Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA NIRO - 2018 KIA NIRO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 8 complaints filed for the 2018 KIA NIRO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2018 KIA NIRO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2018 KIA NIRO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (2) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/2/2018 - ELK GROVE, CA
THE TRANSMISSION FAILS TO ENGAGE IMMEDIATELY TO THE GEAR SHIFTED TO. WHEN STATIONARY AND WITH THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE, IF YOU PROCEED TO PRESS THE ACCELERATOR AND THE VEHICLE STARTS TO MOVE BACKWARDS, THE VEHICLE WILL CONTINUE TO ROLL IN THE REVERSE DIRECTION EVEN AFTER SWITCHING THE GEAR SELECTOR TO DRIVE AND PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENS WHEN SWITCHING FROM EITHER DRIVE TO REVERSE OR REVERSE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2018 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
REAR HATCH INDICATOR SUDDENLY COMES ON WHILE DRIVING AND REAR HATCH OPENS ON OWN. EVEN AFTER HARD SLAMMING SHUT HATCH IS NOT LATCHING ALL THE TIME AND RANDOMLY LOOSENING AND OPENING ON ITS OWN. LOUD RATTLE IS ALSO COMING FROM REAR OF VEHICLE. THIS IS A NEWLY PURCHASED AUTOMOBILE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/17/2018 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
REAR HATCH INDICATOR SUDDENLY COMES ON WHILE DRIVING AND REAR HATCH OPENS ON OWN. EVEN AFTER HARD SLAMMING SHUT HATCH IS NOT LATCHING ALL THE TIME AND RANDOMLY LOOSENING AND OPENING ON ITS OWN. LOUD RATTLE IS ALSO COMING FROM REAR OF VEHICLE. THIS IS A NEWLY PURCHASED AUTOMOBILE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/17/2018 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
REAR HATCH INDICATOR SUDDENLY COMES ON WHILE DRIVING AND REAR HATCH OPENS ON OWN. EVEN AFTER HARD SLAMMING SHUT HATCH IS NOT LATCHING ALL THE TIME AND RANDOMLY LOOSENING AND OPENING ON ITS OWN. LOUD RATTLE IS ALSO COMING FROM REAR OF VEHICLE. THIS IS A NEWLY PURCHASED AUTOMOBILE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/10/2018 - MIAMI, FL
BOTH THE RIGHT PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE AND REAR DRIVES SIDE DOOR HANDLE HAVE COME OFF, IN BOTH CASES A PASSENGER WAS OPENING THE DOOR TO ENTER THE VEHICLE WHEN THE DOOR HANDLE FAILED AND CAME OFF. THE LAST INCIDENT BACK DOOR OCCURRED 9/7

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/31/2018 - EASTHAMPTON, MA
NO INCIDENT TO REPORT. DESIGN SAFETY ISSUE. THE DESIGN OF THE EMERGENCY LIFTGATE SAFETY RELEASE REQUIRES THE USE OF THE VEHICLE+S MECHANICAL KEY TO EXIT THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE REAR LIFTGATE IN AN EMERGENCY (SEE OWNERS MANUAL PAGE 4-26. THE NEED TO HAVE A KEY IN HAND UTTERLY DEFEATS THE INTENDED CONCEPT OF AN EMERGENCY RELEASE. THIS DESIGN WOULD BE COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE FOR THE TRUNK OF A SEDAN AND IT SHOULD ALSO BE UNACCEPTABLE FOR A HATCHBACK OR LIFTGATE. A RELATIVELY INEXPENSIVE FIX WOULD BE TO INSTALL A SIMPLE METAL LEVER IN THE DOOR THROUGH THE SLOT PROVIDED FOR INSERTING THE KEY. I HAVE HAD OTHER VEHICLES WITH SIMILAR EMERGENCY RELEASE MECHANISMS. I DO NOT KNOW HOW WIDE SPREAD THIS IS THROUGH THE INDUSTRY OR IF THERE ARE IN FACT DIFFERENT STANDARDS. I WOULD URGE NHTSA TO REQUIRE MANUFACTURERS TO MAKE ALL DOORS OPENABLE FROM THE INSIDE WITHOUT THE NEED FOR A KEY OR ANY OTHER TOOL, ESPECIALLY WHERE IT IS SPECIFICALLY IDENTIFIED AS AN EMERGENCY MEANS OF EXIT. THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR EFFORTS TO KEEP THE DRIVING PUBLIC SAFE. SINCERELY (XXXXX) PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/3/2018 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
PURCHASED THE VEHICLE WITH SAFETY TECH PACKAGE WHICH INCLUDES AEB (AUTO EMERGENCY BRAKING) AND VEHICLE DID NOT STOP EVEN WHEN I APPLIED FULL BRAKES TO PREVENT A COLLISION. THE MAIN REASON I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE WAS FOR THIS SAFETY FEATURE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/3/2018 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
PURCHASED THE VEHICLE WITH SAFETY TECH PACKAGE WHICH INCLUDES AEB (AUTO EMERGENCY BRAKING) AND VEHICLE DID NOT STOP EVEN WHEN I APPLIED FULL BRAKES TO PREVENT A COLLISION. THE MAIN REASON I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE WAS FOR THIS SAFETY FEATURE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/4/2018 - UNION, NJ
I AM WRITING TO YOUR COMPANY IN REGARDS TO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WHICH HAPPENED ON THE DATE OF SATURDAY, MARCH 24TH AROUND 4PM EST. THIS ACCIDENT INVOLVED MY FAMILY AND I DRIVING THE NEW KIA NIRO HYBRID EX W/ TECH PKG WE PURCHASED FROM SANSONE DEALERSHIP ON NOVEMBER 24TH, 2017. MY VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN THE ACCIDENT ON ROUTE 22 HIGHWAY WHILE DRIVING EASTWARDS AT THE SPEEDS OF AROUND 35-36 MPH AS THERE WAS A TRAFFIC FLOW AND ALSO A TRAFFIC STOP OF CARS. OUR VEHICLE (KIA NIRO) WAS ABOUT 2-3 CAR DISTANCE BEHIND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT AND AS WE WERE TRYING TO COME TO A STOP AND WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT STOPPING EVEN WITH THE EQUIPPED AUTONOMOUS EMERGENCY BRAKE SYSTEM ON, IT DID NOT FUNCTION AS I STOMPED HARD ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, SAW THE BRAKE INDICATION ON THE DASH BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SLOWING DOWN. WE HAD TO BRACE FOR IMPACT AND REAR ENDED THE CAR IN FRONT OF US WHICH ALSO SLIGHTLY HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF HIM TOTAL OF 3 VEHICLES INVOLVED INCLUDING MINE. IN MY CAR I WAS THE DRIVER, MY SPOUSE WAS SITTING IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AND MY 5 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS IN THE BACK SEAT IN HER CAR SEAT. THE IMPACT CAUSED MAJOR FRONTAL DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE AND BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS WERE DEPLOYED. MY WIFE SUSTAINED NECK INJURY WHICH WE HAD CHECKED OUT AT AN URGENT CARE CENTER THE NEXT DAY. I SUSTAINED SOME BRUISES ON THE LEG AND MY DAUGHTER WAS OK, BUT IN SHOCK. I HAVE INCLUDED PICTURES OF THE DAMAGED CAR, POLICE REPORT. THE FACT THAT WE PURCHASE A VEHICLE WITH UPGRADES TO SAFETY FEATURES THAT DID NOT WORK FOR KEEPING MY FAMILY AND I SAFE IS UNACCEPTABLE. VEHICLE IS TOTALED AND INSURANCE HAS STORED IT IN THE FOLLOWING FACILITY: IAA, 700 FEDERAL BLVD. CARTERET, NJ 07008-1008. TEL: 732-634-5601. STOCK# 22133296. THIS INFO WAS GIVEN VIA VOICEMAIL TO RYAN AT KIA CONSUMERS WITH CASE# 12671522.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/29/2018 - CLERMONT, FL
WIRING HARNESS CHEWED UP BY RODENTS 6 WEEKS AFTER BUYING CAR NEW. ONLY 1900 MILES ON CAR. CAR WAS PARKED BETWEEN '01 TOYOTA TACOMA AND '04 F250 DIESEL, WHICH HAVE BEEN THERE SINCE NEW WITHOUT PROBLEMS, AS WAS A '06 VW DIESEL, AND A '12 VW DIESEL, ALSO PARKED THERE SINCE NEW. THE USE OF SOY BASED INSULATION ON THE WIRING HAS TURNED VEHICLES INTO ROLLING FOOD SOURCES. WITH CRITICAL FUNCTIONS NOW CONTROLLED ELECTRICALLY RATHER THAN MECHANICALLY (THROTTLE TRANSMISSION AND STEERING), THIS A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD, NOT TO MENTION EXTREMELY COSTLY $2000 TO $5000 TO REPAIR. THIS IS OCCURRING AT EPIDEMIC RATES, AND IS ACROSS ALL MAKES. DON'T LET THIS TURN INTO ANOTHER "TAKATA".

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds