Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 241 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Exterior Lighting (18) Seats (1) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (29) Suspension (40) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (32) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (17) Power Train (4) Steering (49) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (43)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

12/24/2014 - CATONSVILLE, MD
MY HYUNDAI ELANTRA GT CAME WITH HANKOOK OPTIMO H426 215R45 17 TIRES. THESE ORIGINAL TIRES HAD LESS THAN 29,000 MILES ON THEM AT THE TIME THE DEFECT WAS NOTICED. THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE HAD DEVELOPED A SERIOUS DEFECT/BULGE IN THE SIDEWALL AND HAD TO BE REPLACED IMMEDIATELY AS THE TIRE COULD FAIL AND CAUSE VEHICLE LOSS OF CONTROL AND POTENTIALLY AN ACCIDENT THAT COULD CAUSE INJURY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/15/2014 - FOREST HILL , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DISENGAGED BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO DRIVE AT THE SAME SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THE CONTACT TO SPRAY GUM OUT INSIDE OF THE FUEL INJECTION THROTTLE PLATE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/14/2014 - FAIRFIELD, OH
AS NOTED FROM OTHER COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS PROBLEM, I HAVE ALSO HAD THIS VEHICLE BECOME ALMOST UNCONTROLLABLE AT SPEED WHEN HITTING BUMPS OR UNEVEN PAVEMENT. THE REAR OF THE CAR WANTS TO SHIFT RIGHT OR LEFT AND IF NOT CAUGHT IN TIME COULD CAUSE ONE TO SIDE SWIPE ANOTHER VEHICLE OR JUST RUN OFF THE ROAD. THANKFULLY BECAUSE OF PAST ROAD RACING EXPERIENCE, I'VE BEEN ABLE TO COUNTER STEER THE VEHICLE BEFORE THERE IS AN ACCIDENT. ITS ONLY MY BELIEF THAT THERE IS TIRE/WHEEL/SUSPENSION ISSUES CREATING THIS SITUATION. YOU WOULD THINK THAT WITH ALL THE COMPLAINTS FILED, HYUNDAI MIGHT WANT TO TAKE A HARD LOOK AT WHAT IS CREATING THIS STABILITY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/11/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
EPS AND ESC LIGHTS CAME ON AND VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING. PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT. VEHICLE TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. DEALERSHIP IS UNABLE TO REPLICATE ISSUE AT THIS TIME. NO FAULT CODES FOUND BY DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPT. DEALER ADVISED THEY WILL TEST VEHICLE AGAIN TODAY (12/11/14) TO TRY TO REPLICATE ISSUE. ISSUE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES (8 TO 9) OVER A 24 HOUR PERIOD. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AS CONDITION OCCURS RANDOMLY. EPS LIGHT WILL TURN OFF AND ESC LIGHT STAYED ILLUMINATED. VEHICLE RECOVERED ON ITS OWN WHEN EPS LIGHT TURNED OFF. BOTH LIGHTS WERE OFF THE FOLLOWING MORNING WHEN TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT. CONDITION HAS OCCURRED WHILE MAKING A U-TURN, PULLING OUT OF DRIVE WAY, AND WHILE MAKING LEFT AND RIGHT TURNS.

View Details

STEERING

12/11/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
EPS AND ESC LIGHTS CAME ON AND VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING. PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT. VEHICLE TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. DEALERSHIP IS UNABLE TO REPLICATE ISSUE AT THIS TIME. NO FAULT CODES FOUND BY DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPT. DEALER ADVISED THEY WILL TEST VEHICLE AGAIN TODAY (12/11/14) TO TRY TO REPLICATE ISSUE. ISSUE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES (8 TO 9) OVER A 24 HOUR PERIOD. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AS CONDITION OCCURS RANDOMLY. EPS LIGHT WILL TURN OFF AND ESC LIGHT STAYED ILLUMINATED. VEHICLE RECOVERED ON ITS OWN WHEN EPS LIGHT TURNED OFF. BOTH LIGHTS WERE OFF THE FOLLOWING MORNING WHEN TOWED TO DEALERSHIP AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT. CONDITION HAS OCCURRED WHILE MAKING A U-TURN, PULLING OUT OF DRIVE WAY, AND WHILE MAKING LEFT AND RIGHT TURNS.

View Details

WHEELS

12/5/2014 - TELFORD, PA
I HAVE A 2013 ELANTRA GT AND HAVE HAD NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH WHEELS AND TIRES. IN THE WINTER OF 2013-14, I HAD THIS CAR FOR ONLY 4 MONTH AND STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH BUBBLES IN SIDEWALLS OF THE TIRES. THE ORIGINAL TIRES WERE KUMHO 245/45R17 TIRES AND BUBBLED OR WENT FLAT AFTER NORMAL DRIVING OR UPON ENCOUNTERING A BUMP OR POTHOLD. THE TIRES WERE REPLACED WITH FALKEN 245/45R17 TIRES IN FEBRUARY OF 2014. IN NOVEMBER OF 2014, ANOTHER BUBBLE APPEARED AND A SECOND ON DECEMBER 4, 2014. IT IS A CONCERNING CONDITION OF UNSAFETY AND UNRELIABILITY WHEN A VEHICLES TIRES ARE SO PRONE TO DAMAGE. I WAS ABLE TO PURCHASE THE ROAD HAZARD WARRANTY WITH THE REPLACEMENT TIRES, BUT HAVE LEARNED THAT THIS WILL NO LONGER BE AVAILABLE AND THE 17" TIRES WILL BE CONSIDERED 'LOW PROFILE' GOING FORWARD AND REPLACEMENTS WILL NOT BE COVERED AND WILL NEED TO BE PAID OUT OF POCKET. NOT ONLY IS THIS A SCARY SITUATION, IT IS EXPENSIVE AND TIME CONSUMING. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS COMPLAINT AND THE MANY OTHERS THAT HAVE BEEN SUBMITTED FOR THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

11/27/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
WHEN REACHING 45-50 MPH, STEERING BECAME SO LOOSE THAT IT WAS DIFFICULT TO STAY IN MY LANE. PULLED OVER TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY APPARENT PROBLEMS WITH THE TIRES, BUT NONE WERE SEEN. TRIED DRIVING AGAIN, SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED AT ABOUT THE SAME SPEED (NOTICED IT AROUND 40 MPH THIS TIME). COULD NOT CONTINUE TRIP; HAD TO BE TOWED 50 MILES BACK TO INDIANAPOLIS. HAVE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW (CLOSED FOR THANKSGIVING HOLIDAY TODAY). TRACTION CONTROL HAD BRIEFLY ENGAGED ABOUT 10 MINUTES EARLIER ON A SLICK AREA, BUT SEEMED TO BE AN APPROPRIATE RESPONSE, AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF. NOT SURE IF THIS IS RELATED.

View Details

WHEELS

11/23/2014 - COLLEGE POINT, NY
I HAD JUST OWNED MY BRAND NEW 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA LIMITED FOR 6 MONTHS WHEN I HIT A SMALL POTHOLE WHILE CROSSING A BRIDGE AND THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT AND THE RIM GOT DENTED AS WELL. I HAVE OWNED IT NOW FOR 1.5 YEARS AND HAVE HAD 2 BLOWN TIRES AND 3 DENTED RIMS IN TOTAL, ALL FROM MINOR POTHOLES THAT HAD NEVER GIVEN ME ANY TYPE OF ISSUE WITH ANY OF MY PREVIOUS VEHICLES. I'M 39, NEVER SPEED AND A CAREFUL DRIVER, I HAD NEVER HAD THIS ISSUE BEFORE. DEALERSHIP SAYS IT'S BECAUSE OF BAD NEW YORK CITY ROADS AND THAT THEY ARE NOT AWARE OF ANY PROBLEMS BUT I THINK THAT THE 17 INCH RIM AND LOW PROFILE TIRES THAT THE ELANTRA LIMITED COMES WITH ARE NOT REALLY COMPATIBLE WITH THE CARS STIFF SUSPENSION. I DON'T KNOW WHAT I'LL DO NOW, I MIGHT HAVE TO SPEND OVER 1,000. DOLLARS TO BUY NEW 16 INCH RIMS AND LARGER PROFILE TIRES, I DON'T THINK THIS IS FAIR AFTER PAYING TOP DOLLAR FOR A NEW VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/14/2014 - HEDGESVILLE, WV
CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS WITH HOLDING THE KEY ON START POSITION IT WOULD START AS NORMAL. IT WAS TAKEN TO LOCAL DEALERSHIP WHO STATE THE ENGINE GROUND WIRES WERE CORRODED. IT'S A 2013 ELANTRA WHEN ASKED WHAT CAUSED THE CORROSION , THE DEALERSHIP STATED THEY DIDN'T KNOW BUT THEY HAVE HAD 8 OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE SAME ISSUE THIS MONTH. I'D BE CONCERNED THIS COULD BECOME A FIRE HAZARD AND IT CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF WHILE RUNNING. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. ZACH

View Details

ENGINE

11/11/2014 - LAGRANGE, NC
CAR LOOSELY STEERED BARELY OFF ROAD, 1/8 MILE FROM HOME,BUMPED TREE 15' AWAY, BACKED UP, ENGINE SHUT OFF (AS USUAL SINCE DAY 2 OF LEASE), WINDSHIELD HEATED TO OVER 150 DEGREE'S IN 35 DEGREE WEATHER, SO I VACATED CAR, WHICH WAS IN FLAMES 2-3 MINUTES AND BURNED TO ASH..HAD 5 MONTHS, DAILY PROBLEMS, BATTERY, FUSES, IGNITION, NUMEROUS CALLS TO DEALER, SHOP, NO HELP, COULD EASILY HAVE DIED IN FIRETRAP ALIVE, CAR DOVE ITSELF, WHEN & WHERE IT PLEASED, AND WAS UNCONTROLLABLE.EVEN HYUNDAI MOTOR FINANCE HAS NOT PAID ON GAP COVERAGE IN 11 MONTHS, RUINING MY CREDIT TO BOOT, AND WAS OVER FINANCED PAST LEGAL LIMITS, ON A TOTAL NEW LEMON AND NOT ONLY WAS CAR NOT REPLACED AS PROMISED,I CANNOT GET A RESPONSE FROM HYUNDAI, OR HYUNDAI FINANCE.,THIS WAS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE, AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE TO NEVER PURCHASE A HYUNDAI PRODUCT. YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED.AND LOSE YOUR FRANCHISE LICENSE.I WILL HAVE TO SUE TO EVER BEGIN TO BE COMPENSATED FOR ALL YOU HAVE DONE TO ME, AND BECAUSE OF YOUR PRODUCT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds