Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2013 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (3) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (15) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (40) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (36)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2014 - FULLERTON, CA
AT ABOUT 12:05 PM, ON DECEMBER 7TH (WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45MPH) ON A FLAT SURFACE STREET WITH MY WIFE IN THE FRONT SEAT AND TWO CHILDREN IN THE BACK SEAT, WE HEARD A GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM BENEATH THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. SECONDS LATER, MY WIFE GRABS HER FOOT AND SCREAMS IN EXCRUCIATING PAIN. I PULL OVER AND SAW A .25 INCH? THICK BY 5 INCH LONG ABRASION THAT RAN ACROSS THE ARC OF HER RIGHT FOOT THAT TORE THE TOP LAYERS OF HER SKIN. AFTER WE STOPPED BY A LOCAL TARGET TO BUY GAUZE AND BANDAGES AND DROPPED OFF OUR CHILDREN AT A LOCAL FRIEND'S HOUSE I CHECKED MY WIFE INTO URGENT CARE AT ST. JUDE'S HOSPITAL, LOCATED WITHIN TEN MILES OF THE INCIDENT, TO HAVE THE WOUND EXAMINED. A PHYSICIAN DIAGNOSED THE ABRASION AS A SECOND DEGREE ELECTRICAL BURN AND GAVE HER A TETANUS SHOT AND PAIN MEDICATIONS. I REPORTED THE ISSUE TO OC HONDA WORLD, THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM WHILE WAITING IN LOBBY. I TOOK THE CAR IN ON DECEMBER ON 9TH AND 17TH AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT OC HONDA WORLD FOUND NOTHING FAULTY. PHOTOS OF THE INJURY COULD BE VIEWED AT: HTTP://TINYURL.COM/PILOT-INJURY-PHOTOS. I CONTACTED [XXX], HUMAN RELATIONS MANAGER, FROM HONDA OF NORTH AMERICA ON DECEMBER 16TH TO ADDRESS A SAFETY QUESTION HE WOULD NOT ANSWER... IF MY CAR HAS BEEN INSPECTED BY THE SERVICE TECHNICIANS AT OC HONDA WORLD AND FOUND NOTHING FAULTY... IS IT SAFE TO TRANSPORT PASSENGERS IN THE FRONT SEAT OF MY CAR? HE POLITELY AND FIRMLY SAID I CANNOT ANSWER THAT QUESTION. HE STATED THAT ANYTHING COULD HAPPEN NOW AND IN THE NEXT TEN MINUTES. THIS WAS VERY COMFORTING AS I BOUGHT MY HONDA PILOT TOURING WITH THREE FACTORS IN MIND: (1) SAFETY; (2) RELIABILITY; AND (3) ROOMY INTERIOR SPACE. THIS INCIDENT COMPLETELY FACTORED OUT MY FIRST PRIORITY AS PASSENGER SAFETY HAS BEEN COMPROMISED... WHAT OPTIONS DO I HAVE AS A CONSUMER? INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/24/2014 - HARTFORD CITY, IN
PURCHASED VEHICLE USED AS A HONDA CERTIFIED VEHICLE ON 10/23/14. DURING TEST DRIVE WE DID NOT NOTICE VIBRATION IN DRIVE TRAIN - POSSIBLY BECAUSE FLUIDS WERE COLD. DURING A ROAD TRIP 2 WEEKS AFTER ABOVE DATE, WE NOTICED A VIBRATION IN 51, 52, 53 MPH RANGE. FELT LIKE TRANSMISSION OR TORQUE CONVERTER WAS TRYING TO SHIFT UP OR DOWN. TOOK BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND EXPLAINED PROBLEM, SERVICE WRITER TOOK FOR A TEST DRIVE AND EXPLAINED THAT HE FELT IT WAS WHEN ENGINE WAS GOING INTO "ECONOMY" MODE AND HALF THE CYLINDERS WERE SHUTTING DOWN.???? ON A LATER ROAD TRIP ON MORE OPEN HIGHWAY, WE NOTICED SAME VIBRATIONS IN 61, 62, 63 MPH RANGE - I WATCHED THE ECON. DASH LIGHT AND IT DIDN'T NECESSARILY CHANGE WHEN WE FELT VIBRATIONS. TOOK BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND I DROVE VEHICLE WHILE SERVICE WRITER WATCHED, LOOKED, AND LISTENED. HE SAID HE COULD FEEL VIBRATION BUT UNTIL A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON, THEY MIGHT SPEND MANY HOURS/DAYS TRYING TO FIND PROBLEM BUT NOT LOCATE IT. WE ARE KEEPING OUR FINGERS CROSSED THAT NOTHING SERIOUS DEVELOPS AND ENDANGERS LIVES OR VEHICLE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2014 - NORWALK, CT
TURNED ON THE CAR AND BACKED OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, WHICH IS SLOPED SO IT DOES NOT REQUIRE ANY ACCELERATION. SHIFTED INTO GEAR ON THE STREET AND BEGAN TO ROLL FORWARD. APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE ACCELERATOR AND NOTICED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT RESPONDING AT ALL - ENGINE WAS NOT REVVING, CAR WAS NOT MOVING FORWARD DESPITE FLOORING THE GAS PEDAL. STOPPED AND SHIFTED INTO REVERSE AND HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. SIMULTANEOUSLY, SEVERAL WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED INCLUDING VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL AMONG OTHERS. EVENTUALLY HAD TO LEAVE THE CAR DISABLED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND HAVE IT TOWED TO A LOCAL HONDA DEALER, WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. AFTER 3 DAYS, THEY "RESET ALL THE COMPUTERS" AND TOLD ME THE CAR WAS FIXED. SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED 2.5 WKS LATER. AGAIN, DEALER COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THEY REPLACED THE "BOX" WHICH THE ACCELERATOR CONNECTS TO AND TOLD ME THE PROBLEM SHOULD BE FIXED. 3 DAYS AFTER RETURNING THE CAR TO ME, THE SAME INCIDENT OCCURRED A 3RD TIME. THIS TIME THE VEHICLE FLUIDS WERE ALSO OVERHEATING. I LEFT THE CAR RUNNING UNTIL A HONDA TECHNICIAN COULD COME AND TAKE A LOOK AND SEE THE PROBLEM IN ACTION. UNFORTUNATELY, HE SHUT THE CAR OFF UPON ARRIVAL AND THEN WAS NOT ABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM. HONDA HAS NOW HAD MY VEHICLE FOR 8 DAYS WITH NO PROGRESS. THEIR ONLY SUGGESTION IS TO UNINSTALL THE REMOTE STARTER WHICH CAME WITH THE CAR WHEN I PURCHASED IT NEW. THEY HAVE NO EVIDENCE THAT THE REMOTE STARTER IS CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND HAVE NOT OFFERED TO COMPENSATE ME IN ANY WAY FOR ITS REMOVAL. CAR IS ONLY 1.5 YRS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2014 - NORWALK, CT
TURNED ON THE CAR AND BACKED OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, WHICH IS SLOPED SO IT DOES NOT REQUIRE ANY ACCELERATION. SHIFTED INTO GEAR ON THE STREET AND BEGAN TO ROLL FORWARD. APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE ACCELERATOR AND NOTICED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT RESPONDING AT ALL - ENGINE WAS NOT REVVING, CAR WAS NOT MOVING FORWARD DESPITE FLOORING THE GAS PEDAL. STOPPED AND SHIFTED INTO REVERSE AND HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. SIMULTANEOUSLY, SEVERAL WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED INCLUDING VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL AMONG OTHERS. EVENTUALLY HAD TO LEAVE THE CAR DISABLED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND HAVE IT TOWED TO A LOCAL HONDA DEALER, WHERE THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. AFTER 3 DAYS, THEY "RESET ALL THE COMPUTERS" AND TOLD ME THE CAR WAS FIXED. SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED 2.5 WKS LATER. AGAIN, DEALER COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THEY REPLACED THE "BOX" WHICH THE ACCELERATOR CONNECTS TO AND TOLD ME THE PROBLEM SHOULD BE FIXED. 3 DAYS AFTER RETURNING THE CAR TO ME, THE SAME INCIDENT OCCURRED A 3RD TIME. THIS TIME THE VEHICLE FLUIDS WERE ALSO OVERHEATING. I LEFT THE CAR RUNNING UNTIL A HONDA TECHNICIAN COULD COME AND TAKE A LOOK AND SEE THE PROBLEM IN ACTION. UNFORTUNATELY, HE SHUT THE CAR OFF UPON ARRIVAL AND THEN WAS NOT ABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM. HONDA HAS NOW HAD MY VEHICLE FOR 8 DAYS WITH NO PROGRESS. THEIR ONLY SUGGESTION IS TO UNINSTALL THE REMOTE STARTER WHICH CAME WITH THE CAR WHEN I PURCHASED IT NEW. THEY HAVE NO EVIDENCE THAT THE REMOTE STARTER IS CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND HAVE NOT OFFERED TO COMPENSATE ME IN ANY WAY FOR ITS REMOVAL. CAR IS ONLY 1.5 YRS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

11/7/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES: CAR IS A STOPPED OR SLOWLY ROLLING AND YOU STEP ON THE GAS TO GET INTO TRAFFIC FLOOR TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR DOESN'T MOVE. THE NEWEST INCIDENT TODAY IS THE CAR WAS IN MOTION GOING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH WHEN IT COMPLETELY DIED. ALL POWER LOST, COULD NOT STEER AND HAD TO PUMP THE BREAK SEVERAL TIMES TO STOP. DEALERSHIP SAYS VERBALLY OVER PHONE NO OPEN RECALLS ON CAR AND UNLESS THEY CAN RECREATE, THEY PROBABLY CAN'T FIX ANYTHING. I AM GOING TO GET KILLED WITH MY BABY IN THIS CAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/7/2014 - SMITHTOWN, NY
THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES: CAR IS A STOPPED OR SLOWLY ROLLING AND YOU STEP ON THE GAS TO GET INTO TRAFFIC FLOOR TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR DOESN'T MOVE. THE NEWEST INCIDENT TODAY IS THE CAR WAS IN MOTION GOING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH WHEN IT COMPLETELY DIED. ALL POWER LOST, COULD NOT STEER AND HAD TO PUMP THE BREAK SEVERAL TIMES TO STOP. DEALERSHIP SAYS VERBALLY OVER PHONE NO OPEN RECALLS ON CAR AND UNLESS THEY CAN RECREATE, THEY PROBABLY CAN'T FIX ANYTHING. I AM GOING TO GET KILLED WITH MY BABY IN THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - DULUTH, GA
WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE AT LOW SPEEDS OR FROM A STOP, THERE IS A 2-5 SECOND HESITATION AND THEN A SURGE. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES A WEEK SINCE WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. THE SCARIEST PART IS THAT IT IS UNPREDICTABLE. IT IS ESPECIALLY DANGEROUS WHEN ENTERING BUSY TRAFFIC, WHICH WE HAVE A LOT OF. WE HAVE COMPLAINED TO THE DEALER EVERY TIME WE HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE IN FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE. OF COURSE THEY SAY THEY CAN'T MAKE IT FAIL WHEN THEY TEST DRIVE IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/25/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
AT VARIOUS SPEEDS THERE WAS A SEVERE PULSATION. THIS ALSO OCCURED UPON BREAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO FINDLAY HONDA IN LAS VEGAS, NV. THIS OCCURED ON 25 JULY 2014. THE MILAGE WAS 31025. ON OCTOBER 16, 2014 I RETURNED MY VEHICLE TO THE SAME LOCATION AND HAD THE IDENTICAL WORK COMPLETED. A RESURFACIMG OF BOTH FRONT AND REAR BREAK DISCS . MILAGE 35128. FOUR THOUSAND MILES LATER AND THE SAME CONDITIION HAPPENS AGAIN! MY CONCERN IS THAT THIS PROBLEM WILL CONTINUE AND I DO NOT KNOW HOW MANY TIMES THESE DEFECTIVE DISCS CAN BE RESURFACED BEFORE I NEED TO HAVE THEM REPLACED. THIS WILL RESULT IN A HUGE EXPENCE, I'M SURE. I EXPECT A MUCH BETTER PRODUCT THAN WHAT I CURRENTLY OWN'. MY SON IS CURRENTLY DRIVING MY 2004 PILOT AND HAVE HAD ALMOST NO PROBLEM WITH THAT VEHICLE WHICH CURRENTLY HAS 136K.MILES. MY REMEMDY SHOULD BE THE REPLACEMENT OF THE BOTH THE FRONT AND REAR WHEELS WITHOUT CHARGE, BECAUSE THIS PROBLEM DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE GETTING BETTER. I EXPECT THE SAME PROBLEM TO OCCUR AT 40K WHICH, OF COURSE IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - MANCHESTER, ME
VEHICLE PULLS TO THE LEFT. THE DEALER PERFORMED AN ALIGNMENT AFTER MY TEST DRIVE AND IT IMPROVED SLIGHTLY THOUGH TECHNICIAN INDICATED HE FOUND NOTHING. HAD VEHICLE ALIGNED BY DEALER AGAIN AT 5000 MILES AS IT WAS PULLING LEFT AGAIN. TECHNICIAN FOUND ALIGNMENT NEEDED CORRECTION. VEHICLE STILLS PULLS TO LEFT AND GETS WORSE THE MORE WE DRIVE IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/13/2014 - MANCHESTER, ME
ANY TIME ECO MODE VCM (VEHICLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT) ENGAGES ENGINE SHUDDERS AND ENTIRE VEHICLE VIBRATES UNTIL ECO MODE DISENGAGES UPON INCREASED ACCELLERATION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds