Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 37 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (4) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Steering (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (7) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/15/2014 - INDEPENDENCE, KY
2014 FORD ESCAPE MANUFACTURED BETWEEN 03/2013 & 12/2013 HAVE A BODY CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE/HARDWARE BUG IN WHICH THE INTERIOR INSTRUMENT PANEL DIMMER DOES NOT RETAIN ITS MANUAL DIMMER SETTINGS. AFTER 20-30 MINUTES WITH THE VEHICLE POWERED OFF, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER DIMMER SETTING REVERTS TO MAXIMUM BRIGHTNESS AUTOMATICALLY. MORE THAN AN INCONVENIENCE, THIS BUG IS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS. IF A DRIVER PERCEIVES THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER TO BE TOO BRIGHT, THE DRIVER MUST MANUALLY DIM THE INSTRUMENT PANEL EVERY TIME IT IS DARK ENOUGH THAT THE EXTERIOR LIGHTS ARE REQUIRED TO DRIVE. FORD HAS FIXED THE BUG IN VEHICLES MANUFACTURED AFTER 12/1/2014 BUT HAS NOT PROVIDED A FIX FOR THE PROBLEM AND THE 4/2014 DEALER NOTICE INSTRUCTS THE DEALER NOT TO ATTEMPT A REPAIR. "4791 - 2014 ESCAPE 2014 FOCUS - ILLUMINATION DIMMER SETTING REVERTS BACK TO BRIGHT SOME 2014 ESCAPE VEHICLES BUILT ON OR BEFORE 12/01/2013 AND 2014 FOCUS VEHICLES BUILT ON OR BEFORE 12/08/2013 MAY EXHIBIT THE ILLUMINATION DIMMER SETTING REVERTING BACK TO BRIGHT AFTER A KEY CYCLE. ENGINEERING IS CURRENTLY INVESTIGATING THIS CONDITION THROUGH THE QUICKER SERVICE FIX (QSF) PROCESS. UNTIL A NEW SERVICE PROCEDURE AND/OR PARTS ARE AVAILABLE, DO NOT ATTEMPT REPAIR. MONITOR OASIS FOR UPDATES." THE FIX HAS OBVIOUSLY BEEN FOUND AS VEHICLES MANUFACTURED AFTER 12/1/2013 DO NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM, BUT IT APPEARS THAT FORD HAS NO INTENTION OF PROVIDING A REMEDY FOR THE OWNERS OF THE AFFECTED VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - CHCIAGO, IL
THE VEHICLE STALLED WITH NO WARNING, WOULD NOT RESTART. HAVE HAD FOR 6 WEEKS. HAS BEEN AT DEALERSHIP AND THEY CANNOT IDENTIFY PROBLEM. 5 SENSORS ARE NOT COMMUNICATING FROM THE ENGINE. THEY HAVE CHANGED COMPUTER IT RESTARTED AND DIED AGAIN. FORD INSISTS THEY ARE GOING TO FIX IT AND ARE GOING TO FORCE ME TO TAKE IT BACK.

View Details

TIRES

7/7/2014 - GROSSE POINTE, MI
HAVE A ONE MONTH OLD 2014 FORD ESCAPE WITH 1,380 MILES ON IT. WHILE DRIVING WEST ON NEWLY PAVED I-94 IN ST. CLAIR COUNTY, MY TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. TEN MINUTES LATER MY REAR PASSENGER TIRE BLEW IN FOUR SPOTS AROUND THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE. THE FORD DEALER TOLD ME I RAN OVER SOMETHING AND DISMISSED IT. I'VE HAD BLOWOUTS AND FLAT TIRES BEFORE BUT NOTHING WHERE THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE FAILS IN FOUR PLACES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/6/2014 - MILFORD, MI
A WARNING MESSAGE CAME ON SAYING THAT THE BRAKE FLUID WAS LOW, AND THAT I NEEDED TO TAKE THE CAR TO A DEALER. I DROVE HOME, A SHORT DISTANCE, AND DECIDED TO CHECK THE FLUID MYSELF. WHEN I OPENED THE HOOD I FOUND THE BRAKE FLUID RESERVOIR SITTING ON TOP OF THE ENGINE TIPPED DOWN SO THAT FLUID WAS NOT AVAILABLE TO THE BRAKE LINES. THERE WAS SOME FLUID LEFT BUT MOST HAD BEEN LOST. THE WARNING CAME ON WITHIN A FEW 100 YARDS OF MY HOME, IF I HAD BEEN ON A TRIP OR AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS THIS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY BAD. THE CAR WILL GO TO A DEALERSHIP TOMORROW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/6/2014 - GREAT FALLS , MT
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE IT'S APPROCH SENSOR WENT OFF. I THOUGHT IT WAS DUE TO BEING IN TRAFFIC BUT THEN IT WENT OFF ON A CONSTANT HIGH PITCH SQUEEL. IT LASTED FOR ABOUT 3 MINUTES THEN SHUT OFF. THEN WHEN I WAS ON THE HANDS FREE TELEPHONE DEVICE THROUGH THE FORD CONSAL IT WENT OFF AGAIN AND I COULD NOT STOP THE VERY HIGH PITCH SQUEEL AND I HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD AND PUT IT IN PARK. THEN IT HAPPENED WHILE SITTING AT A STOP SIGN. THE SQUEEL WAS SO LOUD I WANTED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO FORD AND ASK FOR A REFUND. I COULD NOT STOP THE SOUND AND IT SOUNDED LIKE MY SPEAKERS WERE ON HIGH BUT I COULDNT LOWER THE VOLUME. THIS WAS A NEW VEHICLE AND JUST DROVE IT OFF THE LOT ABOUT A MONTH OR LESS. IT HASN'T HAPPENED SINCE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

7/6/2014 - GREAT FALLS , MT
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE IT'S APPROCH SENSOR WENT OFF. I THOUGHT IT WAS DUE TO BEING IN TRAFFIC BUT THEN IT WENT OFF ON A CONSTANT HIGH PITCH SQUEEL. IT LASTED FOR ABOUT 3 MINUTES THEN SHUT OFF. THEN WHEN I WAS ON THE HANDS FREE TELEPHONE DEVICE THROUGH THE FORD CONSAL IT WENT OFF AGAIN AND I COULD NOT STOP THE VERY HIGH PITCH SQUEEL AND I HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD AND PUT IT IN PARK. THEN IT HAPPENED WHILE SITTING AT A STOP SIGN. THE SQUEEL WAS SO LOUD I WANTED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO FORD AND ASK FOR A REFUND. I COULD NOT STOP THE SOUND AND IT SOUNDED LIKE MY SPEAKERS WERE ON HIGH BUT I COULDNT LOWER THE VOLUME. THIS WAS A NEW VEHICLE AND JUST DROVE IT OFF THE LOT ABOUT A MONTH OR LESS. IT HASN'T HAPPENED SINCE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/6/2014 - GREAT FALLS , MT
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE IT'S APPROCH SENSOR WENT OFF. I THOUGHT IT WAS DUE TO BEING IN TRAFFIC BUT THEN IT WENT OFF ON A CONSTANT HIGH PITCH SQUEEL. IT LASTED FOR ABOUT 3 MINUTES THEN SHUT OFF. THEN WHEN I WAS ON THE HANDS FREE TELEPHONE DEVICE THROUGH THE FORD CONSAL IT WENT OFF AGAIN AND I COULD NOT STOP THE VERY HIGH PITCH SQUEEL AND I HAD TO PULL OFF THE ROAD AND PUT IT IN PARK. THEN IT HAPPENED WHILE SITTING AT A STOP SIGN. THE SQUEEL WAS SO LOUD I WANTED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO FORD AND ASK FOR A REFUND. I COULD NOT STOP THE SOUND AND IT SOUNDED LIKE MY SPEAKERS WERE ON HIGH BUT I COULDNT LOWER THE VOLUME. THIS WAS A NEW VEHICLE AND JUST DROVE IT OFF THE LOT ABOUT A MONTH OR LESS. IT HASN'T HAPPENED SINCE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/3/2014 - TAMP, FL
CAR IS FOR MY WIFE'S USAGE MAINLY. I DROVE THE CAR A FEW DAYS LATER AND NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL IS: TOO HIGH, (TOO CLOSE TO DRIVER'S REACH (FOOT), TO SMALL ANT TOO CLOSE TO THE ACELERATOR PEDAL. WHEN YOU SHIFT YOUR RIGHT FOOT FROM ACCELERATION TO BRAKING, I TOUCH THE SIDE OF THE BRAKE RUBBER PAD MANY TIMES AND NEED TO MAKE SURE I AM FULLY ON THE BRAKE PAD. THE PREVIOUS CAR WAS A 2012 FORD ESCAPE. NO PROBLEMS LIKE THIS. WE HAD MANY OTHER VEHICLES AND NEVER HAD THIS SITUATION. I AM 5' 10" 175 LBS., AND NEVER DRIVE CLOSE TO THE STEERING WHEEL. I HAVE CALLED FORD M. C. AND NO HELP OR CONCERN. THE SELLING DEALER SAYS THAT THEY CAN NOT DO ANYTHING....I AM FIRMLY CONVINCED THAT THE CAR DESIGNERS CAN MAKE A QUICK CHANGE TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM. HOW MANY ACCIDENTS COULD BE PREVENTED ? OTHER PERSONS AGREE WITH THIS PROBLEM. TANK YOU, SERAF-N A. GAUD+NS

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2014 - LEETONIA, OH
THE VEHICLE'S STEERING IS TOO SENSITIVE AT HIGHER SPEED. GENERALLY SPEAKING ABOVE 65 MPH ANY MOVEMENT OF THE STEERING WHEEL WILL CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO GO THAT DIRECTION. WHEN A CORRECTION IS MADE, THE VEHICLE GOES THE OPPOSITE WAY (TOO MUCH) WHICH TENDS TO MAKE VEHICLE FEEL AND LOOK AS IF IT WANDERS ON THE ROADWAY. FROM WHAT I UNDERSTAND THIS IS DUE TO "ELECTRONIC STEERING." MANY COMPLAINS ARE FOUND ONLINE OF THE SAME PROBLEM WITH OTHER DRIVERS. THIS IS A DANGEROUS CRASH CAUSING PROBLEM AND DRIVERS NEED TO BE ON HIGH ALERT FOR THIS POTENTIAL PROBLEM. I WOULD THINK IF THIS IS INVESTIGATED, CRASHES WITH CAUSES OF DRIVER INATTENTION WHEREAS A VEHICLE GOES OFF THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD OR LEFT OF CENTER, SENSITIVE STEERING MAYBE THE ROOT OF THE PROBLEM IN MANY CASES. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN INSPECTED BY TWO FORD DEALERSHIPS AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG. I FEEL THIS IS A ENGINEERING PROBLEM SUCH AS THE IGNITION SWITCHES ON THE GM PRODUCTS. THIS WAS ALL POINTED OUT TO THE REGIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER HEATHER NABB. FORD'S RESPONSE TO THIS PROBLEM IS UNTIL THERE IS A "FAILURE", THERE IS NOTHING THEY WILL DO.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2014 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT 55 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, THE ENGINE SUDDENLY STARTED RUNNING EXTREMELY ROUGH, JERKING AND LURCHING, WHILE LOSING POWER. THE "ENGINE FAULT - SERVICE NOW" WARNING DISPLAY ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED OUT. PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND DRIVE HOME WITH NO FURTHER PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds