Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (46) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (5) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (127) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/23/2014 - BINGER, OK
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RIGHT REAR VIEW MIRROR DOES NOT PROVIDE THE PROPER COVERAGE, WHILE HAULING A TRAILER. THE MIRROR ADVISED THAT THE OBJECT WAS AT GREATER DISTANCE WHEN IN REALITY THE OBJECT WAS CLOSER. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID A CRASH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE DEALER ADVISED THEY WERE UNABLE TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 16,500. LI

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/17/2014 - CRAWFORDVILLE, FL
SEAT BELT LATCH FAILED, CAME APART ON IMPACT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2014 - BRIDGETON, MO
BAD STEERING VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY INDICATED WARPED ROTORS THAT HAD TO BE MACHINED BACK TO PROPER SURFACE - ALREADY!. VEHICLE IS ONLY A FEW MONTHS OLD, ONLY APPROX. 15K MILES. HAVE NOTICED ONLINE THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SAFETY CONCERN WITH FORD USING SUB-STANDARD BRAKE ROTOR MATERIALS. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIFT TO THE LEFT - DEALER INDICATED ALIGNMENT ISSUE, BUT REQUIRED $450 ADDITIONAL KIT IN ORDER TO ALLOW FOR ADJUSTMENT SINCE IT WAS ALREADY AT PEAK OF SPECS (VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD ALIGNMENT SINCE IT WAS NEW, VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD AN INCIDENT THAT WOULD CAUSE MISALIGNMENT). VEHICLE SEEMS UNSAFE WITH THESE ISSUES AND NOW THAT THE ROTORS ARE 'THINNER' DUE TO THE RESURFACING, THE WARPING WILL LIKELY OCCUR MORE FREQUENTLY UNTIL THEY (AND OTHER BRAKE PARTS AND/OR SUSPENSION AND STEERING PARTS) NEED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAN LEAD TO PREMATURE BRAKE, COMPONENT, SUSPENSION AND STEERING SYSTEMS WEAR AND/OR FAILURE WHICH SHOULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. FORD WOULD NOT WARRANTY THE ALIGNMENT ISSUE AND EXTRA COST NOR REPLACEMENT ROTORS BUT ONLY RESURFACE ('TURN') THE ORIGINAL ROTORS.

View Details

WHEELS

7/17/2014 - BRIDGETON, MO
BAD STEERING VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY INDICATED WARPED ROTORS THAT HAD TO BE MACHINED BACK TO PROPER SURFACE - ALREADY!. VEHICLE IS ONLY A FEW MONTHS OLD, ONLY APPROX. 15K MILES. HAVE NOTICED ONLINE THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SAFETY CONCERN WITH FORD USING SUB-STANDARD BRAKE ROTOR MATERIALS. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIFT TO THE LEFT - DEALER INDICATED ALIGNMENT ISSUE, BUT REQUIRED $450 ADDITIONAL KIT IN ORDER TO ALLOW FOR ADJUSTMENT SINCE IT WAS ALREADY AT PEAK OF SPECS (VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD ALIGNMENT SINCE IT WAS NEW, VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD AN INCIDENT THAT WOULD CAUSE MISALIGNMENT). VEHICLE SEEMS UNSAFE WITH THESE ISSUES AND NOW THAT THE ROTORS ARE 'THINNER' DUE TO THE RESURFACING, THE WARPING WILL LIKELY OCCUR MORE FREQUENTLY UNTIL THEY (AND OTHER BRAKE PARTS AND/OR SUSPENSION AND STEERING PARTS) NEED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAN LEAD TO PREMATURE BRAKE, COMPONENT, SUSPENSION AND STEERING SYSTEMS WEAR AND/OR FAILURE WHICH SHOULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. FORD WOULD NOT WARRANTY THE ALIGNMENT ISSUE AND EXTRA COST NOR REPLACEMENT ROTORS BUT ONLY RESURFACE ('TURN') THE ORIGINAL ROTORS.

View Details

STEERING

7/17/2014 - BRIDGETON, MO
BAD STEERING VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY INDICATED WARPED ROTORS THAT HAD TO BE MACHINED BACK TO PROPER SURFACE - ALREADY!. VEHICLE IS ONLY A FEW MONTHS OLD, ONLY APPROX. 15K MILES. HAVE NOTICED ONLINE THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SAFETY CONCERN WITH FORD USING SUB-STANDARD BRAKE ROTOR MATERIALS. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD DRIFT TO THE LEFT - DEALER INDICATED ALIGNMENT ISSUE, BUT REQUIRED $450 ADDITIONAL KIT IN ORDER TO ALLOW FOR ADJUSTMENT SINCE IT WAS ALREADY AT PEAK OF SPECS (VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD ALIGNMENT SINCE IT WAS NEW, VEHICLE HAS NEVER HAD AN INCIDENT THAT WOULD CAUSE MISALIGNMENT). VEHICLE SEEMS UNSAFE WITH THESE ISSUES AND NOW THAT THE ROTORS ARE 'THINNER' DUE TO THE RESURFACING, THE WARPING WILL LIKELY OCCUR MORE FREQUENTLY UNTIL THEY (AND OTHER BRAKE PARTS AND/OR SUSPENSION AND STEERING PARTS) NEED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAN LEAD TO PREMATURE BRAKE, COMPONENT, SUSPENSION AND STEERING SYSTEMS WEAR AND/OR FAILURE WHICH SHOULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. FORD WOULD NOT WARRANTY THE ALIGNMENT ISSUE AND EXTRA COST NOR REPLACEMENT ROTORS BUT ONLY RESURFACE ('TURN') THE ORIGINAL ROTORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2014 - MURPHYSBORO, IL
ONLY HAPPENED ONCE BUT I TIRED TO USE THE KEY FOB TO UNLOCK THE DOORS. IT DID NOT DO ANYTHING FOR THE TRUCK, NONE OF THE BUTTONS WOULD. UNLOCKED THE DOOR WITH THE KEY HAD TO START IT BEFORE THE ALARM WENT OFF. LOCKED IT GRABBED THE SPARE KEY CAME BACK A FEW MINUTES LATER THE SAME THING HAPPENED. NEITHER KEY THAT CAME WITH THE TRUCK WOULD RESPOND, DEALERSHIP COULD VERIFY THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/8/2014 - HOLSTEIN, IA
AS I TRIED TO ACCELERATE TO PASS A VEHICLE THE MOTOR IN MY TRUCK STARTED TO MISS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE MOTOR PROCEEDED TO IDLE EVEN THOUGH I WAS PUSHING IN THE GAS PEDAL. AFTER ABOUT 15 SECONDS OF NO RESPONSE TO THE GAS PEDAL BEING PUSHED THE ENTIRE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AS THOUGH IT WAS ABOUT TO FALL APART. ANOTHER 30 SECONDS LATER AND EVERYTHING WENT BACK TO NORMAL. THIS OCCURRED IN A 2013 F-150 WITH THE ECOBOOST MOTOR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2014 - HOLSTEIN, IA
AS I TRIED TO ACCELERATE TO PASS A VEHICLE THE MOTOR IN MY TRUCK STARTED TO MISS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF AND I WAS NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE. THE MOTOR PROCEEDED TO IDLE EVEN THOUGH I WAS PUSHING IN THE GAS PEDAL. AFTER ABOUT 15 SECONDS OF NO RESPONSE TO THE GAS PEDAL BEING PUSHED THE ENTIRE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AS THOUGH IT WAS ABOUT TO FALL APART. ANOTHER 30 SECONDS LATER AND EVERYTHING WENT BACK TO NORMAL. THIS OCCURRED IN A 2013 F-150 WITH THE ECOBOOST MOTOR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/7/2014 - LEESBURG, VA
I PURCHASED THIS TRUCK BRAND NEW FROM FORD IN DECEMBER, WHILE ON A ROAD TRIP DOING ALL INTERSTATE DRIVING, I HAD TO BRAKE HARD TO AVOID A COLLISION WHEN A SEMI TRUCK CUT INTO MY LANE. I SLOWED SHARPLY FROM 65 TO 30, APPLYING HARD BRAKING TO THE PEDAL AND STEERING TO AVOID CONTACT WITH THE SEMI TRUCK. SINCE THEN MY BRAKES HAVE PULSING WHEN APPLIED TO SLOW MY VEHICLE, AS IF THE ROTORS ARE WARPED. MY TRUCK NOW HAS 11,000 MILES ON IT AND THE PULSING JUST KEEPS GETTING WORSE AND WORSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/5/2014 - NEWMARKET, NH
REGULAR MORNING, RIGHT AS I WAS DRIVING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT, TWO ALARMS WENT OFF: "POWER TRAIN" AND "SERVICE ENGINE SOON". AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT WAS AN ERROR SO I CONTINUED TO DRIVE OUT OF THE PARKING LOT. NOT EVEN 10 YARDS OUT, MY TRUCK BEGAN TO JERK FORWARD SO I PUT ON PARK AND SHUT THE ENGINE OFF. I STARTED AGAIN, ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE BACK TO MY PARKING STALL, AND SAME THING HAPPENED. I BOUGHT THIS TRUCK ABOUT 10 MONTHS AGO AND IT ONLY GOT 7800 MILES ON IT. I HAVEN'T PUT ANY STRENUOUS WORK LOAD ON THIS TRUCK, MAINLY USED FOR COMMUTING SO FAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds