Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 140 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Power Train (19) Suspension (13) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (8) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (1) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (21) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Steering (48) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Structure (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/12/2015 - KILLEEN, TX
HAVE OPERATED THIS VEHICLE FOR 20 MONTHS WITH QUESTIONABLE STEERING CONTROL. AT FIRST, THOUGHT IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN A BREAK-IN OR TIRE ISSUE BUT HIGHWAY STEERING DRIFTING TENDENCY HAS PERSISTED. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW. I HAVE MANAGED TO SURVIVE THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE I AM A PRETTY GOOD DRIVER WITH DECADES OF ACCIDENT-FREE DRIVING BUT WOULD NOT WANT TO EXPOSE A LESS-EXPERIENCED DRIVER TO THIS SITUATION WITH THIS VEHICLE, ESPECIALLY IN A TIGHT/ NARROW TRAFFIC LANE SITUATION AT FREEWAY SPEEDS. SOMEBODY NEEDS TO GET HYUNDAI TO ADDRESS THIS MATTER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/9/2015 - MESQUITE, NV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH, A LOUD BANGING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE SUSPENSION. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES AND ONLY WHEN THERE WAS AT LEAST FOUR PASSENGERS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THERE WAS NO DIAGNOSIS OR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO RETURN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,500. UPDATED 04/06/15

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/5/2015 - MIDDLEBURGH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, IT ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THEN INTO A SNOW BANK. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/31/2015 - GALLOWAY, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON AN INTERSTATE AT 75 MILES AN HOUR, MY ENGINE STARTED TO MAKE A KNOCKING SOUND AND WAS LOSING ACCELERATION. I TRIED ACCELERATING BUT THE CAR DID NOT ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE THEN SEIZED UP AND I COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE. CAR WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP STATED THE SECOND CYLINDER BROKE UP INSIDE THE ENGINE CAUSING THE ENGINE TO SEIZE. THEY ARE REPLACING THE ENGINE.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2015 - ZEBULON, NC
THE VEHICLE DRIFTS FROM SIDE TO SIDE AT SPEEDS ABOVE 40 MPH. IVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THERE WAS NO PROBLEM "ITS PROBABLY JUST THE DIFFERENT DRIVING MODES ON THE STEERING WHEEL." THEY SUGGESTED TO DRIVE IN "SPORT" MODE WHICH DOESN'T HELP.THIS IS A MAJOR CONCERN BECAUSE ITS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUES AND IT MUST BE ADDRESSED. THERE ARE TOO MANY COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET FOR THIS PROBLEM TO BE IGNORED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/13/2014 - VERONA, NJ
I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI AND HAVE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND ABOUT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS. THE WIPER ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DOES NOT CLEAN THE WINDOW PROPERLY - THERE IS A PIE SHAPED AREA ON THE BOTTOM OF THE WIPER, ON THE PASSENGER SIDE ONLY, THAT DOES NOT HIT THE WINDOW. AFTER MANY DISCUSSIONS WITH HYUNDAI AND GOING TO 2 DIFFERENT DEALS, THEY HAVE SAID THAT IT IS A DEFECT AND THAT ALL OR MOST HYUNDAI'S HAVE THIS DEFECT. I FEEL THAT IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE SINCE WHEN IT IS RAINING HARD, THE WIPER SPLASHES BACK ONTO THE WINDOW DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE WIPER IS NOT HITTING THE ENTIRE WINDOW PROPERLY. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND SINCE MOST OF THE HYUNDAI'S HAVE THIS PROBLEM, IT IS A DEFECT THAT THE MANUFACTURER KNOWS ABOUT, BUT DOES NOT WANT TO TAKE CARE OF.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/19/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
I WAS COMING UP TO A STOP SIGN,DRIVER ON CROSS STREET CUT TURN REAL TIGHT DOING ABOUT 35 OR 40 MILES AN HOUR AND HIT MY CAR HEADON. MY STEERING WHEEL AIR BAG DEPLOYED DEFLATED I WENT OVER THE STEERING WHEEL AND CRACKED MY WINDSHIELD WITH MY HEAD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/19/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
I WAS COMING UP TO A STOP SIGN,DRIVER ON CROSS STREET CUT TURN REAL TIGHT DOING ABOUT 35 OR 40 MILES AN HOUR AND HIT MY CAR HEADON. MY STEERING WHEEL AIR BAG DEPLOYED DEFLATED I WENT OVER THE STEERING WHEEL AND CRACKED MY WINDSHIELD WITH MY HEAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - AVONDALE ESTATES, GA
I'VE HAD A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE GLS FOR ABOUT SIX MONTHS (PURCHASED NEW ON 3/3/14). SEVERAL WEEKS AGO AROUND 8/22/14), WHEN I TRIED TO RAPIDLY ACCELERATE ON TO THE INTERSTATE FROM THE ON RAMP, THE ENGINE REVVED UP TO 8-9K RPM BUT IT FELT LIKE THE CLUTCH/TRANSMISSION NEVER ENGAGED AND I COULD NOT ACCELERATE. AFTER LETTING MY FOOT OFF THE GAS AND RETRYING, THE CAR -++BUCKED-+¥ AND EVENTUALLY, I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE AT A SLOWER RATE. THIS CONTINUED TO HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE NEXT WEEK. I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE AND WAS ABLE TO DEMONSTRATE THE PROBLEM TO THE MECHANIC. I WAS INITIALLY TOLD IT WAS THE HIGH RESISTANCE FUEL PUMP WHICH WAS REPLACED BUT AS SOON AS I LEFT THE DEALERSHIP AND TESTED THE CAR, THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK AND A WEEK LATER, THEY-++VE TOLD ME IT IS THE LOW-RESISTANCE FUEL PUMP AND FUEL LINE. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THEY KEEP REPLACING PARTS WITHOUT ANY IMPROVEMENT IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOT MADE ANY CHANGES TO THE WAY I DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND THIS WAS DEFINITELY NOT HAPPENING THE FIRST FIVE MONTHS THAT WE OWNED THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2014 - AVONDALE ESTATES, GA
I'VE HAD A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE GLS FOR ABOUT SIX MONTHS (PURCHASED NEW ON 3/3/14). SEVERAL WEEKS AGO AROUND 8/22/14), WHEN I TRIED TO RAPIDLY ACCELERATE ON TO THE INTERSTATE FROM THE ON RAMP, THE ENGINE REVVED UP TO 8-9K RPM BUT IT FELT LIKE THE CLUTCH/TRANSMISSION NEVER ENGAGED AND I COULD NOT ACCELERATE. AFTER LETTING MY FOOT OFF THE GAS AND RETRYING, THE CAR -++BUCKED-+¥ AND EVENTUALLY, I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE AT A SLOWER RATE. THIS CONTINUED TO HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE NEXT WEEK. I TOOK THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE AND WAS ABLE TO DEMONSTRATE THE PROBLEM TO THE MECHANIC. I WAS INITIALLY TOLD IT WAS THE HIGH RESISTANCE FUEL PUMP WHICH WAS REPLACED BUT AS SOON AS I LEFT THE DEALERSHIP AND TESTED THE CAR, THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK AND A WEEK LATER, THEY-++VE TOLD ME IT IS THE LOW-RESISTANCE FUEL PUMP AND FUEL LINE. I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THEY KEEP REPLACING PARTS WITHOUT ANY IMPROVEMENT IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NOT MADE ANY CHANGES TO THE WAY I DRIVE THE VEHICLE AND THIS WAS DEFINITELY NOT HAPPENING THE FIRST FIVE MONTHS THAT WE OWNED THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds