Auto Recalls for Consumers

LINCOLN MKS - 2013 LINCOLN MKS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 19 complaints filed for the 2013 LINCOLN MKS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 LINCOLN MKS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 LINCOLN MKS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (3) Structure (1)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/21/2016 - FLIINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE HEADLIGHTS AND ALL OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS TURNED OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AGAIN SHORTLY AFTER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,344.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/21/2016 - FLIINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE HEADLIGHTS AND ALL OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS TURNED OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AGAIN SHORTLY AFTER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,344.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/6/2016 - HATTIESBURG, MS
MY FATHER PULLED AWAY FROM A STOP SIGN ON A CITY STREET, CROSSED TRAFFIC AND HIT THE BACK BUMPER OF A PICKUP TRUCK AFTER WHICH HIS FOOT SLIPPED ON TO THE ACCELERATOR AND DROVE HIS CAR DIRECTLY INTO A UTILITY POLE. THE IMPACT WITH THE POLE WAS HARD ENOUGH TO SHEER OFF POLE AND THE FRONT OF HIS CAR WAS DAMAGED SIGNIFICANTLY FROM THE BUMPER TO THE FRAME PUTTING A V-SHAPED INDENTATION AND THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. HE WAS GOING FAST ENOUGH TO SHEER OFF THE WOODEN UTILITY POLE AND THE WIRES WERE HANGING DOWN OVER THE CAR.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

10/28/2015 - HIGHLAND PARK, IL
S10-DIRECT REPLY- LETTER TO THE SECRETARY FROM CONSTITUENT RE REQUESTING ASSISTANCE IN FACILITATING A CHANGE TO KEYLESS IGNITION SAFETY. THE CONSUMER STATED HER BROTHER WALKED INTO HORRIBLE SCENE AND FOUND BOTH OF THEIR PARENTS DEAD. THE CAUSE WAS CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING FROM A 2013 LINCOLN MKS VEHICLE THAT WAS INADVERTENTLY LEFT RUNNING IN THEIR GARAGE. THE VEHICLE HAD A KEYLESS IGNITION SYSTEM THAT FAILED TO HAVE AN AUTOMATIC SHUTOFF OR AN ADEQUATE AUDIBLE ALARM. UPDATED 11/09/15. UPDATED 11/17/15.8JB

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/28/2015 - HIGHLAND PARK, IL
S10-DIRECT REPLY- LETTER TO THE SECRETARY FROM CONSTITUENT RE REQUESTING ASSISTANCE IN FACILITATING A CHANGE TO KEYLESS IGNITION SAFETY. THE CONSUMER STATED HER BROTHER WALKED INTO HORRIBLE SCENE AND FOUND BOTH OF THEIR PARENTS DEAD. THE CAUSE WAS CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING FROM A 2013 LINCOLN MKS VEHICLE THAT WAS INADVERTENTLY LEFT RUNNING IN THEIR GARAGE. THE VEHICLE HAD A KEYLESS IGNITION SYSTEM THAT FAILED TO HAVE AN AUTOMATIC SHUTOFF OR AN ADEQUATE AUDIBLE ALARM. UPDATED 11/09/15. UPDATED 11/17/15.8JB

View Details

ENGINE

10/23/2015 - LONGMONT, CO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED SMOKING UNDER THE HOOD. THE CONTACT HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND FLAMES WERE EMERGING FROM THE ENGINE. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000. UPDATED 12/03/15 UPDATED 01/27/16 UPDATED 03/04/16.

View Details

STEERING

7/28/2015 - GROSSE ILE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 LINCOLN MKS. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL LOST POWER AND MADE A GROWLING NOISE AT EVERY TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WAS ERRATIC AND THAT THE POWER STEERING CONTROL (PSC) MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,923. UPDATED 09/14/15

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/14/2015 - CASA GRANDE, AZ
WHILE DRIVING (ENTERING) A MAIN STREET FROM A SERVICE STATION IN MILES CITY,MT. IN A HEAVY DOWNPOUR, AS I PASSED THROUGH THE CURB/STREET DRAINAGE AREA, I HEARD A SLIGHT BUT LOUD THUMP LIKE A BIRD STRIKE BUT IT WAS RAINING TO HARD FOR THAT. A BLOCK AWAY FROM THE INITIAL TURN I ENTERED I-94 EAST WHEN MY WIFE SAID THAT WE HAVE A PROBLEM AS A WINDSHIELD CRACK APPEARED FROM UNDER THE WINDSHIELD WIPER BLADE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE, AS WE DROVE FURTHER DOWN THE FREEWAY THE CRACK CONTINUED TO RUN TOWARDS THE CENTER OF THE WINDSHIELD, THE CRACK WAS SO BAD THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER WOULD JUMP EVERY TIME IT PASSED OVER THE CRACK. THIS WAS ON A SUNDAY & NO DEALERS IN THE AREA WERE OPEN, ON MONDAY MORNING I CALLED LINCOLN FROM OUTSIDE OF JAMESTOWN, ND ABOUT THE PROBLEM & THEY DIRECTED ME TO A DEALER IN FARGO,ND TO TAKE PICTURES OF THE WINDSHIELD & SEND DIRECTLY TO LINCOLN WHICH THEY DID. AS WE WHERE ABOUT 30 MILES EAST OF FARGO, LINCOLN CALLED US NOT TO DRIVE ANY FARTHER AND THAT LINCOLN WOULD REPLACE THE WINDSHIELD AT THEIR COST WITH NO QUESTIONS ASKED. I CALLED A DEALER THAT LINCOLN SUGGESTED & THEY SAID IT WOULD TAKE 2 DAYS TO GET A WINDSHIELD FROM ST. PAUL. THE WINDSHIELD WAS ONLY CRACKED ON THE OUTER GLASS & CLOUDED UP ON BOTH SIDES OF THE CRACK. WE STAYED IN OSAKIS,MN UNTIL 7SEPT.14, THEN DROVE TO ST. PAUL FOR A WINDOW CHANGE ON 8SEPT.14 AT WHITE BEAR LINCOLN IN ST. PAUL. THE WINDSHIELD WAS REPLACED ON INVOICE 423019, CUSTOMER # 923800, WHILE THIS WAS IN PROGRESS I ASKED THE DEALER SERVICE MANAGER IF HE HAD EVER SEEN SOMETHING LIKE & HE STATED NO, NOT ON THIS NEW OF A LINCOLN. I HAVE NEVER HEARD BACK FROM LINCOLN AS TOO WHY THIS CRACK APPEARED, BUT I DO BELIEVE THEY KNOW WHY??. I HAVE NOT HAD ANY WINDSHIELD PROBLEMS SINCE IT WAS REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - SUNNYSIDE, NY
THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE WAS ELECTRICAL. THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PARTICULAR MAKE, MODEL, & YEAR TO FIX A PROBLEM WHICH WOULD LEAD TO A FIRE. HOWEVER, THE RECALL NOTICE WAS NEVER RECEIVED. THE INSURANCE COMPANY, FIDUCIARY, HAVE DENIED THE CLAIM AS THEY DO NOT COVER FIRES CAUSED BY ELECTRICAL.

View Details

SEATS

4/4/2014 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
DRIVER'S SEAT FOLDED IN ON DRIVER WHILE IN MOTION. FIRST INCIDENT WAS MARCH 25 WHEN RETURNING FROM DINNER AS ENTERING THE DRIVEWAY. MARCH 30 THE SEAT FOLDED AS WE WERE DRIVING 70 MPH IN THE LEFT LANE ON INTERSTATE 295 OUTSIDE RICHMOND, VA. MARCH 31, THIRD INCIDENT OCCURRED AS LEAVING THE DRIVEWAY AND ON THE STREET. APRIL 1, 2014 CAR TAKEN TO WILLIAMSBURG FORD WHERE IT WAS LEFT TWO DAYS. CUSTOMER INVOICE NOTES: NOTES: A: CUSTOMER STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE SEAT BACK WILL FOLD FORWARD/INWARD TOWARDS STEERING WHEEL COULD NOT DUPLICATE CONCERN, NO EVIDENT FAULTS. B: PERFORM MULTI-POINT INSPECTION. 99P PERFORM MULTI-POINT INSPECTION C: QUICK ALIGNMENT CHECK 31 QUICK ALIGNMENT CHECK THIS IS VERY SCARY WHEN IT HAPPENS ESPECIALLY WHEN DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED IN TRAFFIC. CAR NEEDS TO STOP AND SEAT NEEDS TO BE READJUSTED. SOME LOCAL ROADS IN THIS AREA DO NOT HAVE SAFE PLACES TO PULL OFF TO ADJUST THIS SEAT. HAVE THERE BEEN OTHER REPORTS OF THIS PROBLEM???

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds