Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 296 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (40) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (14) Seats (1) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (57) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (89) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Power Train (13) Structure (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/24/2017 - RIVERSIDE, IL
STRONG SMELL OF EXHAUST IN CABIN OF VEHICLE AFTER DRIVING ON EXPRESSWAY. I GET LIGHTHEADED AND HAVE HEADACHES AFTER DRIVING THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/24/2017 - LEAWOOD, KS
THE DRIVER SIDE WINDSHIELD TRIM FLEW OFF MY VEHICLE WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 70MPH. THIS IS THE SECOND TRIM PIECE THAT HAS RIPPED OFF MY VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING. THE PASSENGER SIDE BLEW OFF ABOUT A YEAR AGO WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. I AM WORRIED THAT A LARGE PIECE OF PLASTIC FLYING OFF MY CAR AT HIGH SPEEDS MAY HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE ROAD AND CAUSE AND ACCIDENT OR INJURE SOMEONE. I GOOGLED "FORD EXPLORER WINDSHIELD TRIM PROBLEMS" AND THERE IS A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE. THE DEALERSHIP WANTS TO CHARGE ME $290 TO FIX IT BUT I FEEL LIKE THIS PROBLEM IS DANGEROUS AND IS NOT SOMETHING THAT SHOULD OCCUR WITH NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR ON THE VEHICLE. ATTACHED ARE PHOTOS OF MY CAR AND THE FORD ESTIMATE SO YOU CAN SEE THE PARTS NUMBERS. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/17/2017 - UNION, KY
PASSENGER SIDE WINDSHIELD TRIM PEELING BACK AND SEPARATING FROM THE WINDSHIELD, HEAVY VIBRATION NOISE OCCURS AT SPEEDS OVER 15 MPH, AT 65 IT IS DEAFENING. NO ACCIDENT, NO ROUGH TRAVEL, THIS IS A SOCCER MOM CAR, THAT GOES TO SCHOOL, SUPERMARKET AND HOME. NO ROUGH HISTORY OF WASHES. OTHER ISSUES LISTED ONLINE HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/FORD/EXPLORER/2014/WINDOWS_WINDSHIELD/WINDSHIELD_TRIM_FALLING_OFF.SHTML

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/15/2017 - FRISCO, TX
WE HAVE BEEN HAVING EXHAUST SMELLS IN THE CABIN SINCE WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE AND NOW I SEE THERE ARE MANY OTHERS. I WANT TO SUE FORD AND GET MY MONEY BACK FOR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/15/2017 - CASPER, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. DUE TO THE ODOR, THE CONTACT'S CHILD BEGAN TO COUGH SEVERELY WHEN IN THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 74,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/15/2017 - FORT MYERS BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/13/2017 - LIBERTY HILL, TX
I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 2014 FORD EXPLORER AND THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE. THE EXHAUST FUMES COMING INTO THE VEHICLE DURING ACCELERATION AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I TOOK THE TRUCK IN TO WHILE IT WAS UNDER THE BUMPER TO BUMPER TO BE FIXED AND WHAT WAS DONE AT THE TIME WAS REPROGRAMMING EXHAUST AND AC INTAKE. THIS DID NOT FIX THE EXHAUST PROBLEM BUT DID IMPROVE THE SMELL AND HOW OFTEN IT OCCURRED . I RECENTLY TOOK MY TRUCK INTO GET THE EXHAUST FIXED AND THEY WILL NOT FIX IT BECAUSE IT IS PASSED THE BUMPER TO BUMPER BUT THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM TOOK IN TO BE FIX PRIOR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/13/2017 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
NOTICED A STRONG ODOR THAT SMELLS LIKE NATURAL GAS INSIDE OF THE CAR. THE ODOR BECOMES WORSE WHEN THE HEAT IS RUNNING. IT IS MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN IN MOTION HOWEVER THE SMELL CAN BE DETECTED OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHEN IT IS TURNED OFF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/10/2017 - DAPHNE, AL
WHEN ACCELERATING TO MERGE ONTO THE HIGHWAY FROM AN ONRAMP, A DAILY EVENT FOR ME, A STRONG EXHAUST ODOR FILLS THE CABIN. IT LINGERS A LONG TIME AND I HAVE TO ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW TO CLEAR THE AIR. IT'S NOT ONLY ANNOYING, I'M AFRAID THERE ARE HEALTH RISKS INVOLVED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/9/2017 - SPICEWOOD, TX
EXHAUST FUMES LEAKING INTO CABIN CAUSING FAMILY TO BREATHE IN FUMES. IT HAS HAPPENED SINCE WE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. IF THE VEHICLE AC IS IN RECIRCULATING MODE AND YOU ACCELERATE, FUMES FILL THE CABIN FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. WE ALWAYS HAVE TO ROLL DOWN THE WINDOWS TO LET THE FUMES OUT. IT HAPPENS ESSENTIALLY EVERY TIME YOU DRIVE THE CAR . I CALLED FORD DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT THERE ARE NO COMPLAINTS THEY HAVE SEEN. CAUSES HEADACHES AND NAUSEA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds