Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 16 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (1) Suspension (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Engine (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

2/19/2015 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A GLARE ON THE DASHBOARD IN SUNNY WEATHER THAT CREATED POOR VISIBILITY. THE DASHBOARD HAD A VENT ACROSS IT THAT PREVENTED THE CONTACT FROM MAKING ADJUSTMENTS TO BLOCK THE GLARE. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

2/5/2015 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS IN INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID A CRASH. IN ADDITION, THE WHILE VEERING TO THE RIGHT, THE VEHICLE UNINTENTIONALLY VEERED TO THE LEFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/5/2015 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS IN INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO AVOID A CRASH. IN ADDITION, THE WHILE VEERING TO THE RIGHT, THE VEHICLE UNINTENTIONALLY VEERED TO THE LEFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - MABSCOTT , WV
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL BECAME INOPERABLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,520.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/28/2014 - BOILING SPRING LAKES, NC
I WENT TO ADJUST THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE TO DEFOG MY FRONT WINDOWS AND I COULDN'T MOVE THE KNOB. I ALSO TESTED THE VENTS TO FIND OUT WHERE THE AIR WAS COMING OUT OF AND THERE WAS PRACTICALLY NOTHING COMING OUT OF THE VENTS. IT TOOK A WHILE FOR MY WINDOWS TO GET CLEAR WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - COEURDALENE, ID
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, GOING APPROXIMENTALY 65MPH, THE DASH LIGHTS INCLUDING SPEEDOMETER TURN OFF AND RESET. THEY STAY OFF FROM 10-20 SECONDS THEN RESET BACK ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THE LAST 3 MONTHS. HAS ONLY HAPPENED IN 6TH GEAR AND IS VERY DANGEROUS KNOWING THE REPAIR DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT TRIGGERS IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/24/2014 - COVENTRY, CT
MY 2014 SONIC AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR 40 MIN FAILED TO START, A CHECK OF THE BATTERY INDICATED FULL VOLTAGE. CALLED FOR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AFTER THEY TAPPED ON THE STARTER THE CAR WOULD START. THIS HAS BEEN A RECURRING PROBLEM. THE DEALER HAD THE CAR FOR 3 DAYS AND COULD NOT REPEAT THE PROBLEM, WAS TOLD TO BRING IT BACK WHEN I HAD THE PROBLEM AGAIN. I HAVE HAD TO TAP ON THE STARTER ONCE BECAUSE I WAS TOO FAR FOR ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE. AT 1974 MILES I HAD THE PROBLEM AGAIN CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE, WHEN THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER PUT THE KEY IN THE RUN POSITION AND WIGGLED THE STEERING WHEEL THE CAR STARTED ON ITS OWN. BECAUSE THE CAR WILL NOT START EVEN WITH THE REMOTE STARTER I DON'T THINK IT'S A KEY SWITCH PROBLEM. THE WORST PART OF THE ISSUE IS BEING STUCK IN LESS THAN SAFE PLACES WITH A CAR THAT WON'T START.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - KISSIMMEE, FL
IM ONLY GETTING ABOUT 14 TO 16 MPG ON MY CAR.I WENT TO THE DEALER AND I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NORMAL.I SAID THAT ITS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET SUCH LOW MPG WHEN THE PAPERWORK SAYS THAT I SHOULD GET 25/35.KNOW I SPOKE TO THE SERVICE MANAGER AND HE SAID THAT ITS NORMAL TO GET 14 TO 16 MPG.I TOLD HIM YOU TELLING MY 2005 ALTIMA 3.5 GETS BETTER GAS MILAGE A DODGE DURANGO GETS BETTER GAS MILAGE?? WELL THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT CANT SEEM TO FIND THE PROBLEM.THEY RECALIBRATED EVERYTHING AND ITS EVEN WORSE.I SPEND 300 IN GAS A MONTH WHICH IS UNHEARD OF..PLEASE HELP...

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds