Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN PATHFINDER - 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (20) Service Brakes (4) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/29/2014 - RIVERSIDE, CA
IN STOP AND GO FREEWAY TRAFFIC WHEN DROPPING UNDER 20MPH AND REACCELERATING TRANSMISSION STARTS JERKING AT AROUND 20 MPH AND OCCASIONALY DOES THE SAME AROUND 45MPH.HAS ALSO OCCURRED GOING AROUND CORNERS AT AROUND 20MPH.SEEMS TO OCCUR WHEN PICKING BACK UP ON THROTTLE.WHEN ITS STARTS JERKING THERE IS A LOSS OF POWER UNTIL JERKING STOPS.VERY UNSAFE WHEN THIS HAPPENS.WAS TOLD BY SERVICE WRITER AT METRO NISSAN THAT THERE WAS NOT A FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM YET.TOOK TO RIVERSIDE NISSAN AND TRANSMISSION COMPUTER WAS REPROGRAMMED ON 9/27/14.SERVICE MANAGER THERE SAID IT FIXES AROUND 50 PERCENT OF THE TIME.HOPING I'M IN THAT 50%.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/27/2014 - FREMONT, CA
THE WHOLE DASHBOARD SHAKING WHEN YOU TRY TO APPLY GAS AND IT USALLY HAPPEN BETWEEN THE SPEED OF 0-20MPH ONLY. I HAVE AN APT WITH THE DEALER ON OCT 7TH TO UPDATE THE SOFTWARE WHAT I AM SEEING ON THE WEBSITE THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM. PAID $44K FOR THIS CAR AND NOW I HAVE TO TRY AND SEE IF IT FIXES IT. THE DEALER TOLD ME IF THE SOFTWARE UPDATE DOESN'T WORK THEN THEY WILL ASK NISSAN USA CORP TO SEE TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSON. I THINK PEOPLE SHOULD STAY AWAY FROM CVT TRANSMISSION FROM NISSAN AS THIS COULD LEAD TO A CRASH. GOOD THING IT ONLY HAPPENS IN LOW SPEED ACCELERATION BUT IF IT HAPPENS IN A HIGH SPEED THIS WILL BE A BIG ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/20/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
WE WERE STOPPED IN TRAFFIC ON THE DOWNHILL PORTION OF A CITY STREET WHEN WE WERE HIT FROM BEHIND BY A NISSAN PICKUP TRAVELLING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MILES PER HOUR. WE WERE APPROXIMATELY 10-12 FEET BEHIND THE CAR IN FRONT OF US AS WE'D STOPPED EARLY DUE TO WISHING TO LEAVE ROOM TO MOVE UP IN CASE OF IMMINENT IMPACT (WE COULD SEE THE VEHICLE COME FAST AND NOT SLOWING ENOUGH). MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE AND WE WERE NOT MOVING AT THE TIME. THE IMPACT DISENGAGED OUR BRAKES (MY FOOT WAS STILL ON THE PEDAL AND IT WAS FULLY DEPRESSED). WE HIT THE CAR CAR IN FRONT OF US AT AN ANGLE AND CONTINUED TO ROLL FORWARD FOR APPROXIMATELY 100 YARDS WITH NO WAY OF STOPPING. AFTER PUMPING THE PEDAL A FEW TIMES THE BRAKES ONCE AGAIN ENGAGED AND I WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I HAD HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED THE PREVIOUS WEEK BY THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP I HAD PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM AND THEY ADVISED ME THERE WERE NO ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES. I FEEL THAT THE BRAKES FAILED ON THIS VEHICLE BASED ON MY PAST EXPERIENCES IN SIMILAR REAR END COLLISIONS AND HAVE GRAVE CONCERNS ABOUT A DEFECT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HOOD: LATCH

9/15/2014 - COLUMBUS , WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE UNLATCHED WITHOUT WARNING AND STRUCK THE WINDSHIELD AND THE ROOF, RIPPING THE TWO QUARTER PANELS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE HOOD LATCH WAS DEFECTIVE. AS A RESULT OF THE FAILURE, THE ROOF, HOOD, TWO QUARTER PANELS, AND THE WINDSHIELD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/11/2014 - CORNWALL, NY
I CALLED NISSAN IN JUNE TO REPORT THAT MY CAR WAS SHAKING AND TREMBLING AT TIMES WHILE DRIVING. IT HAPPENS WHILE COASTING, ACCELERATING AND BRAKING. I BROUGHT IT IN AND WAS TOLD IT NEEDED A TRANSMISSION UPDATE. 2 WEEKS LATER THE PROBLEM RETURNED. AT TIMES I NEED TO TURN THE CAR OFF AND RESTART IT TO GET THE SHAKING TO STOP. WHEN I LOOKED ONLINE THIS IS A HUGE PROBLEM. OVER 29000 ALREADY ARE "LEMONS". I BROUGHT IT BACK AND WAS TOLD THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THEN BROUGHT IT BACK AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS A NEW UPDATE (1 DAY LATER). I CALLED NISSAN CORPORATE AND THEY WERE LOOKING INTO BUYING THE CAR. THEY THEN PUT IN A NEW TRANSMISSION AS I HAD REFUSED TO PICK UP THE CAR. THEY PUT IT IN THE DAY THEY CALLED TO SAY IT WOULD BE DONE TOMORROW SO WHEN I CALLED TO ASK THEM NOT TO, IT WAS ALREADY BEING DONE. NOW NISSAN WILL NOT BUY THE CAR AS IT HAS A NEW TRANSMISSION. THERE ARE REPORTS OF HAVING 3 NEW TRANSMISSIONS AND THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. CARS ARE BREAKING DOWN. NISSAN IS IGNORING THE PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD IN 2-3 WEEKS THEY WILL CALL AND IF THE CAR IS OK THEY WILL OFFER A SETTLEMENT. WHY A SETTLEMENT IF THE CAR IS OK UNLESS THEY REALIZE IT IS A PROBLEM? THE FACT THAT THIS IS A CONTINUATION FROM 2013 PROBLEM, AND THE CARS ARE CONTINUING TO BE SOLD WHILE NISSAN IGNORES THE PROBLEM PUTS PEOPLE IN DANGER. CARS ARE OVERHEATING AND BREAKING DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY. SOMEONE NEEDS TO HOLD NISSAN ACCOUNTABLE AND PUT PEOPLE FIRST. I STATED TO CORPORATE I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO BE A TEST DUMMY FOR 2-3 WEEKS AND PUT MY LIFE AND OTHERS ON THE ROAD IN DANGER. NO ONE AT NISSAN WILL ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE FOR MORE THAN JUST MYSELF. PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2014 - TAMPA, FL
VEHICLE FLUTTERS AT VARIOUS SPEEDS BUT MORE SO AT LOWER SPEEDS ESPECIALLY WHEN ATTEMPTING TO STOP. VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY IN THE PURCHASING DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPARTMENT. PURCHASED VEHICLE MAY 31 2014 WITH 45 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/3/2014 - CONVERSE, TX
BRAND NEW NEVER DRIVEN 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER BOUGHT. WITHIN 3 DAYS OF BUYING VEHICLE, JERKING MOTION, (LIKE THAT OF GOING OVER A RUMBLE STRIP), WHILE AT STEADY 20MPH. JERKING STOPPED WITH BRAKING AND/OR ACCELERATING. DID NOT HAPPEN AGAIN TILL WEEKS LATER. TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP. TOLD NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH IT AFTER TESTING FOR REPORTED 20 MILES. PROBLEM CONTINUED. NOW HAPPENS AT HIGH SPEEDS. SAFETY CONCERN AS WHEN DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT HIGH SPEEDS, JERKS FORWARD, CAUSING BREAKING, WITH NEAR REAR END CRASH OCCURRENCE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/27/2014 - NEW ALBANY, MS
WE HAVE A 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER SL, WITH 3551 MILES ON IT. WE PURCHASED IT USED ON 8-6-2014 WITH APPROXIMATELY 2240 MILES ON IT, WE ARE THE SECOND OWNER. ON 8-20-2014, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCESS AN INTERSTATE FROM AN ON-RAMP WE EXPERIENCED A SHUTTER AND STRONG SHAKING OF OUR 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER SL, AT THAT TIME IT HAD APPROXIMATELY 3336 MILES ON IT. WE WERE FORCED TO PULL OVER, ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. WE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT TO CONTINUE ON THE INTERSTATE BUT DID NOT EXPERIENCE ANOTHER INCIDENT THAT DAY. THE FOLLOWING SIX DAYS THE CAR BEGAN DOING THE SAME THING BUT IT WOULD USUALLY BE SEVERAL TIMES A DAY. I DID RESEARCH ON THE TRANSMISSION AND FOUND THAT THE CVT TRANSMISSION IS RIFE WITH PROBLEMS. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP (NOT WHERE WE PURCHASED IT) AND THEY RAN A DYNAMOMETER DIAGNOSTICS ON THE CAR AND SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. AS WE WERE DISCUSSING THIS ISSUE THE TECH MENTIONED THAT THE RECORDS SHOWED THE TRANSMISSION IN THIS CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN REPLACED ONCE BEFORE, AT APPROXIMATELY 2000 MILES. ALSO, I WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALERSHIP, WHO IS GOING TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION, THAT THEY HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO GET THROUGH TO THE NISSAN "CVT HOTLINE" TO REPORT THE PROBLEM AND ARRANGE FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION. WE HAVE BEEN TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT IT WILL BE REPLACED BUT THAT NISSAN IS THE HOLD UP. IT IS EXTREMELY UNFORTUNATE THAT A CAR MANUFACTURING COMPANY CAN GET AWAY WITH THIS AND FORCE CUSTOMER TO WAIT FOR A RESOLUTION WHEN THEY KNOW (AND HAVE KNOWN FOR YEARS) THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. I SINCERELY HOPE THAT THERE WILL BE A PUSH BY OUR GOVERNMENT TO RESOLVE THIS ONGOING PROBLEM WITH NISSAN AND POSSIBLY A VERY LARGE FINE FOR NISSAN'S DECEPTIVE PRACTICES BY DENYING THIS PROBLEM, BASED ON OTHER PEOPLE'S REPORTS WHO HAD REPORTED THIS SAME CVT TRANSMISSION PROBLEM DATING AS FAR BACK AS 2003 .

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - RICHMOND, TX
THE AIR BAG LIGHT ISSUE ON THE NISSAN PATHFINDER CONTINUES TO BE AN ISSUE FOR ME. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE SERVICE CENTER IN EXCESS OF 5 TIMES OVER THE COURSE THAT I HAVE HAD THE CAR (PURCHASED IN OCTOBER 2013) FOR THE AIR BAG LIGHT ISSUE. WHEN A PASSENGER SITS IN THE SEAT, THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT MAY STAY ON DURING THE COURSE OF THE DRIVE, INDICATING THAT THE AIR BAG IS TURNED OFF. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY TIME A PASSENGER IS IN THE SEAT AND ONLY AT RANDOM TIMES. THE SERVICE CENTER HAS UPDATED THE SYSTEM PROGRAMMING IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE NISSAN PATHFINDER RECALL AGAINST THE AIRBAG ISSUE. THE SERVICE CENTER HAS ALSO REPLACED THE AIR BAG SENSOR. OVER THE COURSE OF TIME, NONE OF THESE "FIXES" HAVE RESOLVED THE ISSUE. I HAVE COME TO FIND THAT IT MAY BE A PROGRAMMING ISSUE WITH THE AIR BAG -- IF A PASSENGER IS NOT FULLY SEATED AND STILL AT THE MOMENT THE CAR IS TURNED ON, THE SENSOR WILL NOT PROPERLY REGISTER THE PASSENGER WEIGHT. TYPICALLY, WHEN THE WEIGHT IS UNDETERMINED OR CANNOT BE IMMEDIATELY READ, THE CAR WILL KEEP THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT ON ASSUMING THAT IT FALLS OUTSIDE OF THE "ADULT WEIGHT" CATEGORY. THE LIGHT WILL REMAIN ON FOR AT LEAST ANOTHER 10 MINUTES OF DRIVING WHEN IT FINALLY RE-REGISTERS THE PASSENGER WEIGHT. THESE TYPES OF SITUATIONS CAN BE CHARACTERIZED IN MULTIPLE WAYS -- CAR TURNS ON AND PASSENGER IS STILL GETTING IN SEAT; PASSENGER SITS DOWN AS THE CAR IS TURNING ON; PASSENGER IS FULLY SEATED BUT SLIGHTLY MOVES DURING THE WEIGHT REGISTRATION; ETC. REGARDLESS OF THE SITUATION, WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE DRIVER CAN DRIVE FOR A NUMBER OF MILES WITH NO AIR BAG UNTIL THE SENSOR RE-REGISTERS THE PASSENGER WEIGHT AND REALIZE AN ADULT IS IN THE SEAT. NISSAN'S PROGRAMMING OF THE AIR-BAG SENSOR IS NOT WITHIN THE FEDERAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARDS FOR AIR BAG SAFETY. I REQUEST THAT THE NHTSA PLEASE REVIEW NISSAN'S AIR BAG PROGRAMMING AND VALIDATE SAFETY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2014 - HIGHLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER. WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED, THE AIR BAG SENSOR WOULD ILLUMINATE INTERMITTENTLY. THIS INDICATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WAS DEACTIVATED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE OSC UNIT WAS FAULTY. THE UNIT WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED WHEN A 125 POUND PASSENGER OCCUPIED THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANY DEFECTS WITH THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SHOULD DEACTIVATE FOR PASSENGERS UP TO 130 POUNDS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,257.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds