Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 525 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment (1) Power Train (25) Steering (55) Unknown Or Other (193)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (17) Seat Belts (3) Structure (34) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (48) Seats (2) Suspension (44) Visibility (8)
Engine (115) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (9) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/16/2018 - CHARLESTON, WV
WHILE DRIVING THE TRACTION CONTROL TURNED OFF, WHICH CAUSED THE ELECTRONIC STEERING TO TURN OFF. THE CAR JERKED TO THE LEFT SIDE (ALMOST HITTING A BOX TRUCK). I HAD TO PULL THE STEERING WHEEL WITH ALL MY STRENGTH TO GET THE CAR TO STEER CORRECTLY. TOOK THE CAR TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/16/2018 - CHARLESTON, WV
WHILE DRIVING THE TRACTION CONTROL TURNED OFF, WHICH CAUSED THE ELECTRONIC STEERING TO TURN OFF. THE CAR JERKED TO THE LEFT SIDE (ALMOST HITTING A BOX TRUCK). I HAD TO PULL THE STEERING WHEEL WITH ALL MY STRENGTH TO GET THE CAR TO STEER CORRECTLY. TOOK THE CAR TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2018 - THOMASVILLE, GA
STOPPED FOR FUEL ON 5/13/18. WHEN I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE I RECEIVED A WARNING STATING SERVICE POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE. NO LONGER HAVE POWER STEERING, TRACTION CONTROL, OR TURN SIGNALS. BRINGING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY. VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED 10/2013.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/14/2018 - LOWELL, IN
I PURCHASED AN USED 2014 EXPLORER AND BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH A GAS ODOR. I WAS NEVER INFORMED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. UPON RECEIVING A RECALL I THEN BECAME AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. I BROUGHT IT IN AND THEY SUPPOSEDLY CORRECTED IT. NOW IT IS WORST. I WILL BRING IN AGAIN TO FIX THE SMELL. MY 11 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER SUFFERS FROM MIGRAINES AND WAS PLACED ON ADULT MIGRAINE PREVENTATIVE. MY FIANCE HAS BREATHING ISSUES AND NOW USES INHALERS. I BELIEVE THE EXHAUST FUMES IS THE CAUSE OF THE MEDICAL ISSUES.

View Details

STEERING

5/3/2018 - SAUGERTIES, NY
LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING ON A LOCAL STREET. POWER STEERING CAME BACK THE NEXT DAY AND LASTED 3 DAYS BEFORE GOING OUT AGAIN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2018 - CONCORD, MA
THE A-PILLAR EXTERIOR MOLDING FELL OFF. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME SUCH A PART FALLING OFF. THIS TIME IT WAS THE DRIVER SIDE. THE FIRST TIME WAS A YEAR AGO ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE A-PILLAR EXTERIOR MOLDING FELL OF ON THE FREEWAY AT HIGH SPEED. THE CAR WAS ESSENTIALLY A HIGH-SPEED ROAD HAZARD TO PUBLIC SAFETY, BECAUSE THE POINTED HARD PLASTIC MOLDING BECAME A PROJECTILE THAT CAN SERIOUSLY HURT SOME CAR OR PEOPLE BEHIND.

View Details

STEERING

4/23/2018 - EXCELSIOR, MN
THE ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR ABRUPTLY FAILED. PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY. STEERING STOPPED AND RECEIVED LIGHT WARNING. + STEERING LOSS STOP SAFELY+ LOST ALL FUNCTION OF STEERING AND TRACTION. DEALERSHIP SAYS 2234.00 TO REPAIR. THIS WAS A RECALL ON THE 2013 VEHICLES AND OLDER. I COULD HAVE EASILY BEEN ON HIGHWAY THE DAY BEFORE WITH MY KIDS. IT WOULD HAVE CAUSED SEVERE ACCIDENT, TO LOSE STEERING AT 65 MPH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/15/2018 - CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
12 APRIL 2018 ACCELERATING UP HILL AC ON. 80 DEGREES OUTSIDE . NO OTHER PASSENGERS IN THE VEHICLE. VEHICLE WAS SHIFTING AROUND 5000 ROM, IN AUTOMATIC, NOT MANUAL. AGAIN I SMELLED A SULFURRY PROPANISH IDOR. IT LASTED ABOUT 2 MINUTES. I HAVE HAD ALL RECALLS / SERVICE BULLETINS PERFORMED BY MY DEALER. I HAVE INFORMED MY DEALER. HELP BEFORE FORD KILLS ME! THERE IS EXHAUST GETTING INTO THE PASSENGER CABIN!!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/12/2018 - MISSOULA, MT
"DRIVER SIDE DOOR AJAR" LIGHT CONTINUES TO COME ON EACH TIME I START THE CAR. I HAVE TO OPEN AND SHUT THE DOOR TO GET IT TO TURN OFF. THAT OCCURRED FOR ONE MONTH. NOW THE LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF AND THE "TRANSMISSION IS NOT IN PARK" LIGHT TURNS ON WHILE I AM DRIVING. IN ADDITION, THE DOME LIGHTS WILL NOT GO OFF WHEN I PARK THE CAR UNLESS I CONSTANTLY ADJUST THE LIGHT DIAL AND EVENTUALLY THE DOME LIGHT WILL GO OFF WHEN THE DOORS ARE LOCKED (30 MINUTES TO GET IT OFF THE OTHER NIGHT). REGARDING THE REAR TRANSMISSION NOISE. OVER 50 PERCENT OF THE TIME WHEN I AM BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT, I HEAR A CLUNKING SOUND AS THOUGH I STRUCK AN OBJECT ONLY TO FIND THAT NOTHING IS BEHIND ME. FINALLY, WHEN I ENTER MY CAR AND START IT, I HEAR A LOUD POPPING SOUND IN THE FRONT WINDSHIELD LIKE THE WINDSHIELD GLASS IS CRACKING. NO IDEA WHAT THAT MAY BE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/12/2018 - MISSOULA, MT
"DRIVER SIDE DOOR AJAR" LIGHT CONTINUES TO COME ON EACH TIME I START THE CAR. I HAVE TO OPEN AND SHUT THE DOOR TO GET IT TO TURN OFF. THAT OCCURRED FOR ONE MONTH. NOW THE LIGHT WILL NOT TURN OFF AND THE "TRANSMISSION IS NOT IN PARK" LIGHT TURNS ON WHILE I AM DRIVING. IN ADDITION, THE DOME LIGHTS WILL NOT GO OFF WHEN I PARK THE CAR UNLESS I CONSTANTLY ADJUST THE LIGHT DIAL AND EVENTUALLY THE DOME LIGHT WILL GO OFF WHEN THE DOORS ARE LOCKED (30 MINUTES TO GET IT OFF THE OTHER NIGHT). REGARDING THE REAR TRANSMISSION NOISE. OVER 50 PERCENT OF THE TIME WHEN I AM BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT, I HEAR A CLUNKING SOUND AS THOUGH I STRUCK AN OBJECT ONLY TO FIND THAT NOTHING IS BEHIND ME. FINALLY, WHEN I ENTER MY CAR AND START IT, I HEAR A LOUD POPPING SOUND IN THE FRONT WINDSHIELD LIKE THE WINDSHIELD GLASS IS CRACKING. NO IDEA WHAT THAT MAY BE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds