Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (15) Seats (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (14) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (8) Power Train (1) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (22)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2014 - WAUWATOSA, WI
ELANTRA GT TWO ISSUES RELATED TO BODY INTEGRITY AND PAINT. NOTICED TODAY ON REAR THE SMALL TRIANGLE WINDOW IN BACK HAS CHROME/METAL DECORATIVE MOLDING MISSING. CLEAR THE ADHESIVE GAVE WAY. CAR IS ONLY HAND-WASHED OR GOES THRU TOUCH-FREE CAR WASH. 5 SPOTS ON DIFFERENT PLACES ON THE CAR OF PAINT, SIZE OF THE HEAD OF A Q-TIP, REMOVED. NOT RELATED TO SCRATCHES, PAINT CLEARLY LOOKS PEELED NOT CHIPPED. LOCATIONS INCLUDE ON HATCHDOOR, SIDE PANELS, BETWEEN DOOR AND ROOF, AND HOOD. CAR IS IN A GARAGE AT HOME AND PARKING STRUCTURE AT WORK WITH LIMITED OUTSIDE EXPOSURE. BOTH ISSUES ARE INSANE FOR A CAR WITH 14,826 MILES ON IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/10/2014 - CAMILLUS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED INTO A STEEL BRIDGE SUPPORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE IMPACTED THE STEEL SUPPORT. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEFT SHOULDER AND A PASSENGER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE BACK AND LEFT SHOULDER. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 900.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/27/2014 - PAWTUCKET, RI
THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THE GRINDING OF THE FRONT BRAKES ON MY 2013 ELANTRA COUPE FROM THE DAY I DROVE IT OFF THE LOT AND NOW IT IS 15 MONTHS LATER AND 12653 MILES LATER AND 5 TRIPS BACK TO THE DEALER TO GET IT FIXED, 1ST THEY SAID THEY TURNED THE ROTORS, 2ND THEY SAID THEY BALANCED THE WHEELS, 3RD THEY SAID THEY ALIGNED THE FRONT END, 4TH THEY SAID IT WAS A DUST PLATE, AND 5TH THEY SAID IT IS NORMAL. I WENT TO A DIFFERENT DEALER THEY SAID HYUNDAI HAD MADE NEW SOFTER PADS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. I SENT AN E-MAIL TO HYUNDAI CUSTOMER CONNECT CENTER CONSUMER AFFAIRS, THEY SAID TO BRING IT BACK TO THE DEALER. ..UPDATED 04-16-14

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2014 - MACON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WAS POWERED ON FOR APPROXIMATELY 20 MINUTES WHEN DARK GRAY SMOKE BEGAN BILLOWING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AREA. THE VEHICLE QUICKLY BECAME ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE, NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,200. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/21/2014 - LOS ANGELES, , CA
VEHICLE OWNER SMELLED A BURNING TYPE SMELL ON A COLD DAY WHEN HAVING THE HEATER ON FULL TO WARM THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO OBVIOUS SMOKE OR FIRE. THE SECOND TIME THE VEHICLE OWNER HAD THE HEATER ON FULL TO WARM THE CAR, A FIRE RESULTED. THE FIRE CAUSED SO MUCH DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE THAT THE INITAL CAUSE IS UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/21/2014 - LOS ANGELES, , CA
VEHICLE OWNER SMELLED A BURNING TYPE SMELL ON A COLD DAY WHEN HAVING THE HEATER ON FULL TO WARM THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO OBVIOUS SMOKE OR FIRE. THE SECOND TIME THE VEHICLE OWNER HAD THE HEATER ON FULL TO WARM THE CAR, A FIRE RESULTED. THE FIRE CAUSED SO MUCH DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE THAT THE INITAL CAUSE IS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/20/2014 - MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MN
WIPER FLUID PRESSURE AND DIRECTION IS NOT ADEQUATE TO CLEAR WINDSHIELD DURING WINTER DRIVING CONDITIONS. THE MAJORITY OF THE FLUID NEVER CONTACTS THE WIPERS BEFORE RUNNING OFF TO THE SIDE. INVER GROVE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP LOOKED AT THIS PROBLEM ON TWO OCCASIONS. ON THE FIRST VISIT, THE TECHNICIAN WHO DROVE THE CAR AGREED THERE WAS A PROBLEM. THEY SHIMMED THE NOZZLES AND TOLD ME TO BRING IT BACK IF NOT IMPROVED. I BROUGHT IT BACK AGAIN BECAUSE I SAW NO IMPROVEMENT AND THE PROBLEM WAS GETTING WORSE WITH THE COLD WEATHER. I TOLD THEM I FELD IT WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE RESPONSE ON THE SECOND VISIT WAS, AFTER FLUSHING THE SYSTEM, THE WIPER FLUID WAS PERFORMING SIMILAR TO OTHER ELANTRAS AND, SINCE THERE ARE NO ADJUSTMENTS TO MAKE, THERE WAS NOTHING FURTHER THEY COULD DO. THEY WOULD NOT SAY IF THEY AGREED THERE WAS A PROBLEM OR NOT. THEY REFERRED ME TO CORPORATE HYUNDAI. THEIR REP LOOKED AT THE VIDEO REFERENCED BELOW AND GAVE ME THE SAME RESPONSE AS THE DEALERSHIP. THE DISMISSED MY CONCERNS AND GAVE ME NO RECOURSE. HERE IS THE LINK TO THE VIDEO THAT SHOWS THE WIPER FLUID UNDER-SHOOTING THE WIPER BLADES, TAKEN FEB 7 AFTER MY SECOND VISIT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DRIVER SIDE IS PARTICULARLY BAD ON THIS OCCASION BUT BOTH ARE EFFECTED AND PERFORMANCE SEEMS TO VARY DEPENDING ON AIR TEMPERATURE AND SPEED: HTTP://YOUTU.BE/K4_XJ-VYLCC

View Details

STEERING

2/13/2014 - BARBOURSVILLE, VA
WHILE DRIVING ACROSS A BRIDGE, THE CAR'S REAR WILL LURCH TO ONE SIDE AND THEN BACK AGAIN. IT ALSO HAPPENS ON ROUGH ROADS. THERE IS ONE PARTICULAR BRIDGE THAT I HATE DRIVING OVER BECAUSE I KNOW IT WILL HAPPEN. I FEAR THAT IF THIS HAPPENS IN SLIPPERY CONDITIONS, I'LL LOSE CONTROL. READING FROM OTHERS COMMENTS, IT DOESN'T APPEAR HYUNDAI WILL DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. MY 2007 DIDN'T HAVE THIS ISSUE. I'M ALSO HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE MAKING A GRINDING NOISE ON START UP. THERE ARE YOUTUBE VIDS THAT SHOW IT TOO. THE BRAKES MAKE A HORRIBLE GRINDING NOISE. ALSO THE CAR IS DIFFICULT TO KEEP IN A STRAIGHT LINE, YOU CONSTANTLY HAVE TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS. I'VE HAD MANY CARS, NEVER THESE KINDS OF ISSUES. A REAL DISAPPOINTMENT. WISH I HAD KEPT MY 2007 ELANTRA.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/13/2014 - BARBOURSVILLE, VA
WHILE DRIVING ACROSS A BRIDGE, THE CAR'S REAR WILL LURCH TO ONE SIDE AND THEN BACK AGAIN. IT ALSO HAPPENS ON ROUGH ROADS. THERE IS ONE PARTICULAR BRIDGE THAT I HATE DRIVING OVER BECAUSE I KNOW IT WILL HAPPEN. I FEAR THAT IF THIS HAPPENS IN SLIPPERY CONDITIONS, I'LL LOSE CONTROL. READING FROM OTHERS COMMENTS, IT DOESN'T APPEAR HYUNDAI WILL DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. MY 2007 DIDN'T HAVE THIS ISSUE. I'M ALSO HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE MAKING A GRINDING NOISE ON START UP. THERE ARE YOUTUBE VIDS THAT SHOW IT TOO. THE BRAKES MAKE A HORRIBLE GRINDING NOISE. ALSO THE CAR IS DIFFICULT TO KEEP IN A STRAIGHT LINE, YOU CONSTANTLY HAVE TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS. I'VE HAD MANY CARS, NEVER THESE KINDS OF ISSUES. A REAL DISAPPOINTMENT. WISH I HAD KEPT MY 2007 ELANTRA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THIS CAR IS EQUIPPED WITH DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS, BUT THERE IS NO WAY TO TURN THEM ON WITHOUT ALSO TURNING ON THE PARKING LIGHTS. WHEN THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS AND PARKING LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED, THE TAILLIGHTS ARE ON AND THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER IS DIMMED SO THAT IT IS DIFFICULT TO READ. THIS CREATES AN UNSAFE AND IN SOME STATES (CALIFORNIA AND OTHERS) ILLEGAL SITUATION IF THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS ARE TURNED ON.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds