Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (1) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seats (1) Suspension (11) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (26) Power Train (10) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (20) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/22/2016 - ELMIRA, MI
THE DRIVER DOOR CONTINUES TO SOUND ALARM OF DOOR AJAR, SLAM THE DOOR AND STILL THE SAME, VERY ANNOYING WHEN DRIVING BECAUSE IT WON'T STOP

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/20/2016 - FORREST CITY, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/17/2016 - WAUKESHA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A MANUFACTURER RECALL ON THE SUSPENSION. THERE WAS NO PERMANENT REPAIR SOLUTION YET AND THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE SUSPENSION RECALL. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REPAIR SOLUTION TO REFER THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/14/2016 - SUWANEE, GA
I AM HAVING A MAJOR CONCERN OVER THIS RECALL GIVEN THE FACT THAT NOTHING CAN BE DONE TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE UNTIL THE THIRD QUARTER OF 2016. HOW CAN FORD ALLOW 75K+ DRIVERS TO DRIVE WILLINGLY KNOWING THERE MAY BE A POTENTIAL ISSUE WITH THEIR STEERING. THIS IS EVEN MORE SO OF A CONCERN FOR ME SINCE MY FAMILY AND I ARE SCHEDULED TO TRAVEL NORTH 16 HOURS TOMORROW. HEAVEN FORBID BUT WHO WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR DAMAGES TO MY VEHICLE OR MY FAMILY BECAUSE FORD WAS NOT PROACTIVELY PREPARED TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE? WHO WILL REIMBURSE ME FOR A RENTAL SINCE I CANNOT RELY ON MY VEHICLE I PAY GOOD MONEY FOR AND ON TIME EVERY MONTH? THIS IS MY VERY FIRST FORD VEHICLE I HAVE HAD FOR 6 MONTHS AND THIS IS THE 2ND STEERING ISSUE IVE ENCOUNTERED AND AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AND CONCERNED. JUST THREE WEEKS AGO I HAD TO HAVE MY STEERING RACK REPLACED. THIS IS JUST UNACCEPTABLE!

View Details

STEERING

6/14/2016 - SUWANEE, GA
I AM HAVING A MAJOR CONCERN OVER THIS RECALL GIVEN THE FACT THAT NOTHING CAN BE DONE TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE UNTIL THE THIRD QUARTER OF 2016. HOW CAN FORD ALLOW 75K+ DRIVERS TO DRIVE WILLINGLY KNOWING THERE MAY BE A POTENTIAL ISSUE WITH THEIR STEERING. THIS IS EVEN MORE SO OF A CONCERN FOR ME SINCE MY FAMILY AND I ARE SCHEDULED TO TRAVEL NORTH 16 HOURS TOMORROW. HEAVEN FORBID BUT WHO WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR DAMAGES TO MY VEHICLE OR MY FAMILY BECAUSE FORD WAS NOT PROACTIVELY PREPARED TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE? WHO WILL REIMBURSE ME FOR A RENTAL SINCE I CANNOT RELY ON MY VEHICLE I PAY GOOD MONEY FOR AND ON TIME EVERY MONTH? THIS IS MY VERY FIRST FORD VEHICLE I HAVE HAD FOR 6 MONTHS AND THIS IS THE 2ND STEERING ISSUE IVE ENCOUNTERED AND AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AND CONCERNED. JUST THREE WEEKS AGO I HAD TO HAVE MY STEERING RACK REPLACED. THIS IS JUST UNACCEPTABLE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
VEHICLE IS WARNING IT IS NOT IN PARK. POTENTIAL CONCERN VEHICLE WILL ROLL OR BE UNABLE TO TURN OFF. COULD RESULT IN VEHICLE ROLLING WHEN OPERATOR PUTS INTO PARK AND WON'T ENGAGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/9/2016 - COCONUT CREEK, FL
MY VEHICLE HAS HAD ONGOING ISSUES THAT DATE BACK TO 10/31/2015. I HAVE REPAIR ORDERS THAT SHOWS THE ISSUES ARE CONSISTENCE AND THE DEALERS THAT HAVE ATTEMPT TO REPAIR THEM HAVE DONE SO TO NO AVAIL. THE ISSUES ARE ELECTRICAL AND MECHANICAL IN NATURE. BECAUSE OF THESE ONGOING ISSUES, WHICH INCLUDES EXHAUST SMELLS. MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN OUT OF SERVICE FOR OVER 88 DAYS AND THE VEHICLE STILL HAVE THE EXHAUST SMELL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD

5/23/2016 - CALIFORNIA, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PAINT ON THE VEHICLE'S HOOD STARTED TO BUBBLE AND THERE WAS CORROSION NEAR THE HATCH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED CORROSION AND THE HOOD AND THE HANDLE ON THE HATCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/17/2016 - KATY, TX
FORD EXPLORER 2014 EXHAUST FUMES COMING INTO CABIN. I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE FROM AUTO NATION FORD OF KATY, TX ON OR ABOUT JULY 12, 2014. APPROXIMATELY ON OR ABOUT OCTOBER 21, 2014 BEGAN HAVING TROUBLE WITH THE AC CEILING VENTS CLOSING ON 2ND AND 3RD ROW SEATS CLOSING. I TOOK MY VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS ON AUGUST 10, 2015 FOR THE SECOND TIME AND THIRD TIME ON MAY 2, 2016 AND SINCE THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES WE KNOW THAT IT WILL BREAK AGAIN FOR THE FOURTH TIME. ANOTHER ISSUE THAT HAS COME TO RECENT EVENTS AND THE TRUCK IS CURRENTLY AT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOR EXHAUST FUMES COMING INTO THE CABIN WHEN WE ACCELERATE AT MORE THAN 3 RPM'S AS OF MAY 2, 2016 AND MANY TIMES BEFORE AND WE HAVE BECOME AWARE THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED BEFORE AND WE JUST THOUGHT IT WAS THE OTHER CARS FUMES BUT WHEN WE ROLLED THE WINDOWS DOWN THE FUME DISSIPATE AND FRESH AIR COMES IN AS LONG AS OUR WINDOWS ARE DOWN. THIS HAS ME AND MY FAMILY ON RED ALERT AND IS HEALTH HAZARDOUS TO MY WIFE AGE FORTY-TWO AND MY CHILDREN AGE EIGHT AND SEVEN (ALL HAVE EXPERIENCE HEADACHES AND MY WIFE NEARLY PASSING OUT WHILE DRIVING), TO DATE, THE DEALER HAS BEEN UNABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. IT HAS BEEN RETURN TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT BECAUSE MY DAUGHTER AN WIFE WHERE SMELLING THE WORST SMELL TO DATE IN THE CABIN AND MY DAUGHTER WAS COUGHING FROM THE BAD BURN SMELL SHE DESCRIBED TO ME AS BURNT FUMES AS MY WIFE.THE CO2 AND EXHAUST FUMES COULD BE NEGATIVELY IMPACTING HER HEALTH, AS SHE HAS EXPERIENCE DIZZINESS AND HEADACHES THAT HAVE PREVENT HER TO FUNCTION, AND OUR FAMILIES+ GENERAL LONG TERM HEALTH FUTURE IMPACT. FORD SURELY HAS THE REST OF THE ORDER SERVICE FOR ATTEMPTED REPAIR OF THE EXHAUST FUMES COMING INTO THE CABIN. THIS PROBLEM SUBSTANTIALLY IMPAIRS THE USE OR VALUE OF MY VEHICLE AND CREATES A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

STEERING

4/29/2016 - THICKET, TX
I BOUGHT A CERTITIFIED PREOWNED 2014 FORD EXPLORER IN FEBRUARY 2015. RECENTLY EVERY TIME THE EXPLORER WAS PUT IN PARK, AN ALERT WOULD GO OFF, SHOWING TRANSMISSION NOT IN PARK. THE PAST FEW WEEKS THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD MAKE A GRINDING/GROWLING NOISE WHEN TURNING TOWARDS THE LEFT AND RIGHT. THE STEERING BECAME A LITTLE HARDER TO TURN AND IT FELT AS IF IT WOULD STICK. THIS WAS A VERY SCARY FEELING. I HAVE 5 CHILDREN AND DIDN'T WANT THEM IN THIS CAR. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP 2 DAYS AGO AND FOUND OUT THAT MY ELECTRIC STEERING SYSTEM WAS LOCKED, THE GEAR SHIFT ASSEMBLY NEEDED REPLACING AND ALSO A NEW BELT. TOTAL COST $2,309.30. I WAS DEVASTATED. WE DO NOT HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY LAYING AROUND. I CALLED THE FORD MANUFACTURER AND THEY GAVE ME A CASE NUMBER TO GIVE TO THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER SPEAKING WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND GIVING THE CASE NUMBER, THEY CALLED BACK LATER AND STATED THEY WOULD GIVE ME A $300 DISCOUNT. THEREFORE AT THIS TIME, I HAD TO TAKE A $1500 LOAN OUT FOR THE ELECTRICAL POWER STEERING REPLACEMENT AND BELT. I WILL HAVE TO GO WITHOUT THE GEAR SHIFT ASSEMBLY BEING REPAIRED UNTIL WE CAN AFFORD IT. MY TOTAL WITHOUT REPLACING THE GEAR SHIFT ASSEMBLY IS $1696.30. AFTER RESEARCHING THE ISSUE, THIS IS NOTHING NEW WITH THE FORD EXPLORERS. THERE WERE SEVERAL RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE FOR THE 2011 THROUGH 2013 MODELS. MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER HAS A 100,000 MILE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY BUT OF COURSE NONE OF THIS WAS COVERED. I AM SAVING MY RECEIPTS IN HOPES FORD WILL DO THE RIGHT THING. IF THEY DO NOT, I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER FORD. THIS ISSUES HAS PUT MY FAMILY IN DANGER AND IN FURTHER DEBT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds