Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (19)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (28) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (21) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seats (2) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (46) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (7) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/15/2017 - EDWARDS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/14/2017 - NATCHEZ, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE VIBRATED WHEN IT DROVE OVER A BUMP. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BAR THAT THE BAR THAT CONNECTED THE WHEEL TO THE VEHICLE WAS FRACTURED. THE WHEEL WAS LOOSE AND MOVEABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

3/8/2017 - GEORGETOWN, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/8/2017 - GRANGER, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2017 - CENTRAL ISLIP, NY
ON MANY DIFFERENT TIMES MY CAR OVER HEATS. I IMMEDIATELY HAVE TO PARK N WAIT A WHILE FOR IT TO COOL DOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2017 - BRANDON, FL
ON APRIL 5, 2016, MY SUV FAILED TO START, SO I CHECKED UNDER THE HOOD. THE BATTERY HAD EXTENSIVE CORROSION. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED AAA, AND THE TECHNICIAN REPLAVED THE BATTERY. OCTOBER 5, 2016, I NOTICED THAT MY SUV WAS HESITANT TO START NORMALLY. AFTER INSPECTING MY BATTERY, A SMALL AMOUNT OF CORROSION WAS AGAIN PRESENT. ASSUMING THIS WAS MORE THAN A SIMPLE BATTERY ISSUE, I MADE AN APPOINTMENT AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP + BRANDON FORD IN TAMPA, FL. I EXPLAINED THE TECHNICIAN MY RECENT HISTORY WITH THE BATTERY AND SHOWED HIM THE PICTURES. I EXPLICITLY INFORMED HIM THAT I DID NOT WANT A +BAND-AID FIX+ FOR THIS ISSUE. AFTER HIS ASSESSMENT, THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT HE WOULD CLEAN THE CONNECTIONS AND INSTALL ANTI-CORROSION PADS AND THAT WOULD SOLVE THE ISSUE. ON DECEMBER 30 2016, I VISITED BRANDON FORD BECAUSE MY VEHICLE+S +CHECK ENGINE+ LIGHT HAD BEEN ILLUMINATED, AND THE SUV WAS EXPERIENCING STUTTERING WHILE DRIVING BOTH ON MY RESIDENTIAL STREET AND ON THE HIGHWAY. A BIT OF CORROSION WAS PRESENT AGAIN. THE FORD TECH CALLED ME AFTER DIAGNOSING THE PROBLEM AND EXPLAINED TO ME THAT IT WAS GOING TO BE AROUND $400 TO FIX THE ISSUE + A POOR ELECTRICAL CONNECTION + BY REPLACING THE ENGINE HARNESS SIGNAL RETURN SPLICES. HE ALSO INFORMED ME THAT THIS WAS NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY. NONETHELESS, I CHOSE TO COMPLETE THE SERVICE. ON FEBRUARY 9TH, I REACHED OUT TO FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE TO EXPLAIN MY ISSUE. I HAVE ATTACHED ALL CORRESPONDENCE TO AND FROM FORD. THEY DO NOT FEEL IT IS A WARRANTY OR MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. I WISH TO HAVE THAT RE-EVALUATED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/23/2017 - GLASGLOW, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, A HISSING NOISE WAS DETECTED AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO SMELLED A HORRIBLE ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 49,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/23/2017 - GLASGLOW, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, A HISSING NOISE WAS DETECTED AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO SMELLED A HORRIBLE ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 49,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/23/2017 - MANTUA, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/21/2017 - WEST DES MOINES, IA
WHEN RUNNING HEATER CAN SMELL ENGINE VAPORS, BAD ENOUGH TO GIVE INSTANT HEADACHE WHEN IN MOTION AND WHEN SITTING STILL HAPPENS OFTEN

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds