Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2016 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 750 complaints filed for the 2016 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (75) Steering (117) Unknown Or Other (233)
Electrical System (53) Forward Collision Avoidance (1) Seat Belts (6) Structure (32) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (79) Seats (14) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (200) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (4) Wheels (37)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/12/2019 - KANSAS CITY, MO
APRIL 23, 2019 FORD EXPLORER SPORT ECOBOOST ENGINE TIMING COVER OIL LEAK AT 56823 MILES. FORD SERVICE ADVISOR STATED THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE ECOBOOST ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2019 - KANSAS CITY, MO
JUNE 4TH 2019 THROTTLE BODY FAILED ON 2016 FORD EXPLORER SPORT WITH V6 ECOBOOST ENGINE AT 59K MILE. VEHICLE HAS BUCKING AND HAD NO ACCELERATION WHEN ATTEMPTING TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC. VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED TO DEALER. SPOKE TO FORD CORPORATE THEY WOULD NOT COVER REPAIR EVEN THOUGH THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE THAT SERVICE ADVISORS AT FORD HAVE TOLD ME.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION

7/10/2019 - SUMMERTOWN, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE THE CONTACT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING IN REVERSE, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. SHE HAD TO USE EXCESSIVE STRENGTH TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO COLUMBIA FORD OF TENNESSEE (115 S JAMES CAMPBELL BLVD, COLUMBIA, TN 38401, (931) 388-2463) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT A NEW RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED, BUT PLANNED TO BE REPAIRED IN A FEW DAYS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

7/10/2019 - ALLENDALE, MI
WIFE WAS DRIVING VEHICLE AND STARTED TO HEAR GRINDING NOISE WHEN TURNING. SHE THOUGHT IT WAS OUT OF POWER STEERING FLUID. SHE DID RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THERE IS NOT POWER STEERING THAT IT IS ELECTRONIC CONTROL. FORD KNOWING THERE IS ISSUES WITH EARLIER YEARS THAT THEY HAD RECALLS ON 2011-2013 MODEL YEARS. BEFORE IT COMPLETELY WENT OUT. DROVE IT TO OUR MECHANIC TO REPAIR.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2019 - SUMMERTOWN, TN
THIS WILL BE THE SECOND TIME IN A COUPLE OF YEARS THAT MY STEERING ON MY CAR HAS JUST QUIT WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT. I WAS, LUCKILY, SITTING IN A PARKING LOT, PARKED. WHEN I PUT MY CAR IN DRIVE AND TURNED MY WHEEL MY STEERING ABILITY WAS SUDDENLY WAS GONE AND I HAD THE "HILL ASSIST DISABLED" LIGHT TO COME ON, "ADVANCE TRAC CONTROL LIGHT" FLASHED, AND THE STEERING LOSS LIGHT CAME ON. I HAD NO CAPABILITY TO TURN MY WHEEL WITHOUT PUTTING ENORMOUS EFFORT. IT'S AS IF ALL MY POWER STEERING DIED. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

STEERING

7/9/2019 - W HEMPSTEAD, NY
THE STEERING FAILURE LIGHT CAME ON ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO AND I BROUGHT TO DEALER. THEY SAID IT WAS NOT THE STEERING BUT THE BATTERY PUTTING OUT THE WRONG VOLTAGE AND CAUSED THE SENSOR TO COME ON. TODAY I ACTUALLY LOST STEERING ON THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 30 MILES ON A LOCAL STREET. THE STREET CURVED AND I COULD NOT TURN THE WHEEL. THE STEERING FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR SAID THAT THE TERRAIN ASSIST AND HILL ASSIST WAS DISABLED (WAS NOT USING). I WAS ABLE TO PUT MY HAZARDS ON, AND STRUGGLE WITH THE STEERING TO PULL OVER. I ONLY HAVE 42000 MILES ON THIS VEHICLE AND HAVE HAD NUMEROUS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR, INCLUDING REPLACING THE APIM. I HAVE A 16 YEAR OLD, THAT JUST STARTED DRIVING WITH ME IN THIS CAR, AND I DO NOT THINK IT IS SAFE. I TRULY BELIEVE THERE IS SOME WIRING PROBLEM OR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THAT FORD IS IGNORING. I SEE MANY PEOPLE POSTING THIS SAME DANGEROUS STEERING FAULT ISSUE, AND IT NOT GETTING FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2019 - W HEMPSTEAD, NY
THE STEERING FAILURE LIGHT CAME ON ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO AND I BROUGHT TO DEALER. THEY SAID IT WAS NOT THE STEERING BUT THE BATTERY PUTTING OUT THE WRONG VOLTAGE AND CAUSED THE SENSOR TO COME ON. TODAY I ACTUALLY LOST STEERING ON THE VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 30 MILES ON A LOCAL STREET. THE STREET CURVED AND I COULD NOT TURN THE WHEEL. THE STEERING FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR SAID THAT THE TERRAIN ASSIST AND HILL ASSIST WAS DISABLED (WAS NOT USING). I WAS ABLE TO PUT MY HAZARDS ON, AND STRUGGLE WITH THE STEERING TO PULL OVER. I ONLY HAVE 42000 MILES ON THIS VEHICLE AND HAVE HAD NUMEROUS ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR, INCLUDING REPLACING THE APIM. I HAVE A 16 YEAR OLD, THAT JUST STARTED DRIVING WITH ME IN THIS CAR, AND I DO NOT THINK IT IS SAFE. I TRULY BELIEVE THERE IS SOME WIRING PROBLEM OR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THAT FORD IS IGNORING. I SEE MANY PEOPLE POSTING THIS SAME DANGEROUS STEERING FAULT ISSUE, AND IT NOT GETTING FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/8/2019 - CASTRO VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS FLASHED ON AND OFF. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE REARVIEW CAMERA WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DUBLIN HYUNDAI (LOCATED AT 6015 SCARLETT CT, DUBLIN, CA 94568, (925) 803-7700), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2019 - LAWRENCE, KS
I TOOK IT TO FORD FOR A RECALL ON A SUSPENSION ISSUE AND THEY FOUND THAT THE STEERING RACK NEEDED REPLACED AS WELL AS IT WAS MAKING A CLUNKING NOISE. I DO RECALL A CLUNKING NOISE WAS MADE SPORADICALLY WHEN TURNING INTO PARKING SPACES PRIOR TO TAKING IT TO FORD. I FIND IT ODD THAT A VEHICLE THAT IS 3 YEARS OLD IS HAVING SUCH AN ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/29/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
2016 FORD EXPLORER WINDSHIELD PILLAR TRIM FALLING OFF. Ií»VE READ NUMEROUS POST ABOUT OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. FLYING OFF THE VEHICLE WHILE GOING DOWN THE HIGHWAY. DANGER OF HITTING THE CAR BEHIND OR CAUSING THEM TO SWERVE AND WRECK. THE DEALERSHIP WANTS ALMOST $1000 TO FIX THIS, THATí»S OUTRAGEOUS AND FORD SHOULD BE PAYING FOR THESE REPAIRS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds