASTIC. I DID NOT NOTICE ANY BURNT PLASTIC, HOWEVER I DID NOT REMOVE ANY OF THE PANELS TO CHECK UNDERNEATH THEM. IT WAS APPROXIMATELY 77¦F WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THE EXCESSIVE HEAT WILL MELT COMPONENTS UNDERNEATH THE PANELS OR START A FIRE. THE PANEL WAS VERY HOT TO THE TOUCH. I DID RECEIVE A VERY SLIGHT BURN TO MY THIGH AREA AFTER THE RIDE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/3/2015 - NEWARK, DE
WHILE RIDING MY CAN AM SPYDER FOR APPROXIMATELY 30 MINUTES, I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT FOR OVER A MINUTE. I THEN BEGAN TO FEEL EXCESSIVE HEAT FROM THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE BIKE, WHERE MY LOWER THIGH AND KNEE TOUCHES THE PANEL OF THE BIKE. I ALSO BEGAN TO SMELL A STRONG ODOR OF BURNING PLASTIC (SORT OF LIKE WHEN A RESISTER OR COMPUTER CHIP GETS FRIED). I IMMEDIATELY DROVE HOME WHERE I CHECKED THE BIKE FOR BURNT PLASTIC. I DID NOT NOTICE ANY BURNT PLASTIC, HOWEVER I DID NOT REMOVE ANY OF THE PANELS TO CHECK UNDERNEATH THEM. IT WAS APPROXIMATELY 77¦F WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THE EXCESSIVE HEAT WILL MELT COMPONENTS UNDERNEATH THE PANELS OR START A FIRE. THE PANEL WAS VERY HOT TO THE TOUCH. I DID RECEIVE A VERY SLIGHT BURN TO MY THIGH AREA AFTER THE RIDE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/30/2015 - WELLSBORO , PA
WE HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR A RECALL FIX THAT WAS INFORMED BY BRP WOULD BE IN MAY 2015. THROUGH SOCIAL MEDIA WE WERE TOLD BY BRPCARE THAT THE FIX WAS READY AND SUPPLIED PICTURES. WE HAVE SCHEDULED THE WORK BUT AM NOT HAPPY WITH THE FIX AS IT CHANGES THE APPEARANCE OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN I CALLED NHTSA I WAS INFORMED THAT SHE COULD NOT FIND ANY INFORMATION THAT THIS FIX WAS APPROVED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/30/2015 - WELLSBORO , PA
WE HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR A RECALL FIX THAT WAS INFORMED BY BRP WOULD BE IN MAY 2015. THROUGH SOCIAL MEDIA WE WERE TOLD BY BRPCARE THAT THE FIX WAS READY AND SUPPLIED PICTURES. WE HAVE SCHEDULED THE WORK BUT AM NOT HAPPY WITH THE FIX AS IT CHANGES THE APPEARANCE OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN I CALLED NHTSA I WAS INFORMED THAT SHE COULD NOT FIND ANY INFORMATION THAT THIS FIX WAS APPROVED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds