Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 214 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (17) Seats (1) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (33) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (23) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (15) Power Train (4) Steering (45) Unknown Or Other (15) Wheels (40)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/29/2014 - GENOA, NE
THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED FOR MY WIFE ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND I DRIVE IT VERY LITTLE. WHEN I HAVE, THE CAR SEEMS TO WONDER REAL BAD, MUCH WORSE ON NEW ROADS. IT IS ALMOST LIKE IT FLOATS SIDE TO SIDE. THIS LAST WEEKEND IT KEPT DRIFTING BOTH WAYS AND WENT OFF THE ROAD SEVERAL TIMES. THE DEALER CLAIMED EVERY THING IS ALRIGHT, BUT I KNOW IT SHOULD NOT WANDER LIKE THIS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/29/2014 - GENOA, NE
THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED FOR MY WIFE ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND I DRIVE IT VERY LITTLE. WHEN I HAVE, THE CAR SEEMS TO WONDER REAL BAD, MUCH WORSE ON NEW ROADS. IT IS ALMOST LIKE IT FLOATS SIDE TO SIDE. THIS LAST WEEKEND IT KEPT DRIFTING BOTH WAYS AND WENT OFF THE ROAD SEVERAL TIMES. THE DEALER CLAIMED EVERY THING IS ALRIGHT, BUT I KNOW IT SHOULD NOT WANDER LIKE THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR. IT WAS A DARK ROAD IN THE NIGHT. PERHAPS SHE DIDN'T SEE THE STOP SIGN AND CASH INTO A VEHICLE COMING FROM RIGHT HAND SIDE, GOING IN THE SAME DIRECTION MY WIFE WAS GOING. MY WIFE CRASHED THE OTHER VEHICLE FROM BEHIND. IT WAS SERIOUS CRASH IN WHICH THE ENTIRE FRONT PORTION OF THE CAR IS DAMAGED. BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT COME OUT. MY WIFE HAD HER HEAD HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND HAD A AN INJURY. MY COMPLAINT IS "WHY DID THE AIR BAG NOT INFLATE IN SUCH A SERIOUS CRASH?" ..UPDATED 10/06/14 .

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/26/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR. IT WAS A DARK ROAD IN THE NIGHT. PERHAPS SHE DIDN'T SEE THE STOP SIGN AND CASH INTO A VEHICLE COMING FROM RIGHT HAND SIDE, GOING IN THE SAME DIRECTION MY WIFE WAS GOING. MY WIFE CRASHED THE OTHER VEHICLE FROM BEHIND. IT WAS SERIOUS CRASH IN WHICH THE ENTIRE FRONT PORTION OF THE CAR IS DAMAGED. BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT COME OUT. MY WIFE HAD HER HEAD HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND HAD A AN INJURY. MY COMPLAINT IS "WHY DID THE AIR BAG NOT INFLATE IN SUCH A SERIOUS CRASH?" ..UPDATED 10/06/14 .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/26/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR. IT WAS A DARK ROAD IN THE NIGHT. PERHAPS SHE DIDN'T SEE THE STOP SIGN AND CASH INTO A VEHICLE COMING FROM RIGHT HAND SIDE, GOING IN THE SAME DIRECTION MY WIFE WAS GOING. MY WIFE CRASHED THE OTHER VEHICLE FROM BEHIND. IT WAS SERIOUS CRASH IN WHICH THE ENTIRE FRONT PORTION OF THE CAR IS DAMAGED. BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT COME OUT. MY WIFE HAD HER HEAD HIT THE STEERING WHEEL AND HAD A AN INJURY. MY COMPLAINT IS "WHY DID THE AIR BAG NOT INFLATE IN SUCH A SERIOUS CRASH?" ..UPDATED 10/06/14 .

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/23/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
WHEN CORNERING AND THE ROAD IS SLIGHTLY UNEVEN THE CAR SKITTERS SIDE WAYS, OR IN BAD CASES IF YOU HIT A BUMP THE CAR STEPS SIDEWAYS. DEPENDING ON THE SPEED OR THE TIGHTNESS OF THE TURN, THE CAR CAN DRIFT SIDEWAYS BY QUITE A DISTANCE.

View Details

STEERING

9/23/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
WHEN CORNERING AND THE ROAD IS SLIGHTLY UNEVEN THE CAR SKITTERS SIDE WAYS, OR IN BAD CASES IF YOU HIT A BUMP THE CAR STEPS SIDEWAYS. DEPENDING ON THE SPEED OR THE TIGHTNESS OF THE TURN, THE CAR CAN DRIFT SIDEWAYS BY QUITE A DISTANCE.

View Details

WHEELS

9/22/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
TIRES THAT CAME FACTORY ON THE VEHICLE DID NOT LAST AS LONG AS THE TIRE WAS RATED FROM THE MANUFACTURES WEBSITE. THEY ARE NEARLY BALD, DUE TO HIGHWAY DRIVING, AND THE MANUFACTURE AND CAR COMPANY WILL NOT HONOR THE TREAD LIFE WARRANTY. THEY SAID THAT THERE IS NOT AN OWNER WARRANTY BECAUSE I DID NOT PURCHASE THE TIRES. THIS IS CONFUSING TO ME, ONLY BECAUSE I BOUGHT A $24,000 CAR! CONTINENTAL WAS CONTACTED BY ME TO DISCUSS THIS, AND I'VE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. NEITHER IS WILLING TO ACCEPT THE FACT THAT THE TIRES DID NOT LAST LIKE THEY HAD ADVERTISED. NEXT VEHICLE I PURCHASE I PLAN ON REMOVING ANYTHING WITH THE NAME CONTINENTAL ON IT.

View Details

WHEELS

9/11/2014 - COLTON, CA
ON SEPTEMBER 9, 2014, MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING OUR 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA (PURCHASED JANUARY 2014) TO SCHOOL ON A SURFACE STREET. SHE STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT AND UPON ACCELERATING HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND PULLED OVER IMMEDIATELY INTO A PARKING SPACE. SHE NOTICED THAT SHE HAD A FLAT TIRE. SHE CALLED ME IMMEDIATELY AND I SHOWED UP TO CHANGE THE TIRE. I NOTICED A LARGE HOLE IN THE OEM HANKOOK OPTIMO TIRE AND I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER (HYUNDAI INLAND EMPIRE) FOR REPAIR. THE HOLE WAS TOO BIG TO REPAIR AND I WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE TIRE. TWO HOURS LATER THE SERVICE ADVISOR CALLED ME AND STATED THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE RIM BECAUSE IT WAS CRACKED. THE COST OF REPLACEMENT WAS $399 FOR THE RIM AND $153.67 FOR THE TIRE. I COULD NOT BELIEVE THAT THE RIM WAS CRACKED. THERE WAS NO SIGNIFICANT MECHANISM TO CRACK THE RIM. THIS WAS A SIMPLE FLAT TIRE ON A HIGH TRAFFIC, 30 - 40 MPH STREET, AT 7:30 IN THE MORNING. BOTH OF MY DAUGHTERS WERE IN THE CAR AND BOTH CONFIRM THAT THEY HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND PULLED OVER IMMEDIATELY. THERE WAS NO TIRE SIDEWALL DAMAGE AND NO EVIDENCE OF RIM DAMAGE. I HAVE OWNED 8 CARS IN MY LIFETIME AND HAVE HAD SEVERAL FLAT TIRES, AND I HAVE NEVER HAD A CRACKED RIM. THIS IS AN 8 MONTH OLD CAR WITH LOW MILES AND THERE IS NO OTHER REASON FOR A CRACKED $399 RIM, OTHER THAN MANUFACTURE DEFECT. I HAVE RESEARCHED THE INTERNET AND HAVE FOUND 12 OTHER REPORTED CASES OF CRACKED RIMS IN THE 2013 ELANTRA. AS A PARENT, WHO PURCHASED THIS CAR FOR HIS DAUGHTER BASED ON THE SAFETY RATING, I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE SIZE OF THE TIRE BLOW-OUT AND THE CRACKED RIM. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI, BOTH CUSTOMER CARE AND THE DEALER, AND THEY HAVE REFUSED TO COVER THE COST OF THE RIM OR ADMIT ANY DEFECT OR FAULT. A NINE MONTH OLD RIM SHOULD NOT CRACK WITH A SIMPLE FLAT TIRE. THE FACT THAT 12 OTHER CASES HAVE BEEN REPORTED IN THE LAST 9 MONTHS IS SUBSTANTIAL.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

9/11/2014 - CHIPPEWA FALLS, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD, THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE BECAME VERY UNSTABLE AND CAUSED THE DRIVER TO NEARLY LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER REPLACED ALL FOUR TIRES AND THE REAR SUSPENSION, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds