Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (21) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/1/2015 - ENDICOTT, NY
I BOUGHT THIS CAR A YEAR AGO, AND PUT A ROAD SAFETY KIT UNDER THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. LAST WEEK MY PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE AIRBAG WAS DISCONNECTED. THE DEALER SAID A WIRE BROKE BECAUSE THAT KIT WAS UNDER THE SEAT. THEY ARE CHARGING ME OVER $200.00 TO REPLACE THIS BROKEN WIRE AND PIGTAIL! THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN THAT SUCH A SMALL ITEM CAN DISARM A BIG SAFETY FEATURE. WHY IS THIS AREA SO ACCESSIBLE TO SUCH A PROBLEM? THIS IS A BIG ENGINEERING DEFECT ON FORD'S PART. THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE RECALLED AND HAVE A GUARD OF SOME SORT INSTALLED TO KEEP THIS FROM HAPPENING. EVEN A CHILD COULD KICK SOMETHING SMALL, EVEN A BABY BOTTLE, UNDER THE SEAT. THEN, THE AIRBAG WOULD NOT WORK AS AN ADULT GOT INTO THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2015 - SAN CARLOS, CA
WHILE PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT, THE A/C WAS TURNED ON. THERE WAS A GRINDING NOISE, SMOKE STARTING COMING UP FROM THE HOOD AND OUT THE WHEEL WELL, AND THE ENGINE STALLED OUT, LEAVING THE CAR IN HALF WAY OUT IN TRAFFIC. EACH TIME THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED, IT STALLED OUT AGAIN RIGHT AWAY. FINALLY THE VEHICLE WAS PUSHED OUT OF THE ROAD AND INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT FOR TOWING. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THE COMPRESSOR BLEW AND SENT METAL SHRAPNEL THROUGHOUT THE HOOD, PENETRATING RUBBER HOSES AND BELTS, AND CAUSING THE CAR TO STOP RUNNING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2015 - SAN CARLOS, CA
WHILE PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT, THE A/C WAS TURNED ON. THERE WAS A GRINDING NOISE, SMOKE STARTING COMING UP FROM THE HOOD AND OUT THE WHEEL WELL, AND THE ENGINE STALLED OUT, LEAVING THE CAR IN HALF WAY OUT IN TRAFFIC. EACH TIME THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED, IT STALLED OUT AGAIN RIGHT AWAY. FINALLY THE VEHICLE WAS PUSHED OUT OF THE ROAD AND INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT FOR TOWING. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THE COMPRESSOR BLEW AND SENT METAL SHRAPNEL THROUGHOUT THE HOOD, PENETRATING RUBBER HOSES AND BELTS, AND CAUSING THE CAR TO STOP RUNNING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2015 - LEOLA, PA
I HAVE ISSUED A COMPLAINT ABOUT THREE AND A HALF MONTHS AGO. AGAIN, MY MOTHER IS STILL HAVING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH HER CAR. ON APRIL 22ND, SHE STATED THAT SHE WAS GOING UP A HILL, AND THE CAR SUDDENLY STARTED REVVING TO 4000-5000RPM. AT ONE POINT, SHE SAID SHE LIGHTLY WENT ON THE GAS TO SEE IF THE FUEL WOULD KICK IN AND IT REVVED UP 500 RPM PAST THE REDLINE, AND STILL NO ACCELERATION. ONE DAY, MY MOM IS GOING TO END UP BEING REAR-ENDED WHEN THIS HAPPENS AND I WOULD NOT LIKE THAT TO HAPPEN. FORD ABSOLUTELY NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. I'VE SCROLLED THROUGH ALL COMPLAINTS OF THIS MODEL YEAR AND I'VE SEEN THAT AT LEAST 50 PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THESE PROBLEMS. FORD MUST FIX THIS (THAT MEANS ISSUE RECALLS!!!)!!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

4/29/2015 - LEOLA, PA
I HAVE ISSUED A COMPLAINT ABOUT THREE AND A HALF MONTHS AGO. AGAIN, MY MOTHER IS STILL HAVING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH HER CAR. ON APRIL 22ND, SHE STATED THAT SHE WAS GOING UP A HILL, AND THE CAR SUDDENLY STARTED REVVING TO 4000-5000RPM. AT ONE POINT, SHE SAID SHE LIGHTLY WENT ON THE GAS TO SEE IF THE FUEL WOULD KICK IN AND IT REVVED UP 500 RPM PAST THE REDLINE, AND STILL NO ACCELERATION. ONE DAY, MY MOM IS GOING TO END UP BEING REAR-ENDED WHEN THIS HAPPENS AND I WOULD NOT LIKE THAT TO HAPPEN. FORD ABSOLUTELY NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. I'VE SCROLLED THROUGH ALL COMPLAINTS OF THIS MODEL YEAR AND I'VE SEEN THAT AT LEAST 50 PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THESE PROBLEMS. FORD MUST FIX THIS (THAT MEANS ISSUE RECALLS!!!)!!!!!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/6/2015 - LOCKPORT, IL
WINDSHIELD WIPER FLUID LEAKING IN CAR, LEAK IN HOSE. WHEN FIXED DIDNT SEAL WINDSHIELD PROPERLY CAUSING RAIN TO COME INTO VEHICLE CAUSING UNSAFE DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/6/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
2014 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND ALMOST CAME TO A STOP. THE LIGHTS ON THE TRANSMISSION BOX STARTED TO FLICKER FROM DRIVE TO NEUTRAL, ETC. THERE WAS A LOUD NOISE, SO THE CONSUMER PUT THE VEHICLE IN SPORT MODE AND THEN INTO DRIVE. THE GEAR THEN SHIFTED OUT OF DRIVE ON ITS OWN AND LOST POWER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - PALM COAST, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:15V005000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
ONCE AGAIN VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR OVER AN HOUR. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO START. ALL DASH LIGHTS AND HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, WINDOWS, ETC. WOULD FUNCTION, BUT NO INDICATION OF IGNITION WHEN KEY WAS TURNED. TRIED BOTH KEYS TO MAKE SURE IT WAS NOT A BAD KEY. NEITHER KEY WORKED. LEFT CAR WHERE PARKED OVERNIGHT AND RETURNED IN THE MORNING. CAR STARTED. CALLED DEALER AND IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR IN, RATHER THAN HAVE IT TOWED IN. I DID. I LEFT THE CAR AT THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED LATER THAT DAY THAT THEY HAD BEEN ABLE TO VERIFY MY COMPLIANT. THEY INDICATED THAT IT WAS A BUILD UP OF RESISTANCE IN A WIRE THEN THE ENGINE WAS HOT. IT WAS WRAPPED AND I WAS ASSURED THE I WOULD NO LONGER HAVE THE PROBLEM. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT SOME 2013-14 FORD ESCAPES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR INSUFFICIENT COMPRESSION OF CASING AROUND THE WIRING, CAUSING EXACTLY THE PROBLEMS I HAVE BEEN HAVING. ALL THE POTENTIAL PROBLEMS LISTED IN THE RECALL, SHORT OF A POSSIBLE CRASH HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCED TO DATE! MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED AT ONE OF THE AFFECTED ASSEMBLY PLANTS DURING THE AFFECTED DATES. HOWEVER, THE RECALL INDICATES 2.0 LITER ENGINES. MINE IS A 1.6 LITER ENGINE. THEREFORE, DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME AND ASSURED ME THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN SOLVED. I REQUESTED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS BE REPLACED BECAUSE I FELT UNSAFE IN MY VEHICLE AND WAS AFRAID THAT IT WOULD STOP SUDDENLY AND I COULD CRASH. I WAS TOLD THAT REPAIR WAS NOT POSSIBLE, BECAUSE MY SPECIFIC VIN WAS NOT RECALLED. I WAS ASSURED THAT I SHOULD HAVE NO FURTHER PROBLEMS. I ACCEPTED THE RETURN OF MY VEHICLE, WITH THE ASSURANCE THAT IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WE WOULD ESCALATE MY REQUEST FOR REPLACEMENT OF THE WIRING HARNESS. THE DEALER HAD MY CAR FOR OVER A WEEK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
ONCE AGAIN VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR OVER AN HOUR. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO START. ALL DASH LIGHTS AND HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, WINDOWS, ETC. WOULD FUNCTION, BUT NO INDICATION OF IGNITION WHEN KEY WAS TURNED. TRIED BOTH KEYS TO MAKE SURE IT WAS NOT A BAD KEY. NEITHER KEY WORKED. LEFT CAR WHERE PARKED OVERNIGHT AND RETURNED IN THE MORNING. CAR STARTED. CALLED DEALER AND IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR IN, RATHER THAN HAVE IT TOWED IN. I DID. I LEFT THE CAR AT THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED LATER THAT DAY THAT THEY HAD BEEN ABLE TO VERIFY MY COMPLIANT. THEY INDICATED THAT IT WAS A BUILD UP OF RESISTANCE IN A WIRE THEN THE ENGINE WAS HOT. IT WAS WRAPPED AND I WAS ASSURED THE I WOULD NO LONGER HAVE THE PROBLEM. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT SOME 2013-14 FORD ESCAPES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR INSUFFICIENT COMPRESSION OF CASING AROUND THE WIRING, CAUSING EXACTLY THE PROBLEMS I HAVE BEEN HAVING. ALL THE POTENTIAL PROBLEMS LISTED IN THE RECALL, SHORT OF A POSSIBLE CRASH HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCED TO DATE! MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED AT ONE OF THE AFFECTED ASSEMBLY PLANTS DURING THE AFFECTED DATES. HOWEVER, THE RECALL INDICATES 2.0 LITER ENGINES. MINE IS A 1.6 LITER ENGINE. THEREFORE, DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME AND ASSURED ME THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN SOLVED. I REQUESTED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS BE REPLACED BECAUSE I FELT UNSAFE IN MY VEHICLE AND WAS AFRAID THAT IT WOULD STOP SUDDENLY AND I COULD CRASH. I WAS TOLD THAT REPAIR WAS NOT POSSIBLE, BECAUSE MY SPECIFIC VIN WAS NOT RECALLED. I WAS ASSURED THAT I SHOULD HAVE NO FURTHER PROBLEMS. I ACCEPTED THE RETURN OF MY VEHICLE, WITH THE ASSURANCE THAT IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WE WOULD ESCALATE MY REQUEST FOR REPLACEMENT OF THE WIRING HARNESS. THE DEALER HAD MY CAR FOR OVER A WEEK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds