Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 23 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Power Train (5) Steering (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (4) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Visibility Wiper (3)
Exterior Lighting (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/8/2014 - SCANDIA, MN
FRIDAY EVENING I NOTICED SOMETHING HANGING DOWN FROM THE FRONT OF MY CAR. THE HARD PLASTIC AND WHAT I WILL DESCRIBE AS FIRE RESISTANT INSULATOR WAS 1/2 OFF. THE PINK PLASTIC BOLT IN THE FRAME WAS BROKEN AND FURTHER BACK WHERE IT APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN ATTACHED WITH A METAL BOLT; THE HOLE AROUND IT ON THE PLASTIC WAS TOO LARGE. NOW THERE ARE VARIOUS ELECTRONIC PARTS, BELTS, ETC EXPOSED. I WAS TOLD BY FORD THAT SOMETHING HIT THE CAR OR PERHAPS HAD BEEN BACKED INTO BY ANOTHER VEHICLE NOT LEAVING VISIBLE DAMAGE, BUT CAUSING PRESSURE UNDERNEATH, OR THE HARSH MINNESOTA WINTER CAUSED THIS AS THEY ARE SEEING MANY THINGS BREAK.THERE ARE NO SIGNS OF ANY DAMAGE AND THEY REFUSED TO PUT IT UP ON THE JACK TO INSPECT. I DO NOT FEEL THAT FORD IS WILLING TO EVEN INVESTIGATE THEIR DEFECTIVE PARTS, IN FACT. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT A WARRANTY PROBLEM BUT RATHER AN INSURANCE ISSUE. SINCE I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH ALL OF THIS EXPOSED I HAVE TIED IT UP TO MY GRILL WITH TWINE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/8/2014 - SCANDIA, MN
FRIDAY EVENING I NOTICED SOMETHING HANGING DOWN FROM THE FRONT OF MY CAR. THE HARD PLASTIC AND WHAT I WILL DESCRIBE AS FIRE RESISTANT INSULATOR WAS 1/2 OFF. THE PINK PLASTIC BOLT IN THE FRAME WAS BROKEN AND FURTHER BACK WHERE IT APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN ATTACHED WITH A METAL BOLT; THE HOLE AROUND IT ON THE PLASTIC WAS TOO LARGE. NOW THERE ARE VARIOUS ELECTRONIC PARTS, BELTS, ETC EXPOSED. I WAS TOLD BY FORD THAT SOMETHING HIT THE CAR OR PERHAPS HAD BEEN BACKED INTO BY ANOTHER VEHICLE NOT LEAVING VISIBLE DAMAGE, BUT CAUSING PRESSURE UNDERNEATH, OR THE HARSH MINNESOTA WINTER CAUSED THIS AS THEY ARE SEEING MANY THINGS BREAK.THERE ARE NO SIGNS OF ANY DAMAGE AND THEY REFUSED TO PUT IT UP ON THE JACK TO INSPECT. I DO NOT FEEL THAT FORD IS WILLING TO EVEN INVESTIGATE THEIR DEFECTIVE PARTS, IN FACT. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS NOT A WARRANTY PROBLEM BUT RATHER AN INSURANCE ISSUE. SINCE I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH ALL OF THIS EXPOSED I HAVE TIED IT UP TO MY GRILL WITH TWINE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2014 - HEATH, TX
VEHICLE STOPPED AT STOP SIGN. ENGINE DIED. MOVED GEAR SELECTOR FROM DRIVE TO PARK AND RESTARTED WITH NO FURTHER INCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2014 - PALM COAST, FL
ON FEBRUARY 3, 2014 WHILE DRIVING ON I-95 A STONE FLEW UP OFF THE ROAD AND CRACKED THE WINDSHIELD. HAD THE WINDSHIELD REPAIRED BY SAFELITE. ON MARCH 12, 2014 THE SAME THING HAPPENED A SECOND TIME ON A DIFFERENT STRETCH OF I-95. HAD SAFELITE REPAIR THE WINDSHIELD. THIS MORNING APRIL 6, 2014 AGAIN ON I-95 AND THE WINDSHIELD GOT CRACKED FOR A THIRD TIME. HAVE DRIVEN FOR 53 YEARS WITH ONLY ONE CRACKED WINDSHIELD PREVIOUSLY AND HAVE HAD THREE WITHIN 62 DAYS!!! GREATLY CONCERNED THAT ANYTHING LARGER THAN A SMALL PEBBLE MAY CAUSE THE ENTIRE WINDSHIELD TO DISINTEGRATE WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE. WILL TAKE TO FORD DEALER TOMORROW OR TUESDAY FOR THEM TO EXAMINE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/6/2014 - PALM COAST, FL
ON FEBRUARY 3, 2014 WHILE DRIVING ON I-95 A STONE FLEW UP OFF THE ROAD AND CRACKED THE WINDSHIELD. HAD THE WINDSHIELD REPAIRED BY SAFELITE. ON MARCH 12, 2014 THE SAME THING HAPPENED A SECOND TIME ON A DIFFERENT STRETCH OF I-95. HAD SAFELITE REPAIR THE WINDSHIELD. THIS MORNING APRIL 6, 2014 AGAIN ON I-95 AND THE WINDSHIELD GOT CRACKED FOR A THIRD TIME. HAVE DRIVEN FOR 53 YEARS WITH ONLY ONE CRACKED WINDSHIELD PREVIOUSLY AND HAVE HAD THREE WITHIN 62 DAYS!!! GREATLY CONCERNED THAT ANYTHING LARGER THAN A SMALL PEBBLE MAY CAUSE THE ENTIRE WINDSHIELD TO DISINTEGRATE WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE. WILL TAKE TO FORD DEALER TOMORROW OR TUESDAY FOR THEM TO EXAMINE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2014 - EASTON, PA
I BOUGHT A NEW FORD ESCAPE IN FEBRUARY 2014. SINCE DAY ONE I HAVE NOTICED AN EXHAUST SMELL IN CABIN WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PUT INTO REVERSE AND OCCASIONALLY WHEN DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS. SIMILAR TO WHAT OTHER CUSTOMER COMPLAINED. I WILL BRING THIS TO THE ATTENTION OF MY FORD DEALERSHIP WHEN IT GOES IN FOR MAINTENANCE SERVICE WHEN IT REACHES 10,000 MILES, BUT MAYBE SOONER TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - PISCATOWAY, NJ
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEATING SYSTEM AND THE DEFROSTER FAILED. THE AUTOMATIC REMOTE ALSO FAILED TO ACTIVATE THE SYSTEM HEAT. THE CONTACT HAD TO LET THE ENGINE RUN FOR A FEW MINUTES TO BE ABLE TO HEAT THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A FAILURE CODE THEREFORE THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS NOT A FIX FOR THE HEATING FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,500 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 2,400. KMJ

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - FOXBORO, MA
LEASED THIS VEHICLE IN AUGUST, 2013. SINCE DAY ONE I HAVE NOTICED AN EXHAUST SMELL IN CABIN WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PUT INTO REVERSE AND OCCASIONALLY WHEN DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS. I AM SENSITIVE TO ODORS IN GENERAL AND MY FAMILY MEMBERS ONLY SMELLED IT OCCASIONALLY, SO I DISREGARDED UNTIL RECENTLY THE ODORS ARE BECOMING STRONGER INSIDE THE CABIN AND NOT CLEARING WHEN WINDOWS ARE LOWERED TO AIR OUT. I WILL BRING THIS TO THE ATTENTION OF MY FORD DEALERSHIP WHEN IT GOES IN FOR MAINTENANCE SERVICE WHEN IT REACHES 10,000 MILES, BUT MAYBE SOONER TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE 2014 FORD ESCAPE HAS A SOFTWARE/HARDWARE BUG IN WHICH THE INTERIOR INSTRUMENT PANEL DIMMER DOES NOT RETAIN ITS MANUAL DIMMER SETTINGS. AFTER 20-30 MINUTES WITH THE VEHICLE POWERED OFF, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER DIMMER SETTING REVERTS TO MAXIMUM BRIGHTNESS AUTOMATICALLY. MORE THAN AN INCONVENIENCE, THIS BUG IS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS. IF A DRIVER PERCEIVES THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER TO BE TOO BRIGHT, THE DRIVER MUST MANUALLY DIM THE INSTRUMENT PANEL EVERY TIME IT IS DARK ENOUGH THAT THE EXTERIOR LIGHTS ARE REQUIRED TO DRIVE. FORD WILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THE DESIGN BUG AT THIS TIME BECAUSE THEY DO NOT THINK IT BOTHERS ENOUGH CUSTOMERS. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE IF A DRIVER HAPPENS TO BECOME TIRED OF DIMMING THE INSTRUMENT PANEL EACH NIGHT OR IF THEY SIMPLY FORGET TO DIM THEM ONE TIME, THEY COULD BECOME UNWITTINGLY DISTRACTED BY THE INTERIOR BRIGHTNESS AND CAUSE A TRAFFIC INCIDENT. I BELIEVE THIS IS A LEGITIMATE SAFETY CONCERN AND WOULD LIKE TO SEE FORD BE ENCOURAGED TO ADDRESS IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE 2014 FORD ESCAPE HAS A SOFTWARE/HARDWARE BUG IN WHICH THE INTERIOR INSTRUMENT PANEL DIMMER DOES NOT RETAIN ITS MANUAL DIMMER SETTINGS. AFTER 20-30 MINUTES WITH THE VEHICLE POWERED OFF, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER DIMMER SETTING REVERTS TO MAXIMUM BRIGHTNESS AUTOMATICALLY. MORE THAN AN INCONVENIENCE, THIS BUG IS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS. IF A DRIVER PERCEIVES THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER TO BE TOO BRIGHT, THE DRIVER MUST MANUALLY DIM THE INSTRUMENT PANEL EVERY TIME IT IS DARK ENOUGH THAT THE EXTERIOR LIGHTS ARE REQUIRED TO DRIVE. FORD WILL NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THE DESIGN BUG AT THIS TIME BECAUSE THEY DO NOT THINK IT BOTHERS ENOUGH CUSTOMERS. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE IF A DRIVER HAPPENS TO BECOME TIRED OF DIMMING THE INSTRUMENT PANEL EACH NIGHT OR IF THEY SIMPLY FORGET TO DIM THEM ONE TIME, THEY COULD BECOME UNWITTINGLY DISTRACTED BY THE INTERIOR BRIGHTNESS AND CAUSE A TRAFFIC INCIDENT. I BELIEVE THIS IS A LEGITIMATE SAFETY CONCERN AND WOULD LIKE TO SEE FORD BE ENCOURAGED TO ADDRESS IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds