Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 102 complaints filed for the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/24/2010 - ENCINITAS, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE BUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TWO INDEPENDENT MECHANICS BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. AFTER ALLOWING THE VEHICLE TO SIT FOR A DAY, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SUCCESSFULLY START IT. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS INTERMITTENTLY DID NOT FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE TURN SIGNAL BULBS WERE REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/24/2010 - ENCINITAS, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE BUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TWO INDEPENDENT MECHANICS BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. AFTER ALLOWING THE VEHICLE TO SIT FOR A DAY, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SUCCESSFULLY START IT. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AGAIN. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS INTERMITTENTLY DID NOT FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP WHERE THE TURN SIGNAL BULBS WERE REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2010 - SOUTH ROCKWOOD , MI
2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARDS INOPERABLE MOST OF THE TIME. MOST ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS FAIL AT TIMES. WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED. REAR DOOR LOCKS HAVE TO PLAY WITH REMOTE LOCKS BEFORE DOOR OPENS ACTS AS THOUGH CHILD SAFETY LOCKS ARE ON CAN NOT OPEN DOOR FROM IN OR OUT. EVENTUALLY AFTER PUSHING ON REMOTE LOCK IT OPENS. BRAKES ALWAYS GRINDING EVEN AFTER REPLACEMENTS. ENGINE HAS ALSO, TICKED NOT KNOCK JUST TICKING SINCE I'VE PURCHASED THE CAR. MANY TIMES THE CAR DOES NOT START FIRST TRY AFTER SECOND IT STARTS BUT ALL ELECTRICAL HAS TO RESET EXAMPLE RADIO, CLOCK ECT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/4/2010 - SOUTH ROCKWOOD , MI
2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARDS INOPERABLE MOST OF THE TIME. MOST ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS FAIL AT TIMES. WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED. REAR DOOR LOCKS HAVE TO PLAY WITH REMOTE LOCKS BEFORE DOOR OPENS ACTS AS THOUGH CHILD SAFETY LOCKS ARE ON CAN NOT OPEN DOOR FROM IN OR OUT. EVENTUALLY AFTER PUSHING ON REMOTE LOCK IT OPENS. BRAKES ALWAYS GRINDING EVEN AFTER REPLACEMENTS. ENGINE HAS ALSO, TICKED NOT KNOCK JUST TICKING SINCE I'VE PURCHASED THE CAR. MANY TIMES THE CAR DOES NOT START FIRST TRY AFTER SECOND IT STARTS BUT ALL ELECTRICAL HAS TO RESET EXAMPLE RADIO, CLOCK ECT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/4/2010 - SOUTH ROCKWOOD , MI
2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARDS INOPERABLE MOST OF THE TIME. MOST ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS FAIL AT TIMES. WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED. REAR DOOR LOCKS HAVE TO PLAY WITH REMOTE LOCKS BEFORE DOOR OPENS ACTS AS THOUGH CHILD SAFETY LOCKS ARE ON CAN NOT OPEN DOOR FROM IN OR OUT. EVENTUALLY AFTER PUSHING ON REMOTE LOCK IT OPENS. BRAKES ALWAYS GRINDING EVEN AFTER REPLACEMENTS. ENGINE HAS ALSO, TICKED NOT KNOCK JUST TICKING SINCE I'VE PURCHASED THE CAR. MANY TIMES THE CAR DOES NOT START FIRST TRY AFTER SECOND IT STARTS BUT ALL ELECTRICAL HAS TO RESET EXAMPLE RADIO, CLOCK ECT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

10/4/2010 - SOUTH ROCKWOOD , MI
2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO ONGOING PROBLEMS WITH TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARDS INOPERABLE MOST OF THE TIME. MOST ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS FAIL AT TIMES. WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED. REAR DOOR LOCKS HAVE TO PLAY WITH REMOTE LOCKS BEFORE DOOR OPENS ACTS AS THOUGH CHILD SAFETY LOCKS ARE ON CAN NOT OPEN DOOR FROM IN OR OUT. EVENTUALLY AFTER PUSHING ON REMOTE LOCK IT OPENS. BRAKES ALWAYS GRINDING EVEN AFTER REPLACEMENTS. ENGINE HAS ALSO, TICKED NOT KNOCK JUST TICKING SINCE I'VE PURCHASED THE CAR. MANY TIMES THE CAR DOES NOT START FIRST TRY AFTER SECOND IT STARTS BUT ALL ELECTRICAL HAS TO RESET EXAMPLE RADIO, CLOCK ECT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

7/18/2010 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
MY OLDSMOBILE ALERO CONTINUES TO OVER HEAT. EVERY OTHER DAY I GO TO THE SHOP AND THEY KEEP FILLING IT WITH COOLANT. THEY ARE BAFFLED BECAUSE I HAVE REPLACED ALMOST EVERY PART ON THE ENGINE AND IT STILL RUNS HOT. I CAN'T EVEN GET OUT OF THE PARKING LOT WITHOUT THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE GOING STRAIGHT TO THE RED ZONE. I ALWAYS HAVE TO PULL OVER, CUT THE CAR OFF, SIT FOR 2 MINUTES, THEN START THE CAR UP AGAIN. I DO NOT HAVE MONEY TO CONTINUE TO REPLACE PARTS ON THIS CAR AND STILL HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. ON 7/25, I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PAY MY CAR NOTE. BECAUSE ON THIS DATE THE MECHANICS ARE GOING TO REPLACE MY RADIATOR TO SEE IF THE PROBLEM WILL CEASE. IN MY MIND, I DON'T THINK SO, BUT I AM GETTING TIRED OF GOING BACK AND FORTH TO THE CAR SHOP AND I AM QUITE SURE THEIR GETTING TIRED OF TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IS CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. I NEED HELP IN PAYING FOR MY CAR IN GETTING FIXED, OR TELL ME THAT I DON'T HAVE TO CONTINUE IN MAKING CAR NOTE PAYMENTS. MY PROBLEM HAS BEEN GOING SENSE APRIL. I AM GETTING TRIED OF THE CAR SHUTTING DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET EVERY TIME IT STARTS GETTING TO THE HOT ZONE ON THE GAUGE. I AM SO NERVOUS IN DRIVING THIS CAR ON THE FREEWAY. THE LAST TIME I DROVE IT ON THE FREEWAY WAS IN JUNE. THIS WAS BECAUSE I SPENT $374.00 ON A WATER PUMP AND THEN IN A WEEK, I SPENT MORE MONEY ON ANOTHER WATER PUMP. TUNE-UPS, OIL CHANGE, RADIATOR FLUSH HAS BEEN DONE AND I AM STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. ON 7/25, THEY ARE GOING TO PUT A NEW RADIATOR IN THE CAR. THE CAR ALSO ACTS LIKE IT DOESN'T WANT TO STAY STARTED ONCE YOU CUT THE CAR ON. I WOULD TURN THE KEY, START THE CAR AND WAIT. THE CAR WOULD START SHAKING AND THEN CUT OFF. I WOULD START IT AGAIN AND THE CAR WOULD IDLE UP, THEN DOWN. I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO GET SOMEONE TO RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM BY HELPING MY IN PAYING FOR THESE ISSUES THAT I SHOULD NOT BE HAVING. IT IS ALSO GIVING A HEADACHE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

5/27/2010 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
TRIM AROUND THE WINDSHIELD OF A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO POPPED OUT OF PLACE, AND I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK IN PLACE. EVERYTIME I GOT UP TO A FAST SPEED, IT WOULD COME BACK OUT AND START FLAPPING AND HITTING THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW. FINALLY, IT CAME COMPLETELY OFF WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

VISIBILITY

5/27/2010 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
TRIM AROUND THE WINDSHIELD OF A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO POPPED OUT OF PLACE, AND I TRIED TO PUT IT BACK IN PLACE. EVERYTIME I GOT UP TO A FAST SPEED, IT WOULD COME BACK OUT AND START FLAPPING AND HITTING THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW. FINALLY, IT CAME COMPLETELY OFF WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/20/2009 - GLENDALE, AZ
CAR WON'T START. ENGINE TURNS OVER BUT DOESN'T FIRE. TURNS OUT TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THE PASSLOCK SECURITY SYSTEM. THIS IS THE 4TH TIME THIS HAS OCCURRED THIS YEAR. LEAVE IGNITION SWITCH ON FOR 10 MINUTES AND WAIT FOR SECURITY WARNING LIGHT TO GO OUT. THEN RESTART CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds