Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 201 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (16) Seats (1) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (26) Suspension (31) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (22) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (14) Power Train (4) Steering (40) Unknown Or Other (13) Wheels (36)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - JONESTOWN, MS
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE CONTACT ACCIDENTALLY CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT AND THE PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED MINOR SCRAPES AND BRUISES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE OTHER VEHICLE'S PASSENGERS ALSO REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,200.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/18/2014 - CALIFORNIA, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS THE VEHICLE WOULD BECOME UNSTABLE AFTER DRIVING OVER A BUMP OR POT HOLE IN THE ROAD. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO DRIVE IN A STRAIGHT LINE. ALSO, THE BRAKES HAD MALFUNCTIONED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AFTER DRIVING OVER A BUMP OR POT HOLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. AFTER CHANGING THE COIL SPRINGS AND REPLACING THE TIRES THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/18/2014 - CALIFORNIA, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS THE VEHICLE WOULD BECOME UNSTABLE AFTER DRIVING OVER A BUMP OR POT HOLE IN THE ROAD. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO DRIVE IN A STRAIGHT LINE. ALSO, THE BRAKES HAD MALFUNCTIONED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AFTER DRIVING OVER A BUMP OR POT HOLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. AFTER CHANGING THE COIL SPRINGS AND REPLACING THE TIRES THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2014 - CORONA, CA
UNABLE TO MOVE THE CAR OUT OF PARK. THE ELECTRICAL WORKED (RADIO, WINDOWS). I INSERT THE KEY AND TURN BUT THE CAR WONT TURN OVER (START). I HAVE TO USE THE SHIFT LOCK RELEASE TO START THE CAR. THE PROBLEM OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY AND THERE IS NO PATTERN.

View Details

ENGINE

8/16/2014 - CORONA, CA
UNABLE TO MOVE THE CAR OUT OF PARK. THE ELECTRICAL WORKED (RADIO, WINDOWS). I INSERT THE KEY AND TURN BUT THE CAR WONT TURN OVER (START). I HAVE TO USE THE SHIFT LOCK RELEASE TO START THE CAR. THE PROBLEM OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY AND THERE IS NO PATTERN.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2014 - SAYREVILLE, NJ
I PURCHASED THE 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS WITH 13,400 MILES ON FEBRUARY 15, 2014. AFTER A FEW DAYS OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE I REALIZED THAT THE CAR FLOATS ALL OVER THE ROAD WHEN DRIVING PRETTY MUCH AT ANY SPEED. YOU HAVE TO HOLD THE STEERING WHEEL WITH BOTH HANDS TO KEEP CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE ALSO JUMPS AROUND WHEN DRIVING OVER IMPERFECTIONS ON THE ROADWAY. THE BACK END SUSPENSION IS VERY STIFF AND WHEN GOING OVER THESE IMPERFECTIONS THE VEHICLES VEERS INTO ANOTHER LANE OR SHOULDER. I HAVE CALLED HYUNDAI WITH NO RESPONSE AND EMAILED THEM ONLY TO BE TOLD TO BRING IT TO A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE FREEHOLD HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TWICE NOW AND WAS TOLD THE VEHICLE OPERATES TO FACTORY SPECS. THIS IS AN UNACCEPTABLE ANSWER. I HAVE A FAMILY AND FEAR THAT AN ACCIDENT IS GOING TO OCCUR WITH THIS VEHICLE DUE TO THE POOR HANDLING AND SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET INJURED OR EVEN KILLED. I DEMAND HYUNDAI REIMBURSE ME FOR WHAT I HAVE PAID FOR THIS VEHICLE OR ISSUE A RECALL AND FIX THE PROBLEMS THAT MANY OF THE ELANTRA OWNERS ARE DEALING WITH.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/15/2014 - SAYREVILLE, NJ
I PURCHASED THE 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS WITH 13,400 MILES ON FEBRUARY 15, 2014. AFTER A FEW DAYS OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE I REALIZED THAT THE CAR FLOATS ALL OVER THE ROAD WHEN DRIVING PRETTY MUCH AT ANY SPEED. YOU HAVE TO HOLD THE STEERING WHEEL WITH BOTH HANDS TO KEEP CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE ALSO JUMPS AROUND WHEN DRIVING OVER IMPERFECTIONS ON THE ROADWAY. THE BACK END SUSPENSION IS VERY STIFF AND WHEN GOING OVER THESE IMPERFECTIONS THE VEHICLES VEERS INTO ANOTHER LANE OR SHOULDER. I HAVE CALLED HYUNDAI WITH NO RESPONSE AND EMAILED THEM ONLY TO BE TOLD TO BRING IT TO A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE FREEHOLD HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TWICE NOW AND WAS TOLD THE VEHICLE OPERATES TO FACTORY SPECS. THIS IS AN UNACCEPTABLE ANSWER. I HAVE A FAMILY AND FEAR THAT AN ACCIDENT IS GOING TO OCCUR WITH THIS VEHICLE DUE TO THE POOR HANDLING AND SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET INJURED OR EVEN KILLED. I DEMAND HYUNDAI REIMBURSE ME FOR WHAT I HAVE PAID FOR THIS VEHICLE OR ISSUE A RECALL AND FIX THE PROBLEMS THAT MANY OF THE ELANTRA OWNERS ARE DEALING WITH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/12/2014 - ALSIP, IL
ON JULY 18, 2014, MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA RAN INTO A SUBWAY RESTAURANT AT 12150 S. CICERO, ALSIP, IL. I WAS GOING INTO THE SUBWAY PARKING LOT, MY GOAL WAS TO PARK, BUT MY CAR DID NOT STOP WHEN I PUT ON MY BRAKES. MY CAR KEPT GOING; IT DROVE OVER THE SIDEWALK, THROUGH THE SCRUBS, AND HIT THE BUILDING HEAD ON. HITTING THE BUILDING IS WHAT STOPPED MY VEHICLE, MY AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. I THEN PUT ON THE BRAKES, PUT IT IN REVERSE AND BACKED OFF THE BUILDING, BACKING INTO THE PARKING PLACE THAT I WAS ORIGINALLY GOING INTO TO PARK. ONCE MY CAR WAS PARKED, IT BEGAN TO SMOKE. I GOT OUT OF THE CAR, LOOKED AT THE DAMAGE TO MY CAR AND THE SUBWAY BUILDING, CALLED MY INSURANCE COMPANY, STATE FARM AND MY SON. THE 2 EMPLOYEES IN THE SUBWAY, CALLED THE POLICE AND THE SUBWAY RESTAURANT OWNER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/8/2014 - FONTANA, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY AND DRIVING THROUGH NORMAL TRAFFIC FLOW, DROVE ON WIDE CURVE PORTION ON ROAD, I RAN INTO SOME UNEVEN PORTIONS OF ROAD WHEN ON CURVE AND REAR END OF VEHICLE FELT LIKE SWAYING (SLIGHTLY LOOSING CONTROL). FELT REAL LOOSE. THIS ALSO HAPPENS ON UNEVEN ROADS ON STRAIGHTAWAYS. THIS HAPPENED AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 60-70 AS THIS HAPPENED QUITE OFTEN ON UNEVEN ROADS. DID NOT NOTIFY DEALER ON THIS DIRECTLY, NOTIFIED THEM ON HYUNDAI (E-MAIL TO ME) ON VEHICLE SATISFACTORY SUGGESTION REPORT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/8/2014 - FONTANA, CA
DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT SPEED OF APPROX. 65-70, HIT OFF LEVEL PAVEMENT ON RIGHT SIDE ON ROAD WHILE BRAKING TO SLOW (FOR TRAFFIC) AND BRAKE PEDAL HARDENED (PEDAL HARD TO PRESS FOR FEW SECONDS) WHILE MAKING CLICKING SOUND, BUT THEN FUNCTIONED PROPERLY. FELT LIKE FRONT PASS WHEEL. FIGURED NOTHING. MONTHS PASSED, DRIVING IN SHOPPING CENTER AND GOING OVER SPEED BUMP AT ABOUT 5 MPH AND FRONT WHEEL MADE CLICKING AGAIN WHILE BRAKING TO SLOW FURTHER AND BRAKE PEDAL HARDENED AGAIN (DIFFICULT TO PRESS FOR FEW SECONDS) THEN FUNCTIONED PROPERLY. TOOK CAR TO DEALER FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE AND INFORMED DEALER OF SITUATION AND SERVICE REP CLAIMED IT WAS HOW THE ABS SYSTEM WORKED AND THAT WAS ALL IT WAS, THE ABS SYSTEM WORKING. TOLD HIM THIS PROBLEM DOES NOT HAPPEN WHEN THE LEFT WHEEL IS INVOLVED HITTING OR GOING OVER BUMP. FIRST TIME OWNED VEHICLE WITH ABS BUT I THINK THE BRAKE PEDAL IS NOT SUPPOSE TO HARDEN UP WHILE ABS SYSTEM IS FUNCTIONING AS THIS WOULD LIMIT ANY BRAKING CAPACITY. FEELS LIKE THERE IS A BIGGER PROBLEM AND DEALER IS NOT TAKING IT SERIOUSLY. ORIGINAL OWNER SINCE 7/31/13, THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPED AT LEAST 4 TIMES AND ALL SEEMED TO ONLY INVOLVE THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds