Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 314 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (38) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (28)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (38) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (24) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Seats (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (91) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (8) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

10/11/2017 - SOUTH PRINCE GEORGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (OWEN FORD INC, 402 BLUE STAR HWY, JARRATT, VA 23867) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

10/11/2017 - ROSAMOND, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED (ANTELOPE VALLEY FORD, LANCASTER, CA, 888-483-0454) AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2017 - BELFAIR, WA
DRIVING MY 2014 ESCAPE TO WORK I WAS ON A 35 MPH STREET, AN ALERT WARNING CAME ON TELLING ME THE ENGINE WAS HOT AND TO SAFELY STOP VEHICLE. MY TEMPERATURE GAUGE NEEDLE WAS AT THE HOT. I PULLED OVER AND IT SLOWLY WENT BACK DOWN ENOUGH WHERE I GOT TO MY DESTINATION A MILE AWAY. WHEN CHECKED, MY COOLANT OVERFLOW WAS COMPLETELY EMPTY. I HAD SOMEONE TAKE ME TO PURCHASE THE CORRECT COOLANT AND REPLACED IT BEFORE STARTING THE VEHICLE. WHEN I RETURNED HOME AND CHECKED THE LEVEL, THE COOLANT WAS AGAIN LOW. THE ENGINE WAS EXTREMELY HOT TO THE TOUCH, INCLUDING THE HANDLE TO LATCH OPEN THE HOOD. I REMEMBERED A RECALL ON MY VEHICLE, 17S09/ NHTSA RECALL 17V-209, AND WAS WAITING FOR THE SECOND RECALL LETTER WHEN THE PARTS WERE GOING TO BE AVAILABLE FOR REPAIRS. IT STATED IF THE VEHICLE LEAKED COOLANT OR BECAME HOT, IT COULD CAUSE POSSIBLE OIL LEAK AND CRACK IN THE CYLINDER HEAD, AND EVEN FIRE! I CALLED BRUCE TITUS FORD IN PORT ORCHARD WASHINGTON AND THE SERVICE GUY TOLD ME NOT TO DRIVE IT AND IT WAS TOWED TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY DID TESTS AND FOUND THAT THAT ALERT MESSAGE OF VEHICLE GETTING HOT, ETC SHOWED BUT THEY DID A PRESSURE TEST AND SO ON AND COULD NOT SEE WHERE THE COOLANT WAS GOING. THEY TOLD ME THERE WERE STILL NO PARTS AVAILABLE FOR THE, (ENHANCEMENT TO THE COOLANT PROBLEM), NOT THE FIX! APPARENTLY THE RECALL SAYS THE ENHANCEMENT PART IS A SENSOR WHICH TELLS ME THE COOLANT IS GETTING LOW. SO WITHOUT IT BEING FIXED, I WAS TOLD TO COME GET THE VEHICLE AND KEEP REFILLING AS NEEDED! I WAS TOLD THEY COULD REPLACE THE COOLANT OVERFLOW BOTTLE BUT IT WAS NOT ONLY ON BACK ORDER, BUT WOULD COST ME $400! COOLANT IS LEAKING AT WORK AND IN DRIVEWAYS AND A HAZARD TO MINE AND OTHERS PETS! I'VE SPENT $40 ON COOLANT SO FAR AND CANT KEEP DOING THIS! I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO. ONLY 52,000 MILES, MY ONLY TRANSPORTATION, AND I'M STILL PAYING OUT $458 PAYMENTS AND INSURANCE!

View Details

STEERING

10/10/2017 - HOMESTEAD, FL
POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE. NUMEROUS TIMES IN THE LAST MONTH THE POWER STEERING DOES NOT ENGAGE RIGHT AWAY.TODAY 10/10/17 I RECEIVED A WARNING TO SERVICE POWER STEERING ASSIST.VERY COSTLY CANNOT AFFORD 1400 DOLLARS AT THIS TIME.FROM SOME RESEARCH FORD IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
10/7/17 APPROX 6:30 PM WHILE ENTERING ON RAMP ONTO FRWAY AT APPROX 35 MPH, DRIVING DIST OF LESS THAN 1/2 TO 3/4 MILE FROM LAST PARKED STOP, INDICATOR DASH MEMO OF "ENGINE TEMP HIGH PULL OVER SAFELY", NO INDICATION ON ENGINE TEMPERATURE GAUGE AS IT REGISTERED BELOW MID MARK. PULLLED OVER ON FRWAY INTO CLOSED LANES, TURNED OFF ENGINE. TURNED ON AGAIN TO ADVANCE 10 FT OUT OF WAY OF ONRAMP VEHICLES, TEMP GAUGE INDICATED "H", TURNED OFF ENGINE. CALLED FOR TOW, TECH COULD NOT START ENG, BATTERY DEAD. TOWED HOME (LESS THAN 2-4 MILES), ENGINE OFF WITH TICKING SOUND THAT COULD BE HEARD ACROSS GRILL. TODAY, 10/8/17 THIS AM CHECKED COOLANT AND EMPTY. NO INDICATION OF ENG RUNNING "HOT" OR NO FLUID LOW INDICATOR LIGHT/WARNING. THERE WAS NEVER ANY WARNING LIGHTS, ETC TIME DRIVING FROM 9/27/17 THRU 10/7/17.. 9/27/17 I HAD ROUTINE OIL CHANGE, FLUIDS CHECKS W/RECEIPT OF DEALER PERFORMING ALL WORK AND CHECKS PRIOR TO A TRIP OF APPROX 346 MI EA WAY, TRAVELED APPROX 20 ADDITIONAL MI FROM 10/3/17-10/7/17 AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION OVERHTING OF ENGINE AND I HAD TO EXPECT COOLANT WAS FULL, NOT LOW AS IT WAS SERVICED APPROX 9 DAYS PRIOR. 9/27/17 I ALSO SPECIFICALLY ASKED SERVICE REP AND TECH IF FLUIDS WERE CHECKED BOTH STATED YES,OKAY, ALSO INDICATED ON SERVICE RECEIPT.THEY PERFORM A COMPLETE CHECK OF FLUIDS, HOSES, ETC. TO KNOW IF FORD ESCAPES, 2014 OR OTHERS, HAVE HAD COMPLAINTS REGARDING OVERHEATING W/O WARNINGS AND/OR IF THERE IS A POSSIBILITY OF THIS FORD ENGINE HAVING A RECORD OF THESE PROBLEMS AND COMPLAINTS W/DEALER WHO DOES ALL ROUTINE MAINT ON MY VEHICLE AND ANY COMPLAINTS R/T BELL FORD, PHX SERDEPT REGARDING SAME ISSUE? READ FORDESCAPE.ORG THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL FOR ENGINES CATCH FIRE DUE TO OVERHTING/COOLANT, #17S09 IS IT VALID? I WILL BE ARRANGING TOWING FROM MY HOME TO DEALERSHIP MY VEHICLE&PERFORMED LAST MAINT&OIL CHANGE ON 9 /27/17: BELL FORD, PHXAZ 85023

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
10/7/17 APPROX 6:30 PM WHILE ENTERING ON RAMP ONTO FRWAY AT APPROX 35 MPH, DRIVING DIST OF LESS THAN 1/2 TO 3/4 MILE FROM LAST PARKED STOP, INDICATOR DASH MEMO OF "ENGINE TEMP HIGH PULL OVER SAFELY", NO INDICATION ON ENGINE TEMPERATURE GAUGE AS IT REGISTERED BELOW MID MARK. PULLLED OVER ON FRWAY INTO CLOSED LANES, TURNED OFF ENGINE. TURNED ON AGAIN TO ADVANCE 10 FT OUT OF WAY OF ONRAMP VEHICLES, TEMP GAUGE INDICATED "H", TURNED OFF ENGINE. CALLED FOR TOW, TECH COULD NOT START ENG, BATTERY DEAD. TOWED HOME (LESS THAN 2-4 MILES), ENGINE OFF WITH TICKING SOUND THAT COULD BE HEARD ACROSS GRILL. TODAY, 10/8/17 THIS AM CHECKED COOLANT AND EMPTY. NO INDICATION OF ENG RUNNING "HOT" OR NO FLUID LOW INDICATOR LIGHT/WARNING. THERE WAS NEVER ANY WARNING LIGHTS, ETC TIME DRIVING FROM 9/27/17 THRU 10/7/17.. 9/27/17 I HAD ROUTINE OIL CHANGE, FLUIDS CHECKS W/RECEIPT OF DEALER PERFORMING ALL WORK AND CHECKS PRIOR TO A TRIP OF APPROX 346 MI EA WAY, TRAVELED APPROX 20 ADDITIONAL MI FROM 10/3/17-10/7/17 AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION OVERHTING OF ENGINE AND I HAD TO EXPECT COOLANT WAS FULL, NOT LOW AS IT WAS SERVICED APPROX 9 DAYS PRIOR. 9/27/17 I ALSO SPECIFICALLY ASKED SERVICE REP AND TECH IF FLUIDS WERE CHECKED BOTH STATED YES,OKAY, ALSO INDICATED ON SERVICE RECEIPT.THEY PERFORM A COMPLETE CHECK OF FLUIDS, HOSES, ETC. TO KNOW IF FORD ESCAPES, 2014 OR OTHERS, HAVE HAD COMPLAINTS REGARDING OVERHEATING W/O WARNINGS AND/OR IF THERE IS A POSSIBILITY OF THIS FORD ENGINE HAVING A RECORD OF THESE PROBLEMS AND COMPLAINTS W/DEALER WHO DOES ALL ROUTINE MAINT ON MY VEHICLE AND ANY COMPLAINTS R/T BELL FORD, PHX SERDEPT REGARDING SAME ISSUE? READ FORDESCAPE.ORG THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL FOR ENGINES CATCH FIRE DUE TO OVERHTING/COOLANT, #17S09 IS IT VALID? I WILL BE ARRANGING TOWING FROM MY HOME TO DEALERSHIP MY VEHICLE&PERFORMED LAST MAINT&OIL CHANGE ON 9 /27/17: BELL FORD, PHXAZ 85023

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/8/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
10/7/17 APPROX 6:30 PM WHILE ENTERING ON RAMP ONTO FRWAY AT APPROX 35 MPH, DRIVING DIST OF LESS THAN 1/2 TO 3/4 MILE FROM LAST PARKED STOP, INDICATOR DASH MEMO OF "ENGINE TEMP HIGH PULL OVER SAFELY", NO INDICATION ON ENGINE TEMPERATURE GAUGE AS IT REGISTERED BELOW MID MARK. PULLLED OVER ON FRWAY INTO CLOSED LANES, TURNED OFF ENGINE. TURNED ON AGAIN TO ADVANCE 10 FT OUT OF WAY OF ONRAMP VEHICLES, TEMP GAUGE INDICATED "H", TURNED OFF ENGINE. CALLED FOR TOW, TECH COULD NOT START ENG, BATTERY DEAD. TOWED HOME (LESS THAN 2-4 MILES), ENGINE OFF WITH TICKING SOUND THAT COULD BE HEARD ACROSS GRILL. TODAY, 10/8/17 THIS AM CHECKED COOLANT AND EMPTY. NO INDICATION OF ENG RUNNING "HOT" OR NO FLUID LOW INDICATOR LIGHT/WARNING. THERE WAS NEVER ANY WARNING LIGHTS, ETC TIME DRIVING FROM 9/27/17 THRU 10/7/17.. 9/27/17 I HAD ROUTINE OIL CHANGE, FLUIDS CHECKS W/RECEIPT OF DEALER PERFORMING ALL WORK AND CHECKS PRIOR TO A TRIP OF APPROX 346 MI EA WAY, TRAVELED APPROX 20 ADDITIONAL MI FROM 10/3/17-10/7/17 AND THERE WAS NO INDICATION OVERHTING OF ENGINE AND I HAD TO EXPECT COOLANT WAS FULL, NOT LOW AS IT WAS SERVICED APPROX 9 DAYS PRIOR. 9/27/17 I ALSO SPECIFICALLY ASKED SERVICE REP AND TECH IF FLUIDS WERE CHECKED BOTH STATED YES,OKAY, ALSO INDICATED ON SERVICE RECEIPT.THEY PERFORM A COMPLETE CHECK OF FLUIDS, HOSES, ETC. TO KNOW IF FORD ESCAPES, 2014 OR OTHERS, HAVE HAD COMPLAINTS REGARDING OVERHEATING W/O WARNINGS AND/OR IF THERE IS A POSSIBILITY OF THIS FORD ENGINE HAVING A RECORD OF THESE PROBLEMS AND COMPLAINTS W/DEALER WHO DOES ALL ROUTINE MAINT ON MY VEHICLE AND ANY COMPLAINTS R/T BELL FORD, PHX SERDEPT REGARDING SAME ISSUE? READ FORDESCAPE.ORG THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL FOR ENGINES CATCH FIRE DUE TO OVERHTING/COOLANT, #17S09 IS IT VALID? I WILL BE ARRANGING TOWING FROM MY HOME TO DEALERSHIP MY VEHICLE&PERFORMED LAST MAINT&OIL CHANGE ON 9 /27/17: BELL FORD, PHXAZ 85023

View Details

ENGINE

10/5/2017 - FLORISSANT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BOMMARITO FORD (675 DUNN RD, HAZELWOOD, MO 63042) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PRESSURE TEST PASSED AND THE VEHICLE WAS FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER OPENED CASE NUMBER: 13094886, BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/5/2017 - CLEVELAND, TN
STARTED CAR AND DROVE TO WORK EVERYTHING WAS WORKING NORMAL. GOT IN CAR TO RETURN HOME FROM WORK ON THE SAME DAY. STARTED VEHICLE AND MY FORD TOUCH SCREEN WENT BLACK WITH NO WARNING. RADIO STOPPED WORKING AND ANY SOUND FROM BLUETOOTH PHONE CONNECTION NOT WORKING.SCREEN IS COMPLETELY BLACK AND OCCASIONALLY "SYNC" IN WHITE LETTERS WILL APPEAR, BUT NOTHING ELSE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2017 - OPEVALLE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V209000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TASCA FORD (1300 PONTIAC AVE, CRANSTON, RI 02920, PHONE NUMBER: (401) 681-1300), BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO LACK OF PARTS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds