Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 357 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (63) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (55)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (8) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (29) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (23)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (25) Wheels (10)
Engine (166) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (22)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/31/2016 - FRASER, MI
AFTER REMOTELY STARTING MY TRUCK, I WAS SITTING IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT PUTTING ON MY SEAT BELT AND PREPARING TO START DRIVING HOME WHEN I HEARD A LOUD "BANG". I GOT OUT THINKING THAT SOMETHING HIT THE TRUCK, BUT SAW NO SIGN OF ANYTHING LIKE THAT HAD OCCUR. AFTER ARRIVING AT HOME, I OPENED THE BACK DOOR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE TO RETRIEVE MY WORK BELONGINGS, THAT IS WHEN I NOTICED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE PANEL OF THE REAR WINDOW WAS SHATTERED AND COMPLETELY SPIDER-WEBBED. THE TEMPERATURE AT THE TIME OF THIS OCCURRENCE WAS APPROXIMATELY 32 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT. THE REMOTE START SETTING FOR THE REAR DEFROSTER IS SET TO AUTOMATIC, SO I DON'T KNOW IF IT CAME ON DURING THE REMOTE START. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND IDLING AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE IS A 2013 FORD F-150 FX4 WITH 27,000 MILES. THE VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH REAR DEFROSTER AND A POWER REAR WINDOW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/28/2016 - BAYTOWN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED A FEW MILES LATER. THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL RELAY FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AND RELOCATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/25/2016 - GLASTONBURY, CT
REAR WINDOW ELECTRIC DEFROST WAS ACTIVATED BY FACTORY REMOTE START SYSTEM. APPARENT DEFROSTER OVERHEAT OR SHORT CIRCUIT CAUSED THE LEFT PANEL OF THE THREE PANEL SLIDING WINDOW TO EXPLODE, RESULTING IN A LOUD BAND AND SPIDER WEBBED PANEL RESULTING IN GLASS SHARDS IN MY CHILD'S BOOSTER SEAT. FORD DOES NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM AND PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE AT THE LOCAL DEALER OR FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. TRUCK WAS STATIONARY AT TIME OF EVENT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2016 - ALAMOSA, CO
I WAS DRIVING ON SNOW PACKED ROADS WITH THE "AUTO 4X4" ENGAGED, ABOUT 60MPH, THE ORANGE "MECHANICAL WRENCH" APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD AND MY VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER. ELECTRIC STILL ON, I HAD NO MOBILITY. I STOPPED, PLACED TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND RESTARTED VEHICLE WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. MY DEALER HAS NOT SEEN TRUCK AS OF THIS WRITING, AS THE EARLIEST APPOINTMENT WILL BE 5 DAYS FROM NOW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/21/2016 - MOUNDSVILLE, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH DOWNHILL IN SECOND GEAR, THE VEHICLE FELT AS IF IT WERE SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND ACCELERATED DOWN THE HILL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details

WHEELS

1/21/2016 - OOLTEWAH, TN
I PURCHASED MY 2013 FORD F150 THREE WEEKS AGO, CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FROM MOUNTAIN VIEW FORD IN CHATTANOOGA, TN. WHILE PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY THIS MORNING, THE TRUCK WAS ENGAGED IN 4X4H MODE,(DUE TO INCLEMENT WEATHER) IT STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE POPPING NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WAS COMING OFF AS I WAS TURNING TO THE RIGHT. I PULLED OVER AND LET THE CAR IDLE FOR A WHILE. I THEN KEPT DRIVING AND WHEN GOING UP A STEEP HILL IT STARTED DOING IT AGAIN, SO I PULLED OVER AT A GAS STATION AND THE LOUD POPPING/BANGING NOISE HAPPENED AGAIN AS I WAS TURNING LEFT THIS TIME. IT WAS SO LOUD IT STARTLED THE CUSTOMERS WHO WERE FUELING THEIR VEHICLES. SOUNDED LIKE A PIECE OF METAL SNAPPING IN TWO. IS THIS RELATED TO NHTSA # 10058199? OR FORD TSB 44964? I HAD TO DISENGAGE THE 4X4H AND PUT MY TRUCK BACK IN 4X2H A TO MAKE THE NOISE STOP. WE HAD ICY ROADS THIS MORNING, WHICH IS THE REASON I PURCHASED A 4X4 TO BEGIN WITH.

View Details

STEERING

1/21/2016 - OOLTEWAH, TN
I PURCHASED MY 2013 FORD F150 THREE WEEKS AGO, CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FROM MOUNTAIN VIEW FORD IN CHATTANOOGA, TN. WHILE PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY THIS MORNING, THE TRUCK WAS ENGAGED IN 4X4H MODE,(DUE TO INCLEMENT WEATHER) IT STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE POPPING NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WAS COMING OFF AS I WAS TURNING TO THE RIGHT. I PULLED OVER AND LET THE CAR IDLE FOR A WHILE. I THEN KEPT DRIVING AND WHEN GOING UP A STEEP HILL IT STARTED DOING IT AGAIN, SO I PULLED OVER AT A GAS STATION AND THE LOUD POPPING/BANGING NOISE HAPPENED AGAIN AS I WAS TURNING LEFT THIS TIME. IT WAS SO LOUD IT STARTLED THE CUSTOMERS WHO WERE FUELING THEIR VEHICLES. SOUNDED LIKE A PIECE OF METAL SNAPPING IN TWO. IS THIS RELATED TO NHTSA # 10058199? OR FORD TSB 44964? I HAD TO DISENGAGE THE 4X4H AND PUT MY TRUCK BACK IN 4X2H A TO MAKE THE NOISE STOP. WE HAD ICY ROADS THIS MORNING, WHICH IS THE REASON I PURCHASED A 4X4 TO BEGIN WITH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/21/2016 - OOLTEWAH, TN
I PURCHASED MY 2013 FORD F150 THREE WEEKS AGO, CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FROM MOUNTAIN VIEW FORD IN CHATTANOOGA, TN. WHILE PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY THIS MORNING, THE TRUCK WAS ENGAGED IN 4X4H MODE,(DUE TO INCLEMENT WEATHER) IT STARTED MAKING A TERRIBLE POPPING NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WAS COMING OFF AS I WAS TURNING TO THE RIGHT. I PULLED OVER AND LET THE CAR IDLE FOR A WHILE. I THEN KEPT DRIVING AND WHEN GOING UP A STEEP HILL IT STARTED DOING IT AGAIN, SO I PULLED OVER AT A GAS STATION AND THE LOUD POPPING/BANGING NOISE HAPPENED AGAIN AS I WAS TURNING LEFT THIS TIME. IT WAS SO LOUD IT STARTLED THE CUSTOMERS WHO WERE FUELING THEIR VEHICLES. SOUNDED LIKE A PIECE OF METAL SNAPPING IN TWO. IS THIS RELATED TO NHTSA # 10058199? OR FORD TSB 44964? I HAD TO DISENGAGE THE 4X4H AND PUT MY TRUCK BACK IN 4X2H A TO MAKE THE NOISE STOP. WE HAD ICY ROADS THIS MORNING, WHICH IS THE REASON I PURCHASED A 4X4 TO BEGIN WITH.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2016 - OXFORD, OH
SEPTEMBER 2015 I-75 NORTH BOUND, ATTEMPTED TO PASS A VEHICLE AT 70 MPH AND HAD LOSS OF POWER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND VIOLENT ENGINE SHAKING FOR 5-10 MINUTES ON THE HIGHWAY BEFORE SHAKING AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STOPPED. HAPPENED IN THE GAINESVILLE FL AREA CLOUDY BUT DRY DAY, HAD ALL SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE IN VENICE FL PRIOR TO GETTING ON THE ROAD AT THE DEALERSHIP, 36,500 MILES. OCTOBER 2015 I-44 EAST BOUND TULSA OK, REENTERING THE INTERSTATE HAD LOSS OF POWER UNABLE TO ENTER AT APPROPRIATE SPEEDS, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND VIOLENT SHAKING. SLAMMED ON GAS AND THEN BRAKE PEDALS WITH NO DIFFERENCE. PULLED OFF THE INTERSTATE PARKED THE TRUCK, TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED AS SOON AS IT STARTED GUNNED THE GAS PEDAL RPM IN THE RED LINE AND AGAIN THE TRUCK LOST ALL POWER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND SHOOK DID THIS FOR 30 MINUTES UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO START THE TRUCK AND GUN THE RPM INTO THE RED LINE WITHOUT LOSS OF POWER. CALLED DEALERSHIP ASKING ABOUT HYDROPLANING AND ENGINE LOSING POWER LIKE IN THE TUNDRA TRUCKS, WAS TOLD NO FORD DOES NOT HAVE THAT SAFETY FEATURE. COLD AND WET WEATHER CONDITIONS 40,000 MILES. NOVEMBER 2015 ON TX 82 WEST BOUND AT 80 MPH, 35 DEGREES AND RAINY CONDITIONS. ATTEMPTED TO PASS A SEMI AND HAD LOSS OF POWER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND VIOLENT SHAKING WAS A PASSENGER IN THE TRUCK AT THIS TIME AND WAS STILL ABLE TO FEEL THE SHAKING FROM THE ENGINE. AGAIN LASTED 5-10 MINUTES. WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR OIL CHANGE BEFORE THE TRIP IN THE BEGINNING OF NOVEMBER. 43,000 MILES. HAVE BEEN TO MY DEALERSHIP ASKING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THERE MAY BE A RECALL BUT SO FAR NOTHING. I DO INTERSTATE DRIVING IN LESS THAN IDEAL CONDITIONS (RAIN, SNOW AND ICE) I NEED THIS TRUCK TO PREFORM THAT IS WHY I BOUGHT IT. I UNDERSTAND IT TAKES TIME AND MONEY TO MAKE A RECALL HAPPEN, BUT MAKE NO MISTAKE THIS IS GOING TO CAUSE ACCIDENTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
REMOTE STARTED MY 2013 F-150 RAPTOR AND IT RAN IN THE DRIVE WAY FOR 3-4 MIN. STARTED DOWN THE ROAD AND TURNED ON THE REAR DEFROST. AFTER ABOUT 2 MIN, THE REAR WINDOW POPPED AND SHATTERED BEHIND ME. AFTER RESEARCHING, LOOKS TO BE A KNOWN ISSUE THAT FORD SEEMS TO NOT WANT TO ACKNOWLEDGE. I CALLED THEM TODAY AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP ACTED LIKE HE DID NOT KNOW OF ANY PAST ISSUES. HOPEFULLY THIS WILL GET THE ATTENTION IT NEEDS SOON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds