Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 8 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Tires (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (1) Suspension (1)


 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/26/2014 - HOLIDAY, FL
THE IGNITION KEY GETS HOT AFTER DRIVING THE CAR FOR MORE THAN 5 MILES. THERE IS A STRANGE WHIRRING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF CAR WHEN DRIVING. IT STARTED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AND IS NOW ON BOTH SIDES. IT ONLY HAPPENS WHILE CAR IS IN MOTION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/20/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
THIS VEHICLE IS GETTING BETWEEN 19-21 MPG AT THE MOST, INCLUDING HIGHWAY, WHICH IS EXTREMELY LOW COMPARED TO OTHER SIMILAR SONIC VEHICLE MODELS AND THE ESTIMATED 25/35 MPG FOR THIS VEHICLE.I AM WONDERING IF IT IS LEAKING FUEL. I HAVE NEVER OWNED A CHEVY REQUIRING THIS MUCH GAS. I AM CONCERNED THAT IT MIGHT BE AFFECTED BY THE FUEL RECALL BUT MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED. GM AND THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP HAVE DISREGARDED MY CONCERNS, TELLING ME MY VEHICLE IS OPERATING NORMALLY. I WOULD LIKE MY VEHICLE INSPECTED FOR SAFETY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/8/2014 - TOMBSTONE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE STARTING THE IGNITION, A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL EMITTED INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE ENTIRE FUEL LEAKED OUT OF THE FUEL TANK ONTO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V464000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,080.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/8/2014 - TOMBSTONE, AZ
GAS STARTED LEAKING FROM BOTTOM OF GAS TANK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/24/2014 - ROANOKE, VA
DRIVING IN 70MPH TRAFFIC, MY WIFE JOSTLED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION WHILE REACHING UP TO ADJUST WINDSHIELD WIPERS. THE CAR STALLED. A TRUCK WAS BARRELING DOWN ON US. FORTUNATELY WE WERE ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD IN TIME. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED WITH NO TROUBLE. THIS WAS A RENTED CAR.

View Details

TIRES

4/29/2014 - CANTON, MI
NEW HANKOOK OPTIMO H428 TIRE ON MY 2014 SONIC DEVELOPED A BULGE ON THE FRONT DRIVER TIRE. DEALER CLAIMS IT WAS DUE TO ROAD HAZARD. RESEARCH SHOWING THAT THIS IS A COMMON COMPLAINT FOR THIS COMPANY'S TIRE. NO KNOW HAZARD WAS HIT TO CAUSE THIS. TIRE WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED BEFORE A BLOW-OUT OCCURS, POSSIBLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2014 - DEL MAR, CA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A LONG, STEEP BRIDGE AT A CAUTIOUS SPEED AND REACHED OVER TO ADJUST THE RADIO VOLUME. WHEN I PLACED MY RIGHT HAND BACK ON THE STEERING WHEEL SOMETHING DIDN'T FEEL RIGHT SO I QUICKLY VERIFIED THAT I HAD BRAKES AND LIGHTS, BUT NO ENGINE POWER. I SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. THE ONLY REASON FOR THE ENGINE FAILURE THAT I COULD FIGURE OUT AT THE TIME WAS THAT I HAD JARRED THE KEY CHAIN WITH MY COAT SLEEVE, INADVERTENTLY TURNING OFF THE ENGINE. THIS WAS A RENTAL CAR AND THE TWO SETS OF KEYS HAD BEEN PERMANENTLY CRIMPED TOGETHER BY A CABLE. I HAD CALLED THE RENTAL COMPANY A FEW HOURS AFTER PICKING UP THE CAR AT THE AIRPORT TO FIND OUT HOW TO SEPARATE THE KEYS AND WAS TOLD THIS WAS INTENTIONALLY DONE TO KEEP THE SETS TOGETHER IN CASE THE CAR WAS DROPPED OFF AT A DIFFERENT LOCATION. A MONTH OR SO LATER I LEARNED OF THE GOVERNMENT INVESTIGATION OF THE DEFECTIVE IGNITION SWITCH IN GM VEHICLES THAT COULD TURN OFF THE CAR IF JOSTLED OR WEIGHED DOWN BY A HEAVY KEY RING. THE CAR WAS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. FORTUNATELY IT DIDN'T LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT, BUT IT WAS A CLOSE CALL AND WAS MADE EVEN MORE FRIGHTENING DUE TO THE POSITION ON THE BRIDGE. FROM NOW ON I WILL NOT RENT ANY GM CARS AND WILL INSIST THAT THE KEY CHAINS BE SEPARATED.

View Details

WHEELS

4/4/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE DRIVER BACKED OUT ONTO THE RESIDENTIAL STREET. THE DRIVE ALIGNED THE WHEELS TO POINT STRAIGHT DOWN THE STREET. THE DRIVER SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND PRESSED PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR. THE CAR RAPIDLY ACCELERATED AND SWERVED TO THE LEFT. IT GRAZED THE BUMPER OF A PACKED CAR AND CAME TO REST ON A TREE. UPON LEAVING THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WAS DEFLATED. THE REPAIR SHOP REPORTED LEFT SUSPENSION DAMAGE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/4/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE DRIVER BACKED OUT ONTO THE RESIDENTIAL STREET. THE DRIVE ALIGNED THE WHEELS TO POINT STRAIGHT DOWN THE STREET. THE DRIVER SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND PRESSED PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR. THE CAR RAPIDLY ACCELERATED AND SWERVED TO THE LEFT. IT GRAZED THE BUMPER OF A PACKED CAR AND CAME TO REST ON A TREE. UPON LEAVING THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WAS DEFLATED. THE REPAIR SHOP REPORTED LEFT SUSPENSION DAMAGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/4/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE DRIVER BACKED OUT ONTO THE RESIDENTIAL STREET. THE DRIVE ALIGNED THE WHEELS TO POINT STRAIGHT DOWN THE STREET. THE DRIVER SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND PRESSED PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR. THE CAR RAPIDLY ACCELERATED AND SWERVED TO THE LEFT. IT GRAZED THE BUMPER OF A PACKED CAR AND CAME TO REST ON A TREE. UPON LEAVING THE FRONT LEFT TIRE WAS DEFLATED. THE REPAIR SHOP REPORTED LEFT SUSPENSION DAMAGE.

View Details
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds