Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (1)
Engine (9) Power Train (4) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/7/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
MY CAR STALLED GOING OVER A SPEED BUMP WHERE ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WENT OFF THEN BACK ON. AFTER COASTING TO THE SIDEWALK, TURNED VEHICLE OFF AND THEN BACK ON. VEH SURGED FORWARD AFTER MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN, IT+S ALSO DONE THAT ON A RIGHT HAND TURN. ALSO TIRE ON DRIVERS SIDE LOCKED UP. FINAL TIME OCCURRED WITH VEH SURGING WAS RECENTLY AS IT SURGED AND ALL THE LOCKS WERE GOING UP AND DOWN. HA E HAD CONCERNS WHILE BACKING OUT AND LOOSING POWER TO STEERING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/6/2017 - LONGVIEW, TX
MY WIFE AND I HAVE ENCOUNTERED A PROBLEM WITH OUR 2014 CHEVY SONIC. IT WAS GETTING HOT TOOK IT TO THE DEALER TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THEY SAID THAT THE RADIATOR HAD A CRACK ON THE SEAM. MYSELF, I AM A WELDER KNOWS THAT IN ORDER FOR A SEAM TO CRACK AFTER WELDED, 3 MAIN AND EASY ISSUES HAD TO HAPPEN SUCH AS, A. WELD GOT TOO HOT WHEN WELDED B. WHEN WELD WAS GROUND DOWN IT WAS TAKEN TOO CLOSE TO THE ROOT OF THE WELD C. THE WELD DIDNT HAVE ENOUGH PENETRATION. I PERSONALLY BELIEVE THIS IS A MANUFACTURED PART DEFECT. EXPECIALLY ONLY BEING 65000 MILES

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2017 - SCHENECTADY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE FAILURE CODE FOR THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER APPEARED. THE CODE WAS CLEARED, BUT IT RE-ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER (DEPAULA CHEVROLET, 785 CENTRAL AVE, ALBANY, NY, 12206) WAS CONTACTED AT 518-278-6036 AND STATED THAT THEY SERVICED THE VEHICLE FOR THE SAME FAILURE IN JUNE OF 2017. NO ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE CONTACT STATED TO THE DEALER THAT SHE WAS UNAWARE THAT HER VEHICLE WAS SERVICED AT THE TIME FOR THE FAILURE BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND TIRES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 19,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/30/2017 - CALDWELL, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN UNKNOWN DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 68,516.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/8/2017 - OLIVE BRANCH, MS
BRAKE PEDAL FEELS TOO SOFT AND CAUSES THE CAR TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH MAKING SMOOTH STOPS. I NOTICED THIS CHANGE IN OCTOBER 2016. THIS PROBLEM IS PARTICULARLY DANGEROUS WHEN YOU ARE REQUIRED TO MAKE SUDDEN STOPS AT INTERSECTIONS OR IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. THIS HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING ON CITY STREETS, NEIGHBORHOOD STREETS AND ON HIGHWAYS. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS COULD RESULT IN ANOTHER VEHICLE FROM STRIKING MINE IN THE REAR OR A CHILD BEING HURT OR KILLED WHEN I DRIVE THROUGH MY NEIGHBORHOOD STREETS. IT IS VERY UNPREDICTABLE. I TOOK IT TO MY CHEVROLET DEALER AND THEY SAID THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AT THAT TIME. I AM INCLUDING AN IMAGE OF THE DEALER'S SERVICE REPORT FROM 11/09/2016. THE PROBLEM STILL CONTINUES TO THIS DATE, 8/8/17. SINCE THE PROBLEM IS ONGOING, I CANNOT REPORT AN ACTUAL DATE, MILEAGE, OR DRIVING SPEED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2017 - EVANSVILLE, IN
BUTTON ON GEAR SHIFT SELECTOR WILL DEPRESS, BUT WILL NOT RELEASE, MAKING IT VERY EASY TO ACCIDENTALLY BUMP THE KNOB AND PUT THE CAR INTO ANOTHER GEAR WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2017 - LAWNDALE, NC
GEAR SHIFT BUTTON STICKING. CAN BE BARELY TOUCHED TO MOVE OUT OF PARK AND UNABKE TO REMOVE KEY!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/2/2017 - FORT PIERCE, FL
THE GEAR SHIFT BUTTON IS STICKING MAKING IT ABLE TO SHIFT INTO GEAR WITHOUT DEPRESSING IT MANUALLY

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2017 - NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ
DUE TO A DEFECT IN MANUFACTURING RAIN WATER WAS FLOODING INSIDE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT FRONT AND BACK, PASSENGER SIDE. CAR WAS AT DEALER TWICE TO REPAIR LEAK. DEALSHIP DETERMINED THIS LEAK IS CAUSED BY FAULTY MANUFACTURING.REPAIR WAS NOT COVERED BY CHEVROLET AND COST ME AND INSURANCE COMPANY UNDUE EXPENSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/27/2017 - FREELAND, PA
MY PASSENGER AIR BAG DOES NOT WORK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds