Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 163 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (13) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (36) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

9/14/2016 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PAWL SPRING WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. A MONTH LATER, THE REAR DRIVER DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THE SAME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LINKAGES/LOCKS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

9/10/2016 - CORNELIUS, OR
WHILE DRIVING 50MPH JUST BEFORE 90DEG. CORNER LIGHT CAME ON DASH POWER STEERING JUST QUIT. WAS BARELY ABLE TO PULL OVER AND STOP. I SHUT CAR OFF AND CHECK FOUND NOTHING. WHEN I RESTART PROBLEM WENT AWAY TOOK CAR TO DEALER BUT IT READ NO CODES SO THEY WONT DO ANYTHING. SO WHEN WILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN? FIND HARD TO BELIEVE WHEN HOOK UP IT ONLY READS WHAT IS WRONG AND NO HISTORY OF WHAT HAPPENED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/9/2016 - BLOOMINGTON, IL
THE THROTTLE BODY WENT OUT ON MY CAR. IT WAS A PART RECALLED ON OVER A MILLION FORD MODELS EXCEPT MY 2014. I BELIEVE IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ADDED TO THE ORIGINAL RECALL LIST. THE CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC ON THE EXPRESSWAY. I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. I WAS ON HIGHWAY 74 IN THE MIDDLE OF MORNING TRAFFIC WITH TRUCKS ON EITHER SIDE OF ME. I WAS SIMPLY TERRIFIED AND ALMOST DIDN'T MAKE IT OVER TO THE SIDE WHEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, MY CAR STOPPED RUNNING, AND I BARELY COASTED OVER. AFTER 3 HOURS OF WAITING FOR A TOW TO THE CLOSEST DEALERSHIP, THE DEALER DETERMINED IT WAS THE THROTTLE BODY THAT NEEDED REPLACE. NOW I HAVE TOW COSTS, RENTAL CAR COSTS, AND MORE BECAUSE OF A $60 PART THAT WAS RECALLED ON THE PRIOR YEAR VEHICLES, YET STILL FAILING ON THE CURRENT VEHICLES AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

8/31/2016 - LAWRENCEVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS AS 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHILE MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/31/2016 - WAVERLY HALL, GA
CONSTANT LOSS OF COOLANT FROM NEW. HAVE TO TOP UP EVERY DAY AFTER APPROX 50 MILES. DEALER SAYS NO RECALL ALTHOUGH PREVIOUS YEARS HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2016 - ALMA, AR
THE EVAPORATOR TEMPERATURE SENSOR DOES NOT PROPERLY WORK CAUSING THE AC TO BLOW HOT AIR AND IN THE SUMMER THAT CAUSE PEOPLE TO OVER HEAT OR PASS OUT FROM HEAT EXHAUSTION BECAUSE THE PART IS NOT WORKING.

View Details

STEERING

8/5/2016 - ALAMEDA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION BLEW OUT AND THE STEERING COLUMN FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/5/2016 - ALAMEDA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION BLEW OUT AND THE STEERING COLUMN FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: BACK UP ALARM

8/2/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE BACKING UP THE VEHICLE AT 5 MPH, THE BACK UP SENSOR FAILED AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AWAY BY THE CONTACT. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/2/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE BACKING UP THE VEHICLE AT 5 MPH, THE BACK UP SENSOR FAILED AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AWAY BY THE CONTACT. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds