Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2013 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 149 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (32) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (21) Equipment (1) Power Train (20) Structure (7) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (25) Fuel Propulsion System (39) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/1/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE DRIVING TO A DR APPTOINTMENT I WAS ON THE FREEWAY AT ABOUT 70 MPH WHEN THE CAR STALLED, I LOST ACCELERATION AND A WRENCH LIGHT CAME APPEARED. FORTUNATELY I WAS NEAR AN EXIT WHERE I WAS ABLE TO GET OFF THE FREEWAY, AND FIND A GAS STATION, AS I IDLED INTO THE GAS STATION AT ABOUT 2-3 MPH. I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT, AND OPERATION RETURNED TO NORMAL FOR ABOUT A WEEK. THEN TODAY, AS I WAS DRIVING MY KIDS TO SCHOOL AND WAS IN THE TURNING LANE TO ENTER THE FREEWAY IT DID THE SAME THING, NOT ONCE BUT TWICE IN A SPAN OF 15 MILES. AGAIN FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF ONTO THE SHOULDER AND RESTART THE VEHICLE. OUT OF FEAR I TOOK ALL BACK ROADS HOME INCASE IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WHICH IT DID. I FOUND A RECALL FOR THIS MAKE AND MODEL OF VEHICLE SAYING THERE IS A FAULT WITH THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM THAT SEEMS TO FIT THE BILL, EXCEPT THE MOTOR IN MY TAURUS IS NOT THE SAME ONE LISTED ON THE RECALL. REGARDLESS, THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE THAT HAS PUT MYSELF AND MY CHILDREN IN HARMS WAY 3 TIMES IN ONE WEEK, AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. I SPEND AN GOOD AMOUNT OF MONEY TO DRIVE A VEHICLE THAT I FEEL IS SAFE AND RELIABLE, AND I FEEL NEITHER AT THIS POINT FOR A VEHICLE THAT IS BUT 4 YEARS OLD.

View Details

STEERING

5/11/2017 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE POWER STEERING IS FAILING THE CAR ONLY HAS 34,000 MILES ON IT. IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE ESPECIALLY ON TURNS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/20/2017 - COLONIA, NJ
REAR BRAKE SYSTEM. (ENTIRE REAR BRAKE SYSTEM REPLACED 4 TIMES IN LESS THAN 2 YEARS). 2013 FORD TAURUS WAS PURCHASED IN MAY 2013. MAY 2015 ENTIRE REAR BRAKE SYSTEM (CALIPERS, ROTORS, BRAKE PADS, ETC) NEEDED TO BE REPLACED IN MAY 2015. IN OCTOBER 2015, ENTIRE REAR BRAKE SYSTEM AGAIN HAD TO BE REPLACED FOR THE SECOND TIME. NOVEMBER 2015, THE ROTORS WERE CUT. JUNE 2016, ENTIRE REAR BRAKE SYSTEM REPLACED FOR THE THIRD TIME. APRIL 20, 2017, CAR IS CURRENTLY AT A FORD SERVICE CENTER BECAUSE ENTIRE REAR BRAKE SYSTEM NEEDS TO BE REPLACED FOR THE FOURTH TIME IN LESS THAN 2 YEARS. I ASKED FOR THE WARRANTY TO BE EXTENDED BUT WAS TOLD BY FORD'S CUSTOMER CARE TODAY THAT FORD "GRACIOUSLY" EXTENDED THE INITIAL WARRANTY TO 77,000 MILES AND CAN DO NOTHING FURTHER FOR ME WITH REGARD TO THIS MATTER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2017 - RICHMOND, KY
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK WHEN THE ENGINE TEMP WARNING ACTIVATED. I CONTINUED ON TO WORK, WHICH WAS LESS THAN A MILE AWAY, AND PARKED. I NOTICED STEAM COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I POPPED THE HOOD AND SAW COOLANT POURING FROM SOMEPLACE UNDERNEATH THE ENGINE. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SHOP, AND IT WAS INITIALLY DIAGNOSED AS A MISSING FREEZE PLUG. FURTHER INSPECTION REVEALED THAT THE ENGINE BLOCK WAS CRACKED. NO LEAKS HAD BEEN NOTED DURING PREVIOUS OIL CHANGE AND ALL FLUIDS WERE TOPPED OFF. NO FREEZING TEMPERATURES HAD OCCURRED IN THE DAYS PRIOR TO THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE IS BEING TOWED TO ANOTHER SHOP THAT DEALS WITH MAJOR REPAIRS. WARRANTY COMPANY WAS CONTACTED FOR GUIDANCE AND I WAS INFORMED BY THEM THAT THEY WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIRS IF THE CRACKS WERE CAUSED BY FREEZING OR OVERHEATING. INSPECTION BY WARRANTY COMPANY PENDING, BUT I HAVE THE FEELING THAT THEY ARE GOING TO TRY TO WORM THEIR WAY OUT OF COVERING THIS, EVEN TOUGH IT'S THE TOP OF THE LINE WARRANTY AND IS SUPPOSED TO BE "BUMPER TO BUMPER" AND "WORRY-FREE" COVERAGE. I WAS LUCKY THIS HAPPENED TO WHILE I WAS IN CLOSE PROXIMITY TO A FAMILIAR PLACE TO PARK (MY WORKPLACE). THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY JUST BEFORE EXITING TO A CITY STREET, LESS THAN A MILE FROM MY WORKPLACE. IT HAS NOW BEEN CLOSE TO TWO WEEKS THE THE CAR IS STILL DOWN AND IN NEED OF A REPLACEMENT ENGINE. THE CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD. NO PREVIOUS ISSUES WITH THE CAR AT ALL, IT RAN PERFECTLY UP UNTIL THIS ISSUE. FAIR WARNING TO THOSE PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE AND LOOKING TO BY AN EXTENDED WARRANTY, DO YOUR HOMEWORK FIRST.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/12/2017 - LYNCHBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT FIND A FAILURE; HOWEVER, THE PURGE VALVE WAS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START A SECOND TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, AND THE "CHECK FUEL PUMP MODULE CIRCUIT" CODE APPEARED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V621000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2017 - LYNCHBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT FIND A FAILURE; HOWEVER, THE PURGE VALVE WAS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START A SECOND TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, AND THE "CHECK FUEL PUMP MODULE CIRCUIT" CODE APPEARED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V621000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/5/2017 - ANDOVER, MN
THE FUEL PUMP MODULE FAILED IN MY VEHICLE. UPON RESEARCH PUBLISHED REPORTS STATE THAT OVER 465,000 FORD VEHICLES OF THE SAME YEAR WERE RECALLED FOR THIS AND REPLACED WITH ALMOST 80,000 OF THEM BEING THE TAURUS MODEL. I BELIEVE THIS PART SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED AT 44,000 MILES AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

3/27/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING ABILITY. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRICAL POWER ASSIST SYSTEM FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V340000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2017 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
THE STEERING IS SUDDENLY VERY "LOOSE". IT WAS FINE ONE DAY AND DANGEROUS TO DRIVE THE NEXT DAY. THE CAR JUST TURNED 60,000 MILES AND WE HAVE OWNED IT FOR 7 MONTHS. I AM VERY UPSET AND BUMMED THAT FORD WON'T FIX IT SINCE IT'S NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, I WANT TO DOCUMENT THIS, SINCE I DRIVE KIDS TO SCHOOL EVERYDAY DOWN SOME ROADS THAT HAVE LOTS OF CURVES AND TREE'S. IF WE CRASH, FORD WILL HEAR ABOUT THIS, I CANNOT BELIEVE THEY WILL LET THESE CARS WANDER DOWN THE ROAD KNOWING IT'S A TICKING TIME BOMB. SO SAD FORD..

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/2/2017 - CHINO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT LEVER WAS PLACED IN THE PARK POSITION, BUT THE VEHICLE ROLLED FORWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT WAS NOT GIVEN A REASON FOR THE ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V393000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,400.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds