Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 679 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (103) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (69)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (26)
Electrical System (87) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (128) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (57)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (48) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (12)
Engine (221) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Steering (48) Unknown Or Other (35)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/22/2017 - SPICELAND, IN
I AM EXPERIENCING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM WITH MY 2013 FORD F-150 XLT AS THOSE THAT HAVE BEEN RECALLED IN THE 2011 AND 2012 MODELS. MY TRUCK WAS ALSO BUILT IN DEARBORN, MICHIGAN AND HAS THE 6R80 TRANSMISSION. I TOOK MY TRUCK INTO THE DEALERSHIP THIS WEEK TO FIND THAT THE LEAD FRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER IS REPLACING THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE AND THE LEAD FRAME AT MY COST OF $1,362 . THE PROBLEM: A PROBLEM WITH THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR ON THE VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION LEAD FRAME COULD CAUSE THE TRANSMISSION CONTROLS TO FORCE A TEMPORARY DOWNSHIFT INTO 1ST GEAR. DEPENDING ON THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME OF THE DOWNSHIFT, THE DRIVER COULD EXPERIENCE AN ABRUPT SPEED REDUCTION THAT COULD CAUSE THE REAR TIRES TO SLIDE OR LOCK UP, RESULTING IN LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL AND INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. EARLIER THIS WEEK ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, MY TRUCK WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR AFTER COMING TO A STOP. I WAS NEARLY INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS PROBLEM WHEN I WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP LIGHT AND THERE WAS NO PLACE FOR ME TO PULL OVER. THE PROBLEM ONLY CORRECTS ITSELF WHEN I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART IT.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2017 - NEW BRAUNFELS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FAILED TO FUNCTION AND THE EPS WARNING INDICATOR FLASHED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER, BUT IT WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/19/2017 - ELK GROVE, CA
SUDDEN FAILURE OF BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER WITHOUT WARNING DURING NORMAL DRIVING IN THE CITY. THIS BRAKE FAILURE CAUSED ME TO DRIVE OFF THE ROAD IN ORDER TO AVOID COLLIDING WITH STOPPED VEHICLES. THIS IS THE EXACT ISSUE THAT IS INCLUDED IN RECALL # 16S24, HOWEVER THIS RECALL DOES NOT CURRENTLY INCLUDE MY VEHICLE. THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER SUDDENLY LEAKED ALL FLUID INTO THE BRAKE BOOSTER AS DESCRIBED IN RECALL # 16S24 CAUSING THE BRAKES TO STOP WORKING COMPLETELY, EVEN WITH THE PEDAL COMPLETELY DEPRESSED. I AM CONFIDENT THE SAME DEFECTIVE PART/SEAL/ASSEMBLY THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE RECALLED VEHICLES WAS INSTALLED ON MY TRUCK, CAUSING THE SAME ISSUE WHEN THE PART FAILED. FORD HAS DENIED HELPING ME WITH THIS ISSUE, AND I HAVE A BILL FROM DOWNTOWN FORD IN SACRAMENTO, CA IN THE AMOUNT OF $1009.35 FOR THE REPAIRS RELATED TO THIS DEFECTIVE PART.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/19/2017 - HOMOSASSA, FL
BRAKES WENT COMPLETELY OUT WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, HAD TO USE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO FINALLY STOP TRUCK. FOUND OUT THERE IS A RECALL FOR 2013-2014 FORD F-150 FOR THIS PROBLEM, HOWEVER, FORD DID TAKE A REPORT TODAY, BUT, THEY SAID THIS TRUCK WAS NOT UNDER THE RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS MADE ON 9-19-2012 AND THE ONES UNDER THE RECALL #16V345000 WERE BUILT IN 2013. FUNNY THAT THIS IS THE EXACT PROBLEM YET NOT CONSIDERED PART OF THIS RECALL. THE REPAIR INVOLVED REPLACING THE MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER AND THE BRAKE BOOSTER WHICH COST $1193.25. WE WERE LUCKY NO ONE WAS INJURED OR WORSE. JUST HOPE THEY DO A VERY GOOD INVESTIGATION AND HOPE THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE WHO'S VEHICLE WAS BUILT IN 2012. THE OTHER NOTE IS, THE OIL DID NOT LEAK OUT ONTO THE GROUND, SO NO VISIBLE PROBLEM WAS SEEN, THE OIL WENT INTO THE BOOSTER. I TRULY BELIEVE THAT THIS VEHICLE SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALL # 16V345000. - SHARON H., HOMOSASSA, US

View Details

ENGINE

6/10/2017 - MCHENRY, IL
3.5 ECO-BOOST ENGINE ON TWO OCCASIONS PUT ME IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION BY CAUSING A LOSS OF THROTTLE RESPONSE. EACH TIME THIS HAPPENED A "WRENCH ICON" FLASHED WITH A LOSS OF POWER. NO THROTTLE RESPONSE UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS SHUT DOWN AND RESTARTED. WHEN THESE INCIDENTS HAPPENED I WAS TOWING A TRAILER AT HIGHWAY SPEED AND HAD A DIFFICULT TIME PULLING OUT OF TRAFFIC ONTO THE SHOULDER. EACH TIME THIS HAPPENED A TROUBLE CODE OF P2112 WAS SET AND THE CEL CAME ON. THE THROTTLE BODY HAD TO BE REPLACED EACH TIME. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED I HAD 23131 MILES AND FORD REPLACED THE PART UNDER WARRANTY, THE SECOND OCCURRENCE WAS AT 45558 MILES AND I HAD TO COVER THE COST FOR REPLACEMENT. WITH THE LOSS OF POWER AT HIGHWAY SPEED THIS COULD LEAD TO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT IN NOT BEING ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC AT A CRITICAL MOMENT. THE FORD SERVICE MANAGERS CAN'T GIVE ME A REASON WHY THIS PART IS FAILING.

View Details

STEERING

6/2/2017 - ELKRIDGE, MD
COMPLETE FAILURE OF POWER STEERING. MULTIPLE FAULT LIGHTS. HILL DECENT FAULT, ADVANCED TRACK SERVICE FAULT, STEERING ASSIST FAULT, AND A COUPLE MORE. WHOLE DRIVING, I WENT YOU MAKE A LEFT TURN. TURNED THE WHEEL ABOUT 3/4 AROUND AND IT "POPPED" BACK TO THE RIGHT AND THEN RELEASED ALLOWING ME TO MAKE THE TURN. ONCE I STOPPED THE TRUCK AND TURNED IT OFF, I STARTED THE TRUCK AGAIN AND WENT TO TURN THE WHEEL BUT IT WOULD ONLY SQUEAL WHEN I TRIED TO TURN THE WHEEL. WOULD NOT ALLOW ME TO TURN AT ALL. TURNED THE TRUCK OFF AGAIN AND RESTARTED IT. NO POWER STEERING AT ALL NOW. DEALER SAYS PROBABLY AROUND $2000 TO FIX. VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/1/2017 - ESSEX, MD
"FUEL FILL INLET" MY TRUCK RECENTLY DISPLAYED A WARNING THAT SAYS "CHECK FUEL FILL INLET". I'VE SEARCHED THE INTERNET AND MANY FORD OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCE THIS ISSUE ACROSS SEVERAL MODELS. I'VE CHECKED THE INLET AND IT IS CLOSED AS IT SHOULD BE, I'VE CLEANED THE AREA IN AND AROUND WHERE THE FUEL NOZEL GOES AND THERE IS NO DEBRIS. THIS WARNING CAUSES THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT TO COME ON AND THUS GENERATES AN "EVAPORATIVE EMISSIONS" CODE. THE " CHECK FUEL FILL INLET" WARNING INTERMITTENTLY DOESN'T COME ON AND THUS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT GOES OFF AND I'M ABLE TO USE MY REMOTE START. WHEN IT COMES ON I AM NOT ABLE T REMOTE START MY VEHICLE. MY VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, PARKED IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE. I GOT IN TO START IT AND THE LIGHT JUST CAME ON. IT IS NOT AN ISSUE THAT FORD IS UNAWARE OF AND FORD OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE FOR NEARLY 10 YEARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/31/2017 - GUTHRIE, OK
BATTERY DRAINS DOWN WHEN OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. SOMETIMES OVER NIGHT, SOMETIMES OVER 2-3 DAYS. CHANGED BATTERY AND IT DRAINS DOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/30/2017 - SUGAR HILL, GA
THE TRUCK WAS PARKED, WHEN I STARTED THE TRUCK THE LOW BRAKE FLUID LIGHT CAME ON AND THE PADDLE WENT TO THE FLOOR. ADDED BRAKE FLUID AND THE SAME RESULT, LOW BRAKE FLUID LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF FLUID LEAK UNDER THE TRUCK. HAD IT TOWED TO FORD DEALER. THEY STATED I NEEDED MASTER CYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/29/2017 - MOREAUVILLE, LA
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION UNEXPECTEDLY DOWNSHIFTED TO FIRST GEAR WHILE TRAVELING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 50 MPH SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING CAUSING THE REAR TIRES TO SLIDE AND LOCK, AND THE CONTROL PANEL INSIDE THE VEHICLE IS BLINKED OUT NOT SHOWING ANYTHING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds