Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 22 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine (4) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (4) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/1/2014 - LONGMONT, CO
I AM REPORTING THIS INFORMATION BECAUSE I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF HOW MANY INCIDENTS ARE THE SAME. MY JEEP PATRIOT DOES NOT HANDLE WELL ON GROOVED CONCRETE ROADWAYS. IT SWAYS, QUITE A LOT AND FEELS LIKE I WILL LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE FIRST INCIDENT OF THIS WAS ON HWY 287 NORTH OF LONGMONT, CO. UNFORTUNATELY, THE DEALER SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED IN THE PAST 30 YEARS. I HAVE HAD OTHER INCIDENTS SINCE THE FIRST, JUST YESTERDAY. IT IS VERY HARD TO GO ANYWHERE THAT I AM NOT FAMILIAR OR WHEN ITS DARK, I DON'T KNOW WHEN I WILL ENCOUNTER THIS TYPE OF ROADWAY. IT IS QUITE SCARY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/1/2014 - LONGMONT, CO
I AM REPORTING THIS INFORMATION BECAUSE I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF HOW MANY INCIDENTS ARE THE SAME. MY JEEP PATRIOT DOES NOT HANDLE WELL ON GROOVED CONCRETE ROADWAYS. IT SWAYS, QUITE A LOT AND FEELS LIKE I WILL LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE FIRST INCIDENT OF THIS WAS ON HWY 287 NORTH OF LONGMONT, CO. UNFORTUNATELY, THE DEALER SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN ANY OTHER VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED IN THE PAST 30 YEARS. I HAVE HAD OTHER INCIDENTS SINCE THE FIRST, JUST YESTERDAY. IT IS VERY HARD TO GO ANYWHERE THAT I AM NOT FAMILIAR OR WHEN ITS DARK, I DON'T KNOW WHEN I WILL ENCOUNTER THIS TYPE OF ROADWAY. IT IS QUITE SCARY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/26/2014 - LANCASTER, TX
I NEED YOUR HELP. I SENT TO THE OWNER OF THE FREEDOM JEEP DEALERSHIP BUT, TO DATE, I HAVE NOT RECEIVED A RESPONSE. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE SALES MANAGER FOR THE SECOND TIME ON THE 29TH OF JULY. YESTERDAY, I RECEIVED A CALL FROM HIM STATING THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR! I KNOW THE FUMES FROM THE CAR MADE MY DAUGHTER AND I ILL AND I KNOW THAT THEY ADDED 2K TO THE SALE OF THE CAR WHEN THEY DID THE CONTRACT. I NEED HELP. PLEASE ADVISE. THANK YOU VERY MUCH. JOYCE KING PS I WOULD HAVE ATTACHED A COPY OF THE LETTER, BUT IT IS RATHER LONG AND COULD NOT FIT THIS SPACE. I CAN SEND IT TO YOU VIA EMAIL ATTACHMENT IF YOU WANT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/26/2014 - ANDOVER, MA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR WINDOW SUDDENLY SHATTERED CAUSING GLASS TO SCATTER INSIDE THE VEHICLE. DURING THE INCIDENT THE DRIVER SUFFERED LACERATIONS TO THE LEG, CHEST AND BACK AREA. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT NO INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,800. JFT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/20/2014 - SURFSIDE BEACH, SC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, WHEN THE VEHICLE SHIFTED FROM DRIVE TO 4TH GEAR WITHOUT BEING TOUCHED.THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE HAS AN OPTION TO MANUALLY SHIFT THROUGH THE SEVEN GEARS BY BUMPING THE SHIFTER SIDEWAYS. BUT NOTHING HAD CAME IN CONTACT WITH THE SHIFTER WHEN IT HAPPENED. IT HAS SINCE THIS FIRST INCIDENT, SHIFTED INTO LOWER GEARS MULTIPLE TIMES AND LEAVING THE RPMS NEAR OR IN RED LINES. THE ONLY WAY TO GET IT BACK INTO NORMAL DRIVING IS TO PULL THE SHIFTER UP INTO NEUTRAL AND BACK DOWN INTO DRIVE. IT WILL ALSO DE-ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE QUICKLY WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND PUT IT ON THE BRAKE TO SHIFT BACK INTO NORMAL DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/20/2014 - SURFSIDE BEACH, SC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, WHEN THE VEHICLE SHIFTED FROM DRIVE TO 4TH GEAR WITHOUT BEING TOUCHED.THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE HAS AN OPTION TO MANUALLY SHIFT THROUGH THE SEVEN GEARS BY BUMPING THE SHIFTER SIDEWAYS. BUT NOTHING HAD CAME IN CONTACT WITH THE SHIFTER WHEN IT HAPPENED. IT HAS SINCE THIS FIRST INCIDENT, SHIFTED INTO LOWER GEARS MULTIPLE TIMES AND LEAVING THE RPMS NEAR OR IN RED LINES. THE ONLY WAY TO GET IT BACK INTO NORMAL DRIVING IS TO PULL THE SHIFTER UP INTO NEUTRAL AND BACK DOWN INTO DRIVE. IT WILL ALSO DE-ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE QUICKLY WHEN YOU TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND PUT IT ON THE BRAKE TO SHIFT BACK INTO NORMAL DRIVING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - BREVARD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE AND THE PASSENGER'S SIDE PANEL AIR BAGS DEPLOYED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER HAD BEEN NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/14/2014 - THERMAL, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND THE TEMPERATURE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DESIGNED TO SHUT OFF WHEN IT OVERHEATS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,076.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/14/2014 - MILLBOURNE, PA
ON THIS DAY WHILE DRIVING ON 95 SOUTH TO FRANKLIN MILLS MALL FROM UPPER DARBY WE NOTICED AN ELECTRICAL BURNING SMELL. ONCE I WAS AT THE MALL PARKING LOT LOOKING FOR A PARKING SPACE MY SON INDICATES THAT THERE IS SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER HOOD ON PASSENGER SIDE. I PUT CAR IN PARK IN FRONT OF THE J C PENNEY STORE MY SON JUMPS OUT AND ATTEMPTS TO OPEN THE HOOD. BUT IT DOESN'T OPEN. HE THEN SAYS GET OUT IT IS ON FIRE. WE ALL GET OUT AND WHEN WE MOVE SAFELY AWAY FROM CAR WE CAN SEE FIRE UNDER THE CAR WITH WIRES HANGING DOWN TO THE GROUND. MY SON IS A VOLUNTEER FIRE FIGHTER SO HE RAN INTO THE STORE TO GET AN EXTINGUISHER. HE SPRAYS THE HOOD I GUESS IN AN ATTEMPT TO COOL CAR DOWN. THEN AGAIN, BEFORE THE FIRE TRUCKS ARRIVE, HE HAD GONE INTO STORE AGAIN TO GET ANOTHER EXTINGUISHER. THIS TIME HE GETS ON THE GROUND AN EXTINGUISHER TOWARD THE FIRE THAT WAS INTENSIVELY SPREADING UNDER THE CAR. FIRE FIGHTERS COME AND EVENTUALLY HAD TO PRY THE HOOD OPEN AND SMOKE AND FLAMES BILLOW OUT UTIL THE MANAGED TO PUT OUT FIRE. NO WARNINGS HOWEVER I DID NOTICE THAT ELECTRICAL BURN SMELL ONCE TWO DAYS PRIOR TO INCIDENT. SO NOW MY INSURANCE DETERMINE IT A TOTAL LOSS. THEY PAID $17,000 TO MY CREDITOR BUT I'M STUCK WITH A $6000 BALANCE AND NO CAR TO DRIVE. I WONDER IF I CAN SUE MANUFACTURER IN SMALL CLAIMS COURT FOR @ $10,000 OR SO?

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - KNIGHTDALE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER REPLACED THE OIL SENSOR AND THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds