Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 81 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (48) Seats (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1)
Engine (32) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (7) Structure (12) Unknown Or Other (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
MY SPYDER HAS BEEN LEAKING OIL SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT IT NEW. I HAVE OWNED IT FOR 6 MONTHS, HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES. STILL LEAKING. GAS FUMES SO BAD COMING FROM THE ENGINE AFTER RIDING I CAN NOT CLOSE THE GARAGE DOOR FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR/. SMELLS OF GAS REALLY STRONG EVERY TIME I AM ON THE BIKE. GAS CAP SO HOT I CAN HARDLY TOUCH IT WHEN I NEED TO GET GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/12/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
MY SPYDER HAS BEEN LEAKING OIL SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT IT NEW. I HAVE OWNED IT FOR 6 MONTHS, HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES. STILL LEAKING. GAS FUMES SO BAD COMING FROM THE ENGINE AFTER RIDING I CAN NOT CLOSE THE GARAGE DOOR FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR/. SMELLS OF GAS REALLY STRONG EVERY TIME I AM ON THE BIKE. GAS CAP SO HOT I CAN HARDLY TOUCH IT WHEN I NEED TO GET GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/2/2014 - NEW IBERIA, LA
PURCHASED MY 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER ON 03/05/14, IN SPRINGFIELD, MI. MY HOME ADDRESS IS NEW IBERIA, LA. I DROVE THE BIKE BACK HOME. MY FIRST FUEL STOP I WAS OVERWHELMED BY THE STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE AND I CAN SMELL GAS FUMES EVERY TIME I FUEL UP. AT EVERY FUELING I HAVE TO USE GLOVES OR A RAG TO PUT OVER THE GAS CAP TO UNSCREW IT BECAUSE IT IS SO HOT. THEN WHEN I TRY TO UNSCREW THE CAP IT JUST RATCHETS WITH OUT UNSCREWING IT. I HAVE SPENT AT LEAST 30 TO 45 MINUTES TRYING TO UNSCREW THE CAP AND AFTER TANK COOLS OFF THE GAS CAP RELEASES, THEN YOU CAN FUEL UP. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS I HAVE HAD TO PRY THE GAS CAP WITH A SCREW DRIVER TO REMOVE IT AND THEN YOU CAN HEAR THE FUEL BOILING IN THE TANK. I HAD 3 GAS CAPS FROM ANOTHER RECALL AND TRIED ALL 3 CAPS AND THEY DID THE SAME THING, JUST RATCHET AND NOT UNSCREW. WHILE TRAVELING I WAS IN PENSACOLA, FL AND COULD NOT REMOVE THE GAS CAP AND WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP THERE AND THEY REPLACED THE GAS CAP AFTER IT COOLED OFF. THE NEXT DAY I HAD TO RE-FUEL AND THE CAP THEY JUST PUT ON WOULD NOT UNSCREW. THURSDAY OCTOBER 30, 2014, I HAD TO REFUEL AND COULD NOT OPEN THE FUEL TANK AND HAD TO PRY IT OPEN WITH A SCREW DRIVER TO PUT FUEL TO GET HOME. WHILE DOING SO THE CAP WAS SO TIGHT THAT THE TOP PORTION BROKE OFF LEAVING THE BOTTOM PORTION IN THE FUEL TANK NECK. IT GETS SO HOT MY RIGHT FOOT ACTUALLY BURNS FROM THE ENGINE HEAT. WHEN I WANT TO CRANK THE BIKE AFTER FUELING THE BIKE DOES NOT WANT TO CRANK. IT SPINS THE ENGINE FOR A LONG TIME BEFORE IT CRANKS AND THEN IT RUNS SO BAD, MISSING ETC., AND DIES OUT 2 OR 3 TIMES BEFORE I CAN TRAVEL. THEN WHEN I GET TO PLACES I HAVE TO STOP THE BIKE ENGINE DIES OUT WHILE COASTING OR TAKING OFF, LEAVING YOU IN AN INTERSECTION WITH NO POWER. I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP TECH IN PENSACOLA WHAT CAUSED THAT AND HE ADVISED CAN-AM HASN'T FIGURED OUT WHY THAT HAPPENS JUST YET.

View Details

ENGINE

11/1/2014 - CAMPOBELLO, SC
THE BIKE GETS VERY HOT. I HAVE ALREADY HAD THE EXAUST WRAPPED BUT IT IS STILL VERY HOT TO RIDE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
600 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED TO DEALER OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. WAS TOLD THAT THE PURGE VALVE WAS BAD AND THEY REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. RODE HOME AND NOTICED THAT THE FUEL SMELL WAS THE SAME. WHEN I CHECKED UNDER THE ROADSTER I FOUND FUEL DRIPPING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE ROADSTER. I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD TO TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK BEFORE PUTTING VEHICLE IN GARAGE. DEALER SAID THAT THIS WAS NORMAL. 4600 MILE SERVICE AGAIN COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. ASKED DEALER ABOUT HOT HOT RIGHT FOOT WAS TOLD BY DEALER THIS WAS NORMAL AND THE ROADSTER WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. 9200 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AND HEAT ON RIGHT FOOT, NO HEAT LEFT HAND GRIP, AND INTERMITTANT HEAT ON RIGHT HAND GRIP, WARPED RIGHT HAND CENTER BODY PANEL. WHEN SERVICE WAS COMPLETE I ASKED ABOUT NO HEAT ON HAND GRIPS. TECHNICIAN FOUND LOOSE CONNECTORS AT BOTH HAND GRIPS AND THAT THE CONNECTIONS COULD BE A PROBLEM IF THERE WERE GAS FUMES IN THE AREA. BODY PANEL ORDERED AND REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. TOLD BY DEALER THAT THE PANEL WAS BENT FROM FACTORY NOT HEAT. TECHNICIAN AND SERVICE MANAGER DID NOT AGREE AND BOTH SAID IT WAS CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/31/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
600 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED TO DEALER OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. WAS TOLD THAT THE PURGE VALVE WAS BAD AND THEY REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. RODE HOME AND NOTICED THAT THE FUEL SMELL WAS THE SAME. WHEN I CHECKED UNDER THE ROADSTER I FOUND FUEL DRIPPING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE ROADSTER. I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD TO TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK BEFORE PUTTING VEHICLE IN GARAGE. DEALER SAID THAT THIS WAS NORMAL. 4600 MILE SERVICE AGAIN COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. ASKED DEALER ABOUT HOT HOT RIGHT FOOT WAS TOLD BY DEALER THIS WAS NORMAL AND THE ROADSTER WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. 9200 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AND HEAT ON RIGHT FOOT, NO HEAT LEFT HAND GRIP, AND INTERMITTANT HEAT ON RIGHT HAND GRIP, WARPED RIGHT HAND CENTER BODY PANEL. WHEN SERVICE WAS COMPLETE I ASKED ABOUT NO HEAT ON HAND GRIPS. TECHNICIAN FOUND LOOSE CONNECTORS AT BOTH HAND GRIPS AND THAT THE CONNECTIONS COULD BE A PROBLEM IF THERE WERE GAS FUMES IN THE AREA. BODY PANEL ORDERED AND REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. TOLD BY DEALER THAT THE PANEL WAS BENT FROM FACTORY NOT HEAT. TECHNICIAN AND SERVICE MANAGER DID NOT AGREE AND BOTH SAID IT WAS CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/31/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
600 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED TO DEALER OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. WAS TOLD THAT THE PURGE VALVE WAS BAD AND THEY REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. RODE HOME AND NOTICED THAT THE FUEL SMELL WAS THE SAME. WHEN I CHECKED UNDER THE ROADSTER I FOUND FUEL DRIPPING FROM THE BOTTOM OF THE ROADSTER. I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD TO TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK BEFORE PUTTING VEHICLE IN GARAGE. DEALER SAID THAT THIS WAS NORMAL. 4600 MILE SERVICE AGAIN COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AFTER RIDES. ASKED DEALER ABOUT HOT HOT RIGHT FOOT WAS TOLD BY DEALER THIS WAS NORMAL AND THE ROADSTER WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. 9200 MILE SERVICE COMPLAINED OF EXTREME FUEL SMELL AND HEAT ON RIGHT FOOT, NO HEAT LEFT HAND GRIP, AND INTERMITTANT HEAT ON RIGHT HAND GRIP, WARPED RIGHT HAND CENTER BODY PANEL. WHEN SERVICE WAS COMPLETE I ASKED ABOUT NO HEAT ON HAND GRIPS. TECHNICIAN FOUND LOOSE CONNECTORS AT BOTH HAND GRIPS AND THAT THE CONNECTIONS COULD BE A PROBLEM IF THERE WERE GAS FUMES IN THE AREA. BODY PANEL ORDERED AND REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. TOLD BY DEALER THAT THE PANEL WAS BENT FROM FACTORY NOT HEAT. TECHNICIAN AND SERVICE MANAGER DID NOT AGREE AND BOTH SAID IT WAS CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - ROSHARON, TX
HAVE OWNED RT LIMITED FOR LESS THAN ONE YEAR WITH HEAT ISSUES. WHILE RETURNING FROM EVENT IN NORTH CAROLINA BIKE RAN FINE IN THE COOLER TEMPERATURES. AS SOON AS RETURNED TO THE SOUTH, ENGINE BEGAN TO RUN HOT AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND OFF AS WELL AS BIKE CHUGGING AND RUNNING ROUGHLY. BIKE SHUTTING DOWN AND HAD TO LET COOL OFF BEFORE WOULD RESTART. HAVE HAD EXTREME HEAT ISSUES SINCE PURCHASING BIKE ESPECIALLY IN HOTTER MONTHS HERE IN HOUSTON AREA. HAVE HAD UPDATES DONE PER BRP RECOMMENDATIONS TO NO SUCCESS. BIKE IS NOT SAFE AND FEAR RIDING ANY LENGTH OF TIME OR PROLONGED DISTANCE. WHEN PARKED IN GARAGE AFTER RIDING FIND THERE IS A STRONG GAS SMELL IN THE GARAGE. FOR THIS REASON USUALLY LEAVE BIKE IN YARD FOR UPTO 30 MINUTES PRIOR TO PUTTING GARAGE FOR FEAR OF FIRE CONSUMING HOME. NOT SURE WHAT THIS REPORT WILL DO BUT FEEL LIKE SOMEONE SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF HOW UNSAFE AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS THESE VEHICLES ARE. DEALERS ARE AT A LOSS FOR WHAT TO DO AS I HAVE EXPERIENCED SAME PROBLEMS WITH A 2013 ST LIMITED MODEL THAT WAS TRADED DUE TO BRAKE FAILURE AND EXTREME HEAT ISSUE MELTING PARTS. THOUGHT THE RT MODEL WOULD BE BETTER BUT FIND MYSELF IN SAME SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2014 - ROSHARON, TX
HAVE OWNED RT LIMITED FOR LESS THAN ONE YEAR WITH HEAT ISSUES. WHILE RETURNING FROM EVENT IN NORTH CAROLINA BIKE RAN FINE IN THE COOLER TEMPERATURES. AS SOON AS RETURNED TO THE SOUTH, ENGINE BEGAN TO RUN HOT AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND OFF AS WELL AS BIKE CHUGGING AND RUNNING ROUGHLY. BIKE SHUTTING DOWN AND HAD TO LET COOL OFF BEFORE WOULD RESTART. HAVE HAD EXTREME HEAT ISSUES SINCE PURCHASING BIKE ESPECIALLY IN HOTTER MONTHS HERE IN HOUSTON AREA. HAVE HAD UPDATES DONE PER BRP RECOMMENDATIONS TO NO SUCCESS. BIKE IS NOT SAFE AND FEAR RIDING ANY LENGTH OF TIME OR PROLONGED DISTANCE. WHEN PARKED IN GARAGE AFTER RIDING FIND THERE IS A STRONG GAS SMELL IN THE GARAGE. FOR THIS REASON USUALLY LEAVE BIKE IN YARD FOR UPTO 30 MINUTES PRIOR TO PUTTING GARAGE FOR FEAR OF FIRE CONSUMING HOME. NOT SURE WHAT THIS REPORT WILL DO BUT FEEL LIKE SOMEONE SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF HOW UNSAFE AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS THESE VEHICLES ARE. DEALERS ARE AT A LOSS FOR WHAT TO DO AS I HAVE EXPERIENCED SAME PROBLEMS WITH A 2013 ST LIMITED MODEL THAT WAS TRADED DUE TO BRAKE FAILURE AND EXTREME HEAT ISSUE MELTING PARTS. THOUGHT THE RT MODEL WOULD BE BETTER BUT FIND MYSELF IN SAME SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE

10/29/2014 - YAMHILL, OR
SMELL GAS VAPORS IN THE GARAGE AND HOUSEBAFTER DRIVING IT. SEAT FRONT TOP WHERE IT MEETS THE BODY(STORAGE COMPARTMENT) TO HOT TO TOUCH OR SIT ON WITHOUT A SHEEPSKIN PAD AND STILL VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND LIKELY DANGEROUS. RIGHT FOOT GETS SO HOT FROM THE MOTOR YOUR CAN'T KEEP YOUR FOOT IN PLACE. HAVE TO WEAR HEAVY BOOTS. HAVE HAD THE RECALL AND ELECTRONIC UPDATES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds