Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 46 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (9) Power Train (8) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2014 - AMBLER, PA
PULLED AWAY FROM A TRAFFIC LIGHT. THE ESCAPE LOST ALL FORWARD MOTION. ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN BUT THERE WAS NO FORWARD MOVEMENT. VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED FROM THE LOCATION.

View Details

STEERING

8/26/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
I WAS WAITING IN LINE TO ENTER THE FREEWAY. A YELLOW WARNING SIGN CAME ON IN THE CAR, AND THEN THERE WAS NO CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL. IT LOCKED. I WAS ABLE TO CRANK ON IT WITH ALL MY STRENGTH, PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS, AND MY DAUGHTER HUNG OUT THE WINDOW TO WAVE US OVER A FEW INCHES TO THE RIGHT. I THEN ENTERED A SAFE LOT TO CALL ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE. BUT, WHILE I WAS ON THE PHONE WITH THEM, THE YELLOW LIGHT WENT OFF, AND THE CAR STEERING WHEEL MOVED.

View Details

STEERING

8/25/2014 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
STEERING WHEEL SUDENDDLY STOPPED WORKING WHEN I STOPPED AT A GAS STATION AND GAVE AN ERROR MESSAGE "STEERING ASSIST FAULT SERVICE REQUIRED". CAR IS BARELY 3 MONTHS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2014 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
SATURDAY, JULY 12 AROUND 3:00 PM DRIVING 70 MPH ON US 23 N, JUST SOUTH OF NORTH TERRITORIAL ROAD NEAR ANN ARBOR. THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND THE ENGINE STOPPED. DRIFTED TO THE SHOULDER IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC AND TRIED TO RESTART. STARTED AND RAN FOR 5 SECONDS AND THEN STALLED AGAIN. REPEATED SEVERAL TIMES WITH SAME RESULT. CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE NUMBER AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD SEND A TOW WITHIN 30 MINUTES. POLICE STOPPED AND ASKED IF WE NEEDED HELP. LEFT AFTER WE SAID TOW WAS COMING. A FOLLOWING CAR TOOK ALL BUT ONE PASSENGER TO A GAS STATION AT NORTH TERRITORIAL BECAUSE HEAVY 75 MPH TRAFFIC PASSING INCHES FROM THE DRIVER-++S DOOR WAS FRIGHTENING AND DANGEROUS. TOW TRUCK TOOK CAR TO VARSITY FORD IN ANN ARBOR AND WE CONTINUED TO TRAVERSE CITY IN THE FOLLOWING CAR.

View Details

STEERING

8/22/2014 - FARMINGVILLE, NY
11/13. HAD CAR FOR 2 MONTHS. STOPPED FOR GAS, FUELED UP GOT IN TO LEAVE POWER STEERING GONE. HAD TO CALL HUSBAND TO COME GET CAR AS I COULD NOT TURN THE WHEEL. HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO FORD DEALER. DEALER NOT HELPFUL, SAID THEY WERE ABLE TO SEE POWER STEERING WAS LOST UNABLE TO FIX. VEHICLE OR COMPUTER SOMEHOW FIXED ITSELF? HAPPENED AGAIN 8/22/14. THANKFULLY IT HAPPENED IN FRONT OF MY HOME & DID NOT NEED ASSISTANCE. HAVING VEHICLE TOWED TO FORD DEALER IN AM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/16/2014 - FLEMINGTON, NJ
TRAVELLING CENTER LANE ON ROUTE 81, AT 65 MPH, CAR LOST ALL THROTTLE, FELT LIKE IT CAME OUT OF GEAR, WHILE DRIVING, AND COULD NOT GET INTO GEAR. MANAGED TO GET OFF TO SHOULDER. HAD A TRACTOR TRAILER BEEN BEHIND ME, THERE IS NO DOUBT THEY WOULD'VE HIT ME. APPARENTLY THE DEALERSHIP HAD 3 OTHER FORD ESCAPES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM IN THEIR SHOP. ANOTHER FRIEND OF MINE JUST PURCHASED HER FORD ESCAPE A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO, AND SHE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, AS THIS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS TRAVELING AT 65MPH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2014 - FLEMINGTON, NJ
TRAVELLING CENTER LANE ON ROUTE 81, AT 65 MPH, CAR LOST ALL THROTTLE, FELT LIKE IT CAME OUT OF GEAR, WHILE DRIVING, AND COULD NOT GET INTO GEAR. MANAGED TO GET OFF TO SHOULDER. HAD A TRACTOR TRAILER BEEN BEHIND ME, THERE IS NO DOUBT THEY WOULD'VE HIT ME. APPARENTLY THE DEALERSHIP HAD 3 OTHER FORD ESCAPES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM IN THEIR SHOP. ANOTHER FRIEND OF MINE JUST PURCHASED HER FORD ESCAPE A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO, AND SHE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, AS THIS HAPPENED WHILE I WAS TRAVELING AT 65MPH.

View Details

STEERING

8/6/2014 - OMAHA, NE
POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT IN THIS NEW VEHICLE 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. WHEN LOOKED AT BY A TECHNICIAN, THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG. BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR OVER 20 DAYS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - OMAHA, NE
POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT IN THIS NEW VEHICLE 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. WHEN LOOKED AT BY A TECHNICIAN, THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG. BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR OVER 20 DAYS

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/2/2014 - ANN ARBOR, MI
MY CAR WAS STOPPED IN TRAFFIC AND SOME ONE HIT IT FROM BACK COMING AT A SPEED OF APPROX. 35-40 MILES/HOUR. DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGERS HIT THEIR FACES AND KNEES ON DASHBOARD. BOTH SEAT BELTS (DRIVER SIDE AND PASSENGER SIDE) DID NOT RESTRAIN AND STOP PASSENGERS MOVING FORWARD. WE HAVE NOTICED THIS PROBLEM ON BOTH SEAT BELTS (DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE) ON THIS CAR (2014 FORD ESCAPE SE) SINCE WE HAVE OWNED THIS CAR THAT BOTH SEAT BELTS (DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE) ARE VERY LOSE AND DOES NOT RESTRAIN WHEN PULLED SUDDENLY. THIS CAUSED THE BRUISING OF FACES AND KNEES OF PASSENGERS IN THIS ACCIDENT. IF SEAT BELTS WERE WORKING PROPERLY AND RESTRAINING PROPERLY THIS WOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. THIS PROBLEM COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE OR LIFE THREATENING IF A SIMILAR ACCIDENT WOULD HAVE OCCURRED ON A HIGHWAY. I NOW HAVE TOLD A FORD DEALER TO CHECK IT. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS PROBLEM IS ONLY ON MY CAR OR OTHER 2014 FORD ESCAPE SE MODEL OF CARS. THIS NEEDS TO BROUGHT TO THE ATTENTION OF MANUFACTURER(FORD) TO RECALL AND FIX THIS PROBLEM IF IT IS TRUE FOR ALL OF THIS MODEL OF CARS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds