Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2014 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Power Train (10) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (11) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (12) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

11/21/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MY WIFE PULLED UP DRIVEWAY, I HAPPENED TO BE OUTSIDE NEXT TO CAR WHEN SHE PULLED IN. WE SUDDENLY HEARD LOUD CRUNCHING SOUND AND SHE STOPPED. WHEN WE FOUND NOTHING I ASKED HER TO BACK UP. WE HEARD CRUNCHING SOUND AGAIN AND SHE SAID THE STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT CONTROLLING CAR. SHE IMMEDIATELY STOPPED. WE DISCOVERED RIGHT FRONT WHEEL PUSHED AGAINST TIRE WELL OF BODY FRAME. NEXT DAY WHEN TOW TRUCK LIFTED CAR, WE DISCOVERED THE BALL JOINT ASSEMBLY HAD COME APART. PERRY FORD (SAN DIEGO) CONFIRMED BALL JOINT APPEARS TO HAVE COME APART WITHOUT ANY OBVIOUS SIGN OF DAMAGE DUE TO IMPACT OR DRIVER FAULT. NOTE: MY WIFE HAD JUST COME OFF FREEWAY, TRAVELING 15 MILES FROM WORK AND 1 MILE FROM OFF RAMP TO OUR HOME. IF SHE HAD BEEN JUST ANOTHER 5 MIN ON FREEWAY TRAVELING 65-70MPH...I HATE TO IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER WITH FORD.

View Details

WHEELS

11/21/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MY WIFE PULLED UP DRIVEWAY, I HAPPENED TO BE OUTSIDE NEXT TO CAR WHEN SHE PULLED IN. WE SUDDENLY HEARD LOUD CRUNCHING SOUND AND SHE STOPPED. WHEN WE FOUND NOTHING I ASKED HER TO BACK UP. WE HEARD CRUNCHING SOUND AGAIN AND SHE SAID THE STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT CONTROLLING CAR. SHE IMMEDIATELY STOPPED. WE DISCOVERED RIGHT FRONT WHEEL PUSHED AGAINST TIRE WELL OF BODY FRAME. NEXT DAY WHEN TOW TRUCK LIFTED CAR, WE DISCOVERED THE BALL JOINT ASSEMBLY HAD COME APART. PERRY FORD (SAN DIEGO) CONFIRMED BALL JOINT APPEARS TO HAVE COME APART WITHOUT ANY OBVIOUS SIGN OF DAMAGE DUE TO IMPACT OR DRIVER FAULT. NOTE: MY WIFE HAD JUST COME OFF FREEWAY, TRAVELING 15 MILES FROM WORK AND 1 MILE FROM OFF RAMP TO OUR HOME. IF SHE HAD BEEN JUST ANOTHER 5 MIN ON FREEWAY TRAVELING 65-70MPH...I HATE TO IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER WITH FORD.

View Details

STEERING

11/21/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MY WIFE PULLED UP DRIVEWAY, I HAPPENED TO BE OUTSIDE NEXT TO CAR WHEN SHE PULLED IN. WE SUDDENLY HEARD LOUD CRUNCHING SOUND AND SHE STOPPED. WHEN WE FOUND NOTHING I ASKED HER TO BACK UP. WE HEARD CRUNCHING SOUND AGAIN AND SHE SAID THE STEERING WHEEL WAS NOT CONTROLLING CAR. SHE IMMEDIATELY STOPPED. WE DISCOVERED RIGHT FRONT WHEEL PUSHED AGAINST TIRE WELL OF BODY FRAME. NEXT DAY WHEN TOW TRUCK LIFTED CAR, WE DISCOVERED THE BALL JOINT ASSEMBLY HAD COME APART. PERRY FORD (SAN DIEGO) CONFIRMED BALL JOINT APPEARS TO HAVE COME APART WITHOUT ANY OBVIOUS SIGN OF DAMAGE DUE TO IMPACT OR DRIVER FAULT. NOTE: MY WIFE HAD JUST COME OFF FREEWAY, TRAVELING 15 MILES FROM WORK AND 1 MILE FROM OFF RAMP TO OUR HOME. IF SHE HAD BEEN JUST ANOTHER 5 MIN ON FREEWAY TRAVELING 65-70MPH...I HATE TO IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER WITH FORD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2014 - HARRISON, OH
I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT UNDER ODI# 10640819 AT 3.5 MONTHS AND NOW I'M AT 7 MONTHS AND FORD DOES NOT HAVE A FIX. HOW ARE THEY ALLOWED TO EXTEND CUSTOMERS THIS LONG AND NOTHING IS DONE TO THEM. WHAT CAN I DO TO FORD TO GET MY VEHICLE REPAIRED? MY CLOCK ALSO HAS BEEN TAMPERED WITH AND SOME ELECTRONICS ACT STUPID AT TIMES. MY FORD DEALER SAYS ITS FORD BUT WHO KNOWS? IF THEY DO NOT HAVE A FIX THEN GIVE ME A NEW CAR THAT WORKS. FORD IS USELESS AND NO ONE CARES AS THEY KEEP SAYING I'M SORRY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/16/2014 - HARRISON, OH
I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT UNDER ODI# 10640819 AT 3.5 MONTHS AND NOW I'M AT 7 MONTHS AND FORD DOES NOT HAVE A FIX. HOW ARE THEY ALLOWED TO EXTEND CUSTOMERS THIS LONG AND NOTHING IS DONE TO THEM. WHAT CAN I DO TO FORD TO GET MY VEHICLE REPAIRED? MY CLOCK ALSO HAS BEEN TAMPERED WITH AND SOME ELECTRONICS ACT STUPID AT TIMES. MY FORD DEALER SAYS ITS FORD BUT WHO KNOWS? IF THEY DO NOT HAVE A FIX THEN GIVE ME A NEW CAR THAT WORKS. FORD IS USELESS AND NO ONE CARES AS THEY KEEP SAYING I'M SORRY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/5/2014 - PORTSMOUTH, RI
PASSENGER OFF AIRBAG SENSOR RANDOMLY APPEARS WITH OR WITHOUT PASSENGERS IN THE SEAT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
OUTSIDE TEMPERATURES WERE OVER 100F. VEHCILE CUTOFF - LOST ALL POWER AND WAS COASTING. SHIFTED TO NUETRAL TO RESTART - WHICH IT DID. PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY CALLED HERTZ ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE. VEHICLE CUTOFF AGAIN WHILE PARKED. DID NOT IMMEDIATELY RESTART. RESTARTED AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES. VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY HERTZ.

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
OUTSIDE TEMPERATURES WERE OVER 100F. VEHCILE CUTOFF - LOST ALL POWER AND WAS COASTING. SHIFTED TO NUETRAL TO RESTART - WHICH IT DID. PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY CALLED HERTZ ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE. VEHICLE CUTOFF AGAIN WHILE PARKED. DID NOT IMMEDIATELY RESTART. RESTARTED AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES. VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY HERTZ.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2014 - DESTREHAN, LA
TRANSMISSION JURKS WHEN CHANGING GEARS

View Details

ENGINE

10/25/2014 - INDLAY, OH
WE LEASED A 2014 ESCAPE IN MARCH OF 2014. FROM THE START IT HAS A PROBLEM ON ACCELERATION, IT WILL HESITATE AND ALMOST STALL WHEN PULLING OUIT INTO TRAFFIC. THE HESITATION IS SPURATIC AS AT TIMES IT IS OK. WE NOTICE AT LOW SPEEDS AROUND 20 30 MPH WHEN ACCELERATING IT BUCKS, WILL NOT TAKE GAS. AT TIMES IT HAS BECOME SO FRUSTRATING I WILL STOP THE CAR AND RE START IF TRAFFIC PERMITS. THIS COULD BE A VERY UNSAFE CONDITION AS WE NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL DO IT. IT DOES IT USUALLY WHEN IT IS COLD HOWEVER IT HAS DONE IT AFTER DRIVING FOR HOURS, STOP FOR 15 MINUTES AND IT DOES IT THEN TOO. WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP BUT IT NEVER HAPPENS THEN. THIS IS CONSTANT AND ANNOYING ROBERT D. POE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds