Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Parking Brake (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (5) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/20/2017 - MIAMI LAKE, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND VIBRATED. AS THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A TURN, THE STEERING LOST POWER AND THE STEERING WHEEL AND AIR BAG WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (PALMETTO 57 VOLKSWAGEN IN OPA LOCKA, FLORIDA) WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 62,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2017 - MIAMI LAKE, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND VIBRATED. AS THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A TURN, THE STEERING LOST POWER AND THE STEERING WHEEL AND AIR BAG WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (PALMETTO 57 VOLKSWAGEN IN OPA LOCKA, FLORIDA) WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 62,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/6/2017 - HICORKY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. AFTER DRIVING 20 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (PARAMOUNT AUTOMOTIVE GROUP LOCATED AT 1234 S CENTER ST, HICKORY, NC 28602) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCKSPRING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG CLOCK SPRING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE DEALER DID NOT HAVE THE PARTS AVAILABLE. DUE TO THE SAFETY CONCERN, THE CONTACT LEFT THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALER. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE ON APRIL 4, 2017. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THAT THEY WOULD SUBMIT A REQUEST FOR THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THEY COULD NOT GUARANTEE A RECALL AND THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD BE SERVICED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 37,200.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/9/2017 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
ON APRIL 3, 2017 I NOTICED A SMELL IN MY CAR, AND SUBSEQUENTLY FOUND THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOORING WAS VERY WET. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT AT RAY BRANDT VOLKSWAGEN NEW ORLEANS FOR THE FOLLOWING DAY, ALTHOUGH MY CAR WAS OUTSIDE OF ITS WARRANTY PERIOD. ON APRIL 5, 2017 I ARRIVED AT THE RAY BRANDT VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP TO HAVE MY CAR LOOKED AT. THE LEAK WAS DIAGNOSED AS A CLOGGED SUNROOF DRAIN, WITH THE COST OF $150 TO CLEAR THE DRAIN. I ASKED THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN WHETHER THERE WAS ANY MAINTENANCE THAT COULD HAVE BEEN DONE TO PREVENT THE SIGNIFICANT WATER DAMAGE TO THE INTERIOR OF MY VEHICLE. HE INFORMED ME THAT THE THERE WAS RECOMMENDED MAINTENANCE THAT SHOULD BE DONE AT THE 4 YEAR - 40,000 MILE CHECK (WHICH MY VEHICLE DOES NOT YET QUALIFY FOR). I BELIEVE THIS ISSUE IS A DEFECT WITHIN THE DESIGN OF THE VEHICLE AND CLEAR INSTRUCTIONS REGARDING THIS UNUSUAL MAINTENANCE ISSUE SHOULD HAVE BEEN PROVIDED. IT IS UNCLEAR WHAT CAUSED THIS ISSUE WITH THE DRAIN, BUT IT IS CLEAR THAT VW WAS FULLY AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND HAS FAILED TO COMMUNICATE TO NEW OWNERS THE PROBLEM WITH ITS SUNROOF DESIGN AND THE STEPS NEEDED TO PREVENT PROBLEMS, AND SUBSEQUENT DAMAGE TO THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. TWO VW SERVICE TECHNICIANS INDICATED THE SUNROOF DRAIN PROBABLY HAD BEEN CLOGGED BY PARKING THE CAR UNDER TREES. IF THIS IS INDEED THE CASE, IT WOULD SEEM THAT VW SHOULD CLEARLY WARN ALL NEW CAR BUYERS THAT PARKING UNDER TREES MAY CAUSE SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO THEIR VEHICLE ($150 FOR DRAIN CLEANOUT, AND SUBSEQUENT $600 TO DRY THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR TO PREVENT MOLD), AND LOSS OF USE OF THEIR CAR. THE SUNROOF DRAIN DESIGN HAS BEEN AN ISSUE PREVIOUSLY BROUGHT TO VOLKSWAGEN'S ATTENTION: CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT DEWEY VS. VOLKSWAGEN AND CURRENT AUDI RECALL #17V0010000

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2017 - VINTON, IA
MY STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO MAKE A CLICKING NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION. SHORTLY AFTER THAT HAPPENED, I TURNED INTO A PARKING SPOT AND I FELT A SLIGHT TENSION AT THE WHEEL AND THEN A POP AND MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON. WE TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WERE NOTIFIED THAT THE AIR BACK CLOCK SPRING HAD FAILED AND THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. WHEN I SEARCHED THE NHTSA SITE, I FOUND THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN'S FOR THIS SPECIFIC ITEM BUT THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT ONE OF THE VEHICLES LISTED IN THE RECALL. SO NOW I'M FACING AN $800.00 REPAIR BILL FOR AN ITEM THAT'S ALREADY BEEN IDENTIFIED FOR A RECALL, BUT MY VIN NUMBER DOES NOT MATCH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/20/2017 - VINTON, IA
MY STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO MAKE A CLICKING NOISE WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION. SHORTLY AFTER THAT HAPPENED, I TURNED INTO A PARKING SPOT AND I FELT A SLIGHT TENSION AT THE WHEEL AND THEN A POP AND MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON. WE TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WERE NOTIFIED THAT THE AIR BACK CLOCK SPRING HAD FAILED AND THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. WHEN I SEARCHED THE NHTSA SITE, I FOUND THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN'S FOR THIS SPECIFIC ITEM BUT THAT MY VIN NUMBER IS NOT ONE OF THE VEHICLES LISTED IN THE RECALL. SO NOW I'M FACING AN $800.00 REPAIR BILL FOR AN ITEM THAT'S ALREADY BEEN IDENTIFIED FOR A RECALL, BUT MY VIN NUMBER DOES NOT MATCH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2016 - LEBANON, ME
MY 2013 VW TIGUAN SUDDENLY HAD A SNAPPING AND CRINKLY SOUND WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I NOTICED IT WHEN I WAS TURNING IN MY DRIVEWAY VERY SLOWLY. HOURS LATER AND "ERROR:AIRBAG" MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASH AND ALL OF THE FUNCTIONS OF THE STEERING WHEEL STOPPED WORKING, INCLUDING THE HORN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2016 - LEBANON, ME
MY 2013 VW TIGUAN SUDDENLY HAD A SNAPPING AND CRINKLY SOUND WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I NOTICED IT WHEN I WAS TURNING IN MY DRIVEWAY VERY SLOWLY. HOURS LATER AND "ERROR:AIRBAG" MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASH AND ALL OF THE FUNCTIONS OF THE STEERING WHEEL STOPPED WORKING, INCLUDING THE HORN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/18/2016 - CARROLLTON, TX
VEHICLE SPORADICALLY UNRESPONSIVE IN TRAFFIC WHILE IN ANY FORWARD DRIVE SELECTION OF AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. PARTICULARLY HAZARDOUS WHILE CHANGING LANES IN FREEWAY TRAFFIC. I PUSH ON THE ACCELERATOR TO CHANGE LANES AND NOTHING HAPPENS...THE CAR JUST COASTS...MEANWHILE TRAFFIC IS COMING AT ME AT 70MPH. I HAVE KEEP FLOORING THE ACCELERATOR A BUNCH OF TIMES FOR THE CAR TO REGAIN RESPONSE, BUT THE TURBO KICKS IN AT FULL SPEED AND I HAVE TO BRAKE TO RE-REGULATE MY SPEED. THIS IS A GREAT CAR, BUT IT WOULD BE A DEATHTRAP FOR MOST PEOPLE AND I AM NOT ALONE WITH THIS COMPLAINT. IN SEARCHING VW BLOGS, THE PROBLEM IS WELL KNOWN BUT THERE IS NO FIX. VW DRIVERS SPECULATE A ECM OR TCM SOFTWARE PROBLEM, WHILE OTHERS SUSPECT THE TORQUE CONVERTER OR TURBO PROBLEM. THIS IS NOT JUST A HIGH SPEED PROBLEM. IT HAPPENS IN NORMAL RESIDENTIAL TRAFFIC DRIVING, AS WELL. INTERESTING TOO IS THAT IT WILL DO THIS WHEN I AM STARTING UP FROM A STOP AND MAKING A LEFT TURN. I GET MID-WAY THRU THE TURN AND IT BECOMES UN-RESPONSIVE AND TRAFFIC BEHIND ME HAVE TO BRAKE TO KEEP FROM REAR-ENDING ME. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO DO THIS ON RIGHT TURNS FROM A STANDING STOP. IT MAKES ME WONDER ABOUT THE TRANSMISSION FLUID LEVEL, WHICH I CANNOT CHECK, THE TRANSMISSION FLUID PUMP, IF THERE IS ONE. YET, IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC, I WILL WANT TO CHANGE LANES TO EITHER THE RIGHT OR LEFT AND THE CAR WILL BECOME UNRESPONSIVE. NEVERTHELESS, IT ALWAYS TAKES THE SAME DRIVER RESPONSE OF HAVING TO KEEP FLOORING THE ACCELERATOR TO GET THE CAR TO RESPOND. NOT GOOD 2013 VW TIGUAN 24,000 MILES SINCE NEW.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds