Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 81 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

1/27/2017 - COPLAY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BEGAN TO WOBBLE WHILE TURNING THE VEHICLE OR GOING OVER SPEED BUMPS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOWER SEAT FRAME FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 64,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/9/2017 - SULPHUR, LA
I AM REPORTING MY PANORAMIC SUNROOF EXPLODING ON MY 2014 KAI SORRENTO SXL. I WAS DRIVING ON A VERY SMOOTH INTERSTATE HIGH WAY IN THE MORNING WITH NO TRAFFIC AROUND ME. I WAS TRAVELING AT 70MPH AND IT WAS MORNING ABOUT 60 DEGREES. I WAS ON THE PHONE WITH MY WIFE AND HEARD A LOUD SOUND (SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT) AND THEN IT STARTED RAINING DOWN GLASS AROUND ME. AS I STATED, I WAS ON THE ROAD AND THERE WAS NOT ANOTHER VEHICLE AROUND ME. ONCE I MANAGED TO PULL OVER TO INSPECT WHAT HAD HAPPENED I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS MOST OF MY SUNROOF INSIDE THE CAR AND THE REST OF THE GLASS THAT REMAINED WAS FACING UPWARD WHICH I THOUGHT WAS ODD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/5/2017 - PORT ORCHARD, WA
JANUARY 5, 2017, I WAS ON A 2 LANE HIGHWAY IN WASHINGTON HEADED HOME FROM A DAY OF SHOPPING AND MEDICAL APPOINTMENTS. I WAS 3 EXITS FROM MY HOME WHEN I HEAD A LOUD BANG LIKE A GUN SHOT. I SWERVED BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS A TIRE OR MY WINDSHIELD. BEFORE I COULD PULL OFF OF THE HIGHWAY I HEARD AND SAW THAT THE CLOTH COVER OVER MY SUNROOF WAS SHAKING AND SLAPPING AGAINST THE WIND. I PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY AND CHECKED MY SUN ROOF. MY SUN ROOF EXPLODED! THERE WAS NOT A CAR IN FRONT OF ME OR NEXT TO ME AND I KNOW NOTHING HAD HIT IT. MY SUN ROOF RANDOMLY EXPLODED! I DROVE STRAIGHT TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP. THE TECHNICIAN TRIED TO TELL ME AND SHOW ME WHERE HE SAID A ROCK HAD HIT IT. HE STUCK HIS PEN INTO A STARBURST AND TRIED TO TELL ME THAT A ROCK HAD HIT ME.

View Details

ENGINE

12/26/2016 - ZEBULON, GA
GOT A LETTER FROM KIA STATING THAT THEY ARE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE BEARINGS AND RODS IN THEIR 2012-2014 2.4L GDI MOTORS, THEY ARE EXTENDING THE WARRANTY TO 120,000 MILES. A FEW MONTHS LATER THE MOTOR SLUNG A ROD AND IS NOW TRASH. TOWED IT TO SONS KIA IN MCDONOUGH, GA, THEY CONFIRMED THEY WERE EXTENDING THE WARRANTY AND KNEW THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. IN FACT THERE ARE 9 OTHERS SITTING IN THE PARKING LOT WITH BLOWN MOTORS IN FRONT OF MINE AND THEY CAN'T EVEN BUILD THE NEW MOTORS FAST ENOUGH TO MEET THE DEMAND (THEY'RE ON BACK ORDER). THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED TO PRODUCE RECEIPTS FOR OIL CHANGES, FROM THE TIME I BOUGHT THE CAR. I BOUGHT IT USED AND HAVE ONLY PUT ABOUT 20,000 MILES ON IT (66,000 TOTAL). I CHANGED THE OIL MYSELF AND DIDN'T THINK ABOUT HANGING ONTO THE RECEIPTS. I WAS ABLE TO PRODUCE ONE RECEIPT AND ALL MY BANK STATEMENTS SHOWING WHEN I WENT TO AUTOZONE AND A LOG BOOK OF ALL THE OIL CHANGES, MILEAGE AND DATES. KIA TOLD ME THAT WASN'T GOOD ENOUGH AND DENIED MY CLAIM FOR THE WARRANTY. THEY TOLD ME THEY WOULD TEAR DOWN THE ENGINE AND GO THROUGH IT TO SEE IF THERE IS SLUG BUILT UP IN THE MOTOR (KNOWING THERE WILL BE DUE TO BAD BEARINGS AND AND RODS) AND IF THERE IS I'M RESPONSIBLE FOR THE LABOR WHICH WOULD BE ABOUT $500 DOLLARS OR SO. THEY ARE TRYING TO WEASEL THEIR WAY OUT OF FIXING A PROBLEM THEY KNOW THEY CREATED. THEY DON'T CARE THAT THEY ARE SCREWING THEIR CUSTOMERS OVER. THEY KNOW THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE AND NOT ONLY ARE THEY WEASELING OUT OF FIXING IT THEY ARE DOING EVERYTHING THEY CAN TO AVOID A RECALL BECAUSE THEY WOULD HAVE TO SWAP EVERY MOTOR FROM 2012-2014. THEY ARE HOPING THAT NO ONE CAN PRODUCE THEIR RECEIPTS SO THEY GET AWAY WITH AS LITTLE DAMAGE TO THEMSELVES AS POSSIBLE. INSTEAD OF DOING THE RIGHT THING AND TAKING CARE OF THEIR CUSTOMERS AND THE PROBLEMS THAT THEY CAUSED. THERE'S A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT ALREADY AGAINST KIA ALREADY FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

9/17/2016 - MINDEN, NV
VEHICLE DESCRIBED WAS PURCHASED BY US 8/10/16. RECEIVED NOTICE FROM KIA ON 8/29/16 THAT ENGINE COULD "FAIL", BASICALLY COME APART. CONCERNED WITH SAFETY OF FAMILY IF WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD OR IN A REMOTE AREA AND THIS OCCURS WITH HER AND GRANDCHILDREN IN CAR. WHY WOULD THIS NOT BE A RECALL ITEM. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHY IT WOULD NOT BE A RECALL ITEM. TRYING TO AVOID A POTENTIALLY SERIOUS ACCIDENT. TOLD TO KEEP PAPERWORK IN GLOVE BOX IF IT HAPPENS.....REALLY? PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2016 - CLEAVELAND, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND EMITTED A LOUD TICKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS OIL SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE ENGINE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/9/2016 - FRESNO, CA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY GOING ABOUT 65MPH WHEN I HEARD A LOAD BANG FROM THE REAR AND FELT HARD JERK FROM CAR , I STOPPED THE CAR LOOKED UNDERAND SAW FLUID LEAKING FROM AWD COUPLING, TOOK IT IN TO KIA FRESNO REAR DIFFERENTIAL BROKEN METAL IN DIFFERENTIAL FLUID, DIFFERENTIAL REPLACE BUT AWD COUPLING NOT REPLACE. AWD STILL NOT WORKING

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/23/2016 - BANNING, CA
EVERYTIME I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE IT MAKES A HARSH BANGING NOISE. IT ALSO DECIDES TO JUST SHUT OFF AS SOON AS I PRESS ON THE GAS OR SLOW DOWN AFTER I'VE ALREADY STARTED GOING ON CITY STREETS I CAN ALSO HEAR AND FEEL CLICKING UNDER DRIVER'S SIDE FLOOR BOARD AS I'M TURNING INTO DRIVE WAYS,PARKING SPOTS ETC. THIS IS AN EVERYDAY THING THAT STARTED LAST YEAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/23/2016 - BANNING, CA
EVERYTIME I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE IT MAKES A HARSH BANGING NOISE. IT ALSO DECIDES TO JUST SHUT OFF AS SOON AS I PRESS ON THE GAS OR SLOW DOWN AFTER I'VE ALREADY STARTED GOING ON CITY STREETS I CAN ALSO HEAR AND FEEL CLICKING UNDER DRIVER'S SIDE FLOOR BOARD AS I'M TURNING INTO DRIVE WAYS,PARKING SPOTS ETC. THIS IS AN EVERYDAY THING THAT STARTED LAST YEAR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

8/23/2016 - ALLEN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH FAILED TO PROPERLY OPEN FROM INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR PANEL WAS LOOSELY CONNECTED AND THE REAR DOOR LATCHES FAILED TO PROPERLY FUNCTION INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds