Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 12 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/24/2014 - COVENTRY, CT
MY 2014 SONIC AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR 40 MIN FAILED TO START, A CHECK OF THE BATTERY INDICATED FULL VOLTAGE. CALLED FOR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AFTER THEY TAPPED ON THE STARTER THE CAR WOULD START. THIS HAS BEEN A RECURRING PROBLEM. THE DEALER HAD THE CAR FOR 3 DAYS AND COULD NOT REPEAT THE PROBLEM, WAS TOLD TO BRING IT BACK WHEN I HAD THE PROBLEM AGAIN. I HAVE HAD TO TAP ON THE STARTER ONCE BECAUSE I WAS TOO FAR FOR ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE. AT 1974 MILES I HAD THE PROBLEM AGAIN CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE, WHEN THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER PUT THE KEY IN THE RUN POSITION AND WIGGLED THE STEERING WHEEL THE CAR STARTED ON ITS OWN. BECAUSE THE CAR WILL NOT START EVEN WITH THE REMOTE STARTER I DON'T THINK IT'S A KEY SWITCH PROBLEM. THE WORST PART OF THE ISSUE IS BEING STUCK IN LESS THAN SAFE PLACES WITH A CAR THAT WON'T START.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - KISSIMMEE, FL
IM ONLY GETTING ABOUT 14 TO 16 MPG ON MY CAR.I WENT TO THE DEALER AND I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NORMAL.I SAID THAT ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET SUCH LOW MPG WHEN THE PAPERWORK SAYS THAT I SHOULD GET 25/35.KNOW I SPOKE TO THE SERVICE MANAGER AND HE SAID THAT ITS NORMAL TO GET 14 TO 16 MPG.I TOLD HIM YOU TELLING MY 2005 ALTIMA 3.5 GETS BETTER GAS MILAGE A DODGE DURANGO GETS BETTER GAS MILAGE?? WELL THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CANT SEEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM.THEY RECALIBRATED EVERYTHING AND ITS EVEN WORSE.I SPEND 300 IN GAS A MONTH WHICH IS UNHEARD OF..PLEASE HELP...

View Details

SEATS

10/4/2014 - TEMPE, AZ
I UNDERSTAND THAT NHTSA HAS MANDATED FORWARD-LEANING HEAD RESTRAINTS ON ALL LATE-MODEL VEHICLES. THE HEAD RESTRAINT IN MY 2014 SONIC IS TERRIBLE; IT SHOVES MY HEAD FORWARD, FORCING ME TO EITHER STARE AT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER OR RAISE MY EYES IN A KUBRICK STARE TO SEE THE ROAD. IT WASN'T IMMEDIATELY APPARENT DURING THE TEST DRIVE, BUT AFTER 200+ MILES OF DRIVING IN LESS THAN A WEEK, MY NECK IS STIFF AND SHOULDERS FEEL LIKE ROCKS. ALL THIS PAIN AGAINST THE STATISTICALLY UNLIKELY OCCURRENCE OF BEING REAR-ENDED (TWICE IN 30 YEARS OF DRIVING)? FAIL. ABSOLUTE, 100%, TOTAL FAIL. MY 2012 CRUZE HAD STRAIGHT HEAD RESTRAINTS THAT DIDN'T CAUSE ME PAIN AND WERE STILL AVAILABLE WHEN I NEEDED TO BRACE (SEEING SOMEONE RACING UP BEHIND ME, FOR INSTANCE). PLEASE, FOR THE LOVE OF G-D, RECONSIDER THIS IDIOTIC AND OVERBEARING REGULATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/26/2014 - HOLIDAY, FL
THE IGNITION KEY GETS HOT AFTER DRIVING THE CAR FOR MORE THAN 5 MILES. THERE IS A STRANGE WHIRRING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF CAR WHEN DRIVING. IT STARTED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AND IS NOW ON BOTH SIDES. IT ONLY HAPPENS WHILE CAR IS IN MOTION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/20/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
THIS VEHICLE IS GETTING BETWEEN 19-21 MPG AT THE MOST, INCLUDING HIGHWAY, WHICH IS EXTREMELY LOW COMPARED TO OTHER SIMILAR SONIC VEHICLE MODELS AND THE ESTIMATED 25/35 MPG FOR THIS VEHICLE.I AM WONDERING IF IT IS LEAKING FUEL. I HAVE NEVER OWNED A CHEVY REQUIRING THIS MUCH GAS. I AM CONCERNED THAT IT MIGHT BE AFFECTED BY THE FUEL RECALL BUT MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED. GM AND THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP HAVE DISREGARDED MY CONCERNS, TELLING ME MY VEHICLE IS OPERATING NORMALLY. I WOULD LIKE MY VEHICLE INSPECTED FOR SAFETY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/8/2014 - TOMBSTONE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE STARTING THE IGNITION, A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL EMITTED INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE ENTIRE FUEL LEAKED OUT OF THE FUEL TANK ONTO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THERE WAS A RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V464000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,080.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/8/2014 - TOMBSTONE, AZ
GAS STARTED LEAKING FROM BOTTOM OF GAS TANK.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds