Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 50 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (9) Power Train (8) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

9/27/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
2 TIRES FROM SAME LOT ON BRAND NEW CAR HAVE BEEN DEFECTIVE IN ONE MONTH'S TIME, CAUSING BLOWOUT ON FREEWAY AT HIGH SPEED. THANKFULLY, NO INJURIES WERE INCURRED. THIS HAPPENED 100 MILES AWAY FROM NEAREST SERVICES, REQUIRING TOW TO NEAREST DEALERSHIP. FORD MOTOR COMPANY REPLACED EACH DEFECTIVE TIRE AT TIME OF INCIDENTS; HOWEVER, 2 REMAINING TIRES WILL NOT BE COVERED FOR REPLACEMENT UNTIL SUCH TIME AS THEY BECOME DEFECTIVE. I AM CONCERNED THAT THE ENTIRE LOT NUMBER IS DEFECTIVE AND THAT I MAY INCUR THE SAME PROBLEM IN THE FUTURE WITH THE REMAINING 2 TIRES WITH POSSIBLE LOSS OF LIFE AS A RESULT.

View Details

WHEELS

9/2/2014 - QUEENS VILLAGE, NY
MY REAR PASSENGER TIRE HAS A GROOVE CUT AROUND THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE WALL AND IN ABOUT FOUR SPOTS CUT RIGHT DOWN TO THE THREADS. THIS HAS CAUSED THE TIRE TO GO FLAT. I HAVE PHOTOS OF THE TIRE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/31/2014 - JOHNSBURG, IL
THE DOOR HANDLE STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION PREVENTING THE DOOR FROM LATCHING CLOSED. THE DEALER HAS TRIED TO RESOLVE THREE TIMES NOW AND IT'S CONTINUES TO GET HAPPEN AND IN FACT GETTING WORSE. FORD`S CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED BEGINNING ON JANUARY 19, 2014. LAST CONTACT WITH FORD`S CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER WAS ON AUGUST 26, 2014 WITH NO RESOLUTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/31/2014 - JOHNSBURG, IL
THE DOOR HANDLE STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION PREVENTING THE DOOR FROM LATCHING CLOSED. THE DEALER HAS TRIED TO RESOLVE THREE TIMES NOW AND IT'S CONTINUES TO GET HAPPEN AND IN FACT GETTING WORSE. FORD`S CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER HAS BEEN NOTIFIED BEGINNING ON JANUARY 19, 2014. LAST CONTACT WITH FORD`S CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER WAS ON AUGUST 26, 2014 WITH NO RESOLUTION.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

8/28/2014 - BALLWIN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL SOUND AND STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE AIR CONDITIONING TO PREVENT THE FAILURE FROM RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - BALLWIN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL SOUND AND STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT TURNED OFF THE AIR CONDITIONING TO PREVENT THE FAILURE FROM RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2014 - AMBLER, PA
PULLED AWAY FROM A TRAFFIC LIGHT. THE ESCAPE LOST ALL FORWARD MOTION. ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT THERE WAS NO FORWARD MOVEMENT. VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED FROM THE LOCATION.

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
I WAS WAITING IN LINE TO ENTER THE FREEWAY. A YELLOW WARNING SIGN CAME ON IN THE CAR, AND THEN THERE WAS NO CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL. IT LOCKED. I WAS ABLE TO CRANK ON IT WITH ALL MY STRENGTH, PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS, AND MY DAUGHTER HUNG OUT THE WINDOW TO WAVE US OVER A FEW INCHES TO THE RIGHT. I THEN ENTERED A SAFE LOT TO CALL ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE. BUT, WHILE I WAS ON THE PHONE WITH THEM, THE YELLOW LIGHT WENT OFF, AND THE CAR STEERING WHEEL MOVED.

View Details

STEERING

8/25/2014 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
STEERING WHEEL SUDENDDLY STOPPED WORKING WHEN I STOPPED AT A GAS STATION AND GAVE AN ERROR MESSAGE "STEERING ASSIST FAULT SERVICE REQUIRED". CAR IS BARELY 3 MONTHS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2014 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
SATURDAY, JULY 12 AROUND 3:00 PM DRIVING 70 MPH ON US 23 N, JUST SOUTH OF NORTH TERRITORIAL ROAD NEAR ANN ARBOR. THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND THE ENGINE STOPPED. DRIFTED TO THE SHOULDER IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC AND TRIED TO RESTART. STARTED AND RAN FOR 5 SECONDS AND THEN STALLED AGAIN. REPEATED SEVERAL TIMES WITH SAME RESULT. CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE NUMBER AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD SEND A TOW WITHIN 30 MINUTES. POLICE STOPPED AND ASKED IF WE NEEDED HELP. LEFT AFTER WE SAID TOW WAS COMING. A FOLLOWING CAR TOOK ALL BUT ONE PASSENGER TO A GAS STATION AT NORTH TERRITORIAL BECAUSE HEAVY 75 MPH TRAFFIC PASSING INCHES FROM THE DRIVER-++S DOOR WAS FRIGHTENING AND DANGEROUS. TOW TRUCK TOOK CAR TO VARSITY FORD IN ANN ARBOR AND WE CONTINUED TO TRAVERSE CITY IN THE FOLLOWING CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds