Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2014 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (14) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (6)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/27/2015 - OLNEY, MD
PURCHASED MY VEHICLE 5-28-14 FROM CRISWELL HONDA IN GERMANTOWN, MD. FIRST PROBLEM OCCURRED 7-8-14 I NOTICED THERE WAS A WET SPOT ON THE SIDE PANEL BY THE WINDOW ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. WENT IN TO CRISWELL 7-11-14 TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE ISSUE. WENT BACK 7-14-14 TO COMPLAIN AGAIN. AFTER BEING GIVEN THE RUN AROUND, THE SALES MANAGER ALLOWED ME TO BRING IT IN ON A SATURDAY (7-19-14)AFTER THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME I COULD NOT BRING IT IN ON A WEEKEND, SERVICE HAD TO BE DONE DURING THE WEEK. WAS NOT GOING TO BE PROVIDED A VEHICLE TO GET TO AND FROM WORK. PROBLEM WAS SAID TO BE CAUSED BY A BLOCK IN THE AC VALVE. SECOND PROBLEM OCCURRED 9-13-14, I HEARD A WHISTLING SOUND COMING FROM MY SUNROOF WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, I WAS GOING 75 MPH. TOOK IT IN TO HERSONS HONDA 9-18-14 AND PICKED IT UP 9-19-14. THEY HAD TO REPLACE/ORDER A NEW WINDOW FOR MY SUNROOF BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL WINDOW CAME UNGLUED FROM RUBBER SEALING. COMPLAINED TO AMERICAN HONDA FOR THE SECOND TIME FOR MY CAR, WAS PROVIDED A RENTAL. THIRD PROBLEM, WENT IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE 3-21-15 AT CRISWELL, SERVICE ADVISOR TOLD ME MY CAR HAD A FLUID LEAK. NO ONE AT THE DEALERSHIP COULD OR WOULD TELL ME WHAT TYPE OF FLUID WAS LEAKING FROM MY CAR OR WHERE THE LEAK WAS. SERVICE ADVISOR ASKED ME TO BRING CAR IN ON 4-4-15 TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT, ALLOWING ME TO LEAVE THEIR DEALERSHIP WITH A LEAKING VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/27/2015 - OLNEY, MD
PURCHASED MY VEHICLE 5-28-14. FIRST PROBLEM OCCURRED 7-8-14. I NOTICED THERE WAS A WET SPOT ON THE SIDE PANEL BY THE WINDOW ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. WENT IN TO CRISWELL 7-11-14 TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE ISSUE. WENT BACK 7-14-14 TO COMPLAIN AGAIN. AFTER BEING GIVEN THE RUN AROUND, THE SALES MANAGER ALLOWED ME TO BRING IT IN ON A SATURDAY (7-19-14)AFTER THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME I COULD NOT BRING IT IN ON A WEEKEND, SERVICE HAD TO BE DONE DURING THE WEEK. WAS NOT GOING TO BE PROVIDED A VEHICLE TO GET TO AND FROM WORK. PROBLEM WAS SAID TO BE CAUSED BY A BLOCK IN THE AC VALVE. SECOND PROBLEM OCCURRED 9-13-14, I HEARD A WHISTLING SOUND COMING FROM MY SUNROOF WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, I WAS GOING 75 MPH. TOOK IT IN TO HERSONS HONDA 9-18-14 AND PICKED IT UP 9-19-14. THEY HAD TO REPLACE/ORDER A NEW WINDOW FOR MY SUNROOF BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL WINDOW CAME UNGLUED FROM RUBBER SEALING. COMPLAINED TO AMERICAN HONDA FOR THE SECOND TIME FOR MY CAR, WAS PROVIDED A RENTAL. THIRD PROBLEM, WENT IN FOR ROUTINE OIL CHANGE 3-21-15, SERVICE ADVISOR TOLD ME MY CAR HAD A FLUID LEAK. NO ONE AT THE DEALERSHIP COULD OR WOULD TELL ME WHAT TYPE OF FLUID WAS LEAKING FROM MY CAR OR WHERE THE LEAK WAS. SERVICE ADVISOR ASKED ME TO BRING CAR IN ON 4-4-15 TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT, ALLOWING ME TO LEAVE THEIR DEALERSHIP WITH A LEAKING VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2015 - LONGMONT, CO
FROM A DEAD STOP, WHEN THE HONDA STARTS TO ACCELERATE, THERE IS A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER FOR @ 1.5 SECONDS. THESE EPISODES USUALLY HAPPEN WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT ALTHOUGH IT HAPPENED FOR THE FIRST TIME ACCELERATING FORWARD TODAY. THESE EPISODES HAPPEN 3 TO 5 TIMES A WEEK. I DRIVE @ 130 MILES A WEEK. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE ESPECIALLY IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC WHERE RELIABLE ACCELERATION IS IMPORTANT. I HAVE HAD THE CAR EVALUATED 3-4 TIMES BY THE DEALERSHIP WHICH CANNOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP HAS ONLY DRIVEN THE CAR @10 MILES FOR THEIR TESTS WHICH IS HALF OF WHAT I DO ON A DAILY BASIS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2015 - MENTOR, OH
VTC ACTUATOR MAKES GRINDING SOUND AT START UP.

View Details

WHEELS

2/22/2015 - GREAT FALLS, VA
CONTINUOUSLY GETTING CHECK TIRE PRESSURE INDICATOR ON. DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT ALTHOUGH THE TIRES ARE INFLATED PROPERLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2015 - LONGMONT, CO
FROM PURCHASE DATE 10-24-14 THRU TODAY, WHEN VEHICLE BEGINS TO ACCELERATE FROM A DEAD STOP, THERE IS A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER FOR @ 1.5 SECONDS BEFORE ACCELERATION RESUMES. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT, NEVER STRAIGHT FORWARD. THESE EPISODES HAPPEN 3-5 TIMES PER WEEK. THE HONDA TRANSMISSION IS THE "CVT/ DRIVE BY WIRE SYSTEM". I DRIVE @ 20 MILES PER DAY. IT HAS BEEN EVALUATED 3 TIMES AT THE DEALERSHIP HERE IN LONGMONT, COLORADO AND THEY HAVE NOT FOUND A PROBLEM SAYING EVERYTHING IS OK. THIS PROBLEM IS NOT OK FOR A NEW CAR AND IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2015 - ROGERS, AR
I HAVE CURRENTLY LODGED MORE THAN SIX COMPLAINTS WITH THIS AGENY IN REGARD TO A 2014 HONDA CIVIC I PURCHASED NEW FROM FRANK FLETCHER HONDA IN BENTONVILLE, AR. THE VEHICLE CONTINUES TO EXPERIENCE THE SAME ISSUES ON A DAILY BASIS. THIS INCLUDES STALLING, TRANSMISSION SLIPPING, JERKING AND AN OVERALL ROUGH RIDE. THE DEALERSHIP WAS SERVED ON FEBRUARY 3, 2015 WITH A CERTIFIED LETTER MAKING A WRITTEN DEMAND UNDER THE ARKANSAS NEW MOTOR VEHICLE QUALITY ASSURANCE ACT (ACT 297 OF 1993) TO PROVIDE COMPENSATION UNDER SAID LAW. HONDA AMERICA WAS ALSO SERVED WITH THE SAME LETTER. THE DEALERSHIP AND HONDA AMERICA HAVE HAD AMPLE TIME TO CORRECT THIS SITUATION BUT HAVE DONE NOTHING TO DATE. BOTH ENTITIES HAVE PLACED ME AND MY FAMILY IN JEOPARDY BY CHOOSING TO ANSWER MY REQUEST FOR A SAFE VEHICLE. MY ATTORNEY, WHO DREW UP THE LETTER, STATED THE CAR FALLS UNDER THE "LEMON LAW" AND I'M CURRENTLY DRIVING "HALF A VEHICLE."

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/30/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
AS MY HUSBAND WAS TURNING A CORNER, THE CLUTCH DROPPED, AND THE SERVICE CENTER REPORTED THAT THE CLUTCH FIBERS ARE TORN UP. COST OF REPAIR = $1700. WE HAVE BEEN LIFELONG MANUAL TRANSMISSION DRIVERS. WE DO NOT MISUSE VEHICLES, AND THE CLUTCH GOING OUT SO SOON FOR US IN PARTICULAR IS INDICATIVE OF A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM RATHER THAN OPERATOR ERROR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2015 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
AIR PRESSURE ON MY FRONT PASSENGER TIRE HAS BEEN LOW SINCE A MONTH INTO THE PURCHASE OF THIS CAR. THE ALERT ONLY WENT OFF ONCE, BUT WHEN I GOT THE TIRES REFILLED, THE TIRE STILL SEEMED FLAT. I JUST LET IT BE BECAUSE NO FURTHER ALERTS CAME ON. BUT I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND SLIPPED ON SNOW THE OTHER DAY AND HIT A CURB, WHICH DEPLOYED MY AIRBAGS. I DO NOT THINK THAT IF THIS TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO THIS ACCIDENT. I WAS GOING AROUND 10MPH, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT.

View Details

WHEELS

1/22/2015 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
AIR PRESSURE ON MY FRONT PASSENGER TIRE HAS BEEN LOW SINCE A MONTH INTO THE PURCHASE OF THIS CAR. THE ALERT ONLY WENT OFF ONCE, BUT WHEN I GOT THE TIRES REFILLED, THE TIRE STILL SEEMED FLAT. I JUST LET IT BE BECAUSE NO FURTHER ALERTS CAME ON. BUT I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND SLIPPED ON SNOW THE OTHER DAY AND HIT A CURB, WHICH DEPLOYED MY AIRBAGS. I DO NOT THINK THAT IF THIS TIRE WAS DEFECTIVE I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN INTO THIS ACCIDENT. I WAS GOING AROUND 10MPH, AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds