Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 315 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (40) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (15) Seats (1) Tires (1) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (30) Service Brakes (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (67) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (96) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Power Train (14) Structure (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/29/2017 - UNIONTOWN, OH
VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN APRIL 2014 WITH A LITTLE OVER 500 MILES. THE VEHICLE NOW HAS APPROXIMATELY 33,900 MILES. A COUPLE WEEKS AGO WE NOTICED A SQUEAKING NOISE WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED EITHER WAY WHILE MOVING AND WHILE NOT MOVING. I CALLED ON 4-25 FOR APPOINTMENT ON 4-27. THE VEHICLE WAS LOOKED OVER AND I RECEIVED A CALL ON 4-28 STATING THE STEERING GEAR BOX WAS BAD AND NEED REPLACED. I WAS THEN TOLD MY WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED ON 4-17 AND THAT THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE BILL OF $1738. I DID RESEARCH AND THERE WERE SIMILAR ISSUES WITH THIS YEAR VEHICLE AS WELL AS RECALLS ON THIS SAME VEHICLE 2011-2013. SOUNDS TO ME LIKE FORD HAS NOT FIXED THE ISSUE AND SHOULD COVER THESE RIDICULOUS COSTS TO THOSE THAT HAVE HAD THEM. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT THESE TYPES OF THINGS ON SUCH A LOW MILEAGE VEHICLE. FORD WILL PROBABLY BE LOSING OUR CONTINUED BUSINESS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/24/2017 - MORGANTON, NC
THE ELECTRIC MOONROOF STOPPED WORKING AND WOULD NOT OPEN. THE SUN SHADE WOULD PARTIALLY CLOSE. WE CHANGED THE FUSE BUT THE MOONROOF STILL WOULD NOT WORK. SO WERE LEAVING IT ALONE UNTIL THE WEATHER WARMED UP. THIS MORNING I WENT OUT TO GO TO WORK AND MY MOONROOF WAS STANDING OPEN AND MY CAR WAS STANDING IN WATER AND LEAVES. NO ONE HAD DRIVEN THE CAR IN 3 DAYS. I AM A 50+ YEAR OLD FEMALE AND TRY TO BE VERY PARTICULAR WITH MY VEHICLE. I RARELY USE THE MOONROOF ITSELF, BUT I DO OPEN THE SUN SHIELD AT TIMES IN THE PAST. I DO NOT KNOW HOW THE MOONROOF OPENED, IF THERE WAS A POWER SURGE OR WHAT??? I HAVE SEARCHED THE INTERNET THIS MORNING AND FOUND THIS HAD HAPPENED TO OTHER INDIVIDUALS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2017 - ABILENE, TX
WHEN QUICKLY ACCELERATING TO HIGHWAY SPEEDS THERE IS AN BURNING/EXHAUST SMELL IN THE CABIN. DOES NOT MATTER IF THE A/C IS ON OF OFF OR WHETHER ITS ON OUTSIDE AIR OR RECIRCULATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2017 - AIRWAY HEIGHTS, WA
WHEN THERE IS A HEAVY RAIN THE SERPENTINE BELT SQUEALS AT VARIOUS MOMENTS, FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2014 , BUT DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO ABOUT IT. THEY SAID IT WAS DUE TO THE BELT GETTING WET AND FORD DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO PREVENT IT FROM HAPPENING, AND THAT IT OCCURS ON OTHER FORD TRUCKS TOO. MY OTHER ISSUE HAS STARTED RECENTLY HAPPENING TO WHEN IT RAINS HEAVILY, THE "LOW BATTERY FEATURES TEMPOR. TURNED OFF" NOTIFICATION COMES ON AND MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP BRIEFLY WHILE DRIVING. I CHECKED MY BATTERY CONNECTS AS THE MANUAL SAYS TO DO AND THEY ARE FINE. THIS ONLY OCCURS DURING HEAVY RAIN AND IT HAPPENS AT VARIOUS TIMES DURING DRIVING. IT NEVER JUST STAYS ON, BUT WILL TURN ON AND GO OFF AT DIFFERENT TIMES DURING THE DRIVE IN THE HEAVY RAIN. SEEMS LIKE SOMETHING IS GETTING WET CAUSING A SHORTAGE, BUT EITHER WAY ITS DANGEROUS WHEN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP.

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2017 - AIRWAY HEIGHTS, WA
WHEN THERE IS A HEAVY RAIN THE SERPENTINE BELT SQUEALS AT VARIOUS MOMENTS, FOR SHORT PERIODS OF TIME. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2014 , BUT DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO ABOUT IT. THEY SAID IT WAS DUE TO THE BELT GETTING WET AND FORD DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO PREVENT IT FROM HAPPENING, AND THAT IT OCCURS ON OTHER FORD TRUCKS TOO. MY OTHER ISSUE HAS STARTED RECENTLY HAPPENING TO WHEN IT RAINS HEAVILY, THE "LOW BATTERY FEATURES TEMPOR. TURNED OFF" NOTIFICATION COMES ON AND MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP BRIEFLY WHILE DRIVING. I CHECKED MY BATTERY CONNECTS AS THE MANUAL SAYS TO DO AND THEY ARE FINE. THIS ONLY OCCURS DURING HEAVY RAIN AND IT HAPPENS AT VARIOUS TIMES DURING DRIVING. IT NEVER JUST STAYS ON, BUT WILL TURN ON AND GO OFF AT DIFFERENT TIMES DURING THE DRIVE IN THE HEAVY RAIN. SEEMS LIKE SOMETHING IS GETTING WET CAUSING A SHORTAGE, BUT EITHER WAY ITS DANGEROUS WHEN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2017 - BUFFALO GROVE, IL
AN EXHAUST SMELL ENTERS THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. I FIRST STARTED TO NOTICE IT WHEN THE CAR WAS IDLING AND I THOUGHT IT WAS COMING FROM THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. THIS CONTINUED ON AND OFF FOR MONTHS UNTIL MORE RECENTLY WHEN THE SMELL WAS PRESENT EVEN AS I DROVE THE CAR. I HAVE HAD HEADACHES, DIZZINESS AND STOMACH UPSETS FOR MONTHS REALIZING THAT MY VEHICLE WAS PERHAPS NO LONGER SAFE FOR ME TO DRIVE. I BROUGHT IT IN TO MY DEALERSHIP AND THEY IMMEDIATELY ACKNOWLEDGED THE SMELL AND GAVE ME A LOANER. THEY HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH FORD AND ARE CURRENTLY WAITING FOR THE REPAIR PARTS BUT THEY ARE ON BACKORDER. I WAS TOLD THAT POLICE DEPARTMENTS HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME THING. I JUST RECEIVED A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT NOTICE SO I IMAGINE THIS WILL EVENTUALLY BE A RECALL. IN THE MEANTIME I CANNOT DRIVE MY OWN VEHICLE WITHOUT RISKING MY HEALTH. THE CAUSE TO ME IS UNKNOWN, I HAVE READ THAT IT IS A DEFECT IN THE ENGINEERING OF THE EXHAUST SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2017 - GEORGETOWN, TX
STRONG SMELL OF EXHAUST FUMES INSIDE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2017 - DRUMS, PA
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE, I NOTICED A VERY STRONG SMELL OF PROPANE OR NATURAL GAS. WHEN VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AND IDLING, THE SAME SMELL WAS DETECTED OUTSIDE THE CAR. THE NEXT DAY, THE VEHICLE SMELLED AGAIN WHILE DRIVING, ONLY THIS TIME IT SMELLED LIKE ROTTEN EGGS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2017 - KEARNEY, MO
MY FORD EXPLORER HAS A BAD EXHAUST ODOR IN THE CABIN WHEN HARD ACCELERATING AND ON COLD MORNING EVEN AT IDLE IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO NOTICE THE SMELL AND IT LINGERS IN THE CABIN IN TELL YOU OPEN A WINDOW. I CAN SMELL IT ANYTIME I GET ON THE HIGH WAY BUT THERE ARE TIMES WHEN I CAN SMELL A CHEMICAL TYPE SMELL WHEN STOPPED A LIGHTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/5/2017 - LOS GATOS, CA
FUMES OR GAS SMELL COMING OUT OF CAR. STRONG ODOR COMING OUT FROM CAR AFTER DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds