Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 118 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (8) Suspension (10) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility (6)
Engine (20) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Steering (37) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Power Train (17)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY: CABLES

8/6/2014 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE CABLE CONNECTED FROM THE BATTERY TO THE FUSE BOX WAS INSTALLED INCORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,500. UPDATED 10/02/14

View Details

ENGINE

7/23/2014 - INGLEWOOD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ENGINE LOCKED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - TYLER, TX
THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER DISPLAYED CORRECT MPG. THE DIGITAL READ OUT THAT "TELLS" YOU YOUR AVERAGE MILEAGE IS ALWAYS 2 OR 3 MILES OFF THE ACTUAL MPG. I RESET ALL THE SETTINGS EVERY FUEL UP. IT 'TELLS" ME I'M AVERAGING 21 MPG, BUT WHEN I CHECK IT MULTIPLE TIMES IT'S ACTUALLY 18MPG. THE VEHICLE IS SUPPOSED TO GE 21/29 AND I NOW HAVE 15,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND I'VE NEVER GOTTEN MORE THAN 19 IN TOWN OR ABOUT 27 ON THE ROAD AND THOSE ARE FEW AND FAR BETWEEN. YET, THE GAGE IS ALWAY INACCURATE BY 2 TO 3 MPG. I FEEL THAT IS VERY DECEIVING. IF YOU DIDN'T CHECK IT YOURSELF, YOU WOULD THINK IT'S GETTING THE GAS MILEAGE IT'S SUPPOSED TO, BUT THE READOUTS ARE WRONG. I DON'T KNOW IF IT'S DELIBERATE OR A CALLIBRATION ISSUE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY CLAIM EVERYTHING IS FINE. IF I'M SUPPOSED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT WITH ANOTHER AGENCY, PLEASE LET ME KNOW.

View Details

SEATS

7/22/2014 - TYLER, TX
DRIVER'S SEAT WAS TILTING/ROCKING. THEN I REALIZED THE WHOLE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE DRIVERS SEAT HAD COME APART. I HAD NOTICED A FEW DAYS BEFORE THAT THE SEAT SEEMED TO ROCK A LITTLE GETTING IN AND OUT OF THE CAR, BUT I JUST ASSUMED IT WAS THE GIVE OF THE LEATHER SEATS UPON ENTERING AND EXITING THE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2014 - ARBUTUS, MD
WHEN TAKING OFF FROM STOP OR TRAFFIC SIGNAL, MAKING LEFT TURN, VEHICLE REAR END ( SOUNDS LIKE REAR END OR AWD) MAKES THUMPING, SLIPPING, BUMPING NOISE WHICH CAN BE FELT THROUGH OUT VEHICLE. FIRST NOTICED ABOUT 3000 MILES. THOUGHT IT MAY BE A NORMAL CONDITION FOR AN AWD VEHICLE, BUT THE CONDITION HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE! TAKEN TO DEALER 2 TIME NOW, THEY STATE THEY CAN NOT FIND ANY PROBLEM, THEY REPLACED THE TRANS FLUID, THE REAR DIFF FLUID, BUT IT IS STILL GETTING WORSE! SERVICE MANAGER WENT FOR RIDE WITH ME AFTER STATING HE COULD NOT FEEL THE CONDITION ON VEHICLE, BUT HE ONLY DROVE VEHICLE IN PARKING LOT OF DEALERSHIP. I TOLD HIM IT HAPPENS WHEN TURNING AT LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS...HE WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT. ON OUR TEST DRIVE TOGETHER, HE DEFINITELY FELT WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT, ASKED HIS SHOP FORMAN TO GET IN VEHICLE WITH US, HE FELT THE CONDITION AS WELL, BUT SAID HE DID NOT KNOW WHAT IT COULD BE. THEY KEPT VEHICLE FOR 2 DAYS, REPLACED TRANSMISSION FLUID, READ DIFFERENTIAL FLUID AND A FEW OTHER ITEMS, GAVE VEHICLE BACK, AND ASKED ME TO SEE IF DOING THIS HELPED RECTIFY THE PROBLEM.....IT HAS NOT, CONTACTED HYUNDAI, GOT A CLAIM #, AND WAS TOLD TO TAKE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT VEHICLE.... VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 9000 MILES AND JUST TURNED 1 YEAR OLD SINCE NEW. WE BOUGHT THIS SANTA FE TO REPLACE A 2008 THAT HAD SIMILAR TRANS/AWD ISSUES, THAT LEFT US STRANDED 3 TIMES ON THE SIDE OF I-95 (TRANS & AWD BLEW UP ON US DRIVING TO FLORIDA KEYS ON I-95 AT 70 MPH) IN FALL OF 2012.....AFTER DEALER IN JACKSONVILLE ATTEMPTED REPAIRS FROM FIRST BREAKDOWN. UNFORTUNATELY, FLORIDA DOES NOT SELL AWD VEHICLES, AND APPARENTLY THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX THESE THINGS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2014 - ARBUTUS, MD
WHEN TAKING OFF FROM STOP OR TRAFFIC SIGNAL, MAKING LEFT TURN, VEHICLE REAR END ( SOUNDS LIKE REAR END OR AWD) MAKES THUMPING, SLIPPING, BUMPING NOISE WHICH CAN BE FELT THROUGH OUT VEHICLE. FIRST NOTICED ABOUT 3000 MILES. THOUGHT IT MAY BE A NORMAL CONDITION FOR AN AWD VEHICLE, BUT THE CONDITION HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE! TAKEN TO DEALER 2 TIME NOW, THEY STATE THEY CAN NOT FIND ANY PROBLEM, THEY REPLACED THE TRANS FLUID, THE REAR DIFF FLUID, BUT IT IS STILL GETTING WORSE! SERVICE MANAGER WENT FOR RIDE WITH ME AFTER STATING HE COULD NOT FEEL THE CONDITION ON VEHICLE, BUT HE ONLY DROVE VEHICLE IN PARKING LOT OF DEALERSHIP. I TOLD HIM IT HAPPENS WHEN TURNING AT LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS...HE WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT. ON OUR TEST DRIVE TOGETHER, HE DEFINITELY FELT WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT, ASKED HIS SHOP FORMAN TO GET IN VEHICLE WITH US, HE FELT THE CONDITION AS WELL, BUT SAID HE DID NOT KNOW WHAT IT COULD BE. THEY KEPT VEHICLE FOR 2 DAYS, REPLACED TRANSMISSION FLUID, READ DIFFERENTIAL FLUID AND A FEW OTHER ITEMS, GAVE VEHICLE BACK, AND ASKED ME TO SEE IF DOING THIS HELPED RECTIFY THE PROBLEM.....IT HAS NOT, CONTACTED HYUNDAI, GOT A CLAIM #, AND WAS TOLD TO TAKE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT VEHICLE.... VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 9000 MILES AND JUST TURNED 1 YEAR OLD SINCE NEW. WE BOUGHT THIS SANTA FE TO REPLACE A 2008 THAT HAD SIMILAR TRANS/AWD ISSUES, THAT LEFT US STRANDED 3 TIMES ON THE SIDE OF I-95 (TRANS & AWD BLEW UP ON US DRIVING TO FLORIDA KEYS ON I-95 AT 70 MPH) IN FALL OF 2012.....AFTER DEALER IN JACKSONVILLE ATTEMPTED REPAIRS FROM FIRST BREAKDOWN. UNFORTUNATELY, FLORIDA DOES NOT SELL AWD VEHICLES, AND APPARENTLY THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX THESE THINGS.

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
CAR WAS PURCHASED, BRAN NEW, A YEAR AGO OR SO. IT WAS RECALLED, AMONG 20300 VEHICLES IN THE USA. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER (HENDERSON HYANDAI SUPERSTORE (702-565-1500) THREE CONSECUTIVE TIMES, OVER THE LAST 12 MONTHS. THEY ARE STILL REFUSING TO ADDRESS THIS VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. I AM THE FATHER OF TWO INFANTS, 3 AND 1 YEAR-OLD. I CANNOT DRIVE THIS DEFECTIVE VEHICLE, ENDANGERING THEREBY MY LIFE, MY WIFE'S, AND MY TWO BABIES. THEREFORE, I REQUEST A REFUND OF SOME $13,000 ALREADY PUT INTO THIS INNATELY DEFECTIVE VEHICLE. I ASK RESPECTFULLY THAT YOU ASSIST ME, ASAP. THANK YOU VERY MUCH! KAL ESSARRI

View Details

STEERING

6/12/2014 - STUART, FL
CAR WANDERS FROM LEFT TO RIGHT, CONSTANTLY HAVING TO CORRECT STEERING,

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/22/2014 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
MY FATHER RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER 9/23/13 FROM HYUNDAI ON HIS NEW 2013 SANTA FE SPORT REGARDING THE RIGHT FRONT AXLE SHAFT AND THAT IT COULD FRACTURE. CAMP112. HE CALLED HIS DEALER ON 9/24/13 TO SCHEDULE THE REPLACEMENT WORK. THEY WERE OUT OF THE PART. HE FOLLOWED UP AGAIN 10/17/13. MY FATHER GOT ILL AFTER THE HOLIDAYS. I FOUND THE RECALL PAPERWORK AND TRIED TO SCHEDULE THE REPAIR, IN MARCH 2014. THEY STILL DID NOT HAVE THE PART. MY MOM CALLED AGAIN IN APRIL. THEY STILL DO NOT HAVE THE PART. MY MOM OPENED A CASE NUMBER WITH HUYNDAI AT THAT TIME. I HAVE JUST CALLED TO SCHEDULE THE REPAIR AND THEY STILL DO NOT HAVE A PART. THEY SAY IT IS A NATIONAL BACK ORDER. MY COMPLAINT IS HOW CAN SOMETHING THAT IS RECALLED WITH A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE ASSOCIATED WITH IT, BE ALLOWED TO CONTINUE WITH NO REPLACEMENT PART FOR 8+ MONTHS? THIS IS NOT A WINDOW THAT WILL NOT ROLL DOWN. BASED ON THE INFORMATION I CAN FIND THERE ARE 20,000 VEHICLES THAT HAVE THIS ISSUE AND IN 8 MONTHS THEY CAN'T SEEM TO SUPPLY ADEQUATE REPLACEMENT PARTS. WHILE THE RECALL HAS NOT INDICATED ANY DEATHS, I AM CONCERNED BECAUSE OF HOW THE ISSUE IS EXPLAINED. IT OCCURS SUDDENLY, AND THE DRIVER WILL LOSE ABILITY TO STEER. MY MOTHER IS NOT SOMEONE, WHO WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WILL BE ABLE TO CONTROL THIS CAR IF THIS OCCURS. I WOULD BE HAPPY IF THIS WOULD JUST GET TAKEN CARE OF BUT THE SERVICE MANAGER AT RED HOAGLAND AND THE CASE WORKER AT HYUNDAI JUST SAY SORRY BUT THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. AT THIS POINT MY MOM DOESN'T FEEL LIKE SHE CAN DRIVE THE CAR ANY DISTANCE FOR FEAR THAT THIS ISSUE WILL ARISE. IS HYUNDAI NOT ACCOUNTABLE TO GET THESE PARTS AND KEEP THEIR CUSTOMERS INFORMED AND SAFE. 8 MONTHS OF BACK ORDER IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. WHAT WILL IT TAKE FOR THIS ISSUE TO BE ADDRESSED?

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

5/21/2014 - NAVARRE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS ACTIVATED AND FAILED UNEXPECTEDLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds