Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (13) Power Train (3) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/21/2014 - CLARKSVILLE, MD
APPROXIMATELY 5 SECONDS AFTER THE VEHICLE IS INITIALLY PLACED INTO REVERSE GEAR, AND WHILE THE VEHICLE IS LIKELY ALREADY IN REVERSE MOTION, THE BACKUP CAMERA GOES BLACK FOR 2-3 SECONDS (AND CONSEQUENTLY, THE DRIVER IS BLIND) WHILE THE CAMERA IS APPARENTLY SWITCHING ON THE GUIDE LINE OVERLAYS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/9/2014 - GRAY, TN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE GEAR WAS SHIFTED INTO REVERSE AND WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS SLIGHTLY DEPRESSED IN ORDER TO EXIT THE DRIVE WAY,THE VEHICLE HAD REVVED AND INDEPENDENTLY BACKED INTO A STEEL POST. THE FRONT PASSENGER HAD THEN ASSISTED THE CONTACT BY SHIFTING THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE FROM ACCELERATING AT A VERY HIGH RATE OF SPEED. THE VEHICLE HAD THEN INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED FORWARD INTO A FIELD AT A CONTINUED HIGH RATE OF SPEED WHILE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. WHILE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED ,THE CONTACT HAD THEN PRESSED THE IGNITION START BUTTON IN ORDER TO FINALLY STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT HAD SUSTAINED MINOR ANKLE INJURIES WHICH HAD NOT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THERE WAS AN MANUFACTURED ELECTRICAL CORD THAT WAS CONNECTED TO THE ACCELERATOR THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE,HOWEVER,THE CODES DID NOT ILLUSTRATE THAT HAD CAUSED THE FAILURE,THEREFORE HE WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,900.GB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2014 - MONTGOMERY, AL
THERE HAS BEEN A VERY HARD JERK FORWARD AFTER A STOP (OR STOP AND TURN I. E. AT STOP SIGN) WHEN I START TO ACCELERATE GENTLY. THIS JERK HAS ALWAYS HAPPENED AFTER A STOP WITHIN 75 - 150 FEET. THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN AROUND 10- 15 MPH. JERK FORWARD SEEMS TO BE A SLAM FORWARD OF DRIVE SHAFT AFTER JUST STARTING TO ACCELERATE. THIS HAS OCCURRED ABOUT THREE TIMES A MONTH AND USUALLY AFTER CAR HAS RUN ABOUT FIVE MINUTES. I AM NOT A MECHANIC BUT THIS SEEMS TO BE POWER TRAIN ISSUE WITH DRIVE SHAFT, BRAKES AND/ OR TRANSMISSION INVOLVED. I WILL RESEARCH FURTHER WITH DEALER AS TIME PERMITS - THEY HAVE BEEN MADE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE BUT DID NOT SAY FOR SURE WHAT WAS HAPPENING AS OF YET (WANT LONGER EVALUATION TO DRIVE VEHICLE THEMSELVES).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/20/2014 - HUDSON, WI
THE SPECS FOR THE ADJUSTMENT OF HID LIGHTS ARE REQUIRING THE LIGHTS BE SET TOO LOW (NOT SHINING FAR ENOUGH) THE ROAD IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE IS ILLUMINATED FOR A FEW YARDS ONLY, AND THE HIGH BEAM LIGHT SHINES ONLY AS FAR AS THE LOW BEAM OF ME PREVIOUS VEHICLES. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS IF ONE DRIVES ON A FREEWAY AT THE ALLOWED SPEEDS (IN SOME STATES THIS IS 80 M/H). IN MY INCIDENT I WAS DRIVING ON I 80 IN NEBRASKA AT ABOUT 12 AM AND DID NOT SEE A CHUNK OF TRUCK TIRE LAYING ON THE ROADWAY. I DROVE OVER THE PIECE WHICH SUBSEQUENTLY WAS PROPELLED UNDER MY VEHICLE AND DESTROYED THE PROTECTIVE PLASTIC SHIELD FOR THE BRAKE LINES AND TORE OFF THE FUMES CANISTER OF THE GAS TANK. BOTH COULD HAVE ENDED UP IN A RATHER DANGEROUS CONDITION, AND ONE HAS TO ASK, IS A PLASTIC SHIELD THE PROPER PROTECTION FOR THESE COMPONENTS? THIS WOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED IF THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD HAVE ILLUMINATED ENOUGH OF THE ROAD IN FRONT OF THE CAR WHICH IN TURN WOULD HAVE ALLOWED FOR AN EVASIVE MANEUVER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - WEST SACRAMENTO, CA
WAS DRIVING VEHICLE ON FREEWAY WHEN SUNROOF SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED, CAUSING A HUGE HOLE & GLASS TO RAIN DOWN INTO CAR. NO ROCK OR ROADWAY DEBRIS WAS OBSERVED TO BE A FACTOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/21/2014 - MERRMACK, NH
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH WHEN SHE BECAME INVOLVED IN A SIDE IMPACT CRASH WITH A DUMP TRUCK THAT WAS TRAVELING 40 MPH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE DRIVER WAS FATALLY INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/3/2014 - HARLEYSVILLE, PA
I HAVE 2 CONVERTIBLE CAR SEATS IN THE BACK SEAT OF MY SORENTO. ONE CAR SEAT IS BEHIND THE DRIVER AND ONE BEHIND THE PASSENGER SEAT, BOTH ARE REAR FACING. THEY ARE SECURED USING THE SEAT BELTS, NOT LATCH, DUE TO WEIGHT LIMITS PER THE CAR SEAT MANUAL. THE SEATBELTS SECURING THE CAR SEATS HAVE BEEN RELEASING ON THEIR OWN WHILE DRIVING, BOTH WHILE MY CHILDREN WERE IN THEIR CAR SEATS AND WITHOUT MY CHILDREN. MOST RECENTLY, I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN FROM A STOP AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN I HEARD ONE OF THE CAR SEATS SLIDING ON THE SEAT OF THE CAR. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO BUCKLE THE SEAT BACK IN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A TOTAL OF 6 TIMES BEHIND THE PASSENGER AND 2 TIMES BEHIND THE DRIVER IN THE PAST MONTH- MONTH AND A HALF. THE CAR SEATS HAVE BEEN IN ANOTHER VEHICLE AND DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM. I CALLED KIA 2 TIMES AND TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP HAD A TECHNICIAN BUCKLE THE SEAT BELT AND PULL ON IT. THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO AND SENT US ON OUR WAY. KIA THEN TOLD ME THAT THERE IS REALLY NOTHING THEY CAN DO EITHER IF THEY CANNOT SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING. I VOICED MY CONCERN ABOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT AND THIS HAPPENS, WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO MY CHILDREN? THE CAR SEAT ITSELF IS ONLY SAFE IF PROPERLY SECURED IN THE CAR. KIA DID NOT SOUND VERY CONCERNED AND TOLD ME I NEEDED TO REPLICATE THIS IN FRONT OF A SERVICE TECHNICIAN AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS HAPPENS SPORADICALLY WHILE I AM DRIVING. I FIND THIS TO BE A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AND AM VERY UNHAPPY WITH HOW KIA IS HANDLING IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/23/2014 - PASADENA, CA
TRIED TO EXCELLERATE TO MAKE LEFT TURN, GAS PEDAL WENT TO FLOOR, NO RESPONCE FOR 4 SECONDS THEN TOOK OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED 7 TIMES IN THE WEEK I STARTED KEEPING A LOG. IT HAPPENS AT SLOW SPEED EITHER TRYING TO EXCELLERATE STRAIGHT RN. TUOR STARTING A LEFT

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

6/14/2014 - ENNIS, MT
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY GOING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH THE FRONT PORTION OF OUR 2014 KIA SORENTO SUNROOF JUST EXPLODED, IT SOUNDED LIKE A SHOTGUN WENT OF IN THE CAR, LUCKILY WE HAD THE INTERIOR SUN SHADE CLOSED WHICH KEPT THE GLASS FROM COMING INSIDE...UPDATED 07/01/14 THE CONSUMER NO LONGER OWNS THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 07/03/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/25/2014 - CELINA, TX
CANNOT READ OR EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO READ THE SPEEDOMETER IN DAYLIGHT MOST OF THE TIME. WORSE ON BRIGHTER DAYS. MUST TAKE EYES OFF ROAD FOR SEVERAL SECONDS TO FIND NEEDLE TO DETERMINE SPEED. ILLUMINATION IS FINE AT NIGHT OR IN VERY SHADED AREAS (IE GARAGE). SEEMS AS IF INSTRUMENT ILLUMINATION REDUCES BASED ON AMOUNT OF INTERIOR LIGHT, EVEN WITH ILLUMINATION DIAL ON MAX. NOT WEARING SUN GLASSES AND HAVE TRIED MULTIPLE COMBINATIONS OF HEADLIGHT/DTRL IN AN EFFORT TO FIND A WORKABLE SOLUTION. DEALER SERVICE SAYS "WORKING AS DESIGNED". THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY FLAW AS ONE CANNOT READILY DETERMINE THEIR SPEED WITHOUT TAKING THEIR EYES OFF ROAD FOR TOO LONG A PERIOD OF TIME. IN ITS CURRENT STATE THIS CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. CAN NOT SEE THE SPEEDO WHEN DRIVING IN DAYLIGHT OR BRIGHTLY LITE AREAS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds