Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 581 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (83) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (63)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (21)
Electrical System (67) Exterior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (113) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (47)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (12)
Engine (204) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Steering (37) Unknown Or Other (28)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/13/2017 - EDINBURGH, IN
THE WEATHER WAS APPROXIMATELY 25-29 DEGREES F. I REMOTE STARTED THE TRUCK AND IT RAN FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES BEFORE I GOT IN THE TRUCK TO DRIVE. I DROVE ABOUT 100 FEET AND HEARD A VERY LOUD BANG. I LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SAW THAT MY DRIVER SIDE REAR WINDOW HAD SHATTERED. MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS THAT SOMETHING HIT IT, SO I GOT OUT AND LOOKED AND THERE WERE NO CHIPS OR A SPOT WHERE THE CRACK STARTED. THE WINDOW JUST BROKE FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I HAVE A REAR SLIDING WINDOW WITH DEFROST. I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH WHEN IT HAPPENED INSIDE OF THE CITY, JUST A LITTLE WAY FROM MY HOUSE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2017 - MADISONVILLE, LA
AT TIMES MY 2013 F-150 WOULD KILL AND OTHER TIMES WOULD BE NON RESPONSIVE AT IDLE WHILE TRAVELING. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED WAS WHILE I WAS TRYING TO MERGE ONTO THE INTERSTATE, WHILE MERGING ONTO THE 70MPH INTERSTATE THE TRUCK IMMEDIATELY LOST POWER AFTER DRIVING OVER AN UNEVEN AREA OF ASPHALT; HOWEVER 3-4 SECONDS LATER THE THROTTLE RESPONSE RETURNED TO NORMAL. WEEKS GO BY AND I AM TRAVELING ACROSS 22 MILE CAUSEWAY BRIDGE WHICH HAS NO SHOULDERS, AS I AM ACCELERATING TO PASS A CAR THE TRUCK STALLS, NO THROTTLE RESPONSE, WITHIN A FEW SECONDS IT IS BACK RUNNING NORMAL. THE BATTERY WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AFTER FOR 30 SECONDS TO A MINUTE THEN WENT OFF. I HAD THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR CHECKED AND BOTH TESTED FINE. THE TRUCK RUNS FINE FOR A FEW WEEKS AND THEN IT STALLS AGAIN WHILE MERGING ON THE INTERSTATE OR WHILE PASSING ANOTHER VEHICLE.THE LAST TIME I WAS DRIVING HOME IN A HEAVY RAIN STORM AT NIGHT BUSY AREA OF INTERSTATE AND IT COMPLETELY STALLS IN PANIC I AM PUSHING ON THE ACCELERATOR HOPING I CAN MAKE IT TO THE SHOULDER CARS BEHIND ME SLIDING ALL OVER THE ROAD TRYING TO AVOID HITTING ME AND MY FAMILY; WE ARE FINALLY SAFE ON THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD, THE TRUCK WOULD TURN OVER BUT WOULD NOT START, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AND OBD CODES P0201, P0202...., ACTUALLY A CODE SAYING OPEN CIRCUIT FOR EVERY INJECTOR. CALLED A WRECKER SERVICE TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO CLOSEST FORD DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSES THE PROBLEM AS FUEL PUMP FUSE HAS MELTED THE CONNECTION IN THE FUSE PANEL. ITS A" FORD TSB-15-0137 " FORD EVEN SELLS THE PART TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. HOW CAN A COMPANY ACKNOWLEDGE THEY HAVE A PROBLEM BECAUSE HEY SPECIFICALLY MADE ANOTHER PART TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE. I HAD TO PAY THE TOW SERVICE, RENTAL CAR, AND THE COST OF PARTS AND LABOR, FOR A PROBLEM THAT AS I GOOGLED TSB-15-0137 A LOT OF 2013 FORD F150 OWNERS ARE EXPERIENCING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/9/2017 - CYCLONE, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED WHILE THE DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE AND REPAIR THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2016 - TAYLORSVILLE, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT. IN ADDITION, ONCE THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED TO WORK AND THE WRENCH WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/30/2016 - TAYLORSVILLE, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT. IN ADDITION, ONCE THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED TO WORK AND THE WRENCH WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

12/29/2016 - RICHARDSON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AND AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE FUSE BOX NEEDED TO BE RE-LOCATED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/28/2016 - PALATINE, IL
THE VEHICLE WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY. I REMOTE STARTED IT. 10 MINUTES LATER I ENTERED VEHICLE AND INSERTED KEY AND TURNED ON THE VEHICLE. 10 SECONDS LATER I HEARD A LOUD POP AND WHAT SOUNDED LIKE LEAVES RUSTLING, VERY SLOWLY . IT WAS 5 AM AND DARK, FRIDAY DEC 23RD, SO I DROVE TO A LIT PARKING LOT TO SEE WHAT HAPPENED. I NOTICED THE REAR GLASS BEHIND THE DRIVER'S SEAT WAS SHATTERED. IT WAS AROUND 30¦F. THERE ARE A LOT OF INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPENING WITH FORD PICKUPS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2016 - LEEDS, AL
THE TRUCK WILL NOT CRANK AT TIMES. VEHICLE STATIONARY, IT WILL MAKE NO SOUND, OR MOVEMENT, MOTOR DOES NOT TURN.

View Details

WHEELS

12/27/2016 - AYLETT, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND NOTICED THAT THE DRIVER FRONT TIRE WAS FLAT. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE RIM CAUSED THE TIRE TO BE BLOWN OUT. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED WITH A SPARE TIRE AND WAS TAKEN TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/20/2016 - CORNING, NY
ON THIS VEHICLE, I RARELY USE 4WD, EXCEPT IN WINTER CONDITIONS. I COULD NOT GET THE VEHICLE OUT OF 4WD LOW BACK INTO 4X2, EVEN WHILE THE FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE AND IN NEUTRAL. I ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE OVER A SMALL PILE OF SHOVELED SNOW AT THE END OF MY DRIVEWAY ENTERING A CITY STREET AND I SHIFTED IT INTO 4WD LOW. THE VEHICLE WAS IN NEUTRAL AND THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. IT MADE A HORRIBLE GRINDING AND THEN A "THUD" FROM THE POWERTRAIN AND LURCHED FORWARD. AFTER I WAS OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY I DECIDED TO TAKE IT OUT OF 4WD LOW, SO I STOPPED, AND WITH THE BRAKE APPLIED, I SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND THEN SELECTED 4WD HIGH. THE VEHICLE ADVISED TO PULL FORWARD SO I SHIFTED TO DRIVE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE AND HAD A VERY HIGH RPM. AND THE SPEEDOMETER STARTED CLIMBING. I THEN SHIFTED BACK TO NEUTRAL AND THEN TRIED REVERSE. SAME RESULT, I GOT THE SAME, NO MOVEMENT HIGH RPM AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE GEARS STARTED TO GRIND HORRIBLY! I IMMEDIATELY SHIFTED BACK TO NEUTRAL. I EVEN ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT TO 4X2, BUT STILL WOULD NOT MOVE. IT SEEMED AS IT WAS STUCK IN BETWEEN GEARS. I THEN HAD TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE WHILE IN NEUTRAL AND PUSHED THE VEHICLE FORWARD, AS THIS IS WHAT THE ONBOARD SYSTEM WAS SAYING. IT WANTED YOU TO PULL FORWARD, BUT NOTHING WAS ENGAGED TO LET YOU PULL FORWARD. NO OTHER OPTION THAN TO PUSH. AFTER A FEW TRIES OF THIS PUSHING AND SHIFTING METHOD, IT FINALLY DECIDED TO CATCH AND IT SLAMMED BACK INTO 4WD HIGH, BUT IT ALSO SOUNDED LIKE THE FRONT END OF THE TRUCK WAS BEING RIPPED APART AT THAT POINT. IT WAS IN GEAR FOR ME AND MOVING AGAIN THOUGH, AND I WAS ABLE TO SHIFT IT BACK INTO 4X2 IMMEDIATELY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds