Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 27 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Parking Brake (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (3) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/17/2016 - SAND CITY, CA
I WAS ONE THE HIGH WAY 1, AND I DROVE ABOUT 10 MINUTES. ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED. THE WHEEL WAS EVEN LOCKED. BASICALLY, I WAS STOCKED ON THE HIGHWAY! THEN, I RESTARTED MY CAR ON THE HIGH WAY 1, AND IT WORKED AGAIN. THE DEALER CAN NOT FIND ANY ISSUE, AND THE SAME ISSUES HAPPENED TO ME TWICE WITH TWO MONTHS. NOW, I HAVE TO REPORT THIS IN ORDER TO PROTECT MYSELF.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/17/2016 - SAND CITY, CA
I WAS ONE THE HIGH WAY 1, AND I DROVE ABOUT 10 MINUTES. ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED. THE WHEEL WAS EVEN LOCKED. BASICALLY, I WAS STOCKED ON THE HIGHWAY! THEN, I RESTARTED MY CAR ON THE HIGH WAY 1, AND IT WORKED AGAIN. THE DEALER CAN NOT FIND ANY ISSUE, AND THE SAME ISSUES HAPPENED TO ME TWICE WITH TWO MONTHS. NOW, I HAVE TO REPORT THIS IN ORDER TO PROTECT MYSELF.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2016 - MAYFIELD HEIGHTS, OH
WHILE MAKING A NORMAL-RADIUS LEFT-HAND TURN INTO A PARKING SPOT, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A SOFT POPPING SOUND. IMMEDIATELY, THE AIRBAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, ALONG WITH A MESSAGE INDICATING THAT THE DRIVER AIRBAG WAS NOT FUNCTIONAL. FURTHER INSPECTION FOUND THAT THE DRIVER AIRBAG, DRIVER STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS, AND HORN WERE NON-FUNCTIONAL. THE VW DEALERSHIP INDICATED THAT STEERING WHEEL CLOCK SPRING HAD TORN, AND WAS THEREFORE REPLACED. A RECALL (15V483000) WAS ISSUED IN AUG 2015 FOR VW TIGUAN 2013S, BUT THIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. WHEN CONTACTING VW'S CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM, THEY INDICATED THAT THIS VIN WAS INTENTIONALLY NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER EVIDENCE INDICATES OTHERWISE. THIS VIN, AND LIKELY OTHERS WITH THE SAME TRIM, SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN A NEW RECALL FOR THE SAME, AS THE PROBLEM EXTENDS BEYOND THE VINS IN THE ORIGINAL RECALL, 15V483000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/17/2016 - DENVER, CO
THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR HANDLE FELL OFF COMPLETELY (BOTH PIECES) WHEN I WAS TRYING TO GET IN THE BACK SEAT (SIMPLY OPENING THE DOOR BY PULLING ON THE HANDLE). APPARENTLY THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR YEARS (PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT IT SINCE 2011 ACROSS MULTIPLE VW MODELS). ONE PERSON'S FORUM POST SAID THERE WAS A FREE RETROFIT KIT (TURNS OUT THEY ARE FROM THE UK) BECAUSE IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. HOWEVER, VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA SAYS THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM. I'VE UPLOADED A FEW OF THE DOZEN'S OF FORUM ENTRIES OF PEOPLE SAYING THIS HAPPENED TO THEM, AND A PHOTO OF MY DOOR HANDLE. IT APPEARS THAT DEALERSHIPS ONLY FIX IT IF IT'S UNDER WARRANTY HERE IN THE US.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/22/2016 - WYANDANCH, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AS THE HORN AND THE FUNCTIONS ON THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO OPERATE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ALSO FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,560.

View Details

STEERING

1/8/2016 - TAMPA, FL
WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE IT WILL GET UP TO 40 SPEED AND NOT ABOVE AND STALL OUT TO 0 MPH. THE VEHICLE WILL NOT MOVE AND STALL FOR DURATION OF TIME, THEN IT WILL DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED UNDER 10-20MPH. AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE, I MADE IT KNOWN TO THE BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP, FIDELITY BANK AND VOLKSWAGEN AMERICA. I HAD TWO WARRANTIES AND THE PROBLEM WERE TOLD ME IN 2012 AND 2013, BY BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN THE PROBLEM WERE RESOLVED. IN JULY 2015 THROUGH AUGUST 2015 THE BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN INFORMED THAT A PART DOES NOT EXISTED TO CORRECT MY PROBLEMS FOR SEVERAL RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NON-OPERABLE ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY 301HWY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/8/2016 - TAMPA, FL
WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE IT WILL GET UP TO 40 SPEED AND NOT ABOVE AND STALL OUT TO 0 MPH. THE VEHICLE WILL NOT MOVE AND STALL FOR DURATION OF TIME, THEN IT WILL DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED UNDER 10-20MPH. AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE, I MADE IT KNOWN TO THE BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP, FIDELITY BANK AND VOLKSWAGEN AMERICA. I HAD TWO WARRANTIES AND THE PROBLEM WERE TOLD ME IN 2012 AND 2013, BY BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN THE PROBLEM WERE RESOLVED. IN JULY 2015 THROUGH AUGUST 2015 THE BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN INFORMED THAT A PART DOES NOT EXISTED TO CORRECT MY PROBLEMS FOR SEVERAL RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NON-OPERABLE ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY 301HWY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/8/2016 - TAMPA, FL
WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE IT WILL GET UP TO 40 SPEED AND NOT ABOVE AND STALL OUT TO 0 MPH. THE VEHICLE WILL NOT MOVE AND STALL FOR DURATION OF TIME, THEN IT WILL DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED UNDER 10-20MPH. AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE, I MADE IT KNOWN TO THE BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN DEALERSHIP, FIDELITY BANK AND VOLKSWAGEN AMERICA. I HAD TWO WARRANTIES AND THE PROBLEM WERE TOLD ME IN 2012 AND 2013, BY BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN THE PROBLEM WERE RESOLVED. IN JULY 2015 THROUGH AUGUST 2015 THE BRANDON VOLKSWAGEN INFORMED THAT A PART DOES NOT EXISTED TO CORRECT MY PROBLEMS FOR SEVERAL RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NON-OPERABLE ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY 301HWY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2015 - MIAMI, FL
MY CAR WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR A WEEK AND IT WAS NOT DRIVER FOR A WEEK WHEN THE AIR START COME OUT OF MY TIRE AND IT BUBBLE UP AND LEFT A CUT ON THE TIRE A DEFECTIVE IN THE TIRE. THE NAME OF TIRE IS CONTINENTAL / CONTIPROCONTACT ... SIZE IS 235/50 R 18.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THERE WAS A CLICKING SOUND THAT CAME FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. ALL OF THE CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO WORK, INCLUDING THE HORN, AND THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND POWERED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS), HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds