Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP PATRIOT - 2014 JEEP PATRIOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 44 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP PATRIOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine (12) Power Train (8) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (12) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I HAD JUST EXITED THE HIGHWAY WHEN I SAW SPARKS FROM THE TAIL END OF MY JEEP. I THOUGHT SOMEONE HAD THROWN OUT A CIGARETTE, BUT THEN I SAW MORE SPARKS FLY. I PULLED OVER IMMEDIATELY INTO A GAS STATION. I TURNED OFF THE CAR, WHICH HAD STARTED TO SMOKE FROM UNDER THE HOOD. WITHIN A FEW MINUTES THE WHOLE HOOD WAS ENGULFED IN SMOKE AND IT WAS COMING IN TO THE INSIDE OF THE JEEP THROUGH THE AIR VENTS. I CALLED MY BROTHER FOR HELP. WHEN HE GOT THERE THERE WAS STILL SMOKE, BUT HE LOOKED THROUGH THE GRILL OF THE JEEP AND THAT'S WHEN HE SAW FLAMES. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911 AND WITHIN MINUTES THE FIREFIGHTERS WERE THERE AND HOSED DOWN UNDER THE HOOD. I HAVE HAD THE JEEP SITTING IN A SHOP LOT WAITING FOR CHRYSLER TO HELP ME, BUT IT HAS BEEN 2 WEEKS AND I AM STILL WITHOUT A CAR AND NO ANSWERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I HAD JUST EXITED THE HIGHWAY WHEN I SAW SPARKS FROM THE TAIL END OF MY JEEP. I THOUGHT SOMEONE HAD THROWN OUT A CIGARETTE, BUT THEN I SAW MORE SPARKS FLY. I PULLED OVER IMMEDIATELY INTO A GAS STATION. I TURNED OFF THE CAR, WHICH HAD STARTED TO SMOKE FROM UNDER THE HOOD. WITHIN A FEW MINUTES THE WHOLE HOOD WAS ENGULFED IN SMOKE AND IT WAS COMING IN TO THE INSIDE OF THE JEEP THROUGH THE AIR VENTS. I CALLED MY BROTHER FOR HELP. WHEN HE GOT THERE THERE WAS STILL SMOKE, BUT HE LOOKED THROUGH THE GRILL OF THE JEEP AND THAT'S WHEN HE SAW FLAMES. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911 AND WITHIN MINUTES THE FIREFIGHTERS WERE THERE AND HOSED DOWN UNDER THE HOOD. I HAVE HAD THE JEEP SITTING IN A SHOP LOT WAITING FOR CHRYSLER TO HELP ME, BUT IT HAS BEEN 2 WEEKS AND I AM STILL WITHOUT A CAR AND NO ANSWERS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/19/2015 - ORANGE, NJ
BRAKES MAKE A LOUD SCREECHING SOUND AND IS DIFFICULT TO STOP SOMETIMES. PROBLEMS GET BAD WHEN RAINING. I RETURNED CAR TO DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD DUST WAS ON BRAKES AND THE NOISE SHOULD STOP THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED THE NOISE IS STILL OCCURRING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2015 - LIBERTY, SC
I HAVE A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT THAT I PURCHASED IN DEC 2013. I KEEP EXPERIENCING THE TRANSMISSION OVERHEATING THAT LOTS OF OTHER PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT. IT HAPPENED LAST YEAR A COUPLE TIMES WHERE THE LIGHT CAME ON AND I HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LET IT COOL DOWN. IT LOST ALL POWER AND I COULDN'T DO ANYTHING. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID EVERYTHING WAS FINE, NOT TO WORRY ABOUT IT. IT WAS AROUND 100 DEGREES AND I HAD BEEN DRIVING TO THE BEACH(4HR DRIVE OR SO) SO I TOOK IT AS THAT, MAYBE IT DID JUST GET TO HOT. IT NEVER HAPPENED AFTER THAT LAST YEAR, BUT I NEVER REALLY WENT ON ANY MORE TRIPS. YESTERDAY, ON THE WAY HOME FROM WORK, GOING TO DOWN A MAJOR INTERSTATE DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC, MY "TRANSMISSION TEMP LIGHT" CAME ON AND I LOST ALL POWER PRETTY MUCH AND HAD TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BEFORE I IMPAIRED TRAFFIC. IT WASN'T EVEN 80 DEGREES OUTSIDE AND THIS HAPPENED ALREADY. THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED ASAP AS THIS COULD BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/27/2015 - ALIQUIPPA, PA
I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE NEW FROM A DEALERSHIP ON 11/01/14. ON 11/28/14 I WANTED TO DRIVE IT BUT IT WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK INTO ANY GEAR. I CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY TOWED IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY CHECKED THE GEARSHIFT AND IT SHIFTED EVERY TIME FOR THEM. THEY TOLD ME TO PICK UP THE VEHICLE, WHICH I DID. THE SAME PROBLEM HAPPENED A SECOND TIME ON 01/02/15. IT WAS AGAIN TOWED BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THIS TIME THE DEALERSHIP TECHNICIANS ALSO COULD NOT SHIFT THE VEHICLE OUT OF PARK. THEY SERVICED THE VEHICLE FOR SEVEN DAYS. THEY CALLED ME AND SAID THEY REPLACED A SO-CALLED INTERLOCK CABLE AND THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER BECAUSE THE CABLE HAD A 'KINK' AND IT WAS CAUSING "BINDING". THEY SAID THE VEHICLE WAS FIXED AND FOR ME TO PICK IT UP, WHICH I DID. THE "MILEAGE OUT" WAS 231. SINCE THEN AND UP UNTIL TODAY, 02/27/15, I HAVE ONLY DRIVEN IT AN ADDITIONAL 57 MILES AND THAT INCLUDES THE 15 MILES DRIVEN BACK FROM THE DEALERSHIP. I ONLY DRIVE IT VERY SHORT DISTANCES AND PARK IT IN AN OPEN SPACE THAT IS EASILY ACCESSABLE TO A TOW TRUCK IN CASE THE PROBLEM HAPPENS AGAIN. MY WIFE IS RELUCTANT TO DRIVE IT AND I DON'T BLAME HER. I AM CONCERNED THAT THE 'KINKED' CABLE WAS NOT A RANDOM 'FLUKE' BUT, RATHER, THAT IT MAY HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY THE TOWING PROCESS WITH THE TRANSMISSION LOCKED IN PARK AND THE WHEELS BEING DRAGGED ALONG THE GROUND AND ONTO THE FLATBED TOW TRUCK BODY. I FEAR THAT THE ROOT CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM REMAINS WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/21/2015 - COLUMBUS, GA
THERE'S A VERY LOUD SQUEALING SOUND WHEN BACKING UP. IT ALSO HAPPENS WHEN I RELEASE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE OR EVEN WHEN I LIFT MY FOOT OFF OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO GET IT LOOKED AT AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. THEY HEARD THE NOISE, INSPECTED MY BRAKES AND EVERYTHING BUT COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. COINCIDENTALLY, I WAS THE SECOND CUSTOMER THAT DAY WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/21/2015 - COLUMBUS, GA
THERE'S A VERY LOUD SQUEALING SOUND WHEN BACKING UP. IT ALSO HAPPENS WHEN I RELEASE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE OR EVEN WHEN I LIFT MY FOOT OFF OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO GET IT LOOKED AT AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. THEY HEARD THE NOISE, INSPECTED MY BRAKES AND EVERYTHING BUT COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. COINCIDENTALLY, I WAS THE SECOND CUSTOMER THAT DAY WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/21/2015 - COLUMBUS, GA
THERE'S A VERY LOUD SQUEALING SOUND WHEN BACKING UP. IT ALSO HAPPENS WHEN I RELEASE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE OR EVEN WHEN I LIFT MY FOOT OFF OF THE BRAKE PEDAL. I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO GET IT LOOKED AT AND THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. THEY HEARD THE NOISE, INSPECTED MY BRAKES AND EVERYTHING BUT COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. COINCIDENTALLY, I WAS THE SECOND CUSTOMER THAT DAY WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2015 - CHARLOTTE , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP PATRIOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED FRACTURES TO THE L1 AND L2 VERTEBRAE, THE BACK, AND NECK SPRAIN INJURIES WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
UPON BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, I NOTICED A VIBRATION AND RELATED NOISE COMING FROM BEHIND THE FIREWALL OF MY JEEP; HOWEVER, AFTER PLACING THE VEHICLE IN NEAUTRAL WHILE SHIFTING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE THE NOISE WENT AWAY. UPON PLACING THE VEHCILE IN DRIVE AND ACCELERATING TO 5-10 MILES AN HOUR THE VIBRATION AND NOISE, WHICH I CAN ONLY DESCRIBE AS A IDLING MOTORCYCLE RETURNS. IF THE JEEP IS TRAVELING AT A SPEED UNDER 20 M.PH. OR SITTING IN DRIVE AT A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN THIS ISSUE IS PRESENT. WITHIN ABOUT A WEEK OF THIS HAPPENING, THE JEEP HAD ISSUES STARTING. ONCE THE KEY WAS PLACED IN THE IGNITION AND AN ATTEMPT TO START THE CARE WAS MADE, THE ENGINE HAD DIFFICULTY STARTING. IT WOULD ENGINE WOULD TURNOVER SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE IT WOULD FINALLY START. I CAN ONLY DESCRIBE IT AS THE SAME EXPERIENCE AN INDIVIDUAL WOULD EXPERIENCE WHEN STARTING A CAR AFTER REPLACING THE CARBURETOR. WHEN THIS OCCURS THE JEEP WILL STALL WITHOUT ABY EXPLINATION. OF COURSE, WHEN IT HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP, THEY ARE UNABLE TO RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND EXPLAIN THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds