Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2013 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 195 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (60) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (3) Structure (8) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (42) Seats (1) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (30) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  
<<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19 
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/13/2013 - MIDDLEBURG, FL
MY WIFE WAS STANDING OUTSIDE THE CAR HOLDING THE PASSENGER DOOR OPEN AND AS DOORS WILL DO, IT CLOSED SLOWLY ON IT'S OWN WEIGHT AND DUE TO THE DOOR SPRING CLOSING MECHANISM. SHE ACCIDENTALLY HAD HER THUMB IN THE DOOR WHERE IT WOULD CATCH, SO WHEN THE DOOR CLOSED SLOWLY, IT CAUGHT HER THUMB. WHAT SHE DID NOT EXPECT IS THAT THE DOOR IS SO SHARP ALONG THE METAL PIECE NEAR THE WINDOW THAT IT COMPLETELY AMPUTATED HER THUMB AND IT WAS LEFT HANGING IN THE DOOR. KEEP IN MIND THAT SHE WAS NOT EVEN CLOSING THE DOOR, SINCE SHE INTENDED TO GET BACK INTO THE CAR, SO THE RATE OF CLOSURE WAS EXTREMELY SLOW. I WATCHED THIS HAPPEN AND WAS AMAZED THAT HER THUMB WAS EVEN CUT, MUCH LESS COMPLETELY AMPUTATED. THIS DOOR PIECE IS WAY TOO SHARP ON THIS AUTOMOBILE AND COMPARED TO OTHER CARS, HAS VERY LITTLE TO KEEP IT FROM CAUSING SERIOUS INJURY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/5/2013 - MOKENA, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, IT WAS NOTED THAT WHEN I SET THE CRUISE CONTROL AT 70 MPH, THE STATED SPEED LIMIT, THE DIGITAL NUMERICAL READOUT READ EXACTLY 70 MPH. THE SPEEDOMETER ALTHOUGH READS CONSISTENTLY 3-4 MPH ABOVE THE CRUISE CONTROL SETTING. THIS HAS OCCURRED SINCE I TOOK DELIVERY OF THE VEHICLE AS BRAND NEW FROM THE DEALER AND OCCURS REGARDLESS OF SPEED SETTING, I.E.: SAME ISSUE IF CRUISE IS SET AT 45 MPH, 55 MPH, 65 MPH, ETC. AFTER BECOMING CONCERNED THAT THE VEHICLE MAY IN FACT BE TRAVELING FASTER THAN THE DIGITAL CRUISE CONTROL SETTING WAS STATING, I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO DEALER. THEY WERE UNABLE FIX THE ISSUE WITH EXACT EXPLANATION ON MY REPAIR ORDER READING: "CLIENT STATES WHEN CRUISE SET THE SPEEDOMETER ALWAYS 3-4 MILES HIGHER. NWP CONTACT FORD ADVISED TO DRIVE 2013 AND 2014 MODELS TO VERIFY CONCERN. BOTH MODELS SAME SYMPTOM. ALL OK AT THIS TIME."

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2013 - MOKENA, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, IT WAS NOTED THAT WHEN I SET THE CRUISE CONTROL AT 70 MPH, THE STATED SPEED LIMIT, THE DIGITAL NUMERICAL READOUT READ EXACTLY 70 MPH. THE SPEEDOMETER ALTHOUGH READS CONSISTENTLY 3-4 MPH ABOVE THE CRUISE CONTROL SETTING. THIS HAS OCCURRED SINCE I TOOK DELIVERY OF THE VEHICLE AS BRAND NEW FROM THE DEALER AND OCCURS REGARDLESS OF SPEED SETTING, I.E.: SAME ISSUE IF CRUISE IS SET AT 45 MPH, 55 MPH, 65 MPH, ETC. AFTER BECOMING CONCERNED THAT THE VEHICLE MAY IN FACT BE TRAVELING FASTER THAN THE DIGITAL CRUISE CONTROL SETTING WAS STATING, I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO DEALER. THEY WERE UNABLE FIX THE ISSUE WITH EXACT EXPLANATION ON MY REPAIR ORDER READING: "CLIENT STATES WHEN CRUISE SET THE SPEEDOMETER ALWAYS 3-4 MILES HIGHER. NWP CONTACT FORD ADVISED TO DRIVE 2013 AND 2014 MODELS TO VERIFY CONCERN. BOTH MODELS SAME SYMPTOM. ALL OK AT THIS TIME."

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2013 - COOLIDGE, GA
ON SATURDAY, AUG 17TH, OUR 2013 FORD TAURUS POLICE INTERCEPTOR (SEDAN) VIN:[XXX] WAS STOPPED AT A PLACE OF BUSINESS AND TURNED OFF. INITIALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. AFTER A FEW MINUTES THE VEHICLE STARTED BUT WOULD NOT MOVE. THE VEHICLE WAS REMOVED FROM THE PREMISES BY A WRECKER AND TAKEN TO GRIFFIN FORD CO IN THOMASVILLE, GA. THIS DATE, AUG. 22, 2013, I SPOKE WITH A SERVICEMAN AT GRIFFIN FORD AND WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT WHEEL AXLE HAD BROKEN AND THAT THE REPAIR PART WOULD BE BACK-ORDERED (PLACED ON AN EMERGENCY NEED BASIS), BUT NO REPAIR TIME FRAME COULD BE GIVEN DUE TO THE FACT THAT THERE WERE NO REPLACEMENT PARTS IN THE COUNTRY. WE HAVE HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEMS WITH BOTH OF OUR (ABOVE VIN # AND VIN:[XXX]) 2013 FORD TAURUS POLICE VEHICLES WITH THE PROBLEMS PREVIOUS TO THIS BEING EXCESSIVE GAS FUMES WITHIN BOTH VEHICLES (FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED BEFORE RECALL WAS ISSUED ON BOTH CARS BUT AFTER RECEIVING RECALL, FUEL PUMPS WERE AGAIN REPLACED), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (EVAPORATIVE EMISSIONS SOLENOID WAS REPLACED, AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON, SEAT BELT SENSOR WAS BAD AND THE BUCKLE/SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ALL OF THESE ISSUES HAVE OCCURRED THIS YEAR. AS YOU ARE AWARE, ALL REPAIRS TAKE TIME AND WE ARE ESPECIALLY CONCERNED ABOUT THE TIME FRAME TO RECEIVE AND REPAIR THE WHEEL AXLE. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER REPORTS OF THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM? LOOKING FORWARD TO A RESPONSE FROM YOUR AGENCY. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/22/2013 - COOLIDGE, GA
ON SATURDAY, AUG 17TH, OUR 2013 FORD TAURUS POLICE INTERCEPTOR (SEDAN) VIN:[XXX] WAS STOPPED AT A PLACE OF BUSINESS AND TURNED OFF. INITIALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. AFTER A FEW MINUTES THE VEHICLE STARTED BUT WOULD NOT MOVE. THE VEHICLE WAS REMOVED FROM THE PREMISES BY A WRECKER AND TAKEN TO GRIFFIN FORD CO IN THOMASVILLE, GA. THIS DATE, AUG. 22, 2013, I SPOKE WITH A SERVICEMAN AT GRIFFIN FORD AND WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT WHEEL AXLE HAD BROKEN AND THAT THE REPAIR PART WOULD BE BACK-ORDERED (PLACED ON AN EMERGENCY NEED BASIS), BUT NO REPAIR TIME FRAME COULD BE GIVEN DUE TO THE FACT THAT THERE WERE NO REPLACEMENT PARTS IN THE COUNTRY. WE HAVE HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEMS WITH BOTH OF OUR (ABOVE VIN # AND VIN:[XXX]) 2013 FORD TAURUS POLICE VEHICLES WITH THE PROBLEMS PREVIOUS TO THIS BEING EXCESSIVE GAS FUMES WITHIN BOTH VEHICLES (FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED BEFORE RECALL WAS ISSUED ON BOTH CARS BUT AFTER RECEIVING RECALL, FUEL PUMPS WERE AGAIN REPLACED), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (EVAPORATIVE EMISSIONS SOLENOID WAS REPLACED, AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON, SEAT BELT SENSOR WAS BAD AND THE BUCKLE/SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ALL OF THESE ISSUES HAVE OCCURRED THIS YEAR. AS YOU ARE AWARE, ALL REPAIRS TAKE TIME AND WE ARE ESPECIALLY CONCERNED ABOUT THE TIME FRAME TO RECEIVE AND REPAIR THE WHEEL AXLE. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER REPORTS OF THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM? LOOKING FORWARD TO A RESPONSE FROM YOUR AGENCY. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/22/2013 - COOLIDGE, GA
ON SATURDAY, AUG 17TH, OUR 2013 FORD TAURUS POLICE INTERCEPTOR (SEDAN) VIN:[XXX] WAS STOPPED AT A PLACE OF BUSINESS AND TURNED OFF. INITIALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. AFTER A FEW MINUTES THE VEHICLE STARTED BUT WOULD NOT MOVE. THE VEHICLE WAS REMOVED FROM THE PREMISES BY A WRECKER AND TAKEN TO GRIFFIN FORD CO IN THOMASVILLE, GA. THIS DATE, AUG. 22, 2013, I SPOKE WITH A SERVICEMAN AT GRIFFIN FORD AND WAS TOLD THAT THE FRONT WHEEL AXLE HAD BROKEN AND THAT THE REPAIR PART WOULD BE BACK-ORDERED (PLACED ON AN EMERGENCY NEED BASIS), BUT NO REPAIR TIME FRAME COULD BE GIVEN DUE TO THE FACT THAT THERE WERE NO REPLACEMENT PARTS IN THE COUNTRY. WE HAVE HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEMS WITH BOTH OF OUR (ABOVE VIN # AND VIN:[XXX]) 2013 FORD TAURUS POLICE VEHICLES WITH THE PROBLEMS PREVIOUS TO THIS BEING EXCESSIVE GAS FUMES WITHIN BOTH VEHICLES (FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED BEFORE RECALL WAS ISSUED ON BOTH CARS BUT AFTER RECEIVING RECALL, FUEL PUMPS WERE AGAIN REPLACED), CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON (EVAPORATIVE EMISSIONS SOLENOID WAS REPLACED, AIR BAG LIGHT WAS ON, SEAT BELT SENSOR WAS BAD AND THE BUCKLE/SENSOR WAS REPLACED. ALL OF THESE ISSUES HAVE OCCURRED THIS YEAR. AS YOU ARE AWARE, ALL REPAIRS TAKE TIME AND WE ARE ESPECIALLY CONCERNED ABOUT THE TIME FRAME TO RECEIVE AND REPAIR THE WHEEL AXLE. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER REPORTS OF THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM? LOOKING FORWARD TO A RESPONSE FROM YOUR AGENCY. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/22/2013 - ANDOVER, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V227000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE REMEDY PART TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED ANY FAILURES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/23/2013 - LOGANSPORT, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V227000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN THE DEALER FOR RECALL SERVICE HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS DENIED THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WOULD ONLY REPAIR VEHICLES THAT THEY HAD SOLD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 11,200. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/23/2013 - BENTON, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V227000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT FELT THAT SINCE THE FAILURE WAS REPORTED IN MAY 2013, THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN A REMEDY AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 4,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/25/2012 - BAYTOWN, TX
MY WIFE AND I WERE TRAVELING ON US 35 NORTH OUT OF DALLAS, WHEN WE HEARD A LOUD BANG AS IF SOMETHING HIT THE WINDSHIELD. WE BOTH LOOKED UP, BUT THERE WAS NO MARK ON THE WINDSHIELD. LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SAW THAT THE REAR WINDOW WAS SHATTERED. STOPPED AT A FORD DEALER IN DALLAS AND HE SAID IT HAD TO BE HIT BY A ROCK OR BULLET, BUT COULD NOT FIND EITHER. CONTACTED MY INSURANCE, WHO CONTACTED SAFELITE TO REPLACE THE WINDOW, BUT THEY DID NOT HAVE A REPLACEMENT IN DALLAS, WHICH I UNDERSTAND IS ONE OF THEIR DISTRIBUTION CENTERS, DEALER SECURED WINDOW WITH CRASH WRAP FOR ME AND I DROVE ON TO ALBUQ, WHERE SAFELITE REPLACED MY WINDOW. THEY ALSO COULD NOT FIND WHERE IT HAD BEEN HIT BY A ROCK OR BULLET. DROVE BACK TO HOUSTON AND CONTACTED THE SELLING DEALER, AND ALSO FORD'S CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER. AS OF THIS DATE, 11/24/2012, THEY EITHER DON'T HAVE AN ANSWER OR HAVEN'T RETURNED MY CALLS. ON THE 2ND CALL TO FORD, THE GENTLEMAN DID TELL ME THE REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVE OF FORD SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED, BUT NO ONE HAS BOTHERED TO CONTACT ME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  13  14  15  16  17  18  19 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds