Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 265 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (38) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (14) Seats (1) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (54) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (70) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Power Train (13) Structure (22)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/17/2017 - BILOXI, MS
HAVE RECENTLY BEEN MADE AWARE OF COMPLAINTS FROM EXPLORER OWNERS OF A FOUL SMELL COMING OUT OF AC VENTS, SIMILAR TO AN EXHAUST FUME, SULFUR OR ROTTEN EGG. HOWEVER, THE FUME THAT WE HAVE EXPERIENCED IS MORE LIKE A RANCID SOUR ODOR EXUDING FROM AC VENTS. THE SMELL IS MOST NOTICIBLE UPON CRANKING ENGINE AND THEN ACCELERATING. UNTIL NOW, NO FORMAL COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED TO FORD OR OUR DEALERSHIP. VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED BRAND NEW IN AUGUST 2014. ODOR BEGAN TO OCCUR APPROXIMATELY 1 YEAR AGO. WE ARE AWARE OF A REAR SUSPENSION TOE LINK POSSIBLE FRACTURE RECALL AT THIS TIME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/16/2017 - FARMINGTON, MO
THERE IS A HORRIBLE SMELL IN MY CAR WHEN I AM DRIVING IT. SO BAD THAT MY CHILDREN AND I HAVE BEEN GETTING HEADACHES NOT KNOW WHAT THE SMELL IS CAUSED FROM. IT IS HORRIBLE FUMES INSIDE THE CARD.

View Details

ENGINE

2/16/2017 - BRYANT, AR
STRONG "NATURAL GAS" SMELL INSIDE CAR WHILE DRIVING AND VERY NOTICEABLE OUTSIDE OF CAR UPON EXITING INTERIOR. CAN SMELL FROM INSIDE MY HOUSE WHEN PARKED IN GARAGE. STARTED 1/26/17 WITH 63,200 MILES ON MY SUV. TOOK TO FORD FOR SERVICE ON 1/30/17 AND WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO EMISSION PROBLEMS AND THAT IT WAS DUE TO MY PTU WHICH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ALONG WITH PTU VENT VALVE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/16/2017 - CHARLOTTE, MI
THE SMELL OF ROTTEN EGGS CAN BE SMELT INSIDE THE EXPLORER, ESPECIALLY WHEN STOPPING AT A STOP SIGN. THE EXHAUST CAN BE SMELLED INSIDE THE CAR AND GIVES ME HEADACHES

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - EL MONTE, CA
EVERY TIME I DRIVE MY 2014 EXPLORER I AM HAVING AN ISSUE WITH A HORRIBLE EXHAUST SMELL THAT IS RECIRCULATING BACK INTO THE VEHICLE. I AM UNABLE TO DRIVE WITH MY WINDOWS DOWN AND TYPICALLY HAVING THE AIR ON MAKES IT WORSE. THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHERE OUT OF THE BLUE I HAVE GOTTEN VERY NAUTIOUS AND A VERY BAD HEADACHE AND MY EYES FEEL AS IF THEY WANT TO GO OUT ON ME WHILE DRIVING OVER 30 MINUTES LONG. I FEAR THIS SMELL CAN NOT BE HEALTHY FOR MYSELF OR MY SMALL CHILDREN. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR IN SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT FOR THIS ISSUE AND FOR SOME REASON THE DEALERSHIP IS THE ONLY ONES WHO CAN'T SMELL IT! YET EVERYONE ELSE THAT GETS IN CAN'T. COINCIDENCE I THINK NOT. THE CAR IS IN MOTION WHEN THIS SMELL OCCURS. AND IT IS A VERY DESTINCT SMEL. I HAVE DOCUMENTS FOR MY COMPLAINTS BUT I WOULD NEED TO SCAN AND EMAIL THEM TO AN INDIVIDUAL. AND I ALSO HAVE AN EMAIL BETWEEN MYSELF AND THE OWNERS OF THE DEALERSHIP I BOUGHT THE CAR AT STATING MY CONCERNS AND MY ISSUE I AM HAVING. BELIEVE IT OR. IT I NOTICE THE SMELL THE SAME DAY I DRIVE IT OFF THE LOT. TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK THE NEXT DAY FOR THEM TO TELL ME IT WAS NORMAL BECAUSE OF THE CHEMICALS THEY USE IN THE ENGINE. I DON'T KNOW MUCH ABOUT CARS SO I TOOK THEIR WOOD FOR IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - ROCKLAND, MA
I RECENTLY BOUGHT A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. I'VE BEEN NOTICING AN EXHAUST LEAK/SMELL THAT LEAKS INTO THE CAB OF THE VEHICLE. THE FIRST TIME I NOTICED THE SMELL WAS AFTER ACCELERATING ON TO THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 3500-4000 RPM. IT SEEMS TO GET WORSE EVERY DAY. AS SOON AS THE VEHICLE STARTS I SMELL IT. THE ONLY TIME IT GOES AWAY IS WHEN I'M CRUISING WITH THE WINDOWS CRACKED AND THE HEAT TURNED DOWN. AS SOON AS I COME TO A STOP OR SLOW DOWN FROM HIGHWAY SPEEDS I IMMEDIATELY GET THE SMELL IN THE CAB. WORRIED ABOUT CARBON MONOXIDE OR ANY OTHER TOXIC FUMES ENTERING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - TAMPA, FL
CARBON MONOXIDE EXHAUST COMING INTO CAR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - GRAND MEADOW, MN
I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE USED IN 2016. AFTER A MONTH I NOTICED A VERY STRONG SMELL OF PROPANE. I HAVE SINCE TAKEN IT TO 2 SHOPS, ONE WHICH SPECIALIZES IN FORDS, AND NEITHER HAVE EVER HEARD IF THE PROBLEM OCCURRING IN OTHER FORDS NOR DID THEY FIND ANY ISSUES WITH THE EXHAUST. THE ODOR IS OVERWHELMING. TODAY A FRIEND SENT ME THE LINK FROM A STORY ON THIS ISSUE THAT CBS HAD RUN YESTERDAY. I'M GLAD TO KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT ONLY HAPPENING TO MY VEHICLE AND HOPE THAT THERE IS A FIX FOR IT AS MY ENTIRE FAMILY HAS BECOME NAUSEOUS SEVERAL TIMES WHILE RIDING IN THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2017 - BATON ROUGE, LA
ANYTIME THE FORD EXPLORER GOES OVER 3000 RPMS THERE'S A STRONG EXHAUST SMELL IN THE CABIN OF THE CAR. PAID TO LOOK AT OUT OF POCKET AT THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE REPRODUCED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - WILLIAMSON, WV
GAS FUMES ENTERING CABIN WHEN ACCELERATE ON THE GAS. LEAVES AN ODOR. HAVE TAKEN IT TO DEALER BUT CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM. IT STILL DOES IT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds