Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 206 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (17) Seats (1) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (26) Suspension (32) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (22) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (15) Power Train (4) Steering (42) Unknown Or Other (13) Wheels (37)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2014 - ALTADENA, CA
TRANSMISSION MADE A LOUD SCRAPING NOISE AS I STARTED OUT FROM A STOP. IT WAS HARD TO GET THE CAR GOING, BUT I GOT THE CAR TO GO A SHORT DISTANCE (ABOUT 1/4 MILE) BUT IT WAS TOO DIFFICULT TO DRIVE. WHEN I PULLED OVER, I HEARD THE SCRAPING AGAIN. I HAD TO CALL TWICE FOR A TOW; THE FIRST DRIVER SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG EXCEPT OIL UNDER THE CAR. I COULD NOT GET IT GOING, SO I HAD IT TOWED BY A SECOND DRIVER TO THE CLOSEST DEALER, WHO REFUSED TO CONSIDER THAT THE TRANSMISSION MIGHT HAVE A PROBLEM AND THE FLUID MIGHT BE FROM THAT. HE REFUSED TO CHECK THE CAR UNLESS I PAID $110 UPFRONT. SINCE HE HAD TAKEN OUT THE OIL FILTER, I TOLD HIM TO CHANGE THE OIL; THEY FINALLY DID AFTER SOME TIME AND THEN WHEN THET TRIED TO DRIVE IT, THEY COULD NOT GET IT TO GO MORE THAN 10 MPH, AND DECIDED IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION. THEY KEPT THE CAR AND DID NOT GIVE ME A WORK ORDER, WHICH IS CONTRARY TO CALIFORNIA STATE LAW. I HAD TO CALL THE NEXT DAY TO INSIST THAT THEY EMAIL IT TO ME. IT TOOK SEVEN DAYS FOR THE PART TO ARRIVE AND FOR THEM TO FIX THE CAR, WHICH I PICKED UP ON MARCH 5. I AM CURRENTLY HAVING PICKUP PROBLEMS IN THE LOWER GEARS (FROM 0 TO 35 MPH) WITH THE NEW TRANSMISSION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/5/2014 - GREEN FOREST, AR
COMING TO THE END OF A PASSING LANE AT ABOUT 60 MPH, CARS GOT CONGESTED, BRAKED HARD AND THE BRAKES LOCKED UP CAUSING ME TO LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR, STARTED TO GO INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I LET UP ON THE BRAKES AND BRAKED AGAIN, BRAKES LOCKED UP AS BEFORE. I THOUGHT ANTI-LOCK BRAKES PREVENTED THIS FROM HAPPENING. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWO OTHER TIMES, JUST NOT THIS BAD, PLUS WHEN I GO OVER RAILROAD TRACKS OF HIT A POTHOLE, I CAN'T USE THE BRAKES. I NOTICED THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE FACTORY HANCOCK TIRES, THEY SHOULD BE BAN FROM NEW CARS, I HAD TWO ACCIDENTS IN ONE DAY DUE TO LIGHT SNOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/30/2014 - RICKMAN, TN
WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AT A INTERSECTION AND T BONED A PICK UP TRUCK, EXSTENSIVE DAMAGE TO FRONT END OF THE ELANTRA FRONT END,[ AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY ON THE ELANTRA ] EVEN THOUGH THE WHOLE FRONT END WAS TORE OFF. DRIVER DOOR DAMAGED,WINDSHIELD CRACKED BOTH FRONT FENDERS DAMAGED, PLUS UNKNOWN IF TRANMISSION AND OR TRANSAXLE HAS BEEN DAMAGED UNTIL THE CAR CAN BE REPAIRED. HYUNDAI HAS STOP ANY REPAIRS UNTIL THEY SEND A HYUNDAI INVESTAGATOR TO LOOK AT THE CAR, WHICH THEY SAY COULD TAKE UP TO 6 TO 8 WEEKS TO CHECK IT.

View Details

WHEELS

8/30/2014 - RICKMAN, TN
WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AT A INTERSECTION AND T BONED A PICK UP TRUCK, EXSTENSIVE DAMAGE TO FRONT END OF THE ELANTRA FRONT END,[ AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY ON THE ELANTRA ] EVEN THOUGH THE WHOLE FRONT END WAS TORE OFF. DRIVER DOOR DAMAGED,WINDSHIELD CRACKED BOTH FRONT FENDERS DAMAGED, PLUS UNKNOWN IF TRANMISSION AND OR TRANSAXLE HAS BEEN DAMAGED UNTIL THE CAR CAN BE REPAIRED. HYUNDAI HAS STOP ANY REPAIRS UNTIL THEY SEND A HYUNDAI INVESTAGATOR TO LOOK AT THE CAR, WHICH THEY SAY COULD TAKE UP TO 6 TO 8 WEEKS TO CHECK IT.

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2014 - ROMEO, MI
UNABLE TO INSERT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION NO MATTER HOW HARD WE TRIED.THIS HAPPENED FAIRLY SOON AFTER WE PURCHASED THE CAR FROM THE DEALER; IT HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES AND HAS BEEN TOWED TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES, BUT THE DEALER EVENTUALLY GETS THE KEY IN THE THE IGNITION AND CLAIMS THERE IS NO PROBLEM "CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM". AT ONE INCIDENT THE DRIVE OF THE TOW TRUCK HAMMERED THE KEY QUITE HARD IN THE IGNITION AND FORCED THE KEY IN! I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDI MOTOR AND THEY SAY THEY CAN NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME AND CLAIM THAT" THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, AND I NEED TO STEER THE STEERING WHEEL REALLY HARD TO GET THE STEERING MECHANISM LOOSE" THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN WITH 6 MONTHS OLD CAR WHILE IT IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY.ANY INPUT OR ADVICE WOULD BEAPPRECIATED. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2014 - MADERA, CA
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN JUNE 2013. I HAD NO COMPLAINTS UNTIL JULY OF 2014, WHEREIN MY CAR PICKS AND CHOOSES WHEN TO START. I HAVE LOOKED ONLINE AND THERE ARE MANY OTHERS WHO SEEM TO HAVE THIS COMPLAINT. I FINALLY GAVE IN ON AUG. 24, AFTER MY CAR SAT FOR TWO DAYS BECAUSE I COULD NOT GET IT TO START. I CALLED THE HYUNDAI 24 HOUR ROADSIDE AND HAD THEM TOW IT TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER INITIALLY TRIED TO START IT, AND IT DIDN'T. HE POPPED THE BUTTON NEAREST THE TOP OF THE SHIFTER AND PRESSED IT IN, AND PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, IT THEN STARTED BUT SPUTTERED LIKE IT WANTED TO TURN OFF. HE WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR ONTO THE TOW TRUCK. THE NEXT MORNING, I SPOKE WITH THE MECHANIC AT THE DEALERSHIP WHO INDICATED THAT THE CAR WAS STARTING FOR THEM JUST FINE. HE SAID THERE ARE SO MANY SENSORS THAT IT COULD BE ONE, BUT THEY WOULDN'T KNOW WHERE TO START AS THERE ARE SO MANY AND COULD NOT MAKE AN EDUCATED GUESS. HE WANTED TO KEEP IT OVERNIGHT TO SEE IF IT WOULD ACT UP FOR THEM. IT IS NOW 2PM TWO DAYS LATER AND THE MECHANIC CLAIMS THERE IS STILL NO ISSUE, HE SAID THEY HAVE LET IT RUN ALL MORNING AND IT IS FINE. THIS HAS BECOME RIDICULOUS, ESPECIALLY WHEN I SEE SO MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT, YET NOTHING BEING DONE. HELP, NHTSA!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2014 - MADERA, CA
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN JUNE 2013. I HAD NO COMPLAINTS UNTIL JULY OF 2014, WHEREIN MY CAR PICKS AND CHOOSES WHEN TO START. I HAVE LOOKED ONLINE AND THERE ARE MANY OTHERS WHO SEEM TO HAVE THIS COMPLAINT. I FINALLY GAVE IN ON AUG. 24, AFTER MY CAR SAT FOR TWO DAYS BECAUSE I COULD NOT GET IT TO START. I CALLED THE HYUNDAI 24 HOUR ROADSIDE AND HAD THEM TOW IT TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER INITIALLY TRIED TO START IT, AND IT DIDN'T. HE POPPED THE BUTTON NEAREST THE TOP OF THE SHIFTER AND PRESSED IT IN, AND PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, IT THEN STARTED BUT SPUTTERED LIKE IT WANTED TO TURN OFF. HE WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR ONTO THE TOW TRUCK. THE NEXT MORNING, I SPOKE WITH THE MECHANIC AT THE DEALERSHIP WHO INDICATED THAT THE CAR WAS STARTING FOR THEM JUST FINE. HE SAID THERE ARE SO MANY SENSORS THAT IT COULD BE ONE, BUT THEY WOULDN'T KNOW WHERE TO START AS THERE ARE SO MANY AND COULD NOT MAKE AN EDUCATED GUESS. HE WANTED TO KEEP IT OVERNIGHT TO SEE IF IT WOULD ACT UP FOR THEM. IT IS NOW 2PM TWO DAYS LATER AND THE MECHANIC CLAIMS THERE IS STILL NO ISSUE, HE SAID THEY HAVE LET IT RUN ALL MORNING AND IT IS FINE. THIS HAS BECOME RIDICULOUS, ESPECIALLY WHEN I SEE SO MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT, YET NOTHING BEING DONE. HELP, NHTSA!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2014 - MADERA, CA
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN JUNE 2013. I HAD NO COMPLAINTS UNTIL JULY OF 2014, WHEREIN MY CAR PICKS AND CHOOSES WHEN TO START. I HAVE LOOKED ONLINE AND THERE ARE MANY OTHERS WHO SEEM TO HAVE THIS COMPLAINT. I FINALLY GAVE IN ON AUG. 24, AFTER MY CAR SAT FOR TWO DAYS BECAUSE I COULD NOT GET IT TO START. I CALLED THE HYUNDAI 24 HOUR ROADSIDE AND HAD THEM TOW IT TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER INITIALLY TRIED TO START IT, AND IT DIDN'T. HE POPPED THE BUTTON NEAREST THE TOP OF THE SHIFTER AND PRESSED IT IN, AND PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, IT THEN STARTED BUT SPUTTERED LIKE IT WANTED TO TURN OFF. HE WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR ONTO THE TOW TRUCK. THE NEXT MORNING, I SPOKE WITH THE MECHANIC AT THE DEALERSHIP WHO INDICATED THAT THE CAR WAS STARTING FOR THEM JUST FINE. HE SAID THERE ARE SO MANY SENSORS THAT IT COULD BE ONE, BUT THEY WOULDN'T KNOW WHERE TO START AS THERE ARE SO MANY AND COULD NOT MAKE AN EDUCATED GUESS. HE WANTED TO KEEP IT OVERNIGHT TO SEE IF IT WOULD ACT UP FOR THEM. IT IS NOW 2PM TWO DAYS LATER AND THE MECHANIC CLAIMS THERE IS STILL NO ISSUE, HE SAID THEY HAVE LET IT RUN ALL MORNING AND IT IS FINE. THIS HAS BECOME RIDICULOUS, ESPECIALLY WHEN I SEE SO MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME COMPLAINT, YET NOTHING BEING DONE. HELP, NHTSA!

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/20/2014 - SPARTA, WI
I PREVIOUSLY OWNED A 2012 ELANTRA AND HAD NO COMPLAINTS, I TRADED IT FOR THE 2013 AND HAVE SERIOUS CONCERNS. WHEN THE ROADS ARE DRY THE CAR DRIVES GREAT, HOWEVER WHEN THE ROADS ARE WET OR PLOWED SNOW I HAVE VERY LITTLE CONTROL OVER THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. I SPENT $800 FOR NEW SNOW TIRES HOPING THAT WOULD MAKE A DIFFERENCE BUT IT DOES NOT. I DRIVE 150 MILES PER DAY ROUND TRIP FOR WORK AND IT IS MOSTLY INTERSTATE. WHEN IT RAINS OR SNOWS I AM NOT ABLE TO SAFELY DRIVE OVER 40-50MPH WITHOUT THE REAR END SWAYING AND FISHTAILING. EVERY OTHER CAR IS TRAVELLING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND THERE I AM IN THE RIGHT LANE JUST STRUGGLING TO KEEP MY CAR ON THE ROAD AT 45MPH. I AM FRUSTRATED THAT MY HYNDAI DEALER AND THE HYUNDAI OFFICE ARE TOTALLY DISREGARDING MY SAFETY BY NOT ACKNOWLEDGING THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. KEEP IN MIND THAT THIS IS NOT A TIRE ISSUE BECAUSE THE PROBLEM EXISTS EVEN AFTER NEW SNOW TIRES ARE PUT ON THE CAR. ALSO, IT IS NOT A WINTER DRIVING ISSUE BECAUSE THE CAR REACTS THE SAME WAY WHEN IT IS RAINING OUTSIDE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - JONESTOWN, MS
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE CONTACT ACCIDENTALLY CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT AND THE PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED MINOR SCRAPES AND BRUISES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE OTHER VEHICLE'S PASSENGERS ALSO REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,200.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds