Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 110 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (3)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/10/2017 - ALABASTER, AL
HAD SOME RAIN COME THROUGH, I GOT IN MY CAR AND NOTICED THAT THE SEATS WERE DAMP AND THE DASHBOARD WAS DAMP AS WELL. SO I DID A LITTLE INVESTIGATION, LOOKED ON TOP MY ROOF , AND IT APPEARED THAT PART OF THEPANARAMIC SUNROOF WAS SHATTERED. I HAVEN'T HAD ANY ROCKS HIT MY CAR, I LITERALLY DRIVE MY CAR FROM HOME TO WORK. I HAVEN'T HAD THIS CAR MORE THAN 3 MONTHS IT IS IN GREAT CONDITION WITH ALL THE DINGS AND WHISTLES SO TO SPEAK AND ONLY 58,000 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT IT USED. I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW HOW ON EARTH THIS COULD SHATTER OUT OF NO WHERE? I JUST HAD TO PAY A $500.00 DOLLAR DEDUCTIBLE, FOR SOMETHING I DIDN'T CAUSE TO MY CAR. I AM GLAD THE WHOLE THING DIDN'T SHATTER WITH ME AND MY CHILD IN THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
KIA SORENTO OWNER FOLLOW-UP LETTER ON SAFETY RECALL. UPDATED 09/26/2017

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/29/2017 - COLUMBUS, GA
WHEN YOU PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION TO START THE CAR,IT HAS POWER BUT WILL NOT START YOU HAVE TO KEEP ON TURNING THE SWITC UNTIL IT INGAGES OR PUT YOU FOOT ON THE BRAKE WHILE THE IGNITION SWITCH IS ON AND TAKE IT OUT OF PARK AND PUT IT IN GEAR THEN PUT IT BACK IN PARK AND IT WILL CRANK.THIS IS ALWAYS WHEN YOU FIRST CRANK IT .IT IS ALWAYS SITTING STILL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/23/2017 - SELDEN, NY
VEHICLE FREQUENTLY WILL NOT START AND A MESSAGE POPS UP SAYING: " BATTERY DISCHARGE WARNING" "PLEASE USE THE SYSTEM WHEN THE IGNITION IS ON". IT TAKES ANYWHERE BETWEEN 10-20 MINUTES BEFORE THE CAR FINALLY STARTS. KIA SAID THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT IT WAS, BUT IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/23/2017 - SELDEN, NY
VEHICLE FREQUENTLY WILL NOT START AND A MESSAGE POPS UP SAYING: " BATTERY DISCHARGE WARNING" "PLEASE USE THE SYSTEM WHEN THE IGNITION IS ON". IT TAKES ANYWHERE BETWEEN 10-20 MINUTES BEFORE THE CAR FINALLY STARTS. KIA SAID THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT IT WAS, BUT IT HAS HAPPENED AGAIN TODAY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/21/2017 - OAKLAND, CA
MY CAR STARTING TO BEGIN TO SHOW LACK OF POWER AT FIRST, WHICH I HAD MENTIONED IN ADVANCE IN SERVICE APPOINTMENTS. TWO DAYS BEFORE MY ONE YEAR OF OWNING IT, THE CAR BEGAN TO STALL OUT WHEN I STOPPED FOR TRAFFIC LIGHTS WITHIN THE SAME DAY A OIL LIGHT WARNING FLASHED, AND THE CAR STARTED TO HAVE A KNOCKING NOISE. I WENT AND ADDED TWO QUARTS OF OIL. ONCE THE OIL LIGHT DISAPPEARED BUT THE KNOCKING CONTINUED . I TOOK THE CAR TO MY REGULAR KIA SERVICE PROVIDER THE SAME DAY AND IN THE PROCESS OF GOING THERE THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I WAS TOLD TO BRING IT IN THE NEXT DAY, THE ATTENDANT TOLD ME THAT HE COULD HEAR THE KNOCKING, WHICH SOUNDED CONCERNING. I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK THE NEXT DAY AS INSTRUCTED AND WAS TOLD THAT I SHOULD BE ABLE TO PICK IT UP AT END OF DAY. TIME PASSED BY AND IT WAS GETTING LATE TOWARDS CLOSING, SO I CALLED THE SHOP. I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINES HAD SEIZED AND THAT THE OIL BAY WAS DRY. I HAVE NEVER SEEN SOMETHING HAPPEN SO FAST. I HAD NO WARNING OF ANY KIND OF OIL ISSUES UNTIL THE DAY BEFORE, AND I HAD BEEN TAKING THE CAR IN FOR IT'S REGULAR SERVICES. THE CAR WAS IN THE KIA SERVICE SHOP, AND MOVED BY THEM. IT WAS RUNNING WHEN I BROUGHT IT IN BUT I AM BEING TOLD THAT THE ENGINE IS SHOT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING 80 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER (THE KIA STORE, 5325 PRESTON HWY, LOUISVILLE, KY 40213, (888) 214-1809) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION OTHER THAN THE DEALER REPLACING THE PART. IN ADDITION, THE DEALER REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH PER AN UNKNOWN RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD TWO KEYS AND THE DEALER LATER PROVIDED ONE KEY, STATING THAT THE CONTACT WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR THE SECOND KEY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING 80 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER (THE KIA STORE, 5325 PRESTON HWY, LOUISVILLE, KY 40213, (888) 214-1809) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION OTHER THAN THE DEALER REPLACING THE PART. IN ADDITION, THE DEALER REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH PER AN UNKNOWN RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD TWO KEYS AND THE DEALER LATER PROVIDED ONE KEY, STATING THAT THE CONTACT WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR THE SECOND KEY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

8/1/2017 - LAS CRUCES, NM
1ST OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 10, 2017, AT ABOUT 11:30 A.M., I MADE A LEFT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM, WHICH TOOK ME THROUGH AN UNDERPASS. IT WAS A 'WIDE' TURN AND I WAS PROBABLY MOVING AT ABOUT 25 MPH. ABOUT HALF WAY THROUGH THE TURN I LOST POWER STEERING AND BY BRUTE FORCE, WAS ABLE TO TURN MY CAR AND AVOID THE WALL OF THE UNDERPASS. HAD THERE BEEN ANOTHER CAR TO MY RIGHT, I WOULD MOST LIKELY HAVE HIT IT ON THE DRIVER SIDE. I BROUGHT MY SORENTO TO A STOP AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. I AM UNSURE WHICH CAME FIRST, THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING OR THE ENGINE STOPPING. LATER THAT DAY, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL KIA SERVICE FACILITY WHERE NO PROBLEM(S) COULD BE FOUND. I WAS THE SOLE OCCUPANT OF MY SORENTO AT THE TIME OF THIS FIRST INCIDENT. 2ND OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 27, 2017, AT ABOUT 2:00 P.M., I MADE A RIGHT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM. IMMEDIATELY AFTER COMPLETING THE TURN AND JUST BEGINNING TO MOVE STRAIGHT AHEAD AT ABOUT 30 MPH, I ONCE AGAIN LOST MY POWER STEERING. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS IN CLOSE PROXIMITY AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT, ONCE AGAIN USING BRUTE FORCE TO STEER. THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING WHEN I BROUGH MY SORENTO TO A STOP, BUT I WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE SAME KIA SERVICE FACILITY. NO PROBLEMS COULD BE FOUND THIS TIME EITHER. THOUGH I AM NOT 100 PERCENT CERTAIN, I BELIEVE THE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER PRECEDED THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. MY WIFE WAS WITH ME WHEN THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2017 - LAS CRUCES, NM
1ST OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 10, 2017, AT ABOUT 11:30 A.M., I MADE A LEFT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM, WHICH TOOK ME THROUGH AN UNDERPASS. IT WAS A 'WIDE' TURN AND I WAS PROBABLY MOVING AT ABOUT 25 MPH. ABOUT HALF WAY THROUGH THE TURN I LOST POWER STEERING AND BY BRUTE FORCE, WAS ABLE TO TURN MY CAR AND AVOID THE WALL OF THE UNDERPASS. HAD THERE BEEN ANOTHER CAR TO MY RIGHT, I WOULD MOST LIKELY HAVE HIT IT ON THE DRIVER SIDE. I BROUGHT MY SORENTO TO A STOP AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. I AM UNSURE WHICH CAME FIRST, THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING OR THE ENGINE STOPPING. LATER THAT DAY, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL KIA SERVICE FACILITY WHERE NO PROBLEM(S) COULD BE FOUND. I WAS THE SOLE OCCUPANT OF MY SORENTO AT THE TIME OF THIS FIRST INCIDENT. 2ND OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 27, 2017, AT ABOUT 2:00 P.M., I MADE A RIGHT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM. IMMEDIATELY AFTER COMPLETING THE TURN AND JUST BEGINNING TO MOVE STRAIGHT AHEAD AT ABOUT 30 MPH, I ONCE AGAIN LOST MY POWER STEERING. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS IN CLOSE PROXIMITY AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT, ONCE AGAIN USING BRUTE FORCE TO STEER. THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING WHEN I BROUGH MY SORENTO TO A STOP, BUT I WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE SAME KIA SERVICE FACILITY. NO PROBLEMS COULD BE FOUND THIS TIME EITHER. THOUGH I AM NOT 100 PERCENT CERTAIN, I BELIEVE THE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER PRECEDED THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. MY WIFE WAS WITH ME WHEN THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds