Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 175 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (16) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (21) Suspension (25) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (20) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (12) Power Train (2) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (33)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/14/2014 - WHITESBORO, NY
TAKING A CORNER AT 5 MPH IN 2ND GEAR, HEARD A METALLIC SOUND FROM THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE CUT OUT, LOST POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. PULLED OVER USING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP. TOWED CAR TO A HYUNDAI DEALER. I WAS TOLD THE TOP OF THE PISTON HAD A CRACK IN IT THAT DEVELOPED OVER TIME AND FINALLY FAILED. THE FAILURE CAUSED CATASTROPHIC DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE, WHICH IS BEING REPLACED UNDER MFG. WARRANTY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/9/2014 - ST. AUGUSTINE, FL
REAR OF CAR BOUNCES AROUND WHEN TRAVELING OVER BUMPS ARE SPEEDS AS SLOW AS 25 MPH. NOW AT 14,000 MILES THE REAR DRIVERS TIRE IS WEARING BADLY ON INSIDE OF TIRE. CAR IS GETTING INCREASINGLY OR UNSTABLE AT SPEEDS WHEN GOING OVER ROUGH ROADS, RR TRACKS. DEALER HAS BEEN RUDE AND UNCOOPERATIVE AND TELLS ME TO CHANGE MY DRIVING STYLE. THIS IS A DANGEROUS CAR FOR THE INEXPERIENCED DRIVER, I HAVE TO COMPENSATE FOR THE DEFECT.

View Details

WHEELS

7/3/2014 - CRYSTAL LAKE, IL
PURCHASED 2013 ELANTRA LESS THAN A YEAR AGO WITH HANKOOK TIRES. DRIVER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT ON 6/15/14 AT 11K MILES. THANK GOD IT HAPPENED GOING AROUND A CORNER AT SLOWER SPEED THAN HIGHWAY DRIVING. ANOTHER TIRE ON THE REAR WAS ALSO BLISTERED AND READY TO POP - WE HAD TO CHANGE BEFORE DRIVING TO AVOID BENDING ANOTHER RIM SHOULD TIRE BLOW. ANYWAY, TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT, NEITHER DEALER OR TIRE MANUFACTURER WOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS DEFECT AND COVER UNDER IT THEIR WARRANTY. OUT OF POCKET EXPENSES CURRENTLY AT $1600. HAD TO PURCHASE 4 GOOD YEAR TIRES (INCLUDING RIM, ALIGNMENT, STRUT, ETC) SINCE NO ONE IS SAFE DRIVING WITH TIRES THAT CAME WITH VEHICLE (18 YR OLD DAUGHTER IS PRIMARY DRIVER).

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/2/2014 - BRANDY WINE, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING OVER A SMALL BUMP AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE BOUNCED ROUGHLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED FOR THREE MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - TERRE HAUTE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY DECELERATED TO 20 MPH AND THE TRACTION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

6/26/2014 - FLUSHING, NY
ECS LIGHT WENT ON AND IMMEDIATELY LOST "POWER STEERING"/ELECTRONIC STEERING. VEHICLE BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER. VEHICLE IS NEW, APPROXIMATELY HALF A YEAR ON THE ROAD WITH LESS THAN 2000 MILES DRIVEN. DEALERSHIP MECHANIC SAYS WHOLE COLUMN NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND THAT THE PART IS BACK-ORDERED, NOT KNOWING HOW LONG IT WILL TAKE TO REPAIR.

View Details

WHEELS

6/25/2014 - THORNVILLE, OH
EVERY FEW MONTHS ONE OF THE TIRES ON OUR 2013 ELANTRA LIMITED FAILS WHILE DRIVING. OUR CAR CURRENTLY HAS JUST 11,000 MILES AND IS LESS THAN 1 YEAR OLD AND SINCE WE BOUGHT THE CAR WE HAVE HAD 2 TIRES BLOW HOLES IN THE SIDEWALL (MONTHS APART FROM EACH OTHER) AND A THIRD DEVELOPED A LARGE BLISTER. MY DEALER REFERRED ME TO HYUNDAI CUST SVC, HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE TOLD ME THAT THEY DO NOT COVER THE TIRES AT ALL AND IT IS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. CONTINENTAL TIRE CUSTOMER SERVICE TOLD ME THAT THEY MANUFACTURED THE TIRE SPECIFICALLY FOR HYUNDAI AND TO THEIR SPECIFICATIONS AND IF THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH DESIGN THEN I WOULD HAVE TO PURSUE IT THROUGH HYUNDAI BECAUSE THEY DO NOT WARRANT AGAINST "ROAD HAZARDS." I DO NOT FEEL THAT THIS IS A SAFE VEHICLE FOR MY WIFE TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE UNLESS THIS SITUATION IS ADDRESSED. CURRENTLY WE HAVE HAD 2 TIRES BLOW OUT WHILE DRIVING LEAVING MY WIFE STRANDED AND WITHOUT A SPARE (VEHICLE DOES NOT COME WITH A SPARE!) THE CAR THEN NEEDS TO BE TOWED. OEM TIRE BRAND IS CONTINENTAL CONTIPROCONTACT RADIAL - 215/45R17 87H

View Details

WHEELS

6/23/2014 - ARLINGTON, MA
PURCHASED NEW 2013 FROM DEALER. MILEAGE AT PICK UP - 212. I PICKED THE CAR UP, APPROXIMATELY 2 WKS AFTER SIGNING PAPERWORK, BECAUSE MY MOM WAS HOSPITALIZED. I DROVE THE CAR FOR A COUPLE OF WKS - TO WORK, THE HOSPITAL. I'M 48 YRS OLD, I DRIVE CAUTIOUSLY. IT'S MY FIRST NEW CAR IN 17 YEARS. I'M PARKING FAR FROM ALL CARS + BEING VERY CAREFUL WITH THE CAR. THE CAR HAS BEEN HAVING SOME PROBLEMS SO I GAVE IT A REALLY CLOSE INSPECTION + DISCOVERED THE FRONT TIRE HAD A SMALL BUBBLE, THE SIZE OF A QUARTER, IN THE OUTER WALL. AT THAT POINT MILEAGE WAS UNDER 700 MILES. I RETURNED TO THE DEALER, SALESMAN IMPLIED THEY WOULD FIX IT - NOT THE CASE. THE DEALER SAID NOT OUR PRODUCT AND SENT ME TO A TIRE COMPANY WHO THEY SAID DEALS W/ NEXEN WARRANTY PAPERWORK - NOT THE CASE. I CALLED NEXEN ON JUNE 12TH (MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 726 MILES) + REPORTED IT. I GAVE THEM TONS OF INFORMATION + TOLD THEM THE NAME OF THE DEALERSHIP MANAGER I'VE BEEN DEALING WITH ON THE MULTIPLE CAR ISSUES. THEY SAID THEY WOULD CALL THE DEALERSHIP + SEE IF THEY COULD GET THEM TO COOPERATE WITH THEM. THEY ALSO SAID THEY WERE GOING TO SEE ABOUT REPLACING THE TIRE ON A 1 TIME BASIS. TO DATE I HAVE HEARD NOTHING. THE TIRES ARE WRITTEN ABOUT EXTENSIVELY ONLINE - MANY PEOPLE HAVE TROUBLE WITH THIS TIRE ON THIS CAR. SOME THINK IT COULD BE THE COMBINATION OF THE TIRE SIZE 17" + THE CAR, SPECULATING THE CAR MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO HANDLE THIS SIZE. IT'S A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. BUBBLES EQUAL BLOW OUTS, ENDANGERING THE LIVES OF THOSE IN THE CAR + THOSE DRIVING OR WALKING IN CLOSE PROXIMITY. HYUNDAI IS ALSO MISREPRESENTING THE CAR AND SO ARE THE SALES PEOPLE AT MIRAK. I TOLD THEM I DID NOT WANT LOW PROFILE TIRES. THEY TOLD ME THEY WERE NOT LOW PROFILE TIRES. AND THEY TOLD ME TO LOOK AT THE STICKER. THE STICKER DOES NOT SAY LOW PROFILE TIRES. BUT THE TIRE PROS SAY - THEY ABSOLUTELY ARE LOW PROFILE TIRES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2014 - EL RENO, OK
CONTINUOUS ISSUE WITH CONTROL OF CAR WHEN WINDY OR WET ROADS. ANY TIME I'M ON AN UNEVEN PATCH OF ROAD OR A BUMP, IT'S LIKE I LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR. CAR WANDERS OUT OF CONTROL ON WET ROAD OR WHEN WINDY.

View Details

STEERING

6/19/2014 - EL RENO, OK
CONTINUOUS ISSUE WITH CONTROL OF CAR WHEN WINDY OR WET ROADS. ANY TIME I'M ON AN UNEVEN PATCH OF ROAD OR A BUMP, IT'S LIKE I LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR. CAR WANDERS OUT OF CONTROL ON WET ROAD OR WHEN WINDY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds