Auto Recalls for Consumers

PONTIAC AZTEK - 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (26) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes (2) Tires (10)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (27) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (49) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Power Train (24) Steering (3) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (8) Seat Belts (6) Structure (8) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Suspension (10)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2007 - JACKSON, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS NOT WORKING. THE VEHICLE ALSO BEGAN EMITTING SMOKE, BUT THE FAILURE WAS REPAIRED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THE CAUSE OF FAILURE AS ELECTRICAL. THE PURCHASE DATE AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE IS 72,000. UPDATED 08/14/07.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES

7/4/2007 - TWINSBURG, OH
IN JUNE OF THIS YEAR THIS 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK FAILED AN EMISSION TEST. NOTED A FUEL SMELL ON AND AROUND THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO THE TEST AS WELL AS WHAT APPEARED TO BE FUEL ON MY DRIVEWAY AND TOOK IT TO A LOCAL GOODYEAR REPAIR FACILITY TO INVESTIGATE. THEY FOUND NO CODE IN THE SYSTEM.TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE EMISSION TEST AND FAILED. THE CODE THAT CAME UP AT THE OHIO E-CHECK FACILITY WAS A "GAS CAP PRESSURIZATION" FAILURE. THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON JUNE 12, AND THAT FIRST TEST DATE WAS THEREABOUT. I WENT AND PURCHASED A NEW GAS CAP, THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND I PASSED THE TEST SECOND TIME AROUND. A FEW WEEKS LATER THE SEVICE ENGINE LIGHT REAPPEARED. TOOK IT BACK TO THE GOODYEAR ON JUNE 29TH. THE CODE THEY FOUND WAS A P0440, STATING A LARGE EVAP LEAK. THE MECHANIC FOUND THAT THE LEAK WAS AT THE TANK FILLER NECK CONNECTION AND WAS SPLIT AT THE SEAM. IT CAME APART BY HAND AND IT WAS STARTING TO ROT AND HAD INDICATION OF STRESS. (IT WAS A PLASTIC CONNECTION PIECE) THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY NEEDED REPLACEMENT INCLUDING THE TANK, FUEL SENDING UNIT AND FUEL FILLER NECK COSTING US THE TOTAL OF $1, 927.17

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

6/12/2007 - CULLMAN, AL
IT ALL STARTED WITH MY LIGHTS NOT TURNING OFF AT NIGHT. I WOULD HAVE TO DISCONNECT MY BATTERY TO GET THE LIGHTS TO GO OFF. THEN THE CHIMES WOULD NOT GO OFF. DISCONNECT BATTERY AGAIN. WAS TOLD TO REPLACE KEY FOB BATTERY. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, DOOR LOCKS, GAUGES, ALL DASH LIGHTS, HORN, HEADLIGHTS, WENT CRAZY DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY 7 YEAR OLD SON WITH ME. I HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE TO 7 OR 8 PLACES INCLUDING THE PONTIAC DEALERSHIP AND NOONE KNOWS WHAT TO DO. NOONE!!! MY HORN WOULD BLOW INTERMITTENTLY SITTING AT A REDLIGHT ONE DAY, WITH TWO CARS IN FRONT OF ME. THE CAR IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF ME THOUGHT I WAS BLOWING AT THEM BECAUSE THE LIGHT HAD CHANGED AND STARTED TO GO, EVEN THOUGH THE CAR IN FRONT OF THEM WAS STILL STOPPED. THIS IS A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. THE CLOSEST I GOT TO A DIAGNOSIS OF THE PROBLEM WAS THAT IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE SECURITY SYSTEM SOMEHOW. I JUST DONT KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO.AD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/12/2007 - CULLMAN, AL
IT ALL STARTED WITH MY LIGHTS NOT TURNING OFF AT NIGHT. I WOULD HAVE TO DISCONNECT MY BATTERY TO GET THE LIGHTS TO GO OFF. THEN THE CHIMES WOULD NOT GO OFF. DISCONNECT BATTERY AGAIN. WAS TOLD TO REPLACE KEY FOB BATTERY. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, DOOR LOCKS, GAUGES, ALL DASH LIGHTS, HORN, HEADLIGHTS, WENT CRAZY DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY 7 YEAR OLD SON WITH ME. I HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE TO 7 OR 8 PLACES INCLUDING THE PONTIAC DEALERSHIP AND NOONE KNOWS WHAT TO DO. NOONE!!! MY HORN WOULD BLOW INTERMITTENTLY SITTING AT A REDLIGHT ONE DAY, WITH TWO CARS IN FRONT OF ME. THE CAR IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF ME THOUGHT I WAS BLOWING AT THEM BECAUSE THE LIGHT HAD CHANGED AND STARTED TO GO, EVEN THOUGH THE CAR IN FRONT OF THEM WAS STILL STOPPED. THIS IS A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. THE CLOSEST I GOT TO A DIAGNOSIS OF THE PROBLEM WAS THAT IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE SECURITY SYSTEM SOMEHOW. I JUST DONT KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO.AD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: ANTI-THEFT CONTROLLER

6/12/2007 - CULLMAN, AL
IT ALL STARTED WITH MY LIGHTS NOT TURNING OFF AT NIGHT. I WOULD HAVE TO DISCONNECT MY BATTERY TO GET THE LIGHTS TO GO OFF. THEN THE CHIMES WOULD NOT GO OFF. DISCONNECT BATTERY AGAIN. WAS TOLD TO REPLACE KEY FOB BATTERY. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, DOOR LOCKS, GAUGES, ALL DASH LIGHTS, HORN, HEADLIGHTS, WENT CRAZY DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY 7 YEAR OLD SON WITH ME. I HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE TO 7 OR 8 PLACES INCLUDING THE PONTIAC DEALERSHIP AND NOONE KNOWS WHAT TO DO. NOONE!!! MY HORN WOULD BLOW INTERMITTENTLY SITTING AT A REDLIGHT ONE DAY, WITH TWO CARS IN FRONT OF ME. THE CAR IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF ME THOUGHT I WAS BLOWING AT THEM BECAUSE THE LIGHT HAD CHANGED AND STARTED TO GO, EVEN THOUGH THE CAR IN FRONT OF THEM WAS STILL STOPPED. THIS IS A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. THE CLOSEST I GOT TO A DIAGNOSIS OF THE PROBLEM WAS THAT IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE SECURITY SYSTEM SOMEHOW. I JUST DONT KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO.AD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

6/12/2007 - CULLMAN, AL
IT ALL STARTED WITH MY LIGHTS NOT TURNING OFF AT NIGHT. I WOULD HAVE TO DISCONNECT MY BATTERY TO GET THE LIGHTS TO GO OFF. THEN THE CHIMES WOULD NOT GO OFF. DISCONNECT BATTERY AGAIN. WAS TOLD TO REPLACE KEY FOB BATTERY. A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER, DOOR LOCKS, GAUGES, ALL DASH LIGHTS, HORN, HEADLIGHTS, WENT CRAZY DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITH MY 7 YEAR OLD SON WITH ME. I HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE TO 7 OR 8 PLACES INCLUDING THE PONTIAC DEALERSHIP AND NOONE KNOWS WHAT TO DO. NOONE!!! MY HORN WOULD BLOW INTERMITTENTLY SITTING AT A REDLIGHT ONE DAY, WITH TWO CARS IN FRONT OF ME. THE CAR IMMEDIATELY IN FRONT OF ME THOUGHT I WAS BLOWING AT THEM BECAUSE THE LIGHT HAD CHANGED AND STARTED TO GO, EVEN THOUGH THE CAR IN FRONT OF THEM WAS STILL STOPPED. THIS IS A SERIOUSLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. THE CLOSEST I GOT TO A DIAGNOSIS OF THE PROBLEM WAS THAT IT WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE SECURITY SYSTEM SOMEHOW. I JUST DONT KNOW WHAT ELSE TO DO.AD

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/12/2007 - GORDON, AL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEK. THE CONTACT SMELLED GAS, INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, AND NOTICED FUEL LEAKING FROM THE TANK NECK. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 115,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

6/6/2007 - MODESTO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 PONTIAC AZTEC. WHILE FUELING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED GAS LEAKING WHERE THE FUEL TAKE INLET VALVE ATTACHES TO THE GAS TANK. THE DEALER HAS NOT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS RECALL # 03V454000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:STORAGE) FOR THE 2004 MODEL. THE CONTACT BELIEVES THAT HIS VEHICLE SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 90,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

5/4/2007 - VEEDERSBURG, IN
2001 PONTIAC AZTEC, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN EARLY APRIL 2007. I TOOK CAR TO AMERICAN CHEVROLET IN DANVILLE, IL FOR SERVICE. SERVICE DEPARTMENT INFORMED ME THAT THE CODE INDICATED A PROBLEM WITH THE FUEL SYSTEM, AND A PRESSURE CHECK OF THE SYSTEM REVEALED A DEFECTIVE GAS CAP. I BELIEVE THE COST TO READ THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CODE WAS $79. I HAD THEM ORDER THE GAS CAP AND WAS TO RETURN IN 2 DAYS TO HAVE IT INSTALLED. THE NEXT TIME I FILLED THE TANK,( ABOUT 2 DAYS LATER), THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE AND A PUDDLE OF GASOLINE UNDER THE CAR. I RETURNED TO THE DEALER AND INFORMED THEM OF THIS DEVELOPMENT. THEY INSPECTED THE CAR AND TOLD ME THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS NOW LEAKING AT THE FILLER INLET PIPE IN THE LOWER PART OF THE FUEL TANK. I VIEWED THE CAR AND SAW GASOLINE DRIPPING FROM THE FILLER INLET PIPE. THE SERVICE TECH INFORMED ME THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW FUEL TANK. I ASKED THE SERVICE TECH IF THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR THE AZTEK MODEL. THE TECH STATED THAT HE HAD NEVER SEEN THIS PROBLEM BEFORE WITH ANY FUEL TANK. THEIR REPAIR ESTIMATE FOR NEW PARTS AND LABOR WAS ABOUT $1000. I TOLD THE SERVICE TECH THAT I COULD NOT AFFORD THE REPAIR AT THIS TIME. THEN THEY OFFERED TO INSTALL A USED TANK AT A COST OF ABOUT $400-$500 FOR PARTS AND LABOR. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT TO INSTALL THE USED TANK, BUT LATER CANCELLED IT WHEN I STARTED INVESTIGATING PROBLEMS WITH AZTEK FUEL TANKS. THE FUEL TANK IS STILL LEAKING AND ERODING THE ASPHALT ON MY DRIVEWAY WHERE I PARK MY CAR. I NEED THIS CAR TO GET TO WORK, BUT I FEEL NERVOUS DRIVING IT WITH A FUEL TANK LEAK. I HAVE NOT HAD THE FUEL TANK REPLACE BECAUSE I CANNOT AFFORD THE REPAIR BILL ($1000), AND I BELIEVE THAT SINCE GM CHANGED THE DESIGN OF THIS TANK TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM, THAT GM SHOULD PAY THE COST TO CORRECT THE SAME DESIGN FLAW ON MY VEHICLE. EA07-006.PCO

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/16/2007 - SALEM, IN
LAST FALL , 2006, HEATER WASN'T WORKING. TAKING THE RADIATOR CAP OFF, FOUND HEAVY ACCUMULATION OF GUNK INSIDE RADIATOR. MECHANIC ADVISED THAT I HAVE THE RADIATOR AND COOLING SYSTEM FLUSHED. HAD THAT DONE;. WAS NOT TOLD AT THAT TIME WHAT CAUSED THIS TO HAPPEN. ALL SEEMED OKAY UNTIL ABOUT MARCH OF 2007, HEATER STOPPED WORKING AGAIN AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP THIS TIME, FOR OIL CHANGE AND CHECK UP. THEY CHANGED THE OIL, DID SOME ADJUSTMENTS TO COMPUTERS ,WHICH COST ME OVER $200 , AND SAID THE LOWER INTAKE MANIFOLD WAS LEAKING AND WANTED $913.00 TO FIX THAT. AFTER FEELING VERY ILL FROM THIS NEWS I TOLD THEM, I DID NOT HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY AT THIS TIME. IT TOOK EVERYTHING I HAD TO GET THE COMPUTERS ADJUSTED. TOOK IT TO ANOTHER MECHANIC TO GET AN ESTIMATE ON GETTING THE LOWER MANIFOLD REPAIRED, AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY HAD NEVER SEEN A VEHICLE WITH ONLY 79,000 MILES ON IT WITH AS MUCH GUNK"INSIDE THE RADIATOR AND IN AS BAD A SHAPE AS THIS ONE WAS IN. THEY WERE NOT EQUIPPED TO MAKE THE REPAIR, SO I AM NOW IN THE PROCESS OF SAVING MY MONEY AND TRYING TO FIND SOMEONE THAT CAN FIX IT FOR LESS THAN THE DEALERSHIP, OR GET THE MONEY TO TAKE IT BACK TO THEM. AM BORROWING VEHICLES FROM MY CHILDREN TILL THEN. AFTER READING COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEBSITE, I FIND THAT THIS IS NOT AN UNCOMMON COMPLAINT OR PROBLEM. I HAD PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY, 5 YEARS OR 75000 MILES), FOR MY VEHICLE SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED IT NEW, AND THAT WAS GOOD UNTIL JUNE OF 2006, BEFORE IT REACHED THE 75000 MILE MARK. PROBABLY, LAST FALL, IT STILL HAD NOT REACHED THE 75000 MILE MARK, BUT NOW I AM TOLD THERE IS NO RECOURSE FROM MANUFACTURER TO GET HELP IN FIXING THIS PROBLEM. TOLD THIS BY THE DEALER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds