Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 93 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (17) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/21/2017 - GREENBACKVILLE, VA
HEADLIGHTS (LOW BEAMS) WILL BLOW OUT WHEN DRIVING AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH. VERY UNSAFE WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS BEEN AN ON GOING PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/6/2017 - TARENTUM, PA
WHILE DRIVING AT 25 - 30 MPH A LOUD NOISE SOUNDED FROM UNDER THE CAR. A REPETITIVE BANGING SOUND THEN OCCURRED. I PULLED OVER TO INSPECT THE CAR BUT FOUND NO DAMAGE OR ANYTHING UNUSUAL. WHEN PULLING AWAY ALL WAS QUIET BUT I THEN HEARD THE SOUND OF METAL GRINDING NOISES AND A SHORT WHILE LATER THE WHEELS SUDDENLY LOCKED UP. A SIMILAR EVENT HAPPENED AT 24,000 MILES AND THIS TIME AT 48,500 MILES. BOTH TIMES THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED IT WAS REAR DIFFERENTIAL FAILURE. THE FIRST TIME OCCURRED DRIVING STRAIGHT ON A RURAL ROAD AND THE SECOND WHILE GOING AROUND A SLIGHT BEND ON A RURAL ROAD. THE WHEELS LOCKING UP SUDDENLY ON THE SECOND DIFFERENTIAL FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE GOING DOWN HILL ON A STRAIGHT ROAD TRAVELING AT LESS THAN TEN MILES PER HOUR WHILE TRYING TO GET TO A SAFE LOCATION TO PULL OVER. I TRAVELED LESS THAN 1 MILE FROM WHEN THE INITIAL NOISE WAS HEARD. IT WAS RAINING AND THE VEHICLE SLID SLIGHTLY SIDEWAYS WHEN THE WHEELS LOCKED UP. HAD I BEEN DRIVING FASTER AN ACCIDENT LIKELY WOULD HAVE OCCURRED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2017 - GREENVILLE, MS
ON APRIL 1ST, THE ENGINE ON MY VEHICLE FAILED. I HAD IT TOWED TO MIDAS FOR REPAIR. THE MECHANICS INFORMED ME OF EXCESSIVE SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE THAT RESULTING IN THE TIMING GEAR AND TIMING SOLENOIDS FAILING. ON APRIL 7TH, I LEARNED THAT KIA WAS RECALLING SPECIFIC MAKES AND MODELS FOR ENGINE FAILURE THROUGH A FRIEND. UPON INVESTIGATION ONLINE, I SAW SEVERAL STORIES PUBLISHED ABOUT THE INFORMATION. SUBSEQUENTLY, I CONTACTED THE DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. SINCE PURCHASE, I MOVED OUT OF STATE. I WAS TOLD TO CONTACT THE NEAREST DEALER, WHICH I DID. I HAD EXPECTED A RETURN CALL, BUT NEVER RECEIVED ONE. I ALSO CONTACTED KIA DIRECTLY. THEY INFORMED ME THAT A RECALL NOTICE WOULD BE SENT TO MY HOME THE WEEK OF MAY 19TH (KEEP IN MIND IT IS APRIL 7TH). NONETHELESS, MIDAS REPLACED THE TIMING GEAR AT APPROXIMATE $1,500 AND ANOTHER MECHANIC REPLACED THE SOLENOIDS AT $175 PLUS PARTS. HE ALSO NOTED THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR AND CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR. I CONTACTED THE LOCAL KIA DEALER TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE LOOKED AT. WHEN I EXPLAINED TO THE SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE THAT THERE WAS AN RECALL ON THE VEHICLE FOR POSSIBLE ENGINE FAILURE, SHE ADVISED ME THAT IT WAS ONLY A BULLETIN AND TO BRING THE CAR IN TO BE INSPECTED. THE NEXT WEEK, WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PASS A CAR WITH AN 18-WHEELER COMING IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION, THE ENGINE FAILED. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT HAS BEEN EVER SINCE. I WAS INFORMED BY THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THEY WERE WORKING WITH KIA BECAUSE I NEEDED A NEW MOTOR, AND THEY ASKED FOR SERVICE RECORDS. I DID EXPLAIN THAT I DID NOT HAVE A COMPLETE RECORD OF OIL CHANGES. SEE ATTACHED EMAIL. I WAS INFORMED TODAY THAT KIA HAS DENIED MY CLAIM. THE DEALER IS ATTEMPTING TO GET THE DISTRICT MANAGER TO PUSH FOR APPROVAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/27/2017 - NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND WHEN I CAME TO A POINT WHERE I SLOWED ALL THE WAY DOWN MY ENGINE FROZE. LUCKILY IT RESTARTED BUT AS SOON AS IT DID THERE WAS THIS TERRIBLE SOUND LIKE A BIG ROCK WAS FLYING AROUND IN MY ENGINE. ALSO NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON SO THERE WAS NO WARNING. ALSO THE A/C STOPPED WORKING ABOUT 1 YR AGO. I HAD FREON PUT IN AND IT STOP WORKING ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/27/2017 - NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND WHEN I CAME TO A POINT WHERE I SLOWED ALL THE WAY DOWN MY ENGINE FROZE. LUCKILY IT RESTARTED BUT AS SOON AS IT DID THERE WAS THIS TERRIBLE SOUND LIKE A BIG ROCK WAS FLYING AROUND IN MY ENGINE. ALSO NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON SO THERE WAS NO WARNING. ALSO THE A/C STOPPED WORKING ABOUT 1 YR AGO. I HAD FREON PUT IN AND IT STOP WORKING ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2017 - NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND WHEN I CAME TO A POINT WHERE I SLOWED ALL THE WAY DOWN MY ENGINE FROZE. LUCKILY IT RESTARTED BUT AS SOON AS IT DID THERE WAS THIS TERRIBLE SOUND LIKE A BIG ROCK WAS FLYING AROUND IN MY ENGINE. ALSO NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS CAME ON SO THERE WAS NO WARNING. ALSO THE A/C STOPPED WORKING ABOUT 1 YR AGO. I HAD FREON PUT IN AND IT STOP WORKING ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I PICKED UP THE CAR ON APRIL 28TH FROM MONROEVILLE KIA FOR SOME WARRANTY WORK ON THE OIL PAN AND TIMING BELT COVER. ABOUT AN HOUR LATER, THE CAR STARTED SMOKING AND I COULD SMELL OIL BURNING. I WAS ADVISED BY THE DEALERSHIP TO BRING THE VEHICLE BACK TO THEM. I TURNED AROUND AND STARTED HEADING BACK THERE. I MADE IT ABOUT A MILE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND COMPLETELY LOST POWER AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I PUT MY FLASHERS ON AND COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. WHEN THE CAR CAME TO A STOP, I NOTICED FLAMES CREEPING UP BETWEEN THE HOOD AND THE WINDSHIELD. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, SHUT THE CAR OFF AND REMOVED THE KEYS, AND GOT OUT OF THE CAR. WITHIN 30 SECONDS OR SO THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. I HAD ALREADY STARTED CALLING 911 TO REPORT THE FIRE. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT SHOWED UP WITHIN 6 MINUTES, BUT THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE CAR WAS ON THE SIDE OF A MAIN ROAD. THE CAR WAS TOWED AS PER MY CAR INSURANCE COMPANY AND THEY WERE SENDING AND INVESTIGATOR TO LOOK TO DETERMINE A CAUSE. THE CAR WAS A COMPLETE LOSS, INCLUDING EVERYTHING INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THIS INCLUDED KIDS SPORTS EQUIPMENT, TOYS, CAR SEATS, CLOTHES, BOWLING EQUIPMENT, ETC. THE ONLY THING THEY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO DETERMINE IN 3.5 WEEKS IS THAT THE FIRE STARTED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I'M UNSURE IF THIS HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH THE CURRENT RECALL OF 17V224000 DEALING WITH THE MOTOR AT THIS TIME. I'M AWAITING WORD FROM KIA MOTORS INC. ABOUT ANY INVESTIGATION THEY MAY WANT TO DO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/24/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I PICKED UP THE CAR ON APRIL 28TH FROM MONROEVILLE KIA FOR SOME WARRANTY WORK ON THE OIL PAN AND TIMING BELT COVER. ABOUT AN HOUR LATER, THE CAR STARTED SMOKING AND I COULD SMELL OIL BURNING. I WAS ADVISED BY THE DEALERSHIP TO BRING THE VEHICLE BACK TO THEM. I TURNED AROUND AND STARTED HEADING BACK THERE. I MADE IT ABOUT A MILE WHEN THE GAS PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND COMPLETELY LOST POWER AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I PUT MY FLASHERS ON AND COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. WHEN THE CAR CAME TO A STOP, I NOTICED FLAMES CREEPING UP BETWEEN THE HOOD AND THE WINDSHIELD. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, SHUT THE CAR OFF AND REMOVED THE KEYS, AND GOT OUT OF THE CAR. WITHIN 30 SECONDS OR SO THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. I HAD ALREADY STARTED CALLING 911 TO REPORT THE FIRE. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT SHOWED UP WITHIN 6 MINUTES, BUT THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE CAR WAS ON THE SIDE OF A MAIN ROAD. THE CAR WAS TOWED AS PER MY CAR INSURANCE COMPANY AND THEY WERE SENDING AND INVESTIGATOR TO LOOK TO DETERMINE A CAUSE. THE CAR WAS A COMPLETE LOSS, INCLUDING EVERYTHING INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THIS INCLUDED KIDS SPORTS EQUIPMENT, TOYS, CAR SEATS, CLOTHES, BOWLING EQUIPMENT, ETC. THE ONLY THING THEY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO DETERMINE IN 3.5 WEEKS IS THAT THE FIRE STARTED IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I'M UNSURE IF THIS HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH THE CURRENT RECALL OF 17V224000 DEALING WITH THE MOTOR AT THIS TIME. I'M AWAITING WORD FROM KIA MOTORS INC. ABOUT ANY INVESTIGATION THEY MAY WANT TO DO.

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2017 - WAYLAND, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE PROGRESSING FROM THE ENGINE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND RECOMMENDED THAT IT BE TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR SERVICING. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER INDICATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXCLUDED FROM A MANUFACTURER RECALL. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN OF WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN PARKED FOR MONTHS DUE TO THE CONDITION AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/18/2017 - MANASSAS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE KEY FOB FAILED TO PROPERLY OPERATE THE HATCH AND WOULD OPEN OR CLOSE INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. ON ONE OCCASION, THE CONTACT HAD TO MANUALLY OPEN THE HATCH AND THE HATCH INDEPENDENTLY CLOSED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A HEAD INJURY DUE TO THE FAILURE. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND OFFERED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds