Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE ALERO - 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 102 complaints filed for the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Engine (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2014 - BUFFALO, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AS ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE RECALL WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - CENTENNIAL, CO
THE TURN SIGNALS RANDOMLY STOP FUNCTIONING. THEY CAN GO FROM WORKING TO NOT WORKING AND BACK IN ANY GIVEN DRIVE. I HAVE REPLACED THE FUSES MULTIPLE TIMES, BUT IT QUICKLY STARTS DOING IT AGAIN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/17/2014 - CENTENNIAL, CO
THE TURN SIGNALS RANDOMLY STOP FUNCTIONING. THEY CAN GO FROM WORKING TO NOT WORKING AND BACK IN ANY GIVEN DRIVE. I HAVE REPLACED THE FUSES MULTIPLE TIMES, BUT IT QUICKLY STARTS DOING IT AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - OMAHA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIRS WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/3/2014 - CEDAR RAPIDS , IA
MY SON WAS DRIVING DOWN A ROAD WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING. HE HAD NO BRAKES OR POWER STEERING CAUSING HIM TO LEAVE THE ROADWAY AND CRASH INTO A FENCE. THE CRASH DIDN'T DEPLOY THE AIRBAG, BUT CAUSED SEVER DAMAGE TO THE CAR, RESULTING IN IT BEING TOTALED. IT WAS TOWED TO A JUNK YARD WHERE IT WAS SOLD AS SCRAP. FORTUNATELY MY SON WAS ONLY SLIGHTLY INJURED, AND DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. I CONTACTED GM AFTER RECEIVING THEIR RECALL NOTICE IN SEPTEMBER, 2014. I SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE THERE ASKING JUST FOR THE REPLACEMENT COST OF THE CAR SINCE THE RECALL NOTICE DESCRIBED EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED WHEN THE CAR CRASHED. THE REPRESENTATIVE DECLINED THE CLAIM STATING THEY COULD NOT INSPECT THE CAR. THE CLAIM # IS [XXX]. I FEEL THIS IS UNFAIR AS AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH WE WERE NOT AWARE OF THIS RECALL NOTICE AND FELT NO OBLIGATION AT THE TIME TO REPORT IT TO GM. I ALSO HAVE A COPY OF THE POLICE REPORT, AND CAN FORWARD THAT TO YOU IF NEEDED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

10/3/2014 - CEDAR RAPIDS , IA
MY SON WAS DRIVING DOWN A ROAD WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING. HE HAD NO BRAKES OR POWER STEERING CAUSING HIM TO LEAVE THE ROADWAY AND CRASH INTO A FENCE. THE CRASH DIDN'T DEPLOY THE AIRBAG, BUT CAUSED SEVER DAMAGE TO THE CAR, RESULTING IN IT BEING TOTALED. IT WAS TOWED TO A JUNK YARD WHERE IT WAS SOLD AS SCRAP. FORTUNATELY MY SON WAS ONLY SLIGHTLY INJURED, AND DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. I CONTACTED GM AFTER RECEIVING THEIR RECALL NOTICE IN SEPTEMBER, 2014. I SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE THERE ASKING JUST FOR THE REPLACEMENT COST OF THE CAR SINCE THE RECALL NOTICE DESCRIBED EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED WHEN THE CAR CRASHED. THE REPRESENTATIVE DECLINED THE CLAIM STATING THEY COULD NOT INSPECT THE CAR. THE CLAIM # IS [XXX]. I FEEL THIS IS UNFAIR AS AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH WE WERE NOT AWARE OF THIS RECALL NOTICE AND FELT NO OBLIGATION AT THE TIME TO REPORT IT TO GM. I ALSO HAVE A COPY OF THE POLICE REPORT, AND CAN FORWARD THAT TO YOU IF NEEDED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/3/2014 - CEDAR RAPIDS , IA
MY SON WAS DRIVING DOWN A ROAD WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED RUNNING. HE HAD NO BRAKES OR POWER STEERING CAUSING HIM TO LEAVE THE ROADWAY AND CRASH INTO A FENCE. THE CRASH DIDN'T DEPLOY THE AIRBAG, BUT CAUSED SEVER DAMAGE TO THE CAR, RESULTING IN IT BEING TOTALED. IT WAS TOWED TO A JUNK YARD WHERE IT WAS SOLD AS SCRAP. FORTUNATELY MY SON WAS ONLY SLIGHTLY INJURED, AND DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. I CONTACTED GM AFTER RECEIVING THEIR RECALL NOTICE IN SEPTEMBER, 2014. I SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE THERE ASKING JUST FOR THE REPLACEMENT COST OF THE CAR SINCE THE RECALL NOTICE DESCRIBED EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED WHEN THE CAR CRASHED. THE REPRESENTATIVE DECLINED THE CLAIM STATING THEY COULD NOT INSPECT THE CAR. THE CLAIM # IS [XXX]. I FEEL THIS IS UNFAIR AS AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH WE WERE NOT AWARE OF THIS RECALL NOTICE AND FELT NO OBLIGATION AT THE TIME TO REPORT IT TO GM. I ALSO HAVE A COPY OF THE POLICE REPORT, AND CAN FORWARD THAT TO YOU IF NEEDED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/1/2014 - ADOLPHUF, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALERO. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT HAD TO WIGGLE THE KEY, WHICH CAUSED THE SECURITY CHIME TO ACTIVATE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2014 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
I RECEIVED THE NOTIFICATION ABOUT THE SAFETY RECALL ON 2004 OLDSMOBILE ALEROS, AND THE DEALER, AFTER I HAD SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT, TOLD ME THEY DIDN'T HAVE TO DO THE RECALL, BUT I JUST HAD TO BUY ANOTHER KEY. THAT'S NOT THE WAY I UNDERSTAND RECALLS. I DON'T BUY SOMETHING, BUT IT SHOULD BE THEY FIX SOMETHING. I'VE NEVER HEARD OF A DEALER ARGUING WITH THE CUSTOMER ABOUT SOMETHING LIKE THIS EITHER, BUT I'M GOING TO SEEK LEGAL ADVICE. HOWEVER, I FELT IT WAS NECESSARY TO CONTACT YOU FIRST, BASED ON THE LANGUAGE OF THE RECALL NOTICE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/16/2014 - MADISON, IL
JUNE 2010(IRVING, TX) - THE GEAR SHAFT BUTTON POPPED OUT WHICH MADE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO REVERSE OR DRIVE ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE WITHOUT STICKING SOMETHING HARD INSIDE, LIKE A PEN . VEHICLE WOULD BECOME DIFFICULT TO START, TYPICALLY AFTER THIRD TRY IT WOULD START. . THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS OR REPAIRED AS I COULD NOT AFFORD IT AT THE TIME, . I WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT, IN WHICH MY ALERO WAS TOTALED AFTER FAILING TO STOP BECAUSE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES LOCKED, THE AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE WAS 165,340 AT THE TIME OF FAILURE

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds