Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 783 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Fuel System Gasoline (22) Steering (66) Unknown Or Other (40)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (126) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (75)
Electrical System (108) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (11) Visibility (27)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (153) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (58)
Engine (246) Fuel Propulsion System (56) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/6/2017 - BLUFF CITY, TN
THE APIM OR ADVANCED PROTOCOL INTERFACE MODULE WENT BAD THIS IS THE COMPUTER SCREEN. THE HEAT WOULD KICK ON HIGH AND BLOW ON HIGH SPEED AND IT WOULD GET SO HOT INSIDE THE VEHICLE ON A HOT DAY THAT WE LITERALLY FELT LIKE PASSING OUT. THERE WAS NO WAY TO CONTROL THE HEAT OR AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM AND WE HAD TO OPEN ALL THE WINDOWS AND SUNROOF JUST TO COOL DOWN AND IT WAS STILL SO HOT. WE HAD TO KEEP OPENING THE SUNROOF SO MANY TIMES IT BROKE AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE TRUCK ONLY HAD 99,000 MILES ON IT. BUYER BEWARE THE APIM UNIT IS ONLY COVERED FOR 5 YEARS FROM WARRANTY START DATE AND I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED BY FORD THAT THIS WAS A RECALL SERVICE BULLETIN M202. THE SUNROOF WOULD HAVE NEVER WENT BAD HAD THE APIM UNIT NOT MALFUNCTIONED BECAUSE WE NEVER OPENED IT BEFORE THE UNIT WENT BAD. TOTAL COST OF MY REPAIR 2400 FOR SUNROOF AND 1000 FOR APIM UNIT REPLACEMENT. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DRIVE WITH ALL WINDOWS DOWN AND IT GETS SO HOT YOU WILL FEEL SICK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/6/2017 - STAYTON, OR
(TESTING) THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE RUBBER CAR MAT SLID UNDER THE BRAKE PEDAL AND WAS OVER THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A WALL BARRIER DUE TO NOT BEING ABLE TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL PROPERLY. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE BUT NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,985.

View Details

STEERING

12/6/2017 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH, THE CONTACT HAD TO STOP THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY AND THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC, POWER STEERING, AND SERVICE IMMEDIATELY WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER (RANDALL REED PLANET FORD IN PARK CITIES, TEXAS) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR IN THE RACK SYSTEM WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2017 - SIMMS, TX
ENGINE RATTLES UPON COLD STARTUP AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATES FROM P0016 ERROR CODE RELATING TO THE TIMING CHAIN BEING STRETCHED. FORD HAS ISSUED TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS REGARDING THIS ISSUE MEANING IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL OF VEHICLE, YET THEY REFUSE TO HELP WITH THE REPAIR YET I HAVE PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY AND JUST SO HAPPEN TO BE 3000 MILES OVER THE MILEAGE LIMIT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/5/2017 - EULESS, TX
I BOUGHT A NEW F-150 IN 2013. THE FRONT BRAKES BEGAN PULSATING WHEN APPLIED AT 50+ MPH. THE DEALERSHIP TURNED THE ROTORS, CHARGING @ $500. ABOUT 6 MONTHS LATER WITH LESS THAN 10,000 ADDITIONAL MILES, SAME PROBLEM. DEALER SAID THIS IS NORMAL AND BRAKES WOULD HAVE TO BE REPAIRED ABOUT EVERY 10,000 MILES. RESEARCH SHOWS THIS PROBLEM TO BE PERVASIVE WITH THE F-150 BECAUSE OF INFERIOR MATERIAL USED IN THE ROTORS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2017 - SOMERSET, WI
WHILE TRAVELING IN OUR 2013 F150 WITH 37,000 MILES FROM WISCONSIN TO TEXAS ON INTERSTATE 35 AT 70 MPH TOWING A 4000 LB TRAILER THE ENGINE SUDDENLY SHUT DOWN AND THE GOLD WRENCH ILLUMINATED. HAD TO QUICKLY PULL TO THE SHOULDER TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC TO AVOID GETTING REAR ENDED. THE ECOBOOST ENGINE WENT INTO LIMP MODE WHEN THE GOLD WRENCH APPEARED AND MAX SPEED WAS ABOUT 2 MPH WITH THE TRAILER ATTACHED. TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND WHEN RESTARTED AFTER 10 MINUTES IT SEEMED TO BE BACK TO NORMAL. WENT TO THE NEAREST FORD DEALER, RUSTY ECK FORD, WICHITA, KANSAS WHERE A SELFTEST WAS PERFORMED. NO CODES WERE FOUND, NO TSB OR SSM FOUND, BUT SAID THEY SUSPECT THE THROTTLE BODY IS GOING OUT (INVOICE NO FOCS664277). CONTINUED ON OUR TRIP AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED FOUR MORE TIMES THAT SAME DAY. THE NEXT DAY OF OUR TRIP SOUTH THE TRUCK RAN FLAWLESS DURING THE REMAINING 500 MILES OF OUR TRIP. SINCE WE HAVE REACHED OUR DESTINATION THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED ONCE DURING LOCAL DRIVING. I AM PLANNING ON REPLACING THE THROTTLE BODY BUT NO ONE CAN ASSURE ME THE THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND DEPENDING ON THE SPECIFIC ROAD AND TRAFFIC CONDITIONS COULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT WITH INJURIES AND/OR FATALITIES. WE WERE TERRIFIED DRIVING THROUGH FORT WORTH CONSTRUCTION AT NIGHT WITH HEAVY TRAFFIC AND ABSOLUTELY NO SHOULDERS FOR MANY MILES FEARING THE GOLD WRENCH WOULD APPEAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/5/2017 - BROOK PARK, OH
I HAVE HAD REAR WINDOW ISSUES SINCE I BOUGHT THE TRUCK. FIRST WAS WHEN THE REAR DEFROST/MIRROR DEFROST WASN'T WORKING. THEY REPLACED THE WINDOW IN 2014. SECOND TIME WAS IN APRIL OF 2017. WE HAD A HEAVY FROST AND I COULDN'T SEE OUT THE BACK WINDOW OR THE SIDE MIRRORS, SO I TURNED ON THE DEFROST. ABOUT TEN MINUTES LATER I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. I IMMEDIATELY STARTED LOOKING AROUND THINKING SOMEONE SHOT AT ME. I DIDN'T REALIZE RIGHT AWAY DUE TO THE REAR HEADREST COVERING A LARGE PORTION OF THE WINDOW, THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE STATIONARY SECTION OF THE BACK WINDOW HAD EXPLODED. THE GLASS STAYED INTACT, HOWEVER TINY SLIVERS OF GLASS FELL ONTO MY DAUGHTERS CAR SEAT WHICH WAS IN FRONT OF THIS WINDOW. FORD DID REPLACE THE WINDOW, RELUCTANTLY AND I PAID AN INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLE, EVEN THOUGH THE INTERNET IS FULL OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I RECENTLY WENT TO TURN ON MY REAR DEFROST AGAIN, AND FOUND THE SAME ISSUE AS THE FIRST PROBLEM, WHERE THE DEFROST WONT WORK AND THE LIKELY FIX IS REPLACING THE REAR WINDOW. THIS WILL BE THE FOURTH WINDOW IN FOUR YEARS. IS THIS SOMETHING I SHOULD EXPECT TO DO LIKE OIL CHANGES AND TIRES? THIS IS RIDICULOUS. THE EXPLODING WINDOW CAN REALLY BE AN ISSUE. SOMEONE MAY PANIC AND THINK ITS A GUNSHOT, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR IF SOMEONE WAS SITTING THERE, THEY COULD GET GLASS SLIVERS ON THEM. THIS APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN A KNOWN ISSUE FOR YEARS WITH THESE WINDOWS. WHY HAVEN'T THEY BEEN FORCED TO REDESIGN IT?

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/5/2017 - BROOK PARK, OH
I HAVE HAD REAR WINDOW ISSUES SINCE I BOUGHT THE TRUCK. FIRST WAS WHEN THE REAR DEFROST/MIRROR DEFROST WASN'T WORKING. THEY REPLACED THE WINDOW IN 2014. SECOND TIME WAS IN APRIL OF 2017. WE HAD A HEAVY FROST AND I COULDN'T SEE OUT THE BACK WINDOW OR THE SIDE MIRRORS, SO I TURNED ON THE DEFROST. ABOUT TEN MINUTES LATER I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. I IMMEDIATELY STARTED LOOKING AROUND THINKING SOMEONE SHOT AT ME. I DIDN'T REALIZE RIGHT AWAY DUE TO THE REAR HEADREST COVERING A LARGE PORTION OF THE WINDOW, THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE STATIONARY SECTION OF THE BACK WINDOW HAD EXPLODED. THE GLASS STAYED INTACT, HOWEVER TINY SLIVERS OF GLASS FELL ONTO MY DAUGHTERS CAR SEAT WHICH WAS IN FRONT OF THIS WINDOW. FORD DID REPLACE THE WINDOW, RELUCTANTLY AND I PAID AN INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLE, EVEN THOUGH THE INTERNET IS FULL OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I RECENTLY WENT TO TURN ON MY REAR DEFROST AGAIN, AND FOUND THE SAME ISSUE AS THE FIRST PROBLEM, WHERE THE DEFROST WONT WORK AND THE LIKELY FIX IS REPLACING THE REAR WINDOW. THIS WILL BE THE FOURTH WINDOW IN FOUR YEARS. IS THIS SOMETHING I SHOULD EXPECT TO DO LIKE OIL CHANGES AND TIRES? THIS IS RIDICULOUS. THE EXPLODING WINDOW CAN REALLY BE AN ISSUE. SOMEONE MAY PANIC AND THINK ITS A GUNSHOT, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR IF SOMEONE WAS SITTING THERE, THEY COULD GET GLASS SLIVERS ON THEM. THIS APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN A KNOWN ISSUE FOR YEARS WITH THESE WINDOWS. WHY HAVEN'T THEY BEEN FORCED TO REDESIGN IT?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/5/2017 - BROOK PARK, OH
I HAVE HAD REAR WINDOW ISSUES SINCE I BOUGHT THE TRUCK. FIRST WAS WHEN THE REAR DEFROST/MIRROR DEFROST WASN'T WORKING. THEY REPLACED THE WINDOW IN 2014. SECOND TIME WAS IN APRIL OF 2017. WE HAD A HEAVY FROST AND I COULDN'T SEE OUT THE BACK WINDOW OR THE SIDE MIRRORS, SO I TURNED ON THE DEFROST. ABOUT TEN MINUTES LATER I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. I IMMEDIATELY STARTED LOOKING AROUND THINKING SOMEONE SHOT AT ME. I DIDN'T REALIZE RIGHT AWAY DUE TO THE REAR HEADREST COVERING A LARGE PORTION OF THE WINDOW, THAT THE DRIVERS SIDE STATIONARY SECTION OF THE BACK WINDOW HAD EXPLODED. THE GLASS STAYED INTACT, HOWEVER TINY SLIVERS OF GLASS FELL ONTO MY DAUGHTERS CAR SEAT WHICH WAS IN FRONT OF THIS WINDOW. FORD DID REPLACE THE WINDOW, RELUCTANTLY AND I PAID AN INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLE, EVEN THOUGH THE INTERNET IS FULL OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I RECENTLY WENT TO TURN ON MY REAR DEFROST AGAIN, AND FOUND THE SAME ISSUE AS THE FIRST PROBLEM, WHERE THE DEFROST WONT WORK AND THE LIKELY FIX IS REPLACING THE REAR WINDOW. THIS WILL BE THE FOURTH WINDOW IN FOUR YEARS. IS THIS SOMETHING I SHOULD EXPECT TO DO LIKE OIL CHANGES AND TIRES? THIS IS RIDICULOUS. THE EXPLODING WINDOW CAN REALLY BE AN ISSUE. SOMEONE MAY PANIC AND THINK ITS A GUNSHOT, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR IF SOMEONE WAS SITTING THERE, THEY COULD GET GLASS SLIVERS ON THEM. THIS APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN A KNOWN ISSUE FOR YEARS WITH THESE WINDOWS. WHY HAVEN'T THEY BEEN FORCED TO REDESIGN IT?

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

12/4/2017 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE SERVICE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TED BRITT FORD (11165 FAIRFAX BLVD, FAIRFAX, VA 22030) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEAD FRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,500.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds