Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 28 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (10) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (1) Steering (3) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2016 - REHOBOTH BEACH, DE
TAKATA RECALL: I CALLED CHEVROLET TODAY (JAN. 21, 2016 )TO ASK IF MY 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC IS EQUIPPED (OEM) WITH TAKATA AIRBAGS. I WAS TOLD THAT THE INFORMATION IS NOT AVAILABLE AND IS PROPRIETARY. I ASKED IF OTHER OEM INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE SUCH AS TIRE OEM INFORMATION , AND WAS TOLD THAT, YES, TIRE OEM PROVIDER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE, JUST NOT AIRBAG OEM INFORMATION. I LIVE IN A SEA COAST ENVIRONMENT AND AM CONCERNED THAT, AS THE YEARS WEAR ON, MY AIR BAGS WILL BE AT RISK FOR CORROSIVE DAMAGE DUE TO SALT AIR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/21/2016 - REHOBOTH BEACH, DE
TAKATA RECALL: I CALLED CHEVROLET TODAY (JAN. 21, 2016 )TO ASK IF MY 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC IS EQUIPPED (OEM) WITH TAKATA AIRBAGS. I WAS TOLD THAT THE INFORMATION IS NOT AVAILABLE AND IS PROPRIETARY. I ASKED IF OTHER OEM INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE SUCH AS TIRE OEM INFORMATION , AND WAS TOLD THAT, YES, TIRE OEM PROVIDER INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE, JUST NOT AIRBAG OEM INFORMATION. I LIVE IN A SEA COAST ENVIRONMENT AND AM CONCERNED THAT, AS THE YEARS WEAR ON, MY AIR BAGS WILL BE AT RISK FOR CORROSIVE DAMAGE DUE TO SALT AIR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/25/2015 - PEORIA, IL
CAR CUTS OUT, GRINDING NOISE FROM ENGINE. HAD IGNITION COIL REPLACED BUT STILL DOING THE SAME THING. LOOSES POWER GOING UP STEEP HILL. ONLY HAD CAR ABOUT SEVEN MONTHS. ONLY HAS SIXTEEN THOUSAND MILES ON IT. SOMETIMES WHILE I AM DRIVING CAR JUST LOOSES POWER AND ALMOST GOT HIT IN THE BACK. I FEEL ONE OF THESE DAYS SOMEONE WILL HIT ME. TOOK IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG BUT THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE. THE CAR DOES HAVE WARRANTY ON IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/25/2015 - PEORIA, IL
CAR CUTS OUT, GRINDING NOISE FROM ENGINE. HAD IGNITION COIL REPLACED BUT STILL DOING THE SAME THING. LOOSES POWER GOING UP STEEP HILL. ONLY HAD CAR ABOUT SEVEN MONTHS. ONLY HAS SIXTEEN THOUSAND MILES ON IT. SOMETIMES WHILE I AM DRIVING CAR JUST LOOSES POWER AND ALMOST GOT HIT IN THE BACK. I FEEL ONE OF THESE DAYS SOMEONE WILL HIT ME. TOOK IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG BUT THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE. THE CAR DOES HAVE WARRANTY ON IT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2015 - PEORIA, IL
CAR CUTS OUT, GRINDING NOISE FROM ENGINE. HAD IGNITION COIL REPLACED BUT STILL DOING THE SAME THING. LOOSES POWER GOING UP STEEP HILL. ONLY HAD CAR ABOUT SEVEN MONTHS. ONLY HAS SIXTEEN THOUSAND MILES ON IT. SOMETIMES WHILE I AM DRIVING CAR JUST LOOSES POWER AND ALMOST GOT HIT IN THE BACK. I FEEL ONE OF THESE DAYS SOMEONE WILL HIT ME. TOOK IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG BUT THE PROBLEM IS GETTING WORSE. THE CAR DOES HAVE WARRANTY ON IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/11/2015 - DAKOTA CITY, IA
I JUST PURCHASED MY 2014 CHEVY SONIC LT HATCHBACK A MONTH AGO. FIRST THE DAY I BOUGHT IT I FOUND OUT I HAD A REVERSE LIGHT OUT. THE DEALER SAID THEY WOULD FIX IT WHEN THE LICENSE PLANT COVER BRACKET COMES IN. THE SAME DAY I GOT THE CAR I SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING. I TOLD THEM ABOUT IT AN THEY SAID IF IT KEEPS DOING IT TO LET THEM KNOW AN MY PASSENGER SIDE BRAKES FELL LIKE THEY ARE DRAGGING. THEY SAID IT SHOULD COME OUT OF IT DO TO SITTING FOR AWHILE. WELL I'M STILL EXPERIENCING IT. MY OIL PERCENTAGE DROPS FAR DOWN WHEN DRIVING FOR 2 HRS ON THE HIGHWAY. THE BURNING SMELL COMES IN THREW THE VENTS AN OUTSIDE EVEN WHEN THE AC OR HEATER IS ON. SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT. I ONLY HAVE 39,000 MILES WHEN I BOUGHT IT A MOTH AGO WITH 32,000 MILES. THE DEALER SAID IT WENT THROUGH AN EXPECTATION AN EVERYTHING CAME BACK OK WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR THAT DAY. HOW CAN THAT BE WITH BURNING SMELL,LIGHTS OUT AN ONLY ONE SIDE OF WHEEL THAT I'M GETTING A DRAGGING, GRINDING NOISES. THEY WELL BE LOOKING AT IT IN THE NEXT 2WEEK. WHEN I'M DRIVING MY TRANSMISSION FEELS LIKE ITS SKIPPING. THE ACCELERATION IS SO OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

11/11/2015 - DAKOTA CITY, IA
I JUST PURCHASED MY 2014 CHEVY SONIC LT HATCHBACK A MONTH AGO. FIRST THE DAY I BOUGHT IT I FOUND OUT I HAD A REVERSE LIGHT OUT. THE DEALER SAID THEY WOULD FIX IT WHEN THE LICENSE PLANT COVER BRACKET COMES IN. THE SAME DAY I GOT THE CAR I SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING. I TOLD THEM ABOUT IT AN THEY SAID IF IT KEEPS DOING IT TO LET THEM KNOW AN MY PASSENGER SIDE BRAKES FELL LIKE THEY ARE DRAGGING. THEY SAID IT SHOULD COME OUT OF IT DO TO SITTING FOR AWHILE. WELL I'M STILL EXPERIENCING IT. MY OIL PERCENTAGE DROPS FAR DOWN WHEN DRIVING FOR 2 HRS ON THE HIGHWAY. THE BURNING SMELL COMES IN THREW THE VENTS AN OUTSIDE EVEN WHEN THE AC OR HEATER IS ON. SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT. I ONLY HAVE 39,000 MILES WHEN I BOUGHT IT A MOTH AGO WITH 32,000 MILES. THE DEALER SAID IT WENT THROUGH AN EXPECTATION AN EVERYTHING CAME BACK OK WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR THAT DAY. HOW CAN THAT BE WITH BURNING SMELL,LIGHTS OUT AN ONLY ONE SIDE OF WHEEL THAT I'M GETTING A DRAGGING, GRINDING NOISES. THEY WELL BE LOOKING AT IT IN THE NEXT 2WEEK. WHEN I'M DRIVING MY TRANSMISSION FEELS LIKE ITS SKIPPING. THE ACCELERATION IS SO OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I HAD TAKEN THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION AND IT WAS VERY HOT ABOUT THE END OF JULY. ON FRIDAY AUGUST 11, I NOTICED A PAUSE IN THE CAR STARTING THE A SOUND OF A KNOCK LEAVING WORK. I ARRIVED HOME AROUND 6:00 P.M. PARKED IN MY DRIVE WAY FOR THE DAY. I WAS AWAKEN SATURDAY MORNING BY MY NEIGHBOR BE MADE MY CAR WAS ON FIRE. THIS WAS DETERMINED BY LAWRENCE FIRE DEPARTMENT OF AN ENGINE FIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I HAD TAKEN THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION AND IT WAS VERY HOT ABOUT THE END OF JULY. ON FRIDAY AUGUST 11, I NOTICED A PAUSE IN THE CAR STARTING THE A SOUND OF A KNOCK LEAVING WORK. I ARRIVED HOME AROUND 6:00 P.M. PARKED IN MY DRIVE WAY FOR THE DAY. I WAS AWAKEN SATURDAY MORNING BY MY NEIGHBOR BE MADE MY CAR WAS ON FIRE. THIS WAS DETERMINED BY LAWRENCE FIRE DEPARTMENT OF AN ENGINE FIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2015 - YELLOW SPRINGS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE AIR CONDITIONER OR THE HEATER WAS TURNED ON, AN UNUSUAL ODOR EMITTED THROUGH THE VENTS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE SUFFERED FROM HEADACHES DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE THE SOURCE OF THE ODOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,852.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds