Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 485 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (74) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (58)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (18)
Electrical System (50) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (88) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (35)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (11)
Engine (182) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (31) Unknown Or Other (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/19/2016 - HUMBLE, TX
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN, THE THROTTLE WAS LOST. THE TRUCK WENT FROM 65 MPH TO 5 MPH IN A MATTER OF A COUPLE OF SECONDS AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. AFTER A FEW MINUTES OF TRYING TO MANEUVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, GOING ONLY 5 MPH, THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE. TOOK IT TO THE SHOP, AND THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM, NOR WOULD IT SHOW UP IN THE COMPUTER SYSTEM. TOOK IT HOME, AND LATER THAT EVENING, IT LOST THE THROTTLE AGAIN. TOOK IT BACK TO THE SHOP THE NEXT DAY AFTER LOOKING AT THIS WEBSITE, AND TOLD THEM TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY TO SEE IF THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. HAVEN'T HAD ANY OTHER ISSUES. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE IT COULD CAUSE A WRECK OR LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL. IT COST ME OVER $300 TO FIX THIS ISSUE. FORD SHOULD REALLY ISSUE A RECALL SINCE MANY VEHICLES HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/18/2016 - HUMBLE, TX
I HAD COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE. MASTER CYLINDER LEAKED INTO THE BOOSTER. I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE PART OF THE EXISTING RECALL, BUT MY BUILD DATE OF 10/2012 WAS NOT INCLUDED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/18/2016 - CRESTVIEW HILLS, KY
ON JULY 7 2013 I EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING ON A MAJOR STATE ROUTE. I WAS ABLE TO GET MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS. THEY EXPLAINED THAT THE REPAIR WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION I DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE EXACT PROBLEM THAT MY VEHICLE EXPERIENCED. WHEN I CALLED THIS TO THE DEALERS ATTENTION, THE SAID MY VEHICLE WAS NOT PART OF THIS RECALL. THIS VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 50,000 MILES AND COULD HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT HAD I NOT KNOWN HOW TO CONTROL A VEHICLE WITH NO BRAKES. I'D LIKE A REFUND IN FULL OF $572.48 THAT THE DEALER CHARGED ME FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/18/2016 - SARATOGA SPRINGS, UT
FROM THE FORD RECALL NOTICE 16S24 "BRAKE FUNCTION IN THE REAR WHEELS IS UNAFFECTED BY THIS CONDITION". WRONG! I EXPERIENCED THE LOW BRAKE FLUID WARNING MESSAGE AND THE MASTER CYLINDER RESERVOIR IS ALSO THE SOURCE FOR THE REAR BRAKES. IN MY CASE, I HAD COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE, PEDAL TO THE FLOORBOARD. BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE TO TAKE THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER, IT WOULD NOT STOP AT ENGINE IDLE SPEED AND BROKE THE REAR VIEW MIRROR ON THE GARAGE DOOR OPENING. I AM HAVING THE TRUCK TOWED TO THE DEALER. HATE TO THINK OF WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED HAD I GOTTEN ON THE ROAD. THE RECALL NOTICE DOWNPLAYS THE SEVERITY OF THE CONDITION AND THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. I CHECKED YES ON THE CRASH QUESTION BECAUSE OF THE COLLISION WITH THE GARAGE DOOR OPENING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/18/2016 - ST JOHNS, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED, IT FAILED TO ENGAGE AND DISENGAGE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY EXTREME FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO ENSURE THAT THE VEHICLE MADE A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND REPAIR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS HARD TO DEPRESS AND SLOW TO RESPOND WHEN APPLIED. THE CONTACT LATER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V345000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/17/2016 - CARY, IL
THIS IS A LARIAT MODEL F-150 WITH LESS THAN 36K MILES. THE EVAPORATOR IS LEAKING AND REQUIRES THE COMPLETE DASHBOARD TO BE PULLED IN ORDER TO REPLACE THE EVAPORATOR AT A COST OF $1,700.THIS POOR DESIGN ALONG WITH POOR PRODUCTION SHOULD BE COVERED BY FORD DUE TO MODEL TYPE AND AMOUNT OF MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2016 - OAK GROVE, LA
EXPLODING DRIVER SIDE POWER REAR WINDOW THAT IS TINTED AND DEFROST ACCESSORY, WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH.

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2016 - GREER, AZ
N JUNE 20, 2016 MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING AT 65 MPH ON U.S. 60 IN MO WHEN THE ENGINE ON MY 2013 F150 VIN ECOBOOST JUST QUIT. IT WAS A DANGEROUS SITUATION IN TRAFFIC. WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WAS TOWED TO WEHR FORD IN MOUNTAIN GROVE, MO WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODY. THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID THERE HAD BEEN A RASH OF DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODIES AND AT LEAST 2000 WERE ON BACK ORDER ACROSS THE COUNTRY. HE POINTED OUT ANOTHER VEHICLE ON HIS LOT WHICH HAD BEEN THERE FOR TWO WEEKS WAITING FOR ONE. HE SAID HE COULD GET A USED ONE FROM A WRECKING YARD. SINCE WE LIVE IN AZ AND HAD TO GET HOME WE SAID OK. THIS IS A DANGEROUS ISSUE AND FORD SHOULD HAVE A RECALL ON THESE.

View Details

STEERING

7/11/2016 - ASHEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO RETRIEVE A FAULT CODE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2016 - CHADDS FORD, PA
POWER STEERING MADE A GRINDING NOISE WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED FULLY TO THE LEFT. A WARNING REGARDING THE STABILITRACK SYSTEM APPEARED ON THE DASH. SUBSEQUENTLY WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A STREET POWER STEERING ASSIST STOPPED, RESULTING IN VERY DIFFICULT STEERING. MY MECHANIC SCANNED THE COMPUTER AND FOUND THAT THE STEERING ANGLE SENSOR FAILED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds