Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 521 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (78) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (59)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (20)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (100) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (37)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (30) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (11)
Engine (198) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (26)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/16/2016 - DRIFTWOOD, TX
WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET ON AND GOING 70 MPH, ON A STRAIGHT LEVEL HIGHWAY, TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTED TO 1ST GEAR. REAR TIRES SLID, ENGINE RPM'S WERE INCREASED FROM THE ENGINE BRAKING EFFECT OF THE SUDDEN DOWNSHIFT AND TIRES DRAGGING. PULLED OFF THE ROAD AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE FOR A SHORT TIME. STARTED THE ENGINE AND WENT HOME SLOWLY WITHOUT ANOTHER ISSUE. DID A SEARCH FOR WHAT HAPPENED AND FOUND THE RECALL FOR 2011 AND 2012 F150. THIS IS A SERIOUSLY UNSAFE AND UNPREDICTABLE CONDITION THAT IF IT OCCURS ON A CURVE OR RAIN SLICKED ROAD COULD CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT THROUGH LOSS OF CONTROL. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD AND BEEN TOLD THE RECALL DOES NOT COVER MAY YEAR MODEL. I THINK MY 95,000 MILES ON MY 2013 MODEL F150 PUTS MY VEHICLE IN THE MILEAGE RANGE OBTAINED BY EARLIER YEAR MODELS SO I MAY BE THE START OF THE SAME ISSUES WITH THE 2013 YEAR MODELS. THERE IS A COMPONENT ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSIONS THAT THEY FAILING IN SUCH A DANGEROUS AND UNPREDICTABLE MANNER. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER IS 16V248000 FOR 2011 AND 2012 F150S.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/13/2016 - WASHINGTON, MO
DRIVING ON A CITY STREET THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AND LOSS ALL ACCELERATION, IT SHOWED A WRENCH ON THE DASH SCREEN, COASTED TO A SAFE PLACE AND TURNED TRUCK OFF. IT RESTARTED FINE. APPROX 30 MINS LATER ON THE HIGHWAY IT DID THE SAME THING, STARTED SHAKING, NO ACCELERATION AND THE WRENCH SHOWED UP. AGAIN COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT AND RESTARTED. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY AND THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG, BUT THAT IT COULD BE THE ETB BUT WITH OUT A CODE SHOWING THEY CANT DO ANYTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

9/13/2016 - WASHINGTON, MO
DRIVING ON A CITY STREET THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AND LOSS ALL ACCELERATION, IT SHOWED A WRENCH ON THE DASH SCREEN, COASTED TO A SAFE PLACE AND TURNED TRUCK OFF. IT RESTARTED FINE. APPROX 30 MINS LATER ON THE HIGHWAY IT DID THE SAME THING, STARTED SHAKING, NO ACCELERATION AND THE WRENCH SHOWED UP. AGAIN COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT AND RESTARTED. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY AND THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG, BUT THAT IT COULD BE THE ETB BUT WITH OUT A CODE SHOWING THEY CANT DO ANYTHING.

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2016 - METAIRIE, LA
WHILE DRIVING ALONG, LOST POWER AND MOTOR VIBRATED. LIGHT WITH WRENCH CAME ON. VEHICLE SLOWED DOWN. PULLED ON SIDE OF THE ROAD. MOTOR KEPT RUNNING ERRATICALLY. ENGINE SURGED TO A HIGHER SPEED BY ITSELF. PROBLEM CLEARED BY ITSELF. WENT TO AUTOZONE AND HAD ERROR CODE READ. IT SAID THAT IT WAS A DEFECTIVE THROTTLE BODY. COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT IF IN GEAR AND ENGINE SURGED OR IF FAILURE OCCURRED ON A FREEWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/12/2016 - RIVERVIEW, FL
LIKE MANY OTHER FORD THROTTLE BODY COMPLAINTS IN VEHICLES 2010-2013 MINE HAS THE SAME ELECTRICAL CONNECTION PROBLEM FROM THE VEHICLE COMPUTER TO THE THROTTLE BODY ITSELF. SENDING THE VEHICLE INTO THE "LIMP HOME MODE " WHILE IN MOTION AT ANY SPEED CAUSING A SAFETY ISSUE BY, AT ANY GIVEN TIME LOSING THROTTLE CONTROL.THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE INCLUDED IN THE EARLIER RECALL ( CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM VIA FORD MOTOR COMPANY ) OF ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY DEFECTS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2016 - LAWRENCE, KS
MULTIPLE TIMES NOW, MY TRUCK WILL DOWNSHIFT AND SEND THE RPMS OVER 4500 THIS CAUSES THE ENGINE TO MISFIRE, THE ENGINE LIGHT WILL BLINK AND THE TRUCK WILL STRUGGLE TO MAINTAIN ITS SPEED AND ANY ACCELERATION IS EXTREMELY DIMINISHED. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS I FREQUENTLY DRIVE ON RURAL 2-LANE(ONE IN EACH DIRECTION) HIGHWAYS AND FIND THIS PROBLEM SIGNIFICANTLY IMPACTS MY ABILITY TO SAFELY PASS SLOWER VEHICLES. IT HAS FAILED TO ACCELERATE ENOUGH TIMES THAT I CANNOT DEPEND ON THE TRUCK TO ACCELERATE WHEN I MOVE INTO ONCOMING LANES OF TRAFFIC. AT 30,000 MILES THE ENGINE DEVELOPED AN OIL LEAK. WITHIN A MONTH OF HAVING THE LEAK REPAIRED AT THE DEALER, THE ENGINE EXPERIENCED A MAJOR MISFIRE EVENT CAUSING THE ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. I RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR. THE DEALERSHIP EXPLAINED THAT TWO IGNITION COILS WENT BAD AND REQUIRED REPLACEMENT. THIS CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE SPARK PLUGS FOR WHICH I WAS CHARGED APPROX $250 BUT WAS ABLE TO NEGOTIATE IT DOWN TO $140. WITHIN A MONTH OF GETTING THE VEHICLE BACK, THE VEHICLE STARTED DISPLAYING THE MISFIRE SYMPTOMS WITH DIMINISHED ACCELERATION AND BLINKING ENGINE LIGHT. VERY UNHAPPY WITH THIS VEHICLE'S PERFORMANCE!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/9/2016 - MILFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL, A SQUEAKING NOISE WAS PRESENT FROM ALL FOUR WHEELS. THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND VIBRATED. THE VEHICLE ALSO SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND APPEARED TO STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE STALLING WAS DUE TO A FAULTY BRAKE BOOSTER. THE DEALER CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS, BUT THE FAILURES CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,667.

View Details

ENGINE

9/9/2016 - MILFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL, A SQUEAKING NOISE WAS PRESENT FROM ALL FOUR WHEELS. THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND VIBRATED. THE VEHICLE ALSO SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND APPEARED TO STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE STALLING WAS DUE TO A FAULTY BRAKE BOOSTER. THE DEALER CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS, BUT THE FAILURES CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,667.

View Details

ENGINE

9/2/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I BOUGHT MY TRUCK NEW FROM THE DEALER 2013. I+M CONSISTENT WITH ALL THE UP KEEPS OF MY TRUCK. HOWEVER, MID AUGUST 2016, I NOTICED THE TRUCK HESITATED TO START AT THE BEGINNING WHILE IN STATIONARY POSITION FOR A FEW DAYS, THEN OUT OF NOWHERE FROM ONE DAY TO THE NEXT, THE ENGINE DIDN+T START IN THE MORNING AGAIN WHILE IN STATIONARY POSITION AND THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME UP! I BOUGHT A NEW BATTERY THINKING THAT MAYBE IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, EVEN WITH THE NEW BATTERY THE TRUCK FAILED TO START IN STATIONARY. AFTER THAT, I TRIED STARTING MY TRUCK FOR TWO CONSECUTIVE DAYS, BY THE THIRD DAY THE TRUCK STARTED! I DROVE IT IMMEDIATELY TO AUTOZONE BUT NOTHING CAME UP WRONG WITH IT? SO, I DROVE IT BACK HOME. A WEEK LATER, I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE TRUCK, LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPEN. THEN, YESTERDAY ALL OF A SUDDEN I WAS DRIVING HOME, WHILE IN MOTION THE ENGINE DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC ON A CITY STREET, SO I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IMMEDIATELY ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE TRUCK AS IT CONTINUED TO HESITATE. FINALLY, AFTER 10 MINUTES THE TRUCK STARTED AND I DROVE TO AUTOZONE AND AGAIN NOTHING CAME UP WRONG WITH IT. SO I DROVE IT BACK HOME. THEN, TODAY, WHICH IS SEPTEMBER 2, 2016 WHILE THE TRUCK IS STATIONARY IT FAILED TO START AND THE ENGINE LIGHT, CAME UP AGAIN. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THIS TRUCK! I DON+T FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE IN FEAR THAT MY TRUCK WILL STOP WORKING WHILE IN MOTION AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I CAN GET STRANDED ANYWHERE AT ANYTIME.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/2/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I BOUGHT MY TRUCK NEW FROM THE DEALER 2013. I+M CONSISTENT WITH ALL THE UP KEEPS OF MY TRUCK. HOWEVER, MID AUGUST 2016, I NOTICED THE TRUCK HESITATED TO START AT THE BEGINNING WHILE IN STATIONARY POSITION FOR A FEW DAYS, THEN OUT OF NOWHERE FROM ONE DAY TO THE NEXT, THE ENGINE DIDN+T START IN THE MORNING AGAIN WHILE IN STATIONARY POSITION AND THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME UP! I BOUGHT A NEW BATTERY THINKING THAT MAYBE IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, EVEN WITH THE NEW BATTERY THE TRUCK FAILED TO START IN STATIONARY. AFTER THAT, I TRIED STARTING MY TRUCK FOR TWO CONSECUTIVE DAYS, BY THE THIRD DAY THE TRUCK STARTED! I DROVE IT IMMEDIATELY TO AUTOZONE BUT NOTHING CAME UP WRONG WITH IT? SO, I DROVE IT BACK HOME. A WEEK LATER, I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE TRUCK, LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPEN. THEN, YESTERDAY ALL OF A SUDDEN I WAS DRIVING HOME, WHILE IN MOTION THE ENGINE DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC ON A CITY STREET, SO I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IMMEDIATELY ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE TRUCK AS IT CONTINUED TO HESITATE. FINALLY, AFTER 10 MINUTES THE TRUCK STARTED AND I DROVE TO AUTOZONE AND AGAIN NOTHING CAME UP WRONG WITH IT. SO I DROVE IT BACK HOME. THEN, TODAY, WHICH IS SEPTEMBER 2, 2016 WHILE THE TRUCK IS STATIONARY IT FAILED TO START AND THE ENGINE LIGHT, CAME UP AGAIN. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THIS TRUCK! I DON+T FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE IN FEAR THAT MY TRUCK WILL STOP WORKING WHILE IN MOTION AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I CAN GET STRANDED ANYWHERE AT ANYTIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 56
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds