Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN - 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Parking Brake (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Power Train (5) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/6/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THERE WAS A CLICKING SOUND THAT CAME FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. ALL OF THE CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED TO WORK, INCLUDING THE HORN, AND THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND POWERED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS), HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/12/2015 - NEWNAN, GA
WHEN THE CAR STOPS COMPLETELY WHILE BEING RUN FOR A WHILE, EVERYTHING SHUT DOWNS COMPLETELY. NEED TO PLACE THE CAR IN "PARKING" AND RESTART THE CAR. THE CAR RESTARTS IMMEDIATELY. HOWEVER, THE SHUTDOWN CAN HAPPEN MORE THAN ONCE DURING THE SAME TRIP EVERY TIME IS STOPS COMPLETELY.

View Details

STRUCTURE

4/30/2015 - OVIEDO, FL
EXTERIOR PAINT BAD DISCOLORATION. CALLED MANUFACTURER THEY TOLD ME NOTHING THEY CAN DO FOR ME. MY VEHICLE IS <2 YEARS OLD AND ONLY 21, 000 MILES COVERED UNDER 36,000 MILE WARRANTY.

View Details

TIRES

2/14/2015 - CLINTON, CT
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING. SHORTLY AFTER GETTING ON THE INTERSTATE, HER REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT (THE WHOLE RIM WAS DETACHED). SHE DID NOT HIT ANYTHING AND SHE WAS NOT SPEEDING. INVESTIGATING THE PARKING LOT THAT SHE PULLED OUT OF, THERE WERE BLACK MARKS. WE LIVE RIGHT OFF THE INTERSTATE. THE DEALER IDENTIFIED A SECOND TIRE WITH A FLAW IN THE WALL OF THE TIRE. 2 TIRES HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS WAS A BRAND NEW VEHICLE WITH ~20,000 MILES ON IT (MOSTLY INTERSTATE DRIVING). WE FOUND SIMILAR ISSUES WITH THIS BRAND OF TIRE THOUGH GOOGLE SEARCHES AND BELIEVE THE TIRE SHOULD BE RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE DIES. THE COMPANY WAS UNWILLING TO WORK WITH US ON THE ISSUE. I WOULD LIKE TO SHARE THE PHOTO OF THE BLOW OUT WITH YOU. WE BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER THAT EVENING. WE ASKED THE NEXT MORNING IF THEY WOULD SAVE THE TIRE, BUT DISCARDED THEM ALREADY. THE MANUFACTURER OF THE TIRE REFUSES TO WORK WITH US BECAUSE THEY FELT SINCE WE DID NOT HAVE THE PHYSICAL TIRE OR "EVIDENCE" IT WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/29/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE LOCKING MECHANISM FOR THE GAS DOOR STOPPED WORKING PROPERLY AND THE DOOR REMAINS UNLOCKED WITH THE DOOR POPPED OPEN THE MAJORITY OF THE TIME. IF THE DOOR ISN'T POPPED OPEN THEN IT'S LOCKED SHUT AND CAN'T BE OPENED NORMALLY AND MUST BE PRIED OPEN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/23/2014 - LAPINE , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT HEARD A CHIME SOUND COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,500. UPDATED 10/29/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TRADED IN. THE CONSUMER FELT THE REPAIRS WERE TAKING TOO LONG TO BE COMPLETED. UPDATED 04/23/2015

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/23/2014 - LAPINE , OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT HEARD A CHIME SOUND COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,500. UPDATED 10/29/14 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS TRADED IN. THE CONSUMER FELT THE REPAIRS WERE TAKING TOO LONG TO BE COMPLETED. UPDATED 04/23/2015

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/23/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
WHEN OPERATING AT 65MPH ON CRUISE CONTROL I NOTICED A TRUCK AHEAD OF ME SLOWING AT A HILL, SO I PRESSED THE "DOWN" BUTTON TO REDUCE THE SPEED TO 64, THEN AGAIN TO 63 MPH. WHEN I CLICKED AGAIN FOR 62 MPH THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SPED UP BECAUSE THE CRUISE CONTROL HAD JUMPED BACK TO 65 MPH. BY THAT POINT I WAS QUITE CLOSE TO THE TRUCK AND HAD TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES TO AVOID A COLLISION. THIS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE BEFORE I FIGURED OUT WHAT WAS GOING ON. MY DEALER HAS VERIFIED THIS ISSUE IN MY VEHICLE AND HAS DETERMINED THAT ALL NEW 2014 TIGUANS ON THEIR LOT HAVE THIS DEFECT, AS WELL AS AT LEAST ONE 2014 PASSAT. A MEMBER OF THE TIGUAN OWNERS GROUP ON FACEBOOK HAS REPORTED THAT HIS 2010 TIGUAN HAS THIS ISSUE. VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA CUSTOMER SERVICE HAS OFFICIALLY TRIED TO BLOW ME OFF AND MAKE ME GO AWAY. THIS ISSUE DOES NOT OCCUR EVERY TIME, USUALLY RANDOMLY OCCURRING BETWEEN 30-40% OF THE TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/12/2014 - LA PINE, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V441000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR BECAUSE THERE WERE NO AVAILABLE APPOINTMENTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,798. UPDATED 10/22/14 UPDATED 4/8/2015

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/12/2014 - LA PINE, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 VOLKSWAGEN TIGUAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V441000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR BECAUSE THERE WERE NO AVAILABLE APPOINTMENTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,798. UPDATED 10/22/14 UPDATED 4/8/2015

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds