Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (14) Power Train (3) Service Brakes (2) Unknown Or Other (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/4/2014 - PINE BROOK, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND ATTEMPTING TO ENGAGE THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL AND STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO VIBRATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2014 - MOREHEAD CITY, NC
WE CANNOT EASILY READ THE SPEEDOMETER IN DAYLIGHT. IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO DETERMINE THE SPEED AT WHICH WE ARE DRIVING. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I DISCUSSED IT WITH THE KIA DEALERSHIP RIGHT AFTER WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE. THE SPEEDOMETER NETTLE IS A RED LED ON WHITE NUMBERS WITH A BLACK BACKGROUND. WE CAN SEE THE NETTLE AT NIGHT BUT WE HAVE TO STARE AT IT FOR A LONG TIME TO BE ABLE TO SEE IT DURING DAYLIGHT HOURS. OBVIOUSLY, IT IS UNSAFE TO STARE AT THE SPEEDOMETER FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME WHILE DRIVING. IT IS ALSO UNSAFE TO NOT KNOW THE SPEED AT WHICH WE ARE DRIVING. WE SENT A LETTER TO: CONSUMER ASSISTANCE CENTER KIA MOTORS AMERICA, INC. P.O. BOX 52410 IRVINE, CA 92619-2410 THEY CALLED AND SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO FIX THE PROBLEM. TAKING YOUR EYES OFF THE ROAD AS LONG AS IT TAKES TO DETERMINE THE SPEED IS AT LEAST AS LONG AS IT WOULD TAKE TO READ OR SEND A TEXT MESSAGE WHICH IS VERY UNSAFE. WE HAVE ANOTHER CAR WITH A WHITE NETTLE ON A BLACK BACKGROUND AND IT IS VERY EASY TO READ. WE HAVE HAD OVER 20 CARS IN OUR LIFETIME AND HAVE NEVER HAD ONE WITH A SPEEDOMETER THAT IS THIS DIFFICULT TO READ.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/21/2014 - CLARKSVILLE, MD
APPROXIMATELY 5 SECONDS AFTER THE VEHICLE IS INITIALLY PLACED INTO REVERSE GEAR, AND WHILE THE VEHICLE IS LIKELY ALREADY IN REVERSE MOTION, THE BACKUP CAMERA GOES BLACK FOR 2-3 SECONDS (AND CONSEQUENTLY, THE DRIVER IS BLIND) WHILE THE CAMERA IS APPARENTLY SWITCHING ON THE GUIDE LINE OVERLAYS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/9/2014 - GRAY, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE GEAR WAS SHIFTED INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE REVVED WHEN THE CONTACT LIGHTLY DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE BACKED INTO A STEEL POST. THE FRONT PASSENGER HAD TO HELP THE CONTACT SHIFT THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE FROM ACCELERATING. SUDDENLY, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FORWARD INTO A FIELD AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED WHILE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO PRESS THE IGNITION START BUTTON IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR ANKLE INJURIES, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS A MANUFACTURED ELECTRICAL CORD THAT WAS CONNECTED TO THE ACCELERATOR, WHICH MAY HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE CODES DID NOT ILLUSTRATE THAT THIS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,900.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2014 - GRAY, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE GEAR WAS SHIFTED INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE REVVED WHEN THE CONTACT LIGHTLY DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE BACKED INTO A STEEL POST. THE FRONT PASSENGER HAD TO HELP THE CONTACT SHIFT THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE FROM ACCELERATING. SUDDENLY, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED FORWARD INTO A FIELD AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED WHILE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO PRESS THE IGNITION START BUTTON IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR ANKLE INJURIES, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THERE WAS A MANUFACTURED ELECTRICAL CORD THAT WAS CONNECTED TO THE ACCELERATOR, WHICH MAY HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE CODES DID NOT ILLUSTRATE THAT THIS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,900.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2014 - MONTGOMERY, AL
THERE HAS BEEN A VERY HARD JERK FORWARD AFTER A STOP (OR STOP AND TURN I. E. AT STOP SIGN) WHEN I START TO ACCELERATE GENTLY. THIS JERK HAS ALWAYS HAPPENED AFTER A STOP WITHIN 75 - 150 FEET. THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN AROUND 10- 15 MPH. JERK FORWARD SEEMS TO BE A SLAM FORWARD OF DRIVE SHAFT AFTER JUST STARTING TO ACCELERATE. THIS HAS OCCURRED ABOUT THREE TIMES A MONTH AND USUALLY AFTER CAR HAS RUN ABOUT FIVE MINUTES. I AM NOT A MECHANIC BUT THIS SEEMS TO BE POWER TRAIN ISSUE WITH DRIVE SHAFT, BRAKES AND/ OR TRANSMISSION INVOLVED. I WILL RESEARCH FURTHER WITH DEALER AS TIME PERMITS - THEY HAVE BEEN MADE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE BUT DID NOT SAY FOR SURE WHAT WAS HAPPENING AS OF YET (WANT LONGER EVALUATION TO DRIVE VEHICLE THEMSELVES).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/20/2014 - HUDSON, WI
THE SPECS FOR THE ADJUSTMENT OF HID LIGHTS ARE REQUIRING THE LIGHTS BE SET TOO LOW (NOT SHINING FAR ENOUGH) THE ROAD IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE IS ILLUMINATED FOR A FEW YARDS ONLY, AND THE HIGH BEAM LIGHT SHINES ONLY AS FAR AS THE LOW BEAM OF ME PREVIOUS VEHICLES. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS IF ONE DRIVES ON A FREEWAY AT THE ALLOWED SPEEDS (IN SOME STATES THIS IS 80 M/H). IN MY INCIDENT I WAS DRIVING ON I 80 IN NEBRASKA AT ABOUT 12 AM AND DID NOT SEE A CHUNK OF TRUCK TIRE LAYING ON THE ROADWAY. I DROVE OVER THE PIECE WHICH SUBSEQUENTLY WAS PROPELLED UNDER MY VEHICLE AND DESTROYED THE PROTECTIVE PLASTIC SHIELD FOR THE BRAKE LINES AND TORE OFF THE FUMES CANISTER OF THE GAS TANK. BOTH COULD HAVE ENDED UP IN A RATHER DANGEROUS CONDITION, AND ONE HAS TO ASK, IS A PLASTIC SHIELD THE PROPER PROTECTION FOR THESE COMPONENTS? THIS WOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED IF THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD HAVE ILLUMINATED ENOUGH OF THE ROAD IN FRONT OF THE CAR WHICH IN TURN WOULD HAVE ALLOWED FOR AN EVASIVE MANEUVER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/23/2014 - WEST SACRAMENTO, CA
WAS DRIVING VEHICLE ON FREEWAY WHEN SUNROOF SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED, CAUSING A HUGE HOLE & GLASS TO RAIN DOWN INTO CAR. NO ROCK OR ROADWAY DEBRIS WAS OBSERVED TO BE A FACTOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/21/2014 - MERRMACK, NH
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER WAS TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH WHEN SHE BECAME INVOLVED IN A SIDE IMPACT CRASH WITH A DUMP TRUCK THAT WAS TRAVELING 40 MPH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE DRIVER WAS FATALLY INJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/3/2014 - HARLEYSVILLE, PA
I HAVE 2 CONVERTIBLE CAR SEATS IN THE BACK SEAT OF MY SORENTO. ONE CAR SEAT IS BEHIND THE DRIVER AND ONE BEHIND THE PASSENGER SEAT, BOTH ARE REAR FACING. THEY ARE SECURED USING THE SEAT BELTS, NOT LATCH, DUE TO WEIGHT LIMITS PER THE CAR SEAT MANUAL. THE SEATBELTS SECURING THE CAR SEATS HAVE BEEN RELEASING ON THEIR OWN WHILE DRIVING, BOTH WHILE MY CHILDREN WERE IN THEIR CAR SEATS AND WITHOUT MY CHILDREN. MOST RECENTLY, I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN FROM A STOP AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN I HEARD ONE OF THE CAR SEATS SLIDING ON THE SEAT OF THE CAR. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO BUCKLE THE SEAT BACK IN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A TOTAL OF 6 TIMES BEHIND THE PASSENGER AND 2 TIMES BEHIND THE DRIVER IN THE PAST MONTH- MONTH AND A HALF. THE CAR SEATS HAVE BEEN IN ANOTHER VEHICLE AND DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM. I CALLED KIA 2 TIMES AND TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP HAD A TECHNICIAN BUCKLE THE SEAT BELT AND PULL ON IT. THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO AND SENT US ON OUR WAY. KIA THEN TOLD ME THAT THERE IS REALLY NOTHING THEY CAN DO EITHER IF THEY CANNOT SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING. I VOICED MY CONCERN ABOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT AND THIS HAPPENS, WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO MY CHILDREN? THE CAR SEAT ITSELF IS ONLY SAFE IF PROPERLY SECURED IN THE CAR. KIA DID NOT SOUND VERY CONCERNED AND TOLD ME I NEEDED TO REPLICATE THIS IN FRONT OF A SERVICE TECHNICIAN AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS HAPPENS SPORADICALLY WHILE I AM DRIVING. I FIND THIS TO BE A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN AND AM VERY UNHAPPY WITH HOW KIA IS HANDLING IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds