Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 42 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (1)
Engine (7) Power Train (1) Structure (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/1/2017 - SPRINGVILLE, UT
APPROXIMATELY 2 WEEKS AGO, MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THE MANUAL SAID TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IMMEDIATELY AS THE AIRBAG COULD FAIL TO DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT OR COULD DEPLOY FOR NO REASON CAUSING SEVERE INJURY. I NOTICED THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS VEHICLE IN 2014 FOR THIS ISSUE. ACTIONS: GM WILL NOTIFY OWNERS, AND DEALERS WILL TEST THE TERMINALS IN THE IP HARNESS CLOCK SPRING COIL CONNECTOR AND REPLACE ANY LOOSE TERMINALS, FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL BEGAN IN OCTOBER 2014. OWNERS MAY CONTACT CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE AT 1-800-222-1020. GM'S NUMBER FOR THIS RECALL IS 14537. FOR DETAILED INFORMATION & SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, SEE THE OFFICIAL NHTSA PAGE CONCERNING RECALL #14V543000 . I CALLED THE NUMBER AT CHEV CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND THEY WERE NO HELP-SAID MY VIN NUMBER WASN'T LISTED IN THE RECALL. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS AS IT SEEMS A COINCIDENCE THAT I HAVE THE EXACT VEHICLE AND THE EXACT PROBLEM.......THE DEALERSHIP IN PROVO, UTAH, DID A DIAGNOSIS AND SAID SINCE THE LIGHT WASN'T ON AT THE EXACT TIME OF THE DIAGNOSIS THAT THEY COULDN'T TELL. I CAN'T PREDICT WHEN IT WILL COME ON, AND WHEN IT DOES COME ON IT IS USUALLY OFF BY THE TIME I FIND A DEALERSHIP. I AM CONCERNED THAT I COULD BE SEVERELY INJURED DUE TO THIS PROBLEM AND FEEL IT COULD BE TAKEN CARE OF IF I COULD FIND SOMEONE THAT GAVE A HOOT. IT COMES ON WHEN I AM DRIVING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/1/2017 - SPRINGVILLE, UT
APPROXIMATELY 2 WEEKS AGO, MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THE MANUAL SAID TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IMMEDIATELY AS THE AIRBAG COULD FAIL TO DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT OR COULD DEPLOY FOR NO REASON CAUSING SEVERE INJURY. I NOTICED THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS VEHICLE IN 2014 FOR THIS ISSUE. ACTIONS: GM WILL NOTIFY OWNERS, AND DEALERS WILL TEST THE TERMINALS IN THE IP HARNESS CLOCK SPRING COIL CONNECTOR AND REPLACE ANY LOOSE TERMINALS, FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL BEGAN IN OCTOBER 2014. OWNERS MAY CONTACT CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE AT 1-800-222-1020. GM'S NUMBER FOR THIS RECALL IS 14537. FOR DETAILED INFORMATION & SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS, SEE THE OFFICIAL NHTSA PAGE CONCERNING RECALL #14V543000 . I CALLED THE NUMBER AT CHEV CUSTOMER SERVICE, AND THEY WERE NO HELP-SAID MY VIN NUMBER WASN'T LISTED IN THE RECALL. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS AS IT SEEMS A COINCIDENCE THAT I HAVE THE EXACT VEHICLE AND THE EXACT PROBLEM.......THE DEALERSHIP IN PROVO, UTAH, DID A DIAGNOSIS AND SAID SINCE THE LIGHT WASN'T ON AT THE EXACT TIME OF THE DIAGNOSIS THAT THEY COULDN'T TELL. I CAN'T PREDICT WHEN IT WILL COME ON, AND WHEN IT DOES COME ON IT IS USUALLY OFF BY THE TIME I FIND A DEALERSHIP. I AM CONCERNED THAT I COULD BE SEVERELY INJURED DUE TO THIS PROBLEM AND FEEL IT COULD BE TAKEN CARE OF IF I COULD FIND SOMEONE THAT GAVE A HOOT. IT COMES ON WHEN I AM DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

11/29/2016 - SEBRING, FL
DURING LAST TWO MONTHS WE HAD GO TO THE DEALER FOUR TIME AND THREE OF THESE DUE TO THE ENGINE NOISE AND OVERHEATING. LAST WEEK SMELLED LIKE FIRE AND DUE TO THE GAS INSIDE THE CAR WE HAD TO PARKING. WHEN REVIEW THE ENGINE, THERE WAS NOT COLANT IN IT. THE NOISE NEVER STOPPED AND SOME SENSOR WERE ON DURING SOME DAYS. THIS CAR IS USED FOR A PREGNAN WOMAN AND GIRLS AND ARE NOT SAFETY FOR US FOR THIS REASON WE WENT TO THE DEALER TO SEE THE POSIBILITY TO CHANGE THE CAR. SO FAR, WE WAITING FOR THE SOLUTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/29/2016 - SEBRING, FL
DURING LAST TWO MONTHS WE HAD GO TO THE DEALER FOUR TIME AND THREE OF THESE DUE TO THE ENGINE NOISE AND OVERHEATING. LAST WEEK SMELLED LIKE FIRE AND DUE TO THE GAS INSIDE THE CAR WE HAD TO PARKING. WHEN REVIEW THE ENGINE, THERE WAS NOT COLANT IN IT. THE NOISE NEVER STOPPED AND SOME SENSOR WERE ON DURING SOME DAYS. THIS CAR IS USED FOR A PREGNAN WOMAN AND GIRLS AND ARE NOT SAFETY FOR US FOR THIS REASON WE WENT TO THE DEALER TO SEE THE POSIBILITY TO CHANGE THE CAR. SO FAR, WE WAITING FOR THE SOLUTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/29/2016 - SEBRING, FL
DURING LAST TWO MONTHS WE HAD GO TO THE DEALER FOUR TIME AND THREE OF THESE DUE TO THE ENGINE NOISE AND OVERHEATING. LAST WEEK SMELLED LIKE FIRE AND DUE TO THE GAS INSIDE THE CAR WE HAD TO PARKING. WHEN REVIEW THE ENGINE, THERE WAS NOT COLANT IN IT. THE NOISE NEVER STOPPED AND SOME SENSOR WERE ON DURING SOME DAYS. THIS CAR IS USED FOR A PREGNAN WOMAN AND GIRLS AND ARE NOT SAFETY FOR US FOR THIS REASON WE WENT TO THE DEALER TO SEE THE POSIBILITY TO CHANGE THE CAR. SO FAR, WE WAITING FOR THE SOLUTION.

View Details

ENGINE

11/28/2016 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE, BUT COULD NOT FIND A FAILURE. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE ENGINE SENSOR AND TEMPERATURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE STARTED TO EMIT SMOKE UNDER THE HOOD AND WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/1/2016 - DALLAS, TX
I OWN A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE RADIO NO LONGER WORKS AND I HAVE NO AUDIBLE WARNING CHIMES FOR KEYS IN IGNITION, DOOR OPEN, TURN SIGNAL, SEATBELT. ALSO NO DASH LIGHTS. I SEE THERE IS A RECALL 17130. I HAVE SPOKE WITH THE DEALERSHIP IN MY AREA, THEY REFUSE TO DO THE REPAIRS BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE A RECALL LETTER. WHEN CHECKING MY VIN, THERE ARE NO REPORTED RECALLS. I NEED A RECALL LETTER SO I MAY HAVE THIS REPAIRED. THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/1/2016 - DALLAS, TX
I OWN A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE RADIO NO LONGER WORKS AND I HAVE NO AUDIBLE WARNING CHIMES FOR KEYS IN IGNITION, DOOR OPEN, TURN SIGNAL, SEATBELT. ALSO NO DASH LIGHTS. I SEE THERE IS A RECALL 17130. I HAVE SPOKE WITH THE DEALERSHIP IN MY AREA, THEY REFUSE TO DO THE REPAIRS BECAUSE I DO NOT HAVE A RECALL LETTER. WHEN CHECKING MY VIN, THERE ARE NO REPORTED RECALLS. I NEED A RECALL LETTER SO I MAY HAVE THIS REPAIRED. THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/28/2016 - KENTWOOD, MI
I HAD RECALL 17130 INSTALLED IN THE VEHICLE. AFTER INSTALLATION THE FOLLOWING PROBLEMS WERE NOTED: 1) RADIO WILL NOT SHUT OFF IF KEY IS LEFT IN IGNITION. 2) IF KEY IS REMOVED AND REINSERTED WITHOUT EXITING THE VEHICLE THE VEHICLE STILL NOT COMPLY WITH FEDERAL/CANADA MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARD NO 114 AS THE VEHICLE DOES NOT PROVIDE AN AUDIBLE WARNING/REMINDER CHIME WHEN THE DRIVER, AFTER TURNING OFF THE IGNITION AND LEAVING THE KEY IN THE CYLINDER, EXITS THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/15/2016 - MERCED, CA
SHIFTER BUTTON STUCK. KEY WILL NOT RELEASE AND VEHICLE WILL SHIFT FROM PARK TO DRIVE WITHOUT PRESSING BRAKE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds