Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 33 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Parking Brake (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (4) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/27/2016 - LEBANON, ME
MY 2013 VW TIGUAN SUDDENLY HAD A SNAPPING AND CRINKLY SOUND WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I NOTICED IT WHEN I WAS TURNING IN MY DRIVEWAY VERY SLOWLY. HOURS LATER AND "ERROR:AIRBAG" MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASH AND ALL OF THE FUNCTIONS OF THE STEERING WHEEL STOPPED WORKING, INCLUDING THE HORN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2016 - LEBANON, ME
MY 2013 VW TIGUAN SUDDENLY HAD A SNAPPING AND CRINKLY SOUND WHEN I TURNED THE WHEEL. I NOTICED IT WHEN I WAS TURNING IN MY DRIVEWAY VERY SLOWLY. HOURS LATER AND "ERROR:AIRBAG" MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE DASH AND ALL OF THE FUNCTIONS OF THE STEERING WHEEL STOPPED WORKING, INCLUDING THE HORN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/18/2016 - CARROLLTON, TX
VEHICLE SPORADICALLY UNRESPONSIVE IN TRAFFIC WHILE IN ANY FORWARD DRIVE SELECTION OF AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. PARTICULARLY HAZARDOUS WHILE CHANGING LANES IN FREEWAY TRAFFIC. I PUSH ON THE ACCELERATOR TO CHANGE LANES AND NOTHING HAPPENS...THE CAR JUST COASTS...MEANWHILE TRAFFIC IS COMING AT ME AT 70MPH. I HAVE KEEP FLOORING THE ACCELERATOR A BUNCH OF TIMES FOR THE CAR TO REGAIN RESPONSE, BUT THE TURBO KICKS IN AT FULL SPEED AND I HAVE TO BRAKE TO RE-REGULATE MY SPEED. THIS IS A GREAT CAR, BUT IT WOULD BE A DEATHTRAP FOR MOST PEOPLE AND I AM NOT ALONE WITH THIS COMPLAINT. IN SEARCHING VW BLOGS, THE PROBLEM IS WELL KNOWN BUT THERE IS NO FIX. VW DRIVERS SPECULATE A ECM OR TCM SOFTWARE PROBLEM, WHILE OTHERS SUSPECT THE TORQUE CONVERTER OR TURBO PROBLEM. THIS IS NOT JUST A HIGH SPEED PROBLEM. IT HAPPENS IN NORMAL RESIDENTIAL TRAFFIC DRIVING, AS WELL. INTERESTING TOO IS THAT IT WILL DO THIS WHEN I AM STARTING UP FROM A STOP AND MAKING A LEFT TURN. I GET MID-WAY THRU THE TURN AND IT BECOMES UN-RESPONSIVE AND TRAFFIC BEHIND ME HAVE TO BRAKE TO KEEP FROM REAR-ENDING ME. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO DO THIS ON RIGHT TURNS FROM A STANDING STOP. IT MAKES ME WONDER ABOUT THE TRANSMISSION FLUID LEVEL, WHICH I CANNOT CHECK, THE TRANSMISSION FLUID PUMP, IF THERE IS ONE. YET, IN HIGHWAY TRAFFIC, I WILL WANT TO CHANGE LANES TO EITHER THE RIGHT OR LEFT AND THE CAR WILL BECOME UNRESPONSIVE. NEVERTHELESS, IT ALWAYS TAKES THE SAME DRIVER RESPONSE OF HAVING TO KEEP FLOORING THE ACCELERATOR TO GET THE CAR TO RESPOND. NOT GOOD 2013 VW TIGUAN 24,000 MILES SINCE NEW.

View Details

ENGINE

10/15/2016 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
MILEAGE: 38,000 MILES. DATE: 9/5/2016. UPON ENGINE STARTUP FIRST THING IN THE MORNING I NOTICED A MOMENTARY RATTLING NOISE WHICH I RECOGNIZED AS TIMING CHAIN NOISE. (I'M A CERTIFIED AUTO MECHANIC.) THE NOISE WENT AWAY IN ABOUT ONE SECOND WHICH IS TYPICAL FOR A HYDRAULIC TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER. I RESEARCHED THE NET AND FOUND QUITE A BIT OF INFORMATION ON FAILING HYDRAULIC TIMING CHAIN TENSIONERS ON VW TSI ENGINES. THE TIMING CHAIN NOISE OCCURRED A SECOND TIME ON 9/23/2016, ALSO FIRST THING IN THE MORNING SUBSTANTIATING A FAILING TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER LEAKING DOWN OVER NIGHT. ON 10/2/2016 I SPENT $256.63 TO BUY THE PARTS FOR REPLACING THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER MYSELF.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE CAR, THE CAR STOPS COMPLETELY. EVERYTHING SHUTS DOWN. NEED TO PLACE THE CAR IN PARK AND RESTART CAR. THE CAR RESTARTS. HOWEVER, THE SHUTDOWN CAN HAPPEN MORE THAN ONCE DURING THE SAME TRIP EACH TIME THE CAR STOPS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN WILL GO OFF. THIS STARTED HAPPENING IN AUG 2015 @ 27000 MILES. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES. THEY RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND CLEAR FAULT IF THE LIGHT IS ON AT THE TIME. THE DEALER REPLACED THE BOOST PRESSURE SENSOR IN JUNE 2016 BUT THE PROBLEM HAS STARTED AGAIN. SINCE THE LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF, IT IS HARD TO KNOW IF THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. SO FAR IT HAS STALLED ON SIDE ROADS OR PARKING LOTS. IF THIS SHOULD HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY, IT WOULD CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. IN 2014, THE CAR WAS PART OF A FUEL PUMP RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN YOU ARE ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE CAR, THE CAR STOPS COMPLETELY. EVERYTHING SHUTS DOWN. NEED TO PLACE THE CAR IN PARK AND RESTART CAR. THE CAR RESTARTS. HOWEVER, THE SHUTDOWN CAN HAPPEN MORE THAN ONCE DURING THE SAME TRIP EACH TIME THE CAR STOPS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN WILL GO OFF. THIS STARTED HAPPENING IN AUG 2015 @ 27000 MILES. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALER 3 TIMES. THEY RUN DIAGNOSTICS AND CLEAR FAULT IF THE LIGHT IS ON AT THE TIME. THE DEALER REPLACED THE BOOST PRESSURE SENSOR IN JUNE 2016 BUT THE PROBLEM HAS STARTED AGAIN. SINCE THE LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF, IT IS HARD TO KNOW IF THERE IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. SO FAR IT HAS STALLED ON SIDE ROADS OR PARKING LOTS. IF THIS SHOULD HAPPEN ON THE HIGHWAY, IT WOULD CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. IN 2014, THE CAR WAS PART OF A FUEL PUMP RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2016 - HAMBURG, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER UNEXPECTEDLY AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2016 - HAMBURG, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER UNEXPECTEDLY AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,500.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2016 - JAMAICA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD, STALLED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V441000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE), BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CENTRAL WIRING HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWO ADDITIONAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, BUT THE DIAGNOSIS WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,997.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/17/2016 - SAND CITY, CA
I WAS ONE THE HIGH WAY 1, AND I DROVE ABOUT 10 MINUTES. ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY CAR SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. THE BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED. THE WHEEL WAS EVEN LOCKED. BASICALLY, I WAS STOCKED ON THE HIGHWAY! THEN, I RESTARTED MY CAR ON THE HIGH WAY 1, AND IT WORKED AGAIN. THE DEALER CAN NOT FIND ANY ISSUE, AND THE SAME ISSUES HAPPENED TO ME TWICE WITH TWO MONTHS. NOW, I HAVE TO REPORT THIS IN ORDER TO PROTECT MYSELF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds