Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 434 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (21) Steering (80) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (29) Seat Belts (4) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (79) Visibility (20)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (56) Tires (51) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (59)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

3/13/2017 - TOPEKA, KS
THE REAR END OF THE CAR JUMPS AROUND AND FEELS UNSTABLE IN WIND OR ON WET OR UNEVEN SURFACES. IT FEELS LIKE I COULD EASILY LOSE CONTROL, VERY FRIGHTENING. I HAVE 4/32 TIRE TREAD LEFT ON 60K MICHELINS AFTER ONLY 32K MILES DRIVEN. THE FIRST SET OF TIRES LASTED ONLY 28K. THIS FORM WILL NOT LET ME PROCEED WITHOUT A DATE, BUT THIS IS A CONTINUOUS PROBLEM, NOT A ONE TIME THING.

View Details

STEERING

3/13/2017 - TOPEKA, KS
THE REAR END OF THE CAR JUMPS AROUND AND FEELS UNSTABLE IN WIND OR ON WET OR UNEVEN SURFACES. IT FEELS LIKE I COULD EASILY LOSE CONTROL, VERY FRIGHTENING. I HAVE 4/32 TIRE TREAD LEFT ON 60K MICHELINS AFTER ONLY 32K MILES DRIVEN. THE FIRST SET OF TIRES LASTED ONLY 28K. THIS FORM WILL NOT LET ME PROCEED WITHOUT A DATE, BUT THIS IS A CONTINUOUS PROBLEM, NOT A ONE TIME THING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/3/2017 - MONTGOMERY, AL
DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT WILL NOT FASTEN. AIR CONDITIONER IS NOT WORKING, CAR BLOWING HOT AIR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/3/2017 - MONTGOMERY, AL
DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT WILL NOT FASTEN. AIR CONDITIONER IS NOT WORKING, CAR BLOWING HOT AIR.

View Details

WHEELS

2/28/2017 - CROYDON, PA
DRIVING ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD AT LESS THAN 30 MPH HEARD A LOUD BANG AND WHEEL FLEW OFF CAR. UPON INSPECTION, THE WHEEL SNAPPED IN HALF LEAVING PART STILL ATTACHED TO THE CAR AND THE OTHER HALF ATTACHED TO THE TIRE WHICH WAS NO LONGER ON THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

1/28/2017 - MONTE VISTA, CO
AT 60K MILES, A KNOCKING SOUND CAME FROM THE ENGINE AFTER ROUGH IDLING. THE ENGINE OIL NOW HAS METAL SHAVINGS. DEALERSHIP DENIED THAT THERE HAVE EVER BEEN PROBLEMS. NEVER MISSED AN OIL CHANGE. TRYING TO GET DEALER TO COVER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

WHEELS

1/28/2017 - CARLETON, MI
REAR TIRES GO BALD PREMATURELY AND FRONT TIRES WEAR ON THE INBOARD SIDE PREMATURELY AND THE FRONT TIRE ARE REAL PRONE TO SIDE WALL BULGING. I BOUGHT THE CAR WITH 37,417 MILES AND IT NOW HAS 66,388 MILES AND I'VE BEEN MADE TO PURCHASE THREE SETS OF TIRES SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE US CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO BE FORCED INTO PAYING FOR DEFECTS LIKE THIS

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/28/2017 - CARLETON, MI
REAR TIRES GO BALD PREMATURELY AND FRONT TIRES WEAR ON THE INBOARD SIDE PREMATURELY AND THE FRONT TIRE ARE REAL PRONE TO SIDE WALL BULGING. I BOUGHT THE CAR WITH 37,417 MILES AND IT NOW HAS 66,388 MILES AND I'VE BEEN MADE TO PURCHASE THREE SETS OF TIRES SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE US CONSUMERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO BE FORCED INTO PAYING FOR DEFECTS LIKE THIS

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2017 - WAUCOMA, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT OBSERVED AN ABNORMAL SOUND FROM THE ENGINE AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2017 - COLUMBIA, SC
THE ENGINE OF MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GLS FAILED TO START THE MORNING OF 1/3/17 WHILE PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. I TURNED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION NUMEROUS TIMES WITHOUT SUCCESS. THE DASH LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE, BUT THE CAR WOULDN'T START OR EVEN TRY TO TURN OVER. AFTER APPX. 15 ATTEMPTS, IT FINALLY STARTED. I BOUGHT A NEW BATTERY HOPING THAT WOULD FIX PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM REPEATED ON 1/18/17, AGAIN WHILE PARKED IN DRIVEWAY. AFTER ROUGHLY 50 ATTEMPTS TO START THE CAR AND TRYING TO WIGGLE THE GEAR SHIFT, IT FINALLY STARTED. I THEN DROVE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND LEFT THE CAR WITH THEM OVERNIGHT. THE FOLLOWING DAY I WAS ADVISED BY THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT SINCE THEY COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM OR TRIGGER ANY DIAGNOSTIC CODES, THEY COULD NOT REPAIR IT OR REPLACE ANY PARTS. FORTUNATELY, TO DATE I HAVE BEEN IN SAFE PLACES DURING DAYLIGHT HOURS WHEN MY CAR FAILED TO START. HOWEVER, I MAY NOT ALWAYS BE SO FORTUNATE AND COULD POSSIBLY BE STRANDED IN A VERY VULNERABLE LOCATION IN THE FUTURE. OUT OF THE 430 COMPLAINTS LISTED AGAINST THE 2013 ELANTRA ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE, ROUGHLY 7% OF THE OWNERS REPORTED EXPERIENCING THIS IDENTICAL PROBLEM. A FURTHER SEARCH OF THE INTERNET REVEALS MANY, MANY MORE SUCH COMPLAINTS. ONE MIGHT BELIEVE THAT COULD INDICATE THE EXISTENCE OF A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM; YET, IT DOES NOT APPEAR THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAS ISSUED ANY RECALLS OR SERVICE BULLETINS SPECIFIC TO MY VEHICLE MODEL TO ADDRESS/FIX THIS ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds