Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2013 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 74 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (31) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (31)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2014 - BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI
MY DAUGHTER WAS BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE ONTO A SLOPED DRIVEWAY, APPLIED THE BRAKE ,SHIFTED INTO PARK GEAR SELECTOR,EXITED AUTO TO RETRIEVE SOMETHING FROM GARAGE. NOTICED THE CAR ROLLING , ATTEMPTED TO GET IN THE CAR, AS HER TWO CHILDREN WERE IN THE REAR (AGES 6 &9).CAR ROLLED OVER HER LEG, RESULTING IN MAJOR COMPOUND FRACTURE, RESULTING IN EXTENSIVE SURGERY, METAL ROD AND SCREWS IN HER LEG. CAR ROLLED BACKWARDS CROSSING STREET INTO DITCH. POLICE REPORT INDICATES ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING WITH GEAR IN REVERSE . HONDA CASE #[XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2014 - WHITTIER, CA
JUNE 2013 - (3 MOS OLD) CAR CONSISTENTLY MISFIRES RIGHT BEFORE ECO LIGHT COMES, STALLS. REQUESTED TO HAVE THIS FEATURE TURNED OFF BUT PER DEALER THIS CANNOT HAPPEN. TOLD ME THIS WAS NORMAL COULD NOT "DUPLICATE" PROBLEM. SECOND TIME (JANUARY 2014) CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON CAR LOST POWER THEN TURNED ITSELF OFF. ONCE IT STATED AGAIN TOOK DIRECTLY INTO DEALER. THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO "DUPLICATE" PROBLEM AND CAR DOES NOT STORE PROBLEM CODE. KEPT FOR 5 DAYS UPDATED SOFTWARE. CAR STILL IS NOT 100% STILL FEEL MISFIRE PRIOR TO ECO LIGHT COMING ON. 3RD TIME TAKING CAR IN APRIL 2014 CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHING LOSS POWER. PULLED TO SIDE TURNED OFF CAR. WITHIN 1/2 HR HAD CAR BACK TO DEALER. COULD NOT DUPLICATE PROBLEM. THE CAR DID NOT STORE PROBLEM CODE. WITHOUT THE CODES IT IS MY WORD AGAINST THERE'S. THIS DANGEROUS NOT KNOWING IF CAR WILL DECIDE TO STALL. BARELY 13 MOS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
WHILE DRIVING IN FLORIDA AND LOUISIANA, I NOTICED A LOW-FREQUENCY BUZZING SOUND AND VIBRATION WHICH COULD BE FELT THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL AND FLOORPAN. I BELIEVE IT IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (VCM) FEATURE. IT COULD BE FELT WHEN THE VCM TRANSITIONED FROM 6 TO 4 CYLINDER MODE, WITH THE RPM OF 1700-1900 AND SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 25, 45 AND 60 MPH. IT WOULD OCCUR WITH VERY LIGHT ACCELERATOR PRESSURE, JUST MAINTAINING SPEED, AND DISAPPEAR WHEN ACCELERATOR PRESSURE WAS INCREASED, CAUSING IT TO DOWNSHIFT AND/OR THE VCM TO TRANSITION BACK TO 6 CYLINDER MODE. THIS PROBLEM IS LESS EVIDENT HERE IN COLORADO SPRINGS (6000 FT ELEVATION), WHICH I CANNOT EXPLAIN. I DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM WITH A 2008 PILOT NOR A 2008 ODYSSEY, BOTH OF WHICH HAD A SIMILAR VCM FEATURE. MY LOCAL HONDA TECH COULD "NOT DUPLICATE" MY CONCERN AND SAID IT WAS "OPERATING NORMALLY". THE TRANSMISSION ALSO "HUNTS" BETWEEN 4TH AND 5TH GEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
WHILE DRIVING IN FLORIDA AND LOUISIANA, I NOTICED A LOW-FREQUENCY BUZZING SOUND AND VIBRATION WHICH COULD BE FELT THROUGH THE STEERING WHEEL AND FLOORPAN. I BELIEVE IT IS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT (VCM) FEATURE. IT COULD BE FELT WHEN THE VCM TRANSITIONED FROM 6 TO 4 CYLINDER MODE, WITH THE RPM OF 1700-1900 AND SPEEDS OF APPROXIMATELY 25, 45 AND 60 MPH. IT WOULD OCCUR WITH VERY LIGHT ACCELERATOR PRESSURE, JUST MAINTAINING SPEED, AND DISAPPEAR WHEN ACCELERATOR PRESSURE WAS INCREASED, CAUSING IT TO DOWNSHIFT AND/OR THE VCM TO TRANSITION BACK TO 6 CYLINDER MODE. THIS PROBLEM IS LESS EVIDENT HERE IN COLORADO SPRINGS (6000 FT ELEVATION), WHICH I CANNOT EXPLAIN. I DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM WITH A 2008 PILOT NOR A 2008 ODYSSEY, BOTH OF WHICH HAD A SIMILAR VCM FEATURE. MY LOCAL HONDA TECH COULD "NOT DUPLICATE" MY CONCERN AND SAID IT WAS "OPERATING NORMALLY". THE TRANSMISSION ALSO "HUNTS" BETWEEN 4TH AND 5TH GEAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/11/2014 - CHICAGO , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A LOUD METAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS ENGAGED, WHICH ALSO CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO VIBRATE. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FRONT BRAKES HOWEVER THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE LOUD METAL NOISE WAS HEARD EACH TIME THE BRAKE WAS ENGAGED. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT EXHIBIT A BRAKE FAILURE BECAUSE THEY WERE UNABLE TO HEAR THE NOISE THAT THE CONTACT WAS REFERENCING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/7/2014 - LAKE ELMO, MN
75% OF THE TIME THE VEHICLE IS IN ECO MODE THE ENTIRE VEHICLE VIBRATES AND SHUDDERS. THE EFFECT VARIES FROM ANNOYING TO SEVERE. IT HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS. THESE ARE THE SAME CONDITIONS THAT HAVE BEEN STATED BY NUMEROUS OWNERS. I EXPECT MAJOR PRE-MATURE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE AND DRIVE TRAIN. HONDA REFUSES TO ADMIT TO THE DEFECT AND HAS NO FIX FOR THE DEFECT. RIDICULOUS!!!!!!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2014 - TEMECULA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ENTER A PARKING GARAGE, THE VEHICLE JERKED VIOLENTLY AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE BARRIER. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/4/2014 - CANTONMENT, FL
THE VCM (VARIABLE CYLINDER MANAGEMENT) SYSTEM CAUSES JERKING AND VIBRATIONS, PERIODICALLY, DURING THE CHANGE FROM "ECO" MODE TO FULL CYLINDER OPERATION. I HAD THE SERVICE MANAGER DRIVE WITH ME AND ON THAT TRIP, THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE SALES AND SERVICE MANAGER SAID THAT THEY HAD NEVER HEARD OF THAT BEING A PROBLEM. I NOW SEE THAT HONDA HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL YEARS. THE COMPANY REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE AND FIX THE OBVIOUS PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/4/2014 - EARLSYVILLE , VA
ONGOING DISTURBING SHUDDER OR VIBRATION APPARENTLY RELATED TO THE VCM/ECO FEATURE. THE RELATIONSHIP SEEMS TO CORRELATE WITH THE VISUAL ECO DISPLAY ON THE DASHBOARD. THE ISSUE CAN BE CATEGORIZED BY PROGRESSING THROUGH THREE STAGES OR MODES AS SPEED AND DRIVING CONDITIONS VARY. THE FIRST MODE CAN BE CHARACTERIZED AS A HOWLING (SIGNIFICANT AUDIBLE TONE CHANGE) FROM THE ENGINE RIGHT BEFORE THE VIBRATION BEGINS, WHICH IS THE SECOND MODE. THE SECOND MODE IS THE VIBRATION/SHUDDER MOST PREDOMINATELY AROUND 44 MPH, BUT CAN OCCUR AT OTHER SPEEDS - DEPENDING ON THE "LOAD" ON THE ENGINE. THE SHUDDER/VIBRATION CAN VARY FROM A HIGH FREQUENCY VIBRATION (LIKE GOING OVER SMALL NARROW RUMBLE STRIPS) TO A MORE PRONOUNCED SHUDDER, BOTH OF WHICH IS CAN BE FELT BY PASSENGERS AND/OR DRIVER. IN GENERAL, THE PILOT WILL VIBRATE/SHUDDER CONSISTENTLY, APPARENTLY WHEN THE VCM FEATURE IS IN TRANSITION. HOWEVER, ON TWO OCCASIONS, A THIRD MODE OCCURRED: VERY SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 45 MPH OR SO, BY SURPRISE, THE PILOT SHOOK (FRONT END AREA) TO SUCH A INTENSE DEGREE THAT IT IMPULSIVELY CAUSED THE DRIVER OF THE PILOT TO PULL-OVER AND STOP. NOT KNOWING WHAT REALLY IS GOING ON IS CAUSING SOME TREPIDATION ABOUT WHETHER TO EVEN DRIVE THE CAR. TOOK PILOT INTO THE DEALER AND EXPLAINED THESE MODES. DEALER WAS AWARE OF THE VCM RELATED VIBRATIONS AND SAYS THAT IS THE WAY IT WORKS AND NOTHING THEY CAN DO. BUT, TO ME THIS IS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE. A BRAND NEW (RATHER COSTLY) CAR SHOULD NOT BEHAVE THIS WAY. MOREOVER, IT SEEMS SUCH REGULAR ONGOING VIBRATION/SHUDDERING CAN QUICKLY NEGATIVELY IMPACT THE INTEGRITY OR LONGEVITY OF THE ENGINE/DRIVE TRAIN, ETC., AS MOST MECHANICAL THINGS GENERALLY DO NOT LIKE VIBRATIONS WHICH QUITE OFTEN IS A SIGNIFICANT SOURCE OF WEAR AND TEAR. AS THE OWNER ONE MUST ASK THINGS LIKE: WILL THE ENGINE EVEN "SURVIVE" THIS IN THE LONG RUN? WILL THIS CAUSE MORE FREQUENT REPAIRS?

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2014 - OREGON, IL
ENGINE VIBRATION IN ECO MODE. IT HAS GROWN STEADILY WORSE SINCE NEW. THIS IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE FOR A WELL ENGINEERED VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds