Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DART - 2013 DODGE DART Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 191 complaints filed for the 2013 DODGE DART

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 DODGE DART. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 DODGE DART, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (67) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (41) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (26) Tires (17) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2015 - ENUMCLAW, WA
BATTERY IS FAULTY WHEN IT IS SLIGHTLY CHARGED THE CAR WILL TURN ON AND SEND THE GAUGES FLIPPING OVER TO THE RIGHT AND BACK TO THE LEFT AGAIN WHILE THE ENGINE REEVES. WHEN THE BATTERY IS TOTALLY DEAD THE CAR WONT TURN ON AT ALL. WHEN THE BATTERY IS ALMOST DEAD THE DOORS WILL NOT UNLOCK WITHOUT USING THE KEY AND THEN THAT SETS OFF THE ALARM.

View Details

ENGINE

2/24/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 DODGE DART. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE ENGINE WAS ON AND THE DRIVER WAS OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED FROM PARK TO REVERSE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE JUMPED A CURB AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE CONTACT DID NOT DISCLOSE IF A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,306.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/19/2015 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
PURCHASED CAR BRAND NEW. HAVE DRIVEN MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS FOR 40 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER RUINED A CLUTCH OR ANY PART OF THE TRANSMISSION. I WAS DRIVING ALL THE ROAD AND GOING UP A HILL AND ATTEMPTED TO DOWNSHIFT TO GET UP THE STEEP HILL. THE CLUTCH WENT DOWN TO THE FLOOR AND THE SHIFTER WOULDN'T ALLOW ANY SHIFTING. I VEERED OFF THE ROAD AND CALL TOW TRUCK. I HAD CAR TOWED TO LANDMARK DODGE, MORROW, GA 30260, AND AFTER WEEKS THEY SAY THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION WAS BURNED UP AND BROKEN INTO PIECES?? WELL, 1ST WEEK THEY ORDERED WRONG PART, 3 WEEK THEY SAID THEY HAD TO REMOVE THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION AND TODAY (4 WEEKS LATER) THEY SAID THEY FEEL IT IS A CASE OF CUSTOMER ABUSE AND WANT 1500.00 TO REPAIR. I TOLD THEM UP FRONT A CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN LOOKED AT THE ISSUE PRIOR TO ME HAVING PULLED TO THEM AND HE SAID, "THIS IS DEFECTIVE". HE ALSO PRINTED OUT INFO FROM THE INTERNET OF OTHER DODGE DART 2012-2013 WITH THE VERY SAME ISSUE. CLUTCH TO THE FLOOR, AND EVEN A CLASS ACTION SUIT. I WILL HAVE TO GET IT FIXED (BUT NOT AT LANDMARK). JULIE @1-800-992-1997 CHRYSLER, TOOK HOWARD MORRIS' , SERVICE DIRECTOR, LANDMARK DODGE, WORD THAT IT LOOKS LIKE I BURNED UP THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION AND THAT I WOULD NEED TO HAVE IT TOWED, AT MY EXPENSE, TO ANOTHER DODGE DEALER BECAUSE LANDMARK WASN'T CERTIFIED TO WORK ON DODGES. I KEEP THINKING ABOUT THE DUMP TRUCK RIGHT ON MY REAR WHO NEARLY RAN ME OFF THE ROAD DUE TO LOSS IN SHIFTING POWER. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN LETHAL AND OTHERS ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2015 - KETTERING, OH
SMELLING COOLANT FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I DON'T SEE A SIGN . IT DOESN'T SMELLL NEAR OVER FLOW.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2015 - VANCOUVER, WA
WHILE PULLED OVER IN A PARKING LOT, I HAD THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED. AS I MOVED MY FOOT FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL THE ENGINE QUITE RAPIDLY REVVED TO THE POINT THAT IT BURIED THE TACHOMETER'S NEEDLE. I IMMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE DOWN AND THE CABIN WAS FILLED WITH THE SMELL OF BURNT TRANS-AXLE FLUID. WHEN I RE-STARTED THE ENGINE, IT WAS PERFECT AGAIN. THE VEHICLE DID NOT LUNGE FORWARD, SO THE TRANS-AXLE APPEARED TO IGNORE THAT IT WAS IN DRIVE. I HAVE CALLED MY DEALERSHIP TO REPORT THE INCIDENT AND SEE IF THEY KNEW ANYTHING ABOUT A RUMORED SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2015 - VANCOUVER, WA
WHILE PULLED OVER IN A PARKING LOT, I HAD THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED. AS I MOVED MY FOOT FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL THE ENGINE QUITE RAPIDLY REVVED TO THE POINT THAT IT BURIED THE TACHOMETER'S NEEDLE. I IMMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE DOWN AND THE CABIN WAS FILLED WITH THE SMELL OF BURNT TRANS-AXLE FLUID. WHEN I RE-STARTED THE ENGINE, IT WAS PERFECT AGAIN. THE VEHICLE DID NOT LUNGE FORWARD, SO THE TRANS-AXLE APPEARED TO IGNORE THAT IT WAS IN DRIVE. I HAVE CALLED MY DEALERSHIP TO REPORT THE INCIDENT AND SEE IF THEY KNEW ANYTHING ABOUT A RUMORED SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/31/2015 - EL DORADO, KS
THIS IS THE SECOND COMPLAINT I HAVE FILED ON THIS PROBLEM. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK IT TO DEALER THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED AND THAT OBVIOUSLY WAS NOT THE CASE. WENT TO START MY CAR AND IT WOULD NOT START OR TURN OVER. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS IT STARTED BUT THE CEL WAS ILLUMINATED AND THE LIGHTS ON THE GEAR SHIFT WERE RED. JUST AS LAST TIME THE DEALER HAD NO ANSWERS FOR ME. I STARTED DOING MY ON RESEARCH AND BLOGGING AND SPOKE TO MORE THAN TWO OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAS SAME ISSUE. THEY BOTH ADVISED IT WAS THE TCM. I CALLED AND TOLD MY SERVICE ADVISOR AND HE TOLD ME THAT WAS NOT CORRECT. I THEN PROVIDED HIM WITH AN INVOICE NUMBER AND DEALERSHIP NAME WHERE ONE OF THE PEOPLE TOLD ME THEIR CAR WAS FIXED. WHEN I CALLED BACK LATER THE ADVISOR TOLD ME I WAS CORRECT AND THEY WOULD BE REPLACING THE TCM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/31/2015 - EL DORADO, KS
I STOPPED AND TURNED VEHICLE OFF. IT WOULD NOT START OR EVEN TURN OVER. TRIED WITH REMOTE AND KEY BOTH. EVENTUALLY STARTED BUT CEL WAS ILLUMINATED. THE LIGHTS ON THE GEARSHIFT WERE ALSO ILLUMINATED RED. TOOK THE DEALER AND THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE PROBLEM. WHEN I PICKED IT UP THEY DROVE IT ONTO SHOP FLOOR AND TURNED IT OFF. IT WOULD NOT START AGAIN. THEY SAID THERE WAS A LOSS OF COMMUNICATION WITH TCM. ADVISED THEY DID PROXY ALIGNMENT (ALIGNED ALL MODULES INLINE WITH EACH OTHER). I KNEW THIS WAS NOT GOING TO WORK AND HAD MORE ISSUES WITH VEHICLE NOT STARTING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/31/2015 - EL DORADO, KS
I KEPT SMELLING EXHAUST FUMES INSIDE OF THE CABIN OF VEHICLE. I NOTICED THEM MOSTLY AFTER COMING TO A STOP AND THEN ACCELERATING. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS JUST NEW CAR BURN OFF. THE FINAL STRAW WAS SOMETIME I BELIEVE IN APRIL ON RAINY DAY. THE FUMES WERE SO BAD THEY WERE BURNING MY EYES AND MAKING ME SICK. TOOK IT TO A FRIEND AND THEY SAID GET TO SHOP IMMEDIATELY. DEALER DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO. THERE WAS A GENTLEMAN THERE AND HE SHOWED THEM A DART FORUM STATING THE ISSUE WAS A A CLAMP NOT WELDED PROPERLY. THEY THEN FOUND THE LEAK AND FIXED IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/26/2015 - LEXINGTON PARK, MD
ON 12/16/2014 THE VEHICLE FLASHED A "SERVICE TRANSMISSION" INDICATOR UPON TURNING THE CAR OFF THE CAR WOULD NOT START AND THE GEAR INDICATORS ALL TURNED RED SHOWING NO AVAILABLE GEARS. AFTER A SHORT TIME WITH THE VEHICLE OFF THE VEHICLE STARTED AGAIN BUT THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT WAS ON. IT WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL SERVICE CENTER WHERE THEY STATED THAT IT NEEDED SOME REPROGRAMMING. ON 01/22/2015 THE SAME ISSUE OCCURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK IN FOR SERVICE. UPON LOOKING AT THE CAR I WAS INFORMED NO INDICATORS WERE SHOWING AND THEIR WERE NO DIAGNOSTIC CODES (SOMEHOW THE CAR MYSTERIOUSLY LOST THEM). 01/25/2015 THE ISSUE OCCURRED AGAIN AND IS PRESENTLY AWAITING SERVICE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds