Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 252 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (52)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (7) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (142) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (14) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (51)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/26/2015 - FAIRFIELD, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35, THE VEHICLE DID NOT DECELERATE AND INCREASED IN RPMS AS THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A BODY REPAIR SHOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000. PAM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/24/2015 - COAL CITY, IL
REMOTE STARTED VEHICLE OUTSIDE ON 0 DEGREE EVENING. ENTERED TRUCK AFTER ABOUT THE MINUTES, PUT KEY IN IGNITION, AND TURNED KEY TO ON POSITION. WHILE I WAS PREPARING TO DRIVE I HEARD LOUD POP IN THE BACK SEAT AREA OF VEHICLE. I IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW PANE, IN THE THE PIECE REAR WINDOW, WAS SHATTERED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/12/2015 - ANDOVER, MA
THIS OCCURRED ON A RAINY HOT DAY SOUTHBOUND TOWARDS CAPE COD. I WAS DRIVING MY SECOND 2013 FORD F150, BOTH OF WHICH HAVE THE ECOBOOST ENGINE. I ATTEMPTED TO PASS ON A TWO LANE ROAD, AND UPON ACCELERATION THE ENGINE BEGAN TO SHUTTER, ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, ENGINE LOST MOST OF ITS POWER, AND VEHICLE SLOWED DRAMATICALLY. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 20 TO 30 SECONDS THE ENGINE BEGAN TO RETURN TO A NORMAL OPERATING MODE. HAD THERE BEEN ONCOMING TRAFFIC, I WOULD NOT BE WRITING THIS. AS I SAID, THIS IS MY SECOND ECOBOOST, AND I THOUGHT THAT FORD WOULD HAVE FIXED WHAT IS CLEARLY A POTENTIALLY FATAL FLAW WITH THIS ENGINE. I HAD THE SAME ISSUE OCCUR TWICE BEFORE IN MY PRIOR ECOBOOST F150. I BROUGHT THE TRUCK TO A DEALER TODAY FOR ANOTHER MINOR ISSUE AND ASKED THAT THE ECOBOOST ISSUE BE ADDRESSED, BUT THAT REQUEST WAS REJECTED BY THE DEALER, WHOM SIGHTED FORD POLICY. CLEARLY THERE IS A PATTERN OF FAILURE ON THESE ENGINES, AND JUST AS CLEAR IT APPEARS THERE IS AN EFFECTIVE AND ECONOMICAL FIX, BASED ON MY PERSONAL RESEARCH OF AVAILABLE INFORMATION ON LINE. IT IS UNEXPLAINABLE WHY FORD WOULD NOT GET IN FRONT OF THIS ISSUE BEFORE THERE IS A FATAL ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2015 - ANDOVER, MA
THIS OCCURRED ON A RAINY HOT DAY SOUTHBOUND TOWARDS CAPE COD. I WAS DRIVING MY SECOND 2013 FORD F150, BOTH OF WHICH HAVE THE ECOBOOST ENGINE. I ATTEMPTED TO PASS ON A TWO LANE ROAD, AND UPON ACCELERATION THE ENGINE BEGAN TO SHUTTER, ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, ENGINE LOST MOST OF ITS POWER, AND VEHICLE SLOWED DRAMATICALLY. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 20 TO 30 SECONDS THE ENGINE BEGAN TO RETURN TO A NORMAL OPERATING MODE. HAD THERE BEEN ONCOMING TRAFFIC, I WOULD NOT BE WRITING THIS. AS I SAID, THIS IS MY SECOND ECOBOOST, AND I THOUGHT THAT FORD WOULD HAVE FIXED WHAT IS CLEARLY A POTENTIALLY FATAL FLAW WITH THIS ENGINE. I HAD THE SAME ISSUE OCCUR TWICE BEFORE IN MY PRIOR ECOBOOST F150. I BROUGHT THE TRUCK TO A DEALER TODAY FOR ANOTHER MINOR ISSUE AND ASKED THAT THE ECOBOOST ISSUE BE ADDRESSED, BUT THAT REQUEST WAS REJECTED BY THE DEALER, WHOM SIGHTED FORD POLICY. CLEARLY THERE IS A PATTERN OF FAILURE ON THESE ENGINES, AND JUST AS CLEAR IT APPEARS THERE IS AN EFFECTIVE AND ECONOMICAL FIX, BASED ON MY PERSONAL RESEARCH OF AVAILABLE INFORMATION ON LINE. IT IS UNEXPLAINABLE WHY FORD WOULD NOT GET IN FRONT OF THIS ISSUE BEFORE THERE IS A FATAL ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/11/2015 - STRONGSVILLE, OH
BACK (REAR WINDOW) STATIONARY GLASS EXPLODED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD! FIRST, I HAD EXPERIENCED INTERMITTENT PROBLEMS WITH THE REAR DEFROST NOT FUNCTIONING THE LAST COUPLE MONTHS. THEN, THE DEFROST JUST STARTED WORKING AGAIN WITHOUT ISSUE A MONTH AGOà LAST NIGHT THE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOUT 20F. I TURNED THE REAR DEFROST ON AND WITHIN 5 MINUTES OF DRIVING I HEARD GUNSHOT/LARGE BANG AND NOTICED MY DRIVERÆS SIDE STATIONARY PANE ON THE REAR SLIDER WAS SHATTERED. I HAVE SMALL KIDS AND THANKFULLY THEY WERE NOT IN THE TRUCK AT THE TIME. SMALL SHARDS OF GLASS ENDED UP IN THE TRUCK. I CALLED DEALER AND HAVE TO BRING IN FOR THEM TO TAKE ôPICTURESö TO SEND TO FORD. THIS IS A DANGER AND SEEMS WELL DOCUMENTED ON THE INTERNET FOR 2010 MODELS UP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/11/2015 - TROPHY CLUB, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON US 82 EAST BOUND, APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES EAST OF BONHAM, TEXAS, WHEN SUDDENLY MY SUNROOF EXPLODED SEND A SHOWER OF GLASS ON TOP OF ME. IT SOUNDED LIKE A SHOTGUN BLAST WENT OFF, I AM LUCKY THAT I DIDN'T WRECK FROM THE EXPLOSION. FORD MOTOR COMPANY REFUSES TO REPAIR THE SUNROOF, SAYING THAT SOMETHING MUST HAVE HIT IT. NOTHING HIT THE SUNROOF, THE EXPLOSION SENT THE SUNROOF UP NOT DOWN. I HAVE PICTURES, AND FROM WHAT I CAN FIND OUT THIS IS NOT AN UNCOMMON OCCURRENCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2015 - WATFORD CITY, ND
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150 WITH ECO BOOST. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SWITCH GEARS WITHOUT WARNING AND JERK VIOLENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STOPPED WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2015 - WATFORD CITY, ND
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150 WITH ECO BOOST. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SWITCH GEARS WITHOUT WARNING AND JERK VIOLENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STOPPED WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TURNING LEFT, THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE IN ORDER TO REGAIN NORMAL STEERING FUNCTION. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING SHAFT WAS FAULTY. AS A RESULT, THE ELECTRONIC POWER ASSIST MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURE ADVISED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V316000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - EWA BEACH, HI
WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY GOING ABOUT 50 MILES PER HOUR, THE VEHICLE LOSS POWER AND WOULD NOT RESPOND TO ME PRESSING ON THE GAS PEDAL. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND STOPPED, THEN THE VEHICLE START TO SHUDDER REAL BAD. I TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE AND RESTARTED IT, AND THE PROBLEM DISAPPEARED FOR ABOUT A WEEK, THEN IT OCCURRED AGAIN WITH THE SAME EFFECTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds