Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 35 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (11) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (5)
Engine (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
AIR PRESSURE ON MY FRONT PASSENGER TIRE HAS BEEN LOW SINCE A MONTH INTO THE PURCHASE OF THIS CAR. THE ALERT ONLY WENT OFF ONCE, BUT WHEN I GOT THE TIRES REFILLED, THE TIRE STILL SEEMED FLAT. I JUST LET IT BE BECAUSE NO FURTHER ALERTS CAME ON. BUT I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND SLIPPED ON SNOW THE OTHER DAY AND HIT A CURB, WHICH DEPLOYED MY AIRBAGS. I DO NOT THINK THAT IF THIS TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO THIS ACCIDENT. I WAS GOING AROUND 10MPH, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT.

View Details

WHEELS

1/22/2015 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
AIR PRESSURE ON MY FRONT PASSENGER TIRE HAS BEEN LOW SINCE A MONTH INTO THE PURCHASE OF THIS CAR. THE ALERT ONLY WENT OFF ONCE, BUT WHEN I GOT THE TIRES REFILLED, THE TIRE STILL SEEMED FLAT. I JUST LET IT BE BECAUSE NO FURTHER ALERTS CAME ON. BUT I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND SLIPPED ON SNOW THE OTHER DAY AND HIT A CURB, WHICH DEPLOYED MY AIRBAGS. I DO NOT THINK THAT IF THIS TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO THIS ACCIDENT. I WAS GOING AROUND 10MPH, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/19/2015 - SAN CARLOS, CA
I WAS PARKING MY CAR ON AN UPWARD INCLINE AND TURNING LEFT INTO A PARKING SPACE WHEN I SUDDENLY HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE CAR AND IT JUST KEPT LURCHING/MOVING FORWARD. THE CAR STOPPED ONLY BECAUSE THE FRONT WHEELS WENT UP AND OVER A CONCRETE CURB.,,,THERE WAS A LINK FENCE AND THEN A DEEP EMBANKMENT BEYOND I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND THEN BACK UP OVER THE CURB TO PARK THE CAR I DO NOT FEEL THIS CAR IS SAFE TO DRIVE. IT IS PRESENTLY AT A HONDA DEALER WHO SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR THERE IS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING COMING ON AND WHEN CHECKED THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE BUT THE WARNING LICHT WILL NOT GO OFF

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/10/2015 - ROGERS, AR
THIS IS THE SEVENTH (7) COMPLAINT I HAVE FILED IN REGARD TO A NEW HONDA CIVIC I PURCHASED FROM FRANK FLETCHER HONDA IN BENTONVILLE, AR. THE CAR HAS ALSO BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP SEVEN TIMES WITH NO RESOLUTION. I AM STILL BEING FORCED TO DRIVE A VEHICLE WHICH IS NOT SAFE. AT APPROXIMATELY 1:45 P.M. MY HUSBAND PICKED ME UP FROM WORK FOR LUNCH. AS WE WERE DRIVING DOWN THE RODE, WE FELT A "SLIPPING" MOVEMENT AND THE CAR BEGAN TO STALL OUT. FOLLOWING THIS WAS A SERIES OF SMALL JERKING MOVEMENTS AS WE CONTINUED TO DRIVE. A WEEK AGO MY ATTORNEY FILED LEGAL DOCUMENTS UNDER THE ARKANSAS AUTO LEMON LAW AGAINST HONDA AMERICA. THE VEHICLE HAS MET ALL REQUIREMENTS UNDER THIS LAW. I AM HOPING NHTSA WILL TAKE MY COMPLAINTS SERIOUSLY AND MONITOR HONDA AMERICA'S ACTIONS TOWARDS CONSUMERS AND THE VEHICLES THAT ARE BEING SOLD WHICH HAVE SAFETY ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/8/2015 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
MY CAR IS 2014 HONDA CIVIC EX-L NAVI WITH PUSHBUTTON ENGINE START/STOP. I WAS APPROACHING AN INCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAY AND HAD SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 30 MPH. I THOUGHT I SHOULD ACTIVATE THE 4-WAY FLASHERS AS A WARNING TO OTHER DRIVERS. WHEN I PUSHED THE BUTTON, I PUSHED THE START/STOP BUTTON BY MISTAKE AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE. THE START/STOP BUTTON IS JUST BEHIND THE STEERING WHEEL, AND THE FLASHER BUTTON IS ABOUT SIX INCHES TO THE LOWER RIGHT OF THE START/STOP BUTTON. OF COURSE WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED I LOST POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKE BOOST. IT WAS REALLY HARD TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE AT THAT POINT. THANKFULLY TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED SLIGHTLY TO THE LEFT AND I CONTINUED TO COAST SLIGHTLY LEFT. I ORDER TO RESTART THE ENGINE, I HAD TO PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH LIGHTLY ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS IS A DIFFICULT SEQUENCE TO PERFORM WHEN ONE'S VEHICLE IS DEAD AND COASTING WITH MINIMAL CONTROL. BY THE TIME I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND REGAINED CONTROL I WAS APPROACHING THE JERSEY BARRIERS IN THE CENTER OF THE HIGHWAY AND WAS BEING PASSED BY THE VEHICLES BEHIND ME. THE START/STOP BUTTON IS REAL EASY TO OPERATE. IT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE FULLY DEPRESSED, JUST A SLIGHT TOUCH WILL ACTIVATE IT. MORE FORCE IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE THE FLASHER BUTTON THAN THE START/STOP BUTTON. PLUS, THE START/STOP BUTTON PROTRUDES FROM THE SURFACE OF THE DASH AND CAN BE EASILY PRESSED BY ACCIDENT. THE START/STOP SHOULD BE RECESSED INSIDE A SHROUD AND ACTIVATION SHOULD REQUIRE A FULL DEPRESSION AND BE HELD FOR AT LEAST TWO SECONDS. AND IDEALLY THE FLASHER BUTTON SHOULD BE RELOCATED TO THE TOP CENTER OF THE DASHBOARD. THE EVENT DATE AND MILEAGE ARE APPROXIMATE.

View Details

WHEELS

1/3/2015 - TEMPLE CITY, CA
TIRE PRESSURE MONITORING LIGHT COMES ON EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS. CHECKED TIRES AND PRESSURE EVERYTHING IS OK HAVE TO RESET., THEN IS OK FOR AWHILE THIS IS VERY ANNOYING HAVE TO PULL OVER TO CHECK EVER TIME.THIS CAN BE UNSAFE AT TIMES. HONDA CALLS IT TPMS LIGHT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/2/2015 - MONTROSE , CA
THIS CAR HAS HAD A CONTINUAL PROBLEM WITH THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR MECHANISM AND HAS BEEN SERVICED THREE TIMES WITHOUT ANY SUCCESS. AND WHEN THE BRAND NEW TIRE BLEW OUT THE SENSOR FAILED. ALSO THE POWER TRAIN IS BAD, THE CAR DRIVES SLUGGUSH AND LOSES POWER DURING TURNS AND ALSO IN JUST REGULAR DRIVING .. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR AT ALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/23/2014 - ROGERS, AR
ON DECEMBER 20 AT APPROXIMATELY 1:30 P.M., MY HUSBAND WAS RUNNING AN ERRAND TO THE STORE WHEN THE CAR STALLED OUT WHILE DRIVING ON A TWO-LANE ROAD. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW FROM FRANK FLETCHER HONDA IN BENTONVILLE, AR. THE CAR HAS BEEN BROUGHT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP SIX TIMES FROM SEPTEMBER THROUGH DECEMBER 2014. THIS IS MY SIXTH (6) COMPLAINT TO NHTSA. FRANK FLETCHER HONDA TECHNICIANS STATE THEY CANNOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. I HAVE EXPRESSED TO GENERAL MANAGER RYAN BLAKE THAT I DISAGREE WITH THE FINDINGS AS I DRIVE THE VECHILE EVERY DAY. I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THE CAR SINCE I PURCHASED IT. WHILE SUMPATHETIC, MR. BLAKE STATED THERE WAS NOTHING HE OR THE DEALERSHIP COULD DO. AFTER EXPRESSING MY CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY, I HAVE BEEN FORCED TO DRIVE THIS CAR AS IT IS THE FAMILY'S ONLY SOURCE OF TRANSPORTATION. MR. BLAKE, MR. FLETCHER, AND THE DEALERSHIP TECHNICIANS BASICALLY IGNORED MY CONCERNS UNTIL NHTSA WAS CONTACTED. HONDAAMERICA HAS ALSO BECOME INVOLVED BE THERE HAS BEEN NO RESOLUTION. I AM REACHING OUT AND ASKING THAT A RESOLUTION BE REACHED SO I NOT HAVE TO DRIVE WHAT I CONSIDER TO BE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE. I DON'T REALLY LIKE TO TALK ABOUT THIS BUT I HAVE AN INCURABLE LIVER DISEASE AND IT WOULD PUT MY MIND TO REST IF I KNEW I HAVE RELIABLE TRANSPORTATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/23/2014 - ROGERS, AR
ON FRIDAY, DECEMBER 19 AT APPROXIMATELY 2 P.M., MY HUSBAND AND I WERE PULLING OUT OF THE PARKING LOT OUT ONTO A FOUR-LANE ROAD WHEN THE CAR STALLED. OUT. I HAD JUST GOTTEN MY HAIRCUT AND WAS HEADING BACK TO WORK. I PURCHASED THIS AS A NEW CAR FROM FRANK FLETCHER HONDA IN BENTONVILLE, AR. THE CAR HAS BEEN BROUGHT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP SIX TIMES FROM SEPTEMBER THROUGH DECEMBER. THE TECHNICIANS AND THE DEALERSHIP GENERAL MANAGER RYAN BLAKE HAVE STATED THEY CANNOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE. DUE TO THIS, THE DEALERSHIP, MR. BLAKE AND THE DEALERSHIP OWNER FRANK FLETCHER ARE GIVING ME NO CHOICE OTHER THAN TO DRIVE A VEHICLE I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE. HONDAAMERICA HAS NOW BECOME INVOLVED IN THE SITUATION BUT THERE HAS BEEN NO RESOLUTION. I HAVE A CHILD WHO RIDES IN THIS CAR AND I FEAR FOR HER AND MY SAFETY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2014 - ROGERS, AR
THIS IS THE SIXTH COMPLAINT I'VE MADE TO NHTSA FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I PURCHASED THE CAR NEW FROM FRANK FLETCHER HONDA AND IT'S BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP SEVEN TIMES FROM SEPTEMBER THROUGH DECEMBER 2014 WITH NO RESOLUTION. ON SUNDAY DECEMBER 21 THE CAR HAD TWO SEPARATE INCIDENTS WHERE IT STALLED OUT. THE FIRST WAS AT APPROXIMATELY 8:45 A.M. MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD MARKET TO PICK UP BREAKFAST ITEMS WHEN THE CAR STALLED OUT. THE SECOND INCIDENT OCCURRED WHEN ME AND MY 15-YEAR-OLD WERE DRIVING TO KOHL'S TO DO SOME CHRISTMAS SHOPPING AT APPROXIMATELY 3:30 P.M. IT STALLED OUT AS I WAS TURNING OFF THE MAIN ROAD INTO THE PARKING LOT. THIS UPSET ME, ESPECIALLY SINCE MY CHILD WAS IN THE CAR. I DON'T WANT ANYTHING TO HAPPEN TO HER DUE TO A FLAW IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NO CHOICE, HOWEVER, SINCE WE ONLY HAVE ONE VEHICLE. I NEED HELP REACHING A RESOLUTION WITH HONDA AMERICA AND FRANK FLETCHER HONDA. I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE CAR EVERY TIME I DRIVE IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds