Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DART - 2013 DODGE DART Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 145 complaints filed for the 2013 DODGE DART

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 DODGE DART. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 DODGE DART, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (51) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (21) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (29) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/29/2014 - WASHOUGAL, WA
CAR STALLS IN WARM WEATHER AND HAS TROUBLE RESTARTING. NO EXPLANATION. TOOK IT IN TWICE NOW. FIRST TIME THEY COULD NOT FIGURE IT OUT AND NOW THEY ARE SAYING THEY WILL LOOK INTO IT. IT STALLED 4 TIMES YESTERDAY WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT IN 70 DEGREE WEATHER. IT STALLED AT LIGHT AND DURING A SLOW TURN.

View Details

ENGINE

9/29/2014 - WASHOUGAL, WA
2013 DODGE DART . ENGINE STALLS WHEN GOING SLOW OR STOPPED AT A LIGHT. SOMETIMES IT TAKES A WHILE TO START BACK UP. THE CAR IS NEW AND I HAD ITS OIL CHANGED AT 5000 MILES AT THE DEALERSHIP. I TOOK IT IN THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED AND THEY COULD NOT FIND A ISSUE. I TOOK IT IN TODAY AND THEY DONT SEEM TO BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/23/2014 - DARLINGTON, IN
THE HEADLIGHTS ON THIS CAR ARE EXTREMELY DIM. THE ACCIDENT REFERENCED ABOVE CAUSED NO DAMAGE BECAUSE I WAS ABLE TO AVOID GOING INTO A DITCH AT AN INTERSECTION BECAUSE OF THE SLOW SPEED. HOWEVER, I CANNOT SEE ANYTHING IN THE SIDE-DITCHES WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT. I REPORTED THIS TO MY DEALER AND THE SERVICE MANAGER DROVE IT BOTH AT NIGHT AND IN THE MORNING DARKNESS. WHEN I ASKED HIM ABOUT IT, HE REPLIED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG AND "THEY ARE JUST NOT VERY BRIGHT, AND WERE ABOUT LIKE THE CHRYSLER 200. MY ROOMMATE HAS A DODGE CHARGER 2014, AND HIS LIGHTS ARE AS BRIGHT AS MOST CARS LIGHTS ARE. AS THIS SITUATION IN THESE DARTS COULD CAUSE DEATHS, I FEEL THIS MODEL CAR SHOULD BE CHECKED OUT THOROUGHLY AND BRIGHTER HEADLIGHTS INSTALLED, AND A RECALL MADE FOR THOSE ALREADY ON THE ROAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/23/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
ON 4 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION HAS DISENGAGED ACCOMPANIED BY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND WARNINGS ON INSTRUMENT PANEL (SERVICE TRANSMISSION, BLIND SPOT INDICATOR DISABLED, AND AUTOMATIC HIGH BEAMS OFF). ON ALL OCCASIONS, THE CAR WAS UNDRIVABLE (AS IF IN NEUTRAL) UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED. AT THAT POINT, THE SHIFT POINTS WERE COMPLETELY OFF AND VEHICLE WOULD OFTEN NEARLY STALL OUT. ON 2 OCCASIONS, THE CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, BUT WOULD INEXPLICABLY START LATER AND DRIVE ACCEPTABLY FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. DEALER HAS PERFORMED FLASH UPDATES AND EXAMINED ALL CONNECTIONS. OTHER REPORTS ON DODGE DART FORUM EXPLAIN MULTIPLE SIMILAR ISSUES AND VARIOUS UNSUCCESSFUL DEALER ATTEMPTS TO IDENTIFY AND FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
ON 4 SEPARATE OCCASIONS, THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION HAS DISENGAGED ACCOMPANIED BY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND WARNINGS ON INSTRUMENT PANEL (SERVICE TRANSMISSION, BLIND SPOT INDICATOR DISABLED, AND AUTOMATIC HIGH BEAMS OFF). ON ALL OCCASIONS, THE CAR WAS UNDRIVABLE (AS IF IN NEUTRAL) UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED. AT THAT POINT, THE SHIFT POINTS WERE COMPLETELY OFF AND VEHICLE WOULD OFTEN NEARLY STALL OUT. ON 2 OCCASIONS, THE CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS, BUT WOULD INEXPLICABLY START LATER AND DRIVE ACCEPTABLY FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. DEALER HAS PERFORMED FLASH UPDATES AND EXAMINED ALL CONNECTIONS. OTHER REPORTS ON DODGE DART FORUM EXPLAIN MULTIPLE SIMILAR ISSUES AND VARIOUS UNSUCCESSFUL DEALER ATTEMPTS TO IDENTIFY AND FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/22/2014 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO APPLY THE BRAKES AND THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL POPPING SOUND. THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE AND THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH BOTH FEET IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE FROM CRASHING INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,530.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/17/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I WAS COMING OFF THE HIGHWAY AND WAS ON THE BRAKE SLOWING MY 2013 DODGE DART FROM 65 TO 40 THEN TO 20 TO TAKE A SHARP RIGHT TURN, IN THE TURN THE STRING WENT DEAD AND FOR A BRIEF SECOND WAS UNABLE TO TURN ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WITH ANOTHER CAR AND THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME THAT HAS HAPPEN THE FIRST WAS WITH MY WHOLE FAMILY, I WAS DRIVING AROUND IN A PARKING LOT. ALSO THIS CAR HAS AN AIRBAG LIGHT ON FOR THE PASSENGER SEAT , THE CAR OVER HEATS AND THE BACKUP CAM NO LONGER WORKS THE BATTERY IS NOW DEAD AND WERE UNABLE TO DRIVE, WERE OUT OF WARRANTY BY A LITTLE OVER 500 MILES AND THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT FIX THE ISSUE UNLESS I PAY MORE MONEY TO FIX THIS PAPER WEIGHT. I CAN DRIVE IT AFTER GETTING A JUMP BUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAIL TO WORK THE SPEEDOMETER FADES IN AND OUT AND THE GAUGE DROPS TO 0MPH. MY CAR WAS SOLD TO ME AFTER REPLACING A POWER CONTROL MODULE AND HAS BEEN REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THIS CAR IS NOT WORTH THE $21000 SPENT AND I SHOULD BE GIVEN BACK HALF OF MY MONEY. MY CAR STILL OVERHEATS AFTER MANY DEALERSHIP VISITS OVER JUST THAT VERY PROBLEM AND EVERY TIME I PICK IT UP IT SEEM LIKE SOMETHING NEW I WAS WRONG (( !! I BOUGHT THIS CAR TO TRAVEL BACK AND FORTH MONTHLY FROM SAN ANTONIO TO FT. HOOD FOR MY MILITARY OBLIGATIONS IM A PISSED A VETERAN WHO WANTS MY CAR TO WORK LIKE IT WAS ADVERTISED! BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT I PAID FOR!! ))

View Details

STEERING

9/17/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I WAS COMING OFF THE HIGHWAY AND WAS ON THE BRAKE SLOWING MY 2013 DODGE DART FROM 65 TO 40 THEN TO 20 TO TAKE A SHARP RIGHT TURN, IN THE TURN THE STRING WENT DEAD AND FOR A BRIEF SECOND WAS UNABLE TO TURN ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WITH ANOTHER CAR AND THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME THAT HAS HAPPEN THE FIRST WAS WITH MY WHOLE FAMILY, I WAS DRIVING AROUND IN A PARKING LOT. ALSO THIS CAR HAS AN AIRBAG LIGHT ON FOR THE PASSENGER SEAT , THE CAR OVER HEATS AND THE BACKUP CAM NO LONGER WORKS THE BATTERY IS NOW DEAD AND WERE UNABLE TO DRIVE, WERE OUT OF WARRANTY BY A LITTLE OVER 500 MILES AND THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT FIX THE ISSUE UNLESS I PAY MORE MONEY TO FIX THIS PAPER WEIGHT. I CAN DRIVE IT AFTER GETTING A JUMP BUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAIL TO WORK THE SPEEDOMETER FADES IN AND OUT AND THE GAUGE DROPS TO 0MPH. MY CAR WAS SOLD TO ME AFTER REPLACING A POWER CONTROL MODULE AND HAS BEEN REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THIS CAR IS NOT WORTH THE $21000 SPENT AND I SHOULD BE GIVEN BACK HALF OF MY MONEY. MY CAR STILL OVERHEATS AFTER MANY DEALERSHIP VISITS OVER JUST THAT VERY PROBLEM AND EVERY TIME I PICK IT UP IT SEEM LIKE SOMETHING NEW I WAS WRONG (( !! I BOUGHT THIS CAR TO TRAVEL BACK AND FORTH MONTHLY FROM SAN ANTONIO TO FT. HOOD FOR MY MILITARY OBLIGATIONS IM A PISSED A VETERAN WHO WANTS MY CAR TO WORK LIKE IT WAS ADVERTISED! BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT I PAID FOR!! ))

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I WAS COMING OFF THE HIGHWAY AND WAS ON THE BRAKE SLOWING MY 2013 DODGE DART FROM 65 TO 40 THEN TO 20 TO TAKE A SHARP RIGHT TURN, IN THE TURN THE STRING WENT DEAD AND FOR A BRIEF SECOND WAS UNABLE TO TURN ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WITH ANOTHER CAR AND THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME THAT HAS HAPPEN THE FIRST WAS WITH MY WHOLE FAMILY, I WAS DRIVING AROUND IN A PARKING LOT. ALSO THIS CAR HAS AN AIRBAG LIGHT ON FOR THE PASSENGER SEAT , THE CAR OVER HEATS AND THE BACKUP CAM NO LONGER WORKS THE BATTERY IS NOW DEAD AND WERE UNABLE TO DRIVE, WERE OUT OF WARRANTY BY A LITTLE OVER 500 MILES AND THE DEALERSHIP WILL NOT FIX THE ISSUE UNLESS I PAY MORE MONEY TO FIX THIS PAPER WEIGHT. I CAN DRIVE IT AFTER GETTING A JUMP BUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAIL TO WORK THE SPEEDOMETER FADES IN AND OUT AND THE GAUGE DROPS TO 0MPH. MY CAR WAS SOLD TO ME AFTER REPLACING A POWER CONTROL MODULE AND HAS BEEN REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THIS CAR IS NOT WORTH THE $21000 SPENT AND I SHOULD BE GIVEN BACK HALF OF MY MONEY. MY CAR STILL OVERHEATS AFTER MANY DEALERSHIP VISITS OVER JUST THAT VERY PROBLEM AND EVERY TIME I PICK IT UP IT SEEM LIKE SOMETHING NEW I WAS WRONG (( !! I BOUGHT THIS CAR TO TRAVEL BACK AND FORTH MONTHLY FROM SAN ANTONIO TO FT. HOOD FOR MY MILITARY OBLIGATIONS IM A PISSED A VETERAN WHO WANTS MY CAR TO WORK LIKE IT WAS ADVERTISED! BECAUSE THAT IS WHAT I PAID FOR!! ))

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/14/2014 - GULF SHORES , AL
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED BETWEEN TWO VEHICLES. PUTTING MY BRAKES ON TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THE BRAKES FAILED AND WENT TO THE FLOOR. THE CAR WENT OVER THE CURB, OVER BUSHES, BETWEEN TWO SMALL TREES AND STOPPED APPROXIMATELY 6 FEET IN THE SAND. IF THERE WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN SAND IT MAY HAVE GONE FURTHER. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH CHRYSLER. THE REPRESENTATIVE SAID HE DID NOT DRIVE THE CAR. HE PUT HIS FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND ACCELERATED. THIS WILL NOT TELL YOU ANYTHING. THEN HE PROCEEDED TO ASK ME WHO PUT ON MY BRAKES OR CHANGED MY BRAKES. SINCE I HAD ONLY OWNED THE CAR FOR 2 WEEKS I SAID I DIDN'T KNOW AND ASSUMED THAT IT WAS CHRYSLER. THIS CAR HAS ISSUES. THE 2ND DAY I OWNED IT, IT DIED AT A RED LIGHT. WHICH THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS FROM VAPOR LOCK. THAT COULDN'T HAVE HAPPENED AS THE SALESMAN PUT GAS IN THE NIGHT BEFORE AND DIDN'T TOP OFF THE TANK. THEN THE 3RD DAY I HAD IT, IT WAS JERKING UP A BRIDGE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS HILL ASSIST. I CAN'T FIND THAT ANYWHERE IN THE DESCRIPTION OF THE CAR. HE SAID I WASN'T USE TO THE CAR. I WANT SOMEONE TO STEP UP AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FROM EITHER THE DEALERSHIP OR CHRYSLER. I DON'T WANT THIS CAR. IT HAS MECHANICAL ISSUES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds