Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 440 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (70) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (57)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (9) Visibility (16)
Electrical System (48) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (72) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (35)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (25) Wheels (11)
Engine (172) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/19/2016 - MIDDLESEX, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR BRAKE PADS WERE SATURATED WITH BRAKE FLUID. THE REAR BRAKE PADS WERE REPLACED AT APPROXIMATELY 18,000, 21,000, 35,000, 50,000, AND 65,000 MILES; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2016 - PORTLAND, TN
TRUCK STALLED MOMENTARILY WHILE NEGOTIATING AN INTERSECTION. I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT TO CHECK FOR ISSUES. WHEN I TRIED TO RE-START THE TRUCK IT WOULD TURN OVER BUT WOULDN'T START. I CHECKED THE OWNERS MANUAL FOR THE PROCEDURE TO RE-SET THE FUEL SHUT OFF SWITCH BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT MAY HAVE BEEN ACTIVATED BY SOMETHING. TRUCK STILL WOULD NOT START AFTER FOLLOWING PROCEDURE. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO HUNT FORD IN FRANKLIN KY. A SERVICE TECHNICIAN CALLED ME THE NEXT DAY TO INFORM ME THAT THE FUEL PUMP RELAY HAD MELTED AND THAT FORD HAD ISSUED A TECHNICAL BULLETIN ABOUT THE ISSUE AND A FIX FOR IT WHICH INCLUDED INSTALLING AN INLINE FUSE TO KEEP THE RELAY FROM MELTING AGAIN. THE REPAIR COST $210 AND THE SERVICE TECH TOLD ME THAT MY TRUCK WAS SECOND ONE THAT THEY HAD FIXED WITH THIS SAME ISSUE THAT DAY! WHILE IT WASN'T A SAFETY ISSUE FOR ME, IT DEFINITELY HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BE ONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2016 - BERWICK, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTED INDEPENDENTLY AND THE RPMS INCREASED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED OR DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED TO THE FLOORBOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE STOPPED; HOWEVER, THE PARKING BRAKE HAD TO BE DEPRESSED. UPON INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE FLUID WAS DEPLETED. THE CONTACT ADDED BRAKE FLUID TO THE VEHICLE, BUT IT DEPLETED AGAIN 45 MINUTES LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2016 - BEAUMONT, TX
VEHICLES HAS SEVERAL TIMES AFTER BEING AT A STOP, VEHICLE WILL NOT ENGAGE TRANSMISSION. VEHICLE WILL ACCELERATE ENGINE RPM'S, BUT IS LIKE IT IS NEUTRAL AND SPEEDOMETER GOES TO 0. VEHICLE WILL ROLL, BUT STOPS IN MIDDLE OF ROAD, INTERSECTION OR SHOULDER IF ENOUGH SPEED BEFORE IT STOPS. BROUGHT VEHICLE IN 2 TIMES AND KINSEL FORD DEALERSHIP CAN'T GET IT DUPLICATE PROBLEM. CALLED FORD MOTOR AND THEY TOLD ME THEY CAN'T HELP ME UNTIL A CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN SEES IT. WAS TOLD I NEED TO DRIVE VEHICLE UNTIL IT DOES THIS AGAIN AND CALL ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND DON'T RESTART SO CODES WON'T CLEAR. I FEEL THIS WAS UNSAFE BECAUSE VEHICLE CAN STALL IN A INTERSECTION AND CAUSE A CAUSE A WRECK. FORD TOLD ME THEY COULDN'T HELP ME UNTIL THEY COULD ACTUALLY SEE THIS PROVE. I HAVE TO HAVE A VEHICLE AND DRIVE IT UNTIL IT DOES IT SO I CAN GET THIS FIXED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/16/2016 - NEWCASTLE, WA
MY SON WAS DRIVING TO SCHOOL, NORMAL SPEED, PRESSED THE BRAKES TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT. HE PUSHED THE BRAKE TO THE FLOOR AND THE TRUCK HAD NO BRAKES, DID NOT STOP AND SLID IN TO THE PERSON AHEAD OF HIM. LUCKILY, NO ONE WAS HURT, BUT HIS VEHICLE SUSTAINED OVER $3000 IN DAMAGES. THE PERSON AHEAD OF HIM HAD NO DAMAGES. EVEN NOW, THE BRAKES ARE VERY LIGHT AND YOU HAVE TO PRESS DOWN SUPER HARD. I AM VERY NERVOUS ABOUT HIM OR ANYONE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. THE DEALER WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT IT. WE PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN DECEMBER OF 2015.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/16/2016 - JASPER, GA
BRAKES REQUIRING FREQUENT SERVICE WITH BRAKE PADS BREAKING ON PASSENGER SIDE AND ROTORS NEEDING TURNING. WE HAVE 50,000 MILES ON TRUCK AND BRAKES ARE SCRUBBING AGAIN. THIS WILL BE THE FOURTH TIME WE HAVE HAD TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/13/2016 - FRUIT COVE, FL
ON 05/03/16 I WENT TO BRING MY 9500LB RV HOME FROM STORAGE. WHILE DRIVING TO THE LOT THE TRUCK BRAKES WERE FINE. AFTER HOOKING UP THE RV TO THE TRUCK AND PULLING OUT OF THE LOT THE BRAKES WERE STILL FINE. BUT AS I APPROACHED A TRAFFIC LIGHT, I PRESSED ON THE BRAKES AND NOTHING WAS THERE, NO BRAKES AT ALL. RED LIGHTS ON THE DASH WAS THE ONLY WARNING I GOT, BUT NOT UNTIL IT WAS TO LATE. IF NOT FOR THE RV HAVING BRAKES I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE RV HOME. I PUT FLUID IN THE BRAKE RESERVOIR. I THEN DROVE DOWN THE STREET (WITHOUT RV) WITH BRAKES BUT AFTER THE THIRD STOP I LOST ALL BRAKES. I WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP AND HAD THEM FIX THE ISSUE. I WAS TOLD THE MASTER CYLINDER WAS LEAKING ALL FLUID INTO THE BRAKE BOOSTER, AND WHEN THE MECHANIC REMOVED THE BOOSTER HE POURED FLUID FROM THE BOOSTER. BEFORE I LEFT MY HOUSE I FOUND NO WET BRAKES OR FLUID IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT OR ON THE GROUND. I WAS TOLD THE SAME BY THE MECHANIC. I CALLED MY FORD DEALERSHIP AND TOLD HIM OF THE ISSUE AND HE STATED BECAUSE I WAS OUTSIDE MY WARRANTY (45000 MILES) IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN COVERED. HE MADE NO MENCHIN OF THE POSSIBLE BRAKE ISSUES. I WENT ON THE INTERNET TO SEE IF OTHERS HAD A SIMILAR ISSUE AND FOUND OUT ABOUT THE INVESTIGATION. I'M WRITING YOU TODAY TO LET YOU KNOW THIS IS HAPPENING WITHOUT ANY WARNING. I HAVE ALL THE PARTS AND THE REPAIR COST ME 873.26. ALL STREETS WERE LOCAL STREETS. SEVERAL TRAFFIC LIGHTS. AFTER I LOST BRAKING I WAS ABLE TO STOP AND ENTER MY RESIDENTIAL STREET BY USING TRAILER BRAKES AND THE EMERGENCY TRUCK BRAKES. THANK YOU

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/12/2016 - LAKEWOOD, CO
TRUCK SHIFTS UP & DOWN BY SELF. JERKS HARD WHEN SHIFTING. WHEN STOPPED SPEEDO GOES TO 30 TO 50 AND SHOWS IN 3RD GEAR. AT START IN THIS SITUATION IT JUMPS VIOLENTLY FORWARD. WHEN TRYING TO MERGE WITH TRAFFIC WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF 1ST GEAR. RESTART AND TAKE BACK ROADS AS IT IS NOT SAFE IN TRAFFIC OR WHERE THERE ARE PEDESTRIANS AT A CROSS WALK. PHIL LONG FORD DENVER IS WAITING TO HEAR FROM FORD. FORD HAS STARTED A CASE REPORT ON THIS VEHICLE BUT HAS NOT RESPONDED. I AM CONCERNED THIS IS A BIG SAFETY PROBLEM. THIS APPEARS TO HAPPEN WHEN THE TRANSMISSION TEMPERATURE GOES UP OVER 200 DEGREES F. THE PROBLEMS HAPPEN WHILE STOPPED, STOPPING, STARTING HIGHWAYS OR SECONDARY ROADS, THIS HAPPENED 2 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST MONTH.

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2016 - PELHAM, MA
WHILE DRIVING, INCLUDING BUT NOT ALWAYS WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE DURING HEAVY FAST TRAFFIC, AND INCLUDING BUT NOT ALWAYS WHILE PULLING A TRAILER, THE ORANGE WRENCH LIGHT COMES ON, THE TRUCK ABRUPTLY ENTERS "LIMP" MODE REQUIRING RAPID PULLING OFF THE HIGHWAY IN ORDER TO STOP AND RESTART THE ENGINE, AND THEN A DANGEROUS PULLING BACK ON THE HIGHWAY FROM THE BREAKDOWN LANE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. THIS HAS BEEN DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A THROTTLE BODY REPLACEMENT #BL3Z-9E926-B, BUT I AM TOLD BY A FORD DEALER THAT THERE ARE ABOUT 3300 OTHERS WAITING FOR THIS PART AND THAT THEY ARE SO BACKLOGGED THAT NO DELIVERY DATE IS YET IN THEIR SYSTEM. RAPID, UNEXPECTED, AND REPEATED LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds