Auto Recalls for Consumers

MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER - 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mitsubishi Motors North America, Inc.

There are 19 complaints filed for the 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (1) Power Train (2) Seats (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (3)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2018 - CHINO, CA
AFTER A LONG DRIVE, EVEN MORE SO UPHILLS, THE TRANSMISSION STARTS SLIPPING AND THE CAR HESITATES TO GO AFTER A STOP. A WARNING MESSAGE THAT THE TRANSMISSION IS OVER HEATING APPEARS AND THE CAR RUNS AT HIGH RPMS AT ONLY 60 MPH. ERROR CODE P1778 HAS APPEARED TWICE. THE CAR ONLY HAS 71,000 MILES

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/28/2018 - ALDERSON, WV
MY CAR WAS TOTALED A FEW DAYS AGO I WAS DRIVING HOME AND HIT A DEAR AT 55MPH AND MY AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY MY FRONT END WAS DESTROYED MY RADIATOR WAS DESTROYED ALONG WITH OTHER PARTS OF THE CAR AND THE CAR WAS CONSIDERED TOTALED. I WAS INFORMED MY AIR BAGS SHOULD OF DEPLOYED BUT THEY DID NOT

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2018 - SCHAUMBURG, IL
ON APRIL 12TH, THURSDAY NIGHT AROUND 8 PM, I WAS HEADING NEAR THE I-290/ I-90 INTERSECTION, RIDING ON I-90 WEST. I HEARD A SHARP CRACK IN THE FRONT OF THE CAR. I LOST POWER STEERING, CHECK BATTERY CHARGE LIGHT CAME ON AND WITHIN 2-3 MINUTES, ENGINE OVERHEATING LIGHT CAME ON. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO A STOP IN A SAFE AREA BETWEEN THE INTERSECTING HIGHWAYS. A HIGHWAY WORKER PROTECTED ME WITH HIS SAFETY TRUCK TILL AAA TOW TRUCK TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL SCHAUMBURG MITSUBISHI DEALER ANY STEPS YOU TOOK TO ISOLATE THE PROBLEM, SUCH AS CHECKING FOR FLOOR MATS. BE SPECIFIC ABOUT WHAT YOU DID AND HOW YOU DID IT. THE DEALER/SERVICE PERSONNEL FOUND THAT THE BELT TENSIONER BEARING WAS PULLING OUT AND THE BELT WAS NOT RIDING ON THE PULLEY CORRECTLY. THE TENSIONER WAS REPLACED AND THE SERPENTINE BELT WAS REPLACED I BELIEVE THIS IS A DESIGN FAULT WITH THE BELT TENSIONER/ BEARING AND SHOULD BE FIXED FOR THESE CARS. A SIMPLE GOOGLE SEARCH WILL SHOW THIS IS A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2018 - LASALLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL GRINDING NOISE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/23/2017 - LONGVIEW, TX
WITHOUT WARNING THE RPM WILL DROP TO ZERO. AT FIRST IT WOULD START RIGHT BACK UP WITHOUT HAVING TO RESTART IT. NOW WITHOUT WARNING IT WILL JUST DIE AND RPM GOES TO ZERO AND I HAVE TO RESTART IT. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON BUT NO DIAGNOSTIC CODES ARE STORED AS TO WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE STOPPED AS WELL AS DRIVING DON THE ROAD AT 50 MPH.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

12/18/2017 - TERRYTOWN, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. WHILE DRIVING IN RAINY CONDITIONS AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WITHOUT WARNING. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO WAIT FOR THE RAIN TO STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (RAY BRANDT CHEVROLET, WESTBANK EXPY, HARVEY, LA 70058 (504)-229-6013). THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER MOTOR WAS FAULTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V792000 (VISIBILITY) AS A POSSIBLE SOLUTION; HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/23/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V792000 (VISIBILITY) HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. DON WILLIAMSON NISSAN LOCATED AT 310 WESTERN BLVD, JACKSONVILLE, NC 28546 WAS CONTACTED AND REFUSED TO DO THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/15/2017 - DAYTONA BEACH, FL
STRUCK IN RIGHT FRONT QUARTER PANEL BY PICKUP TRUCK GOING 70MPH WHICH TOTALLED MY VEHICLE AND CAUSED INJURIES TO MYSELF AND GRANDSON BUT NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. DEPLOYMENT WOULD HAVE REDUCED OUR INJURIES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/23/2017 - BLOOMSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V791000 (VISIBILITY/WIPER). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. IN ADDITION, THE WIPERS FAILED TO WORK INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (MOTOR WORLD GROUP AT 150 MOTORWORLD DR, WILKES-BARRE, PA, 18705) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE ON BACKORDER AND THE CONTACT WOULD BE NOTIFIED WHEN THEY BECOME AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,800. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/31/2017 - WANAQUE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 MITSUBISHI OUTLANDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 16V792000 (VISIBILITY) HOWEVER IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER LINKAGES WERE FRACTURED AND THE RECALL REMEDY WOULD NOT RECTIFY THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds