Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 186 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (13) Seats (1) Suspension (21) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (21) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (37) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (22) Unknown Or Other (40) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/23/2016 - GREENVILLE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAS ABLE TO RESUME DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V286000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/22/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/19/2016 - COSTA MESA, CA
I HAVE SEEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE FUEL VALVE ON FORD VEHICLES WITH THE CAPLESS FUEL SYSTEMS. I RECENTLY HAD A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT GO ON IN MY CAR FOR PO456 WHICH I TOOK TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THEM CHECK IT OUT BECAUSE I HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. TURNS OUT THAT THE FUEL VAPOR VALVE HAS STUCK OPEN AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. SADLY THIS IS AN EMISSIONS ISSUE AND NOT COVERED UNDER MY WARRANTY. I LOOKED UP ONLINE AND NOTICED THAT THIS HAPPENS A LOT TO FORD WITH THE CAPLESS FUELING SYSTEM. I BELIEVE THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE AND THEY ARE CHARGING $250 FOR A PART THAT GOES OUT IN LESS THAN 50K MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/15/2016 - POMPTON LAKES, NJ
IN JUNE 2014 I NOTICED EXHAUST FUMES IN CABIN WHILE DRIVING UP HILL AND FIGURED IT WAS COMING FROM THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. ON A EARLY MORNING I ACCELERATED UP THE HILL WITH NO CARS IN FRONT OF ME I SMELLED EXHAUST FUMES IN CABIN. THEN I NOTICED MORE AND MORE UNDER HEAVY ACCELERATION THE CABIN FILLS WITH EXHAUST FUMES. (ENTERING HIGHWAY, PASSING VEHICLES AND GOING UP HILLS).

View Details

ENGINE

9/13/2016 - UNION, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHEN THE AIR CONDITIONER CIRCULATION MODE WAS ACTIVATED OR WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, EXHAUST FUMES EMITTED INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,900. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/13/2016 - PRESCOTT, AZ
EXHAUST ENTERING THE PASSENGER CABIN WHEN RUNNING THE AC ON MEDIUM OR HARD ACCELERATION. IT'S BEEN HAPPENING SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NEW, LEASED NEW FROM FORD. VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 25,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/7/2016 - BAYAMON, PR
WHEN THE VEHICLE MAKES AN ACCELERATION IT CREATES A "GASOLINE LIKE ODOR" INSIDE DE CABIN OF THE FORD EXPLORER 2014. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS LEFT IN A FORD DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION THEY RESPONDED BY SAYING THAT A PLASTIC COMPONENT WAS INSIDE THE EXHAUST SYSTEM. THE PROBLEM PERSISTED AFTER THE SUPPOSED PROBLEM WAS FOUND. THE PROBLEMS OCCURS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/7/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/7/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/6/2016 - CARY, NC
I'VE OWNED A 2014 EXPLORER SPORT FOR 3 YEARS, AND HAVE HAD THE 'ROTTEN EGG' SMELL OFF AND ON. I THOUGHT IT WAS RELATED TO THE TWIN TURBO AND THE VEHICLE BEING NEW, AS IT ONLY HAPPENED UNDER HARD ACCELERATION (I NOW KNOW IT ALSO PRIMARILY HAPPENS WHEN THE AC IS ON). 3 YEARS LATER I FINALLY TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE TO DISCOVER A TSB HAD BEEN ISSUED FOR IT. AFTER FURTHER SEARCHING THE WEB, I NOW SEE MANY OTHERS HAVE THE SAME ISSUE - AND ALSO SEE THAT CO HAS BEEN ENTERING THE CABIN, WHICH REALLY PROMPTED THIS COMPLAINT. I'M ALSO CONCERNED THAT PEOPLE ARE REPORTING THE TSB DOES NOT FIX THE ISSUE, AND PLAN TO CARRY A CO MONITOR FOR A WHILE TO CHECK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds