Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/17/2016 - MINDEN, NV
VEHICLE DESCRIBED WAS PURCHASED BY US 8/10/16. RECEIVED NOTICE FROM KIA ON 8/29/16 THAT ENGINE COULD "FAIL", BASICALLY COME APART. CONCERNED WITH SAFETY OF FAMILY IF WIFE WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD OR IN A REMOTE AREA AND THIS OCCURS WITH HER AND GRANDCHILDREN IN CAR. WHY WOULD THIS NOT BE A RECALL ITEM. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHY IT WOULD NOT BE A RECALL ITEM. TRYING TO AVOID A POTENTIALLY SERIOUS ACCIDENT. TOLD TO KEEP PAPERWORK IN GLOVE BOX IF IT HAPPENS.....REALLY? PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2016 - CLEAVELAND, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED AND EMITTED A LOUD TICKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS OIL SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE ENGINE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/9/2016 - FRESNO, CA
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY GOING ABOUT 65MPH WHEN I HEARD A LOAD BANG FROM THE REAR AND FELT HARD JERK FROM CAR , I STOPPED THE CAR LOOKED UNDERAND SAW FLUID LEAKING FROM AWD COUPLING, TOOK IT IN TO KIA FRESNO REAR DIFFERENTIAL BROKEN METAL IN DIFFERENTIAL FLUID, DIFFERENTIAL REPLACE BUT AWD COUPLING NOT REPLACE. AWD STILL NOT WORKING

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/23/2016 - BANNING, CA
EVERYTIME I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE IT MAKES A HARSH BANGING NOISE. IT ALSO DECIDES TO JUST SHUT OFF AS SOON AS I PRESS ON THE GAS OR SLOW DOWN AFTER I'VE ALREADY STARTED GOING ON CITY STREETS I CAN ALSO HEAR AND FEEL CLICKING UNDER DRIVER'S SIDE FLOOR BOARD AS I'M TURNING INTO DRIVE WAYS,PARKING SPOTS ETC. THIS IS AN EVERYDAY THING THAT STARTED LAST YEAR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/23/2016 - BANNING, CA
EVERYTIME I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE IT MAKES A HARSH BANGING NOISE. IT ALSO DECIDES TO JUST SHUT OFF AS SOON AS I PRESS ON THE GAS OR SLOW DOWN AFTER I'VE ALREADY STARTED GOING ON CITY STREETS I CAN ALSO HEAR AND FEEL CLICKING UNDER DRIVER'S SIDE FLOOR BOARD AS I'M TURNING INTO DRIVE WAYS,PARKING SPOTS ETC. THIS IS AN EVERYDAY THING THAT STARTED LAST YEAR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

8/23/2016 - ALLEN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH FAILED TO PROPERLY OPEN FROM INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR PANEL WAS LOOSELY CONNECTED AND THE REAR DOOR LATCHES FAILED TO PROPERLY FUNCTION INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2016 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
UNABLE TO QUICKLY READ SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE DURING DAYLIGHT, DUE TO LACK OF CONTRAST BETWEEN NEEDLE AND BACKGROUND, RESULTING IN DANGEROUS PERIOD OF EYES OFF ROADWAY TO DETERMINE ONE'S SPEED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/3/2016 - CANTON, GA
WAS GETTING READY TO MAKE A LEFT AND WAS T-BONED ON DRIVERS SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS OR SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY ADJUSTER FOR INSURANCE COMPANY SAID IT LOOK LIKE THERE WAS A DEFECT IN THE SENSORS ## VIN PASSED ## KIA SORRENTO ##

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/1/2016 - SOUTHPORT, NC
THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. RANDOM BLIND SPOT BLINKING OR SOUND WHEN MAKING A RIGHT TURN. REPEATED VISITS TO STEVENSON KIA. SHOWED VIDEO OF PROBLEM. TECHNICIAN OBSERVED PROBLEM CASE #T3038955. DEALER SAYS THEY CAN,T DO ANYTHING TO SOLVE PROBLEM. SAFETY HAZARD WHEN MONITOR SOUNDS OR BLINKS WHEN THERE IS NO OBSTRUCTION

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2016 - ANAHEIM, CA
BOUGHT A PRE-CERTIFIED USED 2016 KIA SORENTO SXL. PASSED ALL 150 INSPECTION. LESS THAN 24 HRS AFTER BUYING THE CAR, THE FOLLOWING MORNING MY PREGNANT WIFE WAS DRIVING TO WORK IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC ON THE HIGHWAY AND ALL A SUDDEN THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. SHE WAS PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR WAS GOING 5 MPH. SHE WAS SO SCARED, SPECIALLY BEING PREGNANT, THAT THE CARS WERE GOING TO HIT HER. SHE TRIED GETTING INTO THE SHOULDER BUT SHE WAS GOING SO SLOW THAT CARS WERE ZIPPING PASS HER. THANKFULLY SHE ABLE TO GET TO THE SHOULDER. HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!!! AFTER GETTING TO A SAFE AREA, SHE TURNED THE CAR BACK OFF AND ON, THE CAR WORKED PERFECTLY FINE. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULDN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND THEIR COMPUTER SENSOR COULDN'T PICK UP ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. SO LONG STORY SHORT, NOTHING WAS DONE. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR ACCELERATOR PEDAL ASSEMBLY FOR 2016 KIA SORENTO. THE AFFECTED SORENTO WERE BUILT FROM OCT 27, 2014 AND JAN 29, 2015. OUR CAR JUST MISSED IT BY A FEW MONTHS. I GUESS KIA IS JUST WAITING FOR A HUGE ACCIDENT FOR THEM TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. I HOPE IT WOULDN'T BE US.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds