Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 539 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (52) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (29) Steering (92) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electrical System (64) Exterior Lighting (37) Seat Belts (5) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (82) Visibility (24)
Engine (76) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (74) Tires (52) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (61)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/25/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE ON A SUNDAY AFTERNOON AT A BUSINESS PARK. IT WAS MID DAY AND DRY. I WAS SLOWING DOWN AND HALF WAY INTO THE SPACE WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. IT SEEMED LIKE THE CAR WENT OUT OF MY CONTROL. THE CAR WAS STOPPED BY A 3+ SHRUB OR ELSE I WOULD HAVE CRASHED INTO THE BUILDING. IN THE PROCESS, A CAR PARKED BESIDE ME WAS ALSO DAMAGED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/25/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE ON A SUNDAY AFTERNOON AT A BUSINESS PARK. IT WAS MID DAY AND DRY. I WAS SLOWING DOWN AND HALF WAY INTO THE SPACE WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. IT SEEMED LIKE THE CAR WENT OUT OF MY CONTROL. THE CAR WAS STOPPED BY A 3+ SHRUB OR ELSE I WOULD HAVE CRASHED INTO THE BUILDING. IN THE PROCESS, A CAR PARKED BESIDE ME WAS ALSO DAMAGED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE ON A SUNDAY AFTERNOON AT A BUSINESS PARK. IT WAS MID DAY AND DRY. I WAS SLOWING DOWN AND HALF WAY INTO THE SPACE WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. IT SEEMED LIKE THE CAR WENT OUT OF MY CONTROL. THE CAR WAS STOPPED BY A 3+ SHRUB OR ELSE I WOULD HAVE CRASHED INTO THE BUILDING. IN THE PROCESS, A CAR PARKED BESIDE ME WAS ALSO DAMAGED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/25/2018 - DALLAS, TX
1. ENGINE NOISE (KNOCKING SOUND, TICKING SOUND) 2. AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM FAILED TOO EARLY AND REPLACED IT AROUND 45,000 MILES. 3. AXLE BOOT (LEFT SIDE) GREASE LEAKED TOO EARLY (AROUND 50,000 MILES) 4. INNER FENDER (RIGHT SIDE) TORE DOWN. REPLACED 5. TWO BUBBLE TIRES (WE CHANGED THE TIRE EIGHT MONTHS AGO!) REPLACED 6. CLICKING SOUND ON PASSENGER SIDE DOOR WHEN I CHANGED THE GEAR (50,200 MILES) 7. ENGINE MOUNT REPLACEMENT (35,570 MILES)

View Details

STEERING

4/25/2018 - DALLAS, TX
1. ENGINE NOISE (KNOCKING SOUND, TICKING SOUND) 2. AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM FAILED TOO EARLY AND REPLACED IT AROUND 45,000 MILES. 3. AXLE BOOT (LEFT SIDE) GREASE LEAKED TOO EARLY (AROUND 50,000 MILES) 4. INNER FENDER (RIGHT SIDE) TORE DOWN. REPLACED 5. TWO BUBBLE TIRES (WE CHANGED THE TIRE EIGHT MONTHS AGO!) REPLACED 6. CLICKING SOUND ON PASSENGER SIDE DOOR WHEN I CHANGED THE GEAR (50,200 MILES) 7. ENGINE MOUNT REPLACEMENT (35,570 MILES)

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2018 - DALLAS, TX
1. ENGINE NOISE (KNOCKING SOUND, TICKING SOUND) 2. AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM FAILED TOO EARLY AND REPLACED IT AROUND 45,000 MILES. 3. AXLE BOOT (LEFT SIDE) GREASE LEAKED TOO EARLY (AROUND 50,000 MILES) 4. INNER FENDER (RIGHT SIDE) TORE DOWN. REPLACED 5. TWO BUBBLE TIRES (WE CHANGED THE TIRE EIGHT MONTHS AGO!) REPLACED 6. CLICKING SOUND ON PASSENGER SIDE DOOR WHEN I CHANGED THE GEAR (50,200 MILES) 7. ENGINE MOUNT REPLACEMENT (35,570 MILES)

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/12/2018 - SANTEE, CA
EXPLODING SUNROOF WHILE DRIVING ON A CLEAR, SUNNY, 70 DEGREE DAY ON A SMOOTH INTERSTATE AT 60 MPH, RIGHT LANE ABOUT TO EXIT, SCARED ME HALF TO DEATH. SAW ABSOLUTELY NOTHING AROUND ME THAT COULD HAVE HIT ME AND NOT KNOWING WHAT, QUICKLY SLOWED TO PULL OVER ON SHOULDER BEFORE MY DESTINED EXIT, WHERE I DETERMINED ON A HIGHWAY OF FAST MOVING CARS, THAT MY FORWARD PIECE SUNROOF WAS SHATTERED. HAD CAR TOWED AS I DIDN'T WANT MORE FLYING GLASS ON HWY. ORIGINAL OWNER FOR 25000 MILES, GARAGE KEPT AND HAVE TAKEN CARE OF MINOR RECALLS TO DATE. MY ELANTRA GT MODEL IS CLOSE TO VELOSTAR, BOTH SIMILAR WITH FULL PANORAMIC SUNROOFS, WHICH I UNDERSTAND HAS HAD ROOF RECALLS SINCE. ELANTRAS HAVE NOT? DEALER DENIED THIS BEING ANYTHING BUT A FLUKE AND FIRST EXAMINED FOR A ROCK OR BULLET, WHICH WAS NEVER FOUND. I PROVIDED MY INSURANCE INFO. WHILE IT HAS SINCE BEEN VERBALLY REPRESENTED TO ME BY DEALER THAT MANUFACTURER WOULD DO THE RIGHT THING BY ME AND WAIVE THE ONE MONTH PURPORTEDLY BEYOND 5 YR WARRANTY AND REPLACE, CAR IS STILL WITH DEALER ONE WEEK LATER AS MECHANIC HAVING DIFFICULTY WITH INSTALL. GLASS STILL IN TRACK RENDERING IT IMMOVABLE I'VE BEEN TOLD, STILL WORKING ON IT ALTHOUGH INITIALLY SUGGESTED A ONE DAY JOB AFTER PART CAME. I HAVE NO CAR 1 WEEK LATER, NO LOANER ALLOWED FROM DEALER NO INFO ON COMPLETION. DEALERS NEED TO BE EDUCATED ON THIS DEFECT THEY SEEM TO DENY, THEIR MECHANICS TRAINED AND PUBLIC NOTIFIED OF THIS CONCERN. I ALSO DON'T EXPECT TO PURCHASE A CAR THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO LATER FIX. I WAS LUCKY MY INNER SLIDE WAS CLOSED AS GLASS PIECES FLOATED ON TOP. THE EFFECTS ON MY NERVOUS SYSTEM REMAIN. THE MAIN INNER PART OF THE GLASS DISAPPEARED ON THE HIGHWAY; NEVER SAW WHERE IN MY REAR VIEW. HOPE NO ONE BEHIND ME SUFFERED WHICH I NEVER DID SEE. CHP WAS INFORMED. HELP DO THE RIGHT THING BY THE PUBLIC SAFETY AND RECALL THESE EXPLOSIVE MONSTERS.

View Details

STEERING

4/5/2018 - TEXARKANA, AR
TA KATA RECALL, MY STEERING WHEEL COLUMN RATTLES AND SHAKES WHEN I AM DRIVING. IT SOUNDS LIKE THE STEERING WHEEL IS GOING TO FALL OFF. THE STEERING WHEEL FEELS LOOSE

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2018 - WELLSVILLE, NY
CAR HAD BEEN MAKING AN AWFUL SOUND, TICKING ALMOST FOR A WHILE... TOOK IT TO THE GARAGE AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED AS THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHOT. THEY SAID THERE WERE 12 OTHER ELANTRAS AT THEIR GARAGE ALONE WAITING TO BE REPAIRED FOR THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. THEY SAID CERTAIN YEARS THEY+VE NOTICED ARE BEING AFFECTED, BUT IT DOESN+T MATTER THE MILEAGE, THEY+RE GETTING CARS WITH EVEN JUST 20K MILES COMING IN NEED OF A NEW ENGINE. ESTIMATED THE PART AT $2400, DON+T HAVE THAT TO SPARE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/21/2018 - BRENHAM, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF GEAR. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO SHIFT INTO DRIVE AND WAS TAKEN TO HYUNDAI OF BRENHAM (1710 US-290, BRENHAM, TX 77833, (979) 830-1000), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds