Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E320 - 2003 MERCEDES E320 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC.

There are 193 complaints filed for the 2003 MERCEDES E320

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2003 MERCEDES E320. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2003 MERCEDES E320, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (65) Service Brakes (49) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/10/2019 - SILER CITY, NC
GAS TANK LEAKS, CAR IS 2 YEARS OUT OF COVERAGE FOR GAS TANK. THE ORIGINAL PROGRAM DID NOT LEAVE MUCH ROOM FOR 2003 OWNERS TO BE ELIGIBLE. THE TANK LEAK AT THE TOP IS AN INHERENT DESIGN FLAW THAT MERCEDES ADMITS IS A PROBLEM BUT WASHES THEIR HANDS OF IT AFTER THE PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY EXPIRATION. THERE IS A NOTICEABLE GAS SMELL COMING FROM THE LEFT REAR WHEEL AREA AND THE LEAK CAN BE SEEN COMING FROM THE TOP OF THE TANK WHEN THE FUEL FILTER ACCESS PLATE IS REMOVED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2019 - LINCOLN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF A SECOND VEHICLE. THE FRONT END WAS SEVERELY DAMAGED, BUT THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED CHEST AND TORSO INJURIES, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 193,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE TURNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE POWER WINDOWS BECAME INOPERATIVE, AS WELL AS THE HORN AND BRAKES. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE INDEPENDENTLY AND WAS UNABLE TO BE STOPPED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BATTERY AND THE ALTERNATOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE BATTERY WAS DISCONNECTED AND RECONNECTED SEVERAL TIMES IN AN ATTEMPT TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. A DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE TURNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE POWER WINDOWS BECAME INOPERATIVE, AS WELL AS THE HORN AND BRAKES. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE INDEPENDENTLY AND WAS UNABLE TO BE STOPPED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BATTERY AND THE ALTERNATOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE BATTERY WAS DISCONNECTED AND RECONNECTED SEVERAL TIMES IN AN ATTEMPT TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. A DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/17/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE TURNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ALL OF THE POWER WINDOWS BECAME INOPERATIVE, AS WELL AS THE HORN AND BRAKES. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE INDEPENDENTLY AND WAS UNABLE TO BE STOPPED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BATTERY AND THE ALTERNATOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE BATTERY WAS DISCONNECTED AND RECONNECTED SEVERAL TIMES IN AN ATTEMPT TO CORRECT THE FAILURE. A DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

10/10/2018 - FORT WAYNE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTING FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO READ ANY OF THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MERCEDES-BENZ FORT WAYNE (7227 WEST JEFFERSON BOULEVARD, FORT WAYNE, INDIANA 46804, (877) 455-9123) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V028000 (INTERIOR LIGHTING); HOWEVER, THE REPAIR DID NOT CORRECT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,200.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/18/2018 - MCDONOUGH, GA
DAUGHTER DRIVES THIS CAR. I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE 2005. MERCEDES NEVER NOTIFIED US NOR MADE US AWARE OF AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE DEFECTIVE FUEL TANKS. A MECHANIC TOLD US ABOUT THE WARRANTY AND TOLD US TO CONTACT MERCEDES IMMEDIATELY. FEBRUARY 2018 I CONTACTED CORPORATE OFFICE AND THEY TOLD ME TWICE THAT I NEEDED TO HAVE THE CAR TAKEN TO MERCEDES DEALERSHIP AND HAVE THEM CONFIRMED THE ISSUE. TWICE MERCEDES CORPORATE OFFICE REPS TOLD ME TO DRIVE IT TO DEALERSHIP AND HAVE THEM EVALUATE THE CAR, CONTACT CORPORATE FOR AN " EXCEPTION". I DID JUST SO. THE CAR RUNS OKAY, HOWEVER, THE STRONG GAS SMELL INSIDE THE CAR IS FRIGHTENING AND I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE MERCEDES DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I COULD NOT CHANCE MY DAUGHTER DYING IN A AUTOMOBILE EXPLOSION. AS A MATTER OF FACT, WE HAVE BEEN RENTING CARS FROM ENTERPRISE FOR MY DAUGHTER FOR THE PAST 2 MONTHS SINCE HER CAR IS OUT OF COMMISSION. FOR GOD'S SAKE, SHE'S OUR DAUGHTER AND THE CAR COULD EXPLODE! THE DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED THAT THE FUEL TANK IS INDEED DEFECTIVE AND IS ELIGIBLE FOR THE REPAIR. HOWEVER, THE REPS AT CORPORATE DECIDED TO NOT TO EXTEND THE "EXCEPTION" AFTER ALL. MERCEDES NEVER NOTIFIED US OF THE FUEL TANK DEFECT/RECALL/WARRANTY EXTENSION. THOUGH IT'S DRIVABLE, I REFUSE TO HAVE MY DAUGHTER RISK HER LIFE. I DID EVERYTHING CORP OFFICE SAID I SHOULD DO AND NOW THEY ARE BACK PEDDLING. THEY ARE MAKING US PAY FOR THE ROUNDTRIP TOWING AND THIS IS UNFAIR. GROSS MISREPRESENTATION. DRIVING WITH A FUEL TANK LEAK IS DEADLY. THEY NEED TO HONOR THIS REPAIR. THEY SHOULD NOT HAVE INSTRUCTED ME TO TOW A CAR TO THEIR AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP IF THEY KNEW FROM THE BEGINNING THAT THEY WERE NOT GOING TO MAKE THE EXCEPTION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/12/2018 - HEREFORD, AZ
FUEL LEAKING TO THE INSIDE OF PASSENGER COMPARTMENT UNDER ACCESS PORT UNDER REAR SEAT CUSHION, THAT'S THE LOCATION OF THE FUEL PUMP. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH TUCSON MERCEDES BENZ TO INSPECT THE CAR SINCE I BELIEVED THAT A MERCEDES RECALL WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM. I HAD SEVERAL DISCUSSIONS WITH SERVICE ADVISOR MARK SCHOFIELD AND HE ASSURED ME TWICE THAT THE RECALL IS IN PLACE AND THEY WOULD FIX THE FUEL SYSTEM DEFECTS WITHOUT CHARGE. HE CALLED ME THIS EVENING AND TOLD ME ALL ABOUT WHY TUCSON MERCEDES WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR, I WAS TOLD THE EXTENDED WARRANTY PROGRAM ENDED 2/21/2018. I BOUGHT THE CAR ON 4/5/18, FILLED IT UP WITH GAS ON 4/08/18 AND THE CAR WAS FILLED WITH FUMES THAT NIGHT AS WELL AS IN MY GARAGE. TUCSON MERCEDES FIRST SAID THAT THE TANK WAS LEAKING AT THE VENT TUBE BETWEEN THE LEFT AND RIGHT ACCESS POINTS. HE TOLD ME THAT THE COST WOULD NORMALLY BE $3000 BUT HE REDUCED IT TO $2000. I ASKED MARK HOW THE FUEL COULD RUN ACROSS THE TOP OF THE TANK, CLIMB THE LOCKING RING AND PUDDLE ON TOP OF THE LEFT SIDE FUEL PUMP? HE ALSO TOLD ME THAT MERCEDES COULD NOT JUST REPLACE A PORTION OF THE FUEL SYSTEM WITHOUT REPLACING THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM, INCLUDING THE TANK. ALSO, NOT TRUE. HE SAID THAT UPON A SECOND EXAMINATION WAS MADE AND THERE APPEARS TO BE A CRACK ON TOP OF THE FUEL PUMP AND NOW THAT'S WHERE THE LEAK IS COMING FROM. NOW HIS PRICE TO REPAIR ALL IS $770 + TAX. AFTER A FEW WORDS MORE, THE PRICE DROPPED TO $700 + TAX. I FEEL THAT MERCEDES SHOULD JUST FIX MY VEHICLE AND CALL IT GOOD. THIS LEARNED THAT THIS CAR HAD A FUEL PUMP INSTALLED AT 59,000 MILES. I MISSED THEIR SELF IMPOSED CUT OFF DATE BY ABOUT 6 WEEKS, NOT SO MUCH TIME FOR SUCH A SERIOUS MANUFACTURING DEFECT TO HEALTH AND SAFETY. THE FUMES INSIDE MY CAR AND GARAGE COULD HAVE CAUSED A FIRE OR WORSE YET, AN EXPLOSION. THE PROBLEM FIRST APPEARED AFTER THE FIRST TIME I FILLED THE TANK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/7/2017 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD WITHOUT STOPPING OR SLOWING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE MADE A BEEPING SOUND AND THE STOP ENGINE AND BRAKE FAILURE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS CALLED (MERCEDES-BENZ OF BROOKLYN, NY, 718-258-5100) AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE ABS WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 140,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/7/2017 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2003 MERCEDES-BENZ E320. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD WITHOUT STOPPING OR SLOWING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE MADE A BEEPING SOUND AND THE STOP ENGINE AND BRAKE FAILURE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER WAS CALLED (MERCEDES-BENZ OF BROOKLYN, NY, 718-258-5100) AND THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE ABS WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 140,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds