Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Parking Brake (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (5) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: CLOCKSPRING

6/11/2018 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED AT THE DEALER (ANCIRA VOLKSWAGEN SAN ANTONIO, 6125 BANDERA RD, SAN ANTONIO, TX 78238). AFTERWARDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE HORN FAILED TO SOUND WHEN DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 79,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2018 - OLATHE, KS
ONE DAY I WAS DRIVING AND HEARD THIS CLICKING NOISE IN MY STEERING WHEEL WHENEVER I TURNED. IT PROGRESSIVELY GOT WORSE THROUGHOUT THE DAY AND ABOUT 4 HOURS LATER FROM WHEN I INITIALLY HEARD IT, MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON. I CALLED MY DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS MY CLOCK SPRING AND THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS A FEW YEARS AGO HOWEVER MY VIN WAS NOT ONE THAT WAS NOTED UNDER THAT RECALL. I HAVE NO POWER TO MY STEERING WHEEL TOUCH CONTROLS AND MY HORN DOES NOT WORK WHICH HAS BEEN VERY SCARY AS I HAVE NO WAY TO ALERT THOSE AROUND ME WHEN THEY SWERVE INTO MY LANE-WHICH HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/14/2018 - DARIEN, IL
THE CLOCK SPRING (DIAGNOSED BY PUGI VOLKSWAGEN IN DOWNERS GROVE, IL HAS MALFUNCTIONED IN THIS VEHICLE. SO ALL THE AIRBAGS AND ALL STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS DO NOT WORK IN THIS VEHICLE, SO IF I'M ABOUT TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT, I CANNOT USE MY HORN, NOR WILL MY AIRBAG DEPLOY. THERE IS AN ACTIVE RECALL FOR THIS PART IN OTHER VEHICLES IN THE SAME MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR OF THIS VEHICLE, BUT FOR SOME REASON MY VIN IS NOT FALLING INTO THAT RANGE? THIS IS RIDICULOUS, THE RECALL ON THIS PART IS RECALL # 69L2, NHTSA # 15V483. THERE WAS AN NHTSA INVESTIGATION IN NOVEMBER 2017 STATING THAT THIS MAY NOT HAVE COVERED A WIDE ENOUGH RANGE OF VEHICLES COVERED UNDER THE RECALL (HTTPS://STATIC.NHTSA.GOV/ODI/INV/2017/INOA-RQ17009-5206.PDF) & (HTTPS://WWW.FORBES.COM/SITES/JENSEN/2017/11/17/FEDS-INVESTIGATE-VOLKSWAGENS-RELUCTANT-RECALL/#6D0848D53B77). SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2018 - DARIEN, IL
THE CLOCK SPRING (DIAGNOSED BY PUGI VOLKSWAGEN IN DOWNERS GROVE, IL HAS MALFUNCTIONED IN THIS VEHICLE. SO ALL THE AIRBAGS AND ALL STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS DO NOT WORK IN THIS VEHICLE, SO IF I'M ABOUT TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT, I CANNOT USE MY HORN, NOR WILL MY AIRBAG DEPLOY. THERE IS AN ACTIVE RECALL FOR THIS PART IN OTHER VEHICLES IN THE SAME MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR OF THIS VEHICLE, BUT FOR SOME REASON MY VIN IS NOT FALLING INTO THAT RANGE? THIS IS RIDICULOUS, THE RECALL ON THIS PART IS RECALL # 69L2, NHTSA # 15V483. THERE WAS AN NHTSA INVESTIGATION IN NOVEMBER 2017 STATING THAT THIS MAY NOT HAVE COVERED A WIDE ENOUGH RANGE OF VEHICLES COVERED UNDER THE RECALL (HTTPS://STATIC.NHTSA.GOV/ODI/INV/2017/INOA-RQ17009-5206.PDF) & (HTTPS://WWW.FORBES.COM/SITES/JENSEN/2017/11/17/FEDS-INVESTIGATE-VOLKSWAGENS-RELUCTANT-RECALL/#6D0848D53B77). SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/8/2018 - GLENSHAW, PA
MY STEERING WHEEL CLICKS WHILE TURNING, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON, HORN AND STEERING CONTROLS DON'T WORK. I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP WHO TOLD ME THIS WAS A COMMON ISSUE AND THE RECALL TO FIX IT HAD BEEN DONE IN 2015 BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER. I WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO FIX IT THIS TIME. SO VW GETS TO CLAIM TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY SUPPOSEDLY PUTTING A NEW CLOCK SPRING IN, THAT FAILS IN THE SAME TIME FRAME AS THE PREVIOUS DEFECTIVE CLOCK SPRING. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. WILL NEVER BUY A VW AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/8/2018 - GLENSHAW, PA
MY STEERING WHEEL CLICKS WHILE TURNING, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON, HORN AND STEERING CONTROLS DON'T WORK. I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP WHO TOLD ME THIS WAS A COMMON ISSUE AND THE RECALL TO FIX IT HAD BEEN DONE IN 2015 BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER. I WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO FIX IT THIS TIME. SO VW GETS TO CLAIM TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY SUPPOSEDLY PUTTING A NEW CLOCK SPRING IN, THAT FAILS IN THE SAME TIME FRAME AS THE PREVIOUS DEFECTIVE CLOCK SPRING. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. WILL NEVER BUY A VW AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/8/2018 - RIDGEFIELD, WA
AFTER DRIVING ABOUT 2 HOURS ON A FREEWAY THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON WHILE TURNING ONTO A CITY STREET AFTER EXITING THE FREEWAY. ALL STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS AND HORN HAD STOPPED WORKING WHEN THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AS WELL. THIS SEEMS TO BE THE EXACT FAILURE DESCRIBED IN THE CLOCK SPRING RECALL ISSUED IN 2015 FOR THIS VEHICLE THOUGH IT SEEMS AS THOUGH THE RECALL MAY HAVE ALREADY BEEN REPAIRED ON MY CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/1/2018 - HAMMOND, LA
VEHICLE FLOODED WITH STANDING WATER AFTER A HEAVY RAIN. ON MONDAY APRIL 30, 2018 THE VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP REPORTED THAT THE 2 DRAIN LINES FROM THE SUNROOF HAD "DISCONNECTED THEMSELVES" AND ALLOWED RAIN WATER INTO THE VEHICLE CABIN. IN 2007 A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT WAS FILED AGAINST VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA FOR THIS VERY ISSUE CITING POOR DESIGN TO BE AT FAULT. IN 2012 THE APPELLATE COURT APPROVED A $69 MILLION DOLLAR SETTLEMENT BY VOLKSWAGEN, BUT APPARENTLY DID NOT MAKE ANY DRAIN DESIGN CHANGES THAT WOULD PREVENT THE OCCURRENCES FROM TAKING PLACE IN THE FUTURE. PLEASE SEE HTTPS://WWW.LAW360.COM/ARTICLES/402373, HTTPS://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/NEWS/2014/VOLKSWAGEN-SETTLES-LAWSUIT-LEAKING-SUNROOFS.SHTML, AND HTTP://WWW2.CA3.USCOURTS.GOV/OPINARCH/103618P.PDF. WHEN I ASKED VOLKSWAGEN OF MANDEVILLE, LA IF THERE WAS ANY OUTSIDE CONDITION THAT WOULD CAUSE A DRAIN FAILURE, THEY SAID IT WAS A BAD DESIGN AND THAT THEY WERE "VERY FAMILIAR" WITH THE PROBLEM. VOLKSWAGEN HAVE MADE NO VOLUNTARY RECALLS OR ISSUED SERVICE BULLETINS TO ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. MY 2013 TIGUAN HAS APPROXIMATELY 10,500 MILES SO WEAR & TEAR IS NOT A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR HERE. MY REPAIR BILL IS NEARLY $3,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2018 - DALLAS, TX
NOT SURE IF THIS INVOLVES THE TAKATA RECALL OR NOT. WHILE WAS EXECUTING A RIGHTHAND TURN ON A CITY STREET, I HEARD A SNAP/CLICK FROM INSIDE THE STEERING WHEEL. IMMEDIATELY, THE AIRBAG LIGHT TURNED ON AND I DISCOVERED THE NEXT DAY THAT THE HORN AND STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS HAD STOPPED FUNCTIONING. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT 2013 TIGUANS WERE INCLUDED IN THE STEERING WHEEL CLOCK SPRING RECALL IN 2015, SO I CHECKED TO SEE IF MY CAR'S VIN WAS INCLUDED. IT WASN'T, SO I REACHED OUT TO VW CUSTOMER CARE AND TOLD THEM THAT MY CAR WAS EXHIBITING THE SAME ISSUES THAT WERE OUTLINED IN THE RECALL NOTICE. THEY INITIALLY TOLD ME THAT MY VEHICLE WASN'T INCLUDED BECAUSE IT DIDN'T RECEIVE THE FAULTY FACTORY PARTS, THEN LATER CHANGED THEIR STORY TO SAY THAT MY VEHICLE ALREADY HAD BEEN REPAIRED IN RESPONSE TO THE RECALL. WHEN I EXPLAINED THAT THE REPAIR HADN'T PREVENTED THE SAFETY HAZARDS, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE RECALL REPAIR IS OUT OF WARRANTY SO I WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/26/2018 - DALLAS, TX
NOT SURE IF THIS INVOLVES THE TAKATA RECALL OR NOT. WHILE WAS EXECUTING A RIGHTHAND TURN ON A CITY STREET, I HEARD A SNAP/CLICK FROM INSIDE THE STEERING WHEEL. IMMEDIATELY, THE AIRBAG LIGHT TURNED ON AND I DISCOVERED THE NEXT DAY THAT THE HORN AND STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS HAD STOPPED FUNCTIONING. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT 2013 TIGUANS WERE INCLUDED IN THE STEERING WHEEL CLOCK SPRING RECALL IN 2015, SO I CHECKED TO SEE IF MY CAR'S VIN WAS INCLUDED. IT WASN'T, SO I REACHED OUT TO VW CUSTOMER CARE AND TOLD THEM THAT MY CAR WAS EXHIBITING THE SAME ISSUES THAT WERE OUTLINED IN THE RECALL NOTICE. THEY INITIALLY TOLD ME THAT MY VEHICLE WASN'T INCLUDED BECAUSE IT DIDN'T RECEIVE THE FAULTY FACTORY PARTS, THEN LATER CHANGED THEIR STORY TO SAY THAT MY VEHICLE ALREADY HAD BEEN REPAIRED IN RESPONSE TO THE RECALL. WHEN I EXPLAINED THAT THE REPAIR HADN'T PREVENTED THE SAFETY HAZARDS, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE RECALL REPAIR IS OUT OF WARRANTY SO I WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds