Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (2) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (16) Power Train (4) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (7) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/26/2015 - CEDAR PARK, TX
APPROXIMATELY ONE MONTH AGO MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON (P2098) IN MY 2014 KIA SORENTO EX V6 GDI WITH ABOUT 11,000 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. I TOOK IT IN TO KIA. THEY STATED IT WAS A KINKED WIRE. LAST WEEK, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT RETURNS (P2098). IT WAS CHECKED THIS TIME AND A REASON COULD NOT BE FOUND. A TECHLINE FOLDER WAS OPENED AND IT WAS RESEARCHED WITH KIA ENGINEERS WHO SAID THEY ARE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM IN OTHER SORENTOS. THEY ARE SEARCHING FOR THE ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM AND I AM TO CONTINUE TO TAKE MY SORENTO TO THE DEALER WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNS ON SO THAT THEY HAVE A RECORD OF IT. THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO LET US KNOW WHEN A SOLUTION HAS BEEN FOUND SO IT CAN BE REPAIRED. I JUST DON'T KNOW HOW LONG THIS IS GOING TO GO ON BEFORE A FIX IS IN PLACE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/3/2015 - WILLARD, UT
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY THIS MORNING I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE AND THEN MY SUNROOF SHATTERED. IT WAS THE BACK PORTION OF THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF AND IT COMPLETELY SHATTERED. SOME SMALL GLASS PARTICLES FELL INTO THE CAR, BUT MOST OF THE GLASS STAYED ATTACHED. I PULLED OVER AND CALLED HWY PATROL THINKING SOMEONE MUST HAVE THROWN SOMETHING AT MY CAR. I WAS NOT CLOSE TO ANY OTHER VEHICLES. MAYBE IT WAS ALREADY COMPROMISED BY A ROCK CHIP OR SOMETHING?? THANK GOODNESS MY BABY WAS NOT WITH ME AS HER CAR SEAT IS DIRECTLY BELOW THE SUNROOF. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND IT WILL COST $2300 TO FIX. I AM NOW IN A RENTAL FOR 4-5 DAYS WHILE IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/3/2015 - WILLARD, UT
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY THIS MORNING I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE AND THEN MY SUNROOF SHATTERED. IT WAS THE BACK PORTION OF THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF AND IT COMPLETELY SHATTERED. SOME SMALL GLASS PARTICLES FELL INTO THE CAR, BUT MOST OF THE GLASS STAYED ATTACHED. I PULLED OVER AND CALLED HWY PATROL THINKING SOMEONE MUST HAVE THROWN SOMETHING AT MY CAR. I WAS NOT CLOSE TO ANY OTHER VEHICLES. MAYBE IT WAS ALREADY COMPROMISED BY A ROCK CHIP OR SOMETHING?? THANK GOODNESS MY BABY WAS NOT WITH ME AS HER CAR SEAT IS DIRECTLY BELOW THE SUNROOF. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND IT WILL COST $2300 TO FIX. I AM NOW IN A RENTAL FOR 4-5 DAYS WHILE IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/28/2015 - BAYTOWN, TX
WE WERE DRIVING WHEN SUDDENLY THE SUNROOF EXPLODED VIOLENTLY AND ALL GLASS FELL ON US.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2015 - HOLLY SPRINGS, NC
SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE DURING SUNNY DAYS. THE NEEDLE IS TOO NARROW AND A POOR COLOR CHOICE FOR THE BACKGROUND. THIS IS DANGEROUS NOT KNOWING YOUR SPEED AND HAVING TO TAKE YOUR EYES OFF THE ROAD TOO LONG TO TRY TO READ IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2015 - HOLLY SPRINGS, NC
SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE IS IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE DURING SUNNY DAYS. THE NEEDLE IS TOO NARROW AND A POOR COLOR CHOICE FOR THE BACKGROUND. THIS IS DANGEROUS NOT KNOWING YOUR SPEED AND HAVING TO TAKE YOUR EYES OFF THE ROAD TOO LONG TO TRY TO READ IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/24/2015 - SAEGERTOWN, PA
AUG 5 2014 WAS DRIVING HOME ENGINE JUST STOPPED, WHICH MAKES BRAKING AND STEERING VERY DIFFICULT. GOT ENGINE STARTED AFTER A FEW TRIES ,DROVE HOME WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. CALLED KIA, HAD TOWED TO LOCAL DEALER. DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANY CODES OR PROBLEMS. MILEAGE 9500. ON JAN 7 2015 CAR WOULD NOT START IN PARKING LOT AT WORK. MANAGED TO GET STARTED, DROVE 500 YARDS AND ENGINE QUIT AT A STOP LIGHT. RESTARTED ENGINE, STARTED UP A HILL AND AFTER 500 YARDS OR SO ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AGAIN CONTINUED HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT. ON JAN 7 2015 LEFT WORK, ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AND CONTINUED ON. AFTER 8 MILES ENGINE QUIT WHILE TRAVELING UP A SLOPE ON SNOW COVERED ROAD. CAR SLID BACKWARDS INTO A DITCH. RESTARTED AGAIN, PULLED THE CAR FROM DITCH, CONTINUED ON. AFTER A MILE, ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AND CONTINUED HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT . MILEAGE 14000. CALLED KIA UPON ARRIVING HOME. THEY ARRANGED A LOANER CAR FOR US AND WE TOOK SORENTO TO LOCAL DEALER AGAIN. DEALER PUT 30 MILES ON CAR WITHOUT INCIDENT AND CHECKED COMPUTER FOR CODES. NONE FOUND. KIA ENGINEERING INSTRUCTED THEM TO CHECK ALL GROUNDS. NO PROBLEMS FOUND. KIA ENGINEERING IS CURRENTLY SENDING A DATA RECORDER TO DEALER FOR INSTALLATION ON CAR FOR 30 DAYS TO MONITOR SYSTEMS. HOPEFULLY WE WILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM SO DATA RECORDER CAN PICK UP THE PROBLEM. ONLY PROBLEM IS WE ARE SCARED TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR FEAR OF A MAJOR ACCIDENT. KIA DOES NOT SEEM CONCERNED AT ALL ABOUT OUR WELL BEING OR ANYONE ELSE'S SHOULD WE BE IN OR CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. KIA ACTUALLY TOLD US THEY WERE NOT WORRIED ABOUT HYPOTHETICAL SITUATIONS. MIND YOU WE LIVE IN NORTHWEST PA. THE WEATHER IS LESS THAN HOSPITABLE MUCH OF THE TIME DURING THE WINTER MONTHS.

View Details

STEERING

1/24/2015 - SAEGERTOWN, PA
AUG 5 2014 WAS DRIVING HOME ENGINE JUST STOPPED, WHICH MAKES BRAKING AND STEERING VERY DIFFICULT. GOT ENGINE STARTED AFTER A FEW TRIES ,DROVE HOME WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. CALLED KIA, HAD TOWED TO LOCAL DEALER. DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANY CODES OR PROBLEMS. MILEAGE 9500. ON JAN 7 2015 CAR WOULD NOT START IN PARKING LOT AT WORK. MANAGED TO GET STARTED, DROVE 500 YARDS AND ENGINE QUIT AT A STOP LIGHT. RESTARTED ENGINE, STARTED UP A HILL AND AFTER 500 YARDS OR SO ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AGAIN CONTINUED HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT. ON JAN 7 2015 LEFT WORK, ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AND CONTINUED ON. AFTER 8 MILES ENGINE QUIT WHILE TRAVELING UP A SLOPE ON SNOW COVERED ROAD. CAR SLID BACKWARDS INTO A DITCH. RESTARTED AGAIN, PULLED THE CAR FROM DITCH, CONTINUED ON. AFTER A MILE, ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AND CONTINUED HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT . MILEAGE 14000. CALLED KIA UPON ARRIVING HOME. THEY ARRANGED A LOANER CAR FOR US AND WE TOOK SORENTO TO LOCAL DEALER AGAIN. DEALER PUT 30 MILES ON CAR WITHOUT INCIDENT AND CHECKED COMPUTER FOR CODES. NONE FOUND. KIA ENGINEERING INSTRUCTED THEM TO CHECK ALL GROUNDS. NO PROBLEMS FOUND. KIA ENGINEERING IS CURRENTLY SENDING A DATA RECORDER TO DEALER FOR INSTALLATION ON CAR FOR 30 DAYS TO MONITOR SYSTEMS. HOPEFULLY WE WILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM SO DATA RECORDER CAN PICK UP THE PROBLEM. ONLY PROBLEM IS WE ARE SCARED TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR FEAR OF A MAJOR ACCIDENT. KIA DOES NOT SEEM CONCERNED AT ALL ABOUT OUR WELL BEING OR ANYONE ELSE'S SHOULD WE BE IN OR CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. KIA ACTUALLY TOLD US THEY WERE NOT WORRIED ABOUT HYPOTHETICAL SITUATIONS. MIND YOU WE LIVE IN NORTHWEST PA. THE WEATHER IS LESS THAN HOSPITABLE MUCH OF THE TIME DURING THE WINTER MONTHS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/24/2015 - SAEGERTOWN, PA
AUG 5 2014 WAS DRIVING HOME ENGINE JUST STOPPED, WHICH MAKES BRAKING AND STEERING VERY DIFFICULT. GOT ENGINE STARTED AFTER A FEW TRIES ,DROVE HOME WITHOUT FURTHER INCIDENT. CALLED KIA, HAD TOWED TO LOCAL DEALER. DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANY CODES OR PROBLEMS. MILEAGE 9500. ON JAN 7 2015 CAR WOULD NOT START IN PARKING LOT AT WORK. MANAGED TO GET STARTED, DROVE 500 YARDS AND ENGINE QUIT AT A STOP LIGHT. RESTARTED ENGINE, STARTED UP A HILL AND AFTER 500 YARDS OR SO ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AGAIN CONTINUED HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT. ON JAN 7 2015 LEFT WORK, ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AND CONTINUED ON. AFTER 8 MILES ENGINE QUIT WHILE TRAVELING UP A SLOPE ON SNOW COVERED ROAD. CAR SLID BACKWARDS INTO A DITCH. RESTARTED AGAIN, PULLED THE CAR FROM DITCH, CONTINUED ON. AFTER A MILE, ENGINE QUIT AGAIN. RESTARTED AND CONTINUED HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT . MILEAGE 14000. CALLED KIA UPON ARRIVING HOME. THEY ARRANGED A LOANER CAR FOR US AND WE TOOK SORENTO TO LOCAL DEALER AGAIN. DEALER PUT 30 MILES ON CAR WITHOUT INCIDENT AND CHECKED COMPUTER FOR CODES. NONE FOUND. KIA ENGINEERING INSTRUCTED THEM TO CHECK ALL GROUNDS. NO PROBLEMS FOUND. KIA ENGINEERING IS CURRENTLY SENDING A DATA RECORDER TO DEALER FOR INSTALLATION ON CAR FOR 30 DAYS TO MONITOR SYSTEMS. HOPEFULLY WE WILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM SO DATA RECORDER CAN PICK UP THE PROBLEM. ONLY PROBLEM IS WE ARE SCARED TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR FEAR OF A MAJOR ACCIDENT. KIA DOES NOT SEEM CONCERNED AT ALL ABOUT OUR WELL BEING OR ANYONE ELSE'S SHOULD WE BE IN OR CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. KIA ACTUALLY TOLD US THEY WERE NOT WORRIED ABOUT HYPOTHETICAL SITUATIONS. MIND YOU WE LIVE IN NORTHWEST PA. THE WEATHER IS LESS THAN HOSPITABLE MUCH OF THE TIME DURING THE WINTER MONTHS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2015 - WHILTEY CITY, KY
I BOUGHT A 2014 KIA SORENTO IN NOV. 2013. 2MONTHS I STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH THE DOOR LOCKS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AND THE BLUE TOOTH. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE AND TOLD THEM ABOUT IT AFTER 3-4 TRIPS AND BEING TOLD EACH TIME THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG THEY FOUND THAT THE RADIO SYSTEM WAS BAD. STILL NOTHING WRONG WITH THE DOOR LOCKS NOT UNLOCKING. THEN A FEW WEEKS LATER I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH IT STARTING, AGAIN 3-4 TRIPS OF BEING TOLD NOTHING WAS WRONG THEY SAID YOU HAVE A BAD BATTERY! I STARTED GETTING A WARNING FROM THE UVO SYSTEM IN NOVEMBER 2014 THAT I HAD A TRANSMISSION ISSUE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND EVEN THOUGH A TECHNICIAN SAW THE WARNING ON THE SCREEN AND THAT THE ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON THEY SAID THE GAS CAP MUST HAVE BEEN ON WRONG CAUSING THE WARNING AND THE TRANSMISSION TO STALL AND BE SLUGGISH, ALONG WITH CAUSING THE BLUETOOTH NOT TO RESPOND, AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCKS NOT TO RELEASE,BACKUP CAMERA BEEPS WHEN THERE IS NOTHING BEHIND ME, THE AUTOMATIC WINDOW ON THE DRIVERS SIDE TO NOT ROLL UP. IT WAS FOUND THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS GOING OUT AND WAS REPAIRED AT THE NICHOLASVILLE STORE, HOWEVER IT HAS NOT TAKEN CARE OF THE ISSUES, THE DOORS WILL NOT UNLOCK AND THE UVO SYSTEM CONTINUES TO SEND EMAILS TO THE DEALER THAT THERE IS AN ISSUE. I HAVE ALSO HAD TO REPLACE A HEAD LIGHT BULB, BRAKES ARE RUBBING. I HAVE SPOKEN WITH THE KIA CORP ANALYSTS SPENCER WITH NO RESULTS AT THIS POINT. I HAVE SPOKEN WITH THE GENERAL MANAGER OF THE NICHOLASVILLE KY DEALER DURING OUR CONVERSATION HE SAID TO ME TO BRING MY CAR TO THE DEALER THEY WOULD BE GLAD TO CHECK IT. I ASK IF THERE WAS ANY WAY WE COULD WORK SOMETHING OUT SO THAT THEY COULD COME TO ME AND GET THE CAR. I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT I DO NOT FILL SAFE IN THE VEHICLE AND THAT I AM AFRAID FOR MY KIDS SAFETY, ON 1/20/15 I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT WITH IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds