Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 262 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (19) Seats (1) Suspension (45) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (31) Tires (39) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (44)
Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Steering (55)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/28/2015 - CHICAGO , IL
MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS HAS THE SWERVING PROBLEM. ANY TIME I'M ON AN UNEVEN PATCH OF ROAD OR A BUMP, IT'S LIKE I LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR. YOU HAVE TO KEEP 2 HANDS ON THE WHEEL AT ALL TIMES TO TRY & KEEP SOME CONTROL. I HOPE YOU AGREE THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. PLEASE OPEN AN INVESTIGATION. THIS SAFETY DEFECT EXISTS IN A GROUP OF CARS PLEASE ORDER A RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

2/28/2015 - CHICAGO , IL
MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS HAS THE SWERVING PROBLEM. ANY TIME I'M ON AN UNEVEN PATCH OF ROAD OR A BUMP, IT'S LIKE I LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR. YOU HAVE TO KEEP 2 HANDS ON THE WHEEL AT ALL TIMES TO TRY & KEEP SOME CONTROL. I HOPE YOU AGREE THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. PLEASE OPEN AN INVESTIGATION. THIS SAFETY DEFECT EXISTS IN A GROUP OF CARS PLEASE ORDER A RECALL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/27/2015 - HAM LAKE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT DUE TO THE SUN, A GLARE REFLECTED FROM THE DASHBOARD INTO THE WINDSHIELD. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VISIBILITY WAS IMPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/14/2015 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
MY 2013 ELANTRA GT CAME EQUIPPED WITH FACTORY DRL'S (DAYTIME RUNNING LAMPS). READING THE OWNERS MANUAL COMPLETELY, I'VE FOUND THE INFO ON THE LIGHT SWITCH STALK SETTINGS MISLEADING & DOESN'T OFFER A CLEAR EXPLANATION.. THE LIGHT SWITCH INDICATES POSITIONS FOR, "DRL OFF, PARKING LAMPS & HEADLAMPS", BUT THE ONLY WAY TO OPERATE DRL'S ARE WHILE PARKING LAMPS SWITCHED ON. THAT MEANS, DRL'S ALONG WITH FULL NIGHTTIME ILLUMINATION OF EVERY EXTERIOR LIGHT EXCEPT HEADLAMPS, INCLUDING FRONT & REAR PARKING LIGHTS, SIDE MARKER LAMPS & LICENSE PLATE LAMPS. I FIND THE "LIMITED" MODELS HAVE AUTOMATIC HEADLAMPS CONTROL & ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THIS ISSUE BECAUSE THEIR DRL'S RUN INDEPENDENT OF OTHER EXTERIOR LAMPS. I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALER WITH THIS CONCERN & WAS TOLD, IT IS CHARACTERISTIC OF THIS MODEL (EXCLUDING THE LIMITED MODELS). IT IS ILLEGAL IN SOME STATES TO RUN PARKING LAMPS, PLUS IN ORDER TO HAVE DRL'S ON, THE VEHICLE MUST PROVIDE EXTRA POWER (REDUCED MPG'S) TO RUN ALL THOSE OTHER LAMPS, REDUCES BULB LIFE, ETC. IN ADDITION, THE DASH LIGHT ILLUMINATION DOES NOT DIM FROM FULL-BRIGHT WHEN HEADLAMPS ARE SWITCHED ON. THERE IS A MANUAL DIMMER SWITCH, BUT DIMMING MUST BE RAISED/LOWERED EACH TIME BEFORE DRIVING IN DAY OR NIGHT CONDITIONS. WHAT OTHER VEHICLE DOES THIS? THESE THINGS SEEM TO BE AN OVERSIGHT ON THE PART OF HYUNDAI. NO INDICATION OR DISCERNABLE DIFFERENCES ON INSTRUMENTATION WHETHER DRL PARKING LAMPS OR HEADLIGHTS ARE ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/14/2015 - PERRIS, CA
THE VEHICLE, INTERMITTENTLY WILL NOT START. AFTER TURNING THE KEY ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASH ILLUMINATE BUT THE ENGINE WILL NOT TURN OVER. AFTER MULTIPLE TRIES THE VEHICLE WILL START. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOUR TIMES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2015 - AVENTURA, FL
THE CAR DID NOT START! I DROVE TO PICK UP MY SON, TURNED OFF AND PARKED THE CAR, GOT MY SON, WENT BACK IN THE CAR, AND THE CAR DID NOT TURN ON. I COULD HEAR THE NOISE OF THE STARTER. THE CAR ONLY HAS 45,000 MILES. THIS IS UNBELIEVABLE! THIS IS MY FIRST AND ONLY COMPLAINT OF THE CAR, BUT ENOUGH NOT TO BUY ANOTHER HYUNDAI.

View Details

STEERING

2/11/2015 - VALLEJO, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JULY 2014. A. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA AND AFTER 3 WEEKS THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE WENT OUT AFTER BARELY HITTING CURB AROUND BY SEPTEMBER 2014, THE DRIVERS TIRE WAS DEFLATING REPLACED. ON 2/10/2015 THE TIRE IN REAR WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT COULD BECAUSE A NAIL GOT INTO THE TIRE AND CAUSED THE PROBLEM. IT JUST SEEMS A BIT UNUSAL FOR 3 TIRES IN LESS THAN A YEAR OF OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH WAS NEW PURCHASED JULY 2014. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA.

View Details

WHEELS

2/11/2015 - VALLEJO, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JULY 2014. A. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA AND AFTER 3 WEEKS THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE WENT OUT AFTER BARELY HITTING CURB AROUND BY SEPTEMBER 2014, THE DRIVERS TIRE WAS DEFLATING REPLACED. ON 2/10/2015 THE TIRE IN REAR WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT COULD BECAUSE A NAIL GOT INTO THE TIRE AND CAUSED THE PROBLEM. IT JUST SEEMS A BIT UNUSAL FOR 3 TIRES IN LESS THAN A YEAR OF OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH WAS NEW PURCHASED JULY 2014. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/11/2015 - VALLEJO, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JULY 2014. A. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA AND AFTER 3 WEEKS THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE WENT OUT AFTER BARELY HITTING CURB AROUND BY SEPTEMBER 2014, THE DRIVERS TIRE WAS DEFLATING REPLACED. ON 2/10/2015 THE TIRE IN REAR WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT COULD BECAUSE A NAIL GOT INTO THE TIRE AND CAUSED THE PROBLEM. IT JUST SEEMS A BIT UNUSAL FOR 3 TIRES IN LESS THAN A YEAR OF OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH WAS NEW PURCHASED JULY 2014. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA.

View Details

TIRES

2/9/2015 - ELMONT , NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA EQUIPPED WITH HANKOOK TIRE LINE: OPTIMO H426 AND TIRE SIZE: P215/45/R17. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED A BUBBLE IN THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE. THE TIRE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,536.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds