Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 233 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (38) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (14) Seats (1) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (48) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (50) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Power Train (12) Structure (20)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/12/2017 - SOUTH BURLINGTON, VT
THE HEADLIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE ARE TERRIBLE. THEY BARELY ILLUMINATE THE ROAD IN FRONT OF ME. I FIND IT UNSAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT. ON CITY STREETS AT NIGHT THE PROBLEM ISN'T AS APPARENT, BUT WHEN I'M TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE OR ANY OTHER ROAD WITHOUT STREET LIGHTING, IF I'M APPROACHED BY AN ONCOMING VEHICLE IT'S AS IF I DON'T EVEN HAVE MY HEADLIGHTS ON. SIDE LIGHTING IS ALSO AN ISSUE WHEN TURNING AT NIGHT AS ITS NEARLY BLIND. IT'S A VEHICLE I REALLY ENJOY, BUT I'M CONSIDERING SELLING BECAUSE I FIND IT COMPLETELY UNSAFE FOR NIGHT DRIVING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/11/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE AFFECTED VEHICLES HAVE A PARKING BRAKE THAT MAY NOT FULLY ENGAGE WHEN APPLIED. AS SUCH, THESE VEHICLES FAIL TO COMPLY WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF FEDERAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARD (FMVSS) NUMBER 135, "LIGHT VEHICLE BRAKE SYSTEMS." CONSEQUENCE: IF THE PARKING BRAKE DOES NOT FULLY ENGAGE AND THE TRANSMISSION IS LEFT IN A GEAR OTHER THAN 'PARK' WHILE ON A SLOPE, THE VEHICLE MAY ROLL AWAY, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH.

View Details

ENGINE

1/10/2017 - TAYLORSVILLE, KY
WHEN THE EXPLORER IS STOPPED OR IN PARK WITH THE ENGINE ON AND THE HEAT ON YOU CAN SMELL A SULFUR/ROTTEN EGG SMELL INSIDE THE CABIN. LOOKS TO BE A EXHAUST LEAK. I KNOW THIS ISSUE IS ALREADY BEING INVESTIGATED AND HAVE READ UP ABOUT THE TECHNICAL BULLETINS RELATED TO THIS ISSUE AND MOST REVIEWS COME BACK TO SAY THE BULLETINS DID NOT FIX THE ISSUE. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM CONCERNING THE SAFETY AND HEALTH OF MY FAMILY OF NOT KNOWING WHAT KIND OF GAS WE ARE BREATHING IN. COULD BE CARBON MONOXIDE OR SOMETHING ELSE. A RECALL NEEDS TO HAPPEN FOR THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/9/2017 - COUNTRYSIDE, IL
THE MOONROOF OVER THE BACK SEAT POPPED OUT AND SPIDERWEBBED WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR CLOSED. SOME GLASS FELL INTO THE BACKSEAT. VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

1/6/2017 - BELLWOOD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND STALLED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE STARTED ONLY AFTER THE BATTERY WAS CHARGED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATING SYSTEM BECAME INOPERABLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE, SERVICE TRACTION, AND BATTERY WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS UNABLE TO BE STARTED OR DIAGNOSED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,412.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

1/6/2017 - BELLWOOD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND STALLED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE STARTED ONLY AFTER THE BATTERY WAS CHARGED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATING SYSTEM BECAME INOPERABLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE, SERVICE TRACTION, AND BATTERY WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS UNABLE TO BE STARTED OR DIAGNOSED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,412.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/6/2017 - BELLWOOD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND STALLED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE STARTED ONLY AFTER THE BATTERY WAS CHARGED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATING SYSTEM BECAME INOPERABLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE, SERVICE TRACTION, AND BATTERY WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS UNABLE TO BE STARTED OR DIAGNOSED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,412.

View Details

ENGINE

1/6/2017 - BELLWOOD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND STALLED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE STARTED ONLY AFTER THE BATTERY WAS CHARGED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATING SYSTEM BECAME INOPERABLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE, SERVICE TRACTION, AND BATTERY WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS UNABLE TO BE STARTED OR DIAGNOSED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY FAILED. THE THROTTLE BODY WAS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,412.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

1/3/2017 - SUWANEE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHEN THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING, AN EXHAUST ODOR WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUGGESTED THAT THE VEHICLE MAY BE INCLUDED IN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER PE16008. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS AN EXHAUST LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/26/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DRIVING ONTO THE HIGHWAY, GOING LESS THAN 50 MPH, WHEN WE HEARD A VERY LOUD EXPLOSION THAT RATTLED OUR HEADS AND MADE OUR EARS RING. THERE WASN'T ANYTHING THAT HIT US OR THAT HAD FELL ON SUNROOF AT ALL SO WE WERE BOTH IN SHOCK AS TO WHAT HAD HAPPENED. WE BOTH LOOKED UP TO SEE THAT OUR FRONT SUN ROOF HAD EXPLODED AND IN A QUICK PANICK WE TRIED TO SHUT THE SUNROOF TO KEEP THE GLASS FROM FALLING ON US BUT WERE NOT ABLE TO CLOSE IT IN ENOUGH TIME AND GLASS FELL ALL OVER US AND FLEW INTO THE BACK HITTING OUR KIDS. WE TOOK THE NEXT EXIT TO NEAREST GAS STATION TO STOP AND MAKE SURE NO ONE WAS BLEEDING OR CUT. THE EXPLOSION WAS SO LOUD WE WERE ALL SHAKEN UP. LUCKILY THERE WAS A NEARBY CAR WASH TO VACUUM THE DEBRIS OFF OF EVERYONE AND CALM DOWN THE SCARE THAT PUT US IN PANICK. WE DIDN'T WANT GLASS FLYING OFF AND HITTING OTHER VEHICLES AROUND US. WE TOOK PHOTOS AND INVESTIGATED THE VEHICLE FOR POSSIBLE EVIDENCE AS TO WHY OUR SUNROOF EXPLODED. TO OUR FINDINGS THERE WAS NO OTHER POSSIBLE ANSWERS OTHER THAN OUR SUNROOF CLEARLY JUST EXPLODED OUT OF NOWHERE. AND WE STILL HAD 2 HOURS TO DRIVE ON HIGHWAY TO GET HOME AT NIGHT. I'M WORRIED FOR THE SAFETY OF MY KIDS BECAUSE WE HAVE A BIGGER SUN ROOF BEHIND THIS SMALL ONE THAT IS RIGHT ABOVE THEIR SEATS AND I'M SURE IT COULD EXPLODE NEXT. I HAD TO PLACE MY SONS BLANKET ABOVE THEIR HEADS TO KEEP THE GLASS THAT WAS STILL ATTACHED FROM CRUMBLING AND FALLING ON THEM OR IN THEIR EYES DURING THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. THE GLASS WAS CRUMBLING LIKE COOKIE CRUMBS AND IT WAS NOT SAFE FOR THEM IN THE BACK AT ALL. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE FOR ALL PEOPLE IN THE VEHICLE, INCLUDING SURROUNDING VEHICLES AND ROAD SAFETY THAT SHOULD NOT BE IGNORED OR TAKEN LIGHTLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds