Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seats (1) Unknown Or Other (28) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (21) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (7) Structure (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/19/2014 - FAIRVIEW, TX
ABOUT 20-30 SECONDS AFTER HARD ACCELERATION THE CABIN FILLS UP WITH THE SULFUR SMELL FROM THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. HAVE HAD IT BACK TO THE DEALER TO PERFORM THE TSB BUT NOW IT SEEMS TO BE EVEN WORSE. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THAT THE FACTORY WILL CONTACT ME WHEN THEY FIND A SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM HOWEVER NO-ONE EVER HAS. I CANNOT SAFELY DRIVE THE CAR LIKE THIS. THE STENCH IS OVERPOWERING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - DEERFIELD BEACH, FL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORERS. THE CONTACT STATED AN ABNORMAL EXHAUST SCENT FILL THE VEHICLE AS THE RPM REACH 3500. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TWICE. WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED; THE FIRST REPAIR, THE ENTIRE SEAL ON REAR HATCH DOOR AND DRAIN WAS REPAIRED. THE SECOND REPAIR, THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT STATED THEY NOW SUFFER FROM HEADACHES CONTRIBUTED FROM FUMES INHALED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 450. JB

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/16/2014 - HARTFORD, TN
MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER WAS PURCHASED OFF THE SHOW ROOM FLOOR WITH NO TEST DRIVE. MY NORMAL DAILY DRIVE CONSIST OF 2 LANE SIDE ROADS. ON THE WEEKEND MY FAMILY AND I WILL TAKE THE INTERSTATE ROUTES. IN EARLY MARCH AS WE BEGAN OUR TRIP AND I ACCELERATED ONTO THE INTERSTATE THERE WAS A VERY HEAVY EXHAUST ODOR. THE ODOR WAS THICK ENOUGH THAT WE HAD TO LOWER EACH OF OUR WINDOWS. WE THOUGHT IT WAS STRANGE BUT PERHAPS JUST A ONE TIME OCCURRENCE BUT THAT WASN'T THE CASE. THE PROBLEM IS OCCURRING DURING HEAVY ACCELERATION ONLY, WITH NO AIR, WITH THE AIR CONDITIONING OR WITH THE HEAT ON. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO FORD 3 TIMES SINCE AUGUST 2014 FOR A TOTAL OF 26 DAYS IN THE SHOP IN HOPES OF GETTING THIS REPAIRED WITH NO LUCK. I DID HAVE A CASE OPEN WITH FORD CASE# 5266584 AND WAS TOLD LAST WEEK (11/13/14) BY CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSON "CHRIS" THAT MY CASE HAD BEEN CLOSED, REASON; "THE ODOR I AM EXPERIENCING IS NORMAL" I WAS NOT NOTIFIED BY FORD THAT THE CASE WAS BEING CLOSED NOR WAS THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. I PLACED A CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR IN MY VEHICLE AND AFTER 3 TO 4 DAYS ON 11/01/14 RECEIVED A WARNING TO MOVE TO CLEAN AIR! MY VEHICLE IS UNDER FULL WARRANTY HOWEVER THAT IS USELESS AT THIS POINT. ON 11/15/14 I HAD TO TAKE A 6 HOUR ROUND TRIP WITH MY MOTHER, STEP FATHER AND MOTHER-IN-LAW WE HAD TO LOWER WITH WINDOW NO LESS THAN 8 TIMES DURING THE TRAVEL AND MY MOTHER HAD A VERY SICK HEADACHE AFTER THE TRIP. THIS PROBLEM IS REAL AND I HOPE YOU WILL GIVE IT THE TIME AND ATTENTION NEEDED TO MAKE SURE OTHER PEOPLE LIKE MYSELF AREN'T JUST BRUSHED OFF BY FORD. FORD HAS MY MONEY PAID IN FULL FOR A VEHICLE I AM FORCED TO DRIVE DAILY BECAUSE I HAVE NO OTHER TRANSPORTATION. AND YOU ASK DO I ALSO HAVE HEADACHES YES AND THEY ARE VERY REAL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/10/2014 - MAGNOLIA, TX
I HAVE EXPERIENCED A BURNING SMELL ENTERING THE CABIN AREA WHEN ACCELERATING TO PASS A VEHICLE AND WHEN CLIMBING A HILL. ALSO HAVE HAD A "SOUR" SMELL LIKE SOURED CLOTHING FROM AC WHEN I START MY VEHICLE. I DID ASK A SERVICE MANAGER ABOUT THE "SOUR" SMELL AND HE SAID HE NEVER HEARD OF IT, NOT A BIG HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
TWICE WHILE DRIVING (ONCE ACCELERATING TO PULL INTO TRAFFIC AND ONCE GOING UP A MOUNTAIN) AN EXHAUST SMELL ENTERED THE CABIN THROUGH THE AC SYSTEM AND RECIRCULATING MODE DID NOT IMPROVE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING OVER 3500 RPMS. I HAVE TESTED THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME UNDER THESE CONDITIONS. I AM VERY CONCERNED AS WE JUST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO AND HAVE TWO YOUNG DAUGHTERS. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO OUR LOCAL DEALERSHIP BUT BASED ON THESE COMPLAINTS I AM NOT HOPEFULL THIS WILL BE RESOLVED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/9/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
TWICE WHILE DRIVING (ONCE ACCELERATING TO PULL INTO TRAFFIC AND ONCE GOING UP A MOUNTAIN) AN EXHAUST SMELL ENTERED THE CABIN THROUGH THE AC SYSTEM AND RECIRCULATING MODE DID NOT IMPROVE IT. THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING OVER 3500 RPMS. I HAVE TESTED THIS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME UNDER THESE CONDITIONS. I AM VERY CONCERNED AS WE JUST BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO AND HAVE TWO YOUNG DAUGHTERS. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO OUR LOCAL DEALERSHIP BUT BASED ON THESE COMPLAINTS I AM NOT HOPEFULL THIS WILL BE RESOLVED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/30/2014 - HAZLET, NJ
WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN THE SHOP FOR PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE, THE TECHNICIAN NOTICED THAT THE LEFT TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS ABOUT A THIRD FULL OF WATER. THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY WAS REMOVED FROM THE VEHICLE AND WAS ROTATED IN VARIOUS DIRECTIONS IN AN ATTEMPT TO FIND WHERE THE WATER HAD ENTERED THE LIGHT. WHAT WE FOUND WAS A POORLY WELDED PLASTIC SEAM AT THE TOP EDGE OF THE LIGHT ASSEMBLY. WE APPROACHED FORD WITH THE ISSUE AND WERE INFORMED THAT BECAUSE EMERGENCY LIGHTING HAD BEEN ADDED, THEY WOULD NOT WARRANTY THE LIGHT EVEN THOUGH THE EMERGENCY LIGHT WAS NOT THE SOURCE OF THE LEAK. THIS VEHICLE IS OPERATED BY A POLICE DEPARTMENT. WE HAVE HAD ANOTHER FAILURE (UPPER SEAM LEAK) ON ANOTHER POLICE UNIT,SAME YEAR, THAT RESULTED IN THE LOSE OF FUNCTION OF THE LEFT TAILLIGHT ASSEMBLY DUE TO THE LED LIGHTING MODULE SHORTING OUT AFTER THE LIGHT HAD FILLED HALFWAY WITH WATER. WE FEEL THIS COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE DUE THE POTENTIAL FOR REDUCED VISIBLE STOPLIGHTS AND TAILLIGHTS ON THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/16/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
DURING HARD ACCELERATION, A "SMELL" ENTERS THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THE "SMELL" IS OF SULFUR OR ROTTEN EGGS. THE SMELL IS DEFINITELY COMING FROM THE EXHAUST. FORD ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM AND PERFORMED A TSB TO FIX. THE TSB DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM, AND THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY HAVE TO WAIT FOR AN ENGINEER. SERVICE MANAGER SAYS THERE IS ONLY 1 FORD ENGINEER FOR ALL OF SOUTH TEXAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
DURING HARD ACCELERATION, A "SMELL" ENTERS THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THE "SMELL" IS OF SULFUR OR ROTTEN EGGS. THE SMELL IS DEFINITELY COMING FROM THE EXHAUST. FORD ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM AND PERFORMED A TSB TO FIX. THE TSB DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM, AND THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY HAVE TO WAIT FOR AN ENGINEER. SERVICE MANAGER SAYS THERE IS ONLY 1 FORD ENGINEER FOR ALL OF SOUTH TEXAS.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - HIALEAH, FL
WHEN ACCELERATING TO PASS A DANGEROUS TRUCK (58 MPH) STRONG FUMES COMES INSIDE THE CABIN, ACCELERATION TOOK 8 SECONDS, INSTANTLY WE START COUGHING AND GET WATERY EYES, OUR YEAR OLD BABY START CRYING SHOWING SYMPTOMS OF DISTRESS, WE TELL THIS TO SALES PERSON, WHICH QUICKLY TOLD US THE STORY THAT THIS HAPPENS WITH NEW CARS.. SUPPOSEDLY NEW ENGINES SHOULD NOT BE HIGHLY ACCELERATED. NAIVELY WE BELIEVE THIS AND DECIDE TO GIVE IT A FEW DAYS-+ª DAY BECOME MONTHS AND PROBLEM GOT WORST, AFTER FEW MONTHS WE DECIDE TO TAKE THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE, UNFORTUNATELY FORD FROM FIRST DAY TREAT US LIKE IF WE WERE INVENTING THE MATTER, AND MAKE MY WIFE LOOK LIKE IF SHE WERE CRAZY, THE WORST PART IS THAT THEY KNOW THAT CAR HAS THE DEFECT AS PREVIOUS GENERATIONS HAS THE SAME PROBLEM(FORDTECHNICAL BULLETIN CONFIRM THIS ).WE CONTINUE TO FOLLOW THE REGULAR PROCEDURE AND WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP ASKING THEM TO FIX THE PROBLEM,THEY ONLY SHOW THEY WERE CLUELESS ABOUT IT AND AFTER MORE THAN SEVEN TIMES LEAVING THE CAR THERE THEY SAY THERE-++S NOTHING THEY CAN DO ABOUT IT. WE CONTACT FORD MANUFACTURER DIRECTLY,WHICH MAKE US GO THROUGH A LONG PROCESS OF VERIFYING BACK AND FORWARD, AND AT THE END AN -++ENGINEER-+¥ SEND ESPECIALLY DIRECTLY FROM FORD TO THE DEALERSHIP TELL US PRACTICALLY THAT JUST DON-++T ACCELERATE TO AVOID THIS !!!!.WE TOOK THE CAR TO SPECIALIST THAT MEASURED CO WITH A PROFESSIONAL TOOL THAT SHOW MORE THAN 140 PART PER MILLION!!!!!.THIS IS SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT FORD SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR IT, MY FAMILY HAS BEEN SICK WITH FLUE LIKE SYMPTOMS FOR A LONG TIME, MY WIFE EXPERIENCED A VERY LONG LASTING COUGH THAT ONLY START GETTING BETTER AFTER FORCEFULLY I HAVE TO GET HER ANOTHER CAR AS I COULD NO LONGER EXPOSE MY FAMILY TO MORE OF THIS DANGERS. I REQUEST TO FORD TO REPLACE THE CAR FAND THEY DENIED MY REQUEST I BELIEVE NHTSA SHOULD STEP UP ON TO THIS AND PROTECT THE CONSUMERS, THANKS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds