Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 222 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (54) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (19) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Seats (9) Suspension (17) Visibility (10)
Engine (65) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/10/2017 - OMAHA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE STATIONARY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START WHEN PROMPTED. UPON EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT FLUID LEAKED INTO THE DRIVEWAY OF THE CONTACT'S HOME AND SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. FUTHERMORE, WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. WOODHOUSE HYUNDAI IN OMAHA, NEBRASKA (LOCATED AT 11540 WEST DODGE RD, 68154) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND HAD PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE DEALER REQUESTED THAT THE VEHICLE BE BROUGHT BACK IN FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 32,700.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2017 - BROWN SUMMIT, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTE FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CAPITOL HYUNDAI WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE HAD RECURRED ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 10339608. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 82,000. UPDATED 09/15/17

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
TAKATA RECALL. RELIGIOUSLY IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE, NOT DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE FOR 1200 MORE MILES. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR 7 DAYS WHILE I WAS ON VACATION, RAN FINE BEFORE IT SAT. DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR 4 DAYS AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION. ABOUT 6PM COMING HOME FROM WORK, OPPOSITE FROM RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I SUDDENLY HEARD SLIGHT TICKING SOUND WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY GETTING ON TO THE HIGHWAY, I ALSO NOTICED THE RPMS WERE HIGH AND NOT MUCH POWER BEHIND ACCELERATING. DROVE ABOUT 10-15 MILES, TICKING GOT LOUDER WHEN ACCELERATING UNTIL THERE WAS A CONSTANT TICKING AND RATTLE IN THE FRONT END. PARKED THE CAR LET IT SIT FOR A NIGHT. WENT TO TAKE IT TO THE GARAGE, UPON STARTING THE CAR THERE WAS TICKING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, RATTLELING, AND SHAKING, TURNED THE VEHICLE RIGHT OFF. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO LOW OIL LIGHT, NO DASH NOTIFICATION LIGHTS LIGHT UP INDICATING ANYTHING WAS WRONG, TEMPERATURE SEEMED NORMAL. POPPED THE HOOD TO CHECK FLIUDS. CHECKED OIL DIPSTICK, DRY AS DRY COULD BE. NO COOLANT, NO OIL. HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AFRAID ENGINE IS SHOT! IF I WAS TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IT COULD HAVE SEIZED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR LOSS OF CONTROL. I AM THANKFUL MY 17 YEAR OLD WAS NOT BEHIND THE WHEEL. I AM SURE A HEAFTY ENGINE REPLACEMENT BILL IS COMING MY WAY.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
TAKATA RECALL. RELIGIOUSLY IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE, NOT DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE FOR 1200 MORE MILES. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR 7 DAYS WHILE I WAS ON VACATION, RAN FINE BEFORE IT SAT. DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR 4 DAYS AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION. ABOUT 6PM COMING HOME FROM WORK, OPPOSITE FROM RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I SUDDENLY HEARD SLIGHT TICKING SOUND WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY GETTING ON TO THE HIGHWAY, I ALSO NOTICED THE RPMS WERE HIGH AND NOT MUCH POWER BEHIND ACCELERATING. DROVE ABOUT 10-15 MILES, TICKING GOT LOUDER WHEN ACCELERATING UNTIL THERE WAS A CONSTANT TICKING AND RATTLE IN THE FRONT END. PARKED THE CAR LET IT SIT FOR A NIGHT. WENT TO TAKE IT TO THE GARAGE, UPON STARTING THE CAR THERE WAS TICKING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, RATTLELING, AND SHAKING, TURNED THE VEHICLE RIGHT OFF. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO LOW OIL LIGHT, NO DASH NOTIFICATION LIGHTS LIGHT UP INDICATING ANYTHING WAS WRONG, TEMPERATURE SEEMED NORMAL. POPPED THE HOOD TO CHECK FLIUDS. CHECKED OIL DIPSTICK, DRY AS DRY COULD BE. NO COOLANT, NO OIL. HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AFRAID ENGINE IS SHOT! IF I WAS TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IT COULD HAVE SEIZED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR LOSS OF CONTROL. I AM THANKFUL MY 17 YEAR OLD WAS NOT BEHIND THE WHEEL. I AM SURE A HEAFTY ENGINE REPLACEMENT BILL IS COMING MY WAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/30/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
TAKATA RECALL. RELIGIOUSLY IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE, NOT DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE FOR 1200 MORE MILES. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR 7 DAYS WHILE I WAS ON VACATION, RAN FINE BEFORE IT SAT. DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR 4 DAYS AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION. ABOUT 6PM COMING HOME FROM WORK, OPPOSITE FROM RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I SUDDENLY HEARD SLIGHT TICKING SOUND WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY GETTING ON TO THE HIGHWAY, I ALSO NOTICED THE RPMS WERE HIGH AND NOT MUCH POWER BEHIND ACCELERATING. DROVE ABOUT 10-15 MILES, TICKING GOT LOUDER WHEN ACCELERATING UNTIL THERE WAS A CONSTANT TICKING AND RATTLE IN THE FRONT END. PARKED THE CAR LET IT SIT FOR A NIGHT. WENT TO TAKE IT TO THE GARAGE, UPON STARTING THE CAR THERE WAS TICKING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, RATTLELING, AND SHAKING, TURNED THE VEHICLE RIGHT OFF. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO LOW OIL LIGHT, NO DASH NOTIFICATION LIGHTS LIGHT UP INDICATING ANYTHING WAS WRONG, TEMPERATURE SEEMED NORMAL. POPPED THE HOOD TO CHECK FLIUDS. CHECKED OIL DIPSTICK, DRY AS DRY COULD BE. NO COOLANT, NO OIL. HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AFRAID ENGINE IS SHOT! IF I WAS TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IT COULD HAVE SEIZED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR LOSS OF CONTROL. I AM THANKFUL MY 17 YEAR OLD WAS NOT BEHIND THE WHEEL. I AM SURE A HEAFTY ENGINE REPLACEMENT BILL IS COMING MY WAY.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2017 - PHILLIPSBURG, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED (DENVILLE HYUNDAI IN DENVILLE, NJ) AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE, BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BE AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2017 - ANAHEIM, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE HYUNDAI MOTOR AMERICAN OF HUNTINGTON BEACH, CALIFORNIA, 92647 WAS MADE AWARE OF THE RECALL AND STATED THAT THEY HAD NO PRIOR KNOWLEDGE OF THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PART DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: STARTER ASSEMBLY

6/12/2017 - MOUNT OLIVE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HEARD A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHENEVER IT WAS DRIVEN. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE NORTH END AUTOSHOP AND THE STARTER WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KNOCKING BECAME LOUDER AND PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, IT FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT OF THE RECALL. THE STARTER WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2017 - MOUNT OLIVE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HEARD A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHENEVER IT WAS DRIVEN. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE NORTH END AUTOSHOP AND THE STARTER WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KNOCKING BECAME LOUDER AND PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, IT FAILED TO START. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT OF THE RECALL. THE STARTER WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/9/2017 - BAYVILLE, NJ
I HAVE BROUGHT THIS CAR TO MY LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP AT LEAST 4 TIMES WITHIN THIS LAST YEAR WITH THE MOST RECENT TIME BEING ABOUT A MONTH AGO, ABOUT A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM MY ENGINE THAT WAS SO EXTREMELY LOUD WHEN DRIVING. THE CAR HESITATES AND/OR STALLS EVERYTIME THE KNOCKING NOISE IS PRESENT AND, EACH TIME I BRING IT TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THEY TELL ME NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. THE ONE TIME I BROUGHT THE CAR FOR THAT PROBLEM THEY TOLD ME IT WAS MY ROTORS THAT NEEDED TO BE RESURFACED AND CHARGED ME A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS TO "FIX" IT ONLY TO ONE WEEK LATER HAVE THE KNOCKING PRESENT AGAIN. I DO NOT FELL SAFE IN THIS CAR DRIVING ALWAYS AFRAID THAT I'M GOING TO STALL OUT WHILE IM DRIVING ON THE PARKWAY OR ANY OTHER KIND OF HIGHWAY WHERE HIGH SPEEDS ARE PRESENT. ALSO, THREE THINGS WITHIN THE LAST MONTH THAT IS ELECTRICAL HAS COMPLETELY GONE ON THE CAR ONE AFTER ANOTHER. MY CAR IS ONCE AGAIN GETTING FIXED WHICH I WAS JUST INFORMED WILL BE ANOTHER FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS. MY CAR IS A 2013, I SHOULDNT BE HAVING THE PROBLEMS IM HAVING AND SHAME ON LESTER GLENN HYUNDAI FOR TELLING ME NUMEROUS TIMES NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH MY ENGINE WHEN THE EXACT PROBLEMS IM HAVING ARE IDENTICAL TO THE RECALL. ANY DOCUMENTATION YOU NEED IS AT THE DEALERSHIP IN THEIR COMPUTER SYSTEMS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds