Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 131 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (12) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (14) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Service Brakes (14) Tires (11) Wheels (5)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2017 - KETTERING, OH
RODENTS ATE THROUGH WIRING BETWEEN ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY. DETERMINED THAT HONDA CHANGED TO SOY BASED MATERIAL TO COAT WIRING ON ALL 2012-2015 CIVIC MODELS. THE SOY BASED FORMULA BECOMES HEATED AND ATTRACTS THE RODENTS WHEN PARKED. THE PROBLEM IS PERVASIVE AND DANGEROUS SINCE ELECTRICAL WIRING AND HARNESSES TO ALL MAJOR ENGINE COMPONENTS ARE AFFECTED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2017 - MADISON, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TOOK THREE TO FOUR SECONDS TO ACCELERATE AND THEN STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FUNCTIONING AS DESIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2017 - HICKSVILLE, NY
I HAVE A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. I BOUGHT IS A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FROM BROADWAY HONDA, GREENVILLE, SC. IT WENT WELL FOR A YEAR THOUGHT THE ONE YEAR WARRANTY WITH ZERO PROBLEMS. BUT ONCE THE WARRANTY WAS OVER PROBLEMS STARTED TO SHOW UP EVERY OTHER MONTH. DURING THE HARSH WINTER OF MARCH ONE DAY THE BATTERY WENT DEAD AT A WALMART PARKING. I CALLED MY FRIEND AND JUMP STARTED IT AND IT WAS FINE. NEXT DAY I WENT TO THE HONDA SERVICE AND DID A DIAGNOSTIC. THEY SAID THE BATTERY IS ONLY 30%. IN 4 YEARS WITH 53K MILES THE BATTERY WENT BAD AND I REPLACED IT. AND DID A OIL CHANGE AND NYS INSPECTION. 15 DAYS WENT WELL. SUDDENLY ONE DAY MY AIR BAG INDICATOR STARTED TO BLINK WITH A MESSAGE "CHECK AIR BAG SYSTEM" ON THE SCREEN. I TOOK IT TO A FRIEND'S GARAGE AND HE SUSPECTED IT WAS A PASSENGER SIDE SEAT SENSOR THAT HAS AN ERROR. VERY TROUBLED I WENT TO HONDA SERVICE AGAIN. THEY CHARGED $130 JUST FOR SCANNING AND DIAGNOSTICS. THEY CAME BACK SAID THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR WENT BAD. I ASKED THEM HOW CAN SOMETHING LIKE A SENSOR GO BAD. BELIEVE ME I ONLY USE MY CAR TO GO TO OFFICE AND ERRANDS. MY WIFE SITS AT THE BACK WITH MY BABY(INFANT). VERY RARELY THE SEAT IS USED. I ASKED THEM HOW MUCH WOULD IT COST AND THEY SAID IT WILL COST ANOTHER $880 DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE SENSOR. I ALSO WANT HONDA TO KNOW THE PROBLEM AS ONE CAN'T PAY SO MUCH TO REPLACE ONE SENSOR.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2017 - SEWELL, NJ
WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN ROUTE 55 IN SOUTH JERSEY AT HIGHWAY SPEED (APPROX. 55 MPH), THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY AND ENGINE POWER WAS DIMINISHED. WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY GET OFF NEARBY EXIT AND DRIVE TO PARKING LOT. VEHICLE ALMOST DID NOT MAKE IT UP EXIT RAMP. TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. DIAGNOSIS WAS #2 CYLINDER HAD FAILED. CAR ONLY HAD JUST OVER 63,000 MILES ON IT. NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BUT HONDA EVENTUALLY COVERED 50% ($2,545.30). CAR WAS GARAGED KEPT AND ALL SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE. I WANTED TO REPORT THIS BECAUSE I THINK IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE SINCE IT HAPPENED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE CAR COULD NOT KEEP UP WITH DANGEROUS HIGHWAY TRAFFIC. ALSO, I WOULD LIKE IT ON RECORD IN CASE THERE ARE OTHER REPORTS OF SIMILAR FAILURES WHICH MAY INDICATE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT, ESPECIALLY SINCE IT OCCURRED ON A WELL-MAINTAINED, GARAGE KEPT CAR AT ONLY 63,000 MILES. I HAVE UPLOADED A COPY OF THE REPAIR ORDER INDICATING WHAT COMPONENTS FAILED AND WERE REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/20/2017 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WARNING INDICATOR RANDOMLY KEPT FLASHING TO CHECK THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AT LEAST THREE TIMES, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION. THE CONTACT FELT AS IF THEY MISDIAGNOSED PROVIDING A SOLUTION AND REQUIRED THAT BRAKE REPAIRS BE COMPLETED BEFORE SERVICING THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE FIRST REPAIR FROM THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE ABS INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED, BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR. THE DEALER CLEANED THE REAR BRAKES AND ADJUSTED THE REAR BRAKES DURING THE FIRST REPAIR. DURING THE SECOND REPAIR, THE DEALER REPLACED AND RESURFACED THE FRONT BRAKE PADS. THE BRAKE FLUID EXCHANGE WAS SERVICED AS WELL. TWO DAYS AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE SERVICE AIR BAGS INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE A THIRD TIME AND INDICATED THAT THEY WOULD FOLLOW UP, BUT THE CONTACT RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/20/2017 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WARNING INDICATOR RANDOMLY KEPT FLASHING TO CHECK THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AT LEAST THREE TIMES, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION. THE CONTACT FELT AS IF THEY MISDIAGNOSED PROVIDING A SOLUTION AND REQUIRED THAT BRAKE REPAIRS BE COMPLETED BEFORE SERVICING THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE FIRST REPAIR FROM THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE ABS INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED, BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR. THE DEALER CLEANED THE REAR BRAKES AND ADJUSTED THE REAR BRAKES DURING THE FIRST REPAIR. DURING THE SECOND REPAIR, THE DEALER REPLACED AND RESURFACED THE FRONT BRAKE PADS. THE BRAKE FLUID EXCHANGE WAS SERVICED AS WELL. TWO DAYS AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE SERVICE AIR BAGS INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE A THIRD TIME AND INDICATED THAT THEY WOULD FOLLOW UP, BUT THE CONTACT RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS

3/14/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
HEAD RESTRAINTS ARE EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE AND CAUSE BACK AND NECK PAIN. NO WAY TO ADJUST THE SEAT OF RESTRAINTS ENOUGH TO ALLEVIATE THE DISCOMFORT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/21/2017 - SWISHER, IA
TAKATA RECALL. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER. NO AIRBAG HAS BEEN SCHEDULED AND HONDA IS NOT ANSWERING QUESTIONS! WHY?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/13/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE PAINT ON MY VEHICAL IS BEEN PEELING SINCE I BROUGHT THE CAR. ITS SMALL AMOUNTS AROUND THE CAR THAT NOTICEABLE. ON THE ROOF,SIDE DOORS,AND TRUCK

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/8/2017 - ERIE, PA
CHECK AIRBAG SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT COMING ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY, WHETHER THE VEHICLE IS MOVING OR NOT. DEALERSHIP TECH UNABLE TO POSITIVELY IDENTIFY EXACT PROBLEM OR COMPONENT UNLESS ALARM STAYS ON ALL THE TIME. THEY COULD ONLY PROVIDE BEST EDUCATED GUESS. THEY SUSPECT CABLE REEL IS BAD. APPARENTLY, WHEN THE LIGHT IS ON, AIR BAGS APPARENTLY WILL NOT WORK. UNACCEPTABLE. HAVE PREVIOUSLY OWNED 3 OTHER CIVIC 'S, NEVER HAD A SINGLE PROBLEM WITH THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. HONDA SHOULD HAVE A BETTER WAY TO TROUBLESHOOT THE SYSTEM TO DEFINITIVELY IDENTIFY THE SPECIFIC DEFECTIVE COMPONENT IN THE SYSTEM. WARNING LIGHT CAME ON CONSTANTLY YESTERDAY AFTER APPROX. A MONTH, BUT RESIDENCE IS 400 MILES FROM PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT SO IT WILL BE A COUPLE DAYS TO GET VEHICLE IN TO DEALERSHIP TO EFFECT REPAIRS. IF THE GOVERNMENT IS REQUIRING THESE SYSTEMS FOR SAFETY, THEN AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED THEY SHOULD NEVER FAIL. PERIOD. ANY DEFECT OR PROBLEM WITH THE SYSTEM SHOULD BE IMMEDIATELY CORRECTED BY THE MANUFACTURER AT ZERO EXPENSE TO THE VEHICLE OWNER. I DEFINITELY DO NOT FEEL AS SAFE IN THE VEHICLE AT THE MOMENT, AND HOPE I DON'T GET INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH THIS SYSTEM NOT WORKING. JUST WANTED TO INFORM IN CASE OTHERS MAY HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds