Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 75 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (16) Structure (4) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2016 - ALAMEDA, CA
MY CAR WOULD NOT START, THERE WAS STILL POWER TO THE LIGHTS AND RADIO. MY JEEP HAS ONLY 20,673 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN DECEMBER 2013. IT IS STILL UNDER MANUFACTURER WARRANTY. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE CLOSEST CHRYSLER DEALER. SAN LEANDRO CHRYSLER IS WHERE I BOUGHT IT AND HAVE IT SERVICED REGULARLY. I PURCHASED THE SERVICE CONTRACT FROM THE DEALER. THEY TOOK 5 BUSINESS DAYS TO LOOK AT IT. I HAD TO PAY FOR A RENTAL CAR OUT OF MY OWN POCKET. THE SERVICE TECH DETERMINED IT WAS THE WCM WAS NON RESPONSIVE. THEY SAID SINCE I HAD AN AFTERMARKET ALARM THE WARRANTY WAS VOID. I HAD THE ALARM INSTALLED BY AN ALARM SPECIALIST. THEY CHARGED ME $185 FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC, AND MY CAR STILL DID NOT WORK. I DID A GOOGLE SEARCH FOR WCM. IT TURNS OUT THIS PROBLEM GOES BACK TO 2008 IN JEEP, CHRYSLER AND DODGE VEHICLES. ONE OF THE FORUMS RECOMMENDED I DISCONNECT THE BATTERY OR A CERTAIN FUSE. I DID THAT, THE CAR STARTED RIGHT UP ! I TOLD THE SERVICE MANAGER AND HE SAID THAT HE WAS NOT GOING TO REFUND MY MONEY. THIS WCM CAN ONLY BE INSTALLED BY A DEALER BECAUSE IT HAS TO MATCH THE VIN #. THIS PART SHOULD BE RECALLED ! YOUR VEHICLE COULD JUST TURN OFF WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING IT !

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/18/2015 - WAUKESHA, WI
VEHICLE INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON COLLISION COMBINED IMPACT OF ABOUT 40 MPH. DRIVER ENDED UP OUT OF SEAT DRAPED OVER STEERING WHEEL. PHYSICAL EXAM OF DRIVER SHOWED BRUISE ON LEFT CLAVICLE AREA INDICATING SHOULDER STRAP WAS IN USE. DRIVER SUFFERED SEVERE CONTUSION AND POSSIBLE FRACTURE OF STERNUM. INCIDENT TOOK PLACE ON DECEMBER 3RD, 2015. ACCIDENT REPORT AVAILABLE FROM WAUKESHA COUNTY SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT. INTERSECTION OF ELMHURST AND NORTHVIEW.

View Details

WHEELS

11/17/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND IN REVERSE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE HAD STEAM COMING FROM THE HOOD, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL ODOR, AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 25,069.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/17/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND IN REVERSE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE HAD STEAM COMING FROM THE HOOD, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL ODOR, AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 25,069.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND IN REVERSE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE HAD STEAM COMING FROM THE HOOD, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL ODOR, AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE HAD OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 25,069.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2015 - HENDRSON, NV
SINCE MARCH OF 2015 THE CAR HAS EXPERIENCED 43 NON-STARTS. WHEN YOU INSERT THE KEY AND TURN IT TO START THE ONLY THING THAT HAPPENS IS THE DASH LIGHTS COME ON. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP 4 TIMES AND EACH TIME THE DEALER CANT FIND A PROBLEM. THE LAST TIME THE CAR WAS IN THE DEALERSHIP ADMITTED THE CAR HAS A PROBLEM AS STATED IN IN STAR REPORT. CHRYSLER DOES NOT HAVE A FIX AND WONT UNTIL THE EARLIEST OF 1ST QTR OF 2016. THE CONDITION IS CALLED A SKIM OUT AND IF IT DOESNT START AFTER 6 TRIES IT WILL NOT START FOR 12-24 HOURS LEAVING THE DRIVER STRANDED

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/29/2015 - 2639 1/4 HURON ST., CA
FIRST DAY ,I DROVE OUT OF DEALER,WITH MY NEW JEEP PATRIOT,A ROLLING NOISE WAS COMING FROM MY WHEELS,NEVER IN OTHER AUTOS I HERD,SUCH A LOUD BEARING NOISE,AS I DRIVE. I THOUGHT IT WAS NORMAL,BUT I HAD TO CLOSE MY WINDOWS,THINKING THAT IT WILL HELP. AS TIME GOES,WITH 30,000 MILES IS GETTING WORSE!,IT SOUNDS LIKE A THOUS OLD METAL SKATE BOARDS,WITH METAL ROLLING WHEEL BEARINGS. I TURNED OFF MY ENGINE,I PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL,COAST DOWN IN A DOWN SLOPED STREET,AND THE LAUD BEARING NOISE IS THERE. I JACK MY CAR UP,WITH MY FLOOR JACK,PUT STANDS,TURNED WHEELS BY HAND ,NO BEARING NOISE!.START ENGINE,WHILE IN JACKS,PUT IN DRIVE,NOISE AND JERK AT 25 MPH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/29/2015 - 2639 1/4 HURON ST., CA
FIRST DAY ,I DROVE OUT OF DEALER,WITH MY NEW JEEP PATRIOT,A ROLLING NOISE WAS COMING FROM MY WHEELS,NEVER IN OTHER AUTOS I HERD,SUCH A LOUD BEARING NOISE,AS I DRIVE. I THOUGHT IT WAS NORMAL,BUT I HAD TO CLOSE MY WINDOWS,THINKING THAT IT WILL HELP. AS TIME GOES,WITH 30,000 MILES IS GETTING WORSE!,IT SOUNDS LIKE A THOUS OLD METAL SKATE BOARDS,WITH METAL ROLLING WHEEL BEARINGS. I TURNED OFF MY ENGINE,I PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL,COAST DOWN IN A DOWN SLOPED STREET,AND THE LAUD BEARING NOISE IS THERE. I JACK MY CAR UP,WITH MY FLOOR JACK,PUT STANDS,TURNED WHEELS BY HAND ,NO BEARING NOISE!.START ENGINE,WHILE IN JACKS,PUT IN DRIVE,NOISE AND JERK AT 25 MPH.

View Details

WHEELS

10/29/2015 - 2639 1/4 HURON ST., CA
FIRST DAY ,I DROVE OUT OF DEALER,WITH MY NEW JEEP PATRIOT,A ROLLING NOISE WAS COMING FROM MY WHEELS,NEVER IN OTHER AUTOS I HERD,SUCH A LOUD BEARING NOISE,AS I DRIVE. I THOUGHT IT WAS NORMAL,BUT I HAD TO CLOSE MY WINDOWS,THINKING THAT IT WILL HELP. AS TIME GOES,WITH 30,000 MILES IS GETTING WORSE!,IT SOUNDS LIKE A THOUS OLD METAL SKATE BOARDS,WITH METAL ROLLING WHEEL BEARINGS. I TURNED OFF MY ENGINE,I PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL,COAST DOWN IN A DOWN SLOPED STREET,AND THE LAUD BEARING NOISE IS THERE. I JACK MY CAR UP,WITH MY FLOOR JACK,PUT STANDS,TURNED WHEELS BY HAND ,NO BEARING NOISE!.START ENGINE,WHILE IN JACKS,PUT IN DRIVE,NOISE AND JERK AT 25 MPH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2015 - SAN MARTIN, CA
MY CAR HAS STALLED COMPLETELY OVER A DOZEN TIMES WHILE DRIVING OR EVEN JUST FROM BEING PARKED AND TRYING TO MOVE FORWARD OR BACKWARD. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER WAS AFTER I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. I TURNED ON MY EMERGENCY LIGHTS AND MOVED TO THE LEFT SHOULDER. THANKFULLY OTHER VEHICLES REALIZED SOMETHING WAS WRONG AND LET ME MOVE OUT OF THE WAY. I COULD'VE HURT SOME ONE ELSE OR MYSELF. I WAS PARKED FOR 5 MINUTES WHEN I TRIED TO START IT AGAIN BUT THE CAR WAS HESITANT. I TRIED AGAIN AND WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE FREEWAY SAFELY AND IT SHUT OFF AGAIN A FEW MILES FROM THERE. I THEN HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER. THEY STATED THAT THERE WERE NO ERROR CODES AND THAT THE CAR WAS OKAY. NOW AGAIN ON OCT 8TH 2015 IT DID IT AGAIN WILL DRIVING ON A CITY STREET. AFTER LETTING IT SIT I WAS ABLE TO GET HOME AND AFTER 20 MINUTES I DROVE IT TO THE DEALER AND IT STALLED AGAIN DOWN THE STREET FROM THE DEALER. I HAD TO GET IT TOWED IN CASE THERE WERE ERROR CODES ON THE SOFTWARE. THEY'VE HAD MY CAR FOR 4 DAYS AND THEY HAVE ALREADY CALLED THAT THERE ARE NO ERROR CODES. THEY HAVE HAD TECHNICIANS TRY TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM BOTH TIMES BUT NO LUCK. I REFUSE TO DRIVE THE CAR. I WILL NOT PUT MY LIFE OR ANY ONE ELSE IN DANGER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds