Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2013 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 15 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (5) Equipment (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/22/2014 - TONGANOXIE, KS
FUEL GAUGE SHOWS 3/8 OF A TANK AND COMPUTER SHOWS 175 MILES TO EMPTY AND IT RUNS OUT OF GAS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/12/2014 - CASA GRANDE, AZ
HI THERE; I AM TALL - ABOUT 6' 5". THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT BELTS, DO NOT FULLY CROSS MY SHOULDER, RATHER THEY ARE CROSSING MY "OUTER" SHOULDER/UPPER ARM. THE "B" PILLAR IS ALMOST FORWARD OF ME. THE SEAT-BELT HEIGHT ADJUSTMENT IS FULLY RAISED. I FEEL QUITE UNCOMFORTABLE AND WONDER IF THIS SHOULD BE A CONCERN TO ME (I THINK IT IS!) IN THE EVENT OF A COLLISION; I FEEL THAT IN A SUDDEN STOP, LET ALONE A SIDE-IMPACT, I MAY AS WELL HAVE A LAP BELT ONLY!! PLEASE TELL ME I AM IMAGINING THIS AND THAT NHTSA HAS APPROVED THIS CONFIGURATION!! THANKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/7/2014 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE RADIO FAILED SEVERAL TIMES AND THE SENSORS AND GAUGES INTERMITTENTLY FLICKERED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 25 MPH ATTEMPTING TO AVOID DOG, THE CONTACT SWERVED TO THE RIGHT AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND LEGS. THE CONTACT DID NOT SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND THE IGNITION SWITCH WOULD NOT TURN OVER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2014 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE RADIO FAILED SEVERAL TIMES AND THE SENSORS AND GAUGES INTERMITTENTLY FLICKERED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 25 MPH ATTEMPTING TO AVOID DOG, THE CONTACT SWERVED TO THE RIGHT AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND LEGS. THE CONTACT DID NOT SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND THE IGNITION SWITCH WOULD NOT TURN OVER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - KINGSTON, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE LOW FUEL INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE FUEL GAUGE DISPLAYED THE INCORRECT AMOUNT OF FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - KINGSTON, OK
FUEL GAUGE REGISTERED FUEL BUT VEHICLE STALLED OUT DUE TO LACK OF FUEL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
THE BATTERY FAILED TO RECHARGE, THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN (ELECTRICALLY SPEAKING). MY WIFE AND 2 KIDS WERE STUCK IN A CAR WITH NO AC, NO ABILITY TO RECHARGE HER CELL PHONE TO CALL FOR HELP, ON A HOT 100F DAY. THANKFULLY, SHE WAS ABLE TO CALL A TOW TRUCK. AFTER 2 DAYS IN THE SHOP AT RON BAKER CHEVY IN SAN DIEGO, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE ALTERNATOR WAS FAULTY. BOTH THE ALTERNATOR AND THE BATTERY WERE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - GLENDORA, CA
THE REAR SEAT AIR CONDITIONING/HEATING MODULE CONTROLS GET EXTREMELY HOT WHENEVER THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON OR WHENEVER THE REAR UNIT IS IN USE. THE CONTROLS FOR THE AIR CONDITIONING/HEATING UNIT ON THE DASH NEVER GET HOT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALER TODAY TO HAVE THEM CHECK THE PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD THEY CHECKED ALL THE WIRING AND EVERYTHING WAS AS IT'S SUPPOSE TO BE. SO, THEY CHECKED THE SAME UNIT IN ANOTHER TRAVERSE AND FOUND THE CONTROLS IN THAT VEHICLE GOT HOT AS WELL. I WAS TOLD THAT IS JUST THE WAY THE VEHICLES ARE. THE FACT THAT THE CONTROLS GET HOT AT ALL, WOULD INDICATE EITHER IMPROPER GAUGE OF WIRING OR SWITCHES THAT CAN'T HANDLE THE ELECTRICAL CURRENT. IF WHAT I SUSPECT IS TRUE, THERE IS A POSSIBILITY OF DAMAGE TO THE UNIT, FIRE OR INJURY TO OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/25/2014 - NORTON, OH
THIS HAS NOW OCCURRED TWICE WITHIN THE PAST 30 DAYS. WHILE IN MOTION, THE VEHICLE TRANSMISSIONS JERKS, AND SPEED IS IMMEDIATELY REDUCED TO 5MPH. THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AS DOES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. A REMOTE DIAGNOSTICS SCAN FROM ON-STAR IDENTIFIED 3 ERROR CODES: C0561, P0700, P182E. THE FIRST TIME IT OCCURRED WHILE EXITING A HIGHWAY OFF-RAMP. THIS VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME THAT THERE WERE NO KNOW ISSUES RELATED TO THIS, NO RECALLS, AND NO SERVICE BULLETINS EXISTED DESCRIBING THIS BEHAVIOR FOR THE 2013 MODEL YEAR. THEY WERE UNABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO ME. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY WHILE APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AND SLOWING FROM ~35MPH WITH TRAFFIC CLOSE BEHIND. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SYSTEM BEHAVIOR WHICH COULD HAVE EASILY RESULTED IN A SEVERE INCIDENT IN A DANGEROUS INTERSECTION. WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN THE STATE WHERE THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT IS ON WE OBSERVED HARD TRANSMISSION SHIFTING/JERKING INTO AND OUT OF PARK, REVERSE, NEUTRAL, AND DRIVE. WE TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF FOR 15 MINUTES. UPON RESTARTING, NORMAL OPERATIONS WERE RESTORED WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED OFF AFTER ~25-30 MILES OF DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/25/2014 - NORTON, OH
THIS HAS NOW OCCURRED TWICE WITHIN THE PAST 30 DAYS. WHILE IN MOTION, THE VEHICLE TRANSMISSIONS JERKS, AND SPEED IS IMMEDIATELY REDUCED TO 5MPH. THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AS DOES THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. A REMOTE DIAGNOSTICS SCAN FROM ON-STAR IDENTIFIED 3 ERROR CODES: C0561, P0700, P182E. THE FIRST TIME IT OCCURRED WHILE EXITING A HIGHWAY OFF-RAMP. THIS VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME THAT THERE WERE NO KNOW ISSUES RELATED TO THIS, NO RECALLS, AND NO SERVICE BULLETINS EXISTED DESCRIBING THIS BEHAVIOR FOR THE 2013 MODEL YEAR. THEY WERE UNABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO ME. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY WHILE APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AND SLOWING FROM ~35MPH WITH TRAFFIC CLOSE BEHIND. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SYSTEM BEHAVIOR WHICH COULD HAVE EASILY RESULTED IN A SEVERE INCIDENT IN A DANGEROUS INTERSECTION. WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN THE STATE WHERE THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT IS ON WE OBSERVED HARD TRANSMISSION SHIFTING/JERKING INTO AND OUT OF PARK, REVERSE, NEUTRAL, AND DRIVE. WE TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF FOR 15 MINUTES. UPON RESTARTING, NORMAL OPERATIONS WERE RESTORED WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED OFF AFTER ~25-30 MILES OF DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds