Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 217 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (13) Seats (1) Suspension (36) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (45) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (45) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Power Train (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

12/2/2016 - ODESSA, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/2/2016 - GUILFORD, ME
I BOUGHT MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER IN NOVEMBER OF 2015. I NOTICED A ROTTEN EGG/ EXHAUST SMELL AS THE WEATHER BECAME WARMER. ANYTIME I WOULD ACCELERATE UP A HILL OR ACCELERATE ON A FLAT STRETCH OF ROAD DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS WAS WHEN THE SMELL IS THE WORST. I HAVE TO ROLL DOWN ALL OF THE WINDOWS. I NO LONGER ALLOW MY CHILDREN TO RIDE IN THE THIRD ROW BECAUSE THEY WOULD COMPLAIN ON THE LONGER CAR RIDES OF HAVING A HEADACHE. I HAVE TAKEN THIS TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 3 OCCASIONS NOW. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THEY HAVE TRIED TO REPRODUCE MY COMPLAINT, AND HAVE FAILED TO DO SO. I AM CURRENTLY GOING TO THAT THE SERVICE MANAGER ON A RIDE TOMORROW TO REPRODUCE THIS SMELL. THE SMELL HAS BEEN SO BAD AT TIMES THAT I PERSONALLY HAVE FELT LIKE I WAS GOING TO BE SICK. THERE IS SOMETHING SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH THE EXPLORERS HAVING THIS SMELL. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. I AM AT THE POINT THAT I DO NOT PUT MY KIDS IN MY CAR ANYMORE THEN I HAVE TO. I HAVE HAD TO APOLOGIZE ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS TO MY FRIENDS ABOUT THE SMELL. FORD NEEDS TO FIGURE THIS OUT!!

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2016 - GUILFORD, ME
I BOUGHT MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER IN NOVEMBER OF 2015. I NOTICED A ROTTEN EGG/ EXHAUST SMELL AS THE WEATHER BECAME WARMER. ANYTIME I WOULD ACCELERATE UP A HILL OR ACCELERATE ON A FLAT STRETCH OF ROAD DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS WAS WHEN THE SMELL IS THE WORST. I HAVE TO ROLL DOWN ALL OF THE WINDOWS. I NO LONGER ALLOW MY CHILDREN TO RIDE IN THE THIRD ROW BECAUSE THEY WOULD COMPLAIN ON THE LONGER CAR RIDES OF HAVING A HEADACHE. I HAVE TAKEN THIS TO THE DEALERSHIP ON 3 OCCASIONS NOW. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THEY HAVE TRIED TO REPRODUCE MY COMPLAINT, AND HAVE FAILED TO DO SO. I AM CURRENTLY GOING TO THAT THE SERVICE MANAGER ON A RIDE TOMORROW TO REPRODUCE THIS SMELL. THE SMELL HAS BEEN SO BAD AT TIMES THAT I PERSONALLY HAVE FELT LIKE I WAS GOING TO BE SICK. THERE IS SOMETHING SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH THE EXPLORERS HAVING THIS SMELL. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. I AM AT THE POINT THAT I DO NOT PUT MY KIDS IN MY CAR ANYMORE THEN I HAVE TO. I HAVE HAD TO APOLOGIZE ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS TO MY FRIENDS ABOUT THE SMELL. FORD NEEDS TO FIGURE THIS OUT!!

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/1/2016 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (SUSPENSION). THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/29/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/22/2016 - ISSAQUAH, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V245000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STEERING

11/22/2016 - ISSAQUAH, WA
I'VE HAD ISSUES WITH MY FORD EXPLORER NOT TURNING WELL, MAKING NOISES WITH THE TURN, AND HAVE TAKEN IT INTO THE SHOP WHO HAVE SAID IT'S A COMMON ISSUE. THIS IS A DANGER. MY OTHER COMPLAINT IS THAT THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL (NHTSA RECALL 16V-245) AND HAVE TAKEN MY CAR IN TO HAVE THE REPAIR AND THEY HAVE SAID THEY DIDN'T WANT TO USE THE PARTS/TIME TO DO THE FIX! I HAVE CALLED ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS FOR THE REPAIR AND THEY STATE THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO DO THE REPAIR. I FEEL LIKE I HAVE A POTENTIAL DANGER WITH MY CAR AND FORD SENDS A LETTER TO COVER THEMSELVES WITH THE GOVERNMENT, AND I'M LEFT IN THE LURCH. THE GOVERNMENT HAS SHOWN TO BE INEFFECTIVE AND I'M HOPING THAT MY MESSAGE WILL BE HEARD BY SOMEONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/18/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, IL
AFTER I PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND TURN OFF THE VEHICLE, THE ALERT "TRANSMISSION NOT IN PARK" COMES ON. MY GEAR SHIFT IS IN THE PARK POSITION. I PUSH IN THE BUTTON MULTIPLE TIMES (WITHOUT MOVING THE SHIFTER) WHERE THE "P" ON THE DASH FLASHES TO SHOW I'M IN PARK. AFTER DOING THIS, THE "TRANSMISSION NOT IN PARK" ALERT USUALLY GOES AWAY. THIS GOES IN SPURTS WHEN IT HAPPENS - IT WILL BE EVERY TIME I TURN OFF THE CAR FOR A COUPLE DAYS, THEN IT WON'T HAPPEN FOR A WEEK OR SO. THIS STARTED ABOUT SIX MONTHS AGO.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2016 - AUBURN, WA
STRONG EXHAUST ODOR UNDER HEAVY ACCELERATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2016 - WEST CHESTER, PA
EXHAUST FUMES ARE ENTERING THE CABIN OF MY 2014 FORD EXPLORER THRU THE DASH VENTS EVERY TIME I STOP MAKING ME SICK TO MY STOMACH. THESE EXHAUST FUMES SMELL LIKE SULFUR OR ROTTEN EGGS BUT I FEAR THAT ARE POISONOUS GASES LIKE CARBON MONOXIDE AS WELL. MY DEALER PERFORMED A "FIX" LAST WEEK INVOLVING A TSB 14-0130 BUT IT HAS NOT HELPED. I FEAR THAT I AM STARTING TO GET THE RUN AROUND. I AM AFFRAID TO DRIVE MY CAR. PLEASE HELP ME!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds