Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DART - 2013 DODGE DART Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 212 complaints filed for the 2013 DODGE DART

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 DODGE DART. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 DODGE DART, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (38) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (75) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Engine (45) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (31) Tires (17) Wheels (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/24/2015 - COQUITLAM, BRITISH COLUMBIA, WA
MY SON WAS DRIVING AND HE PARALLEL PARKED SO HE COULD RUN INTO A STORE. I STAYED IN THE CAR. WHEN HE RETURNED HE PUT IT IN GEAR AND SIGNALLED TO PULL OUT. SUDDENLY, THERE WAS A LOUD POPPING SOUND AND WHAT SOUNDED LIKE AIR WHOOSHING OUT OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. HE ATTEMPTED TO APPLY THE BRAKE AND HE SAID IT FELT LIKE SOMETHING WAS STOPPING IT FROM GOING DOWN. IN FACT, HE IMMEDIATELY STOPPED AND GOT OUT OF THE CAR TO CHECK. EVERY TIME HE ATTEMPTED TO DEPRESS THE PEDAL, IT MADE THE AIR SOUND AGAIN. FORTUNATELY, WE WERE ONLY A COUPLE OF BLOCKS FROM HOME. WE DROVE SLOWLY, RUNNING STOP SIGNS AND USING THE E-BRAKE AND DOWNSHIFTING WHEN NECESSARY. CALLED THE DEALER. THEY SENT A FLAT DECK TO PICK IT UP. THEY TELL US THAT FLUID LEAKED INTO THE BRAKE BOOSTER. OUR NEW CAR IS NOW IN THE SHOP FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG. WE BOUGHT A NEW CAR SO THESE KINDS OF THINGS WOULDN'T HAPPEN. NOW WE ARE CARLESS, WITH A BUSY, FULL WORK WEEK FOR US BOTH COMING UP. MY HUSBAND REQUIRES A RELIABLE CAR FOR HIS WORK. WHAT IS DODGE GOING TO DO TO REIMBURSE US FOR THE INCONVENIENCE AND POTENTIAL DANGER THEY PUT US IN WITH THIS DEFECT?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - BRISTOL, CT
THE FUSE THAT POWERS THE REAR BACKUP CAMERA FAILED TWICE WITHIN ONE YEAR. THIS PARTICULAR FUSE IS BURIED SOMEWHERE IN THE DASH AND REQUIRES TREMENDOUS TIME AND EFFORT TO CHANGE. LUCKILY I WAS UNDER WARRANTY BOTH TIMES BUT NO MORE. I AM CONCERNED IT WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN OUTSIDE THE WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - GRANITE CITY, IL
I PURCHASED MY 2013 DODGE DART ON AUGUST 9, 2013 FROM FEDERICO CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP IN WOOD RIVER IL. WITHIN 4 MOS ON DECEMBER 11, 2013, I HAD MY CAR IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY MIDDLE CONSOLE WAS INOP. AFTER CHECKING IT THEY DETERMINED THE CONSOLE NEEDED REPLACING. TWO MONTHS LATER ON FEBRUARY 11, 2014 I HAD MY CAR IN A SECOND TIME FOR MIDDLE CONSOLE. THIS TIME THEY INSTALLED AN INTEGRATED STACK. THEN, 9 MOS LATER ON NOVEMBER 21, 2014 A THIRD TIME I HAD MY CAR IN AGAIN FOR MIDDLE CONSOLE NOT OPERATING PROPERLY. THIS WAS MY FIRST CONTACT TO DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND WAS ASSIGNED A CUSTOMER CARE MANAGER. I ASKED IF MY CAR WOULD BE CONSIDERED FOR LEMON LAW AND WAS TOLD CHRYSLER WAS INTERSTED IN BUYING MY CAR BACK AND WAS GIVEN A MOPAR WARRANTY IN DEDUCTIBLE OF $100 AND AT TIME CAR HAD OVER 34,000 AND WARRANTY EXPIRES AT 60,000. THEN JUST THIS PAST APRIL 2ND OF 2015 I HAD MY CAR IN SHOP AT CASSENS AND SONS IN EDWARDSVILLE, IL AGAIN BECAUSE MIDDLE CONSOLE WAS NOT OPERATING PROPERLY. THEY DOWNLOADED AN UPDATE PER STAR. I WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR $100 DEDUCTIBLE. I THEN WENT ON A TRIP TO NEW ORLEANS, LA AND WHILE ON MY TRIP THE MIDDLE CONSOLE WAS NOT OPERATING PROPERLY. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AGAIN WAS ASSIGNED A CASE MANAGER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD GET TO THE BOTTOM OF THE ISSUE. SO, I TOOK MY CAR IN ON APRIL 29TH THE SOONEST I COULD GET IT IN AND AFTER 8 HOURS AT SERVICE WAS CALLED AND TOLD THAT STAR COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHY IT WAS HAPPENING AND SINCE THEY COULDN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM NOT TO REPLACE ANY NEW PARTS. AFTER HEARING THIS NEWS I WAS CALLED AND JOHN CUSTOMER CARE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT CHRYSLER WOULDN'T INIATATE THE LEMON LAW THAT I WOULD TO DO SO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - GRANITE CITY, IL
I PURCHASED MY 2013 DODGE DART ON AUGUST 9, 2013 FROM FEDERICO CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP IN WOOD RIVER IL. WITHIN 4 MOS ON DECEMBER 11, 2013, I HAD MY CAR IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY MIDDLE CONSOLE WAS INOP. AFTER CHECKING IT THEY DETERMINED THE CONSOLE NEEDED REPLACING. TWO MONTHS LATER ON FEBRUARY 11, 2014 I HAD MY CAR IN A SECOND TIME FOR MIDDLE CONSOLE. THIS TIME THEY INSTALLED AN INTEGRATED STACK. THEN, 9 MOS LATER ON NOVEMBER 21, 2014 A THIRD TIME I HAD MY CAR IN AGAIN FOR MIDDLE CONSOLE NOT OPERATING PROPERLY. THIS WAS MY FIRST CONTACT TO DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND WAS ASSIGNED A CUSTOMER CARE MANAGER. I ASKED IF MY CAR WOULD BE CONSIDERED FOR LEMON LAW AND WAS TOLD CHRYSLER WAS INTERSTED IN BUYING MY CAR BACK AND WAS GIVEN A MOPAR WARRANTY IN DEDUCTIBLE OF $100 AND AT TIME CAR HAD OVER 34,000 AND WARRANTY EXPIRES AT 60,000. THEN JUST THIS PAST APRIL 2ND OF 2015 I HAD MY CAR IN SHOP AT CASSENS AND SONS IN EDWARDSVILLE, IL AGAIN BECAUSE MIDDLE CONSOLE WAS NOT OPERATING PROPERLY. THEY DOWNLOADED AN UPDATE PER STAR. I WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR $100 DEDUCTIBLE. I THEN WENT ON A TRIP TO NEW ORLEANS, LA AND WHILE ON MY TRIP THE MIDDLE CONSOLE WAS NOT OPERATING PROPERLY. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER AGAIN WAS ASSIGNED A CASE MANAGER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD GET TO THE BOTTOM OF THE ISSUE. SO, I TOOK MY CAR IN ON APRIL 29TH THE SOONEST I COULD GET IT IN AND AFTER 8 HOURS AT SERVICE WAS CALLED AND TOLD THAT STAR COULDN'T FIGURE OUT WHY IT WAS HAPPENING AND SINCE THEY COULDN'T DUPLICATE PROBLEM NOT TO REPLACE ANY NEW PARTS. AFTER HEARING THIS NEWS I WAS CALLED AND JOHN CUSTOMER CARE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT CHRYSLER WOULDN'T INIATATE THE LEMON LAW THAT I WOULD TO DO SO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/20/2015 - STRASBURG, VA
THE HORN FAILS TO HONK QUICKLY AND RELIABLY WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL HORN SWITCH IS PRESSED. TO EXPLAIN WHAT THIS IS LIKE, WHEN YOU WANT TO "DOUBLE TAP" THE HORN TO SIGNIFY TO A FRIEND IN A PARKING LOT, OR AS OFTEN HAPPENS WHEN I'M DRIVING TO SIGNAL TO ANOTHER DRIVER A "DOUBLE QUICK HONK" OF CONCERN. IF THE HORN SOUNDS, ITS EITHER A SINGLE SHORT BLAST OR EXTRA LONG BLAST. THE CAUSE OF THIS, IS THAT THE HORN SWITCH GOES TO ONE DBUS CONTROLLER THAT MUST CYCLE THROUGH THE INPUTS, ONCE THIS FIRST CONTROLLER SEES THE HORN SWITCH ACTIVE * THEN SENDS A SIGNAL ON TO ANOTHER CONTROL MODULE, THIS ONE TOO OPERATES ON A DATABUS/SCAN TYPE SYSTEM, AND SO HAS TO CYCLE THROUGH ITS INPUTS UNTIL IT HAPPENS UPON THE "HORN SWITCH ACTIVE" SIGNAL, AND THEN THE SECOND MODULE ACTIVATES THE HORN RELAY TO SEND CURRENT TO THE HORN. BECAUSE BOTH DATABUSS SCANS ARE SO SLOW, IT EITHER MISSES THE HORN PRESS INITIALLY, OR WHEN IT PICKS UP ON THE HORN SWITCH PRESS, IT FAILS TO SEE THE SWITCH HAS BEEN RELEASED FOR UNTIL THE 1ST MODULE HAS CYCLED BACK TO THE INPUT, .. AND AGAIN THE SAME HAPPENS WITH THE 2ND MODULE. IN THREE CASES NOW, ITS CAUSED ROAD RAGE, WHEN THE OTHER DRIVER THOUGH I WAS "LAYING ON" THE HORN, WHEN ALL I ATTEMPTED WAS A DOUBLE TAP, BECAUSE THEY WERE ENCROACHING ON MY LANE AS I WAS PASSING AND WANTED TO MAKE SURE THEY DIDN'T HIT ME. THE HORN IS AN INSTRUMENT FOR WARNING, AND ITS OBVIOUS WHEN SOMEONE ATTEMPTS TO PISS SOMEONE ELSE OFF BY HOLDING DOWN ON THE HORN SWITCH .. WHERE A DOUBLE TAP IS USUALLY TAKEN AS A CAUTIONARY ALERT, AND FOR THE HORN NOT TO FUNCTION RELIABLY EVERY TIME AND WITH THE SPEED THAT A HUMAN CAN PRESS THE HORN SWITCH, IS AN ABSOLUTE FAILURE ON DODGE'S PART TO HAVE A SAFETY DEVICE OPERATING PROPERLY. THIS HAPPENS EVERY DAY, ALL THE TIME, AND I'M TOLD BY OTHERS, THAT ITS LIKE THIS NOW ACROSS ALL OF DODGE'S FLEET, THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW AND SHOULD BE REPAIRED!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/20/2015 - STRASBURG, VA
THE HORN FAILS TO HONK QUICKLY AND RELIABLY WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL HORN SWITCH IS PRESSED. TO EXPLAIN WHAT THIS IS LIKE, WHEN YOU WANT TO "DOUBLE TAP" THE HORN TO SIGNIFY TO A FRIEND IN A PARKING LOT, OR AS OFTEN HAPPENS WHEN I'M DRIVING TO SIGNAL TO ANOTHER DRIVER A "DOUBLE QUICK HONK" OF CONCERN. IF THE HORN SOUNDS, ITS EITHER A SINGLE SHORT BLAST OR EXTRA LONG BLAST. THE CAUSE OF THIS, IS THAT THE HORN SWITCH GOES TO ONE DBUS CONTROLLER THAT MUST CYCLE THROUGH THE INPUTS, ONCE THIS FIRST CONTROLLER SEES THE HORN SWITCH ACTIVE * THEN SENDS A SIGNAL ON TO ANOTHER CONTROL MODULE, THIS ONE TOO OPERATES ON A DATABUS/SCAN TYPE SYSTEM, AND SO HAS TO CYCLE THROUGH ITS INPUTS UNTIL IT HAPPENS UPON THE "HORN SWITCH ACTIVE" SIGNAL, AND THEN THE SECOND MODULE ACTIVATES THE HORN RELAY TO SEND CURRENT TO THE HORN. BECAUSE BOTH DATABUSS SCANS ARE SO SLOW, IT EITHER MISSES THE HORN PRESS INITIALLY, OR WHEN IT PICKS UP ON THE HORN SWITCH PRESS, IT FAILS TO SEE THE SWITCH HAS BEEN RELEASED FOR UNTIL THE 1ST MODULE HAS CYCLED BACK TO THE INPUT, .. AND AGAIN THE SAME HAPPENS WITH THE 2ND MODULE. IN THREE CASES NOW, ITS CAUSED ROAD RAGE, WHEN THE OTHER DRIVER THOUGH I WAS "LAYING ON" THE HORN, WHEN ALL I ATTEMPTED WAS A DOUBLE TAP, BECAUSE THEY WERE ENCROACHING ON MY LANE AS I WAS PASSING AND WANTED TO MAKE SURE THEY DIDN'T HIT ME. THE HORN IS AN INSTRUMENT FOR WARNING, AND ITS OBVIOUS WHEN SOMEONE ATTEMPTS TO PISS SOMEONE ELSE OFF BY HOLDING DOWN ON THE HORN SWITCH .. WHERE A DOUBLE TAP IS USUALLY TAKEN AS A CAUTIONARY ALERT, AND FOR THE HORN NOT TO FUNCTION RELIABLY EVERY TIME AND WITH THE SPEED THAT A HUMAN CAN PRESS THE HORN SWITCH, IS AN ABSOLUTE FAILURE ON DODGE'S PART TO HAVE A SAFETY DEVICE OPERATING PROPERLY. THIS HAPPENS EVERY DAY, ALL THE TIME, AND I'M TOLD BY OTHERS, THAT ITS LIKE THIS NOW ACROSS ALL OF DODGE'S FLEET, THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW AND SHOULD BE REPAIRED!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/20/2015 - STRASBURG, VA
CLUTCH PEDAL DEPRESSED AND WOULD NOT RETURN TO NORMAL POSITION. PRESSING DOWN ON CLUTCH PEDAL WOULD NOT DISENGAGE THE CLUTCH FROM THE FLYWHEEL SO CONTINUED TO ATTEMPT TO MOVE FORWARD REQUIRING FOOT MORE STRONGLY ON THE BRAKES. THIS WASN'T THE ONLY TIME, AND SEEMS TO OCCUR AFTER THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN SITTING A FEW HOURS. ITS GETTING FREQUENT ENOUGH THAT I'M GOING TO TRY TO TRADE THE VEHICLE IN. I DON'T TRUST CHRYSLER/DODGE PRODUCTS ANY MORE AND THEIR QUALITY IS GOING DOWN HILL WITH THEIR DRIVE BY WIRE VEHICLES. FOR THE RECORD, 90% OF MY MILEAGE IS ALL HIGHWAY AND I DON'T "POP" THE CLUTCH TO PEAL OUT AT STOP LIGHTS AND THE LIKE. SEARCHES OF THE INTERNET ARE FINDING MORE AND MORE POSTS WITH CLUTCH AND TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2015 - WOODBRIDGE , VA
I WENT TO GET IN MY CAR TO GO TO WORK AND WHEN I STARTED MY CAR THE CLUTCH PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND WOULD NOT COME BACK UP. THE VEHICLE GOT STUCK IN FIRST GEAR UNTILL I MANUALLY BENT DOWN AND PULLED THE CLUTCH PEDAL UP AND TURNED THE CAR OFF SEVERAL TIMES. WHEN I SOPKE TO DODGE THEY ACTED LIKE THEY HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS ISSUE (WHICH I KNOW IS NOT TRUE FROM VARIOUS FORUMS AND COMPLAINTS IVE SEEN). NOW I AM WORRIED ABOUT THE SAFTEY OF THE CAR BECASUE IF THIS HAPPENS WHILE IM ON THE ROAD AND NOT PARKED I OR SOMEONE COULD GET SERIOUSLY INJURED. THE DODGE DEALER I SPOKE WITH SAID TO FIX THE ISSUE I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE MASTER CYLINDER, SLAVE CYLINDER, AND REPLACE THE CLUTCH. I DONT FEEL I SHOULD HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THIS THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/12/2015 - BOURBAN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE BRAKES SOUNDED AS IF AIR WERE PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/7/2015 - SAINT CHARLES, MO
PLACING SUN GUARD UP ON THE DASH. WHEN FLIPPING DOWN THE SUN VISORS TO HOLD THE SUN GUARD IN PLACE, THE PASSENGER SIDE VISOR BROKE AND DROPPED RIGHT OUT OF THE ROOF AND DANGLING BY WIRING HARNESS. DUE TO THE RANDOM BROKEN COMPONENT, THE VISOR CANNOT BE SAFELY UP AND IS VISIBLE DISTRACTION TO THE DRIVER WHEN CHECKING THE PASSENGER SIDE BLIND SPOT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds