Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 407 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Power Train (15) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (16) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (42) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (41) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (85) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (6) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (42) Unknown Or Other (142)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/10/2017 - HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, AR
THE SMELL OF EXHAUST FUMES ENTER THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT ESPECIALLY ON FULL ACCELERATION. SEEMS TO BE UNDER ANY CONDITION OF THE CABIN AS FAR AS WINDOW OPEN PARTIALLY, CLOSED WINDOWS WITH VENT ON, AC ON WITH OR WITHOUT THE RECIRCULATION BEING USED. MOSTLY ANNOYING AND IT DOES SEEM TO DISSIPATE AFTER A FEW MINUTES, WILL OCCUR FROM STARTING AT FULL STOP OR USE SUCH AS FULL THROTTLE FOR PASSING AT ANY SPEED. DO NOT SEEM TO NOTICE A SMELL WHEN RUNNING IN TOWN OR ON FREEWAY. RARELY SIT WITH ENGINE RUNNING AND HAVE NOT NOTICED THE EXHAUST SMELL THUS FAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/8/2017 - NORTH POTOMAC, MD
STRONG EXHAUST ODOR IN CAB WHILE DRIVING + THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS CAR 16S18 REPLACE BOTH TEAR TOE LINKS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/8/2017 - JONESBOROUGH, TN
I GET VERY NAUSEOUS AND HEAD ACHES WHEN DRIVING MY VEHICLE. SOME TIMES BLURRED VISION AND A FEELING OF SLOWED REACTION. I HAVE HAD AN INSTANCE WHERE I BLACKED OUT WHILE DRIVING FOR A FEW SECONDS, TO BE AWAKENED WHEN MY VEHICLE RAN ACROSS GRAVELS BEFORE ENTERING A YARD. I HAD JUST GOTTEN OFF THE INTERSTATE WHERE I WAS DOING AROUND 70 MPH AND ABOUT 1/2 MILE AFTER THE TOP OF THE OFF RAMP I BLACKED OUT. NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED, I CAME TO IN TIME TO PULL THE WHEEL TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT BUT WAS PERFECTLY FINE RIGHT BEFORE I BLACKED OUT. I WASN'T TIRED BEFORE THIS. WHEN I DRIVE OUR 2017 FORD F-350 I DO NOT HAVE THESE SYMPTOMS. THEY SEEM TO GO AWAY. OR IF I RIDE IN MY EXPLORER WITH THE WINDOWS OPEN I SEEM TO FEEL BETTER. AFTER MY RIDE HOME FROM WORK IF I RUN THE AIR AND HAVE MY WINDOWS UP I AM SO TIRED BY THE TIME I GET HOME THAT I CAN'T DO ANYTHING BESIDES LAY ON THE COUCH AND SLEEP. WHICH IS NOT ME- I HAVE NO HEALTH ISSUES AND AM VERY ACTIVE IF I DO NOT DRIVE THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2017 - MANALAPAN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, EXHAUST FUMES ENTERED THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED WITH THE RPM'S ABOVE 3500. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/7/2017 - SAN ANGELO, TX
THE WINDOW TRIM ON BOTH SIDES OF THE FRONT WINDSHIELD BECAME LOOSE AND THEN FLEW OFF OF THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR HAS 3500 MILES. WHY IS THIS NOT A RECALL? OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS SAME ISSUE I HAVE LEARNED BY READING THESE FORUMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2017 - ABILENE, TX
WHEN ACCELERATING, A STRONG ODOR COMES FROM THE AIR VENTS. THE ODOR LINGERS AND SMELLS VERY STRONG, I BELIEVE THIS MAY BE EXHAUST FUMES, AS IT ONLY HAPPENS DURING ACCELERATION.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2017 - ABILENE, TX
WHEN ACCELERATING, A STRONG ODOR COMES FROM THE AIR VENTS. THE ODOR LINGERS AND SMELLS VERY STRONG, I BELIEVE THIS MAY BE EXHAUST FUMES, AS IT ONLY HAPPENS DURING ACCELERATION.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2017 - HOUSTON, MO
MY FORD EXPLORER HAS SIGNIFICANT EXHAUST SMELL IN THE VEHICLE AT TIMES, USUALLY AFTER I HAVE KICKED IT DOWN INTO PASSING GEAR, SUCH AS IN CLIMBING HILLS. WHEN I HAD IT IN FOR SERVICE, I ASKED THE DEALER I BOUGHT IT FROM TO TRY TO IDENTIFY WHAT IS CAUSING IT AND THEY CLAIMED THEY COULD NOT DISCERN ANY ODOR. I HAVE SINCE LEARNED OF THE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS THAT HAVE BEEN PUSHED OUT BY FORD FOR MY VERY PROBLEM AND HAVE ALSO LEARNED THAT THERE IS NO INDICATION ANY OF THEIR EFFORTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM ARE ACTUALLY WORKING. I CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY FORD FOR EASTER EGG HUNTS, SO I AND MY FAMILY ARE WAITING FOR A RECALL. IN THE MEANWHILE, WE ARE DRIVING THE VEHICLE WITH THE WINDOWS DOWN. WE HAVE BEEN CONTACTED BY ONE LAW FIRM SO FAR THAT IS INVOLVED IN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT OVER THIS ISSUE. WE WOULD RATHER HAVE FORD FIX THE PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM WAS INITIALLY NOTICED JUST AFTER WE BOUGHT IT, BUT WE THOUGHT IT WAS DUE TO SOMETHING ON THE ENGINE THAT WOULD BURN OFF IN TIME. THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED THE ENTIRE TIME WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE. THE PROBLEM DOESN'T SEEM DIRECTLY RELATED TO SPEED OF TRAVEL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/4/2017 - MESA, AZ
WHEN ACCELERATING QUICKLY OR GOING UP HILL, WHICH CAUSES A HIGHER RPM, A HORRIBLE SMELL COMES IN THE CAR. IT SMELLS LIKE A CROSS BETWEEN ROTTEN EGGS AND BURNT HAIR. AFTER READING OTHER'S REPORTS, IT COULD BE THE EXHAUST BEING SUCKED INTO THE CAR. IT SEEMS TO BE WORSE WHEN THE REAR AIR IS ON. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE NEW. THE DEALERSHIP DOES NOT ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. THE DATE ENTERED BELOW IS THE MOST RECENT OCCURENCE. I ALWAYS ROLL THE WINDOWS DOWN TO AIR OUT THE EXHAUST/SMELL.

View Details

STEERING

8/4/2017 - ORLEANS, ME
THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING RACK HAS FAILED ON OUR VEHICLE. THIS I HAVE SEEN IS A PROBLEM FORD HAS HAD IN THE PAST AND HAS STILL NOT REMEDIED THE PROBLEM. THE OUT OF POCKET COSTS ARE $2500.00 . THE STEERING IS UNSAFE AND IS ALLOVER THE ROAD. FURTHER TO THIS THE POWER SEAT MOTOR FAILED AND THEY WANT $2500 TO REPAIR IT . THIS I FEEL IS VERY UNFAIR AND GOUGING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds