Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 157 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (13)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (13) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (36) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/5/2016 - ALAMEDA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION BLEW OUT AND THE STEERING COLUMN FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/5/2016 - ALAMEDA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION BLEW OUT AND THE STEERING COLUMN FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/2/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE BACKING UP THE VEHICLE AT 5 MPH, THE BACK UP SENSOR FAILED AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AWAY BY THE CONTACT. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: BACK UP ALARM

8/2/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE BACKING UP THE VEHICLE AT 5 MPH, THE BACK UP SENSOR FAILED AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AWAY BY THE CONTACT. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

TIRES

7/27/2016 - CORBIN, KY
CONTINENTAL CONTIPROCONTACT 235/50R18 97H DOT: 431PWBK32014 20K ON 2 YR OLD PURCHASE NEW 2014 FORD ESCAPE TITANIUM. TIRE TREADS HAVE CHUNKS MISSING ALL OVER 2 TIRES, PREVIOUSLY ON REAR TIRES NOW ROTATED 1000 MILES AGO TO THE FRONT. UNSURE HOW LONG THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I CAN'T SEE MY TREADS NORMALLY BUT I HAPPENED TO HAVE HAD MY STEERING WHEEL TURNED OUT AND NOTICED THIS SCARY DEFECT. NORMAL USE IS ON CITY STREETS, BLACK TOP. RARELY ON A GRAVEL ROAD. I HAVE PICTURES AND I HOPE I CAN UPLOAD THEM AS I CONTINUE ON THROUGH THIS FORM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2016 - MURRIETA, CA
RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR SUDDENLY FLEW OPEN WHILE DRIVING. INDICATOR LIGHT DID COME ON. DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH WHEN CLOSED AND HAD TO BE TIED TO OPPOSITE DOOR TO HOLD CLOSED. TOOK CAR TO DEALER, SERVICE WRITER CLAIMED TO SEE NO PROBLEM ADVISED MY HUSBAND TO TAKE HOME AND "PLAY" WITH IT. THAT WAS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I RETURNED TO DEALER JULY 21, 2016 AND SPOKE TO SERVICE WRITER A SECOND TIME AFTER FINDING MANY COMPLAINTS ON FAILING DOOR LATCHES AND POLITELY ADVISED THAT FORD WAS AWARE OF THIS AS AN ONGOING PROBLEM AND THAT I WANTED FORD TO INVESTIGATE AND MAKE REPAIRS. THE REP SAID THEY WERE TOO BUSY THAT DAY BUT DID SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR ME TO BRING THE CAR BACK STATING THAT THE PRIOR ISSUES WERE NOT WITH THE FORD ESCAPE AND REPAIR COST WOULD DEPEND IF MY CAR REMAINED UNDER WARRANTY. I SAID WE COULD DISCUSS THAT FURTHER AFTER FORD IDENTIFIED THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM AND REPAIRED IT AND ALSO CHECKED THE LATCHES ON THE OTHER DOORS TO BE CERTAIN I WOULD NOT BE IN DANGER OF OTHER DOOR LATCH FAILURES. THE DEALER ALSO ASKED IF WE "MESSED WITH" THE LATCH MECHANISM. I TOLD THEM, NO, DESPITE THE FACT WE WERE FIRST TOLD TO GO HOME AND PLAY WITH IT. SINCE IT'S CLEAR FORD IS AWARE OF THESE PROBLEMS, IT IS DISAPPOINTING THAT THEY DON'T JUST SAY SO THE FIRST TIME YOU TAKE THE CAR IN AND THEN EVEN THE SECOND TIME JUST SAY, YES WE ARE AWARE AND WE WILL BE HAPPY TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM FOR YOU. IT IS CLEARLY A DESIGN DEFECT OR A BAD PART. IT IS ALSO A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION TO HAVE A DOOR FLY OPEN.

View Details

STEERING

7/13/2016 - VERNON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED AND OPERATED PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000. THE VEHICLE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/9/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
ACCELERATION WAS FINE UNTIL I HIT 20,000 MILES. HOWEVER WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL AFTER STARTING THE CAR THE RPMS GO AWAY AND THEN COME WAY BACK DOWN AND THEN IT ACCELERATES AND JERKS FORWARD. THIS IS AN EXTREME SAFETY ISSUE. I TOOK IT TO THE TOWN & COUNTRY FORD DEALER HERE WHO SAID THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE ISSUE. I TEST DROVE WITH THE MECHANIC AND IT DIDN'T HAPPEN ONCE. IT ACCELERATED BETTER THAN IT DID BEFORE SO I'M NOT SURE IF SOMETHING WAS ADJUSTED. OF COURSE IT HAS COME BACK. IT HAPPENS WHEN I DRIVE IT AND MY SON TOLD ME IT JERKED A LOT WHEN HE DROVE IT LAST NIGHT. GIVEN THAT THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR WHAT SEEMS LIKE 15 YEARS WITH THE FORD ESCAPE FORD NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING TO FIX IT. EVEN THOUGH MY DAD WORKED FOR FORD FOR 30 YEARS AND I'VE BEEN A LOYAL CUSTOMER I DON'T TRUST THIS CAR SO I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER FORD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/8/2016 - PALM BAY, FL
CPSC: 2014 FORD ESCAPE: CONSUMER STATED THE KEY FOB WOULD NOT WORK PROPERLY AFTER CLOSING THE DOOR. THE CONSUMER STATED THE DOORS COULD NOT BE OPENED, BY USING THE HANDLE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

7/8/2016 - PALM BAY, FL
CPSC: 2014 FORD ESCAPE: CONSUMER STATED THE KEY FOB WOULD NOT WORK PROPERLY AFTER CLOSING THE DOOR. THE CONSUMER STATED THE DOORS COULD NOT BE OPENED, BY USING THE HANDLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds