Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (1)
Engine (8) Power Train (2) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/8/2017 - OLIVE BRANCH, MS
BRAKE PEDAL FEELS TOO SOFT AND CAUSES THE CAR TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH MAKING SMOOTH STOPS. I NOTICED THIS CHANGE IN OCTOBER 2016. THIS PROBLEM IS PARTICULARLY DANGEROUS WHEN YOU ARE REQUIRED TO MAKE SUDDEN STOPS AT INTERSECTIONS OR IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. THIS HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING ON CITY STREETS, NEIGHBORHOOD STREETS AND ON HIGHWAYS. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS COULD RESULT IN ANOTHER VEHICLE FROM STRIKING MINE IN THE REAR OR A CHILD BEING HURT OR KILLED WHEN I DRIVE THROUGH MY NEIGHBORHOOD STREETS. IT IS VERY UNPREDICTABLE. I TOOK IT TO MY CHEVROLET DEALER AND THEY SAID THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AT THAT TIME. I AM INCLUDING AN IMAGE OF THE DEALER'S SERVICE REPORT FROM 11/09/2016. THE PROBLEM STILL CONTINUES TO THIS DATE, 8/8/17. SINCE THE PROBLEM IS ONGOING, I CANNOT REPORT AN ACTUAL DATE, MILEAGE, OR DRIVING SPEED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2017 - EVANSVILLE, IN
BUTTON ON GEAR SHIFT SELECTOR WILL DEPRESS, BUT WILL NOT RELEASE, MAKING IT VERY EASY TO ACCIDENTALLY BUMP THE KNOB AND PUT THE CAR INTO ANOTHER GEAR WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2017 - LAWNDALE, NC
GEAR SHIFT BUTTON STICKING. CAN BE BARELY TOUCHED TO MOVE OUT OF PARK AND UNABKE TO REMOVE KEY!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/2/2017 - FORT PIERCE, FL
THE GEAR SHIFT BUTTON IS STICKING MAKING IT ABLE TO SHIFT INTO GEAR WITHOUT DEPRESSING IT MANUALLY

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2017 - NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ
DUE TO A DEFECT IN MANUFACTURING RAIN WATER WAS FLOODING INSIDE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT FRONT AND BACK, PASSENGER SIDE. CAR WAS AT DEALER TWICE TO REPAIR LEAK. DEALSHIP DETERMINED THIS LEAK IS CAUSED BY FAULTY MANUFACTURING.REPAIR WAS NOT COVERED BY CHEVROLET AND COST ME AND INSURANCE COMPANY UNDUE EXPENSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/27/2017 - FREELAND, PA
MY PASSENGER AIR BAG DOES NOT WORK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/26/2017 - MECHANICSBURG, PA
TWICE IN ONE MONTH THE CAR ENGINE SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. POWER STEERING WAS ALSO LOST. MILEAGE APPROX. 31,000. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK. THE FIRST TIME, I WAS TURNING, PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT, SO I WAS ABLE TO DRIFT INTO A PARKING SPOT SAFELY. SECOND TIME I WAS IN SMALL TOWN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND STEPPED ON THE GAS AND NOTHING HAPPENED, SO I PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTARTED IT AND IT SEEMED FINE AFTER THAT. TOOK IT TO DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT IT, THEY DID NOTHING AS THE CAR WAS NOT THROWING ANY CODES AND NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. SECOND GARAGE I WENT TO ALSO COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE SO THEY DID NOTHING. TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP AND THE CAR STALLED ON THEM AS THEY WERE PARKING IT, RIGHT AFTER I HAD DROPPED IT OFF. THEY KEPT IT FOR ALMOST A WEEK AND DROVE IT 61 MILES AND COULD NOT RECREATE THE STALLING. THEY CHECKED THE CAR THOROUGHLY AND NOTHING APPEARED TO BE WRONG WITH IT. THEY CHECKED ALL RECALLS AND BULLETINS, NOTHING MENTIONED IN THOSE. THE CAR WOULD ALSO "BOUNCE" UP AND DOWN WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. THAT WAS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY ONCE THE ENGINE TROUBLES STARTED. I GOT MY CAR BACK LAST NIGHT FROM THE OTHER DEALER AND DIDN'T NOTICE ANY "BOUNCING" SO MAYBE THEY FIXED SOMETHING WHEN THEY WERE CHECKING THE CAR, HOWEVER THE INVOICE STATED ALL THEY DID WAS A 27-POINT INSPECTION AND ALIGNMENT CHECK. NO CHARGE TO ME AS CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT WARRANTY RUNS OUT IN 5 MONTHS.

View Details

STEERING

4/26/2017 - MECHANICSBURG, PA
TWICE IN ONE MONTH THE CAR ENGINE SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. POWER STEERING WAS ALSO LOST. MILEAGE APPROX. 31,000. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK. THE FIRST TIME, I WAS TURNING, PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT, SO I WAS ABLE TO DRIFT INTO A PARKING SPOT SAFELY. SECOND TIME I WAS IN SMALL TOWN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND STEPPED ON THE GAS AND NOTHING HAPPENED, SO I PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTARTED IT AND IT SEEMED FINE AFTER THAT. TOOK IT TO DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT IT, THEY DID NOTHING AS THE CAR WAS NOT THROWING ANY CODES AND NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. SECOND GARAGE I WENT TO ALSO COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE SO THEY DID NOTHING. TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP AND THE CAR STALLED ON THEM AS THEY WERE PARKING IT, RIGHT AFTER I HAD DROPPED IT OFF. THEY KEPT IT FOR ALMOST A WEEK AND DROVE IT 61 MILES AND COULD NOT RECREATE THE STALLING. THEY CHECKED THE CAR THOROUGHLY AND NOTHING APPEARED TO BE WRONG WITH IT. THEY CHECKED ALL RECALLS AND BULLETINS, NOTHING MENTIONED IN THOSE. THE CAR WOULD ALSO "BOUNCE" UP AND DOWN WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. THAT WAS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY ONCE THE ENGINE TROUBLES STARTED. I GOT MY CAR BACK LAST NIGHT FROM THE OTHER DEALER AND DIDN'T NOTICE ANY "BOUNCING" SO MAYBE THEY FIXED SOMETHING WHEN THEY WERE CHECKING THE CAR, HOWEVER THE INVOICE STATED ALL THEY DID WAS A 27-POINT INSPECTION AND ALIGNMENT CHECK. NO CHARGE TO ME AS CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT WARRANTY RUNS OUT IN 5 MONTHS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2017 - MECHANICSBURG, PA
TWICE IN ONE MONTH THE CAR ENGINE SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. POWER STEERING WAS ALSO LOST. MILEAGE APPROX. 31,000. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK. THE FIRST TIME, I WAS TURNING, PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT, SO I WAS ABLE TO DRIFT INTO A PARKING SPOT SAFELY. SECOND TIME I WAS IN SMALL TOWN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND STEPPED ON THE GAS AND NOTHING HAPPENED, SO I PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTARTED IT AND IT SEEMED FINE AFTER THAT. TOOK IT TO DEALER WHERE I BOUGHT IT, THEY DID NOTHING AS THE CAR WAS NOT THROWING ANY CODES AND NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. SECOND GARAGE I WENT TO ALSO COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE SO THEY DID NOTHING. TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP AND THE CAR STALLED ON THEM AS THEY WERE PARKING IT, RIGHT AFTER I HAD DROPPED IT OFF. THEY KEPT IT FOR ALMOST A WEEK AND DROVE IT 61 MILES AND COULD NOT RECREATE THE STALLING. THEY CHECKED THE CAR THOROUGHLY AND NOTHING APPEARED TO BE WRONG WITH IT. THEY CHECKED ALL RECALLS AND BULLETINS, NOTHING MENTIONED IN THOSE. THE CAR WOULD ALSO "BOUNCE" UP AND DOWN WHEN I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. THAT WAS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY ONCE THE ENGINE TROUBLES STARTED. I GOT MY CAR BACK LAST NIGHT FROM THE OTHER DEALER AND DIDN'T NOTICE ANY "BOUNCING" SO MAYBE THEY FIXED SOMETHING WHEN THEY WERE CHECKING THE CAR, HOWEVER THE INVOICE STATED ALL THEY DID WAS A 27-POINT INSPECTION AND ALIGNMENT CHECK. NO CHARGE TO ME AS CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT WARRANTY RUNS OUT IN 5 MONTHS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/1/2017 - SPRINGVILLE, UT
APPROXIMATELY 2 WEEKS AGO, MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THE MANUAL SAID TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IMMEDIATELY AS THE AIRBAG COULD FAIL TO DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT OR COULD DEPLOY FOR NO REASON CAUSING SEVERE INJURY. I NOTICED THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS VEHICLE IN 2014 FOR THIS ISSUE. ACTIONS: GM WILL NOTIFY OWNERS, AND DEALERS WILL TEST THE TERMINALS IN THE IP HARNESS CLOCK SPRING COIL CONNECTOR AND REPLACE ANY LOOSE TERMINALS, FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL BEGAN IN OCTOBER 2014. OWNERS MAY CONTACT CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE AT 1-800-222-1020. GM'S NUMBER FOR THIS RECALL IS 14537. FOR DETAILED INFORMATION & SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, SEE THE OFFICIAL NHTSA PAGE CONCERNING RECALL #14V543000 . I CALLED THE NUMBER AT CHEV CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND THEY WERE NO HELP-SAID MY VIN NUMBER WASN'T LISTED IN THE RECALL. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS AS IT SEEMS A COINCIDENCE THAT I HAVE THE EXACT VEHICLE AND THE EXACT PROBLEM.......THE DEALERSHIP IN PROVO, UTAH, DID A DIAGNOSIS AND SAID SINCE THE LIGHT WASN'T ON AT THE EXACT TIME OF THE DIAGNOSIS THAT THEY COULDN'T TELL. I CAN'T PREDICT WHEN IT WILL COME ON, AND WHEN IT DOES COME ON IT IS USUALLY OFF BY THE TIME I FIND A DEALERSHIP. I AM CONCERNED THAT I COULD BE SEVERELY INJURED DUE TO THIS PROBLEM AND FEEL IT COULD BE TAKEN CARE OF IF I COULD FIND SOMEONE THAT GAVE A HOOT. IT COMES ON WHEN I AM DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds