Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (13) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (14) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (14) Tires (11) Wheels (5)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2017 - EAST SETAUKET, NY
CV JOINT NOISE WHEN TURNING LEFT - A CLICKING OR KNOCKING SOUND WHICH MATCHES THE SPEED OF THE WHEELS. THIS CAR IS FOUR YEARS OLD AND HAS 12000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/19/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON 7/18/17, AT AROUND 8PM ON HIGHWAY 280 SB BY LAWRENCE EXPWY IN SANTA CLARA, CA, I WAS DRIVING HOME WHEN I HEARD A HUGE BANG. I HAD TO PULL OVER TO REALIZE MY SUNROOF HAD SHATTERED. THERE WAS NO ROCK OR ANY OTHER PIECE OF MATERIAL IN SIGHT. I BELIEVE THAT THE GLASS EXPLODED BECAUSE OF THE HEAT SINCE IT HAS BEEN HOT AND I RARELY OPEN MY MOONROOF. HAD MY MOONROOF BEEN OPENED, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT BY GLASS AND INJURED, POSSIBLY CRASHED. YOU CAN SEE THAT THE HOLE IS QUITE BIG, ABOUT 10 INCHES IN DIAMETER, AND THE WHOLE SECTION SEEMS TO BE INCLINED UPWARDS, MAKING ME BELIEVE THAT IT EXPLODED ON IT'S OWN FROM HEAT PRESSURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/6/2017 - MARGATE, FL
I WAS DRIVING AND MADE A TURN ON A CITY STREET AND SUDDENLY THE CAR AUTO-ACCELERATED TO A HIGH SPEED AND THE BRAKES DID NOT STOP IT NOR THE HAND-BRAKE. IT ONLY STOPPED WHEN IT HIT AGAINST ANOTHER CAR. I BOUGHT THE CAR 3 MONTHS AGO FROM THE HONDA DEALERSHIP AND IT WAS A CERTIFIED HONDA VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/26/2017 - 29 PALMS, CA
DRIVING SOUTH THROUGH SALT LAKE CITY FREEWAY, THE CAB FILLED WITH NOXIOUS RAW GAS FUMES, NO WARNING LAMPS ON THE DASH. PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND INSPECTED ENGINE, TRUNK, INTERIOR AND UNDER THE CAR FOR A GAS LEAK AND FOUND NOTHING. CONTINUED ON OUR WAY AND RETURNED TO CALIFORNIA, HEADING FOR 29 PALMS VIA KELSO, CALIF. WHEN WE GOT FUMES AGAIN ONLY HEAVIER, COMBINED WITH TIGHTEN FUEL CAP WARNING SCREEN ON DASH. AGAIN INSPECTED CAR, REINSTALLED FUEL CAP SEVERAL TIMES. NO LEAKS DETECTED, AIRED OUT CAR AND GOT THE SAME CONDITION EVERY TIME WE GAINED SIGNIFICANT ALTITUDE. THE NEXT DAY WE REPLACED THE FUEL CAP AND SO FAR NO FLAMMABLE FUMES. THANK GOD NEITHER OF US SMOKE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2017 - KETTERING, OH
RODENTS ATE THROUGH WIRING BETWEEN ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY. DETERMINED THAT HONDA CHANGED TO SOY BASED MATERIAL TO COAT WIRING ON ALL 2012-2015 CIVIC MODELS. THE SOY BASED FORMULA BECOMES HEATED AND ATTRACTS THE RODENTS WHEN PARKED. THE PROBLEM IS PERVASIVE AND DANGEROUS SINCE ELECTRICAL WIRING AND HARNESSES TO ALL MAJOR ENGINE COMPONENTS ARE AFFECTED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2017 - MADISON, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TOOK THREE TO FOUR SECONDS TO ACCELERATE AND THEN STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FUNCTIONING AS DESIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000. UPDATED 07/13/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2017 - HICKSVILLE, NY
I HAVE A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. I BOUGHT IS A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FROM BROADWAY HONDA, GREENVILLE, SC. IT WENT WELL FOR A YEAR THOUGHT THE ONE YEAR WARRANTY WITH ZERO PROBLEMS. BUT ONCE THE WARRANTY WAS OVER PROBLEMS STARTED TO SHOW UP EVERY OTHER MONTH. DURING THE HARSH WINTER OF MARCH ONE DAY THE BATTERY WENT DEAD AT A WALMART PARKING. I CALLED MY FRIEND AND JUMP STARTED IT AND IT WAS FINE. NEXT DAY I WENT TO THE HONDA SERVICE AND DID A DIAGNOSTIC. THEY SAID THE BATTERY IS ONLY 30%. IN 4 YEARS WITH 53K MILES THE BATTERY WENT BAD AND I REPLACED IT. AND DID A OIL CHANGE AND NYS INSPECTION. 15 DAYS WENT WELL. SUDDENLY ONE DAY MY AIR BAG INDICATOR STARTED TO BLINK WITH A MESSAGE "CHECK AIR BAG SYSTEM" ON THE SCREEN. I TOOK IT TO A FRIEND'S GARAGE AND HE SUSPECTED IT WAS A PASSENGER SIDE SEAT SENSOR THAT HAS AN ERROR. VERY TROUBLED I WENT TO HONDA SERVICE AGAIN. THEY CHARGED $130 JUST FOR SCANNING AND DIAGNOSTICS. THEY CAME BACK SAID THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR WENT BAD. I ASKED THEM HOW CAN SOMETHING LIKE A SENSOR GO BAD. BELIEVE ME I ONLY USE MY CAR TO GO TO OFFICE AND ERRANDS. MY WIFE SITS AT THE BACK WITH MY BABY(INFANT). VERY RARELY THE SEAT IS USED. I ASKED THEM HOW MUCH WOULD IT COST AND THEY SAID IT WILL COST ANOTHER $880 DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE SENSOR. I ALSO WANT HONDA TO KNOW THE PROBLEM AS ONE CAN'T PAY SO MUCH TO REPLACE ONE SENSOR.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2017 - SEWELL, NJ
WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN ROUTE 55 IN SOUTH JERSEY AT HIGHWAY SPEED (APPROX. 55 MPH), THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY AND ENGINE POWER WAS DIMINISHED. WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY GET OFF NEARBY EXIT AND DRIVE TO PARKING LOT. VEHICLE ALMOST DID NOT MAKE IT UP EXIT RAMP. TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. DIAGNOSIS WAS #2 CYLINDER HAD FAILED. CAR ONLY HAD JUST OVER 63,000 MILES ON IT. NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY BUT HONDA EVENTUALLY COVERED 50% ($2,545.30). CAR WAS GARAGED KEPT AND ALL SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE. I WANTED TO REPORT THIS BECAUSE I THINK IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE SINCE IT HAPPENED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE CAR COULD NOT KEEP UP WITH DANGEROUS HIGHWAY TRAFFIC. ALSO, I WOULD LIKE IT ON RECORD IN CASE THERE ARE OTHER REPORTS OF SIMILAR FAILURES WHICH MAY INDICATE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT, ESPECIALLY SINCE IT OCCURRED ON A WELL-MAINTAINED, GARAGE KEPT CAR AT ONLY 63,000 MILES. I HAVE UPLOADED A COPY OF THE REPAIR ORDER INDICATING WHAT COMPONENTS FAILED AND WERE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/20/2017 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WARNING INDICATOR RANDOMLY KEPT FLASHING TO CHECK THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AT LEAST THREE TIMES, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION. THE CONTACT FELT AS IF THEY MISDIAGNOSED PROVIDING A SOLUTION AND REQUIRED THAT BRAKE REPAIRS BE COMPLETED BEFORE SERVICING THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE FIRST REPAIR FROM THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE ABS INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED, BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR. THE DEALER CLEANED THE REAR BRAKES AND ADJUSTED THE REAR BRAKES DURING THE FIRST REPAIR. DURING THE SECOND REPAIR, THE DEALER REPLACED AND RESURFACED THE FRONT BRAKE PADS. THE BRAKE FLUID EXCHANGE WAS SERVICED AS WELL. TWO DAYS AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE SERVICE AIR BAGS INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE A THIRD TIME AND INDICATED THAT THEY WOULD FOLLOW UP, BUT THE CONTACT RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/20/2017 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A WARNING INDICATOR RANDOMLY KEPT FLASHING TO CHECK THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AT LEAST THREE TIMES, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION. THE CONTACT FELT AS IF THEY MISDIAGNOSED PROVIDING A SOLUTION AND REQUIRED THAT BRAKE REPAIRS BE COMPLETED BEFORE SERVICING THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE FIRST REPAIR FROM THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE ABS INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED, BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT WAS THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR. THE DEALER CLEANED THE REAR BRAKES AND ADJUSTED THE REAR BRAKES DURING THE FIRST REPAIR. DURING THE SECOND REPAIR, THE DEALER REPLACED AND RESURFACED THE FRONT BRAKE PADS. THE BRAKE FLUID EXCHANGE WAS SERVICED AS WELL. TWO DAYS AFTER THE REPAIRS, THE SERVICE AIR BAGS INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE A THIRD TIME AND INDICATED THAT THEY WOULD FOLLOW UP, BUT THE CONTACT RECEIVED NO RESPONSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds