Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 126 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (1) Power Train (15) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (20) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (32) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (7) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/2/2016 - SAN ANTHONY, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL AFTER IDLING. THE CONTACT HAD TO WAIT THREE MINUTES THEN THE VEHICLE WOULD START NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/8/2016 - BEDFORD, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A COMPLETE STOP TO APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SHIFTED THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHEN THE CONTACT ACCELERATED FROM A COMPLETE STOP. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE ALWAYS RECURRED SHORTLY AFTER STARTING THE VEHICLE AND NEVER OCCURRED MORE THAN ONCE DURING ONE CONSECUTIVE TRIP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V005000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2015 - TEMPE, AZ
AS RECOMMENDED IN LOW VISIBILITY SITUATIONS (FOG, DUST STORM, SNOW, ETC.) TO PULL OFF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURN OFF ALL YOUR LIGHTS, MY 2014 FORD ESCAPE WITH DAYLIGHT RUNNING LIGHTS (DRL) ARE UNABLE TO BE TURNED OFF EVEN WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN PARK AND THE PARKING BRAKE SET DURING THE DAY OR NIGHT, THEREBY CAUSING A SAFETY HAZARD. THE ONLY WAY TO TURN OFF THE DRLS IS TO TURN OFF THE VEHICLE, WHICH THEN PRODUCES ANOTHER HAZARD SINCE YOU CANNOT KEEP THE AC OR HEATER RUNNING AS NEEDED. I HAVE NOTIFIED BOTH FORD CORPORATE AND MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES WITH NO RESULTS OR CORRECTIVE ACTION PLAN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/23/2015 - LEOLA, PA
A FEW MONTHS AGO, I HAD FILED A COMPLAINT ON THE 2014 FORD ESCAPE SE 1.6L TURBOCHARGED ECOBOOST WITH I-4WD MY MOTHER CURRENTLY OWNS. SHE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR. AT A STOPLIGHT OR WHLE MOVING AT A DECENT PACE (ABOUT 20-40MPH), THE ENGINE WOULD SUDDENLY REV TOWARDS 4000-5000 AND NOT DROP INTO DRIVE. THIS HAD CONCERNED ME ALOT. MOM CALLED KELLER BROS. FORD HERE IN LITITZ, PENNSYLVANIA, AND SAID THAT SHE WILL HAVE TO TAKE HER CAR DOWN FOR A SOFTWARE UPDATE. THE UPDATE FIXED EVERYTHING. NO ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. AND SINCE THIS SOFTWARE UPDATE, I'VE NOTICED A HUGE DIFFERENCE. IT FEELS LIKE THERE IS MORE HORSES IN MY MOM'S CAR THAN THERE WAS BEFORE THE UPDATE. THE UPDATE HAPPENED 4-6 MONTHS AGO. I FEEL MUCH SAFER KNOWING THAT HER CAR WON'T END HER IN AN ACCIDENT. SHE CURRENTLY HAS OVER 16,000 MILES, AND SINCE THAT TIME FRAME, NO "DROP-OUTS" (< AS I CALL THEM) HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/23/2015 - LEOLA, PA
A FEW MONTHS AGO, I HAD FILED A COMPLAINT ON THE 2014 FORD ESCAPE SE 1.6L TURBOCHARGED ECOBOOST WITH I-4WD MY MOTHER CURRENTLY OWNS. SHE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR. AT A STOPLIGHT OR WHLE MOVING AT A DECENT PACE (ABOUT 20-40MPH), THE ENGINE WOULD SUDDENLY REV TOWARDS 4000-5000 AND NOT DROP INTO DRIVE. THIS HAD CONCERNED ME ALOT. MOM CALLED KELLER BROS. FORD HERE IN LITITZ, PENNSYLVANIA, AND SAID THAT SHE WILL HAVE TO TAKE HER CAR DOWN FOR A SOFTWARE UPDATE. THE UPDATE FIXED EVERYTHING. NO ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. AND SINCE THIS SOFTWARE UPDATE, I'VE NOTICED A HUGE DIFFERENCE. IT FEELS LIKE THERE IS MORE HORSES IN MY MOM'S CAR THAN THERE WAS BEFORE THE UPDATE. THE UPDATE HAPPENED 4-6 MONTHS AGO. I FEEL MUCH SAFER KNOWING THAT HER CAR WON'T END HER IN AN ACCIDENT. SHE CURRENTLY HAS OVER 16,000 MILES, AND SINCE THAT TIME FRAME, NO "DROP-OUTS" (< AS I CALL THEM) HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/23/2015 - LEOLA, PA
A FEW MONTHS AGO, I HAD FILED A COMPLAINT ON THE 2014 FORD ESCAPE SE 1.6L TURBOCHARGED ECOBOOST WITH I-4WD MY MOTHER CURRENTLY OWNS. SHE HAD ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR. AT A STOPLIGHT OR WHLE MOVING AT A DECENT PACE (ABOUT 20-40MPH), THE ENGINE WOULD SUDDENLY REV TOWARDS 4000-5000 AND NOT DROP INTO DRIVE. THIS HAD CONCERNED ME ALOT. MOM CALLED KELLER BROS. FORD HERE IN LITITZ, PENNSYLVANIA, AND SAID THAT SHE WILL HAVE TO TAKE HER CAR DOWN FOR A SOFTWARE UPDATE. THE UPDATE FIXED EVERYTHING. NO ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. AND SINCE THIS SOFTWARE UPDATE, I'VE NOTICED A HUGE DIFFERENCE. IT FEELS LIKE THERE IS MORE HORSES IN MY MOM'S CAR THAN THERE WAS BEFORE THE UPDATE. THE UPDATE HAPPENED 4-6 MONTHS AGO. I FEEL MUCH SAFER KNOWING THAT HER CAR WON'T END HER IN AN ACCIDENT. SHE CURRENTLY HAS OVER 16,000 MILES, AND SINCE THAT TIME FRAME, NO "DROP-OUTS" (< AS I CALL THEM) HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: LEVER AND LINKAGE: FLOOR SHIFT

12/22/2015 - GREER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN ABNORMAL SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE AFTER IT WAS SHIFTED INTO THE REVERSE POSITION. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED INDEPENDENTLY FROM SECOND GEAR TO THIRD GEAR. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/18/2015 - SANFORD, NC
ROOF LEAKS ON BOTH SIDES OF VEHICLE CAUSE WATER STAINED/WET HEADLINER ABOVE WINDSHIELD PILLERS. TOOK TO DEALER, THEY CLAIMED THEY RESEALED ROOF RACK, AND CLEANED HEADLINER. NOT EVEN 2 WEEKS LATER PAASENGER SIDE HEADLINER IS WET AGAIN. CONTACTED DEALER AND FORD IT IS WORSE THIS TIME THAN IT WAS THE FIRST TIME. APPARENTLY MY ESCAPE ISN'T THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE AFTER VISITING SEVERAL FORUM'S. WHEN VEHICLE IS IN MOTION I CAN HEAR WATER DRIPPING IF ITS IS RAINING OR IF THERE IS A HEAVY DEW.

View Details

ENGINE

12/17/2015 - SANDIA, TX
CAR STALLS. POWER TO ENGINE STOPS. ENGINE FAULT LIGHT COMES ON. HAVE TO PULL OVER TURN ENGINE OFF AND RESTART. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON HIWAY AT SPEED OF 75 AND ON ROAD SITTING AT LIGHT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/5/2015 - WHITING, NJ
AFTER ONLY 22,000 MILES, I HAD TO PAY FOR NEW PADS AND ROTORS ON THE REAR BRAKES. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE BRAKES BUT REFUSED TO COVER THE COST UNDER A WARRANTY CLAIM. THE SERVICE TICKET BLAMED THE FAILURE ON A "FOUND LEFT REAR INSIDE PAD METAL TO METAL, FOUND SLIDE RUSTED UP"!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds