Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 173 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (14) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (14) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (6)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (18) Tires (11) Wheels (5)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/22/2018 - FINCASTLE, VA
THERE IS NO PROBLEM WITH MY VEHICLE. I WANT TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE LED LIGHTS ON MULTIPLE OTHER VEHICLES ON THE ROAD. THEY ARE BLINDING, VERY DISTRACTING, AND SHOULD BE ILLEGAL. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. THE DATE ENTERED BELOW IS THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE, BUT IT HAPPENS REGULARLY - ALMOST DAILY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/5/2018 - MONTPELIER, OH
INTERIOR LIGHT'S ON THE WHOLE DASH BOARD FLASH WHILE IN MOTION DRIVING, STOPPED AT STOP SIGN'S OR RED LIGHT, STOPPED TO MAKE A TURN AND PAINT AROUND WINDSHIELD IS PEELING

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/5/2018 - MONTPELIER, OH
INTERIOR LIGHT'S ON THE WHOLE DASH BOARD FLASH WHILE IN MOTION DRIVING, STOPPED AT STOP SIGN'S OR RED LIGHT, STOPPED TO MAKE A TURN AND PAINT AROUND WINDSHIELD IS PEELING

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/4/2018 - PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL
AIR BAG SYSTEM CHECK CAME ON WHILE DRIVING 35MPH AND IT TURNED OFF ONCE CAR WAS PARKED AND TURNED OFF. HAS NOT COME ON SINCE. PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF LIGHT DOES NOT LIGHT UP WHEN THERE IS NO ONE IN PASSENGER SEAT. HONDA DEALER RAN TEST. PASSENGER WAS FINE BUT SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH DRIVER SIDE (IRONICALLY). I ASKED IF RECALL WAS ON FOR MY CAR, IT IS NOT. APPARENTLY I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE AND I DON+T WANT TO PAY $111 FOR JUST A SYSTEM DIAGNOSTICS TEST THEN ANOTHER $300+ TO GET A REPLACEMENT ON A SAFETY ISSUE THAT I DIDN+T CAUSE. PLEASE HELP!! I DO HAVE RECORDS OF THE SERVICE ON 6/4/2018

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/15/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
WHILE CAR IS IN MOTION CHECK AIR BAG SENSOR WILL GO OFF. SENSOR WILL STAY ON UNTIL IGNITION IS TURNED OFF AND CAR IS IN PARK. THE SENSOR WILL PERIODICALLY TURN ON AND OFF OVER THE LAST 8MONTHS. WHEN CONTACTING HONDA DEALER ABOUT THE CHECK AIRBAG SENSOR THEY STATED IT NOT RELATED TO THE RECALL. I DISAGREE IF MY SENSOR ARE READING CHECK AIRBAGS SOMETHING MUST BE GOING ON.

View Details

STEERING

5/2/2018 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY POWER STEERING LOCKED UP AND WOULD NOT LET ME USE THE STEERING WHEEL. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND THE POWER STEERING RETURNED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES ONLY TO TURN OFF AND NOT ALLOW THE STEERING WHEEL TO WORK ANY LONGER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/2/2018 - OCEANSIDE, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY POWER STEERING LOCKED UP AND WOULD NOT LET ME USE THE STEERING WHEEL. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND THE POWER STEERING RETURNED FOR A COUPLE MINUTES ONLY TO TURN OFF AND NOT ALLOW THE STEERING WHEEL TO WORK ANY LONGER

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2018 - JAMESTOWN, NY
HAVE STARTED GETTING INTERMITTENT +CHECK AIRBAG SYSTEM+ MESSAGE ON DASH DISPLAY EVEN WHEN THERE IS NO ONE AND NOTHING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. HAPPENS MORE OFTEN ON WARM DAYS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/9/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I PURCHASED A USED 2013 CIVIC SEDAN FROM A PRIVATE SELLER ON MARCH 23RD 2018. THE DAY I BOUGHT IT, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT OF THE CREDIT UNION WHERE I MET THE SELLER THE POWER STEERING FAILED. A YELLOW WARNING LIGHT THAT LOOKS LIKE A STEERING WHEEL WITH AN EXCLAMATION POINT CAME ON ON THE DASH, AND IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE. I PUT IT IN PARK, HIT THE HAZARDS AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF FOR FEAR OF HITTING SOMEONE. I CONTACTED THE SELLERS AND THEY CAME BACK. WE DISCUSSED HAVING IT TOWED TO THE SHOP, AND THE PREVIOUS OWNER GOT IN IT, TO RE-PARK IT SOMEWHERE MORE OUT OF THE WAY WHILE WE WAITED FOR AAA. AT THIS TIME, THE CAR STARTED UP FINE, NO WARNING LIGHT WAS PRESENT AND HE WAS ABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE IT INTO A PARKING SPOT. HE SUGGESTED THAT HE JUST DRIVE IT TO THE SHOP, AND I RIDE OVER THERE WITH HIS WIFE. SO WE DID, AND THEY HOOKED IT UP TO THE COMPUTER AT THE SHOP, AND INFORMED ME THAT IT DIDN'T THROW ANY CODES, AND THAT "THE COMPUTER DOESN'T LIE" THEY TOLD ME THAT SINCE IT DROVE OVER THERE FINE, TO JUST TAKE IT HOME, AND DON'T WORRY ABOUT IT. SO I DID, AND I DROVE IT AROUND FOR A COUPLE WEEKS UNTIL ON THE 5TH OF APRIL, AGAIN PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE IT HAPPENED AGAIN, YELLOW STEERING WHEEL LIGHT AND ALL. EXCEPT THIS TIME THE BRAKES FAILED TOO. NOT ONLY COULD I NOT STEER, I COULD NOT STOP. I ENDED UP DRAGGING THE FRONT END OVER A FLOWERBED WITH A CURB, AND RIPPING OFF THE BUMPER. THE CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND IS NOW AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP AWAITING REPAIRS PENDING PROCESSING OF WARRANTY PAPERWORK. THANKFULLY NOBODY WAS HURT IN EITHER OF THESE INCIDENTS, BUT IT COULD'VE EASILY BEEN DIFFERENT. THESE POWER STEERING FAILURES ARE KNOW TO, AND WERE INVESTIGATED BY THE NHTSA IN 2013. NO RECALL WAS ISSUED. I KNOW THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER PEOPLE. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND A RECALL SHOULD BE RECONSIDERED.

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I PURCHASED A USED 2013 CIVIC SEDAN FROM A PRIVATE SELLER ON MARCH 23RD 2018. THE DAY I BOUGHT IT, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT OF THE CREDIT UNION WHERE I MET THE SELLER THE POWER STEERING FAILED. A YELLOW WARNING LIGHT THAT LOOKS LIKE A STEERING WHEEL WITH AN EXCLAMATION POINT CAME ON ON THE DASH, AND IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE. I PUT IT IN PARK, HIT THE HAZARDS AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF FOR FEAR OF HITTING SOMEONE. I CONTACTED THE SELLERS AND THEY CAME BACK. WE DISCUSSED HAVING IT TOWED TO THE SHOP, AND THE PREVIOUS OWNER GOT IN IT, TO RE-PARK IT SOMEWHERE MORE OUT OF THE WAY WHILE WE WAITED FOR AAA. AT THIS TIME, THE CAR STARTED UP FINE, NO WARNING LIGHT WAS PRESENT AND HE WAS ABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE IT INTO A PARKING SPOT. HE SUGGESTED THAT HE JUST DRIVE IT TO THE SHOP, AND I RIDE OVER THERE WITH HIS WIFE. SO WE DID, AND THEY HOOKED IT UP TO THE COMPUTER AT THE SHOP, AND INFORMED ME THAT IT DIDN'T THROW ANY CODES, AND THAT "THE COMPUTER DOESN'T LIE" THEY TOLD ME THAT SINCE IT DROVE OVER THERE FINE, TO JUST TAKE IT HOME, AND DON'T WORRY ABOUT IT. SO I DID, AND I DROVE IT AROUND FOR A COUPLE WEEKS UNTIL ON THE 5TH OF APRIL, AGAIN PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE IT HAPPENED AGAIN, YELLOW STEERING WHEEL LIGHT AND ALL. EXCEPT THIS TIME THE BRAKES FAILED TOO. NOT ONLY COULD I NOT STEER, I COULD NOT STOP. I ENDED UP DRAGGING THE FRONT END OVER A FLOWERBED WITH A CURB, AND RIPPING OFF THE BUMPER. THE CAR WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND IS NOW AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP AWAITING REPAIRS PENDING PROCESSING OF WARRANTY PAPERWORK. THANKFULLY NOBODY WAS HURT IN EITHER OF THESE INCIDENTS, BUT IT COULD'VE EASILY BEEN DIFFERENT. THESE POWER STEERING FAILURES ARE KNOW TO, AND WERE INVESTIGATED BY THE NHTSA IN 2013. NO RECALL WAS ISSUED. I KNOW THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER PEOPLE. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND A RECALL SHOULD BE RECONSIDERED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds