Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 203 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (52) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (18) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (21) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (9) Suspension (16) Visibility (10)
Engine (55) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/9/2017 - DUNKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL SHORT IN THE VEHICLE AND THE FUZES SHORTED MORE THAN ONCE. THE ELECTRICAL OUTLETS FAILED TO FUNCTION WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. IN ADDITION, THE POWER LOCKS RANDOMLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. WHEN THE CONTACT LOCKED THE DOORS, THE POWER LOCKS FAILED TO FUNCTION OCCASIONALLY WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE CONTACT WAS TO CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2017 - DUNKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL SHORT IN THE VEHICLE AND THE FUZES SHORTED MORE THAN ONCE. THE ELECTRICAL OUTLETS FAILED TO FUNCTION WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. IN ADDITION, THE POWER LOCKS RANDOMLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. WHEN THE CONTACT LOCKED THE DOORS, THE POWER LOCKS FAILED TO FUNCTION OCCASIONALLY WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE CONTACT WAS TO CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2017 - DUNKIRK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL SHORT IN THE VEHICLE AND THE FUZES SHORTED MORE THAN ONCE. THE ELECTRICAL OUTLETS FAILED TO FUNCTION WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. IN ADDITION, THE POWER LOCKS RANDOMLY LOCKED AND UNLOCKED. WHEN THE CONTACT LOCKED THE DOORS, THE POWER LOCKS FAILED TO FUNCTION OCCASIONALLY WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE CONTACT WAS TO CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2017 - GREENDELL, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000(ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE WITH THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HIS PREVIOUS VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, AND THAT THE DEALER SOLD HIM THE SAME MODEL VEHICLE WITH THE SAME RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE A SOLUTION TO THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/1/2017 - BRICK, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS MAKING ABNORMAL NOISES, THERE WERE STRONG FUMES, THE VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO SHIFT, AND IT STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MORE THAN TWICE, BUT THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURES. THE CONTACT LATER EXPERIENCED THE ENGINE SEIZING AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE REMAINED AT THE DEALER. THE DEALER MADE NO MENTION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE). THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT YET BEEN NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2017 - HOLYOKE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE SPEED REDUCED SIGNIFICANTLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. SMOKE APPEARED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE A COUPLE OF TIMES; HOWEVER, THE WARNING INDICATORS REMAINED ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE MADE A KICKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN AND WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 10192460. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,109. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2017 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
ENGINE SEIZED, THANKFULLY I WAS BARELY LEAVING MY HOME. ENGINE TOTALLY FAILED WITH NO WARNING. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS WENT ON UNTIL AFTER THE ENGINE FAILED. ENGINE ALSO BEGAN SMOKING. HYUNDAI CONCLUDED THE CAR HAD TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE. THE CAR RECEIVED REGULAR MAINTENANCE/ OIL CHANGES AND TAKEN CARE OF. BEING A 2013 SHOULD NOT HAVE HAD ENGINE FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2017 - TEMPLE, TX
AS I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A STRANGE NOISE AND THEN I SAW SMOKE COME OUT OF THE BACK OF THE CAR, I WAS ABLE TO GET OVER 2 LANES IN THE HWY TO GET TO THE SHOULDER. DEALER SAID THE ENGINE BLEW UP. ENGINE ONLY HAD 62K MILES ON IT. AND MAINTENANCE WAS DONE AT DEALERSHIP

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/9/2017 - NEGLEY, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE, 65 MILES HOUR , SMELL OF BURNING COMING FROM REAR OF SUV, 2013 HYUNDIA SANTA FE SPORT 56K MILES GOT OUT OF SUV AND MY LEFT REAR BRAKE WAS SMOKING VERY HOT, TOOK IT TO DEALER AND THEY LOOKED AT THE LEFT REAR BRAKE AND SAID IT WAS JUST THE BRAKE PAD, REPALCED PAD, BUT DID NOT INSPECT ALL MY BRAKES! THEN NEXT DAY MY LEFT AND RIGHT REAR BRAKES LOCKED UP AND WAS SMOKING, AGAIN TOOK TO DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID NOTHING WRONG! I WAS SO CONFUSED, I CALLED THE HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE THEY DID A COMPLAINT FORM, IT DID NO GOOD FOR DEALERSHIP DID NOT FIX OR DID THEY DO A COMPLETE BRAKE INSPECTION, THEY SAY IT WOULD BE TO COSTLY AND WOULD TAKE TO MUCH TIME! AND ON THE CHECK IN FORM THEY PUT MILEAGE OF 66K MILES SO AS TO LOOK AS IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY BUT YET THE BRAKES LOCK UP! I GOT A CALL FROM HYUNDAI SERVICE REP. DAVE HE SAID HE WANTED TO MAKE SURE I AS BEING TAKEN CARE OF AND WOULD SEE TO THAT MY BRAKES GET FIXED. BUT NOTHING EVER CAME OF IT, HE DOES NOT ANSWER MY CALLS AND DID NOT SET ANYTHING UP.... WOW WHAT A COMPANY. I LOOKED UP PROBLEM ON THE INTERNET AND YES THERE HAS BEEN OTHERS WITH SAME PROBLEM WITH THERE BRAKES BUT NOTHING HAS EVER COME BACK FROM HYUNDAI SAYING THAT IT IS A PROBLEM, SO I DID THE CALIPER REPLACEMENT ON MY OWN AND YES THE CALIPERS ARE SHOT! NO GOOD. SO WHAT GOOD IS THERE WARRANTY?

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
NOTICE HESITATION WITH VEHICLE WHEN ACCELERATING BOTH ON HIGHWAYS OR FROM LOWER SPEEDS ON ANY ROADS. ASSUMED THIS MIGHT BE NORMAL FOR A 4 CYLINDER ENGINE, HOWEVER, I AM NOW CONCERNED IT IS RELATED TO RECENT RECALL OF THE MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR OF MY VEHCLE FOR ENGINE MANUFACTURING PROBLEMS RELATED TO STALLS AND INCREASED RISK OF CRASHES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds