Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2001 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1038 complaints filed for the 2001 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (66) Exterior Lighting (30) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes (8) Tires (36)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (36) Fuel System Diesel (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Vehicle Speed Control (98)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (14) Power Train (59) Steering (24) Visibility (41)
Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (24) Structure (40) Wheels (7)
Equipment (8) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Suspension (565)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 125
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2019 - CALERA, AL
THE BREAK LIGHT ARE STAYING ON DRAINING THE BATTERY, IVE REPLACED THE PAART WITH A PART FROM ADVANCE AUTO , BUT LIGHTS STAY ON , FOUND OUT THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM BUT NOT FOR MY VIN NUMBER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/26/2019 - DILLSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK AND WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S HOME. JOHN BLEAKLEY FORD INC (870 THORTON RD, LITHIA SPRINGS, GA 30122) WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V106000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE FORD MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO CONTACTED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

1/28/2019 - PHOENIZ, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS OR WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE BRAKE LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V106000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CAMELBACK FORD (1330 E CAMELBACK RD, PHOENIX, AZ 85014, (602) 635-7551), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/16/2019 - LEWISTON, ME
DRIVERS DOOR NOT LATCHING. HAVE HAD TO DRIVE ON A HIGHWAY TO PURCHASE WD40 TO TRY AND GET MY DOOR SHUT. I HAVE ALSO HAD AN ISSUE WITH MY LIGHTS FLASHING. AND WHO PLUGS A PHONE INTO A CAR CHARGER FOR 2 HOURS AND IT DOESN'T CHARGE. IT NEVER USED TO DO THAT. DOOR WOULDN'T SHUT WHILE SITTING IN DRIVING AND WHEN DRIVING IN CITY AND HIGHWAY. LIGHTS FLICKERED WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY. PHONE WOULDN'T CHARGE WHILE ON HIGHWAY. I HAVE TO DIG THE TWO RECEIPTS OUT FROM THE WD40 PURCHASE. IT IS GOING IN TODAY FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THEY WANT TO LOOK AT MY DOOR WHICH WILL COST AN ADDITIONAL $85 ON TOP OF THE OIL CHANGE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/16/2019 - LEWISTON, ME
DRIVERS DOOR NOT LATCHING. HAVE HAD TO DRIVE ON A HIGHWAY TO PURCHASE WD40 TO TRY AND GET MY DOOR SHUT. I HAVE ALSO HAD AN ISSUE WITH MY LIGHTS FLASHING. AND WHO PLUGS A PHONE INTO A CAR CHARGER FOR 2 HOURS AND IT DOESN'T CHARGE. IT NEVER USED TO DO THAT. DOOR WOULDN'T SHUT WHILE SITTING IN DRIVING AND WHEN DRIVING IN CITY AND HIGHWAY. LIGHTS FLICKERED WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY. PHONE WOULDN'T CHARGE WHILE ON HIGHWAY. I HAVE TO DIG THE TWO RECEIPTS OUT FROM THE WD40 PURCHASE. IT IS GOING IN TODAY FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND THEY WANT TO LOOK AT MY DOOR WHICH WILL COST AN ADDITIONAL $85 ON TOP OF THE OIL CHANGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/5/2018 - HENRICO, VA
WAS INFORMED BRAKE LIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING, THEN WHEN I STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTATED COULD NOT GET OUT OF PARK SO INSTALLED A NEW BRAKE SWITCH WHICH WORKED FOR LESS THEN AN HOUR. THINKING IT COULD BE A FUSE CHECKED THE MANUAL LIST OF FUSES AND COULD NOT FIND A LISTING FOR THE FUSE THAT WENT TO THE BRAKE SWITCH SO CHECKED FUSES ONE BY ONE TO SEE IF THEY WERE BAD ALL OKAY. SO I ASSUME THE NEW SWITCH WAS BAD AND REPLACED IT WITH ANOTHER AND THEY ONE DID NOT WORK EITHER. I CAN NOW GET OUT OF PARK TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BUT I HAVE NO BRAKE LIGHTS WHICH IS NOT SAFE AT ALL. I WAS JUST TOLD THAT FORD HAD A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE SOME YEAS BACK BUT I NEVER RECEIVED ONE. I FEEL THAT SOMETHING MORE IS GOING ON HERE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/9/2017 - MENOMONIE, WI
THE THROTTLE CABLE HOUSING DOES NOT STAY IN IT'S SEAT WHERE IT IS MOUNTED BY THE THROTTLE BODY CAUSING OVER ACCELERATION WHEN USING MODERATE ACCELERATION, VERY HARD BRAKING IS NECSESARY TO STOP AND PUTTING THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL CAUSES MAJOR OVER REVING OF THE ENGINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/9/2017 - MENOMONIE, WI
THE THROTTLE CABLE HOUSING DOES NOT STAY IN IT'S SEAT WHERE IT IS MOUNTED BY THE THROTTLE BODY CAUSING OVER ACCELERATION WHEN USING MODERATE ACCELERATION, VERY HARD BRAKING IS NECSESARY TO STOP AND PUTTING THE TRANSMISSION IN NEUTRAL CAUSES MAJOR OVER REVING OF THE ENGINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2017 - PAYSON, UT
TODAY, JUNE 24, 2017 AT ABOUT 1:00 PM, I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT ON A CITY STREET, WAITING FOR THE LIGHT TO TURN GREEN, TO TURN LEFT ONTO THE STATE HIGHWAY. MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, SO I WAS NOT TOUCHING THE GAS PEDAL AT ALL. SUDDENLY, AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING, MY VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT ANY ACTION ON MY PART, AND RAPIDLY STARTED INTO THE BUSY INTERSECTION. DESPITE MY VAIN ATTEMPTS TO STOP MY VEHICLE, BY PUSHING AS HARD IS POSSIBLE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL WITH BOTH FEET, IT DIDN'T DECREASE THE ACCELERATION AT ALL. BECAUSE THE STEERING WHEEL WOULDN'T TURN, I WASN'T ABLE TO AVOID A COLLISION. I COLLIDED WITH A VAN WHICH WAS TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY AND GOING ABOUT 40 MILES PER HOUR THROUGH THE INTERSECTION ON THE GREEN LIGHT. ALTHOUGH THERE WAS EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO BOTH VEHICLES (WITH THE POSSIBILITY OF ONE OR BOTH VEHICLES BEING TOTALED), VERY FORTUNATELY, THERE WERE NO SUBSTANTIAL INJURIES TO THE WOMAN OR HER FOUR YOUNG CRYING CHILDREN IN THE OTHER VEHICLE, NOR TO ME. AFTER MORE THAN FIFTY YEARS OF DRIVING WITHOUT AN ACCIDENT, I WAS SHOCKED AND UPSET BY THIS, AND ALL THE PASSENGERS WERE TRAUMATIZED BY THE ACCIDENT. THE POLICE OFFICER DIDN'T GIVE ME A CITATION, ATTRIBUTING THE ACCIDENT TO A MECHANICAL MALFUNCTION. SEVERAL PEOPLE, INCLUDING YOUNG CHILDREN, COULD HAVE EASILY BEEN KILLED BY THIS AWFUL EXPERIENCE. THIS SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED, AND I HOPE YOU WILL INVESTIGATE THIS PROBLEM, SO THAT OTHER PEOPLE WON'T BE BADLY INJURED OR LOSE THEIR LIVES IN THE FUTURE. AN ADDITIONAL ITEM I SHOULD MENTION IS THAT I HAVE ALWAYS KEPT THIS VEHICLE MAINTAINED ON A REGULAR BASIS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/17/2016 - GWINN, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2001 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A POPPING NOISE AND A FOUL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COIL SPRINGS FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 125
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds