Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 33 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (3) Power Train (2) Service Brakes (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/21/2014 - MERRMACK, NH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 15MPH WHEN SHE WAS ENGAGED IN A SIDE IMPACT ACCIDENT WITH A DUMP TRUCK GOING ABOUT 40MPH. WITH NO SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. DUE TO THE ACCIDENT THE DRIVER LOST HER LIFE. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE AT TIME OF FAILURE WAS 10,000. LNC

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/3/2014 - HARLEYSVILLE, PA
I HAVE 2 CONVERTIBLE CAR SEATS IN THE BACK SEAT OF MY SORENTO. ONE CAR SEAT IS BEHIND THE DRIVER AND ONE BEHIND THE PASSENGER SEAT, BOTH ARE REAR FACING. THEY ARE SECURED USING THE SEAT BELTS, NOT LATCH, DUE TO WEIGHT LIMITS PER THE CAR SEAT MANUAL. THE SEATBELTS SECURING THE CAR SEATS HAVE BEEN RELEASING ON THEIR OWN WHILE DRIVING, BOTH WHILE MY CHILDREN WERE IN THEIR CAR SEATS AND WITHOUT MY CHILDREN. MOST RECENTLY, I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN FROM A STOP AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN I HEARD ONE OF THE CAR SEATS SLIDING ON THE SEAT OF THE CAR. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO BUCKLE THE SEAT BACK IN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A TOTAL OF 6 TIMES BEHIND THE PASSENGER AND 2 TIMES BEHIND THE DRIVER IN THE PAST MONTH- MONTH AND A HALF. THE CAR SEATS HAVE BEEN IN ANOTHER VEHICLE AND DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM. I CALLED KIA 2 TIMES AND TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP HAD A TECHNICIAN BUCKLE THE SEAT BELT AND PULL ON IT. THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO AND SENT US ON OUR WAY. KIA THEN TOLD ME THAT THERE IS REALLY NOTHING THEY CAN DO EITHER IF THEY CANNOT SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING. I VOICED MY CONCERN ABOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT AND THIS HAPPENS, WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO MY CHILDREN? THE CAR SEAT ITSELF IS ONLY SAFE IF PROPERLY SECURED IN THE CAR. KIA DID NOT SOUND VERY CONCERNED AND TOLD ME I NEEDED TO REPLICATE THIS IN FRONT OF A SERVICE TECHNICIAN AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS HAPPENS SPORADICALLY WHILE I AM DRIVING. I FIND THIS TO BE A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AND AM VERY UNHAPPY WITH HOW KIA IS HANDLING IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/23/2014 - PASADENA, CA
TRIED TO EXCELLERATE TO MAKE LEFT TURN, GAS PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR, NO RESPONCE FOR 4 SECONDS THEN TOOK OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED 7 TIMES IN THE WEEK I STARTED KEEPING A LOG. IT HAPPENS AT SLOW SPEED EITHER TRYING TO EXCELLERATE STRAIGHT RN. TUOR STARTING A LEFT

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

6/14/2014 - ENNIS, MT
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY GOING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH THE FRONT PORTION OF OUR 2014 KIA SORENTO SUNROOF JUST EXPLODED, IT SOUNDED LIKE A SHOTGUN WENT OF IN THE CAR, LUCKILY WE HAD THE INTERIOR SUN SHADE CLOSED WHICH KEPT THE GLASS FROM COMING INSIDE...UPDATED 07/01/14 THE CONSUMER NO LONGER OWNS THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 07/03/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/25/2014 - CELINA, TX
CANNOT READ OR EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO READ THE SPEEDOMETER IN DAYLIGHT MOST OF THE TIME. WORSE ON BRIGHTER DAYS. MUST TAKE EYES OFF ROAD FOR SEVERAL SECONDS TO FIND NEEDLE TO DETERMINE SPEED. ILLUMINATION IS FINE AT NIGHT OR IN VERY SHADED AREAS (IE GARAGE). SEEMS AS IF INSTRUMENT ILLUMINATION REDUCES BASED ON AMOUNT OF INTERIOR LIGHT, EVEN WITH ILLUMINATION DIAL ON MAX. NOT WEARING SUN GLASSES AND HAVE TRIED MULTIPLE COMBINATIONS OF HEADLIGHT/DTRL IN AN EFFORT TO FIND A WORKABLE SOLUTION. DEALER SERVICE SAYS "WORKING AS DESIGNED". THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY FLAW AS ONE CANNOT READILY DETERMINE THEIR SPEED WITHOUT TAKING THEIR EYES OFF ROAD FOR TOO LONG A PERIOD OF TIME. IN ITS CURRENT STATE THIS CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. CAN NOT SEE THE SPEEDO WHEN DRIVING IN DAYLIGHT OR BRIGHTLY LITE AREAS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

5/19/2014 - INDEPENDENCE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DIGITAL SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE WAS VIRTUALLY INVISIBLE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2014 - INDIO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ENGINE WOULD ROAR EXTREMELY LOUD. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER, WHO STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT THEN TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE FAILURE WAS CAUSED BY A BLOCK IN THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/21/2014 - OWASSO, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/21/2014 - OWASSO, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

4/21/2014 - STEPHENS CITY, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SEDONA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONCE THE FACTORY SPARE TIRE WAS INSTALLED ON THE VEHICLE, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED. ADDITIONALLY, THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR WOULD NOT OPERATE WITH THE SPARE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE TIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds