Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (5) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (7) Seat Belts (1) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

12/16/2014 - TARRYTOWN, NY
I PURCHASED A NEW HONDA CIVIC 2013 IN JULY 2014. THE CAR CAME WITH CONTINENTAL CONTIPRO CONTACT TIRES SIZE 205/55 R16 89H. FROM THE BEGINNING THE TIRES CAUSED A GREAT DEAL OF NOISE. ON SOME ROADS THE NOISE IS SO LOUD, THERE IS A POTENTIAL FAILURE TO HEAR EMERGENCY VEHICLES. IN ADDITION, WITH EVEN THE MILDEST ROAD DEFECT THERE IS RUMBLING AND OFTEN A LOUD BOOMING. I TOOK THE CAR IN TO REPORT DEFECT AT 1066 MILES AND WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE ADVISER THAT I NEEDED FOUR NEW TIRES. MY MECHANIC ALSO ADVISED ME THESE TIRES ARE FAULTY AND DANGEROUS. I AM TERRIFIED OF DRIVING, PARTICULARLY ON THE HIGHWAY. I DO BELIEVE THAT BEING A SENIOR CITIZEN HAS PLAYED A ROLE IN HONDA'S EFFORT TO IGNORE ME. THANKS FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO VENT MY CONCERNS AND ANGUISH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/3/2014 - LAKE STEVENS, WA
I WAS AT A STOP AND WAS REAR-ENDED BY A FORD F350 GOING 50-55 MPH. MY CAR WAS PUSHED INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I WAS NUMBER 2 IN A 7 CAR PILE UP. MY AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND MY FACE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE BACK OF MY HEAD HIT THE HEAD REST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/28/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
DRIVING HOME UP 50 DEGREE HILL. APPROXIMATE SPEED 35 MPH. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF ACCELERATOR BECAUSE I LIKE TO COAST THE LAST 1/4 OF THE HILL FOR SAFETY, SLOWING DOWN FOR ANY POTENTIAL IDIOTS WHO MIGHT SAIL AROUND THE CORNER FROM THE FLAT CROSS STREET, CUTTING OFF THE PART OF THE STREET THAT, BY LAW, SHOULD BE LEFT CLEAR FOR THE CAR COMING UPHILL. IN A SPLIT SECOND, MY CAR ACCELERATES SUDDENLY, AS THOUGH I HAD STOMPED DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN. NOW WHAT DO I DO? MY 2012 HONDA CIVIC HAD PREMATURE BRAKE FAILURE THAT IS NOW THE SUBJECT OF A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. DO I GET RID OF THIS "NEW" HONDA THAT TURNED ONE MID-OCTOBER??? I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, GIVEN THE OTHER STORIES ABOUT UNINTENDED ACCELERATION IN NEW HONDAS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/28/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
DRIVING HOME UP 50 DEGREE HILL. APPROXIMATE SPEED 35 MPH. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF ACCELERATOR BECAUSE I LIKE TO COAST THE LAST 1/4 OF THE HILL FOR SAFETY, SLOWING DOWN FOR ANY POTENTIAL IDIOTS WHO MIGHT SAIL AROUND THE CORNER FROM THE FLAT CROSS STREET, CUTTING OFF THE PART OF THE STREET THAT, BY LAW, SHOULD BE LEFT CLEAR FOR THE CAR COMING UPHILL. IN A SPLIT SECOND, MY CAR ACCELERATES SUDDENLY, AS THOUGH I HAD STOMPED DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN. NOW WHAT DO I DO? MY 2012 HONDA CIVIC HAD PREMATURE BRAKE FAILURE THAT IS NOW THE SUBJECT OF A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. DO I GET RID OF THIS "NEW" HONDA THAT TURNED ONE MID-OCTOBER??? I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, GIVEN THE OTHER STORIES ABOUT UNINTENDED ACCELERATION IN NEW HONDAS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/28/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
DRIVING HOME UP 50 DEGREE HILL. APPROXIMATE SPEED 35 MPH. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF ACCELERATOR BECAUSE I LIKE TO COAST THE LAST 1/4 OF THE HILL FOR SAFETY, SLOWING DOWN FOR ANY POTENTIAL IDIOTS WHO MIGHT SAIL AROUND THE CORNER FROM THE FLAT CROSS STREET, CUTTING OFF THE PART OF THE STREET THAT, BY LAW, SHOULD BE LEFT CLEAR FOR THE CAR COMING UPHILL. IN A SPLIT SECOND, MY CAR ACCELERATES SUDDENLY, AS THOUGH I HAD STOMPED DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN. NOW WHAT DO I DO? MY 2012 HONDA CIVIC HAD PREMATURE BRAKE FAILURE THAT IS NOW THE SUBJECT OF A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. DO I GET RID OF THIS "NEW" HONDA THAT TURNED ONE MID-OCTOBER??? I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, GIVEN THE OTHER STORIES ABOUT UNINTENDED ACCELERATION IN NEW HONDAS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/28/2014 - LIVONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, ANOTHER VEHICLE DROVE THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND CRASHED INTO THE FRONT OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE CHEST, THE BACK, ABDOMEN AND SHOULDER PAINS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/27/2014 - GREENWICH, CT
VEHICLE HESITATES OCCASIONALLY ON START UP. THIS IS COMPLETELY UNPREDICTABLE AND REQUIRES PUSHING HARD ON THE ACCELERATOR, WHICH RESULTS IN A VERY FAST TAKEOFF. IF YOU LEAVE AN EVEN PRESSURE ON THE PEDAL, THE CAR WILL EVENTUALLY MOVE OFF, BUT THIS UNPREDICTABILITY CAN BE QUITE DANGEROUS IF YOU ARE TRYING TO PULL OUT INTO A STREAM OF MOVING TRAFFIC.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/2/2014 - DEARBORN, MI
FOR ANY SPEED ABOVE 25MPH THIS ISSUE OCCURS AT ANY SPEED THE CURISE CONTROL IS ACTIVE. I NOTICED THIS ISSUE ALOMOST AROUND AUGUST 2014. ISSUE OCCURS WITH SETTING SPEED CONTROL. IN THIS MODEL, THE CUSTOMER CAN CHOOSE EITHER CHOOSE RES +, RES -++. I FOUND OUT IF I CHOOSE RES -, THE VEHICLE SETS THE SPEED CORRECTLY MOST OF THE TIME WITH +/-1 MILE WHICH IS OK. DURING THIS MODE, EACH TIME THE CUSTOMER PRESS -++--++, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASES BY ONE MILE WHICH IS AS DESIGNED. SOMETIMES, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HOLD THE SPEED AT THE REQUESTED SET SPEED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE DECREASE WITHOUT LIMIT I FOUND OUT IF I CHOOSE RES +, THE VEHICLE SETS THE SPEED CORRECTLY MOST OF THE TIME WITH +/-1 MILE WHICH IS OK. DURING THIS MODE, EACH TIME THE CUSTOMER PRESS -+++-++, THE VEHICLE SPEED INCREASES BY ONE MILE WHICH IS AS DESIGNED. SOMETIMES, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HOLD THE SPEED AT THE REQUESTED SET SPEED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE DECREASE WITHOUT LIMIT THE MAIN AND THE MOST SERIOUS ISSUE IS, IF THE CUSTOMER CHOOSE RES -, THEN APPLY/PRESS THE BRAKE THE CRUISE CONTROL WILL BE CANCELLED WHICH IS OK THEN IF THE CUSTOMER CHOOSE RES + AFTER THAT, THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE RISING WITHOUT LIMIT. THIS COULD CAUSE ACCIDENT IF THE DRIVER DID NOT PAY ATTENTIONS ESPECIALLY BECAUSE IT IS NOT THE NORMAL OPERATION

View Details

SEATS

10/30/2014 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE REGULATIONS ON SEAT HEAD RESTS HAVE TO BE CHANGED. I LIKE TO SIT WITH MY SEAT BACK UP WHICH FORCES THE HEAD REST INTO THE BACK OF MY HEAD FORCING MY HEAD INTO A DOWNWARD POSITION. I ENDURED CONSTANT BACK PAIN BECAUSE OF THE CAR. I ENDED UP SELLING MY CIVIC SI BECAUSE IT WAS SO UNCOMFORTABLE AND BUYING AN OLDER VERSA. IF I HADN'T SOLD IT, I WOULD HAVE BENT THE ACTUAL BARS BACK PROBABLY AFFECTING THEIR STRENGTH. IN FACT, FOR A WHILE I HAD TO DRIVE WITH THE HEADREST TURNED AROUND JUST SO THE CAR WAS BEARABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/29/2014 - DEARBORN, MI
ISSUE OCCURS WITH SETTING SPEED CONTROL. IN THIS MODEL, THE CUSTOMER CAN CHOOSE EITHER CHOOSE RES +, RES û. I FOUND OUT IF I CHOOSE RES -, THE VEHICLE SETS THE SPEED CORRECTLY MOST OF THE TIME WITH +/-1 MILE WHICH IS OK. DURING THIS MODE, EACH TIME THE CUSTOMER PRESS ô-ô, THE VEHICLE SPEED DECREASES BY ONE MILE WHICH IS AS DESIGNED. SOMETIMES, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HOLD THE SPEED AT THE REQUESTED SET SPEED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE DECREASE I FOUND OUT IF I CHOOSE RES +, THE VEHICLE SETS THE SPEED CORRECTLY MOST OF THE TIME WITH +/-1 MILE WHICH IS OK. DURING THIS MODE, EACH TIME THE CUSTOMER PRESS ô+ô, THE VEHICLE SPEED INCREASES BY ONE MILE WHICH IS AS DESIGNED. SOMETIMES, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HOLD THE SPEED AT THE REQUESTED SET SPEED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE DECREASE THE MAIN AND THE MOST SERIOUS ISSUE IS, IF THE CUSTOMER CHOOSE RES -, THEN APPLY/PRESS THE BRAKE THE CRUISE CONTROL WILL BE CANCELLED WHICH IS OK THEN IF THE CUSTOMER CHOOSE RES + AFTER THAT, THE VEHICLE SPEED CONTINUE RISING WITHOUT LIMIT. THIS COULD CAUSE ACCIDENT IF THE DRIVER DID NOT PAY ATTENTIONS ESPECIALLY BECAUSE IT IS NOT THE NORMAL OPERATION

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds