Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 550 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (80) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (61)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (21)
Electrical System (58) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (111) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (40)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (11)
Engine (200) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

11/23/2016 - HAMILTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS WARMING UP IN THE MORNING, THE REAR HEATED SLIDING WINDOW EXPLODED AND SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE MANUFACTURER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEATING ELEMENT FAILED AND THE WINDOW NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/21/2016 - ERIE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED AND THERE WAS NO PEDAL MOVEMENT AT ALL. THE CONTACT HAD TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO MANUAL IN ORDER TO SLOW DOWN. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER, BUT THE DIAGNOSIS WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2016 - BIM, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A GUARDRAIL. THE SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, BUT THE FRONTAL AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT WAS EJECTED OUT OF THE VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND FACE, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/8/2016 - GREENSBORO, NC
I WAS TRAVELING ALONG I-85 ABOUT 70MPH IN MY 2013 F-150 STX 5.0 WHEN OUT OF NOWHERE THE TRUCK DOWN SHIFTED FROM OVERDRIVE TO 2 GEAR THE TRUCK STARTED WHEEL HOPPING AND BARKING THE TIRES AND WAS NEARLY UNCONTROLLABLE! I WAS ALMOST HIT IN THE REAR SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL I COULD LIMP IT TO THE SHOULDER AND IF ANYONE KNOWS THE AREA I WAS ALMOST IN CHARLOTTE NC TRAFFIC IS TERRIBLE. ONCE I GATHERED MYSELF NOTICED THE SEATBELT LIGHT CAME ON ODOMETER SHOWED 2 DOTTED LINES WITH THE A WRENCH SIGN, ALSO TRIED TO TAKE OFF AGING LITTLE POWER SPEEDOMETER WAS NOT WORKING AND WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF 2ND GEAR. I STOPPED AND CUT THE TRUCK OFF AND WAITED ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND SEEM TO BE OKAY. THE VERY NEXT DAY GOING DOWN THE HIGHWAY ABOUT 55MPH AND IT DID THE SAME THING EXCEPT THIS TIME THE BACK WHEELS SEEM TO HAVE LOCKED UP AND WHEN IT LET LOOSE I ALMOST GOT HIT TRYING TO THE SHOULDER ONCE AGAIN DID THE EXACT THINGS AS THE DAY BEFORE STILL NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I CALLED THE LOCAL DEALER AND WAS TOLD NOTHING COULD BE DONE UNTIL A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. ONCE AGAIN AFTER LETTING THE TRUCK SET FOR A BIT IT SEEMED OKAY. SO FOR ABOUT 3 DAYS IT RUN FINE AND I WAS TO LEAVE THE NEXT MORNING FOR OUT OF TOWN WORK AND MY TRUCK IS THE ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION AND JUST AS I PULLED FROM MY HOUSE IT STARTED TO ACT UP AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON JUST SO HAPPENS I LIVE NEAR A PARTS STORE CHAIN AND THE PERSON PUT THE CODE DEVICE ON AND THE CODE CAME UP WITH I BELIEVE IT WAS P 0720 WHICH WAS THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR SWITCH LOCATED IN THE TRANSMISSION.. DEALER REPAIRED AT A COST OF $987.00 THAT I PAID THAT HURT MY WALLET. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THE AGENT SAID THAT IT HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER YEARS WITH SAME CODE AND THE SAME FIX AND WOULD OPEN A CASE TO SEE IF THERE IS A WAY TO GET FORD TO PAY, SO I AM KEEPING MY FINGERS CROSSED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/6/2016 - CRETE, IL
TURNED ON DEFROSTER THIS MORNING, DRIVERS SIDE REAR GLASS SHATTERED 5 MINUTES LATER. TRAVELING AT 65 MPH, EXPRESSWAY,LIGHT TRAFFIC AND NO OUTSIDE INFLUENCE. FIRST THOUGHT ,AFTER A LOUD POP, WAS THAT MY TRUCK HAD BEEN SHOT AT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/4/2016 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
MY MASTER CYLINDER LEAKED AND CAUSE MY BREAKS TO LOCK UP ,THAT'S WHAT MY REPAIR SHOP SAID

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/1/2016 - BLAIR, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE WRENCH WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE SPEED DECREASED. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 41,770.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/31/2016 - BELLEVUE, WA
STARTED TRUCK WITH REMOTE(FOB), YESTERDAY MORNING. I NEEDED TO DEFROST MY WINDOWS AS WELL. ON MY WAY TO WORK,TWENTY MINUTES LATER, I HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN BLAST. I THOUGHT SOMEONE HAD SHOT MY TRUCK OR THREW A ROCK. I LOOKED IN MY REARVIEW WINDOW AND THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WINDOW WAS SHATTERED. I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND NO SIGNS OF IMPACT BY A FOREIGN OBJECT. THE WINDOW WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS, I SEE THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE A DEFECTIVE DEFROSTER CONTRIBUTING TO SPONTANEOUS SHATTERING OF REAR WINDOWS ON THE F150. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY'RE GIVING ME "I'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS" I'M NOT BUYING IT. ALSO, IF THIS HAD HAPPENED TODAY, MY SMALL CHILD WOULD HAVE BEEN SITTING RIGHT THERE. THIS IS NOT OKAY AND FORD SHOULD REPAIR THESE FOR CUSTOMERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2016 - BELLEVUE, WA
STARTED TRUCK WITH REMOTE(FOB), YESTERDAY MORNING. I NEEDED TO DEFROST MY WINDOWS AS WELL. ON MY WAY TO WORK,TWENTY MINUTES LATER, I HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN BLAST. I THOUGHT SOMEONE HAD SHOT MY TRUCK OR THREW A ROCK. I LOOKED IN MY REARVIEW WINDOW AND THE REAR DRIVER SIDE WINDOW WAS SHATTERED. I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND NO SIGNS OF IMPACT BY A FOREIGN OBJECT. THE WINDOW WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS, I SEE THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE A DEFECTIVE DEFROSTER CONTRIBUTING TO SPONTANEOUS SHATTERING OF REAR WINDOWS ON THE F150. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY'RE GIVING ME "I'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS" I'M NOT BUYING IT. ALSO, IF THIS HAD HAPPENED TODAY, MY SMALL CHILD WOULD HAVE BEEN SITTING RIGHT THERE. THIS IS NOT OKAY AND FORD SHOULD REPAIR THESE FOR CUSTOMERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/27/2016 - GRANADA HILLS, CA
THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY FAILED AT 40,000 MILES WHILE DRIVING THE CAR IN TRAFFIC. I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE SPEED, AS THE GAS PEDAL DID NOT RESPOND, AND THE CAR SLOWED TO ABOUT 5 MPH. I MANAGED TO GET OUT OF TRAFFIC WITHOUT A COLLISION. I CHECKED ONLINE AND FOUND THIS IS A VERY COMMON COMPLAINT FOR FORD 3.5L ENGINES. MY TRUCK HAS THE 3.5L ECO-BOOST ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds