Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 374 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (42) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (17) Steering (72) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Exterior Lighting (21) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Visibility (20)
Engine (37) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (71) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (46) Tires (48) Wheels (54)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/4/2016 - FLORENCE, MS
TAKATA RECALL. MY COMPLAINTS INVOLVES THE STEERING AND BRAKES. WHEN IN MOTION AND APPLY PRESSURE TO STEERING EITHER DIRECTION NOTHING HAPPENS. ITS VERY STICKY. APPLY MORE PRESSURE AND IT OVER STEERS. HIS TO THE POINT THAT IT IS EXTREMELY AGGRAVATING AND DANGEROUS. WHEN IN MOTION THE BRAKES CHATTER TERRIBLY. EVEN WORSE IN RAINY CONDITIONS. VIBRATES THE WHOLE CAR. I FOUND THAT HYUNDAI IS WELL AWARE OF THESE PROBLEMS. WHY HAVEN'T THEY CORRECTED THESE PROBLEMS ? ARE THEY SIMPLY USING THEIR BUYERS AS GUINEA PIGS ? OR DO THEY EVEN CARE ABOUT THE QUALITY OF THEIR PRODUCT. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I'VE MADE THESE COMPLAINTS AND AS OF NOW, STILL NO RESPONSE. WASTED MY HARD EARNED MONEY FOR SURE AS WELL AS MY TIME. THANKS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/3/2016 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
I DRIVE 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, REAR SUSPENSION IS TERRIBLE, VERY UNSTABLE EVEN ON SMALL BUMPS. IT'S DANGEROUS AND UNSAFE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/19/2016 - RICHMOND, TX
MY SON HAD AN ACCIDENT ON THE STREET WHERE WE LIVE COMING HOME ONE NIGHT, HE FELL ASLEEP AND HE RAN INTO A PARKED PICK UP ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE STREET AND THE HAD LOTS OF FRONT END DAMAGE, THE CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS. HE HIT HIS FACE ON THE STEERING WHEEL DURING THE ACCIDENT, THE AIR BAG(S) DID NOT DEPLOY. MY SON'S FACE WAS HORRIBLY SWOLLEN, HE ALSO ENDED UP WITH A BLACKEN, BLOOD SHOT EYE AS WELL AND I HAD TO TAKE HIM TO THE DOCTOR TO SEEK MEDICAL TREATMENT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/23/2016 - NEW YORK, NY
OWNED VEHICLE FOR 3 YEARS, HAVE BEEN NOTICING A FEW PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE THAT IS THE RESULT OF THE POOR SUSPENSION. THE MIL CAME ON TODAY HINTING TO POSSIBLE SENSOR ISSUES, THE VEHICLE ALSO CONSTANTLY SHAKES AND TREMBLES WHEN IDLE. THE CORE OF THE PROBLEMS APPEARS TO BE THE RESULT OF POOR SUSPENSION AS THE VEHICLE ROCKS UP AND DOWN AFTER HITTING ANY IDEA SPEED BUMP, HILL OR POTHOLE. IT PUTS DRIVERS AT A DIFFICULT POSITION SINCE THE ROCKING OF THE VEHICLE CAUSES IT TO JUMP OVER TO THE RIGHT WHEN YOU ARE ON A HIGHWAY. PLEASE SERIOUS LOOK INTO THIS. EVERY DEALERSHIP IS ADVISING THIS IS NORMAL BUT NO OTHER VEHICLE DOES THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/23/2016 - NEW YORK, NY
OWNED VEHICLE FOR 3 YEARS, HAVE BEEN NOTICING A FEW PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE THAT IS THE RESULT OF THE POOR SUSPENSION. THE MIL CAME ON TODAY HINTING TO POSSIBLE SENSOR ISSUES, THE VEHICLE ALSO CONSTANTLY SHAKES AND TREMBLES WHEN IDLE. THE CORE OF THE PROBLEMS APPEARS TO BE THE RESULT OF POOR SUSPENSION AS THE VEHICLE ROCKS UP AND DOWN AFTER HITTING ANY IDEA SPEED BUMP, HILL OR POTHOLE. IT PUTS DRIVERS AT A DIFFICULT POSITION SINCE THE ROCKING OF THE VEHICLE CAUSES IT TO JUMP OVER TO THE RIGHT WHEN YOU ARE ON A HIGHWAY. PLEASE SERIOUS LOOK INTO THIS. EVERY DEALERSHIP IS ADVISING THIS IS NORMAL BUT NO OTHER VEHICLE DOES THIS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/16/2016 - KERRVILLE, TX
I HAVE TAKEN MY HYUNDAI ELANTRA INTO RED MCCOMBS HYUNDAI IN SAN ANTONIO TX. ON I-10 WEST SEVERAL TIMES ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WIT THE STRUTS. AND THEY DID WORK ON THE SURGING PART OF THE ENGINE BUT IT STILL SURGES WHEN SPEEDING UP. I WAS TOLD BY FIRESTONE THAT THE STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, AND I WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT MECHANICS HERE IN KERRVILLE, TX THE SAME THING BUT THEY SAID I WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND SHOULD TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND INSIST THEY REPAIR IT. SO I'LL TRY ONE MORE TIME. THE FRONT END MAKES A LOUD CLICKING SOUND WHEN TAKING OFF AND FEELS LIKE IT BOTTOMS OUT WHEN YOU HIT A BUMP. IT IS A BIT NERVE RACKING. THE LAST MECHANIC TOLD ME TO TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER ON 3/14/2016. THIS PROBLEM IS TWO YEARS OLD NOW, BILLY CARSON

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/16/2016 - KERRVILLE, TX
I HAVE TAKEN MY HYUNDAI ELANTRA INTO RED MCCOMBS HYUNDAI IN SAN ANTONIO TX. ON I-10 WEST SEVERAL TIMES ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WIT THE STRUTS. AND THEY DID WORK ON THE SURGING PART OF THE ENGINE BUT IT STILL SURGES WHEN SPEEDING UP. I WAS TOLD BY FIRESTONE THAT THE STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, AND I WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT MECHANICS HERE IN KERRVILLE, TX THE SAME THING BUT THEY SAID I WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND SHOULD TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND INSIST THEY REPAIR IT. SO I'LL TRY ONE MORE TIME. THE FRONT END MAKES A LOUD CLICKING SOUND WHEN TAKING OFF AND FEELS LIKE IT BOTTOMS OUT WHEN YOU HIT A BUMP. IT IS A BIT NERVE RACKING. THE LAST MECHANIC TOLD ME TO TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER ON 3/14/2016. THIS PROBLEM IS TWO YEARS OLD NOW, BILLY CARSON

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

3/8/2016 - HAMMOND, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE SUN ROOF SHATTERED INTO THE VEHICLE. THAT FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUN ROOF NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR THE INITIAL FAMILIAR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 34,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/2/2016 - AUDUBON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUSPENSION CAUSED THE TIRES TO BECOME FLAT WHEN DRIVING OVER A POTHOLE AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 30-60 MPH. THE CONTACT HAD TO REPLACE THE TIRES FOUR TIMES IN TWO WEEKS. IN ADDITION, THE TIRES EXPERIENCED BUBBLES IN THE SIDEWALLS. THE TIRES HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THE SAFETY RISK INVOLVED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRES WERE REPLACED A TOTAL OF SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/1/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE DRIVERS SIDE SUN VISOR DOES RETURN TO A FLUSH POSITION, SO IT IS LEFT PARTIALLY BLOCKING THE WINDSHIELD WHEN DRIVING AND COMES INTO CONTACT WITH THE TOP OF THE DRIVERS HEAD WHEN OPERATING THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds