Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 70 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (1) Unknown Or Other (26) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (21) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (7) Structure (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/16/2014 - OAK PARK, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BEARING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE REAR PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BUSTED LIP THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,000. DJR

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/21/2014 - BETHPAGE, NY
THE HEADLIGHTS ON MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER SPORT DO NOT SAFELY LIGHT UP THE ROAD AT NIGHT ON A ROAD WITH NO STREET LIGHTS. THE LOW BEAMS PROJECT A BLACK LINE FROM LEFT TO RIGHT APPROXIMATELY 6 INCHES ABOVE THE DASHBOARD. THERE IS ALSO NO LIGHT ON EITHER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE WHEN MAKING A RIGHT OR LEFT TURN. LAST WEEK I ALMOST RAN INTO A DITCH BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE ENOUGH LIGHT TO SEE THE ROAD. I SPOKE TO MY FORD DEALER AND THEY RESPONDED THEY KNOW OF THE PROBLEM BUT FORD HAS NOT SENT OUT A MAINTENANCE BULLETIN OR A RECALL. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY RESPONDED THEY WOULD MAKE NOTE OF THIS ISSUE AND WOULD USE IT TO ENHANCE NEXT YEARS MODEL. I RESPONDED THAT THEY NEED TO FIX THIS YEARS MODEL. THE HEADLIGHTS THIS YEAR (2014) ARE NEW. THEY USE A PROJECTOR SYSTEM WHICH IS NOT WORKING. I BELIEVE THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN AND A RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED TO CONVERT THE NEW LIGHTS BACK TO THE OLD STYLE LIGHTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/19/2014 - FAIRVIEW, TX
ABOUT 20-30 SECONDS AFTER HARD ACCELERATION THE CABIN FILLS UP WITH THE SULFUR SMELL FROM THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. HAVE HAD IT BACK TO THE DEALER TO PERFORM THE TSB BUT NOW IT SEEMS TO BE EVEN WORSE. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THAT THE FACTORY WILL CONTACT ME WHEN THEY FIND A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM HOWEVER NO-ONE EVER HAS. I CANNOT SAFELY DRIVE THE CAR LIKE THIS. THE STENCH IS OVERPOWERING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - DEERFIELD BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT SMELLED AN ABNORMAL SCENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE FROM THE EXHAUST. THE ENGINE RPMS REACHED 3,500. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TWICE. DURING THE FIRST REPAIR, THE ENTIRE SEAL ON THE REAR HATCH DOOR AND DRAIN WAS REPAIRED. DURING THE SECOND REPAIR, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT STATED HE NOW SUFFERS FROM HEADACHES CONTRIBUTED FROM FUMES INHALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 450.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/16/2014 - HARTFORD, TN
MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER WAS PURCHASED OFF THE SHOW ROOM FLOOR WITH NO TEST DRIVE. MY NORMAL DAILY DRIVE CONSIST OF 2 LANE SIDE ROADS. ON THE WEEKEND MY FAMILY AND I WILL TAKE THE INTERSTATE ROUTES. IN EARLY MARCH AS WE BEGAN OUR TRIP AND I ACCELERATED ONTO THE INTERSTATE THERE WAS A VERY HEAVY EXHAUST ODOR. THE ODOR WAS THICK ENOUGH THAT WE HAD TO LOWER EACH OF OUR WINDOWS. WE THOUGHT IT WAS STRANGE BUT PERHAPS JUST A ONE TIME OCCURRENCE BUT THAT WASN'T THE CASE. THE PROBLEM IS OCCURRING DURING HEAVY ACCELERATION ONLY, WITH NO AIR, WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING OR WITH THE HEAT ON. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO FORD 3 TIMES SINCE AUGUST 2014 FOR A TOTAL OF 26 DAYS IN THE SHOP IN HOPES OF GETTING THIS REPAIRED WITH NO LUCK. I DID HAVE A CASE OPEN WITH FORD CASE# 5266584 AND WAS TOLD LAST WEEK (11/13/14) BY CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSON "CHRIS" THAT MY CASE HAD BEEN CLOSED, REASON; "THE ODOR I AM EXPERIENCING IS NORMAL" I WAS NOT NOTIFIED BY FORD THAT THE CASE WAS BEING CLOSED NOR WAS THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. I PLACED A CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR IN MY VEHICLE AND AFTER 3 TO 4 DAYS ON 11/01/14 RECEIVED A WARNING TO MOVE TO CLEAN AIR! MY VEHICLE IS UNDER FULL WARRANTY HOWEVER THAT IS USELESS AT THIS POINT. ON 11/15/14 I HAD TO TAKE A 6 HOUR ROUND TRIP WITH MY MOTHER, STEP FATHER AND MOTHER-IN-LAW WE HAD TO LOWER WITH WINDOW NO LESS THAN 8 TIMES DURING THE TRAVEL AND MY MOTHER HAD A VERY SICK HEADACHE AFTER THE TRIP. THIS PROBLEM IS REAL AND I HOPE YOU WILL GIVE IT THE TIME AND ATTENTION NEEDED TO MAKE SURE OTHER PEOPLE LIKE MYSELF AREN'T JUST BRUSHED OFF BY FORD. FORD HAS MY MONEY PAID IN FULL FOR A VEHICLE I AM FORCED TO DRIVE DAILY BECAUSE I HAVE NO OTHER TRANSPORTATION. AND YOU ASK DO I ALSO HAVE HEADACHES YES AND THEY ARE VERY REAL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/10/2014 - MAGNOLIA, TX
I HAVE EXPERIENCED A BURNING SMELL ENTERING THE CABIN AREA WHEN ACCELERATING TO PASS A VEHICLE AND WHEN CLIMBING A HILL. ALSO HAVE HAD A "SOUR" SMELL LIKE SOURED CLOTHING FROM AC WHEN I START MY VEHICLE. I DID ASK A SERVICE MANAGER ABOUT THE "SOUR" SMELL AND HE SAID HE NEVER HEARD OF IT, NOT A BIG HELP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/9/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
TWICE WHILE DRIVING (ONCE ACCELERATING TO PULL INTO TRAFFIC AND ONCE GOING UP A MOUNTAIN) AN EXHAUST SMELL ENTERED THE CABIN THROUGH THE AC SYSTEM AND RECIRCULATING MODE DID NOT IMPROVE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING OVER 3500 RPMS. I HAVE TESTED THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME UNDER THESE CONDITIONS. I AM VERY CONCERNED AS WE JUST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO AND HAVE TWO YOUNG DAUGHTERS. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO OUR LOCAL DEALERSHIP BUT BASED ON THESE COMPLAINTS I AM NOT HOPEFULL THIS WILL BE RESOLVED.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
TWICE WHILE DRIVING (ONCE ACCELERATING TO PULL INTO TRAFFIC AND ONCE GOING UP A MOUNTAIN) AN EXHAUST SMELL ENTERED THE CABIN THROUGH THE AC SYSTEM AND RECIRCULATING MODE DID NOT IMPROVE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING OVER 3500 RPMS. I HAVE TESTED THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME UNDER THESE CONDITIONS. I AM VERY CONCERNED AS WE JUST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO AND HAVE TWO YOUNG DAUGHTERS. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO OUR LOCAL DEALERSHIP BUT BASED ON THESE COMPLAINTS I AM NOT HOPEFULL THIS WILL BE RESOLVED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/30/2014 - HAZLET, NJ
WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN THE SHOP FOR PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE, THE TECHNICIAN NOTICED THAT THE LEFT TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS ABOUT A THIRD FULL OF WATER. THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REMOVED FROM THE VEHICLE AND WAS ROTATED IN VARIOUS DIRECTIONS IN AN ATTEMPT TO FIND WHERE THE WATER HAD ENTERED THE LIGHT. WHAT WE FOUND WAS A POORLY WELDED PLASTIC SEAM AT THE TOP EDGE OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY. WE APPROACHED FORD WITH THE ISSUE AND WERE INFORMED THAT BECAUSE EMERGENCY LIGHTING HAD BEEN ADDED, THEY WOULD NOT WARRANTY THE LIGHT EVEN THOUGH THE EMERGENCY LIGHT WAS NOT THE SOURCE OF THE LEAK. THIS VEHICLE IS OPERATED BY A POLICE DEPARTMENT. WE HAVE HAD ANOTHER FAILURE (UPPER SEAM LEAK) ON ANOTHER POLICE UNIT,SAME YEAR, THAT RESULTED IN THE LOSE OF FUNCTION OF THE LEFT TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY DUE TO THE LED LIGHTING MODULE SHORTING OUT AFTER THE LIGHT HAD FILLED HALFWAY WITH WATER. WE FEEL THIS COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE DUE THE POTENTIAL FOR REDUCED VISIBLE STOPLIGHTS AND TAILLIGHTS ON THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
DURING HARD ACCELERATION, A "SMELL" ENTERS THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THE "SMELL" IS OF SULFUR OR ROTTEN EGGS. THE SMELL IS DEFINITELY COMING FROM THE EXHAUST. FORD ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM AND PERFORMED A TSB TO FIX. THE TSB DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM, AND THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY HAVE TO WAIT FOR AN ENGINEER. SERVICE MANAGER SAYS THERE IS ONLY 1 FORD ENGINEER FOR ALL OF SOUTH TEXAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds