Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 10 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (2) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH THE TRANSMISSION IN THE GEARS WOULD NOT ENGAGE. THE OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATED BRIEFLY AND VEHICLE DECELERATED TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THE MANUFACTURE WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. NO REPAIRS HAD BEEN MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,136 MILE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 9,136 MILES. SR

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/2/2014 - COVINGTON , WA
DRIVING IN RAIN, WENT THROUGH STANDING WATER ON ROAD. ABS BRAKE LIGHT WENT ON AND STAYED ON. BRAKE ASSIST NO LONGER WORKS. DEALER HAS HAD VEHICLE FOR TWO WEEKS NOW TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/13/2014 - MOLALLA, OR
AFTER A SEVERE RAINSTORM DISCOVERED WATER ON MY DASHBOARD AND LEAKING FROM MY DOME LIGHT PLATE. WATER HAS SHORTED OUT PASSENGER SIDE DOME LIGHT AND AM WORRIED ABOUT FURTHER ELECTRICAL DAMAGE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/13/2014 - MOLALLA, OR
AFTER A SEVERE RAINSTORM DISCOVERED WATER ON MY DASHBOARD AND LEAKING FROM MY DOME LIGHT PLATE. WATER HAS SHORTED OUT PASSENGER SIDE DOME LIGHT AND AM WORRIED ABOUT FURTHER ELECTRICAL DAMAGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/7/2014 - BLACKLICK, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A COMMERCIAL TRACTOR TRAILER CRASHED INTO HIS DRIVERS SIDE FRONT FENDER. THE AIG BAG SENSORS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HIS INSURANCE COMPANY. THE CONTACT LEFT KNEE WAS INJURED. THERE WAS A POLICE REPORT FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/7/2013 - INGLEWOOD, CA
WAS DRIVING WITH A TOTAL OF 4 PEOPLE IN JEEP WHEN IT STARTED TO SHAKE REALLY BAD AT 40 MILES MPH I THOUGHT I HAD A FLAT TIRE,WHEN I LOOKED TIRES WERE OK, WHEN I STARTED DRIVING AGAIN IT STARTED TO SHAKE AGAIN, SO I TURNED JEEP AROUND AND HEADED BACK HOME CALLED FOR A TOW TO GET JEEP TO DEALER. THEY JUST CHECKED LUGS ON TIRES TOOK ON A TEST DRIVE AND SAID IT WAS OK. THEY COULD NOT ANSWER WHY IT SHOOK AND TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO WHERE I BOUGHT JEEP FROM. I TOOK JEEP TO DEALER ON 12-6 2013 THEY SAID WHAT DO I THINK SHOULD BE DONE TO FIGURE OUT WHY IT SHOOK. IM NOT A MECHANIC SO WHAT COULD I SAY, THEY JUST SAID TO LEAVE IT WITH THEM AND THEY WOULD TRY TO FIND OUT WHY IT HAPPENED.

View Details

STEERING

12/4/2013 - KAMUELA, HI
I WAS DRIVING AROUND A CORNER WHICH I DRIVE AROUND AT LEAST 2 TIMES A DAY, MIDWAY THRU THE TURN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND WOULD NOT LET ME TURN IT ... IT JUST JAMMED UP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TURN... I BRAKED AND WATCHED AS I WENT STRAIGHT INTO A GUARDRAIL .. UNABLE TO DO A THING ABOUT THE SITUATION EXCEPT BRACE MYSELF .

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

11/25/2013 - STOCKTON, CA
GOT IN THE VEHICLE - STARTED IT UP - HEARD A FUNNY (WELL, NOT REALLY FUNNY) NOISE AND WATCHED A CRACK APPEAR (AND GROW RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY EYES) IN THE LOWER RIGHT SIDE OF THE WINDSHIELD. DID SOME SEARCHING ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS WAS NOT CAUSED BY A ROCK OR FOREIGN OBJECT - IT HAPPENED RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY EYES. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A REAL PROBLEM IF IT HAD HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/20/2013 - WINTER PARK , FL
I PURCHASED THIS 2014 PATRIOT FOUR WEEKS AGO WITH, I HAVE NOT EVEN MADE A FIRST PAYMENT. YESTERDAY WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT MY JEEP LOST ALL POWER. I WAS SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND WOULD HIT THE GAS PEDAL AND NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING THAT IS WAS GOING TO STALL, NO INDICATOR LIGHTS EVER TURNED ON. I PLACED THE JEEP IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION. TURNED IT BACK ON, IT WAS NOT IMMEDIATE THERE WAS SOME LAG ON THE START AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TODAY TO BE INSPECTED AFTER A FEW HOURS THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG AND SENT ME ON MY WAY. I HAVE INVESTIGATED FURTHER AND FOUND THAT THE 2011/2012 MODELS HAVE BEEN INVESTIGATED FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM IN THE PAST. THIS IS A TERRIFYING AND DANGEROUS OCCURRENCE THAT MUST BE RESOLVED. I AM NOW FEARFUL THAT THIS WILL REOCCUR IN MUCH MORE CONGESTED OR HIGH SPEED CONDITIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2013 - WINTER PARK , FL
I PURCHASED THIS 2014 PATRIOT FOUR WEEKS AGO WITH, I HAVE NOT EVEN MADE A FIRST PAYMENT. YESTERDAY WHILE DRIVING IN A PARKING LOT MY JEEP LOST ALL POWER. I WAS SHIFTED INTO DRIVE AND WOULD HIT THE GAS PEDAL AND NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN. THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING THAT IS WAS GOING TO STALL, NO INDICATOR LIGHTS EVER TURNED ON. I PLACED THE JEEP IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION. TURNED IT BACK ON, IT WAS NOT IMMEDIATE THERE WAS SOME LAG ON THE START AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TODAY TO BE INSPECTED AFTER A FEW HOURS THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG AND SENT ME ON MY WAY. I HAVE INVESTIGATED FURTHER AND FOUND THAT THE 2011/2012 MODELS HAVE BEEN INVESTIGATED FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM IN THE PAST. THIS IS A TERRIFYING AND DANGEROUS OCCURRENCE THAT MUST BE RESOLVED. I AM NOW FEARFUL THAT THIS WILL REOCCUR IN MUCH MORE CONGESTED OR HIGH SPEED CONDITIONS.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds