Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DART - 2013 DODGE DART Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 166 complaints filed for the 2013 DODGE DART

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 DODGE DART. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 DODGE DART, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (56) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (34) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (25) Tires (12) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/24/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
THE FIRST TIME MY VEHICLE DIDN'T GO INTO REVERSE WAS WHEN I WAS LEAVING WORK. I ATTEMPTED TO BACK OUT OF MY PARKING SPOT AND THE SHIFT MECHANISM TO ENGAGE THE REVERSE IN MY CAR WOULD NOT COME UP LIKE IT HAS TO FOR REVERSE TO TAKE HOLD. I TRIED TWICE AND TURNED MY CAR OFF. I WAITED ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND TRIED AGAIN AND THE CAR ENGAGED REVERSE LIKE NORMAL. FOR ABOUT TWO WEEKS THE CAR SHIFTED FINE UNTIL ON 11/23/2014 AFTER STARTING MY CAR AND LETTING IT WARM UP, I ATTEMPTED TO PLACE MY CAR IN REVERSE AND HALFWAY THROUGH THE SHIFT INTO REVERSE ON MY MANUAL CAR I HEARD A POP AND MY CAR JERKED. I THEN LET GO OF MY SHIFTER KNOB AND IT RETURNED INTO THE NUETRAL POSITION. THEN I TRIED TO PUT IT IN TO REVERSE ONCE MORE AND THE SHIFTER KNOB WAS LIMP AND RETURNED TO NUETRAL BY ITS SELF. I TURNED MY CAR OFF AND SINCE I AM MECHANICALLY INCLINED I REMOVED THE LEATHER COVER FROM THE SHIFTER KNOB TO SEE MY REVERSE CABLE HAD SNAPPED CLOSE TO THE BASE OF THE HOUSING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/24/2014 - LA GRANDE, OR
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED IT FAILED TO ENGAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE OF BRAKE BOOSTER SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.LB

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/19/2014 - INDEPENDENCE, OR
I HEARD A POPPING SOUND WHEN I APPLIED MY BRAKES - PEDAL WAS HARD AND BRAKING DID NOT WORK. I WAS ABLE TO STOP BY DOWNSHIFTING TO SLOW MY SPEED AND USING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. TO BE CLEAR - MY BRAND NEW CAR, WITH FEWER THAN 11K MILES, THAT I HAVE OWNED FOR LESS THAN A YEAR, DID NOT HAVE ANY FUNCTIONING BRAKES. FORTUNATELY THIS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING TO THE FREEWAY, NOT WHEN I WAS LEAVING THE FREEWAY AT 70MPH. MY CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED IT AS A FAILED BRAKE BOOSTER AND SAID THAT THE CAUSE WAS A "FACTORY DEFECT" - THIS IS A TERRIFYING FACTORY DEFECT THAT COULD HAVE VERY EASILY LED TO A TOTALED CAR AND SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH TO ME, MY PASSENGERS, PEDESTRIANS, OTHER DRIVERS. I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW CAR TO ENSURE THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF SAFETY AND RELIABILITY. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AND I SINCERELY HOPE THAT IT WILL BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY, REVIEWED AND CORRECTED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/17/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH THE RPMS DECREASED AND THE CAR JERKED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THIS WAS A RECURRING FAILURE THAT HAPPENED WHENEVER HE ACTIVATED ANY ELECTRICAL COMPONENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE VEHICLE WOULD OVERHEAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,500. SW

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/17/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH THE RPMS DECREASED AND THE CAR JERKED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THIS WAS A RECURRING FAILURE THAT HAPPENED WHENEVER HE ACTIVATED ANY ELECTRICAL COMPONENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE VEHICLE WOULD OVERHEAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,500. SW

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/17/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH THE RPMS DECREASED AND THE CAR JERKED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THIS WAS A RECURRING FAILURE THAT HAPPENED WHENEVER HE ACTIVATED ANY ELECTRICAL COMPONENT. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE VEHICLE WOULD OVERHEAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,500. SW

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/11/2014 - DAMASCUS, MD
RE: INTERMITTENT BURNING SMELL IN PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, SOMETIMES FUMES OBSERVED THROUGH THE AC VENTS. VEHICLE: DODGE DART 1.4L TURBO 2013 PROBLEM DESCRIPTION: THEáPROBLEMáONLYáOCCURSáATáLOWERáGEARS(1,2,3,R).áIáHAVEáNEVERáOBSERVEDáTHEáISSUEáATáHIGHERSáGEARS.áGEARáSHIFTSáAREáDONEáWITHáCLUTCH DEPRESSED.áIáHAVEáSEENáTHEáISSUEáINáFOLLOWINGáSITUATIONS: A.áCARáISáINáNEUTRALáCRUISINGáATá10¡15áMI/HR,áGEARáISáSHIFTEDáTOá2á(LIKEáWHENáSLOWINGáON EXITINGáOFáEXPRESSWAYáANDáTHENáMERGINGáONáLOCALáROAD) B.áCARáISáINáGEARá2,áANDáGEARáISáSHIFTEDáTOá3. C.áCARáISáGEARá3,áTHENáPUTáINáNEUTRAL,áANDáBRAKESáAPPLIEDáSLOWLYáTOáCOMEáTOáHALTá(LIKEáWHEN COMINGáTOáHALTáATáTRAFFICáLIGHTáORáSTOPáSIGN) D.áCARáISáPUTáINáREVERSEáGEAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON 01/22/2013. THE FIRST OF MANY INCIDENTS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN A MAJOR HIGHWAY. I WAS IN THE FAST LANE CHANGING LANES AND I SUDDENLY HAD FULL POWER LOSS. I WAS UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE AND WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL FASTER MOVING CARS. THE CAR WAS ALSO QUICKLY SLOWING DOWN. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN AND PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY. AS I WENT TO TURN INTO A PARKING LOT THIS VEHICLE HAD POWER LOSS AGAIN. BETWEEN 02/25/2012 AND 11/07/2014 AND 26,000 MILES THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP OVER 10 TIMES. IT HAS MULTIPLE POWER LOSS ISSUES, AND GAUGE ISSUES. HEADLIGHTS AND TURN SIGNALS HAVE GONE OUT, AND RANDOM WINDOWS ROLL DOWN WHEN PUSHING THE BUTTONS. THIS VEHICLE IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IN ITS ENTIRETY. REPAIR SHOPS TELL CONSECUTIVELY THAT THEY CANNOT REPAIR ALL THE ISSUES. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SINCE FOR 5 DAYS THIS TIME AND THEY CANNOT GET THE VEHICLE TO START. SHOP FAILED TO PUT POWER LOSS ISSUES ON FIRST ISSUE ON TICKET, UNTIL IT HAPPENED A SECOND TIME ON 07/02/2013 WHILE I WAS IN A SCHOOL ZONE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON 01/22/2013. THE FIRST OF MANY INCIDENTS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN A MAJOR HIGHWAY. I WAS IN THE FAST LANE CHANGING LANES AND I SUDDENLY HAD FULL POWER LOSS. I WAS UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE AND WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL FASTER MOVING CARS. THE CAR WAS ALSO QUICKLY SLOWING DOWN. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN AND PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY. AS I WENT TO TURN INTO A PARKING LOT THIS VEHICLE HAD POWER LOSS AGAIN. BETWEEN 02/25/2012 AND 11/07/2014 AND 26,000 MILES THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP OVER 10 TIMES. IT HAS MULTIPLE POWER LOSS ISSUES, AND GAUGE ISSUES. HEADLIGHTS AND TURN SIGNALS HAVE GONE OUT, AND RANDOM WINDOWS ROLL DOWN WHEN PUSHING THE BUTTONS. THIS VEHICLE IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IN ITS ENTIRETY. REPAIR SHOPS TELL CONSECUTIVELY THAT THEY CANNOT REPAIR ALL THE ISSUES. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SINCE FOR 5 DAYS THIS TIME AND THEY CANNOT GET THE VEHICLE TO START. SHOP FAILED TO PUT POWER LOSS ISSUES ON FIRST ISSUE ON TICKET, UNTIL IT HAPPENED A SECOND TIME ON 07/02/2013 WHILE I WAS IN A SCHOOL ZONE.

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON 01/22/2013. THE FIRST OF MANY INCIDENTS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING DOWN A MAJOR HIGHWAY. I WAS IN THE FAST LANE CHANGING LANES AND I SUDDENLY HAD FULL POWER LOSS. I WAS UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE AND WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL FASTER MOVING CARS. THE CAR WAS ALSO QUICKLY SLOWING DOWN. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN AND PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY. AS I WENT TO TURN INTO A PARKING LOT THIS VEHICLE HAD POWER LOSS AGAIN. BETWEEN 02/25/2012 AND 11/07/2014 AND 26,000 MILES THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP OVER 10 TIMES. IT HAS MULTIPLE POWER LOSS ISSUES, AND GAUGE ISSUES. HEADLIGHTS AND TURN SIGNALS HAVE GONE OUT, AND RANDOM WINDOWS ROLL DOWN WHEN PUSHING THE BUTTONS. THIS VEHICLE IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IN ITS ENTIRETY. REPAIR SHOPS TELL CONSECUTIVELY THAT THEY CANNOT REPAIR ALL THE ISSUES. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SINCE FOR 5 DAYS THIS TIME AND THEY CANNOT GET THE VEHICLE TO START. SHOP FAILED TO PUT POWER LOSS ISSUES ON FIRST ISSUE ON TICKET, UNTIL IT HAPPENED A SECOND TIME ON 07/02/2013 WHILE I WAS IN A SCHOOL ZONE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds