Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN MKS - 2013 LINCOLN MKS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2013 LINCOLN MKS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 LINCOLN MKS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 LINCOLN MKS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Power Train (2) Seats (3)
Engine (4)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - SUNNYSIDE, NY
THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE WAS ELECTRICAL. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PARTICULAR MAKE, MODEL, & YEAR TO FIX A PROBLEM WHICH WOULD LEAD TO A FIRE. HOWEVER, THE RECALL NOTICE WAS NEVER RECEIVED. THE INSURANCE COMPANY, FIDUCIARY, HAVE DENIED THE CLAIM AS THEY DO NOT COVER FIRES CAUSED BY ELECTRICAL.

View Details

SEATS

4/4/2014 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
DRIVER'S SEAT FOLDED IN ON DRIVER WHILE IN MOTION. FIRST INCIDENT WAS MARCH 25 WHEN RETURNING FROM DINNER AS ENTERING THE DRIVEWAY. MARCH 30 THE SEAT FOLDED AS WE WERE DRIVING 70 MPH IN THE LEFT LANE ON INTERSTATE 295 OUTSIDE RICHMOND, VA. MARCH 31, THIRD INCIDENT OCCURRED AS LEAVING THE DRIVEWAY AND ON THE STREET. APRIL 1, 2014 CAR TAKEN TO WILLIAMSBURG FORD WHERE IT WAS LEFT TWO DAYS. CUSTOMER INVOICE NOTES: NOTES: A: CUSTOMER STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE SEAT BACK WILL FOLD FORWARD/INWARD TOWARDS STEERING WHEEL COULD NOT DUPLICATE CONCERN, NO EVIDENT FAULTS. B: PERFORM MULTI-POINT INSPECTION. 99P PERFORM MULTI-POINT INSPECTION C: QUICK ALIGNMENT CHECK 31 QUICK ALIGNMENT CHECK THIS IS VERY SCARY WHEN IT HAPPENS ESPECIALLY WHEN DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED IN TRAFFIC. CAR NEEDS TO STOP AND SEAT NEEDS TO BE READJUSTED. SOME LOCAL ROADS IN THIS AREA DO NOT HAVE SAFE PLACES TO PULL OFF TO ADJUST THIS SEAT. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER REPORTS OF THIS PROBLEM???

View Details

SEATS

3/25/2014 - BIX HILLS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SEAT INDEPENDENTLY ADJUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS BEING DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2013 - HELOTES , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V227000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS SCHEDULED TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/1/2013 - SOLDOTNA, AK
I WENT TO CAL WORTHINGTON IN ANCHORAGE ALASKA WHERE I BOUGHT MY CAR TO HAVE THE RECALL 13S04 FUEL DELIVERY MODULE REPLACED. NOW LESS THAN A WEEK WITH THE NEW MODULE, THE MODULE IS LEAKING AND THE GAS FUMES ARE OVERWHELMING INSIDE MY GARAGE. I PARKED MY CAR OUTSIDE LAST NIGHT TO BE SURE IT WAS THE CAR. I PULLED IT BACK IN THIS MORNING AND RIGHT AWAY THE GARAGE WAS OVERWHELMED WITH GAS FUMES. THE DEALERSHIP IS A 3 HOUR DRIVE ONE WAY FOR ME. I AM TIRED OF MECHANICS LEAVING THINGS UNCOMPLETED. THEY DIDN'T HOOK MY HEATED SEATS BACK IN AFTER WORKING ON IT. WIRES WERE HANGING OUT OF THE BOTTOM AND MY MOTOR PROTECTOR SHIELD WAS NOT SCREWED IN. ALSO, 3 WEEKS AGO, ANOTHER COUPLE IN THE AREA OWNED A 2013 LINCOLN MKS SIMILAR TO MINE. IT CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE WAITING FOR THEIR FOOD IN A MCDONALDS DRIVE THRU. IT COMPLETELY BURNED UP.

View Details

SEATS

9/11/2013 - CASA GRANDE, AZ
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

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/8/2013 - AUBURN, NY
WHILE DRIVING THE 2013 MKS AT 70 MPH ON A 3 LANE HIGHWAY THE POWER CUT OUT AND THE CAR BEGAN TO DECELERATE. I WAS ABLE TO GUIDE THE CAR FROM FAR LEFT LANE ACROSS 2 ADDITIONAL LANES TO SHOULDER OF THE ROAD WITH NO POWER, WE COASTED. LUCKILY THERE WAS LIGHT TRAFFIC AT THE TIME. THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART AND A TOW TRUCK WAS CALLED. WHEN OUR SON PICKED US UP ROADSIDE HE CONVEYED THAT THE IDENTICAL PROBLEM HAPPENED TO HIM IN THE CAR. THIS WAS APPROXIMATELY A MONTH EARLIER. I AM SURE YOU UNDERSTAND THAT THIS CREATED AN EXTREMELY UNSAFE CONDITION FOR US AND OTHER DRIVERS. I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP THAT SOLD US THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/14/2013 - LONG BEACH , NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V227000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE AND WOULD NOT RELEASE THE VEHICLE UNTIL AFTER THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE THE EXPECTED DATE FOR THE REMEDY PART TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCE ANY FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/14/2013 - LONG BEACH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER RECEIVING NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN I.D. 13V227000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE TO REMEDY THE RECALL. THE DEALER DID NOT PROVIDE A DATE IN WHICH PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/28/2013 - SPRING, TX
I READ IN THE PAPER THAT YOU ARE INVESTIGATING FORD F150 TRUCKS WITH THE ECOBOOST ENGINE FOR SUDDEN STALLING PROBLEMS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES WITH MY 2010 LINCOLN MKS WITH THE ECOBOOST ENGINE. PREVIOUSLY I OWNED A 2010 LINCOLN MKS WITH THE ECOBOOST ENGINE THAT ALSO OCCASIONALLY EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds