Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 359 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (41) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (13) Steering (70) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Exterior Lighting (20) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Visibility (20)
Engine (37) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (68) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (41) Tires (48) Wheels (52)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

2/1/2016 - DEMING, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MAKE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BEARINGS IN THE VEHICLE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/29/2016 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I WAS BRAKING TO MAKE A TURN ON A AN ICY ROAD WHEN THE BRAKES MADE A LOUD GRINDING SOUND AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD NOT PRESS IN PROPERLY - SORT OF LIKE IT WAS FIGHTING BACK. I THOUGHT IT WAS A RESPONSE BY ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL BECAUSE OF THE ICE, BUT THEN LATER THE SAME DAY, SLOWING DOWN AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT THE SAME SOUND OCCURRED AGAIN ON A COMPLETELY DRY ROAD SURFACE. THE SOUND CONTINUED WHILE BRAKING FOR THE REST OF THE TRIP WHILE BRAKING ON DRY ROADS. I EVEN TRIED PRESSING THE BRAKES WITH DIFFERENT FORCE - LIGHTLY AND SUDDENLY - TO THE SAME RESULT. STOPPING DISTANCE AND BRAKING QUALITY WERE COMPROMISED - IT DEFINITELY TOOK ME LONGER TO STOP SO I AM VERY THANKFUL I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THIS OCCURRED. I WILL ALSO NOTE THAT THE SOUND OCCURS TOWARDS THE END OF A LONG DRIVE (APPROXIMATELY AN HOUR), NOT RUNNING BRIEF ERRANDS. SO IT IS AS IF THE CAR MUST BE RUNNING HOT FIRST AND THEN THE ISSUE REPLICATES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/4/2016 - DOYLESTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE RAN OVER A CURB INTO THE HIGHWAY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/2/2016 - WESTON, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON SINCE DECEMBER 23RD 2015, I WENT TO THE RICK CASE HYUNDAI DEALER IN DAVIE, FL AND THEY TOLD ME THE WARRANTY EXPIRES??, HOW COME A WARRANTY FOR A MECHANIC PART THAT IS NOT IN USE, MEAN THE AIRBAGS HAVE NEVER BEEN DEPLOYED, CAN EXPIRE??, I AM VERY CONCERN FOR MY WIFE, DAUGHTER AND ME SAFETY AND AFRAID TO USE THE CAR FOR LONG TRIPS.

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2015 - KNOTTS ISLAND, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS HIGH SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME INOPERABLE WHICH RESULTED IN THE VEHICLE SWERVING WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/28/2015 - BRICK, NJ
2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA ON DECEMBER 24, 2013, THE VEHICLE WAS BEING OPERATED ON A ROAD WITH A 35 MPH SPEED LIMIT. WITHOUT ANY DEVIATION OF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE JUMPED TO 60 MPH. WHILE AT THE SUBSEQUENT STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE'S RPM'S REMAINED HIGH (APPROXIMATELY OVER 5,500 RPM). THE ELANTRA WAS THEN DRIVEN TO A HOME DEPOT PARKING LOT. UPON RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, RPM'S CLIMBED TO 5,000 (WHILE IN "PARK"). NO OTHER MODULES WERE BEING USED AT THIS TIME - INCLUDING CRUISE CONTROL OR "ECO BOOST." THE VEHICLE'S RPM RATE REMAINED AT AROUND 2,500-3,000 ONCE PUT INTO "DRIVE", RESULTING IN THE SPEED REACHING APPROXIMATELY 20-25 MPH. THIS IS WITHOUT THE FOOT ON THE ACCELERATOR AND TRAVELING OVER SMALL HILLS AND GRADE VARIANTS. SUMMARY: WHILE 2013 ELANTRA IS IN PARK, RPM'S REST AT 5,000. WHILE IN DRIVE, RPM''S BOTTOM OUT AT 2,500-3,000, DISALLOWING THE ABILITY TO NATURALLY STOP. THIS ISSUE APPEARS TO RESIDE IN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE COMPONENTS LOCATED THEREIN. THIS IS TO BE CONFIRMED AT A HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER.

View Details

WHEELS

12/27/2015 - PERRY, OH
NO SPARE TIRE , NO JACK OR TIRE IRON.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/27/2015 - PERRY, OH
NO SPARE TIRE , NO JACK OR TIRE IRON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/25/2015 - GREAT FALLS, MT
THERE ARE SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE 1. STEERING- THE ELECTRIC STEERING MAKES THIS VEHICLE HARD TO MAINTAIN A STRAIGHT LINE ON THE FREEWAY. THE AUTO STEERING OR SELF CORRECTING STEERING IS DANGEROUS AND SHOULD HAVE AN OFF SWITCH. 2.TRACTION CONTROL- THE TRACTION CONTROL IS DANGEROUS IN ICE,SNOW AND RAIN. IT HAS THE OPPOSITE EFFECT IN THESE CONDITIONS, IT WOULD SAFER AND WOULD HAVE MORE CONTROL IF IT IS SIMPLY TURNED OFF. 3. STALLING- THE VEHICLE STALLS VERY EASY, BUT I BELIEVE IT DUE TO SAVING GAS AT IDLE WITH LOWER RPM. (MANUAL TRANSMISSION) REQUIRES MORE GAS WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP THAN ANY VEHICLE I'VE HAVE OWNED. 4. TPS- TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR NEVER WORKS ALWAYS SAYS THERE IS AN ISSUE EVEN AFTER REPLACING SENSORS. THESE PROBLEMS ARE CONSTANT SINCE PURCHASE!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/25/2015 - GREAT FALLS, MT
THERE ARE SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE 1. STEERING- THE ELECTRIC STEERING MAKES THIS VEHICLE HARD TO MAINTAIN A STRAIGHT LINE ON THE FREEWAY. THE AUTO STEERING OR SELF CORRECTING STEERING IS DANGEROUS AND SHOULD HAVE AN OFF SWITCH. 2.TRACTION CONTROL- THE TRACTION CONTROL IS DANGEROUS IN ICE,SNOW AND RAIN. IT HAS THE OPPOSITE EFFECT IN THESE CONDITIONS, IT WOULD SAFER AND WOULD HAVE MORE CONTROL IF IT IS SIMPLY TURNED OFF. 3. STALLING- THE VEHICLE STALLS VERY EASY, BUT I BELIEVE IT DUE TO SAVING GAS AT IDLE WITH LOWER RPM. (MANUAL TRANSMISSION) REQUIRES MORE GAS WHEN STARTING FROM A STOP THAN ANY VEHICLE I'VE HAVE OWNED. 4. TPS- TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR NEVER WORKS ALWAYS SAYS THERE IS AN ISSUE EVEN AFTER REPLACING SENSORS. THESE PROBLEMS ARE CONSTANT SINCE PURCHASE!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds