Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 112 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (8) Suspension (10) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (18) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Steering (34) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Power Train (16)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2014 - ARBUTUS, MD
WHEN TAKING OFF FROM STOP OR TRAFFIC SIGNAL, MAKING LEFT TURN, VEHICLE REAR END ( SOUNDS LIKE REAR END OR AWD) MAKES THUMPING, SLIPPING, BUMPING NOISE WHICH CAN BE FELT THROUGH OUT VEHICLE. FIRST NOTICED ABOUT 3000 MILES. THOUGHT IT MAY BE A NORMAL CONDITION FOR AN AWD VEHICLE, BUT THE CONDITION HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE! TAKEN TO DEALER 2 TIME NOW, THEY STATE THEY CAN NOT FIND ANY PROBLEM, THEY REPLACED THE TRANS FLUID, THE REAR DIFF FLUID, BUT IT IS STILL GETTING WORSE! SERVICE MANAGER WENT FOR RIDE WITH ME AFTER STATING HE COULD NOT FEEL THE CONDITION ON VEHICLE, BUT HE ONLY DROVE VEHICLE IN PARKING LOT OF DEALERSHIP. I TOLD HIM IT HAPPENS WHEN TURNING AT LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS...HE WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT. ON OUR TEST DRIVE TOGETHER, HE DEFINITELY FELT WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT, ASKED HIS SHOP FORMAN TO GET IN VEHICLE WITH US, HE FELT THE CONDITION AS WELL, BUT SAID HE DID NOT KNOW WHAT IT COULD BE. THEY KEPT VEHICLE FOR 2 DAYS, REPLACED TRANSMISSION FLUID, READ DIFFERENTIAL FLUID AND A FEW OTHER ITEMS, GAVE VEHICLE BACK, AND ASKED ME TO SEE IF DOING THIS HELPED RECTIFY THE PROBLEM.....IT HAS NOT, CONTACTED HYUNDAI, GOT A CLAIM #, AND WAS TOLD TO TAKE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT VEHICLE.... VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 9000 MILES AND JUST TURNED 1 YEAR OLD SINCE NEW. WE BOUGHT THIS SANTA FE TO REPLACE A 2008 THAT HAD SIMILAR TRANS/AWD ISSUES, THAT LEFT US STRANDED 3 TIMES ON THE SIDE OF I-95 (TRANS & AWD BLEW UP ON US DRIVING TO FLORIDA KEYS ON I-95 AT 70 MPH) IN FALL OF 2012.....AFTER DEALER IN JACKSONVILLE ATTEMPTED REPAIRS FROM FIRST BREAKDOWN. UNFORTUNATELY, FLORIDA DOES NOT SELL AWD VEHICLES, AND APPARENTLY THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX THESE THINGS.

View Details

STEERING

6/12/2014 - STUART, FL
CAR WANDERS FROM LEFT TO RIGHT, CONSTANTLY HAVING TO CORRECT STEERING,

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/22/2014 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
MY FATHER RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER 9/23/13 FROM HYUNDAI ON HIS NEW 2013 SANTA FE SPORT REGARDING THE RIGHT FRONT AXLE SHAFT AND THAT IT COULD FRACTURE. CAMP112. HE CALLED HIS DEALER ON 9/24/13 TO SCHEDULE THE REPLACEMENT WORK. THEY WERE OUT OF THE PART. HE FOLLOWED UP AGAIN 10/17/13. MY FATHER GOT ILL AFTER THE HOLIDAYS. I FOUND THE RECALL PAPERWORK AND TRIED TO SCHEDULE THE REPAIR, IN MARCH 2014. THEY STILL DID NOT HAVE THE PART. MY MOM CALLED AGAIN IN APRIL. THEY STILL DO NOT HAVE THE PART. MY MOM OPENED A CASE NUMBER WITH HUYNDAI AT THAT TIME. I HAVE JUST CALLED TO SCHEDULE THE REPAIR AND THEY STILL DO NOT HAVE A PART. THEY SAY IT IS A NATIONAL BACK ORDER. MY COMPLAINT IS HOW CAN SOMETHING THAT IS RECALLED WITH A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE ASSOCIATED WITH IT, BE ALLOWED TO CONTINUE WITH NO REPLACEMENT PART FOR 8+ MONTHS? THIS IS NOT A WINDOW THAT WILL NOT ROLL DOWN. BASED ON THE INFORMATION I CAN FIND THERE ARE 20,000 VEHICLES THAT HAVE THIS ISSUE AND IN 8 MONTHS THEY CAN'T SEEM TO SUPPLY ADEQUATE REPLACEMENT PARTS. WHILE THE RECALL HAS NOT INDICATED ANY DEATHS, I AM CONCERNED BECAUSE OF HOW THE ISSUE IS EXPLAINED. IT OCCURS SUDDENLY, AND THE DRIVER WILL LOSE ABILITY TO STEER. MY MOTHER IS NOT SOMEONE, WHO WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WILL BE ABLE TO CONTROL THIS CAR IF THIS OCCURS. I WOULD BE HAPPY IF THIS WOULD JUST GET TAKEN CARE OF BUT THE SERVICE MANAGER AT RED HOAGLAND AND THE CASE WORKER AT HYUNDAI JUST SAY SORRY BUT THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. AT THIS POINT MY MOM DOESN'T FEEL LIKE SHE CAN DRIVE THE CAR ANY DISTANCE FOR FEAR THAT THIS ISSUE WILL ARISE. IS HYUNDAI NOT ACCOUNTABLE TO GET THESE PARTS AND KEEP THEIR CUSTOMERS INFORMED AND SAFE. 8 MONTHS OF BACK ORDER IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR THIS ISSUE TO BE ADDRESSED?

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

5/21/2014 - NAVARRE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS ACTIVATED AND FAILED UNEXPECTEDLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2014 - NAVARRE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS ACTIVATED AND FAILED UNEXPECTEDLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2014 - BREWERTON, NY
WE WERE ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN TRAFFIC HAD STOPPED WE WERE STOPPED ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND WHEN WE WENT TO GO THE ENGINE QUIT RIGHT AFTER WE GAVE THE VEHICLE THE GAS, NONE OF THE ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON. WE RESTARTED THE CAR AND GAVE IT THE GAS AND IT QUIT AGAIN STILL NO ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON.WE WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND GOT OFF THE INTERSTATE AND DROVE ON A SIDE ROAD TO SEE IF THE COMPUTER WOULD RESET ITSELF.WE HAD NO PROBLEM AFTER THAT.WE THAN TOOK IT INTO THE DIEALER AND THEY WENT THROUGH THE VEHICLE AND COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG.I ASKED THE DEALER IF THIS COULD HAPPEN WHEN WE WERE GOING 65MPH AND HAVE THE ENGINE QUIT AND HE SAID YES.IF WERE ON THE INTERSTATE AND GOING 65-70MPH AND THE ENGINE QUITS WE COULD BE KILLED BY A TRUCK HITTING US.THIS IS OUR 3RD SANTA FE BUT WERE ARE TERRIFIED OF DRIVING THIS VEHICLE ESPECIALLY WITH THE GRAND KIDS.I DID CALL HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TREATED LIKE I WAS AN IDIOT HE WAS ONE OF THE WORST PERSON I HAVE EVER TALKED TO IN CUSTOMER SERVICE.THE REASON I'M SENDING THIS TO YOU SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET KILLED BEAUSE OF THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/14/2014 - ROYERSFORD, PA
EST FEB 11, 2014. DRIVING ON THE PA TURNPIKE AND NEXT THING I KNOW THE ENGINE QUIT. TRIED PUTTING CAR IN NEUTRAL AND RESTART BUT IT WOULDN'T. WAS ABLE TO PULL ACROSS 5 LANES OF TURNPIKE TRAFFIC TO SIDE - PUT IN PARK AND RESTARTED. 13 APRIL, 2014. IN PARKING LOT WITH MOTOR RUNNING. ACCIDENTLY HIT BASE OF KEY CHAIN AND CAR SHUT OFF. KEY STILL IN AND ON THE POSITION OF STARTED MODE - LIKE I HADN'T TURN IT OFF. REPORTED 2X TO LIMERICK HYUNDAI IN PENNSYLVANIA. THEIR SUGGESTION IS TO TAKE OFF HOUSE KEYS, SMALL CARABINEER AND JUST USE CAR KEY ONLY AND ALONE. I NOTED THAT THERE WAS PLAY IN THE KEY WHEN IN THE IGNITION AND ASKED IF THERE MIGHT BE A LOSE WIRE OR IF I SHOULD REPLACE THE IGNITION KEY LOCK. THEY DIDN'T RECOMMEND IT. WONDERED IF TAKING THE KEY IN AND OUT COULDN'T HAVE TRIGGERED A PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - EDMOND, OK
TOOK 2013 SANTA FE SPORT 2.0T AWD IN FOR ROUTINE APPOINTMENT AT LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER TO HAVE WARRANTY SERVICE ON FUEL FILLER DOOR (WHICH WAS NOT OPERATING DUE TO FAILURE TO RE-CONNECT SOLENOID DURING PRIOR RECALL - BEFORE DELIVERY - FOR DOOR LOCKS) AND ALSO TO CHECK ON "TAPPET NOISE" IN ENGINE. CONFIRMED THESE WOULD BE WARRANTY ITEMS BEFORE LEAVING. STUNNED TO RECEIVE CALL LATER THAT AFTERNOON INFORMING ME THAT METAL WAS FOUND IN ENGINE OIL AND HYUNDAI WOULD REPLACE ENGINE, AND WANTED OLD ENGINE FOR INSPECTION. APPROXIMATELY 1,000 MILES ON ODOMETER. VEHICLE WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. TAPPET NOISE TYPICALLY SUBSIDED AFTER "COLD" (I.E. GARAGED) START-UPS. EXPERIENCED ONE ENGINE "BACKFIRE" AT LOW SPEED ON SERVICE ROAD JUST AFTER LEAVING DEALER LOT ..... DAY OF PURCHASE. ALSO EXPERIENCED SOME VERY MINOR HESITATION / STUMBLE ON OCCASION WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER FULL STOP. OTHERWISE ENGINE PERFORMING NORMALLY AT CITY AND HIGHWAY SPEEDS. NOW SUSPECT THAT "TAPPET NOISE" MIGHT HAVE BEEN PISTON SLAP! NOISE WAS WORST AFTER RELEASING GAS PEDAL AT ABOUT 1,000 RPM, WITH RPM FALLING. SOUNDED LIKE AN OLD FARM TRACTOR. DEALER SAYS THEY JUST FINISHED REPLACING ENGINE ON ANOTHER 2013 SANTA FE TODAY. LOUSY FEELING TO HAVE LEMON LAW AS THE ONLY SAFETY NET AFTER TRADING IN A PERFECTLY GOOD 4WD TRUCK, AND THEN PAY THOUSANDS MORE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2014 - OCEANSIDE, CA
MY 1 YEAR OLD HYUNDAI SANTA FE STARTED MAKING FAINT KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO, WHICH HAS NOW BECOME MORE NOTICEABLE AND PERSISTENT WHEN CORNERING AT SLOW SPEEDS (PARKING LOTS AND WINDING ROADS), OR GOING OVER A DIP IN THE ROAD AT HIGHER SPEEDS. IT SOUNDS LIKE A SINGLE CLUNK WITH SLIGHT FEEDBACK IN THE STEERING WHEEL, WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL, AND I HAVE RECENTLY DISCOVERED THAT RIGHT FRONT AXLE CAN BE MOVED SIDE TO SIDE BY HAND WITH WHEELS ON THE GROUND WHICH ALSO PRODUCES KNOCKING SOUND. CAR TAKEN TO TWO DIFFERENT DEALERSHIP ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS, BUT EACH TIME UNABLE TO LOCATE THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM EVEN AFTER DUPLICATING THE KNOCKING FOR TECHNICIANS. VEHICLE LOOKED OVER EACH TIME WITH FRONT SUSPENSION AND STEERING FOUND TO BE IN GOOD CONDITION WITH NO APPARENT DAMAGE, AND TIGHTENING BOTH FRONT AXLE BOLTS, BUT THE KNOCKING STILL PERSISTS. DEALERSHIP ADVISORS AND MECHANICS ARE ALWAYS VERY HELPFUL, AND ASSURED ME THAT VEHICLE IS SAFE TO DRIVE AND AXLE SIDE TO SIDE MOVEMENT IS NORMAL, BUT SINCE KNOCKING IS BECOMING VERY APPARENT EVEN WHEN CORNERING ON LEVEL ROADS, I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT VEHICLE SAFETY. I HAVE DRIVEN NUMBER OF DIFFERENT VEHICLES AND HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ISSUE LIKE THIS, WHICH MAKES ME FEEL UNEASY WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN FEAR THAT SOMETHING MAY GO TERRIBLY WRONG, AND AT THIS POINT I AM SIMPLY NOT SURE WHICH ACTION TO TAKE.

View Details

SEATS

3/28/2014 - SAPULPA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SEAT TRACK BECAME DISCONNECTED FROM THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TRACK ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds