Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2014 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2014 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (11)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

4/9/2016 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
WHILE TRAVELING 70 MPH, I SUFFERED A FRONT TIRE FAILURE. A NARROW STRIP 1" WIDE BY 6" LONG SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE. I WROTE TWICE TO KUMHO WITH NO RESPONSE. I HAVE DRIVEN 50+ YEARS AND I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH A TIRE MALFUNCTION. I DID NOT DRIVE OVER ANYTHING AS THERE WAS NO OTHER DAMAGE. THIS KUMHO TIRE SHOULD BE REVIEWED FOR SAFETY REASONS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2016 - SUMMERVILLE, SC
THE HEADLAMPS ARE FREQUENTLY GOING OUT AND REQUIRE TO BE REPLACED. I LIVE IN A STATE WHERE HEADLAMPS ARE REQUIRED IN RAIN (SO MANY TIMES I AM IN VIOLATION) AND THE ROADS ARE NOT WELL LIT AT NIGHT. EVEN WHEN THE HEADLAMPS ARE WORKING PROPERLY, THEY ARE INADEQUATE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/10/2016 - DURHAM, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE PRESENCE OF SMOKE EMITTED OUTSIDE AND INSIDE THE VEHICLE. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CONTACT LIFTED THE HOOD AND NOTICED FLAMES NEAR THE MOTOR. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AT THE DEALER'S FOR WEEKS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT IT WAS UNCERTAIN AS TO WHEN THEY WOULD INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE AND PROVIDE A PERMANENT REMEDY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2016 - OAKPARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN INTO THE PARKING LOT TO PARK THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE BRAKES FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/10/2016 - OAKPARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN INTO THE PARKING LOT TO PARK THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL AND THE BRAKES FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/28/2015 - SUITLAND, MD
WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE UPON COMING TO STOP WHEN YOU STEP ON BRAKE TO STOP CAR THE SHOULDER STRAP OF SEAT BELT WILL NOT ENGAGE UNLESS A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF PRESSURE IS USED, AND, EVEN THEN IT WILL NOT ENGAGE ALL THE TIME.THE TECHNATION SAID THIS IS THE WAY THE SHOULDER STRAP WORKS.I WORK FOR USPS AND WHEN WE COME TO A STOP I VEHICLES STEAT BELTS LOCK YOU IN PLACE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/22/2015 - WARSAW, OH
I DROVE MY KIA TO THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY TO GET THE MAIL. UPON SHUTTING THE DOOR, MY REAR WINDSHIELD EXPLODED OUTWARD. I CONTACTED KIA AND SPOKE WITH JOSE AND WAS GIVEN A CASE NUMBER. I WAS INSTRUCTED TO TAKE IT TO A KIA DEALERSHIP SO THEY COULD DETERMINE IF THE WINDSHIELD WAS DEFECTIVE. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT TO SPITZER KIA AND AFTER WAITING 4 HOURS WAS TOLD THEY WOULDN'T COVER IT. SHAWN WAS THE MECHANIC THAT LOOKED AT THE WINDSHIELD AND TOOK PICTURES. PICTURES WERE SENT TO STEVEN RUPERT, FIELD TECHNICAL REP FOR KIA. MR. RUPERT MADE THIS DECISION VIA EMAIL TO SHAWN, PER SHAWN. I CONTACTED KIA ONCE AGAIN AND WAS TOLD THEY GO BACK WHAT IS REPORTED AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/10/2015 - SUNRISE, FL
NOVEMBER 6 2015 AT APPROXIMATELY 5:15 PM MY WIFE HAD AN ACCIDENT IN OUR CAR TOUR OF THE FRONT END TOOK IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP IN THE BODY SHOP AFTER 4 WEEKS WE GOT THE CAR BACK AFTER ONE DAY THE CAR CUT OFF AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER HE SAID IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP THAT WASN'T COVERED BY THE INSURANCE BUT I DON'T UNDERSTAND THE CARD NEVER CUT OFF BEFORE THE ACCIDENT SO WHY DID HE CUT OFF AFTER THE REPAIR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2015 - SUNRISE, FL
NOVEMBER 6 2015 AT APPROXIMATELY 5:15 PM MY WIFE HAD AN ACCIDENT IN OUR CAR TOUR OF THE FRONT END TOOK IT TO THE REPAIR SHOP IN THE BODY SHOP AFTER 4 WEEKS WE GOT THE CAR BACK AFTER ONE DAY THE CAR CUT OFF AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER HE SAID IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP THAT WASN'T COVERED BY THE INSURANCE BUT I DON'T UNDERSTAND THE CARD NEVER CUT OFF BEFORE THE ACCIDENT SO WHY DID HE CUT OFF AFTER THE REPAIR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/9/2015 - ROUND LAKE, IL
CAR WAS PARKED IN GARAGE OVER THE WEEKEND, FROM FRIDAY 4PM TILL MONDAY 6AM, STARTED CAR SUNDAY NIGHT, BACKED OUT OF THE GARAGE TO PUT OUT THE TRASH FOR MONDAY PICKUP, PULLED THE VEHICLE BACK IN THE GARAGE AND SHUT IT OFF. MONDAY AT 6AM BATTERY WAS DEAD. NOTHING WAS LEFT ON OVERNIGHT IN CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds