Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 58 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Power Train (9) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (10) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/21/2014 - NEW BERLIN, IL
LOST POWER TO TRANSMISSION WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PASS A VEHICLE, ENGINE REV WAS HIGHER LOST POWER IN TRANSMISSION, THEN IT KICKED BACK IN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/20/2014 - MILLSBORO, DE
THERE'S A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE IN THE ESCAPE, ESPECIALLY AFTER FILLING IT UP WITH GAS. I HAVE ALSO NOTICED A LEAK OF GAS UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/19/2014 - BORGER, TX
I WAS DRIVING ALONG WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON AT 73 MPH, WHEN I COULD NO LONGER ACCELERATE, MY ESCAPE JUST DIED WITH NO WARNING LIGHTS, STALL OUT OR ANYTHING. JUST AS IF SOMEONE TURNED IT OFF. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND TRIED TO START IT AGAIN WITH NO LUCK. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY OVER, IT SEEMED LIKE IT WANTED TO START BUT WAS NOT GETTING THE GAS TO. I TRIED 3 MORE TIME AND FINALLY CALLED FORD ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST FORD DEALERSHIP. I AM WAITING ON A REPLY (WITH NO LOANER ETC) THE REASON I BUY NEW IS FOR PEACE OF MIND. NOT EVEN , 10,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND IT BRAKES? WHAT GIVES. I HAVE ALREADY TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALER ONCE (THE DAY AFTER I BOUGHT IT) BECAUSE IT TRIES TO STALL WHEN SWITCHING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, BUT THE DEALER MADE SOME EXCUSE AND SAID TO WATCH AND SEE IF IT CONTINUES. I AM JUST GLAD THAT I WAS WITHIN CELL PHONE SIGNAL RANGE BECAUSE I HAD JUST NOT BEEN A FEW MINUTES BEFORE (SCARY).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2014 - BORGER, TX
I WAS DRIVING ALONG WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON AT 73 MPH, WHEN I COULD NO LONGER ACCELERATE, MY ESCAPE JUST DIED WITH NO WARNING LIGHTS, STALL OUT OR ANYTHING. JUST AS IF SOMEONE TURNED IT OFF. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND TRIED TO START IT AGAIN WITH NO LUCK. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY OVER, IT SEEMED LIKE IT WANTED TO START BUT WAS NOT GETTING THE GAS TO. I TRIED 3 MORE TIME AND FINALLY CALLED FORD ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST FORD DEALERSHIP. I AM WAITING ON A REPLY (WITH NO LOANER ETC) THE REASON I BUY NEW IS FOR PEACE OF MIND. NOT EVEN , 10,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND IT BRAKES? WHAT GIVES. I HAVE ALREADY TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALER ONCE (THE DAY AFTER I BOUGHT IT) BECAUSE IT TRIES TO STALL WHEN SWITCHING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, BUT THE DEALER MADE SOME EXCUSE AND SAID TO WATCH AND SEE IF IT CONTINUES. I AM JUST GLAD THAT I WAS WITHIN CELL PHONE SIGNAL RANGE BECAUSE I HAD JUST NOT BEEN A FEW MINUTES BEFORE (SCARY).

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2014 - BORGER, TX
I WAS DRIVING ALONG WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON AT 73 MPH, WHEN I COULD NO LONGER ACCELERATE, MY ESCAPE JUST DIED WITH NO WARNING LIGHTS, STALL OUT OR ANYTHING. JUST AS IF SOMEONE TURNED IT OFF. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND TRIED TO START IT AGAIN WITH NO LUCK. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY OVER, IT SEEMED LIKE IT WANTED TO START BUT WAS NOT GETTING THE GAS TO. I TRIED 3 MORE TIME AND FINALLY CALLED FORD ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST FORD DEALERSHIP. I AM WAITING ON A REPLY (WITH NO LOANER ETC) THE REASON I BUY NEW IS FOR PEACE OF MIND. NOT EVEN , 10,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND IT BRAKES? WHAT GIVES. I HAVE ALREADY TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALER ONCE (THE DAY AFTER I BOUGHT IT) BECAUSE IT TRIES TO STALL WHEN SWITCHING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, BUT THE DEALER MADE SOME EXCUSE AND SAID TO WATCH AND SEE IF IT CONTINUES. I AM JUST GLAD THAT I WAS WITHIN CELL PHONE SIGNAL RANGE BECAUSE I HAD JUST NOT BEEN A FEW MINUTES BEFORE (SCARY).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/16/2014 - BONO, AR
THE REAR HATCH WHERE THE HANDLE BAR IS TO CLOSE THE BACK HATCH HAS RIPPED OFF. THIS IS NOW HANGING AND HAS CAUSED THE BACK PLASTIC PIECE THAT HOLDS MY WINDOW, WINDSHIELD WIPER, AND WHERE I AM SUPPOSED TO PULL THE HATCH DOOR DOWN TO BE USELESS. IT JUST FLAPS NOW. I CANT SHUT MY DOOR WITH THE HANDLE THAT WAS PROVIDED SINCE IT FELL OFF!! I HOPE THIS DOESN'T MAKE MY WINDSHIELD LEAK OR HURT THE WIPER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/16/2014 - PRINCETON, MO
VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR NHTSA 14V-237 (SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT RECALL). AFTER THE WORK WAS SUPPOSEDLY DONE, THE CLOCK NO LONGER WORKS. THE COMPLAINT IS IF THE CLOCK NO LONGER WORKS WILL THE AIRBAGS WORK OR WHAT OTHER SAFETY FEATURES WERE AFFECTED THAT MY NOT WORK.

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/16/2014 - RICHARDSON, TX
2014 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SHIELD AND GAS TANK DAMAGES. THE CONSUMER RAN OVER A METAL STRIP IN THE ROAD. THE METAL STRIP HE RAN OVER, PUNCTURED A HOLE IN THE SHIELD AND GAS TANK. THE DEALER REPLACED THE GAS TANK AND SHIELD. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE SHIELD WAS FLIMSY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/16/2014 - RICHARDSON, TX
2014 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SHIELD AND GAS TANK DAMAGES. THE CONSUMER RAN OVER A METAL STRIP IN THE ROAD. THE METAL STRIP HE RAN OVER, PUNCTURED A HOLE IN THE SHIELD AND GAS TANK. THE DEALER REPLACED THE GAS TANK AND SHIELD. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE SHIELD WAS FLIMSY.

View Details

SEATS

10/7/2014 - ALLEN PARK, MI
I WAS DRIVING ON SOUTHFIELD FREEWAY IN MICHIGAN ABOUT 5:15 PM, I WAS IN THE LEFT LANE WHEN TRAFFIC STOPPED. I STOPPED ALONG WITH THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. AT THIS TIME THE CAR BEHIND DID NOT STOP GOING SOMEWHERE BETWEEN 20-40MPH HIT MY CAR IN THE BACK AND PUSHED ME INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY EVEN THOUGH I GOT HIT FROM BEHIND AND PUSHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE FORCE WAS SO STRONG THAT IT BROKE MY DRIVER SEAT AND MY GLOVE BOX. MY FORD ESCAPE WAS TOTAL LOSS IN THE ACCIDENT. I SUFFERED SOME BUMPS AND BRUISES AND WHIPLASH AND DID GO TO THE ER FOR THESE INJURES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds