Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 16 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (6) Parking Brake (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (2) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/23/2014 - LAPINE , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT HEARD A CHIME SOUND COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,500.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/23/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
WHEN OPERATING AT 65MPH ON CRUISE CONTROL I NOTICED A TRUCK AHEAD OF ME SLOWING AT A HILL, SO I PRESSED THE "DOWN" BUTTON TO REDUCE THE SPEED TO 64, THEN AGAIN TO 63 MPH. WHEN I CLICKED AGAIN FOR 62 MPH THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SPED UP BECAUSE THE CRUISE CONTROL HAD JUMPED BACK TO 65 MPH. BY THAT POINT I WAS QUITE CLOSE TO THE TRUCK AND HAD TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES TO AVOID A COLLISION. THIS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE BEFORE I FIGURED OUT WHAT WAS GOING ON. MY DEALER HAS VERIFIED THIS ISSUE IN MY VEHICLE AND HAS DETERMINED THAT ALL NEW 2014 TIGUANS ON THEIR LOT HAVE THIS DEFECT, AS WELL AS AT LEAST ONE 2014 PASSAT. A MEMBER OF THE TIGUAN OWNERS GROUP ON FACEBOOK HAS REPORTED THAT HIS 2010 TIGUAN HAS THIS ISSUE. VOLKWAGEN OF AMERICA CUSTOMER SERVICE HAS OFFICIALLY TRIED TO BLOW ME OFF AND MAKE ME GO AWAY. THIS ISSUE DOES NOT OCCUR EVERY TIME, USUALLY RANDOMLY OCCURRING BETWEEN 30-40% OF THE TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/12/2014 - LA PINE, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V441000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR BECAUSE THERE WERE NO AVAILABLE APPOINTMENTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,798.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/30/2014 - SANTA CRUZ, CA
I WONDER WHY I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE RE: NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V441000. MY 2013 VW TIGUAN DIED WHILE TRAVERSING A SLIGHT INCLINE IN AN INTERSECTION. FORTUNATELY NO OTHER CARS WERE PRESENT. VEHICLE WAS LATER TOWED TO VW DEALERSHIP. WORK ORDER FAILED TO MENTION THAT AUTO DIED, INSTEAD SERVICE ADVISOR WROTE THE FOLLOWING: "CK ENGINE LIGHT ON. TECH(S): 8563 WARRANTY. CUSTOMER STATES CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. SCANNED FOR TROUBLE CODES. RAN GFFAULT P0192 FUEL RAIL PRESSURE INTERMITTENT. PERFORMED TEST PLAN, CHECKED FUEL PRESSURES, ALL WITHIN SPECS. CLEARED CODES, RETESTED IN AM OPERATING TO SPECS, POSSIBLE FUEL LEVEL WAS TOO LOW IN FUEL TANK, BUT VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY OPERATING TO SPECS." THE INSTRUMENT PANEL READ RANGE: 85 MILES, WHICH, IN MY OPINION, DISCREDITS THE CONJECTURE THAT THE FUEL LEVEL IN FUEL TANK WAS TOO LOW. IS THERE A WAY TO FACILITATE RECEIVING A RECALL NOTICE? IF SO PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/10/2014 - GAINESVILLE, FL
CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC WITH ME AND A TWO YEAR OLD STRAPPED IN HER SEAT. MOST HORRIFYING EXPERIENCE IN MY WHOLE 48 YEARS OF LIFE. YOUR DEALER DID NOTHING AND SAID IT'S ALL IN MY HEAD. CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES EVER SINCE FOR STALLING WHILE ME DRIVING! WILL START CLASS ACTION SUIT THROUGH AN ORLANDO LAW FIRM OF DEBAUBIEN, KNIGHT, MANZARIS, SIMMONS AND NEAL UNLESS CAR IS REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2014 - GAINESVILLE, FL
CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC WITH ME AND A TWO YEAR OLD STRAPPED IN HER SEAT. MOST HORRIFYING EXPERIENCE IN MY WHOLE 48 YEARS OF LIFE. YOUR DEALER DID NOTHING AND SAID IT'S ALL IN MY HEAD. CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES EVER SINCE FOR STALLING WHILE ME DRIVING! WILL START CLASS ACTION SUIT THROUGH AN ORLANDO LAW FIRM OF DEBAUBIEN, KNIGHT, MANZARIS, SIMMONS AND NEAL UNLESS CAR IS REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/10/2014 - GAINESVILLE, FL
CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC WITH ME AND A TWO YEAR OLD STRAPPED IN HER SEAT. MOST HORRIFYING EXPERIENCE IN MY WHOLE 48 YEARS OF LIFE. YOUR DEALER DID NOTHING AND SAID IT'S ALL IN MY HEAD. CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES EVER SINCE FOR STALLING WHILE ME DRIVING! WILL START CLASS ACTION SUIT THROUGH AN ORLANDO LAW FIRM OF DEBAUBIEN, KNIGHT, MANZARIS, SIMMONS AND NEAL UNLESS CAR IS REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE ENGINE PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE FIXED POINT OF THE ENGINE'S DUST COVER HAD A FRACTURE. REASON: THE THICKNESS OF THE FIXED POINT WAS TOO THIN. OIL WAS BURNING IN THE COMBUSTION CHAMBER, WHICH WAS A CONTINUOUS PROCESS WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN, DUE TO THE OIL SEPARATOR WHICH HAD A SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW. OIL LEAKED OUT FROM THE END COVER FOR THE CAMSHAFT, BECAUSE THE FIXED BOLTS WERE NOT ENOUGH AND NOT SEALED. THE IDLE SPEED WAS NOT STABLE AND THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL SYSTEM HAD A FAULT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/20/2014 - LOCKPORT , IL
I PURCHASED A 2012 VW TIGUAN AND STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE AT ABOUT 15,000 MILES WHEN THE FUEL PUMP AND MODULATOR WENT BAD.. AFTER THAT I WENT THROUGH 2 OR 3 MORE FUEL PUMPS ON THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING COLUMN FAILED. UNSATISFIED WITH THE CARS PERFORMANCE I VOICED MY OPINION TO THE DEALERSHIP; ASKING TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THEY CONTACTED VW WHO AGREED TO PLACE ME IN A 2013 MODEL AND GAVE ABOUT $4500 TOWARDS MY COSTS OF THE UPDATED MODEL; WHICH I STILL LOST CONSIDERABLE MONEY ON BECAUSE OF A VERY LOW TRADE IN VALUE; BUT I WANTED A SAFE VEHICLE FOR ME AND MY FAMILY. NOW I HAD THE 2013 FOR OVER A YEAR AND 21,000 MILES ROLES ON AND MY FUEL PUMP WENT OUT ON THIS CAR. IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS MAKING A RIGHT TURN INTO TRAFFIC AND THE CAR DIED ALMOST CAUSING MY FAMILY AND I TO HAVE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AND MODULE ONCE AGAIN. I CONTACTED VW AND EXPLAINED MY WIFE AND I ARE SCARED THIS PROBLEM WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN AND HAVE FOUND MULTIPLE SOURCES INCLUDING THE DEALER STATING THIS PROBLEM CONTINUES TO OCCUR AND I FEAR FOR MY SAFETY WHILE DRIVING. I ALSO HAVE BEEN VERY PATIENT WITH THEM REGARDING THE MULTIPLE INCONVENIENCES THIS HAS BEEN FOR ME WITH MULTIPLE VEHICLES. THEY REFUSED TO HELP ME AND JUST CONTINUE WITH THE ORIGINAL WARRANTY. I ASKED FOR CONSIDERATION TO PLEASE BE TAKEN OUT OF THIS VEHICLE AND THEY OUT RIGHT REFUSED TO HEAR ME. NOW I HAVE A CAR THAT I OWE MONEY ON, CANNOT AFFORD TO TRADE IN, WITH A KNOWN MECHANICAL PROBLEM. MY WIFE IS SCARED TO DRIVE IN THE CAR AND WILL NOT ALLOW ME TO TRAVEL WITH MY KIDS. VW WAS ONLY CONCERNED ABOUT THE BOTTOM LINE AND NOT THE CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE. THE REP WOULD NOT INTERJECT HIS OWN FEELINGS HOWEVER HE DID SAY GIVEN MY VW EXPERIENCE HE DOES NOT BLAME ME FOR WANTING OUT OF THE CAR; BUT VW WOULD NOT HELP. ALL I ASKED FOR WAS A VEHICLE THAT WILL PROVIDE SAFETY FOR ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2014 - LOCKPORT , IL
I PURCHASED A 2012 VW TIGUAN AND STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE AT ABOUT 15,000 MILES WHEN THE FUEL PUMP AND MODULATOR WENT BAD.. AFTER THAT I WENT THROUGH 2 OR 3 MORE FUEL PUMPS ON THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING COLUMN FAILED. UNSATISFIED WITH THE CARS PERFORMANCE I VOICED MY OPINION TO THE DEALERSHIP; ASKING TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THEY CONTACTED VW WHO AGREED TO PLACE ME IN A 2013 MODEL AND GAVE ABOUT $4500 TOWARDS MY COSTS OF THE UPDATED MODEL; WHICH I STILL LOST CONSIDERABLE MONEY ON BECAUSE OF A VERY LOW TRADE IN VALUE; BUT I WANTED A SAFE VEHICLE FOR ME AND MY FAMILY. NOW I HAD THE 2013 FOR OVER A YEAR AND 21,000 MILES ROLES ON AND MY FUEL PUMP WENT OUT ON THIS CAR. IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS MAKING A RIGHT TURN INTO TRAFFIC AND THE CAR DIED ALMOST CAUSING MY FAMILY AND I TO HAVE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AND MODULE ONCE AGAIN. I CONTACTED VW AND EXPLAINED MY WIFE AND I ARE SCARED THIS PROBLEM WILL CONTINUE TO HAPPEN AND HAVE FOUND MULTIPLE SOURCES INCLUDING THE DEALER STATING THIS PROBLEM CONTINUES TO OCCUR AND I FEAR FOR MY SAFETY WHILE DRIVING. I ALSO HAVE BEEN VERY PATIENT WITH THEM REGARDING THE MULTIPLE INCONVENIENCES THIS HAS BEEN FOR ME WITH MULTIPLE VEHICLES. THEY REFUSED TO HELP ME AND JUST CONTINUE WITH THE ORIGINAL WARRANTY. I ASKED FOR CONSIDERATION TO PLEASE BE TAKEN OUT OF THIS VEHICLE AND THEY OUT RIGHT REFUSED TO HEAR ME. NOW I HAVE A CAR THAT I OWE MONEY ON, CANNOT AFFORD TO TRADE IN, WITH A KNOWN MECHANICAL PROBLEM. MY WIFE IS SCARED TO DRIVE IN THE CAR AND WILL NOT ALLOW ME TO TRAVEL WITH MY KIDS. VW WAS ONLY CONCERNED ABOUT THE BOTTOM LINE AND NOT THE CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE. THE REP WOULD NOT INTERJECT HIS OWN FEELINGS HOWEVER HE DID SAY GIVEN MY VW EXPERIENCE HE DOES NOT BLAME ME FOR WANTING OUT OF THE CAR; BUT VW WOULD NOT HELP. ALL I ASKED FOR WAS A VEHICLE THAT WILL PROVIDE SAFETY FOR ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds