Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/25/2014 - VICTORIA, MN
THE NEW HONDA CIVIC 2014 WAS PURCHASED FROM A DEALER THREE MONTHS AGO. CAR ONLY HAS 2600 MILES NOW. BIG CHIP ON OWNERS DOOR HANDLE, AND ONE OTHER SIGNIFICANT CHIP ON SIDE PANEL. ALSO MULTIPLE LITTLE CHIPS ON HOOD AND ON FRONT BUMPER ONCE I LOOKED CAREFULLY. SMALL NOW BUT WILL RUST AND PEEL AND UNFAIR TO SELL CAR LIKE THIS. SALESMAN SAID I JUST SELL THEM NOT FIX THEM. TOOK IT TO A BODY SHOP THAT I PAID TO REPLACE PLASTIC DOOR HANDLE. AND USED SILVER BOTTLE OF PAINT I BOUGHT FROM DEALER AND TRIED TO TOUCH UP SPOTS SO WON'T RUST BUT CAN SEE SPOTS AND DOESN'T MATCH. FEEL LIKE PAID NEW CAR PRICE FOR USED CAR. GOT RIPPED OFF. SALESMAN SAID ONCE YOU INSPECT CAR IT IS YOUR PROBLEM. NOW READ OTHERS HAVE SAME PROBLEM. LAST CIVIC. LAST HONDA. BAD DEALER AND SALESMAN TOO. ONCE YOU BUY CAR THEY NO LONGER CARE. NOTE-AUTO BODY SHOP ALSO SAW IMPERFECTIONS AND SAID THAT WAS NOT RIGHT FOR BRAND NEW CAR.

View Details

WHEELS

9/4/2014 - CLAYMONT, DE
I HAD TURNED INTO A SHOPPING CENTER NEAR MY HOME AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT CAUSING ME TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE CAR AND HIT THE CURB. I WAS GOING ONLY ABOUT 10 TO 15 MPH AS YOU CAN'T GO TOO FAST INTO A TURN WITH A MANUAL CAR WITHOUT STALLING. I DIDN'T HIT ANYTHING AND CHECK THE AREA WHERE THE BLOWOUT OCCURRED AND THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE ROAD. THE TIRE BLOWOUT ALSO CAUSED OTHER DAMAGE TO MY CAR. I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP SINCE IS WAS A BRAND NEW CAR THAT I JUST PURCHASE APPROXIMATELY 3 MONTHS AGO AND THE CAR HAS LESS THAN 3500 MILES. I EXPLAINED TO THEM WHAT HAPPENED AND ASKED IF THEY COULD LOOK INTO THEIR BEING AN ISSUE WITH THE TIRE AND THEY REFUSED TO LOOK INTO THE POSSIBILITY OF A TIRE DEFECT. THEY TRIED TO BLAME ME FOR THE TIRE BLOW OUT CLAIMING THAT I HIT SOMETHING TO CAUSE THE BLOWOUT. NOW, I AM FINDING OUT THAT OTHER CARS MY MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR WERE RECALLED DUE TO A FAULTY TIRE. I AM FRUSTRATED AND NOT SURE HOW TO GET SOMEONE TO LOOK INTO THE TIRE ISSUE. I NOW HAVE AN UNEXPECTED EXPENSE FOR REPAIRS ON A NEW CAR. I DO NOT FEEL THAT I SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE OF THE REPAIRS OR THE IMPACT TO MY INSURANCE BECAUSE THIS ISSUE IS BEING CONSIDERED AN "AT FAULT" ACCIDENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/29/2014 - CHARLOTTE, NC
WHILE DRIVING ALONG AT NORMAL SPEEDS, MY VEHICLE ALERTED ME THAT THE AIRBAG SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE CHECKED. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED AND AN APPOINTMENT WAS MADE FOR ME TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR INSPECTION. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WERE UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE SYSTEM. THE SRS LIGHT WAS RESET AND I WAS ADVISED TO CONTACT THE DEALERSHIP IF THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I DID NOT MAKE IT HOME BEFORE THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I AGAIN CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT I WOULD NEED TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN AND LEAVE IT ALL DAY FOR THEM TO BE ABLE TO DETERMINE WHAT IS CAUSING THE LIGHT TO COME ON.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/24/2014 - ROCKFORD, MI
HAD TO APPLY BREAK WITH LEFT FOOT AND THEN APPLY GAS PEDDLE WITH RIGHT FOOT FOR IMMEDIATE ACCELERATION TO AVOID ACCIDENT. UPON APPLYING BREAK AND THEN THE GAS CAR BOGGED AS IF TO STALL ALMOST CAUSING ANOTHER ACCIDENT. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE INITIAL INCIDENT. I TOOK CAR TO FOX HONDA, MICHIGAN (DEALER WHERE CAR WAS LEASED FROM) AND THEY INDICATED THAT I SHOULDN'T BREAK WITH LEFT AND THEN GIVE IT GAS WITH RIGHT. UNFORTUNATELY THERE HAVE BEEN MORE THAN ONE SCENARIO WHERE THIS WAS NEEDED TO BE DONE AND IN EACH CASE IT BOGGED TO POINT OF STALL BEFORE ACCELERATING. DEALERSHIP SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/17/2014 - LITTLE CANADA, MN
THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST (WHICH ALSO AFFECTS THE TRACTION) DOES NOT WORK. THE SYSTEM WAS DESIGNED TO COME ON EACH TIME YOU START THE CAR. IT CAN ONLY BE TURNED OFF MANUALLY. MY CAR SHOWS THE SYSTEM IS OFF AT ALL TIMES. I AM UNABLE TO TURN IT ON MANNUALLY. THE OWNER'S MANUAL SAYS THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT BE DRIVEN WITH THE SYSTEM OFF. HONDA SAYS THEY ARE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, BUT CURRENTLY DO NOT HAVE ANY WAY TO FIX IT. THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE. THE OIL LIFE SCREEN HAS ALSO DISAPPEARED FROM THE INFORMATION SCREEN IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. AGAIN, HONDA HAS NO SOLUTION. THIS IS THE SAME VEHICLE REFERENCED IN COMPLAINT #10598540.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/16/2014 - LITTLE CANADA, MN
THE CAR WAS TWO WEEKS OLD WHEN THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT CAME ON WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED. THERE WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE SHOP ON 3 OCCASIONS FOR A TOTAL OF SIX AND ONE HALF DAYS AND THE PROBLEM IS NOT RESOLVED. AS OF 6/4/14, HONDA INDICATES THAT THE COMPUTER IS NOT READING THE TIRE PRESSURE CORRECTLY AND THAT THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO FIX IT.THEY SAY MAY HAVE A SOULTION SOMETIME IN JULY 2014. THE WARNING LIGHT CONTINUES TO COME ON AT RANDOM INTERVALS AND VARIOUS SPEEDS, MAKING THE WARNING SYSTEM USELESS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/11/2014 - PALM DESERT, CA
SORRY -- THIS IS TO DELETE MY COMPLAINT FILED ON JUNE 9. NOTHING'S WRONG AFTER ALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/9/2014 - PALM DESERT, CA
WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AT DUSK AND TRIED TO PUT THE NIGHT-TIME HEADLIGHTS ON, ALL THE INTERIOR LIGHTING WENT OFF. WHEN I SWITCHED TO DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS, THE INTERIOR LIGHTS WENT BACK ON. TESTED A FEW TIMES, AND EVERY TIME THE NIGHT-TIME HEADLIGHTS WIPED OUT THE INTERIOR LIGHTS.

View Details

TIRES

5/30/2014 - CA, CA
I WAS TURNING INTO DRIVEWAY RIGHT FRONT TIRE BARLEY HIT CURB, TIRE WENT FLAT, CALLED AUTO CLUB THEY CHANGED TO SPARE, WENT TO TIRE STORE, THEY SAID TIRE WAS NOT REPAIRABLE. I BOUGHT NEW REPLACEMENT TIRE ,DIFFERENT BRAND. VERY POOR QUALITY OE TIRES, TIRES SHOULD NOT FAIL THAT EASILY. ONLY 1700 MLES ON NEW CAR

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

4/21/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I, [XXX], ATTEST THAT THE EVENT DESCRIBED BELOW IS THE TRUTH OF WHAT HAPPENED IN THE ACCIDENT ON 03/30/2014. SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOYED. ON SUNDAY MARCH 30, 2014 I HIT VERY BY ANOTHER CAR THAT RAN THE RED LIGHT. THE GALANT WAS GOING AT A SPEED OF 55 MPH WHEN IT HIT ME, THE FORCE WAS GREAT THAT THE CARS THEN SMACKED TOGETHER AND SPRANG OUT AGAIN. I NOTICE THAT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY; SIDE OR EVEN FRONT. I CALLED MY PARENTS. THE FLORIDA HIGHWAY PATROL ARRIVED. FIVE MINUTES LATER MY PARENTS ARRIVED. THE JSO AND FHP THEN IGNORED ME FOR 20 MINUTES, WHILE THEY TALKED WITH THE OTHER DRIVER. DAMAGE WAS FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL WAS BENT SLIGHTLY IN-WARD AT AN ANGLE, AXLE ROD AND STRUT SHOT, WHEEL WELL HAD DE-WELDED FROM THE MAIN BODY. CRUMPLED AROUND THE DRIVER SIDE WHEEL, DRIVER SIDE DOORS WHERE NOT DENTED BUT A SLIGHT WARP WAS IN THE DOORS SO THEY DID NOT COMPLETE TOP CLOSURE. REAR DRIVER SIDE LAMP AND BUMPER CRACKED/DETACHED. IN THE INTERIOR, THE CENTER CONSOLE WHERE THE GEAR SHIFT WAS HAD POPPED THE PLASTIC. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PEARL COLLISION CENTER, WHO ESTIMATED THAT THEY COULD FIX THE DAMAGE. WHEN I QUESTIONED THIS, THE REPRESENTATIVE STATED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT TOTALED DUE TO DAMAGE WAS DEEMED 30% OF THE ACTUAL COST OF THE VEHICLE VALUE. I QUESTIONED WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND IF THEY WOULD BE CHECKED. I WAS HIT PRETTY HARD AND WHY HAVE AIR BAGS FOR SAFETY IF THEY DON'-+T WORK. I ALSO QUESTIONED THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE. STATE FARM WOULD NOT ANSWER MY QUESTIONS OR WOULD AMERICA HONDA ABOUT THOROUGHLY CHECKING THE AIR BAGS. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds