Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 282 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (52)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (7) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (15)
Engine (147) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (23) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (53)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/15/2015 - BRAIDWOOD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE HYDROPLANED AND THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE BARRIER AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/13/2015 - CLAYTON, NC
TOTAL BRAKE FAILURE. STARTED VEHICLE AND WENT TO BACK UP AND BRAKE PEDDLE WENT TO THE FLOOR, LOW BRAKE FLUID LIGHT LIGHT CAME ON AS SOON AS THE PEDDLE HIT THE FLOOR. VEHICLE WAS SLOWLY MOVING BACKWARDS AND WOULD NOT STOP. TRIED PUMPING THE PEDDLE TO STOP THE TRUCK. USED PARKING BRAKE TO STOP VEHICLE TO AVOID BACKING INTO OTHER CARS BEHIND. CHECKED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL AND FOUND IT WAS ALMOST OUT, LESS THAN A 1/4 INCH IN THE RESERVOIR. CHECKED ENTIRE VEHICLE AND NO LEAKS COULD BE FOUND CALLED CROSSROADS FORD IN CARY, NC AND THEY INDICATED I SHOULD FILL IT WITH DOT3 FLUID AND BRING IT IN. FILLED RESERVOIR TO MAX LINE AND PUMPED BRAKED A FEW TIMES UNTIL THEY WERE FIRM. DROVE TO THE DEALERSHIP, ABOUT 25 MILES. NO ISSUES GETTING TO THE DEALERSHIP OTHER THAN THE BRAKES WERE QUITE SPONGY AND NOT TOO RESPONSIVE. UPON INSPECTION AT THE DEALERSHIP, THEY REMOVED THE MASTER CYLINDER AND FOUND THE FLUID HAD FILLED THE BRAKE BOOSTER AND THE MASTER CYLINDER HAD FAILED.. THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS PROBLEM, I'M VERY LUCKY I WASN'T KILLED OR KILLED SOMEONE IN AN ACCIDENT. VEHICLE WAS JUST A LITTLE OVER 500 OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2015 - SPRING LAKE, NC
COMPLETE LOSS OF BRAKES. HAD TRUCK TOWED TO FORD DEALERSHIP. THEY DIAGNOSED DEFECTIVE MASTER CYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER. WAS TOLD BY DEALERSHIP THAT THE PARTS ARE ON NATION WIDE BACK ORDER. THIS INDICATES THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT. I AM BEING REQUIRED TO PAY BECAUSE VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. BRAKES SHOULD NEVER COMPLETELY FAIL. THIS COULD HAVE HAD CATASTROPHIC RESULTS. IF FORD DOES NOT RECOGNIZE THIS ISSUE AND TAKE RESPONSIBILITY SOON AND FIX IT, SOMEONE WILL BE KILLED.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2015 - MANASSAS, VA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH AND WITHOUT WARNING MY STEERING WHEEL ALL OF A SUDDEN GOT VERY STIFF AND DIFFICULT TO STEER AND IMMEDIATELY 2 MESSAGES CAME UP ON THE DASH READING "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC" AND " ELECTRICAL POWER ASSISTED STEERING FAULT". AS I PANICKED TO CHANGED LANES AND GET TO THE SHOULDER I WAS ALMOST STRUCK BY ANOTHER VEHICLE BY THE LAG CAUSED BY THE POWER STEERING FAILURE. TURNING BECAME VERY EXHAUSTING AND TEDIOUS JUST TO CHANGE LANES OR TURN THE TIRES. I TRIED STARTING AND RE-STARTING MY TRUCK, BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE DAY I GOT MY TRUCK TOWED HOME, I PARKED IT AND HAVE NOT TOUCHED IT SINCE, FOR I FEAR MY LIFE WILL BE IN DANGER IF I DRIVE IT IN THOSE CONDITIONS AGAIN. I AM AWARE OF OTHER RECALLS OF PREVIOUS AND LATER MODEL YEARS OF MY SAME VEHICLE FROM OTHER OWNERS WITH THE SAME ISSUES. IF THIS HASNT BEEN BROUGHT TO THE ATTENTION OF FORD MOTOR COMPANY, YET, I HOPE IT DOES BEFORE SOME SERIOUS/FATAL INCIDENTS OCCUR, SUCH AS MINE, BECUASE OF THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

5/29/2015 - MISSION , TX
FORD F150 ECOBOOST 2013 13,000 MILE THE ENGINE SHAKES AND A LOST OF POWER WHEN PASSING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COME ON WHILE ITS HAPPEN BUT SHUTS OFF WHEN THE POWER COME BACK. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO FORD 4TIMES BUT BECAUSE IT HAS NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON THEY LOOK AT ME LIKE IF I'M CRAZY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/27/2015 - RAPID RIVER, MI
GOT UP AND IT WAS FROSTY AND 24 DIGRESS OUTSIDE SO I REMOTELY STARTED MY F-150 FORD TRUCK WENT OUT 10 MIN LATER AND GOT ON DRIVERS SEAT AND HEARD A LOUD BANG AS IF ROCK HAD HIT WINDSHIELD. GOT OUT LOOKED ALL AROUND BUT DID NOT SEE WHAT HAD CAUSED THE LOUD NOISE FINALLY GAVE UP AND WENT ABOUT MY DAY. THE NEXT DAY ABOUT NOON I LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SEEN THE REAR WINDOW BEHIND DRIVER WAS SHATTERED IN MILLION PIECES BUT STILL IN PLACE. WINDOW IS ALSO TINTED SO HARD TO SEE FROM OUTSIDE. TOOK CLEAR PACKAGING TAPE AND PUT SEVERAL PIECES ON INSIDE AND OUTSIDE TO KEEP INTACT FOR NOW. WENT TO PUT PREASURE ON TAPE TO ADHERE TO PIECES AND GOT SEVERAL FINE CUTS IN FINGERS. CONTACTED FORD SEALED AND SAID FIRST TIME HE HAD HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING. THINKING THAT PROBLEM MIGHT CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN AGAIN TO THE NEW WINDSHIELD HAD TO PAY DEALER TO CHECK IF THERE WAS A ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH CONTROLS. SAID EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE AND WARRANTY WAS PAST AND COULD NOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP FINANCIALLY WHEN I CALLED BACK TO GET REASSURANCE THAT THEY WOULD WARANTY REPLACEMENT WINDOW IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN WAS TOLD THAT HE CHECKED AND THIS HAS BEEN MORE COMON THEN HE THOUGHT, 4 THIS YEAR ALREADY AT THEIR DEALERSHIP

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/16/2015 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
WE HAD JUST TAKEN THE EXIT RAMP ONTO THE INTERSTATE. AS WE STARTED TO ACCELERATE TO HIGHWAY SPEED, WE SUDDENLY LOST ALL ACCELERATION. WE DRIFTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE WHERE WE SAT UNTIL A TOW TRUCK ARRIVED TO BRING OUR VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP. WEATHER CONDITIONS WERE HUMID, SLIGHT DRIZZLE, AND A TEMPERATURE APPROXIMATELY 75^. WE HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM BEFORE, AND HAD NO ISSUES TODAY UNTIL WE STARTED TO ACCELERATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/11/2015 - WINTERS , CA
THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT IN MY 2013 FORD F-150 RECENTLY HAS BECOME AND REMAINS CONSTANTLY LIT UP. AFTER READING ABOUT ALL OF FORD'S RECENT AIRBAG RECALL ISSUES IT SEEMS THAT THE ISSUE WITH MY DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG MAY BE CONSISTENT WITH THE DEFECTS THAT LED TO THOSE RECALLS BY FORD. UPON CONTACTING THE FORD DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED MY TRUCK AS WELL AS THE FORD CUSTOMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT I WAS INFORMED THAT MY VIN IS NOT ON THEIR CURRENT LIST OF VEHICLES ELIGIBLE FOR AN AIRBAG RECALL. THIS IS A VERY FRUSTRATING SITUATION, I DO NOT FEEL THAT I OR MY FAMILY ARE SAFE WHILE DRIVING MY TRUCK AFTER READING WHAT HAS BEEN PUBLISHED ABOUT FORD'S SUSPECT AIRBAGS. CONVENIENTLY THIS DEFECT BECAME APPARENT RIGHT AROUND THE TIME THAT MY VEHICLE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED, THE NEXT TIME I AM IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW VEHICLE I WILL KEEP IN MIND FORD'S DISREGARD FOR CONSUMER SAFETY.

View Details

TIRES

4/29/2015 - PHILIPSBURG , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150 EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR WRANGLER TIRES, SIZE: P275/65/R18 (NA). WHILE ROTATING THE TIRES, THE CONTACT NOTICED CRACKS BETWEEN THE TREAD. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT ALL FOUR TIRES EXPERIENCED CRACKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DEALER, WHO BOTH STATED THAT ALL THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE TIRE AND VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2015 - BRENTWOOD, NH
2013 FORD F-150 LARIAT SUPER CREW: APRIL 17, 2015: DRIVING SOUTH ON RT 95 TO BOSTON, MY WIFE (DRIVER) TURNED ON THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER TO CLEAR FOG FROM WINDOWS AND SIDE MIRRORS. THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD "GUN SHOT" TYPE OF NOISE THAT STARTLED US BOTH. WE LOOKED AT WINDSHIELD TO SEE IF WE HAD BEEN HIT AND FOR CRACKS; THERE WAS NOTHING. ONCE STOPPED AND LOOKING OVER THE TRUCK WE DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR WINDOW/BACK LITE ON DRIVER'S SIDE HAD SHATTERED. I RAN MY HAND OVER THE ENTIRE WINDOW SEARCHING FOR AN IMPACT POINT, OR MARK AND THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. WE BOTH WONDERED ALOUD AS TO HOW THIS WINDOW JUST SHATTERED ON ITS OWN. ONCE HOME, I WENT ON THE INTERNET TO LOOK UP POSSIBLE CAUSES AND DISCOVERED THAT THERE ARE MANY, MANY CASES OF THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENING TO FORD PICKUPS. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMERS SERVICE TODAY AND SPOKE AT LENGTH WITH "ANGELA" WHO SEEMED TO UNDERSTAND THE SAFETY ISSUE OF WINDOWS SHATTERING WHILE DRIVING BUT AFTER PUTTING ME ON HOLD TO CHECK WITH SOMEONE, SAID THAT THERE IS NOTHING FORD CAN DO UNTIL A RECALL IS ISSUED, IF EVER. I TOLD HER THAT THERE IS NEARLY 60 COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE ON THE NHTSA SITE, ALONG WITH SCORES OF OTHERS IN FORD FORUMS, ETC. THIS NUMBER APPARENTLY IS NOT ENOUGH OF A SAFETY ISSUE FOR FORD TO RESPOND, BUT COMMON SENSE DICTATES THAT ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME UNTIL SOMETHING VERY SERIOUS OCCURS FROM FORD F-150 WINDOWS SHATTERING WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds