Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (6) Structure (7)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/19/2014 - STALLINGS, NC
VEHICLE IS A FIRE HAZARD AND PRODUCES HOT AIR FROM THE ENGINE ONTO THE RIGHT LEG THAT IS INTENSE ENOUGH TO CAUSE BURNS. ALSO HEAT FROM UNDER THE SEAT WHERE THE GAS TANK IS LOCATED IS UNBEARABLE. GAS FUMES ARE EMITTED FROM THE BIKE WHILE RIDING AND WHEN THE CYCLE IS TURNED OFF THE GAS FUMES ARE SO INTENSE THAT IT SEEMS UNSAFE TO PARK IN A GARAGE FOR FEAR OF FIRE.THIS IS A TRAGEDY WAITING TO HAPPEN.CAN AM NEEDS TO BE REQUIRED TO FIND A SOLUTION TO THESE PROBLEMS FOR THE SAFETY OF THE RIDERS AND THE GENERAL PUBLIC.

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2014 - PICAYUNE, MS
THIS MACHINE IS JUST TOO HOT TO RIDE AND BE SAFE. REPORTS OF OTHER UNITS CATCHING ON FIRE. EMAILED BRP BUT NEVER GOT A RESPONSE. I'VE HAD TO GET OFF AND TURN IT OFF TO LET IT COOL DOWN. ENDED UP SELLING IT AT A HUGE LOSS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/17/2014 - WESTON, CT
THIS VEHICLE RUNS EXTREMELY HOT, AND IS UNCOMFORTABLE TO RIDE. AFTER RIDING IN 74 DEGREE TEMPERATURE FOR APPROXIMATELY 1 HOUR, I USED A DIGITAL THERMOMETER AND MEASURED THE HEAT UNDER THE SEAT AT 157.1 DEGREES WITH THE ENGINE OFF. HEAT RISES FROM THE FRONT AND SIDES OF THE SEAT, WHICH RESULTED IN A BURN TO MY RIGHT LEG. THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS INSTANCES OF THESE VEHICLES WITH NO WARNING SUDDENLY CATCHING FIRE AND BEING COMPLETELY DESTROYED. BRP IS AWARE OF THE HEAT PROBLEMS WITH THESE VEHICLES, AND SO FAR HAS ONLY OFFERED A SOFTWARE UPDATE IN AN EFFORT TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS UPDATE WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. ADDITIONALLY, GASOLINE BOILS IN THE TANK, AND THE GAS CAP GETS SO HOT THAT IT CANNOT BE REMOVED WITHOUT WEARING A GLOVE. MY WIFE AND I ARE AFRAID TO TAKE A LONG TRIP - WHICH IS THE REASON THAT WE BOUGHT THIS VERY EXPENSIVE TOURING MOTORCYCLE - FOR FEAR THAT OUR VEHICLE WILL BURST INTO FLAMES. PLEASE EXPEDITE YOUR CURRENT INVESTIGATION INTO THIS MATTER, AND PLEASE REQUIRE BRP TO DO WHATEVER IS NECESSARY TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM, PERHAPS A RETROFIT TO CHANGE THE COOLING SYSTEM TO MIRROR THE SOLUTION THAT BRP DEVELOPED (AND TOUTED IN THEIR PROMOTIONAL LITERATURE AS "SOLVING THE HEAT PROBLEM) FOR THE 2014 MODEL I.E. TWO RADIATORS IN THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE RATHER THAN THE ONE MOUNTED IN FRONT OF THE RIDER'S RIGHT FOOT. PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME IF AN INVESTIGATOR WOULD LIKE TO VIEW THE VEHICLE FIRSTHAND.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/16/2014 - MAHOPAC, NY
AS YOU CLEARLY CAN SEE CAN AM SPYDER 2013 HAS MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT HEAT I OWN ONE AND THIS MACHINE IS QUITE DANGEROUS I HAVE INSTALLED TEMP GAUGES ON MY MACHINE AND HAVE STUDIED THIS ISSUE THOUROUGLY ... I WOULD INVITE AN INVESTIGATOR TO COME VISIT AND SPEND 30 MINUTES WITH ME AND MY MACHINE . YOU WILL SEE FOR YOURSELF THE PROOF ... YOU CAN FEEL THE MACHINE AND MONITOR THE GAUGES I HAVE INSTALLED AND MAKE YOUR OWN JUDGEMENT. I THINK IT WILL SAVE A LIFE. I TRULY BELIEVE THIS. THE MANUFACTURER IS AWARE BUT MY FEELING IS HAVING CONVERSATION.... THEY REALLY WON'T DO MUCH UNTIL FORCED. AS WE ALL KNOW ITS ABOUT THE MONEY, LIVES SEEM SECONDARY

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2014 - CAMP HILL, PA
I FOUND THAT AFTER DRIVING MY MOTORCYCLE THE SEAT IS VERY HOT AND THE GAS CAP IS TOO HOT TO TOUCH. I ALSO HAVE NOTICED EXCESSIVE HEAT ON MY RIGHT LEG THAT GETS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WITH PROPER RIDING GEAR. THE BIKE HAS HAD NO MODIFICATION DONE TO IT. I LOVE RIDING IT BUT IT MAKES VERY HARD ON HOT DAYS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/15/2014 - ARLINGTON, TN
THIS IS MY 3RD SPYDER. ALTHOUGH I AM HAPPY WITH IT, IT DOES EMIT HEAT IN WHICH SOMETIMES ON HOT SUMMER AND HUMID DAYS IS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE FEELING. THIS MODEL YEAR EMITS MORE HEAT THAN PREVIOUS YEAR MODELS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2014 - ARLINGTON, TN
THIS IS MY 3RD SPYDER. ALTHOUGH I AM HAPPY WITH IT, IT DOES EMIT HEAT IN WHICH SOMETIMES ON HOT SUMMER AND HUMID DAYS IS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE FEELING. THIS MODEL YEAR EMITS MORE HEAT THAN PREVIOUS YEAR MODELS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/15/2014 - ARLINGTON, TN
THIS IS MY 3RD SPYDER. ALTHOUGH I AM HAPPY WITH IT, IT DOES EMIT HEAT IN WHICH SOMETIMES ON HOT SUMMER AND HUMID DAYS IS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE FEELING. THIS MODEL YEAR EMITS MORE HEAT THAN PREVIOUS YEAR MODELS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/14/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
MY SPYDER GET SO HOT THAT IT IS NOT BEARABLE TO RIDE, EXTREME HEAT FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT SENDS EXTREME HEAT TO MY LEGS AND HEAT COMING FROM THE SEAT. I HAVE SEEN REPORTS ON THIS PARTICULAR SPYDER CATCHING FIRE WHICH MAKE ME VERY UNCOMFORTABLE TO RIDE. BRP IN CANADA NEEDS TO RECALL THEIR SPYDER'S IN REGARDS TO THIS PROBLEM. I CURRENTLY HAVE ABOUT 1,500 MILES. I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS SINCE MARCH 2013 TO PRESENT. THE HEAT ALSO CAUSES THE GASOLINE IN THE TANK TO BOIL WHICH IS A HAZARD ALSO.

View Details

ENGINE

8/14/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
MY SPYDER GET SO HOT THAT IT IS NOT BEARABLE TO RIDE, EXTREME HEAT FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT SENDS EXTREME HEAT TO MY LEGS AND HEAT COMING FROM THE SEAT. I HAVE SEEN REPORTS ON THIS PARTICULAR SPYDER CATCHING FIRE WHICH MAKE ME VERY UNCOMFORTABLE TO RIDE. BRP IN CANADA NEEDS TO RECALL THEIR SPYDER'S IN REGARDS TO THIS PROBLEM. I CURRENTLY HAVE ABOUT 1,500 MILES. I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS SINCE MARCH 2013 TO PRESENT. THE HEAT ALSO CAUSES THE GASOLINE IN THE TANK TO BOIL WHICH IS A HAZARD ALSO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds