Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 256 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (19) Seats (1) Suspension (44) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (30) Tires (36) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (44)
Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Steering (53)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/11/2015 - VALLEJO, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JULY 2014. A. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA AND AFTER 3 WEEKS THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE WENT OUT AFTER BARELY HITTING CURB AROUND BY SEPTEMBER 2014, THE DRIVERS TIRE WAS DEFLATING REPLACED. ON 2/10/2015 THE TIRE IN REAR WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT COULD BECAUSE A NAIL GOT INTO THE TIRE AND CAUSED THE PROBLEM. IT JUST SEEMS A BIT UNUSAL FOR 3 TIRES IN LESS THAN A YEAR OF OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH WAS NEW PURCHASED JULY 2014. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA.

View Details

WHEELS

2/11/2015 - VALLEJO, CA
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JULY 2014. A. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA AND AFTER 3 WEEKS THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE WENT OUT AFTER BARELY HITTING CURB AROUND BY SEPTEMBER 2014, THE DRIVERS TIRE WAS DEFLATING REPLACED. ON 2/10/2015 THE TIRE IN REAR WENT OUT WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT COULD BECAUSE A NAIL GOT INTO THE TIRE AND CAUSED THE PROBLEM. IT JUST SEEMS A BIT UNUSAL FOR 3 TIRES IN LESS THAN A YEAR OF OWNING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH WAS NEW PURCHASED JULY 2014. 2013 HYUNDIA ELANTRA.

View Details

TIRES

2/9/2015 - ELMONT , NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA EQUIPPED WITH HANKOOK TIRE LINE: OPTIMO H426 AND TIRE SIZE: P215/45/R17. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED A BUBBLE IN THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE. THE TIRE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,536.

View Details

TIRES

2/5/2015 - WINDSOR, CT
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA GL WITH HANKOOK OPTIMA MODEL 426 205/55R/16 TIRES. I DID ALL ROTATIONS AT 6000 MILES AND ALIGNMENTS ONCE A YEAR AS THE CAR MANUFACTURER SPECFIES. THIS VEHICLE IS ALSO EQUIPED WITH A TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM (TPS). WHICH NEVER INDICATED ANY PROBLEMS WITH PROPER INFLATION. EVEN WITH FULL TREAD THESE TIRES HAD ALMOST ZERO TRACTION IN ANY WEATHER CONDITIONS WERE THERE WAS ANY ACCUMULATION OF RAIN OR SNOW. THESE ARE STATED AS ALL SEASON RADIALS AND THEY DO NOT PREFORM AS SUCH. MY TIRES WERE DOWN TO THE WEAR BARS 3/32' TREAD LEFT WITH 29791 MILES ON THE ODOMETER.THE MANUFACTURER LISTS THESE AS 50,000 MILE RATED TIRES. WHEN I QUESTIONED HYUNDAI THEY REFERED ME TO HANKOOK TELLING ME THE MANUFACTURER KNOWS ALL ABOUT THE PROBLEMS WITH THE TIRE AND IS HANDLING ALL COMPLAINTS I CONTACTED HANKOOK CUSTOMER SERVICE AT 800-426-5665 AND SPOKE WITH JEANETTE AT EXT. 616 I WAS FIRST TOLD ALL I NEEDED TO DO WAS HAVE A ONE OF THEIR LOCAL TIRE DISTRIBUTORS VERIFY TREAD DEPTH.I HAD THE TIRES REPLACED AT TOWN FAIR TIRES. THEN I ASKED THE MANAGER AT TOWN FAIR TIRES TO CALL THEM TO VERIFY. WHICH HE WAS HAPPY TO DO.THE STORY CHANGED TWO DAYS LATER THE MANAGER CALLED AND WAS TOLD THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HE WAS TALKING ABOUT, HE CALLED ME I CALLED THEM AND THEN THEY REMEMBERED THE CONVERSATION AND SAID" THEY WOULD CALL HIM BACK". THEN HE WAS TOLD THEY NEEDED PICTURES EMAILED TO THEM OF THE TIRES. AN HOUR LATER I WAS TOLD BY HANKOOK THEY NEED THE ACTUAL TIRE SKINS. SINCE IT HAD BEEN THREE DAYS SINCE I HAD THE TIRES REPLACED THE DISTRIBUTOR'S RECYCLERS HAD ALREADY PICKED UP THE TIRES AND THEY WERE NO LONGER AVAILABLE. ALL I WAS LOOKING FOR WAS THE INDUSTRY STANDARD TIRE ALLOWANCE FOR LACK OF PREFORMANCE. WHICH NOW THEY ARE REFUSING TO DO FOR ME WITHOUT THE TIRES. CAN YOU HELP ME? THESE ARE DANGEROUS PRODUCTS ON OUR ROADS AND NEED TO BE REMOVED.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

2/4/2015 - ROCKPORT , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK TIRE PRESSURE MOTORING SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED SPORADICALLY AND THEN DISAPPEARED. THE CONTACT WOULD PERIODICALLY PULLOVER WHEN THE MALFUNCTION OCCURRED AND THE TIRE PRESSURE ON ALL TIRES WAS NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER HELD THE VEHICLE FOR 90 DAYS AND BROUGHT A HYUNDAI ENGINEER TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. BOTH THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,781.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/2/2015 - FOLSOM , PA
I WAS COMING OFF OF INTERSTATE 95 ONTO MY EXIT AND I APPLIED MY BRAKE TO SLOW MY CAR BUT MY BRAKE APPRAENTLY GAVE OUT AND WAS NOT WORKING . IT MAKE A LOUD SOUND LIKE IT WAS TRYING TO HOLD BUT IT DIDNT AND IN ORDER TO STOP MY CAR FROM HITTING ANY OTHERS OR PEOPLE STANDING AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD I TRIED STEERING IT TOWARD THE CLOSEST CURB SO THAT I COULD PREVENT AS MUSCH AS POSSIBLE WITHIN MY POWER. MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY BUT THE CAR HIT HARD ENOUGH THAT MY FACE SLAMMED INTO THE STEERING WHEEL, I SUSTAINED A CONCUSION AND DAMAGED MY FACE AND GLASSES. I HAVE MUSCLE STRAINS IN MY BACK, NECK AND STILL A SWOLLEN EYE AND CHEEK BONE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

2/2/2015 - FOLSOM , PA
I WAS COMING OFF OF INTERSTATE 95 ONTO MY EXIT AND I APPLIED MY BRAKE TO SLOW MY CAR BUT MY BRAKE APPRAENTLY GAVE OUT AND WAS NOT WORKING . IT MAKE A LOUD SOUND LIKE IT WAS TRYING TO HOLD BUT IT DIDNT AND IN ORDER TO STOP MY CAR FROM HITTING ANY OTHERS OR PEOPLE STANDING AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD I TRIED STEERING IT TOWARD THE CLOSEST CURB SO THAT I COULD PREVENT AS MUSCH AS POSSIBLE WITHIN MY POWER. MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY BUT THE CAR HIT HARD ENOUGH THAT MY FACE SLAMMED INTO THE STEERING WHEEL, I SUSTAINED A CONCUSION AND DAMAGED MY FACE AND GLASSES. I HAVE MUSCLE STRAINS IN MY BACK, NECK AND STILL A SWOLLEN EYE AND CHEEK BONE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/2/2015 - FOLSOM , PA
I WAS COMING OFF OF INTERSTATE 95 ONTO MY EXIT AND I APPLIED MY BRAKE TO SLOW MY CAR BUT MY BRAKE APPRAENTLY GAVE OUT AND WAS NOT WORKING . IT MAKE A LOUD SOUND LIKE IT WAS TRYING TO HOLD BUT IT DIDNT AND IN ORDER TO STOP MY CAR FROM HITTING ANY OTHERS OR PEOPLE STANDING AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD I TRIED STEERING IT TOWARD THE CLOSEST CURB SO THAT I COULD PREVENT AS MUSCH AS POSSIBLE WITHIN MY POWER. MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY BUT THE CAR HIT HARD ENOUGH THAT MY FACE SLAMMED INTO THE STEERING WHEEL, I SUSTAINED A CONCUSION AND DAMAGED MY FACE AND GLASSES. I HAVE MUSCLE STRAINS IN MY BACK, NECK AND STILL A SWOLLEN EYE AND CHEEK BONE.

View Details

STEERING

2/1/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
THEY CAR DRIVES FINE UNTIL YOU HIT A ANY SORT OF BUMP OR HOLE IN THE ROAD. WHEN THAT HAPPENS THE BACK END WIGGLES AND IN THE RAIN IT IS MUCH WORSE. IT IS EVEN WORSE ON THE HIGHWAY GOING AT A HIGHER SPEED. I HAVE READ SEVERAL OTHER COMPLAINTS ONLINE WITH DRIVERS FACING SIMILAR ISSUES. I AM WORRIED THAT IT WILL ONE DAY LOSE CONTROL. I DO NOT FEEL LIKE I AM IN CONTROL OF THE CAR, I'VE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY SAY EVERYTHING IS FINE AND THAT IS JUST HOW THE CAR DRIVES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/1/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
THEY CAR DRIVES FINE UNTIL YOU HIT A ANY SORT OF BUMP OR HOLE IN THE ROAD. WHEN THAT HAPPENS THE BACK END WIGGLES AND IN THE RAIN IT IS MUCH WORSE. IT IS EVEN WORSE ON THE HIGHWAY GOING AT A HIGHER SPEED. I HAVE READ SEVERAL OTHER COMPLAINTS ONLINE WITH DRIVERS FACING SIMILAR ISSUES. I AM WORRIED THAT IT WILL ONE DAY LOSE CONTROL. I DO NOT FEEL LIKE I AM IN CONTROL OF THE CAR, I'VE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY SAY EVERYTHING IS FINE AND THAT IS JUST HOW THE CAR DRIVES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds