Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 743 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (114) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (73)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (27)
Electrical System (101) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (149) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (56)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (54) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (13)
Engine (238) Fuel System Gasoline (21) Steering (59) Unknown Or Other (38)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/12/2017 - CONVERSE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND A CLICKING SOUND WAS HEARD IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/11/2017 - BONITA SPRINGS, FL
COMPLETE POWER ASSIST STEERING FAILURE: WHILE DRIVING ALONG A CITY STREET, I EXPERIENCED COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER STEERING, CAUSING THE DRIVER (MYSELF) TO VIRTUALLY LOSE ALL DIRECTIONAL CONTROL.. I COULD ONLY CONTROL THE VEHICLE STEERING AND BRING IT TO A STOP BY USING EXTREME PHYSICAL STRENGTH TO MANUALLY STEER THE VEHICLE.. IF MY WIFE HAD BEEN DRIVING AT THE TIME OF OCCURRENCE SHE "WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO MANUALLY STEER THE VEHICLE" AND, WOULD HAVE ALMOST CERTAINLY LOST STEERING CONTROL... I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A FORD DEALERSHIP, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.... UPON RESEARCHING THIS FAULT, I HAVE FOUND CLEAR EVIDENCE THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THE 2013 FORD F150 AND SUBSEQUENT YEARS... FORD ISSUED A RECALL ON THE 2014 F150 FOR THIS FAULT, BUT NOT FOR 2013 VEHICLES... LOSS OF POWER ASSIST STEERING WHILE DRIVING THIS SIZE OF VEHICLE IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS CONDITION TO FIND YOURSELF IN AND, MAY HAVE ALREADY BEEN THE CAUSE OF ACCIDENTS!! MY OPINION IS THAT FORD ARE VERY MUCH AWARE OF THIS STEERING FAULT, DUE TO THE FACT THAT THEY ISSUED A PARTIAL RECALL AND, THEY WANT ALL OLD STEERING RACKS THAT ARE REPLACED, SENT BACK TO THEM! I REQUESTED THE OLD STEERING RACK THAT WAS BEING REPLACED, BE RETURNED TO ME... HOWEVER, FORD INDICATED A $400 CORE CHARGE WOULD BE BILLED TO ME TO FOR KEEPING THE OLD PART! FORD NEEDS TO ISSUE A BROADER RECALL REGARDING THIS FAULT ON F150'S BEFORE MORE PEOPLE ARE INJURED OR KILLED! THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/10/2017 - BENNINGTON, NE
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH THE BRAKE SYSTEM HAZARD LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE ELECTRONIC BREAKS DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. IT WAS RAINING SLIGHTLY AND THE ROADS WERE WET. FIRST INCIDENT OF THIS HAPPENING, THE SYNC SYSTEM/ TOUCH SCREEN HAS FROZE AND NOT WORKED BOTH IN MOTION, AND STATIONARY 3 TIMES. CONCERNED THAT ALL ELECTRICAL ISSUES MAY BE RELATED. HAVE OWNED USED VEHICLE FOR 50 DAYS, JUST WENT OVER 60,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2017 - BENNINGTON, NE
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH THE BRAKE SYSTEM HAZARD LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE ELECTRONIC BREAKS DID NOT WORK PROPERLY. IT WAS RAINING SLIGHTLY AND THE ROADS WERE WET. FIRST INCIDENT OF THIS HAPPENING, THE SYNC SYSTEM/ TOUCH SCREEN HAS FROZE AND NOT WORKED BOTH IN MOTION, AND STATIONARY 3 TIMES. CONCERNED THAT ALL ELECTRICAL ISSUES MAY BE RELATED. HAVE OWNED USED VEHICLE FOR 50 DAYS, JUST WENT OVER 60,000 MILES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/10/2017 - SCOTTSVILLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND THE SHIFTER COULD NOT BE PLACED IN THE CORRECT POSITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. IN ORDER TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE, IT HAD TO BE MANUALLY RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MARSHALL FORD LINCOLN (4200 E END BLVD S, MARSHALL, TX); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 102,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/10/2017 - SCOTTSVILLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND THE SHIFTER COULD NOT BE PLACED IN THE CORRECT POSITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. IN ORDER TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE, IT HAD TO BE MANUALLY RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MARSHALL FORD LINCOLN (4200 E END BLVD S, MARSHALL, TX); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 102,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2017 - BROOKFIELD, CT
61,000 MILES POWER STEERING FAILED IN MOTION FAULT ON STEERING ANGLE SENSOR NOT SOLD HAD TO REPLACE WHOLE STEERING RACK $2000.00 NOW IN MOTION TRANSMISSION FAULT CODE P7031 FIRST GEAR SYNC WILL NOT SHIFT FROM SECOND TO FIRST WITHOUT BUCKING. DEALER SAYS TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE TAKEN APART THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND 1500 MILES OUT OF WARRANTY

View Details

STEERING

10/8/2017 - BROOKFIELD, CT
61,000 MILES POWER STEERING FAILED IN MOTION FAULT ON STEERING ANGLE SENSOR NOT SOLD HAD TO REPLACE WHOLE STEERING RACK $2000.00 NOW IN MOTION TRANSMISSION FAULT CODE P7031 FIRST GEAR SYNC WILL NOT SHIFT FROM SECOND TO FIRST WITHOUT BUCKING. DEALER SAYS TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE TAKEN APART THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND 1500 MILES OUT OF WARRANTY

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/3/2017 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
MULTIPLE SEVERE TRANSMISSION ISSUES: 1. SUDDENLY DROPPING FROM 4TH TO 1ST GEAR, CAUSING SUDDEN DECREASE IN SPEED, SCREECHING OF TIRES, AND PASSENGERS IN VEHICLE TO BE THROWN FORWARD. 2. ERRATIC SPEEDOMETER. WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, SPEEDOMETER WILL DROP AND START TO JUMP BETWEEN APPROX 15 MPH AND 65 MPH; THIS IS FOLLOWED BY A VERY LARGE CLUNKING SOUND. 3. VEHICLE STAYS IN TOO HIGH GEAR. ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION RUN IN HIGHER GEAR THAN SHOULD BE; NOISE AND VIBRATIONS CAN BE HEARD/FELT IN VEHICLE. 4. TRANSMISSION WILL NOT ENGAGE AND SHIFT INTO PROPER GEAR FROM A STOPPED POSITION. ENGINE REVS HIGH, BUT TRUCK BARELY MOVES. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE (1ST ISSUE NOTED). IT HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED BY MULTIPLE OTHER OWNERS THROUGH INTERNET SEARCHES. FORD IS AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THEIR STANDARD DIAGNOSTICS DO NOT PICK UP THE ISSUE, BUT WHEN THEY CONTACT ESCALATED SERVICE ENGINEERS FROM CORPORATE THEY TELL THE DEALER TO TRY A FEW OTHER TRICKS TO SEE IF IT IS WHAT THEY SUSPECT. THERE IS A KNOWN FLAW THAT THEY WILL NOT PUBLISH. THIS REPAIR IS SUPPOSEDLY THE WIRING HARNESS AND LEAD FRAME THAT NEEDS REPLACEMENT. HAVE HAD THE TRUCK INTO THE DEALER 7 TIMES FOR TRANSMISSION REPAIRS AND FINALLY AFTER THEM KEEPING THE TRUCK FOR 3 WEEKS THEY HAVE IDENTIFIED THE ISSUE. CUSTOMERS SERVICES SAYS THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO HELP ME BUT THEY WILL MAKE NOTE OF THE CONCERN. THERE SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL ON THIS AND I'D BE HAPPY TO PROVIDE ANY MORE INFO YOU NEED. I HAVE SERVICE RECORDS SHOWING THE TRUCK HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP MANY TIMES WITH NO SUCCESS. I DO NOT HAVE FINAL SERVICE HISTORY FROM PLATTSBURGH FORD YET, BUT WILL BY END OF THE WEEK AND CAN UPLOAD OR SEND THEN AS NEEDED. WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/3/2017 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
ON A TRIP, SEPTEMBER 20TH GOING TO THE SMOKY MOUNTAINS, OUR 2013 FORD F-150 PICKUP TRUCK SUDDENLY LOST POWER. WE WERE ON MILE MARKER 295 EASTBOUND ON INTERSTATE 40, IN THE LEFT SIDE PASSING LANE GOING ABOUT 55 MPH UP A HILL. THE ENGINE STOPPED WITH NO WARNING. THE DASH SCREEN FLASHED A PICTURE OF A WRENCH AND THEN SAID "LOW OIL PRESSURE." THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE SHOWED NO PRESSURE. I THOUGHT THE ENGINE HAD BLOWN. AS I TRIED TO NAVIGATE TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD, WHILE ON A HILL, MANY SEMI-TRUCKS SLAMMED ON THEIR BRAKES TRYING TO AVOID MY TRUCK PULLING A 5TH WHEEL TRAILER. WE MIRACULOUSLY AVOIDED A POSSIBLE MAJOR ACCIDENT. ULTIMATELY WE LEARNED IT WAS A SMALL $0.50, NUMBER 27, 20 AMP FUSE TO THE FUEL PUMP THAT CAUSED THE ENGINE TO STOP. WE WERE STUCK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD FOR 2 HOURS UNTIL WE COULD GET A TOW TRUCK FOR BOTH OUR TRUCK AND 5TH WHEEL. FORD IS AWARE OF FUSE 27 (FOR FUEL PUMP) FREQUENTLY MELTING. THEY EVEN HAVE A RELOCATION KIT TO MOVE THE FUSE WHEN IT MELTS DUE TO OVERHEATING BECAUSE OF ITS LOCATION. IN OUR CASE THIS NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT INVOLVING SEMI TRUCKS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds