Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 9 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/17/2014 - LITTLE CANADA, MN
THE VEHICLE STABILITY ASSIST (WHICH ALSO AFFECTS THE TRACTION) DOES NOT WORK. THE SYSTEM WAS DESIGNED TO COME ON EACH TIME YOU START THE CAR. IT CAN ONLY BE TURNED OFF MANUALLY. MY CAR SHOWS THE SYSTEM IS OFF AT ALL TIMES. I AM UNABLE TO TURN IT ON MANNUALLY. THE OWNER'S MANUAL SAYS THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT BE DRIVEN WITH THE SYSTEM OFF. HONDA SAYS THEY ARE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, BUT CURRENTLY DO NOT HAVE ANY WAY TO FIX IT. THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE. THE OIL LIFE SCREEN HAS ALSO DISAPPEARED FROM THE INFORMATION SCREEN IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS. AGAIN, HONDA HAS NO SOLUTION. THIS IS THE SAME VEHICLE REFERENCED IN COMPLAINT #10598540.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/16/2014 - LITTLE CANADA, MN
THE CAR WAS TWO WEEKS OLD WHEN THE TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT CAME ON WHILE TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED. THERE WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE SHOP ON 3 OCCASIONS FOR A TOTAL OF SIX AND ONE HALF DAYS AND THE PROBLEM IS NOT RESOLVED. AS OF 6/4/14, HONDA INDICATES THAT THE COMPUTER IS NOT READING THE TIRE PRESSURE CORRECTLY AND THAT THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO FIX IT.THEY SAY MAY HAVE A SOULTION SOMETIME IN JULY 2014. THE WARNING LIGHT CONTINUES TO COME ON AT RANDOM INTERVALS AND VARIOUS SPEEDS, MAKING THE WARNING SYSTEM USELESS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/11/2014 - PALM DESERT, CA
SORRY -- THIS IS TO DELETE MY COMPLAINT FILED ON JUNE 9. NOTHING'S WRONG AFTER ALL.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/9/2014 - PALM DESERT, CA
WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AT DUSK AND TRIED TO PUT THE NIGHT-TIME HEADLIGHTS ON, ALL THE INTERIOR LIGHTING WENT OFF. WHEN I SWITCHED TO DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS, THE INTERIOR LIGHTS WENT BACK ON. TESTED A FEW TIMES, AND EVERY TIME THE NIGHT-TIME HEADLIGHTS WIPED OUT THE INTERIOR LIGHTS.

View Details

TIRES

5/30/2014 - CA, CA
I WAS TURNING INTO DRIVEWAY RIGHT FRONT TIRE BARLEY HIT CURB, TIRE WENT FLAT, CALLED AUTO CLUB THEY CHANGED TO SPARE, WENT TO TIRE STORE, THEY SAID TIRE WAS NOT REPAIRABLE. I BOUGHT NEW REPLACEMENT TIRE ,DIFFERENT BRAND. VERY POOR QUALITY OE TIRES, TIRES SHOULD NOT FAIL THAT EASILY. ONLY 1700 MLES ON NEW CAR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/21/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I, CAY C. KENNEDY, ATTEST THAT THE EVENT DESCRIBED BELOW IS THE TRUTH OF WHAT HAPPENED IN THE ACCIDENT ON 03/30/2014. SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOYED. ON SUNDAY MARCH 30, 2014 I HIT VERY BY ANOTHER CAR THAT RAN THE RED LIGHT. THE GALANT WAS GOING AT A SPEED OF 55 MPH WHEN IT HIT ME, THE FORCE WAS GREAT THAT THE CARS THEN SMACKED TOGETHER AND SPRANG OUT AGAIN. I NOTICE THAT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY; SIDE OR EVEN FRONT. I CALLED MY PARENTS. THE FLORIDA HIGHWAY PATROL ARRIVED. FIVE MINUTES LATER MY PARENTS ARRIVED. THE JSO AND FHP THEN IGNORED ME FOR 20 MINUTES, WHILE THEY TALKED WITH THE OTHER DRIVER. DAMAGE WAS FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL WAS BENT SLIGHTLY IN-WARD AT AN ANGLE, AXLE ROD AND STRUT SHOT, WHEEL WELL HAD DE-WELDED FROM THE MAIN BODY. CRUMPLED AROUND THE DRIVER SIDE WHEEL, DRIVER SIDE DOORS WHERE NOT DENTED BUT A SLIGHT WARP WAS IN THE DOORS SO THEY DID NOT COMPLETE TOP CLOSURE. REAR DRIVER SIDE LAMP AND BUMPER CRACKED/DETACHED. IN THE INTERIOR, THE CENTER CONSOLE WHERE THE GEAR SHIFT WAS HAD POPPED THE PLASTIC. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PEARL COLLISION CENTER, WHO ESTIMATED THAT THEY COULD FIX THE DAMAGE. WHEN I QUESTIONED THIS, THE REPRESENTATIVE STATED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT TOTALED DUE TO DAMAGE WAS DEEMED 30% OF THE ACTUAL COST OF THE VEHICLE VALUE. I QUESTIONED WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND IF THEY WOULD BE CHECKED. I WAS HIT PRETTY HARD AND WHY HAVE AIR BAGS FOR SAFETY IF THEY DON'-+T WORK. I ALSO QUESTIONED THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE. STATE FARM WOULD NOT ANSWER MY QUESTIONS OR WOULD AMERICA HONDA ABOUT THOROUGHLY CHECKING THE AIR BAGS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/21/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I, CAY C. KENNEDY, ATTEST THAT THE EVENT DESCRIBED BELOW IS THE TRUTH OF WHAT HAPPENED IN THE ACCIDENT ON 03/30/2014. SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOYED. ON SUNDAY MARCH 30, 2014 I HIT VERY BY ANOTHER CAR THAT RAN THE RED LIGHT. THE GALANT WAS GOING AT A SPEED OF 55 MPH WHEN IT HIT ME, THE FORCE WAS GREAT THAT THE CARS THEN SMACKED TOGETHER AND SPRANG OUT AGAIN. I NOTICE THAT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY; SIDE OR EVEN FRONT. I CALLED MY PARENTS. THE FLORIDA HIGHWAY PATROL ARRIVED. FIVE MINUTES LATER MY PARENTS ARRIVED. THE JSO AND FHP THEN IGNORED ME FOR 20 MINUTES, WHILE THEY TALKED WITH THE OTHER DRIVER. DAMAGE WAS FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL WAS BENT SLIGHTLY IN-WARD AT AN ANGLE, AXLE ROD AND STRUT SHOT, WHEEL WELL HAD DE-WELDED FROM THE MAIN BODY. CRUMPLED AROUND THE DRIVER SIDE WHEEL, DRIVER SIDE DOORS WHERE NOT DENTED BUT A SLIGHT WARP WAS IN THE DOORS SO THEY DID NOT COMPLETE TOP CLOSURE. REAR DRIVER SIDE LAMP AND BUMPER CRACKED/DETACHED. IN THE INTERIOR, THE CENTER CONSOLE WHERE THE GEAR SHIFT WAS HAD POPPED THE PLASTIC. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PEARL COLLISION CENTER, WHO ESTIMATED THAT THEY COULD FIX THE DAMAGE. WHEN I QUESTIONED THIS, THE REPRESENTATIVE STATED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT TOTALED DUE TO DAMAGE WAS DEEMED 30% OF THE ACTUAL COST OF THE VEHICLE VALUE. I QUESTIONED WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND IF THEY WOULD BE CHECKED. I WAS HIT PRETTY HARD AND WHY HAVE AIR BAGS FOR SAFETY IF THEY DON'-+T WORK. I ALSO QUESTIONED THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE. STATE FARM WOULD NOT ANSWER MY QUESTIONS OR WOULD AMERICA HONDA ABOUT THOROUGHLY CHECKING THE AIR BAGS.

View Details

WHEELS

4/21/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I, CAY C. KENNEDY, ATTEST THAT THE EVENT DESCRIBED BELOW IS THE TRUTH OF WHAT HAPPENED IN THE ACCIDENT ON 03/30/2014. SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOYED. ON SUNDAY MARCH 30, 2014 I HIT VERY BY ANOTHER CAR THAT RAN THE RED LIGHT. THE GALANT WAS GOING AT A SPEED OF 55 MPH WHEN IT HIT ME, THE FORCE WAS GREAT THAT THE CARS THEN SMACKED TOGETHER AND SPRANG OUT AGAIN. I NOTICE THAT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY; SIDE OR EVEN FRONT. I CALLED MY PARENTS. THE FLORIDA HIGHWAY PATROL ARRIVED. FIVE MINUTES LATER MY PARENTS ARRIVED. THE JSO AND FHP THEN IGNORED ME FOR 20 MINUTES, WHILE THEY TALKED WITH THE OTHER DRIVER. DAMAGE WAS FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL WAS BENT SLIGHTLY IN-WARD AT AN ANGLE, AXLE ROD AND STRUT SHOT, WHEEL WELL HAD DE-WELDED FROM THE MAIN BODY. CRUMPLED AROUND THE DRIVER SIDE WHEEL, DRIVER SIDE DOORS WHERE NOT DENTED BUT A SLIGHT WARP WAS IN THE DOORS SO THEY DID NOT COMPLETE TOP CLOSURE. REAR DRIVER SIDE LAMP AND BUMPER CRACKED/DETACHED. IN THE INTERIOR, THE CENTER CONSOLE WHERE THE GEAR SHIFT WAS HAD POPPED THE PLASTIC. MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PEARL COLLISION CENTER, WHO ESTIMATED THAT THEY COULD FIX THE DAMAGE. WHEN I QUESTIONED THIS, THE REPRESENTATIVE STATED THAT THE CAR WAS NOT TOTALED DUE TO DAMAGE WAS DEEMED 30% OF THE ACTUAL COST OF THE VEHICLE VALUE. I QUESTIONED WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND IF THEY WOULD BE CHECKED. I WAS HIT PRETTY HARD AND WHY HAVE AIR BAGS FOR SAFETY IF THEY DON'-+T WORK. I ALSO QUESTIONED THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE. STATE FARM WOULD NOT ANSWER MY QUESTIONS OR WOULD AMERICA HONDA ABOUT THOROUGHLY CHECKING THE AIR BAGS.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

4/13/2014 - MIAMI, FL
I LEASED A NEW HONDA CIVIC AND I CAN NOT DRIVE IT WITHOUT EXCRUCIATING PAIN IN MY NECK. THE HEADRESTS SHOVE MY HEAD FORWARD AND I CAN NOT FIND A COMFORTABLE POSITION. I AM HEARTBROKEN, ANGRY AND IN PAIN. AFTER MY FIRST 30 MINUTE DRIVE IN THIS CAR, I RESEARCHED ONLINE THIS ISSUE AND THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF AMERICANS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM DUE TO THE NEW HEAD RESTRAINT REGULATIONS. I CERTAINLY WOULD NOT HAVE SIGNED A 3 YEAR LEASE AGREEMENT IF I HAD KNOWN THAT I WAS AGREEING TO PAY THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR THREE YEARS OF PAIN. I'VE TRIED ADJUSTING THE SEAT HEIGHT, ADJUSTING THE TILT OF THE SEAT AND THE HEADREST HEIGHT IN EVERY COMBINATION I CAN THINK OF AND ALL I CAN ACHIEVE IS A BARELY TOLERABLE DRIVING POSITION WHERE I CAN BARELY SEE OVER THE DASHBOARD AND THE HEADREST IS RAISED HIGH ENOUGH THAT IT DOESN'T TOUCH MY HEAD - NOR PROTECT IT AS DESIGNED. I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS IS MAINLY AN ISSUE WITH PASSIVE HEADRESTS AND THAT THE ACTIVE HEADRESTS ARE A BETTER DESIGN THAT STAY OUT OF THE DRIVER'S SPACE. MY ONLY OPTION WILL BE TO REVERSE THE HEADREST FOR THE NEXT THREE YEARS AND HOPE MY CAR ISN'T REAR ENDED. ALTHOUGH HAVING MY NEW CAR TOTALED WOULD BE A BLESSING BECAUSE I WOULD HAVE A CHANCE TO FIND A VEHICLE TO DRIVE THAT DOESN'T HURT ME PHYSICALLY. I SEE THAT THESE FORWARD TILTING HEADREST COMPLAINTS ONLINE GO ALL THE WAY BACK TO 2008 WHEN THE NEW REGULATIONS CAME OUT THAT FORCED CAR MANUFACTURERS TO PRODUCE VEHICLES THAT TORTURE A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF AMERICANS EVERY YEAR. I WOULD HAVE GLADLY PAID $200 OR $300 MORE FOR AN ACTIVE RESTRAINT SYSTEM THAT STAYED OUT OF MY WAY. THE NHTSA SHOULD BE ASHAMED FOR THEIR DISGUSTING CALLOUS DISREGARD FOR THE THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE WHO SUFFER EVERY DAY DUE TO THESE GOVERNMENT-REQUIRED HEADRESTS FORCING THEIR NECKS AND SPINES INTO UNNATURAL AND PAINFUL POSITIONS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/21/2014 - YPSILANTI, MI
WINDSHIELD WIPERS HAVE A DESIGN FLAW. THE RUBBER BLADE FLOATS BACK INTO A HOUSING, IN FREEZING CONDITIONS, ICE BUILDS UP IN THE HOUSING, THE RUBBER PART GETS STUCK IN THE HOUSING AND LOSES CONTACT WITH THE WINDSHIELD. CAN HAPPEN SUDDENLY, WITHOUT WARNING. THIS SEVERELY IMPAIRS VISIBILITY AND CREATES A DANGEROUS DRIVING SITUATION. LIVED IN MICHIGAN MY WHOLE LIFE, THIS IS ABOVE AND BEYOND ANY NORMAL WIPER PROBLEMS IN THE WINTER. WENT TO HONDA SERVICE CENTER, THEY DECLINED TO HELP.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds