Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 61 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (7) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (5) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (7) Seat Belts (1) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/29/2014 - DEARBORN, MI
ISSUE OCCURS WITH SETTING SPEED CONTROL. IN THIS MODEL, THE CUSTOMER CAN CHOOSE EITHER CHOOSE RES +, RES û. I FOUND OUT IF I CHOOSE RES -, THE VEHICLE SETS THE SPEED CORRECTLY MOST OF THE TIME WITH +/-1 MILE WHICH IS OK. DURING THIS MODE, EACH TIME THE CUSTOMER PRESS ô-ô, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASES BY ONE MILE WHICH IS AS DESIGNED. SOMETIMES, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HOLD THE SPEED AT THE REQUESTED SET SPEED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE DECREASE I FOUND OUT IF I CHOOSE RES +, THE VEHICLE SETS THE SPEED CORRECTLY MOST OF THE TIME WITH +/-1 MILE WHICH IS OK. DURING THIS MODE, EACH TIME THE CUSTOMER PRESS ô+ô, THE VEHICLE SPEED INCREASES BY ONE MILE WHICH IS AS DESIGNED. SOMETIMES, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HOLD THE SPEED AT THE REQUESTED SET SPEED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE DECREASE THE MAIN AND THE MOST SERIOUS ISSUE IS, IF THE CUSTOMER CHOOSE RES -, THEN APPLY/PRESS THE BRAKE THE CRUISE CONTROL WILL BE CANCELLED WHICH IS OK THEN IF THE CUSTOMER CHOOSE RES + AFTER THAT, THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE RISING WITHOUT LIMIT. THIS COULD CAUSE ACCIDENT IF THE DRIVER DID NOT PAY ATTENTIONS ESPECIALLY BECAUSE IT IS NOT THE NORMAL OPERATION

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/27/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
A DOG RAN INTO THE STREET AND I HAD TO BRAKE HARD QUICKLY. THE BRAKES MADE A GRINDING SOUND AND WERE VERY UNSTABLE CAUSING THE CAR TO SKID AND SWERVE. TOOK THE CAR IN FOR 15K SERVICING AND WAS TOLD BRAKES WERE SHOT, GOT NEW PADS AND ROTORS RESURFACED. THIS WAS TOO SOON, THE SERVICEMAN BLAMED MY DRIVING HABITS. TOOK THE CAR IN FOR SERVICING NEAR 25K MILES AND BRAKES AGAIN HAD TO BE REPLACE AND ROTORS TURNED. THE SERVICE MAN AGAIN BLAMED MY DRIVING HABITS. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING OVER 35 YEARS, 6 DIFFERENT CARS, THE SAME ROUTE FOR 17 YEARS AND NEVER HAD TO GET BRAKES REPLACED BEFORE 30K MILES AND CERTAINLY NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE ROTORS SO SOON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/25/2014 - WOODRIDGE, IL
WENT OUT TO START CAR, WARNING LIGHT FOR AIRBAGS WENT ON. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD WIRING HARNESS WAS EATEN THROUGH BY RODENTS. THEN WAS TOLD THERE IS SOY IN THE HARNESS AND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. WHY IS THIS NOT A RECALL? COST $1400 TO FIX.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - SURREY, BC, CANADA, WA
WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55-60 MPH. WANTED TO PRESS "HAZARD WARNING BUTTON" AND BY ACCIDENT PRESSED THE "ENGINE START/STOP BUTTON". BECAUSE "HAZARD WARNING LIGHTS" DID NOT START FLASHING I AUTOMATICALLY PRESSED THE "ENGINE START/STOP BUTTON" SECOND TIME - THE ENGINE TURNED OFF. SINCE ENGINE WAS OFF BRAKES STOPPED WORKING AND POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING AS WELL. THERE IS NO WAY TO TURN ENGINE ON WHILE CAR WAS MOVING - AS YOU CAN DO IT ONLY WHEN THE TRANSMISSION ON "P" (PARKING) - AND YOU CANNOT SWITCH TRANSMISSION INTO "P" (MODE) WHEN CAR IS MOVING AT 60 MPG. BY LUCK I WAS ABLE TO PULL CAR OVER WITHOUT ACCIDENT. I UNDERSTAND THAT MAYBE I WAS STUPID AND THAT IS MY MISTAKE THAT BY ACCIDENT I PRESSED A WRONG BUTTON, HOWEVER, THERE SHOULD BE NO WAY THE ENGINE CAN GO OFF WHILE CAR IS MOVING UNDER ANY CONDITIONS AND ANY DRIVERS ACTIONS BECAUSE IT DIRECTLY MAY LEADS TO A CRASH WHICH COULD BE AVOID ONLY BY A LUCK. I CONSIDER IT IS AS EXTREMELY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHICH SHOULD BE IMMEDIATELY INVESTIGATED AND FIXED.

View Details

TIRES

9/24/2014 - WATSONVILLE, CA
FIRESTONE AFFINITY TIRE FAILED DO TO MALFUNCTION IN TIRE SIDEWALL. I DO NOT BELIEVE THIS IS CONDITION OR RESULT OF ROAD HAZARD. CRACK OR DAMAGE IN TIRE SIDEWALL RESULTED IN COMPLETE DEFLATION IN MATTER OF SECONDS. CONCERNED THAT THESE TIRES ARE UNSAFE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2014 - DEL VALLE, TX
ATTENTION TO ALL WHO READ & COMPLAIN ABOUT OUR 1997 HONDA CIVIC. GO TO YOUR INTERNET & SEARCH DRIVE BY WIRE. THEN YOU WILL KNOW WHY OUR CAR DRIVES SO AWFUL AND YES, ACCIDENT PRONE. OUR VEHICLES - NEWS FLASH - ARE MANUFACTURED WITH THE NEW (WELL, AROUND 2003-ISH) (NOT REAL SURE NOW) DRIVE BY WIRE. MY OLD 1997 HONDA CIVIC WOULD DRIVE THIS 2013 IN THE GROUND. IT'S NEW TECHNOLOGY. NO MORE DRIVE BY THROTTLE. IF YOU WANT YOUR POWER, EITHER GET A MANUAL TRANSMISSION OR GET AN OLD CAR. PEACE TO ALL WHO READ. (( I KNEW SOMETHING WAS WEIRD WITH THE CAR IMMEDIATELY AFTER DRIVING IT FOR 13 MILES - BUT I COULDN'T FIGURE IT OUT TILL I DID RESEARCH AND BOY, WAS I ENLIGHTENED. SO, LOSS OF POWER - WHICH I DID FILE A FORMAL COMPLAINT BECAUSE I THOUGHT SOMETHING WAS SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, BUT THEN I FOUND OUT - OH, NICE, NEW TECHNOLOGY. YOU CAN ALSO FIND OUT THE INFORMATION ON ANY BLOG FOR ANY HONDA OWNER - WHO IS A SERIOUS MECHANIC )) DRIVE BY WIRE - KNOWN AS DBW OR OUR OLD WAY OF CARS - DRIVE BY THROTTLE - OR DBT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - LEXINGTON, SC
SOMETIMES WHEN I SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, I PRESS THE ACCELERATER AND NOTHING HAPPENS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I PURCHASED THE CAR. IT DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY TIME, BUT WHEN IT DOES YOU FEEL HELPLESS UNTIL YOU ARE ABLE TO ACCELERATE AGAIN (WITHIN A SECOND OR TWO). I HAVE LEARNED TO COMPENSATE , BUT THIS COULD CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/5/2014 - COVINGTON, LA
DO NOT USE ECON BUTTON. OCCASIONALLY UPON APPLYING GAS PEDAL TO MAKE A TURN OR GO FORWARD AT STOP SIGN, ENGINE STALLS LEAVING ME WITHOUT GO POWER AT THE MERCY OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/27/2014 - CARROLLTON, TX
DRIVING AT 40 MPH NO ROAD HAZARD LESS THAN 19,000 MILES ON THE CAR, THE TIRE WENT FLAT WITH A SIDE WALL CRACK! THE DEALERSHIP DECIDED IT WAS ROAD HAZARD, BUT I KNOW DIFFERENT! THE SECOND TIRE CRACKED WHILE DRIVING 35 MILES PER HOURS. FIRESTONE TIRES DON'T SEEM TO BE SAFE. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND OR PURCHASE TIRES FROM FIRESTONE OR PURCHASE ANOTHER CAR WITH FIRESTONE TIRES ON IT!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ON THURSDAY OUR AC STARTED BLOWING HOT AIR. I CONTACTED A HONDA SERVICE REP AND THEY MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE UPCOMING MONDAY. ON MONDAY WE WAITED 2 HOURS SO THEY COULD CHECK THE CAR AND SO THEY COULD JUST TELL US THAT THERE IS A LEAK AND THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO FIND IT. THEY FILLED OUR CAR WITH FREE-ON AND ADDED A DYE AND ASKED UP TO COME BACK IN 2 WEEKS, THEY SAID OUT A/C SHOULD BEGIN COOLING...IT DID FOR 3 HOURS. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THURSDAY OF THE SAME WEEK. THE REPS SAID I NEED MY CONDENSER REPLACED, THAT ROAD DEBRIS DAMAGED THE CONDENSER. I DO NOT RECALL GOING OVER ANYTHING OR HITTING ANYTHING. HOW CAN A CONDENSER BE DAMAGED ON A NEW CAR. THEY GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE FOR $535. I BEGAN TO READ INTO IT ONLINE AND I AM NOT ALONE. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS YET HONDA HAS NOT MADE ANYTHING BETTER

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds