Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 490 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (25) Steering (85) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (61) Exterior Lighting (34) Seat Belts (4) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (80) Visibility (24)
Engine (56) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (67) Tires (52) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (60)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/18/2017 - BROOKSVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE BRAKES AND THE STOPPING DISTANCE INCREASED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 859-635-6400 AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL; THEREFORE, THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR. A CASE NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/17/2017 - MONTGOMERY, AL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT ABOUT 65-70 MPH WHEN SUDDENLY I HEARD A LOUD EXPLOSIVE NOISE LIKE A GUNSHOT GOING OFF INSIDE THE CAR. THE CAR SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND I THOUGHT I HAD BEEN HIT, THOUGH THERE WAS NOT ANOTHER CAR IN MY IMMEDIATE VICINITY. I WAS NOWHERE NEAR AN OVERPASS. WHEN I REALIZED I WAS STILL GOING DOWN THE INTERSTATE ON ALL 4 TIRES AND NOT FLIPPING END FOR END AND HAD NOT BEEN HIT, IT DAWNED ON ME THAT AIR WAS RUSHING INTO THE CAR AND GLASS WAS RAINING DOWN ON MY HEAD. I LOOKED UP AND ALMOST THE ENTIRE SUN ROOF WAS GONE. IT HAS LITERALLY EXPLODED. I TOOK THE CAR IMMEDIATELY TO THE DEALER. I WAS INFORMED THAT THIS COULD HAPPEN AGAIN BECAUSE OF A DEFECT IN THE DESIGN. HOW SCARY IS THAT? I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH GLASS IN THE CAR EVERY SINCE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/13/2017 - MONTGOMERY, AL
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN A LOUD EXPLOSIVE SOUND LIKE A GUNSHOT OCCURRED. THE CAR SHOOK VIOLENTLY, I THOUGHT I HAD BEEN HIT, ALTHOUGH NOTHING HAD BEEN CLOSE TO ME. WHEN I REALIZED I WAS STILL DRIVING ON ALL FOUR TIRES AND NOT FLIPPING END FOR END, THOUGH THE WHEEL WAS STILL VIBRATING VIOLENTLY, I FELT GLASS RAINING DOWN ON MY HEAD AND THERE WAS EXTENSIVE AIR NOISE. I LOOKED UP AND ALMOST ALL THE ENTIRE PANORAMIC SUNROOF WAS GONE, AND WHAT WAS LEFT WAS FALLING ON MY HEAD. THE ROAD WAS SMOOTH, THERE WAS NO OVERPASS NEAR, AND NO CARS WERE IN MY IMMEDIATE VICINITY. I PULLED OFF THE INTERSTATE AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2017 - MONTGOMERY, AL
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN A LOUD EXPLOSIVE SOUND LIKE A GUNSHOT OCCURRED. THE CAR SHOOK VIOLENTLY, I THOUGHT I HAD BEEN HIT, ALTHOUGH NOTHING HAD BEEN CLOSE TO ME. WHEN I REALIZED I WAS STILL DRIVING ON ALL FOUR TIRES AND NOT FLIPPING END FOR END, THOUGH THE WHEEL WAS STILL VIBRATING VIOLENTLY, I FELT GLASS RAINING DOWN ON MY HEAD AND THERE WAS EXTENSIVE AIR NOISE. I LOOKED UP AND ALMOST ALL THE ENTIRE PANORAMIC SUNROOF WAS GONE, AND WHAT WAS LEFT WAS FALLING ON MY HEAD. THE ROAD WAS SMOOTH, THERE WAS NO OVERPASS NEAR, AND NO CARS WERE IN MY IMMEDIATE VICINITY. I PULLED OFF THE INTERSTATE AND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/29/2017 - MURRELLS INLET, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE CONTACT BECAME DISTRACTED AND CRASHED HEAD ON INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED CHEST, STERNUM, AND BREAST BONE INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOWING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE AIR BAG FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 10645840. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/27/2017 - FREDERICK, MD
ALL BREAK LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING, REAR BAR AND BOTH TAIL LIGHTS. WAS INFORMED BY THE NEARBY DRIVER THAT LIGHTS WEREN'T WORKING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/26/2017 - DULUTH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE INDICATOR CURRENTLY REMAINS ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER (RICK CASE HYUNDAI DULUTH, 3180 SATELLITE BLVD NW, DULUTH, GA, 30096, 855-254-5290) ADVISED THE CONTACT TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE APPOINTMENT WAS NOT SCHEDULED DUE TO THE DIAGNOSTIC FEE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO TRIED TO RESET THE AIR BAG SENSOR AND DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO THE CLOCK SPRING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT GUARANTEE THAT IT WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE AND THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. DUE TO THE VEHICLE BEING OUTSIDE OF THE 60,000 MILE WARRANTY, THE CONTACT WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR COSTS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2017 - LACOMBE, LA
AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AFTER 100,000 MILES. MY CAR IS OUT OF THE INITIAL WARRANTY. DEALERSHIP WANTS TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC FOR 115$, NOT INCLUDING PARTS OR LABOR FOR FINDINGS. THE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING AND IN MOTION. AT FIRST, IT CAME ON AND OF, THEN STAYED ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/20/2017 - BENNETT, NC
ON APRIL 14TH 2017 MY WIFE WAS INVOLVED IN A CAR ACCIDENT WHERE SHE HYDROPLANED OFF OF AN ONRAMP AT 60-65MPH AS SHE WAS GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY AND ROLLED HER 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE SIDE IMPACT AND SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. AT THE TIME OF THE ACCIDENT SHE WAS A MONTH AND A HALF PREGNANT. I HER HUSBAND CALLED HYUNDAI WHILE AT THE HOSPITAL. I LET THEM KNOW THAT "NONE" OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD START A CASE. I ALSO LET THE COMPANY KNOW WHERE THE CAR WAS BEING SENT WHICH WAS A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN TOWN AND ASKED IF THEY WOULD CHECK THE AIRBAGS WHICH "NEVER HAPPENED". THE CAR WAS REPAIRED AND WE PICKED UP THE CAR ON MAY 4TH 2017. WE HAVE BEEN IN CONSTANT CONTACT WITH HYUNDAI ABOUT THE AIRBAG SITUATION AND WE FEEL THAT THEY NEVER REALLY TOOK IT SERIOUSLY. MY WIFE'S CAR HAS BEEN SITTING IN OUR DRIVEWAY SINCE MAY 4TH, 2017 NOT BEING DRIVEN DUE TO (A) MY WIFE BEING AFRAID OF THE CAR AND NOT FEELING SAFE INSIDE. (B) NOT KNOWING ABOUT THE AIRBAGS AND THE "ONGOING INVESTIGATION". FAST FORWARD TO TODAY SEPTEMBER 20TH, 2017 I RECEIVED AN EMAIL FROM HYUNDAI SAYING THAT DUE TO THEM NOT BEING ABLE TO CHECK THE CAR AND AIRBAGS OUT "POST-ACCIDENT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND ANY FAULTS IN THE AIRBAGS, AND THEN THEY GO NO TO SAY THAT THE ELANTRA'S SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO DEPLOY IN A ROLLOVER ACCIDENT. MY WIFE WAS TRAVELING AT BETWEEN 60 AND 65 MPH WHEN SHE LOST CONTROL OF HER ELANTRA AND I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY (A) DID NOT CHECK THE AIRBAGS WHEN THE CAR WAS AT A CERTIFIED DEALER/REPAIR SHOP AND (B) WHY THEY ARE TELLING US THAT THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS WERE NOT SUPPOSED TO DEPLOY IN A ROLLOVER. FROM THE RESEARCH THAT I HAVE DONE IN ANY ROLLOVER THE SIDE IMPACT AND SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS ARE SUPPOSED TO DEPLOY IN A ROLLOVER. I DO HAVE PICTURE AND EMAILS FRO THE ACCIDENT AND EMAILS FROM HYUNDAI.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2017 - WEST SENECA, NY
AS I AM DRIVING THE CAR THE TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT COMES ON AND STARTS FLASHING AND AT THE SAME TIME THE RADIO AND THE CLOCK SHUT OFF. THE TIRE LIGHT STOPS FLASHING WITHIN THIRTY SECONDS TO A MINUTE. I ALSO CAN NOT USE MY KEY FOB TO LOCK MY DOORS UNTIL THE CAR HAS RESET. USUALLY CAR WILL RESET BETWEEN FIVE MINTUES TO AN HOUR. (WHERE I CAN PLAY THE RADIO AND SEE THE CLOCK ETC,) THIS IS STARTING TO HAPPEN MORE AND MORE NOW. THE CAR IS FOUR YEARS OLD. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. I AM STARTING TO GET TIRED OF THIS AND WANT IT TO STOP. I WAS REALLY UPSET THAT DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR; WHEN CLEARLY IT HAS A PROBLEM WITH IT. HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS PROBLEM?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds