Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2013 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 124 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (41) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (25) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (3)
Engine (43) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/1/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ENGINE/PISTON/RING ISSUE. RINGS NOT ALIGNED PROPERLY IN ONE OF PISTONS ( FACTORY/ASSEMBLY ERROR) RESULTED IN OIL LEAKING AND THROWN ON ENGINE , CAUSED 2 SPARK PLUGS TO FAIL, THIS CAUSED ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON AND THEN THE VSA AND VTM-4 CAME ON AND THE ECO LIGHT STOPPED WORKING...WE WERE TRAVELLING 70 MILES AN HOUR ON HIGHWAY. WE WERE REALLY AFRAID WHEN THE VTM-4 LIGHT CAME ON! WE HAD TO PULL OFF ROAD, FOR FEAR OF RUINING THE 4-WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM, WE DIDN'T KNOW WHAT WAS HAPPENING.. WE COULDN'T GET THE LIGHTS TO GO OFF, FINALLY VTM-4 LIGHT WENT OFF AND ON THE OTHER LIGHTS STAYED ON...IT WAS CONFUSING.... BECAUSE THE LIGHTS WERE FALSE INDICATORS DUE TO BEING CONNECTED TO THE ENGINE LIGHT. THIS MALFUNCTION CAUSED THE VSA AND VTM-4 AND ECO LIGHT TO COME ON FALSELY. CREATING PANIC WHILE TRAVELLING 70 MILES AN HOUR ON INTERSTATE. CREATING THE FALSE IMPRESSSION THAT THE 4-WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM HAD BEEN ACTIVATED WHILE TRAVELLING AT A SPEED OF 70 MILES AN HOUR. SUGGESTION:.... ENGINE LIGHT SHOULD BE SEPARATE FROM OTHER WARNING SYSTEM LIGHTS..THIS INCIDENT OCCURED APPROXIMATELY 300 MILES FROM OUR HOME ON A SUNDAY ..WE TOOK AUTOMOBILE TO DEALER MONDAY A.M. AND HAD REPAIR OF PISTON/RING GASKETS ETC IT WAS DETERMINED THE OTHER WARNING LIGHTS WERE FALSE INDICATORS.. .

View Details

ENGINE

9/1/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ENGINE/PISTON/RING ISSUE. RINGS NOT ALIGNED PROPERLY IN ONE OF PISTONS ( FACTORY/ASSEMBLY ERROR) RESULTED IN OIL LEAKING AND THROWN ON ENGINE , CAUSED 2 SPARK PLUGS TO FAIL, THIS CAUSED ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON AND THEN THE VSA AND VTM-4 CAME ON AND THE ECO LIGHT STOPPED WORKING...WE WERE TRAVELLING 70 MILES AN HOUR ON HIGHWAY. WE WERE REALLY AFRAID WHEN THE VTM-4 LIGHT CAME ON! WE HAD TO PULL OFF ROAD, FOR FEAR OF RUINING THE 4-WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM, WE DIDN'T KNOW WHAT WAS HAPPENING.. WE COULDN'T GET THE LIGHTS TO GO OFF, FINALLY VTM-4 LIGHT WENT OFF AND ON THE OTHER LIGHTS STAYED ON...IT WAS CONFUSING.... BECAUSE THE LIGHTS WERE FALSE INDICATORS DUE TO BEING CONNECTED TO THE ENGINE LIGHT. THIS MALFUNCTION CAUSED THE VSA AND VTM-4 AND ECO LIGHT TO COME ON FALSELY. CREATING PANIC WHILE TRAVELLING 70 MILES AN HOUR ON INTERSTATE. CREATING THE FALSE IMPRESSSION THAT THE 4-WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM HAD BEEN ACTIVATED WHILE TRAVELLING AT A SPEED OF 70 MILES AN HOUR. SUGGESTION:.... ENGINE LIGHT SHOULD BE SEPARATE FROM OTHER WARNING SYSTEM LIGHTS..THIS INCIDENT OCCURED APPROXIMATELY 300 MILES FROM OUR HOME ON A SUNDAY ..WE TOOK AUTOMOBILE TO DEALER MONDAY A.M. AND HAD REPAIR OF PISTON/RING GASKETS ETC IT WAS DETERMINED THE OTHER WARNING LIGHTS WERE FALSE INDICATORS.. .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/1/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ENGINE/PISTON/RING ISSUE. RINGS NOT ALIGNED PROPERLY IN ONE OF PISTONS ( FACTORY/ASSEMBLY ERROR) RESULTED IN OIL LEAKING AND THROWN ON ENGINE , CAUSED 2 SPARK PLUGS TO FAIL, THIS CAUSED ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON AND THEN THE VSA AND VTM-4 CAME ON AND THE ECO LIGHT STOPPED WORKING...WE WERE TRAVELLING 70 MILES AN HOUR ON HIGHWAY. WE WERE REALLY AFRAID WHEN THE VTM-4 LIGHT CAME ON! WE HAD TO PULL OFF ROAD, FOR FEAR OF RUINING THE 4-WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM, WE DIDN'T KNOW WHAT WAS HAPPENING.. WE COULDN'T GET THE LIGHTS TO GO OFF, FINALLY VTM-4 LIGHT WENT OFF AND ON THE OTHER LIGHTS STAYED ON...IT WAS CONFUSING.... BECAUSE THE LIGHTS WERE FALSE INDICATORS DUE TO BEING CONNECTED TO THE ENGINE LIGHT. THIS MALFUNCTION CAUSED THE VSA AND VTM-4 AND ECO LIGHT TO COME ON FALSELY. CREATING PANIC WHILE TRAVELLING 70 MILES AN HOUR ON INTERSTATE. CREATING THE FALSE IMPRESSSION THAT THE 4-WHEEL DRIVE SYSTEM HAD BEEN ACTIVATED WHILE TRAVELLING AT A SPEED OF 70 MILES AN HOUR. SUGGESTION:.... ENGINE LIGHT SHOULD BE SEPARATE FROM OTHER WARNING SYSTEM LIGHTS..THIS INCIDENT OCCURED APPROXIMATELY 300 MILES FROM OUR HOME ON A SUNDAY ..WE TOOK AUTOMOBILE TO DEALER MONDAY A.M. AND HAD REPAIR OF PISTON/RING GASKETS ETC IT WAS DETERMINED THE OTHER WARNING LIGHTS WERE FALSE INDICATORS.. .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/22/2016 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
AS POSTED BY SEVERAL OTHER CUSTOMERS, I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED AT MODERATE TO HIGH RATES OF SPEED GOING DOWNHILL. THE CAR BEGINS TO VIBRATE OR WAVER. I HAVE NOW HAD THE ROTORS SHAVED THE THIRD TIME AND AM SURE THEY WILL NEED REPLACEMENT SOON. EACH TIME THEY REPAIR IT LASTS FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. I HAVE BEEN TOLD IN THE PAST THIS IS COMMON WITH THIS VEHICLE. I CALLED HONDA CORPORATION AND THEY COULD NOT HAVE CARED LESS. THEY SAID IT WAS ALL DO TO "NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR". THE DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS AS HELPFUL AS POSSIBLE, BUT THEY NEED TO ESCALATE THESE ISSUES TO CORPORATION SO THE CONSUMER IS PROTECTED. IT IS VERY FRIGHTENING TO FEEL THAT VIBRATION DURING DOWNHILL BRAKING. I OWNED A 2011 HONDA PILOT AND NEVER HAD THIS ISSUE SO IT IS SOMETHING IN THE DESIGN OR PARTS FOR THE 2013 MODEL. I AM CONSIDERING SELLING THE PILOT AND PURCHASING ANOTHER (NON-HONDA) SUV.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/21/2016 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
WHEN BRAKING FROM HIGHWAY SPEEDS TO EXIT OFF RAMP, CAR SHIMMIES VIOLENTLY. STEERING. DIFFICULT TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF VEHICLE AS STEERING WHEEL IS ALSO VIOLENTLY SHAKING. THROUGH RESEARCH APPEARS TO BE COMMON KNOWN DEFECT OF THE FACTORY INSTALLED BRAKE ROTORS. REPLACED TIRES, HAD ALIGNED. DID NOT CORRECT. HONDA USED FAULTY, DANGEROUS AND INFERIOR ORIGINAL PARTS. NHTSA SHOULD FORCE HONDA TO ISSUE RECALL. FAILURE OF SAFE BRAKING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS PUT THE CAR OCCUPANTS AND ALL SURROUNDING VEHICLES IN LIFE THREATENING DANGER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2016 - SUWANEE, GA
MY HONDA PILOT EX-L MODEL HAS 36500 MILES. IT ALL STARTED AFTER 20000 MILES, BREAKS STARTED FEELING SPONGY AND TAKES LONGER DISTANCE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THE BREAKS ARE WORKING AS DESIGNED. NOW MY STEERING IS SHAKING VIGOROUSLY WHEN I APPLY BREAK AFTER 40 MPH SPEED. ANYTHING LOWER THAT SPEED STEERING IS LESS SHAKY BUT I CAN FEEL THE STEERING IS SHAKING EVEN IN THAT SPEED. NOW BREAKING DISTANCE IS LOT LONGER AND DURING RED LIGHTS I AM CROSSING THE LINE DURING INTENSE TRAFFIC STOPS.

View Details

STEERING

8/9/2016 - SUWANEE, GA
MY HONDA PILOT EX-L MODEL HAS 36500 MILES. IT ALL STARTED AFTER 20000 MILES, BREAKS STARTED FEELING SPONGY AND TAKES LONGER DISTANCE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. WHEN I TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THE BREAKS ARE WORKING AS DESIGNED. NOW MY STEERING IS SHAKING VIGOROUSLY WHEN I APPLY BREAK AFTER 40 MPH SPEED. ANYTHING LOWER THAT SPEED STEERING IS LESS SHAKY BUT I CAN FEEL THE STEERING IS SHAKING EVEN IN THAT SPEED. NOW BREAKING DISTANCE IS LOT LONGER AND DURING RED LIGHTS I AM CROSSING THE LINE DURING INTENSE TRAFFIC STOPS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/28/2016 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
FOR THE PAST 8 MONTHS, I HAVE BEEN HAVING A PROBLEM WITH THE CAR EXCELLERATING WHILE I WAS BRAKING. THE DEALERSHIP LOOKED AT THE CAR ON 3 OCCASIONS AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE TRANSMISSION. BECAUSE OF A RECENT SCARE WHILE DRIVING, I TOOK THE CAR TO SOMEONE WHO KNOWS ABOUT CARS. AFTER A TEST DRIVE, HE CONCLUDED THAT THE BRAKES WERE NOT ENGAGING PROPERLY GIVING THE FEELING THAT THE CAR WAS EXCELLERATING. HE FELT THAT THE ABS WAS NOT FUNCTIONING CORRECTLY AND RAISED AN ISSUE THAT COULD AN ACCIDENT AS THE BRAKES WERE DISENGAGING WHEN THE DRIVER EXPECTED THEM TO STOP THE CAR. HE ALSO FELT THAT THE BRAKE ACTION COULD CAUSE A LOSS OF CONTROL IT HAPPENS AT BOTH STREET AND HIGHWAY SPEED.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: HEAD RESTRAINT

5/19/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE NHTSA HEADREST STANDARDS ARE [XXX]. SERIOUSLY, DID ANY OF YOU EVEN [XXX] DRIVE A CAR WITH A HEADREST IN THE POSITION YOU MANDATE? YOU ARE INCOMPETENT AT YOUR JOB. FAIL! QUIT YOUR TAX PAYER FUNDED JOB AND GO WORK FOR A PAYCHECK. GO RUIN YOUR OWN LIFE INSTEAD OF RUINING EVERYONE ELSE'S FOR A CHANGE!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/18/2016 - RICHMOND, TX
"CHECK GAS CAP" LIGHT REPEATEDLY ILLUMINATES. DEALERS AND MECHANICS SAY "TIGHTEN GAS CAP" OR REPLACE. DOES NOT SOLVE PROBLEM. PROBLEM IS FUEL PUMP CREATES HIGH PRESSURE AND WHEN EXCESS FUEL GOES THROUGH PRESSURE REGULATOR, FUEL FLASHES TO VAPOR; TANK LOSES VACUUM AND WARNING ILLUMINATES, DRIVER STOPS CAR IN TRAFFIC TO CHECK, CAUSING SAFETY PROBLEM. HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON INTERNET. HONDA SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds