Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 93 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (21) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (10) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS: CAP/COVER/HUB

6/22/2016 - RITZVILLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE REAR WHEEL HUB SEIZED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/16/2016 - GAMERCO, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS GREATER THAN 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN JERKING AND HESITATING BEFORE LOSING POWER AND SHUTTING OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2016 - LAKEWOOD, CO
I REALLY HATE THAT I HAVE SO MANY ISSUES WITH THE CONSOLE ELECTRICAL IN MY CAR. MOSTLY RADIO/AUX/CHARGER/STARTER. SINCE ABOUT A WEEK AFTER I GOT THE CAR, AND OF CORSE AFTER 3 DAYS ITS NOT RETURNABLE. I MESSED UP BUYING IT BRAND-NEW, BUT I WAS EXCITED SINCE MY CAR BEFORE THAT WAS MY FIRST CAR THAT I HAD BOUGHT IN HIGH SCHOOL. I HAD TO HAVE THE CHARGER UNIT REPLACED SO I COULD CHARGE MY PHONE. AT THE TIME I WAS STATIONED 3 HOURS FROM HOME, SO I FREQUENTLY MADE THE TRIP AND NEEDED MY PHONE CHARGED FOR THE GPS. IT'S NOT THAT IT WOULDN'T CHARGE, BUT THE CHARGER HAD TO BE "TURNED" A SPECIFIC WAY. IT WASN'T THE CHARGER.. I TRIED COUNTLESS. RECENTLY, WITHIN THE LAST YEAR, I NOTICED THAT THE AUX IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. AND YES, I'VE TRIED MULTIPLE PHONES AND AUX CORDS, BUT THE CORD HAS TO BE TURNED A "CERTAIN WAY" IN THE HOLE TO WORK. IT PISSED ME OFF BECAUSE I HAD TO PAY TO HAVE MY CHARGER REPLACED, AND I'M SURE I'LL HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE THIS REPLACED TOO. OH, AND THE STARTER. (OR I THINK ITS THE STARTER) ABOUT A YEAR AGO, I HAVE TO TURN THE KEY AND HOLD IT FOR A SECOND TO GET MY CAR TO START SOMETIMES.. ITS SO IRRITATING.. I LEARNED MY LESSON WITH BUYING NEW CARS. THE WARRANTIES COVER NOTHING AND THEY HAVE MORE ISSUES THEN THE OLD CAMARO I BOUGHT FOR MY FIRST CAR :/

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2016 - TAMARAC, FL
SINCE DAY ONE OF PURCHASING THE PATRIOT MY VEHICLE HAS HAD NON-STOP ISSUES, MORE RECENTLY ALMOST RESULTING IN THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER BEING INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH AN 18 WHEELER AFTER THE VEHICLE WENT FROM 80MPH TO 40MPH IN LESS THAN 5 MINUTES, TRANSMISSION FLUID LIGHT CAME ON AND RPMS STAYED AT 4200. THE CAR MADE A RIDICULOUS SCREAMING NOISE AND THIS WAS AFTER THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY VEHICLE FOR 2 WEEKS (THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN FOR THE ABOVE PROBLEM) AND NOW IT IS AT THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN WHERE I AM BEING TOLD THERE ISN'T ANYTHING THEY CAN DO. THE VEHICLE HAS HAD NEW STRUTS (COMPLAINED ABOUT A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING LEFT AND SHOCKINGLY THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM UNTIL THE THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN), NEW BRAKE SENSOR SWITCH AFTER THEY ALSO FOUND THE MASTER WAS LEAKING INTO THE BOOSTER AND THEN THEY FOUND THE SENSOR SWITCH BAD -THAT WAS OCTOBER OF 2015, APRIL 23RD 2016 THEY SAID THAT HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THAT WAS WHAT WAS CAUSING THE TRANSMISSION ISSUE - I MAY BE A GIRL BUT I"M NOT STUPID (THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME I BROUGHT IT IN FOR THE TRANS. ISSUE). IT'S HAD A NEW RADIO AND TELEMATIC MODULES 5 TIMES, NEW ANTENNA, NEW TIRE SENSORS, MOLDING, DOOR PANEL, ETC. THIS CAR WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO HAVE THESE ISSUES AND JEEP/CHRYSLER GROUP ARE TELLING ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION IS OBVIOUSLY OVER HEATING GOING INTO "LIMP" MODE RESULTING IN THE VEHICLE STAYING IN 4TH GEAR AND LOOSING SPEED - THIS VEHICLE IS A COFFIN ON WHEELS AND I WAS TOLD THIS WAS RELIABLE. WE HAVE EVERYTHING ON VIDEO THAT HAPPENED AFTER PICKING UP THE CAR FROM THE DEALERSHIP ON MAY 21, 2016 AND AFTER TAKING IT FOR A DRIVE TO ASSURE THE PROBLEM WAS GONE (AGAIN THIRD TIME IT WAS BROUGHT IN). THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT THE COMPUTER RESETS LIKE A LAPTOP WHICH IS WHY THE ERROR CODES GO AWAY AND IS CONTINUING TO FEED US LIES EVEN WITH EVIDENCE IN HAND. MY VEHICLE TERRIFIES ME NOW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/23/2016 - TAMARAC, FL
SINCE DAY ONE OF PURCHASING THE PATRIOT MY VEHICLE HAS HAD NON-STOP ISSUES, MORE RECENTLY ALMOST RESULTING IN THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER BEING INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH AN 18 WHEELER AFTER THE VEHICLE WENT FROM 80MPH TO 40MPH IN LESS THAN 5 MINUTES, TRANSMISSION FLUID LIGHT CAME ON AND RPMS STAYED AT 4200. THE CAR MADE A RIDICULOUS SCREAMING NOISE AND THIS WAS AFTER THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY VEHICLE FOR 2 WEEKS (THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN FOR THE ABOVE PROBLEM) AND NOW IT IS AT THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN WHERE I AM BEING TOLD THERE ISN'T ANYTHING THEY CAN DO. THE VEHICLE HAS HAD NEW STRUTS (COMPLAINED ABOUT A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING LEFT AND SHOCKINGLY THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM UNTIL THE THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN), NEW BRAKE SENSOR SWITCH AFTER THEY ALSO FOUND THE MASTER WAS LEAKING INTO THE BOOSTER AND THEN THEY FOUND THE SENSOR SWITCH BAD -THAT WAS OCTOBER OF 2015, APRIL 23RD 2016 THEY SAID THAT HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THAT WAS WHAT WAS CAUSING THE TRANSMISSION ISSUE - I MAY BE A GIRL BUT I"M NOT STUPID (THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME I BROUGHT IT IN FOR THE TRANS. ISSUE). IT'S HAD A NEW RADIO AND TELEMATIC MODULES 5 TIMES, NEW ANTENNA, NEW TIRE SENSORS, MOLDING, DOOR PANEL, ETC. THIS CAR WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO HAVE THESE ISSUES AND JEEP/CHRYSLER GROUP ARE TELLING ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION IS OBVIOUSLY OVER HEATING GOING INTO "LIMP" MODE RESULTING IN THE VEHICLE STAYING IN 4TH GEAR AND LOOSING SPEED - THIS VEHICLE IS A COFFIN ON WHEELS AND I WAS TOLD THIS WAS RELIABLE. WE HAVE EVERYTHING ON VIDEO THAT HAPPENED AFTER PICKING UP THE CAR FROM THE DEALERSHIP ON MAY 21, 2016 AND AFTER TAKING IT FOR A DRIVE TO ASSURE THE PROBLEM WAS GONE (AGAIN THIRD TIME IT WAS BROUGHT IN). THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT THE COMPUTER RESETS LIKE A LAPTOP WHICH IS WHY THE ERROR CODES GO AWAY AND IS CONTINUING TO FEED US LIES EVEN WITH EVIDENCE IN HAND. MY VEHICLE TERRIFIES ME NOW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2016 - TAMARAC, FL
SINCE DAY ONE OF PURCHASING THE PATRIOT MY VEHICLE HAS HAD NON-STOP ISSUES, MORE RECENTLY ALMOST RESULTING IN THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER BEING INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT WITH AN 18 WHEELER AFTER THE VEHICLE WENT FROM 80MPH TO 40MPH IN LESS THAN 5 MINUTES, TRANSMISSION FLUID LIGHT CAME ON AND RPMS STAYED AT 4200. THE CAR MADE A RIDICULOUS SCREAMING NOISE AND THIS WAS AFTER THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY VEHICLE FOR 2 WEEKS (THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN FOR THE ABOVE PROBLEM) AND NOW IT IS AT THE DEALERSHIP AGAIN WHERE I AM BEING TOLD THERE ISN'T ANYTHING THEY CAN DO. THE VEHICLE HAS HAD NEW STRUTS (COMPLAINED ABOUT A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING LEFT AND SHOCKINGLY THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM UNTIL THE THIRD TIME BRINGING IT IN), NEW BRAKE SENSOR SWITCH AFTER THEY ALSO FOUND THE MASTER WAS LEAKING INTO THE BOOSTER AND THEN THEY FOUND THE SENSOR SWITCH BAD -THAT WAS OCTOBER OF 2015, APRIL 23RD 2016 THEY SAID THAT HAD TO BE REPLACED AND THAT WAS WHAT WAS CAUSING THE TRANSMISSION ISSUE - I MAY BE A GIRL BUT I"M NOT STUPID (THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME I BROUGHT IT IN FOR THE TRANS. ISSUE). IT'S HAD A NEW RADIO AND TELEMATIC MODULES 5 TIMES, NEW ANTENNA, NEW TIRE SENSORS, MOLDING, DOOR PANEL, ETC. THIS CAR WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO HAVE THESE ISSUES AND JEEP/CHRYSLER GROUP ARE TELLING ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION IS OBVIOUSLY OVER HEATING GOING INTO "LIMP" MODE RESULTING IN THE VEHICLE STAYING IN 4TH GEAR AND LOOSING SPEED - THIS VEHICLE IS A COFFIN ON WHEELS AND I WAS TOLD THIS WAS RELIABLE. WE HAVE EVERYTHING ON VIDEO THAT HAPPENED AFTER PICKING UP THE CAR FROM THE DEALERSHIP ON MAY 21, 2016 AND AFTER TAKING IT FOR A DRIVE TO ASSURE THE PROBLEM WAS GONE (AGAIN THIRD TIME IT WAS BROUGHT IN). THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THAT THE COMPUTER RESETS LIKE A LAPTOP WHICH IS WHY THE ERROR CODES GO AWAY AND IS CONTINUING TO FEED US LIES EVEN WITH EVIDENCE IN HAND. MY VEHICLE TERRIFIES ME NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/20/2016 - MIFFLINTOWN, PA
I'VE HAD MY VEHICLE SINCE NEW IN 2014 AND FOR THE FIRST YEAR OF HAVING THE VEHICLE I TRAVELED 50 MILES ONE WAY TO WORK EVERY DAY, SO I PUT A LOT OF MILES ON THE VEHICLE BUT MAINLY HIGHWAY MILES. I'VE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE UNTIL A MONTH AGO. I WENT TO GO TO WORK AND THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, AN TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS CAME ON. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE BECAUSE OF THE ETC LIGHT. THE ENGINE PULSATED AND REVVED STEADY AT 4,000 RPMS UNTIL I SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF. I TOOK IT TO A CHRYSLER DEALER AND THEY REPLACED THE PCM. I GOT MY VEHICLE BACK AND IT WORKED FINE FOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS. UPON GETTING GAS THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. ALL THE LIGHTS AND THE RADIO WORKED BUT IT WOULD NOT CLICK, CRANK, OR TURN OVER. I FINALLY WAS ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE AND IT RAN FINE FOR 3 DAYS AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED IN A PARKING LOT. I TOOK IT TO ANOTHER CHRYSLER DEALER AND HAD YET ANOTHER PCM PUT IN IT. THE VEHICLE IS STILL AT THE CHRYSLER DEALER AND I'VE BEEN WITHOUT IT AND DRIVING A RENTAL FOR ALMOST A WEEK NOW. I'VE CONTACTED CHRYSLER AND UPON ASKING THEM WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN IF THE ISSUE PERSISTS, THEY COULD ONLY SAY THEY'LL CONTINUE TO DIAGNOSE IT AND FIX IT. I HAVE A 2 YEAR OLD AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO BE DRIVING AN LET SIT ALONG THE SIDE OF THE ROAD IF I DECIDE TO TAKE HIM SOMEWHERE FARTHER AWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2016 - MIMS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DIRECTLY RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V552000 (ENGINE); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/17/2016 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
THIS IS THE 4TH TIME THAT MY JEEP THAT WAS PURCHASED IN JANUARY 2015 HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION. MY TRANSMISSION IS LOSING POWER AND SLIPPING. A VERY LOUD GRINDING NOISE STARTED AND EVERY MILE THAT I DROVE IT GRADUALLY GOT WORSE CAUSING IT TO LOSE POWER. I WAS TOLD IF PROBLEM IS NOT FIXED THE VEHICLE WILL END UP SHUTTING OFF ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. THUS CREATING A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE AS IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. WHEN IS A VEHICLE CONSIDERED A LEMON? I DON'T WANT TO WAIT UNTIL SOMETHING LIFE THREATENING HAPPENS WITH MY FAMILY , FRIENDS, OR CUSTOMERS ARE IN MY VEHICLE. THIS IS THE 4TH TIME THAT I HAVE LOST MONEY FROM IT BEING IN THE SHOP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/16/2016 - COPIAGUE, NY
"TAKATA RECALL" I BELIEVE MY SON DIED IN A CRASH CAUSED BY A FAULTY TAKATA AIRBAG. MY SON HIT A TREE WHILE SEAT BELTED IN AND HAD NO BODILY INJURIES EXCEPT FOR A SCRATCH ON HIS LEG. I BELIEVE THAT THE SIDE AIR DEPLOYED SENDING A SHARP METAL OBJECT UNDER HIS LEFT ARM SEVERING HIS ARTERY, WHICH CAUSED HIM TO BLEED OUT AND DIED. THERE WAS NO OTHER CAUSE FOR HIS ARTERY TO BE SEVERED, EXCEPT FOR THE AIRBAG CAUSING A PIECE OF METAL TO SEVER HIS ARTERY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds