Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 228 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (56) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (20) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (23) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (7) Seats (9) Suspension (17) Visibility (10)
Engine (68) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (11)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/20/2017 - VALDOSTA, GA
THIS VEHICLE HAS ISSUES WITH THE AC. IT ONLY BLOWS HOT AIR WHEN THE AC IS TURNED ON, EVEN WHEN IT+S ON THE LOWEST AND COLDEST SETTING. SINCE I PURCHASED VEHICLE DURING THE SUMMER OF 2013 THE AC HAS NOT BEEN WORKING PROPERLY. I HAVE TAKING IT SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE IT CHECK BUT HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THERE IS NO TROUBLE FOUND, BUT THAT WAS UNTIL EARLIER THIS YEAR THAT I WAS TOLD THAT THEY FOUND AN ISSUE BUT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY A DEDUCTIBLE TO GET IT FIXED. NOW I AM HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN THE AC COMES ON BUT ONLY HOT AIR COMES OUT NO COLD AIR THIS HAPPEN WHETHER THE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY OR IN MOTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2017 - TAYLOR, UT
DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, NO OTHER CARS IN FRONT OF ME, SUN ROOF EXPLODED. AS SAFETY GLASS, MILLIONS OF PIECES OF GLASS.

View Details

STEERING

11/6/2017 - FORT WALTON BEACH, FL
STEERING LOCKS, DOESN'T RECENTER EXCEPT WITH MANUAL HUMAN FORCED CORRECTION AS THOUGH THE WHEELS WERE STUCK IN A RUT (THEY AREN'T). HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES SINCE 2D YEAR OF VEHICLE OWNERSHIP. NOT CONSISTENT. PROBLEM DISSIPATED AFTER BATTERY FAILED AND WAS REPLACED IN 3RD YEAR. UNKNOWN IF THERE IS A CORRELATION. STEERING PROBLEM HAS RECENTLY RETURNED. ON INTERSTATE WHERE MANY MINOR COURSE CORRECTIONS ARE MADE TO STAY IN LANE, GETS VERY BURDENSOME AND WEARYING ON LONG TRIPS. SEEMS TO HAPPEN AT 15MPH AND UP. NOT NOTICEABLE AT SLOWER SPEEDS. WAS REPORTED TO AUTHORIZED HYUNDAI DEALER IN 2015. NO ACTION TAKEN.

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2017 - GROTON, CT
WHILE DRIVING ON I-95 ATTEMPTING TO PASS ANOTHER CAR, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER. BARELY MANAGED TO MANEUVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. CAR WOULD NOT TURN OVER. AFTER BEING TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, DEALER INFORMED US THE NEXT DAY THAT THE ENGINE WAS BLOWN AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. I KNOW THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BECAUSE WE HAD THE CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT A WEEK PRIOR FOR THEM TO "CHECK" IT! THEREIN LIES MY COMPLAINT - I QUESTION WHETHER HYUNDAI'S PROCEDURES FOR THIS RECALL ARE ADEQUATE. ALTHOUGH THE REPLACEMENT OF THE ENGINE WILL PROBABLY BE COVERED BY WARRANTY/RECALL (WE HAVEN'T GOTTEN OFFICIAL CONFIRMATION YET), MY SAFETY WAS UNNECESSARILY JEOPARDIZED. NOT TO MENTION THE COST INVOLVED FOR TOWING AND REPLACEMENT CAR RENTAL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/29/2017 - SANDWICH, MA
MY WIFE AND I WENT OUT FOR A RIDE, I NOTICE A LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING ON 95S IN RHODE ISLAND, I STARTED TO PULL OVER TO THE BREAK DOWN LANE WHEN I NOTICE SMOKE OUT OF THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE, I CAME TO A STOP AND THE CAR FILLED UP WITH SMOKE , I TOLD MY WIFE TO GET OUT AND I GOT OUT BUT COULD NOT SEE, I YELLED FOR MY WIFE AS I COULD NOT SEE HER, THE FIRE DEPT CAME AND SAID THEY THINK THE TURBO BLEW, I PAID OVER $300 TO HAVE IT TOWED BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP WHICH CONFIRMED THE ISSUE AND IT WILL COST OVER $3000 TO REPAIR, THIS IS RIDICULOUS THE CAR ONLY HAS 113,000 MILES ON IT AND I TAKE CARE OF IT OIL CHANGES ETC AT THE DEALERSHIP. I HAVE READ ONLINE THAT NUMEROUS FOLKS HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE, I BELIEVE THEY HAVE A FAULT ENGINE, THEY ALREADY HAVE ONE ENGINE RECALL ISSUE WITH METAL IN THEIR ENGINE, PLEASE LOOK INTOTO THIS, WE WERE ALMOST KILLED DUE TO THE SMOKE AND ONCOMING TRAFFIC NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2017 - OMAHA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE STATIONARY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START WHEN PROMPTED. UPON EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT FLUID LEAKED INTO THE DRIVEWAY OF THE CONTACT'S HOME AND SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. FUTHERMORE, WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. WOODHOUSE HYUNDAI IN OMAHA, NEBRASKA (LOCATED AT 11540 WEST DODGE RD, 68154) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND HAD PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V226000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE DEALER REQUESTED THAT THE VEHICLE BE BROUGHT BACK IN FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 32,700.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2017 - BROWN SUMMIT, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTE FE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CAPITOL HYUNDAI WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE HAD RECURRED ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 10339608. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 82,000. UPDATED 09/15/17

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
TAKATA RECALL. RELIGIOUSLY IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE, NOT DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE FOR 1200 MORE MILES. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR 7 DAYS WHILE I WAS ON VACATION, RAN FINE BEFORE IT SAT. DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR 4 DAYS AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION. ABOUT 6PM COMING HOME FROM WORK, OPPOSITE FROM RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I SUDDENLY HEARD SLIGHT TICKING SOUND WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY GETTING ON TO THE HIGHWAY, I ALSO NOTICED THE RPMS WERE HIGH AND NOT MUCH POWER BEHIND ACCELERATING. DROVE ABOUT 10-15 MILES, TICKING GOT LOUDER WHEN ACCELERATING UNTIL THERE WAS A CONSTANT TICKING AND RATTLE IN THE FRONT END. PARKED THE CAR LET IT SIT FOR A NIGHT. WENT TO TAKE IT TO THE GARAGE, UPON STARTING THE CAR THERE WAS TICKING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, RATTLELING, AND SHAKING, TURNED THE VEHICLE RIGHT OFF. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO LOW OIL LIGHT, NO DASH NOTIFICATION LIGHTS LIGHT UP INDICATING ANYTHING WAS WRONG, TEMPERATURE SEEMED NORMAL. POPPED THE HOOD TO CHECK FLIUDS. CHECKED OIL DIPSTICK, DRY AS DRY COULD BE. NO COOLANT, NO OIL. HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AFRAID ENGINE IS SHOT! IF I WAS TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IT COULD HAVE SEIZED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR LOSS OF CONTROL. I AM THANKFUL MY 17 YEAR OLD WAS NOT BEHIND THE WHEEL. I AM SURE A HEAFTY ENGINE REPLACEMENT BILL IS COMING MY WAY.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
TAKATA RECALL. RELIGIOUSLY IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE, NOT DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE FOR 1200 MORE MILES. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR 7 DAYS WHILE I WAS ON VACATION, RAN FINE BEFORE IT SAT. DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR 4 DAYS AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION. ABOUT 6PM COMING HOME FROM WORK, OPPOSITE FROM RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I SUDDENLY HEARD SLIGHT TICKING SOUND WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY GETTING ON TO THE HIGHWAY, I ALSO NOTICED THE RPMS WERE HIGH AND NOT MUCH POWER BEHIND ACCELERATING. DROVE ABOUT 10-15 MILES, TICKING GOT LOUDER WHEN ACCELERATING UNTIL THERE WAS A CONSTANT TICKING AND RATTLE IN THE FRONT END. PARKED THE CAR LET IT SIT FOR A NIGHT. WENT TO TAKE IT TO THE GARAGE, UPON STARTING THE CAR THERE WAS TICKING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, RATTLELING, AND SHAKING, TURNED THE VEHICLE RIGHT OFF. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO LOW OIL LIGHT, NO DASH NOTIFICATION LIGHTS LIGHT UP INDICATING ANYTHING WAS WRONG, TEMPERATURE SEEMED NORMAL. POPPED THE HOOD TO CHECK FLIUDS. CHECKED OIL DIPSTICK, DRY AS DRY COULD BE. NO COOLANT, NO OIL. HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AFRAID ENGINE IS SHOT! IF I WAS TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IT COULD HAVE SEIZED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR LOSS OF CONTROL. I AM THANKFUL MY 17 YEAR OLD WAS NOT BEHIND THE WHEEL. I AM SURE A HEAFTY ENGINE REPLACEMENT BILL IS COMING MY WAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/30/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
TAKATA RECALL. RELIGIOUSLY IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND MAINTENANCE, NOT DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE FOR 1200 MORE MILES. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR 7 DAYS WHILE I WAS ON VACATION, RAN FINE BEFORE IT SAT. DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR 4 DAYS AFTER RETURNING FROM VACATION. ABOUT 6PM COMING HOME FROM WORK, OPPOSITE FROM RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I SUDDENLY HEARD SLIGHT TICKING SOUND WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY GETTING ON TO THE HIGHWAY, I ALSO NOTICED THE RPMS WERE HIGH AND NOT MUCH POWER BEHIND ACCELERATING. DROVE ABOUT 10-15 MILES, TICKING GOT LOUDER WHEN ACCELERATING UNTIL THERE WAS A CONSTANT TICKING AND RATTLE IN THE FRONT END. PARKED THE CAR LET IT SIT FOR A NIGHT. WENT TO TAKE IT TO THE GARAGE, UPON STARTING THE CAR THERE WAS TICKING FROM UNDER THE HOOD, RATTLELING, AND SHAKING, TURNED THE VEHICLE RIGHT OFF. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO LOW OIL LIGHT, NO DASH NOTIFICATION LIGHTS LIGHT UP INDICATING ANYTHING WAS WRONG, TEMPERATURE SEEMED NORMAL. POPPED THE HOOD TO CHECK FLIUDS. CHECKED OIL DIPSTICK, DRY AS DRY COULD BE. NO COOLANT, NO OIL. HAVE TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AFRAID ENGINE IS SHOT! IF I WAS TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE IT COULD HAVE SEIZED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR LOSS OF CONTROL. I AM THANKFUL MY 17 YEAR OLD WAS NOT BEHIND THE WHEEL. I AM SURE A HEAFTY ENGINE REPLACEMENT BILL IS COMING MY WAY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds