Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DART - 2013 DODGE DART Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 199 complaints filed for the 2013 DODGE DART

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 DODGE DART. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 DODGE DART, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (72) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Engine (42) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (27) Tires (17) Wheels (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2015 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
CLUTCH WENT COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR AND HAD TO VEER CAR INTO A TERRAIN IN ORDER TO AVOID BEING RUN OVER BY DUMP TRUCK DIRECTLY BEHIND. THERE WAS NO WARNING AND CAR IS FAIRLY NEW. (WAS PURCHASED NEW). QUICK INVESTIGATION, AND THERE IS A LAW SUIT WITH CHRYSLER INDICATING THEY ARE AWARE OF THIS DEFECT BUT THEIR DEALERSHIPS ARE NOT AND REFUSED TO REPAIR WITHOUT CHARGING. INSISTED I TAKE CAR TO ANOTHER PLACE THAT REALLY WORKS ON DODGES (???). THIS LOST OF GEAR SHIFTING IS GOING TO GET SOMEONE KILLED! UNFORTUNATELY IT IS HARD TO REACH ME BY TELEPHONE BUT I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO HAVE SOME DETAILS AS TO HOW TO HANDLE THIS ISSUE. I HAD AN INDEPENDENT DEALER "WHO REALLY WORKS ON DODGES" TO REPAIR AND THEY CONFIRMED THE CLUTCH WAS DEFECTIVE AND CAUSED IT TO CRASH AND BURN. I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WHO HAS EXPERIENCED THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2015 - SARASOTA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH AND SWITCHING GEARS, THE VEHICLE VIOLENTLY JERKED BACKWARDS AND THE TRANSMISSION SERVICE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/18/2015 - NEW JOHNSONVILLE, TN
I WAS AT A DRIVE-THRU AND WHEN I WENT TO PULL UP IN LINE MY BRAKES FAILED AND I HAD TO PULL THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS VERY HARD AND WOULD NOT GO DOWN. I PARKED THE CAR AND HAD IT TOWED TO A DEALER. IT WAS THE BRAKE BOOSTER. I HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY AND HAD IT FIXED. I HAD BEEN ON THE INTERSTATE EARLIER. IF IT HAD FAILED THEN, I DO NOT KNOW WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. THIS WAS A VERY SCARY INCIDENT AND I AM CONCERNED THAT THE NEW PART COULD FAIL OR THAT OTHERS COULD HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND NOT BE AS FORTUNATE AS I WAS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/16/2015 - MANTECA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL WITHOUT WARNING AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO DECELERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/15/2015 - MAYETTA, KS
BUBBLE ON SIDE WALL TIRE. KUMHO 225/45R17 91H DOT K2X5 YAL8 1113

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2015 - BROCKTON, MA
I PURCHASED A NEW DART, 2013 LIMITED 1.4 TURBO (MANUAL) AND WHEN I SAY NEW, IT HAD TO BE BUILT BECAUSE THERE WERE'T ANY ON THE LOTS YET. I ALWAYS FELT THE CAR LACKED POWER BUT ASSUMED IT WAS JUST THE WAY THE CAR WAS. GETTING OUT OF 1ST GEAR WAS REALLY TOUGH. AROUND 6K, AFTER A LONG ROAD TRIP, I STARTED TO HEAR A GRINDING NOISE WHEN CUTTING THE WHEEL AND THROTTLING IN 1ST GEAR OR REVERSE, BASICALLY PARALLEL PARKING. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER FOR ITS 1ST MAJOR TUNE UP AND MENTIONED IT AND THEY SAID THE DIDN'T HEAR THE NOISE ( I ALSO MENTIONED THE AIRBAG LIGHT WOULD NOT GO AWAY) THE AIR BAG LIGHT WAS GONE BUT SOON TO RETURN. AT 9K, I BROUGHT THE CAR IN AGAIN FOR THE SAME ISSUES! AIR BAG LIGHT GONE (SOON TO RETURN) BUT THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T HEAR THE NOISE. AT 19K I WAS FUMING AND GOT THEM TO GO ON A TEST DRIVE WITH ME AND THEY HEARD THEY NOISE! THEY TRIED TO SAY IT WAS THE CA INTAKE I PUT IN, BUT I ASSURED THEM IT WASN'T AND GAVE THEM THE OEM PART TO PROVE THEM WRONG. LOW AND BEHOLD AFTER A WEEK THEY COME BACK WITH "CLUTCH BEARINGS"! I GOT THE CAR BACK AND IT FEELS LIKE A- BRAND NEW CAR!! IT'S AMAZING! IT HAS POWER, PICK UP, THE CLUTCH IS MUCH EASIER TO WORK AND NO NOISE! I WAS STARTLED BY THE POWER! THIS IS THE CAR I THOUGHT I WAS BUYING. I HAVE NO IDEA HOW MUCH GAS ECONOMY I'VE WASTED AFTER 19K, BUT I'M JUST GLAD TO FINALLY HAVE THIS ISSUE RESOLVED! I REALLY HOPE THIS HELPS THOSE OUT THERE SO IF YOU HAVE A MANUAL SHIFT AND NO POWER/PICK-UP OUT OF 1ST, INSIST THEY CHECK THE CLUTCH BEARINGS! NOW LET'S HOPE THE AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T COME BACK ON.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/12/2015 - BROCKTON, MA
I PURCHASED A NEW DART, 2013 LIMITED 1.4 TURBO (MANUAL) AND WHEN I SAY NEW, IT HAD TO BE BUILT BECAUSE THERE WERE'T ANY ON THE LOTS YET. I ALWAYS FELT THE CAR LACKED POWER BUT ASSUMED IT WAS JUST THE WAY THE CAR WAS. GETTING OUT OF 1ST GEAR WAS REALLY TOUGH. AROUND 6K, AFTER A LONG ROAD TRIP, I STARTED TO HEAR A GRINDING NOISE WHEN CUTTING THE WHEEL AND THROTTLING IN 1ST GEAR OR REVERSE, BASICALLY PARALLEL PARKING. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER FOR ITS 1ST MAJOR TUNE UP AND MENTIONED IT AND THEY SAID THE DIDN'T HEAR THE NOISE ( I ALSO MENTIONED THE AIRBAG LIGHT WOULD NOT GO AWAY) THE AIR BAG LIGHT WAS GONE BUT SOON TO RETURN. AT 9K, I BROUGHT THE CAR IN AGAIN FOR THE SAME ISSUES! AIR BAG LIGHT GONE (SOON TO RETURN) BUT THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T HEAR THE NOISE. AT 19K I WAS FUMING AND GOT THEM TO GO ON A TEST DRIVE WITH ME AND THEY HEARD THEY NOISE! THEY TRIED TO SAY IT WAS THE CA INTAKE I PUT IN, BUT I ASSURED THEM IT WASN'T AND GAVE THEM THE OEM PART TO PROVE THEM WRONG. LOW AND BEHOLD AFTER A WEEK THEY COME BACK WITH "CLUTCH BEARINGS"! I GOT THE CAR BACK AND IT FEELS LIKE A- BRAND NEW CAR!! IT'S AMAZING! IT HAS POWER, PICK UP, THE CLUTCH IS MUCH EASIER TO WORK AND NO NOISE! I WAS STARTLED BY THE POWER! THIS IS THE CAR I THOUGHT I WAS BUYING. I HAVE NO IDEA HOW MUCH GAS ECONOMY I'VE WASTED AFTER 19K, BUT I'M JUST GLAD TO FINALLY HAVE THIS ISSUE RESOLVED! I REALLY HOPE THIS HELPS THOSE OUT THERE SO IF YOU HAVE A MANUAL SHIFT AND NO POWER/PICK-UP OUT OF 1ST, INSIST THEY CHECK THE CLUTCH BEARINGS! NOW LET'S HOPE THE AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T COME BACK ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/8/2015 - HOBE SOUND, FL
WE HAVE A DODGE DART, 2013 THAT HAS TWICE LOST ITS TRANSMISSION WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED AND WILL NOT MOVE, COAST TO A STOP. ONE TIME ON 95 JUST SOUTH OF NEW HAVEN CONN. AND YESTERDAY ON I75 NEAR GAINESVILLE FLA. I THINK THIS NEEDS TO BE CHECKED AND SEE IF SOMEONE IS NOT COVERING THIS UP. IT CREATES A REAL FIASCO WHEN IN THE LEFT LANE IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC AND SUDDENLY LOSE ALL POWER. PEOPLE WILL BE DYING IF THIS CONTINUES TO HAPPEN. THE TRANSMISSION QUITTING TWICE IN 29000 MILES IS NOT JUST HAPPENSTANCE. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. THANKS FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2015 - DICKINSON, TX
I STARTED HAVING HEADACHES SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE (2013 DODGE DART). THE HEADACHES CONTINUED TO WORSEN, SO I FINALLY WENT TO THE DOCTOR, HAD CT SCAN AND WAS FINALLY DIAGNOSED WITH HAVING MIGRAINES. I WASN'T AWARE THAT IT WAS THE CAR UNTIL IT WAS IN THE SHOP FOR REPAIR FOR RECIRCULATING AIR ISSUES AND I DIDN'T DRIVE IT FOR A WEEK (DECEMBER 2014). ONCE WE RECEIVED THE CAR BACK FROM THE DEALERSHIP (NOT FIXED) I WAS REALLY SICK (HORRIBLE MIGRAINE) THE NEXT DAY DUE TO THE FUMES. I HAVEN'T RODE IN THE CAR SINCE DECEMBER 19, 2014. I HAVEN'T HAD A MIGRAINE SINCE AROUND DECEMBER 20-21, 2014. THE CAR WAS DROPPED OFF ON JANUARY 2, 2015 BY MY HUSBAND BECAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND TO HAVE THE RECIRCULATE AIR FIXED. THE VEHICLE WAS READY ON JANUARY 8, 2015 BUT WAS NOT PICKED UP UNTIL JANUARY 9, 2015. ON JANUARY 9, 2015, MY HUSBAND PICKED THE CAR UP AND DROVE IT AROUND FOR LITTLE WHILE. HE THEN WENT TO PICK OUR DAUGHTER UP FROM SCHOOL AND SHE BEGIN COUGHING IMMEDIATELY BECAUSE THE RECIRCULATE AIR WENT OUT AGAIN. I HAVE CONTACTED DODGE CUSTOMER SERVICE SEVERAL TIMES REGARDING THIS VEHICLE AND TO NO AVAIL. I CONTACTED THEM TODAY (JANUARY 9, 2015) AND THEY WANTED US TO DRIVE THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. I GUESS THEY WANT THE FUMES TO CAUSE SOMEONE TO PASS OUT ALONG THE WAY. DODGE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HAVING A CASE MANAGER REVIEW MY COMPLAINT, HOWEVER, I AM STUCK WITH A VEHICLE THAT I CANNOT DRIVE. I CONTACTED THE THE LIENHOLDER TO SURRENDER THE VEHICLE ON MARCH 5, 2015.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2015 - ENUMCLAW, WA
BATTERY IS FAULTY WHEN IT IS SLIGHTLY CHARGED THE CAR WILL TURN ON AND SEND THE GAUGES FLIPPING OVER TO THE RIGHT AND BACK TO THE LEFT AGAIN WHILE THE ENGINE REEVES. WHEN THE BATTERY IS TOTALLY DEAD THE CAR WONT TURN ON AT ALL. WHEN THE BATTERY IS ALMOST DEAD THE DOORS WILL NOT UNLOCK WITHOUT USING THE KEY AND THEN THAT SETS OFF THE ALARM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds