Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/8/2019 - CHANDLER, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT MAIN MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. AN UNKNOWN DEALER WAS CONTACTED, BUT COULD NOT ASSIST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 128,680.

View Details

STEERING

8/3/2016 - SILVER SPRING, MD
POWER STEERING GOES OUT INTERMITTENTLY. OFTEN STARTS WHEN TURNING THE WHEEL TO THE LEFT. THE POWER STEERING FAILURE LIGHT , OR SOMETIMES ALL WARNING LIGHTS, COME ON. THE STEERING WHEEL BECOMES EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN IN EITHER DIRECTION AND THE CAR IS DIFFICULT AND HAZARDOUS TO NAVIGATE TO A STOP. ELECTRONICS FLASH ON AND OFF (HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, ETC.). CAR SOMETIMES DIES. IF THE STEERING WHEEL IS NOT PERFECTLY STRAIGHT WHEN THE CAR DIES, IT IS LOCKED AND THE CAR CANNOT BE RESTARTED UNTIL SOMEONE CAN WRENCH THE STEERING WHEEL STRAIGHT AGAIN. THIS HAS HAPPENED OFF AND ON FOR A YEAR. SINCE IT IS INTERMITTENT, MECHANICS ARE UNABLE TO FIND THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

4/29/2016 - TROY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE STEERING WHEEL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND WAS HARD TO TURN. THE CONTACT TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON A FEW TIMES AND SHIFTED THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT, BUT THE WHEEL WOULD NOT UNLOCK. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,173.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2015 - MORGAN HILL, CA
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WITH EVAP LEAK CODE. SMALL LEAK AT FIRST THEN INCLUDED LARGE LEAK CODE LATER. ALSO BEGAN TO NOTICE STRONG GAS SMELL OUTSIDE VEHICLE AFTER FUELING. TURNED OUT THE FUEL PUMP RING THAT HOLDS DOWN AND SEALS FUEL PUMP TO FUEL TANK HAD CRACKED. OVER TIME THE SPLIT BECAME LARGER. WHEN TANK WAS FILLED, RAW FUEL WOULD LEAK OUT AROUND PUMP ON TOP OF TANK. WHICH ALSO HAPPENS TO BE RIGHT UNDER THE REAR SEAT WHERE ME KIDS SIT. REPLACEMENT WAS EXPENSIVE BECAUSE THE RING COULD NOT BE REMOVED FROM UNDER THE SEAT. IT REQUIRED DROPPING THE TANK TO REPAIR. MECHANIC FELT IT WAS A STRESS CRACK. THE FUEL PUMP HAD NEVER BEEN WORKED ON BEFORE. THE ORIGINAL RING WAS INSTALLED AT THE FACTORY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2015 - HEBRON, KY
WAS IN ACCIDENT HIT DITCH AND TREE HEAD ON AND AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, CAUSING INJURY TO FACE FROM HITTING STEERING WHEEL. WAS ON CITY STREET AND IN MOTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/27/2015 - APEX, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 MAZDA 3. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED SEVERE CORROSION AND THE DOOR FRAME WAS STARTING TO DETACH FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THEY DIAGNOSED THAT PORTIONS OF THE VEHICLE COULD BE REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE CORROSION WAS IN AREAS THAT WERE BEYOND REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
CLUTCH SLIPPING, HIGH RPMS, NOT RED LINING. TRANSMISSION EXPLODED CAUSING ENGINE FIRE AND BURNING MOTOR AND ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
CLUTCH SLIPPING, HIGH RPMS, NOT RED LINING. TRANSMISSION EXPLODED CAUSING ENGINE FIRE AND BURNING MOTOR AND ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2015 - PORTLAND, OR
CLUTCH SLIPPING, HIGH RPMS, NOT RED LINING. TRANSMISSION EXPLODED CAUSING ENGINE FIRE AND BURNING MOTOR AND ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS.

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2015 - COMMERCE, GA
I STARTED MY CAR AND MY POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON MY DASH WHEN I WAS LEAVING WORK ON 4/2/2015. I HAD NO POWER STEERING AT ALL. I'VE HAD A REPAIR SHOP TELL ME IT IS MY POWER STEERING PUMP THAT HAS FAILED. THEY STATED THAT THEY CANNOT ORDER THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE, WHICH IS THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING PUMP. I CALLED A NEARBY DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID I HAVE TO GO THROUGH A ZIP DEALERSHIP BECAUSE IT IS A VIN SPECIFIC PART. THEY QUOTED ME $900 FOR A POWER STEERING PUMP AND $315 TO INSTALL IT! I RESEARCHED THE ISSUE ONLINE AND HAVE NOTICED THERE IS A RECALL ON THE SAME YEAR AND MODEL VEHICLE AS MINE. BUT AFTER CHECKING WITH YOUR WEBSITE, IT STATES THERE ISN'T A RECALL ON MY VEHICLE. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN EXCLUDED FROM THIS RECALL BUT IS EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUES AS STATED IN THE RECALL INFORMATION. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND ASSISTANCE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds