Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 172 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Power Train (21) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (9) Suspension (16) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (3) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (31) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Steering (52) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/24/2016 - TUKAHOE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO BLOW SMOKE OUT OF THE TAIL PIPE AND INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WOULD ALSO HESITATE AND ACCELERATE SLOWLY. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE ECM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION RECALL FOR THE UPDATE OF THE ECM, BUT THE VEHICLE OWNER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,460.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE OIL LINE THAT FEEDS THE TURBO HAD A MAJOR OIL LEAK ONTO THE MANIFOLD, THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR FIRE IN THE ENGINE BAY. IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE ON THIS VEHICLE AND THE LINE IS NOT SAFE FOR THE LOCATION AND RISK OF FIRE. ONE OF THE SYMPTOM WE HAD A SMELL OF BURNING OIL AT STOP LIGHT....UPDATED 11/09/16

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/11/2016 - RICHMOND, TX
A FRIEND AND I WERE TRAVELING FROM RICHMOND, TX TO PORT ARANSAS, TX ON FRIDAY, APRIL 8, 2016 WHEN THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED IN CORPUS CHRISTI (ON THE CROSSTOWN EXPRESSWAY - SH 286). IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT AND THEN THE PLASTIC ROOF COVERING STARTED TO FLAP INDICATING THE ROOF HAD BEEN DAMAGED. WE WERE NOT FOLLOWING CLOSELY BEHIND ANOTHER VEHICLE AND NEITHER OF US NOTICED A ROCK OR ANY OTHER OBJECT IN FRONT OF US. AFTER THE INITIAL FRIGHTENING NOISE, I QUICKLY PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND ONTO THE FEEDER ROAD PULLING INTO A GAS STATION. THE ROOF HAD SHATTERED INTO SMALL PIECES. WE WERE ABLE TO FIND A HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP IN CORPUS CHRISTI NOT FAR FROM WHERE THE INCIDENT TOOK PLACE AND SLOWLY MADE OUR WAY THERE. THE MANAGER AT THAT LOCATION TOLD US HE HAD KNOWN OF THIS HAPPENING TO THE HYUNDAI VELOSTER PANORAMIC ROOFS. HE ARRANGED A RENTAL AGREEMENT FOR A TEMPORARY SUB VEHICLE AND WE WERE ABLE TO CONTINUE TO OUR DESTINATION. AT THIS MOMENT (MONDAY, APRIL 11, 2016), MY SANTA FE IS BEING ASSESSED AT THE CORPUS CHRISIT DEALERSHIP. OUTCOME UNKNOWN. TWO PHOTOS INCLUDED OF DAMAGE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/21/2016 - BARTLETT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE REMOTELY STARTING THE VEHICLE, IT INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED WITH NO ONE IN THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/29/2016 - HUNTERSVILLE, NC
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT ABOUT 70MPH ON WEDNESDAY 2/24/16 IN CHARLOTTE, NC WHEN ALL OF THE SUDDEN THE SUNROOF EXPLODED WITH OUR 3 YEAR OLD AND 2 MONTH OLD IN THE BACK SEAT. THE SHADE WAS BACK AND GLASS DROPPED DOWN ON ALL OF THEM. MY 3 YEAR OLD HAD SOME VERY SMALL CUTS ON HER FACE. THERE WERE NO VEHICLES OR BRIDGES NEAR THE VEHICLE WHEN THIS HAPPENED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY ADVISED THAT THEY WERE GOING TO PUT IT IN AS A WARRANTY CLAIM WITH HYUNDAI BECAUSE THEY HAD ANOTHER ONE, SAME YEAR MAKE AND MODEL, COME IN THE WEEK BEFORE WITH THE SAME THING. AFTER GOOGLING IT, I HAVE READ SEVERAL INCIDENTS WHERE THIS HAS TAKEN PLACE. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A RECALL ON THIS DUE TO THE SAFETY CONCERNS THAT IT POSES. SHE COULD HAVE BEEN STARTLED AND LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. IF YOU LOOK CLOSELY YOU CAN SEE THAT THE GLASS GOES UP OUT OF THE VEHICLE, NOT DOWN. I BELIEVE THAT IT WOULD BE GOING DOWN HAD SOMETHING HIT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2016 - MOUNT KISCO, NY
AFTER ACCELERATING FROM A STOP LIGHT, TURNING LEFT ONTO A TWO LANE 35MPH ROAD, THE CAR SEEMED TO DOWNSHIFT AND WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE ACCELERATOR. IT CONTINUED TO MOVE FORWARD AT NO MORE THAN 10-15MPH JERKING AND LUNGING UP A HILL, CAUSING A HAZARD FOR APPROACHING CARS. THE AWD LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH ANOTHER LIGHT PERTAINING TO THE DRIVETRAIN/AXLE. WE WERE ABLE TO CONTINUE A FEW HUNDRED YARDS UNTIL A SAFE SPOT TO PULL OVER WAS FOUND. THE ROADSIDE ASSIST TECH SUSPECTED THERE MAY BE WATER IN THE FUEL SYSTEM, HOWEVER WHEN LOADING THE CAR ONTO THE TRUCK, NOTICED THE JERKING MOTION AND INSISTED IT SHOULD BE BROUGHT IN FOR INSPECTION. IN OUR FIRST CONVERSATION WITH THE MECHANIC HE MENTIONED RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. WE SAID THAT WE HAD JUST PURCHASED THE CAR AFTER LEASE, 2 MONTHS PRIOR, AND DURING THAT PROCESS WE ASKED ABOUT RECALLS AND WERE TOLD THERE WERE NONE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2016 - MOUNT KISCO, NY
AFTER ACCELERATING FROM A STOP LIGHT, TURNING LEFT ONTO A TWO LANE 35MPH ROAD, THE CAR SEEMED TO DOWNSHIFT AND WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE ACCELERATOR. IT CONTINUED TO MOVE FORWARD AT NO MORE THAN 10-15MPH JERKING AND LUNGING UP A HILL, CAUSING A HAZARD FOR APPROACHING CARS. THE AWD LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH ANOTHER LIGHT PERTAINING TO THE DRIVETRAIN/AXLE. WE WERE ABLE TO CONTINUE A FEW HUNDRED YARDS UNTIL A SAFE SPOT TO PULL OVER WAS FOUND. THE ROADSIDE ASSIST TECH SUSPECTED THERE MAY BE WATER IN THE FUEL SYSTEM, HOWEVER WHEN LOADING THE CAR ONTO THE TRUCK, NOTICED THE JERKING MOTION AND INSISTED IT SHOULD BE BROUGHT IN FOR INSPECTION. IN OUR FIRST CONVERSATION WITH THE MECHANIC HE MENTIONED RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. WE SAID THAT WE HAD JUST PURCHASED THE CAR AFTER LEASE, 2 MONTHS PRIOR, AND DURING THAT PROCESS WE ASKED ABOUT RECALLS AND WERE TOLD THERE WERE NONE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2016 - MOUNT KISCO, NY
AFTER ACCELERATING FROM A STOP LIGHT, TURNING LEFT ONTO A TWO LANE 35MPH ROAD, THE CAR SEEMED TO DOWNSHIFT AND WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE ACCELERATOR. IT CONTINUED TO MOVE FORWARD AT NO MORE THAN 10-15MPH JERKING AND LUNGING UP A HILL, CAUSING A HAZARD FOR APPROACHING CARS. THE AWD LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH ANOTHER LIGHT PERTAINING TO THE DRIVETRAIN/AXLE. WE WERE ABLE TO CONTINUE A FEW HUNDRED YARDS UNTIL A SAFE SPOT TO PULL OVER WAS FOUND. THE ROADSIDE ASSIST TECH SUSPECTED THERE MAY BE WATER IN THE FUEL SYSTEM, HOWEVER WHEN LOADING THE CAR ONTO THE TRUCK, NOTICED THE JERKING MOTION AND INSISTED IT SHOULD BE BROUGHT IN FOR INSPECTION. IN OUR FIRST CONVERSATION WITH THE MECHANIC HE MENTIONED RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. WE SAID THAT WE HAD JUST PURCHASED THE CAR AFTER LEASE, 2 MONTHS PRIOR, AND DURING THAT PROCESS WE ASKED ABOUT RECALLS AND WERE TOLD THERE WERE NONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/3/2016 - MARLBORO, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ROLLED DOWN THE DRIVEWAY WITHOUT BEING PROMPTED. THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER THE CONTACT'S ARM AND CAUSED SECOND DEGREE BURNS. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE ISSUE RECURRED, BUT THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL AND STOP THE VEHICLE THE SECOND TIME. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT A PASSENGER BECAME TRAPPED IN THE VEHICLE WHILE IT ROLLED DOWN THE DRIVEWAY INTO THE YARD OF ANOTHER PERSON'S RESIDENCE THE FIRST TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE WITHOUT IT BEING INSPECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2015 - BASKING RIDGE, NJ
CAR WOULDN'T START. EVERYTHING WENT DEAD. HAD CAR TOWED FROM NY CITY TO DEALER IN NJ. THEY CHECKED EVERYTHING AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THIS OCCURRED ON SEPT 27, 2015. IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON DEC. 27, 2015. SEVERAL PEOPLE TRIED TO JUMP START IT TO NO AVAIL. TOW TRUCK ARRIVED AND WAS GOING TO TOW IT FROM NY STATE TO NJ DEALER. TRIED TO JUMP IT AGAIN AND IT TOOK A JUMP. TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC ON DEC 28, 2015 AND THEY FOUND BATTERY WAS GOOD AND CHECKED ELECTRICAL AND FOUND NO PROBLEM. MY CONCERN IS IT HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING AND I LOSE POWER AND HAVE NO BRAKES OR STEERING OR STOP LIGHTS AND I COULD BE KILLED OR SOMEONE ELSE COULD BE INJURED. BOTH TIMES THE VEHICLE WAS IN A PARKING SPACE ON A CITY STREET OR PARKING LOT IN A MALL. CAUSE UNKNOWN. I HAVE NO RECORDS OF THE TOW FROM NY CITY BUT IT WAS TOWED BY HYUNDAI SO THEY HAVE A RECORD.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds