Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN VERSA NOTE - 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 12 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (4) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/24/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE WITH 9501 MILES AT TIME OF LAST INCIDENT. WHEN THE PROBLEM OCCURS THE CAR SHIFTS ROUGH AT LOW SPEEDS (10 MPH) TO MEDIUM SPEEDS (45 MPH). WHILE THE CAR IS SHIFTING ROUGH THE RPMS OF THE ENGINE MAINTAINS A NORMAL FLUX IN RPM BUT NOTHING DRASTIC LIKE AN ENGINE THAT IS STRUGGLING TO STAY RUNNING. ONCE THE CAR COMES OUT OF THE ROUGH SHIFTING THEN THE CAR QUICKLY STALLS. WHEN THE CAR STALLS IT DOES NOT SPIT AND SPUTTER LIKE A CAR HAVING PROBLEMS RUNNING. THIS HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES WITHIN THE 9501 MILE THAT WE HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT 45 MPH WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC AND WHILE MOVING THROUGH A PARKING LOT AT ABOUT 10 MPH BACK TO BACK WITHIN A MIN OF EACH STALLING AT ABOUT 10 MPH. THE OWNER-++S MANUAL SAYS TO USE AT LEAST 87 AKI AND THE LOWEST RATING IN OUR STATE IS 87. WE HAVE ALWAYS USED AT LEAST THE LOW GRADE AND AT TIMES USED MID-GRADE 89. NISSAN DEALERSHIP ONLY SUGGESTION IS TO USE PREMIUM GAS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/24/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE WITH 9501 MILES AT TIME OF LAST INCIDENT. WHEN THE PROBLEM OCCURS THE CAR SHIFTS ROUGH AT LOW SPEEDS (10 MPH) TO MEDIUM SPEEDS (45 MPH). WHILE THE CAR IS SHIFTING ROUGH THE RPMS OF THE ENGINE MAINTAINS A NORMAL FLUX IN RPM BUT NOTHING DRASTIC LIKE AN ENGINE THAT IS STRUGGLING TO STAY RUNNING. ONCE THE CAR COMES OUT OF THE ROUGH SHIFTING THEN THE CAR QUICKLY STALLS. WHEN THE CAR STALLS IT DOES NOT SPIT AND SPUTTER LIKE A CAR HAVING PROBLEMS RUNNING. THIS HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES WITHIN THE 9501 MILE THAT WE HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT 45 MPH WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC AND WHILE MOVING THROUGH A PARKING LOT AT ABOUT 10 MPH BACK TO BACK WITHIN A MIN OF EACH STALLING AT ABOUT 10 MPH. THE OWNER-++S MANUAL SAYS TO USE AT LEAST 87 AKI AND THE LOWEST RATING IN OUR STATE IS 87. WE HAVE ALWAYS USED AT LEAST THE LOW GRADE AND AT TIMES USED MID-GRADE 89. NISSAN DEALERSHIP ONLY SUGGESTION IS TO USE PREMIUM GAS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/28/2014 - COON RAPIDS, MN
THE WINDSHIELD WASHER NOZZLE DOES NOT REACH THE WINDSHIELD AT HIGH SPEEDS (30MPH+). THEY ONLY WORK GOOD WHEN STOPPED. THIS IS MY SECOND 2014 VERSA NOTE AND I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE FIRST ONE BUT NOT QUITE AS BAD AS THE NEWER ONE. I TALKED TO THE MAN AT THE DEALER AND HE SAID THAT IS THE WAY THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE. THERE IS NO WAY TO ADJUST THEM TO SPRAY HIGHER. I PUT SMALL METAL WASHERS UNDER THE FRONT OF THE SPRAYER NOZZLES ON THE FIRST ONE BUT THAT IS NOT WORKING FOR THE NEW ONE. I TRIED TWO WASHERS BUT THAT JUST LIFTS THE NOZZLE ASSEMBLY OUT OF THE HOUSING AND THE WASHERS FALL OUT. I DRIVE ABOUT 1000 MILES PER WEEK AND THIS IS A REAL ANNOYANCE AND A HAZARD IF I CAN'T GET THE WINDSHIELD CLEAR. I HAVE TO BE SURE TO CLEAR THEM AT STOP LIGHTS AND STOP SIGNS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/26/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WHILE DRIVING ON A 3 LANE ROAD FOR WHICH THE SPEED LIMIT IS 55MPH ON A HOT SUMMER NEVADA DAY (103 DEGREES) THE VERSA SUDDENLY FELT AS IF IT WAS DRAGGING AND BEGAN TO LOOSE SPEED. EVENTUALLY THE CAR STOPPED MOVING EVEN THOUGH MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS. I CHECKED THE FUEL LEVEL WHICH STILL HAD A LITTLE LESS THAN HALF , CHECKED TO SEE IF THE GEAR WAS ON NEUTRAL BUT IT WAS ON DRIVE, I LOOKED AT THE DASHBOARD AND THE BRAKE LIGHT AND PS ICON WERE ON. I CHECKED FOR THE EMERGENCY BREAK TO SEE IT WAS ENGAGED BUT IT WAS NOT. THE A/C WAS BLASTING, THE RADIO WAS ON, THE ENGINE SOUNDED ACTIVE BUT CAR WAS NOT MOVING. I TURNED OFF EVERYTHING, UNPLUGGED MY IPOD AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION. I THEN TURNED THE CAR ON AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT ANOTHER 3 MILES TO THE SAFETY OF MY HOME. I WAS ADVISED BY THE SALES PERSON I DEALT WITH TO BRING THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE. THE SERVICE TECH WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, THEY COULD NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE AND MADE ME TAKE THE CAR BACK. I TOLD THE DEALER I WANT TO RETURN THE CAR, OF COURSE IT'S AN ISSUE BECAUSE THE 3 DAY PERIOD TO RETURN THE CAR WAS ALREADY PASSED. I OPENED A CASE WITH THE NISSAN HQ , THEY ARE CLAIMING IT HAS TO DO WITH THE GAS I PUT IN THE CAR AND THE EXTREME TEMPERATURES IN NEVADA. NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS REP TOLD ME HE HEARD OF SIMILAR CASES AND PROBLEM WENT AWAY WHEN COSTUMER CHANGED THE GRADE OF GAS USED . THIS SOUNDS LIKE BOLOGNA TO ME. THE DEALER CLAIMS THEY WILL LOOK INTO IT, BUT I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. I READ ABOUT OTHER CASES WHERE THIS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES TO 1 CAR IN LESS THAN A WEEK. IT'S A SAFETY ISSUE FOR ME , MY PASSENGERS AND THE DRIVERS AROUND ME. NO WARNING ,NO TIME TO GET OUT ON A BUSY FREEWAY . I AM NOT PUTTING LIVES ON THE LINE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/26/2014 - LAS VEGAS, NV
WHILE DRIVING ON A 3 LANE ROAD FOR WHICH THE SPEED LIMIT IS 55MPH ON A HOT SUMMER NEVADA DAY (103 DEGREES) THE VERSA SUDDENLY FELT AS IF IT WAS DRAGGING AND BEGAN TO LOOSE SPEED. EVENTUALLY THE CAR STOPPED MOVING EVEN THOUGH MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS. I CHECKED THE FUEL LEVEL WHICH STILL HAD A LITTLE LESS THAN HALF , CHECKED TO SEE IF THE GEAR WAS ON NEUTRAL BUT IT WAS ON DRIVE, I LOOKED AT THE DASHBOARD AND THE BRAKE LIGHT AND PS ICON WERE ON. I CHECKED FOR THE EMERGENCY BREAK TO SEE IT WAS ENGAGED BUT IT WAS NOT. THE A/C WAS BLASTING, THE RADIO WAS ON, THE ENGINE SOUNDED ACTIVE BUT CAR WAS NOT MOVING. I TURNED OFF EVERYTHING, UNPLUGGED MY IPOD AND TURNED OFF THE IGNITION. I THEN TURNED THE CAR ON AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT ANOTHER 3 MILES TO THE SAFETY OF MY HOME. I WAS ADVISED BY THE SALES PERSON I DEALT WITH TO BRING THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE. THE SERVICE TECH WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR, THEY COULD NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE AND MADE ME TAKE THE CAR BACK. I TOLD THE DEALER I WANT TO RETURN THE CAR, OF COURSE IT'S AN ISSUE BECAUSE THE 3 DAY PERIOD TO RETURN THE CAR WAS ALREADY PASSED. I OPENED A CASE WITH THE NISSAN HQ , THEY ARE CLAIMING IT HAS TO DO WITH THE GAS I PUT IN THE CAR AND THE EXTREME TEMPERATURES IN NEVADA. NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS REP TOLD ME HE HEARD OF SIMILAR CASES AND PROBLEM WENT AWAY WHEN COSTUMER CHANGED THE GRADE OF GAS USED . THIS SOUNDS LIKE BOLOGNA TO ME. THE DEALER CLAIMS THEY WILL LOOK INTO IT, BUT I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. I READ ABOUT OTHER CASES WHERE THIS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES TO 1 CAR IN LESS THAN A WEEK. IT'S A SAFETY ISSUE FOR ME , MY PASSENGERS AND THE DRIVERS AROUND ME. NO WARNING ,NO TIME TO GET OUT ON A BUSY FREEWAY . I AM NOT PUTTING LIVES ON THE LINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/24/2014 - HARRISBURG, PA
WHEN COMING TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN OR RED LIGHT, IT SEEMS AS THOUGH EVEN THOUGH YOU ARE BREAKING, THE CAR IS STILL TRYING TO PUSH 'GAS'. THE CAR WILL FEEL LIKE IT IS MAKING LITTLE 'JERKS'. IT DOES NOT DO IT EVERYTIME, BUT ENOUGH TO NOTICE AND MAKE YOU UNCOMFORTABLE. WHEN STOPPED OR PARKED, I ALSO HAVE NOTICED THAT THE CAR 'SHIFTS OR MOVES EASILY AND I AM NOW IN THE HABIT OF APPLYING MY EMERGENCY BRAKE EVERYTIME I LEAVE THE CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/17/2014 - ASHEVILLE, NC
MY VEHICLE, UNLESS I'M AN EXERTING MORE PRESSURE THAN NECESSARY ON THE BRAKES, WILL LURCH FORWARD WHEN THE AIR CONDITIONER FAN KICKS ON. IF I'M NOT CONSCIOUSLY PAYING ATTENTION TO PRESSING HARD ON THE BRAKE, THE CAR WILL START TO DRIFT FORWARD EVEN AT A STANDSTILL. THE BRAKES DO NOT BRAKE SMOOTHLY. IT IS NOT A GRADUAL SMOOTH STOP, IT FEELS LIKE SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES WITH EVERY STOP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2014 - PORT ST. LUCIE, FL
THE CVT WILL SHIFT INTO A LOWER GEAR WHILE STOPPED WITH CONSTANT BRAKE PREASURE. 3 TO 10 SECONDS AFTER A COMPLETE STOP. THIS "LOWER SHIFTING" CAUSES THE CAR TO MOVE FORWARD WITHOUT THE KNOWLEDGE OF THE DRIVER SHOULD THE DRIVER THINK HE/SHE IS STOPPED AND PERFORMING OTHER NORMAL TASKS (I.E SETTING NAVIGATION OR RADIO,) THIS HAS THE POSSABILITY OF CAUSING VEHICLE DAMAGE OR PEDESTRIAN INJURY; WITHOUT THE KNOWLEDGE OF THE DRIVER. I CAN EASILY MAKE A VIDEO OF THIS PROBLEM AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/26/2014 - WASHINGTON, NC
CRACK ACROSS WINDSHIELD FROM PASSENGER LOWER SIDE ACROSS TOWARDS REAR VIEW MIRROR. OVER TIME CRACK HAS SPREAD IN A CURVE UP AND DOWN. REPORTED THE CRACK AND WINDSHIELD HAS BEEN UNAVAILABLE FOR REPLACEMENT DUE TO A HOLD BY NISSAN. NO APPARENT REASON, OTHER THAN COLD TEMP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/26/2014 - WASHINGTON, NC
CRACK ACROSS WINDSHIELD FROM PASSENGER LOWER SIDE ACROSS TOWARDS REAR VIEW MIRROR. OVER TIME CRACK HAS SPREAD IN A CURVE UP AND DOWN. REPORTED THE CRACK AND WINDSHIELD HAS BEEN UNAVAILABLE FOR REPLACEMENT DUE TO A HOLD BY NISSAN. NO APPARENT REASON, OTHER THAN COLD TEMP.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds