Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 99 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (5) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Tires (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (28)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2017 - BEN LOMOND, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO SHUDDER AND IT BECAME DIFFICULT TO MAINTAIN THE DESIRED SPEED. WHILE DRIVING UPHILL, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE CONTACT HAD TO CHANGE GEARS TO D2 IN ORDER TO CONTINUE DRIVING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IT FELT LIKE THE GEARS WERE SLIPPING AND THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD REVVING NOISE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP FROM HIGH SPEEDS OR ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE AFTER BEING STOPPED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE OCEAN HONDA DEALER WHERE IT WAS UNABLE TO IDENTIFY THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V574000 (POWER TRAIN); THEREFORE, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RECEIVE THE REPAIR UNDER THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2017 - BENICA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT NO FAILURES WERE FOUND. THE INDICATOR WAS RESET; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON FOURTEEN OCCASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,317.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/13/2017 - WOODINVILLLE, WA
OUR 2014 HONDA CIVIC HAS 37K MILES ON IT AND WE WERE DRIVING IT ON THE FREEWAY WHEN IT BEGAN TO FEEL LIKE THE GEARS WERE SLIPPING OR NOT SHIFTING. IT FELT LIKE WE WERE IN NEUTRAL AND COULDN'T GET ANY POWER. IT HAPPENED VERY QUICKLY AND THERE WAS NO WARNING OR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. IT WAS TOWED TO A DEALERSHIP. THEY DISCOVERED IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION SOLENOID AND IT CAME "UNPLUGGED" AND WAS LEAKING TRANSMISSION FLUID WHICH RESULTED IN LOW PRESSURE AND THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2017 - FAIRFIELD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STATIONARY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START WHEN PROMPTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE "CHECK ABS" WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/5/2017 - FAIRFIELD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STATIONARY, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START WHEN PROMPTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE "CHECK ABS" WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2017 - WESTFIELD CENTER, OH
TWO TIRES HAVE PREMATURE WEAR - I'M GETTING READY TO TURN IN MY LEASE AND TODAYS INSPECTION SHOWN THE RIGHT SIDE OF VEHICLE EXCESSIVE WEAR.. THIS IS A LEASE AND IT ONLY HAS 26,901 MILES ON IT. THIS IS MY 3RD LEASED VEHICLE , BUT THE 1ST HONDA LEASE. I ALWAYS TURNED IN A VEHICLE UNDER MILES AND NEVER, HAD BEEN TOLD THAT I OWE THEM FOR NEW TIRES. I UNDERSTAND THAT HONDA HAS HAD PROBLEMS IN THE PAST WITH PREMATURE TIRE WARE. PLEASE ADVISE IF I HAVE ANY RECOURSE HERE WITH ROUSH HONDA IN MEDINA, OHIO OR WITH HONDA FINANCIAL SERVICES ?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/12/2017 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
WHILE DRIVING, I HEARD A LOUD, GUNSHOT LIKE SOUND AND GLASS STARTED FALLING ON ME. MY SUNROOF HAD JUST APPEARED TO HAVE BEEN HIT WITH SOMETHING OUT OF NOWHERE. I SAFELY PULLED OVER AND BEGAN LOOKING FOR ANYTHING THAT MIGHT APPEAR TO HAVE HIT IT BUT ONLY FOUND THE GLASS APPEARED TO HAVE BEEN HIT FROM THE INSIDE. THE SUNROOF WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED BUT LUCKILY DIDN'T FALL COMPLETELY APART.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/28/2017 - FORT MYERS, FL
I HAVE A LEASED 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX, MY LEASE BEGAN 11/2014. IN 9/2016 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 45MPH ON A SIDE ROAD WITH SPEED LIMIT 45MPH WHEN MY CAR LOST POWER TO THE GAS PEDAL, I COULD FLOOR IT WITHOUT ANY RESPONSE, AND NUMEROUS WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON (POWER STEERING, VSA, HILL START ASSIST, TPMS, EMISSION, TRANSMISSION, ETC). I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFETY AND WAIT FOR A TOW. UPON ARRIVAL AT HONDA, THE CAR WAS 'BACK TO NORMAL' AND THE TECHS COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM SO THEY CALLED IT A FLUKE AND RETURNED IT TO ME. 2 WEEKS LATER I WAS JUST LEAVING MY HOUSE, ABOUT 5 MPH OUT OF MY SPOT AND UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SAME HONDA AND WAITED. I WAS TOLD A WEEK LATER THEY COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO KEEP LOOKING. NOT HAPPENING AS IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I IMMEDIATELY OPENED A CLAIM WITH HONDA. THEY LOOKED FOR A WEEK MORE WITH NO LUCK AND WERE ABOUT TO RETURN MY DANGEROUS AND UNDIAGNOSED CAR TO ME WHEN IT HAPPENED FOR THEM; I AM UNAWARE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY KEPT IT ANOTHER TWO WEEKS WHEN THEY GUESSED IT WAS A FAULTY COMPUTER AND PUT A NEW ONE IN IT. FAST FORWARD TO 2/2017 AND IT HAS HAPPENED YET AGAIN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 7 MPH IN A PARKING LOT, PULLING UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND ABOUT TO TURN ONTO A 50 MPH, 5 LANE ROAD WHERE I FOR SURE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT HAD IT OCCURRED THERE. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO HONDA AND I HAVE ZERO INTENTIONS TO TAKE THIS DEATH TRAP BACK, AND I HAVE EVEN LESS FAITH THAT AN ACTUAL PROBLEM WILL BE FOUND YET AGAIN. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE LIGHTS ON THIS MOST RECENT TIME, TAKEN WHILE IN PARK. YOU CAN SEE THE LIGHTS ON, D LIT UP WHILE IN PARK, AND THE NEEDLE AT 1 EVEN THOUGH I WAS NOT MOVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/28/2017 - FORT MYERS, FL
I HAVE A LEASED 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX, MY LEASE BEGAN 11/2014. IN 9/2016 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 45MPH ON A SIDE ROAD WITH SPEED LIMIT 45MPH WHEN MY CAR LOST POWER TO THE GAS PEDAL, I COULD FLOOR IT WITHOUT ANY RESPONSE, AND NUMEROUS WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON (POWER STEERING, VSA, HILL START ASSIST, TPMS, EMISSION, TRANSMISSION, ETC). I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFETY AND WAIT FOR A TOW. UPON ARRIVAL AT HONDA, THE CAR WAS 'BACK TO NORMAL' AND THE TECHS COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM SO THEY CALLED IT A FLUKE AND RETURNED IT TO ME. 2 WEEKS LATER I WAS JUST LEAVING MY HOUSE, ABOUT 5 MPH OUT OF MY SPOT AND UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SAME HONDA AND WAITED. I WAS TOLD A WEEK LATER THEY COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO KEEP LOOKING. NOT HAPPENING AS IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I IMMEDIATELY OPENED A CLAIM WITH HONDA. THEY LOOKED FOR A WEEK MORE WITH NO LUCK AND WERE ABOUT TO RETURN MY DANGEROUS AND UNDIAGNOSED CAR TO ME WHEN IT HAPPENED FOR THEM; I AM UNAWARE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY KEPT IT ANOTHER TWO WEEKS WHEN THEY GUESSED IT WAS A FAULTY COMPUTER AND PUT A NEW ONE IN IT. FAST FORWARD TO 2/2017 AND IT HAS HAPPENED YET AGAIN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 7 MPH IN A PARKING LOT, PULLING UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND ABOUT TO TURN ONTO A 50 MPH, 5 LANE ROAD WHERE I FOR SURE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT HAD IT OCCURRED THERE. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO HONDA AND I HAVE ZERO INTENTIONS TO TAKE THIS DEATH TRAP BACK, AND I HAVE EVEN LESS FAITH THAT AN ACTUAL PROBLEM WILL BE FOUND YET AGAIN. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE LIGHTS ON THIS MOST RECENT TIME, TAKEN WHILE IN PARK. YOU CAN SEE THE LIGHTS ON, D LIT UP WHILE IN PARK, AND THE NEEDLE AT 1 EVEN THOUGH I WAS NOT MOVING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/28/2017 - FORT MYERS, FL
I HAVE A LEASED 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX, MY LEASE BEGAN 11/2014. IN 9/2016 I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 45MPH ON A SIDE ROAD WITH SPEED LIMIT 45MPH WHEN MY CAR LOST POWER TO THE GAS PEDAL, I COULD FLOOR IT WITHOUT ANY RESPONSE, AND NUMEROUS WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON (POWER STEERING, VSA, HILL START ASSIST, TPMS, EMISSION, TRANSMISSION, ETC). I WAS ABLE TO COAST TO SAFETY AND WAIT FOR A TOW. UPON ARRIVAL AT HONDA, THE CAR WAS 'BACK TO NORMAL' AND THE TECHS COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM SO THEY CALLED IT A FLUKE AND RETURNED IT TO ME. 2 WEEKS LATER I WAS JUST LEAVING MY HOUSE, ABOUT 5 MPH OUT OF MY SPOT AND UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE SAME HONDA AND WAITED. I WAS TOLD A WEEK LATER THEY COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM TO KEEP LOOKING. NOT HAPPENING AS IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. I IMMEDIATELY OPENED A CLAIM WITH HONDA. THEY LOOKED FOR A WEEK MORE WITH NO LUCK AND WERE ABOUT TO RETURN MY DANGEROUS AND UNDIAGNOSED CAR TO ME WHEN IT HAPPENED FOR THEM; I AM UNAWARE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY KEPT IT ANOTHER TWO WEEKS WHEN THEY GUESSED IT WAS A FAULTY COMPUTER AND PUT A NEW ONE IN IT. FAST FORWARD TO 2/2017 AND IT HAS HAPPENED YET AGAIN. I WAS GOING ABOUT 7 MPH IN A PARKING LOT, PULLING UP TO A STOP SIGN, AND ABOUT TO TURN ONTO A 50 MPH, 5 LANE ROAD WHERE I FOR SURE WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT HAD IT OCCURRED THERE. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO HONDA AND I HAVE ZERO INTENTIONS TO TAKE THIS DEATH TRAP BACK, AND I HAVE EVEN LESS FAITH THAT AN ACTUAL PROBLEM WILL BE FOUND YET AGAIN. THE ATTACHED PHOTO SHOWS THE LIGHTS ON THIS MOST RECENT TIME, TAKEN WHILE IN PARK. YOU CAN SEE THE LIGHTS ON, D LIT UP WHILE IN PARK, AND THE NEEDLE AT 1 EVEN THOUGH I WAS NOT MOVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds