Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (7) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (4) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (4) Seat Belts (1) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/27/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
SOMETIMES WHEN I SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, I PRESS THE ACCELERATER AND NOTHING HAPPENS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS BECAUSE OF BEING IN ECON MODE. I DON'T USE ECON MODE IN SPRING, SUMMER & FALL AND IT STILL HAPPENS; NOT EVERY TIME BUT 2 OR 3 TIMES A WEEK. IF I WERE TO TRY TO MAKE A QUICK TURN AND IT DID THAT II COULD HAVE AN ACCIDENT. I'VE BEEN DRIVING MOSTLY HONDAS SINCE 1984 AND HAVE NEVER HAD THIS OR ANY OTHER PROBLEM. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS AS IT COULD HAVE SERIOUS REPERCUSSIONS.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2014 - BOYTON BEACH, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSINGAT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED AND A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE WAS EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE FAILURE BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000. DJR

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/15/2014 - BOYTON BEACH, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSINGAT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED AND A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE WAS EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE FAILURE BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000. DJR

View Details

SEATS

6/29/2014 - OTTAWA, NY
I OWN A 2013 HONDA. I JUST FOUND THIS NHTSA WEBSITE TO REGISTER COMPLAINTS. WHEN I SIT IN A CAR, I SIT CORRECTLY, WITH THE SEAT FAIRLY UPRIGHT AND MY SHOULDERS AGAINST THE SEAT BACK. WHEN I DO THIS IN THE 2013 HONDA, AND ALL NEW CARS I HAVE SAT IN, MY HEAD IS FORCED FORWARD AND DOWN IN A VERY UNNATURAL, UNCOMFORTABLE POSITION. THE ONLY WAY I CAN LOOK AT THE ROD IS TO LIFT MY SHOULDERS OFF THE SEAT BACK, AND THEN MY ENTIRE UPPER BODY WEIGHT IS SUPPORTED BY MY NECK. THE PROBLEM IS THE HEADREST IS AT LEAST 1 INCH TOO FAR FORWARD. MY WIFE CANNOT SIT IN THE CAR FOR MORE THAT 30 MINUTES WITHOUT GETTING A HEADACHE. MY WIFE IS A PHYSIOTHERAPIST WITH 30 YEARS EXPERIENCE. HER COMMENT IS THAT THE HEADRESTS ARE FORCING US TO SIT IN ERGONOMICALLY INCORRECT POSITIONS. OLDER CARS HAD VERTICAL HEADRESTS THAT DID NOT CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. I UNDERSTAND THE NEW HEADREST POSITIONS ARE DUE TO NHTSA REGULATIONS PHASED IN IN 2009 TO PREVENT WHIPLASH. THE ONLY WAY I CAN DRIVE MY CAR NOW IS TO PULL THE HEADREST OUT AND PUT THEM IN BACKWARDS. THIS OBVIOUSLY RESULTS IN LESS WHIPLASH PROTECTION THAN EVEN THE OLD VERTICAL HEADRESTS FROM A WEB SEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT MANY OTHER CAR OWNERS ARE BEING FORCED TO DO THE SAME THING. NOW IN MANY NEW CARS YOU CANNOT REMOVE THE HEADREST TO TURN IT AROUND. BECAUSE OF THIS NHTSA RULING I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO BUY A NEW CAR, AND THE CAR I DRIVE IS NOT SAFE IN THE CASE OF A REAR END COLLISION. (NOTE: I LIVE IN CANADA BUT AM AFFECTED BY THIS NHTSA RULING. THE ZIP CODE AND PHONE NUMBER BELOW ARE NOT VALID, AS ONLY US INFORMATION IS ALLOWED IN THESE FIELDS)

View Details

STEERING

6/16/2014 - WINTHROP, MA
2013 CIVIC LX. ON 8/2/2013 WHILE SLOWING DOWN TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, MY POWER STEERING FROZE AND I WAS UNABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR. INDICATOR LIGHT READ CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP (HONDA NORTH, DANVERS, MA) WHERE THEY REPLACED THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING CONTROL UNIT. I HAD BEEN DRIVING THE CAR FOR LESS THAN 4 MONTHS AND IT HAD 2,586 MILEAGE. ON 6/14/2014 WHILE STARTING TO DRIVE THROUGH AN INTERSECTION, MY POWER STEERING FROZE AGAIN. I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 5 - 10 MPH, AND WAS UNABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR. INDICATOR LIGHT READ CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM. I HAVE HAD THE CAR 14 MONTHS, AND IT HAS 5,786 MILEAGE. LET ME RESTATE THAT: THIS CAR HAS LESS THAN 5,800 MILES AND THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM HAS FAILED TWICE. IN BOTH OF THESE CASES, THE CAR WAS MOVING VERY SLOWLY, BUT IF I HAD BEEN MOVING AT A RAPID RATE OF SPEED AND LOST CONTROL, I COULDN'T BEEN KILLED. IT IS BY SHEER LUCK THAT I WASN'T HIT DURING THE MOST RECENT EPISODE.

View Details

STEERING

6/12/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
2013 HONDA CIVIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE POWER STEERING. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT COMPLETELY, AND IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. WHEN HER HUSBAND ARRIVED, THE POWER STEERING WAS FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. AS HER HUSBAND WAS DRIVING, TO THE DEALER, THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. WHEN HE ARRIVED AT THE DEALER, THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE DEALER ACKNOWLEDGED THERE WAS A PROBLEM. THE DEALER HAD THE VEHICLE FOR SIX DAYS, WHERE THEY REPLACED THE RACK AND PINION. THE DEALER ASSURED THE CONSUMER, THEY SHOULDN'T HAVE ANOTHER PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED POWER STEERING FAILURE AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. HOWEVER, AN INSPECTION DID NOT REVEAL ANY PROBLEMS. THE DEALER CALLED THE CONSUMER BACK AND STATED THEY BELIEVED THEY FOUND THE PROBLEM. THEY INDICATED THE WIRING GOING TO THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SHORTED OUT. THE DEALER STATED THE FACTORY HAD NOT SOLDERED THE WIRES TOGETHER AND THE WIRING PUNCTURED THROUGH THE SKIN AND SHORTED OUT CAUSING THE POWER STEERING TO OUT. THE DEALER RE-WIRED AND RE-SOLDERED THE CONNECTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/2/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I'VE BEEN DRIVING FOR 35 YEAR AND HAVE REPLACED BRAKES AND ROTORS NUMOROUS TIMES. I'VE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE BRAKE PADS ON A 18 MONTH OLD CAR. WITHOUT WARNING THEY WORE PREMATURELY DOWN TO THE METAL. AFTER SEARCHING FOR SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, I FOUND A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FROM 2010 WITH THE ACCORD. HONDA LOST BUT THEY HAVEN'T FIXED THE ISSUE WITH THE CIVIC. THERE ARE COUNTLESS COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER HONDA OWNERS. THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FROM TWO DEALERS REFUSE TO ADMIT TO THE PROBLEM AND REFERRED ME TO CORPORATE. NO MORE HONDAS FOR ME.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/27/2014 - FT WAYNE, IN
AUTISTIC CHILD REMOVED SEATBELT TO EXIT CAR, CHILD SOMEHOW BECAME TANGLED IN SEATBELT. BELT STARTED RETRACTING. COULD NOT REMOVE CHILD FROM BELT AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. SEAT BELT WOULD NOT RELEASE AND CONTINUED TO DIG ITSELF FARTHER INTO CHILD'S TORSO. LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO BE CALLED TO CUT CHILD OUT OF THE SEATBELT.

View Details

SEATS

5/25/2014 - HENRICO, VA
THE HEAD RESTRAINTS ON THIS MODEL OF CIVIC ( AND OTHER 2012-2014 ), POSSIBLY OTHER MODELS SUCH AS THE ACCORD ARE ANGLED SO FORWARD TO PREVENT WHIPLASH, TO THE ORDER OF -150MM. THESE PUSH THE HEAD OF THE DRIVER WAY FORWARD, FORCING INTO A POSTURE WHERE THE HEAD IS BENT FORWARD. TO AVOID THIS THE SEAT HAS TO BE RECLINED BACK, WHERE IN BACK HAS NO SUPPORT AND THE DRIVER IS BENT LIKE A "C" TRYING TO REACH THE STEERING. THIS HAS CAUSED SERVE BACK PROBLEMS, AND ASSOCIATED PROBLEMS WITH THE BACK, NECK AND SHOULDER. THIS IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM AND REPORTED BY MULTIPLE CUSTOMERS, YET HONDA DOES NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THIS OR PROVIDE AN ALTERNATIVE OR SOLUTION. HONDA HAS MADE THIS TO LOOK THEIR SAFETY NUMBERS GOOD , TO COMPENSATE FOR OTHER WEEK AREAS , WHERE THE OVERALL SAFETY RATING INCREASES. HONDA'S ASIAN MODELS OF THE VERY SAME CARS, DON'T HAVE SUCH FORWARD FORCING HEAD RESTS. THIS VEHICLE IS NOT DRIVABLE FOR MORE THAN 30 MINUTES AT A STRETCH AND IT TAKES DAYS TO RECOVER ONCE THE PAIN SETS IN. TOOK THE CAR BACK THE DEALER, THEY SUGGESTED REMOVING THE HEADREST ALL TOGETHER OR TURNING IS BACK, WHERE THE DISTANCE IS AROUND +150MM, WHICH IS NOT GOOD IN PREVENTING A WHIPLASH AT ALL. THIS PROBLEM HAS CAUSED HEALTH ISSUES, MULTIPLE DOCTOR VISITS, TIME LOST AND ASSOCIATED COSTS WITH THE DOCTORS VISITS AND TESTS. SAFETY IS GOOD, BUT THIS HAS GONE IN THE WRONG DIRECTION, TO PROTECT FROM WHIPLASH IS GOOD, BUT THIS DESIGN IS INDUCING PROBLEMS WITHOUT ANY ACCIDENTS. IT TAKES DAYS TO RECOVER ONCE THE PAIN SETS IN. URGE, SOMEONE PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS AND FORCE THE MANUFACTURERS TO ADDRESS THE WHIPLASH SAFETY IN A RIGHT WAY, INSTEAD OF CUTTING CORNERS AND TAKING THE EASY WAY OUT, THERE BY AFFECTING THE HEALTH OF THE CONSUMERS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/25/2014 - HENRICO, VA
THE HEAD RESTRAINTS ON THIS MODEL OF CIVIC ( AND OTHER 2012-2014 ), POSSIBLY OTHER MODELS SUCH AS THE ACCORD ARE ANGLED SO FORWARD TO PREVENT WHIPLASH, TO THE ORDER OF -150MM. THESE PUSH THE HEAD OF THE DRIVER WAY FORWARD, FORCING INTO A POSTURE WHERE THE HEAD IS BENT FORWARD. TO AVOID THIS THE SEAT HAS TO BE RECLINED BACK, WHERE IN BACK HAS NO SUPPORT AND THE DRIVER IS BENT LIKE A "C" TRYING TO REACH THE STEERING. THIS HAS CAUSED SERVE BACK PROBLEMS, AND ASSOCIATED PROBLEMS WITH THE BACK, NECK AND SHOULDER. THIS IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM AND REPORTED BY MULTIPLE CUSTOMERS, YET HONDA DOES NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THIS OR PROVIDE AN ALTERNATIVE OR SOLUTION. HONDA HAS MADE THIS TO LOOK THEIR SAFETY NUMBERS GOOD , TO COMPENSATE FOR OTHER WEEK AREAS , WHERE THE OVERALL SAFETY RATING INCREASES. HONDA'S ASIAN MODELS OF THE VERY SAME CARS, DON'T HAVE SUCH FORWARD FORCING HEAD RESTS. THIS VEHICLE IS NOT DRIVABLE FOR MORE THAN 30 MINUTES AT A STRETCH AND IT TAKES DAYS TO RECOVER ONCE THE PAIN SETS IN. TOOK THE CAR BACK THE DEALER, THEY SUGGESTED REMOVING THE HEADREST ALL TOGETHER OR TURNING IS BACK, WHERE THE DISTANCE IS AROUND +150MM, WHICH IS NOT GOOD IN PREVENTING A WHIPLASH AT ALL. THIS PROBLEM HAS CAUSED HEALTH ISSUES, MULTIPLE DOCTOR VISITS, TIME LOST AND ASSOCIATED COSTS WITH THE DOCTORS VISITS AND TESTS. SAFETY IS GOOD, BUT THIS HAS GONE IN THE WRONG DIRECTION, TO PROTECT FROM WHIPLASH IS GOOD, BUT THIS DESIGN IS INDUCING PROBLEMS WITHOUT ANY ACCIDENTS. IT TAKES DAYS TO RECOVER ONCE THE PAIN SETS IN. URGE, SOMEONE PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS AND FORCE THE MANUFACTURERS TO ADDRESS THE WHIPLASH SAFETY IN A RIGHT WAY, INSTEAD OF CUTTING CORNERS AND TAKING THE EASY WAY OUT, THERE BY AFFECTING THE HEALTH OF THE CONSUMERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds