Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (6) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/25/2014 - CEDAR PARK, TX
FIRST INCIDENT: PARKED CAR AT GAS STATION FUEL PUMP, WHEN WE GOT IN TO MOVE THE CAR IT DID NOT HAVE POWER STEERING. WRESTLED THE CAR TO THE FRONT OF THE GAS STORE AND WENT INSIDE, WHEN WE RETUNED TO THE CAR AND STARTED IT, THE POWER STEERING WORKED. SECOND INCIDENT: JULY 18,2014, SAME THING HAPPENED AFTER A STOP AT A STORE. POWER STEERING COMPLETELY OUT ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT STAYS ON. HAD TO GET TOWED. FIX TOOK FOUR WEEK WORK DAYS. THE INVOICE SAYS EB5Z*3504*A GEAR ASM-STEERING WAS REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/13/2014 - KATY, TX
WHILE APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION FROM THE SOUTH, A CAR CROSSED THE INTERSECTION IN FRONT OF US, TRAVELING EAST. I APPLIED THE BRAKES BUT NOT IN TIME TO AVOID HITTING THE CAR BROADSIDE. FRONT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AS DID THE SIDE AIR BAGS ON THE DRIVER SIDE. THE AIRBAG UNDER THE DASH ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DEPLOYED ALSO. MY WIFE, WHO WAS SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT, SUFFERED A VERY SERIOUS CUT ON HER LOWER LEG, JUST A FEW INCHES ABOVE THE ANKLE. IT IS ORIENTED PRIMARILY CIRCUMFERENTIAL FOR AT LEAST 180 DEGREES AROUND THE TOP AND SIDES OF HER LEG. THE WOUND CUT TO THE BONE AND REQUIRED MULTIPLE LAYERS OF STITCHES TO REPAIR. HER DOCTOR SAYS THE BLISTERING AROUND THE CUT APPEARS TO BE CONSISTENT WITH A BURN. THERE WAS NO CAR FIRE, SO WE THINK THAT THE CUT AND BURN WERE LIKELY FROM THE AIR BAG. THERE WAS NO VISIBLE DAMAGE TO THE CAR IN THE PASSENGER LEG AREA. NO GLASS WAS BROKEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/13/2014 - GOLIAD, TX
STRONG EXHAUST SMELL ANYTIME ENGINE ACCELERATES, SUCH AS DOWNSHIFTING WHEN GOING OVER AN OVERPASS ON AN INTERSTATE HIWAY. NOT "HARD" ACCELERATION REALLY. I HAVE RESEARCHED, AND KNOW THIS A COMMON PROBLEM, AND HAS BEEN SINCE THE "5TH GEN" EXPLORERS CAME OUT. I KNOW IT HAS BEEN BROUGHT TO THE ATTENTION OF NHTSA, AND I AM JUST REGISTERING MY COMPLAINT HOPING YOU CAN GET THE PROBLEM RESOLVED. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/13/2014 - WINKELMAN, AZ
EXHAUST FUMES ENTER THE CABIN THROUGH THE A/C VENTS INTERMITTENTLY. THE A/C CONTROLS MUST BE TURNED ON AND THE VEHICLE MUST BE ACCELERATING OR CLIMBING A HILL. IT LOADS THE CABIN HEAVILY AT TIMES WITH EXHAUST FUMES, BUT APPEARS TO CLEAR QUICKLY WHEN NORMAL OPERATION RESUMES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/10/2014 - DENVER, CO
WHEN I ACCELERATE IMMEDIATELY AFTER TURNING ON ENGINE BETWEEN 10-20 MPH MY CAR WILL SLIP OUT OF DRIVE INTO MANUAL. THIS HAPPENS RANDOMLY, AND HAS HAPPENED FOR THE 2 OTHER DRIVERS OF THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE TO STOP, MOVE GEAR SHIFT TO EITHER NEUTRAL OR MANUAL AND SWITCH BACK TO DRIVE, FOR THE TRANSMISSION TO THEN REMAIN IN DRIVE. IT HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 25 TIMES-MY VEHICLE NOW HAS 16,000 MILES ON IT. I TOOK INTO FORD DEALERSHIP AND AFTER 2 DAYS THEY COULD "NOT SIMULATE" WHAT WAS CAUSING IT AND TOLD ME TO "TAKE A PICTURE OF THE DISPLAY SCREEN" WHEN IT HAPPENS AGAIN SO IT COULD BE SIMULATED. THEY TOLD ME I WAS HITTING THE CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL! I AM NOT HITTING THE CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL THEY MADE A VEHICLE WITH FAULTY POWER TRAIN AND THE COMPUTER CAN'T TELL THEM HOW TO FIX IT! I WAS ABLE TO QUICKLY SNAP ONE PICTURE AND WILL TRY TO GET ANOTHER ONE PRIOR TO TAKING INTO DEALERSHIP AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/8/2014 - SHOW LOW, AZ
MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER LETS IN AN EXTREME AMOUNT OF FUMES INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE DURING HEAVY EXCELERATION. I HAVE TO PUT ALL FOUR WINDOWS DOWN FOR A GOOD AMOUNT OF TIME BEFORE I AM ABLE TO CLEAR THE CABIN OF THE FUMES. MY FIRST COMPLAINT AT THE LOCAL FORD DEALER HAPPENED 6 WEEKS AFTER LEASING THE VEHICLE. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE FOR 10 MOS. NOW AND HAVE ONLY 5500 MILES ON IT BECAUSE THE FUMES ARE SO BAD THAT WE DON'T DARE DRIVE OUR PETS IN THE VEHICLE OR OURSELVES BECAUSE WE GET SICK AND SUFFER FROM HEADACHES AND NAUSEA FROM THE FUMES IN IT. UNFORTUNATELY WE ARE TRAPPED IN A LEASE AND THE FORD DEALERSHIP WILL ONLY DO A TRADE IN VALUE ON IT. SO I CANT EVEN SELL THE VEHICLE FOR WHAT ITS WORTH BECAUSE OF THE LEASE. CAN'T AFFORD THAT KIND OF LOSS BECAUSE I TRADED IN MY TOYOTA 4 RUNNER IN TO GET THE MONTHLY LEASE PAYMENT DOWN. WON'T GET THAT 8 GRAND BACK ON TRADE IN. HEART BREAKING BECAUSE THIS IS MY DREAM TRUCK, BUT IT IS OBVIOUSLY VERY DEFECTIVE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - GILBERT, WV
WHEN DRIVING MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER AT ANY SPEED AND ON ANY TERRAIN, THE EXHAUST FUMES ENTER INTO THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE ODOR IS EXTREME, CAUSES HEADACHES, NAUSEA, AND TENDS TO BURN MY EYES AS WELL AS MY GRANDDAUGHTER, WHO IS WITH ME MOST OF THE TIME. BECAUSE THERE HAVE NOT BEEN ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAIN OF THIS PROBLEM, AND BECAUSE FORD HAS NOT RECOGNIZED THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM, MY DEALER WAS NOT GOING TO ATTEMPT TO FIX THE PROBLEM. FINALLY THEY HAVE AGREED TO SPRAY THE UNDER PART OF THE EXHAUST WITH A RUBBERIZED SEALANT THAT WAS USED ON THE 2013 MODELS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. IF THIS DOES NOT WORK, WHICH I HAVE READ WAS NOT SUCCESSFUL ON THE 2013 , I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. THE EXHAUST ORDER IS HORRID AND I FEAR THE HEALTH IMPLICATIONS THAT MAY ARISE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2014 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
ON A RECENT VACATION TO THE NORTHWOODS OF WISCONSIN, OUR 2014 EXPLORER XLT (4X4 V6) WAS RELEASING A NAUSEATING SMELL INTO THE CABIN UNDER HEAVY LOADS, HIGH RPMS, OR RAPID ACCELERATIONS. THE TRIP WAS ABOUT 6 HOURS OF SOLID DRIVING, AND BY THE 3RD HOUR MY WIFE AND I HAD POUNDING HEADACHES AND FELT UNWELL. WE IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF THE AC AND OPENED THE WINDOWS AS I WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE SMELL ON THE OPEN HIGHWAY. WE SPENT THE REMAINDER OF THE VACATION WITH LIMITED AC, OPEN WINDOWS, AND ôCAUTIOUSö DRIVING TO ENSURE THE SMELL WOULD NOT OCCUR AGAIN. WE WERE TRAVELLING WITH OUR 8 MONTH OLD SON AND OLD ENGLISH BULLDOG AT THE TIME AND WANTED TO ENSURE THEY DID NOT FALL ILL. I WILL BE CONTACTING MY FORD DEALER TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
ON A RECENT VACATION TO THE NORTHWOODS OF WISCONSIN, OUR 2014 EXPLORER XLT (4X4 V6) WAS RELEASING A NAUSEATING SMELL INTO THE CABIN UNDER HEAVY LOADS, HIGH RPMS, OR RAPID ACCELERATIONS. THE TRIP WAS ABOUT 6 HOURS OF SOLID DRIVING, AND BY THE 3RD HOUR MY WIFE AND I HAD POUNDING HEADACHES AND FELT UNWELL. WE IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF THE AC AND OPENED THE WINDOWS AS I WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE SMELL ON THE OPEN HIGHWAY. WE SPENT THE REMAINDER OF THE VACATION WITH LIMITED AC, OPEN WINDOWS, AND ôCAUTIOUSö DRIVING TO ENSURE THE SMELL WOULD NOT OCCUR AGAIN. WE WERE TRAVELLING WITH OUR 8 MONTH OLD SON AND OLD ENGLISH BULLDOG AT THE TIME AND WANTED TO ENSURE THEY DID NOT FALL ILL. I WILL BE CONTACTING MY FORD DEALER TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2014 - LAKE IN THE HILLS, IL
ON A RECENT VACATION TO THE NORTHWOODS OF WISCONSIN, OUR 2014 EXPLORER XLT (4X4 V6) WAS RELEASING A NAUSEATING SMELL INTO THE CABIN UNDER HEAVY LOADS, HIGH RPMS, OR RAPID ACCELERATIONS. THE TRIP WAS ABOUT 6 HOURS OF SOLID DRIVING, AND BY THE 3RD HOUR MY WIFE AND I HAD POUNDING HEADACHES AND FELT UNWELL. WE IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF THE AC AND OPENED THE WINDOWS AS I WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE SMELL ON THE OPEN HIGHWAY. WE SPENT THE REMAINDER OF THE VACATION WITH LIMITED AC, OPEN WINDOWS, AND ôCAUTIOUSö DRIVING TO ENSURE THE SMELL WOULD NOT OCCUR AGAIN. WE WERE TRAVELLING WITH OUR 8 MONTH OLD SON AND OLD ENGLISH BULLDOG AT THE TIME AND WANTED TO ENSURE THEY DID NOT FALL ILL. I WILL BE CONTACTING MY FORD DEALER TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds