Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 82 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (1) Unknown Or Other (18) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Power Train (7) Structure (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/29/2015 - SAN DIEGO , CA
I HAVE A 2014 FORD EXPLORER SPORT AND WHENEVER THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES IT SEVERELY PULLS TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WITH TRACK STRAIGHT UNTIL YOU STEP ON THE GAS AND IT PULLS SEVERELY TO THE LEFT REQUIRING ME TO COMPENSATE BY WHILE DRIVING. I ADVISED THE DEALERSHIP ON 10-8-14, 10-18-14, 12-4-14, ON A MARCH OIL CHANGE WITH FORD, 1-7-15 AND 5-18-15.THE DEALERSHIPS INITIALLY DENIED THE CAR HAD ANY ISSUES THAT WERE ABNORMAL BUT EVENTUALLY THEY ADMITTED IT DOES PULL TO THE LEFT BUT IT WAS NORMAL ACCORDING TO THE FORD ENGINEERS AND NOTHING COULD BE DONE TO CORRECT IT SINCE IT WAS A NATURAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE VEHICLE. I DID NOT AGREE SINCE I HAVE DRIVEN OTHER VEHICLES OF THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL THAT DID NOT PERFORM THE SAME AS MY VEHICLE DOES. I ALSO SPOKE TO VARIOUS FORD SERVICE TECHNICIANS THAT INDICATED THEY HAD NEVER ENCOUNTERED THIS ISSUE AND THEY ASSUMED THAT IT COULDN'T BE TORQUE STEER SINCE THE INTELLIGENT 4 WHEEL DRIVE SHOULD CORRECT ANY WHEELS THAT WERE NOT SPINNING AT THE SAME SPEED AS THE OTHERS CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO PULL IN ONE DIRECTION OR THE OTHER. HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP INDICATED THEY COULD ONLY GO BY WHAT THE CORPORATE ENGINEERS ADVISED THEM AND THAT WAS THAT THE ISSUE WAS NORMAL DESPITE THE VEHICLE BEING RATED FOR A MAXIMUM TOWING CAPACITY OF 5,000 POUNDS. I ALSO HAVEN'T BEEN GIVEN AN EXPLANATION ON WHY THE LEFT TIRES ON MY VEHICLE ARE WORN OUT ONLY ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE TIRE EXACTLY IN THE DIRECTION THE CAR IS PULLING TO. THE SEVER PULLING TO THE LEFT IS NOT A MINOR THINK AND THE CAR WILL MOVE BY THE FEET TO THE LEFT VEERING OUT OF THE LANE UNLESS I COMPENSATE WHILE STEERING, YET IT DRIVES ABSOLUTELY STRAIGHT IF I LET OFF THE GAS AND I CAN'T IMAGINE TOWING ANYTHING BEHIND THIS VEHICLE WITH THESE ABNORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2015 - SAN DIEGO , CA
I HAVE A 2014 FORD EXPLORER SPORT AND WHENEVER THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES IT SEVERELY PULLS TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WITH TRACK STRAIGHT UNTIL YOU STEP ON THE GAS AND IT PULLS SEVERELY TO THE LEFT REQUIRING ME TO COMPENSATE BY WHILE DRIVING. I ADVISED THE DEALERSHIP ON 10-8-14, 10-18-14, 12-4-14, ON A MARCH OIL CHANGE WITH FORD, 1-7-15 AND 5-18-15.THE DEALERSHIPS INITIALLY DENIED THE CAR HAD ANY ISSUES THAT WERE ABNORMAL BUT EVENTUALLY THEY ADMITTED IT DOES PULL TO THE LEFT BUT IT WAS NORMAL ACCORDING TO THE FORD ENGINEERS AND NOTHING COULD BE DONE TO CORRECT IT SINCE IT WAS A NATURAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE VEHICLE. I DID NOT AGREE SINCE I HAVE DRIVEN OTHER VEHICLES OF THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL THAT DID NOT PERFORM THE SAME AS MY VEHICLE DOES. I ALSO SPOKE TO VARIOUS FORD SERVICE TECHNICIANS THAT INDICATED THEY HAD NEVER ENCOUNTERED THIS ISSUE AND THEY ASSUMED THAT IT COULDN'T BE TORQUE STEER SINCE THE INTELLIGENT 4 WHEEL DRIVE SHOULD CORRECT ANY WHEELS THAT WERE NOT SPINNING AT THE SAME SPEED AS THE OTHERS CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO PULL IN ONE DIRECTION OR THE OTHER. HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP INDICATED THEY COULD ONLY GO BY WHAT THE CORPORATE ENGINEERS ADVISED THEM AND THAT WAS THAT THE ISSUE WAS NORMAL DESPITE THE VEHICLE BEING RATED FOR A MAXIMUM TOWING CAPACITY OF 5,000 POUNDS. I ALSO HAVEN'T BEEN GIVEN AN EXPLANATION ON WHY THE LEFT TIRES ON MY VEHICLE ARE WORN OUT ONLY ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE TIRE EXACTLY IN THE DIRECTION THE CAR IS PULLING TO. THE SEVER PULLING TO THE LEFT IS NOT A MINOR THINK AND THE CAR WILL MOVE BY THE FEET TO THE LEFT VEERING OUT OF THE LANE UNLESS I COMPENSATE WHILE STEERING, YET IT DRIVES ABSOLUTELY STRAIGHT IF I LET OFF THE GAS AND I CAN'T IMAGINE TOWING ANYTHING BEHIND THIS VEHICLE WITH THESE ABNORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - CLEMMONS, NC
RECENTLY, MY WIFE AND I NOTICED AN EXHAUST SMELL IN THE CABIN OF OUR 2014 FORD EXPLORER (8K MILES) WHEN WE ACCELERATED ONTO HIGHWAYS. WE BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO FORD AND THEY TOLD US THERE WAS A BULLETIN OUT ON THE EXHAUST ISSUE. THE EXPLORER LOANER THEY GAVE US HAD THE PROBLEM WORSE THAN OURS SO I ASKED FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT TO DRIVE. WHEN WE GOT THE EXPLORER BACK, I STILL NOTICED THE PROBLEM AND BROUGHT IT BACK TO FORD. THEY INSISTED THAT THERE WAS NO PROBLEM SO I WENT TO MY LOCAL FIRE DEPARTMENT AND BORROWED A CARBON MONOXIDE METER AND DROVE THE CAR ON THE HIGHWAY FOR ONE MILE AFTER TESTING VARIOUS LOCATIONS INSIDE THE CABIN (FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES WHILE IDLING). OVER ONE MILE THE CARBON MONOXIDE LEVEL IN THE CABIN INCREASED FROM 0 TO 6 PARTS PER MILLION (PPM). AFTER DISCOVERING THE DANGEROUS SITUATION I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE BACK TO FORD WHO HAS NOW HAD THE VEHICLE FOR RIGHT AT 3 WEEKS AND WILL NOT RETURN MY PHONE CALLS OR UPDATE ME ON THE ISSUE. I AM POSTING THIS SO THAT ANYONE WHO READS THIS CAN INVESTIGATE THIS POSSIBLE SERIOUS HEALTH ISSUE FOR THEMSELVES. IF YOU ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE AND SMELL EXHAUST, TAKE THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED. IF YOU SMELL EXHAUST IT IS STILL GETTING INTO THE CABIN AND IS VERY DANGEROUS TO YOUR HEALTH. I AM VERY CONCERNED FORD HAS NOT RECALLED ANY VEHICLES (2011-2014) TO MAKE SURE PEOPLE ARE NOT DRIVING AROUND WITH DANGEROUS EXHAUST FUMES IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE TALKED TO OTHER EXPLORER OWNERS AROUND TOWN AND AT GAS STATIONS AND THEY HAVE NOTICED THIS AS WELL. I USED A CALIBRATED CO METER AND HAVE PICTURES OF THE READINGS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/17/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 30-35 MPH DOWN A ROAD WITH NO POT HOLES WHEN THE FRONT RIGHT LOWER CONTROL ARM BROKE IN HALF. VEHICLE LOST CONTROL AND PULLED TO THE RIGHT BRINGING THE VEHICLE INTO THE STREET CURB. DAMAGE TO THE FENDER, TIRE, WHEEL, CV JOINT, AND OTHER ASSOCIATED PARTS REPORTED. FORD DENIES WARRANTY CLAIM....05-27-15

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

5/17/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 30-35 MPH DOWN A ROAD WITH NO POT HOLES WHEN THE FRONT RIGHT LOWER CONTROL ARM BROKE IN HALF. VEHICLE LOST CONTROL AND PULLED TO THE RIGHT BRINGING THE VEHICLE INTO THE STREET CURB. DAMAGE TO THE FENDER, TIRE, WHEEL, CV JOINT, AND OTHER ASSOCIATED PARTS REPORTED. FORD DENIES WARRANTY CLAIM....05-27-15

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/1/2015 - PIKESVILLE, MD
CPSC:I1540378A. 2014 FORD EXPLORER. CONSUMER STATED THE HEAD LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE ARE UNSAFE TO OPERATE AT NIGHT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/26/2015 - AMARILLO, TX
THE EXHAUST SEEMS TO BE ENTERING THE CABIN THROUGH THE AC VENTS. WE TOOK THIS BACK TO FORD AS WE BOUGHT IT NEW AND THEY STATED AT FIRST IT WAS JUST STICKERS BURNING OFF. THEN I TOOK IT BACK AGAIN AND MADE A MANAGER TO RIDE WITH ME. HE STATED IT WAS NOT NORMAL AND WE LEFT IT THERE. THEY STATED THEY REPLACED SOME PARTS A REROUTED SOMETHING. SEEMED TO BE VERY CONFUSED ON WHAT THEY DID. THE SMELL NEVER REALLY WENT AWAY AND NOT THAT IT HAS 20,000 MILES SEEMS TO BE GETTOING WORST. MY WIFE IS PREGNANT NOW AND ITS HER DAILY DRIVER. I WOULD JUST TAKE IT BACK AND TRADE IT IN BUT I WILL LOSE SO MUCH IN TRADE!! I JUST THINK THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND I AM WORRIED FOR MY WIFE AND FUTURE BABY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/20/2015 - MOUNTAIN HOME, AR
THIS VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT. WITH LOW BEAMS ON THE DISTANCE THE ROAD IS ILLUMINATED VARIES DRASTICALLY, AT TIMES THE ILLUMINATION IS ONLY A FEW FEET WITH NOT SIDE ILLUMINATION AT ALL. EVEN IN THE BEST OF CONDITIONS THE ILLUMINATION IS INSUFFICIENT TO MAKE DRIVING AT NIGHT SAFE. ALSO THERE IS A DISTRACTING DARK CURTAIN MOVING UP AND DOWN THE WINDSHIELD AS YOU GO UP AND DOWN HILLS. TRAVELING HILLY ROADS IS WHERE THE CONDITION IS AT ITS WORST. THIS PHENOMENA HAS BEEN VERIFIED BY THE FORD DEALERSHIP I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM, BUT THERE SEEMS TO BE NO SOLUTION THE THE ISSUE. THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED, I DO NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE AT NIGHT, TOO DANGEROUS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/4/2015 - STAFFORD, VA
WHEN MY HUSBAND CLOSED THE HOOD IT DENTED. ONE SHOULD HAVE A REASONABLE EXPECTATION THAT WHEN YOU CLOSE THE HOOD THAT THE METAL WILL NOT BEND. I BELIEVE THAT THE ALUMINUM THAT THEY ARE USING IS OF TOO THIN/ INFERIOR GRADE. I WOULD HATE TO SEE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IF THERE WAS AN ACCIDENT IF THE HOOD COULD BEND SO EASILY FROM JUST CLOSING THE HOOD.

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2015 - SANTA ROSA, CA
A SULFUR SMELLING STENCH COMING THROUGH THE VENTILATION SYSTEM WHEN DRIVING OVER A HIGH RMP RATE. THE SMELL ENTERS THE CABIN EVEN WITH THE AC TURNED ON AND ALSO WHEN RECIRCULATION IS TURNED ON. I HAVE REPORTED TO THE DEALER AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds