Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 425 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (51) Exterior Lighting (28) Power Train (20) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (3) Structure (24) Visibility (20)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (1) Suspension (78) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (56) Tires (51) Wheels (57)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/16/2017 - DEER PARK, TX
PARKING LIGHTS WON'T TURN OFF, CAR WON'T START WITHIN MINUTES/SECONDS LATER, HAD 7 ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO JUMP START ME IN TWO MONTHS, PLUS OTHERS FROM SECURITY GUARDS, ETC. MY CAR IS ON RECALL FOR THESE PROBLEMS, JUST MY VIN NUMBER ISN'T, THE HYUNDAI-IT DIES WITHIN SECONDS.IT HAPPENS WHEN I AM WAITING IN MY CAR, NO ENGINE ON, WHEN I RUN THE RADIO ENGINE OFF, ALWAYS AFTER THE ENGINE IS OFF, WITH OR WITHOUT RADIO PLAYING OR EVERYTHING IS SHUT OFF, IT HAPPENS--MY PARKING LIGHTS STAY ON UNLESS I GET OUT OF THE CAR, OPEN THE DOOR, AND LOCK IT IMEDIATELY IF I TAKE A FEW STEPS AND COME BACK TO LOCK IT, IT'S ALREADY DEAD, HAS LEFT ME AT WORK, SCHOOL, IN MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT, EVERYWHERE, ANYWHERE, ENGINE CUTS OF AND ON WHEN TAKING OFF OR MAKING A SLOW CURVE, CAR DIES WHILE PARKED DEALERSHIP SAID THEY COULD APPROVE MY ISSUES TO BE FIXED BECAUSE NO RECALL ON MY VIN # BUT I HAVE NO CAR HALF THE TIME ENGINE CUTS OFF AND ON WHILE DRIVING, BRAKES GRIND STRANGE NOISE

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/14/2017 - MACHESNEY PARK, IL
REAR SUSPENSION IS UNSETTLING. FIRST OFF, THE CAR DESTROYS TIRES IN A RELATIVELY SHORT TIME. SECOND, OVER BUMPY TERRAIN THE CAR'S REAR SHAKES BACK AND FORTH LIKE IT'S TRYING TO STEER ITSELF. THIRD, WHEN IT'S ICY OR SLIPPERY AND THE ROAD SURFACE ISN'T SMOOTH THE REAR OF THE CAR TRIES TO SWING OUT WHEN ONE SIDE HAS GRIP AND THE OTHER DOESN'T.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2017 - MACHESNEY PARK, IL
REAR SUSPENSION IS UNSETTLING. FIRST OFF, THE CAR DESTROYS TIRES IN A RELATIVELY SHORT TIME. SECOND, OVER BUMPY TERRAIN THE CAR'S REAR SHAKES BACK AND FORTH LIKE IT'S TRYING TO STEER ITSELF. THIRD, WHEN IT'S ICY OR SLIPPERY AND THE ROAD SURFACE ISN'T SMOOTH THE REAR OF THE CAR TRIES TO SWING OUT WHEN ONE SIDE HAS GRIP AND THE OTHER DOESN'T.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
WHILE DRIVING UP OVER A MOUNTAIN PASS THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED WARNING LIGHTS WERE LIT AND THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT LIT. I STOPPED AND CHECKED THE TIRES. THE RIGHT REAR TIRE HAD A HOLE IN THE SIDEWALL. THERE WAS NO IMPACT WITH ANY VEHICLE OR HILLSIDE. THIS ROAD HAS QUITE A FEW TURNS AND IS A NARROW TWO LANE MOUNTAIN PASS. ( GATES PASS, TUCSON ARIZONA.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
THE CAR ACCELERATES WITHOUT MY INTENTION. I CAN BE DRIVING MY CAR AND THE (STREET OR HWY IN MOTION) WHILE DRIVING THE CAR/ENGINE ACCELERATES. I WAS IN DISBELIEF BUT AFTER IT HAPPENED SO MANY TIMES, REMOVING MY FOOT FROM THE PEDAL AND STILL HEARING THE ACCELERATION, IT FREAKS ME OUT. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/12/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
THE CAR ACCELERATES WITHOUT MY INTENTION. I CAN BE DRIVING MY CAR AND THE (STREET OR HWY IN MOTION) WHILE DRIVING THE CAR/ENGINE ACCELERATES. I WAS IN DISBELIEF BUT AFTER IT HAPPENED SO MANY TIMES, REMOVING MY FOOT FROM THE PEDAL AND STILL HEARING THE ACCELERATION, IT FREAKS ME OUT. SCARES ME TO DEATH.

View Details

STEERING

1/8/2017 - BEAUFORT, NC
STEERING , WILL OVER STEER AT TIME'S. FEEL'S AS IF POWER STEERING PRESSURE DROP'S , MAKING STEERING WHEEL TIGHT TO TURN. AND WHEN IT COME'S BACK THE CAR TENDS TO OVER STEER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/26/2016 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
ABOUT 4 TIMES PER YEAR, THE VEHICLE WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK. I MUST USE THE SHIFT RELEASE BUTTON AND THIS TAKES AWHILE TO WORK. I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR IS IDLING IN A PARKING LOT, PARKED AT A DRIVE-THRU, TRYING TO LEAVE A PARKING LOT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 12 TIMES SINCE I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE. I TOOK IT TO A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. THE FIRST OCCASION WAS AROUND 1,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER.

View Details

ENGINE

12/26/2016 - ELLICOTT CITY, MD
ABOUT 4 TIMES PER YEAR, THE VEHICLE WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK. I MUST USE THE SHIFT RELEASE BUTTON AND THIS TAKES AWHILE TO WORK. I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR IS IDLING IN A PARKING LOT, PARKED AT A DRIVE-THRU, TRYING TO LEAVE A PARKING LOT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 12 TIMES SINCE I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE. I TOOK IT TO A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. THE FIRST OCCASION WAS AROUND 1,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/19/2016 - TOPEKA, KS
WHEN DRIVING IN RAIN FOR AWHILE, THEN GENTLY COME TO STOP, GET A BRAKE NOISE THAT SHOULDN'T BE THERE AND WHOLE CAR VIBRATES. NOT GOING THROUGH PUDDLES OR STANDING WATER. THIS HAS HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES. I DISCUSSED IT WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER AT OUR DEALERSHIP, AND HE ACKNOWLEDGED THE ISSUE, AND THAT HYUNDAI DID AS WELL, BUT SAID THERE IS NO SOLUTION CURRENTLY. THE STOPPING POWER IS NOT GOOD WHEN THIS HAPPENS. AFTER IT DRIES, THEN THE BRAKES FUNCTION NORMAL. DEALERSHIP SAID NEW PADS AND ROTOR MIGHT HELP, BUT WASN'T A WARRANTY ISSUE. THERE IS A PROBLEM AND IT SHOULD BE FIXED! THIS COULD BE A PROBLEM THAT GETS SOMEONE KILLED. ALSO, I FIND THAT OTHER HYUNDAI OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME BRAKE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds