Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (54) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1)
Engine (38) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (7) Structure (15) Unknown Or Other (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (3) Service Brakes (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/5/2015 - STRATTON, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE MOTORCYCLE BEGAN TO OVERHEAT AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE MOTORCYCLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS. THE MOTORCYCLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS INFORMED THAT THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING TO SLOW WHICH CAUSED THE MOTORCYCLE TO OVERHEAT. THE COMPUTER WAS REPROGRAMMED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE), HOWEVER THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 900.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/26/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
WE WERE PART OF A NATIONAL BIKE CLUB RIDE TO A BEACH RESORT ACCOMPANIED BY APPROXIMATELY 300 RIDERS. WHEN WE DEPARTED ABOUT 7 AM, TEMPERATURES WERE IN THE LOW 70'S. THE ROUTE WAS MOSTLY DOWNHILL AND WE MAINTAINED AN AVERAGE SPEED OF ABOUT 50, 60 MPH. AFTER JUST OVER ONE HOUR WE ARRIVED AT THE RESORT WHERE WE ALL MOVED TO A LARGE GRAVEL PARKING AREA NEAR THE BEACH. WITHIN SECONDS AFTER I SHUT DOWN AND DISMOUNTED, GREY SMOKE STARTED SEEPING UP BETWEEN THE BODY PANELS WHICH QUICKLY TURNED INTO BLACK SMOKE SMELLING STRONGLY OF BURNING INSULATION. IN LESS THAN A MINUTE FIRE BROKE OUT FROM THE FRONT TOP VENTS AND BURNED THROUGH THE UPPER PLASTIC BODY PANELS EXTENDING MORE THAN 3 FEET INTO THE AIR. A FAST THINKING MEMBER RUSHED UP WITH A CO2 FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND STARTED EXTINGUISHING THE FIRE THAT BY THEN FLOWED OUT FROM UNDER THE BIKE AN THREATENED BIKES PARKED NEARBY. FORTUNATELY, THE FIRE WAS PUT OUT WITHIN 2 OR 3 MINUTES WITH NO DAMAGE TO OTHER PROPERTY OR ANY INJURIES. AT NO TIME DURING THE RIDE OR AT ANY OTHER TIME, EVEN WHEN AMBIENT TEMPERATURES WERE OVER 80 DID THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE REGISTER MORE THAN NORMAL. IT WASN'T UNTIL THE DAY AFTER THE INCIDENT THAT A FRIEND INFORMED ME THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ON THE YEAR & MODEL WARNING OF POSSIBLE FIRE HAZARD. ALSO, UPON CLOSE INSPECTION IT WAS NOTED THAT ONE OF THE FUEL LINES WAS BURNED, AND WAS LEAKING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
WE WERE PART OF A NATIONAL BIKE CLUB RIDE TO A BEACH RESORT ACCOMPANIED BY APPROXIMATELY 300 RIDERS. WHEN WE DEPARTED ABOUT 7 AM, TEMPERATURES WERE IN THE LOW 70'S. THE ROUTE WAS MOSTLY DOWNHILL AND WE MAINTAINED AN AVERAGE SPEED OF ABOUT 50, 60 MPH. AFTER JUST OVER ONE HOUR WE ARRIVED AT THE RESORT WHERE WE ALL MOVED TO A LARGE GRAVEL PARKING AREA NEAR THE BEACH. WITHIN SECONDS AFTER I SHUT DOWN AND DISMOUNTED, GREY SMOKE STARTED SEEPING UP BETWEEN THE BODY PANELS WHICH QUICKLY TURNED INTO BLACK SMOKE SMELLING STRONGLY OF BURNING INSULATION. IN LESS THAN A MINUTE FIRE BROKE OUT FROM THE FRONT TOP VENTS AND BURNED THROUGH THE UPPER PLASTIC BODY PANELS EXTENDING MORE THAN 3 FEET INTO THE AIR. A FAST THINKING MEMBER RUSHED UP WITH A CO2 FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND STARTED EXTINGUISHING THE FIRE THAT BY THEN FLOWED OUT FROM UNDER THE BIKE AN THREATENED BIKES PARKED NEARBY. FORTUNATELY, THE FIRE WAS PUT OUT WITHIN 2 OR 3 MINUTES WITH NO DAMAGE TO OTHER PROPERTY OR ANY INJURIES. AT NO TIME DURING THE RIDE OR AT ANY OTHER TIME, EVEN WHEN AMBIENT TEMPERATURES WERE OVER 80 DID THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE REGISTER MORE THAN NORMAL. IT WASN'T UNTIL THE DAY AFTER THE INCIDENT THAT A FRIEND INFORMED ME THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ON THE YEAR & MODEL WARNING OF POSSIBLE FIRE HAZARD. ALSO, UPON CLOSE INSPECTION IT WAS NOTED THAT ONE OF THE FUEL LINES WAS BURNED, AND WAS LEAKING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/26/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
WE WERE PART OF A NATIONAL BIKE CLUB RIDE TO A BEACH RESORT ACCOMPANIED BY APPROXIMATELY 300 RIDERS. WHEN WE DEPARTED ABOUT 7 AM, TEMPERATURES WERE IN THE LOW 70'S. THE ROUTE WAS MOSTLY DOWNHILL AND WE MAINTAINED AN AVERAGE SPEED OF ABOUT 50, 60 MPH. AFTER JUST OVER ONE HOUR WE ARRIVED AT THE RESORT WHERE WE ALL MOVED TO A LARGE GRAVEL PARKING AREA NEAR THE BEACH. WITHIN SECONDS AFTER I SHUT DOWN AND DISMOUNTED, GREY SMOKE STARTED SEEPING UP BETWEEN THE BODY PANELS WHICH QUICKLY TURNED INTO BLACK SMOKE SMELLING STRONGLY OF BURNING INSULATION. IN LESS THAN A MINUTE FIRE BROKE OUT FROM THE FRONT TOP VENTS AND BURNED THROUGH THE UPPER PLASTIC BODY PANELS EXTENDING MORE THAN 3 FEET INTO THE AIR. A FAST THINKING MEMBER RUSHED UP WITH A CO2 FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND STARTED EXTINGUISHING THE FIRE THAT BY THEN FLOWED OUT FROM UNDER THE BIKE AN THREATENED BIKES PARKED NEARBY. FORTUNATELY, THE FIRE WAS PUT OUT WITHIN 2 OR 3 MINUTES WITH NO DAMAGE TO OTHER PROPERTY OR ANY INJURIES. AT NO TIME DURING THE RIDE OR AT ANY OTHER TIME, EVEN WHEN AMBIENT TEMPERATURES WERE OVER 80 DID THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE REGISTER MORE THAN NORMAL. IT WASN'T UNTIL THE DAY AFTER THE INCIDENT THAT A FRIEND INFORMED ME THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ON THE YEAR & MODEL WARNING OF POSSIBLE FIRE HAZARD. ALSO, UPON CLOSE INSPECTION IT WAS NOTED THAT ONE OF THE FUEL LINES WAS BURNED, AND WAS LEAKING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2015 - NEW LONDON, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER ROADSTER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2015 - PASO ROBLES, CA
2013 CAN AM SPYDER RT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO RECALL RECEIVED REGARDING ELEVATED TEMPERATURE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE CONSUMER IS CURRENTLY WAITING FOR THE BIKE TO BE REPAIRED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/31/2015 - WILLITS, CA
ON 26 MARCH 2015 I RODE HOME AFTER WORK OF APPROXIMATELY 30 MILES. THE OUTSIDE AIR TEMPERATURE THIS DAY WAS APPROXIMATELY 85 DEGREES AS A HIGH THAT DAY. UPON ARRIVING HOME, I LEFT MY 2013 CAN AM SPYDER RT SE-5 OUT SIDE THE GARAGE AS DIRECTED BY THE INTERIM RECALL NOTICE. I GOT OFF MY SPYDER AND NOTICED A STRANGE SOUND COMING FROM UNDER THE SEAT. I REMOVED MY HELMET AND LIFTED THE SEAT. THE SOUND WAS COMING FROM THE GAS TANK. I REMOVED THE GAS CAP AND COULD SEE GAS BOILING IN THE TANK. I HAVE NOTICED STRONG GAS SMELLS AND REPORTED THAT EARLY, BUT NEVER HAVE I HAD GAS BOILING IN THE TANK. I PUT THE GAS CAP BACK ON AND PUT MY HELMET IN THE GARAGE. I REOPENED THE GAS CAP IT WAS STILL BOILING AND WAS GOING TO FILM THIS, BUT WAS FEARFUL SOMETHING MIGHT HAPPEN. I CONTACTED MY DEALER WHO RETURNED MY CALL THE NEXT DAY. HE RELATED THEY HAD EXPERIENCED THAT BEFORE DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS. THEY SAID IT WAS STILL SAFE TO RIDE AND TAKE THE APPROPRIATE PRECAUTIONS AND WE WOULD HAVE TO SEE HOW THE RECALL DESIGN DISSIPATES THE HEAT. I CONTACTED A SECOND DEALER WHO RELATED THEY CONTACTED BRP AND NO ONE HAS REPORTED OR DEALT WITH ISSUES LIKE THIS? THEY RECOMMENDED I TRANSPORT THE UNIT TO THEM APPROXIMATELY 3 HOURS AWAY. I CALLED A THIRD DEALER AND WAS ADVISED OF THE PENDING RECALL. BOILING GAS IS SCARY IN MY BOOK, SINCE WHEN YOU ARE RIDING THE SPYDER YOU ARE RIDING VIRTUALLY ON TOP OF THE GAS TANK. THIS IS A BIT DISCOURAGING FOR THE AMOUNT OF MONEY TO PURCHASE THIS UNIT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2015 - OGDENSBURG, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE UNTIL MID MAY 2015. THIS WAS AN UNREASONABLE TIMEFRAME BECAUSE THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER HAD NO INTERIM REPAIR TO APPROVE FOR THE AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE DEALER DID NOT PROVIDE A SPECIFIC DATE WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - MARSEILLES, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THERE WAS A BURNING FUEL ODOR AS WELL AS EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 700.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2015 - MARSEILLES, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THERE WAS A BURNING FUEL ODOR AS WELL AS EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V095000 (ENGINE) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 700.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds