Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 153 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Power Train (19) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (8) Suspension (15) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (25) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Steering (50) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/7/2015 - BATON ROUGE, LA
WHILE TURN LEFT INTO A SUBDIVISION THE STEERING WOULD NOT RE-CENTER THUS THE CAR RAN OVER A COUPLE OF LARGE STONES LINING THE ROADWAY AT THE ENTRANCE. THE ABS DID NOT ENGAGE. FINALLY THE CAR STOPPED ABOUT 30 FEET LATER. I WAS ABLE TO FINALLY STEER THE CAR BACK ON TO THE STREET. THERE IS DAMAGE TO THE UNDERCARRIAGE, THE INNER WHEEL WELL ON THE RIGHT SIDE WAS TORN OFF, THE LEFT FRONT AIR DAM, THE EXHAUST SYSTEM, THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL WAS DAMAGE, AND A FLAT TIRE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/16/2015 - OREGON CITY, OR
WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, VEHICLE LOST POWER AND SHUT OFF, SMELLED AND SAW SMOKE COMING FROM THE VENTS. PULLED TO SIDE OF ROAD AND OPENED HOOD TO CHECK ENGINE AND FLAMES SHOT OUT, CLOSED HOOD AND TRUCKERS RAN OVER WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHERS AND CALLED FIRE DEPARTMENT. WITHIN 5 MINUTES VEHICLE WAS TOTALLY ENGULFED AND FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD ARRIVED AND COULD ONLY PREVENT FLAMES FROM SPREADING TO SURROUNDING ENVIRONMENT. VEHICLE WAS TOTALLY CONSUMED BY THIS CATASTROPHIC FIRE. CALLED HYUNDAI CORPORATE OFFICES IN CALIFORNIA TO REPORT IT AS THE VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS ASKED 'WHAT DO YOU WANT US TO DO?'. RECEIVED THE IMPRESSION THAT THEY WERE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2015 - OREGON CITY, OR
WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, VEHICLE LOST POWER AND SHUT OFF, SMELLED AND SAW SMOKE COMING FROM THE VENTS. PULLED TO SIDE OF ROAD AND OPENED HOOD TO CHECK ENGINE AND FLAMES SHOT OUT, CLOSED HOOD AND TRUCKERS RAN OVER WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHERS AND CALLED FIRE DEPARTMENT. WITHIN 5 MINUTES VEHICLE WAS TOTALLY ENGULFED AND FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD ARRIVED AND COULD ONLY PREVENT FLAMES FROM SPREADING TO SURROUNDING ENVIRONMENT. VEHICLE WAS TOTALLY CONSUMED BY THIS CATASTROPHIC FIRE. CALLED HYUNDAI CORPORATE OFFICES IN CALIFORNIA TO REPORT IT AS THE VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS ASKED 'WHAT DO YOU WANT US TO DO?'. RECEIVED THE IMPRESSION THAT THEY WERE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/16/2015 - OREGON CITY, OR
WHEN DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, VEHICLE LOST POWER AND SHUT OFF, SMELLED AND SAW SMOKE COMING FROM THE VENTS. PULLED TO SIDE OF ROAD AND OPENED HOOD TO CHECK ENGINE AND FLAMES SHOT OUT, CLOSED HOOD AND TRUCKERS RAN OVER WITH FIRE EXTINGUISHERS AND CALLED FIRE DEPARTMENT. WITHIN 5 MINUTES VEHICLE WAS TOTALLY ENGULFED AND FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD ARRIVED AND COULD ONLY PREVENT FLAMES FROM SPREADING TO SURROUNDING ENVIRONMENT. VEHICLE WAS TOTALLY CONSUMED BY THIS CATASTROPHIC FIRE. CALLED HYUNDAI CORPORATE OFFICES IN CALIFORNIA TO REPORT IT AS THE VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY AND WAS ASKED 'WHAT DO YOU WANT US TO DO?'. RECEIVED THE IMPRESSION THAT THEY WERE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/4/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
I WAS HEADING HOME AROUND 9 PM LAST NIGHT AND ONLY A FEW BLOCKS FROM HOME WHEN I HEARD A LOUD "POP" THAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN SHOT. I LOOKED AROUND AND DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING OUT OF THE ORDINARY BUT A FEW SECONDS LATER I STARTED TO HEAR TINY PIECES OF GLASS FALLING DOWN ON MY SUNSHADE UNDER THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF ON MY 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT. WHEN I GOT HOME, I SAW THAT THE FRONT HALF OF MY SUNROOF HAD SPONTANEOUSLY EXPLODED. LUCKILY, THE SUNROOF AND SHADE WERE CLOSED WHEN IT HAPPENED, AND I WASN'T HURT, BUT IT SCARED ME TO THINK IT COULD HAVE HAPPENED WHEN THE ROOF WAS OPEN OR WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY! WHEN I TOOK MY CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY, THEY SAID THE ROOF HAD NOT BEEN RECALLED AND IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. I HAD TO OPEN A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE TO START THE REPAIR. THIS IS A HUGE DEFECT AND SAFETY ISSUE AND HYUNDAI NEEDS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE PROBLEM AND COVER THE COST OF REPAIRS AND MY RENTAL CAR. ORDERING THE PARTS AND HAVING THEM SHIPPED FROM OVERSEAS AND THE REPAIRS ARE ESTIMATED TO TAKE AT LEAST A WEEK, IF NOT TWO. SIMPLE RESEARCH ON THE INTERNET HAS LEAD ME TO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF EXPLODING SUNROOFS ON HYUNDAI'S AND OTHER VEHICLES MANUFACTURED AT THE SAME PLANTS SUCH AS KIA AND FORD, AS WELL AS NUMEROUS PHOTOS OF VEHICLES WITH IDENTICAL DAMAGE. HYUNDAI HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM, YET MY LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP WILL NOT RECOGNIZE IT AS A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

7/2/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,847.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

6/25/2015 - TRACY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, A LOUD ABNORMAL SOUND EMITTED BEFORE THE SUN ROOF EXPLODED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,590.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/24/2015 - BUCKEYE, AZ
CAR IN FRONT OF ME STOPPED TO AVOID RUNNING RED LIGHT AT INTERSECTION. I TRIED TO BRAKE AND THOUGHT MY ANTI-LOCK BRAKES WOULD STOP ME BUT THEY FAILED TO WORK PROPERLY AND I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THERE WAS VERY LITTLE DAMAGE TO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME BUT $8,000 DAMAGE TO MY CAR. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK OUT MY BRAKES AND THEY PUT THEIR COMPUTER ON MY CAR AND SAID EVERYTHING WAS OK. I HAVE SINCE TESTED THE "ANTI-LOCK" ON MY BRAKES AND THEY PROVIDE TOO MUCH "ANTI-LOCK" AND I KNOW HOW ANTI-LOCK SHOULD WORK LOCKING AND QUICKLY RELEASING REPEATEDLY UNTIL STOPPING, BUT THESE BRAKES DO NOT WORK LIKE THAT WITH A FEELING OF BEING ON ICE UNTIL JUST BEFORE STOPPING TO WORK LIKE MY PREVIOUSLY CARS HAVE WORKED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/15/2015 - NEWNAN, GA
DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH AND THE SUNROFF JUST EXPLODED. IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT WENT OFF. LUCKILY THE SUNROFF COVER WAS CLOSED ON THE INSIDE, OUTHERWISE I WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED IN SHATTERED GLASS. TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE WAS 93 DEGREES AND SUNNY......UPDATED 11/13/15 UPDATED 1/4/2016

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

6/8/2015 - DALTONA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE SUN ROOF SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,500.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds