Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 345 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (41) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (13) Steering (70) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Exterior Lighting (20) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Visibility (19)
Engine (35) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (1) Suspension (65) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (40) Tires (48) Wheels (49)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/25/2015 - GREAT FALLS, MT
THERE ARE SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE 1. STEERING- THE ELECTRIC STEERING MAKES THIS VEHICLE HARD TO MAINTAIN A STRAIGHT LINE ON THE FREEWAY. THE AUTO STEERING OR SELF CORRECTING STEERING IS DANGEROUS AND SHOULD HAVE AN OFF SWITCH. 2.TRACTION CONTROL- THE TRACTION CONTROL IS DANGEROUS IN ICE,SNOW AND RAIN. IT HAS THE OPPOSITE EFFECT IN THESE CONDITIONS, IT WOULD SAFER AND WOULD HAVE MORE CONTROL IF IT IS SIMPLY TURNED OFF. 3. STALLING- THE VEHICLE STALLS VERY EASY, BUT I BELIEVE IT DUE TO SAVING GAS AT IDLE WITH LOWER RPM. (MANUAL TRANSMISSION) REQUIRES MORE GAS WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP THAN ANY VEHICLE I'VE HAVE OWNED. 4. TPS- TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR NEVER WORKS ALWAYS SAYS THERE IS AN ISSUE EVEN AFTER REPLACING SENSORS. THESE PROBLEMS ARE CONSTANT SINCE PURCHASE!

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2015 - ARLINGTON, VA
MY 2013 ELANTRA'S ENGINE RECENTLY STALLED AND NOW NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AND THE UNDERLYING PROBLEM AS EXPLAINED TO ME BY THE HYUNDAI SERVICE DEPT. SOUNDS EXTREMELY SIMILAR TO THE PROBLEMS THAT LED TO THE RECENT SONATA RECALL. HERE'S WHAT HAPPENED: I WAS SITTING AT A STOPLIGHT WHEN I HEARD A STRANGE CLICKING/KNOCKING NOISE FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO HAVE A VERY ROUGH IDLE, SHAKING NOTICEABLY. THE ENGINE THEN STALLED. AFTER ABOUT 30 SECONDS OF TRYING, I WAS ABLE TO START THE ENGINE AGAIN BUT STILL EXPERIENCED A VERY ROUGH IDLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD TURNED ON. I TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP. AFTER THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAD LOOKED AT MY CAR, THEY TOLD ME THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND THAT THEY WERE GOING TO FILE A WARRANTY CLAIM. I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE BEARINGS HAD FAILED, AND THAT WHEN THEY DON'T WORK PROPERLY TO REDUCE FRICTION IN THE ENGINE, METAL SHARDS CAN GET INTO THE ENGINE AND CAUSE PROBLEMS. AS I UNDERSTAND IT FROM READING ABOUT THE RECENT CLASS-ACTION AGAINST HYUNDAI, THIS SOUNDS VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL TO THE PROBLEMS WITH THE SONATA ENGINES THAT ULTIMATELY LED TO THE RECALL. I AM STILL WAITING TO HEAR ABOUT THE WARRANTY (I'M STILL UNDER THE FULL 5 YEAR/60K MILES CPO WARRANTY), BUT WANTED TO REPORT THIS ISSUE SINCE WHAT I'VE BEEN TOLD IS SO SIMILAR TO THE ISSUES WITH THE SONATA ENGINES. IF THE WARRANTY CLAIM IS DENIED, I PLAN TO REQUEST DOCUMENTATION OF THE PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE AND WILL BE HAPPY TO PROVIDE THEM TO NHTSA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/2/2015 - MOUNTAINVIEW, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED DURING RAIN, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE BRAKES AND THERE WAS A INCREASE IN STOPPING DISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

11/19/2015 - SYLMAR, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA EQUIPPED WITH HANKOOK OPTIMO H426 TIRES, SIZE: P215/45R15 (NA). AFTER INSPECTING THE TIRES, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED BUBBLES ON THE SIDEWALLS OF THE TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE WAS THE ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE OF THE VEHICLE AND TIRE WAS 29,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/9/2015 - LENEXA, KS
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR ON UNEVEN ROADWAYS THE REAR OF THE CAR LIKES TO FISH TAIL..IE POT HOLES, ROUGH ROADS ETC.. THE FRONT OF THE CAR ALWAYS WANTS TO SWAY BACK AND FORTH ON ANY TYPE TO ROAD SURFACE AS IT FELLS LIKE THE CAR IS NOT CONNECTED TO THE ROAD. WINDY DAYS ARE EVEN WORST AND PASSING SEMI'S IS JUST AS BAD. YOU CONSISTENTLY HAVE TO FIGHT WITH THE STEERING WHEEL AND IT SEEMS TO BE A UNSAFE CAR. WE NEED A RECALL TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM...ALSO MY STEERING WHEEL IS MAKING A KNOCKING SOUND AND POPS WHEN TURNING AND IT HAPPENS ALL DAY LONG

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/9/2015 - LENEXA, KS
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR ON UNEVEN ROADWAYS THE REAR OF THE CAR LIKES TO FISH TAIL..IE POT HOLES, ROUGH ROADS ETC.. THE FRONT OF THE CAR ALWAYS WANTS TO SWAY BACK AND FORTH ON ANY TYPE TO ROAD SURFACE AS IT FELLS LIKE THE CAR IS NOT CONNECTED TO THE ROAD. WINDY DAYS ARE EVEN WORST AND PASSING SEMI'S IS JUST AS BAD. YOU CONSISTENTLY HAVE TO FIGHT WITH THE STEERING WHEEL AND IT SEEMS TO BE A UNSAFE CAR. WE NEED A RECALL TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM...ALSO MY STEERING WHEEL IS MAKING A KNOCKING SOUND AND POPS WHEN TURNING AND IT HAPPENS ALL DAY LONG

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/8/2015 - CARLSBAD, CA
CAR STARTS BUT WON'T STAY ON, NEW BATTERY INSTALLED, STILL DOESN'T TURN ON, IN GARAGE AND IS BEING TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. WINDOWSHIED FOG CONSTANTLY, AND ALL F A SUDDEN AFTER 10 MINUTES AND ONLY WAY TO DEFOG---OPEN WINDOWS., HAPPENS EVERY AM AS DRIVING TO WORK ON FREEWAY OR HOME AT NIGHTS. THE CAR IS WELL MAINTAINED. GAS MILEAGE IS NOT 33 MILES PER GALLON. DISAPPOINTED. ALSO SUN ROOF DOESN'T CLOSE, WAS FIXED, AND STILL DOESN'T CLOSE ALL THE WAY WITHOUT ME DOING FANCY MANEUVER WITH SWITCH. CONCERNED- MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE!!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/8/2015 - CARLSBAD, CA
CAR STARTS BUT WON'T STAY ON, NEW BATTERY INSTALLED, STILL DOESN'T TURN ON, IN GARAGE AND IS BEING TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. WINDOWSHIED FOG CONSTANTLY, AND ALL F A SUDDEN AFTER 10 MINUTES AND ONLY WAY TO DEFOG---OPEN WINDOWS., HAPPENS EVERY AM AS DRIVING TO WORK ON FREEWAY OR HOME AT NIGHTS. THE CAR IS WELL MAINTAINED. GAS MILEAGE IS NOT 33 MILES PER GALLON. DISAPPOINTED. ALSO SUN ROOF DOESN'T CLOSE, WAS FIXED, AND STILL DOESN'T CLOSE ALL THE WAY WITHOUT ME DOING FANCY MANEUVER WITH SWITCH. CONCERNED- MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/8/2015 - CARLSBAD, CA
CAR STARTS BUT WON'T STAY ON, NEW BATTERY INSTALLED, STILL DOESN'T TURN ON, IN GARAGE AND IS BEING TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. WINDOWSHIED FOG CONSTANTLY, AND ALL F A SUDDEN AFTER 10 MINUTES AND ONLY WAY TO DEFOG---OPEN WINDOWS., HAPPENS EVERY AM AS DRIVING TO WORK ON FREEWAY OR HOME AT NIGHTS. THE CAR IS WELL MAINTAINED. GAS MILEAGE IS NOT 33 MILES PER GALLON. DISAPPOINTED. ALSO SUN ROOF DOESN'T CLOSE, WAS FIXED, AND STILL DOESN'T CLOSE ALL THE WAY WITHOUT ME DOING FANCY MANEUVER WITH SWITCH. CONCERNED- MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE!!

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2015 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
I OWN A HYUNDAI 2013 ELANTRA AND I HAVE HAD SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THIS CAR. THE CAR HAS SEVERAL TIMES REFUSED TO START AND THE BREAK PAD GETS STUCK AND I CAN'T MOVE THE CAR OUT OF PARK. I'VE HAD TO CALL THE TOW TRUCK SEVERAL TIMES AND THE ONLY WAY TO MAKE THE CAR START AGAIN IS TO MANUALLY SHIFT IT INTO NEUTRAL. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD, THE CAR ALMOST RAN OVER ME, ONCE WHEN I DIDNT APPLY THE EMERGENCY BREAK ON WHEN THE PERSON WAS MANUALLY PUTTING THE CAR IN NEUTRAL!!!! ADDITIONALLY, THE CAR SHAKES. I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP AND BECAUSE IT WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY THEY INSPECTED IT. ONCE I CAME BACK THEY SAID THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, AND THAT THE SHAKING WAS DUE TO THE POWER OF THE MOTOR, THAT I NEEDED TO GET USE TO IT!! I'VE HAD TO ALSO REPLACE MY TIRES BECAUSE THEY SEEM TO WEAR OFF, AND I CAN'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE OVER ANYTHING WITHOUT SWERVING. I'VE HAD THE CAR ALIGNED AND MY CAR STILL SWERVES/PULLS TO THE LEFT! THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ON THIS CAR!! I CANT GET MY CAR FIXED BECAUSE THE DEALERSHIP CANT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT! I AM NOW STUCK MAKING CAR PAYMENTS TO A LEMON CAR! I'VE HAD TWO ACCIDENTS ON THIS CAR ALREADY ONE I REPORTED TO THE MY INSURANCE AND THEY WERE ABLE TO FIX IT. THERE WAS A TIRE ON THE HIGHWAY AND I WAS TOO SCARE TO SWIRVE THE CAR TO AVOID IT BECAUSE I KNOW THE CAR CANT HANDLE SOMETHING LIKE THAT. SO I HAD TO GET THE IMPACT OF IT. PLEASE RECALL THIS CAR!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds