Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 33 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine (5) Power Train (1) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/25/2016 - MANCHESTER, MO
LIST OF POWER BRAKE BOOST UNDER SEVERAL CONDITIONS. 1. WHEN ENGINE IS WARM, AFTER SHIFT INTO REVERSE, LIST OF POWER BRAKE BOOST 2. WHILE ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED, AND AT THE SAME TIME APPLIED BRAKE, RESULTS IN LOST OF VACUUM BOOST IN BOTH CONDITIONS, CAR IS IN MOTION AND UNABLE TO STOP WITHOUT THE USE OF EXTRA BRAKE EFFORT, COMPRISING STOPPING DISTANCE AND SAFETY, ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS VEHICLE WILL NOT STOP WHEN APPLYING BRAKE, DUE TO EXTREME STIFFNESS OF THE PEDAL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/5/2016 - MOREAUVILLE, LA
TOOK MY CAR IN TO DEALERSHIP FOR RECALL 17130. AFTER RECEIVING CAR BACK, BACK UP CAMERA INOPERABLE AND VOLUME CONTROLS ON STEERING WHEEL FOR PHONE AND RADIO DO NOT WORK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/2/2016 - SUGAR GROVE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE SUDDENLY STOPPED AND CAUSED THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER OF THE OCCUPANT OF THE OTHER VEHICLE SUSTAINED A BACK INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2016 - BAY SHORE, NY
THE AIR BAG LIGHT GOES OFF AND ON WHILE DRIVING, ALL DIFFERENT TIMES AT ALL DIFFERENT SPEEDS INTERMITANTLY. BROUGHT CAR TO DEALER THE CAR HAS 40,500 MILES ON IT, DEALER SAID IT CAME UP WITH A COUPLE OF CODES SAID NOTHING IS WRONG. DROVE CAR TO WORK THE NEXT MORNING LIGHT BACK ON AND OFF. CALLED 800 CHEVROLET NUMBER THEY TELL ME IT IS NOT A RECAL. IT HAS BEEN COMING ON MORE FREQUENT BY THE DAY CAN YOU GUIDE ME THROUGH WHAT TO DO.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
VEHICLE LUNGES AT A STOP WHEN IN FIRST GEAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/14/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
VEHICLE LUNGES AT A STOP WHEN IN FIRST GEAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/21/2016 - REHOBOTH BEACH, DE
TAKATA RECALL: I CALLED CHEVROLET TODAY (JAN. 21, 2016 )TO ASK IF MY 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC IS EQUIPPED (OEM) WITH TAKATA AIRBAGS. I WAS TOLD THAT THE INFORMATION IS NOT AVAILABLE AND IS PROPRIETARY. I ASKED IF OTHER OEM INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE SUCH AS TIRE OEM INFORMATION , AND WAS TOLD THAT, YES, TIRE OEM PROVIDER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE, JUST NOT AIRBAG OEM INFORMATION. I LIVE IN A SEA COAST ENVIRONMENT AND AM CONCERNED THAT, AS THE YEARS WEAR ON, MY AIR BAGS WILL BE AT RISK FOR CORROSIVE DAMAGE DUE TO SALT AIR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2016 - REHOBOTH BEACH, DE
TAKATA RECALL: I CALLED CHEVROLET TODAY (JAN. 21, 2016 )TO ASK IF MY 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC IS EQUIPPED (OEM) WITH TAKATA AIRBAGS. I WAS TOLD THAT THE INFORMATION IS NOT AVAILABLE AND IS PROPRIETARY. I ASKED IF OTHER OEM INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE SUCH AS TIRE OEM INFORMATION , AND WAS TOLD THAT, YES, TIRE OEM PROVIDER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE, JUST NOT AIRBAG OEM INFORMATION. I LIVE IN A SEA COAST ENVIRONMENT AND AM CONCERNED THAT, AS THE YEARS WEAR ON, MY AIR BAGS WILL BE AT RISK FOR CORROSIVE DAMAGE DUE TO SALT AIR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/25/2015 - PEORIA, IL
CAR CUTS OUT, GRINDING NOISE FROM ENGINE. HAD IGNITION COIL REPLACED BUT STILL DOING THE SAME THING. LOOSES POWER GOING UP STEEP HILL. ONLY HAD CAR ABOUT SEVEN MONTHS. ONLY HAS SIXTEEN THOUSAND MILES ON IT. SOMETIMES WHILE I AM DRIVING CAR JUST LOOSES POWER AND ALMOST GOT HIT IN THE BACK. I FEEL ONE OF THESE DAYS SOMEONE WILL HIT ME. TOOK IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG BUT THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE. THE CAR DOES HAVE WARRANTY ON IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/25/2015 - PEORIA, IL
CAR CUTS OUT, GRINDING NOISE FROM ENGINE. HAD IGNITION COIL REPLACED BUT STILL DOING THE SAME THING. LOOSES POWER GOING UP STEEP HILL. ONLY HAD CAR ABOUT SEVEN MONTHS. ONLY HAS SIXTEEN THOUSAND MILES ON IT. SOMETIMES WHILE I AM DRIVING CAR JUST LOOSES POWER AND ALMOST GOT HIT IN THE BACK. I FEEL ONE OF THESE DAYS SOMEONE WILL HIT ME. TOOK IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG BUT THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE. THE CAR DOES HAVE WARRANTY ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds