Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 19 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Structure (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/6/2014 - GAINESVILLE , FL
THERE SEEMS LITTLE TO NO CLEAR COAT ON THE CAR AND SCRATCHES EASILY APPEARS ON PAINT OF CAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/6/2014 - GAINESVILLE , FL
THERE SEEMS LITTLE TO NO CLEAR COAT ON THE CAR AND SCRATCHES EASILY APPEARS ON PAINT OF CAR.

View Details

SEATS

11/1/2014 - CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA
THE HEAD RESTRAINTS ON BOTH THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEATS CANNOT BE ADJUSTED FORWARD AND BACKWARD TO ACCOMMODATE DIFFERENT BODIES. FOR BOTH MY WIFE AND I THE RESTRAINTS PUSHED OUR HEADS FORWARD (NO MATTER HOW ADJUSTED UP OR DOWN) AND DIDN'T ALLOW OUR UPPER BODIES (SHOULDER BLADES, ETC) TO TOUCH THE SEAT. THIS IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND GAVE BOTH OF US BACK AND NECK PAINS. THIS WAS WITH THE SEAT ADJUSTED IN A COMFORTABLE VERTICAL POSITION FOR US. THE HEAD RESTRAINTS PUSH OUR HEADS FORWARD AND CANNOT BE ADJUSTED FORWARD OR BACKWARD, ONLY UP AND DOWN. IN ALL OTHER RESPECTS THE CAR IS EXCELLENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/28/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
I PURCHASED A NEW HONDA CIVIC 2014 ON 6/27/2014. ONE MONTH AND A HALF LATER DURING MY MORNING COMMUTE, EACH TIME I TRIED TO SPEED UP TO 50 MILES/HOUR, I STARTED FEELING SOME JERKINESS. SINCE IT WAS A NEW CAR, I WAS NOT SURE THAT IT WAS NORMAL OR NOT. ABOUT A WEEK AFTER THAT, ONE MORNING WHEN I WAS VERY SLOWLY PULLING THE CAR OUT OF THE GARAGE, THE CAR STOPPED AND THE ENGINE DIED. I TURNED ON THE ENGINE AND TRIED TO MOVE THE CAR AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED 4 TIMES ON THE SAME DAY. NEXT DAY I CALLED THE CAR DEALER AND TOOK MY CAR FOR THE INSPECTION. THEY FOUND THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD A DEFECT AND IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. THEN ON 10/19/2014, WHEN I WAS DRIVING A STREET, I GOT A TIRE PRESSURE WARNING. MY HUSBAND HELPED TO ADD AIR TO THE TIRES, BUT THE WARNING SIGN DID NOT DISAPPEAR. ON 10/27/2014, WHEN MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING THE CAR IN THE AFTERNOON, A SERIES OF WARNINGS APPEARED (VSA, TPMS, EPS, ABS). AFTER HE GOT HOME, HE CALLED THE DEALER TO ASK FOR TOWING SERVICE TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AS HE DID NOT FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE THE CAR. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER NEXT MORNING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE ABS SENSOR AND PERFORMED THE SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THE VSA SYSTEM. HOWEVER THE DEALER STATED THAT IT COULD HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/28/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
I PURCHASED A NEW HONDA CIVIC 2014 ON 6/27/2014. ONE MONTH AND A HALF LATER DURING MY MORNING COMMUTE, EACH TIME I TRIED TO SPEED UP TO 50 MILES/HOUR, I STARTED FEELING SOME JERKINESS. SINCE IT WAS A NEW CAR, I WAS NOT SURE THAT IT WAS NORMAL OR NOT. ABOUT A WEEK AFTER THAT, ONE MORNING WHEN I WAS VERY SLOWLY PULLING THE CAR OUT OF THE GARAGE, THE CAR STOPPED AND THE ENGINE DIED. I TURNED ON THE ENGINE AND TRIED TO MOVE THE CAR AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED 4 TIMES ON THE SAME DAY. NEXT DAY I CALLED THE CAR DEALER AND TOOK MY CAR FOR THE INSPECTION. THEY FOUND THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD A DEFECT AND IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. THEN ON 10/19/2014, WHEN I WAS DRIVING A STREET, I GOT A TIRE PRESSURE WARNING. MY HUSBAND HELPED TO ADD AIR TO THE TIRES, BUT THE WARNING SIGN DID NOT DISAPPEAR. ON 10/27/2014, WHEN MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING THE CAR IN THE AFTERNOON, A SERIES OF WARNINGS APPEARED (VSA, TPMS, EPS, ABS). AFTER HE GOT HOME, HE CALLED THE DEALER TO ASK FOR TOWING SERVICE TO TAKE THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AS HE DID NOT FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE THE CAR. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER NEXT MORNING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE ABS SENSOR AND PERFORMED THE SOFTWARE UPDATE FOR THE VSA SYSTEM. HOWEVER THE DEALER STATED THAT IT COULD HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

WHEELS

10/21/2014 - CHALFONT, PA
THE TPMS UNDER INFLATION WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF. THERE NOT A TIRE INFLATION PROBLEM. THIS IS AN ONGOING SENSOR AND SOFTWARE PROBLEM WITH CIVICS. THE CAR WAS SOLD TO ME WITHOUT NOTIFYING ME OF THESE ONGOING PROBLEMS. THE J.L. FREED SERVICE MANAGER IS UNAWARE OF THE SOFTWARE UPGRADE NOW AVAILABLE, AND THE RECALL ON THE TIRES LEAKING FROM BAD BEADS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/21/2014 - CHALFONT, PA
THE TPMS UNDER INFLATION WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON AND WILL NOT GO OFF. THERE NOT A TIRE INFLATION PROBLEM. THIS IS AN ONGOING SENSOR AND SOFTWARE PROBLEM WITH CIVICS. THE CAR WAS SOLD TO ME WITHOUT NOTIFYING ME OF THESE ONGOING PROBLEMS. THE J.L. FREED SERVICE MANAGER IS UNAWARE OF THE SOFTWARE UPGRADE NOW AVAILABLE, AND THE RECALL ON THE TIRES LEAKING FROM BAD BEADS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/20/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I RECEIVED A NOTICE ABOUT A RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE AND WAS URGED TO ACT PROMPTLY IN GETTING IT FIXED. I WAS TOLD IN THE LETTER TO CALL MY HONDA DEALERSHIP SO THEY COULD ORDER REPLACEMENT PARTS AND THEN SCHEDULE TO DROP OFF MY CAR FOR THEM TO BE ABLE TO INSTALL THE REPLACEMENT PARTS. I CALLED DUVAL HONDA ON CASSAT AND WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE DESK THAT THEY WERE NOT ORDERING PARTS UNTIL I BROUGHT THE CAR BY FOR AN INSPECTION FIRST, BUT THEY COULD NOT INSPECT ANY CAR AFTER 3PM. I FIND THIS EXTREMELY UNSATISFACTORY SINCE MOST OF US THAT OWN THESE CARS WORK FOR A LIVING. THE LADY I SPOKE WITH CALLED HER MANAGER AND HE CONFIRMED THAT NO, THEY WERE NOT INSPECTING CARS FOR THIS RECALL AFTER 3PM I CALLED A DIFFERENT DEALER IN TOWN AND THEY ARE ORDERING THE PARTS WITHOUT SEEING MY CAR AND I HAVE SCHEDULED TO DROP IT OFF WITH THEM. YOU SHOULD KNOW THAT NOT ALL DEALERSHIPS ARE HELPING PEOPLE WITH THIS PROBLEM!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - GRANITE FALLS, NC
THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON JULY 10, 2014. ALL TIRES MEASURED 33 PSI. ON JULY 16, SIX DAYS LATER AFTER THE DEALER RESET THE SYSTEM THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. ALL TIRES MEASURED 33 PSI AND AGAIN THE DEALER RESET THE SYSTEM. HONDA AMERICA WAS CONTACTED AND INDICATED THEY WOULD HAVE A SOFTWARE FIX BY THE END OF JULY. ON OCTOBER 13, 2014 THE TP LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND THE TIRES MEASURED 33 PSI. THE DEALER WILL HAVE ANOTHER GO AT RESETTING THE SYSTEM ON 10/14/2014 FOR THE THIRD TIME. THE CAR NOW HAS 2596 MILES ON IT. WHAT IS HONDAS PROBLEM?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/25/2014 - VICTORIA, MN
THE NEW HONDA CIVIC 2014 WAS PURCHASED FROM A DEALER THREE MONTHS AGO. CAR ONLY HAS 2600 MILES NOW. BIG CHIP ON OWNERS DOOR HANDLE, AND ONE OTHER SIGNIFICANT CHIP ON SIDE PANEL. ALSO MULTIPLE LITTLE CHIPS ON HOOD AND ON FRONT BUMPER ONCE I LOOKED CAREFULLY. SMALL NOW BUT WILL RUST AND PEEL AND UNFAIR TO SELL CAR LIKE THIS. SALESMAN SAID I JUST SELL THEM NOT FIX THEM. TOOK IT TO A BODY SHOP THAT I PAID TO REPLACE PLASTIC DOOR HANDLE. AND USED SILVER BOTTLE OF PAINT I BOUGHT FROM DEALER AND TRIED TO TOUCH UP SPOTS SO WON'T RUST BUT CAN SEE SPOTS AND DOESN'T MATCH. FEEL LIKE PAID NEW CAR PRICE FOR USED CAR. GOT RIPPED OFF. SALESMAN SAID ONCE YOU INSPECT CAR IT IS YOUR PROBLEM. NOW READ OTHERS HAVE SAME PROBLEM. LAST CIVIC. LAST HONDA. BAD DEALER AND SALESMAN TOO. ONCE YOU BUY CAR THEY NO LONGER CARE. NOTE-AUTO BODY SHOP ALSO SAW IMPERFECTIONS AND SAID THAT WAS NOT RIGHT FOR BRAND NEW CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds