Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (17)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (27) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (21) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (7) Wheels (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/10/2017 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE DRIVING IN FRONT ABRUPTLY STOPPED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL ODOR IN THE VEHICLE WHEN THE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO HIS RIGHT SHOULDER AND CHEST ALONG WITH UPPER BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION CENTER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH INTERNAL CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE INCOMPATIBILITY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE HAD A PREVIOUS ACCIDENT IN 2014 WHERE THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED THEN. NO FURTHER INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE FOR THE ACCIDENT IN 2014. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 77,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/6/2017 - STEVENS POINT, WI
WE PURCHASED A 2014 FORD ESCAPE FROM SCAFFIDI MOTORS IN STEVENS POINT. WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR NUMEROUS TIMES BECAUSE FREQUENTLY WHEN YOU SHUT THE BACK DOORS THE INSIDE DOOR PANEL COMES LOOSE WHEREIN YOU HAVE DIFFICULTY OPENING AND THE INSIDE DOOR PANEL GETS DAMAGED OR YOU CANNOT OPEN THE DOORS. AS OF TODAY, BOTH DOORS WILL NOTE OPEN. IN ORDER TO GET IN OR OUT OF THE VEHICLE, WE HAVE TO CLIMB THRU THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR. NOT SAFE AND AN INCONVENIENCE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

1/5/2017 - CANTON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/5/2017 - YARMOUTH PORT, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, THE DRIVER'S DOOR BECAME AJAR. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO LATCH THE DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/4/2017 - KEARNEY, NE
I WAS DRIVING ON A CITY STREET, GOING STRAIGHT, NO OTHER CARS NEAR ME, WHEN MY REAR GATE WINDOW SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED. NOTHING HIT IT OR THE CAR. I DIDN'T HIT ANYTHING. JUST BANG, AND IT WAS BROKEN. INITIALLY IT WAS ALL STILL IN PLACE BUT BY THE TIME I ARRIVED HOME, PIECES HAD BEGUN TO FALL OFF. IT WAS VERY COLD OUTSIDE, ABOUT 15 DEGREES, BUT NO WIND OR PRECIPITATION WAS FALLING. I WAS GOING ABOUT 20 MPH.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/27/2016 - HESSTON, KS
BACK WINDSHIELD SHATTERED WHEN DRIVER SIDE DOOR WAS CLOSED. NO APPARENT CRACKS IN WINDOW PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING. AFTER REPLACING THE REAR WINDSHIELD, THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN WITHIN 24 HOURS OF IT BEING REPLACED. HAVE ONLY OWNED THE VEHICLE FOR APPROX. 45 DAYS. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND NOT RUNNING BOTH TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

12/27/2016 - LONDON, KY
NOVEMBER 21ST, 2016 RACK AND PINION FAILED AT 32,300 MILES ON A 2014 FORD ESCAPE 4X4 TITANIUM. 2.0 TURBO. DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS DEFECTIVE AND UNIT WAS MAKING A "RATCHET" NOISE WHEN TURNED. DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS ALL COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND REPLACED UNIT AT NO CHARGE. ONE MONTH LATER SERVICE MANAGER CALLED ME AND SAID IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, EVEN THOUGH MY VEHICLE IS LESS THAN THREE YEARS OLD AND HAD UNDER 36,000 MILES, EVEN AT THE TIME THEY CALLED IN DECEMBER 2016. LAST FORD I WILL EVER OWN. THIS IS MY WIFE'S CAR AND THE PORSCHE DEALERSHIP THAT SERVICES MY VEHICLE NEVER TREATS ME LIKE THIS. DEALERSHIP EXPECTS ME TO PAY THE BILL NOW. AFTER TELLING ME PREVIOUSLY IT WAS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY.THINKING ABOUT GETTING A LAWYER JUST FOR PRINCIPLE OF THE ISSUE TO DEAL WIH THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/21/2016 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR WOULD OPEN INDEPENDENTLY AND THE LIFTGATE WOULD FALL INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES), BUT THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 15,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/19/2016 - ARLINGTON, VA
THE CAR WAS STOPPED AND THEN PUT INTO 'REVERSE' WHERE IT SUCCESSFULLY REVERSED FROM A PARKING LOT ONTO A RESIDENTIAL STREET. WHEN PUT DIRECTLY INTO 'DRIVE' THE CAR CONTINUED TO REVERSE. AT THIS POINT THE SHIFTER CONTROL CABLE BROKE AND/OR STOPPED WORKING NOT ALLOWING THE CAR TO BE PUT INTO ANY GEAR OTHER THAN 'PARK'. THE CAR WAS THEN PUT INTO 'PARK' WHERE IT STAYED STATIONARY IN A COMPROMISING POSITION UNTIL IT COULD BE TOWED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/15/2016 - LEDBETTER, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DASHBOARD BUCKLED AND SEPARATED NEAR THE STEERING WHEEL AREA. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED THE CONTACT WITH A COST ESTIMATE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO REMEDY OTHER THAN THE CONTACT REPLACING THE PART. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds