Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 229 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (50)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (7) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (137) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (49)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/13/2014 - ESSEX, MD
YESTERDAY, MY TRUCK STARTED FINE WITH NO ISSUES, ALL SYSTEMS WERE FINE. THIS MORNING, 12/13/14, I WENT TO START MY TRUCK AND MY BATTERY WAS COMPLETELY DEAD. I LEFT NOTHING ON AND NOTHING PLUGGED IN. I PURCHASED A NEW BATTERY AND IT STARTED FINE ALTHOUGH THE REMOTE START (FACTORY INSTALLED) NO LONGER WORKS WHEN PRESSED, THE HORN BLOWS ONCE AND THE LIGHTS FLASH TWICE. I LOOKED OUT OF MY WINDOW A FEW MINUTES AGO AND NOTICED THAT THE WHITE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER LIGHTS ARE ON. I WENT OUT TO MAKE SURE MY TRUCK WAS LOCKED, GOT IN, STARTED THE ENGINE AND SHUT EVERYTHING OFF AGAIN BUT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER LIGHTS WON'T GO OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/13/2014 - ESSEX, MD
YESTERDAY, MY TRUCK STARTED FINE WITH NO ISSUES, ALL SYSTEMS WERE FINE. THIS MORNING, 12/13/14, I WENT TO START MY TRUCK AND MY BATTERY WAS COMPLETELY DEAD. I LEFT NOTHING ON AND NOTHING PLUGGED IN. I PURCHASED A NEW BATTERY AND IT STARTED FINE ALTHOUGH THE REMOTE START (FACTORY INSTALLED) NO LONGER WORKS WHEN PRESSED, THE HORN BLOWS ONCE AND THE LIGHTS FLASH TWICE. I LOOKED OUT OF MY WINDOW A FEW MINUTES AGO AND NOTICED THAT THE WHITE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER LIGHTS ARE ON. I WENT OUT TO MAKE SURE MY TRUCK WAS LOCKED, GOT IN, STARTED THE ENGINE AND SHUT EVERYTHING OFF AGAIN BUT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER LIGHTS WON'T GO OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - DANVILLE, CA
VEHICLE SPUTTERED AND STALLED WHILE SLOWING DOWN ON FREEWAY. AFTER TOWING TO DEALER, DEALER COULD ONLY FIND LOOSE BATTERY CABLE. 2 DAYS LATER ENGINE STALLED AGAIN WHILE ACCELERATING ON FREEWAY WITH SAME SYMPTOMS. VEHICLE WILL NOT START AND IS WITH DEALER WHO INITIALLY SAID NO ISSUES CAN BE FOUND. VEHICLE SYMPTOMS MATCH DESCRIPTION OF "LIMP MODE".

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/12/2014 - DANVILLE, CA
VEHICLE SPUTTERED AND STALLED WHILE SLOWING DOWN ON FREEWAY. AFTER TOWING TO DEALER, DEALER COULD ONLY FIND LOOSE BATTERY CABLE. 2 DAYS LATER ENGINE STALLED AGAIN WHILE ACCELERATING ON FREEWAY WITH SAME SYMPTOMS. VEHICLE WILL NOT START AND IS WITH DEALER WHO INITIALLY SAID NO ISSUES CAN BE FOUND. VEHICLE SYMPTOMS MATCH DESCRIPTION OF "LIMP MODE".

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

12/5/2014 - LANCASTER , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS BOUNCED WHILE DRIVING. AS A RESULT, THE DRIVERS VIEW OF THE ROAD BECAME OBSTRUCTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - EMERSON , NE
PURCHASED NEW 2013 FORD ECO PICKUP. IT WAS ADVERTISED AND SOLD TO BE A HIGH EFFICIENT FUEL ECONOMICAL VEHICLE. FIRST TIME TEMPERATURES DROPPED BELOW 30 DEGREES F, MY FUEL MILEAGE DRASTICALLY DROPPED. AFTER DISCUSSION WITH DEALERSHIP, THEY SEEMED TO BE AWARE OF THE AFFECT COLD AIR HAD ON ITS FUEL MILEAGE. PRIOR TO COLD WEATHER I WAS EXPERIENCING 18 TO 24 MPG. AS SOON AS COLD WEATHER ARRIVED I WAS EXPERIENCING 12 TO 14 MPG. THIS TYPE OF MILEAGE IS CONSISTENT ALL THROUGH THE WINTER UNTIL LATE SPRING. SEEMS THE 24 MPG IS UNACHIEVABLE ANYMORE. DEALERSHIP BRIEFLY EXPLAINED THE BOOSTERS WORK BEST IN WARM WEATHER. THIS INFORMATION WAS NOT OFFERED DURING THE PURCHASE PROCESS. I EVEN SHOWED THEM A MAGAZINE ARTICLE WRITTEN ON HOW FORDS ECO BOOST HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING LOWER THAN ADVERTISED MPG. THE SALESMAN ACKNOWLEDGED THE ARTICLE AND SAID THEY HAD CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD DURING A MAINTENANCE PROCESS, THAT IT HAD TO HAVE 12,000 MILES BEFORE THEY COULD TEST IT FOR LACK OF MPG. I HAD IT INSPECTED AT 11,800 MILES AND THEY CLAIM THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. MY ADVICE TO ANYONE PURCHASING A 150 ECO BOOST EXPECTING GOOD TO ABOVE AVERAGE MPG, IT WILL NOT HAPPEN.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2014 - EMERSON , NE
PURCHASED NEW 2013 FORD ECO PICKUP. IT WAS ADVERTISED AND SOLD TO BE A HIGH EFFICIENT FUEL ECONOMICAL VEHICLE. FIRST TIME TEMPERATURES DROPPED BELOW 30 DEGREES F, MY FUEL MILEAGE DRASTICALLY DROPPED. AFTER DISCUSSION WITH DEALERSHIP, THEY SEEMED TO BE AWARE OF THE AFFECT COLD AIR HAD ON ITS FUEL MILEAGE. PRIOR TO COLD WEATHER I WAS EXPERIENCING 18 TO 24 MPG. AS SOON AS COLD WEATHER ARRIVED I WAS EXPERIENCING 12 TO 14 MPG. THIS TYPE OF MILEAGE IS CONSISTENT ALL THROUGH THE WINTER UNTIL LATE SPRING. SEEMS THE 24 MPG IS UNACHIEVABLE ANYMORE. DEALERSHIP BRIEFLY EXPLAINED THE BOOSTERS WORK BEST IN WARM WEATHER. THIS INFORMATION WAS NOT OFFERED DURING THE PURCHASE PROCESS. I EVEN SHOWED THEM A MAGAZINE ARTICLE WRITTEN ON HOW FORDS ECO BOOST HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING LOWER THAN ADVERTISED MPG. THE SALESMAN ACKNOWLEDGED THE ARTICLE AND SAID THEY HAD CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD DURING A MAINTENANCE PROCESS, THAT IT HAD TO HAVE 12,000 MILES BEFORE THEY COULD TEST IT FOR LACK OF MPG. I HAD IT INSPECTED AT 11,800 MILES AND THEY CLAIM THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. MY ADVICE TO ANYONE PURCHASING A 150 ECO BOOST EXPECTING GOOD TO ABOVE AVERAGE MPG, IT WILL NOT HAPPEN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

11/17/2014 - SPRING HILL , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE SUNROOF FRACTURED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE SUNROOF WAS REPLACED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,000.

View Details

WHEELS

11/14/2014 - MILTON, WV
I BOUGHT A 2013 F-150 WITH 7 MILES ON IN 8/2013. AT 22,000 MILE THE INSIDE OF THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE WAS BALD. BOTH REAR TIRES WAS BALD IN THE CENTER. FORD SERVICE ADVISER AND THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT THE F150 TRUCKS WHERE "EATING THE TIRES OFF". THE DEALER SHIP GOT ME A CREDIT TOWARDS NEW TIRES BUT ALTHOUGH THESE WHERE FACTORY INSTALLED THEY SAID 50% WAS THE BEST THEY COULD KNOCK OFF THE PRICE. MY ALIGNMENT WAS OFF ON THE FRONT BY .01 DEGREES AND THEY SAID THEY HAD VERIFIED TIRE ROTATION HAD OCCURRED THAT IT WAS A MALFUNCTION IN THE TIRE CAUSED BY THE TRUCK.

View Details

ENGINE

10/26/2014 - BATON ROUGE, LA
PULLING OUT TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC ENGINE SHUT DOWN, ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON . NO POWER , ENGINE MISSING VERY BAD. PULL OVER TO SHOULDER KILL ENGINE WAIT AND RESTARTED. FORD SAID NO COMPUTER CODE CAME UP BUT RESET COMPUTER FOR TURBO. 2ND FORD F-150 WITH 3.5 ECOBOOST THAT HAS DONE THIS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds