Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2004 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 366 complaints filed for the 2004 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Child Seat (1) Equipment (2) Power Train (72) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (167)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (17) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (5)
Engine (24) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5)

Pages:  
<<  31  32  33  34  35  36  37 
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

3/21/2005 - DETROIT, MI
DRIVER NOTICED WHILE DRIVING THAT THE SUN ROOF WOULD OPEN AND CLOSE ON ITS ON. DRIVER TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AD MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE SUN ROOF MECHANISM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/14/2005 - VERMILION, OH
ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS VEHICLE COMMENCED TO ACCELERATE WHILE IN GEAR, BUT VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE. VEHICLE HAD BEEN TO THE DEALER, AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. CONSUMER STATES TRANSMISSION SHIFTS HARD FROM 1ST TO 2ND SHIFT. ALSO THE CHECK TRANSMISSION LIGHT COMES ON. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE COSSING A RAILROAD TRACK THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEUTRALED OUT AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE. DEALER REPLACED AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION ASSEMBLY AND OTHER POWER TRAIN-RELATED COMPONENTS.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

2/16/2005 - GREEN VALLEY, AZ
I AM WRITING THIS REPORT ON BEHALF OF MY WIFE'S COUSIN, [XXX]. , WHO EXPERIENCED A LIFE THREATENING TIRE FAILURE. [XXX]. , A 71 YEAR OLD WIDOW, HAD LEFT ST. MARY'S HOSPITAL IN TUCSON, AZ AT APPROXIMATELY 5 PM ON SATURDAY, JANUARY 29, 2005. SHE WAS SOUTHBOUND ON INTERSTATE 19, PROCEEDING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, IN HER 2004 FORD TAURUS LX VIN [XXX], WITH 2500 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. THE WEATHER WAS MILD, HIGH 60'S, THE ROAD SMOOTH AND CLEAR. APPROXIMATELY 16 MILES INTO HER TRIP SHE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN AND CATACLYSMIC TIRE FAILURE ON THE RIGHT REAR TIRE, A CONTINENTAL TOURINGCONTACT AS P215-60R16 94T. SHE QUICKLY DECELERATED AND CAME TO A STOP ON THE RIGHT BERM OF THE INTERSTATE. I SAW THE TIRE IN HER TRUNK AND IT LOOKED "NORMAL". WHEN I RAISED THE TIRE AND FLIPPED IT I DISCOVERED THAT THE INNER TIRE WALL HAD FAILED, JAGGEDLY (SAW TOOTH) TORN, COMPLETELY THROUGH THE WALL, 360 DEGREES AROUND THE TIRE. MUCH OF THE TIRE WALL APPEARED "MISSING". HER TRUNK WAS FULL OF FRIABLE BLACK CHUNKS AND POWDER FROM THE TIRE INNER SIDE WALL. I HAVE A SAMPLE. THE INNER TIRE WALL BEAD WAS STILL SEALED AGAINST THE WHEEL RIM, NO SEPARATION. MY IMMEDIATE REACTION WAS THAT SINCE THE OUTER TIRE WALL APPEARED NORMAL AND ONLY THE INNER TIRE WALL FAILED THAT A MANUFACTURING DEFECT HAD OCCURRED WITHIN THE OUTER TIRE WALL LEADING TO LONG TERM OVERHEATING AND SUBSEQUENT SIDE WALL DISINTEGRATION AND FAILURE. WHEN THE DEALER EXAMINED THE TIRE, HE SHOWED THE CONSUMER AN ALLEGED TREAD PUNCTURE AND INTERIOR TREAD LAYER TEAR WHICH VOIDED THE WARRANTY. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/7/2005 - MIAMI, FL
VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED, CAUSING IT TO GO OUT OF CONTROL AND A STRIKING A BUILDING. THE CONSUMER STATED THAT HE WAS PARKING THE VEHICLE WITH HIS FOOT ON THE BRAKE WHEN IT ACCELERATED. THE VEHICLE JUMPED A CONCRETE RETAINER AND LEFT TIRE MARKS ON THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE CRASHED THROUGH A GLASS WINDOW OF A VIDEO STORE AND LEFT TIRE MARKS ON THE CARPET. THE CONSUMER PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND IT CAME TO A STOP. THE SERVICE DEALER DID NOT KNOW THE CAUSE THEREFORE DID NOT KNOW WHAT TO FIX. THE CONSUMER WAS TOLD THAT THE VEHICLE SHOWED SIGNS OF AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER WAS TOLD THAT THE RPM'S WHERE HIGHER THAN THEY SHOULD BE.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

1/23/2005 - MORRISTOWN, TN
COLLISION ON 01/17/05 I WAS A PASSENGER, MY HUSBAND DRIVING. OUR 2004 FORD TAURUS WAS IN COLLISION WITH A HORSE, THE HORSE CAME THROUGH WINDSHIELD ON PASSENGER SIDE. IN ALL PROBABILITY TOTALED MY CAR. PENDING INSURANCE ADJUSTER DECISION. THE AIRBAG DID NOT RELEASE. I WAS INJURED. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT RELEASE. WE HAVE BEEN TOLD THE BUMPER HAD TO BE HIT TO MAKE IT GO OFF. FROM THE TOP OF BUMPER ALL THE WAY TO MIDDLE OF ROOF CAVED AND SHATTERED. IF THE AIRBAG WAS NOT SUPPOSE TO RELEASE, I FEEL THAT THE GENERAL PUBLIC IS NOT AWARE OF THIS MISREPRESENTATION. I THINK CONSUMERS SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF SOMETHING THAT IS JUST AN ADDITIONAL FIXTURE THEY PAID FOR, NOT A SAFETY FEATURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

12/27/2004 - DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA
WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN CONSUMER'S VEHICLE WAS STRUCK IN THE FRONT BY A VEHICLE TRAVELING AT 55 MPH. UPON IMPACT, AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. CONSUMER SUSTAINED INJURIES.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

10/8/2004 - RICHMOND, KY
AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. AS A RESULT, AIR BAGS WERE INOPERATIVE AND WOULDN'T DEPLOY WHEN NEEDED, PER DEALERSHIP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/7/2004 - MACEO, KY
CAR SURGES ON COLD STARTS,AND AT TIMES JUST IDLE (COLD OR HOT).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

8/3/2004 - OOLTEWAH, TN
INDEPENDENT SHOP HAD ALREADY FIXED NHTSA RECALL 04V106000. CONSUMER SENT THE ORIGINAL INVOICE TO THE MANUFACTURER, BUT MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO REIMBURSE CONSUMER'S EXPENSES BECAUSE RECALL REPAIRS WERE NOT DONE AT A FORD DEALERSHIP.

View Details

STEERING

7/13/2004 - POINT PLEASANT, NJ
I BOUGHT A 2004 FORD TAURUS SE BRAND NEW. AFTER ABOUT TWO WEEKS I STARTED TO GET VIBRATION FROM THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BETWEEN 42-45 MILES PH. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER AND A MFG WARNING CAME ON FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THE DIRECTIVE WAS FOLLOWED BY THE DEALER SO I THOUGHT THE PROBLEM WAS OVER. WITHIN TWO DAYS LATER THE PROBLEM GOT MORE SEVERE AND IN ADDITION TO THE VIBRATING GAS PEDAL AND STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO SHAKE. I MADE ANOTHER APPOINTMENT AND BROUGHT THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE AT THE DEALER AND AFTER WAITING TWO HOURS FOR MY CAR THE DEALER TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO FOR ME THAT THIS PROBLEM WAS UNDER RESEARCH TO FIND A PERMANENT FIX FOR BOTH PROBLEMS. I TOLD THE DEALER THE THIS IS A 2004 FORD TAURUS WITH 2,900 MILES ON IT AND THE PROBLEM WAS GETTING WORSE BY THE DAY AND THAT I WANTED MY CAR FIXED FOR FEAR THAT SOMETHING WORSE WOULD HAPPEN. THE DEALER AND FORD MOTOR COMPANY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND TOTALLY IGNORED MY SAFETY IN THIS CAR. FORD MOTOR COMPANY FURTHER SAID CHECK BACK IN ABOUT 6 MONTHS MAYBE WE MIGHT HAVE A FIX FOR THE PROBLEMS. IN THE MEANTIME THEY COULD CARE LESS IF SOMETHING HAPPENED TO ME IN THEIR CAR KNOWING I HAD PROGRESSIVE PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR AND THAT I WAS TOTALLY UNSATISFIED. I EVEN SUGGESTED THAT THEY KEEP THE CAR UNTIL IT WAS FIXED AND LEND ME A LOANER CAR UNTIL THE CAR WAS SAFE, AGAIN THEY REFUSED. PLEASE ALSO NOTE THAT BOTH PROBLEMS WERE VERIFIED AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT MY CAR THEY DIDN'T DENY THE PROBLEMS BUT REFUSED TO FIX IT FROM FORD MOTOR COMPANY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  31  32  33  34  35  36  37 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds