Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 92 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (5) Tires (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (26)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2016 - DONALD, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V574000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUGGESTED REMEDY WAS NOT ADEQUATE ENOUGH. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

12/6/2016 - FREDERICK, MD
BEGINNING THE DAY I BOUGHT THE CAR, THE CHECK TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT HAS COME ON AT LEAST 2-3 TIMES A MONTH. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR INTO A HONDA DEALER FOR SERVICE EACH TIME TO CHECK TIRE PRESSURE, WHICH HAS 98% OF THE TIME BEEN FINE. THEY HAVE DONE 2 COMPUTER SOFTWARE UPGRADES, THE FIRST OF WHICH SEEMED TO HELP FOR A FEW MONTHS, BUT THEN IT CAME BACK ON; THE 2ND TIME IT WAS UPGRADED, THE LIGHT CAME BACK ON THE NEXT DAY. I RECENTLY LEFT THE CAR AT THE DEALER FOR 8 HOURS AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, BUT SAID IT WAS A SMALL DISCREPANCY IN THE TREAD OF THE TIRES - ONE TIRE HAD 4/32 OF A TREAD AND THE OTHERS HAD 5/32. HOWEVER, SINCE THE LIGHT HAS BEEN ON SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT THE CAR AND THE TIRES WERE THEN NEW, THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT THE PROBLEM. IN OTHER WORDS, THEY HAVE NO EXPLANATION AND NO FIX FOR THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/21/2016 - STATESVILLE, NC
THE VECHILE WILL RANDOMLY NOT START EVERYTHING WOULD HAVE POWER AND THE LIGHTS WILL TURN ON BUT THE CAR WILL START THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD WILL FLICKER AND MAKE WEIRD NOISES. ALSO WOULD GET ABS VSA TPMS AND BRAKE LIGHT WARNING WHILE TRYING TO START AND THEN WHEN YOU JUMP START IT, IT WOULD WORK AGAIN. DEALER CHECKED THE CAR AND SAID EVERYTHING IS FINE BATTERY CHECKS GOOD AND ALTERNATOR AS WELL BUT THE CAR KEEPS DOING IT AND HAS LEFT ME DOWN ON THE ROAD 4 TIMES IN I LAST 3 MONTHS I NEED HONDA TO FIX THIS !!!!!!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/12/2016 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
VERMIN CHEWED UP MY ENGINE BAY WIRING HARNESS WIRES AND THE INITIAL POTENTIAL FIX WILL COST $360, IF THE DAMAGE IS WORSE IT WILL COST ANOTHER $1500 AT LEAST.

View Details

STEERING

11/12/2016 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
VERMIN CHEWED UP MY ENGINE BAY WIRING HARNESS WIRES AND THE INITIAL POTENTIAL FIX WILL COST $360, IF THE DAMAGE IS WORSE IT WILL COST ANOTHER $1500 AT LEAST.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/4/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
15V-574 RECALL DATE: SEPTEMBER 4, 2015 MY CAR IS AT THE DEALERSHIP AND I ASKED THEM TO FIX THIS RECALL AND THEY SAID IT DOESN'T EXIST IN THEIR DATABASE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2016 - NORTH MIAMI BEACH/AVENTURA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF HER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED BACK INTO THE DRIVE POSITION WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO A CANAL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2016 - NORTH MIAMI BEACH/AVENTURA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF HER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND PLACED THE VEHICLE IN PARK. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED BACK INTO THE DRIVE POSITION WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO A CANAL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2016 - WESTPORT, WA
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC FROM A LOCAL DEALER AND DRIVING IT FOR ALMOST 3 WEEKS WITH NO PROBLEMS BUT LAST NIGHT ON 08/30/2016 I PARKED THE VEHICLE AT A FRIENDS HOUSE IN THEIR DRIVEWAY ON A SLIGHT AND PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE LIKE I HAVE BEEN DOING THOUSANDS OF TIMES AND BEGAN EXITING THE CAR. THE FRONT DOOR WAS OBVIOUSLY OPEN AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN REVERSING! THE FRONT DOOR KNOCKED ME DOWN SINCE I WAS SO STARTLED NOTHING HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME LIKE THAT BEFORE. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR OVER 40 YEARS. FORTUNATELY, I AM LIMBER SO IMMEADIATELY GOT UP, JUMPED BACK INTO THE VEHICLE AND SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES THAT DID NOT WORK EITHER SO TURNED THE CAR INTO THE CLOSEST ROCKERY TO STOP IT BEFORE IT HIT ANOTHER CAR OR A HOUSE FURTHER DOWN THE HILL. OBVIOUSLY, MY REAR AND FRONT FENDERS ARE ALL BADLY SCRAPED BY THE ROCKS CLEARLY VISIBLE IN THE PICTURES I TOOK. THE ROCKERY IS FENDER HIGH SO NO QUESTION. NO OTHER SCRATCHES COULD LOOK LIKE THIS. I WENT ON LINE AND SURE ENOUGH, FOUND A RECALL REGARDING THE DRIVE TRAIN TRANSMISSION FOR THIS PARTICULAR MAKE AND MODEL. I NEEDED TO GET THIS ON THE RECORD SINCE I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT. JIM MANKIN-OWNER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2016 - WESTPORT, WA
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2014 HONDA CIVIC FROM A LOCAL DEALER AND DRIVING IT FOR ALMOST 3 WEEKS WITH NO PROBLEMS BUT LAST NIGHT ON 08/30/2016 I PARKED THE VEHICLE AT A FRIENDS HOUSE IN THEIR DRIVEWAY ON A SLIGHT AND PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE LIKE I HAVE BEEN DOING THOUSANDS OF TIMES AND BEGAN EXITING THE CAR. THE FRONT DOOR WAS OBVIOUSLY OPEN AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN REVERSING! THE FRONT DOOR KNOCKED ME DOWN SINCE I WAS SO STARTLED NOTHING HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ME LIKE THAT BEFORE. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR OVER 40 YEARS. FORTUNATELY, I AM LIMBER SO IMMEADIATELY GOT UP, JUMPED BACK INTO THE VEHICLE AND SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES THAT DID NOT WORK EITHER SO TURNED THE CAR INTO THE CLOSEST ROCKERY TO STOP IT BEFORE IT HIT ANOTHER CAR OR A HOUSE FURTHER DOWN THE HILL. OBVIOUSLY, MY REAR AND FRONT FENDERS ARE ALL BADLY SCRAPED BY THE ROCKS CLEARLY VISIBLE IN THE PICTURES I TOOK. THE ROCKERY IS FENDER HIGH SO NO QUESTION. NO OTHER SCRATCHES COULD LOOK LIKE THIS. I WENT ON LINE AND SURE ENOUGH, FOUND A RECALL REGARDING THE DRIVE TRAIN TRANSMISSION FOR THIS PARTICULAR MAKE AND MODEL. I NEEDED TO GET THIS ON THE RECORD SINCE I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT. JIM MANKIN-OWNER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds