Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 74 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Power Train (10) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (12) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

1/16/2015 - FORT ST. LUCY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR COMING FROM THE EXHAUST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - SHREVEPORT, LA
CAR WOULD NOT START. FORD REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - LANCASTER, PA
MY MOTHER OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE SE WITH THE 1.6L ECOBOOST ENGINE. SHE HAS NOTICED THAT MANY TIMES, SHE LIGHTLY STEPS ON THE GAS, AND THE CAR SUDDENLY REVS IT'S ENGINE IN THE 3000-4000 RPM RANGE WHEN THE TRANSMISSION IS IN DRIVE. BASICALLY, IT DIDN'T WANT TO GO. SHE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF THEY COULD FIND OUT THE PROBLEM, AND THEY SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. I SURE WOULD HATE TO SEE MY MOTHER SERIOUSLY HURT DUE TO THESE PROBLEMS WITH HER CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/15/2015 - NORTHPORT, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PARTS TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE ARE UNAVAILABLE. I NOTIFIED THE CONTACT PER THE RECALL POSTED ON THE SAFERCAR.GOV WEB SITE THAT: A SECOND NOTIFICATION WILL BE SENT WHEN THE REMEDY PARTS ARE AVAILABLE. . I REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE FTC TO FILE A FORMAL COMPLAINT ON THE MANUFACTURER. MC

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EMITTED A BURNING RUBBER ODOR THROUGH THE VENTS AND CAUSED THE ODOR TO PENETRATE THE INTERIOR FABRIC. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION SEVERAL TIMES, HOWEVER THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NEW REASON WHY IT HAD THE BURNING RUBBER ODOR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/12/2015 - SAINT PETERS, MO
MY WIFE AND I WERE DRIVING ON A 4 LANE HIGHWAY DURING THE DAY. WE WERE NOT OPERATING THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF AND THE SHADE WAS COMPLETELY OPEN. SUDDENLY AND ALL AT ONCE, THE FRONT PANE OF GLASS IN THE SUNROOF EXPLODED INTO THE CABIN. GLASS CUT MY FACE IN TWO LOCATIONS AND CAUSED BLEEDING. THERE WAS NO NEARBY TRAFFIC IN FRONT OF US OR ON THE SIDE. WE WERE NOT TRAVELING UNDER AN OVERPASS. WE WERE ABLE TO QUICKLY REGAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AS THE BREAKAGE CAUSED US TO SLOW DOWN AND SWERVE. THERE WERE NO OTHER COLLISIONS OR DAMAGE AFTER THE SUNROOF BROKE. AS NO OBJECT OR PROJECTILE CAUSED THE BREAKAGE AND THERE WAS NO PRIOR DAMAGE TO THE SUNROOF, IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THERE WAS A FAULT WITH EITHER THE GLASS OR SUNROOF ASSEMBLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/8/2015 - JOHNSBURG, IL
THIS IS ONE OF MANY OCCURRENCES CONCERNING THIS PROBLEM. MY FIRST COMMUNICATION WITH FORD SERVICE WAS IN DECEMBER 2013 CONCERNING THE DOOR HANDLE STICKING CAUSING THE DOOR NOT TO LATCH. IN JANUARY 2014 THEY ASKED FOR A PHOTO OF THE PROBLEM TO SHARE WITH THEIR ENGINEERING TEAM. FORD HAS ISSUED CASE NUMBERS AND BASICALLY JUST TOLD ME TO BRING IT INTO THE DEALER. I'VE HAD MULTIPLE COMMUNICATION WITH FORD SERVICE THROUGHOUT THE YEAR INFORMING THEM THAT I STILL HAVE THE ISSUE. THE DEALER HAS TRIED TO FIX FOUR TIMES INCLUDING APPLYING THE RECALL. THE LAST DEALER ATTEMPT WAS IN NOVEMBER 2014 BUT THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. THE DOOR HAS OPENED WHEN I WAS BACKING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY DUE TO THE HANDLE STICKING IN THE OPEN POSITION.THE DOOR HANDLE HAS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION WELL OVER A HUNDRED TIMES. I'VE SHARED PHOTOS OF THE ISSUE WITH THE DEALER, FORD SERVICE AND OVER THE INTERNET.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/22/2014 - HICKMAN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2015 FORD ESCAPE (NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR WHEEL WELLS WERE RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE WAS A KNOWN ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,800.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/12/2014 - ALIQUIPPA, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH WITH TEMPERATURES IN THE HIGH 20'S I HEARD A LOUD POP SIMILAR TO A GUN SHOT AND THEN LOOKED BACK AND MY REAR WINDOW JUST STARTED TO SPIDER. I WAS ONLY IN THE VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES. I PULLED OVER AND THERE WERE NO IMPACT MARKS AND THE GLASS ON EACH SIDE OF THE WINDOW HAD FALLEN OFF BUT THE REST OF THE GLASS WAS IN TACT. THERE WERE VERTICLE STRESS FRACTURES ON EACH FAR SIDE OF THE GLASS AND SPIDERING ON THE REST OF THE GLASS TOWARD THE MIDDLE. FORD LET ME KNOW THAT THIS HAD BEEN HAPPENING TO F150'S RECENTLY BUT NOT IN NEW ESCAPES AND THEY REFUSED TO PAY FOR IT. THEY ADVISED THAT SOMETHING MUST OF IMPACTED THE WINDOW BUT WOULD NOT PROVIDE ANY FURTHER CLARIFICATION. I HAVE PICTURES OF THE GLASS ALSO AND SUBMITTED THEM TO FORD'S CORPORTATION AND ALSO THE DEALERSHIP, MOON TOWNSHIP FORD. THEY STILL WOULD NOT PAY. IT SEEMS THIS HAS BEEN A CONTINUING PATTERN FOR FORD ESCAPES THROUGOUT THE PAST DECADE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/12/2014 - MEDINA, TN
WHILE DRIVING DONE THE ROAD, A LOUD POP WAS HEARD. MY 3 YEAR OLD POINED TO THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF AND SAID LOOK. IT HAD FALLEN INWARD ON THE BACK OF THE GLASS WHILE THE FRONT OF THE GLASS STAYED ATTACHED, CRACKING THE GLASS. PIECES OF GLASS FELL INTO THE BACK SEAT AND ALL IN MY SONS LAP. FORD HAS HAD RECALLS ON CERTAIN VIN NUMBERS BUT NOT MINE, EPOXY BEING MIXED INCORRECTLY CAUSING GLASS TO BECOME SEPARATED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds