Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 142 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (42) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (33) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2018 - ARLINGTON, VA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 5:00PM ON 4/26/18 THE CAR DIED. FIRST THE STEERING LOCKED UP; ALL DASHBOARD LIGHTS CAME ON, STEREO SYSTEM WENT OUT AND SOON COULD NOT GAS/BRAKE APPROPRIATELY. WAS ABLE TO GET TO SIDE OF ROAD AND HAVE CAR TOWED TO DEALER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/8/2018 - DADEVILLE, AL
BOTH REVERSE LIGHT ASSEMBLIES HAVE BEEN MELTED BY THE BACKUP LAMPS CAUSING A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2018 - TROUTVILLE, VA
TODAY, I WAS PUTTING MY SON IN HIS CAR SEAT BEHIND THE DRIVERS SEAT. I HAD PLACED THE KEY IN THE FRONT SEAT WHILE PUTTING HIM IN THE CARSEAT. WHEN I HAD SHUT THE BACK DRIVER SIDE DOOR, THE CAR AUTOMATICALLY LOCKED. EVERY DOOR OF OUR VEHICLE LOCKED AUTOMATICALLY WHILE MY 2 YEAR OLD SON WAS INSIDE THE CAR. WE HAD TO CALL A TOW COMPANY TO COME AS AN EMERGENCY TO UNLOCK OUR CAR. IT TOOK THEM 30 MINUTES TO EVEN GET TO OUR LOCATION. WHEN THE CAR WAS UNLOCKED MY SON WAS HOT TO THE TOUCH AND SWEATING. THE TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE WAS 72 DEGREES. THIS IS A SAFELY HAZARD FOR THE FACT THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT LOCK ON ITS OWN WHILE NOT IN MOTION IF ANY AT ALL. IF IT HAD BEEN ANY HOTTER DURING THIS DAY, I WOULD HAVE HAD TO BREAK THE CAR WINDOW JUST TO SAVE MY SON FROM BECOMING A HEAT RELATED CASUALTY AND GOING TO THE HOSPITAL OR ANYTHING WORSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/30/2018 - DOUGLASSVILLE, PA
WHILE DRIVING 45 MILES PER HOUR ON A STRAIGHTAWAY, I HEARD A LOUD BANG AND THEN A CLUNKING NOISE FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE LOCAL KIA DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT BOTH AXLES SHEARED OFF AND THAT THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL WAS SPLIT, WITH ALL FLUID LEAKING OUT. THIS 2014 SORENTO ONLY HAS 105,000 MILES ON IT, MAINLY FROM HIGHWAY DRIVING. THIS WAS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AS I LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. HAD I BEEN GOING FASTER, THE LIKELIEHOOD OF AN ACCIDENT WAS HIGH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2018 - SANTA ROSA BEACH, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AS I HEARD A LOUD POP SO PULLED OVER ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD THINKING IT WAS MY TIRES, AS I LOOKED AT ALL THE TIRES I DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING SO I GOT BACK IN. SOON AS I GOT BACK IN THE VEHICLE I SMELLED SOMETHING SO I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND GOT OUT. THE MINUTE I GOT OUT OF THE CAR IT ENGULFED IN FLAMES.. THE FIRE REPORT SHOWED IT WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE , AND THE ENTIRE CAR BURNT UP

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/20/2018 - ROCHESTER, PA
MY CAR HAS 69000 MILES ON IT. WHEN DRIVING A DIAGNOSTIC COMES UP WHILE DRIVING ON THE RADIO TELLING ME THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION MODULE SYSTEM THE SHIFTING NOTIFIER ON DASH DISAPPEARS. THE YELLOW CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. TODAY WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC THE CAR WHILE DRIVING WENT LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. RPMS ON TAC WENT HIGH CAR SEEMED TO BE STUCK FOR A BRIEF MOMENT IN NEUTRAL. I COST TO A RED LIGHT. SEEM TO CORRECT ITSELF THE SHIFT INDICATOR ON DASH KEEPS GOING OUT. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP THEY WANTED TO CHARGE ME A FEE FOR DIAGNOSTIC. I FEEL THIS IS PUTTING MY SAFETY AT RISK. KIA WONT STAND BEHIND THEIR 100K MILE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY BECAUSE I BOUGHT IT USED IN 2014. I TOOK IT TO AUTOZONE IT CAME UP A MODULE ERROR CODE. BUT WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE THEM DIAGNOSE IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/14/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT ON, HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF WHEN IN AUTO MODE WHEN I USE LEFT TURN SIGNAL STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS NOT WORKING OR WORK IMPROPERLY IE VOLUME CONTROL WILL CHANGE RADIO STATION OR ADVANCE TRACK ON MEDIA BACK UP CAMERA WILL BLACK OUT WHILE STILL IN REVERSE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT ON, HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF WHEN IN AUTO MODE WHEN I USE LEFT TURN SIGNAL STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS NOT WORKING OR WORK IMPROPERLY IE VOLUME CONTROL WILL CHANGE RADIO STATION OR ADVANCE TRACK ON MEDIA BACK UP CAMERA WILL BLACK OUT WHILE STILL IN REVERSE

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT ON, HEADLIGHTS WILL TURN OFF WHEN IN AUTO MODE WHEN I USE LEFT TURN SIGNAL STEERING WHEEL CONTROLS NOT WORKING OR WORK IMPROPERLY IE VOLUME CONTROL WILL CHANGE RADIO STATION OR ADVANCE TRACK ON MEDIA BACK UP CAMERA WILL BLACK OUT WHILE STILL IN REVERSE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/7/2018 - DANVERS, MA
MY FRONT HEADLIGHTS KEEP GOING OUT. I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR 3 YEARS. IT WAS PURCHASED NEW. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME I'VE HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. I ALWAYS DRIVE WITH MY HEADLIGHTS ON, REGARDLESS IF IT'S DAYTIME OR NIGHT. SOMETIMES THE LIGHTS WILL FUNCTION PROPERLY AND OTHER TIMES THE HEADLIGHT(S) WON'T. I'D ON OCCASION POP OPEN THE HOOD AND USING A CLOSED FIST, HIT THE TOP OF THE ASSEMBLY AND THE LIGHT WOULD GO ON.......NOW IT WILL NOT GO ON NO MATTER WHAT I DO. LIKE I MENTIONED EARLIER, THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. THE FIRST 2 TIMES I HAD THE DEALERSHIP THAT I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AT REPAIR THE PROBLEM AT MY COST. NOW I READ BLOG PAGES THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL KIA MODELS BUT NO SAFETY RECALL HAS EVER BEEN ISSUED. HOW CAN HAVING NO WORKING HEADLIGHTS NOT BE A SAFETY ISSUE. ??

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds