Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 153 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seats (1) Suspension (13) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (33) Power Train (10) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (31) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
EACH TIME AFTER DRIVING OUR FORD EXPLORER FOR A LENGTH OF TIME WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING ON, MY WIFE AND I BEGIN TO FEEL LIGHT HEADED, TIRED AND SICK. MY WIFE IS PREGNANT AND WE HAVE SEVERE CONCERNS ABOUT THE SAFETY OF DRIVING OUR EXPLORER DUE TO THE HEALTH RISK OF CARBON MONOXIDE LEAKING INTO THE CABIN. WE ARE NOW AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM WITH OTHER EXPLORERS AND ARE DEEPLY CONCERNED FOR OUR HEALTH AND THE HEALTH OF OUR BABIES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/20/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
EACH TIME AFTER DRIVING OUR FORD EXPLORER FOR A LENGTH OF TIME WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING ON, MY WIFE AND I BEGIN TO FEEL LIGHT HEADED, TIRED AND SICK. MY WIFE IS PREGNANT AND WE HAVE SEVERE CONCERNS ABOUT THE SAFETY OF DRIVING OUR EXPLORER DUE TO THE HEALTH RISK OF CARBON MONOXIDE LEAKING INTO THE CABIN. WE ARE NOW AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM WITH OTHER EXPLORERS AND ARE DEEPLY CONCERNED FOR OUR HEALTH AND THE HEALTH OF OUR BABIES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/19/2016 - EDCOUCH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD TRIM DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AND THE PARTS AND REPAIR EXCEEDED FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE SECOND PIECE BECAME LOOSE AND DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT SURE THE TRIM WAS INSTALLED PROPERLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

7/19/2016 - EDCOUCH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD TRIM DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AND THE PARTS AND REPAIR EXCEEDED FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE SECOND PIECE BECAME LOOSE AND DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT SURE THE TRIM WAS INSTALLED PROPERLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/11/2016 - LEHI, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BE SUPPLIED TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/10/2016 - CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
FOLLOWING FORD'S MOST RECENT "ATTEMPT" TO STOP EXHAUST FROM GETTING INTO THE CABIN, I DID SMELL IT AGAIN ON 7/9 AND 7/10. IT WAS ROUGHLY ONE TENTH OF THE STRENGTH OF THE LAST TIME I SMELLED IT, BUT I STILL SMELLED IT AT 3500 RPM OR GREATER GOING UP HILL AFTER A DOWNSHIFT. FORD KEEPS TRYING TO KEEP IT OUT OF THE CABIN INSTEAD OF PREVENTING IT FROM ESCAPING FROM THE EXHAUST SYSTEM. CAN I BE GETTING EXPOSED TO ODORLESS CARBON MONOXIDE ALL THE TIME AND JUST SMELL THE EXHAUST WHEN THE TWIN TURBOS PUT MORE AIR INTO THE ENGINE AND THE EXHAUST IS UNDERSIZED AND LEAKS FROM THE PRESSURE?

View Details

ENGINE

7/10/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
EXHAUST SMELL IN MAIN CABIN WHEN RPMS EXCEED 3200. HAPPENS MOST COMMONLY WHEN CLIMBING A STEEP GRADE OR ACCELERATING ONTO A FREEWAY TO MERGE WITH TRAFFIC. THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING FOR PAST TWO YEARS OR SO, IT CAN SMELL LIKE EXHAUST, BURNING HAIR, ETC. COMPLAINTS TO DEALER ARE GIVEN A CURSORY EXPLANATION OF EXCESS FUEL, IT IS NORMAL AND NOTHING CAN BE DONE. I'VE OWNED MANY VEHICLES OVER THE YEARS AND NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME THERE IS A HIGHER LEVEL OF ACCELERATION OR RPMS EXCEEDING 3200.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/8/2016 - LAKE WORTH, FL
EACH TIME AFTER DRIVING OUR FORD EXPLORER FOR A LENGTH OF TIME WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING ON, MY WIFE AND I BEGIN TO FEEL LIGHT HEADED, TIRED AND SICK. MY WIFE IS PREGNANT AND WE HAVE SEVERE CONCERNS ABOUT THE SAFETY OF DRIVING OUR EXPLORER DUE TO THE HEALTH RISK OF CARBON MONOXIDE LEAKING INTO THE CABIN. WE ARE NOW AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM WITH OTHER EXPLORERS AND ARE DEEPLY CONCERNED FOR OUR HEALTH AND THE HEALTH OF OUR BABY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/8/2016 - WEBBERVILLE, MI
FOR THE PAST ROUGHLY 20K MILES, WE HAVE BEEN SMELLING EXHAUST IN THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. SO BAD THAT SOMETIMES WE HAVE TO STOP DRIVING IT, AND IT HAS MADE MY FAMILY ILL. MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN MADE TO THE DEALER, WHOM CLAIMS THEY EITHER CANNOT REPLICATE, OR THAT IT IS LEAKING OIL. I HAVE CALLED THEM ON THEIR BS MULTIPLE TIMES, TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/8/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
EXHAUST ODOR WHILE 1) OPERATING THE VEHICLE WITH FULL THROTTLE APPLICATIONS (E.G., CLIMBING STEEP GRADES OR MERGING ONTO FREEWAY RAMPS), AND OR 2) USE OF THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM IN RECIRCULATION MODE BOTH CONTRIBUTE TO EXHAUST GAS BEING DETECTED IN THE VEHICLE. HAVE HAD IT IN FOR SERVICE THREE TIMES. THERE WAS NO IMPROVEMENT AFTER REPAIRS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds