Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2013 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 126 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (41) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (25) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (3)
Engine (43) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: HEAD RESTRAINT

5/19/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE NHTSA HEADREST STANDARDS ARE [XXX]. SERIOUSLY, DID ANY OF YOU EVEN [XXX] DRIVE A CAR WITH A HEADREST IN THE POSITION YOU MANDATE? YOU ARE INCOMPETENT AT YOUR JOB. FAIL! QUIT YOUR TAX PAYER FUNDED JOB AND GO WORK FOR A PAYCHECK. GO RUIN YOUR OWN LIFE INSTEAD OF RUINING EVERYONE ELSE'S FOR A CHANGE!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/18/2016 - RICHMOND, TX
"CHECK GAS CAP" LIGHT REPEATEDLY ILLUMINATES. DEALERS AND MECHANICS SAY "TIGHTEN GAS CAP" OR REPLACE. DOES NOT SOLVE PROBLEM. PROBLEM IS FUEL PUMP CREATES HIGH PRESSURE AND WHEN EXCESS FUEL GOES THROUGH PRESSURE REGULATOR, FUEL FLASHES TO VAPOR; TANK LOSES VACUUM AND WARNING ILLUMINATES, DRIVER STOPS CAR IN TRAFFIC TO CHECK, CAUSING SAFETY PROBLEM. HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON INTERNET. HONDA SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2016 - KENDALL, NY
WHEN MY PILOT GOES INTO ECO MODE THERE IS CONSIDERABLE VIBRATION THAT CAN BE FELT IN THE STEERING WHEEL, GAS PEDAL, INTERIOR DOOR PANEL IF YOUR LEG IS RESTING AGAINST IT, ALSO THERE IS ENOUGH REVERB IN THE CAB THAT AT TIMES IT CAN IRRITATE YOUR INNER EAR. ITS THE WORST AROUND 45 TO 65 BUT CAN BE FELT AT MOST SPEEDS. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHETHER ITS CITY OR HIGHWAY ITS PRESENT WHENEVER ECO IS ON AT CRUISING SPEED. I TOOK MY PILOT TO THE DEALER I PURCHASED IT FROM TO GIVE THEM THE OPPORTUNITY TO TROUBLE SHOOT THE ISSUE. INITIALLY I THOUGHT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION BUT THEY SAID IT WAS THE ENGINE GOING INTO ECO MODE AND THAT IT WAS NORMAL. I HAVE NEVER HAD A VEHICLES ENGINE PRODUCE THE AMOUNT OF VIBRATION THAT THIS ONE DOES AND TO BE TOLD ITS NORMAL TO ME IS UNACCEPTABLE. I HAVE SINCE READ MANY THREADS AND COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE ON THE INTERNET. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH HONDA AND THEY NEED TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION. WE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN THE SUMMER OF 2015, HAVE OWNED IT LESS THAT A YEAR AND THIS ISSUE MAKES IT A VERY UNDESIRABLE VEHICLE TO OWN AND IF HONDA DOESN'T PROVIDE A SOLUTION FOR THIS WE WILL MOST LIKELY GET RID OF THIS VEHICLE AND NEVER BUY ANOTHER HONDA AGAIN NOR RECOMMEND THIS MANUFACTURER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/18/2016 - KENDALL, NY
WHEN MY PILOT GOES INTO ECO MODE THERE IS CONSIDERABLE VIBRATION THAT CAN BE FELT IN THE STEERING WHEEL, GAS PEDAL, INTERIOR DOOR PANEL IF YOUR LEG IS RESTING AGAINST IT, ALSO THERE IS ENOUGH REVERB IN THE CAB THAT AT TIMES IT CAN IRRITATE YOUR INNER EAR. ITS THE WORST AROUND 45 TO 65 BUT CAN BE FELT AT MOST SPEEDS. IT DOESN'T MATTER WHETHER ITS CITY OR HIGHWAY ITS PRESENT WHENEVER ECO IS ON AT CRUISING SPEED. I TOOK MY PILOT TO THE DEALER I PURCHASED IT FROM TO GIVE THEM THE OPPORTUNITY TO TROUBLE SHOOT THE ISSUE. INITIALLY I THOUGHT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION BUT THEY SAID IT WAS THE ENGINE GOING INTO ECO MODE AND THAT IT WAS NORMAL. I HAVE NEVER HAD A VEHICLES ENGINE PRODUCE THE AMOUNT OF VIBRATION THAT THIS ONE DOES AND TO BE TOLD ITS NORMAL TO ME IS UNACCEPTABLE. I HAVE SINCE READ MANY THREADS AND COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE ON THE INTERNET. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED WITH HONDA AND THEY NEED TO PROVIDE A SOLUTION. WE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN THE SUMMER OF 2015, HAVE OWNED IT LESS THAT A YEAR AND THIS ISSUE MAKES IT A VERY UNDESIRABLE VEHICLE TO OWN AND IF HONDA DOESN'T PROVIDE A SOLUTION FOR THIS WE WILL MOST LIKELY GET RID OF THIS VEHICLE AND NEVER BUY ANOTHER HONDA AGAIN NOR RECOMMEND THIS MANUFACTURER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/26/2016 - DEPEW, NY
SIMILAR TO NHTSA # 10819872 (ATTACHED PDF). VEHICLE GAS PEDAL/ACCLERATION BECOMES UNRESPONSIVE WHEN TAKING FOOT OFF GAS AND MANEUVERING LEFT/RIGHT OR AROUND A CURVE. TRYING TO RE-ENGAGE WILL TAKE 3 SECONDS OR NOT AT ALL. REMEDY IS TO TAKE FOOT OFF GAS AND PUMP THE GAS PEDAL. THIS CAUSES VEHICLE TO LURCH FORWARD. I HAVE LEARNED TO BRAKE TORQUE TO REGAIN GAS PEDAL CONTROL. THIS HAS HAPPENED SINCE 9/2013 AND IT IS NOW 3/2016. ALSO SPEED VARIES 10-20 MPH AND MILEAGE IS NOW 13000. ALMOST ACCIDENTS UNTIL I GOT USED TO IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/15/2016 - HILLSBOROUGH, NJ
SEVERE VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING AT SPEEDS GREATER THAN 50MPH. PROBLEM STARTED AT APPROXIMATELY 19,000 MILES. HONDA DEALER CUT ROTORS AND PROBLEM RECURRED AGAIN AT 40,000. ROTORS ARE DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/3/2016 - PRINCETON, NJ
I PURCHASED MY 2013 HONDA CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED IN AUGUST 2015. TEST DRIVE WAS SHORT AND FELT NO ISSUES. FELT THE SHUDDER ON A HIGHWAY DRIVE THE NEXT DAY. NOW I QUESTION IF THE SALESPERSON KNEW THIS WOULD BE NOTICED AND DELIBERATELY MADE THE TEST RIDE SHORT TO AVOID THIS BEING NOTICED. I EVEN ASKED HER ABOUT THE VIBRATION ISSUE FROM REPORTS I HAD READ ABOUT BEFORE THE PURCHASE. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT AN VALID ISSUE AND THAT SHE HAD OWNED A PILOT AND NEVER FELT ANYTHING. THE CAR WAS BROUGHT BACK AND A SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS DONE AS WELL AS FLUID CHANGE IN TRANS WITHIN THE FIRST MONTH. IT STILL HAD THE SHUDDER. AFTER DRIVING FOR A FEW WEEKS TO GIVE IT A CHANCE TO PROVE ITSELF AND IT NOT ME "LOOKING" FOR A PROBLEM I CALLED AND SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER TO REPORT THIS AND INFORM HIM I WOULD COMING BACK WHEN MY SCHEDULE ALLOWED. IT IS GETTING MORE FREQUENT AND IT DOES NOT SEEM TO MATTER WHETHER IN ECO MODE OR NOT. THE SHUDDER USUALLY HAPPENS AROUND 38-42 MPH. BUT WILL BEGIN ANYTIME THE VEHICLE CRUISES IN ANY SPEED RANGE CONTINUALLY. AT HIGHER SPEEDS I CAN FEEL MY SKIN SHAKE LIKE ONE OF THOSE FAT BURNING SHAKING BELTS FROM YEARS PAST. (JUST SO YOU KNOW I AM OF AVERAGE BUILD WITHOUT EXCESSIVE BODY SKIN.) BROUGHT THE CAR BACK A SECOND TIME. THAT WAS TODAY FEB. 3, 2016. WENT FOR RIDE WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER. TOLD HIM IT SEEMS TO BE GETTING WORSE. HIS CONCLUSION WAS THAT THIS "SHUDDER" WAS A "CHARACTERISTIC" OF MY $28,000 PURCHASE. MY 1999 SUBURBAN THAT I TRADED IN HAD A BETTER RIDE. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH HONDA. I AM GOING TO ANOTHER DEALER TO GET A SECOND OPINION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/3/2016 - PRINCETON, NJ
I PURCHASED MY 2013 HONDA CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED IN AUGUST 2015. TEST DRIVE WAS SHORT AND FELT NO ISSUES. FELT THE SHUDDER ON A HIGHWAY DRIVE THE NEXT DAY. NOW I QUESTION IF THE SALESPERSON KNEW THIS WOULD BE NOTICED AND DELIBERATELY MADE THE TEST RIDE SHORT TO AVOID THIS BEING NOTICED. I EVEN ASKED HER ABOUT THE VIBRATION ISSUE FROM REPORTS I HAD READ ABOUT BEFORE THE PURCHASE. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT AN VALID ISSUE AND THAT SHE HAD OWNED A PILOT AND NEVER FELT ANYTHING. THE CAR WAS BROUGHT BACK AND A SOFTWARE UPDATE WAS DONE AS WELL AS FLUID CHANGE IN TRANS WITHIN THE FIRST MONTH. IT STILL HAD THE SHUDDER. AFTER DRIVING FOR A FEW WEEKS TO GIVE IT A CHANCE TO PROVE ITSELF AND IT NOT ME "LOOKING" FOR A PROBLEM I CALLED AND SPOKE WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER TO REPORT THIS AND INFORM HIM I WOULD COMING BACK WHEN MY SCHEDULE ALLOWED. IT IS GETTING MORE FREQUENT AND IT DOES NOT SEEM TO MATTER WHETHER IN ECO MODE OR NOT. THE SHUDDER USUALLY HAPPENS AROUND 38-42 MPH. BUT WILL BEGIN ANYTIME THE VEHICLE CRUISES IN ANY SPEED RANGE CONTINUALLY. AT HIGHER SPEEDS I CAN FEEL MY SKIN SHAKE LIKE ONE OF THOSE FAT BURNING SHAKING BELTS FROM YEARS PAST. (JUST SO YOU KNOW I AM OF AVERAGE BUILD WITHOUT EXCESSIVE BODY SKIN.) BROUGHT THE CAR BACK A SECOND TIME. THAT WAS TODAY FEB. 3, 2016. WENT FOR RIDE WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER. TOLD HIM IT SEEMS TO BE GETTING WORSE. HIS CONCLUSION WAS THAT THIS "SHUDDER" WAS A "CHARACTERISTIC" OF MY $28,000 PURCHASE. MY 1999 SUBURBAN THAT I TRADED IN HAD A BETTER RIDE. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH HONDA. I AM GOING TO ANOTHER DEALER TO GET A SECOND OPINION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/12/2016 - MONTVILLE, NJ
THE CAR HESITATES AND DOES NOT ACCELERATE, ESPECIALLY WHEN MAKING A TURN OR SLOWING DOWN AND THEN ACCELERATING IN TRAFFIC. IT DOES ACCELERATE AFTER IT PAUSES, IT IS VERY SCARY TO HAVE IT STOP AND NOT MOVE. THIS VIN WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL ANNOUNCED TODAY, BUT THE PROBLEM IS EXACTLY WHAT IS HAPPENING WITH MY CAR. WILL THERE BE MORE RECALLS FOR THIS PROBLEM? WE HAVE BROUGHT IT TO THE HONDA DEALER WHEN IT WAS NEW, AND AGAIN BEFORE THE WARRANTY RAN OUT. THEY DENY THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. IT IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/7/2016 - MOUNTAIN TOP, PA
2013 HONDA PILOT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE AIR BAG ISSUE HAS BEEN GOING ON, SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds