Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 444 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (21) Steering (80) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (54) Exterior Lighting (29) Seat Belts (4) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (79) Visibility (21)
Engine (53) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (56) Tires (52) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (59)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/9/2017 - BATON ROUGE, LA
I BOUGHT A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA LIMITED NEW. 3 YEARS LATER THE CAR STALLS OUT WHEN STOPPED AND IT DIFFICULT TO START. HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP SO MANY TIMES (10) WITHIN A 2 MONTH PERIOD, I USE THE LOANER MORE THAN MY OWN CAR. THE LAST TIME I PICKED IT UP THEY HAD CHANGED OUT THE TIMING COVER WITH OIL PUMP, CAM SHAFT AND TIMING CHAIN. CALLED ME TO COME PICK MY VEHICLE UP AS IT WAS READY. WHEN EXITING THE DEALERSHIP, I CAME TO THE STOP LIGHT AND THE CAR STALLED ONCE AGAIN WITH IT BEING DIFFICULT TO START. TURNED AROUND AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT DRIVE FASTER THAN 20 MPH. THE SERVICE MANAGER CAME OUT AND ASKED WHAT WAS WRONG. I ASKED HIM TO GET IN THE VEHICLE THAT THEY HAD JUST FIXED. HE DROVE IT AND THEY NOW HAVE MY CAR ONCE AGAIN AND I'M DRIVING THE LOANER. THEY CAN'T SEEM TO FIND OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS AND SAY THEY KEEP CALLING THE MANUFACTURER FOR INPUT. APPARENTLY NO ONE KNOWS WHAT IS WRONG AND I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER HYUNDAI AS IT SEEMS THEY CAN'T REPAIR THEIR VEHICLES WITH THESE SIMILAR PROBLEMS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/5/2017 - CAYON COUNTRY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, A VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT END OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE SUSTAINED SEVERE FRONT END DAMAGE AND WAS DESTROYED, BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK, BACK, SHOULDER, AND STOMACH. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS RECEIVED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/18/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED, AND THE GEAR SHIFTER COULD BE SWITCHED FROM PARK TO DRIVE WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE PEDAL SWITCH, BUT THE FAILURES CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,795.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/18/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED, AND THE GEAR SHIFTER COULD BE SWITCHED FROM PARK TO DRIVE WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE PEDAL SWITCH, BUT THE FAILURES CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,795.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

4/18/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED, THE TRACTION CONTROL INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED, AND THE GEAR SHIFTER COULD BE SWITCHED FROM PARK TO DRIVE WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE PEDAL SWITCH, BUT THE FAILURES CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,795.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/8/2017 - PLACERVILLE, CA
ON OR ABOUT 10/20/2016 MY CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN WOULD NOT START, I WAS WORKING OUT IN THE FIELD WENT INTO A PATIENTS HOME AND THE CAR AS I TURNED THE IGNITION KEY, NOTHING HAPPENED. THE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND OFF. CALLED LUTES KIA FOR SERVICE. THEY SAID IT WAS BATTERY PUT NEW BATTERY IN. THE NEXT DAY THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENED WOULD NOT START, CALLED LUTES KIA AFTER SEVERAL DAYS I WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT SURE WHAT WAS WRONG AND REPLACED THE STARTER. I GET MY CARS OIL CHANGED EVERY 3000 MILES, KEEP UP ON MY MAINTENANCE. ELECTRICAL IS AFFECTED SOMETHING KEEPS SHORTING OUT HEAD LIGHTS/ TAIL LIGHTS. I HAVE RECEIPTS AND SERVICE ORDERS. IT LOSES POWER ON LOAD AND IS VERY UNSTABLE. I HAVE BEEN PULLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE OF THE HEADLIGHTS AND TURNS ON WHEN IT WANTS TO.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2017 - PLACERVILLE, CA
ON OR ABOUT 10/20/2016 MY CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN WOULD NOT START, I WAS WORKING OUT IN THE FIELD WENT INTO A PATIENTS HOME AND THE CAR AS I TURNED THE IGNITION KEY, NOTHING HAPPENED. THE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND OFF. CALLED LUTES KIA FOR SERVICE. THEY SAID IT WAS BATTERY PUT NEW BATTERY IN. THE NEXT DAY THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENED WOULD NOT START, CALLED LUTES KIA AFTER SEVERAL DAYS I WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT SURE WHAT WAS WRONG AND REPLACED THE STARTER. I GET MY CARS OIL CHANGED EVERY 3000 MILES, KEEP UP ON MY MAINTENANCE. ELECTRICAL IS AFFECTED SOMETHING KEEPS SHORTING OUT HEAD LIGHTS/ TAIL LIGHTS. I HAVE RECEIPTS AND SERVICE ORDERS. IT LOSES POWER ON LOAD AND IS VERY UNSTABLE. I HAVE BEEN PULLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE OF THE HEADLIGHTS AND TURNS ON WHEN IT WANTS TO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2017 - PLACERVILLE, CA
ON OR ABOUT 10/20/2016 MY CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN WOULD NOT START, I WAS WORKING OUT IN THE FIELD WENT INTO A PATIENTS HOME AND THE CAR AS I TURNED THE IGNITION KEY, NOTHING HAPPENED. THE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND OFF. CALLED LUTES KIA FOR SERVICE. THEY SAID IT WAS BATTERY PUT NEW BATTERY IN. THE NEXT DAY THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENED WOULD NOT START, CALLED LUTES KIA AFTER SEVERAL DAYS I WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT SURE WHAT WAS WRONG AND REPLACED THE STARTER. I GET MY CARS OIL CHANGED EVERY 3000 MILES, KEEP UP ON MY MAINTENANCE. ELECTRICAL IS AFFECTED SOMETHING KEEPS SHORTING OUT HEAD LIGHTS/ TAIL LIGHTS. I HAVE RECEIPTS AND SERVICE ORDERS. IT LOSES POWER ON LOAD AND IS VERY UNSTABLE. I HAVE BEEN PULLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE OF THE HEADLIGHTS AND TURNS ON WHEN IT WANTS TO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2017 - LINCOLN, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2017 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON WHILE DRIVING. WENT ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY FOR SEVERAL WEEKS. IS NOW ALMOST ALWAYS ON, BUT ON RARE OCCASIONS WILL TURN OFF ONLY TO COME BACK ON LATER. 77000 MILES ON CAR, SO NOT IN WARRANTY. SYMPTOMS SEEM SIMILAR TO EARLIER RECALL OF HYUNDAI VEHICLES FOR DEFECTIVE CLOCK SPRINGS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds