Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Seats (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1)
Engine (29) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (7) Structure (12) Unknown Or Other (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
600 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED TO DEALER OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. WAS TOLD THAT THE PURGE VALVE WAS BAD AND THEY REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. RODE HOME AND NOTICED THAT THE FUEL SMELL WAS THE SAME. WHEN I CHECKED UNDER THE ROADSTER I FOUND FUEL DRIPPING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE ROADSTER. I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD TO TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK BEFORE PUTTING VEHICLE IN GARAGE. DEALER SAID THAT THIS WAS NORMAL. 4600 MILE SERVICE AGAIN COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. ASKED DEALER ABOUT HOT HOT RIGHT FOOT WAS TOLD BY DEALER THIS WAS NORMAL AND THE ROADSTER WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. 9200 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AND HEAT ON RIGHT FOOT, NO HEAT LEFT HAND GRIP, AND INTERMITTANT HEAT ON RIGHT HAND GRIP, WARPED RIGHT HAND CENTER BODY PANEL. WHEN SERVICE WAS COMPLETE I ASKED ABOUT NO HEAT ON HAND GRIPS. TECHNICIAN FOUND LOOSE CONNECTORS AT BOTH HAND GRIPS AND THAT THE CONNECTIONS COULD BE A PROBLEM IF THERE WERE GAS FUMES IN THE AREA. BODY PANEL ORDERED AND REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. TOLD BY DEALER THAT THE PANEL WAS BENT FROM FACTORY NOT HEAT. TECHNICIAN AND SERVICE MANAGER DID NOT AGREE AND BOTH SAID IT WAS CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
600 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED TO DEALER OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. WAS TOLD THAT THE PURGE VALVE WAS BAD AND THEY REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. RODE HOME AND NOTICED THAT THE FUEL SMELL WAS THE SAME. WHEN I CHECKED UNDER THE ROADSTER I FOUND FUEL DRIPPING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE ROADSTER. I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD TO TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK BEFORE PUTTING VEHICLE IN GARAGE. DEALER SAID THAT THIS WAS NORMAL. 4600 MILE SERVICE AGAIN COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. ASKED DEALER ABOUT HOT HOT RIGHT FOOT WAS TOLD BY DEALER THIS WAS NORMAL AND THE ROADSTER WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. 9200 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AND HEAT ON RIGHT FOOT, NO HEAT LEFT HAND GRIP, AND INTERMITTANT HEAT ON RIGHT HAND GRIP, WARPED RIGHT HAND CENTER BODY PANEL. WHEN SERVICE WAS COMPLETE I ASKED ABOUT NO HEAT ON HAND GRIPS. TECHNICIAN FOUND LOOSE CONNECTORS AT BOTH HAND GRIPS AND THAT THE CONNECTIONS COULD BE A PROBLEM IF THERE WERE GAS FUMES IN THE AREA. BODY PANEL ORDERED AND REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. TOLD BY DEALER THAT THE PANEL WAS BENT FROM FACTORY NOT HEAT. TECHNICIAN AND SERVICE MANAGER DID NOT AGREE AND BOTH SAID IT WAS CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/31/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
600 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED TO DEALER OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. WAS TOLD THAT THE PURGE VALVE WAS BAD AND THEY REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. RODE HOME AND NOTICED THAT THE FUEL SMELL WAS THE SAME. WHEN I CHECKED UNDER THE ROADSTER I FOUND FUEL DRIPPING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE ROADSTER. I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD TO TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK BEFORE PUTTING VEHICLE IN GARAGE. DEALER SAID THAT THIS WAS NORMAL. 4600 MILE SERVICE AGAIN COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. ASKED DEALER ABOUT HOT HOT RIGHT FOOT WAS TOLD BY DEALER THIS WAS NORMAL AND THE ROADSTER WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. 9200 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AND HEAT ON RIGHT FOOT, NO HEAT LEFT HAND GRIP, AND INTERMITTANT HEAT ON RIGHT HAND GRIP, WARPED RIGHT HAND CENTER BODY PANEL. WHEN SERVICE WAS COMPLETE I ASKED ABOUT NO HEAT ON HAND GRIPS. TECHNICIAN FOUND LOOSE CONNECTORS AT BOTH HAND GRIPS AND THAT THE CONNECTIONS COULD BE A PROBLEM IF THERE WERE GAS FUMES IN THE AREA. BODY PANEL ORDERED AND REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. TOLD BY DEALER THAT THE PANEL WAS BENT FROM FACTORY NOT HEAT. TECHNICIAN AND SERVICE MANAGER DID NOT AGREE AND BOTH SAID IT WAS CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

SEATS

10/29/2014 - YAMHILL, OR
SMELL GAS VAPORS IN THE GARAGE AND HOUSEBAFTER DRIVING IT. SEAT FRONT TOP WHERE IT MEETS THE BODY(STORAGE COMPARTMENT) TO HOT TO TOUCH OR SIT ON WITHOUT A SHEEPSKIN PAD AND STILL VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND LIKELY DANGEROUS. RIGHT FOOT GETS SO HOT FROM THE MOTOR YOUR CAN'T KEEP YOUR FOOT IN PLACE. HAVE TO WEAR HEAVY BOOTS. HAVE HAD THE RECALL AND ELECTRONIC UPDATES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - YAMHILL, OR
SMELL GAS VAPORS IN THE GARAGE AND HOUSEBAFTER DRIVING IT. SEAT FRONT TOP WHERE IT MEETS THE BODY(STORAGE COMPARTMENT) TO HOT TO TOUCH OR SIT ON WITHOUT A SHEEPSKIN PAD AND STILL VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND LIKELY DANGEROUS. RIGHT FOOT GETS SO HOT FROM THE MOTOR YOUR CAN'T KEEP YOUR FOOT IN PLACE. HAVE TO WEAR HEAVY BOOTS. HAVE HAD THE RECALL AND ELECTRONIC UPDATES.

View Details

ENGINE

10/29/2014 - YAMHILL, OR
SMELL GAS VAPORS IN THE GARAGE AND HOUSEBAFTER DRIVING IT. SEAT FRONT TOP WHERE IT MEETS THE BODY(STORAGE COMPARTMENT) TO HOT TO TOUCH OR SIT ON WITHOUT A SHEEPSKIN PAD AND STILL VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND LIKELY DANGEROUS. RIGHT FOOT GETS SO HOT FROM THE MOTOR YOUR CAN'T KEEP YOUR FOOT IN PLACE. HAVE TO WEAR HEAVY BOOTS. HAVE HAD THE RECALL AND ELECTRONIC UPDATES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/28/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
VEHICLE GIVES OFF SUCH A STRONG FUEL ODOR AFTER A RIDE, WE NOW PARK THE VEHICLE OUTSIDE OUR ENCLOSED GARAGE FOR A FEW HOURS SO THE ODOR WILL NOT BE OVERWHELMING IN OUR GARAGE. ALSO, THE VEHICLE'S FUEL TANK IS VERY HOT TO THE TOUCH WHEN RE-FILLING WITH GAS. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED BMP DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE STRONG FUEL ODOR AND THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
VEHICLE GIVES OFF SUCH A STRONG FUEL ODOR AFTER A RIDE, WE NOW PARK THE VEHICLE OUTSIDE OUR ENCLOSED GARAGE FOR A FEW HOURS SO THE ODOR WILL NOT BE OVERWHELMING IN OUR GARAGE. ALSO, THE VEHICLE'S FUEL TANK IS VERY HOT TO THE TOUCH WHEN RE-FILLING WITH GAS. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED BMP DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE STRONG FUEL ODOR AND THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/28/2014 - MORGANTOWN, PA
I PURCHASED A CAN AM SPYDER RT 2013 ON AUGUST 23, 2013. FROM DAY ONE I'VE HAD EXCESSIVE FUEL SMELLS AFTER RIDES,ALSO GAS BOILING IN FUEL TANK AFTER RIDES. YOU CAN ACTUALLY HEAR AND SEE THE GAS BOILING IN THE TANK. THERE IS EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING OUT FROM AROUND THE GLOVE BOX AREA AND ALSO AROUND THE PASSENGER RIGHT FOOT REST. NEEDLESS TO SAY ALL THIS HEAT MAKES FOR AN EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE RIDE. I HAVE HAD ALL RECALLS AND UPDATES DONE TO DATE. SEPTEMBER 2013 TOLD MY DEALER OF EXCESSIVE FUEL SMELLS WHILE THE BIKE WAS IN HAVING THE HEAT SHIELDING RECALL WORK PERFORMED. HE SAID THAT HE DID NOT SMELL THE FUEL COMING FROM THE BIKE. I WENT BACK A WEEK LATER TO HAVE WORK DONE TO THE AIR RIDE SUSPENSION THAT WAS BROKEN UPON RECEIVING MY NEW BIKE. WHILE HE WAS WORKING ON THE BIKE REPAIRING THE AIR RIDE SUSPENSION HE NOTICED THE SMELL AND REPLACED MY EVAP.CANISTER. THIS WAS AFTER I HAD THE RECALL DONE. HE HAD TO REMOVE THE RECALL WORK AND REPLACE MY EVAP CANISTER AND THEN REINSTALL THE RECALL WRAPPING. TODAY OCTOBER 28, 2014 WENT FOR A RIDE FUELED UP ON THE WAY HOME.I RODE HOME APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES. WHEN I PARKED THE BIKE I COULD HEAR THE FUEL BOILING AND COULD SEE IT IN THE TANK. OBVIOUSLY ALL THE UPDATES AND RECALLS ARE NOT HELPING. I ALSO HAD HANDLING ISSUES WITH THE BIKE FROM BRAND-NEW. THAT I HAD TO HAVE CORRECTED WITH MY OWN MONEY SPENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/28/2014 - MADISON, AL
ON FRIDAY, 24 OCTOBER 2014I RODE THE SPYDER TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE TECHNICIAN, MR. JOE QUATTLEBAUM, CONNECTED IT TO THE B.U.D.S. COMPUTER. I AM ALSO SENDING MR. QUATTLEBAUM A COURTESY COPY OF THIS EMAIL. THE COMPUTER OBTAINED INFORMATION THAT POINTED TO A PROBLEM WITH THE PURGE VALVE AND VAPOR RECOVERY CANISTER, AS WELL AS A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CONTROL MODULE (ECM). THIS IS IN ADDITION TO HEAT AND GAS VAPOR ISSUES WHEN THE AMBIENT OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE IS 75 DEGREES AND ABOVE. YESTERDAY AFTERNOON 27 OCTOBER 2014, I TOOK THE SPYDER ON A RIDE YESTERDAY OF ABOUT 30 MILES ON LOCAL ROADS. AFTER I RETURNED HOME AND SHUT OFF THE SPYDER BRIEFLY TO OPEN THE GARAGE DOOR, IT DIDN'T WANT TO START. THE STARTER TURNED THE MOTOR OVER, BUT THE MOTOR WOULD NOT START. AFTER 4 ATTEMPTS, I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO GET IT STARTED. I AM FORTUNATE THAT THIS DID NOT HAPPEN OUT ON THE ROAD. THE SPYDER HAD A STRONG GAS VAPOR SMELL, WHICH WAS STILL EVIDENT THE MORNING IN MY GARAGE. I CHECKED THE SPYDER THIS MORNING AND IT STARTED WITH NO PROBLEM. I SUSPECT THE ECM AND PURGE VALVE CODES THAT THE B.U.D.S. COMPUTER DETECTED ARE TO BLAME, BUT THE HEAT ISSUE IS SOMETHING THAT BRP NEEDS TO ADDRESS. I, ALONG WITH MANY OWNERS OF THE CAN-AM SPYDER, HAVE CONCERNS WITH SAFETY AND HEAT ISSUES. I WILL SAY THAT I ENJOY THE SPYDER, BUT I WOULD ENJOY IT FAR MORE IF MY CONCERNS WITH SAFETY AND RELIABILITY ARE ADDRESSED. MY SPYDER IS STILL UNDER BRP ORIGINAL WARRANTY, AND I'D LIKE THESE PROBLEMS TO BE ADDRESSED BY BRP UNDER THOSE TERMS AND NOT AT ADDITIONAL COST TO ME, BECAUSE THE SPYDER IS NOT INEXPENSIVE TO BUY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds