Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DART - 2013 DODGE DART Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 659 complaints filed for the 2013 DODGE DART

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 DODGE DART. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 DODGE DART, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (244) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electrical System (104) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (7) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (7) Visibility (3)
Engine (102) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (206) Tires (23) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (19)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/21/2017 - JERSEY CITY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE POWER AND SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND SLOWLY LOST POWER, BUT NEVER SHUT OFF. THE CONTACT MOVED THE VEHICLE TO THE ROAD SHOULDER AND THEN DROVE HOME WITH THE HAZARD LIGHTS ACTIVATED UNTIL THE POWER RETURNED TO NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,100.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2017 - GRAND CNAYON, AZ
AFTER THE RECALL ON MY CAR WAS FIXED 3 WEEKS LATER I LOST POWER TO MY BREAKS. THE BREAKS MADE AN AIR HISSING NOISE, THE PEDAL POPPED UP AND WOULDN'T DEPRESS MORE THAN 1/2 INCH. I HAD TO USE THE E-BRAKE TO GET THE CAR STOPPED FROM A LOW SPEED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/13/2017 - ESCALON, CA
SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE, WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAYS (OR ANY OTHER ROAD) THE VEHICLE HAS SLIPPED INTO NEUTRAL AND LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE OVER 20 TIMES. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND SAYS SERVICE TRANSMISSION. AUTO STICK DISABLED. I HAVE TAKEN IT MULTIPLE TIMES TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAVE MADE MULTIPLE REPAIRS, INCLUDING RECALLS AND A COMPLETE TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT. STILL THE PROBLEM EXISTS AND THE COMPANY DOES NOT SEEM TO CARE THAT MY LIFE AND THE LIFE OF MY FAMILY IS IN DANGER DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. PLEASE HELP. I AM LISTING THE MOST RECENT DATE THIS HAPPENED BELOW AS I CANNOT LIST MULTIPLE DATES THERE. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AGAIN FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS FIRST HAPPENED IN 2013 AND HAS BEEN BACK AND FORTH TO THE SHOP EVER SINCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/4/2017 - LEWISBURG, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH APPROACHING A RED LIGHT, THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD WHEN IT WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CHECK ENGINE AND BRAKE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER WERE CONTAMINATED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR THE BRAKE BOOSTER SYSTEM LAST YEAR IN MAY AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE RECURRING FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AGAIN. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2017 - NEGAUNEE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 47 MPH, SHE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE DUE TO ICY WEATHER CONDITIONS. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ULTIMATELY ROLLED OVER DOWN A HILL. THE SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DID NOT TIGHTEN NOR DID THE AIR BAGS DEPLOY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD WHERE IT WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THERE WAS ONE INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE DRIVER SUFFERED A SCRATCH BY THE CORNEA OF THE EYE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 91,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/27/2017 - NEGAUNEE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 47 MPH, SHE LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE DUE TO ICY WEATHER CONDITIONS. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ULTIMATELY ROLLED OVER DOWN A HILL. THE SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DID NOT TIGHTEN NOR DID THE AIR BAGS DEPLOY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD WHERE IT WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THERE WAS ONE INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE DRIVER SUFFERED A SCRATCH BY THE CORNEA OF THE EYE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 91,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/15/2017 - LONG BEACH, CA
IN AUGUST 2016 MY CLUTCH PEDAL STUCK TO THE FLOOR ON THE 405 FREEWAY IN CAGOING 65MPH. THIS CAUSING NO GEAR CHANGE AND CONTROL OVER VEHICLE, CHRYSLER REPAIRED THE MASTER CYLINDER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY. (THEY SAID THIS WOULDN'T HAPPEN AGAIN AND THE CAR WAS SAFE) WELL THE CLUTCH DID FAIL ON THE WAY TO VEGAS ON THE FREEWAY GOING 65MPH AGAIN I LOST CONTROL OF THE GEARS AND THE CLUTCH STUCK TO THE FLOOR. CHRYSLER TOLD ME IT WAS A WORN OUT CLUTCH AND THEY WOULDN'T REPLACE THE PARTS OR BUY BACK THE CAR UNDER LEMON LAW. I HAD AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC LOOK AT THE CAR IN GLENDORA CA. HE SAID IT'S NOT A WORN OUT CLUTCH, BUT THE CLUTCH HAS BROKEN DUE TO A LEAKING SLAVE CYLINDER LEAKING OVER THE COMPONENTS. THIS IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. AND HAS HAD VARIOUS COURT CASES AGAINST THEM DUE TO THIS ISSUE. THE CAR IS A SO UNSAFE AND A TIME BOMB. I HAVE JUST HAD A NEW BORN BABY AND DO NOT WANT HER ANYWHERE NEAR THIS CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2017 - EVANS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS EVENTUALLY ABLE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FELT AS IF IT WERE IN NEUTRAL. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V542000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2017 - CLIO, MI
THERE ARE TWO ISSUES THAT I HAVE RETURNED MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS MULTIPLE TIMES AND PAID SIGNIFICANTLY FOR THE NON-REPAIR. THE FIRST IS THE CENTERSTACK DISPLAY. THE DISPLAY WILL INTERMITTENTLY GO BLANK TYPICALLY FOLLOWING A LEFT HAND TURN. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN TWICE FOR THIS CONDITION AND STILL DISPLAYS THE FAILURE. THE SECOND IS THE TRANSMISSION. BASED ON A FCA RECALL, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A TRANSMISSION REFLASH! AT THAT POINT THERE HAD NEVER BEEN AN ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION WHILE DRIVING. SINCE THAT EVENT HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER PERFORMED AS EXPECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP ONLY TO LEARN THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION MODULE SO THAT WAS REPLACED. UNFORTUNATELY, THE PROBLEM IS NOW WORSE. THE VEHICLE SHIFTS SO ROUGH, THAT IT FEELS LIKE THE VEHICLE COULD STOP AT ANYTIME. THIS IS VERY CONCERNING BECAUSE I AM NOT COMFORTABLE THAT I CAN ACCELERATE INTO TRAFFIC WHICH COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2017 - CLIO, MI
THERE ARE TWO ISSUES THAT I HAVE RETURNED MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS MULTIPLE TIMES AND PAID SIGNIFICANTLY FOR THE NON-REPAIR. THE FIRST IS THE CENTERSTACK DISPLAY. THE DISPLAY WILL INTERMITTENTLY GO BLANK TYPICALLY FOLLOWING A LEFT HAND TURN. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN TWICE FOR THIS CONDITION AND STILL DISPLAYS THE FAILURE. THE SECOND IS THE TRANSMISSION. BASED ON A FCA RECALL, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A TRANSMISSION REFLASH! AT THAT POINT THERE HAD NEVER BEEN AN ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION WHILE DRIVING. SINCE THAT EVENT HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER PERFORMED AS EXPECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP ONLY TO LEARN THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION MODULE SO THAT WAS REPLACED. UNFORTUNATELY, THE PROBLEM IS NOW WORSE. THE VEHICLE SHIFTS SO ROUGH, THAT IT FEELS LIKE THE VEHICLE COULD STOP AT ANYTIME. THIS IS VERY CONCERNING BECAUSE I AM NOT COMFORTABLE THAT I CAN ACCELERATE INTO TRAFFIC WHICH COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds