Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (23) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (28) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (10) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/12/2016 - NORWOOD, MA
FOR THE PAST 2 WEEKS THE RED LIGHTING BOLT ON MY 2014 JEEP PATRIOT TURNS ON AND OFF, SOMETIMES WHEN THE AC IS ON, AND SOMETIMES WHEN I AM DRIVING MORE THAN 40MPH. TODAY, IT WAS DIFFERENT THE LIGHTING BOLT TURNED ON WHILE DRIVING 20MPH WITH THE AC OFF, IT STARTED FLASHING AND THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE ENGINE STARTING STALLING, THE CAR WENT ONTO PARK MODE WITHOUT ME SWITCHING THE GEAR, THEN IT MOVED FORWARD AND THEN BACKWARDS WHILE ON PARK MODE. THIS IS VERY FRIGHTENING, ESPECIALLY WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY 15MOTHS, AND 9 YEARS OLD TO CAMP. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER, AND THEY SUGGESTED A TUNE-UP. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? THE CAR ONLY HAS 28,000, I DON'T THINK IT NEEDS A TUNE UP. NOW, I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR, AND THE DEALERSHIP DOES NOT KNOW WHAT IS CAUSING SUCH PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/4/2016 - HOPE, KY
THIS VEHICLE IS NOT ON THE RECALL FROM DECEMBER 2014, HOWEVER IS PRESENTING WITH THE SAME AS LISTED PROBLEMS. IT STALLS WHEN DRIVING OVER 65 MILES AN HOUR A LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN AFTER CAR SITS 20 MIN IT WILL START UP AGAIN. I DRIVE A LOT AND HAVE A FAMIL.. THIS IS TERRIBLY DANGEROUS. IT HAS HAPPENED 2 TO 3 TIMES IN THE PAST COUPLE OF WEEKS

View Details

ENGINE

7/4/2016 - HOPE, KY
THIS VEHICLE IS NOT ON THE RECALL FROM DECEMBER 2014, HOWEVER IS PRESENTING WITH THE SAME AS LISTED PROBLEMS. IT STALLS WHEN DRIVING OVER 65 MILES AN HOUR A LIGHT COMES ON AND THEN AFTER CAR SITS 20 MIN IT WILL START UP AGAIN. I DRIVE A LOT AND HAVE A FAMIL.. THIS IS TERRIBLY DANGEROUS. IT HAS HAPPENED 2 TO 3 TIMES IN THE PAST COUPLE OF WEEKS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/29/2016 - DENVER, CO
CVT TRANSMISSION OVERHEATS CAUSING CAR TO LOSE POWER. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/28/2016 - STROUDSBURG, PA
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE WITH 34, 000 MILES DEC 2015. IT RAN WELL UNTIL 3000 MI INTO DRIVING IT, SOME DAYS IT WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD TAKE ME MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS OF TURNING THE IGNITION......NO CRANKING .....JUST NOTHING. SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER I PURCHASED IT FROM AND THEY SAID IT STARTED FINE, NO PROBLEMS. WELL IT CONTINUED TO OCCUR WITHOUT ANY NOTICE AND I RETURNED TO THE DEALER 5000 MI. LATER AND THEY SAID FOR AN XTRA $40.00 THEY COULD PERFORM A DIAGNOSTIC TEST! I EXPLAINED I FELT THEY SHOULD DO THAT AT THEIR EXPENSE SINCE I ONLY BOUGHT THE CAR IN DEC. THEY DECLINED AND SAID IF I WERE CHANGE MY MIND THEY WOULD RUN A TEST.....6 MONTHS LATER THE CAR SOMETIMES STARTS AND NOW ITS LOOSING POWER ON HILLS AND HIGHWAY.....POOR PICKUP....IM FEDUP AND READY TO SELL THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS CAR THAT IM PAYING FOR AND CANT EVEN DEPEND ON IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/28/2016 - STROUDSBURG, PA
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE WITH 34, 000 MILES DEC 2015. IT RAN WELL UNTIL 3000 MI INTO DRIVING IT, SOME DAYS IT WOULD NOT START. IT WOULD TAKE ME MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS OF TURNING THE IGNITION......NO CRANKING .....JUST NOTHING. SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER I PURCHASED IT FROM AND THEY SAID IT STARTED FINE, NO PROBLEMS. WELL IT CONTINUED TO OCCUR WITHOUT ANY NOTICE AND I RETURNED TO THE DEALER 5000 MI. LATER AND THEY SAID FOR AN XTRA $40.00 THEY COULD PERFORM A DIAGNOSTIC TEST! I EXPLAINED I FELT THEY SHOULD DO THAT AT THEIR EXPENSE SINCE I ONLY BOUGHT THE CAR IN DEC. THEY DECLINED AND SAID IF I WERE CHANGE MY MIND THEY WOULD RUN A TEST.....6 MONTHS LATER THE CAR SOMETIMES STARTS AND NOW ITS LOOSING POWER ON HILLS AND HIGHWAY.....POOR PICKUP....IM FEDUP AND READY TO SELL THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS CAR THAT IM PAYING FOR AND CANT EVEN DEPEND ON IT.

View Details

WHEELS: CAP/COVER/HUB

6/22/2016 - RITZVILLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR WHEEL HUB SEIZED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/16/2016 - GAMERCO, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS GREATER THAN 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN JERKING AND HESITATING BEFORE LOSING POWER AND SHUTTING OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2016 - LAKEWOOD, CO
I REALLY HATE THAT I HAVE SO MANY ISSUES WITH THE CONSOLE ELECTRICAL IN MY CAR. MOSTLY RADIO/AUX/CHARGER/STARTER. SINCE ABOUT A WEEK AFTER I GOT THE CAR, AND OF CORSE AFTER 3 DAYS ITS NOT RETURNABLE. I MESSED UP BUYING IT BRAND-NEW, BUT I WAS EXCITED SINCE MY CAR BEFORE THAT WAS MY FIRST CAR THAT I HAD BOUGHT IN HIGH SCHOOL. I HAD TO HAVE THE CHARGER UNIT REPLACED SO I COULD CHARGE MY PHONE. AT THE TIME I WAS STATIONED 3 HOURS FROM HOME, SO I FREQUENTLY MADE THE TRIP AND NEEDED MY PHONE CHARGED FOR THE GPS. IT'S NOT THAT IT WOULDN'T CHARGE, BUT THE CHARGER HAD TO BE "TURNED" A SPECIFIC WAY. IT WASN'T THE CHARGER.. I TRIED COUNTLESS. RECENTLY, WITHIN THE LAST YEAR, I NOTICED THAT THE AUX IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. AND YES, I'VE TRIED MULTIPLE PHONES AND AUX CORDS, BUT THE CORD HAS TO BE TURNED A "CERTAIN WAY" IN THE HOLE TO WORK. IT PISSED ME OFF BECAUSE I HAD TO PAY TO HAVE MY CHARGER REPLACED, AND I'M SURE I'LL HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE THIS REPLACED TOO. OH, AND THE STARTER. (OR I THINK ITS THE STARTER) ABOUT A YEAR AGO, I HAVE TO TURN THE KEY AND HOLD IT FOR A SECOND TO GET MY CAR TO START SOMETIMES.. ITS SO IRRITATING.. I LEARNED MY LESSON WITH BUYING NEW CARS. THE WARRANTIES COVER NOTHING AND THEY HAVE MORE ISSUES THEN THE OLD CAMARO I BOUGHT FOR MY FIRST CAR :/

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/23/2016 - TAMARAC, FL
SINCE DAY ONE OF PURCHASING THE PATRIOT MY VEHICLE HAS HAD NON-STOP ISSUES, MORE RECENTLY ALMOST RESULTING IN THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER BEING INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH AN 18 WHEELER AFTER THE VEHICLE WENT FROM 80MPH TO 40MPH IN LESS THAN 5 MINUTES, TRANSMISSION FLUID LIGHT CAME ON AND RPMS STAYED AT 4200. THE CAR MADE A RIDICULOUS SCREAMING NOISE AND THIS WAS AFTER THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY VEHICLE FOR 2 WEEKS (THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN FOR THE ABOVE PROBLEM) AND NOW IT IS AT THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN WHERE I AM BEING TOLD THERE ISN'T ANYTHING THEY CAN DO. THE VEHICLE HAS HAD NEW STRUTS (COMPLAINED ABOUT A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING LEFT AND SHOCKINGLY THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM UNTIL THE THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN), NEW BRAKE SENSOR SWITCH AFTER THEY ALSO FOUND THE MASTER WAS LEAKING INTO THE BOOSTER AND THEN THEY FOUND THE SENSOR SWITCH BAD -THAT WAS OCTOBER OF 2015, APRIL 23RD 2016 THEY SAID THAT HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THAT WAS WHAT WAS CAUSING THE TRANSMISSION ISSUE - I MAY BE A GIRL BUT I"M NOT STUPID (THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME I BROUGHT IT IN FOR THE TRANS. ISSUE). IT'S HAD A NEW RADIO AND TELEMATIC MODULES 5 TIMES, NEW ANTENNA, NEW TIRE SENSORS, MOLDING, DOOR PANEL, ETC. THIS CAR WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO HAVE THESE ISSUES AND JEEP/CHRYSLER GROUP ARE TELLING ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION IS OBVIOUSLY OVER HEATING GOING INTO "LIMP" MODE RESULTING IN THE VEHICLE STAYING IN 4TH GEAR AND LOOSING SPEED - THIS VEHICLE IS A COFFIN ON WHEELS AND I WAS TOLD THIS WAS RELIABLE. WE HAVE EVERYTHING ON VIDEO THAT HAPPENED AFTER PICKING UP THE CAR FROM THE DEALERSHIP ON MAY 21, 2016 AND AFTER TAKING IT FOR A DRIVE TO ASSURE THE PROBLEM WAS GONE (AGAIN THIRD TIME IT WAS BROUGHT IN). THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT THE COMPUTER RESETS LIKE A LAPTOP WHICH IS WHY THE ERROR CODES GO AWAY AND IS CONTINUING TO FEED US LIES EVEN WITH EVIDENCE IN HAND. MY VEHICLE TERRIFIES ME NOW.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds