Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 74 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Exterior Lighting (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Parking Brake (1) Steering (15) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (5) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (14)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2018 - LEMON GROVE, CA
IN 2015 THERE WAS A RECALL FOR CLOCK SPRINGS IN THE 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN WHICH I OWN AND OTHER OF THEIR VEHICLES. MY PREVIOUS OWNER GOT IT REPLACED THEN AND I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2016. I HEARD A CLICKING NOISE AND THEN MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEELS STOPPED WORKING AND MY HORN STOPPED WORKING ALSO. BEING THAT MY CAR HAS $46000 MILES AND I HAVE EXTENDED 100,000 MILE WARRANTY... I WENT TO VW TO COMPLAIN AS CLEARLY THIS RECALL DIDN+T DO ANYTHING BECAUSE IT HASN+T BEEN EVEN THAT LONG FOR IT TO BE BREAKING AGAIN. THEY DENIED TO COVER IT BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN FIXED PREVIOUSLY WHEN THE RECALL HAPPENED. THIS CLEARLY IS AN ISSUE THAT WASN+T RESOLVED WITH THE RECALL AS I GOOGLED WHAT THIS WAS WHEN I FIRST HEARD THE NOISE AND THERE ARE SOOOOO MANY PEOPLE COMPLAINING OF THE SAME ISSUE AFTER IT WAS FIXED THE FIRST TIME AROUND. THIS IS A $500 JOB THAT I+M GOING TO HAVE TO PAY NOW AND IT+S FRUSTRATING BECAUSE I TRULY FEEL THIS IS A DEFECT IN THE CAR AND SHOULD BE COVERED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/2/2018 - CONWAY, AR
VEHICLE'S CLOCK SPRING WAS FOUND TO BE DYSFUNCTIONAL AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. MY STEERING WHEEL STARTED MAKING A CLICKING NOISE AND THEN AN AIRBAG ERROR CAME UP. I WAS AFRAID IT WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A WRECK, OR DEPLOY FOR NO REASON DRIVING DOWN THE STREET. DOING SOME RESEARCH IT APPEARS THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE THAT INCLUDES MY YEAR AND MODEL - BUT VOLKSWAGEN IS SAYING IT'S NOT INCLUDED BASED ON MY VIN. I BELIEVE THAT IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED SINCE THE CLOCK SPRING IS MALFUNCTIONING IN A 3.5 YEAR OLD CAR.

View Details

STEERING

1/2/2018 - CONWAY, AR
VEHICLE'S CLOCK SPRING WAS FOUND TO BE DYSFUNCTIONAL AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. MY STEERING WHEEL STARTED MAKING A CLICKING NOISE AND THEN AN AIRBAG ERROR CAME UP. I WAS AFRAID IT WOULD NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF A WRECK, OR DEPLOY FOR NO REASON DRIVING DOWN THE STREET. DOING SOME RESEARCH IT APPEARS THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE THAT INCLUDES MY YEAR AND MODEL - BUT VOLKSWAGEN IS SAYING IT'S NOT INCLUDED BASED ON MY VIN. I BELIEVE THAT IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED SINCE THE CLOCK SPRING IS MALFUNCTIONING IN A 3.5 YEAR OLD CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/5/2017 - BEVERLY, MA
AIRBAG CLOCK SWITCH FAILED ON MY 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, TURNING A 45 DEGREE CORNER, AND A 'GRINDING' AND 'POPPING' SOUND OCCURRED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2017 - ARLINGTON, VA
NO ELECTRICAL CONNECTION TO STEERING WHEEL, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON... ALL SIMILAR PROBLEMS TO TAKATA RECALL BUT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THE DEALERSHIP IS TRYING TO CHARGE ME $800 TO FIX IT. WHEN VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND SWITCHED ON, THERE WAS A TEARING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL - THEN NOTHING WORKED IN THE STEERING WHEEL, NOT THE HORN OR THE CRUISE CONTROL OR ANYTHING. AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2017 - ARLINGTON, VA
NO ELECTRICAL CONNECTION TO STEERING WHEEL, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON... ALL SIMILAR PROBLEMS TO TAKATA RECALL BUT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THE DEALERSHIP IS TRYING TO CHARGE ME $800 TO FIX IT. WHEN VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND SWITCHED ON, THERE WAS A TEARING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL - THEN NOTHING WORKED IN THE STEERING WHEEL, NOT THE HORN OR THE CRUISE CONTROL OR ANYTHING. AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2017 - ARLINGTON, VA
NO ELECTRICAL CONNECTION TO STEERING WHEEL, AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON... ALL SIMILAR PROBLEMS TO TAKATA RECALL BUT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL AND THE DEALERSHIP IS TRYING TO CHARGE ME $800 TO FIX IT. WHEN VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND SWITCHED ON, THERE WAS A TEARING SOUND FROM THE STEERING WHEEL - THEN NOTHING WORKED IN THE STEERING WHEEL, NOT THE HORN OR THE CRUISE CONTROL OR ANYTHING. AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2017 - STAMFORD, CT
OUR VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN 2013 WAS RECALLED LAST YEAR FOR A FAULTY AIRBAG CLOCK SPRING WHICH, IF IT WENT OUT, CAUSED A LOSS OF THE DRIVERS FRONT AIRBAG AND ALSO USE OF THE HORN. OUR AIRBAG AND HORN FULLY WENT OUT AT THAT TIME, AND WE TOOK THE CAR IN AND HAD THE CLOCK SPRING REPLACED UNDER THE RECALL. NOW, JUST MORE THAN A YEAR LATER, THE EXACT SAME THING HAS HAPPENED -- THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS COME ON INDICATING THAT THE AIRBAGS ARE OUT, THE HORN DOES NOT WORK NOR DO ANY OF THE ELECTRIC CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL. WE CALLED OUR LOCAL VW DEALER IN STAMFORD CT ABOUT THIS-- THEY HAVE SAID THEY WILL CHARGE US FOR A DIAGNOSTIC AND THE REPAIR SINCE THE CAR IS CURRENTLY NOT RECALLED, EVEN THOUGH THIS IS THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM THAT WAS ADDRESSED UNDER THE RECALL LAST YEAR. IN ADDITION, THE FIRST AVAILABLE APPOINTMENT THEY ARE OFFERING US IS 30 AUG -- TWO AND A HALF WEEKS FROM TODAY. THEY HAVE SAID WE COULD ALSO BRING THE CAR IN NOW, BUT THAT IT WILL TAKE THEM A WEEK OR MORE TO GET TO IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/19/2017 - MADISON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THERE WAS NO STEERING FUNCTIONALITY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE OSTIEN DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 97,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/27/2017 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER AN UNKNOWN RECALL. AFTERWARDS, WHILE DRIVING, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD CLICKING NOISE IN THE STEERING WHEEL. IN ADDITION, THE HORN FAILED TO SOUND AND THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LEITH BMW (5609 CAPITAL BLVD, RALEIGH NC 27616 (844) 261-4301) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE RECALL WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED AND THAT THE CONTACT WAS OVER THE WARRANTY MILEAGE. NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds