Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 977 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (87) Unknown Or Other (58)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (198) Structure (26) Vehicle Speed Control (87)
Electrical System (129) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (12) Visibility (29)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (69) Service Brakes (167) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (78)
Engine (271) Fuel System Gasoline (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/18/2018 - ROCKPORT, TX
VEHICLE BRAKES FAILED COMPLETELY WITH NO WARNING. BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AS I APPROACHED A STOP LIGHT WITH 2 CARD IN FRONT OF ME, I WAS ABLE TO ENGAGE THE E BRAKE TO STOP THE TRUCK. IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE INCIDENT THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS WELL AS THE LOW BRAKE FLUID WARNING INDICATOR. I REFILLED THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR BUT AFTER DRIVING A FEW MILES THE ALARM SOUNDED AGAIN, ONCE AGAIN THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR WAS COMPLETELY EMPTY. VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO OPERATE.

View Details

STEERING

5/17/2018 - HEARTLAND, MI
THE STEERING AUTOMATICALLY STOPPED WORKING WHILE DRIVING ON EXPRESSWAY AT 70 MPH. AS I EXITED THE HIGHWAY, THE STEERING COUNTINULY WAS LOST OF POWER STEERING. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE TRUCK DRIVE HOME, BUT WAS VERY RISKY TO DRIVE TRYING TO AVOID DRIVING OFF ROAD, OR AVOIDING CAR ACCIDENT. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO DRIVE INTO WORK TODAY, AND FEEL THIS TRUCK IT+S COMPLETELY NOT ROAD SAFE. THE FORD SERVICE CENTER HAS TOLD ME THE ELECTRIC STEERING SYSTEM EPAS NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AND I AM NOT WILLING TO PAY FOR THIS SERVICE SINCE THE TRUCK HAS 45,000 MILES . I HAVE GOOGLED THIS EPAS ELECTRIC STEERING QUESTION, AND COME TO FIND OUT THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE IN ALL OF FORD PICK UP TRUCKS, WHICH FORD WILL NOT ADDRESS THIS MATTER. WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO? KEEP DRIVING ? WHAT WILL GEICO INSURANCE SAY ABOUT THIS IF I CAUSE AN ACCIDENT? WHO WOULD BE THE VICTIM? ME, THE OTHER DRIVER+S , FORD, AND GEICO PAYS THE BILL? THANKS ,

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/17/2018 - PALM BAY, FL
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK TODAY, AND MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN, MY VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. THAT IS, THE ENGINE DIED, THE POWER STEERING DIED, AND THE BRAKES DIED WHILE THE TRUCK CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LANE. LET ME REITERATE - THE TRUCK COMPLETELY DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND THERE WAS A COMPLETE LOSS OF CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. HAD THERE BEEN ANOTHER VEHICLE, OBJECT, OR PERSON IN FRONT OF ME, I WOULD HAVE LIKELY COLLIDED WITH THEM (THANKFULLY THE ROAD WAS EMPTY) RESEARCH HAS LEAD ME TO FIND THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH FORD AND THE F150 SERIES FROM YEARS 2010 TO APPROXIMATELY 2014. FUSE NUMBER 27 IN THE ENGINE FUSE BOX IS UNDERSIZED FROM THE FACTORY AND MELTS DUE TO THE INABILITY TO HANDLE THE AMPERAGE. I FOUND MINE MELTED AFTER TODAY AS WELL. FORD HAS "ADDRESSED" THIS ISSUE WITH A TSB (FORD TSB-15-0137 SEE ATTACHED) WHICH IT CHARGES CUSTOMERS FOR TO REPLACE THE FUSE AND WIRING FOR THE FUSE WITH A NEW, UP SIZED FUSE AND WIRES. THEY DO NOT COVER THIS FREE OF CHARGE UNLESS YOUR TRUCK IS UNDER WARRANTY. AS THIS IS A GLARING SAFETY ISSUE THAT NUMEROUS PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED, I ASK THAT THE NHTSA INVESTIGATE THIS AND HAVE FORD INITIATE A RECALL ON THE AFFECTED VEHICLES, AND MAKE THE REPAIR FREE OF CHARGE TO CUSTOMERS. THIS ISSUE IS A MANUFACTURING FLAW AND ONE THAT HAS THE ABILITY TO CAUSE LOSS OF LIFE AND PROPERTY DUE TO FAILURE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. SOME FORUMS WHERE PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THE SAME ISSUE: HTTP://WWW.FORDRAPTORFORUM.COM/F39/ENGINE-CUT-OFF-LOW-OIL-PRESSURE-WARNING-11894/INDEX16.HTML HTTP://WWW.FORDRAPTORFORUM.COM/F39/FORD-RAPTOR-FUEL-PUMP-FUSE-ISSUE-45129/INDEX37.HTML HTTPS://WWW.F150FORUM.COM/F12/ENGINE-SHOTS-OFF-WHILE-DRIVING-402848/ HTTP://WWW.F150ECOBOOST.NET/FORUM/31-F150-ECOBOOST-PROBLEMS/26113-ENGINE-RANDOMLY-DIED-WHILE-DRIVING.HTML

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2018 - PALM BAY, FL
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK TODAY, AND MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN, MY VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. THAT IS, THE ENGINE DIED, THE POWER STEERING DIED, AND THE BRAKES DIED WHILE THE TRUCK CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LANE. LET ME REITERATE - THE TRUCK COMPLETELY DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND THERE WAS A COMPLETE LOSS OF CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. HAD THERE BEEN ANOTHER VEHICLE, OBJECT, OR PERSON IN FRONT OF ME, I WOULD HAVE LIKELY COLLIDED WITH THEM (THANKFULLY THE ROAD WAS EMPTY) RESEARCH HAS LEAD ME TO FIND THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH FORD AND THE F150 SERIES FROM YEARS 2010 TO APPROXIMATELY 2014. FUSE NUMBER 27 IN THE ENGINE FUSE BOX IS UNDERSIZED FROM THE FACTORY AND MELTS DUE TO THE INABILITY TO HANDLE THE AMPERAGE. I FOUND MINE MELTED AFTER TODAY AS WELL. FORD HAS "ADDRESSED" THIS ISSUE WITH A TSB (FORD TSB-15-0137 SEE ATTACHED) WHICH IT CHARGES CUSTOMERS FOR TO REPLACE THE FUSE AND WIRING FOR THE FUSE WITH A NEW, UP SIZED FUSE AND WIRES. THEY DO NOT COVER THIS FREE OF CHARGE UNLESS YOUR TRUCK IS UNDER WARRANTY. AS THIS IS A GLARING SAFETY ISSUE THAT NUMEROUS PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED, I ASK THAT THE NHTSA INVESTIGATE THIS AND HAVE FORD INITIATE A RECALL ON THE AFFECTED VEHICLES, AND MAKE THE REPAIR FREE OF CHARGE TO CUSTOMERS. THIS ISSUE IS A MANUFACTURING FLAW AND ONE THAT HAS THE ABILITY TO CAUSE LOSS OF LIFE AND PROPERTY DUE TO FAILURE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. SOME FORUMS WHERE PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THE SAME ISSUE: HTTP://WWW.FORDRAPTORFORUM.COM/F39/ENGINE-CUT-OFF-LOW-OIL-PRESSURE-WARNING-11894/INDEX16.HTML HTTP://WWW.FORDRAPTORFORUM.COM/F39/FORD-RAPTOR-FUEL-PUMP-FUSE-ISSUE-45129/INDEX37.HTML HTTPS://WWW.F150FORUM.COM/F12/ENGINE-SHOTS-OFF-WHILE-DRIVING-402848/ HTTP://WWW.F150ECOBOOST.NET/FORUM/31-F150-ECOBOOST-PROBLEMS/26113-ENGINE-RANDOMLY-DIED-WHILE-DRIVING.HTML

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2018 - PALM BAY, FL
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK TODAY, AND MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN, MY VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. THAT IS, THE ENGINE DIED, THE POWER STEERING DIED, AND THE BRAKES DIED WHILE THE TRUCK CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LANE. LET ME REITERATE - THE TRUCK COMPLETELY DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND THERE WAS A COMPLETE LOSS OF CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. HAD THERE BEEN ANOTHER VEHICLE, OBJECT, OR PERSON IN FRONT OF ME, I WOULD HAVE LIKELY COLLIDED WITH THEM (THANKFULLY THE ROAD WAS EMPTY) RESEARCH HAS LEAD ME TO FIND THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH FORD AND THE F150 SERIES FROM YEARS 2010 TO APPROXIMATELY 2014. FUSE NUMBER 27 IN THE ENGINE FUSE BOX IS UNDERSIZED FROM THE FACTORY AND MELTS DUE TO THE INABILITY TO HANDLE THE AMPERAGE. I FOUND MINE MELTED AFTER TODAY AS WELL. FORD HAS "ADDRESSED" THIS ISSUE WITH A TSB (FORD TSB-15-0137 SEE ATTACHED) WHICH IT CHARGES CUSTOMERS FOR TO REPLACE THE FUSE AND WIRING FOR THE FUSE WITH A NEW, UP SIZED FUSE AND WIRES. THEY DO NOT COVER THIS FREE OF CHARGE UNLESS YOUR TRUCK IS UNDER WARRANTY. AS THIS IS A GLARING SAFETY ISSUE THAT NUMEROUS PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED, I ASK THAT THE NHTSA INVESTIGATE THIS AND HAVE FORD INITIATE A RECALL ON THE AFFECTED VEHICLES, AND MAKE THE REPAIR FREE OF CHARGE TO CUSTOMERS. THIS ISSUE IS A MANUFACTURING FLAW AND ONE THAT HAS THE ABILITY TO CAUSE LOSS OF LIFE AND PROPERTY DUE TO FAILURE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. SOME FORUMS WHERE PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THE SAME ISSUE: HTTP://WWW.FORDRAPTORFORUM.COM/F39/ENGINE-CUT-OFF-LOW-OIL-PRESSURE-WARNING-11894/INDEX16.HTML HTTP://WWW.FORDRAPTORFORUM.COM/F39/FORD-RAPTOR-FUEL-PUMP-FUSE-ISSUE-45129/INDEX37.HTML HTTPS://WWW.F150FORUM.COM/F12/ENGINE-SHOTS-OFF-WHILE-DRIVING-402848/ HTTP://WWW.F150ECOBOOST.NET/FORUM/31-F150-ECOBOOST-PROBLEMS/26113-ENGINE-RANDOMLY-DIED-WHILE-DRIVING.HTML

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: MASTER CYLINDER

5/17/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE BRAKES FAILED TO RESPOND WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. A BRAKE FAILURE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE MASTER CYLINDER FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V345000 (SERVICE BRAKES), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL FORD DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/17/2018 - BARRIGADA, GU
WHILE DRIVING THE TRUCK STEERING GOT LOCKED MAKING THE TRUCK UNSAFE TO DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY. WE TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER, WHO COULD NOT EXPLAIN WHY THIS HAPPENED. THE DEALER ALSO INFORMED US THAT THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE SAME PART ON OTHER VEHICLES IN GUAM. ALSO, FORD HAS RECALLED 2014 F150S ASSEMBLED IN ONE PLANT FOR SIMILAR, IF NOT SAME PROBLEMS. WE BELIEVE THAT THIS REQUIRES FURTHER RESEARCH AND AN ACTION NEED TO BE TAKEN IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SERIOUS ACCIDENTS HAPPEN CAUSING LOSS OF LIFE. WE DID NOT GET A SATISFACTORY ANSWER FROM THE DEALER. ACCORDING TO THE DEALER THEY BROUGHT IT TO THE FORD ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND INFORMED THEM THAT THEY HAD TO PERFORM SAME WORK ON OTHER VEHICLES IN GUAM. I APPRECIATE IF NHTSA TAKE UP THIS ISSUE AND INVESTIGATE TO AVOID ACCIDENTS AND KEEP THE HIGHWAYS SAFE TO THE CITIZENS. THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR UNDERSTANDING AND TIME TO LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2018 - PARKER, CO
MY TRUCK DOWNSHIFTS WITHOUT CAUSE, SOMETIMES TO 1ST GEAR, AND ON ONE OCCASION MY WHEELS SKIDDED (WHICH WAS WITNESSED BY MY NEIGHBOR WHO WAS WALKING HIS DOG AND WAS STARTLED BY THE SKID). THE SPEEDOMETER GOES TO ZERO EVEN WHILE MOVING - I HAVE VIDEO FROM MY CELL PHONE OF THIS HAPPENING WHILE GOING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. WHEN THIS HAPPENS ALL OTHER GAUGES GO TO DASHES, INCLUDING THE MILEAGE, MPG, ETC. THE TRANSMISSION WILL SLIP INTO 2ND AND 5TH GEARS AND WILL NOT GO TO ANY OTHER GEARS. IT SOMETIMES REMAINS IN 3RD GEAR EVEN AT A DEAD STOP. TURNING THE TRUCK COMPLETELY OFF SOMETIMES "RESETS" THINGS, BUT ONLY TEMPORARILY. I HAVE CONTACTED A DEALER ABOUT THIS AND THEY LOOKED UP MY VIN AND TOLD ME THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR MY TRUCK YEAR - EVEN THOUGH THE SAME TYPES OF THINGS WERE OCCURRING WITH 2011-12 F150'S, AND THOSE ARE THE SUBJECT OF A RECALL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE: IT HAPPENS WITHOUT WARNING, SOMETIMES ON THE FREEWAY TRAVELING AT HIGH SPEEDS, SOMETIMES WHILE SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT AND IT SHIFTS TO 3RD GEAR AND HARDLY WILL GET GOING. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND EXPLAINED EVERYTHING AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD REPORT TO NHTSA BUT SINCE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THERE IS NO RECALL, I WOULD MOST LIKELY BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF REPAIR. I POINTED OUT A LETTER SENT BY NHTSA TO FORD ON JANUARY 18, 2018 ADDRESSING ISSUES WITH MY TRUCK MODEL AND YEAR, BUT THAT DID NOT CHANGE ANYTHING IN THE REPRESENTATIVE'S MIND. I BELIEVE THERE NEEDS TO BE CONSUMER PROTECTION ON THIS, BOTH FROM A SAFETY AND FINANCIAL ASPECT, BY NHTSA. I HAVE VIDEO OF WHAT HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY WITH THE TRUCK DOWNSHIFTING TO 5TH GEAR AND REMAINING THERE, AND WHEN TRAFFIC SLOWED THE TRUCK DOWNSHIFTED TO 2ND GEAR AND WOULD NOT SHIFT TO ANY OTHER GEAR. I HAD TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY WITH HAZARD LIGHTS FLASHING AND TURN OFF THE TRUCK AND RESTART IT TO TRY TO "RESET" THINGS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/16/2018 - PARKER, CO
MY TRUCK DOWNSHIFTS WITHOUT CAUSE, SOMETIMES TO 1ST GEAR, AND ON ONE OCCASION MY WHEELS SKIDDED (WHICH WAS WITNESSED BY MY NEIGHBOR WHO WAS WALKING HIS DOG AND WAS STARTLED BY THE SKID). THE SPEEDOMETER GOES TO ZERO EVEN WHILE MOVING - I HAVE VIDEO FROM MY CELL PHONE OF THIS HAPPENING WHILE GOING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. WHEN THIS HAPPENS ALL OTHER GAUGES GO TO DASHES, INCLUDING THE MILEAGE, MPG, ETC. THE TRANSMISSION WILL SLIP INTO 2ND AND 5TH GEARS AND WILL NOT GO TO ANY OTHER GEARS. IT SOMETIMES REMAINS IN 3RD GEAR EVEN AT A DEAD STOP. TURNING THE TRUCK COMPLETELY OFF SOMETIMES "RESETS" THINGS, BUT ONLY TEMPORARILY. I HAVE CONTACTED A DEALER ABOUT THIS AND THEY LOOKED UP MY VIN AND TOLD ME THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR MY TRUCK YEAR - EVEN THOUGH THE SAME TYPES OF THINGS WERE OCCURRING WITH 2011-12 F150'S, AND THOSE ARE THE SUBJECT OF A RECALL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE: IT HAPPENS WITHOUT WARNING, SOMETIMES ON THE FREEWAY TRAVELING AT HIGH SPEEDS, SOMETIMES WHILE SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT AND IT SHIFTS TO 3RD GEAR AND HARDLY WILL GET GOING. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND EXPLAINED EVERYTHING AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD REPORT TO NHTSA BUT SINCE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THERE IS NO RECALL, I WOULD MOST LIKELY BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF REPAIR. I POINTED OUT A LETTER SENT BY NHTSA TO FORD ON JANUARY 18, 2018 ADDRESSING ISSUES WITH MY TRUCK MODEL AND YEAR, BUT THAT DID NOT CHANGE ANYTHING IN THE REPRESENTATIVE'S MIND. I BELIEVE THERE NEEDS TO BE CONSUMER PROTECTION ON THIS, BOTH FROM A SAFETY AND FINANCIAL ASPECT, BY NHTSA. I HAVE VIDEO OF WHAT HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY WITH THE TRUCK DOWNSHIFTING TO 5TH GEAR AND REMAINING THERE, AND WHEN TRAFFIC SLOWED THE TRUCK DOWNSHIFTED TO 2ND GEAR AND WOULD NOT SHIFT TO ANY OTHER GEAR. I HAD TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY WITH HAZARD LIGHTS FLASHING AND TURN OFF THE TRUCK AND RESTART IT TO TRY TO "RESET" THINGS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/16/2018 - VIENNA, VA
FORD USED CHEAP PLASTIC TRACKING FOR THEIR MOONROOFS. THESE COMPONENTS ARE NOW FAILING REGULARLY CREATING AN ISSUE WITH WATER LEAKING INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT ADVERSELY AFFECTING ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS AND POTENTIALLY AIRBAGS. ONCE THE TRACK SYSTEM IS DAMAGED, THE MOONROOF WILL NOT SEAL/CLOSE. THIS FAULT HAPPENED ON MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE WHILE THE TRUCK WAS IN MOTION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds