Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 31 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Parking Brake (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (3) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/15/2016 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
MILEAGE: 38,000 MILES. DATE: 9/5/2016. UPON ENGINE STARTUP FIRST THING IN THE MORNING I NOTICED A MOMENTARY RATTLING NOISE WHICH I RECOGNIZED AS TIMING CHAIN NOISE. (I'M A CERTIFIED AUTO MECHANIC.) THE NOISE WENT AWAY IN ABOUT ONE SECOND WHICH IS TYPICAL FOR A HYDRAULIC TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER. I RESEARCHED THE NET AND FOUND QUITE A BIT OF INFORMATION ON FAILING HYDRAULIC TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS ON VW TSI ENGINES. THE TIMING CHAIN NOISE OCCURRED A SECOND TIME ON 9/23/2016, ALSO FIRST THING IN THE MORNING SUBSTANTIATING A FAILING TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER LEAKING DOWN OVER NIGHT. ON 10/2/2016 I SPENT $256.63 TO BUY THE PARTS FOR REPLACING THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER MYSELF.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE CAR, THE CAR STOPS COMPLETELY. EVERYTHING SHUTS DOWN. NEED TO PLACE THE CAR IN PARK AND RESTART CAR. THE CAR RESTARTS. HOWEVER, THE SHUTDOWN CAN HAPPEN MORE THAN ONCE DURING THE SAME TRIP EACH TIME THE CAR STOPS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN WILL GO OFF. THIS STARTED HAPPENING IN AUG 2015 @ 27000 MILES. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES. THEY RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND CLEAR FAULT IF THE LIGHT IS ON AT THE TIME. THE DEALER REPLACED THE BOOST PRESSURE SENSOR IN JUNE 2016 BUT THE PROBLEM HAS STARTED AGAIN. SINCE THE LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF, IT IS HARD TO KNOW IF THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. SO FAR IT HAS STALLED ON SIDE ROADS OR PARKING LOTS. IF THIS SHOULD HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY, IT WOULD CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. IN 2014, THE CAR WAS PART OF A FUEL PUMP RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE CAR, THE CAR STOPS COMPLETELY. EVERYTHING SHUTS DOWN. NEED TO PLACE THE CAR IN PARK AND RESTART CAR. THE CAR RESTARTS. HOWEVER, THE SHUTDOWN CAN HAPPEN MORE THAN ONCE DURING THE SAME TRIP EACH TIME THE CAR STOPS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN WILL GO OFF. THIS STARTED HAPPENING IN AUG 2015 @ 27000 MILES. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES. THEY RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND CLEAR FAULT IF THE LIGHT IS ON AT THE TIME. THE DEALER REPLACED THE BOOST PRESSURE SENSOR IN JUNE 2016 BUT THE PROBLEM HAS STARTED AGAIN. SINCE THE LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF, IT IS HARD TO KNOW IF THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. SO FAR IT HAS STALLED ON SIDE ROADS OR PARKING LOTS. IF THIS SHOULD HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY, IT WOULD CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. IN 2014, THE CAR WAS PART OF A FUEL PUMP RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2016 - HAMBURG, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER UNEXPECTEDLY AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2016 - HAMBURG, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER UNEXPECTEDLY AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,500.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2016 - JAMAICA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD, STALLED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V441000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE), BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CENTRAL WIRING HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWO ADDITIONAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, BUT THE DIAGNOSIS WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,997.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/17/2016 - SAND CITY, CA
I WAS ONE THE HIGH WAY 1, AND I DROVE ABOUT 10 MINUTES. ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED. THE WHEEL WAS EVEN LOCKED. BASICALLY, I WAS STOCKED ON THE HIGHWAY! THEN, I RESTARTED MY CAR ON THE HIGH WAY 1, AND IT WORKED AGAIN. THE DEALER CAN NOT FIND ANY ISSUE, AND THE SAME ISSUES HAPPENED TO ME TWICE WITH TWO MONTHS. NOW, I HAVE TO REPORT THIS IN ORDER TO PROTECT MYSELF.

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2016 - SAND CITY, CA
I WAS ONE THE HIGH WAY 1, AND I DROVE ABOUT 10 MINUTES. ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED. THE WHEEL WAS EVEN LOCKED. BASICALLY, I WAS STOCKED ON THE HIGHWAY! THEN, I RESTARTED MY CAR ON THE HIGH WAY 1, AND IT WORKED AGAIN. THE DEALER CAN NOT FIND ANY ISSUE, AND THE SAME ISSUES HAPPENED TO ME TWICE WITH TWO MONTHS. NOW, I HAVE TO REPORT THIS IN ORDER TO PROTECT MYSELF.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2016 - MAYFIELD HEIGHTS, OH
WHILE MAKING A NORMAL-RADIUS LEFT-HAND TURN INTO A PARKING SPOT, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A SOFT POPPING SOUND. IMMEDIATELY, THE AIRBAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, ALONG WITH A MESSAGE INDICATING THAT THE DRIVER AIRBAG WAS NOT FUNCTIONAL. FURTHER INSPECTION FOUND THAT THE DRIVER AIRBAG, DRIVER STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS, AND HORN WERE NON-FUNCTIONAL. THE VW DEALERSHIP INDICATED THAT STEERING WHEEL CLOCK SPRING HAD TORN, AND WAS THEREFORE REPLACED. A RECALL (15V483000) WAS ISSUED IN AUG 2015 FOR VW TIGUAN 2013S, BUT THIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. WHEN CONTACTING VW'S CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM, THEY INDICATED THAT THIS VIN WAS INTENTIONALLY NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, HOWEVER EVIDENCE INDICATES OTHERWISE. THIS VIN, AND LIKELY OTHERS WITH THE SAME TRIM, SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN A NEW RECALL FOR THE SAME, AS THE PROBLEM EXTENDS BEYOND THE VINS IN THE ORIGINAL RECALL, 15V483000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/17/2016 - DENVER, CO
THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR HANDLE FELL OFF COMPLETELY (BOTH PIECES) WHEN I WAS TRYING TO GET IN THE BACK SEAT (SIMPLY OPENING THE DOOR BY PULLING ON THE HANDLE). APPARENTLY THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR YEARS (PEOPLE COMPLAINING ABOUT IT SINCE 2011 ACROSS MULTIPLE VW MODELS). ONE PERSON'S FORUM POST SAID THERE WAS A FREE RETROFIT KIT (TURNS OUT THEY ARE FROM THE UK) BECAUSE IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. HOWEVER, VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA SAYS THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM. I'VE UPLOADED A FEW OF THE DOZEN'S OF FORUM ENTRIES OF PEOPLE SAYING THIS HAPPENED TO THEM, AND A PHOTO OF MY DOOR HANDLE. IT APPEARS THAT DEALERSHIPS ONLY FIX IT IF IT'S UNDER WARRANTY HERE IN THE US.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds