Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA MAZDA3 - 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Mazda Motor Corp.

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 MAZDA MAZDA3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Tires (7)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2)

Pages:  
<<  8  9  10  11  12  13  14 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: DISC: PADS

6/4/2004 - LADSON, SC
BRAKES LEAVE A LOT OF DUST ALL OVER THE TIRES, RIMS, AND BODY OF CAR. THE CAR STOPS SHARPLY. HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THERE IS NOTHING TO BE DONE ABOUT IT. NOT A PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

6/2/2004 - DALY CITY, CA
EXCESSIVE REAR BRAKE DISC/PAD WEAR. DRIVER DOOR RATTLING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/30/2004 - GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FAILED AFTER 1,500 MILES. TRANSMISSION BEGAN TO SHIFT VERY HARSHLY AND ABRUPTLY FROM 3RD GEAR TO 4TH GEAR. EVENTUALLY, I COULD NOT DRIVE ABOVE 30 MPH FOR FEAR OF SHIFTING INTO 4TH GEAR. DEALER WAS INITIALLY UNABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT EVENTUALLY REPLACED THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION. CAR WAS OUT OF SERVICE FOR A WEEK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

5/23/2004 - MONROE, WA
2004 MAZDA 3 HATCHBACK HAS PROBLEMS WITH STARTING. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP BECAUSE IT WAS TAKING UPWARDS OF 8 SECONDS AND 2 ATTEMPTS BEFORE CAR WOULD START. THE CAR HAD 643 MILES WHEN I TOOK IT IN. THE PROBLEM IS THAT IT IS STARTING TO HAPPEN AGAIN. IT WOULD TAKE UP TO 4 SECONDS TO START, WHICH IS NOT NORMAL FOR A NEW CAR. ANOTHER PROBLEM IS THAT THERE IS A VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING. ALSO THERE IS RATTLE SOMEWHERE IN THE DASH OF THE CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/20/2004 - ANN ARBOR, MI
THERE IS BRAKE NOISE IN MY 2004 MODEL YEAR MAZDA 3. I HAVE JUST BOUGHT MY CAR 3 DAYS AGO. I NOTICED THE NOISE IN THE FIRST DAY, I CALLED THE DEALER AND I WAS TOLD THAT IT IS NORMAL BECAUSE THE CAR IS NEW AND IT WILL DISAPPEAR IN A FEW DAYS. BUT IT IS NOT DISAPPEARING ON THE CONTRARY IT IS NOW MORE NOTICEABLE. IT DOES NOT MATTER WHETHER THE BRAKES ARE COLD OR HOT. IT ALWAYS MAKES THAT NOISE. VIN NUMBER OF MY CAR IS: [XXX] THANKS, [XXX]. UPDATED 07/30/2012 INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

5/20/2004 - EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ
THE BREAK PADS ARE WEARING EXCESSIVELY FAST AND THE ROTERS ARE BEGINNING TO SHOW MAJOR PITTING/GROOVING. (THE CAR IS BRAND NEW AND HAS LESS THEN 3000 MILES ON IT).

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/19/2004 - LAWRENCE, KS
VEHICLE OVERVIEW: MY 2004 MAZDA3 S SEDAN IS NOT EQUIPPED WITH ABS AND HAS 16" INCH FACTORY WHEELS. THE CAR HAS AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. PROBLEM DESCRIPTION: AFTER APROXIMATELY 1800 MILES OF DRIVING (CITY/HIGHWAY), I BEGAN TO NOTICE SLIGHT DISCOLORED BANDS ON EACH OF THE BRAKE ROTOR DISCS AT ALL FOUR WHEELS. AFTER ANOTHER 600 MILES OF DRIVING, I BEGAN TO NOTICE GROOVING IN THE PLACES WITH THE DISCOLORED BANDS. AT THIS POINT, THE GROOVE COULD BE FELT BY A FINGERTIP. THE GROOVES ARE VISIBLE ON THE OUTWARD SIDE OF EACH ROTOR. I HAVE NOT INSPECTED THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF EACH ROTOR (THE SIDE THAT WOULD BE CLOSEST TO THE VECHICLE CHASSIS) TO VERIFY GROOVING ON EITHER SIDE. EFFORTS TO CORRECT: I HAVE REQUESTED THAT MY DEALERSHIP INSPECT THE BRAKES, AND THEY HAVE ALSO NOTED THE GROOVING. HOWEVER, THEY CLAIM THAT THERE IS NO FIX FOR THIS OTHER THAN RE-SURFACING EACH ROTOR. THIS WILL PREMATURELY WEAR MY BRAKING COMPONENTS, SO I DECLINED THIS OFFER. ALSO, SIMPLY RESURFACING THE BRAKE ROTORS DOES NOT ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF WHAT IS CAUSING THE GROOVING IN THE FIRST PLACE. OUTCOME: BRAKING POWER AND STABILITY REMAIN UNAFFECTED IN SPITE OF THE GROOVES. HOWEVER, THE LONGEVITY OF THE BRAKES IS DIMINISHED. I AM UNCERTAIN WHAT THE OUTCOME WOULD BE WITH CONTINUED GROOVING. THIS IS A FORESHADOWING TO PREMATURE BRAKE COMPONENT FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

5/13/2004 - VALRICO, FL
I WENT TO A DEALERSHIP ON MAY 2, 2004 AND PURCHASED A 2004 MAZDA 3. IT HAD 16 MILES ON IT. DROVE FINE FOR A WEEK! ON MAY 9TH, MY FAMILIY AND I WERE DRIVING AND THE CAR WOULD NOT CHANGE GEARS. WOULD NOT GO IN REVERSE. WE SLOWLY MADE IT HOME IN 1ST GEAR. THE DEALERSHIP PICKED IT UP ON MONDAY MAY 10TH AND HAS SAID IT IS THE TRANSMISSION. THE FULL TRANSMISSION IS BEING REPLACED AT 250 MILES. IT HAS BEEN THERE FOR 4 DAYS NOW. I HAVE NO IDEA WHEN IT WILL BE REPAIRED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC

5/12/2004 - NAPERVILLE, IL
AFTER 200 MILES I NOTICED AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF BRAKE DUST ACCUMULATING ON THE REAR WHEELS. THE REAR BRAKE ROTOR SURFACES ARE WORN EXTREMELY UNEVEN WITH MULTIPLE GROOVES. THIS TYPE AND AMOUNT OF WEAR IS WHAT I WOULD EXPECT AFTER 10,000 MILES NOT 200. THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS ARE HARDLY WORN AT ALL AND STILL EXHIBIT THE ORIGINAL MACHINED SURFACE. I FOUND THAT MAZDA HAS A NEW BRAKE PAD FOR THE REAR BRAKES (P/N: BPYK-26-48Z) BUT NO TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN HAS BEEN ISSUED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

5/12/2004 - NAPERVILLE, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE THE TRANSMISSION BECAME INCREASINGLY DIFFICULT TO SHIFT BETWEEN 1, 2 AND 3 GEARS. THE OTHER GEARS SHIFTED SMOOTHLY WITHOUT PROBLEM AND THE TRANSMISSION MADE NO ABNORMAL NOISES. THE VEHICLE EVENTUALLY BECAME STUCK IN FIRST GEAR AND I WAS ONLY ABLE TO GET OUT OF IT WITH GREAT EFFORT. IT FEELS LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS FILLED WITH CONCRETE. BEING UNABLE TO SHIFT CAUSES A PROBLEM IN OPERATING THE VEHICLE SAFELY. THE DEALER DOESN'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS AND IS BALKING AT REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE HAS ONLY 500 MILES ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  8  9  10  11  12  13  14 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds