Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 46 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Parking Brake (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (5) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/5/2017 - BEVERLY, MA
AIRBAG CLOCK SWITCH FAILED ON MY 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, TURNING A 45 DEGREE CORNER, AND A 'GRINDING' AND 'POPPING' SOUND OCCURRED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/7/2017 - WORCESTER, MA
AIR BAG LIGHT ON DASHBOARD IS LIT UP. AT FIRST STEERING WHEEL FELT HARDER TO TURN LEFT AND RIGHT AND THEN IT SOUNDED LIKE A SPRING WAS MOVING BACK AND FORTH ON PLASTIC. I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY WHEN THIS OCCURRED TURNING LEFT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/7/2017 - WORCESTER, MA
AIR BAG LIGHT ON DASHBOARD IS LIT UP. AT FIRST STEERING WHEEL FELT HARDER TO TURN LEFT AND RIGHT AND THEN IT SOUNDED LIKE A SPRING WAS MOVING BACK AND FORTH ON PLASTIC. I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY WHEN THIS OCCURRED TURNING LEFT.

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2017 - WORCESTER, MA
AIR BAG LIGHT ON DASHBOARD IS LIT UP. AT FIRST STEERING WHEEL FELT HARDER TO TURN LEFT AND RIGHT AND THEN IT SOUNDED LIKE A SPRING WAS MOVING BACK AND FORTH ON PLASTIC. I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY WHEN THIS OCCURRED TURNING LEFT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2017 - ARLINGTON, VA
NO ELECTRICAL CONNECTION TO STEERING WHEEL, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON... ALL SIMILAR PROBLEMS TO TAKATA RECALL BUT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THE DEALERSHIP IS TRYING TO CHARGE ME $800 TO FIX IT. WHEN VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND SWITCHED ON, THERE WAS A TEARING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL - THEN NOTHING WORKED IN THE STEERING WHEEL, NOT THE HORN OR THE CRUISE CONTROL OR ANYTHING. AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2017 - ARLINGTON, VA
NO ELECTRICAL CONNECTION TO STEERING WHEEL, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON... ALL SIMILAR PROBLEMS TO TAKATA RECALL BUT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THE DEALERSHIP IS TRYING TO CHARGE ME $800 TO FIX IT. WHEN VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND SWITCHED ON, THERE WAS A TEARING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL - THEN NOTHING WORKED IN THE STEERING WHEEL, NOT THE HORN OR THE CRUISE CONTROL OR ANYTHING. AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2017 - ARLINGTON, VA
NO ELECTRICAL CONNECTION TO STEERING WHEEL, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON... ALL SIMILAR PROBLEMS TO TAKATA RECALL BUT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THE DEALERSHIP IS TRYING TO CHARGE ME $800 TO FIX IT. WHEN VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND SWITCHED ON, THERE WAS A TEARING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL - THEN NOTHING WORKED IN THE STEERING WHEEL, NOT THE HORN OR THE CRUISE CONTROL OR ANYTHING. AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/14/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
VW RECALLED THIS VEHICLE FOR A DEFECT IN THE CLOCKSPRING WHICH CONTROLS THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG. THIS REPAIR WAS MADE IN JULY 2016. JUST 15 MONTHS LATER AND LESS THAN 3000 MILES LATER THE CLOCKSPRING FAILED AGAIN IN THE EXACT SAME FASHION. THE SAME CLASSIC CLOCKSPRING FAILURE MODE AS REPORTED BY VW. I HAD IT REPLACED AGAIN THIS MORNING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2017 - STAMFORD, CT
OUR VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN 2013 WAS RECALLED LAST YEAR FOR A FAULTY AIRBAG CLOCK SPRING WHICH, IF IT WENT OUT, CAUSED A LOSS OF THE DRIVERS FRONT AIRBAG AND ALSO USE OF THE HORN. OUR AIRBAG AND HORN FULLY WENT OUT AT THAT TIME, AND WE TOOK THE CAR IN AND HAD THE CLOCK SPRING REPLACED UNDER THE RECALL. NOW, JUST MORE THAN A YEAR LATER, THE EXACT SAME THING HAS HAPPENED -- THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS COME ON INDICATING THAT THE AIRBAGS ARE OUT, THE HORN DOES NOT WORK NOR DO ANY OF THE ELECTRIC CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL. WE CALLED OUR LOCAL VW DEALER IN STAMFORD CT ABOUT THIS-- THEY HAVE SAID THEY WILL CHARGE US FOR A DIAGNOSTIC AND THE REPAIR SINCE THE CAR IS CURRENTLY NOT RECALLED, EVEN THOUGH THIS IS THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM THAT WAS ADDRESSED UNDER THE RECALL LAST YEAR. IN ADDITION, THE FIRST AVAILABLE APPOINTMENT THEY ARE OFFERING US IS 30 AUG -- TWO AND A HALF WEEKS FROM TODAY. THEY HAVE SAID WE COULD ALSO BRING THE CAR IN NOW, BUT THAT IT WILL TAKE THEM A WEEK OR MORE TO GET TO IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/8/2017 - PENSACOLA, FL
HARD STARTING 1ST THING AM.... SEEMS TO RUN OK AFTERWARD. VW SERIVCE TECH SAYS REAR FUEL PUMP AND SENSOR BAD..CAUSING ENGINE SPEED SENSOR TO MALFUNCTION. CAR STALLED ON FWAY TWICE TOO...

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds