Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 69 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (5) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2016 - ANAHEIM, CA
BOUGHT A PRE-CERTIFIED USED 2016 KIA SORENTO SXL. PASSED ALL 150 INSPECTION. LESS THAN 24 HRS AFTER BUYING THE CAR, THE FOLLOWING MORNING MY PREGNANT WIFE WAS DRIVING TO WORK IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC ON THE HIGHWAY AND ALL A SUDDEN THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. SHE WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR WAS GOING 5 MPH. SHE WAS SO SCARED, SPECIALLY BEING PREGNANT, THAT THE CARS WERE GOING TO HIT HER. SHE TRIED GETTING INTO THE SHOULDER BUT SHE WAS GOING SO SLOW THAT CARS WERE ZIPPING PASS HER. THANKFULLY SHE ABLE TO GET TO THE SHOULDER. HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!!! AFTER GETTING TO A SAFE AREA, SHE TURNED THE CAR BACK OFF AND ON, THE CAR WORKED PERFECTLY FINE. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND THEIR COMPUTER SENSOR COULDN'T PICK UP ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. SO LONG STORY SHORT, NOTHING WAS DONE. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR ACCELERATOR PEDAL ASSEMBLY FOR 2016 KIA SORENTO. THE AFFECTED SORENTO WERE BUILT FROM OCT 27, 2014 AND JAN 29, 2015. OUR CAR JUST MISSED IT BY A FEW MONTHS. I GUESS KIA IS JUST WAITING FOR A HUGE ACCIDENT FOR THEM TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. I HOPE IT WOULDN'T BE US.

View Details

STEERING

6/14/2016 - SCIO, OR
I WAS DRIVING 70 MPH DOWN HIGHWAY WHEN CAR SHUTDOWN AND STERLING LOCKED, UNABLE TO CONTROL VEHICLE. COME TO FIND OUT NEXT FEW DAYS IT WAS THE ACCELATOR THAT CAUSED IT. I HAD NO CONTROL AND ALMOST GOT KILLED BY A 18 WHEELER DRIVING IN NEXT LANE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/14/2016 - SCIO, OR
I WAS DRIVING 70 MPH DOWN HIGHWAY WHEN CAR SHUTDOWN AND STERLING LOCKED, UNABLE TO CONTROL VEHICLE. COME TO FIND OUT NEXT FEW DAYS IT WAS THE ACCELATOR THAT CAUSED IT. I HAD NO CONTROL AND ALMOST GOT KILLED BY A 18 WHEELER DRIVING IN NEXT LANE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/14/2016 - SCIO, OR
I WAS DRIVING 70 MPH DOWN HIGHWAY WHEN CAR SHUTDOWN AND STERLING LOCKED, UNABLE TO CONTROL VEHICLE. COME TO FIND OUT NEXT FEW DAYS IT WAS THE ACCELATOR THAT CAUSED IT. I HAD NO CONTROL AND ALMOST GOT KILLED BY A 18 WHEELER DRIVING IN NEXT LANE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/5/2016 - SENOIA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE JOLTED THREE TIMES BEFORE ACCELERATING. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND NO FAILURES. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON A DIFFERENT DAY. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST STEERING AND BRAKING ABILITY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE DROVE INTO A DITCH. THE BRAKE AND STEERING ABILITY RETURNED AND THE CONTACT DROVE TO ANOTHER LOCAL DEALER WHO WAS ALSO UNABLE TO FIND THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND FOLLOWED UP WITH THE DEALERS, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 41,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/5/2016 - SENOIA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE JOLTED THREE TIMES BEFORE ACCELERATING. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND NO FAILURES. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON A DIFFERENT DAY. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST STEERING AND BRAKING ABILITY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE DROVE INTO A DITCH. THE BRAKE AND STEERING ABILITY RETURNED AND THE CONTACT DROVE TO ANOTHER LOCAL DEALER WHO WAS ALSO UNABLE TO FIND THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND FOLLOWED UP WITH THE DEALERS, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 41,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/5/2016 - SENOIA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE JOLTED THREE TIMES BEFORE ACCELERATING. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND NO FAILURES. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON A DIFFERENT DAY. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST STEERING AND BRAKING ABILITY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE DROVE INTO A DITCH. THE BRAKE AND STEERING ABILITY RETURNED AND THE CONTACT DROVE TO ANOTHER LOCAL DEALER WHO WAS ALSO UNABLE TO FIND THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND FOLLOWED UP WITH THE DEALERS, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE CONTACT WAS TOLD TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 41,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

4/28/2016 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
I LOVE MY 2014 KIA SORENTO, BUT FOR THE SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE. IT IS VIRTUALLY UNREADABLE DURING THE DAYTIME AND CONSTITUTES A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN THE DRIVER HAS TO TAKE HIS EYES OFF THE ROAD FOR SEVERAL SECONDS TO SEE HOW FAST HE IS GOING. THIS IS ESPECIALLY DANGEROUS ON A METROPOLITAN FREEWAY. THE LOCAL KIA DEALER (MESA, AZ) SAID THEY HADN'T HEARD OF THE PROBLEM AND, IN ANY EVENT, COULD NOT HELP AND REFERRED ME TO CORPORATE KIA. CORPORATE KIA REFERRED ME BACK TO THE LOCAL DEALER. I UNDERSTAND FROM INTERNET FORUMS DISCUSSING THIS ISSUE THAT, FIRST, I AM ONE OF MANY COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS SPEEDO-UNREADABLE ISSUE AND, SECOND, KIA CORPORATE IS INDEED AWARE OF THE PROBLEM (SEE CASE # [XXX], JUNE 10, 2013), BUT OFFERS NO RELIEF, OTHER THAN "THEY ARE WORKING ON IT." I AM TOLD KIA MAY HAVE RESOLVED THE ISSUE IN ITS 2015 MODEL (WHICH SEEMS AN ADMISSION OF FAULT), BUT THAT DOES NOT HELP ME AND OTHER OWNERS OF THE 2014 MODEL. IT SEEMS A SIMPLE FIX: REPLACE THE 2014 SPEEDOMETER UNIT WITH THAT OF 2015. OR, HECK, PAINT THE SPEEDO NEEDLE WHITE, INSTEAD OF THE EXISTING DULL RED ON A BLACK BACKGROUND. I RESPECTIVELY REQUEST THE NHTSA TO RESOLVE THIS SAFETY ISSUE, SOONEST. THANK YOU. :) INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

WHEELS

4/9/2016 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
WHILE TRAVELING 70 MPH, I SUFFERED A FRONT TIRE FAILURE. A NARROW STRIP 1" WIDE BY 6" LONG SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE. I WROTE TWICE TO KUMHO WITH NO RESPONSE. I HAVE DRIVEN 50+ YEARS AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A TIRE MALFUNCTION. I DID NOT DRIVE OVER ANYTHING AS THERE WAS NO OTHER DAMAGE. THIS KUMHO TIRE SHOULD BE REVIEWED FOR SAFETY REASONS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2016 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
THE HEADLAMPS ARE FREQUENTLY GOING OUT AND REQUIRE TO BE REPLACED. I LIVE IN A STATE WHERE HEADLAMPS ARE REQUIRED IN RAIN (SO MANY TIMES I AM IN VIOLATION) AND THE ROADS ARE NOT WELL LIT AT NIGHT. EVEN WHEN THE HEADLAMPS ARE WORKING PROPERLY, THEY ARE INADEQUATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds