Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 164 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (38) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Steering (7) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (116)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/18/2014 - GRANGER, IN
DURING ACCELERATION TO PASS A CAR, MY TRUCK EXHIBITED A POWER LOSS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTS FLASHING AND THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER AND THE TRUCK DECELERATES. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED 6 TIMES IN VARIOUS CONDITIONS. IN 3 INSTANCES THE ENGINE ALMOST STALLED. IT CONTINUED TO STUTTER UNTIL I PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK, SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTED. TWICE, THIS HAS HAPPENED IN CHICAGO TRAFFIC WHILE MERGING ONTO THE HIGHWAY AND RESULTED IN A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I HAVE TAKEN MY TRUCK TO THE DEALER 4 TIMES BUT THEY SAY NO COMPUTER CODES WERE RECORDED. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD BUT THE REGIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER SAYS SHE HAS NEVER HEARD OF ANYONE WITH THIS PROBLEM BEFORE. THEY REFUSE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND TOLD ME TO CONTINUE TO TAKE MY TRUCK TO THE DEALER WHEN THESE ISSUES OCCUR. MY TRUCK IS NOW 9 MONTHS OLD WITH 13,000 MILES ON IT. THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE WAS IN MARCH OF THIS YEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/18/2014 - GRANGER, IN
DURING ACCELERATION TO PASS A CAR, MY TRUCK EXHIBITED A POWER LOSS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTS FLASHING AND THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER AND THE TRUCK DECELERATES. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED 6 TIMES IN VARIOUS CONDITIONS. IN 3 INSTANCES THE ENGINE ALMOST STALLED. IT CONTINUED TO STUTTER UNTIL I PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK, SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTARTED. TWICE, THIS HAS HAPPENED IN CHICAGO TRAFFIC WHILE MERGING ONTO THE HIGHWAY AND RESULTED IN A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. I HAVE TAKEN MY TRUCK TO THE DEALER 4 TIMES BUT THEY SAY NO COMPUTER CODES WERE RECORDED. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD BUT THE REGIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER SAYS SHE HAS NEVER HEARD OF ANYONE WITH THIS PROBLEM BEFORE. THEY REFUSE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND TOLD ME TO CONTINUE TO TAKE MY TRUCK TO THE DEALER WHEN THESE ISSUES OCCUR. MY TRUCK IS NOW 9 MONTHS OLD WITH 13,000 MILES ON IT. THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE WAS IN MARCH OF THIS YEAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/17/2014 - NEW ALMADEN, CA
WHILE ACCELERATING TO ENTER THE HOV LANE (FAR LEFT) IN HEAVY TRAFFIC THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN TO 3500 RPM. BRAKING DID NOT OVER-RIDE THE ACCELERATION. SLOWED ON IT'S OWN AFTER 15 MILES OF 70 MPH DRIVING WITHOUT TOUCHING THE GAS PEDAL. THREE MONTHS LATER, WHILE ACCELERATING QUICKLY FROM A STOP, TO SLOW, TO START IN TRAFFIC, THE TRUCK ACCELERATED AGAIN ON ITS OWN. TAC READ 3500 RPM WHILE PULLED OVER IN AND OUT OF GEAR (N). SHOP UNABLE TO REPLICATE ISSUE AND HAVE BEEN TOLD TO DRIVE IT. THIS IS A COUNTY OF SANTA CLARA, CALIFORNIA FLEET TRUCK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/10/2014 - MIAMI, FL
I WAS AT A STOP SIGN TURNING INTO A MAIN STREET, I ACCELERATED TO TURN INTO THE INTERSECTION WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE THE TRUCK DID NOT DO ANYTHING. IT WAS REALLY NERVE WRECKING, I STEPPED ON THE GAS LIKE 3 TIMES UNTIL THE TRUCK FINALLY REACTED. I ALMOST GOT INTO A REALLY BAD ACCIDENT WHICH WOULD OF BEEN MY FAULT BECAUSE OF THE CARS DEFECT. THIS IS NOT THE ONLY TIME THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME, BUT IS THE MOST RECENT. THEY REALLY NEED TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS! I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE CUSTOMERS CONCERN. THIS IS A $43,000 TRUCK AND THINK THAT I SHOULD GET WHAT I HAVE PAID FOR NOT A LITTLE PIECE OF CRAP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/10/2014 - MIAMI, FL
I WAS AT A STOP SIGN TURNING INTO A MAIN STREET, I ACCELERATED TO TURN INTO THE INTERSECTION WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE THE TRUCK DID NOT DO ANYTHING. IT WAS REALLY NERVE WRECKING, I STEPPED ON THE GAS LIKE 3 TIMES UNTIL THE TRUCK FINALLY REACTED. I ALMOST GOT INTO A REALLY BAD ACCIDENT WHICH WOULD OF BEEN MY FAULT BECAUSE OF THE CARS DEFECT. THIS IS NOT THE ONLY TIME THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME, BUT IS THE MOST RECENT. THEY REALLY NEED TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS! I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE CUSTOMERS CONCERN. THIS IS A $43,000 TRUCK AND THINK THAT I SHOULD GET WHAT I HAVE PAID FOR NOT A LITTLE PIECE OF CRAP.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2014 - MIAMI, FL
I WAS AT A STOP SIGN TURNING INTO A MAIN STREET, I ACCELERATED TO TURN INTO THE INTERSECTION WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE THE TRUCK DID NOT DO ANYTHING. IT WAS REALLY NERVE WRECKING, I STEPPED ON THE GAS LIKE 3 TIMES UNTIL THE TRUCK FINALLY REACTED. I ALMOST GOT INTO A REALLY BAD ACCIDENT WHICH WOULD OF BEEN MY FAULT BECAUSE OF THE CARS DEFECT. THIS IS NOT THE ONLY TIME THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME, BUT IS THE MOST RECENT. THEY REALLY NEED TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS! I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE CUSTOMERS CONCERN. THIS IS A $43,000 TRUCK AND THINK THAT I SHOULD GET WHAT I HAVE PAID FOR NOT A LITTLE PIECE OF CRAP.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2014 - MONTICELLO, AR
THE ECOBOOST ENGINE LOOSES POWER ON TAKE OFF IN RAINY WEATHER. I HAS HAPPENED SIX TIMES. THE MOST RECENT WAS THIS MORNING 04/07/14. THE PROBLEM OCCURS WHEN THE TRUCK IS TAKING OFF FROM A STOP, SUCH AS TRAFFIC LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. THE MAIN PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE THE RAIN. AFTER DRIVING IN RAINY WEATHER FOR A PROLONGED PERIOD OF TIME THE TRUCK WILL NOT TAKE OFF FROM A DEAD STOP. THE ENGINE LOOSES POWER AND SHAKES VIOLENTLY. THIS MORNING WHILE TAKING ME DAUGHTER TO SCHOOL WE PULLED INTO TRAFFIC AND TRIED TO GET UP TO SPEED. THE ENGINE FAILED AND WE HAD TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THIS HAS BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE. IT WAS NOT RAINING THIS MORNING BUT I DID DRIVE FOR SEVERAL HOURS IN THE RAIN YESTERDAY. I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALER AND THEY TELL ME MY TUCK ALREADY HAS THE FIX FROM FORD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2014 - LAKEBAY , WA
WHILE MAKING A LONG COMMUTE TO PORTLAND OR. FROM SEATTLE WA., VERY EARLY IN THE MORNING. IT WAS A VERY RAINY NIGHT, AND I WAS TRYING TO PASS A SEMI WHO WAS STRUGGLING TO GO UP A HILL, AS I PUSHED THE PEDAL TO PASS HIM QUICKLY, THE TRUCK SHUDDERED, THEN LOST ALL POWER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS BLINKING. I AVOIDED THE TRUCK AND OTHER TRAFFIC AS I LIMPED THE TRUCK TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I THEN TURNED THE TRUCK OFF AND IT WORKED AS IT SHOULD. LIGHT STAYED ON FOR A WEEK OR MORE. I VERY EASILY COULD HAVE GOTTEN IN A MAJOR ACCIDENT THAT MORNING, AND I STILL HAVE ISSUES WITH MY ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON ALL THE TIME. OFF TO THE DEALER I GO. 2013 F-150 3.5L ECOBOOST. LESS THAN 1200 MI. ON VEHICLE. NOT COOL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2014 - MARSHALL , VA
FORD F150 XLT 2013. ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS I HAVE NOTICED THAT WHEN EXITING THE TRUCK MY RIGHT FOOT TENDS TO BRUSH AGAINST THE INTERIOR HOOD RELEASE LATCH AND OCCASIONALLY TRIGGERS AND RELEASES THE HOOD. I HAVE EXPERIMENTED AND IT REALLY DOES NOT APPEAR TO REALLY REQUIRE MUCH FORCE FOR THE TIME OF MY RIGHT SHOE TO TRIGGER THE LATCH. THEN WHEN LATER DRIVING THE TRUCK, I VISUALLY NOT THAT THE HOOD HAS BEEN RELEASED AND HAVE TO STOP AND FULLY OPEN THE HOOD TO CLOSE IT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AND I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THIS IS AN ISOLATED PROBLEM. OTHERWISE THE HOOD LATCH MECHANISM APPEARS TO FUNCTION NORMALLY. I AM AFRAID THAT ONE DAY THIS WILL CAUSE A BAD ACCIDENT IF I DON'T REALIZE THAT THE HOOD HAS BEEN OPENED. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE LATCH IS LOCATED IN A PRONE AREA AND PERHAPS ACTUALLY SHOULD REQUIRE MORE TENSION TO FULLY TRIGGER THE RELEASE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/30/2014 - MARSHALL , VA
FORD F150 XLT 2013. ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS I HAVE NOTICED THAT WHEN EXITING THE TRUCK MY RIGHT FOOT TENDS TO BRUSH AGAINST THE INTERIOR HOOD RELEASE LATCH AND OCCASIONALLY TRIGGERS AND RELEASES THE HOOD. I HAVE EXPERIMENTED AND IT REALLY DOES NOT APPEAR TO REALLY REQUIRE MUCH FORCE FOR THE TIME OF MY RIGHT SHOE TO TRIGGER THE LATCH. THEN WHEN LATER DRIVING THE TRUCK, I VISUALLY NOT THAT THE HOOD HAS BEEN RELEASED AND HAVE TO STOP AND FULLY OPEN THE HOOD TO CLOSE IT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AND I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THIS IS AN ISOLATED PROBLEM. OTHERWISE THE HOOD LATCH MECHANISM APPEARS TO FUNCTION NORMALLY. I AM AFRAID THAT ONE DAY THIS WILL CAUSE A BAD ACCIDENT IF I DON'T REALIZE THAT THE HOOD HAS BEEN OPENED. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THE LATCH IS LOCATED IN A PRONE AREA AND PERHAPS ACTUALLY SHOULD REQUIRE MORE TENSION TO FULLY TRIGGER THE RELEASE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds