Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 271 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (52)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (7) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (15)
Engine (145) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (21) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (52)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/16/2015 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
WE HAD JUST TAKEN THE EXIT RAMP ONTO THE INTERSTATE. AS WE STARTED TO ACCELERATE TO HIGHWAY SPEED, WE SUDDENLY LOST ALL ACCELERATION. WE DRIFTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE WHERE WE SAT UNTIL A TOW TRUCK ARRIVED TO BRING OUR VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP. WEATHER CONDITIONS WERE HUMID, SLIGHT DRIZZLE, AND A TEMPERATURE APPROXIMATELY 75^. WE HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM BEFORE, AND HAD NO ISSUES TODAY UNTIL WE STARTED TO ACCELERATE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/11/2015 - WINTERS , CA
THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT IN MY 2013 FORD F-150 RECENTLY HAS BECOME AND REMAINS CONSTANTLY LIT UP. AFTER READING ABOUT ALL OF FORD'S RECENT AIRBAG RECALL ISSUES IT SEEMS THAT THE ISSUE WITH MY DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG MAY BE CONSISTENT WITH THE DEFECTS THAT LED TO THOSE RECALLS BY FORD. UPON CONTACTING THE FORD DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED MY TRUCK AS WELL AS THE FORD CUSTOMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT I WAS INFORMED THAT MY VIN IS NOT ON THEIR CURRENT LIST OF VEHICLES ELIGIBLE FOR AN AIRBAG RECALL. THIS IS A VERY FRUSTRATING SITUATION, I DO NOT FEEL THAT I OR MY FAMILY ARE SAFE WHILE DRIVING MY TRUCK AFTER READING WHAT HAS BEEN PUBLISHED ABOUT FORD'S SUSPECT AIRBAGS. CONVENIENTLY THIS DEFECT BECAME APPARENT RIGHT AROUND THE TIME THAT MY VEHICLE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED, THE NEXT TIME I AM IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW VEHICLE I WILL KEEP IN MIND FORD'S DISREGARD FOR CONSUMER SAFETY.

View Details

TIRES

4/29/2015 - PHILIPSBURG , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150 EQUIPPED WITH GOODYEAR WRANGLER TIRES, SIZE: P275/65/R18 (NA). WHILE ROTATING THE TIRES, THE CONTACT NOTICED CRACKS BETWEEN THE TREAD. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT ALL FOUR TIRES EXPERIENCED CRACKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DEALER, WHO BOTH STATED THAT ALL THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE TIRE AND VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2015 - BRENTWOOD, NH
2013 FORD F-150 LARIAT SUPER CREW: APRIL 17, 2015: DRIVING SOUTH ON RT 95 TO BOSTON, MY WIFE (DRIVER) TURNED ON THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER TO CLEAR FOG FROM WINDOWS AND SIDE MIRRORS. THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD "GUN SHOT" TYPE OF NOISE THAT STARTLED US BOTH. WE LOOKED AT WINDSHIELD TO SEE IF WE HAD BEEN HIT AND FOR CRACKS; THERE WAS NOTHING. ONCE STOPPED AND LOOKING OVER THE TRUCK WE DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR WINDOW/BACK LITE ON DRIVER'S SIDE HAD SHATTERED. I RAN MY HAND OVER THE ENTIRE WINDOW SEARCHING FOR AN IMPACT POINT, OR MARK AND THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. WE BOTH WONDERED ALOUD AS TO HOW THIS WINDOW JUST SHATTERED ON ITS OWN. ONCE HOME, I WENT ON THE INTERNET TO LOOK UP POSSIBLE CAUSES AND DISCOVERED THAT THERE ARE MANY, MANY CASES OF THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENING TO FORD PICKUPS. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMERS SERVICE TODAY AND SPOKE AT LENGTH WITH "ANGELA" WHO SEEMED TO UNDERSTAND THE SAFETY ISSUE OF WINDOWS SHATTERING WHILE DRIVING BUT AFTER PUTTING ME ON HOLD TO CHECK WITH SOMEONE, SAID THAT THERE IS NOTHING FORD CAN DO UNTIL A RECALL IS ISSUED, IF EVER. I TOLD HER THAT THERE IS NEARLY 60 COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE ON THE NHTSA SITE, ALONG WITH SCORES OF OTHERS IN FORD FORUMS, ETC. THIS NUMBER APPARENTLY IS NOT ENOUGH OF A SAFETY ISSUE FOR FORD TO RESPOND, BUT COMMON SENSE DICTATES THAT ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME UNTIL SOMETHING VERY SERIOUS OCCURS FROM FORD F-150 WINDOWS SHATTERING WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC. THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/19/2015 - LAS CRUCES, NM
THE VEHICLE HEATER KICKS OUT OF RECIRCULATION MODE AFTER 5 OR 10 MINUTES. THIS OFTEN BRINGS OUTSIDE AUTO FUMES INTO THE VEHICLE. IN ORDER TO STOP THE FUMES AND USE RECIRC AGAIN YOU HAVE TO PUSH THAT BUTTON, TAKING YOUR EYES OFF THE ROAD. THE DEALER SAYS TO USE 'MAX AIR' BUT THAT RESULTS IN HOT AIR BLOWING IN YOUR FACE. BOTH SITUATIONS REQUIRE DISTRACTED DRIVING, A SAFETY RISK. I WOULD LIKE FOR THE RECIRC MODE TO REMAIN AS LONG AS I WANT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
I HAD JUST EXITED THE FREEWAY AND WAS AT A RED LIGHT WHEN THE TRUCK MESSAGE BOARD READ SHIFT TO PARK , I DID THAT AND THE TRUCK BASICALLY SHUT DOWN , FLASHING BOTH A SERVICE ADVANCETRAC MESSAGE AS WELL AS A START SYSTEM FAULT MESSAGE. THE HAZARD LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK NOR ANY SIGNAL IN THE VEHICLE, THE RADIO, DOME LIGHTS WORKED BUT THE KEYLESS REMOTE KEYS WERE NOT WORKING. SO WE CALLED FORD ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND WAS STUCK ON THE BOTTOM OF A FREEWAY OFF RAMP FOR 3 HOURS WITH NO HAZARD LIGHTS FUNCTIONAL I HAD TO POP THE HOOD AND OPEN MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR AND STAND OUTSIDE OF THE TRUCK TO LET OTHER DRIVERS KNOW WE WERE STALLED IT WAS A VERY NERVE RACKING EXPERIENCE I'M JUST THANKFUL NOBODY HIT US AS WERE BASICALLY JUST SITTING DUCKS AT THE BOTTOM OF A BUSY FREEWAY OFF RAMP. PLEASE FIX THIS ISSUE BEFORE SOME ONE GETS KILLED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2015 - HILLBURN, NY
DURING THE START UP OF MY 2013 FORD F-150 KING RANCH, I PROCEEDED TO UTILIZE THE REAR DEFROSTER TO GET THE ICE OFF THE REAR WINDOW. THE REAR WINDOW IS COMPRISED OF 3 PANELS OF GLASS, ONE ON EACH SIDE AND THE SLIDING WINDOW IN THE CENTER. THE PANEL BEHIND THE DRIVERS SIDE THEN PROCEEDED TO CRACK AND SPIDER ACROSS THE ENTIRE WINDOW. THE INITIAL SOUND LED ME TO BELIEVE IT WAS ANOTHER ISSUE AS IT WAS A LOUD BANG, BUT I THEN LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW AND NOTICED THE CRACKED GLASS. IT RENDERS THE ENTIRE WINDOW USELESS AND A SAFETY HAZARD AS IT DISTORTS AND SKEWS MY VISION AND ABILITY TO SEE OUT OF IT SAFELY UNTIL I CAN ATTEMPT TO HAVE FORD RECTIFY THIS ISSUE. AFTER LOOKING ONLINE, IT APPEARS AS IF THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE, THAT REALLY SHOULD NOT HAPPEN TO BEGIN WITH.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/15/2015 - VICKERY, OH
MAR 15, 2015 AT APPROX. 1030AM,STARTED VEHICLE WITH REMOTE START FOB, AFTER WARMING FOR APPROX. 10 MINS LEFT TRAVELLING AT ROUGHLY 15 MPH, HEARD LOUD BANG/POP, NOTICED THAT REAR DRIVERS PARTIAL WINDOW WAS SHATTERED. TRAVELLED APPROX 1/8 MILE AND RETURNED HOME TO INVESTIGATE AND FOUND NO VISIBLE DAMAGE ON WINDOW OR AREA AROUND WINDOW. RESEARCHED ONLINE WITH OTHER FORD OWNERS AND FOUND MULTIPLE OTHER OCCURRENCES AS ABOVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/13/2015 - RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER SHIFTING INTO THE NEUTRAL POSITION, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE FAILURE RECURRED FIVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TWICE FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. A FLASH UPDATE WAS PERFORMED ON THE CPU EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/7/2015 - MOBILE, AL
TRUCK WAS PARKED SEVERAL HOURS IN SON-IN-LAWS DRIVEWAY. WIFE GOT IN TRUCK, AFTER CRANKING AND PLACING IN REVERSE, NO BRAKES! BACKED INTO SON-IN LAWS VEHICLE DAMAGING IT AND DAMAGING F 150. F 150 STILL UNDER WARRANTY, TAKEN TO MULLINAX FORD MOBILE AL. FOUND MASTERCYLINDER DEFECT , FAILED GASKET CAUSED BRAKE BOOSTER TO FAIL. MASTER CYLINDER REPLACED BY MULLINAX FORD, MOBILE AL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds