Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 604 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (89) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (23)
Electrical System (69) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (116) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (48)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (12)
Engine (206) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Steering (39) Unknown Or Other (29)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/17/2017 - TITUSVILLE, FL
TRUCK WENT INTO LIMP MODE UPON ACCELERATION DUE TO FAULTY THROTTLE BODY- WHILE PULLING ONTO MAIN HIGHWAY WITH A SPEED LIMIT OF 50 MPH, TRUCK STALLED. FORTUNATELY, I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND AVOID A REAR END COLLISION. THIS HAPPENED THREE TIMES IN TWO DAYS AND PRODUCED AN OBD CODE ON THE THIRD OCCURRENCE. I TURNED THE TRUCK INTO MY LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. SINCE THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN PROBLEM FOR FORD IN THE MODEL YEARS PRIOR TO 2013, THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED BY A RECALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/17/2017 - TITUSVILLE, FL
I HAVE NOTICED A FEATURE ON NEWER VEHICLES WHICH I BELIEVE IS A CAUSE FOR CONCERN. THE FEATURE INVOLVES AUTOMATIC ILLUMINATION OF THE DASH LIGHTS WHICH LEADS DRIVERS TO BELIEVE THEIR HEADLIGHTS ARE ON WHEN, IN FACT, THEY MAY NOT BE. I SEE AN INORDINATELY HIGH PERCENTAGE OF VEHICLES DRIVING WITHOUT HEADLIGHTS ILLUMINATED AT DUSK AND BELIEVE THIS FEATURE COULD BE THE CAUSE FOR AT LEAST SOME OF THESE. THANK YOU, TIM BOARD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/16/2017 - HASTINGS, MI
WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP, AFTER TRANSMISSION SHIFTS INTO 1ST GEAR, GOING TO 2ND GEAR, TRANSMISSION WILL DISENGAGE INTO NEUTRAL AND ENGINE WILL CONTINUE TO REV. AFTER 3-5 SECONDS, TRANSMISSION WILL REENGAGE AND SHIFT THRU THE GEARS TO TOP GEAR. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHILE VEHICLE IS IN FORWARD MOTION AND ONLY ON AN INTERMITANT BASIS, EG, NOT ALL THE TIME. ALSO, SOMETIMES WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE SPEEDOMETER WILL DROP TO ZERO FOR 1-2 SECONDS AND THEN BACK TO THE PRESENT SPEED. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THAT SOMETIMES WHILE TRAVELING FORWARD, THE VEHICLE WILL SUDDENLY ACT LIKE IT WANTS TO LOCK UP AS THOUGH IT WAS PLACED INTO PARK. I HAVE ALSO COME TO A STOP AND WHEN TRYING TO START TO MOVE FORWARD, THE TRANSMISSION GEAR INDICATOR SAYS THAT IT DID NOT DOWNSHIFT TO 1ST GEAR, BUT TRIED TO START OUT IN 4TH GEAR. AFTER STOPPING AND RESTARTING TO MOVE FORWARD, IT WOULD FINALLY DOWNSHIFT TO 1ST GEAR. SOMETIMES, THE TRANSMISSION WILL NOT SHIFT INTO 2ND GEAR UNTIL THE VEHICLE HAS REACHED 20-30 MPH AND THEN IT WILL GO FROM 1ST GEAR TO 4TH THEN FINALLY THRU TO 6TH AND FINAL GEAR. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT GET THE VEHICLE TO DO THESE THINGS. THEY DID TELL ME THAT FORD HAD RECALLED 2011 AND 2012 MODEL F150'S FOR A SIMILAR PROBLEM. THEY REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER IN HOPES THAT IT WOULD SOLVE THE PROBLEM, IT DID NOT. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT THE LEADFRAME VALVE BODY MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED OR REBUILT TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I AM AFFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE VERY FAR, FEARING A POSSIBLE BREAKDOWN ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAVE SCHEDULED ANOTHER VISIT WITH A FORD DEALER TO POSSIBLY HAVE THIS REBUILD DONE. THE VEHICLE HAS 86,000 MILES ON IT AND THEY ESTIMATE A SUBSTANTIAL COST INVOLVED TO DO THIS. DO YOU KNOW IF THERE IS ANYONE ELSE HAVING THIS PROBLEM AND IS THERE A RECALL FOR THIS ?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2017 - NOVATO, CA
WITHOUT WARNING, VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTS AT ANY SPEED, FROM 6TH GEAR TO 2ND GEAR LOCKING UP ALL 4 TIRES AND SCREECHING TO A 60 MPH SLOWDOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON HIGHWAY 5 NORTHBOUND. OCCURRED AT LEAST 10 TIMES AT 70 MILES PER HOUR AND THEN AGAIN AT 30 MILES PER HOUR IN NOVATO ON A CITY STREET BEFORE TAKING TO AUTHORIZED FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR 4 WEEKS AND DETERMINED A WIRING LEAD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. OF COURSE, THIS IS NOT COVERED BY ANY POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AS WE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED AS WELL AS ANY OTHER VEHICLE AROUND US. I FOUND THIS EXACT SAME ISSUE WITH THE SAME VEHICLE IN SEVERAL INSTANCES ON THE INTERNET. KNOW ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2017 - LASALLE, MI
I HAVE A WHITE PAINT JOB ON MY PICKUP, CAME THAT WAY FROM THE FACTORY..SHORTLY AFTER I BOUGHT IT SOME TINY ROUND RUST SPOTS APPEARED ON THE WHOLE TRUCK. FORDS "ACID WASHED IT" AND THE SPOTS CAME BACK. THE SAME THING HAPPENED ON MY 2011 FORD EXPLORER, THEY ACID WASHED IT TWICE BECAUSE I WAS SO MAD THEN THE SPOTS CAME BACK. THEY SAID IT WAS ENVORINMENTAL. FORDS SAYSD IT ONLY HAPPENS ON THE WHITE PAINT JOBS, MAYBE BECAUSE THE OTHER COLORS IT DOESNT SHOW UP. I AM FURIOUS THAT FORDS LETS THIS GO AND DOESNT CHANGE SOMETHING. IT HAPPENED ON MY 2011 EXPLORER AS I SAID AND NOW ITS THE 2013S. HELP ME!!MY WHOLE TRUCK HAS LITTLE RUST SPOTS ALL OVER

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2017 - LASALLE, MI
I HAVE A WHITE PAINT JOB ON MY PICKUP, CAME THAT WAY FROM THE FACTORY..SHORTLY AFTER I BOUGHT IT SOME TINY ROUND RUST SPOTS APPEARED ON THE WHOLE TRUCK. FORDS "ACID WASHED IT" AND THE SPOTS CAME BACK. THE SAME THING HAPPENED ON MY 2011 FORD EXPLORER, THEY ACID WASHED IT TWICE BECAUSE I WAS SO MAD THEN THE SPOTS CAME BACK. THEY SAID IT WAS ENVORINMENTAL. FORDS SAYSD IT ONLY HAPPENS ON THE WHITE PAINT JOBS, MAYBE BECAUSE THE OTHER COLORS IT DOESNT SHOW UP. I AM FURIOUS THAT FORDS LETS THIS GO AND DOESNT CHANGE SOMETHING. IT HAPPENED ON MY 2011 EXPLORER AS I SAID AND NOW ITS THE 2013S. HELP ME!!MY WHOLE TRUCK HAS LITTLE RUST SPOTS ALL OVER

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/9/2017 - FORT PAYNE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENCY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 102,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/9/2017 - BARKER, TX
FORD IS AWARE THAT ON CERTAIN VEHICLES, THE FUSE CONTROLLING THE FUEL POINT EVENTUALLY MELTS DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE ORIGINAL LOCATION (7) IN THE FUSE BAR, IS TO WEAK TO HANDLE THE LOAD GOING TO THE FUSE. ULTIMATELY AND AT A POSSIBLE UNTIMELY TIME AND LOCATION, IT KILLS THE FUEL POINT CAUSING POTENTIAL LIFE THREATENING NON CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. SEE THIS POST: HTTP://WWW.F150FORUM.COM/F38/2009-2014-FUSE-27-MELTING-ISSUE-372139/INDEX2/ FORD HAS ONLY ISSUED A TSB FOR REPAIRS IF IT OCCURS, TSB 15-0137 (HTTP://M.FORD.OEMDTC.COM/TSB/15-0137.PDF) THIS NEEDS TO BE A MANDATORY RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. WHILE I CAUGHT MINE EARLY, ONLY DUE TO THE AFOREMENTIONED POST, I DO NOT FEEL SAFE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/7/2017 - HUGHSON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INDEPENDENTLY AND HAD TO BE PARKED ON THE MEDIAN OF THE HIGHWAY. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO AN AUTO SHOP WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS A LEAD FRAME (TRANSMISSION RELATED) FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/7/2017 - PRAIRIEVILLE, LA
MODEL YEAR 2009-2014 F150'S HAVE AN ISSUE WITH FUSE 27 UNDER THE HOOD GETTING HOT AND MELTING. FUSE 27 IS FOR THE FUEL PUMP RELAY. THIS CAUSES COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING OR A NO START SITUATION. FORD HAS ISSUED A TSB FOR THIS ISSUE, BUT IN MY MIND IT SHOULD BE A RECALL. IF THE FUEL PUMP STOPS, YOU LOSE ALL POWER NO MATTER WHERE YOU ARE, EVEN IF IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON THE INTERSTATE. THIS COULD ALSO BE A FIRE HAZARD IF THE WIRING GETS HOT ENOUGH

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds