Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 117 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (29) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (3)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2017 - BURLINGTON, KS
THE DOORS WILL NOT UNLOCK WHEN I PRESS THE KEY FOB, I'VE TRIED BOTH KEY FOBS AND THEY HAVE NEW BATTERIES. ONLY THE DRIVERS DOOR IS UNLOCKING ALL TIMES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/16/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
IN THE PAST 3-4 MONTHS I HAVE REPLACED MY BATTERY TWICE THE 1ST TIME I HAD MY TRUCK ABOUT 2.5YRS SO I DIDN'T THINK MUCH OF IT BUT I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AFTER REPLACING BATTERY WITHIN 3-4 MONTHS BATTERY WOULD DIE I WOULD GET A BOOST AFTER A FEW DAYS SAME THING HAPPEN AGAIN. ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SEEMS OUT OF WACK WHEN I USE LEFT TURN SIGNAL MY HEADLIGHTS WILL GO OFF UNTIL I TURN THE TURN SIGNAL OFF, ALSO MY STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS WILL NOT OPERATE THE RIGHT FEATURE IE I WOULD HIT MUTE BUT IT WILL NOT MUTE BUT ACT AS IF IT IS THE VOLUME DOWN CONTROL AIR BAG LIGHT FOR PASSENGER WOULD COME ON EVEN IF NO ONE WAS IN THE SEAT

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/16/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
IN THE PAST 3-4 MONTHS I HAVE REPLACED MY BATTERY TWICE THE 1ST TIME I HAD MY TRUCK ABOUT 2.5YRS SO I DIDN'T THINK MUCH OF IT BUT I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AFTER REPLACING BATTERY WITHIN 3-4 MONTHS BATTERY WOULD DIE I WOULD GET A BOOST AFTER A FEW DAYS SAME THING HAPPEN AGAIN. ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SEEMS OUT OF WACK WHEN I USE LEFT TURN SIGNAL MY HEADLIGHTS WILL GO OFF UNTIL I TURN THE TURN SIGNAL OFF, ALSO MY STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS WILL NOT OPERATE THE RIGHT FEATURE IE I WOULD HIT MUTE BUT IT WILL NOT MUTE BUT ACT AS IF IT IS THE VOLUME DOWN CONTROL AIR BAG LIGHT FOR PASSENGER WOULD COME ON EVEN IF NO ONE WAS IN THE SEAT

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/16/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
IN THE PAST 3-4 MONTHS I HAVE REPLACED MY BATTERY TWICE THE 1ST TIME I HAD MY TRUCK ABOUT 2.5YRS SO I DIDN'T THINK MUCH OF IT BUT I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AFTER REPLACING BATTERY WITHIN 3-4 MONTHS BATTERY WOULD DIE I WOULD GET A BOOST AFTER A FEW DAYS SAME THING HAPPEN AGAIN. ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SEEMS OUT OF WACK WHEN I USE LEFT TURN SIGNAL MY HEADLIGHTS WILL GO OFF UNTIL I TURN THE TURN SIGNAL OFF, ALSO MY STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS WILL NOT OPERATE THE RIGHT FEATURE IE I WOULD HIT MUTE BUT IT WILL NOT MUTE BUT ACT AS IF IT IS THE VOLUME DOWN CONTROL AIR BAG LIGHT FOR PASSENGER WOULD COME ON EVEN IF NO ONE WAS IN THE SEAT

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/6/2017 - EDMOND, OK
KIA HAS LOTS OF ISSUES WITH THEIR AIR BAGS. FROM CLOCK SPRING TO SENSORS IN THE DRIVER SIDE AND SO ON. COMPANY DOES NOT TAKE CARE OF IT AND COMING UP WITH CRAZY ESTIMATES TO FIX, PLEASE JUST SEE HOW MANY COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN MADE ON GOOGLE. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND KIA NEEDS TO TAKE CARE OF IT WITHOUT A CHARGE UNTIL THEY FIX THEIR AIR BAG PROBLEMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/26/2017 - HARTLAND, WI
THE REAR HATCH DOOR WILL NOT OPEN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/26/2017 - AUBURNDALE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE PANORAMIC SUN ROOF EXPLODED. THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE PRIOR TO THE EXPLOSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LEV KIA OF FRAMINGHAM IN FRAMINGHAM, MASSACHUSETTS WHERE IT WAS ASSUMED THAT A ROCK MAY HAVE STRUCK THE GLASS AND CAUSED THE EXPLOSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 33,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/17/2017 - CHEYENNE, WY
THE PAINT ON THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FROM DAY 1 PRACTICALLY, AND KIA REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS. WE TAKE GREAT CARE IN OUR CARS AS WE KEEP THEM FOR THE LIFE OF THEM, AND THUS KEEP IT MOSTLY GARAGED WHEN NOT IN USE, AND ESPECIALLY DURING ANY POTENTIALLY ADVERSE WEATHER. FROM DAY 1, ANY HARD BUG, TINY PEBBLE, ETC WOULD CASE THE PAINT ON THE BUMPER TO CHIP OFF AND SUBSEQUENTLY CRACK AND FLAKE. PROBLEMS SEEMED TO HAPPEN EVEN IF WE HADNT DRIVEN IT. AS THE WHITE ONE WE OWN HAS A BLACK PLASTIC UNDERBODY, IT CONSTANTLY LOOKS LIKE OUR CAR IS BUGGY/DIRTY AND HAS ACNE. UPON TAKING TO THE DEALER, AROUND MONTH 4, THEY GAVE ME A PAINT PEN TO HANDLE IT, SAYING IT WASNT EBOUGH OF A PROBLEM. AS IT WAS ONLY ON THE PLASTIC BUMPER, I CHALKED IT UP TO "JUST THERE." NOW, AT 4 YEARS AND 3 MONTHS OF OWNERSHIP, AFTER 1 LONG CAR TRIP IN THE RAIN (ABOUT 13 HOURS OF DRIVING) THE PAINT ON THE TOP METAL ROOF IS PEELING LIKE TIGER STRIPES AND ITS BEGINNING TO ALONG THE EDGES WHERE THE DOORS MEET THE BODY AND THE HOOD. KIA, EVEN AFTER THEIR DEALER RECCOMMENDED LOCAL PAINT REPAIR SHOP, STATE FARMS INSPECTORS, AND THE LOCAL DEALERS SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAVE ALL INSPECTED IT, ARE CONTINUING TO DENY THE PAINT DEFECT, AFTER ALL THOSE ENTITIES HAVE CONFIRMED IT IS A MANUFACTURES DEFECT. NOW, IT LOOKS LIKE WE WILL BE ON THE HOOK FOR OVER $5000+ TO REPAIR THE PAINT BECAUSE WE ARE NOW OUTSIDE OF THEIR WARRANY PERIOD. ITS AWFUL OF KIA TO ADVERTISE A 10YEAR/100K WARRANTY WHILE NOT MATCHING THE INDUSTRY AVERAGE 10YEAR/100K MILE PAINT WARRANTY. THIS IS NOT MY FAMILIES FIRST KIA, BUT THIS EXPERIENCE IS MAKING US RETHINK OUR LOYALTY, AND IT MAY BE OUR LAST KIA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2017 - NEW BOSTON, NH
I PURCHASED A 2014 KIA SORENTO LX BRAND NEW FROM THE DEALER. I HAVE MAINTAINED ALL NECESSARY WORK AND MOSTLY DONE AT AUTHORIZED DEALERS. IN MAY 2017 WHILE DRIVING HOME MY INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT OUT. UNABLE TO SEE SPEED, SAFETY WARNING LIGHTS, GAS ETC... I TOOK IT TO TWO DIFFERENT KIA SERVICE LOCATIONS TO TRACE PROBLEM. THEY FOUND A WIRE SHORTED TO GROUND ON THE TRAILER HITCH WIRING WHICH CAME WITH VEHICLE. THEY CUT THE WIRES TO TRAILER HARNESS AND THIS ISSUE ALSO DAMAGED MY REMOTE STARTER. THEY REPLACED THE BLOWN FUSE WITH A LARGER FUSE AND SAID IT WAS ALL SET. HOWEVER IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON 09/29/17. THIS TIME WHEN I PARKED MY CAR AND TRIED TO START AGAIN, IT WOULDN'T COME OUT OF PARK SO I HAD IT TOWED TO DEALER. IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY NOW BUT THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO FIX THIS ISSUE WHICH IS OVER $3,000 TO FIX. THERE IS A FEW FEET OF BURNED AND MELTED WIRING THAT I HAVE PICTURES OF, UNSURE OF EXACT WIRING, BUT IT CONNECTED TO THE WIRING TRAILER HITCH HARNESS. IT WAS APPARENTLY CLOSE TO CATCHING ON FIRE. SINCE I OWNED THE VEHICLE OTHER ODD ELECTRICAL ISSUES HAVE HAPPENED, INCLUDING BLOWN HEADLIGHTS AND BRAKE LIGHTS ON ABOUT 8 OCCASIONS. I ONLY FOUND ONE RECALL RELATING TO THE TRAILER HITCH WIRING HARNESS #16V862000 HOWEVER IT DOES NOT INCLUDE MY YEAR VEHICLE. IN MY OPINION, THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE CONDITION AND SAFETY CONCERN THAT KIA NEEDS TO RESEARCH FURTHER FOR POSSIBLE OTHER RECALLS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/10/2017 - ALABASTER, AL
HAD SOME RAIN COME THROUGH, I GOT IN MY CAR AND NOTICED THAT THE SEATS WERE DAMP AND THE DASHBOARD WAS DAMP AS WELL. SO I DID A LITTLE INVESTIGATION, LOOKED ON TOP MY ROOF , AND IT APPEARED THAT PART OF THEPANARAMIC SUNROOF WAS SHATTERED. I HAVEN'T HAD ANY ROCKS HIT MY CAR, I LITERALLY DRIVE MY CAR FROM HOME TO WORK. I HAVEN'T HAD THIS CAR MORE THAN 3 MONTHS IT IS IN GREAT CONDITION WITH ALL THE DINGS AND WHISTLES SO TO SPEAK AND ONLY 58,000 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT IT USED. I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW HOW ON EARTH THIS COULD SHATTER OUT OF NO WHERE? I JUST HAD TO PAY A $500.00 DOLLAR DEDUCTIBLE, FOR SOMETHING I DIDN'T CAUSE TO MY CAR. I AM GLAD THE WHOLE THING DIDN'T SHATTER WITH ME AND MY CHILD IN THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds