Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN PATHFINDER - 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 36 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (3) Power Train (17) Service Brakes (3) Trailer Hitches (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/27/2014 - NEW ALBANY, MS
WE HAVE A 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER SL, WITH 3551 MILES ON IT. WE PURCHASED IT USED ON 8-6-2014 WITH APPROXIMATELY 2240 MILES ON IT, WE ARE THE SECOND OWNER. ON 8-20-2014, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCESS AN INTERSTATE FROM AN ON-RAMP WE EXPERIENCED A SHUTTER AND STRONG SHAKING OF OUR 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER SL, AT THAT TIME IT HAD APPROXIMATELY 3336 MILES ON IT. WE WERE FORCED TO PULL OVER, ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. WE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT TO CONTINUE ON THE INTERSTATE BUT DID NOT EXPERIENCE ANOTHER INCIDENT THAT DAY. THE FOLLOWING SIX DAYS THE CAR BEGAN DOING THE SAME THING BUT IT WOULD USUALLY BE SEVERAL TIMES A DAY. I DID RESEARCH ON THE TRANSMISSION AND FOUND THAT THE CVT TRANSMISSION IS RIFE WITH PROBLEMS. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP (NOT WHERE WE PURCHASED IT) AND THEY RAN A DYNAMOMETER DIAGNOSTICS ON THE CAR AND SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. AS WE WERE DISCUSSING THIS ISSUE THE TECH MENTIONED THAT THE RECORDS SHOWED THE TRANSMISSION IN THIS CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN REPLACED ONCE BEFORE, AT APPROXIMATELY 2000 MILES. ALSO, I WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALERSHIP, WHO IS GOING TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION, THAT THEY HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO GET THROUGH TO THE NISSAN "CVT HOTLINE" TO REPORT THE PROBLEM AND ARRANGE FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION. WE HAVE BEEN TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT IT WILL BE REPLACED BUT THAT NISSAN IS THE HOLD UP. IT IS EXTREMELY UNFORTUNATE THAT A CAR MANUFACTURING COMPANY CAN GET AWAY WITH THIS AND FORCE CUSTOMER TO WAIT FOR A RESOLUTION WHEN THEY KNOW (AND HAVE KNOWN FOR YEARS) THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM. I SINCERELY HOPE THAT THERE WILL BE A PUSH BY OUR GOVERNMENT TO RESOLVE THIS ONGOING PROBLEM WITH NISSAN AND POSSIBLY A VERY LARGE FINE FOR NISSAN'S DECEPTIVE PRACTICES BY DENYING THIS PROBLEM, BASED ON OTHER PEOPLE'S REPORTS WHO HAD REPORTED THIS SAME CVT TRANSMISSION PROBLEM DATING AS FAR BACK AS 2003 .

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - RICHMOND, TX
THE AIR BAG LIGHT ISSUE ON THE NISSAN PATHFINDER CONTINUES TO BE AN ISSUE FOR ME. I HAVE BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE SERVICE CENTER IN EXCESS OF 5 TIMES OVER THE COURSE THAT I HAVE HAD THE CAR (PURCHASED IN OCTOBER 2013) FOR THE AIR BAG LIGHT ISSUE. WHEN A PASSENGER SITS IN THE SEAT, THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT MAY STAY ON DURING THE COURSE OF THE DRIVE, INDICATING THAT THE AIR BAG IS TURNED OFF. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN EVERY TIME A PASSENGER IS IN THE SEAT AND ONLY AT RANDOM TIMES. THE SERVICE CENTER HAS UPDATED THE SYSTEM PROGRAMMING IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE NISSAN PATHFINDER RECALL AGAINST THE AIRBAG ISSUE. THE SERVICE CENTER HAS ALSO REPLACED THE AIR BAG SENSOR. OVER THE COURSE OF TIME, NONE OF THESE "FIXES" HAVE RESOLVED THE ISSUE. I HAVE COME TO FIND THAT IT MAY BE A PROGRAMMING ISSUE WITH THE AIR BAG -- IF A PASSENGER IS NOT FULLY SEATED AND STILL AT THE MOMENT THE CAR IS TURNED ON, THE SENSOR WILL NOT PROPERLY REGISTER THE PASSENGER WEIGHT. TYPICALLY, WHEN THE WEIGHT IS UNDETERMINED OR CANNOT BE IMMEDIATELY READ, THE CAR WILL KEEP THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT ON ASSUMING THAT IT FALLS OUTSIDE OF THE "ADULT WEIGHT" CATEGORY. THE LIGHT WILL REMAIN ON FOR AT LEAST ANOTHER 10 MINUTES OF DRIVING WHEN IT FINALLY RE-REGISTERS THE PASSENGER WEIGHT. THESE TYPES OF SITUATIONS CAN BE CHARACTERIZED IN MULTIPLE WAYS -- CAR TURNS ON AND PASSENGER IS STILL GETTING IN SEAT; PASSENGER SITS DOWN AS THE CAR IS TURNING ON; PASSENGER IS FULLY SEATED BUT SLIGHTLY MOVES DURING THE WEIGHT REGISTRATION; ETC. REGARDLESS OF THE SITUATION, WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE DRIVER CAN DRIVE FOR A NUMBER OF MILES WITH NO AIR BAG UNTIL THE SENSOR RE-REGISTERS THE PASSENGER WEIGHT AND REALIZE AN ADULT IS IN THE SEAT. NISSAN'S PROGRAMMING OF THE AIR-BAG SENSOR IS NOT WITHIN THE FEDERAL MOTOR VEHICLE SAFETY STANDARDS FOR AIR BAG SAFETY. I REQUEST THAT THE NHTSA PLEASE REVIEW NISSAN'S AIR BAG PROGRAMMING AND VALIDATE SAFETY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2014 - HIGHLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER. WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED, THE AIR BAG SENSOR WOULD ILLUMINATE INTERMITTENTLY. THIS INDICATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WAS DEACTIVATED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE OSC UNIT WAS FAULTY. THE UNIT WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED WHEN A 125 POUND PASSENGER OCCUPIED THE PASSENGER SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANY DEFECTS WITH THE AIR BAG SYSTEM. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SHOULD DEACTIVATE FOR PASSENGERS UP TO 130 POUNDS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,257.

View Details

SEATS

8/4/2014 - WINCHESTER, KY
WHILE VACUUMING UNDER BACK SEATS NOTICED RUST UNDER SEATS. ONLY HAD VEHICLE 1 MONTH. SHOWED DEALERSHIP AT NEXT OIL CHANGE. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO GET THE DEALERSHIP TO DO ANYTHING I CONTACTED NISSAN MYSELF. THEY TRIED TO TELL ME THAT THIS RUST UNDER THE SEATS IS ENVIRONMENTALLY INDUCED FROM SALT ON THE ROADS WHILE TRANSPORTING THE VEHICLE FROM A NEIGHBORING STATE. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW WITH THE PLASTIC STILL INSIDE. HOW CAN SALT GET INSIDE THE VEHICLE? THEY SHOWED ME ANOTHER 2014 PATHFINDER JUST LIKE MINE AT THE DEALERSHIP AND IT TOO HAD RUST UNDER THE SEATS. OBVIOUSLY THIS IS A DEFECT.

View Details

TRAILER HITCHES

8/1/2014 - NORTH PORT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PULL A FOUR THOUSAND POUND BOAT OUT OF THE WATER, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SMOKE AND THE TIRES STARTED TO BURN. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO PULL THE BOAT AND SUBMERGED INTO THE WATER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 700.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2014 - SARALAND, AL
PROBLEM ONE-THE AIRBAG OFF LIGHT IS ON WHEN A 200 PLUS POUND OCCUPANT IS IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THE RECALL HAS BEEN PERFORMED AND IS CONTINUING TO FAIL. IT HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES AFTER THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED. 3 TIMES CAUGHT ON FILM/ VIDEO AND FORWARDED TO THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER. NISSAN SENT AN ENGINEER TO RIDE WITH ME ON 7/31/2014 AND BLAMED THE GOVERNMENT FOR THE FAILURE. HE SAID THAT NISSAN SETS UP THE PARAMETERS BASED ON THE GOVERNMENT GUIDELINES AND IF THE LIGHT IS ON AND AIRBAG IS OFF THAT IS BECAUSE IT NEEDS TO BE ON AND DISABLED. CALL ME CRAZY BUT THAT SOUNDS LIKE HORSE CRAP AND DEFLECTION TO ME. I CAN FORWARD YOU THE VIDEOS IF YOU WOULD LIKE. PROBLEM TWO- THE CVT TRANSMISSION STARTED SHUDDERING AROUND 2200 MILES AND IS CONTINUALLY GETTING WORSE. THEY PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE AND SAID THAT SHOULD SOLVE THE PROBLEM. IT HAS CONTINUALLY GOTTEN WORSE. THE NISSAN ENGINEER RODE WITH ME ON 7/31/2014 AND SAID THAT HE FELT THE SHUDDER AND THAT IT WAS A COST OF ACHIEVING CAFA STANDARDS AND WAS ACCEPTABLE. HE STATED THAT WHEN MOST CUSTOMERS ARE TOLD THAT THE SHUDDER IS THERE BECAUSE OF FUEL ECONOMY THEY ACCEPT IT AND ARE SATISFIED. HE IMPLIED THAT I WAS JUST BEING DIFFICULT AND HARD TO PLEASE. I INFORMED HIM THAT I WOULD NOT HAVE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IF THAT WAS THE WAY IT DROVE AT THE TEST DRIVE AND EXPRESSED THAT IT WAS CONSTANTLY GETTING WORSE AND HE DISMISSED THE CLAIM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/1/2014 - SARALAND, AL
PROBLEM ONE-THE AIRBAG OFF LIGHT IS ON WHEN A 200 PLUS POUND OCCUPANT IS IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THE RECALL HAS BEEN PERFORMED AND IS CONTINUING TO FAIL. IT HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES AFTER THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED. 3 TIMES CAUGHT ON FILM/ VIDEO AND FORWARDED TO THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER. NISSAN SENT AN ENGINEER TO RIDE WITH ME ON 7/31/2014 AND BLAMED THE GOVERNMENT FOR THE FAILURE. HE SAID THAT NISSAN SETS UP THE PARAMETERS BASED ON THE GOVERNMENT GUIDELINES AND IF THE LIGHT IS ON AND AIRBAG IS OFF THAT IS BECAUSE IT NEEDS TO BE ON AND DISABLED. CALL ME CRAZY BUT THAT SOUNDS LIKE HORSE CRAP AND DEFLECTION TO ME. I CAN FORWARD YOU THE VIDEOS IF YOU WOULD LIKE. PROBLEM TWO- THE CVT TRANSMISSION STARTED SHUDDERING AROUND 2200 MILES AND IS CONTINUALLY GETTING WORSE. THEY PERFORMED A SOFTWARE UPDATE AND SAID THAT SHOULD SOLVE THE PROBLEM. IT HAS CONTINUALLY GOTTEN WORSE. THE NISSAN ENGINEER RODE WITH ME ON 7/31/2014 AND SAID THAT HE FELT THE SHUDDER AND THAT IT WAS A COST OF ACHIEVING CAFA STANDARDS AND WAS ACCEPTABLE. HE STATED THAT WHEN MOST CUSTOMERS ARE TOLD THAT THE SHUDDER IS THERE BECAUSE OF FUEL ECONOMY THEY ACCEPT IT AND ARE SATISFIED. HE IMPLIED THAT I WAS JUST BEING DIFFICULT AND HARD TO PLEASE. I INFORMED HIM THAT I WOULD NOT HAVE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IF THAT WAS THE WAY IT DROVE AT THE TEST DRIVE AND EXPRESSED THAT IT WAS CONSTANTLY GETTING WORSE AND HE DISMISSED THE CLAIM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/25/2014 - EAGLE RIVER, AK
THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO "SHUDDER" AROUND 25 MPH. IT HAPPENED THE NEXT DAY AFTER I PURCHASED IT. I TOOK IT TO DEALER ON FOLLOWING MONDAY TO DO UNDERCOATING AND TOLD THEM ABOUT THE ISSUE. THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE IT. I TOOK IT IN ABOUT A WEEK LATER AND THEY STILL COULD NOT DUPLICATE IT. I WAS IN THE AREA OF THE DEALERSHIP WHEN THE ISSUE OCCURRED. I ARRIVED AT DEALERSHIP AND SUPERVISOR WENT FOR A RIDE WITH ME AND WAS ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ISSUE. THEY CONFIRMED IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION. IT TOOK THEM ABOUT A WEEK TO GET THE PART AND HAD MY VEHICLE FOR ALMOST A FULL WEEK TO INSTALL TRANSMISSION. ONCE I RECEIVED MY VECHICLE BACK FROM THEM I STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH THE CAR NOT STARTING. AFTER ABOUT 5 TRIES, THE VEHICLE WOULD START AND ALL MILEAGE AND FUEL GUAGES WOULD GO BACK TO ZERO. I WAS RECENTLY ABLE TO GET THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY DETERMINED THE BATTERY WAS HALF DEAD. THEY RECHARGED THE BATTERY LAST MONDAY, JUNE 16TH. I HAD NO ISSUES FOR THE FIRST FEW DAYS AND ON THURSDAY, JUNE 19TH, THE CAR WOULD NOT START AGAIN. IT TOOK MANY TRIES TO GET IT STARTED. I HAD TO RETURN TO THE DEALER AGAIN TODAY. AS OF RIGHT NOW THEY DO NOT KNOW WHY THE BATTERY KEEPS DRAINING

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/23/2014 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
HAD VEHICLE AT DEALER REGARDING NHTSA CAMPAIGN 14V138000. ONE DAY AFTER VISIT, PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. WITH 110 LBS. PASSENGER IN FRONT SEAT, AIRBAG AUTOMATICALLY TURNED OFF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2014 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
2014 NISSAN PATHFINDER ALL FOUR WHEEL HUBS BEGAN RUSTING SOON AFTER PURCHASE. CAR IS NOW 6 MONTHS OLD WITH HUBS COMPLETELY RUSTED...THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED AS IT IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. I HAVE TWO NISSAN PATHFINDERS, ONE 2012 AND ONE 2014..BOTH MAINTAINED TO SAME STANDARDS. I HAVE NO RUST ON MY 2012 BUT 2014 IS LOOKING TERRIBLE. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds