Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 417 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (26) Power Train (19) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (3) Structure (24) Visibility (20)
Engine (46) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (1) Suspension (77) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (55) Tires (51) Wheels (56)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/15/2016 - WILKES BARRE, PA
INTERMITTENTLY WILL NOT TURN OVER. BATTERY IS FINE. INHIBITOR SWITCH WAS CHANGED, ALL RECALLS PERFORMED. HAD THE CAR TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES AND THEY CANNOT REPLICATE. HAD IT TOWED THERE LAST TIME. IF YOU FIDDLE WITH THE SHIFTER, AND KEY LONG ENOUGH (10 MINUTES OR SO, IT WILL EVENTUALLY TURN OVER AND START AS NORMAL. THERE HAS BEEN NO HELP ON THIS, AND THE DEALER KEEPS CHARGING FOR DIAGNOSTICS, EVEN THOUGHT THE VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY. THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE EXTREMELY MORE PREVALENT IN THE WINTER OR WHEN THE TEMP IS BELOW 35 DEGREES F.

View Details

STEERING

12/13/2016 - SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A PART FRACTURED WITHIN THE RACK AND PINION WHICH CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL NOT TO FUNCTION WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO STEER LEFT AND RIGHT DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V100000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/7/2016 - PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL
REAR SIGNAL AND TAIL LIGHTS FREQUENTLY BECOME LOOSE IN LAMP SOCKETS AND FAIL TO PROPERLY FUNCTION. LIGHT FIXTURES MUST BE ACCESSED TO RESET THE LAMP, BULB. VEHICLE ONLY HAS ABOUT 57,000 MILES AND THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING FROM AROUND 34,000 MILES. 3 EACH TAIL LIGHT AND 1 LICENSE PLATE LIGHT HAVE ALSO BURNED OUT AND WERE REPLACED. SAME PROBLEM CONTINUES WITH BULBS LOOSENING UP AT FREQUENT INTERVALS. OCCURS AT ANY PERIOD, STOPPED OR IN MOTION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/24/2016 - GIBSONIA, PA
EXTERIOR LIGHTING - PARKING LIGHTS TURNING ON WHILE CAR IS TURNED OFF AND PARKED. USUALLY HAPPENS OVERNIGHT WHEN THE TEMPERATURE DROPS CLOSE TO OR BELOW FREEZING. ALSO HEADLIGHTS TURNING OFF ON THEIR OWN WHILE CAR IS RUNNING AND TURN SIGNALS ARE USED. HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP LOOKED AT CAR THREE TIMES AND COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM, AND THE ONLY PARTS THEY REPLACED WERE A SWITCH INHIBITOR (PART 42700-26500) AND A NEW CAR BATTERY. NONE OF THIS CORRECTED THE ISSUE AND THEY DON'T HAVE A SOLUTION FOR US OTHER THAN TO COMPLAIN TO HYUNDAI. THIS LEAVES US WITH A CAR THAT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT AND WITH A CONSTANT DEAD CAR BATTERY. THE HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE CASE NUMBER WE HAVE IS 9687427, AND SO FAR THEY HAVE NO SOLUTION FOR US AND HAVE NOT CONTACTED US BACK FOR WEEKS NOW.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/21/2016 - DAYTON, OH
FROM DAY ONE THE SUSPENSION ALWAYS SEEMED MUSHY OR SOFT. WHEN DRIVING OVER UNEVEN PAVEMENT, THE CAR SEEMS TO EXPERIENCE LATERAL GLIDING OR SWAYING. AT HIGHWAY SPEED IT CAN FEEL LIKE YOU'RE GOING TO SHIFT INTO THE ADJACENT LANE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/20/2016 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE PANORAMIC ROOF SPONTANEOUSLY EXPLODED WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED. ON I-495, THE BELTWAY AROUND DC, THE ROOF SHATTERED WHILE DRIVING AT ~65 MPH. IT SOUNDED LIKE A STARTLING SHOTGUN BLAST FOLLOWED BY FALLING GLASS AND LOUD WIND NOISE. THE ONLY BARRIER BETWEEN ME, THE DRIVER, AND LARGE SHARDS OF BROKEN GLASS WAS THE INNER ROOF SHIELD, WHICH WAS FORTUITOUSLY CLOSED, OTHERWISE THE SHATTERED GLASS UNEXPECTEDLY FALLING ON MY HEAD/CUTTING ME WHILE DRIVING WOULD LIKELY LEAD TO MY FACE, HEAD AND ARMS BEING CUT, A HIGHWAY COLLISION OR WORSE, A MULTI-CAR COLLISION.

View Details

TIRES

11/9/2016 - ACWORTH, GA
THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS LOW SO I TOOK THE CAR TO MY TIRE DEALER ONLY TO DISCOVER THAT ALL OEM NEXEN TIRES HAD CRACKS BETWEEN THE TREADS BOTH HORIZONTALLY AND VERTICALLY. EACH TIRE HAS A DIFFERENT DOT CODE SO I HAVE ONLY SUBMITTED ONE COMPLAINT. THE CAR HAS 8940 MILES ON IT AND IS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GT. I CALLED NEXEN WARRANTY DEPARTMENT AND NO ONE ANSWERED SO I LEFT A MESSAGE. I ALSO, WROTE THEM AND EMAIL AND AM WAITING FOR A RESPONSE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/9/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
AROUND 40,000 MILES THE CAR RANDOMLY WOULD NOT START, LEAVING ME STRANDED. I TOOK THE CAR IN SEVERAL TIMES AND DEALERSHIP COULD NOT DETECT AN ISSUE. 2ND TIME I DROPPED OFF, A MISFIRE WAS DETECTED AND IGNITION COILS WHERE REPLACED DUE TO DEFECTED COILS. I PICKED UP MY CAR AND 11 DAYS LATER THE CAR WOULDN'T START UP AGAIN. ITS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR 3 WEEKS NOW. LAST I HEARD THEY ARE REPLACING: THE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY, TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH, AND BRAKE SWITCH. I HAVE YET TO HEAR IF THE PARTS CAME IN AND IF THIS WILL FIX THE ISSUE. I RECEIVED A CALL ON 11/3/2016 AND NOW THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH THE CAR FAILING TO START AND HYUNDAI CANT EVEN FIGURE IT OUT, AS OF TODAY THEY HAD MY CAR FOR A TOTAL OF 25 DAYS AND STILL NO RESOLUTION. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AND RECALLED. IVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS DIRECTLY AND HAVE A CASE WITH THEM GOING ON. I SEE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME ISSUE HAPPENING ON THIS MODEL, I HOP THIS WILL SOMEWHAT HELP. BE CONSISTENT AND DON'T TAKE NO FOR ANSWER, I AM STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS ON SOMETHING THAT IS NOT WORKING NOR I HAVE IS UNFAIR. SINCE THE CAR IS LESS THAN 60,000 MILES THIS WILL BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, IT SHOULD OF HAD TO TAKE ME 3 TIMES, CALLING A MANGER AND GOING TO CONSUMER AFFAIRS FOR THEM TO FINALLY TAKE MY ISSUE SERIOUS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
AROUND 40,000 MILES THE CAR RANDOMLY WOULD NOT START, LEAVING ME STRANDED. I TOOK THE CAR IN SEVERAL TIMES AND DEALERSHIP COULD NOT DETECT AN ISSUE. 2ND TIME I DROPPED OFF, A MISFIRE WAS DETECTED AND IGNITION COILS WHERE REPLACED DUE TO DEFECTED COILS. I PICKED UP MY CAR AND 11 DAYS LATER THE CAR WOULDN'T START UP AGAIN. ITS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR 3 WEEKS NOW. LAST I HEARD THEY ARE REPLACING: THE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY, TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH, AND BRAKE SWITCH. I HAVE YET TO HEAR IF THE PARTS CAME IN AND IF THIS WILL FIX THE ISSUE. I RECEIVED A CALL ON 11/3/2016 AND NOW THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH THE CAR FAILING TO START AND HYUNDAI CANT EVEN FIGURE IT OUT, AS OF TODAY THEY HAD MY CAR FOR A TOTAL OF 25 DAYS AND STILL NO RESOLUTION. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AND RECALLED. IVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS DIRECTLY AND HAVE A CASE WITH THEM GOING ON. I SEE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME ISSUE HAPPENING ON THIS MODEL, I HOP THIS WILL SOMEWHAT HELP. BE CONSISTENT AND DON'T TAKE NO FOR ANSWER, I AM STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS ON SOMETHING THAT IS NOT WORKING NOR I HAVE IS UNFAIR. SINCE THE CAR IS LESS THAN 60,000 MILES THIS WILL BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, IT SHOULD OF HAD TO TAKE ME 3 TIMES, CALLING A MANGER AND GOING TO CONSUMER AFFAIRS FOR THEM TO FINALLY TAKE MY ISSUE SERIOUS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/9/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
AROUND 40,000 MILES THE CAR RANDOMLY WOULD NOT START, LEAVING ME STRANDED. I TOOK THE CAR IN SEVERAL TIMES AND DEALERSHIP COULD NOT DETECT AN ISSUE. 2ND TIME I DROPPED OFF, A MISFIRE WAS DETECTED AND IGNITION COILS WHERE REPLACED DUE TO DEFECTED COILS. I PICKED UP MY CAR AND 11 DAYS LATER THE CAR WOULDN'T START UP AGAIN. ITS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR 3 WEEKS NOW. LAST I HEARD THEY ARE REPLACING: THE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY, TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH, AND BRAKE SWITCH. I HAVE YET TO HEAR IF THE PARTS CAME IN AND IF THIS WILL FIX THE ISSUE. I RECEIVED A CALL ON 11/3/2016 AND NOW THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH THE CAR FAILING TO START AND HYUNDAI CANT EVEN FIGURE IT OUT, AS OF TODAY THEY HAD MY CAR FOR A TOTAL OF 25 DAYS AND STILL NO RESOLUTION. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE AND RECALLED. IVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI CONSUMER AFFAIRS DIRECTLY AND HAVE A CASE WITH THEM GOING ON. I SEE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME ISSUE HAPPENING ON THIS MODEL, I HOP THIS WILL SOMEWHAT HELP. BE CONSISTENT AND DON'T TAKE NO FOR ANSWER, I AM STILL MAKING CAR PAYMENTS ON SOMETHING THAT IS NOT WORKING NOR I HAVE IS UNFAIR. SINCE THE CAR IS LESS THAN 60,000 MILES THIS WILL BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, IT SHOULD OF HAD TO TAKE ME 3 TIMES, CALLING A MANGER AND GOING TO CONSUMER AFFAIRS FOR THEM TO FINALLY TAKE MY ISSUE SERIOUS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds