Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 230 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (23) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (20)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (31) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (21) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (8) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2017 - BRISTOL, TN
I JUST BOUGHT THE CAR IN MARCH 2017 AND WE TOOK IT ON A TRIP TO THE BEACH. ALMOST THERE THE CAR STARTED JUMPING INTO GEAR WHEN WE TOOK OFF AT THE RED LIGHT. THEY STARTED GETTING CLOSER AND MORE HARDER AT EACH STOP SO WE STOPPED AT A STORE TO CHECK IT.THERES NO DIP STICK TO CHECK THE TRANY WITH SO WE THOUGHT IT MIGHT OF GOT HOT EVEN THOUGH WE STOPPED OFTEN. IT SEEMED TO HELP THEN IT STARTED DOING IT AGAIN AFTER SOME TIME.WE HAD ALREADY PAID FOR THE HOTEL SO WE WENT ON AND STAYED WITH OUT GOING MANY PLACES FOR FEAR OF NOT GETTING BACK HOME.ON THE WAY HOME IT STILL DID THE SAME BUT NOT ON THE INTERSTATE.SEEMS IT ONLY DID IT AT STOPS AND STARTS IN TOWNS AT LIGHTS AND STOP SIGNS. THE FORD COMPANY HAS HAD MY CAR IN THE SHOP SINCE I GOT BACK HOME AND IVE MADE THE FIRST PAYMENT WITH 2 WEEKS DRIVING OUT OF IT.THEY SAY IT NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION, BUT BY THE CAR FAX PAPER IT WAS JUST REPLACED A MONTH AGO . ITS GONNA BE ANOTHER MONTH BEFORE I GET IT BACK, BECAUSE THEY HAVE TO ORDER IT. JUST HOPE I DON'T HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS ANY MORE. LOVE THE LITTLE SUV, JUST HATE ALL THIS TROUBLE I'M HAVING OUT OF IT

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2017 - HUDSON, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE CONTACT WAS FILLING THE RESERVES, THE ANTI-FREEZE LEAKED OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

TIRES

4/10/2017 - KEAAU, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI PRO CONTACT TIRES, SIZE: 235/55/R17 99 H. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE CONTACT FELT A VIBRATION AND STATED THAT THE TIRES WOULD SKID WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. THE FRONT PASSENGER AND BOTH REAR TIRES LOST PRESSURE. IN ADDITION, THE TREAD SEPARATED IN CHUNKS FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER AND BOTH REAR TIRES. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TIRES DID NOT GRIP THE ROAD AND WOULD SLIP WHEN MAKING TURNS. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,288 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,748.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/10/2017 - DOWNINGTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000(LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/7/2017 - LEONARDO, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/7/2017 - HOBART, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000(LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2017 - NEW PHILADELPHIA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 60-65 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A FRACTURE TO THE ENGINE BLOCK, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE TO OVERHEAT, MISFIRE, AND OIL TO LEAK. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V209000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/6/2017 - RENTZ, GA
I BOUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW , WITHIN THE FIRST 600 MILES I TOOK A TRIP TO NORTHERN MICHIGAN ( ABOUT 200 MI. ) AND THE TRANSMISSION " BANGED " INTO 6TH GEAR EVERY TIME IT DOWN SHIFTED TO 5TH GOING UP ANY GRADE AND SHIFTED BACK TO 6TH, OTHER TIMES WHEN I GO TO PULL OUT OF SOMEWHERE IT WILL ACT LIKE ITS LOOKING FOR A GEAR BEFORE I BARELY START MOVING , HAD IT BACK TO FORD A NUMBER OF TIMES , THEY SAY ITS FINE ... NOW HAS 46000 ON IT , STILL DOES IT , HAVE CALLED AND SENT REGISTERED LETTERS TO FORD , THEY SAY BUY EXTENDED WARRANTY AND WORK WITH THE DEALER (LOL ).. THEY JUST CLAIM THEY CHECK IT AND EVEN ASK IF I THOUGHT ABOUT TRADING IT IN ... YA RIGHT....WHAT I WOULD LIKE IS FOR THEM TO FIX IT. SOMETIMES WHEN I BACK OUT OF A PARKING SPOT AND PUT IT IN DRIVE , IT THEN TOO DON'T GO , LOOKS FOR A GEAR FOR A FEW SECONDS (YOU CAN HEAR IT MAKING NOISE) THEN WILL TAKE OFF

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2017 - PALLMALL, TN
DECEMBER 3 2016 I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD ON HWY 111 AND THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I COASTED OVER TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DISPLAYED ENGINE FAILURE, IMMEDIATE ATTENTION REQUIRED. SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND RAISED THE HOOD AND FLAMES STARTED COMING FROM THE ENGINE AREA AND SPREAD VERY QUICKLY. I CALLED 911 TO PUT THE FIRE OUT. CAUSE OF FIRE IS UNKNOWN. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILLED OUT BUT I DON'T HAVE IT AT THIS TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2017 - HEMPSTEAD, TX
ON TAKE OFF CAR WILL NOT ALWAYS GO INTO GEAR AND WHEN IT DOES IT DOES NOT HAVE MUCH POWER TO ACCELERATE LEAVING FOR A DANGEROUS DRIVING SITUATION. IF THE MOTOR IS SHUT OFF AND THE "COMPUTER" RESETS IT WILL RESET AND DRIVE OK FOR A SHORT TIME BUT THE PROBLEM REAPPEARS. CAR IS NOW PARKED UNTIL WE CAN FIGURE WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. HATE PAYING FOR A CAR THAT I CAN'T DRIVE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds