Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (5) Tires (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (26)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2017 - WESTFIELD CENTER, OH
TWO TIRES HAVE PREMATURE WEAR - I'M GETTING READY TO TURN IN MY LEASE AND TODAYS INSPECTION SHOWN THE RIGHT SIDE OF VEHICLE EXCESSIVE WEAR.. THIS IS A LEASE AND IT ONLY HAS 26,901 MILES ON IT. THIS IS MY 3RD LEASED VEHICLE , BUT THE 1ST HONDA LEASE. I ALWAYS TURNED IN A VEHICLE UNDER MILES AND NEVER, HAD BEEN TOLD THAT I OWE THEM FOR NEW TIRES. I UNDERSTAND THAT HONDA HAS HAD PROBLEMS IN THE PAST WITH PREMATURE TIRE WARE. PLEASE ADVISE IF I HAVE ANY RECOURSE HERE WITH ROUSH HONDA IN MEDINA, OHIO OR WITH HONDA FINANCIAL SERVICES ?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/12/2017 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
WHILE DRIVING, I HEARD A LOUD, GUNSHOT LIKE SOUND AND GLASS STARTED FALLING ON ME. MY SUNROOF HAD JUST APPEARED TO HAVE BEEN HIT WITH SOMETHING OUT OF NOWHERE. I SAFELY PULLED OVER AND BEGAN LOOKING FOR ANYTHING THAT MIGHT APPEAR TO HAVE HIT IT BUT ONLY FOUND THE GLASS APPEARED TO HAVE BEEN HIT FROM THE INSIDE. THE SUNROOF WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED BUT LUCKILY DIDN'T FALL COMPLETELY APART.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/28/2017 - FORT MYERS, FL
I HAVE A LEASED 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX, MY LEASE BEGAN 11/2014. IN 9/2016 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 45MPH ON A SIDE ROAD WITH SPEED LIMIT 45MPH WHEN MY CAR LOST POWER TO THE GAS PEDAL, I COULD FLOOR IT WITHOUT ANY RESPONSE, AND NUMEROUS WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON (POWER STEERING, VSA, HILL START ASSIST, TPMS, EMISSION, TRANSMISSION, ETC). I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFETY AND WAIT FOR A TOW. UPON ARRIVAL AT HONDA, THE CAR WAS 'BACK TO NORMAL' AND THE TECHS COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM SO THEY CALLED IT A FLUKE AND RETURNED IT TO ME. 2 WEEKS LATER I WAS JUST LEAVING MY HOUSE, ABOUT 5 MPH OUT OF MY SPOT AND UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SAME HONDA AND WAITED. I WAS TOLD A WEEK LATER THEY COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO KEEP LOOKING. NOT HAPPENING AS IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I IMMEDIATELY OPENED A CLAIM WITH HONDA. THEY LOOKED FOR A WEEK MORE WITH NO LUCK AND WERE ABOUT TO RETURN MY DANGEROUS AND UNDIAGNOSED CAR TO ME WHEN IT HAPPENED FOR THEM; I AM UNAWARE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY KEPT IT ANOTHER TWO WEEKS WHEN THEY GUESSED IT WAS A FAULTY COMPUTER AND PUT A NEW ONE IN IT. FAST FORWARD TO 2/2017 AND IT HAS HAPPENED YET AGAIN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 7 MPH IN A PARKING LOT, PULLING UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND ABOUT TO TURN ONTO A 50 MPH, 5 LANE ROAD WHERE I FOR SURE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT HAD IT OCCURRED THERE. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO HONDA AND I HAVE ZERO INTENTIONS TO TAKE THIS DEATH TRAP BACK, AND I HAVE EVEN LESS FAITH THAT AN ACTUAL PROBLEM WILL BE FOUND YET AGAIN. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE LIGHTS ON THIS MOST RECENT TIME, TAKEN WHILE IN PARK. YOU CAN SEE THE LIGHTS ON, D LIT UP WHILE IN PARK, AND THE NEEDLE AT 1 EVEN THOUGH I WAS NOT MOVING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/28/2017 - FORT MYERS, FL
I HAVE A LEASED 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX, MY LEASE BEGAN 11/2014. IN 9/2016 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 45MPH ON A SIDE ROAD WITH SPEED LIMIT 45MPH WHEN MY CAR LOST POWER TO THE GAS PEDAL, I COULD FLOOR IT WITHOUT ANY RESPONSE, AND NUMEROUS WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON (POWER STEERING, VSA, HILL START ASSIST, TPMS, EMISSION, TRANSMISSION, ETC). I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFETY AND WAIT FOR A TOW. UPON ARRIVAL AT HONDA, THE CAR WAS 'BACK TO NORMAL' AND THE TECHS COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM SO THEY CALLED IT A FLUKE AND RETURNED IT TO ME. 2 WEEKS LATER I WAS JUST LEAVING MY HOUSE, ABOUT 5 MPH OUT OF MY SPOT AND UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SAME HONDA AND WAITED. I WAS TOLD A WEEK LATER THEY COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO KEEP LOOKING. NOT HAPPENING AS IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I IMMEDIATELY OPENED A CLAIM WITH HONDA. THEY LOOKED FOR A WEEK MORE WITH NO LUCK AND WERE ABOUT TO RETURN MY DANGEROUS AND UNDIAGNOSED CAR TO ME WHEN IT HAPPENED FOR THEM; I AM UNAWARE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY KEPT IT ANOTHER TWO WEEKS WHEN THEY GUESSED IT WAS A FAULTY COMPUTER AND PUT A NEW ONE IN IT. FAST FORWARD TO 2/2017 AND IT HAS HAPPENED YET AGAIN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 7 MPH IN A PARKING LOT, PULLING UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND ABOUT TO TURN ONTO A 50 MPH, 5 LANE ROAD WHERE I FOR SURE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT HAD IT OCCURRED THERE. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO HONDA AND I HAVE ZERO INTENTIONS TO TAKE THIS DEATH TRAP BACK, AND I HAVE EVEN LESS FAITH THAT AN ACTUAL PROBLEM WILL BE FOUND YET AGAIN. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE LIGHTS ON THIS MOST RECENT TIME, TAKEN WHILE IN PARK. YOU CAN SEE THE LIGHTS ON, D LIT UP WHILE IN PARK, AND THE NEEDLE AT 1 EVEN THOUGH I WAS NOT MOVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/28/2017 - FORT MYERS, FL
I HAVE A LEASED 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX, MY LEASE BEGAN 11/2014. IN 9/2016 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 45MPH ON A SIDE ROAD WITH SPEED LIMIT 45MPH WHEN MY CAR LOST POWER TO THE GAS PEDAL, I COULD FLOOR IT WITHOUT ANY RESPONSE, AND NUMEROUS WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON (POWER STEERING, VSA, HILL START ASSIST, TPMS, EMISSION, TRANSMISSION, ETC). I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFETY AND WAIT FOR A TOW. UPON ARRIVAL AT HONDA, THE CAR WAS 'BACK TO NORMAL' AND THE TECHS COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM SO THEY CALLED IT A FLUKE AND RETURNED IT TO ME. 2 WEEKS LATER I WAS JUST LEAVING MY HOUSE, ABOUT 5 MPH OUT OF MY SPOT AND UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SAME HONDA AND WAITED. I WAS TOLD A WEEK LATER THEY COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO KEEP LOOKING. NOT HAPPENING AS IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I IMMEDIATELY OPENED A CLAIM WITH HONDA. THEY LOOKED FOR A WEEK MORE WITH NO LUCK AND WERE ABOUT TO RETURN MY DANGEROUS AND UNDIAGNOSED CAR TO ME WHEN IT HAPPENED FOR THEM; I AM UNAWARE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY KEPT IT ANOTHER TWO WEEKS WHEN THEY GUESSED IT WAS A FAULTY COMPUTER AND PUT A NEW ONE IN IT. FAST FORWARD TO 2/2017 AND IT HAS HAPPENED YET AGAIN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 7 MPH IN A PARKING LOT, PULLING UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND ABOUT TO TURN ONTO A 50 MPH, 5 LANE ROAD WHERE I FOR SURE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT HAD IT OCCURRED THERE. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO HONDA AND I HAVE ZERO INTENTIONS TO TAKE THIS DEATH TRAP BACK, AND I HAVE EVEN LESS FAITH THAT AN ACTUAL PROBLEM WILL BE FOUND YET AGAIN. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE LIGHTS ON THIS MOST RECENT TIME, TAKEN WHILE IN PARK. YOU CAN SEE THE LIGHTS ON, D LIT UP WHILE IN PARK, AND THE NEEDLE AT 1 EVEN THOUGH I WAS NOT MOVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2016 - DONALD, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V574000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUGGESTED REMEDY WAS NOT ADEQUATE ENOUGH. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

12/6/2016 - FREDERICK, MD
BEGINNING THE DAY I BOUGHT THE CAR, THE CHECK TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT HAS COME ON AT LEAST 2-3 TIMES A MONTH. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR INTO A HONDA DEALER FOR SERVICE EACH TIME TO CHECK TIRE PRESSURE, WHICH HAS 98% OF THE TIME BEEN FINE. THEY HAVE DONE 2 COMPUTER SOFTWARE UPGRADES, THE FIRST OF WHICH SEEMED TO HELP FOR A FEW MONTHS, BUT THEN IT CAME BACK ON; THE 2ND TIME IT WAS UPGRADED, THE LIGHT CAME BACK ON THE NEXT DAY. I RECENTLY LEFT THE CAR AT THE DEALER FOR 8 HOURS AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, BUT SAID IT WAS A SMALL DISCREPANCY IN THE TREAD OF THE TIRES - ONE TIRE HAD 4/32 OF A TREAD AND THE OTHERS HAD 5/32. HOWEVER, SINCE THE LIGHT HAS BEEN ON SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT THE CAR AND THE TIRES WERE THEN NEW, THIS IS OBVIOUSLY NOT THE PROBLEM. IN OTHER WORDS, THEY HAVE NO EXPLANATION AND NO FIX FOR THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/21/2016 - STATESVILLE, NC
THE VECHILE WILL RANDOMLY NOT START EVERYTHING WOULD HAVE POWER AND THE LIGHTS WILL TURN ON BUT THE CAR WILL START THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD WILL FLICKER AND MAKE WEIRD NOISES. ALSO WOULD GET ABS VSA TPMS AND BRAKE LIGHT WARNING WHILE TRYING TO START AND THEN WHEN YOU JUMP START IT, IT WOULD WORK AGAIN. DEALER CHECKED THE CAR AND SAID EVERYTHING IS FINE BATTERY CHECKS GOOD AND ALTERNATOR AS WELL BUT THE CAR KEEPS DOING IT AND HAS LEFT ME DOWN ON THE ROAD 4 TIMES IN I LAST 3 MONTHS I NEED HONDA TO FIX THIS !!!!!!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/12/2016 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
VERMIN CHEWED UP MY ENGINE BAY WIRING HARNESS WIRES AND THE INITIAL POTENTIAL FIX WILL COST $360, IF THE DAMAGE IS WORSE IT WILL COST ANOTHER $1500 AT LEAST.

View Details

STEERING

11/12/2016 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
VERMIN CHEWED UP MY ENGINE BAY WIRING HARNESS WIRES AND THE INITIAL POTENTIAL FIX WILL COST $360, IF THE DAMAGE IS WORSE IT WILL COST ANOTHER $1500 AT LEAST.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds