Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 480 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Power Train (22) Steering (47) Unknown Or Other (176)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (17) Seat Belts (3) Structure (33) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Seats (2) Suspension (44) Visibility (8)
Engine (109) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (7) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/7/2017 - SAUGUS, MA
I AM WRITING TO YOU IN REGARDS TO PHYSICAL ILLNESS THAT I HAVE SUFFERED AS WELL AS MY PASSENGERS FROM MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER POLICE INTERCEPTOR PACKAGE. STARTING BACK WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 59,000 MILES, I HAVE EXPERIENCED AN EXHAUST ODOR IN THE CABIN SHORTLY AFTER ACCELERATING OVER 3,000RPMS. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN INVESTIGATED AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TWICE, WITH THE TECHNICIAN CONFIRMING THE SMELL. AFTER THIS WORK WAS PERFORMED, I STILL TO THIS DAY AM SUFFERING FROM EXHAUST FUMES AND PHYSICAL ILLNESS DIRECTLY RELATED TO MY FORD EXPLORER. ALL REPAIR ORDERS FROM INVOLVED FORD DEALERSHIPS ARE IN MY POSSESSION CONFIRMING EXHAUST FUMES ARE STILL ENTERING THE CABIN. FROM THE TIME I TOOK OWNERSHIP IN OCTOBER 2016, I HAVE EXPERIENCED PHYSICAL ILLNESS WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE FOR MORE THAN 1 HOUR AT A TIME. I GET EXTREMELY LIGHTHEADED AND NAUSEATED, WHICH HAS CAUSED ME TO FREQUENTLY STOP THE VEHICLE AND VOMIT. MY PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED SIMILAR SYMPTOMS WHEN RIDING IN THE VEHICLE. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, I STOP AT A SAFE LOCATION AND REMOVE MYSELF TO FRESH AIR, AND THE SYMPTOMS SOON PASS AND I AM ABLE TO DRIVE AGAIN. RECENTLY, I HAVE TRAVELED FROM MASSACHUSETTS TO VERMONT IN MY EXPLORER. THE MOSTLY HIGHWAY DRIVING TRIP IT WAS ME AS WELL AS MY GIRLFRIEND. AFTER AROUND AN HOUR OF DRIVING AT 60MPH, MY GIRLFRIEND AND I WERE FEELING VERY DIZZY AND BECAME NAUSEATED, SO I OPTED TO STOP AND RELAX AT A REST STOP FOR FRESH AIR PRIOR TO CONTINUING MY TRIP TO VERMONT. I HAVE INSTALLED A CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR IN MY VEHICLE, WHICH HAS ACTIVATED MORE THAN ONE OCCASION WHILE DRIVING. AT THIS TIME I AM NEGOTIATING WITH FORD'S OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL TO PERFORM A BUYBACK OF MY EXPLORER AND REPLACE IT WITH A DIFFERENT VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2017 - SAUGUS, MA
I AM WRITING TO YOU IN REGARDS TO PHYSICAL ILLNESS THAT I HAVE SUFFERED AS WELL AS MY PASSENGERS FROM MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER POLICE INTERCEPTOR PACKAGE. STARTING BACK WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 59,000 MILES, I HAVE EXPERIENCED AN EXHAUST ODOR IN THE CABIN SHORTLY AFTER ACCELERATING OVER 3,000RPMS. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN INVESTIGATED AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TWICE, WITH THE TECHNICIAN CONFIRMING THE SMELL. AFTER THIS WORK WAS PERFORMED, I STILL TO THIS DAY AM SUFFERING FROM EXHAUST FUMES AND PHYSICAL ILLNESS DIRECTLY RELATED TO MY FORD EXPLORER. ALL REPAIR ORDERS FROM INVOLVED FORD DEALERSHIPS ARE IN MY POSSESSION CONFIRMING EXHAUST FUMES ARE STILL ENTERING THE CABIN. FROM THE TIME I TOOK OWNERSHIP IN OCTOBER 2016, I HAVE EXPERIENCED PHYSICAL ILLNESS WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE FOR MORE THAN 1 HOUR AT A TIME. I GET EXTREMELY LIGHTHEADED AND NAUSEATED, WHICH HAS CAUSED ME TO FREQUENTLY STOP THE VEHICLE AND VOMIT. MY PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED SIMILAR SYMPTOMS WHEN RIDING IN THE VEHICLE. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, I STOP AT A SAFE LOCATION AND REMOVE MYSELF TO FRESH AIR, AND THE SYMPTOMS SOON PASS AND I AM ABLE TO DRIVE AGAIN. RECENTLY, I HAVE TRAVELED FROM MASSACHUSETTS TO VERMONT IN MY EXPLORER. THE MOSTLY HIGHWAY DRIVING TRIP IT WAS ME AS WELL AS MY GIRLFRIEND. AFTER AROUND AN HOUR OF DRIVING AT 60MPH, MY GIRLFRIEND AND I WERE FEELING VERY DIZZY AND BECAME NAUSEATED, SO I OPTED TO STOP AND RELAX AT A REST STOP FOR FRESH AIR PRIOR TO CONTINUING MY TRIP TO VERMONT. I HAVE INSTALLED A CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR IN MY VEHICLE, WHICH HAS ACTIVATED MORE THAN ONE OCCASION WHILE DRIVING. AT THIS TIME I AM NEGOTIATING WITH FORD'S OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL TO PERFORM A BUYBACK OF MY EXPLORER AND REPLACE IT WITH A DIFFERENT VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/7/2017 - SAUGUS, MA
I AM WRITING TO YOU IN REGARDS TO PHYSICAL ILLNESS THAT I HAVE SUFFERED AS WELL AS MY PASSENGERS FROM MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER POLICE INTERCEPTOR PACKAGE. STARTING BACK WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 59,000 MILES, I HAVE EXPERIENCED AN EXHAUST ODOR IN THE CABIN SHORTLY AFTER ACCELERATING OVER 3,000RPMS. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN INVESTIGATED AT MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TWICE, WITH THE TECHNICIAN CONFIRMING THE SMELL. AFTER THIS WORK WAS PERFORMED, I STILL TO THIS DAY AM SUFFERING FROM EXHAUST FUMES AND PHYSICAL ILLNESS DIRECTLY RELATED TO MY FORD EXPLORER. ALL REPAIR ORDERS FROM INVOLVED FORD DEALERSHIPS ARE IN MY POSSESSION CONFIRMING EXHAUST FUMES ARE STILL ENTERING THE CABIN. FROM THE TIME I TOOK OWNERSHIP IN OCTOBER 2016, I HAVE EXPERIENCED PHYSICAL ILLNESS WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE FOR MORE THAN 1 HOUR AT A TIME. I GET EXTREMELY LIGHTHEADED AND NAUSEATED, WHICH HAS CAUSED ME TO FREQUENTLY STOP THE VEHICLE AND VOMIT. MY PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCED SIMILAR SYMPTOMS WHEN RIDING IN THE VEHICLE. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, I STOP AT A SAFE LOCATION AND REMOVE MYSELF TO FRESH AIR, AND THE SYMPTOMS SOON PASS AND I AM ABLE TO DRIVE AGAIN. RECENTLY, I HAVE TRAVELED FROM MASSACHUSETTS TO VERMONT IN MY EXPLORER. THE MOSTLY HIGHWAY DRIVING TRIP IT WAS ME AS WELL AS MY GIRLFRIEND. AFTER AROUND AN HOUR OF DRIVING AT 60MPH, MY GIRLFRIEND AND I WERE FEELING VERY DIZZY AND BECAME NAUSEATED, SO I OPTED TO STOP AND RELAX AT A REST STOP FOR FRESH AIR PRIOR TO CONTINUING MY TRIP TO VERMONT. I HAVE INSTALLED A CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR IN MY VEHICLE, WHICH HAS ACTIVATED MORE THAN ONE OCCASION WHILE DRIVING. AT THIS TIME I AM NEGOTIATING WITH FORD'S OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL TO PERFORM A BUYBACK OF MY EXPLORER AND REPLACE IT WITH A DIFFERENT VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/7/2017 - OTTUMWA, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE 18-MONTH OLD CHILD, WHO WAS IN A SAFETY SEAT ON THE REAR PASSENGER SEAT, BECAME UNRESPONSIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE CONTACT CALLED 911. THE CHILD WAS TAKEN TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM WHERE THE DOCTOR RAN SEVERAL TESTS, BUT WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CHILD. THE CHILD RECOVERED AND WAS RELEASED FROM THE EMERGENCY ROOM. THE CHILD WAS TAKEN BACK INTO THE VEHICLE AND, FIVE MINUTES INTO THE DRIVE BACK TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CHILD BECAME RESPONSIVE WHEN THE CONTACT ROLLED DOWN THE WINDOW. THE CHILD WAS TAKEN TO THE PEDIATRICIAN WHO RULED OUT THAT THE CHILD MIGHT HAVE SUFFERED A SEIZURE. BOTH THE MOTHER AND THE PEDIATRICIAN SUSPECTED THAT THE CHILD MIGHT HAVE SUFFERED FROM CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING. THE DEALER WAS CALLED (FESLER AUTO MALL IN FAIRFIELD, IOWA, 641-472-2161), BUT DID NOT CALL BACK AS PROMISED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 82,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/6/2017 - GAHANNA, OH
FOR THE PAST SEVERAL WEEKS BOTH ME AND MY WIFE HAVE NOTICED A WEIRD SMELL COMING FROM THE 2014 FORD EXPLORER THAT WE HAVE. ALSO ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS MY WIFE HAS COMPLAINED ABOUT FEELING DIZZY AND NAUSEOUS FROM DRIVING BUT WE THOUGHT IT WAS NOTHING SERIOUS. THEN ABOUT A WEEK AGO AFTER DRIVING THE EXPLORER HOME FROM WORK MY WIFE BEGAN TO FEEL LIGHTHEADED, NAUSEOUS AND ALMOST PASSED OUT WHILE DRIVING WITH OUR 4 YOUNG KIDS IN THE CAR. WE ENDED UP RUSHING HER TO THE HOSPITAL TO SEE WHAT HE PROBLEM WAS, WHICH WAS THE SAME DAY THAT WE RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTICE FROM FORD ABOUT CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING THAT WAS HAPPENING IN ALL 2011-2014 FORD EXPLORER MODELS. SO WHILE SHE WAS IN THE EMERGENCY ROOM WE HAD HER BLOOD AND OXYGEN LEVELS CHECKED FOR CARBON MONOXIDE POISONING ESPECIALLY BECAUSE MY WIFE IS STILL BREASTFEEDING OUR 10 MONTHS OLD DAUGHTER. I HAVE RECENTLY TOOK MY VEHICLE TO A FORD DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE BUT MY REAL CONCERN IS WITH THIS ISSUE AFFECTING MILLIONS OF VEHICLES AND PEOPLE, WHAT IS THE POSSIBILITY OF THIS HAPPENING AGAIN. WE PLAN TO FOLLOW UP WITH OUR PRIMARY CARE PHYSICIAN TO ENSURE THAT THERE ARE NO SIGNS OF CARBON MONOXIDE BEING DETECTED WITHIN ANYONE IN MY IMMEDIATE FAMILY AS WE DRIVE THE 2014 FORD EXPLORER DAILY. I'M REACHING OUT TO FIND OUT WHAT ARE SOME OPTIONS THAT WE HAVE AS FORD CONSUMERS. I JUST PRAY THAT THERE ARE NO MORE SERIOUS HEALTH ISSUES WITH MY WIFE AND KIDS FROM THE TIMES THEY HAVE BEEN INSIDE HIS VEHICLE INHALING THESE POISONIOUS FUMES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/2/2017 - KATY, TX
SHORTLY AFTER LEAVING HOME, AS I WAS REACHING A MAJOR ROAD, I FELT MY VEHICLE SUDDENLY START TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY AND MAKE A LOUD NOISE. THE VEHICLE THEN STARTED TO LOSE SPEED AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE. I WAS ABLE TO PUT IT IN PARK AND TURN THE HAZARDS ON. THIS WAS VERY SCARY BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANY VEHICLE OF MINE BEHAVE THIS WAY. I LITERALLY THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO GRAB MY 3 YEAR OLD AND RUN FOR MY LIFE. I THOUGHT IT COULD EXPLODE OR CATCH FIRE OR WHO KNOWS. AT THIS POINT I JUST FELT FEAR. THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT IF SOMEONE BEHIND ME WOULD+VE REAR ENDED ME. AGAIN, MY CAR STOPPED MOVING FOR NO REASON. THIS COULD POSE A MAJOR THREAT AND I WOULD RECOMMEND ACTIONS BE TAKEN TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE. AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE, I LEARNED ABOUT MANY OTHER FORD DRIVERS EXPERIENCING SIMILAR SITUATIONS INVOLVING THE THROTTLE BODY COMPONENT. SOUNDS TO ME LIKE THIS COULD BE A COLLECTIVE PROBLEM. I HOPE FORD WILL TAKE MY CONCERNS INTO CONSIDERATION TO PREVENT ANY FUTURE DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/30/2017 - MACOMB, MI
THE DASH READS TRANSMISSION NOT IN PARK WHILE THE SHIFTER IS IN PARK POSITION. THERE IS A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THIS ISSUE BUT THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE ISSUE DUE TO THE VEHICLE WARRANTY BEING EXPIRED. TSB 15-0047

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/30/2017 - DENVER, CO
THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT HAVE BEEN COMING ON INTERMITTENTLY. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE PROBLEM AND FORD HAD BEEN UNABLE TO IDENTIFY THE CAUSE. ON NOVEMBER 27, 2017, A FORD DEALERSHIP IDENTIFIED THAT THE CAR HAD A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG RESTRAINT CONTROL MODULE. THE CAR HAS 60,472 MILES. THE WARRANTY EXPIRED AT 60,000. FORD HAS NOT OFFERED TO EXTEND ANY SORT OF WARRANTY RELIEF EVEN THOUGH THE CAR IS 472 MILES OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY. MY HUSBAND WAS IN A FRONT-END COLLISION IN JULY 2017. ALTHOUGH THE CAR THAT HE HIT WAS TOTALLED, THE AIRBAGS IN OUR FORD DID NOT DEPLOY, A FACT THAT SHOCKED MANY PEOPLE CONSIDERING THE DAMAGE TO THE OTHER CAR. I AM SHOCKED THAT WHEN THE CAR WAS IN THE FORD DEALERSHIP AFTER THE ACCIDENT THAT THEY DID NOT WORK TO EXPLAIN THE AIRBAG FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/29/2017 - ALTA LOMA, CA
OUR VEHICLE CONTAINS A COMMON BACKUP SENSOR WHICH BEEPS WHEN IT DETECTS SOMEONE BEHIND THE VEHICLE. THE SYSTEM DOESN'T WORK APPROXIMATELY 5% OF THE TIME. MY OWN BROTHER HAS THE SAME YEAR FORD EXPLORER AND HE SAYS THAT HE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM. SEVERAL TIMES WE ALMOST STRUCK SOMEONE, INCLUDING A SMALL CHILD, BECAUSE THE SENSOR DID NOT GO OFF. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT THEY COULDN'T DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, SO THEY COULDN'T FIX IT. THAT'S RIDICULOUS. DOES SOMEONE NEED TO DIE FOR THEM TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY HAVE A PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/28/2017 - CRANBERRY TWP, PA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY APPROX 65 MPH IN RAIN. SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING, MESSAGE ON DASHBOARD INDICATING CHECK CHARGING SYSTEM, THEN HILL ASSIST FAILURE, THEN WARNING MESSAGE THAT ALL ACCESSORY POWER WAS DISABLED TO CONSERVE POWER. THEN ALL LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD LIT UP. LOSS OF POWER STEERING IN RAIN ON HIGHWAY ALMOST CAUSED VEHICLE TO LOSE CONTROL AND BE INVOLVED IN MULTIPLE CAR ACCIDENT. SERPENTINE BELT WAS FOUND TO BE IN PROPER CONDITION, AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HOME ALTERNATE ROUTE ALONG 35MPH ROADS. NO FURTHER PROBLEMS ASIDE FROM OCCASIONAL SQUEAK UNDER ACCELERATION. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED UP WITH SERVICE CALL, SERPENTINE BELL WAS IN GOOD CONDITION, BUT BELT TENSIONER SPRING HAD FAILED. VEHICLE HAS ONLY 57,000 MILES. SEEMS EXCESSIVELY EARLY FOR THIS TYPE OF PART TO FAIL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds