Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2013 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 137 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (42) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (5) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (28) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (3)
Engine (45) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/24/2017 - PALMER, IL
IT WAS A SUNNY AND VERY HOT DAY, TEMPERATURES ABOVE 90 DEGREES. THE VEHICLE WAS PROCEEDING WEST ON A 2 LANE IN TOWN STREET, WITH NO CURBS, WITH ONE VEHICLE IN FRONT, STOPPED AT THE INTERSECTION TO A 2 LANE HIGHWAY. AS THE VEHICLE WAS APPROACHING THE RAILROAD TRACKS, WITH A SLIGHT INCLINE, THE DRIVER APPLIED THE BRAKES FOR THE STOP SIGN AFTER THE RAILROAD TRACKS. AS THE DRIVER APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE CAR ACCELERATED TOWARDS THE HIGHWAY. AT THIS POINT, THE DRIVER SAID, +IT+S NOT STOPPING+IT+S NOT STOPPING.+ TO THE OVER 2 PASSENGERS OF THE CAR. THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF THE CAR, WAITING TO TURN ONTO THE HIGHWAY AND CAR GETTING READY TO CROSS THE HIGHWAY, AS WELL AS A CAR ON THE HIGHWAY NEAR THE INTERSECTION. THE DRIVER CONTINUED TO APPLY THE BREAKS WITHOUT THE CAR BREAKING AND VEERED TO THE LEFT TO TRY TO AVOID THE CAR IN FRONT. AS THE CAR ACCELERATED, IT HIT THE CAR IN FRONT AND BOUNCED OFF THE LEFT BACK BUMPER OF THE CAR IN FRONT AND CAME TO A STOP. THEY CARS WERE NOT MOVING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED BUT THE CAR IN QUESTION WAS NOT STOPPING EVEN WITH THE BREAKS APPLIED, FOOT ON THE BRAKE PETAL, FOOT NOT ON ACCELERATOR. IT WAS ACCELERATING. THE CAR WAS PUT INTO PARK. THE CAR SEEMED TO +HAVE A MIND OF IT+S OWN+ NOT BREAKING BUT ACCELERATING. THERE WAS AN UNKNOWN CAUSE FOR THIS AS OF THIS TIME. A COUNTY DEPUTY WAS IN THE AREA AND CAME OVER TO THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2017 - PALMER, IL
IT WAS A SUNNY AND VERY HOT DAY, TEMPERATURES ABOVE 90 DEGREES. THE VEHICLE WAS PROCEEDING WEST ON A 2 LANE IN TOWN STREET, WITH NO CURBS, WITH ONE VEHICLE IN FRONT, STOPPED AT THE INTERSECTION TO A 2 LANE HIGHWAY. AS THE VEHICLE WAS APPROACHING THE RAILROAD TRACKS, WITH A SLIGHT INCLINE, THE DRIVER APPLIED THE BRAKES FOR THE STOP SIGN AFTER THE RAILROAD TRACKS. AS THE DRIVER APPLIED THE BRAKES, THE CAR ACCELERATED TOWARDS THE HIGHWAY. AT THIS POINT, THE DRIVER SAID, +IT+S NOT STOPPING+IT+S NOT STOPPING.+ TO THE OVER 2 PASSENGERS OF THE CAR. THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF THE CAR, WAITING TO TURN ONTO THE HIGHWAY AND CAR GETTING READY TO CROSS THE HIGHWAY, AS WELL AS A CAR ON THE HIGHWAY NEAR THE INTERSECTION. THE DRIVER CONTINUED TO APPLY THE BREAKS WITHOUT THE CAR BREAKING AND VEERED TO THE LEFT TO TRY TO AVOID THE CAR IN FRONT. AS THE CAR ACCELERATED, IT HIT THE CAR IN FRONT AND BOUNCED OFF THE LEFT BACK BUMPER OF THE CAR IN FRONT AND CAME TO A STOP. THEY CARS WERE NOT MOVING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED BUT THE CAR IN QUESTION WAS NOT STOPPING EVEN WITH THE BREAKS APPLIED, FOOT ON THE BRAKE PETAL, FOOT NOT ON ACCELERATOR. IT WAS ACCELERATING. THE CAR WAS PUT INTO PARK. THE CAR SEEMED TO +HAVE A MIND OF IT+S OWN+ NOT BREAKING BUT ACCELERATING. THERE WAS AN UNKNOWN CAUSE FOR THIS AS OF THIS TIME. A COUNTY DEPUTY WAS IN THE AREA AND CAME OVER TO THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/15/2017 - NORTH PORT, FL
PAINT IS PEELING AND CHIPPING ON THE ROOF. VEHICLE IS GARAGED DAILY OUT OF THE SUN AND WHETHER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/13/2017 - TOM BEAN, TX
WHEN VEHICLE HITS "WASH BOARD" AREAS SUCH AS SMALL INDENTATIONS IN PAVEMENT OR SMALL POTHOLES IT GOES AIRBORNE(65-70 MPH) AND WHEN IT COMES DOWN THE BACK WHEELS AREN'T TRACKING THE FRONT WHEELS CAUSING VEHICLE TO LURCH TO ONE SIDE OR OTHER. DEALER SAYS THAT IS JUST THE WAY PILOTS ARE, TOP HEAVY, ETC. SAID BUSHINGS, SHOCKS, ETC ARE OK. VEHICLE JUST DOESN'T FEEL SAFE. TO ME IT COULD LOSE CONTROL IN WET WEATHER!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/17/2017 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
AFTER ONLY 25000 MILES, WHEN BRAKING, STEERING WHEEL VIBRATES EXCESSIVELY. STOPPING VEHICLE FROM HIGHER SPEEDS DANGEROUS AS CAR STEERING BECOMES UNSTEADY. DIAGNOSED WARPED FRONT ROTORS. NORMAL CITY DRIVING. REPLACED ROTORS AND PADS. VIBRATION IS NOW GONE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2017 - MARLBORO, NJ
WIFE HAD TO PULL OVER ON HER WAY BACK FROM DROPPING MY DAUGHTER OFF AT DANCE DUE TO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON AND FRONT OF CAR SHAKING NOTICEABLY. CAR WAS NOT DRIVEABLE DUE TO SAFETY AND CONCERN OF FURTHER DAMAGING ENGINE AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THE ISSUE AND RECOMMENDED THE CAR BE TAKEN TO DEALER AS IT'S A KNOWN ISSUE UNDER SERVICE BULLETIN 13-082. DEALER REPLACED PISTON RINGS AND SPARK PLUGS 1-4 AT NO CHARGE. HOWEVER, I HAD TO PAY FOR TOW AND INITIAL DIAGNOSIS FROM MY NON-HONDA DEALER MECHANIC. SUFFICE TO SAY WE'RE NOT HAPPY THIS IS HAPPENING AS WE'RE STILL PAYING THE CAR OFF AND WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT OUT THE LEASE LAST YEAR HAD WE KNOWN OF THIS ISSUE, WHICH WAS KNOWN BY HONDA BEFORE WE BOUGHT OUT THE LEASE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/16/2017 - WOODSTOCK, CT
DESCRIPTION: PURCHASED VEHICLE USED .á AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE LEFT FRONT BEARING WAS NOISY AND IT WAS REPLACED WITH BEARING P/N DL513267 MILES ON VEHICLE 68000.á THE NOISE SEEM TO STOP, BUT AT 73000-76000 MILES THE NOISE STARTED ON RIGHT SIDE WHEEL DURING DRIVING, LOUDER AS SPEED INCREASED. ON MAY 15, 2017 DEALER HAD TO REPLACE RIGHT WHEEL BEARING. THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH HONDA PILOT'S WHEEL BEARINGS THAT NHTSA HAS INVESTIGATED. A RECALL IS NEEDED FOR SAFETY AND CONSUMER COST PROTECTION IN REPLACING THEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2017 - NEW ALBANY, OH
BRAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, 5-70MPH, CAR SHAKES LIKE CRAZY, ROTORS ARE WARPED AFTER 25000 MILES. WHEN APPLYING BRAKES THE CAR FRONT END SHAKES VERY BADLY. ROTORS ARE HONDA OEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/3/2017 - SUMMERVILLE, GA
ON THURSDAY, MARCH 30, 2017, I HAD THE OIL CHANGED AND FLUIDS CHECKED IN MY 2013 HONDA PILOT. I DROVE HOME 26 MILES AWAY AND AVERAGE SPEED OF 65 MPH. THE NEXT DAY, I DROVE FROM SUMMERVILLE TO ROME TO CAVE SPRING ~ 60 MILES. LATER THAT DAY I HAD TO DRIVE BACK TO CAVE SPRING AND THEN HEADED HOME. ABOUT 15 MILES OUT OF ROME, DRIVING 65 MPH ON A 4 LANE DIVIDED HWY, MY CAR JUST STOPPED MOVING. I PUMPED THE ACCELERATOR AND NOTHING HAPPENED. I MANAGED TO COAST TO A STOP AND PULL ONTO THE SIDE OF THE HWY. THE AIR CONDITIONING AND RADIO WERE WORKING, THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, BUT THERE WAS NO PULL FROM THE MOTOR. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND WAS TRYING TO FIND SOMEONE TO COME GET ME. AFTER 15 MINUTES, I TURNED THE ENGINE ON, AGAIN, AC AND RADIO WORKING FINE, BUT NO ACCELERATION, AND COULD NOT GET IT TO MOVE FORWARD OR IN REVERSE. NO DASHBOARD LIGHTS CAME ON AT ALL. I HAD TO GET A WRECKER TO HAUL THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP. ON MONDAY, I CALLED ABOUT THE CAR AND THE DEALERSHIP SAID THE MECHANICS HAD BEEN OUT DRIVING THE CAR AND COULDN+T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. I OFTEN HAVE TO DRIVE TO ATLANTA ON BUSINESS, AND I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS CAR. IN FACT, I TOLD THE DEALER TO KEEP THE CAR UNTIL THEY FIX IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/25/2017 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
EVER SINCE I BOUGHT MY HONDA PILOT TOURING MANY MANY TIMES THERE HAS BEEN A HESITATION WHEN EXCELERATING BUT AFTER THE HESITATION IT EXCELERATES. UNTIL THE TIME I WAS GOING UP A HILL ON THE FREEWAY I EXCELERATED AND NOTHING HAPPENED - ABSOLUTELY NO EXCELERATION AT ALL. I HAD LITERALLY A SECOND TO DECIDE WHAT TO DO. I DECIDED TO USE MY MOMENTUM TO MOVE INTO THE SLOW LANE - IN FRONT OF AN 18 WHEELER - AND KEPT MOVING TO THE SHOULDER AND STOPPED. I TRIED TO START MY CAR AGAIN AND IT STARTED BUT STILLL NO EXCELERATION. I SHUT IT OFF AND TRIED AGAIN AND IT WOULDN'T START. WE WERE 40 MILES TOO FAR FOR THE HONDA TOWING BUT JUST A FEW MILES SHORT WITH AAA. WE HAD AAA TOW IT TO OUR HOME DEALER. THE DEALER COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEY SAID THEY THOUGHT THERE WAS DEBRIS IN THE MASS AIRFLOW SENSOR CAUSING FUEL TRIM FAILURE. LABOR FOR THIS WAS $120.00. MY CAR HASN'T COMPLETELY STOPPED AGAIN BUT IT STILL DOES ITS HESITATION THING. I SEE FROM READING THIS ARTICLE THAT ISN'T JUST MY PROBLEM. I THINK THIS SHOULD TELL HONDA THEY HAVE A PROBLEM THEY NEED TO ADDRESS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds