Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 54 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (9) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (15) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/15/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
TRAVELING EAST ON HY89 AT APPROX 08:30 WITH CC SET AT 70. ON 6% UPHILL GRADE RPM DROPPED TO 2300 AND SPEED TO ABOUT 35, PRESSED ACCELER AND FUEL SHUT OFF. CAR HAS AUTO TRANS WITH CVT TRANS. FIDDLED WITH GEAR SHIFT AND ACCELERATION RESUMED. ON THE WAY BACK HAD SAME EXPERIENCE BUT WHEN RPM STARTED TO DROP, TURNED OFF CC AND OPERATION WAS NORMAL. NO PROBLEMS WITH SMALLER HILLS. MADE SAME TRIP SEVERAL TIMES PRIOR WITH RPM AROUND 3500 AND SPEED ABOUT 60 IN SAME SPOTS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2015 - PHOENIX, AZ
TRAVELING EAST ON HY89 AT APPROX 08:30 WITH CC SET AT 70. ON 6% UPHILL GRADE RPM DROPPED TO 2300 AND SPEED TO ABOUT 35, PRESSED ACCELER AND FUEL SHUT OFF. CAR HAS AUTO TRANS WITH CVT TRANS. FIDDLED WITH GEAR SHIFT AND ACCELERATION RESUMED. ON THE WAY BACK HAD SAME EXPERIENCE BUT WHEN RPM STARTED TO DROP, TURNED OFF CC AND OPERATION WAS NORMAL. NO PROBLEMS WITH SMALLER HILLS. MADE SAME TRIP SEVERAL TIMES PRIOR WITH RPM AROUND 3500 AND SPEED ABOUT 60 IN SAME SPOTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/30/2015 - VANCOUVER, WA
I GO TO START MY 2014 PATRIOT AND WHEN I MOVE IT AND STEP ON MY BRAKE PEDAL WHEN ITS COLD, THE BRAKES SQUEAL. I HAVEN'T HAD ANY PROBLEMS OTHER THAN THAT SO FAR, AND IT NOW HAS ABOUT 1,600 MILES ON IT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2015 - ATTLEBORO, MA
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS I NOTICE THAT WHEN I GO START MY JEEP IT THE ENGINE HAS A BIT OF HESITATION STARTING, WHEN IT STARTS IT LIKE THUMP. ALSO WHILE DRIVE MY VEHICLE SEEM TO INCREASE AN AT TIME DECREASE ON ITS OWN. TODAY I DID A SEARCH ON RECALLS AND FOUND ONE SAFETY RECALL N52. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE RECALL AND WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR MY JEEP. I EXPLAINED THAT NHTSA HAD THE RECALL INFORMATION ON THEIR WEB SITE, AND WAS INFORMED THAT IT IS NOT THE NHTSA WHO PUTS RECALLS. RECALLS ARE VIN SPECIFIC. I'M A LITTLE BAFFLE BY THE WOMAN AT CHRYSLER'S COMMENT, DUE TO THE FACT THAT SHE HAS NO IDEA OF WHAT IS HAPPENING WITH MY VEHICLE. I THANK THE WOMAN AND STATED THAT I HONESTLY HOPE THE INFORMATION GIVEN IS CORRECT AND THAT I AM SAFE ON THE ROADS. PERSONALLY I DON'T TRUST THE MANUFACTURES DUE TO HAVING PAST RECALLS ON VEHICLES AND RECIEVING NO NOTIFICATION. MY QUESTION TO NHTSA IS REGARDING RECALL N52 IS THIS A VIN SPECIFIC RECALL OR IS THIS A RECALL FOR 2014 JEEP PATRIOT OWNERS. I ALSO NOTICE THE ISSUE ANOTHER PERSON HAD WITH THE REAR BRAKE SQUEALING.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2015 - BEAVER FALLS, PA
I WORK FOR THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AND THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED WITH ONE OF OUR SHARED FLEET VEHICLES. ON 5/11/15, I WAS DRIVING A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT FROM PITTSBURGH, PA TO ERIE, PA ON INTERSTATE 79 NORTH. APPROXIMATELY 1 1/2 HOURS INTO THE TRIP, I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH IN THE LEFT LANE AND ATTEMPTING TO PASS ANOTHER CAR. I NOTICED THAT MY VEHICLE WAS QUICKLY LOSING POWER. I WAS UNABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD ON THE LEFT DUE TO AN EMBANKMENT. AFTER SEVERAL CARS AND TRACTOR TRAILERS HAD TO BRAKE AND SWERVE TO PASS ME ON THE RIGHT, I WAS ABLE TO STEER THE CAR INTO THE RIGHT LANE AND OFF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD JUST BEFORE IT STOPPED COMPLETELY. I WAS NOT ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND CALLED FOR A TOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/11/2015 - ALAMEDA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 600. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2015 - WESTMINSTER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S SPEED DECREASED AFTER AN UNKNOWN WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLES SPEED EVENTUALLY INCREASED AFTER DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/2/2015 - PINOLE, CA
I RENTED A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT FROM ONE OF THE RENTAL CAR COMPANIES ON FEB 17 2015 AND USED IT FOR ABOUT FIVE DAYS BEFORE THE FOLLOWING INCIDENT HAPPENED. ON FEB 22 , I WAS DRIVING THE CAR ON I-5 GOING SOUTH. I MADE AN EXIT AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS ON THE FREEWAY TO REFUEL WHICH I DID. IT WAS BRIGHT SUNNY DAY THE TIME WAS AROUND NOON. I MOVED AWAY FROM THE GAS PUMP AND WANTED TO PARK IT BEHIND THE GAS STATION. I FOUND A SPACE BETWEEN TWO CARS AND AS I WAS SLOWLY MOVING TOWARDS THE PARKING SPACE THE CAR ACCELERATED AT AN INCREDIBLE SPEED, BROKE INTO A FENCE OF A PRIVATE RESIDENCE, THEN HIT A PLAY HOUSE (FOR CHILDREN) AND LANDED IN THE SWIMMING POOL. BECAUSE OF MY IGNORANCE ABOUT SUCH INCIDENCES WHEREBY CARS SELF-ACCELERATE, I THOUGHT I MIGHT HAVE ACCIDENTALLY STEPPED ON THE GAS AND WHEN THE POLICE ARRIVED AT THE SCENE AND ASKED ME WHAT HAPPENED, I SAID, "MAY BE I STEPPED ON THE GAS". UPON DISCUSSING THIS MATTER WITH FRIENDS AND CHECKING ON THE INTERNET, I DISCOVERED THAT CARS ACCELERATED ON THEIR OWN FROM TIME TO TIME. I HAVE NO DOUBT IN MY MIND NOW THAT THE JEEP PATRIOT JUST DID THAT. I HAVE OVER 40 YEARS OF DRIVING EXPERIENCE AND I DON'T REMEMBER A SINGLE INSTANCE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS PEDAL WHILE TRYING TO BRING A CAR TO A STOP. THE RENTAL CAR COMPANY SAID THAT THEY HAD THE CAR INSPECTED AND SENT ME A LETTER THEY RECEIVED FROM THE MANUFACTURER STATING THEY DID NOT FIND ANY MALFUNCTION PROBLEM. THE CAR WAS IMMERSED IN THE POOL ABOUT HALF WAY AND I AM NOT EVEN SURE HOW THE INSPECTION CAN YIELD A RELIABLE RESULT FOR A CAR PULLED OUT OF A SWIMMING POOL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/2/2015 - PINOLE, CA
I RENTED A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT FROM ONE OF THE RENTAL CAR COMPANIES ON FEB 17 2015 AND USED IT FOR ABOUT FIVE DAYS BEFORE THE FOLLOWING INCIDENT HAPPENED. ON FEB 22 , I WAS DRIVING THE CAR ON I-5 GOING SOUTH. I MADE AN EXIT AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS ON THE FREEWAY TO REFUEL WHICH I DID. IT WAS BRIGHT SUNNY DAY THE TIME WAS AROUND NOON. I MOVED AWAY FROM THE GAS PUMP AND WANTED TO PARK IT BEHIND THE GAS STATION. I FOUND A SPACE BETWEEN TWO CARS AND AS I WAS SLOWLY MOVING TOWARDS THE PARKING SPACE THE CAR ACCELERATED AT AN INCREDIBLE SPEED, BROKE INTO A FENCE OF A PRIVATE RESIDENCE, THEN HIT A PLAY HOUSE (FOR CHILDREN) AND LANDED IN THE SWIMMING POOL. BECAUSE OF MY IGNORANCE ABOUT SUCH INCIDENCES WHEREBY CARS SELF-ACCELERATE, I THOUGHT I MIGHT HAVE ACCIDENTALLY STEPPED ON THE GAS AND WHEN THE POLICE ARRIVED AT THE SCENE AND ASKED ME WHAT HAPPENED, I SAID, "MAY BE I STEPPED ON THE GAS". UPON DISCUSSING THIS MATTER WITH FRIENDS AND CHECKING ON THE INTERNET, I DISCOVERED THAT CARS ACCELERATED ON THEIR OWN FROM TIME TO TIME. I HAVE NO DOUBT IN MY MIND NOW THAT THE JEEP PATRIOT JUST DID THAT. I HAVE OVER 40 YEARS OF DRIVING EXPERIENCE AND I DON'T REMEMBER A SINGLE INSTANCE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS PEDAL WHILE TRYING TO BRING A CAR TO A STOP. THE RENTAL CAR COMPANY SAID THAT THEY HAD THE CAR INSPECTED AND SENT ME A LETTER THEY RECEIVED FROM THE MANUFACTURER STATING THEY DID NOT FIND ANY MALFUNCTION PROBLEM. THE CAR WAS IMMERSED IN THE POOL ABOUT HALF WAY AND I AM NOT EVEN SURE HOW THE INSPECTION CAN YIELD A RELIABLE RESULT FOR A CAR PULLED OUT OF A SWIMMING POOL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/2/2015 - PINOLE, CA
I RENTED A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT FROM ONE OF THE RENTAL CAR COMPANIES ON FEB 17 2015 AND USED IT FOR ABOUT FIVE DAYS BEFORE THE FOLLOWING INCIDENT HAPPENED. ON FEB 22 , I WAS DRIVING THE CAR ON I-5 GOING SOUTH. I MADE AN EXIT AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS ON THE FREEWAY TO REFUEL WHICH I DID. IT WAS BRIGHT SUNNY DAY THE TIME WAS AROUND NOON. I MOVED AWAY FROM THE GAS PUMP AND WANTED TO PARK IT BEHIND THE GAS STATION. I FOUND A SPACE BETWEEN TWO CARS AND AS I WAS SLOWLY MOVING TOWARDS THE PARKING SPACE THE CAR ACCELERATED AT AN INCREDIBLE SPEED, BROKE INTO A FENCE OF A PRIVATE RESIDENCE, THEN HIT A PLAY HOUSE (FOR CHILDREN) AND LANDED IN THE SWIMMING POOL. BECAUSE OF MY IGNORANCE ABOUT SUCH INCIDENCES WHEREBY CARS SELF-ACCELERATE, I THOUGHT I MIGHT HAVE ACCIDENTALLY STEPPED ON THE GAS AND WHEN THE POLICE ARRIVED AT THE SCENE AND ASKED ME WHAT HAPPENED, I SAID, "MAY BE I STEPPED ON THE GAS". UPON DISCUSSING THIS MATTER WITH FRIENDS AND CHECKING ON THE INTERNET, I DISCOVERED THAT CARS ACCELERATED ON THEIR OWN FROM TIME TO TIME. I HAVE NO DOUBT IN MY MIND NOW THAT THE JEEP PATRIOT JUST DID THAT. I HAVE OVER 40 YEARS OF DRIVING EXPERIENCE AND I DON'T REMEMBER A SINGLE INSTANCE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS PEDAL WHILE TRYING TO BRING A CAR TO A STOP. THE RENTAL CAR COMPANY SAID THAT THEY HAD THE CAR INSPECTED AND SENT ME A LETTER THEY RECEIVED FROM THE MANUFACTURER STATING THEY DID NOT FIND ANY MALFUNCTION PROBLEM. THE CAR WAS IMMERSED IN THE POOL ABOUT HALF WAY AND I AM NOT EVEN SURE HOW THE INSPECTION CAN YIELD A RELIABLE RESULT FOR A CAR PULLED OUT OF A SWIMMING POOL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds