Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 345 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Power Train (14) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (15) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (41) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (36) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (70) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (102)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/22/2017 - CHESAPAEAKE, VA
ON 19 JUNE, 2017 I WAS DRIVING MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER ON I-95 SOUTH, I INITIALLY HEARD A SINGLE POP COME FROM THE FRONT OF MY VEHICLE, I THOUGHT I HAD HIT SOMETHING IN THE ROAD, BUT NOTHING WAS VISIBLE IN THE ROAD, SO I CONTINUED TO DRIVE. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE WITH NO PROBLEMS. ON 20 JUNE, I WAS DRIVING AGAIN ON I-95 NORTH BOUND AND MY STEERING SYSTEM BEGAN TO MALFUNCTION WITH A LITTLE TIGHTNESS IN THE STEERING, THE VEHICLE STILL EASILY TURNED LEFT AND RIGHT. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITH NO PROBLEMS, SUDDENLY A WARNING FLASHED AND SHOWED A STABILITY WARNING AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE STEERING LOCKED UP AND I COULD NOT CONTROL MY VEHICLE AT ALL. I WAS NEARLY KILLED ALONG WITH SIX MEMBERS OF MY FAMILY WHEN MY VEHICLE STEERING MALFUNCTIONED (FROZE/LOCKED) AND TWO TRACTOR TRAILERS SWERVED TO KEEP FROM HITTING MY VEHICLE. I COULD NO LONGER CONTROL MY VEHICLE STEERING. MY VEHICLE HAS 68,000 MILES AND HAS BEEN REGULARLY MAINTAINED WITH NO KNOWN ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/22/2017 - CHESAPAEAKE, VA
ON 19 JUNE, 2017 I WAS DRIVING MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER ON I-95 SOUTH, I INITIALLY HEARD A SINGLE POP COME FROM THE FRONT OF MY VEHICLE, I THOUGHT I HAD HIT SOMETHING IN THE ROAD, BUT NOTHING WAS VISIBLE IN THE ROAD, SO I CONTINUED TO DRIVE. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE WITH NO PROBLEMS. ON 20 JUNE, I WAS DRIVING AGAIN ON I-95 NORTH BOUND AND MY STEERING SYSTEM BEGAN TO MALFUNCTION WITH A LITTLE TIGHTNESS IN THE STEERING, THE VEHICLE STILL EASILY TURNED LEFT AND RIGHT. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE WITH NO PROBLEMS, SUDDENLY A WARNING FLASHED AND SHOWED A STABILITY WARNING AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE STEERING LOCKED UP AND I COULD NOT CONTROL MY VEHICLE AT ALL. I WAS NEARLY KILLED ALONG WITH SIX MEMBERS OF MY FAMILY WHEN MY VEHICLE STEERING MALFUNCTIONED (FROZE/LOCKED) AND TWO TRACTOR TRAILERS SWERVED TO KEEP FROM HITTING MY VEHICLE. I COULD NO LONGER CONTROL MY VEHICLE STEERING. MY VEHICLE HAS 68,000 MILES AND HAS BEEN REGULARLY MAINTAINED WITH NO KNOWN ISSUES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

6/19/2017 - HOLTSVILLE, NY
2014 FORD EXPLORER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO EXHAUST FUMES INSIDE OF VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO PULL EXHAUST FUMES INSIDE THE VEHICLE. SEVERAL ATTEMPTS HAVE BEEN MADE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE AT THE OWNER'S EXPENSE. THE TAIL END OF THE EXHAUST APPARATUS WAS REPLACED IN ORDER TO FORCE GAS DOWN AND AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE. THIS SEEMED TO SUCCESSFULLY REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER WOULD LIKE TO BE ADVISED ON THE PROGRESS OF THE INVESTIGATION AND IF THE VEHICLE IS SAFE. UPDATED 06/19/2017

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/16/2017 - KINGSVILLE, TX
EXHAUST EMISSIONS LEAKING INTO CABIN IN MOTION

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2017 - STAUNTON, VA
WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, IN A TURN, THE STEERING ASSIST HAD A FAULT. A MESSAGE SHOWED ON THE SCREEN STATING THAT THERE WAS A STEERING ASSIST FAULT. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES, THE ISSUE DID NOT GO AWAY. STEERING THE VEHICLE FELT LIKE THE STEERING WHEEL WAS FIGHTING AGAINST ME (RATHER THAN SIMPLY A POWER STEERING LOSS). I WAS TOLD BY A DEALERSHIP MECHANIC THAT THE PROBLEM WAS UNKNOWN BUT SOMEWHERE IN THE STEERING COLUMN SO REPLACING THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN WOULD FIX IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/15/2017 - PASSAIC, NJ
EXHAUST FUMES ENTER THE CABINS FROM VENTS WHILE THE EXPLORER IS OPERATING AT FULL THROTTLE, SUCH AS WHEN GOING UPHILL OR MERGING ONTO FREEWAYS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2017 - TONKAWA, OK
EXHAUST FUMES IN INTERIOR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/12/2017 - TONKAWA, OK
EXHAUST FUMES IN INTERIOR.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2017 - MIDDLEBURG, FL
ON ACCELERATION LARGE AMOUNT OF EXHAUST FUMES IN THE CAB OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/6/2017 - MEDINA, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, A STRONG EXHAUST ODOR SPREAD THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. NO WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO KEN STOEPEL FORD-LINCOLN DEALER AT 400 SIDNEY BAKER ST S, KERRVILLE, TX, PHONE NUMBER: (877) 469-4031, WHERE THE DIAGNOSIS COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds