Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 56 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Unknown Or Other (23) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (7) Structure (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/17/2014 - RICHARDSON, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY I NEEDED TO ACCELERATE TO PASS A VEHICLE AND WHEN I DID A EXHAUST SMELL ENTERED THE CAB IT TOOK ABOUT 5-10 SECONDS AFTER ACCELERATING OVER 3500 RPMS. I HAVE TESTED THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME UNDER THESE CONDITIONS. SITTING STILL THERE IS NO EFFECT AT ALL. FIVE STAR FORD OF PLANO TEXAS HAS TRIED A "TSB" THAT WAS ISSUED TO INSTALL A VENT ADJUSTMENT. THEY ALSO CHANGED OUT THE CABIN FILTER. STILL NO LUCK. THANK YOU

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/15/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
EXHAUST SMELL IN VEHICLE WHEN ACCELERATING AT SPEEDS ABOVE 70MPH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
TEST DROVE BRAND NEW 2014 EXPLORER WITH 3.5L ECOBOOST TURBO ENGINE. UPON HARD ACCELERATION, THE VEHICLE CABIN EXPERIENCES A STRONG EXHAUST SMELL THAT IS IRRITATING TO THE EYES AND LUNGS. I DECIDED AGAINST PURCHASING THE VEHICLE FOR THIS REASON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
I RENTED A NEARLY NEW FORD EXPLORER LIMITED AWD IN MILWAUKEE, WI. I HAD BEEN CONSIDERING PURCHASING THIS MODEL SO I WAS PLEASED TO BE ABLE TO DRIVE ONE FOR A FEW DAYS. EVERY TIME I ACCELERATED HARD (WOT) THE CABIN WOULD FILL WITH EXHAUST FUMES. THIS OCCURRED EVEN WITH THE AC IN RECIRCULATE MODE AND WITHOUT ANY OTHER VEHICLES NEARBY THAT WOULD HAVE PRODUCED THE ODOR. IT WAS STRONG ENOUGH THAT WE OPENED THE WINDOWS TO GET FRESH AIR. AFTER THE 2ND TIME OF THIS OCCURRING, I DID NOT ACCELERATE HARD AGAIN AS TO AVOID THE PROBLEM. I ALSO TEST DROVE A BRAND NEW 2014 ECOBOOST AWD MODEL THIS WEEKEND AND IT DID THE SAME THING. I WILL NOT BE PURCHASING THIS MODEL BUT WANTED TO ADD MY EXPERIENCE TO THE DATABASE AS I FEEL THAT FORD NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM FOR OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES. IT IS A SHAME, IT WAS A NICE VEHICLE OTHERWISE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/13/2014 - ARCADIA, CA
WHEN ACCELERATING OR DOING FREEWAY SPEEDS THE SMELL OF EXHAUST CIRCULATES THROUGHOUT THE CAR. IT IS SO BAD THAT WE HAVE TO ROLL DOWN ALL THE WINDOWS. THIS HAS CAUSED DROWSINESS, HEADACHES AND OUR YOUNG GRANDDAUGHTER TO HAVE AN ASTHMA ATTACK. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN TO 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS NUMEROUS TIMES AND THEY BOTH SAY THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE AND THAT THE SMELL IS NOT ABNORMAL. THEY CLAIM THAT THE CAR IS NOT BROKEN IN YET AND THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER NEEDS TO BURN OFF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2014 - TULSA, OK
UPON HEAVY ACCELERATION (TO ENTER THE FREEWAY, FOR EXAMPLE) A STRONG ODOR OF EXHAUST FUMES ENTERS THE CABIN. IT IS NECESSARY TO OPEN A WINDOW IN ORDER TO BREATH AGAIN! THIS OCCURS EVERY TIME UPON ENTERING THE FREEWAY, AND IF/WHEN PASSING ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2014 - TULSA, OK
UPON HEAVY ACCELERATION (TO ENTER THE FREEWAY, FOR EXAMPLE) A STRONG ODOR OF EXHAUST FUMES ENTERS THE CABIN. IT IS NECESSARY TO OPEN A WINDOW IN ORDER TO BREATH AGAIN! THIS OCCURS EVERY TIME UPON ENTERING THE FREEWAY, AND IF/WHEN PASSING ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/9/2014 - GULFPORT, MS
UPON ACCELERATION THE CABIN SMELLED OF EXHAUST FUMES, IT HAPPENS ALMOST EVERYDAY AND CAUSES LIGHT HEADEDNESS WHEN DRIVING. WHEN GETTING UP TO SPEED ON THE HIGHWAY THE CABIN FILLS WITH EXHAUST.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/9/2014 - GULFPORT, MS
UPON ACCELERATION THE CABIN SMELLED OF EXHAUST FUMES, IT HAPPENS ALMOST EVERYDAY AND CAUSES LIGHT HEADEDNESS WHEN DRIVING. WHEN GETTING UP TO SPEED ON THE HIGHWAY THE CABIN FILLS WITH EXHAUST.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/7/2014 - DAVIS, CA
AFTER PURCHASING A NEW 2014 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED. 3.5L 4WD LESS THAN 2 HOURS PRIOR, MY WIFE AND 2 CHILDREN WERE DRIVING HOME DOWN THE FREEWAY. AFTER A HARD ACCELERATION AN AWFUL SMELL FILLED THE CABIN. MY WIFE STARTED COUGHING AND I INSTANTLY FELT NAUSEOUS. I PULLED OVER THINKING SOMETHING WAS BURNING, MY WIFE THOUGHT IT WAS BURNING WIRES. I CHECKED OF THE VEHICLE BUT FOUND NOTHING BURNING. I DID HOWEVER WALK TO THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND WAS OVERPOWERED BY THE SAME SMELL. I NARROWED IN DOWN TO THE EXHAUST PIPE. AFTER GETTING HOME I DID A QUICK GOOGLE SEARCH AND WAS SHOCKED TO FIND MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM AND THERE IS EVEN A LAWSUIT FILED AGAINST FORD OVER IT. THE DEALER MUST HAVE KNOWN ABOUT IT... I WANT TO RETURN THIS VEHICLE , FORD HAS TO HAVE KNOWN ABOUT THIS OR SHOULD HAVE. THEY PUT MY CHILDREN AT RISK AND I AM NOT HAPPY. I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR LESS THAN 3 HOURS AT THE TIME OF THIS WRITING. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds