Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Power Train (10) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (16) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
CAR JUST EXITED THE HIGHWAY. DROVE APPROXIMATELY A QUARTER MILE AND MADE A RIGHT TURN. THE STEERING LOCKED UP IN MID TURN. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO CARS PARKED ON THIS PARTICULAR STREET OR THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT. MANAGED TO STRAIGHTEN WHEEL AND ABLE TO PULL IN A PARKING SPOT. CAR'S ELECTRICAL SYSTEM STARTED SHUTTING DOWN TO SAVE BATTERY POWER. HAD CAR TOWED TO FORD DEALER. THEY SAY THE ALTERNATOR WAS WEAK. FIVE DAYS AFTER THE INCIDENT AND STILL WAITING FOR THE PART. LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE PRODUCT. CAR IS NINE MONTHS OLD.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
CAR JUST EXITED THE HIGHWAY. DROVE APPROXIMATELY A QUARTER MILE AND MADE A RIGHT TURN. THE STEERING LOCKED UP IN MID TURN. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO CARS PARKED ON THIS PARTICULAR STREET OR THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT. MANAGED TO STRAIGHTEN WHEEL AND ABLE TO PULL IN A PARKING SPOT. CAR'S ELECTRICAL SYSTEM STARTED SHUTTING DOWN TO SAVE BATTERY POWER. HAD CAR TOWED TO FORD DEALER. THEY SAY THE ALTERNATOR WAS WEAK. FIVE DAYS AFTER THE INCIDENT AND STILL WAITING FOR THE PART. LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE PRODUCT. CAR IS NINE MONTHS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

2/16/2015 - GRASS VALLEY, CA
WHILE ACCELERATING TO PASS A SLOWER VEHICLE THE ENGINE STARTED STUMBLING AND WENT INTO SOME TYPE OF LIMP MODE AND LOST POWER. I HAD TO RAPIDLY PULL BACK INTO THE SLOWER LANE TO AVOID HAVING CARS BEHIND ME REAR-END ME. I STOPPED THE CAR, TURNED IT OFF , AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE CAR THE PROBLEM WAS GONE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A FORD DEALER BUT THEY STATED THERE WAS NO ERROR CODES STORED IN THE ECU SO THEY COULDN'T DIAGNOSE OR FIX THE PROBLEM. THEN A FEW MONTHS LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN JUST LIKE BEFORE- I WAS PASSING A SLOWER VEHICLE AND SUDDENLY THE CAR WENT INTO A LIMP MODE AND I LOST POWER AND HAD TO QUICKLY PULL BACK INTO THE SLOW LANE TO AVOID HAVING CARS FROM BEHIND REAR-END ME. THIS TIME I HAD MY WIFE USE HER PHONE TO VIDEO THE ENGINE FAILURE LIGHTS ON THE DASH.AGAIN I HAD TO STOP MY CAR, TURN IT OFF, AND WHEN I RESTARTED THE CARS IT WAS OK. AND AGAIN I TOOK IT TO A DIFFERENT FORD DEALER, I SHOWED THEM THE VIDEO OF THE PROBLEM OCCURRING, BUT AGAIN THEY COULDN'T FIND AN ERROR CODE SO THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. MY WIFE IS AFRAID TO TAKE THIS CAR ON TRIPS BECAUSE SHE IS AFRAID THE PROBLEM WILL HAPPEN AGAIN AND SHE WILL BE REAR-ENDED. I DID SOME INTERNET RESEARCH ON THIS ISSUE AND THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER DRIVERS DESCRIBING THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM. THE TWO FORD DEALERS WE TOOK THE CAR NEVER TOLD US THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND THERE HAVE RECALLS FOR THE OLDER ESCAPES FOR THE SAME ISSUE. NHTSA CAN YOU HELP BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2015 - MARION, VA
PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, ENGINE DIES WITH NO WARNING. PUT INTO NEUTRAL TO RESTART. PULLING OUT OF DRIVEWAY ONTO THE HARDTOP ROAD, ENGINE DIES WITH NO WARNING. TRAVELING AT 20 MPH OR LESS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 2 MONTHS NOW. DOESN'T HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR GOES TO THE DEALERSHIP...CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IS CAUSING IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/10/2015 - MARION, VA
PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, ENGINE DIES WITH NO WARNING. PUT INTO NEUTRAL TO RESTART. PULLING OUT OF DRIVEWAY ONTO THE HARDTOP ROAD, ENGINE DIES WITH NO WARNING. TRAVELING AT 20 MPH OR LESS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 2 MONTHS NOW. DOESN'T HAPPEN WHEN THE CAR GOES TO THE DEALERSHIP...CAN'T SEEM TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IS CAUSING IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/9/2015 - HILLSBORO, ND
APPROXIMATELY ONE MONTH AFTER PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE STRONG GAS FUMES WERE DETECTED COMING INSIDE THE CAR THROUGH THE VENTILATION SYSTEM. THE PROBLEM OCCURS ONLY WHEN THE VEHICLE IS RESTARTED AFTER BEING WARMED UP. STILL UNDER WARRANTY WE RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS. THEY REPLACED A SHORT SECTION OF FLEXIBLE MANIFOLD HOSE THAT HAD DEVELOPED A CRACK. THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY FOR ABOUT A MONTH BEFORE RETURNING. AGAIN THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE SAME HOSE. THE REPAIR LASTED ABOUT ANOTHER MONTH OR SO. THE THIRD TIME IT WAS SERVICED THEY DID NOT REPLACE THE HOSE BUT WRAPPED IT WITH SILCONE DUCT TAPE TO SEAL IT. THIS REPAIR LASTED LESS THAN A WEEK. AGAIN GAS FUMES WERE DETECTED INSIDE THE VEHICLE. IT APPEARS THAT THE FORD COMPANY DOES NOT HAVE ANY IDEA HOW TO PERMANENTLY FIX THE PROBLEM. AT LEAST 3 OTHER INCIDENTS INVOLVING THE SAME MODEL VEHICLE HAVE OCCURRED AT THIS DEALERSHIP. IS THIS ANOTHER LOOMING RECALL? HOW MANY OTHER 2014 FORD ESCAPE OWNERS NATIONWIDE HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE?

View Details

ENGINE

2/5/2015 - WEST HAVEN, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,334.

View Details

TIRES

2/1/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
BRAND NEW TIRES ON A BRAND NEW 2015 FORD ESCAPE TITANIUM. THE TIRES ON THIS NEW CAR ARE THE CONTINTENTAL CONTIPROCONTACT. THE RIGHT REAR TIRE HAD A FLAT WHEN MY WIFE WAS DRIVING IT. THE FLAT WAS ON THE SIDE OF THIS TIRE NEAR THE RIM AND THERE WAS ALSO AIR LEAKING FROM THE EDGE OF WHERE THE TIRE AND RIM MEET. ONLY 1,600 MILES ON THIS CAR WHEN WE HAD THIS FLAT. DO NOT RECALL DRIVING OVER ANYTHING THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THIS. SLASH/SLIT WAS ON THE SIDE OF THE TIRE NEAR THE RIM AND THEN ALSO THE LEAK ON THE EDGE AS I MENTIONED. I COULD NOT ENTER A 2015 FORD ESCAPE TITANIUM AWD SO I HAD TO SELECT A 2015 FORD ESCAPE, BUT OUR CAR IS A 2015 FORD ESCAPE TITANIUM AWD.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

1/16/2015 - FORT ST. LUCY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR COMING FROM THE EXHAUST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - SHREVEPORT, LA
CAR WOULD NOT START. FORD REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds