Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (8) Equipment (2) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (14) Suspension (9) Visibility (5)
Engine (15) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (7) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

3/28/2014 - SAPULPA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SEAT TRACK BECAME DISCONNECTED FROM THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TRACK ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2014 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
OWN A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE DRIFTED FROM LEFT TO RIGHT. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO KEEP VEHICLE IN A STRAIGHT LINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES WHERE THE ALIGNMENT WAS ADJUSTED AND THE TIRES WERE CHECKED BUT THE DEFECT PERSISTED. THE OWNERWAS NOT INFORMED OF THE DEFECT. CONSUMERS REPORT MAGAZINE REPORTS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

SEATS

3/10/2014 - BELLEVILLE, IL
PASSENGER SIDE BACK SEAT SQUEAKS VERY BADLY WHEN DRIVING ON A ROAD THAT ISN'T COMPLETELY SMOOTH. I HAVE TAKEN IT ONCE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY CLAIM TO HAVE FIXED IT, BUT THE SOUND PERSISTED. I HAD TO DROP THE CAR OFF AGAIN TONIGHT FOR THE SECOND TIME. THAT IS MY NUMBER ONE COMPLAINT. THE OTHER COMPLAINT IS THAT THE WHOLE DASH BOARD CREAKS WHEN I'M DRIVING. I DON'T KNOW IF IT'S BECAUSE IT'S COLD OUTSIDE RIGHT NOW, OR WHAT IS CAUSING THE CREAKING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/8/2014 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
PURCHASED CAR 7/2013. BROUGHT CAR TO LESTER GLENN HYUNDAI AT TOMS RIVER NJ FOR SERVICE ON 3/5/2013. THEY HAD VEHICLE FOR 3 DAYS WHICH INCLUDED OTHER REPAIRS. IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS, THE DIGITAL READOUT THAT SHOWS REMAINING MILES TO FUEL CAPACITY IS NOT ACCURATE OR CLOSE TO IT IN COMPARISON TO OTHER FUEL GAUGE THAT SHOWS FUEL IN TANK. THE GAUGE READS ONLY 250 TO 270 MILES DISTANCE WHEN I REFUELED MY CAR TO THE BRIM. DEALER SAID IT SHOWS THIS READING BECAUSE OF MY DRIVING HABITS. I'M THE ONLY DRIVER AND TREAT THIS CARD WITH KID GLOVES AND DO NOT DRIVE FAST OR SUDDEN STOPS (64 AGE). IF YOU DIVIDE THE FUEL CAPACITY IN THE TANK 19 GALLONS BY 270 MILES GIVES YOU 14.2 MILES. THE GAUGE ON MY DASHBOARD FOR AVERAGE MILES PER/GALLON IS 23 MILES. IF YOU CALCULATE 23 MILES BY 19 GALLONS RESULTS SHOW 437 MILES. I CALLED CORPORATE HYUNDAI YESTERDAY CASE # 6456349 AND THEY COULDN'T HELP ME OR EXPLAIN THE REASONING BEHIND THE PROBLEM OTHER THAN MY DRIVER HABITS. EITHER THE GAUGES ARE DEFECTIVE OR WORSE THE MILEAGE REPORTED TO EPA/DOT IS FALSE AND NOT 18 CITY AND 24 HIGHWAY MILES AS SHOWN ON WINDOW STICKER DESCRIPTION WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR. PLEASE HELP ME BECAUSE HYUNDAI WILL NOT RESPOND TO MY CONCERNS AND FACTUAL COMPLAINTS. THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE GAVE ME A BLANK LOOK WHEN THEY RETURN THE CAR TO ME WHEN I SHOWED THEM THE GAUGE AFTER SERVICING. COULD NOT EXPLAIN AND RECOMMEND RESOLUTION! WHEN EXITING THE DEALER, I RAN INTO ANOTHER PERSON WITH SIMILAR COMPLAINT ABOUT FUEL GAUGES GIVING CONFLICTING INFORMATION. PLEASE HELP ME BECAUSE HYUNDAI DOESN'T LISTEN TO LITTLE GUY CONSUMER. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR HELP AND ASSISTANCE.

View Details

STEERING

3/7/2014 - MESQUITE, NV
AFTER DRIVING THIS NEW CAR FOR A FEW WEEKS I NOTICED THAT KEEPING THE CAR IN A STRAIGHT LINE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS WAS DIFFICULT.CALLED DEALER AND BROUGHT IN FOR INSPECTION.THEY SAID THAT STEERING WAS NORMAL AT THIS TIME.FILED A COMPLAINT WITH HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE.THIS CAR HAS BEEN BACK TO THE DEALER 12 TIMES FOR THE STEERING COMPLAINT.THE DEALER HAS DONE 2 ALIGNMENTS,3 WHEEL BALANCES,SEVERAL ROAD TESTS INCLUDING A 101 MILE TEST BY THE HYUNDAI FIELD SERVICE ENGINEER.COMPUTER UPDATES AND DRIVING OTHER NEW SANTA FE'S FOR COMPARISON. IT WAS SUGGESTED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER THAT WE REPLACE THE TIRES WITH ANOTHER BRAND AT 4,346 MILES. SINCE THE NEW TIRES WHERE INSTALLED I CAN KEEP THE CAR GOING IN A STRAIGHT LINE AT 75MPH.THE STEERING IS STILL QUITE SENSITIVE BUT THE WANDERING HAS IMPROVED.THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE UP ON CORRECTING THE PROBLEM AND I WILL KEEP IN CONTACT WITH THEM.

View Details

STEERING

3/4/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
AS FIRST-TIME OWNER OF A HYUNDAI VEHICLE (2013 SANTA FE SPORT 2.0), I AM DEEPLY TROUBLED AND DISAPPOINTED BY MY OWNERSHIP EXPERIENCE. MY MAIN COMPLAINT CONSISTS OF OPERATING A VERY UNSTABLE VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. IT WANDERS, SURGES, AND GENERALLY HAS A MIND OF ITS OWN. I CONSTANTLY FIND MYSELF TRYING TO IDENTIFY THE BLASTS OF WIND THAT JOSTLES MY VEHICLE FROM SIDE-TO-SIDE, ONLY TO REALIZE IT'S A PERFECTLY STILL DAY. DRIVING PAST OTHER VEHICLES OR HAVING OTHER VEHICLES PASS ME CAUSES INSTABILITY AND IS A CHALLENGE TO KEEP IN THE LANE. IN SUPPORT OF THE STEERING ISSUE, IT IS NON-LINEAR, UNPREDICTABLE, AND FEELS DISCONNECTED FROM THE FRONT WHEELS. ADDITIONALLY, WITHOUT THE STEERING WHEEL BEING ROTATED, THE VEHICLE WILL MAKE COURSE CORRECTIONS THAT ARE UNEXPECTED, INCONSISTENT WITH STEERING ANGLE, AND FEEL UNSAFE ON ALL ROAD SURFACES. MY PURCHASING DEALERSHIP TRIED TO BLAME THE STEERING ISSUE DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE ROADS ARE NOT 100% LEVEL, FLAT, SMOOTH, ETC. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MANY DIFFERENT CARS FOR OVER 30 YEARS AND THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE EVER OWNED A VEHICLE THAT FEELS UNSAFE IN ALL DRIVING CONDITIONS - AS IF IT WERE ON ICE! IT IS VERY TIRING TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE ON LONG TRIPS AS IT DEMANDS CONSTANT CORRECTIONS TO KEEP THE VEHICLE IN THE LANE. ON STRAIGHT, LEVEL ROADS, THE VEHICLE WANDERS TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. HIGHER SPEEDS MAKE THE PROBLEM WORSE. I HAVE TAKEN MY 2013 SANTA FE SPORT TO BE FIXED ON MORE THAN 4 OCCASIONS AND NO REALIGNMENT, SOFTWARE UPDATE, TIRE INFLATION ADJUSTMENT OR RELATED ATTEMPTS HAVE BEEN SUCCESSFUL IN CORRECTING THE STEERING/HANDLING PROBLEMS OF MY VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/21/2014 - SOUTH CHARLESTON, WV
CAR SEEMED TO BUCK WHILE DRIVING IN LOW GEAR. TOOK IT TO DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE DIFFERENTIAL. 4 DAYS LATER THE SYMPTOMS HAVE REAPPEARED. CONCERNED ABOUT RECALLS AND BAD TRANSMISSION. CAR PURCHASED AUG 19, 2013.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/20/2014 - SWOYERSVILLE, PA
FUEL TANK SHUTS GAS PUMP OFF 3/4 FULL. CAN NOT FILL UP GAS TANK. PURCHASED SUV NEW IN DEC 2012, HAD THIS ISSUE FROM FIRST FILL UP. WENT TO DEALER SERVICE ONCE AND THEY TOLD ME EVERYTHING WAS WORKING FINE. IT IS CURRENTLY 20 FEB 2013, SINCE MY DRIVER SIDE BLINKER DOESN'T WORK (NOT THE BULB) I HAD TO TAKE BACK IN FOR SERVICE. I HAD THEM LOOK AT THE FUEL TANK ISSUE AGAIN. THEY ARE NOW SEEING THE PROBLEM AND ARE REPLACING THE FUEL TANK. I AM WRITING THIS BECAUSE I SAW THERE WERE OTHER PEOPLE OUT THERE WITH THE SAME ISSUE AND WANTED IT RECORDED IN HOPES THAT HYUNDAI WILL DO A RECALL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/17/2014 - SEMINOLE, FL
VEHICLE STALLS IN TRAFFIC.NO WARNING SIGNS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/11/2014 - APOLLO BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WOULD RECUR WHENEVER THE CONTACT REFUELED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,500.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds