Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 480 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (45) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (23) Steering (82) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (60) Exterior Lighting (33) Seat Belts (4) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (79) Visibility (24)
Engine (56) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (64) Tires (52) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (60)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

9/8/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
ON FRIDAY, MAY 26 2017, AT 7AM WHILE DRIVING ON CURVE, THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT RIM BROKE APART AND THE TIRE FLEW COMPLETELY OFF. THE CAR CRASHED TO THE PAVEMENT WHERE THE WHEEL HAD BEEN. THE ROAD HAD RECENTLY BEEN RESURFACED SO THERE WERE NO POT HOLES OR HAZARDS. HYUNDAI WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY SAID TO BRING IT IN ADMITTING THIS WAS A DEFECTIVE RIM. AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE TOWED TO SACRAMENTO HYUNDAI, WE WERE TOLD, +IT+S AN INSURANCE ISSUE+. THE INSURANCE SAID, +IT+S A MANUFACTURER ISSUE+. THEN WE CONTACTED SAFE-GUARD REGARDING THE PLATINUM PROTECTION PROGRAM PURCHASED WITH THE VEHICLE, AND WERE TOLD THAT IT+S NOT COVERED BECAUSE IT+S A DEFECT AND THEY DON+T COVER DEFECTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2017 - TROY, IL
I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED IN JUNE OF THIS YEAR. ABOUT A MONTH AFTER PURCHASING, I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR NOT WANTING TO ACCELERATE AND THEN CAR LOSING POWER COMPLETELY ON INTERSTATE. MY FATHER CAME AND THE CAR STARTED RIGHT UP AND DROVE FINE. TWO WEEKS LATER SAME THING. MY MOTHER CAME TO GET ME AND WHEN SHE GOT THERE, THERE WAS NO POWER TO CAR BUT KEYS WERE STUCK IN ON POSITION AND CAR WAS STILL IN GEAR AS I HAD TO PULL EMERGENCY BRAKE TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. THE CAR WOULD NOT START AND WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER. MY MOTHER TOLD TOW TRUCK DRIVER THAT BATTERY WOULD MOST LIKELY BE DEAD AS THE CAR HAD BEEN SITTING IN ON POSITION WAITING FOR TOW AND THEN TRIP TO DEALER. DEALER STATED BAD BATTERY AND CAR WAS OUT OF GAS. ALTHOUGH NO GAS WAS ADDED TO CAR BUT THEY PERFORMED ALL THEIR TESTS AND UPDATES TO ECM PER MANUFACTURER WITH CAR OUT OF GAS (BUT RUNNING). REPLACED BATTERY AND CAME OUT OF WORK NOT LONG AFTER AND CAR WOULD NOT START. I HIT STEERING WHEEL IN FRUSTRATION AND TRIED AGAIN AND CAR STARTED. DROVE IT HOME, LEFT IT IN ACCESSORY POSITION, LOST POWER. DID SAME THING AS BEFORE WITH HITTING STEERING WHEEL, STARTED AGAIN. RECENTLY MOVED AWAY TO COLLEGE, DROVE IT ALL DAY, WENT BACK TO MY PARENT'S HOUSE FOR A COUPLE HOURS WENT TO LEAVE AND THE KEYS WOULD NOT TURN (COULD NOT EVEN GET STEERING WHEEL UNLOCKED), IT SAT OVERNIGHT AT MY PARENTS FOR AT LEAST ONE NIGHT MAYBE TWO WHILE I DROVE MY MOTHER'S CAR. THE ORIGINAL DEALER CAME TO TAKE IT BACK AND SEE IF HE COULD FIGURE IT OUT, STARTED THE FIRST TIME HE TRIED TO START IT. TURNED IT OFF AND TRIED AGAIN AND HE COULD NOT GET STEERING WHEEL TO UNLOCK AND KEY TO TURN, WAITED A COUPLE MINUTES AND TRIED AGAIN AND IT HAS BEEN RUNNING FINE SINCE. THE DEALER I BOUGHT IT FROM IS WILLING TO LET ME TRADE THE CAR BACK TO HIM FOR SOMETHING ELSE IF I CAN FIND SOMETHING I WANT BUT I LOVE MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
OUR CRUISE CONTROL (CC) SWITCHES ON THE STEERING HAVE STOPPED WORKING! THE BEHAVIOR WAS UN-PREDICABLE AND DANGEROUS FOR WHILE WHEN HITTING CANCEL BUTTON WOULD "ENGAGE" THE CC. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE SINCE IT COULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS. I BELIEVE THIS IS DUE TO THE POOR DESIGN ON THE CONNECTOR THAT CONNECTS THE WIRES FROM THE CC SWITCHES TO THE STEERING CASE. THE CONNECTOR IS PLACED RIGHT UNDER THE HORN COVER AND WE BELIEVE THE CONNECTOR GETS SQUEEZED EVERY TIME THE HORN IS USED. I TESTED THIS MYSELF AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CC TO WORK AFTER LIFTING THE HORN COVERS FORWARD SECTION WHICH REDUCED THE PRESSURE FROM THE CONNECTOR RIGHT UNDERNEATH IT ! WHEN I DID THIS, HITTING THE CC. ONCE AGAIN THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE CAUSE DRIVERS COULD ASSUME THEY ARE DISABLING THE CC, WHEN THEY COULD ACTUALLY BE ACTIVATING CC WHICH WILL CAUSE ACCIDENTS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/26/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
OUR CRUISE CONTROL (CC) SWITCHES ON THE STEERING HAVE STOPPED WORKING! THE BEHAVIOR WAS UN-PREDICABLE AND DANGEROUS FOR WHILE WHEN HITTING CANCEL BUTTON WOULD "ENGAGE" THE CC. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE SINCE IT COULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS. I BELIEVE THIS IS DUE TO THE POOR DESIGN ON THE CONNECTOR THAT CONNECTS THE WIRES FROM THE CC SWITCHES TO THE STEERING CASE. THE CONNECTOR IS PLACED RIGHT UNDER THE HORN COVER AND WE BELIEVE THE CONNECTOR GETS SQUEEZED EVERY TIME THE HORN IS USED. I TESTED THIS MYSELF AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CC TO WORK AFTER LIFTING THE HORN COVERS FORWARD SECTION WHICH REDUCED THE PRESSURE FROM THE CONNECTOR RIGHT UNDERNEATH IT ! WHEN I DID THIS, HITTING THE CC. ONCE AGAIN THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE CAUSE DRIVERS COULD ASSUME THEY ARE DISABLING THE CC, WHEN THEY COULD ACTUALLY BE ACTIVATING CC WHICH WILL CAUSE ACCIDENTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/26/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
OUR CRUISE CONTROL (CC) SWITCHES ON THE STEERING HAVE STOPPED WORKING! THE BEHAVIOR WAS UN-PREDICABLE AND DANGEROUS FOR WHILE WHEN HITTING CANCEL BUTTON WOULD "ENGAGE" THE CC. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE SINCE IT COULD CAUSE ACCIDENTS. I BELIEVE THIS IS DUE TO THE POOR DESIGN ON THE CONNECTOR THAT CONNECTS THE WIRES FROM THE CC SWITCHES TO THE STEERING CASE. THE CONNECTOR IS PLACED RIGHT UNDER THE HORN COVER AND WE BELIEVE THE CONNECTOR GETS SQUEEZED EVERY TIME THE HORN IS USED. I TESTED THIS MYSELF AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CC TO WORK AFTER LIFTING THE HORN COVERS FORWARD SECTION WHICH REDUCED THE PRESSURE FROM THE CONNECTOR RIGHT UNDERNEATH IT ! WHEN I DID THIS, HITTING THE CC. ONCE AGAIN THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE CAUSE DRIVERS COULD ASSUME THEY ARE DISABLING THE CC, WHEN THEY COULD ACTUALLY BE ACTIVATING CC WHICH WILL CAUSE ACCIDENTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/23/2017 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
THE BRAKE LIGHTS ON MY 2013 ELANTRA WILL NOT GO OUT, I FIRST SAW THE YELLOW SKID LIGHT COME ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/18/2017 - PALATINE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE DEALER (HYUNDAI PALATINE IN PALATINE, IL) WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/12/2017 - LADSON, SC
UPDATE TO TICKET # 1119161 - 4 SEPARATE APPTS, WITH,90 PLUS DAYS ACCUMULATED TOTAL AT A HYUNDA SERVICE CENTER EXPANDING 21 MONTHS AND 15000 MILES. 43 DAYS AT CURRENT SERVICE DEPT WITH NO UPDATE, VEHICLE CONTINUES TO STALL WHILE DRIVING, ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTIONS CONTINUE TO EXPAND AFTER INTERIOR WAS SOAKED FROM A CONFIRMED/REPAIRED DEFECT IN SUNROOF FRAME. BEYOND THE ABILITY OF SERVICE TECHNICIANS TO DIAGNOSE, ENGINEER INSPECTED AND CONFIRMED VEHICLE STALLING WHILE DRIVING AND MESSED UP INTERIOR JULY 2016 FROM SUNROOF LEAK, REPAIRS HAVE BEEN MADE BUT VEHICLE CONTINUES TO STALL WHILE DRIVING, IN ADDITION ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTIONS CONTINUE TO DEVOLOP THAT HYUNDAI WILL NOT RESOLVE, VEHICLE WAS IN BUYOUT REVIEW WITH HYUNDAI BUT WAS STOPPED DUE TO MY COMPLAINT FILED WHICH SOUTH CAROLINA CONSUMER AFFAIRS REQUESTING A REPURCHASE THAT HYUNDAI DENIED. VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE NOR AM I BEING TOLD WHAT'S GOING ON. IF TECHNICIAN CANT DIAGNOSE A CONFIRMED ISSUE BY THEIR ENGINEER THEN WHY IS VEHICLE STILL AT SERVICE CENTER AND WHY ARE THEY NOT CALLING TO ADVISE AFTER 43 DAYS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2017 - LADSON, SC
UPDATE TO TICKET # 1119161 - 4 SEPARATE APPTS, WITH,90 PLUS DAYS ACCUMULATED TOTAL AT A HYUNDA SERVICE CENTER EXPANDING 21 MONTHS AND 15000 MILES. 43 DAYS AT CURRENT SERVICE DEPT WITH NO UPDATE, VEHICLE CONTINUES TO STALL WHILE DRIVING, ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTIONS CONTINUE TO EXPAND AFTER INTERIOR WAS SOAKED FROM A CONFIRMED/REPAIRED DEFECT IN SUNROOF FRAME. BEYOND THE ABILITY OF SERVICE TECHNICIANS TO DIAGNOSE, ENGINEER INSPECTED AND CONFIRMED VEHICLE STALLING WHILE DRIVING AND MESSED UP INTERIOR JULY 2016 FROM SUNROOF LEAK, REPAIRS HAVE BEEN MADE BUT VEHICLE CONTINUES TO STALL WHILE DRIVING, IN ADDITION ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTIONS CONTINUE TO DEVOLOP THAT HYUNDAI WILL NOT RESOLVE, VEHICLE WAS IN BUYOUT REVIEW WITH HYUNDAI BUT WAS STOPPED DUE TO MY COMPLAINT FILED WHICH SOUTH CAROLINA CONSUMER AFFAIRS REQUESTING A REPURCHASE THAT HYUNDAI DENIED. VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE NOR AM I BEING TOLD WHAT'S GOING ON. IF TECHNICIAN CANT DIAGNOSE A CONFIRMED ISSUE BY THEIR ENGINEER THEN WHY IS VEHICLE STILL AT SERVICE CENTER AND WHY ARE THEY NOT CALLING TO ADVISE AFTER 43 DAYS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2017 - LADSON, SC
UPDATE TO TICKET # 1119161 - 4 SEPARATE APPTS, WITH,90 PLUS DAYS ACCUMULATED TOTAL AT A HYUNDA SERVICE CENTER EXPANDING 21 MONTHS AND 15000 MILES. 43 DAYS AT CURRENT SERVICE DEPT WITH NO UPDATE, VEHICLE CONTINUES TO STALL WHILE DRIVING, ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTIONS CONTINUE TO EXPAND AFTER INTERIOR WAS SOAKED FROM A CONFIRMED/REPAIRED DEFECT IN SUNROOF FRAME. BEYOND THE ABILITY OF SERVICE TECHNICIANS TO DIAGNOSE, ENGINEER INSPECTED AND CONFIRMED VEHICLE STALLING WHILE DRIVING AND MESSED UP INTERIOR JULY 2016 FROM SUNROOF LEAK, REPAIRS HAVE BEEN MADE BUT VEHICLE CONTINUES TO STALL WHILE DRIVING, IN ADDITION ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTIONS CONTINUE TO DEVOLOP THAT HYUNDAI WILL NOT RESOLVE, VEHICLE WAS IN BUYOUT REVIEW WITH HYUNDAI BUT WAS STOPPED DUE TO MY COMPLAINT FILED WHICH SOUTH CAROLINA CONSUMER AFFAIRS REQUESTING A REPURCHASE THAT HYUNDAI DENIED. VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE NOR AM I BEING TOLD WHAT'S GOING ON. IF TECHNICIAN CANT DIAGNOSE A CONFIRMED ISSUE BY THEIR ENGINEER THEN WHY IS VEHICLE STILL AT SERVICE CENTER AND WHY ARE THEY NOT CALLING TO ADVISE AFTER 43 DAYS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds