Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 86 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Power Train (10) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (19) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - PALM COAST, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:15V005000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
ONCE AGAIN VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR OVER AN HOUR. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO START. ALL DASH LIGHTS AND HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, WINDOWS, ETC. WOULD FUNCTION, BUT NO INDICATION OF IGNITION WHEN KEY WAS TURNED. TRIED BOTH KEYS TO MAKE SURE IT WAS NOT A BAD KEY. NEITHER KEY WORKED. LEFT CAR WHERE PARKED OVERNIGHT AND RETURNED IN THE MORNING. CAR STARTED. CALLED DEALER AND IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR IN, RATHER THAN HAVE IT TOWED IN. I DID. I LEFT THE CAR AT THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED LATER THAT DAY THAT THEY HAD BEEN ABLE TO VERIFY MY COMPLIANT. THEY INDICATED THAT IT WAS A BUILD UP OF RESISTANCE IN A WIRE THEN THE ENGINE WAS HOT. IT WAS WRAPPED AND I WAS ASSURED THE I WOULD NO LONGER HAVE THE PROBLEM. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT SOME 2013-14 FORD ESCAPES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR INSUFFICIENT COMPRESSION OF CASING AROUND THE WIRING, CAUSING EXACTLY THE PROBLEMS I HAVE BEEN HAVING. ALL THE POTENTIAL PROBLEMS LISTED IN THE RECALL, SHORT OF A POSSIBLE CRASH HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCED TO DATE! MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED AT ONE OF THE AFFECTED ASSEMBLY PLANTS DURING THE AFFECTED DATES. HOWEVER, THE RECALL INDICATES 2.0 LITER ENGINES. MINE IS A 1.6 LITER ENGINE. THEREFORE, DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME AND ASSURED ME THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN SOLVED. I REQUESTED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS BE REPLACED BECAUSE I FELT UNSAFE IN MY VEHICLE AND WAS AFRAID THAT IT WOULD STOP SUDDENLY AND I COULD CRASH. I WAS TOLD THAT REPAIR WAS NOT POSSIBLE, BECAUSE MY SPECIFIC VIN WAS NOT RECALLED. I WAS ASSURED THAT I SHOULD HAVE NO FURTHER PROBLEMS. I ACCEPTED THE RETURN OF MY VEHICLE, WITH THE ASSURANCE THAT IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WE WOULD ESCALATE MY REQUEST FOR REPLACEMENT OF THE WIRING HARNESS. THE DEALER HAD MY CAR FOR OVER A WEEK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
ONCE AGAIN VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR OVER AN HOUR. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO START. ALL DASH LIGHTS AND HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, WINDOWS, ETC. WOULD FUNCTION, BUT NO INDICATION OF IGNITION WHEN KEY WAS TURNED. TRIED BOTH KEYS TO MAKE SURE IT WAS NOT A BAD KEY. NEITHER KEY WORKED. LEFT CAR WHERE PARKED OVERNIGHT AND RETURNED IN THE MORNING. CAR STARTED. CALLED DEALER AND IT WAS SUGGESTED THAT I DRIVE THE CAR IN, RATHER THAN HAVE IT TOWED IN. I DID. I LEFT THE CAR AT THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED LATER THAT DAY THAT THEY HAD BEEN ABLE TO VERIFY MY COMPLIANT. THEY INDICATED THAT IT WAS A BUILD UP OF RESISTANCE IN A WIRE THEN THE ENGINE WAS HOT. IT WAS WRAPPED AND I WAS ASSURED THE I WOULD NO LONGER HAVE THE PROBLEM. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND THAT SOME 2013-14 FORD ESCAPES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR INSUFFICIENT COMPRESSION OF CASING AROUND THE WIRING, CAUSING EXACTLY THE PROBLEMS I HAVE BEEN HAVING. ALL THE POTENTIAL PROBLEMS LISTED IN THE RECALL, SHORT OF A POSSIBLE CRASH HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCED TO DATE! MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED AT ONE OF THE AFFECTED ASSEMBLY PLANTS DURING THE AFFECTED DATES. HOWEVER, THE RECALL INDICATES 2.0 LITER ENGINES. MINE IS A 1.6 LITER ENGINE. THEREFORE, DEALER SAID THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME AND ASSURED ME THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN SOLVED. I REQUESTED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS BE REPLACED BECAUSE I FELT UNSAFE IN MY VEHICLE AND WAS AFRAID THAT IT WOULD STOP SUDDENLY AND I COULD CRASH. I WAS TOLD THAT REPAIR WAS NOT POSSIBLE, BECAUSE MY SPECIFIC VIN WAS NOT RECALLED. I WAS ASSURED THAT I SHOULD HAVE NO FURTHER PROBLEMS. I ACCEPTED THE RETURN OF MY VEHICLE, WITH THE ASSURANCE THAT IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WE WOULD ESCALATE MY REQUEST FOR REPLACEMENT OF THE WIRING HARNESS. THE DEALER HAD MY CAR FOR OVER A WEEK.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR APPROXIMATELY ONE HOUR. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO START, HEADLIGHTS AND DASH LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE, BUT THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF ANY POWER GOING TO ENGINE TO START. NO CLICKING (AS WITH A DEAD BATTERY - ALL LIGHTS WERE FUNCTIONING PROPERLY). WAITED 10 MINUTES AND IT STARTED. TURNED IT OFF BRIEFLY TO GO INSIDE TO TELL SHOP OWNER THAT CAR HAD STARTED. CAME BACK OUT, IT WOULD NOT START AGAIN. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO RESTART AND IT WOULD NOT. LEFT CAR WHERE PARKED AND CALLED A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE CAR TO DEALER IN THE MORNING. DEALER WAS UNABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO START EACH TIME. I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND TO PICK UP MY CAR. WHICH I DID.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AFTER BEING PARKED FOR APPROXIMATELY ONE HOUR. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO START, HEADLIGHTS AND DASH LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE, BUT THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF ANY POWER GOING TO ENGINE TO START. NO CLICKING (AS WITH A DEAD BATTERY - ALL LIGHTS WERE FUNCTIONING PROPERLY). WAITED 10 MINUTES AND IT STARTED. TURNED IT OFF BRIEFLY TO GO INSIDE TO TELL SHOP OWNER THAT CAR HAD STARTED. CAME BACK OUT, IT WOULD NOT START AGAIN. TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO RESTART AND IT WOULD NOT. LEFT CAR WHERE PARKED AND CALLED A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE CAR TO DEALER IN THE MORNING. DEALER WAS UNABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO START EACH TIME. I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND TO PICK UP MY CAR. WHICH I DID.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
BACKED OUT OF DRIVEWAY, PUT CAR IN GEAR AND "ENGINE MALFUNCTION" WARNING BOX CAME UP ON DASHBOARD. PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL AND BACK INTO DRIVE. WARNING BOX DISAPPEARED, BUT EXCLAMATION POINT IN TRIANGLE WAS ON DASHBOARD. DEPRESSED GAS PEDAL AND CAR MOVED FORWARD VERY SLOWLY WITH HESITATION AND JERKING POWER SURGES. DROVE APPROXIMATELY 2-3 BLOCKS AS HESITATION, JERKING AND LACK OF POWER CONTINUED. WENT BACK HOME AND CALLED TOW TRUCK TO TAKE CAR TO DEALER. TACHOMETER WAS ERRATIC AND BOUNCING AROUND, WHEN CAR IDLED. CAR STARTED FINE SEVERAL TIMES, BUT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OR RUN NORMALLY. DEALER VERIFIED COMPLAINT, AND REPAIRED AFFECTING WIRING.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2015 - EVANSVILLE, IN
THE STEERING WOULD NOT CENTER AND LOST POWER AND LOCKED UP COULD NOT TURN RIGHT OR LEFT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/11/2015 - BLUEFIELD, WV
THE VEHICLE BRAKES HAD BEEN MAKING A GRINDING NOISE, SPECIFICALLY WHILE BACKING UP. AFTER A TRIP TO THE DEALER THEY STATED THERE WERE NO ISSUES. A FEW MONTH LATER (AT NIGHT) THE VEHICLES BRAKES BECAME GRABBY, GRINDING, AND SQUEALING, CAUSING THE ABS SYSTEM TO ACTIVATE THINKING THE VEHICLE TIRES WERE LOCKED UP AND SLIDING. THE VEHICLE THEN SLID OFF THE ROAD. I INSPECTED THE BRAKES THE FOLLOWING MORNING AND FOUND THAT ROTORS WERE HEAVILY DAMAGED WITH GOUGES AND GROOVES. THEY LOOKED AS THOUGH THEY HAD 60K MILES ON THEM IN-LIEU-OF THE ACTUAL 11,454, AND AS THOUGH THE PADS WERE WORN AND HAD DAMAGED THE ROTORS. THE PADS ACTUALLY SHOWED LITTLE TO NO WEAR HOWEVER THE ROTORS HAD SEVERE PREMATURE DAMAGE. THE DEALER RELUCTANTLY CHANGED THE ROTORS AND PADS. THIS SEEMS TO ME TO BE EITHER AN ENGINEERING ISSUE OR BAD PARTS, RESULTING IN PREMATURE PARTS FAILURE. THIS ISSUE CAN LEAD TO BRAKE FAILURE AND A CATASTROPHIC ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
CAR JUST EXITED THE HIGHWAY. DROVE APPROXIMATELY A QUARTER MILE AND MADE A RIGHT TURN. THE STEERING LOCKED UP IN MID TURN. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO CARS PARKED ON THIS PARTICULAR STREET OR THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT. MANAGED TO STRAIGHTEN WHEEL AND ABLE TO PULL IN A PARKING SPOT. CAR'S ELECTRICAL SYSTEM STARTED SHUTTING DOWN TO SAVE BATTERY POWER. HAD CAR TOWED TO FORD DEALER. THEY SAY THE ALTERNATOR WAS WEAK. FIVE DAYS AFTER THE INCIDENT AND STILL WAITING FOR THE PART. LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE PRODUCT. CAR IS NINE MONTHS OLD.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
CAR JUST EXITED THE HIGHWAY. DROVE APPROXIMATELY A QUARTER MILE AND MADE A RIGHT TURN. THE STEERING LOCKED UP IN MID TURN. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO CARS PARKED ON THIS PARTICULAR STREET OR THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT. MANAGED TO STRAIGHTEN WHEEL AND ABLE TO PULL IN A PARKING SPOT. CAR'S ELECTRICAL SYSTEM STARTED SHUTTING DOWN TO SAVE BATTERY POWER. HAD CAR TOWED TO FORD DEALER. THEY SAY THE ALTERNATOR WAS WEAK. FIVE DAYS AFTER THE INCIDENT AND STILL WAITING FOR THE PART. LOST CONFIDENCE IN THE PRODUCT. CAR IS NINE MONTHS OLD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds