Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 86 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Seats (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1)
Engine (35) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (7) Structure (12) Unknown Or Other (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/30/2015 - OGDENSBURG, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT S MOTORCYCLE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE UNTIL MID MAY 2015, WHICH WAS AN UNREASONABLE TIMEFRAME BECAUSE THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER HAD NO INTERIM FIX TO APPROVE FOR THE AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE WHEN THE PERMANENT REMEDY AND THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACTS VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. DYD

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - MARSEILLES, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN AM ROADSTER SPYDER RT SE5 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED A BURNING FUEL ODOR. AS WELL AS EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 700. OO

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - MARSEILLES, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN AM ROADSTER SPYDER RT SE5 (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED A BURNING FUEL ODOR. AS WELL AS EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 700. OO

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
TO BRP CAN AM SPYDER 2013 CAN AM SPYDER RT LIMITED 9-29-2014 I HAVE A BRAND NEW CAN AM SPYDER RT LIMITED STOPPED ON ME 2 TIMES IN FIRST GEAR WITH 120 MILES. NEXT THIS BIKE STOPPED ON ME AGAIN 11 TIMES OVER THE WEEKEND. THIS BIKE SHUTS OFF AT EVERY LIGHT I STOP AT. WHICH IS DANGEROUS. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED AT LEAST 2 TIMES .. I TOLD MY SALESMAN THAT I HAVE A STRONG GAS SMELL IN MY GARAGE .I TOOK BIKE AND DEALERSHIP TOLD ME TO LEAVE OVERNIGHT DUE TO STRONG GAS SMELL AND SHUTTING OFF. MY BIKE WAS READY FOR PICK UP THE NEXT DAY. I WAS TOLD THE CANISTER WAS OK AND THE LOUD FUEL SMELL SHOULD BE GONE .I WAS ADVISED THAT ALL RECALLS FOR THIS MODEL HAVE BE DONE. I WAS TOLD DEALER DID A GAS TREATMENT AND WAS ADVISED BIKE IS A 2013 MODEL WHICH HAD GAS SITTING IN TANK FOR A LONG TIME . I WAS ASK IF I TOP OFF GAS AND I TOLD THE DEALER NO! I READ ALL THE BOOKLET AND WATCH VIDEO PERTAINING TO THIS BIKE ALONG WITH SIGNING UP FOR SPYDERLOVER.COM. . I KNOW ALL BIKE HAVE BREAK IN PERIODS, BUT THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE AND SURELY NOT SAFE. I WAS INFORMED TO JUST RIDE MY BIKE AND TO REV THE ENGINE WHEN IT SEEMS LIKE IT'S GOING TO SHUT OFF. NOW WITH 500 MILES THE FUEL SMELL IS EVEN STRONGER AND I HAVE LOST COUNT ON HOW MANY TIMES IT SHUTS OFF IN 1ST GEAR AT A LIGHT OR JUST SITTING IN THE GARAGE. I CALL THE DEALER AGAIN. THEY INFORMED ME THAT AFTER 1,000 TO 1,500 MILES THESE ISSUES SHOULD GO AWAY AFTER THE 600 SERVICE. NOW, . THE REASON FOR THIS LETTER IS THAT THIS BIKE IS NOT SAFE BECAUSE OF THE STRONG FUEL SMELL AND I DON'T WANT TO BE REAR ENDED DUE TO BIKE SHUTTING OFF AT EVERY LIGHT. I AM ADDRESSING THIS ISSUE TO PREVENT THE ISSUE OF A POSSIBLE ACCIDENT OR A FIRE. NOW WITH 1,300 MILES AND SERVICED AT THE DEALER THE GAS SMELL HAS GOTTEN WOSE. IM TRYING TO PREVENT A FIRE OR BAD ACCIDENT FROM HAPPENING. SPYDER WEBSITE HAVE SEVERAL COMPAINTS ONTHIS ISUUE WITH THE GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
TO BRP CAN AM SPYDER 2013 CAN AM SPYDER RT LIMITED 9-29-2014 I HAVE A BRAND NEW CAN AM SPYDER RT LIMITED STOPPED ON ME 2 TIMES IN FIRST GEAR WITH 120 MILES. NEXT THIS BIKE STOPPED ON ME AGAIN 11 TIMES OVER THE WEEKEND. THIS BIKE SHUTS OFF AT EVERY LIGHT I STOP AT. WHICH IS DANGEROUS. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED AT LEAST 2 TIMES .. I TOLD MY SALESMAN THAT I HAVE A STRONG GAS SMELL IN MY GARAGE .I TOOK BIKE AND DEALERSHIP TOLD ME TO LEAVE OVERNIGHT DUE TO STRONG GAS SMELL AND SHUTTING OFF. MY BIKE WAS READY FOR PICK UP THE NEXT DAY. I WAS TOLD THE CANISTER WAS OK AND THE LOUD FUEL SMELL SHOULD BE GONE .I WAS ADVISED THAT ALL RECALLS FOR THIS MODEL HAVE BE DONE. I WAS TOLD DEALER DID A GAS TREATMENT AND WAS ADVISED BIKE IS A 2013 MODEL WHICH HAD GAS SITTING IN TANK FOR A LONG TIME . I WAS ASK IF I TOP OFF GAS AND I TOLD THE DEALER NO! I READ ALL THE BOOKLET AND WATCH VIDEO PERTAINING TO THIS BIKE ALONG WITH SIGNING UP FOR SPYDERLOVER.COM. . I KNOW ALL BIKE HAVE BREAK IN PERIODS, BUT THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE AND SURELY NOT SAFE. I WAS INFORMED TO JUST RIDE MY BIKE AND TO REV THE ENGINE WHEN IT SEEMS LIKE IT'S GOING TO SHUT OFF. NOW WITH 500 MILES THE FUEL SMELL IS EVEN STRONGER AND I HAVE LOST COUNT ON HOW MANY TIMES IT SHUTS OFF IN 1ST GEAR AT A LIGHT OR JUST SITTING IN THE GARAGE. I CALL THE DEALER AGAIN. THEY INFORMED ME THAT AFTER 1,000 TO 1,500 MILES THESE ISSUES SHOULD GO AWAY AFTER THE 600 SERVICE. NOW, . THE REASON FOR THIS LETTER IS THAT THIS BIKE IS NOT SAFE BECAUSE OF THE STRONG FUEL SMELL AND I DON'T WANT TO BE REAR ENDED DUE TO BIKE SHUTTING OFF AT EVERY LIGHT. I AM ADDRESSING THIS ISSUE TO PREVENT THE ISSUE OF A POSSIBLE ACCIDENT OR A FIRE. NOW WITH 1,300 MILES AND SERVICED AT THE DEALER THE GAS SMELL HAS GOTTEN WOSE. IM TRYING TO PREVENT A FIRE OR BAD ACCIDENT FROM HAPPENING. SPYDER WEBSITE HAVE SEVERAL COMPAINTS ONTHIS ISUUE WITH THE GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/17/2015 - MATTHEWS, NC
VEHICLE IS EXTREMELY HOT. RIGHT FOOT GETS UNBEARABLE HEAT. GAS FUMES PRESENT AT EVERY STOP. GAS FUMES FILL GARAGE WHEN BIKE IS HOT AND PARKED. CAN AM REFUSES TO DISCUSS THE DANGER OF GAS FUMES WHICH ARE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS IN A CLOSED ENVIRONMENT.THIS SFETY ISSUE MUST BE ADDRESSED AS INDIVIDUAL OWNERS ARE POWERLESS TO GET CAN AM TO RESPOND TO THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION. PLEASE HELP

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/23/2015 - WILLITS, CA
I BOUGHT MY 2013 CAN AM SPYDER RT NEW IN FEB 2014. OVER THE YEAR THAT I HAVE OWNED THE BIKE, I HAVE NOTICED EXCESSIVE HEAT UNDER THE SEAT ALONG WITH A GAS SMELL. I HAD TALKED WITH VENDOR ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND HEARD VARIOUS OTHER EXPLANATIONS. I DID NOT GIVE IT TOO MUCH THOUGHT UNTIL I READ THE FORUMS AND SAW THIS WAS A COMMON SEVERE ISSUE. UNTIL RECENTLY THE CAN AM WAS KEPT IN AN OPEN AIR CARPORT, SO I NEVER NOTICED THE ODOR AFTER A RIDE. I HAD EXPERIENCED GAS FUMES AND SMELLS ON RIDES AND JUST DIDN'T THINK IT WAS A DEAL WHEN THE VENDOR KEPT TELLING ME NOT TO OVER FILL THE TANK. I DON'T OVER FILL THE TANK AND STOP AFTER THE FIRST CLICK WHICH THEN CAUSES THE TANK NOT TO BECOME FULL AND HAVING TO STOP MORE OFTEN TO REFUEL ON LONG RIDES. WHEN WE MOVED INTO OUR NEW HOUSE WE NOW HAVE A TWO CAR GARAGE AND AFTER THE LAST FEW RIDES, I GAS UP BEFORE COMING HOME AND NOTICE A STRONG GAS ODOR AND LEAVE THE GARAGE DOOR OPEN FOR AN HOUR OR UNTIL THE FUMES DISSIPATE. NOW READING OF THE MAJOR HEAT AND FUME ISSUES IS EXTREMELY SCAREY TO ME AND CAUSES SOME CONCERN IF THE MANUFACTURE NEW OF THIS ISSUE WHEN THE UNIT WAS SOLD TO ME IN FEB 2014. I WILL HAVE TO PAY ATTENTION THE NEXT TIME ON A RIDE AND SEE IF THE GAS IS BOILING AS REPORTED ON OTHER UNITS. I HAVE READ ON THE FORUMS AND FACEBOOK A RECALL IS PENDING TO RESOLVE THE HEAT ISSUE WHICH HOPEFULLY WILL RESOLVE THE GAS FUME ISSUE AS WELL.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
MY SPYDER HAS BEEN LEAKING OIL SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT IT NEW. I HAVE OWNED IT FOR 6 MONTHS, HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES. STILL LEAKING. GAS FUMES SO BAD COMING FROM THE ENGINE AFTER RIDING I CAN NOT CLOSE THE GARAGE DOOR FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR/. SMELLS OF GAS REALLY STRONG EVERY TIME I AM ON THE BIKE. GAS CAP SO HOT I CAN HARDLY TOUCH IT WHEN I NEED TO GET GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/12/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
MY SPYDER HAS BEEN LEAKING OIL SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT IT NEW. I HAVE OWNED IT FOR 6 MONTHS, HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES. STILL LEAKING. GAS FUMES SO BAD COMING FROM THE ENGINE AFTER RIDING I CAN NOT CLOSE THE GARAGE DOOR FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR/. SMELLS OF GAS REALLY STRONG EVERY TIME I AM ON THE BIKE. GAS CAP SO HOT I CAN HARDLY TOUCH IT WHEN I NEED TO GET GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/2/2014 - NEW IBERIA, LA
PURCHASED MY 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER ON 03/05/14, IN SPRINGFIELD, MI. MY HOME ADDRESS IS NEW IBERIA, LA. I DROVE THE BIKE BACK HOME. MY FIRST FUEL STOP I WAS OVERWHELMED BY THE STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE AND I CAN SMELL GAS FUMES EVERY TIME I FUEL UP. AT EVERY FUELING I HAVE TO USE GLOVES OR A RAG TO PUT OVER THE GAS CAP TO UNSCREW IT BECAUSE IT IS SO HOT. THEN WHEN I TRY TO UNSCREW THE CAP IT JUST RATCHETS WITH OUT UNSCREWING IT. I HAVE SPENT AT LEAST 30 TO 45 MINUTES TRYING TO UNSCREW THE CAP AND AFTER TANK COOLS OFF THE GAS CAP RELEASES, THEN YOU CAN FUEL UP. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS I HAVE HAD TO PRY THE GAS CAP WITH A SCREW DRIVER TO REMOVE IT AND THEN YOU CAN HEAR THE FUEL BOILING IN THE TANK. I HAD 3 GAS CAPS FROM ANOTHER RECALL AND TRIED ALL 3 CAPS AND THEY DID THE SAME THING, JUST RATCHET AND NOT UNSCREW. WHILE TRAVELING I WAS IN PENSACOLA, FL AND COULD NOT REMOVE THE GAS CAP AND WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP THERE AND THEY REPLACED THE GAS CAP AFTER IT COOLED OFF. THE NEXT DAY I HAD TO RE-FUEL AND THE CAP THEY JUST PUT ON WOULD NOT UNSCREW. THURSDAY OCTOBER 30, 2014, I HAD TO REFUEL AND COULD NOT OPEN THE FUEL TANK AND HAD TO PRY IT OPEN WITH A SCREW DRIVER TO PUT FUEL TO GET HOME. WHILE DOING SO THE CAP WAS SO TIGHT THAT THE TOP PORTION BROKE OFF LEAVING THE BOTTOM PORTION IN THE FUEL TANK NECK. IT GETS SO HOT MY RIGHT FOOT ACTUALLY BURNS FROM THE ENGINE HEAT. WHEN I WANT TO CRANK THE BIKE AFTER FUELING THE BIKE DOES NOT WANT TO CRANK. IT SPINS THE ENGINE FOR A LONG TIME BEFORE IT CRANKS AND THEN IT RUNS SO BAD, MISSING ETC., AND DIES OUT 2 OR 3 TIMES BEFORE I CAN TRAVEL. THEN WHEN I GET TO PLACES I HAVE TO STOP THE BIKE ENGINE DIES OUT WHILE COASTING OR TAKING OFF, LEAVING YOU IN AN INTERSECTION WITH NO POWER. I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP TECH IN PENSACOLA WHAT CAUSED THAT AND HE ADVISED CAN-AM HASN'T FIGURED OUT WHY THAT HAPPENS JUST YET.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds