Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (3) Structure (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2014 - WINCHESTER, VA
I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW, WITH IN THE FIRST WEEK, NOTICED WATER LEAKING INTO CARGO AREA FROM THE DOME LIGHT. TOOK TO DEALER , WAS TOLD IT WAS FIXED THAT IT WAS LEAKING IN AROUND THE ANTENNA. IT NOW LEAKING AGAIN, IS NOT FIXED, HAVING TO TAKE FOR SECOND TIME. THE CAR HAS LESS THAN 2000 MILES, I'VE ONLY HAD ABOUT 2 MONTHS IF THAT. THEY DO NOT PROVIDE ME WITH A LONER VEHICLE, ONLY OFFER TO PAY FOR A RENTAL, WHICH REQUIRES ME TO PUT A DEPOSIT AND TIME OFF WORK TO MAKE IT TO RENTAL COMPANY.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2014 - TUCSON, AZ
MFG AND DEALER INDICATE THAT ALL JEEP PATRIOTS HAVE TRANSMISSION METERING/SENSORING SYSTEM THAT FAILS AND THAT THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO FIX THE THE DEFECTIVE COMPONENTS. THEY SAY THEY'RE NOT ISSUING A SAFETY RECALL BECAUSE THERE HAVEN'T BEEN ENOUGH CRASHES OR FATALITIES. WHEN THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT GOES ON, THE VEHICLE WILL SLOW DOWN SWIFTLY (EX 70MPH TO 20MPH OR FULL STOP) AND THIS IMPACTS VEHICLE SAFETY - PUTTING SAFETY AND LIVES OF THOUSANDS OF JEEP DRIVERS AT RISK, ALONG WITH PASSENGER AND THEIR FAMILIES. ALL MFG AND DEALER TRY TO DO IS COLLECT DIAGNOSTIC TESTING FEE FOR VEHICLE DEFECTS THEY'RE AWARE OF AND HAVE NO FIX FOR. BASICALLY, THEY'RE WILLING TO COLLECT MONEY AND LET PEOPLE CRASH OR DIE. I WAS LAST AFFECTED ON MAY 31, 2014 AND WAS LEFT STRANDED ON THE I-10 IN AZ AT 115 DEGREES IN THE DESERT. I HAVE TO STEER OFF HIGHWAY TO AVOID TRUCKS CRASHING INTO ME. I SUFFERED HEAT EXHAUSTION AND CAN'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE ANYMORE DUE TO SAFETY, STRESS, AND ANXIETY. JIM CLICK DEALERSHIP AND THEIR MFG CUSTOMER CARE MGR STILL TRY TO COLLECT MONEY FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT FULLY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH NO FIX. I'VE DEMANDED THAT THEY RECALL THIS VEHICLE, BUT THEY REFUSE. JIM CLICK SERVICE MGR DAVID SAGERS INDICATES THAT THE MFG IS "TOYING" WITH A SENARIO WHERE THEY LOWER THE TRANSMISSION FLUID LEVELS IN THESE JEEPS, BUT THAT THEY DON'T REALLY THINK THAT WILL BE A FIX. HE SAYS OTHER MODELS ARE ALSO AFFECTED. PLEASE ISSUE A SAFETY RECALL AND IF THERE IS NO FIX, PLEASE HELP GET ME INTO A NEW VEHICLE. PREVIOUSLY, I WAS STRANDED FOR ANOTHER RECALL ISSUE - THE ACTUATOR FLOW CONTROL VALVE 36016 AND THE TECH FOUND CODE P2017 AND A FAULTY INTAKE MANIFOLD VALVE SENSOR. THIS JEEP IS A DEATH TRAP.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/4/2014 - POUND, VA
WAS TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, GLANCED AT THE PASSENGER SIDE MIRROR AND NOTICED GREY SMOKE COMING FROM THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE WITHIN A FEW SECONDS THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON. I STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT BEFORE A SAFE PULL OVER SPOT WAS AVAILABLE. ONCE LIGHT CHANGED TO GREEN, VEHICLE WOULD BARLEY MOVE EVEN WITH INCREASED THROTTLE PRESSURE. GOT THE VEHICLE TO A SAFE SPOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. NOTICED A LOT OF TRANSMISSION FLUID FLOWING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. HAD TO HAVE VEHICLE TOWED TO DEALER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/4/2014 - POUND, VA
WAS TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, GLANCED AT THE PASSENGER SIDE MIRROR AND NOTICED GREY SMOKE COMING FROM THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE WITHIN A FEW SECONDS THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON. I STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT BEFORE A SAFE PULL OVER SPOT WAS AVAILABLE. ONCE LIGHT CHANGED TO GREEN, VEHICLE WOULD BARLEY MOVE EVEN WITH INCREASED THROTTLE PRESSURE. GOT THE VEHICLE TO A SAFE SPOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. NOTICED A LOT OF TRANSMISSION FLUID FLOWING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. HAD TO HAVE VEHICLE TOWED TO DEALER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH THE TRANSMISSION IN THE GEARS WOULD NOT ENGAGE. THE OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATED BRIEFLY AND THE VEHICLE DECELERATED TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,136. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 9,136.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/2/2014 - COVINGTON , WA
DRIVING IN RAIN, WENT THROUGH STANDING WATER ON ROAD. ABS BRAKE LIGHT WENT ON AND STAYED ON. BRAKE ASSIST NO LONGER WORKS. DEALER HAS HAD VEHICLE FOR TWO WEEKS NOW TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/13/2014 - MOLALLA, OR
AFTER A SEVERE RAINSTORM DISCOVERED WATER ON MY DASHBOARD AND LEAKING FROM MY DOME LIGHT PLATE. WATER HAS SHORTED OUT PASSENGER SIDE DOME LIGHT AND AM WORRIED ABOUT FURTHER ELECTRICAL DAMAGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/13/2014 - MOLALLA, OR
AFTER A SEVERE RAINSTORM DISCOVERED WATER ON MY DASHBOARD AND LEAKING FROM MY DOME LIGHT PLATE. WATER HAS SHORTED OUT PASSENGER SIDE DOME LIGHT AND AM WORRIED ABOUT FURTHER ELECTRICAL DAMAGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/7/2014 - BLACKLICK, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A COMMERCIAL TRACTOR TRAILER CRASHED INTO HIS DRIVERS SIDE FRONT FENDER. THE AIG BAG SENSORS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HIS INSURANCE COMPANY. THE CONTACT LEFT KNEE WAS INJURED. THERE WAS A POLICE REPORT FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/7/2013 - INGLEWOOD, CA
WAS DRIVING WITH A TOTAL OF 4 PEOPLE IN JEEP WHEN IT STARTED TO SHAKE REALLY BAD AT 40 MILES MPH I THOUGHT I HAD A FLAT TIRE,WHEN I LOOKED TIRES WERE OK, WHEN I STARTED DRIVING AGAIN IT STARTED TO SHAKE AGAIN, SO I TURNED JEEP AROUND AND HEADED BACK HOME CALLED FOR A TOW TO GET JEEP TO DEALER. THEY JUST CHECKED LUGS ON TIRES TOOK ON A TEST DRIVE AND SAID IT WAS OK. THEY COULD NOT ANSWER WHY IT SHOOK AND TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO WHERE I BOUGHT JEEP FROM. I TOOK JEEP TO DEALER ON 12-6 2013 THEY SAID WHAT DO I THINK SHOULD BE DONE TO FIGURE OUT WHY IT SHOOK. IM NOT A MECHANIC SO WHAT COULD I SAY, THEY JUST SAID TO LEAVE IT WITH THEM AND THEY WOULD TRY TO FIND OUT WHY IT HAPPENED.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds