Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 105 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (3)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING 80 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER (THE KIA STORE, 5325 PRESTON HWY, LOUISVILLE, KY 40213, (888) 214-1809) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION OTHER THAN THE DEALER REPLACING THE PART. IN ADDITION, THE DEALER REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH PER AN UNKNOWN RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD TWO KEYS AND THE DEALER LATER PROVIDED ONE KEY, STATING THAT THE CONTACT WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR THE SECOND KEY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2017 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING 80 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER (THE KIA STORE, 5325 PRESTON HWY, LOUISVILLE, KY 40213, (888) 214-1809) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED NO SOLUTION OTHER THAN THE DEALER REPLACING THE PART. IN ADDITION, THE DEALER REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH PER AN UNKNOWN RECALL. THE CONTACT HAD TWO KEYS AND THE DEALER LATER PROVIDED ONE KEY, STATING THAT THE CONTACT WOULD NEED TO PAY FOR THE SECOND KEY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

8/1/2017 - LAS CRUCES, NM
1ST OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 10, 2017, AT ABOUT 11:30 A.M., I MADE A LEFT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM, WHICH TOOK ME THROUGH AN UNDERPASS. IT WAS A 'WIDE' TURN AND I WAS PROBABLY MOVING AT ABOUT 25 MPH. ABOUT HALF WAY THROUGH THE TURN I LOST POWER STEERING AND BY BRUTE FORCE, WAS ABLE TO TURN MY CAR AND AVOID THE WALL OF THE UNDERPASS. HAD THERE BEEN ANOTHER CAR TO MY RIGHT, I WOULD MOST LIKELY HAVE HIT IT ON THE DRIVER SIDE. I BROUGHT MY SORENTO TO A STOP AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. I AM UNSURE WHICH CAME FIRST, THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING OR THE ENGINE STOPPING. LATER THAT DAY, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL KIA SERVICE FACILITY WHERE NO PROBLEM(S) COULD BE FOUND. I WAS THE SOLE OCCUPANT OF MY SORENTO AT THE TIME OF THIS FIRST INCIDENT. 2ND OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 27, 2017, AT ABOUT 2:00 P.M., I MADE A RIGHT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM. IMMEDIATELY AFTER COMPLETING THE TURN AND JUST BEGINNING TO MOVE STRAIGHT AHEAD AT ABOUT 30 MPH, I ONCE AGAIN LOST MY POWER STEERING. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS IN CLOSE PROXIMITY AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT, ONCE AGAIN USING BRUTE FORCE TO STEER. THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING WHEN I BROUGH MY SORENTO TO A STOP, BUT I WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE SAME KIA SERVICE FACILITY. NO PROBLEMS COULD BE FOUND THIS TIME EITHER. THOUGH I AM NOT 100 PERCENT CERTAIN, I BELIEVE THE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER PRECEDED THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. MY WIFE WAS WITH ME WHEN THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2017 - LAS CRUCES, NM
1ST OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 10, 2017, AT ABOUT 11:30 A.M., I MADE A LEFT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM, WHICH TOOK ME THROUGH AN UNDERPASS. IT WAS A 'WIDE' TURN AND I WAS PROBABLY MOVING AT ABOUT 25 MPH. ABOUT HALF WAY THROUGH THE TURN I LOST POWER STEERING AND BY BRUTE FORCE, WAS ABLE TO TURN MY CAR AND AVOID THE WALL OF THE UNDERPASS. HAD THERE BEEN ANOTHER CAR TO MY RIGHT, I WOULD MOST LIKELY HAVE HIT IT ON THE DRIVER SIDE. I BROUGHT MY SORENTO TO A STOP AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. I AM UNSURE WHICH CAME FIRST, THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING OR THE ENGINE STOPPING. LATER THAT DAY, I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL KIA SERVICE FACILITY WHERE NO PROBLEM(S) COULD BE FOUND. I WAS THE SOLE OCCUPANT OF MY SORENTO AT THE TIME OF THIS FIRST INCIDENT. 2ND OCCURRENCE: ON JULY 27, 2017, AT ABOUT 2:00 P.M., I MADE A RIGHT TURN ON A CITY STREET IN LAS CRUCES, NM. IMMEDIATELY AFTER COMPLETING THE TURN AND JUST BEGINNING TO MOVE STRAIGHT AHEAD AT ABOUT 30 MPH, I ONCE AGAIN LOST MY POWER STEERING. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO OTHER CARS IN CLOSE PROXIMITY AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST INTO A PARKING LOT, ONCE AGAIN USING BRUTE FORCE TO STEER. THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING WHEN I BROUGH MY SORENTO TO A STOP, BUT I WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND DROVE DIRECTLY TO THE SAME KIA SERVICE FACILITY. NO PROBLEMS COULD BE FOUND THIS TIME EITHER. THOUGH I AM NOT 100 PERCENT CERTAIN, I BELIEVE THE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER PRECEDED THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. MY WIFE WAS WITH ME WHEN THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2017 - GREENVILLE, MS
KIA SAFETY RECALL (#17V224) I HAD PREVIOUSLY FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE NHTSA REGARDING AN ENGINE FAILURE. PLEASE SEE COMPLAINT #10993259. THE PURPOSE OF THIS COMPLAINT IS A FOLLOW-UP TO THE PREVIOUSLY FILED COMPLIANT. AS YOU ARE AWARE, KIA FAILED TO TIMELY NOTIFY ITS CUSTOMERS THAT THEIR VEHICLE MAY HAVE AN ENGINE DEFECT. AS YOU WILL SEE FROM MY PREVIOUSLY FILED COMPLAINT, I EXPERIENCED MY FIRST ENGINE FAILURE ON APRIL 1, 2017. BETWEEN APRIL 1ST AND MAY 31ST, I HAD EXPERIENCED THREE TOTAL FAILURES. HOWEVER, AS A RESULT OF THE APRIL 1ST FAILURE, I HAD THE VEHICLE REPAIRED AT MIDAS. I WAS NOT AWARE OF THE POTENTIAL RECALL AT THIS PARTICULAR TIME. THE REPAIR SHOP REPLACED THE TIMING GEAR AND CLEANED THE ENGINE, BUT INFORMED ME THAT THEY COULD NOT GUARANTEE THE WORK. THE COST FOR THESE SERVICES WAS $1,488.50. I ALSO NEEDED TO REPLACE THE TIMING SOLENOIDS (I DID NOT HAVE THIS DONE AT MIDAS AT THE TIME BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE THE MONEY). I PURCHASED THESE AT AUTO ZONE FOR $123.42. THEY WERE INSTALLED BY A DIFFERENT MECHANIC AT THE COST OF $125. ONCE THE INTERIM RECALL INFORMATION WAS DISSEMINATED, IN JUNE, AND ONCE I RECEIVED MY VEHICLE BACK, WHICH WAS JUNE 25TH, AFTER HAVING THE ENGINE REPLACED, I FILED A CLAIM FOR REIMBURSEMENT. KIA HAS DENIED PAYMENT BECAUSE THEY STATE THE ENGINE WAS NOT REPLACED AS PER THEIR "LIMITED WARRANTY EXTENTION." I LATER APPEALED AND THE REPRESENTATIVE LEFT ME A VOICE MESSAGE (THAT I STILL POSSESS) WHICH STATES THAT IT WAS DENIED BECAUSE THE ENGINE WAS NOT REPLACED AND THE WORK WAS NOT DONE BY KIA. PROBLEM: IF I DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THE RECALL AT THE TIME OF FAILURE, WHY AM I BEING PENALIZED FOR THEIR FAULTY ENGINE? ADDITIONALLY, THE REIMBURSEMENT IS NOT UNDER A WARRANTY PROGRAM BUT IT IS FOR A SAFETY RECALL. WHY AM I BEING PENALIZED. KIA NEEDS TO PUT FORTH A GOOD FAITH EFFORT AND MAKE ITS CUSTOMERS WHOLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/27/2017 - TORRANCE, CA
AIRBAG SAFETY INDICATOR LIGHT REMAINS ON WITH PASSENGER SITTING ON THE SEAT: AT 80,000 MILES I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY PASSENGER AIRBAG SAFETY INDICATOR LIGHT. WHEN THE SEAT IS OCCUPIED, THE WARNING AIRBAG LIGHT, COMES ON AND REMAINS ON. I CONTACTED KIA AND WAS TOLD IT WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THIS HAPPENED AT FIRST FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME, AND NOW IT APPEARS TO BE HAPPENING INTERMITTENTLY. SHORT IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. SINCE 60,000 MILES I HAVE HAD A SHORT IN THE ELECRICAL SYSTEM OF MY VEHICLE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO 2 DIFFERENT PLACES TO HAVE IT INVESTIGATED AND NEITHER MECHANIC COULD TRACE THE CAUSE OF THE SHORT. I HAVE HAD BLOWN FUSES, NON-WORKING HEADLAMPS, FRONT AND BACK. NO ONE COULD FIND THE SHORT. I KEEP SPARE FUSES WITH ME AT ALL TIMES NOW, AND 100% OF THE TIME, THE RIGHT REAR BRAKE LIGHT IS NOT OPERATIONAL. I CONTACTED KIA CAR PROS IN CARSON, CALIFORNIA AND THEY TOLD ME THAT ANY WARRANTY COVERAGE HAD EXPIRED AT 60,000 MILES. DEFECTIVE AUTO LOCKS MY RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR WILL NO LONGER OPEN AND WILL NO LONGER PERMIT INGRESS OR EGRESS INTO THE BACK SEAT. THE KEY FOB WILL TURN THE LOCKS TO THE OPEN POSITION BUT YOU STILL CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. PERIODICALLY, THE DOOR LOCKS WILL GO CRAZY AND MAKE UP AND DOWN MOVEMENTS WHILE THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN. OCCASIONALLY, THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER DOOR WILL LOCK AND NOT OPEN, BUT THEN IT OPENS. NOW THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR IS PERMANENTLY STUCK IN THE LOCKED POSITION. KIA CAR PROS ALWAYS FINDS SOME EXCUSE FOR NOT REPAIRING THE DOOR UNDER WARRANTY. I BELIEVE IT IS DEFECTIVE AND THEY SHOULD BEAR THE EXPENSES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/27/2017 - TORRANCE, CA
AIRBAG SAFETY INDICATOR LIGHT REMAINS ON WITH PASSENGER SITTING ON THE SEAT: AT 80,000 MILES I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY PASSENGER AIRBAG SAFETY INDICATOR LIGHT. WHEN THE SEAT IS OCCUPIED, THE WARNING AIRBAG LIGHT, COMES ON AND REMAINS ON. I CONTACTED KIA AND WAS TOLD IT WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THIS HAPPENED AT FIRST FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME, AND NOW IT APPEARS TO BE HAPPENING INTERMITTENTLY. SHORT IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. SINCE 60,000 MILES I HAVE HAD A SHORT IN THE ELECRICAL SYSTEM OF MY VEHICLE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO 2 DIFFERENT PLACES TO HAVE IT INVESTIGATED AND NEITHER MECHANIC COULD TRACE THE CAUSE OF THE SHORT. I HAVE HAD BLOWN FUSES, NON-WORKING HEADLAMPS, FRONT AND BACK. NO ONE COULD FIND THE SHORT. I KEEP SPARE FUSES WITH ME AT ALL TIMES NOW, AND 100% OF THE TIME, THE RIGHT REAR BRAKE LIGHT IS NOT OPERATIONAL. I CONTACTED KIA CAR PROS IN CARSON, CALIFORNIA AND THEY TOLD ME THAT ANY WARRANTY COVERAGE HAD EXPIRED AT 60,000 MILES. DEFECTIVE AUTO LOCKS MY RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR WILL NO LONGER OPEN AND WILL NO LONGER PERMIT INGRESS OR EGRESS INTO THE BACK SEAT. THE KEY FOB WILL TURN THE LOCKS TO THE OPEN POSITION BUT YOU STILL CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. PERIODICALLY, THE DOOR LOCKS WILL GO CRAZY AND MAKE UP AND DOWN MOVEMENTS WHILE THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN. OCCASIONALLY, THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER DOOR WILL LOCK AND NOT OPEN, BUT THEN IT OPENS. NOW THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR IS PERMANENTLY STUCK IN THE LOCKED POSITION. KIA CAR PROS ALWAYS FINDS SOME EXCUSE FOR NOT REPAIRING THE DOOR UNDER WARRANTY. I BELIEVE IT IS DEFECTIVE AND THEY SHOULD BEAR THE EXPENSES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/27/2017 - TORRANCE, CA
AIRBAG SAFETY INDICATOR LIGHT REMAINS ON WITH PASSENGER SITTING ON THE SEAT: AT 80,000 MILES I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY PASSENGER AIRBAG SAFETY INDICATOR LIGHT. WHEN THE SEAT IS OCCUPIED, THE WARNING AIRBAG LIGHT, COMES ON AND REMAINS ON. I CONTACTED KIA AND WAS TOLD IT WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THIS HAPPENED AT FIRST FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME, AND NOW IT APPEARS TO BE HAPPENING INTERMITTENTLY. SHORT IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. SINCE 60,000 MILES I HAVE HAD A SHORT IN THE ELECRICAL SYSTEM OF MY VEHICLE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO 2 DIFFERENT PLACES TO HAVE IT INVESTIGATED AND NEITHER MECHANIC COULD TRACE THE CAUSE OF THE SHORT. I HAVE HAD BLOWN FUSES, NON-WORKING HEADLAMPS, FRONT AND BACK. NO ONE COULD FIND THE SHORT. I KEEP SPARE FUSES WITH ME AT ALL TIMES NOW, AND 100% OF THE TIME, THE RIGHT REAR BRAKE LIGHT IS NOT OPERATIONAL. I CONTACTED KIA CAR PROS IN CARSON, CALIFORNIA AND THEY TOLD ME THAT ANY WARRANTY COVERAGE HAD EXPIRED AT 60,000 MILES. DEFECTIVE AUTO LOCKS MY RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR WILL NO LONGER OPEN AND WILL NO LONGER PERMIT INGRESS OR EGRESS INTO THE BACK SEAT. THE KEY FOB WILL TURN THE LOCKS TO THE OPEN POSITION BUT YOU STILL CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. PERIODICALLY, THE DOOR LOCKS WILL GO CRAZY AND MAKE UP AND DOWN MOVEMENTS WHILE THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN. OCCASIONALLY, THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER DOOR WILL LOCK AND NOT OPEN, BUT THEN IT OPENS. NOW THE RIGHT REAR PASSENGER DOOR IS PERMANENTLY STUCK IN THE LOCKED POSITION. KIA CAR PROS ALWAYS FINDS SOME EXCUSE FOR NOT REPAIRING THE DOOR UNDER WARRANTY. I BELIEVE IT IS DEFECTIVE AND THEY SHOULD BEAR THE EXPENSES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2017 - CEDAR PARK, TX
CAR BEGAN RANDOMLY NOT STARTING. NEW BATTERY INSTALLED IN NOVEMBER 2016. REPEATED ISSUE 6 DAYS LATER AND AGAIN 6 DAYS AFTER THAT. REMEMBERING BACK TO FIRST TIME I PUSHED THE START BUTTON TWICE, PUT FOOT ON BRAKE AND PUT CAR IN REVERSE AND BACK INTO PARK. CAR STARTED. FIRST TIME ON A RELATIVELY STEEP DRIVEWAY. ALL OTHER TIMES ON FLAT GROUND. ALL INCIDENCES IN A DRIVEWAY/GARAGE. TOOK TO SOUTHWEST KIA ROUND ROCK (TEXAS) WHERE IT WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DUPLICATED. REPLACED BRAKE SWITCH SINCE DIAGNOSTICS WAS SHOWING A HISTORY. ALSO FIXED A RECALL ITEM (REAR WHEEL SPEED SENSOR) WHICH I NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER FOR. TOOK CAR HOME AND THAT EVENING IT WOULD NOT START. PERFORMED THE WORK AROUND AND IT STARTED. IT HAS BEEN WITH THE DEALER 7 DAYS NOW AND THEY HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO REPLICATE IT. CLAIMED THEY OPENED A TECH LINE BUT WHEN I CALLED KIA CONSUMER AFFAIRS TO OPEN MY OWN FILE CASE I WAS TOLD THEY SHOW NO RECORD OF A TECH LINE BEING OPENED. MY CONSUMER AFFAIRS CASE NUMBER IS 12421090. I HAVE NOW EMAILED THE GM, SERVICE MANAGER AND THE SERVICE ADVISOR AFTER HAVING NO COMMUNICATION FROM THEM AT ALL FOR THE LAST WEEK. I AM CONCERNED IT WILL FAIL WHILE DRIVING AND FEAR THE SAFETY ISSUE THIS COULD CAUSE - BEING HIT BY ANOTHER CAR, ETC.THE CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. IT HAS 40K MILES ON IT AND I'VE OWNED IT FOR 3 YR AND 8 MO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/18/2017 - FRIDLEY, MN
9/15/15- BROUGHT IN FOR MISFIRING AND ROUGH IDLING TO LUPIENT KIA BROOKLYN PARK, MN. 11/19/15 - BROUGHT IN FOR ROUGH IDLING AND ENGINE STALLING WHILE DRIVING TO LUPIENT. CLEANED ENGINE GROUNDS. 12/30/15 - LUPIENT - BROUGHT IN FOR MISFIRES AND CEL ON; REPLACED INJECTOR AND COMPUTER. 7/13/16 - LUPIENT - BROUGHT IN CEL ON, STARTS HARD, IDLES ROUGH; REPLACED INJECTOR (SAME INJECTOR); 8/18/16 - LUPIENT - TOWED IN - WON'T START CEL ON; REPAIR PIN TENSION; 8/17/16 LUPIENT - WAS IN FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND WAS TOLD THAT I DIDN'T PUT THE GAS CAP ON TIGHT ENOUGH. 1/11/17 - LUPIENT - TOWED IN WOULD NOT START; LIGHTS AND HORN WERE FLASHING. TOWED FROM HOME DRIVEWAY. WAS TOLD IT WAS THE KEY FOB BATTERY. 6/12/17 - BARNET KIA - TOWED IN; CAR STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART. STALLED AT RED STOP LIGHT LEFT TURN LANE. COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND CARE STARTED UP ON 6/14/17 FINE. TOLD TO COME GET MY CAR. 7/17/17 - BARNET KIA - VEHICLE TOWED; STALLED AT RED STOP LIGHT LEFT TURN LANE. HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN BECAUSE NO ONE IS CONTACTING ME FROM KIA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds