Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2014 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 174 complaints filed for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 FORD EXPLORER , you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (13) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (36) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (37) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/23/2016 - JUNCOS, PR
PROBLEM WITH GAS LEAK GO TO THE INTERIOR OF THE CARD.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/23/2016 - SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, CA
FORD INITIATED RECALL ON 4/25/16 FOR A TOELINK SUSPENSION REPAIR. IT HAS BEEN LONGER THAN 60 DAYS AND I HAVE NOT BEEN OFFERED A REPAIR DUE TO LACK OF PARTS ACCORDING TO DISCUSSIONS WITH FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND MY LOCAL DEALER. I HAVE NOT BE OFFERED A TEMPORARY REPLACEMENT VEHICLE. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT SAFETY AS THE VEHICLE IS OUR PRIMARY FAMILY VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/22/2016 - ELKVIEW, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ACCORDING TO TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS 12-12-4 AND 14-0130, AND NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE16008 (FUEL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT SMELLED A FUEL ODOR AFTER THE REPAIRS. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

8/19/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT TOWED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING MODULE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/17/2016 - LONDON, TX
WE RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER CONCERNING THE REAR SUSPENSION TOE LINK. I HAVE NOT DRIVEN THIS VEHICLE SINCE RECEIVING THE LETTER. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN DRIVING A VEHICLE. WHEN CAN WE EXPECT A SOLUTION TO A FIX FOR THIS VEHICLE? IT IS VERY DISCOURAGING MAKING PAYMENTS ON A VEHICLE AND NOT FEEL SAFE IN DRIVING IT. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2016 - NEWPORT BEACH, C, CA
9.ON OR ABOUT SEPTEMBER 6, 2015, AT APPROXIMATELY 2:13 P.M., ON SOUTHBOUND JAMBOREE RD., 1424 FEET NORTH OF SAN JOAQUIN RD. IN NEWPORT BEACH, CA, OFFICER MCDOWELL, WHILE ON DUTY AS A NEWPORT BEACH POLICE OFFICER, WAS DRIVING THE SUBJECT VEHICLE IN ROUTE TO RESPOND TO A TRAFFIC COLLISION. OFFICER MCDOWELL WAS SOUTHBOUND IN THE NUMBER 2 LANE TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 50-55 MPH. ON DUTY NEWPORT BEACH POLICE OFFICER DAN MESRI WAS DRIVING A SEPARATE POLICE VEHICLE, AND WAS TRAVELING SOUTHBOUND IN THE NUMBER ONE LANE SLIGHTLY BEHIND THE SUBJECT VEHICLE. ON DUTY NEWPORT BEACH POLICE OFFICER NATHAN FARRIS WAS DRIVING A THIRD POLICE VEHICLE AND WAS SOUTHBOUND IN THE NUMBER ONE LANE SLIGHTLY AHEAD OF THE SUBJECT VEHICLE. BOTH OFFICER MESRI AND OFFICER FARRIS, AMONG OTHERS, WITNESSED THE SUBSEQUENT ACCIDENT SEQUENCE. OFFICER MCDOWELL SUDDENLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY LOST CONSCIOUSNESS WITHIN THE SUBJECT VEHICLE. ACCORDING TO WITNESSES, AND AS EVIDENCED BY THE DASH-CAM VIDEO IN OFFICER MESRI+S POLICE VEHICLE, THE SUBJECT VEHICLE BEGAN DRIFTING TO THE LEFT. IT CROSSED THE NUMBER ONE LANE AND THEN CROSSED THE CENTER MEDIAN. THE SUBJECT VEHICLE CONTINUED DRIFTING LEFT ACROSS THE NORTHBOUND LANES OF JAMBOREE RD., COMING WITHIN INCHES OF A HEAD-ON COLLISION WITH A NORTHBOUND VEHICLE. THE SUBJECT VEHICLE CROSSED ALL NORTHBOUND LANES, WENT OVER THE CURB, AND STRUCK A TREE HEAD-ON. ACCORDING TO WITNESSES, THE SUBJECT VEHICLE NEVER SLOWED DOWN DURING THE ACCIDENT SEQUENCE. THIS ACCIDENT SEQUENCE IS HEREAFTER REFERRED TO AS THE +SUBJECT INCIDENT.+

View Details

VISIBILITY

8/16/2016 - FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE EXHAUST FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE LEAKED INTO THE VEHICLE'S CABIN VIA THE AIR CONDITIONING VENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT HAD A CARBON MONOXIDE READER THAT SHOWED THERE WAS CARBON MONOXIDE INSIDE THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A TSB NUMBER 140130. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/12/2016 - LAKELAND, FL
EXHAUST FUMES IN CABIN DURING ACCELERATION OR PULLING THE BOAT AND IN THE MOUNTAINS IT WAS MEASURED AND WAS OVER 12 PPM. IT HAS BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES FOR THEIR FIX. IT IS NOT REPAIRED NEXT WEEK THEY ARE CHANGING THE EXHAUST. THE FUMES ARE COMING IN ON THE PASSENGER SIDE BEHIND THE GLOVE BOX. HVAC BLENDING DOOR WOULD BE MY GUESS.THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO REPAIR IT. WE JUST RETURNED FROM THE MOUNTAINS. HAD TO RIDE WITH THE WINDOWS DOWN IF NOT YOU WOULD GET DROWSY. SMELLED LIKE BURNT HAIR OR SULFUR. PLEASE HELP

View Details

STEERING

8/12/2016 - MONTGOMERY, AL
POLICE PATRO VEHICLE WITH LOUD NOISE WHEN TURNING LEFT, SUSTAINED COMPLETE POWER ASSIST FAILURE. VEHICLE WITH 62,019 MILES. AFTER FAILURE, DEALER DETERMINED THAT RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY DEFECTIVE. REPAIR COSTS TOTALLING $1065.00 WITH DEALER ASSISTING WITH $400.00 DISCOUNT. CONTACTED FORD REGIONAL SALE REPRESENTATIVE WHO WILL ONLY STATE THAT FORD WILL HONOR THE WARRANTY. **S IS A SAFETY HAZARD THAT WILL GET SOMEONE KILL**

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/12/2016 - LYDNHURST, NJ
WHEN I ACCELERATE ONTO HIGHWAY A FOUL ODOR TAKES OVER THE CABIN FOR A WHILE. I HAVE TO OPEN THE WINDOWS TO CLEAR IT. MY SON GET NAUSEATED WHEN IT HAPPENS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR OVER A YEAR. I JUST NOW STARTED SEEING INFORMATION ONLINE ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM. I AM CALLING THE DEALER TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE TSB THAT I SAW ONLINE. MY TRUCK HAS BEEN IN THE DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES AND NO PENDING TSBS WERE EVER LISTED IN MY PROFILE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds