Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DART - 2013 DODGE DART Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 621 complaints filed for the 2013 DODGE DART

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 DODGE DART. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 DODGE DART, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (226) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electrical System (97) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (1) Suspension (7) Visibility (3)
Engine (95) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (201) Tires (23) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (19)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2016 - HAMMOND, NY
THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO SHIFT INTO CERTAIN GEARS AFTER STARTING THE CAR. THIS CAN OCCUR FOR A WHILE AFTER THE INITIAL IGNITION, OFTEN NOT ALLOWING THE VEHICLE TO MOVE THROUGH INTERSECTIONS SAFELY. I SOMETIMES CANNOT SHIFT INTO 1ST GEAR AFTER STOPPING AT A STOPLIGHT, AND SOMETIMES CANNOT SHIFT INTO SECOND GEAR, IF I AM ABLE TO GET IT INTO 1ST GEAR. OCCASIONALLY, IF I LEAVE THE TRANSMISSION IN 1ST GEAR OR REVERSE WHEN PARKED, AND I START THE VEHICLE, EVEN THOUGH THE CLUTCH PEDAL IS FULLY DEPRESSED, THE TRANSMISSION IS ENGAGED, AND CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO MOVE ON IGNITION. APPLYING THE BRAKES MAKES STALLS THE VEHICLE. I OCCASIONALLY HAVE TO PUMP THE BRAKES, AND/OR CLUTCH PEDAL SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER TO ALLOW THE TRANSMISSION TO CHANGE GEARS PROPERLY. I HAVE READ SEVERAL POSTS ON FORUMS INDICATING THAT IT IS DUE TO A DEFECTIVE MASTER AND/OR SLAVE CYLINDER. DODGE HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THE ISSUE BY EXTENDING THE LENGTH OF THE WARRANTY ON THIS PART, BUT I BELIEVE THAT THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL. IT'S VERY FRIGHTENING WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO MOVE OUT OF AN INTERSECTION, AND THERE IS ONCOMING TRAFFIC, AND YOU CANNOT GET THE CAR INTO THE NEXT GEAR. THIS STARTED HAPPENING ABOUT A YEAR AGO, AND SEEMS TO BE INCREASING IN OCCURRENCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2016 - IMPERIAL, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V542000 (POWER TRAIN). THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/22/2016 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
YESTERDAY WE WERE PARKING OUR VEHICLE IN A PARKING LOT WHEN THE SHIFTER GOT STUCK IN NEUTRAL. WE WERE UNABLE TO SHIFT THE CAR INTO PARK AND WERE UNABLE TO TURN THE CAR OFF AND REMOVE THE KEY BECAUSE IT WAS STUCK IN NEUTRAL. WE ENDED UP HAVING TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. TODAY THE DEALERSHIP TOLD US THAT THE CABLE CONNECTING THE SHIFTER TO THE TRANSMISSION HAD COME LOOSE AND THAT FROM A MANUFACTURING STANDPOINT THE CABLE WAS "TOO SHORT" AND LIKELY TO COME LOOSE AGAIN. THEY REATTACHED THE CABLE BUT RECOMMENDED THAT THE CABLE TO REPLACED WITH A LONGER CABLE THAT WOULD BE LESS LIKELY TO COME LOOSE. THE COST TO REPLACE THE CABLE AND HAVE IT REINSTALLED WAS GOING TO BE JUST UNDER $800. THEY RECOMMENDED THAT WE CONTACT DODGE BECAUSE THE CAR IS UNDER 4 YEARS OLD AND ONLY HAS 26,000 MILES ON IT AND THE ISSUE IS NOT A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE BUT A MANUFACTURING ISSUE. DODGE DENIED OUR REQUEST TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY AND TO PAY TO HAVE THE CABLE REPLACED. WE EXPRESSED OUR CONCERN THAT IT WAS A SAFETY ISSUE (BECAUSE IT COULD'VE HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING) AND THEY SAID TO CONTACT DOT AND TO RECOMMEND THAT THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE PART. SO THAT IS WHAT WE ARE DOING. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

11/15/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V800000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2016 - LEETONIA, OH
AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY DURING CRASH WHEN VEHICLE WENT OFF THE ROAD AND STRUCK AN EMBANKMENT. RESULT OF CRASH, THE CAR WAS TOTALED AND DRIVER SUFFERED LACERATION ON HEAD AND BROKEN BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2016 - STEWARTSTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, THE CHECK ENGINE AND SERVICE TRANSMISSION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT PROCEEDED TO EXIT THE HIGHWAY. ONCE THE VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE; HOWEVER, THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND REMAINED IN LOW GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V542000 (POWER TRAIN), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THIS WAS THE THIRD TIME FOR THE EXACT SAME FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000.

View Details

TIRES

11/3/2016 - CATONSVILLE, MD
WRITING ON 11/3/2016 TO ALERT NHTSA TO A PROBLEM WITH PREMATURE WEAR OF MICHELIN PILOT SPORT A/S 3 AUTOMOBILE TIRES. I PURCHASED 4 TIRES AUG 2015 AT 29000 MILES ODOMETER. THE TIRES CAME WITH A 45000 MILE WARRANTY. SOON THEREAFTER THE RIGHT REAR TIRE NEEDED REPLACEMENT DUE TO "CHUNKING" (FLAKING, TEARING, AND LOSS OF BITS OF RUBBER THROUGHOUT THE TREAD SURFACE). AT 60000 (LESS THAN 75% OF WARRANTED MILESAGE) MILE RECOMMENDED MAINTENANCE ALL 4 TIRES NOTED TO BE WORN TO TREAD WEAR INDICATORS WITH TREAD WIRE SHOWING. I AM AWARE THAT OTHER CONSUMERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PHENOMENON (SEE HTTP://WWW.E90POST.COM/FORUMS/SHOWTHREAD.PHP?T=676153). I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY ADVICE AND ASSISTANCE TO RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM THAT YOU CAN PROVIDE. MANUFACTURER NOTIFIED, RESPONSE WAS TAKE IT TO A DEALER. MY CONTACT INFORMATION IS: JOHN MOYE, 1810 FREDERICK RD, BALTIMORE MD 21228, TELEPHONE 410-719-0689. THANK YOU, J. MOYE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2016 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED FROM A KIA DEALER. I HAVEN'T EVEN HAD IT ONE MONTH YET. WHILE DRIVING ONE DAY BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE MY BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP. I WENT TO PUSH DOWN ON THEM AND IT FELT LIKE I WAS TRYING TO PUSH DOWN A BRICK. IT WOULDN'T BUDGE. YOU COULD HEAR AIR AS YOU HIT THE BRAKE BUT NOTHING ELSE. A BRAKE LIGHT POPPED UP ON THE SCREEN FOLLOWED BY A CAR WITH A SWIRLY LINE BEHIND IT. I ALMOST BACKED INTO SOMEONE AND ALMOST WRECKED MY CAR. THANK GOD MY KIDS WEREN'T WITH ME AND NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/3/2016 - NORTH CHARLESTON, SC
I PURCHASED THIS CAR USED FROM A KIA DEALER. I HAVEN'T EVEN HAD IT ONE MONTH YET. WHILE DRIVING ONE DAY BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE MY BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP. I WENT TO PUSH DOWN ON THEM AND IT FELT LIKE I WAS TRYING TO PUSH DOWN A BRICK. IT WOULDN'T BUDGE. YOU COULD HEAR AIR AS YOU HIT THE BRAKE BUT NOTHING ELSE. A BRAKE LIGHT POPPED UP ON THE SCREEN FOLLOWED BY A CAR WITH A SWIRLY LINE BEHIND IT. I ALMOST BACKED INTO SOMEONE AND ALMOST WRECKED MY CAR. THANK GOD MY KIDS WEREN'T WITH ME AND NO ONE WAS HURT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/2/2016 - NORTH SCITUATE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V800000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. WHEN THE CONTACT ARRIVED AT THE DEALER FOR THE RECALL REPAIR, HE WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 86
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds