Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP COMPASS - 2013 JEEP COMPASS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2013 JEEP COMPASS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 JEEP COMPASS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 JEEP COMPASS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Power Train (13) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Seat Belts (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/7/2018 - COLUMBUS, GA
2013 JEEP COMPASS TRANSMISSION FILL TUBE BROKE OFF. IT APPEARS TO BE A MANUFACTURER DESIGN DEFECT AS IT IS NOT IN A PLACE WHERE IT COULD BE BUMPED OR BROKEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE. DISCOVERED THE ISSUE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET AND HEARD A NOISE. I HAD NOT HIT A BUMP OR RUN OVER ANYTHING. AN ONLINE SEARCH SHOWED THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED OFTEN IN DIFFERENT JEEP MODELS 2011 AND LATER. DEALER REFUSES TO FIX IT DUE TO IT NOT BEING SPECIFIED IN THE WARRANTY. THERE IS NO REASON FOR IT TO BE IN THE WARRANTY AS IT IS NOT A SERVICEABLE PART AND SHOULD NEVER NEED TO BE REPLACED. WE CONTACTED A COUPLE OF OTHER AUTO SHOPS AND WERE TOLD EACH TIME THEY CAN+T FIX IT BECAUSE THEY DON+T EVEN HAVE THAT PART IN THEIR SYSTEMS AND HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/1/2018 - DEPTFORD, NJ
WHILE DRIVING, BANGING NOISE FROM REAR AND FRONT SUSPENSION WAS HEARD. SQUEALING NOISE (METAL ON METAL) ALSO HEARD FROM BRAKES. MECHANIC INSPECTED UNDERCARRIAGE AND SAW UNDERCARRIAGE WAS THOROUGHLY RUSTED WHICH DAMAGED FRONT AND REAR SUSPENSION AND BRAKES. WAS INFORMED OF DANGER IN DRIVING AND ADVISED TO GET TO DEALER IMMEDIATELY. BRAKES DAMAGED INSIDE TO THE OUTSIDE DUE TO RUST. ALL BRAKE SYSTEM PARTS WERE REPLACED. MECHANIC ALSO HAD TO GRIND AWAY RUST TO PREVENT FURTHER DAMAGE. MECHANIC CLAIMED THIS WAS THE WORST AMOUNT OF RUST HE HAD SEEN IN 20 YEAR CAREER. REPAIRS TOTALED $784.44. MAY ALSO HAVE AFFECTED RADIATOR AS WELL. HEAT NOW NOT WORKING AND PRESTONE TURNS RED FROM RUST.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/1/2018 - DEPTFORD, NJ
WHILE DRIVING, BANGING NOISE FROM REAR AND FRONT SUSPENSION WAS HEARD. SQUEALING NOISE (METAL ON METAL) ALSO HEARD FROM BRAKES. MECHANIC INSPECTED UNDERCARRIAGE AND SAW UNDERCARRIAGE WAS THOROUGHLY RUSTED WHICH DAMAGED FRONT AND REAR SUSPENSION AND BRAKES. WAS INFORMED OF DANGER IN DRIVING AND ADVISED TO GET TO DEALER IMMEDIATELY. BRAKES DAMAGED INSIDE TO THE OUTSIDE DUE TO RUST. ALL BRAKE SYSTEM PARTS WERE REPLACED. MECHANIC ALSO HAD TO GRIND AWAY RUST TO PREVENT FURTHER DAMAGE. MECHANIC CLAIMED THIS WAS THE WORST AMOUNT OF RUST HE HAD SEEN IN 20 YEAR CAREER. REPAIRS TOTALED $784.44. MAY ALSO HAVE AFFECTED RADIATOR AS WELL. HEAT NOW NOT WORKING AND PRESTONE TURNS RED FROM RUST.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/1/2018 - DEPTFORD, NJ
WHILE DRIVING, BANGING NOISE FROM REAR AND FRONT SUSPENSION WAS HEARD. SQUEALING NOISE (METAL ON METAL) ALSO HEARD FROM BRAKES. MECHANIC INSPECTED UNDERCARRIAGE AND SAW UNDERCARRIAGE WAS THOROUGHLY RUSTED WHICH DAMAGED FRONT AND REAR SUSPENSION AND BRAKES. WAS INFORMED OF DANGER IN DRIVING AND ADVISED TO GET TO DEALER IMMEDIATELY. BRAKES DAMAGED INSIDE TO THE OUTSIDE DUE TO RUST. ALL BRAKE SYSTEM PARTS WERE REPLACED. MECHANIC ALSO HAD TO GRIND AWAY RUST TO PREVENT FURTHER DAMAGE. MECHANIC CLAIMED THIS WAS THE WORST AMOUNT OF RUST HE HAD SEEN IN 20 YEAR CAREER. REPAIRS TOTALED $784.44. MAY ALSO HAVE AFFECTED RADIATOR AS WELL. HEAT NOW NOT WORKING AND PRESTONE TURNS RED FROM RUST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/5/2018 - OLATHE, KS
IN THE SUMMER OF 2016, THE CVT TRANSMISSION STARTED OVERHEATING. IT WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION, AS THE CAR WOULD LOSE POWER ON THE HIGHWAY. YOU WOULD HAVE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER AND SIT THERE FOR 20 MINUTES FOR THE CAR TO COOL DOWN. HOWEVER, WHEN WE WOULD TAKE IT TO THE DEALER IT WOULD NOT SHOW ANY ERROR CODES. THIS HAPPENED MANY TIMES. WE FINALLY TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALER AND THEY HAD HEARD OF THIS ISSUE. IT WOULD HAPPEN VERY OFTENON DAYS WITH HIGH OUTSIDE TEMPS. THE OTHER DEALER REPLACED THE CVT TRANSMISSION LAST SUMMER UNDER WARRANTY. HOWEVER, THIS MAY AS SOON AS IT STARTED TO HEAT UP OUTSIDE, IT STARTED AGAIN.AGAIN NO CODES WHEN THEY CHECK. THIS IS HAPPENING EVERY DAY. NOW THE DEALER REFUSES TO HELP. FROM WHAT I HAVE FOUND ON THE INTERNET, THIS ISSUE IS WAY TO COMMON ON THIS TRANSMISSION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/10/2018 - RENO, NV
IT IS DEALING WITH THE TRASMISSION TEMPERATURE. DRIVING WITH OR WITHOUT THE AIR CONDITIONING ON FOR A PERIOD OF TIME OF A SPEED OF 60. THE LIGHT COMES ON THE CAR BEGINS TO MAKE A WHINING NOISE AND THE CAR BEGINS TO LOSE SPEED OR POWER. I THAN HAVE TO CUT ON THE HEATER AT A HIGH TEMPERATURE TO HELP WITH CIRCULATION TO THE AREA. I HAVE TO PULL OVER CUT VEHICLE OFF. FOR 5 OR MORE MINUTES THEN CONTINUE ON UNTIL IT STARTS OVER AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. NO ONE CAN FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2018 - BELLS, TN
I BOUGHT THIS CAR FROM A DEALERSHIP 3 MONTHS AGO AND IT HAD 41,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE SINCE DRIVEN AN ADDITIONAL 3,000. THIS MORNING AS I WAS GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE +ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL+ LIGHT CAME ON AND CAUSED MY CAR TO STALL TWICE. THE HIGHEST SPEED I WAS ABLE TO GO WAS 30 MPH. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AS I WAS IN MOTION ON A BUSY HIGHWAY. WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR, THE DEALERSHIP CLAIMED TO HAVE CHECKED THE CAR ENTIRELY FOR PROBLEMS YET I AM HAVING TO CARRY IT BACK FOR MAINTENANCE. I READ ANOTHER COMPLAINT ON THIS DISCUSSION FROM EARLIER IN THE WEEK WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM, AND I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/16/2018 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
"TAKATA RECALL" MY JEEP GOES TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR EVERYTHING. I RECENTLY JUST GOT AN INSPECTION. MY JEEP HAS 67,000 MILE ON IT. I HAVE HAD 2 RECALLS, IN WHICH HAVE NOT BEEN FIXED DUE TO LACK OF PARTS. WHEN I GOT MY JEEP BACK AFTER MY INSPECTION, I NOTICE THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE LAGGING WHEN I HIT THE GAS PEDAL. THIS MORNING A LIGHT FLICKERED ON THEN OFF, SO I LOOKED IN MY USER GUIDE TO SEE WHAT IT WAS. IT WAS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF ACCELERATING ONTO AN INTERSTATE, WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. I AM MORE THAN PISSED RIGHT NOW. I HAD BEEN A DEVOTED CHEVY FAN FOR YEARS, AND WANTED TOP GIVE JEEP A SHOT. BUT AT THIS POINT, I'M READY TO DITCH THIS LEMON, AND GO BACK TO MY CHEVY ROOTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/16/2018 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
"TAKATA RECALL" MY JEEP GOES TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR EVERYTHING. I RECENTLY JUST GOT AN INSPECTION. MY JEEP HAS 67,000 MILE ON IT. I HAVE HAD 2 RECALLS, IN WHICH HAVE NOT BEEN FIXED DUE TO LACK OF PARTS. WHEN I GOT MY JEEP BACK AFTER MY INSPECTION, I NOTICE THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE LAGGING WHEN I HIT THE GAS PEDAL. THIS MORNING A LIGHT FLICKERED ON THEN OFF, SO I LOOKED IN MY USER GUIDE TO SEE WHAT IT WAS. IT WAS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF ACCELERATING ONTO AN INTERSTATE, WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. I AM MORE THAN PISSED RIGHT NOW. I HAD BEEN A DEVOTED CHEVY FAN FOR YEARS, AND WANTED TOP GIVE JEEP A SHOT. BUT AT THIS POINT, I'M READY TO DITCH THIS LEMON, AND GO BACK TO MY CHEVY ROOTS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/16/2018 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
"TAKATA RECALL" MY JEEP GOES TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR EVERYTHING. I RECENTLY JUST GOT AN INSPECTION. MY JEEP HAS 67,000 MILE ON IT. I HAVE HAD 2 RECALLS, IN WHICH HAVE NOT BEEN FIXED DUE TO LACK OF PARTS. WHEN I GOT MY JEEP BACK AFTER MY INSPECTION, I NOTICE THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE LAGGING WHEN I HIT THE GAS PEDAL. THIS MORNING A LIGHT FLICKERED ON THEN OFF, SO I LOOKED IN MY USER GUIDE TO SEE WHAT IT WAS. IT WAS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF ACCELERATING ONTO AN INTERSTATE, WHICH COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL. I AM MORE THAN PISSED RIGHT NOW. I HAD BEEN A DEVOTED CHEVY FAN FOR YEARS, AND WANTED TOP GIVE JEEP A SHOT. BUT AT THIS POINT, I'M READY TO DITCH THIS LEMON, AND GO BACK TO MY CHEVY ROOTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds