Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 188 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (16)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (26) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (7) Wheels (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

12/2/2016 - BREA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES, LOCKS, LINKAGES). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/28/2016 - KAILUA, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS ENGINE POWER WHILE BEING OPERATED AT ANY SPEED. THE CHECK ENGINE AND SERVICE ENGINE SOON WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A TERMINAL KIT AND GROUND WIRING INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER APPROXIMATELY 6-8 TIMES. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 8,764.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/28/2016 - KAILUA, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS ENGINE POWER WHILE BEING OPERATED AT ANY SPEED. THE CHECK ENGINE AND SERVICE ENGINE SOON WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A TERMINAL KIT AND GROUND WIRING INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER APPROXIMATELY 6-8 TIMES. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 8,764.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
FORD - 2014 FORD ESCAPE (BUILT IN 2013). THE CAR WAS PARKED IN THE PARKING LOT, TURNED OFF AND AN HOUR AND A HALF LATER I WAS NOTIFIED IT WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE STARTED UNDER THE HOOD AND ACCORDING TO THE FIRE MARSHAL THE HEAVIEST DAMAGE WAS LOCATED NEAR THE AIR FILTER AND BATTERY. ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS HEAVILY DAMAGED.

View Details

WHEELS: RIM

11/21/2016 - MONTROSE, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH IN THE SNOW, THE VEHICLE SHOOK UNCONTROLLABLY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT ALL FOUR TIRE RIMS WERE PACKED WITH SNOW AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE'S WHEEL BALANCE TO FAIL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,900.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/17/2016 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE NOTICED THE LINER ON THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE DASHBOARD BEGAN TO SEPARATE FROM THE FRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DASHBOARD SEPARATED FROM THE FRAME AND IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2016 - GARDEN GROVE, CA
THIS CAR HAS LESS THAN 44 MILES AND IS ALL BREAKING DOWN, WHEN THE BATTERY WHEN DOWN ALL ELECTRICAL PARTS ARE NOT WORKING CORRECTLY WINDOWS ARE GOING UP AND DOWN WITH OUT PUSHING THE BUTTON, LIGHTS TURN ON AND OF BY THEN SELF'S, IS JUST TO NEW TO HAPPEN ALL THIS PROBLEM, HA MONEY THAT THEY CHARGE (DEALER ) IS TO EXPENSIVE, AND I SUPPOSE PAID EVERY MAINTENANCE FOR INSPECTION TO SEE IF MY CAR IS DOING OK , LAST TIME THEY INSPECTED AND DIDNT SEE THE BATTERY PROBLEM , THE MISSING SCREW IN THE CONTAINER OF REFRIGERANT, AND LOW OIL LEVEL IN THE BRAKE CONTAINER. THAT NOT HAVE WARRANTY ANY MORE , LIKE THEY KNOW ALL READY THAT IT WILL BE PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRICAL PART. I THINK THIS CARS ARE THE WORSE WHEN THEY ARE ELECTRICALL OR TO MUCH "TECHNOLOGY" I WAS IN LOS ANGELES AREA FAR AWY FROM HOME AND A PLACE THAT SEEM DANGEROUS..... IT WASNT SAFETY TO BE IN THAT PLACE WITH MY BROKEN NEW CAR. T THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL TO SEE ID ELECTRICAL ARE WORKING CORRECTLY , THIS NOW IS GOING A COST A FORTUNE, ...THIS IS NOT RIGHT, I DIDNT FEEL SAFE SINCE MY WINDOWS WAS OPEN , WAS IN THE NIGHT AND NEAR TO A LIQUOR STORE AND REHAB CENTER. PEOPLE ACTING ESTRANGE ASKING FOR MONEY , COULD NOT CLOSE MY WINDOWS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/16/2016 - GARDEN GROVE, CA
THIS CAR HAS LESS THAN 44 MILES AND IS ALL BREAKING DOWN, WHEN THE BATTERY WHEN DOWN ALL ELECTRICAL PARTS ARE NOT WORKING CORRECTLY WINDOWS ARE GOING UP AND DOWN WITH OUT PUSHING THE BUTTON, LIGHTS TURN ON AND OF BY THEN SELF'S, IS JUST TO NEW TO HAPPEN ALL THIS PROBLEM, HA MONEY THAT THEY CHARGE (DEALER ) IS TO EXPENSIVE, AND I SUPPOSE PAID EVERY MAINTENANCE FOR INSPECTION TO SEE IF MY CAR IS DOING OK , LAST TIME THEY INSPECTED AND DIDNT SEE THE BATTERY PROBLEM , THE MISSING SCREW IN THE CONTAINER OF REFRIGERANT, AND LOW OIL LEVEL IN THE BRAKE CONTAINER. THAT NOT HAVE WARRANTY ANY MORE , LIKE THEY KNOW ALL READY THAT IT WILL BE PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRICAL PART. I THINK THIS CARS ARE THE WORSE WHEN THEY ARE ELECTRICALL OR TO MUCH "TECHNOLOGY" I WAS IN LOS ANGELES AREA FAR AWY FROM HOME AND A PLACE THAT SEEM DANGEROUS..... IT WASNT SAFETY TO BE IN THAT PLACE WITH MY BROKEN NEW CAR. T THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL TO SEE ID ELECTRICAL ARE WORKING CORRECTLY , THIS NOW IS GOING A COST A FORTUNE, ...THIS IS NOT RIGHT, I DIDNT FEEL SAFE SINCE MY WINDOWS WAS OPEN , WAS IN THE NIGHT AND NEAR TO A LIQUOR STORE AND REHAB CENTER. PEOPLE ACTING ESTRANGE ASKING FOR MONEY , COULD NOT CLOSE MY WINDOWS

View Details

ENGINE

11/11/2016 - MABLETON, GA
I DROVE 25 MILES IN TRAFFIC TO PICK UP MY KIDS FROM DAYCARE. WHEN I GOT THE KIDS IN THE CAR TO GO HOME AND THE CAR WAS IN MOTION TURNING LEFT ONTO A BUSY HIGHWAY TURN/MERGE LANE, ALL OF A SUDDEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND ENGINE TEMPERATURE GAUGE WENT ALL THE WAY UP. I PULLED OVER AND CHECKED MY COOLANT. THERE WAS SO MUCH PRESSURE WHEN I TURNED THE LID, I THOUGHT THE COOLANT TANK WAS GOING TO EXPLODE. THE TEMPERATURE IN MY CAR WENT DOWN AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO A MECHANIC CLOSE BY. THEY SAID I NEEDED A NEW COOLANT BYPASS SOLENOID. IT WAS REPLACED AND THE CAR HAS SEEMED FINE. NOW, 1 MONTH LATER, IT IS LEAKING COOLANT. I READ ABOUT A RECALL FOR THE SAME THING WHERE CARS CAUGHT FIRE BUT MY MODEL YEAR IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE OLD RECALL. I BELIEVE FORD NEEDS TO EXPAND THE RECALL AS I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE WITH MY TWO SMALL CHILDREN AND THE POSSIBILITY OF IT CATCHING ON FIRE! I HAVE 78000 MILES ON THE CAR AND WAS PURCHASED 7/28/2013.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/11/2016 - EUSTIS, FL
THE BACK WINDSHIELD SHATTERED WITH NO WARNING OR APPARENT CAUSE. THE FORCE BEHIND THE BREAK WAS SUCH THAT IT CAUSED THE SIDE FRAMES TO FALL MORE THAN 3 FEET FROM EITHER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. MY VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY OVERNIGHT. THE WEATHER WAS TEMPERATE. IT DOES NOT APPEAR TO HAVE HAD ANY OUTSIDE CAUSE; THE GLASS IS ALL ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds