Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2013 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (33) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (34)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/8/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
ON 06/28/2014 THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG SENSOR INDICATED THAT THE AIRBAG IS OFF WHEN A PASSENGER IS SEATED IN THE SEAT. MY 12 YR OLD SON (114 LBS.) WAS THE PASSENGER AT THE TIME OF FAILURE.WE HAVE DOCUMENTED/PHOTOGRAPHED THE AIRBAG LIGHT INITIATING A SENSOR AS BEING OFF WHILE THE SEAT HAS AN OCCUPANT AND WHILE THE VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN. THIS CONSTITUTES A SIGNIFICANT PUBLIC SAFETY HAZARD FOR ALL FRONT SEAT PASSENGERS OF 2013 HONDA PILOT VEHICLES AND ANY OTHER HONDA PRODUCT THAT USES THIS SAME SENSOR.FINDLAY HONDA, 7494 W AZURE DR, LAS VEGAS, NV 89130 , 702-982-4200. FINDLAY SERVICE HAS INSPECTED THE VEHICLE ON 06/30/2014, THEY ADVISED THAT THEY HAD RESET THE "CIRCUITS" TO THE AIRBAGS AND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS READY TO DRIVE. OUR 2013 HONDA PILOT MANUAL INDICATES THIS SENSOR WILL TURN OFF AIRBAGS IF PASSENGER IS LESS THAN 65 LBS. MY SON IS 114 LBS. WHEN THE AIRBAG DISARMED. WE PICKED IT UP LATE ON 06/30/2014 AND DISCOVERED THE SAME ISSUE AND LEFT IT AT THE DEALER SERVICE AGAIN FOR REVIEW TODAY, 07/01/2014.I BROUGHT MY SON IN WITH ME TO FINDLAY DEALERSHIP SERVICE THIS MORNING TO REPLICATE THE ISSUE IN FRONT OF FINDLAY DEALER TWO AUTO TECHS AND SERVICE EMPLOYEE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN WITH MY SON IN THE SEAT AGAIN.I WAS JUST ADVISED BY FINDLAY HONDA SERVICE REP, DOUG GRANT ON JULY 2, 2014 THAT HIS TECHS CHECKED WITH HONDA CORPORATE WHO STATED " ANYONE UNDER 150 LBS., SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT MAY DISABLE THE SENSOR WHICH WILL DISABLE THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG FROM DEPLOYING DURING A CRASH.PLEASE INVESTIGATE AS THIS IS A HUGE VEHICLE SAFETY ISSUE. WE DO NOT WANT TO EXCEPT THIS VEHICLE BACK TO USE AS THIS IS A UNKNOWN AND UNDOCUMENTED DISCREPANCY WITH HONDA AND ITS SERVICE AND PARTS SECTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/3/2014 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
THE BRAKES STARTED TO VIBRATE WHEN APPLIED. THIS HAPPENED WITH ONLY 16000 MILES. IT WAS VERY FRIGHTENING TO MY WIFE. NOW THE CAR HAS 35000 MILES AND THE BRAKES ARE BAD AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/29/2014 - PORTSMOUTH, RI
CRACKED OR DAMAGED PISTON RING OR RINGS...SPARK PLUG DAMAGED...."IN MY OPINION"THE ENGINE WILL NEVER BE RELIABLE, IT WILL NEVER BE RIGHT...AT 12,000 MILES....

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/22/2014 - BLUFFTON, SC
VEHICLE HESITATES/ AND SHAKES AT 45 AND 60 MPH, VERY SCARY. TOOK CAR TO DEALERSHIP IN BLUFFTON SC MARCH 2014 AND MAY 2014. DEALERSHIP COULD NOT REPRODUCE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2014 - RONKONKOMA, NY
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE WAITING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THERE WAS A SUDDEN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS AS THE VEHICLE HESITATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 1,200.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2014 - OREGON CITY, OR
2013 HONDA PILOT. CONSUMERS WRITE IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SHUDDERS, PULSATES AND VIBRATES INTERMITTENTLY DURING NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SHUDDER, PULSATING AND VIBRATION OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY DURING ANY AND ALL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY HONDA REPRESENTATIVES AD TECHNICIANS THAT VIBRATION WAS CAUSED BY THE VARIABLE CYLINDER CONTROL SYSTEM AND IT USUALLY STARTED AFTER 1000 MILES. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED HONDA WAS WORKING ON A FIX, BUT MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE A SOLUTION IN THE FUTURE. ALSO, THERE WAS A VERY DISTINCT AND CONSTANT PULL TO THE LEFT IN THE STEERING SYSTEM. THE FUEL SYSTEM ALERT LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE TANK WAS FILLED WITH GAS. THE CONSUMER WAS INSTRUCTED BY THE DEALER, TO REMOVE AND REPLACE THE GAS GAP. THE ALERT LIGHT WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SHIFTED HARSHLY AND IT FELT AS THOUGH HE TRANSMISSION WAS FAILING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBLEM BECAME WORSE AS TIME WENT ON.

View Details

STEERING

5/7/2014 - OREGON CITY, OR
2013 HONDA PILOT. CONSUMERS WRITE IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SHUDDERS, PULSATES AND VIBRATES INTERMITTENTLY DURING NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SHUDDER, PULSATING AND VIBRATION OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY DURING ANY AND ALL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY HONDA REPRESENTATIVES AD TECHNICIANS THAT VIBRATION WAS CAUSED BY THE VARIABLE CYLINDER CONTROL SYSTEM AND IT USUALLY STARTED AFTER 1000 MILES. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED HONDA WAS WORKING ON A FIX, BUT MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE A SOLUTION IN THE FUTURE. ALSO, THERE WAS A VERY DISTINCT AND CONSTANT PULL TO THE LEFT IN THE STEERING SYSTEM. THE FUEL SYSTEM ALERT LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE TANK WAS FILLED WITH GAS. THE CONSUMER WAS INSTRUCTED BY THE DEALER, TO REMOVE AND REPLACE THE GAS GAP. THE ALERT LIGHT WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SHIFTED HARSHLY AND IT FELT AS THOUGH HE TRANSMISSION WAS FAILING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBLEM BECAME WORSE AS TIME WENT ON.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/7/2014 - OREGON CITY, OR
2013 HONDA PILOT. CONSUMERS WRITE IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE SHUDDERS, PULSATES AND VIBRATES INTERMITTENTLY DURING NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SHUDDER, PULSATING AND VIBRATION OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY DURING ANY AND ALL DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY HONDA REPRESENTATIVES AD TECHNICIANS THAT VIBRATION WAS CAUSED BY THE VARIABLE CYLINDER CONTROL SYSTEM AND IT USUALLY STARTED AFTER 1000 MILES. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED HONDA WAS WORKING ON A FIX, BUT MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE A SOLUTION IN THE FUTURE. ALSO, THERE WAS A VERY DISTINCT AND CONSTANT PULL TO THE LEFT IN THE STEERING SYSTEM. THE FUEL SYSTEM ALERT LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE TANK WAS FILLED WITH GAS. THE CONSUMER WAS INSTRUCTED BY THE DEALER, TO REMOVE AND REPLACE THE GAS GAP. THE ALERT LIGHT WENT OUT. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SHIFTED HARSHLY AND IT FELT AS THOUGH HE TRANSMISSION WAS FAILING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE PROBLEM BECAME WORSE AS TIME WENT ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2014 - ASHBURN, VA
MY HONDA PILOT HAS BEEN EXPERIENING AN ENGINE CUT OFF AFTER MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN -- WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS NOTHING HAPPENS FOR AT LEAST 4 SECONDS THEN I RECIEVE A RAPID ACCELERATION == I AM AFFRAIND THAT SOMEONE IS GOING TO RUN INTO THE BACK OF MY PILOT WHEN I AM NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE AFTER MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN --- PLUS, WHEN I ENTER MY GARAGE AFTER MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN THE CARE DOESN'T RESPOND FOR 3 TO 4 SECONDS == THEN I EXPERIENCE A VERY RAPID ACCELERATIOIN -- I AM AFFRAID THAT ONE DAY I WILL HIT MY GARAGE DOOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/28/2014 - BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI
MY DAUGHTER WAS BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE ONTO A SLOPED DRIVEWAY, APPLIED THE BRAKE, SHIFTED INTO PARK GEAR SELECTOR, EXITED AUTO TO RETRIEVE SOMETHING FROM GARAGE. NOTICED THE CAR ROLLING , ATTEMPTED TO GET IN THE CAR, AS HER TWO CHILDREN WERE IN THE REAR (AGES 6 &9).CAR ROLLED OVER HER LEG, RESULTING IN MAJOR COMPOUND FRACTURE, RESULTING IN EXTENSIVE SURGERY, METAL ROD AND SCREWS IN HER LEG. CAR ROLLED BACKWARDS CROSSING STREET INTO DITCH. POLICE REPORT INDICATES ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING WITH GEAR IN REVERSE . HONDA CASE #[XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). UPDATED 10/21/2014

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds