Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 72 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (8) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (5) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (7) Seat Belts (1) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/23/2015 - DENVER, CO
ON NUMEROUS OCCASSIONS MY MANUAL TRANSMISSION 2013 HONDA CIVIC HAS ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN IN 2ND AND 3RD GEARS. IT OCCURS MUCH MORE OFTEN IN 3RD GEAR AND HAPPENED TWICE JUST TODAY; IT HAS NEVER DONE THIS IN 1ST, 4TH, OR 5TH GEARS. I DON'T USE CRUISE CONTROL SO, UNLESS THE CRUISE CONTROL IS KICKING IN ON ITS OWN SOMEHOW, THAT IS NOT THE CAUSE. WHEN THE CAR STARTS ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN, I AM UNABLE TO EASILY MOVE THE GEAR SHIFT FROM 2ND OR 3RD INTO NEUTRAL AND HAVE TO EITHER APPLY ALOT OF PRESSURE TO MOVE IT INTO NEUTRAL OR USE THE CLUTCH. BREAKING WILL SOMETIMES STOP THE ACCELERATION BUT NOT ALWAYS AND SOMETIMES EVEN WHEN I USE THE BRAKE, WHEN I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE THE CAR WILL CONTINUE ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. THIS HAS OCCURRED MOST OFTEN AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 25 AND 35. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW FROM THE DEALER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2015 - DENVER, CO
ON NUMEROUS OCCASSIONS MY MANUAL TRANSMISSION 2013 HONDA CIVIC HAS ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN IN 2ND AND 3RD GEARS. IT OCCURS MUCH MORE OFTEN IN 3RD GEAR AND HAPPENED TWICE JUST TODAY; IT HAS NEVER DONE THIS IN 1ST, 4TH, OR 5TH GEARS. I DON'T USE CRUISE CONTROL SO, UNLESS THE CRUISE CONTROL IS KICKING IN ON ITS OWN SOMEHOW, THAT IS NOT THE CAUSE. WHEN THE CAR STARTS ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN, I AM UNABLE TO EASILY MOVE THE GEAR SHIFT FROM 2ND OR 3RD INTO NEUTRAL AND HAVE TO EITHER APPLY ALOT OF PRESSURE TO MOVE IT INTO NEUTRAL OR USE THE CLUTCH. BREAKING WILL SOMETIMES STOP THE ACCELERATION BUT NOT ALWAYS AND SOMETIMES EVEN WHEN I USE THE BRAKE, WHEN I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE THE CAR WILL CONTINUE ACCELERATING ON ITS OWN. THIS HAS OCCURRED MOST OFTEN AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 25 AND 35. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW FROM THE DEALER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/9/2015 - ROCHESTER, NY
WE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND OVER THE LAST 6 MONTHS YOU CANNOT SEE THE ROAD VARY WELL AT NIGHT HEAD LIGHTS ARE NOT BRIGHT ENOUGH,ALSO THE TIRES THAT CAME ON THE CAR ARE HORRIBLE AND CHEAP THEY DID NOT LAST BARLEY 1 YEAR AND ARE NOT RATED FOR MILES. THE CAR IS NOT SAFE ON THE ROAD TIRES WILL HYDRO PLANE AND SLIP ALL OVER THE ROAD WITH SNOW THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY ITEM AND HONDA SAID IT IS OUR PROBLEM NOT HONDAS @ 1-800 999-1009 FIRESTONE HAS BEEN MORE COOPERATIVE THAN HONDA I HOPE NO ONE GETS HURT BUY THE TIRES ON HONDA CIVIC .BILL

View Details

WHEELS

2/9/2015 - ROCHESTER, NY
WE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND OVER THE LAST 6 MONTHS YOU CANNOT SEE THE ROAD VARY WELL AT NIGHT HEAD LIGHTS ARE NOT BRIGHT ENOUGH,ALSO THE TIRES THAT CAME ON THE CAR ARE HORRIBLE AND CHEAP THEY DID NOT LAST BARLEY 1 YEAR AND ARE NOT RATED FOR MILES. THE CAR IS NOT SAFE ON THE ROAD TIRES WILL HYDRO PLANE AND SLIP ALL OVER THE ROAD WITH SNOW THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY ITEM AND HONDA SAID IT IS OUR PROBLEM NOT HONDAS @ 1-800 999-1009 FIRESTONE HAS BEEN MORE COOPERATIVE THAN HONDA I HOPE NO ONE GETS HURT BUY THE TIRES ON HONDA CIVIC .BILL

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/9/2015 - ROCHESTER, NY
WE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND OVER THE LAST 6 MONTHS YOU CANNOT SEE THE ROAD VARY WELL AT NIGHT HEAD LIGHTS ARE NOT BRIGHT ENOUGH,ALSO THE TIRES THAT CAME ON THE CAR ARE HORRIBLE AND CHEAP THEY DID NOT LAST BARLEY 1 YEAR AND ARE NOT RATED FOR MILES. THE CAR IS NOT SAFE ON THE ROAD TIRES WILL HYDRO PLANE AND SLIP ALL OVER THE ROAD WITH SNOW THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY ITEM AND HONDA SAID IT IS OUR PROBLEM NOT HONDAS @ 1-800 999-1009 FIRESTONE HAS BEEN MORE COOPERATIVE THAN HONDA I HOPE NO ONE GETS HURT BUY THE TIRES ON HONDA CIVIC .BILL

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/30/2015 - DEL VALLE, TX
I JUST WANT IT ON THE RECORD THAT THE CAR RODE/ FELT SQUIRRLEY FROM THE GET-GO. I KEEP THINKING - EITHER SOMETHING IS SERIOUSLY WRONG W/ THIS CAR, OR IT'S THE TIRES. SO, TO DO AN EXPENSIVE TEST, I SPENT THE 1100.00, YES, ONE THOUSAND, ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS ON NEW TIRES AND WHEELS. I PURCHASED MICHELIN. AND YES - IT WAS A "NEW CAR". MY CAR DROVE SO MUCH BETTER THAN CONTINNENTAL TIRES. THEIR PRODUCT, IN MY OPINION, IS HORRIBLE, BAR-NONE HORRIBLE! MY COMPLAINT IS STILL MY VISIBILITY ON THE FRONT - I DO NOT LIKE THE DESIGN OF THIS HONDA CIVIC 2013 AT ALL - THE FRONT MIRROS ARE PLACED TERRIBLE. THE ROUND BUBBLE OF THE WHOLE FRONT DESIGN IS SO HORRIBLE THAT I CANNOT WAIT TO PAY THIS CAR OFF AND GIVE IT AWAY TO MY FAMILY MEMBER. I CANNOT WAIT TO PURCHASE A NEW CAR - AND I KNOW I WILL NOT PURCHASE HONDA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2015 - HENDERSON, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENGAGE THE BRAKE PEDAL, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,800.

View Details

WHEELS

12/16/2014 - TARRYTOWN, NY
I PURCHASED A NEW HONDA CIVIC 2013 IN JULY 2014. THE CAR CAME WITH CONTINENTAL CONTIPRO CONTACT TIRES SIZE 205/55 R16 89H. FROM THE BEGINNING THE TIRES CAUSED A GREAT DEAL OF NOISE. ON SOME ROADS THE NOISE IS SO LOUD, THERE IS A POTENTIAL FAILURE TO HEAR EMERGENCY VEHICLES. IN ADDITION, WITH EVEN THE MILDEST ROAD DEFECT THERE IS RUMBLING AND OFTEN A LOUD BOOMING. I TOOK THE CAR IN TO REPORT DEFECT AT 1066 MILES AND WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE ADVISER THAT I NEEDED FOUR NEW TIRES. MY MECHANIC ALSO ADVISED ME THESE TIRES ARE FAULTY AND DANGEROUS. I AM TERRIFIED OF DRIVING, PARTICULARLY ON THE HIGHWAY. I DO BELIEVE THAT BEING A SENIOR CITIZEN HAS PLAYED A ROLE IN HONDA'S EFFORT TO IGNORE ME. THANKS FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO VENT MY CONCERNS AND ANGUISH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/3/2014 - LAKE STEVENS, WA
I WAS AT A STOP AND WAS REAR-ENDED BY A FORD F350 GOING 50-55 MPH. MY CAR WAS PUSHED INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. I WAS NUMBER 2 IN A 7 CAR PILE UP. MY AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AND MY FACE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE BACK OF MY HEAD HIT THE HEAD REST.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/28/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
DRIVING HOME UP 50 DEGREE HILL. APPROXIMATE SPEED 35 MPH. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF ACCELERATOR BECAUSE I LIKE TO COAST THE LAST 1/4 OF THE HILL FOR SAFETY, SLOWING DOWN FOR ANY POTENTIAL IDIOTS WHO MIGHT SAIL AROUND THE CORNER FROM THE FLAT CROSS STREET, CUTTING OFF THE PART OF THE STREET THAT, BY LAW, SHOULD BE LEFT CLEAR FOR THE CAR COMING UPHILL. IN A SPLIT SECOND, MY CAR ACCELERATES SUDDENLY, AS THOUGH I HAD STOMPED DOWN ON THE ACCELERATOR AGAIN. NOW WHAT DO I DO? MY 2012 HONDA CIVIC HAD PREMATURE BRAKE FAILURE THAT IS NOW THE SUBJECT OF A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. DO I GET RID OF THIS "NEW" HONDA THAT TURNED ONE MID-OCTOBER??? I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, GIVEN THE OTHER STORIES ABOUT UNINTENDED ACCELERATION IN NEW HONDAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds