Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 365 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (42) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (13) Steering (72) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Exterior Lighting (21) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Visibility (20)
Engine (37) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (70) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (42) Tires (48) Wheels (53)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

3/16/2016 - KERRVILLE, TX
I HAVE TAKEN MY HYUNDAI ELANTRA INTO RED MCCOMBS HYUNDAI IN SAN ANTONIO TX. ON I-10 WEST SEVERAL TIMES ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WIT THE STRUTS. AND THEY DID WORK ON THE SURGING PART OF THE ENGINE BUT IT STILL SURGES WHEN SPEEDING UP. I WAS TOLD BY FIRESTONE THAT THE STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, AND I WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT MECHANICS HERE IN KERRVILLE, TX THE SAME THING BUT THEY SAID I WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND SHOULD TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND INSIST THEY REPAIR IT. SO I'LL TRY ONE MORE TIME. THE FRONT END MAKES A LOUD CLICKING SOUND WHEN TAKING OFF AND FEELS LIKE IT BOTTOMS OUT WHEN YOU HIT A BUMP. IT IS A BIT NERVE RACKING. THE LAST MECHANIC TOLD ME TO TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER ON 3/14/2016. THIS PROBLEM IS TWO YEARS OLD NOW, BILLY CARSON

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

3/8/2016 - HAMMOND, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE SUN ROOF SHATTERED INTO THE VEHICLE. THAT FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUN ROOF NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR THE INITIAL FAMILIAR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 34,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/2/2016 - AUDUBON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUSPENSION CAUSED THE TIRES TO BECOME FLAT WHEN DRIVING OVER A POTHOLE AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 30-60 MPH. THE CONTACT HAD TO REPLACE THE TIRES FOUR TIMES IN TWO WEEKS. IN ADDITION, THE TIRES EXPERIENCED BUBBLES IN THE SIDEWALLS. THE TIRES HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THE SAFETY RISK INVOLVED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRES WERE REPLACED A TOTAL OF SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/1/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE DRIVERS SIDE SUN VISOR DOES RETURN TO A FLUSH POSITION, SO IT IS LEFT PARTIALLY BLOCKING THE WINDSHIELD WHEN DRIVING AND COMES INTO CONTACT WITH THE TOP OF THE DRIVERS HEAD WHEN OPERATING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

WHEELS

2/27/2016 - SEVERN, MD
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2013 ELANTRA GT. AROUND FEBRUARY 4, 2016 I HIT A POTHOLE, ON MARYLAND ROUTE 175, DUE TO ROAD WORK COMBINED WITH INCLEMENT WEATHER. A DISTURBING SOUND ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE VEHICLE OCCURRED AFTER CONTACT WITH THE POTHOLE. UPON INSPECTION OF THE TIRES AND RIMS ALL SEEMED WELL. ON FEBRUARY 24, 2016 (AFTER BEING STATIONARY SINCE THE INCIDENT), A LARGE GOLF BALL SIZE BULGE APPEARED ON THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE AND A SMALLER ONE ON THE REAR RIGHT TIRE. THE TIRES HAVE ONLY 7,815 MILES ON THEM. DUE TO THE BULGES IN BOTH RIGHT TIRES I FEAR A BLOWOUT COULD OCCUR IN ONE OR BOTH TIRES, LOSING CONTROL OF THE CAR, BEFORE SAFELY BEING DRIVING THE 15 MILES IN CITY TRAFFIC TO THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/18/2016 - WARWICK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH IN SNOW, THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE WOULD VEER OFF TRACK AS THOUGH IT WANTED TO FISHTAIL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO TURN INTO A RAMP, CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WAS NEARLY LOST CONTROL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS, HOWEVER THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000. UPDATED 04/22/16

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

2/1/2016 - DEMING, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MAKE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BEARINGS IN THE VEHICLE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/29/2016 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I WAS BRAKING TO MAKE A TURN ON A AN ICY ROAD WHEN THE BRAKES MADE A LOUD GRINDING SOUND AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD NOT PRESS IN PROPERLY - SORT OF LIKE IT WAS FIGHTING BACK. I THOUGHT IT WAS A RESPONSE BY ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL BECAUSE OF THE ICE, BUT THEN LATER THE SAME DAY, SLOWING DOWN AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT THE SAME SOUND OCCURRED AGAIN ON A COMPLETELY DRY ROAD SURFACE. THE SOUND CONTINUED WHILE BRAKING FOR THE REST OF THE TRIP WHILE BRAKING ON DRY ROADS. I EVEN TRIED PRESSING THE BRAKES WITH DIFFERENT FORCE - LIGHTLY AND SUDDENLY - TO THE SAME RESULT. STOPPING DISTANCE AND BRAKING QUALITY WERE COMPROMISED - IT DEFINITELY TOOK ME LONGER TO STOP SO I AM VERY THANKFUL I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THIS OCCURRED. I WILL ALSO NOTE THAT THE SOUND OCCURS TOWARDS THE END OF A LONG DRIVE (APPROXIMATELY AN HOUR), NOT RUNNING BRIEF ERRANDS. SO IT IS AS IF THE CAR MUST BE RUNNING HOT FIRST AND THEN THE ISSUE REPLICATES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/4/2016 - DOYLESTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE RAN OVER A CURB INTO THE HIGHWAY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/2/2016 - WESTON, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON SINCE DECEMBER 23RD 2015, I WENT TO THE RICK CASE HYUNDAI DEALER IN DAVIE, FL AND THEY TOLD ME THE WARRANTY EXPIRES??, HOW COME A WARRANTY FOR A MECHANIC PART THAT IS NOT IN USE, MEAN THE AIRBAGS HAVE NEVER BEEN DEPLOYED, CAN EXPIRE??, I AM VERY CONCERN FOR MY WIFE, DAUGHTER AND ME SAFETY AND AFRAID TO USE THE CAR FOR LONG TRIPS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds