Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 204 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (46) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (6) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (129) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/18/2014 - TUTTLE, OK
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A GRINDING SOUND AND THE VEHICLE WAS HARD TO STEER. SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE'S STEERING GEAR WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000. MF

View Details

ENGINE

8/13/2014 - NASHVILLE, IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE MISFIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,200. RK

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/12/2014 - SAN ANTONIO , TX
LOUD SCREECHING. TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD TO TAKE MY TRUCK TO FORD. MY CALIPERS MAY BE CALIBRATED INCORRECTLY. THE WHEELS WERE TAKEN OFF AND THE DRIVERS SIDE BRAKES WERE ENGRAVED DUE TO THE METAL ON METAL BRAKING. MY FINGER WOULD BE ABLE TO FIT INTO THE THE DEEP ENGRAVED SCRATCH ON THAT BRAKE. THE PASSENGER SIDE WAS NOT THE SAME BUT THE MECHANIC SAID THAT IT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN SOON IF IT'S NOT TAKEN CARE OF QUICKLY. I WAS TOLD THAT THE BRAKES, BRAKE PAD AND ROTORS WERE COMPLETELY RUINED. TO MY AMAZEMENT THE DASH BOARD CONTROLS STATE THAT MY BRAKES ARE FINE. MY MECHANIC SAID THIS IS A MANUFACTURES DEFECT AND NEEDS TO BE SEEN BY FORD.

View Details

ENGINE

8/4/2014 - LUCAMA, NC
DRIVING IN RAINY CONDITIONS ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE MY TRUCK STARTED TO LOSE POWER, SHAKING AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED TO FLASH. AFTER GETTING OUT OF TRAFFIC TO PULL OVER CALLED MY WIFE TO BRING ME MY O.B.D HAND HELD FOUND THAT I HAD CODES P0300, P0304, P0305 AND P0306 WHICH IS FOR CYLINDERS MISFIRING . THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED IN HEAVY TRAFFIC CONDITION IT COULD EASILY CAUSE A TRAFFIC ACCIDENT, DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE BEFORE YA'LL TAKE ACTION. MY TRUCK IS AT KENLY FORD IN KENLY NORTH CAROLINA AND LIKE THE FIRST TIME THEY PLAY IT OFF LIKE I DON'T KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT AND THEY ALWAYS SAY THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. PLEASE DON'T SIT AROUND AND LET THIS PROBLEM COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE......

View Details

WHEELS

8/4/2014 - SAN JOSE , CA
SINCE APPROXIMATELY 5700 MILES, WHEN I TAKE LONG TRIPS IN THE VEHICLE (30+ MILES), THE TPMS LIGHT WILL COME ON WITH A MESSAGE SAYING ôTIRE PRESSURE SENSOR FAULT.ö IF I CONTINUE DRIVING THE LIGHT WILL EVENTUALLY TURN OFF AND OCCASIONALLY COME BACK ON IN THE TRIP. THE LIGHT HAS ALWAYS COME ON AT FREEWAY SPEEDS. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN BROUGHT INTO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT MULTIPLE TIMES WITHOUT ANY GUARANTEED FIX. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT DID REPLACE A FAULTY, NON-RESPONSIVE TPMS SENSOR, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. THE ISSUES USUALLY OCCURS AT NIGHT, BUT HAS HAPPENED IN THE DAYTIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2014 - SAN JOSE , CA
SINCE APPROXIMATELY 5700 MILES, WHEN I TAKE LONG TRIPS IN THE VEHICLE (30+ MILES), THE TPMS LIGHT WILL COME ON WITH A MESSAGE SAYING ôTIRE PRESSURE SENSOR FAULT.ö IF I CONTINUE DRIVING THE LIGHT WILL EVENTUALLY TURN OFF AND OCCASIONALLY COME BACK ON IN THE TRIP. THE LIGHT HAS ALWAYS COME ON AT FREEWAY SPEEDS. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN BROUGHT INTO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT MULTIPLE TIMES WITHOUT ANY GUARANTEED FIX. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT DID REPLACE A FAULTY, NON-RESPONSIVE TPMS SENSOR, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. THE ISSUES USUALLY OCCURS AT NIGHT, BUT HAS HAPPENED IN THE DAYTIME.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES: EXTERIOR

7/23/2014 - BINGER, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE REARVIEW MIRROR DID NOT PROVIDE PROPER VISIBILITY WHEN HAULING A TRAILER. THE MIRROR INDICATED THAT OBJECTS WERE AT A GREATER DISTANCE WHEN IN REALITY THE OBJECTS WERE CLOSER. THE FAILURE ALMOST CAUSED A CRASH. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,500.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/17/2014 - CRAWFORDVILLE, FL
SEAT BELT LATCH FAILED, CAME APART ON IMPACT.

View Details

WHEELS

7/17/2014 - BRIDGETON, MO
BAD STEERING VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY INDICATED WARPED ROTORS THAT HAD TO BE MACHINED BACK TO PROPER SURFACE - ALREADY!. VEHICLE IS ONLY A FEW MONTHS OLD, ONLY APPROX. 15K MILES. HAVE NOTICED ONLINE THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SAFETY CONCERN WITH FORD USING SUB-STANDARD BRAKE ROTOR MATERIALS. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIFT TO THE LEFT - DEALER INDICATED ALIGNMENT ISSUE, BUT REQUIRED $450 ADDITIONAL KIT IN ORDER TO ALLOW FOR ADJUSTMENT SINCE IT WAS ALREADY AT PEAK OF SPECS (VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD ALIGNMENT SINCE IT WAS NEW, VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD AN INCIDENT THAT WOULD CAUSE MISALIGNMENT). VEHICLE SEEMS UNSAFE WITH THESE ISSUES AND NOW THAT THE ROTORS ARE 'THINNER' DUE TO THE RESURFACING, THE WARPING WILL LIKELY OCCUR MORE FREQUENTLY UNTIL THEY (AND OTHER BRAKE PARTS AND/OR SUSPENSION AND STEERING PARTS) NEED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAN LEAD TO PREMATURE BRAKE, COMPONENT, SUSPENSION AND STEERING SYSTEMS WEAR AND/OR FAILURE WHICH SHOULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. FORD WOULD NOT WARRANTY THE ALIGNMENT ISSUE AND EXTRA COST NOR REPLACEMENT ROTORS BUT ONLY RESURFACE ('TURN') THE ORIGINAL ROTORS.

View Details

STEERING

7/17/2014 - BRIDGETON, MO
BAD STEERING VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY INDICATED WARPED ROTORS THAT HAD TO BE MACHINED BACK TO PROPER SURFACE - ALREADY!. VEHICLE IS ONLY A FEW MONTHS OLD, ONLY APPROX. 15K MILES. HAVE NOTICED ONLINE THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SAFETY CONCERN WITH FORD USING SUB-STANDARD BRAKE ROTOR MATERIALS. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIFT TO THE LEFT - DEALER INDICATED ALIGNMENT ISSUE, BUT REQUIRED $450 ADDITIONAL KIT IN ORDER TO ALLOW FOR ADJUSTMENT SINCE IT WAS ALREADY AT PEAK OF SPECS (VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD ALIGNMENT SINCE IT WAS NEW, VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD AN INCIDENT THAT WOULD CAUSE MISALIGNMENT). VEHICLE SEEMS UNSAFE WITH THESE ISSUES AND NOW THAT THE ROTORS ARE 'THINNER' DUE TO THE RESURFACING, THE WARPING WILL LIKELY OCCUR MORE FREQUENTLY UNTIL THEY (AND OTHER BRAKE PARTS AND/OR SUSPENSION AND STEERING PARTS) NEED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAN LEAD TO PREMATURE BRAKE, COMPONENT, SUSPENSION AND STEERING SYSTEMS WEAR AND/OR FAILURE WHICH SHOULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. FORD WOULD NOT WARRANTY THE ALIGNMENT ISSUE AND EXTRA COST NOR REPLACEMENT ROTORS BUT ONLY RESURFACE ('TURN') THE ORIGINAL ROTORS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds