Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 94 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (24) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (5) Tires (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
"ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW LIGHT" CAME ON TWICE WITH "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE" BOTH TIMES. AFTER STOPPING AT TRAFFIC LIGHT AND STEPPING ON GAS PEDAL, CAR WOULD NOT MOVE AND GAVE NO INDICATION IT HAD STALLED. ALL NORMAL LIGHTS WERE ON. I PUT CAR IN "PARK" AND RESTARTED. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE ON HILLS AND HAS DIED ON ME FOUR TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
"ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW LIGHT" CAME ON TWICE WITH "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE" BOTH TIMES. AFTER STOPPING AT TRAFFIC LIGHT AND STEPPING ON GAS PEDAL, CAR WOULD NOT MOVE AND GAVE NO INDICATION IT HAD STALLED. ALL NORMAL LIGHTS WERE ON. I PUT CAR IN "PARK" AND RESTARTED. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE ON HILLS AND HAS DIED ON ME FOUR TIMES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/20/2015 - CINCINNATI, OH
"ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW LIGHT" CAME ON TWICE WITH "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE" BOTH TIMES. AFTER STOPPING AT TRAFFIC LIGHT AND STEPPING ON GAS PEDAL, CAR WOULD NOT MOVE AND GAVE NO INDICATION IT HAD STALLED. ALL NORMAL LIGHTS WERE ON. I PUT CAR IN "PARK" AND RESTARTED. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE ON HILLS AND HAS DIED ON ME FOUR TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/28/2015 - NASHPORT, OH
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE "ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW" WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. MY CAR THEN LOST POWER AND WENT INTO A "LIMP HOME" MODE. ONCE I SAFELY ARRIVED AT MY DESTINATION I TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE. ONCE IT WAS TURNED BACK ON, IT WAS FINE. I TOOK THIS INTO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY REPAIRED A RECALL AND ORDERED PARTS. IT TOOK A FEW DAYS FOR THE PARTS TO GET IN. DURING THAT TIME EVERY TIME I DROVE ON THE HIGHWAY THE CAR STARTED MAKING A KNOCKING NOISE AND THEN THE LIGHT WOULD COME BACK ON AND THE VEHICLE WOULD GO BACK INTO THAT LIMP HOME MODE. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED BY SEMIS AND OTHER VEHICLES AT FAST RATES OF SPEED DUE TO THIS ISSUE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK IN FOR THEM TO INSTALL THE ORDERED PARTS. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK THE ISSUE CONTINUED, AND NOW MY CAR IS IN THE SHOP FOR THE 4TH TIME. THEY ARE WORKING WITH FORD ENGINEERS AND THEY ARE NOT HAVING LUCK FINDING THE ISSUE. I HAVE READ OF OTHER INDIVIDUALS HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE. IS IT GOING TO TAKE A FATALITY BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE? I HAVE AN 8 MONTH OLD BABY, AND I BOUGHT A NEW CAR FOR SAFETY AND SECURITY - I DO NOT HAVE EITHER AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2015 - OOLTEWAH, TN
MOST RECENT AND TROUBLING INCIDENT WAS TRAVELLING DOWNHILL AROUND 30 MPH, NOT PRESSING GAS PEDAL, AND ENGINE RPMS ROSE TO OVER 4000 AND STAYED WITH THE ENGINE MAKING A DISTINCT NOISE THAT EVEN A 12 YEAR OLD NOTICED WAS NOT RIGHT. AFTER APPLYING BRAKE AND REACHING BOTTOM OF HILL, THE RPMS EVENTUALLY REDUCED. SO FAR THIS EXTREME CASE WAS A ONE TIME OCCURENCE, BUT SEEMS RELATED TO OTHER BEHAVIOR. DURING REGULAR IN-TOWN TRAVELLING THE ENGINE JUST DOES NOT SEEM TO CHANGE GEARS CORRECTLY OR SMOOTHLY. RPMS WILL REMAIN BETWEEN 2000-3000 REGARDLESS IF YOU ARE GOING 10 MPH OR 55 MPH, BUT PROBLEM IS NOT CONSISTENT. MULTIPLE TIMES WHEN PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC AND ALSO GOING INTO REVERSE, THE CAR ALMOST STALLS AND DOES NOT ACCELERATE AS QUICKLY AS IT SHOULD GIVEN THE PRESSURE ON THE GAS PEDAL. IT SEEMS AS IF ALL OF THESE TYPES OF ISSUES ARE RELATED TO THE SAME CORE PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE/TRANSMISSION AND I SEE OTHER COMPLAINTS HERE SIMILIAR TO THIS. I'VE HAD THE CAR FOR 8 MONTHS AND IT SEEMS TO BE MORE FREQUENT AS TIME PASSES. THESE ISSUES ARE MUCH MORE NOTICABLE WITH DAILY DRIVING, BUT MY HUSBAND HAS NOTICED DURING THE FEW TIMES HE DRIVES THE CAR. HE SAYS IT IS JUST A "CLUNKY" DRIVING CAR, BUT CAR FEELS VERY UNRELIABLE WHEN DRIVEN ON A DAILY BASIS ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/1/2015 - ENDICOTT, NY
I BOUGHT THIS CAR A YEAR AGO, AND PUT A ROAD SAFETY KIT UNDER THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. LAST WEEK MY PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE AIRBAG WAS DISCONNECTED. THE DEALER SAID A WIRE BROKE BECAUSE THAT KIT WAS UNDER THE SEAT. THEY ARE CHARGING ME OVER $200.00 TO REPLACE THIS BROKEN WIRE AND PIGTAIL! THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN THAT SUCH A SMALL ITEM CAN DISARM A BIG SAFETY FEATURE. WHY IS THIS AREA SO ACCESSIBLE TO SUCH A PROBLEM? THIS IS A BIG ENGINEERING DEFECT ON FORD'S PART. THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE RECALLED AND HAVE A GUARD OF SOME SORT INSTALLED TO KEEP THIS FROM HAPPENING. EVEN A CHILD COULD KICK SOMETHING SMALL, EVEN A BABY BOTTLE, UNDER THE SEAT. THEN, THE AIRBAG WOULD NOT WORK AS AN ADULT GOT INTO THE CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2015 - SAN CARLOS, CA
WHILE PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT, THE A/C WAS TURNED ON. THERE WAS A GRINDING NOISE, SMOKE STARTING COMING UP FROM THE HOOD AND OUT THE WHEEL WELL, AND THE ENGINE STALLED OUT, LEAVING THE CAR IN HALF WAY OUT IN TRAFFIC. EACH TIME THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED, IT STALLED OUT AGAIN RIGHT AWAY. FINALLY THE VEHICLE WAS PUSHED OUT OF THE ROAD AND INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT FOR TOWING. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THE COMPRESSOR BLEW AND SENT METAL SHRAPNEL THROUGHOUT THE HOOD, PENETRATING RUBBER HOSES AND BELTS, AND CAUSING THE CAR TO STOP RUNNING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2015 - SAN CARLOS, CA
WHILE PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT, THE A/C WAS TURNED ON. THERE WAS A GRINDING NOISE, SMOKE STARTING COMING UP FROM THE HOOD AND OUT THE WHEEL WELL, AND THE ENGINE STALLED OUT, LEAVING THE CAR IN HALF WAY OUT IN TRAFFIC. EACH TIME THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED, IT STALLED OUT AGAIN RIGHT AWAY. FINALLY THE VEHICLE WAS PUSHED OUT OF THE ROAD AND INTO AN ADJACENT PARKING LOT FOR TOWING. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THE COMPRESSOR BLEW AND SENT METAL SHRAPNEL THROUGHOUT THE HOOD, PENETRATING RUBBER HOSES AND BELTS, AND CAUSING THE CAR TO STOP RUNNING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/29/2015 - LEOLA, PA
I HAVE ISSUED A COMPLAINT ABOUT THREE AND A HALF MONTHS AGO. AGAIN, MY MOTHER IS STILL HAVING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH HER CAR. ON APRIL 22ND, SHE STATED THAT SHE WAS GOING UP A HILL, AND THE CAR SUDDENLY STARTED REVVING TO 4000-5000RPM. AT ONE POINT, SHE SAID SHE LIGHTLY WENT ON THE GAS TO SEE IF THE FUEL WOULD KICK IN AND IT REVVED UP 500 RPM PAST THE REDLINE, AND STILL NO ACCELERATION. ONE DAY, MY MOM IS GOING TO END UP BEING REAR-ENDED WHEN THIS HAPPENS AND I WOULD NOT LIKE THAT TO HAPPEN. FORD ABSOLUTELY NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. I'VE SCROLLED THROUGH ALL COMPLAINTS OF THIS MODEL YEAR AND I'VE SEEN THAT AT LEAST 50 PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THESE PROBLEMS. FORD MUST FIX THIS (THAT MEANS ISSUE RECALLS!!!)!!!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2015 - LEOLA, PA
I HAVE ISSUED A COMPLAINT ABOUT THREE AND A HALF MONTHS AGO. AGAIN, MY MOTHER IS STILL HAVING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS WITH HER CAR. ON APRIL 22ND, SHE STATED THAT SHE WAS GOING UP A HILL, AND THE CAR SUDDENLY STARTED REVVING TO 4000-5000RPM. AT ONE POINT, SHE SAID SHE LIGHTLY WENT ON THE GAS TO SEE IF THE FUEL WOULD KICK IN AND IT REVVED UP 500 RPM PAST THE REDLINE, AND STILL NO ACCELERATION. ONE DAY, MY MOM IS GOING TO END UP BEING REAR-ENDED WHEN THIS HAPPENS AND I WOULD NOT LIKE THAT TO HAPPEN. FORD ABSOLUTELY NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. I'VE SCROLLED THROUGH ALL COMPLAINTS OF THIS MODEL YEAR AND I'VE SEEN THAT AT LEAST 50 PEOPLE ARE EXPERIENCING THESE PROBLEMS. FORD MUST FIX THIS (THAT MEANS ISSUE RECALLS!!!)!!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds