Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2004 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (72) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (167)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/4/2019 - BURLINGTON, NC
I HAVE ENGINE CODE P0430, I CHANGE ALL CONVERTERS, ALL 02 SENSORS STILL KEEP GETTING SAME CODE. MY GUESS IS UPPER INTAKE MANIFOLD, WHICH SHOULD LAST THE LIFE OF THE CAR. I CAN US A LITTLE HELP GETTING THE PART. THANK YOU

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2019 - SURPRISE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD NOT MOVE OUT OF PARK. THE CONTACT HAD TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL MULTIPLE TIMES FOR THE GEAR SHIFTER TO MOVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 04V106000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT TO CALL NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 123,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/13/2019 - IRVINGTON, KY
WHILE PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND TRYING TO PULL INTO AN ALLEY THAT LEADS THE MAIN ROAD; MY VEHICLES RPM WENT FROM JUST ABOVE IDLE TO ALMOST 4000. IT CAUSED ME TO FLY THROUGH A STOP SIGN, AS MY BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING. AFTER SOME TUGGING I WAS ABLE TO SHIFT IT INTO NEUTRAL AND GET IT TO A FULL STOP. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF, THEN BACK ON AGAIN, WHILE IN PARK THE RPMS WERE GRADUALLY INCREASING. I STEPPED ON THE GAS WHILE IN PARK, AND IT CORRECTED THE ISSUE. SECOND INCIDENT OCCURRED WHILE GOING FIFTY FIVE MPH DOWN A COUNTY ROAD. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS AND THE RPMS CONTINUED INCREASING AGAIN. I GOT TO ALMOST SEVENTY MPH. I WAS ABLE TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL AGAIN . I CAME TO A FULL STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. IT STARTED BACK UP WITHOUT INCIDENT. I WILL BE HAVING THE VEHICLE LOOKED AT FIRST THING MONDAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/18/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ENTERED CARD IN THE MORNING AND THE FLOOR BOARD WAS INEXPLICABLY SOAKED. AFTER STARTING THE CAR, THE HEAT WAS WOULD ONLY WORK WHEN THE BLOWER WAS SET ON HIGH, THE FIRST THREE SETTINGS DIDN'T TURN ON AT ALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/18/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
ENTERED CARD IN THE MORNING AND THE FLOOR BOARD WAS INEXPLICABLY SOAKED. AFTER STARTING THE CAR, THE HEAT WAS WOULD ONLY WORK WHEN THE BLOWER WAS SET ON HIGH, THE FIRST THREE SETTINGS DIDN'T TURN ON AT ALL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/18/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY, BRAKING TO STOP A RED LIGHT, THE CAR PROCEEDED TO SLOWLY ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. AFTER LETTING IT GO FOR A WHILE, IT TOPPED OUT AROUND 52MPH, AS IF THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS WORKING ON ITS OWN. I KEPT PRESSING OFF, BUT THAT WOULDN'T WORK. THE CAR STOPPED REVVING RPMS WHEN I PUT IT IN NEUTRAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/18/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY, BRAKING TO STOP A RED LIGHT, THE CAR PROCEEDED TO SLOWLY ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. AFTER LETTING IT GO FOR A WHILE, IT TOPPED OUT AROUND 52MPH, AS IF THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS WORKING ON ITS OWN. I KEPT PRESSING OFF, BUT THAT WOULDN'T WORK. THE CAR STOPPED REVVING RPMS WHEN I PUT IT IN NEUTRAL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/18/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY, BRAKING TO STOP A RED LIGHT, THE CAR PROCEEDED TO SLOWLY ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. AFTER LETTING IT GO FOR A WHILE, IT TOPPED OUT AROUND 52MPH, AS IF THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS WORKING ON ITS OWN. I KEPT PRESSING OFF, BUT THAT WOULDN'T WORK. THE CAR STOPPED REVVING RPMS WHEN I PUT IT IN NEUTRAL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/9/2018 - LAFOLLETTE, TN
TAKATA RECALL - WHILE DRIVING TAURUS ACCELERATES WITHOUT TOUCHING FUEL PEDAL. ALSO RETAINS SPEED FOR A WHILE AFTER RELEASING FUEL PEDAL. FUEL PEDAL DOES NOT SEEM TO BE STUCK AS WHEN I TAP FUEL PEDAL CAR DOES DOT SLOW DOWN UNTIL I APPLY BRAKE. WHEN FIRST STARTING IN MORNING ENGINE REVS TO 3,000 RPMS AND FALLS GRADUALLY.TAURUS HAS 139,600 MILES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/7/2018 - GRAYSLAKE, IL
MY 2004 FORD TAURUS SUDDENLY STARTED TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN WITH FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL. DRIVING IN CITY STREET AT 30 MPH, THE CAR ALL BY ITSELF SUDDENLY STARTED TO ACCELERATE (WITH MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL) AT SPEEDS IN EXCESS OF 75 MPH. AFTER BRAKING AND PARKING CAR, I TURNED CAR OFF AND NOTICED THAT ONE OF THE ACCELERATOR / THROTTLE CABLES IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT WAS COMPLETELY DISCONNECTED . APPARENTLY IT IS A A BLACK PLASTIC CLIP THAT WAS WEARING OUT AND SLIPPING OFF THE THROTTLE LINKAGE. THE CABLE THEN CAN GET STUCK OR TANGLED CAUSING STUCK ACCELERATION. I CALLED FORD ON JUNE 7, 2018 AND THEY SAID THEY DID NOT HEAR OF THIS PROBLEM AND THAT THERE WAS NOT ANY RECALLS ATTACHED TO MY VIN. CASE # CAS-14980128. I MENTIONED TO THEM THAT I RESEARCHED THE PROBLEM AND THAT THEY HAVE RECALLED OVER 400,000 FORD TAURUS AND SABLE MODELS WITH THIS SAME ISSUE. SINCE MY CAR DID NOT COME UP AS BEING RECALLED, THEY ARE NOT GOING TO FIX THIS DANGEROUS PROBLEM. APPARENTLY, OTHER FORD MODELS HAVE THE SAME ISSUES WITH POORLY DESIGNED THROTTLE CABLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds