Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 269 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (7) Steering (56) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (19) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (47) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (31) Tires (40) Wheels (44)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2015 - BOCA RATON, FL
2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA HAD AN ACCIDENT DUE TO UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. WAS PULLING ONTO MY PARKING SPOT, WHEN THE CAR JUST ACCELERATED BY ITSELF, CAUSING ME TO CRASH INTO MY BUILDING

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2015 - BOCA RATON, FL
2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA HAD AN ACCIDENT DUE TO UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. WAS PULLING ONTO MY PARKING SPOT, WHEN THE CAR JUST ACCELERATED BY ITSELF, CAUSING ME TO CRASH INTO MY BUILDING

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2015 - BOONTON, NJ
AT SPEEDS ABOVE 40MPH THE CAR HAS AN ISSUE WITH DRIVING STRAIGHT. WHEN DRIVING IN A STRAIGHT LINE YOU HAVE TO CONSTANTLY CORRECT THE VEHICLE FROM SWERVING. THE CAR CONSTANTLY WANTS TO PULL TO THE LEFT FOR NO REASON, AND NO MOVEMENT IN THE STEERING WHEEL CAN BE FELT. I FEEL THE VEHICLE IS TOO UNSAFE TO DRIVE FOR MY WIFE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS ISSUE. FROM WHAT I CAN SEE ON FORUMS IT IS A COMMON ISSUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/14/2015 - EAST SYRACUSE, NY
SINCE BUYING THIS CAR IN NOVEMBER 2014, I NOTICED AN ISSUE WITH STABILITY WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND WAS UNSURE AS TO WHAT WAS CAUSING THE CAR TO FEEL LIKE IT WAS JUMPING AFTER HITTING SMALL BUMPS. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I UNDERSTAND NOW THAT IT IS THE SUSPENSION THAT IS CAUSING THIS INSTABILITY. THE BUMPS I HIT ON THE HIGHWAY ARE NOT MAJOR BUMPS, THESE ARE JUST THE SMALL ONES THAT TRANSITION FROM SECTION TO SECTION OF THE HIGHWAY SO I KNOW IT ISN'T THE ROAD I DRIVE ON, IT IS THE CAR. THIS IS ACTUALLY THE THIRD HYUNDAI I HAVE OWNED, AND HAVE NEVER HAD ANY ISSUES LIKE THIS WITH THEIR VEHICLES. I HAVE ALWAYS FELT SAFE WHILE DRIVING THEM UNTIL THIS HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2013. ALSO WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, ANYWHERE FROM 45-65MPH THE DRIVING STABILITY FEELS UNSAFE AND THE VEHICLE WAVERS BACK AND FORTH ON THE HIGHWAY, HAVING TO ALWAYS CORRECT IT. WHEN IT IS WINDY IT IS EXTREMELY WORSE. I CANNOT BELIEVE HYUNDAI MADE A CAR THIS UNSAFE. DRIVING THIS WINTER I HAVE ONLY HOPED THAT THE JUMPING AND WAVERING DIDN'T CAUSE AN ACCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAY. THAT IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE TO FEEL THAT WAY IN A NEWER VEHICLE. PLEASE CONTINUE LOOKING INTO AND INVESTIGATING THIS ISSUE AS THE COMPANY SHOULD BE MADE RESPONSIBLE FOR THESE ISSUES.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2015 - EAST SYRACUSE, NY
SINCE BUYING THIS CAR IN NOVEMBER 2014, I NOTICED AN ISSUE WITH STABILITY WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND WAS UNSURE AS TO WHAT WAS CAUSING THE CAR TO FEEL LIKE IT WAS JUMPING AFTER HITTING SMALL BUMPS. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I UNDERSTAND NOW THAT IT IS THE SUSPENSION THAT IS CAUSING THIS INSTABILITY. THE BUMPS I HIT ON THE HIGHWAY ARE NOT MAJOR BUMPS, THESE ARE JUST THE SMALL ONES THAT TRANSITION FROM SECTION TO SECTION OF THE HIGHWAY SO I KNOW IT ISN'T THE ROAD I DRIVE ON, IT IS THE CAR. THIS IS ACTUALLY THE THIRD HYUNDAI I HAVE OWNED, AND HAVE NEVER HAD ANY ISSUES LIKE THIS WITH THEIR VEHICLES. I HAVE ALWAYS FELT SAFE WHILE DRIVING THEM UNTIL THIS HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2013. ALSO WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, ANYWHERE FROM 45-65MPH THE DRIVING STABILITY FEELS UNSAFE AND THE VEHICLE WAVERS BACK AND FORTH ON THE HIGHWAY, HAVING TO ALWAYS CORRECT IT. WHEN IT IS WINDY IT IS EXTREMELY WORSE. I CANNOT BELIEVE HYUNDAI MADE A CAR THIS UNSAFE. DRIVING THIS WINTER I HAVE ONLY HOPED THAT THE JUMPING AND WAVERING DIDN'T CAUSE AN ACCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAY. THAT IS COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE TO FEEL THAT WAY IN A NEWER VEHICLE. PLEASE CONTINUE LOOKING INTO AND INVESTIGATING THIS ISSUE AS THE COMPANY SHOULD BE MADE RESPONSIBLE FOR THESE ISSUES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/9/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT LOWER SPEEDS, THE SERVICE BRAKES WERE DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE MADE A METALLIC LOW GROANING NOISE WHICH FOLLOWED BY A ABNORMAL DELAYED STOPPING DISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. HOWEVER, AFTER CONTACTING THE MANUFACTURER THEY CLEAN THE THROTTLE BODY AND PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,500.

View Details

ENGINE

3/7/2015 - WISCASSET, ME
I BOUGHT A USED 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA WITH 29,802 MILES ON IT ON OCTOBER 6, 2014. BY FEBRUARY 2015 I STARTED HEARING A TAPPING NOISE FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND A NOISE WHEN I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL WHICH STOPPED WHEN I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL. I TOOK IT TO A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN FEBRUARY 2015 AND IT WAS DETERMINED I NEEDED MY ENGINE REPLACED. HYUNDAI AGREED TO REPLACE IT UNDER FACTORY WARRANTY. I HAD 32,500 I BELIEVE MILES ON IT. THE DEALERSHIP HAD MULTIPLE CARS SITTING ON THEIR LOT WHICH NEEDED THEIR ENGINES REPLACED. WHILE I WAS WAITING FOR A RENTAL CAR BUSINESS TO COME PICK ME UP AT THE HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP TO GET ME A RENTAL CAR TO DRIVE WHILE MY CAR WAS WAITING TO BE FIXED, I SPOKE TO A COUPLE WHO CAME IN TO DROP OFF THEIR RENTAL CAR. THEIR 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA NEEDED AN ENGINE REPLACEMENT AS WELL--AT 23,000 MILES. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THESE CARS HAD ENGINE PROBLEMS MORE OFTEN IN THE NORTHEAST DUE TO THE MORE SEVERE WEATHER IN THE WINTER. I SO REGRET EVER BUYING MY FIRST EVER HYUNDAI VEHICLE!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/2/2015 - FRISCO, TX
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY WITH LIGHT RAIN. TEMPERATURE APPROX 34 DEGREES. WHILE AT SPEED LIMIT (65MPH) THE MOON-ROOF EXPLODED! NOT SIMPLY SHATTERED BUT EXPLODED. (INSIDE 'SUN' COVER WAS OPEN AT THE TIME) THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD WITHIN 1/2 MILE OF ME. I DID NOT JUST PASS UNDER A BRIDGE AND NO CONSTRUCTION ON THE ROADWAY AT THE TIME OF THE EXPLOSION. ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF CAR BUT MANAGED TO MAINTAIN UNTIL I COULD PULL OVER ON SIDE OF ROADWAY. SUFFERED MINOR CUTS TO SCALP, FACE AND NECK (NOTHING THAT REQUIRED HOSPITALIZATION). SIGNIFICANT SHARDS OF GLASS THROUGHOUT THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR AND SOME MINOR DAMAGE TO PAINT SURFACE FROM SHARDS OF GLASS HITTING THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR; REAR ROOF OF CAR AND REAR DECK LID OF TRUNK. LODGED COMPLAIN WITH CORPORATE HYUNDAI (HAVE CASE NUMBER), ALSO WENT TO LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP GAVE THEM CASE NUMBER AND HAD THEM TAKE PHOTOS. DEALERSHIP INITIAL REACTION IS THAT GLASS IS NOT COVERED. THEY SUSPECT THE DROPPING TEMPERATURE MAY HAVE HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH IT. I HAVE ESCALATED MY CLAIM WITH HYUNDAI CORPORATE; ASKING UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES THAT THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURE DEFECT, THAT THEY COVER ALL COSTS OF REPAIR. AWAITING THEIR RESPONSE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/2/2015 - FRISCO, TX
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY WITH LIGHT RAIN. TEMPERATURE APPROX 34 DEGREES. WHILE AT SPEED LIMIT (65MPH) THE MOON-ROOF EXPLODED! NOT SIMPLY SHATTERED BUT EXPLODED. (INSIDE 'SUN' COVER WAS OPEN AT THE TIME) THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD WITHIN 1/2 MILE OF ME. I DID NOT JUST PASS UNDER A BRIDGE AND NO CONSTRUCTION ON THE ROADWAY AT THE TIME OF THE EXPLOSION. ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF CAR BUT MANAGED TO MAINTAIN UNTIL I COULD PULL OVER ON SIDE OF ROADWAY. SUFFERED MINOR CUTS TO SCALP, FACE AND NECK (NOTHING THAT REQUIRED HOSPITALIZATION). SIGNIFICANT SHARDS OF GLASS THROUGHOUT THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR AND SOME MINOR DAMAGE TO PAINT SURFACE FROM SHARDS OF GLASS HITTING THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR; REAR ROOF OF CAR AND REAR DECK LID OF TRUNK. LODGED COMPLAIN WITH CORPORATE HYUNDAI (HAVE CASE NUMBER), ALSO WENT TO LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP GAVE THEM CASE NUMBER AND HAD THEM TAKE PHOTOS. DEALERSHIP INITIAL REACTION IS THAT GLASS IS NOT COVERED. THEY SUSPECT THE DROPPING TEMPERATURE MAY HAVE HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH IT. I HAVE ESCALATED MY CLAIM WITH HYUNDAI CORPORATE; ASKING UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES THAT THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURE DEFECT, THAT THEY COVER ALL COSTS OF REPAIR. AWAITING THEIR RESPONSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/2/2015 - FRISCO, TX
DRIVING DOWN HIGHWAY WITH LIGHT RAIN. TEMPERATURE APPROX 34 DEGREES. WHILE AT SPEED LIMIT (65MPH) THE MOON-ROOF EXPLODED! NOT SIMPLY SHATTERED BUT EXPLODED. (INSIDE 'SUN' COVER WAS OPEN AT THE TIME) THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD WITHIN 1/2 MILE OF ME. I DID NOT JUST PASS UNDER A BRIDGE AND NO CONSTRUCTION ON THE ROADWAY AT THE TIME OF THE EXPLOSION. ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF CAR BUT MANAGED TO MAINTAIN UNTIL I COULD PULL OVER ON SIDE OF ROADWAY. SUFFERED MINOR CUTS TO SCALP, FACE AND NECK (NOTHING THAT REQUIRED HOSPITALIZATION). SIGNIFICANT SHARDS OF GLASS THROUGHOUT THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR AND SOME MINOR DAMAGE TO PAINT SURFACE FROM SHARDS OF GLASS HITTING THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR; REAR ROOF OF CAR AND REAR DECK LID OF TRUNK. LODGED COMPLAIN WITH CORPORATE HYUNDAI (HAVE CASE NUMBER), ALSO WENT TO LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP GAVE THEM CASE NUMBER AND HAD THEM TAKE PHOTOS. DEALERSHIP INITIAL REACTION IS THAT GLASS IS NOT COVERED. THEY SUSPECT THE DROPPING TEMPERATURE MAY HAVE HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH IT. I HAVE ESCALATED MY CLAIM WITH HYUNDAI CORPORATE; ASKING UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES THAT THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURE DEFECT, THAT THEY COVER ALL COSTS OF REPAIR. AWAITING THEIR RESPONSE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds