Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 451 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (1) Power Train (18) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (24) Exterior Lighting (16) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (44) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (44) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (98) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (7) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (46) Unknown Or Other (162)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/13/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
I PURCHASED MY USED 2014 FORD EXPLORER SPORT IN JANUARY 2017. IT IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION, HOWEVER I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT MY VEHICLE EMITS A SULPHUR "ROTTEN EGG" SMELL WHEN I ACCELERATE TO A HIGH SPEEDS. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS ISSUE, I FOUND THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH FORD EXPLORERS BETWEEN YEARS 2013-2017 AND MAY BE AN EXHAUST ISSUE. I HAVE A WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE, BUT NOTICED THIS IS NOT COVERED PART AS PART OF MY WARRANTY PACKAGE AND THERE IS CURRENTLY NOT A FORD RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. THIS IS UNSAFE AND A PROBLEM FOR MANY OWNERS LIKE ME. I DO NOT FEEL SICK WHEN I DRIVE MY CAR, BUT HAVING EXHAUST CHEMICALS IN THE AIR WHEN I DRIVE CAN POSE A SERIOUS THREAT AFTER REPEATED EXPOSURE AND COULD POTENTIALLY CAUSE SERIOUS HEALTH PROBLEMS FOR ME AND OTHER PASSENGERS. IT IS AN ISSUE THAT IS CLEARLY OBVIOUS WHEN YOU ACCELERATE AND NEEDS TO FIXED BY THE FORD MANUFACTURER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2017 - MIDWAY, GA
THE CAR IS LITTLE UNDER THREE YEARS OLD AND THE DOOR PANEL IS COMING APART AROUND THE WINDOW. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE SMELL OF CARBON DIOXIDE WHEN I ACCELERATE. AND ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE HOOD IS SHOWING RUST SPOT (SHOWING OXIDIZATION)

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/12/2017 - MIDWAY, GA
THE CAR IS LITTLE UNDER THREE YEARS OLD AND THE DOOR PANEL IS COMING APART AROUND THE WINDOW. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE SMELL OF CARBON DIOXIDE WHEN I ACCELERATE. AND ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE HOOD IS SHOWING RUST SPOT (SHOWING OXIDIZATION)

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/11/2017 - NEWBERRY, MI
UNDER ACCELERATION I GET AN EXHAUST SMELL IN THE CABIN. IT HAPPENS WHEN PASSING, GETTING UP TO SPEED FROM A DEAD STOP. IT DOES IT NO MATTER IF THE ENGINE IS COLD,WARM OR HOT . THE DEALER HAS REPLACED THE EXHAUST,ADDED 6 SENSORS FOR THE A/C RESUSCITATION & SEALED UP THE BODY AT THE REAR END. THE DEALER HAS TALKED TO FORDS TECHS & I STILL HAVE THE SMELL. I HAVE PULMONARY FIBROSIS & MY LUNGS CAN'T BE EXPOSED TO THIS. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/10/2017 - DALY CITY, CA
I STARTED TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR WORK AND THE EXAUST FUMES IN THE CABIN AREA HAS STARTED TO MAKE ME SICK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/6/2017 - SHELBYVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE CABIN BEGAN TO FILL WITH A FUEL ODOR. THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO LOWER THE WINDOWS IN ORDER FOR THE ODOR TO DISSIPATE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,200.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/6/2017 - CLAYTON, NC
EXHAUST ODOR SMELL IN VEHICLE IS WORSE UNDER HEAVY EXCELLERATION HAPPENS EVERY TIME

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/5/2017 - LEWISBERRY, PA
MY CAR HAS 64000 MILES ON IT AND WAS PURCHASED IN JANUARY 2014. THE TRANSFER CASE HAS FAILED AND CAUSED MASSIVE AMOUNTS OF FLUID TO LEAK FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FLUID COULD BE SEEN ON MY DRIVEWAY AND MY CARPORT FLOOR, AND IT WAS AN $1850 FIX AT THE MECHANIC. THERE WAS, ACCORDING TO THE DEALER, A RECALL FOR A SIMILAR ISSUE WITH CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FORD EXPLORERS, AND THEY SAID THE TRANSFER CASE WAS CRACKED, ALONG WITH THE VALVE. ADDITIONALLY, THERE IS AN ODOR OF PROPANE OR SIMILAR COMING FROM THE EXHAUST VENTS INSIDE THE VEHICLE. IT'S WORSE WHEN IT'S ON AIR CONDITIONING, TO THE POINT WHERE I ACTUALLY HAVE TO PUT THE WINDOWS DOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/5/2017 - LEWISBERRY, PA
MY CAR HAS 64000 MILES ON IT AND WAS PURCHASED IN JANUARY 2014. THE TRANSFER CASE HAS FAILED AND CAUSED MASSIVE AMOUNTS OF FLUID TO LEAK FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FLUID COULD BE SEEN ON MY DRIVEWAY AND MY CARPORT FLOOR, AND IT WAS AN $1850 FIX AT THE MECHANIC. THERE WAS, ACCORDING TO THE DEALER, A RECALL FOR A SIMILAR ISSUE WITH CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FORD EXPLORERS, AND THEY SAID THE TRANSFER CASE WAS CRACKED, ALONG WITH THE VALVE. ADDITIONALLY, THERE IS AN ODOR OF PROPANE OR SIMILAR COMING FROM THE EXHAUST VENTS INSIDE THE VEHICLE. IT'S WORSE WHEN IT'S ON AIR CONDITIONING, TO THE POINT WHERE I ACTUALLY HAVE TO PUT THE WINDOWS DOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/3/2017 - RED BLUFF, CA
MY FORD EXPLORER HAS A CONSTANT EXHAUST SMELL IN THE CABIN. THE DEALERSHIP COMPLETED A RECALL WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND NOW THE DEALER IS TELLING ME THEY DO NOT KNOW OF ANY EXHAUST IN THE CABIN ISSUES. STRANGE NOW THE DEALERSHIP KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT A PROBLEM THEY TRIED TO FIX. THE FRONT SUSPENSION HAS BEEN REPLACED 3 TIMES NOW. ABOUT EVERY 20K MILES THE FRONT SUSPENSION START TO FAIL AND MAKES LOUD CLUNKING NOISES AND WE LOOSE ALIGNMENT IN THE FRONT END. THIS LAST TIME THE TOW IN THE FRONT TIRES CHANGED AND CAUSED FOR UNUSUAL STEERING ON THE FREEWAY. THE TURBO'S ON THE 3.5 ECOBOOST HAVE A KNOWN OIL LEAK ISSUE THAT CAUSES DAMAGE TO THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. FORD REFUSES TO COVER THE CATALYTIC CONVERTERS EVEN IF YOU HAVE THEIR IN HOUSE EXTENDED SERVICE PLAN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds