Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 17 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (1) Seats (1) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2015 - SKIATOOK , OK
HAS HAPPENED OFF & ON SINCE I BOUGHT CAR OCTOBER 2014. WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP CAR WILL ROCK BACK AND FORTH AS IF THE BRAKE PEDAL ISN'T PUSHED DOWN ALL THE WAY & THE CAR ISN'T SURE IF IT IS TO BE DRIVING FORWARD SLIGHTLY OR STOPPED. EVEN WITH ME PUSHING THE BRAKE PEDAL ALL THE WAY DOWN TO FLOOR, CAR STILL ROCKS BACK & FORTH. IF AT STOP LIGHT WHILE DOING THIS ISSUE & LIGHT TURNS GREEN FOR ME TO DRIVE AHEAD CAR WILL NOT MOVE TILL DONE HAVING ITS ROCKING BACK & FORTH FIT. IT ONLY LASTS 15-20 SECONDS BUT CAN NOT DRIVE FORWARD WHILE CAR IS HAVING FIT. IS THIS THE COMPUTER/STABILATRACK NOT COMMUNICATING PROPERLY?

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/17/2015 - SKIATOOK , OK
HAS HAPPENED OFF & ON SINCE I BOUGHT CAR OCTOBER 2014. WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP CAR WILL ROCK BACK AND FORTH AS IF THE BRAKE PEDAL ISN'T PUSHED DOWN ALL THE WAY & THE CAR ISN'T SURE IF IT IS TO BE DRIVING FORWARD SLIGHTLY OR STOPPED. EVEN WITH ME PUSHING THE BRAKE PEDAL ALL THE WAY DOWN TO FLOOR, CAR STILL ROCKS BACK & FORTH. IF AT STOP LIGHT WHILE DOING THIS ISSUE & LIGHT TURNS GREEN FOR ME TO DRIVE AHEAD CAR WILL NOT MOVE TILL DONE HAVING ITS ROCKING BACK & FORTH FIT. IT ONLY LASTS 15-20 SECONDS BUT CAN NOT DRIVE FORWARD WHILE CAR IS HAVING FIT. IS THIS THE COMPUTER/STABILATRACK NOT COMMUNICATING PROPERLY?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/17/2015 - SKIATOOK , OK
HAS HAPPENED OFF & ON SINCE I BOUGHT CAR OCTOBER 2014. WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP CAR WILL ROCK BACK AND FORTH AS IF THE BRAKE PEDAL ISN'T PUSHED DOWN ALL THE WAY & THE CAR ISN'T SURE IF IT IS TO BE DRIVING FORWARD SLIGHTLY OR STOPPED. EVEN WITH ME PUSHING THE BRAKE PEDAL ALL THE WAY DOWN TO FLOOR, CAR STILL ROCKS BACK & FORTH. IF AT STOP LIGHT WHILE DOING THIS ISSUE & LIGHT TURNS GREEN FOR ME TO DRIVE AHEAD CAR WILL NOT MOVE TILL DONE HAVING ITS ROCKING BACK & FORTH FIT. IT ONLY LASTS 15-20 SECONDS BUT CAN NOT DRIVE FORWARD WHILE CAR IS HAVING FIT. IS THIS THE COMPUTER/STABILATRACK NOT COMMUNICATING PROPERLY?

View Details

STRUCTURE

2/19/2015 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A GLARE ON THE DASHBOARD IN SUNNY WEATHER THAT CREATED POOR VISIBILITY. THE DASHBOARD HAD A VENT ACROSS IT THAT PREVENTED THE CONTACT FROM MAKING ADJUSTMENTS TO BLOCK THE GLARE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/5/2015 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS IN INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID A CRASH. IN ADDITION, THE WHILE VEERING TO THE RIGHT, THE VEHICLE UNINTENTIONALLY VEERED TO THE LEFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300. UPDATED 03/24/15

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS IN INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID A CRASH. IN ADDITION, THE WHILE VEERING TO THE RIGHT, THE VEHICLE UNINTENTIONALLY VEERED TO THE LEFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300. UPDATED 03/24/15

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - MABSCOTT , WV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL BECAME INOPERABLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,520.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/28/2014 - BOILING SPRING LAKES, NC
I WENT TO ADJUST THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE TO DEFOG MY FRONT WINDOWS AND I COULDN'T MOVE THE KNOB. I ALSO TESTED THE VENTS TO FIND OUT WHERE THE AIR WAS COMING OUT OF AND THERE WAS PRACTICALLY NOTHING COMING OUT OF THE VENTS. IT TOOK A WHILE FOR MY WINDOWS TO GET CLEAR WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds