Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2013 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (32) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (32)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/7/2014 - OREGON CITY, OR
2013 HONDA PILOT. CONSUMERS WRITE IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SHUDDERS, PULSATES AND VIBRATES INTERMITTENTLY DURING NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SHUDDER, PULSATING AND VIBRATION OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY DURING ANY AND ALL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY HONDA REPRESENTATIVES AD TECHNICIANS THAT VIBRATION WAS CAUSED BY THE VARIABLE CYLINDER CONTROL SYSTEM AND IT USUALLY STARTED AFTER 1000 MILES. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED HONDA WAS WORKING ON A FIX, BUT MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE A SOLUTION IN THE FUTURE. ALSO, THERE WAS A VERY DISTINCT AND CONSTANT PULL TO THE LEFT IN THE STEERING SYSTEM. THE FUEL SYSTEM ALERT LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE TANK WAS FILLED WITH GAS. THE CONSUMER WAS INSTRUCTED BY THE DEALER, TO REMOVE AND REPLACE THE GAS GAP. THE ALERT LIGHT WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SHIFTED HARSHLY AND IT FELT AS THOUGH HE TRANSMISSION WAS FAILING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBLEM BECAME WORSE AS TIME WENT ON.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/7/2014 - OREGON CITY, OR
2013 HONDA PILOT. CONSUMERS WRITE IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SHUDDERS, PULSATES AND VIBRATES INTERMITTENTLY DURING NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SHUDDER, PULSATING AND VIBRATION OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY DURING ANY AND ALL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY HONDA REPRESENTATIVES AD TECHNICIANS THAT VIBRATION WAS CAUSED BY THE VARIABLE CYLINDER CONTROL SYSTEM AND IT USUALLY STARTED AFTER 1000 MILES. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED HONDA WAS WORKING ON A FIX, BUT MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE A SOLUTION IN THE FUTURE. ALSO, THERE WAS A VERY DISTINCT AND CONSTANT PULL TO THE LEFT IN THE STEERING SYSTEM. THE FUEL SYSTEM ALERT LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE TANK WAS FILLED WITH GAS. THE CONSUMER WAS INSTRUCTED BY THE DEALER, TO REMOVE AND REPLACE THE GAS GAP. THE ALERT LIGHT WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SHIFTED HARSHLY AND IT FELT AS THOUGH HE TRANSMISSION WAS FAILING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBLEM BECAME WORSE AS TIME WENT ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2014 - ASHBURN, VA
MY HONDA PILOT HAS BEEN EXPERIENING AN ENGINE CUT OFF AFTER MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN -- WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS NOTHING HAPPENS FOR AT LEAST 4 SECONDS THEN I RECIEVE A RAPID ACCELERATION == I AM AFFRAIND THAT SOMEONE IS GOING TO RUN INTO THE BACK OF MY PILOT WHEN I AM NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE AFTER MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN --- PLUS, WHEN I ENTER MY GARAGE AFTER MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN THE CARE DOESN'T RESPOND FOR 3 TO 4 SECONDS == THEN I EXPERIENCE A VERY RAPID ACCELERATIOIN -- I AM AFFRAID THAT ONE DAY I WILL HIT MY GARAGE DOOR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2014 - BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI
MY DAUGHTER WAS BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE ONTO A SLOPED DRIVEWAY, APPLIED THE BRAKE ,SHIFTED INTO PARK GEAR SELECTOR,EXITED AUTO TO RETRIEVE SOMETHING FROM GARAGE. NOTICED THE CAR ROLLING , ATTEMPTED TO GET IN THE CAR, AS HER TWO CHILDREN WERE IN THE REAR (AGES 6 &9).CAR ROLLED OVER HER LEG, RESULTING IN MAJOR COMPOUND FRACTURE, RESULTING IN EXTENSIVE SURGERY, METAL ROD AND SCREWS IN HER LEG. CAR ROLLED BACKWARDS CROSSING STREET INTO DITCH. POLICE REPORT INDICATES ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING WITH GEAR IN REVERSE . HONDA CASE #[XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/28/2014 - BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI
MY DAUGHTER WAS BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE ONTO A SLOPED DRIVEWAY, APPLIED THE BRAKE ,SHIFTED INTO PARK GEAR SELECTOR,EXITED AUTO TO RETRIEVE SOMETHING FROM GARAGE. NOTICED THE CAR ROLLING , ATTEMPTED TO GET IN THE CAR, AS HER TWO CHILDREN WERE IN THE REAR (AGES 6 &9).CAR ROLLED OVER HER LEG, RESULTING IN MAJOR COMPOUND FRACTURE, RESULTING IN EXTENSIVE SURGERY, METAL ROD AND SCREWS IN HER LEG. CAR ROLLED BACKWARDS CROSSING STREET INTO DITCH. POLICE REPORT INDICATES ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING WITH GEAR IN REVERSE . HONDA CASE #[XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2014 - WHITTIER, CA
JUNE 2013 - (3 MOS OLD) CAR CONSISTENTLY MISFIRES RIGHT BEFORE ECO LIGHT COMES, STALLS. REQUESTED TO HAVE THIS FEATURE TURNED OFF BUT PER DEALER THIS CANNOT HAPPEN. TOLD ME THIS WAS NORMAL COULD NOT "DUPLICATE" PROBLEM. SECOND TIME (JANUARY 2014) CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON CAR LOST POWER THEN TURNED ITSELF OFF. ONCE IT STATED AGAIN TOOK DIRECTLY INTO DEALER. THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO "DUPLICATE" PROBLEM AND CAR DOES NOT STORE PROBLEM CODE. KEPT FOR 5 DAYS UPDATED SOFTWARE. CAR STILL IS NOT 100% STILL FEEL MISFIRE PRIOR TO ECO LIGHT COMING ON. 3RD TIME TAKING CAR IN APRIL 2014 CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHING LOSS POWER. PULLED TO SIDE TURNED OFF CAR. WITHIN 1/2 HR HAD CAR BACK TO DEALER. COULD NOT DUPLICATE PROBLEM. THE CAR DID NOT STORE PROBLEM CODE. WITHOUT THE CODES IT IS MY WORD AGAINST THERE'S. THIS DANGEROUS NOT KNOWING IF CAR WILL DECIDE TO STALL. BARELY 13 MOS OLD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
WHILE DRIVING IN FLORIDA AND LOUISIANA, I NOTICED A LOW-FREQUENCY BUZZING SOUND AND VIBRATION WHICH COULD BE FELT THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL AND FLOORPAN. I BELIEVE IT IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (VCM) FEATURE. IT COULD BE FELT WHEN THE VCM TRANSITIONED FROM 6 TO 4 CYLINDER MODE, WITH THE RPM OF 1700-1900 AND SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 25, 45 AND 60 MPH. IT WOULD OCCUR WITH VERY LIGHT ACCELERATOR PRESSURE, JUST MAINTAINING SPEED, AND DISAPPEAR WHEN ACCELERATOR PRESSURE WAS INCREASED, CAUSING IT TO DOWNSHIFT AND/OR THE VCM TO TRANSITION BACK TO 6 CYLINDER MODE. THIS PROBLEM IS LESS EVIDENT HERE IN COLORADO SPRINGS (6000 FT ELEVATION), WHICH I CANNOT EXPLAIN. I DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM WITH A 2008 PILOT NOR A 2008 ODYSSEY, BOTH OF WHICH HAD A SIMILAR VCM FEATURE. MY LOCAL HONDA TECH COULD "NOT DUPLICATE" MY CONCERN AND SAID IT WAS "OPERATING NORMALLY". THE TRANSMISSION ALSO "HUNTS" BETWEEN 4TH AND 5TH GEAR.

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
WHILE DRIVING IN FLORIDA AND LOUISIANA, I NOTICED A LOW-FREQUENCY BUZZING SOUND AND VIBRATION WHICH COULD BE FELT THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL AND FLOORPAN. I BELIEVE IT IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (VCM) FEATURE. IT COULD BE FELT WHEN THE VCM TRANSITIONED FROM 6 TO 4 CYLINDER MODE, WITH THE RPM OF 1700-1900 AND SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 25, 45 AND 60 MPH. IT WOULD OCCUR WITH VERY LIGHT ACCELERATOR PRESSURE, JUST MAINTAINING SPEED, AND DISAPPEAR WHEN ACCELERATOR PRESSURE WAS INCREASED, CAUSING IT TO DOWNSHIFT AND/OR THE VCM TO TRANSITION BACK TO 6 CYLINDER MODE. THIS PROBLEM IS LESS EVIDENT HERE IN COLORADO SPRINGS (6000 FT ELEVATION), WHICH I CANNOT EXPLAIN. I DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM WITH A 2008 PILOT NOR A 2008 ODYSSEY, BOTH OF WHICH HAD A SIMILAR VCM FEATURE. MY LOCAL HONDA TECH COULD "NOT DUPLICATE" MY CONCERN AND SAID IT WAS "OPERATING NORMALLY". THE TRANSMISSION ALSO "HUNTS" BETWEEN 4TH AND 5TH GEAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/11/2014 - CHICAGO , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A LOUD METAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS ENGAGED, WHICH ALSO CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO VIBRATE. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FRONT BRAKES HOWEVER THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE LOUD METAL NOISE WAS HEARD EACH TIME THE BRAKE WAS ENGAGED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT EXHIBIT A BRAKE FAILURE BECAUSE THEY WERE UNABLE TO HEAR THE NOISE THAT THE CONTACT WAS REFERENCING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/7/2014 - LAKE ELMO, MN
75% OF THE TIME THE VEHICLE IS IN ECO MODE THE ENTIRE VEHICLE VIBRATES AND SHUDDERS. THE EFFECT VARIES FROM ANNOYING TO SEVERE. IT HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS. THESE ARE THE SAME CONDITIONS THAT HAVE BEEN STATED BY NUMEROUS OWNERS. I EXPECT MAJOR PRE-MATURE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE AND DRIVE TRAIN. HONDA REFUSES TO ADMIT TO THE DEFECT AND HAS NO FIX FOR THE DEFECT. RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds