Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN VERSA NOTE - 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 23 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (8) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (6) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/11/2014 - PEDRO, OH
WHILE TRAVELING OUT A COUNTRY ROAD, I WAS COMING UP TO A STOP SIGN AT THE BOTTOM OF A HILL. WHEN I MADE AN ATTEMPT TO STOP, I HAD NO BRAKES WHAT SO EVER. I COULD SEE THAT THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC COMING FROM EITHER DIRECTION SO I MADE AN ATTEMPT TO MAKE THE TURN ON TO THE ROADWAY BUT HAD NO STEERING EITHER. WITH NO WAY TO CONTROL THE CAR I ENDED UP GOING STRAIGHT THROUGH THE STOP SIGN, ACROSS THE ROAD, THROUGH A TREE STUMP AND INTO THE SIDE OF AN ABANDONED HOUSE. WITH THE IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT COME OUT EVEN WITH AN IMPACT GREAT ENOUGH TO CAUSE SUSPENSION DAMAGE ALONG WITH OTHER MAJOR BODY AND STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE FRONT AND PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME WITH THIS VEHICLE THE AIR BAGS DID NOT COME OUT, THE FIRST IS WHEN MY HUSBAND HIT A DEER HEAD ON AT 55MPH AND AIR BAG SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THEM BEING TRIGGERED. ABOUT A WEEK BEFORE, I LOST POWER STEERING WHILE MAKING A LOW SPEED TURN BUT CAR QUICKLY RECOVERED. THE DASH AND RADIO HAS FLASHED SEVERAL TIMES ON AND OFF AND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP THE CAR ACTS AS IF IT HAS NO POWER AND SHUTTERS BEFORE FINALLY PICKING UP SPEED. THE DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND WOULD SEND US ON OUR WAY AND WHEN ASKED ABOUT THE NON AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT THEY JUST STATED THAT SOMETIMES IT HAPPENS, WELL NOW IT HAS HAPPENED TWICE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/11/2014 - PEDRO, OH
WHILE TRAVELING OUT A COUNTRY ROAD, I WAS COMING UP TO A STOP SIGN AT THE BOTTOM OF A HILL. WHEN I MADE AN ATTEMPT TO STOP, I HAD NO BRAKES WHAT SO EVER. I COULD SEE THAT THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC COMING FROM EITHER DIRECTION SO I MADE AN ATTEMPT TO MAKE THE TURN ON TO THE ROADWAY BUT HAD NO STEERING EITHER. WITH NO WAY TO CONTROL THE CAR I ENDED UP GOING STRAIGHT THROUGH THE STOP SIGN, ACROSS THE ROAD, THROUGH A TREE STUMP AND INTO THE SIDE OF AN ABANDONED HOUSE. WITH THE IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT COME OUT EVEN WITH AN IMPACT GREAT ENOUGH TO CAUSE SUSPENSION DAMAGE ALONG WITH OTHER MAJOR BODY AND STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE FRONT AND PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME WITH THIS VEHICLE THE AIR BAGS DID NOT COME OUT, THE FIRST IS WHEN MY HUSBAND HIT A DEER HEAD ON AT 55MPH AND AIR BAG SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THEM BEING TRIGGERED. ABOUT A WEEK BEFORE, I LOST POWER STEERING WHILE MAKING A LOW SPEED TURN BUT CAR QUICKLY RECOVERED. THE DASH AND RADIO HAS FLASHED SEVERAL TIMES ON AND OFF AND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP THE CAR ACTS AS IF IT HAS NO POWER AND SHUTTERS BEFORE FINALLY PICKING UP SPEED. THE DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND WOULD SEND US ON OUR WAY AND WHEN ASKED ABOUT THE NON AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT THEY JUST STATED THAT SOMETIMES IT HAPPENS, WELL NOW IT HAS HAPPENED TWICE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/11/2014 - PEDRO, OH
WHILE TRAVELING OUT A COUNTRY ROAD, I WAS COMING UP TO A STOP SIGN AT THE BOTTOM OF A HILL. WHEN I MADE AN ATTEMPT TO STOP, I HAD NO BRAKES WHAT SO EVER. I COULD SEE THAT THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC COMING FROM EITHER DIRECTION SO I MADE AN ATTEMPT TO MAKE THE TURN ON TO THE ROADWAY BUT HAD NO STEERING EITHER. WITH NO WAY TO CONTROL THE CAR I ENDED UP GOING STRAIGHT THROUGH THE STOP SIGN, ACROSS THE ROAD, THROUGH A TREE STUMP AND INTO THE SIDE OF AN ABANDONED HOUSE. WITH THE IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT COME OUT EVEN WITH AN IMPACT GREAT ENOUGH TO CAUSE SUSPENSION DAMAGE ALONG WITH OTHER MAJOR BODY AND STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE FRONT AND PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME WITH THIS VEHICLE THE AIR BAGS DID NOT COME OUT, THE FIRST IS WHEN MY HUSBAND HIT A DEER HEAD ON AT 55MPH AND AIR BAG SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THEM BEING TRIGGERED. ABOUT A WEEK BEFORE, I LOST POWER STEERING WHILE MAKING A LOW SPEED TURN BUT CAR QUICKLY RECOVERED. THE DASH AND RADIO HAS FLASHED SEVERAL TIMES ON AND OFF AND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP THE CAR ACTS AS IF IT HAS NO POWER AND SHUTTERS BEFORE FINALLY PICKING UP SPEED. THE DEALERSHIPS SERVICE DEPARTMENT STATED THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND WOULD SEND US ON OUR WAY AND WHEN ASKED ABOUT THE NON AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT THEY JUST STATED THAT SOMETIMES IT HAPPENS, WELL NOW IT HAS HAPPENED TWICE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2014 - LANSDOWNE, PA
2014 VERSA NOTE SV BOUGHT NEW, FOUND RUST ON THE 3RD DAY OF PURCHASE IN 12+ AREAS UNDERNEATH INCLUDING SUB-FRAME AND VARIOUS COMPONENTS. COMPLAINED AND REQUESTED REPLACEMENT WITH A RUST FREE CAR. NISSAN WON'T REPLACE OR REFUND DESPITE EXTENSIVE CORRESPONDENCE, EMAILS, PHONE CALLS, VISITS TO THE DEALER, FURNISHING DATE STAMPED PICTURES OF RUST AREAS. NISSAN IS DRAGGING ITS FEET WITH FEEBLE EXCUSES - ' NO EXCESSIVE RUST FOUND' "RUST IS NOT AFFECTING SAFETY OF THE CAR' 'RUST NOT AFFECTING PERFORMANCE OF THE CAR' - WHICH IS WHY THEY WILL NOT REPLACE IT. UPON TELLING THEM THAT THE DUE TO RUST, THE RESALE VALUE OF CAR IS SEVERELY DIMINISHED TO JUNK CAR VALUE - THEY HAVE NOTHING TO SAY. FILED COMPLAINTS WITH AUTHORITIES INCLUDING THE ATTORNEY GENERAL BUT THEY ARE SLOW TO PROCESS SO NOTHING HAS COME OF IT SO FAR AND NISSAN WON'T STAND BEHIND ITS PRODUCTS. BBB AUTOLINE HAS SIDED WITH NISSAN AND THEY JUST PISSED ON THE LEMON LAW DOING THAT - DESPITE PROVIDING SCORES OF DATE STAMPED PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE RUST AREAS. NISSAN IS NOT GIVING ME A CHARITY CAR, NOR IT IS A USED CAR THAT THEY HAVE SOLD ME. I HAVE PAID FULL PRICE WITH HIGH INTEREST FOR 6 YEARS THAT I AM GOING TO BE PAYING AND I DESERVE A RUST FREE CAR WITHOUT DEFECTS BUT NISSAN DOES NOT SEEM TO AGREE TO THAT. PEOPLE, PLEASE THINK A THOUSAND TIMES BEFORE BUYING A NISSAN. A COMPANY THAT IS TRYING TO GET AWAY USING EVERY LAME EXCUSE. I AM AFRAID THAT NISSAN MAY HAVE SOLD A LARGE NUMBER OF CARS TO BUYERS, WITH RUST SIMPLY BECAUSE THE AMERICAN BUYER TRUSTS MANUFACTURERS FOR THEIR QUALITY AND INTEGRITY - BUT NOT IN CASE OF NISSAN. IF ANY LAW STUDENTS/RETIRED LAWYERS/LAWYERS ARE WILLING TO HELP - FOR AN AFFORDABLE FEE - AS I CAN NOT AFFORD A LOT AT THIS TIME - PLEASE HELP ME AND MAY GOD BLESS YOU FOR YOUR KINDNESS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

10/1/2014 - PLEASANT GROVE, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENGAGE THE BRAKE OR ACCELERATOR PEDAL, A PLASTIC PIECE HURT HIS TOE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

10/1/2014 - PLEASANT GROVE, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN VERSA NOTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENGAGE THE BRAKE OR ACCELERATOR PEDAL, A PLASTIC PIECE HURT HIS TOE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2014 - ALISO VIEJO, CA
WAS DRIVING VEHICLE BACK FROM LAS VEGAS BACK TO CALIFORNIA ON 9/1/14. ALL ACCESSORIES ON A/C RADIO DURING THE DRIVE BACK STARTED TO HIT TRAFFIC ON THE FREEWAY. SO I BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN AND WHILE SITTING IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC MOVING AT ABOUT 30-35 MPH, VEHICLE STARTED TO FEEL LIKE IT WAS MISFIRING STARTED TO SHUDDER AS I BEGAN TO TAKE OFF FROM A STOP CRUISING UP TO 35MPH THE VEHICLE THEN COMPLETELY DIE'S AND SHUTS OFF SO I THROW ON THE HAZARDS AND COAST OFF TO THE SHOULDER AT THIS POINT STILL IN DRIVE NO POWER STEERING THOUGH. SO I SIT AND WAIT ON THE SHOULDER AGAIN START THE CAR UP AND STARTED TO GET BACK ON THE HIGHWAY BUT THE VEHICLE STILL FELT LIKE IT WAS HESITATING WHILE MOVING AT SLOW SPEED IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC BUT ONCE THE TRAFFIC STARTED MOVING AND I GOT UP TO NORMAL 60-65MPH THE VEHICLE FELT NORMAL AGAIN... NOT SURE IF THE HEAT FROM DRIVING THROUGH THE DESERET WAS GETTING TO THE CAR BUT IT ONLY SEEM TO DO IT AT LOW SPEEDS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC. BUT HONESTLY WHEN IT DID OCCUR IT WAS UNSETTLING NONETHELESS BEING IN TRAFFIC AND THE CAR COMPLETELY SHUTTING OFF AND HAVING NO POWER STEERING TO GET OFF THE FREEWAY. CAN ONLY IMAGINE IF IT HAPPENED AT A HIGHER SPEED OR TAKING A CORNER IT COULD HAVE BAD CONSEQUENCES THE CAR IS BRAND NEW FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND HONESTLY AFTER THIS ONE INCIDENT I KINDA HAVE MY DOUBTS ALREADY ON RELIABILITY BEING A BRAND NEW CAR ON LONG TRIPS. IT SHOULDN'T EXHIBIT ANY ISSUES LIKE THIS HOPEFULLY NISSAN IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE CAUSE I PLAN TO TAKE IT TO A DEALERSHIP TO GET IT CHECKED OUT. NOT SURE IF THERE IS ANY BULLETINS FOR THIS ISSUE BEING SUCH A NEW CAR OR IF I'M THE ONLY ONE THAT EXHIBITED THIS ISSUE, BUT DEFINITELY WAS NOT A GOOD FEELING DRIVING A NEW CAR AND HAVING IT SHUT OFF ON YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/28/2014 - SOUTHBRIDGE, MA
WHILE USING THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR (A/C, DEFROSTER) THE CAR WHILE AT A STOP, OR WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS UNDER 10 M.P.H. WILL CAUSE THE CAR TO SURGE FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY. I CAN HAVE MY FOOT FIRMLY PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL DOWN, AND CAN FEEL THE VEHICLE STRUGGLING TO MOVE FORWARD AGAINST ME. ANYONE WITH SIZE 10 SHOE AND ABOVE (MEN) FOOT BECOMES TRAPPED IN ACCELERATOR AREA. CRUISE CONTROL CONSTANTLY FAILS TO HOLD PROPER SPEEDS, AND VARIES FROM 10 MPH + OR - ABOVE INTENDED SPEED WHILE ON A FLAT NON INCLINE SURFACE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/28/2014 - SOUTHBRIDGE, MA
WHILE USING THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR (A/C, DEFROSTER) THE CAR WHILE AT A STOP, OR WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS UNDER 10 M.P.H. WILL CAUSE THE CAR TO SURGE FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY. I CAN HAVE MY FOOT FIRMLY PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL DOWN, AND CAN FEEL THE VEHICLE STRUGGLING TO MOVE FORWARD AGAINST ME. ANYONE WITH SIZE 10 SHOE AND ABOVE (MEN) FOOT BECOMES TRAPPED IN ACCELERATOR AREA. CRUISE CONTROL CONSTANTLY FAILS TO HOLD PROPER SPEEDS, AND VARIES FROM 10 MPH + OR - ABOVE INTENDED SPEED WHILE ON A FLAT NON INCLINE SURFACE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/28/2014 - SOUTHBRIDGE, MA
WHILE USING THE AIR CONDITIONING COMPRESSOR (A/C, DEFROSTER) THE CAR WHILE AT A STOP, OR WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS UNDER 10 M.P.H. WILL CAUSE THE CAR TO SURGE FORWARD UNEXPECTEDLY. I CAN HAVE MY FOOT FIRMLY PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL DOWN, AND CAN FEEL THE VEHICLE STRUGGLING TO MOVE FORWARD AGAINST ME. ANYONE WITH SIZE 10 SHOE AND ABOVE (MEN) FOOT BECOMES TRAPPED IN ACCELERATOR AREA. CRUISE CONTROL CONSTANTLY FAILS TO HOLD PROPER SPEEDS, AND VARIES FROM 10 MPH + OR - ABOVE INTENDED SPEED WHILE ON A FLAT NON INCLINE SURFACE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds