Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2013 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 164 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (40) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (23) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Structure (8) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (3) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (27) Fuel Propulsion System (40) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/8/2017 - DEL RIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. WHEN APPROACHING A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE SHOOK FROM FRONT TO BACK. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND FAILED TO START. THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND THE CONTACT NOTICED A BURNING ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE 02 SENSORS FAILED AND THE FUEL PUMP HAD A LEAK. BOTH COMPONENTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2017 - DEL RIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. WHEN APPROACHING A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE SHOOK FROM FRONT TO BACK. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND FAILED TO START. THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND THE CONTACT NOTICED A BURNING ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE 02 SENSORS FAILED AND THE FUEL PUMP HAD A LEAK. BOTH COMPONENTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/7/2017 - MONROVIA, MD
DRIVER'S SIDE REAR TIE ROD SEPARATED AT MODERATE SPEED RESULTING IN TEMPORARY LOSS OF CONTROL AND NEAR CRASH (FISH TAILED UNTIL CAR STOPPED). FORD DEALER INSPECTED AND FOUND DRIVERS SIDE REAR TIE ROD BROKEN AT BALL AND SOCKET. FORD DEALER ALSO FOUND PASSENGER SIDE REAR UPPER CONTROL ARM LOOSE. FORD DEALER ALSO FOUND LEAKING PASSENGER SIDE, REAR SHOCK; ALL BEFORE 90K MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2017 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/6/2017 - IOWA CITY, IA
ON 5/31/2013 I PURCHASED A NEW 2013 FORD TAURUS SHO. TODAY, THE CAR HAS ABOUT 73,000 MILES ON IT. ABOUT THREE WEEKS AGO I BEGAN SMELLING A HOT SMELL, LIKE PLASTIC OR SULFUR, BUT COULD NOT PIN POINT IT. I WAS CONCERNED THAT MY CAR WAS GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE BECAUSE IT JUST DIDN'T SMELL RIGHT, BOTH INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE CAR. I ONLY SMELLED IT AFTER THE CAR GOT WARMED UP AND WAS STATIONARY OR MOVING SLOW IN TOWN. AFTER I ACCELERATED THE SMELL WOULD GO AWAY, BUT WOULD COME BACK WHEN I SLOWED DOWN AND STOPPED. THEN I BEGAN TO NOTICE A COUPLE DROPS OF FLUID UNDERNEATH MY CAR. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHO TOLD ME I PROBABLY HAD SOME OIL ON THE ENGINE, WHICH WOULD GO AWAY WITH TIME. I HAD THE OIL CHANGED AND NEW TIRES PUT ON AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK A COUPLE ERROR CODES I HAD GOTTEN. THE SERVICE TECHNICIANS TOLD ME MY CAR WAS FINE AND I COULD DRIVE IT, INCLUDING TO CHICAGO FOR CHRISTMAS. THE SMELL PROBLEM CONTINUED AND THE LEAK PROGRESSIVELY GOT WORSE, SO I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT BACK AGAIN. THEY NOW TELL ME THAT THE POWER TRANSFER UNIT HAS FAILED AND THE CAR HAS A TURBO DOWN PIPE LEAK. TO REPAIR, IT WILL COST ME OVER $2,000.00. I CONTACTED FORD TO SEE IF THEY COULD HELP ME. THEY TOLD ME THAT BECAUSE THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED, THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. I EXPLAINED THAT THIS CAR WOULD STILL BE UNDER WARRANTY AS OF MAY 31, 2017 AND THE POWERTRAIN SHOULD NOT FAIL AT 73,000 MILES, MOST OF WHICH WERE HIGHWAY MILES. FORD STILL WILL NOT PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE. IN SPEAKING WITH THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON. THEY'VE HAD 5 OTHER PTUS FAIL IN ABOUT SIX MONTHS. FORD DOCUMENTED THE CASE NUMBER AS [XXX]. I AM GOING TO TAKE PICTURES AND SAVE ALL DOCUMENTS AND RECEIPTS. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/26/2016 - FORSYTH, MO
WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE, I LOST THE POWER STEERING AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, A RED WARNING MESSAGE TO SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW CAME ON, AT THE SAME TIME TURN SIGNAL WOULD NOT WORK AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME. SINCE IT WAS THE WEEKEND AND I WAS DRIVING HOME FOR CHRISTMAS I STILL DROVE THE CAR HOME. I NOW HAVE THE CAR AT DEALERSHIP, AND BEING TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS CAR. BUT THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHERS FOR SAME ISSUE. I DON'T HAVE THE COST YET BUT TRIED TO CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY ARE CLOSE FOR THE HOLIDAY. WAIT TO SEE WHAT'S NEXT. MILEAGE ON THE CAR WAS 60,070.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/26/2016 - FORSYTH, MO
WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE, I LOST THE POWER STEERING AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, A RED WARNING MESSAGE TO SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW CAME ON, AT THE SAME TIME TURN SIGNAL WOULD NOT WORK AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME. SINCE IT WAS THE WEEKEND AND I WAS DRIVING HOME FOR CHRISTMAS I STILL DROVE THE CAR HOME. I NOW HAVE THE CAR AT DEALERSHIP, AND BEING TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS CAR. BUT THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHERS FOR SAME ISSUE. I DON'T HAVE THE COST YET BUT TRIED TO CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY ARE CLOSE FOR THE HOLIDAY. WAIT TO SEE WHAT'S NEXT. MILEAGE ON THE CAR WAS 60,070.

View Details

STEERING

12/26/2016 - FORSYTH, MO
WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE, I LOST THE POWER STEERING AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, A RED WARNING MESSAGE TO SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW CAME ON, AT THE SAME TIME TURN SIGNAL WOULD NOT WORK AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME. SINCE IT WAS THE WEEKEND AND I WAS DRIVING HOME FOR CHRISTMAS I STILL DROVE THE CAR HOME. I NOW HAVE THE CAR AT DEALERSHIP, AND BEING TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS CAR. BUT THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHERS FOR SAME ISSUE. I DON'T HAVE THE COST YET BUT TRIED TO CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY ARE CLOSE FOR THE HOLIDAY. WAIT TO SEE WHAT'S NEXT. MILEAGE ON THE CAR WAS 60,070.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/22/2016 - BRENTWOOD, TN
THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT BELT HAS SPOOLED ALL THE WAY OUT AND WILL NOT RETRACT ON 2013 FORD TAURUS. NEW PARTS ON THE WAY, BUT SHOULDN'T THE SEAT BELT ASSEMBLY LAST MORE THAN 4-5 YEARS?..UPDATED 01/04/17 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. UPDATED 08/10/2017

View Details

STEERING

12/16/2016 - FRISCO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER ASSIST WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STRUCK THE CURB AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING ASSIST VOLT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds