Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 137 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (13) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (14) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (14) Tires (11) Wheels (5)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/12/2017 - LAKELAND, FL
IT WAS FINE WHEN I PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE THE NIGHT BEFORE BUT THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE FOLLOWING WERE WORKING AND THE DEALER HAS NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG (THEY WANT TO TRY REPLACING WHOLE CONSOLE FOR $700 AND IF/WHEN THAT DOESN'T WORK TRY REPLACING SOMETHING ELSE FOR $$$): - DASH (AND GEAR SHIFT, ETC.) DOESN'T LIGHT UP WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT - WINDSHIELD DEFOGGERS - SPEEDOMETER (READS "0" WHETHER IN MOTION OR STOPPED) - ODOMETER - WARNING INDICATORS (OVERHEAT, TIRE PRESSURE, ETC. EXCEPT "BRAKE" WHICH STILL WORKS, AND THE LITTLE GAS ICON ON THE LEFT CONTINUOUSLY BLINKS WHETHER FULL TANK OR NOT) - GAS GAUGE - GAS MILEAGE - TACHOMETER (A PHYSICAL METER) - AIR CONDITIONER - OIL LIFE LEFT - CRUISE CONTROL - "ECON" MODE BUTTON DOESN'T WORK - NOT SURE IF AIR BAGS WORK - I MAY FIND OUT SOMEDAY - RADIO WORKS/DISPLAYS FINE I AM NOT SURE OF THE EXACT DATE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT IT WAS SOMETIME IN AUGUST 2017.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/12/2017 - LAKELAND, FL
IT WAS FINE WHEN I PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE THE NIGHT BEFORE BUT THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE FOLLOWING WERE WORKING AND THE DEALER HAS NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG (THEY WANT TO TRY REPLACING WHOLE CONSOLE FOR $700 AND IF/WHEN THAT DOESN'T WORK TRY REPLACING SOMETHING ELSE FOR $$$): - DASH (AND GEAR SHIFT, ETC.) DOESN'T LIGHT UP WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT - WINDSHIELD DEFOGGERS - SPEEDOMETER (READS "0" WHETHER IN MOTION OR STOPPED) - ODOMETER - WARNING INDICATORS (OVERHEAT, TIRE PRESSURE, ETC. EXCEPT "BRAKE" WHICH STILL WORKS, AND THE LITTLE GAS ICON ON THE LEFT CONTINUOUSLY BLINKS WHETHER FULL TANK OR NOT) - GAS GAUGE - GAS MILEAGE - TACHOMETER (A PHYSICAL METER) - AIR CONDITIONER - OIL LIFE LEFT - CRUISE CONTROL - "ECON" MODE BUTTON DOESN'T WORK - NOT SURE IF AIR BAGS WORK - I MAY FIND OUT SOMEDAY - RADIO WORKS/DISPLAYS FINE I AM NOT SURE OF THE EXACT DATE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT IT WAS SOMETIME IN AUGUST 2017.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2017 - LAKELAND, FL
IT WAS FINE WHEN I PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE THE NIGHT BEFORE BUT THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE FOLLOWING WERE WORKING AND THE DEALER HAS NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG (THEY WANT TO TRY REPLACING WHOLE CONSOLE FOR $700 AND IF/WHEN THAT DOESN'T WORK TRY REPLACING SOMETHING ELSE FOR $$$): - DASH (AND GEAR SHIFT, ETC.) DOESN'T LIGHT UP WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT - WINDSHIELD DEFOGGERS - SPEEDOMETER (READS "0" WHETHER IN MOTION OR STOPPED) - ODOMETER - WARNING INDICATORS (OVERHEAT, TIRE PRESSURE, ETC. EXCEPT "BRAKE" WHICH STILL WORKS, AND THE LITTLE GAS ICON ON THE LEFT CONTINUOUSLY BLINKS WHETHER FULL TANK OR NOT) - GAS GAUGE - GAS MILEAGE - TACHOMETER (A PHYSICAL METER) - AIR CONDITIONER - OIL LIFE LEFT - CRUISE CONTROL - "ECON" MODE BUTTON DOESN'T WORK - NOT SURE IF AIR BAGS WORK - I MAY FIND OUT SOMEDAY - RADIO WORKS/DISPLAYS FINE I AM NOT SURE OF THE EXACT DATE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT IT WAS SOMETIME IN AUGUST 2017.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/9/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
THE AIR CONDITIONER MOTOR AND RESISTOR IN MY CAR HAVE BEEN REPLACED 5 TIMES NOW. EVERY FOUR MONTHS, THE AIR CONDITIONER MAKES SOUNDS, FLUCTUATES IN POWER, AND THEN FINALLY STOPS WORKING ALTOGTHER. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH STILL WORK, BUT THE AIR STOPS BLOWING. ONCE MOTOR AND RESISTOR ARE REPLACED, IT WORKS FINE AGAIN - BUT ONLY FOR A FEW MONTHS. ALL NEW PARTS HAVE BEEN ORDERED DIRECTLY THROUGH HONDA. THE DEFROSTER AND HEAT WILL NOT WORK EITHER WHEN THIS PART GOES BAD, WHICH IS DANGEROUS IF DRIVING IN THE RAIN OR IN THE COLD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
THE AIR CONDITIONER MOTOR AND RESISTOR IN MY CAR HAVE BEEN REPLACED 5 TIMES NOW. EVERY FOUR MONTHS, THE AIR CONDITIONER MAKES SOUNDS, FLUCTUATES IN POWER, AND THEN FINALLY STOPS WORKING ALTOGTHER. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH STILL WORK, BUT THE AIR STOPS BLOWING. ONCE MOTOR AND RESISTOR ARE REPLACED, IT WORKS FINE AGAIN - BUT ONLY FOR A FEW MONTHS. ALL NEW PARTS HAVE BEEN ORDERED DIRECTLY THROUGH HONDA. THE DEFROSTER AND HEAT WILL NOT WORK EITHER WHEN THIS PART GOES BAD, WHICH IS DANGEROUS IF DRIVING IN THE RAIN OR IN THE COLD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2017 - EAST SETAUKET, NY
CV JOINT NOISE WHEN TURNING LEFT - A CLICKING OR KNOCKING SOUND WHICH MATCHES THE SPEED OF THE WHEELS. THIS CAR IS FOUR YEARS OLD AND HAS 12000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/19/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON 7/18/17, AT AROUND 8PM ON HIGHWAY 280 SB BY LAWRENCE EXPWY IN SANTA CLARA, CA, I WAS DRIVING HOME WHEN I HEARD A HUGE BANG. I HAD TO PULL OVER TO REALIZE MY SUNROOF HAD SHATTERED. THERE WAS NO ROCK OR ANY OTHER PIECE OF MATERIAL IN SIGHT. I BELIEVE THAT THE GLASS EXPLODED BECAUSE OF THE HEAT SINCE IT HAS BEEN HOT AND I RARELY OPEN MY MOONROOF. HAD MY MOONROOF BEEN OPENED, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT BY GLASS AND INJURED, POSSIBLY CRASHED. YOU CAN SEE THAT THE HOLE IS QUITE BIG, ABOUT 10 INCHES IN DIAMETER, AND THE WHOLE SECTION SEEMS TO BE INCLINED UPWARDS, MAKING ME BELIEVE THAT IT EXPLODED ON IT'S OWN FROM HEAT PRESSURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/6/2017 - MARGATE, FL
I WAS DRIVING AND MADE A TURN ON A CITY STREET AND SUDDENLY THE CAR AUTO-ACCELERATED TO A HIGH SPEED AND THE BRAKES DID NOT STOP IT NOR THE HAND-BRAKE. IT ONLY STOPPED WHEN IT HIT AGAINST ANOTHER CAR. I BOUGHT THE CAR 3 MONTHS AGO FROM THE HONDA DEALERSHIP AND IT WAS A CERTIFIED HONDA VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/26/2017 - 29 PALMS, CA
DRIVING SOUTH THROUGH SALT LAKE CITY FREEWAY, THE CAB FILLED WITH NOXIOUS RAW GAS FUMES, NO WARNING LAMPS ON THE DASH. PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND INSPECTED ENGINE, TRUNK, INTERIOR AND UNDER THE CAR FOR A GAS LEAK AND FOUND NOTHING. CONTINUED ON OUR WAY AND RETURNED TO CALIFORNIA, HEADING FOR 29 PALMS VIA KELSO, CALIF. WHEN WE GOT FUMES AGAIN ONLY HEAVIER, COMBINED WITH TIGHTEN FUEL CAP WARNING SCREEN ON DASH. AGAIN INSPECTED CAR, REINSTALLED FUEL CAP SEVERAL TIMES. NO LEAKS DETECTED, AIRED OUT CAR AND GOT THE SAME CONDITION EVERY TIME WE GAINED SIGNIFICANT ALTITUDE. THE NEXT DAY WE REPLACED THE FUEL CAP AND SO FAR NO FLAMMABLE FUMES. THANK GOD NEITHER OF US SMOKE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2017 - KETTERING, OH
RODENTS ATE THROUGH WIRING BETWEEN ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY. DETERMINED THAT HONDA CHANGED TO SOY BASED MATERIAL TO COAT WIRING ON ALL 2012-2015 CIVIC MODELS. THE SOY BASED FORMULA BECOMES HEATED AND ATTRACTS THE RODENTS WHEN PARKED. THE PROBLEM IS PERVASIVE AND DANGEROUS SINCE ELECTRICAL WIRING AND HARNESSES TO ALL MAJOR ENGINE COMPONENTS ARE AFFECTED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds