Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 87 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (5) Tires (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/12/2016 - NORTH MIAMI BEACH/AVENTURA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF HER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED BACK INTO THE DRIVE POSITION WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO A CANAL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2016 - NORTH MIAMI BEACH/AVENTURA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF HER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED BACK INTO THE DRIVE POSITION WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO A CANAL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2016 - WESTPORT, WA
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC FROM A LOCAL DEALER AND DRIVING IT FOR ALMOST 3 WEEKS WITH NO PROBLEMS BUT LAST NIGHT ON 08/30/2016 I PARKED THE VEHICLE AT A FRIENDS HOUSE IN THEIR DRIVEWAY ON A SLIGHT AND PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE LIKE I HAVE BEEN DOING THOUSANDS OF TIMES AND BEGAN EXITING THE CAR. THE FRONT DOOR WAS OBVIOUSLY OPEN AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN REVERSING! THE FRONT DOOR KNOCKED ME DOWN SINCE I WAS SO STARTLED NOTHING HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME LIKE THAT BEFORE. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR OVER 40 YEARS. FORTUNATELY, I AM LIMBER SO IMMEADIATELY GOT UP, JUMPED BACK INTO THE VEHICLE AND SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES THAT DID NOT WORK EITHER SO TURNED THE CAR INTO THE CLOSEST ROCKERY TO STOP IT BEFORE IT HIT ANOTHER CAR OR A HOUSE FURTHER DOWN THE HILL. OBVIOUSLY, MY REAR AND FRONT FENDERS ARE ALL BADLY SCRAPED BY THE ROCKS CLEARLY VISIBLE IN THE PICTURES I TOOK. THE ROCKERY IS FENDER HIGH SO NO QUESTION. NO OTHER SCRATCHES COULD LOOK LIKE THIS. I WENT ON LINE AND SURE ENOUGH, FOUND A RECALL REGARDING THE DRIVE TRAIN TRANSMISSION FOR THIS PARTICULAR MAKE AND MODEL. I NEEDED TO GET THIS ON THE RECORD SINCE I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT. JIM MANKIN-OWNER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2016 - WESTPORT, WA
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC FROM A LOCAL DEALER AND DRIVING IT FOR ALMOST 3 WEEKS WITH NO PROBLEMS BUT LAST NIGHT ON 08/30/2016 I PARKED THE VEHICLE AT A FRIENDS HOUSE IN THEIR DRIVEWAY ON A SLIGHT AND PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE LIKE I HAVE BEEN DOING THOUSANDS OF TIMES AND BEGAN EXITING THE CAR. THE FRONT DOOR WAS OBVIOUSLY OPEN AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN REVERSING! THE FRONT DOOR KNOCKED ME DOWN SINCE I WAS SO STARTLED NOTHING HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME LIKE THAT BEFORE. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR OVER 40 YEARS. FORTUNATELY, I AM LIMBER SO IMMEADIATELY GOT UP, JUMPED BACK INTO THE VEHICLE AND SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES THAT DID NOT WORK EITHER SO TURNED THE CAR INTO THE CLOSEST ROCKERY TO STOP IT BEFORE IT HIT ANOTHER CAR OR A HOUSE FURTHER DOWN THE HILL. OBVIOUSLY, MY REAR AND FRONT FENDERS ARE ALL BADLY SCRAPED BY THE ROCKS CLEARLY VISIBLE IN THE PICTURES I TOOK. THE ROCKERY IS FENDER HIGH SO NO QUESTION. NO OTHER SCRATCHES COULD LOOK LIKE THIS. I WENT ON LINE AND SURE ENOUGH, FOUND A RECALL REGARDING THE DRIVE TRAIN TRANSMISSION FOR THIS PARTICULAR MAKE AND MODEL. I NEEDED TO GET THIS ON THE RECORD SINCE I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT. JIM MANKIN-OWNER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/30/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
CLUTCH DISINTEGRATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CLUTCH FRICTION MATERIAL DISLODGED, TORE INTO LARGE CHUNKS, AND JAMMED BETWEEN THE PRESSURE PLATE AND FLYWHEEL. THIS CAUSED THE CLUTCH PETAL TO DROP TO THE FLOOR AND KEPT THE CLUTCH ENGAGED. THERE WAS NO WAY TO DISENGAGE THE CLUTCH. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. I HAD ENTERED THE FREEWAY AND SHIFTED INTO 6TH GEAR ABOUT 10 MILES BEFORE I NOTICED A PROBLEM. WHEN TRAFFIC SLOWED IN FRONT OF ME, I TRIED TO SHIFT INTO 5TH GEAR, BUT COULDN'T FIND THE CLUTCH PETAL -- I FINALLY FOUND THE PETAL WAS COMPLETELY DEPRESSED, AND COULDN'T GET IT OFF THE FLOOR. IN THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO FIND THE PETAL, SHIFT INTO ANOTHER GEAR, AND STOP THE VEHICLE, I ALMOST RAN INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. UP TO THIS TIME WHEN I TRIED TO SHIFT INTO 5TH, EVERYTHING APPEARED TO BE ACTING NORMALLY. CLUTCH HAS NEVER BEEN ABUSED DURING ITS ENTIRE LIFE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/31/2016 - LAS CRUCES, NM
WHEN THE ENGINE IS RUNNING GAS IS POURING OUT FROM UNDERNEATH THE GAS TANK..THE GAS TANK IS NEXT TO THE EXHAUST PIPE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/24/2016 - MARYVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE CONTACT COASTED INTO A SERVICE STATION, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE THEN RESUME DRIVING AT 30 MPH BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,560. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

5/24/2016 - MARYVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH, THE CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE CONTACT COASTED INTO A SERVICE STATION, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE THEN RESUME DRIVING AT 30 MPH BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,560. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

5/20/2016 - LAURENCE HARBOR, NJ
CHECK TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT/SYMBOL COMES ON EVERY FEW WEEKS

View Details

WHEELS

5/14/2016 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING COMES ON EVEN THROUGH THE TIRE PRESSURE IS CORRECT. WHEN ONE TIRE HAD A BLOW OUT, IT WAS TOTALLY SHREDDED, AND THE CAR WAS DRIVEN ABOUT 1 MILE TO A SAFE LOCATION, THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING DID NOT COME ON. BASED ON OUR EXPERIENCES TO DATE, THE LIGHT SEEMS TO COME ON AFTER ABOUT 50-100 MILES OF HIGHWAY SPEED DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds