Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 141 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (22) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (20) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (12) Visibility (5)
Engine (34) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (5) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/27/2016 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
VEHICLE JERKS WHEN SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND AND 3RD. ON HARD ACCELERATIONS THE VEHICLE WILL JERK AND THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS INTO NEUTRAL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/26/2016 - KINGSBURG, CA
ENGINE IS REVVING UP TO 4000+ RMPS BEFORE SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. THE SHIFTING SLIPS AND THE VEHICLE LURCHES WHILE SHIFTING, SOMETIMES VERY ROUGH. TAKEN INTO THE SHOP AND FORD REPLACED SEVERAL PARTS (TORC CONVERTER AND OTHERS). WHILE IN THE SHOP SUDDENLY THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH EXHAUST FUMES POTENTIALLY BLOWING INTO THE CAB MAKING THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. FIXED THE ISSUES AND I PICKED UP MY CAR. NOW MY TURBO HAS NO GUT, AND IS SLOW ON THE PICK UP WHEN ACCELERATING. WILL BE TAKING BACK TO THE SHOP AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/20/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
THE WHOLE CAR BEEN DOWN; FORD CONSTANTLY TELL ME NOTHING WRONG, BUT THE MIDSIZE SUV HAS BEEN IN AND OUT OF SHOP JAN.25-FEB.18-FEB.22-AND APR.12 OF 2016 NOW YOU ALL TELL ME WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS CAR? I LOST 4 DAYS OF WAGES PLUS 4 DAYS OF WORK AND NO ONE KNOWS WHO SHOULD BE REPLACING MY LOST WAGES ; PLUS FEES I PAID WELLS ROADSIDE SERVICES FOR THE TWO JUMPS AND 1TOW. FORD PAID FOR THIS LAST FLATBED TOW, AND FORD ACCOMMODATED THE LOANERS FOR BECAUSE OF MY WARRANTY PLEASE CALL [XXX] TO HAVE HIM TO ACCOMMODATE AS WELL THANK YOU. ( THAT VEHICLE DOES NOTHING : ) INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/8/2016 - DUNCANSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS BECAME DIM AND THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A LARGE LANDSCAPING STONE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2016 - BRUCETON MILLS, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS HAD A BAD CONNECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE TURBO CHARGE BOOST SENSOR AND AIR SENSOR WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2016 - BRUCETON MILLS, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS HAD A BAD CONNECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE TURBO CHARGE BOOST SENSOR AND AIR SENSOR WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/6/2016 - HARWICH, MA
WATER LEAKING INSIDE ABOVE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR TOWARDS WINDSHIELD. DEALER CLAIMS IT IS COMING FROM ROOF RACK. IT HAS BEEN RESEALED TWICE BUT CONTINUES TO LEAK. TRACK FROM RACK DOES NOT LIE FLAT, LEAKS ARE STAINING INTERIOR. DO NOT YET SEE MOLD OR RUST, BUT IT IS POSSIBLE.

View Details

WHEELS

4/5/2016 - NEWARK, DE
SOMEONE AT A REST STOP IN NASH COUNTY NC POINTED OUT A BULGE IN THE SIDE OF OUR RIGHT REAR TIRE. WE WERE UNAWARE OF THE BULGE. WE REMOVED THE TIRE AND REPLACED IT BEFORE IT COULD BLOW OUT. WE HAD BEEN TRAVELING ON I-95 FROM SUMMERVILLE SC EN ROUTE TO DELAWARE. THE TIRE WAS ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT ON OUR VEHICLE.

View Details

WHEELS: LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS

4/4/2016 - JOLIET, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE LUG NUTS FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LUG NUTS WERE SWOLLEN AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2016 - BIRMINGHAM, MI
A DRIVER TURNED DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF ME WHILE I WENT THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AT 40 MPH. I CAR WAS HIT HEAD ON, THE ENTIRE FRONT END AND FRAME WAS DESTROYED. NOT ONE OF MY AIRBAGS WAS DEPLOYED. I HAD JUST HAD LEFT SHOULDER SURGERY AND THE ONLY RESTRAINT WAS MY LAP AND CHEST SEAT BELT. I HAVE HAD TO GO THROUGH SURGERY, MULTIPLE DENTAL REPAIRS, REHAB. FORD TOLD ME THAT THERE HAD BEEN NO RECALL ON THE ESCAPE BUT THE CAR WAS DETERMINED TO BE TOTALED AND WAS GONE QUICKLY. I ONLY HOPE THAT THEY RECALL THESE FAULTY AIRBAGS QUICKLY BEFORE THERE ARE MORE DEATHS ATTRIBUTED TO THEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds