Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI SANTA FE - 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (52) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (21) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (9) Suspension (16) Visibility (10)
Engine (47) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/2/2017 - CARMICHAEL, CA
ENGINE FAILURE. WE WERE DRIVING ON FREE WAY AND HEARD A KNOCKING SOUND, THAN CAR JUST STOPED AND REFUSED TO START. WHEN TRYING TO START IT MAKES VERY LOUD KNOCKING SOUND INSIDE THE ENGINE AND DOESNT START UP.

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2017 - DURHAM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 127,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/13/2017 - GAINESVILLE, GA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, OUR SUNROOF JUST EXPLODED. SOUNDED LIKE A BOMB. I LOOKED AROUND AND THE SUNROOF WAS GONE AND GLASS WAS FALLING ALL OVER MY HUSBAND AND ME. WE HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER. I BELIEVE HYUNDAI IS AT FAULT AND SHOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE SUNROOF, AFTER DOING A GOOGLE SEARCH AND SEEING HOW MANY OTHERS THIS HAS HAPPENED TO.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2017 - WISCONSIN RAPIDS, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH AND STARTED A FAINT RATTELLING NOISE COMING FROM THE MOTOR COMPARTMENT. I THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE A WHEEL BEARING.TRAVELED 3-4 MORE MILES, THEN WITH WHAT I WOULD DESCRIBE AS COMPLETE MOTOR FAILURE, ALOUD CLATTERING NOISE FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND LOSE OF POWER HAPPENED. I IMMEDIETLY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY A AND SND LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD. I CHECKED THE OIL LEVEL AND IT WAS FINE, BUT IT WAS VERY BLACK AND SMELLED BURNT. I CALLED FOR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THE VEHICLE WAS HAULED TO THE NEAREST HYUNDAI DEALER. 1ST THING THE SERVICE DEPT. PERSON DID WAS CHECK THE OIL AND SAID THAT IT WAS FINE ALSO. THEY THEN TOOK THE VEHICLE INSIDE, THEY DROP THE OIL PAN AND FOUND PIECES OF METAL THEY THOUGHT TO BE FROM BEARINGS FROM THE BOTTOM END OF THE MOTOR. I HAD JUST BOUGHT THIS USED VEHICLE IN SEPTEMBER 2016 AND THE MOTOR FAILED IN NOVEMBER 2016 ALMOST 2 MONTHS TO THE DAY I BOUGHT IT. IT WAS PURCHASED FROM A HYUNDAI DEALER SO THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND CERTIFIED. THE MOTOR AND THE TURBO BOTH HAD TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $6364.11 OUT OF MY POCKET. THE SERVICE MANAGER TRIED TO GET SOME SORT OF GOODWILL HELP FROM HYUNDAI AND THEY REFUSED. TO SAY I'M NOT HAPPY IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT, I DID FILE A COMPLAINT WITH HYUNDAI MOTORS USA. I'VE BEEN DOING INVESTIGATING ON THE INTERNET AND I'M FINDING OTHER PEOPLE WITH SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH THEIR 2013 2.0T SANTA FE'S.

View Details

ENGINE

2/14/2017 - MOORESVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 123,271. UPDATED 05/10/17

View Details

ENGINE

2/7/2017 - LEWISVILLE, TX
WE WERE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AROUND 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY WITH NO PRIOR WARNING, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO OVERHEATING.... THE ENGINE HAS OIL AND THE RADIATOR IS FULL OF ANTIFREEZE. WE TOOK IT TO A HYUNDAI DEALER, THEY ADVISED THE ENGINE IS LOCKED UP AND WE NEED NEW ENGINE THAT COSTS $8500.00. ACCORDING TO SOME REVIEWS ON THE INTERNET, THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MANY PEOPLE AND HYUNDAI ENDED UP REPLACING THE ENGINES FOR THEM. I CALLED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER CARE CENTER, THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT BECAUSE THE CAR IS OUT OF WARRANTY PERIOD (79K MILES). IT LOOKS LIKE THIS IS A COMMON DEFECT IN THESE CARS AND THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD RECALL THESE ENGINES.

View Details

TIRES

1/31/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 70MPH THE TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT KEPT BLINKING, SO I PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER JUST AS THE TIRE BECAME FLAT. I CALLED A TOW TRUCK I WAS NOT NEAR A TOWN SO IT TOOK AN HOUR FOR SOMEONE TO GET TO ME. HOWEVER THE TIRE WAS REMOVED AND I NOTICED THAT A CHUNK OF TIRE WAS MISSING OFF THE TIRE SMALLER THAN AN INCH HOWEVER YOU COULD SEE DOWN TO THE WIRES.

View Details

ENGINE

12/6/2016 - FLOWERY BRANCH, GA
2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE SPORT 2.0T TURBO WITH COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE AT 75000 MILES. ON 12/5/16 AT AROUND 7:00 PM, WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, SMOKE STARTED TO COME OUT OF THE CAR. AFTER PULLING OVER, LARGE AMOUNTS OF SMOKE WAS COMING OUT OF THE TAILPIPE. WE CUT OFF THE ENGINE AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO AUTONATION HYUNDAI MALL OF GEORGIA IN BUFORD GEORGIA. ON 12/6/16, WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE SERVICE ADVISOR STATING THE ENGINE WAS BLOWN, AND THAT A REPLACEMENT WAS NEEDED, BUT THAT IT WILL NOT BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. A CALL TO HYUNDAI NATIONAL CUSTOMER CAR (S/W [XXX]) AT 8006335151-CASE 9790795, PRODUCED NO RESULTS AS [XXX] STATED THAT THE REPAIR WILL NOT BE COVERED BY HYUNDAI IN ANY WAY, SHAPE, FORM, OR AMOUNT. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

WHEELS

12/3/2016 - SUMTER, SC
CONTINENTAL CROSSTRACK LX SPORT 235-55-19 TIRE HAD A LOUD BUMPING NOISE COMING FROM THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE. ALSO HAD NOISE SOUNDING LIKE WHEEL BEARING NOISE AT ALL SPEEDS UP TO 70 MPH.REPLACED TIRE WITH ANOTHER BRAND.ALL NOISE WENT AWAY AFTER REPLACING TIRE. CLOSE INSPECTION OF TIRE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE REVIELED NO DEFECTS OTHER THAN A RAISED AREA WHERE BELT COMES TOGETHER. THESE TIRES NEED FUTHER INVESTIGATION BY EXPERTS TO DETERMINE SAFETY ASPECTS OF THESE TIRES.VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON ALL TYPES OF ROADS UP TO 70 MPH. EVEN AT 20 MPH THE TIRE WAS MAKING A BUMP,BUMP NOISE. TIRE WAS NOT OUT OF BALANCE. RECOMMEND ALL THESE TIRES BE RECALLED DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/7/2016 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI SANTA FE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds