Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 39 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (13) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (6)
Engine (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

2/22/2015 - GREAT FALLS, VA
CONTINUOUSLY GETTING CHECK TIRE PRESSURE INDICATOR ON. DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT ALTHOUGH THE TIRES ARE INFLATED PROPERLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2015 - LONGMONT, CO
FROM PURCHASE DATE 10-24-14 THRU TODAY, WHEN VEHICLE BEGINS TO ACCELERATE FROM A DEAD STOP, THERE IS A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER FOR @ 1.5 SECONDS BEFORE ACCELERATION RESUMES. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT, NEVER STRAIGHT FORWARD. THESE EPISODES HAPPEN 3-5 TIMES PER WEEK. THE HONDA TRANSMISSION IS THE "CVT/ DRIVE BY WIRE SYSTEM". I DRIVE @ 20 MILES PER DAY. IT HAS BEEN EVALUATED 3 TIMES AT THE DEALERSHIP HERE IN LONGMONT, COLORADO AND THEY HAVE NOT FOUND A PROBLEM SAYING EVERYTHING IS OK. THIS PROBLEM IS NOT OK FOR A NEW CAR AND IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2015 - ROGERS, AR
I HAVE CURRENTLY LODGED MORE THAN SIX COMPLAINTS WITH THIS AGENY IN REGARD TO A 2014 HONDA CIVIC I PURCHASED NEW FROM FRANK FLETCHER HONDA IN BENTONVILLE, AR. THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO EXPERIENCE THE SAME ISSUES ON A DAILY BASIS. THIS INCLUDES STALLING, TRANSMISSION SLIPPING, JERKING AND AN OVERALL ROUGH RIDE. THE DEALERSHIP WAS SERVED ON FEBRUARY 3, 2015 WITH A CERTIFIED LETTER MAKING A WRITTEN DEMAND UNDER THE ARKANSAS NEW MOTOR VEHICLE QUALITY ASSURANCE ACT (ACT 297 OF 1993) TO PROVIDE COMPENSATION UNDER SAID LAW. HONDA AMERICA WAS ALSO SERVED WITH THE SAME LETTER. THE DEALERSHIP AND HONDA AMERICA HAVE HAD AMPLE TIME TO CORRECT THIS SITUATION BUT HAVE DONE NOTHING TO DATE. BOTH ENTITIES HAVE PLACED ME AND MY FAMILY IN JEOPARDY BY CHOOSING TO ANSWER MY REQUEST FOR A SAFE VEHICLE. MY ATTORNEY, WHO DREW UP THE LETTER, STATED THE CAR FALLS UNDER THE "LEMON LAW" AND I'M CURRENTLY DRIVING "HALF A VEHICLE."

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/30/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
AS MY HUSBAND WAS TURNING A CORNER, THE CLUTCH DROPPED, AND THE SERVICE CENTER REPORTED THAT THE CLUTCH FIBERS ARE TORN UP. COST OF REPAIR = $1700. WE HAVE BEEN LIFELONG MANUAL TRANSMISSION DRIVERS. WE DO NOT MISUSE VEHICLES, AND THE CLUTCH GOING OUT SO SOON FOR US IN PARTICULAR IS INDICATIVE OF A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM RATHER THAN OPERATOR ERROR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
AIR PRESSURE ON MY FRONT PASSENGER TIRE HAS BEEN LOW SINCE A MONTH INTO THE PURCHASE OF THIS CAR. THE ALERT ONLY WENT OFF ONCE, BUT WHEN I GOT THE TIRES REFILLED, THE TIRE STILL SEEMED FLAT. I JUST LET IT BE BECAUSE NO FURTHER ALERTS CAME ON. BUT I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND SLIPPED ON SNOW THE OTHER DAY AND HIT A CURB, WHICH DEPLOYED MY AIRBAGS. I DO NOT THINK THAT IF THIS TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO THIS ACCIDENT. I WAS GOING AROUND 10MPH, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT.

View Details

WHEELS

1/22/2015 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
AIR PRESSURE ON MY FRONT PASSENGER TIRE HAS BEEN LOW SINCE A MONTH INTO THE PURCHASE OF THIS CAR. THE ALERT ONLY WENT OFF ONCE, BUT WHEN I GOT THE TIRES REFILLED, THE TIRE STILL SEEMED FLAT. I JUST LET IT BE BECAUSE NO FURTHER ALERTS CAME ON. BUT I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND SLIPPED ON SNOW THE OTHER DAY AND HIT A CURB, WHICH DEPLOYED MY AIRBAGS. I DO NOT THINK THAT IF THIS TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO THIS ACCIDENT. I WAS GOING AROUND 10MPH, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/19/2015 - SAN CARLOS, CA
I WAS PARKING MY CAR ON AN UPWARD INCLINE AND TURNING LEFT INTO A PARKING SPACE WHEN I SUDDENLY HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE CAR AND IT JUST KEPT LURCHING/MOVING FORWARD. THE CAR STOPPED ONLY BECAUSE THE FRONT WHEELS WENT UP AND OVER A CONCRETE CURB.,,,THERE WAS A LINK FENCE AND THEN A DEEP EMBANKMENT BEYOND I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND THEN BACK UP OVER THE CURB TO PARK THE CAR I DO NOT FEEL THIS CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE. IT IS PRESENTLY AT A HONDA DEALER WHO SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR THERE IS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING COMING ON AND WHEN CHECKED THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE BUT THE WARNING LICHT WILL NOT GO OFF

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/10/2015 - ROGERS, AR
THIS IS THE SEVENTH (7) COMPLAINT I HAVE FILED IN REGARD TO A NEW HONDA CIVIC I PURCHASED FROM FRANK FLETCHER HONDA IN BENTONVILLE, AR. THE CAR HAS ALSO BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP SEVEN TIMES WITH NO RESOLUTION. I AM STILL BEING FORCED TO DRIVE A VEHICLE WHICH IS NOT SAFE. AT APPROXIMATELY 1:45 P.M. MY HUSBAND PICKED ME UP FROM WORK FOR LUNCH. AS WE WERE DRIVING DOWN THE RODE, WE FELT A "SLIPPING" MOVEMENT AND THE CAR BEGAN TO STALL OUT. FOLLOWING THIS WAS A SERIES OF SMALL JERKING MOVEMENTS AS WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE. A WEEK AGO MY ATTORNEY FILED LEGAL DOCUMENTS UNDER THE ARKANSAS AUTO LEMON LAW AGAINST HONDA AMERICA. THE VEHICLE HAS MET ALL REQUIREMENTS UNDER THIS LAW. I AM HOPING NHTSA WILL TAKE MY COMPLAINTS SERIOUSLY AND MONITOR HONDA AMERICA'S ACTIONS TOWARDS CONSUMERS AND THE VEHICLES THAT ARE BEING SOLD WHICH HAVE SAFETY ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/8/2015 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
MY CAR IS 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX-L NAVI WITH PUSHBUTTON ENGINE START/STOP. I WAS APPROACHING AN INCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAY AND HAD SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 30 MPH. I THOUGHT I SHOULD ACTIVATE THE 4-WAY FLASHERS AS A WARNING TO OTHER DRIVERS. WHEN I PUSHED THE BUTTON, I PUSHED THE START/STOP BUTTON BY MISTAKE AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE. THE START/STOP BUTTON IS JUST BEHIND THE STEERING WHEEL, AND THE FLASHER BUTTON IS ABOUT SIX INCHES TO THE LOWER RIGHT OF THE START/STOP BUTTON. OF COURSE WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED I LOST POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKE BOOST. IT WAS REALLY HARD TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AT THAT POINT. THANKFULLY TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED SLIGHTLY TO THE LEFT AND I CONTINUED TO COAST SLIGHTLY LEFT. I ORDER TO RESTART THE ENGINE, I HAD TO PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH LIGHTLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS A DIFFICULT SEQUENCE TO PERFORM WHEN ONE'S VEHICLE IS DEAD AND COASTING WITH MINIMAL CONTROL. BY THE TIME I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND REGAINED CONTROL I WAS APPROACHING THE JERSEY BARRIERS IN THE CENTER OF THE HIGHWAY AND WAS BEING PASSED BY THE VEHICLES BEHIND ME. THE START/STOP BUTTON IS REAL EASY TO OPERATE. IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE FULLY DEPRESSED, JUST A SLIGHT TOUCH WILL ACTIVATE IT. MORE FORCE IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THE FLASHER BUTTON THAN THE START/STOP BUTTON. PLUS, THE START/STOP BUTTON PROTRUDES FROM THE SURFACE OF THE DASH AND CAN BE EASILY PRESSED BY ACCIDENT. THE START/STOP SHOULD BE RECESSED INSIDE A SHROUD AND ACTIVATION SHOULD REQUIRE A FULL DEPRESSION AND BE HELD FOR AT LEAST TWO SECONDS. AND IDEALLY THE FLASHER BUTTON SHOULD BE RELOCATED TO THE TOP CENTER OF THE DASHBOARD. THE EVENT DATE AND MILEAGE ARE APPROXIMATE.

View Details

WHEELS

1/3/2015 - TEMPLE CITY, CA
TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING LIGHT COMES ON EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS. CHECKED TIRES AND PRESSURE EVERYTHING IS OK HAVE TO RESET., THEN IS OK FOR AWHILE THIS IS VERY ANNOYING HAVE TO PULL OVER TO CHECK EVER TIME.THIS CAN BE UNSAFE AT TIMES. HONDA CALLS IT TPMS LIGHT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds