Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 424 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (66) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (9) Visibility (16)
Electrical System (46) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (65) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (35)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (25) Wheels (11)
Engine (169) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2016 - FLOWER MOUND, TX
MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER FAILED, ALLOWING BRAKE FLUID TO ENTER BRAKE BOOSTER, RESULTING IN BRAKE FAILURE. BRAKE WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED, WAS STILL ABLE TO STOP VEHICLE, BUT BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOORBOARD.

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2016 - PINEVILLE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECOME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND HAD TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART THE ENGINE TO BE ABLE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL WHILE IN TRAFFIC. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER ASSIST SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V316000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATED FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/27/2016 - LA MESA, CA
A CRACK APPEARED ON 4/26/16 BEGINNING AT THE LOWER SEAL OF THE WINDSHIELD, AND EXTENDING ABOUT 8" UPWARD. THE CRACK WAS FIRST NOTED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY FOR APPROXIMATELY 4 HOURS. THERE ARE NO NICKS PRESENT THAT MIGHT INDICATE THIS WAS CAUSED BY ROAD DEBRIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2016 - AMARILLO, TX
ON 4/16/2016 I WAS INVOLVED IN A COLLISION. AFTER INVESTIGATING THE CAUSE, IT WAS FOUND THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER WAS LOW WITH NO VISIBLE LEAKS. WITNESS STATED THAT THEY SAW MY BRAKE LIGHTS COME ON BUT MY VEHICLE DIDN'T SLOW DOWN. I CONTACTED FORD ABOUT THIS AND THEY HAD THE "WE DON'T CARE" ATTITUDE. MY TRUCK IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, AND HAS HAD 99% OF ALL MAINTENANCE DONE THROUGH FORD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2016 - IRVINE, CA
REAR WINDOW WAS ROLLED DOWN WHILE 2 1/2 YEAR OLD CHILD HAD HIS ARM AGAINST THE INTERIOR DOOR, WHERE IT MEETS THE BOTTOM OF THE WINDOW. THE SKIN OF THE CHILD'S FOREARM WAS SUCKED INTO THE VEHICLE'S DOOR. CHILD WAS TRAPPED UNTIL WINDOW WAS ROLLED BACK UP. BRUISING OCCURRED BUT THE SKIN WAS NOT BROKEN. VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND PARKED IN A LOT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/18/2016 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
MY LOW BRAKE FLUID LIGHT CAME ON THIS MORNING AND MY BRAKES WERE COMPLETELY OUT WHEN I STARTED MY TRUCK. NO SIGN OF LEAKING. FILLED BRAKE FLUID WENT TO WORK CAME OUT TO GET LUNCH AND BRAKE FLUID GONE AND LIGHT ON AGAIN. NO SIGN OF LEAK. 2013 F150 LIMITED WITH THE 3.5L V6 ENGINE. COULD HAVE BEEN A VERY SERIOUS INCIDENT AS I LIVE ON VERY BUSY ROADS. THIS IS EXTREMELY CONCERNING, I HAVE 2 TODDLERS I DRIVE AND PICK UP FROM SCHOOL EVERYDAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/18/2016 - LINDALE, TX
AFTER TOWING TRUCK TO DEALER AFTER A CRANK NO START, THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS MELTED FUSE F27 WHICH POWERS THE FUEL PUMP. SURPRISINGLY THIS FUSE HAS MELTED OFTEN ENOUGH THAT FORD HAS A SPECIFICALLY DESIGNED REWORK KIT P/N EL3Z-14293-A WHICH RELOCATES THE FUSE TO A DIFFERENT SPOT IN THE FUSE BOX WHERE A PHYSICALLY LARGER BUT IDENTICAL AMPERAGE FUSE IS USED. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, SOME OF THE OTHER AFFECTED VEHICLES WITH THE MELTED F27 EXPERIENCED STALLING WHILE THEY WERE DRIVING. OTHERS HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE FUSE BOX DUE TO MELTING. IT SEEMS THIS ISSUE HAS HAPPENED OFTEN ENOUGH THAT THERE IS AN OFFICIAL TSB FROM FORD (TSB-15-0137) AS WELL AS THE ABOVE MENTIONED REWORK KIT, WHICH MY DEALER HAD IN STOCK. BASED ON THE WORK PERFORMED (MOVING THE FUSE TO A DIFFERENT SPOT IN THE FUSE BOX AND REPLACING IT WITH A PHYSICALLY LARGER FUSE OF THE SAME AMPERAGE), IT SEEMS THAT THIS ISSUE IS A DESIGN PROBLEM. THIS SEEMS LIKE A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS DEFECT THAT FORD IS MAKING CUSTOMERS PAY TO FIX.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2016 - ATLANTA, GA
BRAKE ROTORS ARE WARPING QUICKLY; TWICE WITH ONLY 25,000 MILES. DEALER HAS TURNED ROTORS TWICE, BUT NOT WILLING TO REPLACE ROTORS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/13/2016 - LUBBOCK, TX
WHEN ENTERING VEHICLE TO LEAVE FORD VEHICLE WAS PARKED I WENT TO TURN ON THE IGNITION MASTER BRAKE CYLINDER RESERVOIR LOW WARING LIGHT ON DISPLAY ILLUMINATED, LOW BRAKE FLUID ON DISPLAYED. FILLED THE RESERVOIR TO MINIMUM , DROVE FOR 10 MINUTES ON CITY STREETS LOW BRAKE WARNING AGAIN . FORD LOOKED AT IT AND FOUND BRAKE BOOSTER FILLING UP WITH FLUID, ORDERED PART. VACUUM HOSE MAY BE THE UNKNOWN CAUSE. FORD REPLACED PCV VALVE EARLIER IN THE MONTH DUE TO GAS ODER IN OIL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/13/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
ON JANUARY 13, 2015 I WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD COLLISION WITH A 18 WHEELER. THE SCENARIO WAS A TWO LANE HIGHWAY (HWY 67, LAKESIDE , CA), THERE IS MINIMAL ROOM FOR ERROR AND UPON IMPACT. I REMEMBER MY BRAKES DEPRESSING COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR BOARD , YET AS THOUGH THERE WAS NO AIR LINES. IT HAS BEEN A LONG RECOVERY, WHICH IS WHY CERTAIN THINGS ARE RETURNING SLOWLY. YET, I REMEMBER THAT MY BRAKES FELT OFF OR UN-RESPONSIVE BEFORE IMPACT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds