Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (31) Seats (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (1)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (6) Structure (11) Unknown Or Other (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/24/2014 - NORTH GROSVENORDALE, CT
I PURCHASED MY CAN-AM SPYDER IN AUGUST OF 2013. THE RECALL FOR THE HEAT ISSUES WAS COMPLETED IN SEPTEMBER OF 2013 BY MY DEALER. OVER THE LAST YEAR I HAVE HAD INCIDENTS OF A GAS SMELL, SOMETIMES VERY STRONG, AND HEAT FROM THE ENGINE AREA. RECENTLY, A BURNING PLASTIC SMELL HAS BEEN OCCURRING. IT IS NOTICED AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS. FIRST INCIDENT WAS AROUND 40 MILES PER HOUR ON A 2 LANE ROAD, NEXT TIME WAS GOING DOWN A FAIRLY STEEP HILL AROUND 30 MILES PER HOUR, AND THE THIRD INCIDENT WAS ON A 50 MILE PER HOUR 2 LANE ROAD. THESE INCIDENTS WERE ON DIFFERENT DAYS. THE BURNING PLASTIC SMELL WAS ALSO NOTICED BY MY RIDING PARTNER BEHIND ME. I AM VERY CONCERNED WITH THE FIRES THAT HAVE OCCURRED WITH THESE MACHINES AND THE INVESTIGATION BEING DONE BY NHTSA. I HAVE BROUGHT THE SPYDER RT TO MY DEALER BUT THEY SAID THEY DID NOT SEE ANY ISSUES THAT COULD BE CAUSING THE BURNING PLASTIC SMELL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2014 - ROCKY POINT, NC
EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM UNDER SEAT CAUSING REDNESS OF LEGS WHERE TOUCHING SEAT & GLOVE BOX GETS HOT TO TOUCH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/9/2014 - PANAMA CITY , FL
I HAVE THE 2013 SPYDER RTL SINCE 11-23-2013. EVER SINCE GETTING IT THERE HAS BEEN EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE BIKE, ESPECIALLY ON THE RIGHT SIDE WHERE THE RADIATOR EXHAUST IS VENTED. THE BIKE GETS EXTREMELY HOT WHETHER SITTING STILL OR MOVING. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE ON THE RIGHT LEG AND ANKLE. UNDER THE SEAT AND THE CENTER STORAGE AREA GETS EXTREMELY HOT AFTER RIDING. I FEEL THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TO THE RIDER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/9/2014 - PANAMA CITY , FL
I HAVE THE 2013 SPYDER RTL SINCE 11-23-2013. EVER SINCE GETTING IT THERE HAS BEEN EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE BIKE, ESPECIALLY ON THE RIGHT SIDE WHERE THE RADIATOR EXHAUST IS VENTED. THE BIKE GETS EXTREMELY HOT WHETHER SITTING STILL OR MOVING. VERY UNCOMFORTABLE ON THE RIGHT LEG AND ANKLE. UNDER THE SEAT AND THE CENTER STORAGE AREA GETS EXTREMELY HOT AFTER RIDING. I FEEL THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS TO THE RIDER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/8/2014 - TROY, OH
AFTER BUYING MY SPYDER I NOTICED EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE ENGINE AREA UNDER MY SEAT. AT TIMES ITS SO HOT THAT I CAN BARELY TOUCH MY GAS CAP WITH IS LOCATED UNDER THE SEAT. THERE HAVE BEEN A FEW TIME THAT AFTER RIDING FOR A EXTENDED PERIOD AND STOPPING THE BIKE I'VE NOTICED THE SMELL OF GASOLINE. I'VE CHECKED FOR FUEL LEAKS AND FOUND NONE, AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO COMPLAIN. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE FUEL TANK OVER PRESSURIZING BECAUSE OF THE HEAT AND VENTING TO THE AIR. I WAS ADVISED TO PARK THE BIKE OUT SIDE UNTIL IT COOLED DOWN BEFORE BRINGING IT INTO THE GARAGE. WHILE RIDING THE HEAT COMING UP FROM UNDER THE SEAT IS REALLY BAD, MAKING RIDING NOT MUCH FUN. I'VE CALLED BRP TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE PROBLEM BUT AS OF YET HEARD ANY THING BACK FROM THEM. I'VE READ THAT SEVERAL SPYDER'S HAVE CAUGHT FIRE, AND STILL NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE. MY FELLOW SPYDER RIDERS HAVE ALL COMPLAINED ABOUT THE HEAT PROBLEM, OTHER THAN THAT THE BIKE IS GREAT. I JUST WANT BRP TO COME UP WITH A SOLUTION TO THE HEAT PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - TROY, OH
AFTER BUYING MY SPYDER I NOTICED EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE ENGINE AREA UNDER MY SEAT. AT TIMES ITS SO HOT THAT I CAN BARELY TOUCH MY GAS CAP WITH IS LOCATED UNDER THE SEAT. THERE HAVE BEEN A FEW TIME THAT AFTER RIDING FOR A EXTENDED PERIOD AND STOPPING THE BIKE I'VE NOTICED THE SMELL OF GASOLINE. I'VE CHECKED FOR FUEL LEAKS AND FOUND NONE, AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO COMPLAIN. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE FUEL TANK OVER PRESSURIZING BECAUSE OF THE HEAT AND VENTING TO THE AIR. I WAS ADVISED TO PARK THE BIKE OUT SIDE UNTIL IT COOLED DOWN BEFORE BRINGING IT INTO THE GARAGE. WHILE RIDING THE HEAT COMING UP FROM UNDER THE SEAT IS REALLY BAD, MAKING RIDING NOT MUCH FUN. I'VE CALLED BRP TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE PROBLEM BUT AS OF YET HEARD ANY THING BACK FROM THEM. I'VE READ THAT SEVERAL SPYDER'S HAVE CAUGHT FIRE, AND STILL NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE. MY FELLOW SPYDER RIDERS HAVE ALL COMPLAINED ABOUT THE HEAT PROBLEM, OTHER THAN THAT THE BIKE IS GREAT. I JUST WANT BRP TO COME UP WITH A SOLUTION TO THE HEAT PROBLEM.

View Details

SEATS

9/8/2014 - TROY, OH
AFTER BUYING MY SPYDER I NOTICED EXCESSIVE HEAT COMING FROM THE ENGINE AREA UNDER MY SEAT. AT TIMES ITS SO HOT THAT I CAN BARELY TOUCH MY GAS CAP WITH IS LOCATED UNDER THE SEAT. THERE HAVE BEEN A FEW TIME THAT AFTER RIDING FOR A EXTENDED PERIOD AND STOPPING THE BIKE I'VE NOTICED THE SMELL OF GASOLINE. I'VE CHECKED FOR FUEL LEAKS AND FOUND NONE, AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO COMPLAIN. THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS PROBABLY THE FUEL TANK OVER PRESSURIZING BECAUSE OF THE HEAT AND VENTING TO THE AIR. I WAS ADVISED TO PARK THE BIKE OUT SIDE UNTIL IT COOLED DOWN BEFORE BRINGING IT INTO THE GARAGE. WHILE RIDING THE HEAT COMING UP FROM UNDER THE SEAT IS REALLY BAD, MAKING RIDING NOT MUCH FUN. I'VE CALLED BRP TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE PROBLEM BUT AS OF YET HEARD ANY THING BACK FROM THEM. I'VE READ THAT SEVERAL SPYDER'S HAVE CAUGHT FIRE, AND STILL NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE. MY FELLOW SPYDER RIDERS HAVE ALL COMPLAINED ABOUT THE HEAT PROBLEM, OTHER THAN THAT THE BIKE IS GREAT. I JUST WANT BRP TO COME UP WITH A SOLUTION TO THE HEAT PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/8/2014 - CAMANO ISLAND, WA
MY RETURN FROM A SPYDER GATHERING WAS ABOUT 100 MILES TOTAL, INCLUDING SOME STOP AND GO TRAFFIC THRU SEATTLE, AIR TEMPERATURES IN THE LOW 80S (F), AND COMPLETED WITH ABOUT 40 MILES OF OPEN HIGHWAY CRUISING AT 50-60MPH AND AIR TEMPS IN THE HIGH 70S. DURING THIS ENTIRE RIDE, I STRUGGLED TO FIND A POSITION IN WHICH I COULD PLACE MY RIGHT BOOT WHERE IT WAS NOT UNBEARABLY HOT! THE SPYDER NEVER SHOWED ANY SIGNS OF OVERHEATING, BUT MY BOOT SURE DID!!! I WILL ADD THAT I WAS RIDING IN JEANS, LEATHER CHAPS, HIKING BOOTS AND HEAVY SOCKS. POSITIONING MY BOOT IN SUCH A WAY AS TO TRY TO COOL IT DOWN SOME WOULD PLACE IT CONCERNINGLY FAR FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL. I WAS FORCED TO CHOSE BETWEEN SOME HEAT RELIEF AND SAFETY. ? TOWARDS THE END OF MY RIDE, I FINALLY WAS STOPPED BY A TRAFFIC LIGHT, AT WHICH POINT I SMELLED GASOLINE FUMES VERY STRONG THRU MY FULL FACE HELMET! I ALMOST BAILED OFF, BEING CONCERNED THAT THERE WAS A RISK OF FIRE! I TRIED TO LOOK UNDER THE BIKE TO SEE IF FUEL WAS LEAKING BUT THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN AND I HAD TRAFFIC BEHIND ME. THE FUEL GAUGE AT THIS POINT READ A BIT LESS THAN HALF A TANK. I WAS HOME IN MY DRIVEWAY IN JUST ANOTHER 5 MINUTES. MY WIFE AND MY NEIGHBOR BOTH CAME OUT TO MEET ME AND ASK HOW MY FIRST LONG RIDE WENT. THEY BOTH SMELLED THE GASOLINE ALSO. I OPENED THE SEAT, WHICH WAS ALSO EXTREMELY HOT UNDERNEATH AND ALLOWED THE SPYDER TO COOL DOWN BEFORE PARKING IT BACK IN MY GARAGE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/6/2014 - GREENSBORO, AL
DURING THE SPRING, SUMMER, FALL = I.E.WARM / HOT DAYS / MONTHS THERE IS AN INCREDABLE AMOUNT OF HEAT [ 100 + DEGREES] COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THIS MOTORCYCLE HAS THE FRONT , BOTH SIDES , AND REAR PANALS THAT ENCASE THE MOTORCYCLE. AIR COMES IN FROM THE FRONT THEN GOES AROUND THE ENGINE WITH NO PLACE FOR THE HOT AIR TO GO EXCEPT UP AND OUT WHICH HEATS UP THE SIDE PANALS AND UP THROUGH THE CENTER WHICH HEATS UP THE GAS TANK. AT TIMES WHEN STOP TO REFUEL; WHEN YOU REMOVE THE GAS CAP YOU CAN FEEL THE HEAT COMING FROM INSIDE THE GAS TANK. THIS HEAT DEAL IS EXTREMELY EXCESSIVE AND CAN BURN YOUR FEET, ANKLES,AND LEGS. IF YOU'VE HAD ANKLE REPLACEMENT [METAL ALLOY] THIS HEAT IS UNBAREABLE. BEEN IN CONTACT WITH BRP ON THIS AND SEEM TO BE GETTING THE RUN- AROUND. TRYKE IS AT MY DEALER WAITING FOR THIS PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED. UNSAFE. UNDERSTAND BRP HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS THE LAST YEAR AND A HALF. CAN YOU HELP. THIS IS TOO NICE A VEHICLE TO HAVE SITTING AT THE DEALER COLLECTING DUST. CAN YOU HELP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/6/2014 - CUMBERLAND, VA
HEAT UNDER THE SEAT IS TO HOT TO RIDE SAFETY. ALWAYS TRYING TO SHIFT AND OPEN LEGS TO TRY AND GET SOME RELIEF. HEAT COMING OFF THE RIGHT SIDE HAS ACTUALLY CAUSED A RED HEAT RASH ON MY RIGHT SHIN FROM MY ANKLE UPWARDS. WHEN REFUELING I AM SO SCARED THAT THE GAS IS GOING TO FLAME UP BECAUSE OF THE FUMES AND THE HEAT RADIATING FROM UNDER THE SEAT WHICH MUST BE LIFTED TO REFUEL. I HAVE TRIED PLACING ALUMINUM FOIL UNDER THE SEAT IN THE HOPES OF DISSIPATING THE HEAT BUT IT HAS NOT WORKED. I STORE MY CAN AM SPYDER IN A TRAILER AND MUST LEAVE ALL THE DOORS OPEN FOR SEVERAL HOURS UNTIL THE FUMES SUBSIDED. I AM AFRAID OF A FIRE AND HAVE MOVED THE TRAILER FAR AWAY FROM MY OTHER VEHICLES AND HOUSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds