Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 464 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (73) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (58)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (18)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (80) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (35)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (11)
Engine (179) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2016 - MOKENA, IL
FORD F-150 BRAKE FAILURE WAS DRIVING ON SUNDAY AND HAD A COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE WITH NO ELECTRONIC WARNING, WARNING LIGHT FOR LOW BRAKE FLUID CAME ON AFTER FAILURE. WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 35 MPH ON A CITY STREET AT TIME PUSHED PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO FLOOR WITH LITTLE RESPONSE BY BRAKIN SYSTEM. HAD TO USE PARKING BRAKE TO STOP CAR, EXTREMELY SCARY BC I HAD KIDS IN CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - DENNYSVILLE, ME
BATTERY WARNING LIGHT COMES. HEAD LIGHTS, INTERIOR LIGHTS, AND INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS SURGE. BATTERY IS DEAD THE NEXT MORNING WHEN I GO TO START MY TRUCK. BE TO FOUR GARAGES TWO WHERE FORD CERTIFIED GARAGES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/16/2016 - SOUTH CHARLESTION, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH AND PASSING ANOTHER VEHICLE, THERE WAS HESITATION AND A RAPID REDUCTION IN ENGINE POWER AS THE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THREE MINUTES LATER, THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE ECOBOOSTER ENGINE CAC DETECTOR SHIELD WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,987.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/15/2016 - LAKE CITY, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING OVER UNEVEN TERRAIN, THE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE LIGHT WOULD NOT DIM UNLESS THE CONTACT CONNECTED THE SEAT BELT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,500.

View Details

ENGINE

6/9/2016 - SOUTH CHARLESTON, WV
I WANTED TO MAKE YOUR OFFICE AWARE AND SEEK ANY ASSISTANCE YOU MAY BE ABLE TO OFFER REGARDING A SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE FORD ECOBOOST ENGINE FOUND IN MANY TRUCKS IN OUR STATE. RECENTLY I WAS DRIVING ON A TWO LANE ROAD AND ENDED UP BEHIND A SLOW MOVING TRACTOR TRAILER. WHEN GETTING TO A PROPER PASSING ZONE, I ACCELERATED TO PASS THE VEHICLE. JUST ABOUT THE TIME I WAS ALONGSIDE IT, MY TRUCK (A 2013 F150 ECOBOOS WITH ABOUT 78K MILES) STARTED SHUDDERING, A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT DRASTICALLY REDUCED POWER ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE WAS APPROACHING FROM THE OTHER DIRECTION (THIS TOOK SEVERAL SECONDS - THE PASSING ZONE WAS ENTIRELY CLEAR WHEN I STARTED THE MANEUVER). I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO A LOCAL DEALER FOR REPAIRS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT IT WAS FROM A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AFFECTING CONDENSATION IN THE COOLING UNIT OF THE TURBOS. FORD HAD ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB-14-0017) REGARDING THE ISSUE BUT NO RECALLS MADE NOR ANY CUSTOMER NOTIFICATIONS SENT OUT. I HAVE NOTIFIED FORD AND REQUESTED 1) THEY REIMBURSE THE COST OF REPAIRS; 2) ISSUE AN IMMEDIATE RECALL FOR THIS MAJOR SAFETY DEFECT; AND 3) IMMEDIATELY NOTIFY OWNERS OF THEIR PRODUCT AS TO THE POSSIBLE SAFETY HAZARD THAT COULD OCCUR WHEN PUTTING THE ENGINE UNDER A HEAVY RPM LOAD. ADDITIONALLY, I AM ASKING IF YOUR OFFICE CAN FOLLOW UP WITH THIS REQUEST TO ENSURE THAT SOMEONE DOESN'T ENCOUNTER THE SAME BAD SITUATION OR WORSE. THIS WAS A POTENTIAL FATALITY SITUATION THAT COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED. THANKS GREG POWERS 230 3RD AVENUE SOUTH CHARLESTON, WV 25303 304-741-5487

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/9/2016 - LAVEEN, AZ
WHEN I TURN ON AND PLACE THE TRUCK IN DRIVE, MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP TO WHERE I CANT USE STEERING WHEEL, I GET A ERROR ON DASH STATING "ASSIST POWER STEERING FAILURE. I PLACE TRUCK IN PARK AND TURN VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTART AND PROBLEM SEEMS FINE, UNTIL STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP WHILE DRIVING AND I GET THIS SAME ERROR. FORD DEALER IS CHARGING ME $2000 TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. THIS COULD CAUSE A MAJOR CRASH. I BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE THIS RECALLED AND PAY FOR THIS.

View Details

STEERING

6/9/2016 - LAVEEN, AZ
WHEN I TURN ON AND PLACE THE TRUCK IN DRIVE, MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP TO WHERE I CANT USE STEERING WHEEL, I GET A ERROR ON DASH STATING "ASSIST POWER STEERING FAILURE. I PLACE TRUCK IN PARK AND TURN VEHICLE OFF, AND RESTART AND PROBLEM SEEMS FINE, UNTIL STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP WHILE DRIVING AND I GET THIS SAME ERROR. FORD DEALER IS CHARGING ME $2000 TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. THIS COULD CAUSE A MAJOR CRASH. I BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE THIS RECALLED AND PAY FOR THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2016 - EL PASO, TX
AS I CAME BACK FROM DROPPING OF THE KIDS AT SCHOOL, 06 JUNE, I WAS DRIVING INTO THE HOUSE COMPLEX WHEN THE BREAKS FAILED. THE TRUCK WOULD NOT STOP. I USED THE EMERGENCY BREAK TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. ONCE I STOPPED I THEN PROCEEDED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE TO MY DRIVE WAY USING THE EMERGENCY BREAK. I WAS LUCKY IT WAS NOT BUSY. I CONTACT FORD TO SEE ABOUT THE PROBLEM. WAS TOLD THE RECALL WAS NOT GOING TO COME OUT TILL JULY. FORD GOT ME IN CONTACT WITH THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP, VIVA FORD, TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO PICK UP THE TRUCK ON 07 JUNE. THE PROBLEM IS THE FLUID LEAKS INTO THE MASTER CYLINDER. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT FORD DOES NOT COVER RENTALS. THAT THE DEALERSHIP WILL TRY TO HELP ME WITH A LOANER. NOW I'M STUCK WITH NO VEHICLE, MISSED A DAY OF WORK AND STILL HAVE TO WAIT IF A LOANER VEHICLE COMES AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/7/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
ON 6/5/2016 THE LOW BRAKE FLUID WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR WAS EMPTY. WE WERE NEAR HAROLD FORD IN SACRAMENTO, CA, SO WE DROPPED THE TRUCK OFF FOR REPAIR. ON 6/6/2016, THE MASTER CYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER WERE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2016 - WOODBURY, GA
THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I STARTED UP MY TRUCK FOR THE DAY. I LOST ALL POWER STEERING CONTROL AND THE BLINKERS STOPPED WORKING. MY TRUCK IS A 2013 F-150 WITH ONLY 38,000 MILES. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM THAT FORD KNOWS ABOUT AND YOU, THE NHTSA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. IT IS TIME THAT SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS SAFETY PROBLEM. IS EVERYBODY GOING TO WAIT LIKE GM DID UNTIL THERE ARE MULTIPLE FATALITIES BEFORE THIS IS ADDRESSED? DO SOMETHING!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds