Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 388 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (45) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (19) Steering (74) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Exterior Lighting (21) Seat Belts (3) Structure (24) Visibility (20)
Engine (39) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (73) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (48) Tires (50) Wheels (56)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2016 - TOWN POINT, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,200. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/7/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
REPEATEDLY WHITE CLOUD SMOKE FROM TAIL PIPE WHEN SUDDENLY ACCELERATING FROM 20 TO 40 MILES/HR. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES NOW. SAME PROBLEM HAS BEEN ENCOUNTERED BY OTHER SAME MODEL CAR OWNERS AS I FOUND ON INTERNET. NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW THE CAUSE SOME THEORIES - OIL OR COOLANT BURNING FROM WORN-OUT VALVE RINGS, OR WATER CONDENSATION POSSIBLY FROM MUFFLER LEAKING. SEEMS OTHER HYUNDAI MODELS, SUCH AS ACCENT, HAVE ALSO SAME PROBLEM. MY CAR HAS DONE ONLY 30K MILES. OTHERS HAD SAME PROBLEM AT AS LOW AS 14K MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

8/4/2016 - FENTON, MI
ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS, MY CAR WOULD STALL OUT DURING LEFT TURNS ( MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS) AND WHILE ACCELERATING ON AN ENTRANCE RAMP. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS PRIOR TO STALLING. I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE/ DIAGNOSTICS. I WAS TOLD IT IS POSSIBLE FOR THE ELANTRA TO SUCK UP TO 1QT OF OIL PER 1000 MILES! DUE TO THE MECHANICS OF THE CAR, IT COULD STALL OUT WHILE TURNING IF LOW ON OIL. I WAS DUE FOR MY REGULAR OIL CHANGE AND IT WAS COMPLETED DURING THIS SERVICE AT WHICH TIME THEY STATED I WAS 2 QTS LOW !! IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I COME IN EVERY 2000 MILES TO HAVE IT CHECKED. MY CONCERN IS -WITHOUT WARNING LIGHTS, DO I HAVE TO STALL IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION TO LET ME KNOW MY OIL IS LOW ????

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2016 - JACKSON, TN
THE GEAR SHIFT IN AN AUTOMATIC DRIVE ELANTRA CAR WILL NOT SHIFT BACK INTO PARK OCCASSIONALY. WITH SOME TRYING IT HAS GONE BACK INTO PARK. THIS COULD BE POTENTIALLY DANGERS TO SOMEONE WHO STOPS ON A HILL AND CANNOT MANUEVER THE GEAR SHIFT BACK INTO PARK. I WAS STATIONARY ON A LEVEL LOT BOTH TIMES IT HAPPENED TO ME AND BOTH TIMES WERE IN A PARKING LOT. THIS OCCURRED 2 IN THE LAST 4 DAYS AND THE CAR HAS A LITTLE LESS THAN 75,000 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2016 - MONTGOMERY, AL
TAKATA RECALLL. MY CAR DOES NOT CRANK, BUT THE DASH LIGHTS UP AS IF IT IS GOING TO CRANK. MAKES A CLICKING NOISE WHEN TRYING TO CRANK IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2016 - MONTGOMERY, AL
TAKATA RECALLL. MY CAR DOES NOT CRANK, BUT THE DASH LIGHTS UP AS IF IT IS GOING TO CRANK. MAKES A CLICKING NOISE WHEN TRYING TO CRANK IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2016 - NORMAN, OK
ON JULY 11, 2016 HAD AN ACCIDENT WHEREIN THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED AND THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. DRIVER WAS DIAGNOSED WITH BLUNT FORCE TRAUMA TO THE STERNUM. DRIVER REAR ENDED A VEHICLE WHICH WAS STOPPED ON THE ON RAMP TO THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/21/2016 - FAIRFAX, VA
MY CAR HAS 7000 MILES AND THE BRAKES GRIND EXCESSIVELY AND WHEN BRAKING AT SPEEDS 40 MPH OR HIGHER, THE CAR SHAKES AND VIBRATES SO HARD I AM AFRAID THAT THE BRAKES WILL FAIL. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR MORE THAN A YEAR. LAST YEAR, I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER (FAIRFAX HYUNDAI IN FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA) FOR THIS PROBLEM AND ALL THEY SAID WAS THAT THIS WAS DUE TO RUST BUILDUP EVEN THOUGH MY CAR JUST HAD LESS THAN 5,000 MILES ON IT AND I JUST NEEDED TO BRAKE HARD TO GET RID OF THE RUST. THIS HAS NOT HELPED AND I BELIEVE THAT THE BRAKES PADS AND ROTORS ARE DEFECTIVE AND NEED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/15/2016 - HAIKU, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE MAKING A LEFT IN THE GARAGE, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE STOPPED BY CRASHING INTO THE BUSHES. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,026.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/15/2016 - HAIKU, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE MAKING A LEFT IN THE GARAGE, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE STOPPED BY CRASHING INTO THE BUSHES. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,026.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds