Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 258 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (30) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (21)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (35) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (22) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seats (4) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (65) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Tires (8) Wheels (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

6/16/2017 - ST CHARLES, IL
I AM CONCERNED THAT THE DESIGN OF THE HEADREST IS NOT SAFE. I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT RECENTLY WHERE I WAS SIMPLY REAR ENDED. I HAVE A FAIRLY SERIOUS CONCUSSION THAT I HAVE HAD FOR NEARLY FOUR WEEKS. I BELIEVE THAT I GOT THE CONCUSSION BECAUSE MY HEAD HIT THE VISOR AND THEN THE BOTTOM EDGE, THAT JARTS OUT, ON THE HEAD REST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/10/2017 - WILKES BARRE, PA
AT THE END OF A 55 MILE TRIP THE "TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION" INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER THE VEHICLE SAT FOR A FEW HOURS I STARTED IT UP AGAIN AND THE LIGHT HAS NOT COME BACK ON. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAS 32000 MILES AND I CAN'T GET FORD TO LOOK AT IT AND TELL ME IF IT IS ELECTRICAL OR TRANSMIISION OCCURED ON 7/7/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/8/2017 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
"TAKATA RECALL"......I STOPPED BY 7-11 ATM TO GET SOME MONEY AND OTHER ITEMS...UPON RETURNING TO MY VEHICLE I NOTICED IT WOULD NOT START. THE DASHBOARD SAID IT WAS IN REVERSE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS IN PARK MODE. I SPEND APPROXIMATELY 3.5 HOURS ON THE PHONE WITH THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TRYING TO GET SOME REAL HELP. AFTER NO SUCCESS, I WENT THRU THREE DIFFERENT CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS WHO WERE NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ON HOW TO HANDLE A VEHICLE THAT WAS DISABLED, STUCK IN REVERSE AND WOULD NOT START. I ENDED UP CALLING AAA AND HAD IT TOWED TO MY OWN MECHANIC BECAUSE I CALLED THREE FORD DEALERSHIP STATED THAT IT WOULD BE AT LEAST 2-3 WEEKS BEFORE SOMEONE COULD CHECK OUT MY VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THEY WERE NOT COOPERATIVE IN HELPING ME GET A RENTAL CAR EITHER AND STATED THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE COST OF RENTING A CAR. MY OWN MECHANIC WHO HAS SERVICED ALL MY VEHICLES AND THERE HAS NEVER BEEN AN ISSUE... ADVISED ME THAT THE BRAKE CABLE OR SOMETHING TO THAT EFFECT WAS BROKEN. I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THAT IS POSSIBLE SINCE I JUST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE 10/2016. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 9 MONTHS I'VE HAD ISSUES WITH FORD AND THEIR FAULTY PRODUCTS. APRIL 2017 FORD MOTORS SETTLED WITH ME OVER MY 2013 FORD FOCUS WHICH WAS IN AN OUT OF THE SHOP SINCE MARCH 2015. I'VE HAD TO GO THRU NUMEROUS AGENCIES TO GET ANY REAL HELP. I'VE SPOKEN WITH MY MECHANIC TODAY AND WAS GIVEN AN APPROX ESTIMATE OF $700 TO REPAIR AND MY CAR WON'T BE AVAILABLE UNTIL NEXT WEEK. IN ADDITION, IT'S COSTING $170 TO RENT A CAR TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO SCHOOL AND WORK UNTIL MONDAY. I AM LOOKING FOR FORD TO REIMBURSE ME FOR MY EXPENSES AND COST TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE. OR THE OTHER ALTERNATIVE IS TO BUY BACK THE VEHICLE. I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE FROM FORD AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2017 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
"TAKATA RECALL"......I STOPPED BY 7-11 ATM TO GET SOME MONEY AND OTHER ITEMS...UPON RETURNING TO MY VEHICLE I NOTICED IT WOULD NOT START. THE DASHBOARD SAID IT WAS IN REVERSE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS IN PARK MODE. I SPEND APPROXIMATELY 3.5 HOURS ON THE PHONE WITH THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TRYING TO GET SOME REAL HELP. AFTER NO SUCCESS, I WENT THRU THREE DIFFERENT CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS WHO WERE NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ON HOW TO HANDLE A VEHICLE THAT WAS DISABLED, STUCK IN REVERSE AND WOULD NOT START. I ENDED UP CALLING AAA AND HAD IT TOWED TO MY OWN MECHANIC BECAUSE I CALLED THREE FORD DEALERSHIP STATED THAT IT WOULD BE AT LEAST 2-3 WEEKS BEFORE SOMEONE COULD CHECK OUT MY VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THEY WERE NOT COOPERATIVE IN HELPING ME GET A RENTAL CAR EITHER AND STATED THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE COST OF RENTING A CAR. MY OWN MECHANIC WHO HAS SERVICED ALL MY VEHICLES AND THERE HAS NEVER BEEN AN ISSUE... ADVISED ME THAT THE BRAKE CABLE OR SOMETHING TO THAT EFFECT WAS BROKEN. I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THAT IS POSSIBLE SINCE I JUST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE 10/2016. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 9 MONTHS I'VE HAD ISSUES WITH FORD AND THEIR FAULTY PRODUCTS. APRIL 2017 FORD MOTORS SETTLED WITH ME OVER MY 2013 FORD FOCUS WHICH WAS IN AN OUT OF THE SHOP SINCE MARCH 2015. I'VE HAD TO GO THRU NUMEROUS AGENCIES TO GET ANY REAL HELP. I'VE SPOKEN WITH MY MECHANIC TODAY AND WAS GIVEN AN APPROX ESTIMATE OF $700 TO REPAIR AND MY CAR WON'T BE AVAILABLE UNTIL NEXT WEEK. IN ADDITION, IT'S COSTING $170 TO RENT A CAR TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO SCHOOL AND WORK UNTIL MONDAY. I AM LOOKING FOR FORD TO REIMBURSE ME FOR MY EXPENSES AND COST TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE. OR THE OTHER ALTERNATIVE IS TO BUY BACK THE VEHICLE. I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE FROM FORD AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/8/2017 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
"TAKATA RECALL"......I STOPPED BY 7-11 ATM TO GET SOME MONEY AND OTHER ITEMS...UPON RETURNING TO MY VEHICLE I NOTICED IT WOULD NOT START. THE DASHBOARD SAID IT WAS IN REVERSE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS IN PARK MODE. I SPEND APPROXIMATELY 3.5 HOURS ON THE PHONE WITH THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TRYING TO GET SOME REAL HELP. AFTER NO SUCCESS, I WENT THRU THREE DIFFERENT CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS WHO WERE NOT KNOWLEDGEABLE ON HOW TO HANDLE A VEHICLE THAT WAS DISABLED, STUCK IN REVERSE AND WOULD NOT START. I ENDED UP CALLING AAA AND HAD IT TOWED TO MY OWN MECHANIC BECAUSE I CALLED THREE FORD DEALERSHIP STATED THAT IT WOULD BE AT LEAST 2-3 WEEKS BEFORE SOMEONE COULD CHECK OUT MY VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THEY WERE NOT COOPERATIVE IN HELPING ME GET A RENTAL CAR EITHER AND STATED THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE COST OF RENTING A CAR. MY OWN MECHANIC WHO HAS SERVICED ALL MY VEHICLES AND THERE HAS NEVER BEEN AN ISSUE... ADVISED ME THAT THE BRAKE CABLE OR SOMETHING TO THAT EFFECT WAS BROKEN. I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW THAT IS POSSIBLE SINCE I JUST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE 10/2016. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 9 MONTHS I'VE HAD ISSUES WITH FORD AND THEIR FAULTY PRODUCTS. APRIL 2017 FORD MOTORS SETTLED WITH ME OVER MY 2013 FORD FOCUS WHICH WAS IN AN OUT OF THE SHOP SINCE MARCH 2015. I'VE HAD TO GO THRU NUMEROUS AGENCIES TO GET ANY REAL HELP. I'VE SPOKEN WITH MY MECHANIC TODAY AND WAS GIVEN AN APPROX ESTIMATE OF $700 TO REPAIR AND MY CAR WON'T BE AVAILABLE UNTIL NEXT WEEK. IN ADDITION, IT'S COSTING $170 TO RENT A CAR TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO SCHOOL AND WORK UNTIL MONDAY. I AM LOOKING FOR FORD TO REIMBURSE ME FOR MY EXPENSES AND COST TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE. OR THE OTHER ALTERNATIVE IS TO BUY BACK THE VEHICLE. I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE FROM FORD AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2017 - SCHELLSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT'S HUSBAND OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V209000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE PART FOR THE REMEDY WAS UNAVAILABLE. WHILE THE CONTACT'S HUSBAND WAS AT A STOP, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT COOLANT LEAKED ONTO THE GROUND. UPON INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT RADIATOR FLUID WAS LEAKING AND THE RESERVOIR COOLANT CAP WAS CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/6/2017 - FULTON, MO
MY 2014 FORD ESCAPE SUDDENLY HESITATES AND STALLS WHILE DRIVING IT, CAUSING A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. MY ESCAPE HAS NEVER HAD ANY WORK PERFORMED ON IT BEYOND NEW TIRES AND OIL CHANGES SO THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP FOR SERVICE AND WAS INFORMED IT IS A PROBLEM WITH THE SPLICES IN THE WIRING HARNESS FOR THE MAP SENSOR. I WAS ALSO TOLD IT IS THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM AS FORD'S CURRENT RECALL NUMBER 14S17 FOR 2013-2014 FORD ESCAPES; HOWEVER MY VIN IS NOT COVERED BY THIS RECALL DUE TO ITS MANUFACTURING DATE. APPARENTLY ADDITIONAL VEHICLES NEED TO BE ADDED TO THIS RECALL OR A NEW RECALL NEEDS TO BE ISSUED AS THIS ISSUE CONTINUED ON MY FORD ESCAPE AND FORD HAS REFUSED TO FIX MY PROBLEM SINCE MY VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY DUE TO THE NUMBER OF MILES, EVEN THOUGH THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE CAUSED BY A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM AND NOT A WEAR AND TEAR ISSUE. I WAS CHARGED $360.35 TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

5/31/2017 - VAN NUYS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE THE BRAKE PEDAL FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN UNKNOWN DEALER, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE STATUS HAD NOT YET BEEN DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED MINOR BRUISES AND SCRAPES, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 27,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/30/2017 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
MY CAR HAD A RECALL IN SEPT 2016 AND I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO GET IT FIXED YET. MY DEALERSHIP STILL HAS NO PARTS. SO WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/30/2017 - COGAN STATION, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V643000 (LATCHES/ LOCKS/LINKAGES) AND 17V209000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT AND VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds