Auto Recalls for Consumers

CAN-AM SPYDER RT - 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by CAN-AM

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CAN-AM SPYDER RT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (4) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Power Train (1) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2014 - HALIFAX, PA
RAW FUEL SMELL AFTER TRIKE WARMS UP AND COMES TO A STOP. RIGHT LEG AND FOOT ALOS BECOMES HOT WHILE RIDING. GAS CAP HOT WHEN REMOVING TO FILL UP. WAS TOLD BY DEALER THAT THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO AND IS A VERY COMMON COMPLAINT. THE WARMER IT GETS THE WORSE THE RAW FEUL ODOR, AND HEAT BUILD UP GETS. DEALER CLAIMS THAT THE GAS ACTUALLY BOILS IN THE FUEL TANK AND VAPORIZE. THEY ALSO SAID THAT THERE IS NO FIX FOR THIS CURRENTLY. I WAS IN CONTACT WITH THE MANUFACTURE (BRP) AND THEY ISSUED ME A CASE NUMBER FOR REFERENCE WHILE DENYING ANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. MY FEAR IS THE TRIKE CATCHING FIRE, AS MY RESEARCH HAS FOUND THIS TO HAPPEN. I USUALLY HAVE A PASSENGER WITH ME AND I FEAR SHOULD A FIRE OCCUR MY PASSENGER WON'T HAVE ENOUGH TIME TO GET AWAY. THIS ALSO INCLUDES MYSELF GETTING AWAY. SEARCH SYDERLOVERS.COM AND YOU WILL SEE MANY POSTS ON THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THAT THE NHTSA NEEDS TO STEP IN AND TAKE A SERIOUS LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM AND MAKE BRP ADDRESS THIS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED DUE TO SHEAR IGNORANCE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/13/2014 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
MY RIGHT FOOT BECOMES EXTREMELY HOT WHILE RIDING FOR GREAT THEN 60 MIN AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. EVEN MY WIFE AS A PASSENGER COMPLAINS. I ALSO NOTICED MY DRIVER SEAT AND GAS CAP GET QUITE HOT ALSO. PLEASE FIX THE HEAT ISSUE COULD BE VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - SOMERVILLE, TN
2013 SPYDER RT LIMITED HAS BOILING GAS ISSUES. FUEL CAP IS VERY HOT TO TOUCH WHEN STOPING TO FILL UP. YOU CAN HEAR THE GAS BOILING WHEN YOU REMOVE THE GAS CAP. HAD THE BIKE IN FOR IT'S 600 MILE OIL CHANGE AND CHECK UP. WE ARE NOT OVERFILLING THE GAS TANK WHEN WE FILL UP. ONCE THE PUMP CUTS OFF THAT IS ALL THE TANK GETS. DEALER SAID NOTHING WAS OUT OF THE ORDINARY. SINCE THE WEATHER HAS STARTED TO WARM UP YOU CAN FEEL THE HEAT ON THE RIGHT SIDE AROUND THE FOOT. TEMP HAS STARTED TO KICK UP QUIET HIGH AND WE ARE NOT EVEN IN THE HOT MONTHS YET. PASSENGER CAN FEEL THE HEAT AS WELL. HEAT IS ALSO ON PRETTY WARM ON THE SEAT AS WELL. AGAIN DEALER SAYS THAT IS NORMAL. I TOTALLY DISAGREE AND WONDER WHAT THE LONG TERM EFFECTS ARE GOING TO BE ON THE BIKE AS FAR AS PARTS AND WIRING. GAS SMELL AFTER RUNNING ON WARMER DAYS HAS PRODUCED THE SMELL OF GAS AS WELL. I HAD THE LATEST UPDATES COMPLETED AS WELL WHILE IN THE SHOP. WHILE THE BIKE IS SMOOTHER, I DON'T THINK IT SOLVED ANY OF THE HEAT ISSUES OR BOILING GAS ISSUE. HARD TO BELIEVE THAT BRP HAS NOT OFFERED MORE OF A SOLUTION FOR A WELL KNOWN AND DOCUMENTED PROBLEM AND THEY HAVE KNOW ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR SOME TIME. IF IT WASN'T A PROBLEM THEN WHY WOULD HAVE THEY CORRECTED IT ON THE 2014 AND REDESIGNED WHAT IS UNDER THE BODY? THEY MOVED THE EVAP CANISTER AND MOVED THE RADIATOR UP FRONT AND SPLIT IT INTO TWO RADIATORS AND ADDED REVERSE FANS TO HELP GET RID OF THE HEAT PRODUCED BY THE ENGINE. YES, THEY KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE HEAT AND 2013'S. THEY CANNOT DENY IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/2/2014 - SOMERVILLE, TN
2013 SPYDER RT LIMITED HAS BOILING GAS ISSUES. FUEL CAP IS VERY HOT TO TOUCH WHEN STOPING TO FILL UP. YOU CAN HEAR THE GAS BOILING WHEN YOU REMOVE THE GAS CAP. HAD THE BIKE IN FOR IT'S 600 MILE OIL CHANGE AND CHECK UP. WE ARE NOT OVERFILLING THE GAS TANK WHEN WE FILL UP. ONCE THE PUMP CUTS OFF THAT IS ALL THE TANK GETS. DEALER SAID NOTHING WAS OUT OF THE ORDINARY. SINCE THE WEATHER HAS STARTED TO WARM UP YOU CAN FEEL THE HEAT ON THE RIGHT SIDE AROUND THE FOOT. TEMP HAS STARTED TO KICK UP QUIET HIGH AND WE ARE NOT EVEN IN THE HOT MONTHS YET. PASSENGER CAN FEEL THE HEAT AS WELL. HEAT IS ALSO ON PRETTY WARM ON THE SEAT AS WELL. AGAIN DEALER SAYS THAT IS NORMAL. I TOTALLY DISAGREE AND WONDER WHAT THE LONG TERM EFFECTS ARE GOING TO BE ON THE BIKE AS FAR AS PARTS AND WIRING. GAS SMELL AFTER RUNNING ON WARMER DAYS HAS PRODUCED THE SMELL OF GAS AS WELL. I HAD THE LATEST UPDATES COMPLETED AS WELL WHILE IN THE SHOP. WHILE THE BIKE IS SMOOTHER, I DON'T THINK IT SOLVED ANY OF THE HEAT ISSUES OR BOILING GAS ISSUE. HARD TO BELIEVE THAT BRP HAS NOT OFFERED MORE OF A SOLUTION FOR A WELL KNOWN AND DOCUMENTED PROBLEM AND THEY HAVE KNOW ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR SOME TIME. IF IT WASN'T A PROBLEM THEN WHY WOULD HAVE THEY CORRECTED IT ON THE 2014 AND REDESIGNED WHAT IS UNDER THE BODY? THEY MOVED THE EVAP CANISTER AND MOVED THE RADIATOR UP FRONT AND SPLIT IT INTO TWO RADIATORS AND ADDED REVERSE FANS TO HELP GET RID OF THE HEAT PRODUCED BY THE ENGINE. YES, THEY KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE HEAT AND 2013'S. THEY CANNOT DENY IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/23/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
EVERYTIME THE VECHICLE IS REFUELED THERE IS LOT OF FUEL SMELL. IT IS SO BAD THAT I AM AFRAID TO CLOSE THE GARAGE DOOR, FOR FEAR OF AN EXPLOSION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/20/2014 - CONWAY, SC
I HAVE HAD THE PREVIOUS RECALL DONE AND THE BIKE IS STILL DRIPPING GAS IN MY GARAGE FROM THE EVAP OVERFLOW LINE ON THE RIGHT SIDE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR MONTHS AND THERE ARE MANY REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING EVEN AFTER THE RECALL INSULATION. IT IS A FIRE HAZARD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/8/2013 - WESTON, CT
THIS VEHICLE HAS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS HEAT PROBLEM. HEAT BUILDS UP UNDER THE FIBERGLASS PANELS WHICH RESULTS IN THE GAS CAP BECOMING TOO HOT TO TOUCH WITH YOUR BARE HAND, AND GASOLINE BOILING IN THE TANK. ALSO, THE RADIATOR FAN BLOWS VERY HOT AIR ON MY RIGHT FOOT WHICH IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. ADDITIONALLY, I CAN SMELL GAS FUMES WHEN RIDING, AND THE FUMES ARE OVERPOWERING WHEN PARKING THE BIKE AFTER RIDING. I LEAVE THE BIKE OUTSIDE MY GARAGE UNTIL THE FUMES DISSIPATE, AS I FEEL THAT IT DANGEROUS TO PARK IN THE GARAGE WITH THE OVERPOWERING GAS FUMES. BRP AND THE DEALERS ARE AWARE OF THESE PROBLEMS, AND CAN OFFER NO FIX FOR THEM. THESE PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED IN THE 2014 MODELS, SO OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A WAY TO REMEDY THEM. WHENEVER I AM ASKED HOW I LIKE THE BIKE, I TELL PEOPLE THAT THE GAS MILEAGE IS HORRENDOUS, THE HEAT PROBLEM IS UNCOMFORTABLE, AND THE GAS FUMES ARE UNBEARABLE AND DANGEROUS. I ADVISE THEM NOT TO BUY THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/8/2013 - WESTON, CT
THIS VEHICLE HAS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS HEAT PROBLEM. HEAT BUILDS UP UNDER THE FIBERGLASS PANELS WHICH RESULTS IN THE GAS CAP BECOMING TOO HOT TO TOUCH WITH YOUR BARE HAND, AND GASOLINE BOILING IN THE TANK. ALSO, THE RADIATOR FAN BLOWS VERY HOT AIR ON MY RIGHT FOOT WHICH IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. ADDITIONALLY, I CAN SMELL GAS FUMES WHEN RIDING, AND THE FUMES ARE OVERPOWERING WHEN PARKING THE BIKE AFTER RIDING. I LEAVE THE BIKE OUTSIDE MY GARAGE UNTIL THE FUMES DISSIPATE, AS I FEEL THAT IT DANGEROUS TO PARK IN THE GARAGE WITH THE OVERPOWERING GAS FUMES. BRP AND THE DEALERS ARE AWARE OF THESE PROBLEMS, AND CAN OFFER NO FIX FOR THEM. THESE PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED IN THE 2014 MODELS, SO OBVIOUSLY THERE IS A WAY TO REMEDY THEM. WHENEVER I AM ASKED HOW I LIKE THE BIKE, I TELL PEOPLE THAT THE GAS MILEAGE IS HORRENDOUS, THE HEAT PROBLEM IS UNCOMFORTABLE, AND THE GAS FUMES ARE UNBEARABLE AND DANGEROUS. I ADVISE THEM NOT TO BUY THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/29/2013 - MAHOPAC, NY
VEHICLE HAS NO MEANS OF RELEASING HEAT TRAPPED UNDER PLASTIC PANELING WHEN AT LOW SPEEDS OR WHEN VEHICLE IS STOPPED. HAD TWO BREAKDOWNS AT STOP AND GO SITUATIONS WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MOVING ALLOWING HEAT TO ESCAPE. THIS AFFECTED OTHER COMPONENTS (EVAPORATOR CANISTER...ECT) WHICH CAUSE FAILURE AND RENDERS THE VEHICLE UNSAFE. HAVING CONVERSATIONS WITH BRP I KNOW THEY ARE AWARE AND HAVE NO SOLUTION. THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT BRP NOW HAS COME OUT WITH THE 2014 MODEL AND CLEARLY STATES IN ITS ADVERTISING CAMPAIGN THAT "ON OUR NEW MODELS WE ADDRESS THE HEAT ISSUE" SO YOU KNOW YOU HAVE IT... AND YOU FIXED IT ON THE NEWER MODELS WHILE BEHIND YOU LIES CUSTOMERS WITH OLDER MODELS THAT ARE CLEARLY DEFECTIVE AND QUITE UNSAFE... I SAY THIS NOT BY WHAT I'VE READ, BUT ONLY ON MY PERSONAL EXPERIENCE, THE MACHINE HAS HEAT ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/13/2013 - CONWAY, SC
I RECENTLY HAVE BEEN GETTING A STRONG ODOR OF GAS WHEN I COME HOME AFTER A RIDE. THE RECENT RECALL FOR THE EVAP CANISTER AND BRAKE CYLINDER HAS BEEN DONE BUT I PUT A PAPER TOWEL UNDER THE PURGE LINE TO FIND IT IS DRIPPING GAS. THIS IS ALL TO COMMON ON THIS MOTORCYCLE AND IS A FIRE HAZARD BOTH ON AND OFF THE ROAD IN MY GARAGE. I HAVE HEARD THIS IS HAPPENING TO A LOT OF SPYDER OWNERS WHO SAY THE SOLUTION IS TO PARK OUTSIDE AFTER A RIDE. UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds