Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 228 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Exterior Lighting (17) Seats (1) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (36) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (25) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (16) Power Train (4) Steering (49) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (42)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/11/2014 - LAGRANGE, NC
CAR LOOSELY STEERED BARELY OFF ROAD, 1/8 MILE FROM HOME,BUMPED TREE 15' AWAY, BACKED UP, ENGINE SHUT OFF (AS USUAL SINCE DAY 2 OF LEASE), WINDSHIELD HEATED TO OVER 150 DEGREE'S IN 35 DEGREE WEATHER, SO I VACATED CAR, WHICH WAS IN FLAMES 2-3 MINUTES AND BURNED TO ASH..HAD 5 MONTHS, DAILY PROBLEMS, BATTERY, FUSES, IGNITION, NUMEROUS CALLS TO DEALER, SHOP, NO HELP, COULD EASILY HAVE DIED IN FIRETRAP ALIVE, CAR DOVE ITSELF, WHEN & WHERE IT PLEASED, AND WAS UNCONTROLLABLE.EVEN HYUNDAI MOTOR FINANCE HAS NOT PAID ON GAP COVERAGE IN 11 MONTHS, RUINING MY CREDIT TO BOOT, AND WAS OVER FINANCED PAST LEGAL LIMITS, ON A TOTAL NEW LEMON AND NOT ONLY WAS CAR NOT REPLACED AS PROMISED,I CANNOT GET A RESPONSE FROM HYUNDAI, OR HYUNDAI FINANCE.,THIS WAS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE, AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE TO NEVER PURCHASE A HYUNDAI PRODUCT. YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED.AND LOSE YOUR FRANCHISE LICENSE.I WILL HAVE TO SUE TO EVER BEGIN TO BE COMPENSATED FOR ALL YOU HAVE DONE TO ME, AND BECAUSE OF YOUR PRODUCT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2014 - WEST SENECA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AFTER ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED IN THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE., THE DRIVER SUSTAINED UNKNOWN INJURIES WHICH HE RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION ON THE SCENE AND WAS LATER TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/22/2014 - UTICA, NY
UPON HITTING A BUMP OR UNEVEN ROADWAY CAR( 25 MPH AND ABOVE)FEELS LIKE IT LOOSES CONTACT WITH ROADWAY AND BECOMES UNCONTROLLABLE.BY FAR THE WORST SUSPENSION IN A VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED.IF ON HIGHWAY YOU BETTER BE DOUBLE FISTED AND WHITE KNUCKLED HOLDING ON TO STEERING WHEEL BECAUSE CAR WILL BE ALL OVER THE PLACE IF YOU HIT A RIDGE OR UNEVENESS IN ROAD.THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT IS OUT OF CONTROL(VERY SCARY),SO MUCH SO THAT ANY PASSENGERS IN VEHICLE ALSO FEELS IT AND GRABS HOLD OF SOMETHING FOR STABILITY.I HAVE OWNED 3 NEW HYUNDAIS,THIS IS THE FIRST WITH THIS ISSUE.HAVE BEEN HOPING FOR A RECALL OR ADMISSION OF KNOWN PROBLEM BUT CANNOT WAIT ANY LONGER, VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND I REFUSE TO BE FIRST FATALITY BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS.AT SOME POINT SOMEONE IS GOING TO OVER CORRECT WHEN THEY FEEL THIS ON HIGHWAY AND THAT WILL NOT END WELL.SO I NOW HAVE A VEHICLE THAT HAS 16,000 MILES AND IS NOT SAFE ENOUGH WHERE I WILL LET MY WIFE OR CHILDREN DRIVE IT.NO MORE HYUNDAIS FOR ME!

View Details

STEERING

10/22/2014 - UTICA, NY
UPON HITTING A BUMP OR UNEVEN ROADWAY CAR( 25 MPH AND ABOVE)FEELS LIKE IT LOOSES CONTACT WITH ROADWAY AND BECOMES UNCONTROLLABLE.BY FAR THE WORST SUSPENSION IN A VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED.IF ON HIGHWAY YOU BETTER BE DOUBLE FISTED AND WHITE KNUCKLED HOLDING ON TO STEERING WHEEL BECAUSE CAR WILL BE ALL OVER THE PLACE IF YOU HIT A RIDGE OR UNEVENESS IN ROAD.THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT IS OUT OF CONTROL(VERY SCARY),SO MUCH SO THAT ANY PASSENGERS IN VEHICLE ALSO FEELS IT AND GRABS HOLD OF SOMETHING FOR STABILITY.I HAVE OWNED 3 NEW HYUNDAIS,THIS IS THE FIRST WITH THIS ISSUE.HAVE BEEN HOPING FOR A RECALL OR ADMISSION OF KNOWN PROBLEM BUT CANNOT WAIT ANY LONGER, VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND I REFUSE TO BE FIRST FATALITY BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THIS.AT SOME POINT SOMEONE IS GOING TO OVER CORRECT WHEN THEY FEEL THIS ON HIGHWAY AND THAT WILL NOT END WELL.SO I NOW HAVE A VEHICLE THAT HAS 16,000 MILES AND IS NOT SAFE ENOUGH WHERE I WILL LET MY WIFE OR CHILDREN DRIVE IT.NO MORE HYUNDAIS FOR ME!

View Details

WHEELS

10/19/2014 - SAINT PETERS, MO
OUR ELANTRA BEGAN MAKING GRINDING NOISES WHEN WE PRESSED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE BRAKES OR ROTOR WERE DEFECTIVE. WHEN THE SHOP INSPECTED THE CAR, THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE NOISE, AND TOLD US THE CAR WAS IN PERFECT SHAPE. OVER THE NEXT FEW MONTHS, THE NOISE BECAME LOUDER WHEN BRAKING, PLUS IT BEGAN MAKING A WHUMP-WHUMP-WHUMP NOISE THAT APPEARED TO BE DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE SPEED AND ROTATION OF THE WHEELS. THE SOUND WOULD INCREASE WHEN WE STEERED THE CAR TO THE RIGHT, AND WOULD DECREASE WHEN WE STEERED LEFT. THE WHUMPS WERE BARELY AUDIBLE AT 5 MPH, BUT WERE OVERLY LOUD AT 40 MPH. I THOUGHT IT WAS PLASTIC TRIM FLUTTERING IN THE WIND, BUT COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING LOOSE. WHEN WE TOOK IT TO THE SHOP AGAIN, I THINK IN AUGUST, I TOLD THEM THE CAR WAS NOT DRIVABLE THAT THEY NEEDED TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS CAUSING THE WHUMP NOISES AND THE GRINDING NOISES WHEN WE APPLIED THE BRAKES. THIS TIME THEY FOUND THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THE BOLT HOLDING THE LEFT WHEEL COMING UNSCREWED. THEY TIGHTENED THE BOLT UNDER WARRANTY REPAIR SERVICE, AND THE CAR HAS NOT MADE THE WHUMP NOISE OR HAD GRINDING BRAKES SINCE THE REPAIR. I DOUBT THIS PROBLEM WAS LIMITED TO ONE CAR IN THE FLEET, AND I BELIEVE HYUNDAI SHOULD HAVE ISSUED AN ADVISORY TO THEIR SHOP MANAGERS TO BE WATCHING FOR THIS PROBLEM SO THAT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN FOUND AND CORRECTED THE FIRST TIME THAT WE TOOK THE CAR IN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/19/2014 - SAINT PETERS, MO
OUR ELANTRA BEGAN MAKING GRINDING NOISES WHEN WE PRESSED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL THAT SOUNDED LIKE THE BRAKES OR ROTOR WERE DEFECTIVE. WHEN THE SHOP INSPECTED THE CAR, THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE NOISE, AND TOLD US THE CAR WAS IN PERFECT SHAPE. OVER THE NEXT FEW MONTHS, THE NOISE BECAME LOUDER WHEN BRAKING, PLUS IT BEGAN MAKING A WHUMP-WHUMP-WHUMP NOISE THAT APPEARED TO BE DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE SPEED AND ROTATION OF THE WHEELS. THE SOUND WOULD INCREASE WHEN WE STEERED THE CAR TO THE RIGHT, AND WOULD DECREASE WHEN WE STEERED LEFT. THE WHUMPS WERE BARELY AUDIBLE AT 5 MPH, BUT WERE OVERLY LOUD AT 40 MPH. I THOUGHT IT WAS PLASTIC TRIM FLUTTERING IN THE WIND, BUT COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING LOOSE. WHEN WE TOOK IT TO THE SHOP AGAIN, I THINK IN AUGUST, I TOLD THEM THE CAR WAS NOT DRIVABLE THAT THEY NEEDED TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS CAUSING THE WHUMP NOISES AND THE GRINDING NOISES WHEN WE APPLIED THE BRAKES. THIS TIME THEY FOUND THE PROBLEM WAS CAUSED BY THE BOLT HOLDING THE LEFT WHEEL COMING UNSCREWED. THEY TIGHTENED THE BOLT UNDER WARRANTY REPAIR SERVICE, AND THE CAR HAS NOT MADE THE WHUMP NOISE OR HAD GRINDING BRAKES SINCE THE REPAIR. I DOUBT THIS PROBLEM WAS LIMITED TO ONE CAR IN THE FLEET, AND I BELIEVE HYUNDAI SHOULD HAVE ISSUED AN ADVISORY TO THEIR SHOP MANAGERS TO BE WATCHING FOR THIS PROBLEM SO THAT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN FOUND AND CORRECTED THE FIRST TIME THAT WE TOOK THE CAR IN.

View Details

WHEELS

10/14/2014 - PEARLAND, TX
MY DAUGHTER HAS A HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2013 WITH 6700 MILES, SHE WAS DRIVING AT 60MPH ON A FREEWAY AND HER PASSENGER FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT. SHE LOST CONTROL AND RAN INTO THE CONCRETE BARRIER ON THE FREEWAY. SHE HAS FRAME AND BODY DAMAGE TO HER FRONT END. THANK GOD SHE IS OK EXCEPT FOR HER COLLAR BONE AREA BEING BRUISED FROM HER SEAT BELT. SHE DID NOT HIT ANYTHING BEFORE THE BLOW OUT. SHE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT. NO TIRE WITH ONLY 6700MILES SHOULD HAVE A BLOW OUT LIKE THIS ONE DID. THE CAR HAS NEXEN CP671 TIRES. I AM WAITING ON NEXEN TIRE COMPANY TO CALL ME BACK. HYUNDAI REALLY HAS NOT OFFERED ANY HELP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/13/2014 - HOCKESSIN, DE
MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA LIMITED HAS THE SWERVING PROBLEM. ANY TIME I'M ON AN UNEVEN PATCH OF ROAD OR A BUMP, IT'S LIKE I LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR. YOU HAVE TO KEEP 2 HANDS ON THE WHEEL AT ALL TIMES TO TRY & KEEP SOME CONTROL. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DOING MY WEEKLY DRIVE FROM DE TO NY!!

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2014 - HOCKESSIN, DE
MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA LIMITED HAS THE SWERVING PROBLEM. ANY TIME I'M ON AN UNEVEN PATCH OF ROAD OR A BUMP, IT'S LIKE I LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR. YOU HAVE TO KEEP 2 HANDS ON THE WHEEL AT ALL TIMES TO TRY & KEEP SOME CONTROL. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DOING MY WEEKLY DRIVE FROM DE TO NY!!

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/9/2014 - LAWNDALE, NC
I BOUGHT MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GT ON SEPTEMBER 12, 2014, IT HAD 41053 MILES ON IT. AS I LEFT THE DEALERSHIP IT WAS RAINING VERY HARD AND I NOTICED THAT IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO KEEP THE CAR IN MY LANE; MY CAR WAS PULLING TO THE RIGHT, NOT ONLY THAT, I HIT A BUMP OR MANHOLE AND THE BAD END OF THE CAR FISHTAILED SO BAD THAT I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO HIT THE CAR THAT WAS IN THE RIGHT LANE. I WAS DRIVING A FEW DAYS LATER, I HIT ANOTHER POTHOLE AND THE CAR DID THAT SAME THING BUT THIS TIME THE ROADS WERE DRY. AT THIS POINT, I REALIZE THAT THE FIRST INCIDENT HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ROADS BEING WET, IT WAS THE SUSPENSION ON THE CAR THAT'S CAUSES THE CAR TO PULL TO ONE SIDE AND FOR IT TO FISHTAIL THE WAY IT DOES. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND I REALIZED THAT HYUNDAI OWNERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR QUITE SOMETIME BUT THE HYUNDAI CORPORATION FAILS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS AS A PROBLEM; THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. TO BE HONEST, I'M A LITTLE FRIGHTEN TO DRIVE MY CAR; HYUNDAI CORPORATION NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A SUSPENSION PROBLEM WITH THE MAKE AND MODEL AND THEY NEED TO DO SOMETHING TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM ASAP BEFORE SOMEONE LOSES THEIR LIFE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds